Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on September 04, 2015, 11:39:27 PM

Title: Michael O'Neill potentially the greatest soccer manager Ireland has ever produce
Post by: T Fearon on September 04, 2015, 11:39:27 PM
After miraculously taking Shamrock Rovers to Europa League group stages it seems barring a miracle he will take the North to Euro 2016 Finals.Incredible achievements that many thought were impossible,surely a massive job beckons?
Title: Re: Michael O'Neill potentially the greatest soccer manager Ireland has ever produce
Post by: BennyCake on September 04, 2015, 11:59:50 PM
Michael O'Neill for Pope. Or maybe he's not tall enough?
Title: Re: Michael O'Neill potentially the greatest soccer manager Ireland has ever produce
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2015, 12:04:16 AM
The fact that he's married (in my home chapel in Portadown by the way) rules that out,I'm afraid,well for the moment anyway
Post by: BennyCake on September 05, 2015, 12:06:08 AM
Shame that. Would have been funny to see the Unionist NI fans supporting the Pope's work.
Post by: An Watcher on September 05, 2015, 01:30:23 AM
Looking forward to their fans embarrassed themselves on the European stage.
Post by: screenexile on September 05, 2015, 01:39:06 AM
What a load of shite!! Wise up!!!
Post by: An Watcher on September 05, 2015, 01:57:08 AM
Sorry they won't embarrass themselves with certain songs and certain flags.  God knows how they'll carry on back here but I'll wise up and crawl back into my hole and not be offended by certain flags n songs
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2015, 07:31:57 AM
While the flags emblems etc are exclusively unionist,the sectarian aspect seems to have gone.Regardless of all of that,this thread is about the achievements of Michael O'Neill as a manager and his destiny
Post by: bannside on September 05, 2015, 08:19:46 AM
There are a few things not generally known about Michael as a footballer. At 20 he played alongside Gazza in midfield for Newcastle. He was winning more NUFC supporters clubs MOM and POTY than Gazza whose jealousy of Michael knew no boundary. The troubles were in full swing then and let's just say that Michael from Ireland got a very hard time, usually led by the high profile p***k who played for England.

Michael contracted glandular fever not long after and it stuck around for a long time, draining him of the energy needed to perform at the highest level. He ended up as a journeyman in Scotland, but only for the illness would have gone on to much greater things.

He played in a very important match for South versus North in Lansdowne Rd, when Jack Charlton era was in full swing. There were many great players on the pitch, but all the pundits agreed that the best footballer on the day was MON. That's pre illness obviously.

Great to see his rising star as a manager. I knew Micheal well when he played for All Saints and was in our house regularly. A good lad who deserves all he gets.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2015, 08:26:43 AM
Quote from: bannside on September 05, 2015, 08:19:46 AM
There are a few things not generally known about Michael as a footballer. At 20 he played alongside Gazza in midfield for Newcastle. He was winning more NUFC supporters clubs MOM and POTY than Gazza whose jealousy of Michael knew no boundary. The troubles were in full swing then and let's just say that Michael from Ireland got a very hard time, usually led by the high profile p***k who played for England.

Michael contracted glandular fever not long after and it stuck around for a long time, draining him of the energy needed to perform at the highest level. He ended up as a journeyman in Scotland, but only for the illness would have gone on to much greater things.

He played in a very important match for South versus North in Lansdowne Rd, when Jack Charlton era was in full swing. There were many great players on the pitch, but all the pundits agreed that the best footballer on the day was MON. That's pre illness obviously.

Great to see his rising star as a manager. I knew Micheal well when he played for All Saints and was in our house regularly. A good lad who deserves all he gets.

Was his dad a Galls man Bannside?
Post by: bannside on September 05, 2015, 08:37:14 AM
Yes MR. Des O Neill, St Galls and Antrim. Great goalkeeper by all accounts.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 05, 2015, 08:48:12 AM
I'd have been a great footballer.....if it hadn't been for the glandular fever.
Post by: bannside on September 05, 2015, 08:51:15 AM
When you get MOM in an arena with the best generation  of soccer players Ireland ever had.....its time enough for your wisecracks lol.
Post by: muppet on September 05, 2015, 12:02:31 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2015, 12:04:16 AM
The fact that he's married (in my home chapel in Portadown by the way) rules that out,I'm afraid,well for the moment anyway

He would hardly be the first married Pope!
Post by: Armamike on September 05, 2015, 03:43:23 PM
It's only a matter of time before an English club come calling, probably a lower level premier club.  Seems a level headed guy unlike a certain incumbent at Liverpool and unlike Sanchez if an offer does come along he'll do the right thing and finish the job he's started. He deserves all the plaudits he'll get if he manages to take them to the euros.
Post by: laoislad on September 05, 2015, 09:39:17 PM
It's not exactly a tough group they are in.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2015, 10:10:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 05, 2015, 09:39:17 PM
It's not exactly a tough group they are in.

Is what it is.. Ireland had no real world beaters  :o

Think the official Ireland roll on France thread needs changing  :o
Post by: ONeill on September 05, 2015, 10:44:39 PM
Yiz do know that the only reason this thread was started is because he's a taig?
Post by: gawa316 on September 05, 2015, 10:56:48 PM
Can only beat who's in front of you LL...you not want on the bandwagon? I can send ye a tap and a fleg!!
Post by: gawa316 on September 05, 2015, 10:57:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 05, 2015, 10:44:39 PM
Yiz do know that the only reason this thread was started is because he's a taig?

Who Tony??
Post by: Bazil Douglas on September 05, 2015, 10:58:35 PM

You mean an  apologist of a taig who sold his soul to the billy boys by wearing the Northern Ireland jersey.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2015, 12:04:52 AM
Quote from: Bazil Douglas on September 05, 2015, 10:58:35 PM

You mean an  apologist of a taig who sold his soul to the billy boys by wearing the Northern Ireland jersey.

Lot of anger in you lad... Lifes way to short for grudges. You wanna get out and live life and stop being a hateful cnut  ;D
Post by: theskull1 on September 06, 2015, 12:51:40 AM
I'd rather he stayed in the house  ;D
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on September 06, 2015, 01:45:57 AM
a mix of both teams will get hammered, call it what you want but next years Euros is a watered down version of the competition ie, it is the A championship combined with the B championship. its solely a money making tool for rich people to get richer, if you want to enjoy that then fair play.
Post by: theskull1 on September 06, 2015, 07:55:56 AM
If I watch 5 minutes of it it'll be more than enough for me.

Always good to see a decent lad doing well though isn't it? Isn't it? :-\  ::)
Post by: T Fearon on September 06, 2015, 08:47:51 AM
Still and all,two years ago you would have laughed if someone suggested N I could qualify for any finals.To do so with two games to spare is impressive and to take an Irish club into Europa League group stage is tantamount to miraculous
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2015, 09:59:03 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 05, 2015, 10:56:48 PM
Can only beat who's in front of you LL...you not want on the bandwagon? I can send ye a tap and a fleg!!
Yeah I know and fair play if they qualify.
I'm fine for fleg or a tap thanks, sure the last time I was in Windsor Park I wore a Laois top  ;D
Post by: general_lee on September 06, 2015, 11:23:00 AM
Fair fucks easy group or not international football can be a minefield. Far nicer top as well!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on September 06, 2015, 11:33:13 AM
In fairness this qualifying has more to do with big Kyle.  O Neill seems ok but hasn't the character like Rodgers
Post by: T Fearon on September 06, 2015, 12:03:46 PM
Kyle attributes his success to Michael O Neill and says he's the best manager he's played under.Some accolade when he's played for the likes of Walter Smith.

O'Neill ten times more intelligent than Rodgers.
Post by: Orior on September 06, 2015, 02:00:43 PM
Has their recent success made anyone want to support OWC? For me, the adjulation makes it even worse.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 06, 2015, 03:06:29 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 06, 2015, 02:00:43 PM
Has their recent success made anyone want to support OWC? For me, the adjulation makes it even worse.
No, just the "fans" who stopped supporting them during the an years. A lad in work said their NISC had over 100 members in 2010 and had 15 up to a few weeks ago. He expects numbers to shoot up again  ???
Post by: bennydorano on September 06, 2015, 05:12:09 PM
Some job by O'Neill. I have always had a soft spot for NI even during the dark days, I just cant muster the bitterness to dislike them. I do wish they'd ditch GSTQ, it's just embarrassing. Have never really warmed to ROI, bar the drunken bandwagoning back in the day.

I'll be in France on holidays next year, i'll be there for the semis & finals - doubt i'll have to buy either jersey to support either team by that stage.
Post by: keep her low this half on September 06, 2015, 08:50:17 PM
I had the problem of playing schools soccer against Michael when he went to St Louis in Ballymena. There was more meat on a chicken nugget but he made all us bigger stronger guys look like tools ( not difficult I Know ). Coincidentally that St Louis team also included a young Eamon Loughran who went on to win a world boxing title. He was a crap footballer though but a proper hard nut even then. Good luck to Michael and well done as he always comes across as a very down to earth sensible guy.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 06, 2015, 09:40:16 PM
Northern Ireland doing well at football reminds me of this.. http://youtu.be/o6zMznCm2Cw
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2015, 10:34:31 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 06, 2015, 09:40:16 PM
Northern Ireland doing well at football reminds me of this.. http://youtu.be/o6zMznCm2Cw

Had been in my head all day!
Post by: T Fearon on September 06, 2015, 11:00:41 PM
Right up there with Crazy Prices and "Fred,there's no bread!" Ads
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 06, 2015, 11:20:41 PM
g i think its really pathetic when a Catholic used the term taig, a derogatory
term, hard to get offended loyalist calling you that when you so readily call yourself that, Its like a blackperson calling himself a ni**er. Have some self respect
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2015, 11:23:22 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 06, 2015, 11:20:41 PM
term, hard to get offended loyalist calling you that when you so readily call yourself that, Its like a blackperson calling himself a ni**er. Have some self respect

(http://i950.photobucket.com/albums/ad343/elrinconcito/gifs/Animales-Insectos/Monos/GIF026.gif)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2015, 11:43:58 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 06, 2015, 11:20:41 PM

Get a grip you header
Post by: Applesisapples on September 07, 2015, 12:40:18 PM
Michael O'Neill has taken a bunch of players with less ability on paper than we have in the Irish squad and led them to the brink of qualification and fair play to him. I personally couldn't support them but that's my choice. The sectarianism around the supporters and IFA doesn't detract from the job he has done. A better bet than Rodgers and to me a more likeable character than Rodgers who I find tedious.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on September 07, 2015, 02:23:42 PM
Norn Iron are in a sh!te group and played none.
The B-Rodge is a bluffer of the highest calibre.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 07, 2015, 02:27:29 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 07, 2015, 12:40:18 PM
Michael O'Neill has taken a bunch of players with less ability on paper than we have in the Irish squad and led them to the brink of qualification and fair play to him. I personally couldn't support them but that's my choice. The sectarianism around the supporters and IFA doesn't detract from the job he has done. A better bet than Rodgers and to me a more likeable character than Rodgers who I find tedious.

I would agree I couldn't support them too seriously but fair play to him if they get there - I hope they do. I do wonder though if they have less ability on paper than the Irish squad. I go to a lot of the games and there are a lot of guys playing at the minute who don't exactly set the world alight.
Post by: stew on September 07, 2015, 02:52:29 PM
If you look at O'Neills body of work as a manager he has done very well everywhere he has been, he is both liked and respected by the players in the squad and he has fostered a tremendous culture in the norths squad.

I for one hope they make it, I always check to see how they are doing and I just wish there was a way for them to win and their supporters to lose!

I support all who wear the Green of Irleand but if it came down to it I would prefer the republic to win even though I never lived a minute in the republic, maybe it's because of the billy boy element that support the north that put me off them, they have more than their fair share which detracts from the great supporters that follow them around the globe!
Post by: gawa316 on September 07, 2015, 04:29:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 06, 2015, 09:59:03 AM
I'm fine for fleg or a tap thanks, sure the last time I was in Windsor Park I wore a Laois top  ;D

Meet me half way then and wear a Fermanagh top and I'll through in my Ulster fleg.
Post by: Orior on September 07, 2015, 05:31:44 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 07, 2015, 04:29:18 PM

Meet me half way then and wear a Fermanagh top and I'll through in my Ulster fleg.

Is that a North Down accent?
Post by: laoislad on September 07, 2015, 06:15:35 PM

Yeah I'm sure you have loads of Fermanagh GAA jerseys just lying around the place at home..... ;D
Sure you're always posting pictures of your kids in Fermanagh jerseys on facebook ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 07, 2015, 07:18:24 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 07, 2015, 05:31:44 PM

Is that a North Down accent?
Need some clarification on what constitutes an Ulster fleg. A proper Ulster fleg or that white yoke with a red hawnd.
Post by: gawa316 on September 07, 2015, 07:26:07 PM
Proper
Post by: imtommygunn on September 07, 2015, 09:25:07 PM
Oh dear...
Post by: general_lee on September 07, 2015, 09:46:57 PM
Am I right in saying the worst NI can do is a playoff place?
Post by: T Fearon on September 07, 2015, 09:48:07 PM
Yes,assured of a play off place at least.
Post by: gallsman on September 07, 2015, 09:49:27 PM
Flicked back and forth for the last half hour to each game involving the two b**tard statelets. Gerry Armstrong is an embarrassment. Chris Baird sent off for two yellows, the first of which was for coming up and kicking a lad from behind off the ball. Thinks it's "dubious". Gareth McCauley gets a shove in the chest and rolls around clutching his head. Slow mo replay - "an elbow's gone up and caught him in the face there".
Post by: snoopdog on September 07, 2015, 09:56:39 PM
2 irelands meet in play offs?.  Would be some craic
Post by: laoislad on September 07, 2015, 10:06:13 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on September 07, 2015, 09:56:39 PM
There's only one Ireland.
Post by: general_lee on September 07, 2015, 10:15:25 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 07, 2015, 10:06:13 PM
There's only one Ireland.
The IFA
Post by: bennydorano on September 07, 2015, 10:18:11 PM
Northern Ireland
Republic of Ireland
New Ireland
Post by: snoopdog on September 07, 2015, 10:21:52 PM
Draw would be seeded both would be in the unseeded pot so won't happen
Post by: stew on September 08, 2015, 02:46:56 PM

Clown!
Post by: Pub Bore on September 08, 2015, 03:33:14 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 07, 2015, 09:49:27 PM
Flicked back and forth for the last half hour to each game involving the two b**tard statelets. Uncle Tom Armstrong is an embarrassment. Chris Baird sent off for two yellows, the first of which was for coming up and kicking a lad from behind off the ball. Thinks it's "dubious". Gareth McCauley gets a shove in the chest and rolls around clutching his head. Slow mo replay - "an elbow's gone up and caught him in the face there".

Fixed that for you!
Post by: theskull1 on September 08, 2015, 04:53:14 PM
As someone once said

We don't see things as they are; we see them as we are.

I think that holds up fairly well
Post by: gallsman on September 08, 2015, 05:18:08 PM
Quote from: Pub Bore on September 08, 2015, 03:33:14 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 07, 2015, 09:49:27 PM
Flicked back and forth for the last half hour to each game involving the two b**tard statelets. Uncle Tom Armstrong is an embarrassment. Chris Baird sent off for two yellows, the first of which was for coming up and kicking a lad from behind off the ball. Thinks it's "dubious". Gareth McCauley gets a shove in the chest and rolls around clutching his head. Slow mo replay - "an elbow's gone up and caught him in the face there".

Fixed that for you!

What, because he's a taig? You sad man.
Post by: stew on September 08, 2015, 09:03:10 PM
The sooner they Unite and play for Ireland the better.

If Rugby can do it, why not football?
Post by: omaghjoe on September 08, 2015, 09:37:03 PM
Quote from: stew on September 08, 2015, 09:03:10 PM

Rugby didnt do it.
Post by: Orior on September 08, 2015, 09:51:13 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on September 08, 2015, 09:37:03 PM
Quote from: stew on September 08, 2015, 09:03:10 PM

Rugby didnt do it.

It worked for Germany.
Post by: deiseach on September 09, 2015, 10:19:46 AM
Michael O'Neill must be the greatest now that Neil Lennon isn't