Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on January 19, 2016, 02:16:59 PM

Title: Stuff you would do if money was no object
Post by: seafoid on January 19, 2016, 02:16:59 PM
Compared to what you do now
Title: Re: Stuff you would do if money was no object
Post by: No wides on January 19, 2016, 02:32:20 PM
Be less stressed.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 19, 2016, 02:35:25 PM
Travel a lot more
Post by: deiseach on January 19, 2016, 02:38:25 PM
Buy a house with a big garden in a village with a nice pub in the sauf of England and set my wife loose on the garden. And the pub.
Post by: laoislad on January 19, 2016, 02:43:41 PM
Spend a few months travelling and eating in everyone of the restaurants featured in Diners Drive-ins and Dives
Post by: magpie seanie on January 19, 2016, 02:46:32 PM
USA coast to coast would be the first thing. Mostly travelling and avoiding assholes (difficult I know but not having to work would avoid a lot of them).
Post by: armaghniac on January 19, 2016, 03:00:09 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 19, 2016, 02:46:32 PM
USA coast to coast would be the first thing. Mostly travelling and avoiding assholes (difficult I know but not having to work would avoid a lot of them).

Keep up the savings account, magpie!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 19, 2016, 03:03:28 PM
I would set up a Sports Travel Company that charged 0% commission to allow people go to events like the Superbowl, the Masters, etc etc.

I would also buy a big RV and drive around the USA for about 2 years.

And buy a home in Arizona to use from October to April.
Post by: deiseach on January 19, 2016, 03:07:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 19, 2016, 03:03:28 PM
And buy a home in Arizona to use from October to April.

Missing out the baseball season? Philistine.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 19, 2016, 03:08:36 PM
Hire a hit man and take seafoid out for becoming like Tony Fearon!
Post by: deiseach on January 19, 2016, 03:14:56 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 19, 2016, 03:08:36 PM

I'm sure there are plenty who would do that for free.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 19, 2016, 03:38:32 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 19, 2016, 03:14:56 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 19, 2016, 03:08:36 PM

I'm sure there are plenty who would do that for free.

(http://06.static.wehaaserver.com/theind-com/images/ferris-bueller-carousel__2.25992.articlefull.1.jpg)
Post by: magpie seanie on January 19, 2016, 03:39:40 PM
Seafoid's grand lads, not comparable to the Big T.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 19, 2016, 03:41:49 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 19, 2016, 02:43:41 PM
Spend a few months travelling and eating in everyone of the restaurants featured in Diners Drive-ins and Dives

What a show!
Post by: armaghniac on January 19, 2016, 03:44:41 PM
I'd buy a villa on a mountain in Tuscany, hire a chef to make me Italian food 5 days a week, on the other 2 I'd motor the Maserati to restaurants there abouts. I also hire Jamie Clarke to make me coffee and have the odd bunga bunga party for all Gaaboarders.
Post by: deiseach on January 19, 2016, 04:00:05 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 19, 2016, 03:39:40 PM
Seafoid's grand lads, not comparable to the Big T.

It's the Fearonesque tendencies that need sorting. Maybe it's not an assassin we need...

(http://i.huffpost.com/gen/1890811/thumbs/o-THE-EXORCIST-570.jpg)
Post by: Boycey on January 19, 2016, 04:05:05 PM
A friend of mine has an apartment in a village in rural Northern Spain that I've been to a few times, I'd love to spend a year there to see how I'd get on. Very few of the locals speak English or indeed have any interest in trying, its great craic trying to order food in a restaurant that has no menu and my Spanish as good as their English but I love the pace of life there and would like to give it a go some day..
Post by: seafoid on January 19, 2016, 04:07:24 PM
Start a business where people would come in contact with interesting thinkers and start thinking for themselves.
Fix the Mayo last 5 minutes problem
Post by: gallsman on January 19, 2016, 04:25:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 19, 2016, 03:44:41 PM
I'd buy a villa on a mountain in Tuscany, hire a chef to make me Italian food 5 days a week, on the other 2 I'd motor the Maserati to restaurants there abouts. I also hire Jamie Clarke to make me coffee and have the odd bunga bunga party for all Gaaboarders.

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 19, 2016, 04:33:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 19, 2016, 04:07:24 PM
Fix the Mayo last 5 minutes problem

Money doesn't produce miracles that big you know!!
Post by: GJL on January 19, 2016, 05:06:43 PM
Go rallying 8)
Post by: seafoid on January 19, 2016, 05:22:28 PM
Bring 12 counties up to competitive hurling standard
Revamp the teaching of Irish
Post by: Puckoon on January 19, 2016, 05:25:38 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 19, 2016, 02:43:41 PM

We've one here, it is pure muck! Even when you're steaming.
Post by: The Iceman on January 19, 2016, 05:28:19 PM
I think we all underestimate what we can do today with the money we have. There's travel experiences and adventures on our own back doors if we got off our arses and went out.
Trips don't cost as much as you think and there are so many roads you can go down to save money: house swaps, RV rentals, camping - all over the world.  Granted it's harder with kids but we manage to take 4 away somewhere every year (last year we did a 8 day road trip all over the state of Oregon and visited a National Park. Kids had a blast, so did we.

If money was no object I would own property in multiple continents and travel back and forth depending on the weather and make them available to friends and family.  I'd become fluent in another language or two and become a better cook and spend more time with my parents and extended family creating memories and enjoying happier times

Post by: JohnDenver on January 19, 2016, 05:46:00 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 19, 2016, 05:28:19 PM
I think we all underestimate what we can do today with the money we have. There's travel experiences and adventures on our own back doors if we got off our arses and went out.
Trips don't cost as much as you think and there are so many roads you can go down to save money: house swaps, RV rentals, camping - all over the world.  Granted it's harder with kids but we manage to take 4 away somewhere every year (last year we did a 8 day road trip all over the state of Oregon and visited a National Park. Kids had a blast, so did we.

If money was no object I would own property in multiple continents and travel back and forth depending on the weather and make them available to friends and family.  I'd become fluent in another language or two and become a better cook and spend more time with my parents and extended family creating memories and enjoying happier times

I think the main issue is the time element, when you have to work for a living.  I get your general point.  If you were to get the same income now as you do working, without having to go to work, rather than an infinite amount handed to you in one lump sum, I agree that there are plenty of things that could fit into the budget.
Post by: laoislad on January 19, 2016, 05:59:30 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on January 19, 2016, 05:46:00 PM

I think the main issue is the time element, when you have to work for a living.  I get your general point. If you were to get the same income now as you do working, without having to go to work, rather than an infinite amount handed to you in one lump sum, I agree that there are plenty of things that could fit into the budget.
So what you're saying is we should all become teachers.
Post by: armaghniac on January 19, 2016, 06:01:55 PM

There is a lot of truth in this. I don't feel myself unable to afford to travel, but work interferes timewise! If I were seriously wealthy I could stay in 5 star hotels and fly First Class, but this might not hugely enrich the experience. I had a friend who was a teacher, and so not especially wealthy (in money, perhaps better in time)  she put her house on the house swap market every summer and she also bought a modest enough place in the south of France and put it on the swap market too, and was able to stay all over the world for zero rent.

Quote from: laoislad on January 19, 2016, 05:59:30 PM

That's about it.
Post by: The Iceman on January 19, 2016, 10:48:27 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 19, 2016, 06:01:55 PM

There is a lot of truth in this. I don't feel myself unable to afford to travel, but work interferes timewise! If I were seriously wealthy I could stay in 5 star hotels and fly First Class, but this might not hugely enrich the experience. I had a friend who was a teacher, and so not especially wealthy (in money, perhaps better in time)  she put her house on the house swap market every summer and she also bought a modest enough place in the south of France and put it on the swap market too, and was able to stay all over the world for zero rent.

Quote from: laoislad on January 19, 2016, 05:59:30 PM

That's about it.
Is it work interfering or ourselves getting in the way? I think most of has have 2-3 weeks holidays to take in a year. I think we could easily take 1-2 weeks a year and head off with the family or solo depending on your circumstances and enjoy a new city, country or location...  Before iPhone and smart phones businesses survived if they couldn't get hold of you 24/7.... they will still survive.  We talk ourselves in to being connected and working around the clock. Answering emails and taking calls instead of saying I'm on my holidays and i'll check emails every few days if at all....

I'm all about working hard and smart and enjoying time with the family and disconnecting after 6. No work on the weekends. No emails, no phone calls no checking anything to do with work despite the emails that might come through on  a Sunday night...

Goal is to own a place in Florida and I have a mate working on a holiday home in France - nothing stopping us agreeing to go back and forth between his place and mine on a gentleman's agreement - now both families have essentially two holiday homes.... 
Post by: Orior on January 19, 2016, 11:10:56 PM
1) Build a set of homes for underprivileged kids

2) Round up the ISIS leaders and gently encourage them to go back and preach peace

3) Japanese twins

4) Six month road trip across USA, then Australia

5) Play a round of golf at Augusta with McIlroy, Day and Oosthuizen
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2016, 11:16:02 PM
I'm happy with my lot in life. I don't think money brings any extra happiness. In fact research shows, after the initial adrenaline burst, people return to their natural 'happiness level'.
Post by: The Subbie on January 19, 2016, 11:34:45 PM
Set myself up in business with the sole intention of bankrupting Denis O'Brien.
when i get finished with Denis I'll be conflicted between the ruination of FF and FG, who to f**k over first.
When that's done I will then tackle the oil companies and other similar pricks.
Next I will take over a few countries, completely ban management speak gobbledegook in all its forms.

All of this will be orchestrated from my Caribbean bolthole accessed via private airstrip.
Post by: thewobbler on January 20, 2016, 12:17:25 AM
There are 35,000 golf course in the world. My life's work would be to play them all. My best days would be when I helicopter my mates in for the day to whichever course we are playing.

When not golfing, I'd use the financial freedom to try to actually write one the novels that have been floating around in my head for the past few years.

Ballyholland Harps would get one hell of a touch, and it would be rude not to fix some of the financial problems in Down GAA. Though I'd probably premise it on a condition that the next manager must get rid of technology like GPS and stats and such like, and instead just use intuition to coach his players. I've no idea if it would work, but I'd happily pay to find out.

I'd most likely suffer alcohol poisoning and gout along the way.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 20, 2016, 12:17:57 AM
Family would be the main thing at the minute so actually not much would change for the next few years, maybe a nanny and a few adjustments around the house.

After a few years I'd buy a small farm sheep, beef and milk and run a source to plate business, inc shop and pub/restaurant. Tho not sure about the ethics of this as I could effectively run at a loss so not fair to other business owners

Work on a few Languages

Travel
Post by: Nihilist on January 20, 2016, 12:18:18 AM
Solve World Hunger
Solve Climate Change
Solve Space Travel....maybe
Post by: bennydorano on January 20, 2016, 08:12:27 AM
I'd become the worst professional cyclist in history, with a huge collection of £10k+ bikes. Wouldn't see much of the winter season ever again.
Post by: rosnarun on January 20, 2016, 09:32:49 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 19, 2016, 11:16:02 PM
I'm happy with my lot in life. I don't think money brings any extra happiness. In fact research shows, after the initial adrenaline burst, people return to their natural 'happiness level'.
Accoring to those that know having Kids add the longest increased happiness about 18 months ,

so have a kid every other year seems to be the best use of money and deciding who to have them with would be an added bonus
Post by: ONeill on January 20, 2016, 10:39:20 AM
Become a dictator.
Post by: general_lee on January 20, 2016, 10:43:33 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 20, 2016, 10:39:20 AM
Become a dictator.
Would you start Lee Brennan?
Post by: WeeDonns on January 20, 2016, 10:45:11 AM
I'd start a thread on an internet forum titled ' Stuff  you would do  if money was no object' and then live out everyone elses plans...

* and give each of them a few quid obviously ;)
Post by: ONeill on January 20, 2016, 10:45:45 AM
Quote from: general_lee on January 20, 2016, 10:43:33 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 20, 2016, 10:39:20 AM
Become a dictator.
Would you start Lee Brennan?

Well, put it like this. Aidan McCrory would have some explaining to do.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 20, 2016, 11:50:02 AM
How many boarders would stay in their current job if they were millionaires?

I would but possibly limit it to Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.... between the hours of 10am and 4pm  Would give me long weekends...Wife would leave work in a heartbeat though
Post by: armaghniac on January 20, 2016, 12:15:56 PM
I'd buy my employer and make a few changes....
Post by: StephenC on January 20, 2016, 01:21:17 PM
Go into space.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 20, 2016, 01:38:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 20, 2016, 11:50:02 AM
How many boarders would stay in their current job if they were millionaires?

I would but possibly limit it to Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.... between the hours of 10am and 4pm  Would give me long weekends...Wife would leave work in a heartbeat though
Resignation letter would be handed in double-quick. I would work my 3 months notice though.
Post by: rrhf on January 20, 2016, 02:26:06 PM
Buy the Dublin GAA franchise. 
Post by: magpie seanie on January 20, 2016, 02:32:04 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 20, 2016, 12:15:56 PM
I'd buy my employer and make a few changes....

+1. Winner!
Post by: laoislad on January 20, 2016, 02:40:10 PM
Sometimes you hear about a young lad or girl that needs an operation and its going to cost 50k or whatever but the family haven't got the money.
I would like to think I would help as many of those people as possible.

Just today, I read about an American woman who gave birth to a 4 month premature baby in the Rotunda but couldn't bring the baby home because it was going to cost 60k to hire a special plane to bring the baby back. Some fella has now donated the money anonymously .
To have the money to be able do things like that would be cool.
Post by: stew on January 20, 2016, 07:50:35 PM
I would buy a state of the art, full sized indoor Gaelic football Training complex for the Harps, they in turn would let the county team use it when they needed it, the hurdles could also use it and there would be a state of the art gym and it would have the best trainers out there looking after them all.

I would buy a golf course  and play golf five times a week and I would eat out at great restaurants, I would also donate money to soup kitchens and I would buy off some politicians and make sure they helped the poor and underprivileged.
Post by: armaghniac on January 20, 2016, 08:02:05 PM
I'd buy Newry and remove it.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 21, 2016, 01:31:46 PM
Great offer for you southern bucks if you can still get it. Must be a mistake in the pricing,

http://www.littlewoodsireland.ie/paco-rabanne-invictus-100ml-edt-and-100ml-shower-gel-gift-set/1600018831.prd

(Edit has now been corrected)
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 21, 2016, 01:53:20 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 21, 2016, 01:31:46 PM
Great offer for you southern bucks if you can still get it. Must be a mistake in the pricing,

http://www.littlewoodsireland.ie/paco-rabanne-invictus-100ml-edt-and-100ml-shower-gel-gift-set/1600018831.prd
That's the dream right there.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 21, 2016, 02:03:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 21, 2016, 01:53:20 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 21, 2016, 01:31:46 PM

That's the dream right there.

Every little helps  :D (That and I couldn't be bothered finding another money thread to put it in)
Post by: general_lee on January 21, 2016, 02:07:10 PM
If money was truly no object I'd clear all debt in Ireland and eliminate poverty. Pay for universal free education, health and dental care. I'd donate to cancer research and other similar charities. I'd lobby for investment in the green economy and investment in public transport and infrastructure north and south as well as tax and and social welfare reforms. Oh and get rid of roaming charges
Post by: No wides on January 21, 2016, 02:35:25 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 21, 2016, 02:07:10 PM
If money was truly no object I'd clear all debt in Ireland and eliminate poverty. Pay for universal free education, health and dental care. I'd donate to cancer research and other similar charities. I'd lobby for investment in the green economy and investment in public transport and infrastructure north and south as well as tax and and social welfare reforms. Oh and get rid of roaming charges

Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.  Though fair play for your good intentions, which will never be tested!!
Post by: seafoid on January 21, 2016, 03:29:50 PM
I would invent a new economic system that worked for ordinary people
Post by: The Iceman on January 21, 2016, 03:56:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 21, 2016, 03:29:50 PM
that requires brains - not just money :P

a lot of things on people's list I think could be done today. McGregor has a great quote where he says there is no talent - we're all the same - there is only hard work and obsession.  If we apply ourselves to something, become obsessed with it - things work.  There's a better life within arms reach of anyone.  there's also the mean's to provide a better life for others today.
Post by: rrhf on January 21, 2016, 05:12:18 PM
A wise man told me once that he would do the following if he won the lotto:
Ring the wife with the good news and buy a sunseeker yacht and hit all the top Med sights, drink champers and party like a star.
He just wasnt sure in what order. 

Post by: Hardy on January 21, 2016, 05:20:30 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 21, 2016, 03:56:51 PM

a lot of things on people's list I think could be done today. McGregor has a great quote where he says there is no talent - we're all the same - there is only hard work and obsession.  If we apply ourselves to something, become obsessed with it - things work.  There's a better life within arms reach of anyone.  there's also the mean's to provide a better life for others today.

I wouldn't be paying much attention to Conor McGregor's philosophical observations. Being good at kicking lads in the head doesn't mean you understand everything about how the world works.

The promotion of hard work, application and dedication is laudable, but to say there is no such thing as talent is complete nonsense.

I can't draw or paint. I suppose I'm whatever is the graphic arts equivalent of dyslexic. I don't see things the way artists see them. The essence of shape escapes me. I don't see colour transitions. I don't notice how light and shade change the way things look. And even if I did, all the training in the world wouldn't teach me to represent them on paper. I have no talent in that sphere. I'm useless, inept, incompetent. No good. Likewise with absence of talent in dozens of other spheres.

One of my sons is very good at drawing, painting and caricature. He couldn't kick a ball away from himself. My other son is also quite good at art and a handy hurler, footballer and soccerball player. 

McGregor's hard work and obsession will never make me able to draw, son number one able to kick points in Croke Park or the other lad good at whatever it is he can't do. Which I haven't found out yet, the bloody show-off.

And regarding the thread subject, I've just remembered something else I'm useless at, so there's no point in fantasising about that either.
Post by: thejuice on January 21, 2016, 05:30:25 PM
I'd rebuild Pairc Tailteann into a 100,000 seater stadium made of solid gold with fabergé eggs as door knobs. The away dressing room would be a shed full of Buffaloes on loan from Tayto Park.

I would hire the whole Meath team to work as "company reps" whose work tasks would include football training and probably even more football training.
Post by: red hander on January 21, 2016, 05:34:06 PM
Although I'm a fairly extensive traveller, I'd do a load more, and fly first/business class on every trip
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 21, 2016, 06:55:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 21, 2016, 05:20:30 PM

I wouldn't be paying much attention to Conor McGregor's philosophical observations. Being good at kicking lads in the head doesn't mean you understand everything about how the world works.

The promotion of hard work, application and dedication is laudable, but to say there is no such thing as talent is complete nonsense.

I can't draw or paint. I suppose I'm whatever is the graphic arts equivalent of dyslexic. I don't see things the way artists see them. The essence of shape escapes me. I don't see colour transitions. I don't notice how light and shade change the way things look. And even if I did, all the training in the world wouldn't teach me to represent them on paper. I have no talent in that sphere. I'm useless, inept, incompetent. No good. Likewise with absence of talent in dozens of other spheres.

One of my sons is very good at drawing, painting and caricature. He couldn't kick a ball away from himself. My other son is also quite good at art and a handy hurler, footballer and soccerball player. 

McGregor's hard work and obsession will never make me able to draw, son number one able to kick points in Croke Park or the other lad good at whatever it is he can't do. Which I haven't found out yet, the bloody show-off.

And regarding the thread subject, I've just remembered something else I'm useless at, so there's no point in fantasising about that either.
Iceman is living in the US, the home of motivational bollox so cut the guy some slack. Twin and adoption studies indicate a strong correlation between heredity and intelligence so not everyone can be a doctor or an astronaut no matter how hard they try.
Post by: seafoid on January 21, 2016, 07:06:16 PM
I would set up  a network of schools to replace the current system and train teachers to think and to share this with the kids. There'd be proper Irish teaching based on conversation and for subjects like English there'd be heavy use of the best videos on youtube and talks by interesting people so the kids would have an idea of what can be possible. Brian Cody would be in charge of the sports Department.
There would be a feminist department and everyone would be aware of the thinking of people like Carol Gilligan. Non academic kids would be exposed to subjects such as DJing or sent to the Ballymaloe campus for proper food training. 

I would buy Liverpool, Chelsea  and ManUtd and put them into receivership.

I would set up a network of local GAA museums.
Post by: TheOptimist on January 21, 2016, 07:35:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 21, 2016, 06:55:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 21, 2016, 05:20:30 PM

Iceman is living in the US, the home of motivational bollox so cut the guy some slack. Twin and adoption studies indicate a strong correlation between heredity and intelligence so not everyone can be a doctor or an astronaut no matter how hard they try.

Hate all that bollix also. If everyone applied themselves the same as the next there would still be a winner!
Post by: The Iceman on January 21, 2016, 08:12:51 PM
yep it's all bollox and thinking like that holds you back....
people are afraid of what they could do. if I win the lotto tends to be the aspirations of the majority. If anyone was dedicated to something, obsessed with it for long enough we would be good at it. Tiger Woods, Williams Sisters, Michael Phelps, Michael Jordan, Steve Jobs, Born with abilities but worked hard and didnt stop in the pursuit of perfection and success. But all bollox.... ha

I was focused on mind training, NLP and the sturdy of success long before I moved to America.  There is a big contingent of folks around armagh of the same mindset and some of them are millionaires. Theres equally as many out here.

Post by: JimStynes on January 21, 2016, 08:24:49 PM
Go to all the major sporting events throughout the year, own houses in numerous countries and follow the good weather around, cycle all over the world, play all of the best golf courses, the club would have the best facilities in the country etc. I could go on all day.
Post by: No wides on January 22, 2016, 08:22:12 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 21, 2016, 08:12:51 PM
people are afraid of what they could do. if I win the lotto tends to be the aspirations of the majority. If anyone was dedicated to something, obsessed with it for long enough we would be good at it. Tiger Woods, Williams Sisters, Michael Phelps, Michael Jordan, Steve Jobs, Born with abilities but worked hard and didnt stop in the pursuit of perfection and success. But all bollox.... ha

I was focused on mind training, NLP and the sturdy of success long before I moved to America.  There is a big contingent of folks around armagh of the same mindset and some of them are millionaires. Theres equally as many out here.

Yeah because of the 7 billion of us on the planet all our parents are holding us back by not funding us in pursuit of their dream from a young age.  If my parents had of spent the money and time on me that woods or the williams sisters parents did, I bet I'd be knocking around the pro golf or tennis tour, maybe you should take your head out of your arse and live in the real world where real people have to get on with life and deal with real issues!
Post by: TheOptimist on January 22, 2016, 10:20:48 AM

So what are you number one in the world at then?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2016, 10:57:42 AM
Quote from: No wides on January 22, 2016, 08:22:12 AM

Yeah because of the 7 billion of us on the planet all our parents are holding us back by not funding us in pursuit of their dream from a young age.  If my parents had of spent the money and time on me that woods or the williams sisters parents did, I bet I'd be knocking around the pro golf or tennis tour, maybe you should take your head out of your arse and live in the real world where real people have to get on with life and deal with real issues!

I would tend to agree more with Iceman on this, actually had a similar discussion with friends yesterday, who pretty much all disagreed with me.

This is a great read if you are interested in the subject:

Bounce: The Myth of Talent and the Power of Practice
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bounce-Myth-Talent-Power-Practice/dp/0007350546/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453460210&sr=8-1&keywords=bounce (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bounce-Myth-Talent-Power-Practice/dp/0007350546/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453460210&sr=8-1&keywords=bounce)
Post by: No wides on January 22, 2016, 11:06:14 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2016, 10:57:42 AM

I would tend to agree more with Iceman on this, actually had a similar discussion with friends yesterday, who pretty much all disagreed with me.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bounce-Myth-Talent-Power-Practice/dp/0007350546/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453460210&sr=8-1&keywords=bounce (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bounce-Myth-Talent-Power-Practice/dp/0007350546/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453460210&sr=8-1&keywords=bounce)

Your friends are wise, as is the author of another self help book who get folk to part with their hard earned money to only achieve wealth for themselves.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2016, 11:13:30 AM
Quote from: No wides on January 22, 2016, 11:06:14 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2016, 10:57:42 AM

Your friends are wise, as is the author of another self help book who get folk to part with their hard earned money to only achieve wealth for themselves.
Its not a self help book.
Maybe if you shouldn't just dismiss something without at least doing some research and reading the scientific evidence that supports it.
Post by: No wides on January 22, 2016, 11:28:50 AM
I am sure Mr Syed doesn't need my 6.50 at this stage, so you are alright.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2016, 11:58:10 AM
Quote from: No wides on January 22, 2016, 11:28:50 AM
Im not just talking about this book.
There are a number of books/ articles / research on the subject , that provide different theories and views on it.
But i'm sure your opinion is much more valid than anyone else's, despite not having read any of it.
Post by: Man Marker on January 22, 2016, 12:33:02 PM
I would start a GAA Club up in a Unionist dominate area where no GAA exists. Build 40 magnificent houses, then go and get the best 20 footballers and hurlers in Ireland, offer them the house plus silly money on a contract basis, and win the club All Ireland in football and hurling for the next ten years :) Looking forward to my civic reception at the local council offices each April  :o
Post by: No wides on January 22, 2016, 12:48:04 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2016, 11:58:10 AM
There are a number of books/ articles / research on the subject , that provide different theories and views on it.
But i'm sure your opinion is much more valid than anyone else's, despite not having read any of it.

You know what I have or haven't read now!  Iceman mentioned the word bollox twice in his in depth evaluation of everyone's aspirations, a quite apt word for his conclusions.
Post by: No wides on January 22, 2016, 12:49:18 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on January 22, 2016, 12:33:02 PM
I would start a GAA Club up in a Unionist dominate area where no GAA exists. Build 40 magnificent houses, then go and get the best 20 footballers and hurlers in Ireland, offer them the house plus silly money on a contract basis, and win the club All Ireland in football and hurling for the next ten years :) Looking forward to my civic reception at the local council offices each April  :o

Could you not just work hard to achieve that! 
Post by: Orior on January 22, 2016, 12:59:49 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 22, 2016, 12:49:18 PM

Let's propose a few towns - Carrickfergus?
Post by: stew on January 22, 2016, 01:11:02 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 22, 2016, 12:59:49 PM

Portydown.
Post by: gallsman on January 22, 2016, 01:25:22 PM

That just flat out isn't true.
Post by: armaghniac on January 22, 2016, 01:26:40 PM

Latharna.

This is an interesing idea, but you still wouldn't beat Cross'!

Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2016, 02:26:32 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 22, 2016, 12:48:04 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2016, 11:58:10 AM

You know what I have or haven't read now!  Iceman mentioned the word bollox twice in his in depth evaluation of everyone's aspirations, a quite apt word for his conclusions.

Well have you read any of it?
if you are basing your opinion on something, I would love to hear it, as I am open to different ideas, unlike yourself it seems. You were the one that just completely dismissed another opinion.
Post by: No wides on January 22, 2016, 02:31:47 PM
Quote from: stew on January 22, 2016, 01:11:02 PM

Portydown.

You beat me too it.  :)
Post by: No wides on January 22, 2016, 02:33:40 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 22, 2016, 01:25:22 PM

That just flat out isn't true.

Ah come on iceman knows what he is talking about - 7 billion slackers out there!
Post by: thejuice on January 22, 2016, 04:28:38 PM
If money was no object is run for US president and I'd win by claiming I'm going fix the immigration problem. I wouldn't be beholden to any donors so I could say and do as I like. I would then proceed to make America great again.
Post by: seafoid on January 22, 2016, 04:33:07 PM
I would short Goldman Sachs to bankruptcy.
Post by: The Iceman on January 22, 2016, 05:24:04 PM
Neuro Linguistic Programming is a scientific study of how the brain works and application of techniques.  Let me give you an example:
Filters - the brain through the senses processes thousands of signals per minute.  Based on what is important to us it filters those signals and uses them.  You have experienced this multiple times in your life I would imagine when you purchase a new car - all of a sudden you see this car on the road a lot more than before. Or when your wife is pregnant all of a sudden you see pregnant mothers everywhere or women with young babies.  They were all there before but your brain filtered them out because they were not important.

I'm not saying I'm the number 1 in the world at anything - I'm just not dismissing it all as bollox because you say it is....  My head isn't up my arse on anything - I'm simply pointing out that in my experience the life we aspire to is within reach for any of us. But a lot of people think their only shot is the lotto....  Focusing on success, health, love if you're missing it in your life, career, travel or whatever you want.

Obsession, mindset, action.
Boyle Sports - listen to John:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_fyzBCnmw0  (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_fyzBCnmw0)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVyT8ZRhOTM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVyT8ZRhOTM)

If you don't want to watch or listen or learn that's fine. But don't begrudge the success of others. 

My whole point here is a lot of what has been stated here can be done without winning the lotto. If its really what you want to do in life and you focus all your energy on it then it can happen.
Post by: armaghniac on January 22, 2016, 05:37:09 PM
According to the Gospel of Paul.

I'll buy you a diamond ring my friend if it makes you feel alright
I'll get you anything my friend if it makes you feel alright
Cos I don't care too much for money, and money can't buy me love
Post by: Clov on January 22, 2016, 05:39:33 PM
Iceman - the scientific study of how the brain works is called Neuroscience.

Neuro linguistic programming is a load of old codswallop.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2016, 06:17:08 PM
Iceman I get what you are saying to an extent but you have to admit that not every dream can be made a reality for everyone putting in 100%. However that shouldn't or hasn't stopped people trying.

It is not the point of this thread though. If money was no object is a fantastical concept for most people. If you are a millionaire in Armagh or own a house in Florida good on you but you still aren't in a position where money is no object. Go on let your imagination run wild...
Post by: The Iceman on January 22, 2016, 06:20:47 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2016, 06:17:08 PM
Iceman I get what you are saying to an extent but you have to admit that not every dream can be made a reality for everyone putting in 100%. However that shouldn't or hasn't stopped people trying.

It is not the point of this thread though. If money was no object is a fantastical concept for most people. If you are a millionaire in Armagh or own a house in Florida good on you but you still aren't in a position where money is no object. Go on let your imagination run wild...
I'm not disagreeing with you Tony - sorry to get sidetracked
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 22, 2016, 06:24:31 PM
To purchase the best pair of fitting shoes and most comfortable bed that money can buy.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2016, 08:35:15 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 22, 2016, 06:20:47 PM

Here's one for you. If money was no object would you live back on the oul sod or stay in the US?
Post by: laoislad on January 22, 2016, 08:47:34 PM
Virtual reality porn.
Post by: The Iceman on January 22, 2016, 09:20:17 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2016, 08:35:15 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 22, 2016, 06:20:47 PM

Here's one for you. If money was no object would you live back on the oul sod or stay in the US?
We will be home to live in 5-7 years. Nothing to do with money - I think my parents while they're still alive have a lot to teach and pass on to my kids.  Siblings too. We're big believers in the saying "it takes a village to raise a child". Well, I broke up the village and I'll put it back together for a while and bring the clan home. I've 4 kids now and 1 on the way - who knows if we'll have any more in the meantime but we'll be home.  We're planning a move back to the East coast in the next 18 months too. Moving about doesn't annoy us.

If money was no object we would likely go sooner though.  It's hard to get a job around home like I have here - my company is in Cork but I think i would end up travelling all over europe and i dont want to be gone while the kids are all so young.  If money was no object we'd keep the house here and buy the family farm back home and make something of it.
Post by: Olly on January 22, 2016, 10:45:23 PM
I'd turn Meath into the gay capital of Ireland.