Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 06:59:51 PM

Title: Fr Gerry Reynolds RIP
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 06:59:51 PM
Surely even theophobes couldn't deny the Godly long life and mission of the late Fr Gerry Reynoldsand his tireless work for peace and reconciliation here,and empathy with the marginalised.
Title: Re: Fr Gerry Reynolds RIP
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 07:02:46 PM
Delete that crass post and put up a proper tribute, if indeed that is your genuine intention, instead of using a man's passing to benefit some idiotic argument of yours.

Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 08:57:00 PM
Do you admire the late Fr Gerry Reynolds or not?
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 08:59:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 08:57:00 PM

I never heard of him.

But I would guess he deserves better than having his passing being used as a stick to beat 'theophobes' by you.
Post by: bennydorano on November 30, 2015, 09:12:28 PM
Never heard of him & Muppet is 100% correct, you are shameless.
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 09:17:48 PM
No,but if he'd been a convicted child abuser everyone would have heard about him >:(
Post by: laoislad on November 30, 2015, 09:19:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 09:17:48 PM
No,but if he'd been a convicted child abuser everyone would have heard about him >:(
Would you rather convicted child abusers weren't known to the public?
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 09:21:50 PM

(https://images.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=https%3A%2F%2Ftheoriginaljath.files.wordpress.com%2F2014%2F07%2Fincredulous.gif&f=1)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 30, 2015, 09:35:29 PM
Give us your famous story about meeting him at Clonard Novena. ...

Along with the 1000 odd thousand who flocked to it every year
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 09:41:36 PM
This devout Godly man,who along with his colleague the late Fr Alec Reid,was instrumental in the peace process is unheard of,while scum who disgrace the Church,like Brendan Smyth,are world famous.That's the real travesty
Post by: bennydorano on November 30, 2015, 09:42:33 PM
Infamous surely?
Post by: periere on November 30, 2015, 09:47:33 PM

So you start a thread which includes a persons name and introduce child abuse into the discourse.

You realize how search engines work right ?

If you had any decency you would delete the thread.
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 10:19:52 PM
I am pointing out how the media and theophobes ignore good priests and highlight the relatively few abusers,and saying what a travesty this is
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 10:39:10 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 10:19:52 PM
I am pointing out how the media and theophobes ignore good priests and highlight the relatively few abusers,and saying what a travesty this is

Yes, we can all sense your anger.

As usual it has nothing to do with the real victims. If the world worked your way, the abuse would still be going on because we would all have blamed the families and continued worshipping unbelievably false Gods.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 30, 2015, 11:35:47 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 10:19:52 PM

Whose ignoring them?? (the good clergy) start a thread about him, tell me what you know about him personally?? Clandestine meetings held in the monastery?? Or do you know what he did with the community he served in the Clonard area??
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2015, 12:14:10 AM
You are all falling into his trap. Again.
Post by: seafoid on December 01, 2015, 01:41:35 AM
Quote from: muppet on November 30, 2015, 08:59:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 08:57:00 PM

I never heard of him.

But I would guess he deserves better than having his passing being used as a stick to beat 'theophobes' by you.
he was a poker player from Culyhanna who ended up in Vegas running marriages in a one hour chapel for lost souls who ran into Hunter S Thompson and went with him South. He established the first GAA club in Honduras. He died peacefully. Flowers if desired to Interflora.
Post by: heganboy on December 01, 2015, 04:54:54 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 09:41:36 PM
This devout Godly man,who along with his colleague the late Fr Alec Reid,was instrumental in the peace process is unheard of,while scum who disgrace the Church,like Brendan Smyth,are world famous.That's the real travesty

Tony,
Maybe posting in the usual thread would have been the sensible thing, along with your fond memories and a few accolades.
However you are deliberately stirring the pot as per usual, we are more than familiar with you stance on the church. You are using Gerry Reynolds passing to make a point, and a fairly crass one at that. I'm not sure the man himself would have been pleased.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 01, 2015, 11:14:58 AM
Yes Tony, I have heard of Gerry Reynolds and the part he, along with Alec Reid and Des Wilson, played in the Peace Process. All honourable and committed Christians who literally put their lives on the line as they went about their work in secret.

I have been told by others involved in peace talks with them that, no matter how badly negotiations may have been going at times, the integrity of any of them was never questioned.
I think all of us who live on this island and should hold those humble individuals in the highest esteem and nobody should use their names to start yet another trolling session on an internet forum.
You sir, are a thundering bollix disgrace and should shut this thread down at once;  at least show some respect for the work of a genuine Christian.
Post by: Applesisapples on December 01, 2015, 11:16:50 AM
Ton...zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Post by: seafoid on December 01, 2015, 11:38:44 AM
Clonard is right in the middle of one of the flash zones in West Belfast, isn't it, right beside that big wall separating the sides. The priests there must have seen some awful things.
Post by: Rossfan on December 01, 2015, 11:48:26 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 01, 2015, 11:14:58 AM
I have heard of Gerry Reynolds and the part he, along with Alec Reid and Des Wilson, played in the Peace Process. All honourable and committed Christians who literally put their lives on the line as they went about their work in secret.

I have been told by others involved in peace talks with them that, no matter how badly negotiations may have been going at times, the integrity of any of them was never questioned.
I think all of us who live on this island should hold those humble individuals in the highest esteem and ...... show some respect for the work of a genuine Christian.
+1.
RIP Fr Gerry.

Post by: T Fearon on December 01, 2015, 06:32:55 PM
Being a frequent Clonard attendee,I am happy with the generally positive comments on this thread (with the odd exception of course) about the life and work of Fr Gerry Reynolds.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 01, 2015, 07:04:31 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 01, 2015, 06:32:55 PM
Being a frequent Clonard attendee,I am happy with the generally positive comments on this thread (with the odd exception of course) about the life and work of Fr Gerry Reynolds.

Good, now feck off
Post by: magpie seanie on December 01, 2015, 08:44:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 01, 2015, 11:48:26 AM
I have heard of Gerry Reynolds and the part he, along with Alec Reid and Des Wilson, played in the Peace Process. All honourable and committed Christians who literally put their lives on the line as they went about their work in secret.

I think all of us who live on this island should hold those humble individuals in the highest esteem and ...... show some respect for the work of a genuine Christian.
+1.
RIP Fr Gerry.

+2

Excellent post Lar.

Tony - you are a disgrace and yet again do massive disservice to those things you claim to support.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 09:15:51 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 01, 2015, 08:44:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 01, 2015, 11:48:26 AM

+1.
RIP Fr Gerry.

+2

Excellent post Lar.

Tony - you are a disgrace and yet again do massive disservice to those things you claim to support.

+3
Tony come on now! Do you really think Fr Reynolds would approve of your posts on this? Its really a question for yourself I suppose
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2015, 10:26:42 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 06:59:51 PM
RIP to the late Fr Gerry Reynolds for his tireless work for peace and reconciliation here,and empathy with the marginalised.
Wouldn't that have been better.
Post by: muppet on December 01, 2015, 11:15:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2015, 10:26:42 PM
RIP to the late Fr Gerry Reynolds for his tireless work for peace and reconciliation here,and empathy with the marginalised.

Perfect.

TB, maybe you could be Fearon's political and ecumenical advisor?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2015, 11:35:46 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 01, 2015, 11:15:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2015, 10:26:42 PM

Perfect.

TB, maybe you could be Fearon's political and ecumenical advisor?
He'd need to rob the Credit Union.
Post by: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 06:17:07 AM
The context of my opening post was the clerical bashing that goes on constantly,heavily promoted by a theophobic media and its supporters,who are all too predominant on this Board.

While mourning the loss of Fr Gerry I was also trying to redress the balance and point out the great work that he and the majority of priests do.It seems I have at least motivated some here to google him and find out for themselves about his extraordinary work and qualities,so to that extent I am both vindicated and satisfied that what I set out to do has been successful.
Post by: seafoid on December 02, 2015, 08:30:26 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 06:17:07 AM
The context of my opening post was the clerical bashing that goes on constantly,heavily promoted by a theophobic media and its supporters,who are all too predominant on this Board.

While mourning the loss of Fr Gerry I was also trying to redress the balance and point out the great work that he and the majority of priests do.It seems I have at least motivated some here to google him and find out for themselves about his extraordinary work and qualities,so to that extent I am both vindicated and satisfied that what I set out to do has been successful.
in 30 years there won't be any priests left. The model is broken, regardless of the good individual priests do. Child abuse was the last nail in the coffin.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2015, 08:57:52 AM

Then start another post/thread on "clerical bashing that goes on constantly, heavily promoted by a theophobic media".... Don't be tarnishing the work of the good priests that are still out there.. you aint mourning anyone Tony, you're self serving
Post by: Applesisapples on December 02, 2015, 09:40:04 AM
I would be pretty sure that Fr Reynolds  Christianity would be closer to that of most of us on this board who consider ourselves to be Christian. Caring, forgiving and not in the least dogmatic as can be seen in his relationships with Protestant fellow clerics. Yes there are most certainly those on this board who have lost all faith in the church and indeed religion and they quite rightly at times have a go at the church and sometimes they are OTT. But labelling everyone who doesn't follow the dogma to the letter, or who exposes what they see as errors in the church's handling of social issues as Theophobes shows the paucity of truth in their argument. Fr Reynolds like Fr McVeritty in Dublin or Fr Brian D'Arcy are true Christians and ultra orthodox catholics and the church should pay more heed to their utterances. May God Rest Fr Reynolds Soul.
Post by: muppet on December 02, 2015, 11:49:32 AM

Your compassion and pity is matched only by your modesty and humility.
Post by: bennydorano on December 02, 2015, 01:12:24 PM
Another win for TF then.
Post by: Ulick on December 02, 2015, 01:36:29 PM
Fine tribute to him on Thought for Today on Radio Ulster this morning.
Post by: give her dixie on December 02, 2015, 03:54:08 PM
Quote from: Ulick on December 02, 2015, 01:36:29 PM
Fine tribute to him on Thought for Today on Radio Ulster this morning.

Heard that this morning and it was a fine tribute all right, and spoken from the heart from someone who knew him well.

I didn't know much about him myself other than from his work in the early days of the Peace Process.

May he rest in peace.