GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Cletus Fox on August 30, 2015, 11:26:23 PM

Title: Colm O'Rourke "abused and insulted" by Tyrone fans
Post by: Cletus Fox on August 30, 2015, 11:26:23 PM
Supporters reflecting their players. O'Rourke tells it like it is.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Football/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=243341

RTE pundit Colm O'Rourke didn't get a great reception from Tyrone fans in Croke Park last Sunday.

In his Sunday Independent column today, the Meath legend says his criticism of the Red Hands in the lead-up to their All-Ireland SFC semi-final defeat by Kerry "meant abuse, insult, and the threat of physical confrontation from Tyrone supporters before, during and after the game."

O'Rourke also hit back strongly at GAA president Aogán ó Fearghail's criticism of the punditry on The Sunday Game.

"When Aogán ó Fearghail branded The Sunday Game as 'tiresome' he should have cut his losses at that," he wrote.

"Maybe it is, and that is his subjective assessment. The show creates debate, arouses some controversy and deals with issues without fear or favour. Sometimes right, sometimes wrong. Viewers are not switching off, over three-quarters of a million were watching last Sunday, which is a huge figure. If that were transferred pro rata to Britain, it would be about ten million; the BBC would kill for a programme like that.

"The GAA president then railed against its consistent negativity. I did not realise that part of my role was to be a propaganda officer for the GAA. When games are bad, like most have been this summer, I will say they were bad. When we have a good match, like Kerry and Tyrone, then I will be first to recognise that also. What does the president want? Poodles to glorify the great organisation? Most people will recognise the silliness of his comments in this regard.

"However, if those musings could be dismissed as playing to the gallery then his comments about Tyrone, the press and the upcoming negotiations between the GAA and RTé need to be seriously challenged. He took exception to my comment about controversy following Tyrone around this year like a bad smell. This term was used in the context of various issues arising in their minor, under 21 and senior teams. ó Fearghail has decided, like Tyrone, to avoid the issues and shoot the messenger over a turn of phrase.

"What about a comment on the disgraceful scenes in the Monaghan-Tyrone game, the diving, feigning injury, sledging or interference from the sideline? The culprit is The Sunday Game for highlighting it.

"He also feels that Ulster teams get too much bad press and can understand how Tyrone are aggrieved. He is quoted as saying, "Now they have started to do well (Ulster teams ), then there's a little bit of edge to some commentary". He also made reference to the "southern media", where some of the criticism comes from. What a stupid insulting thing to say which only reinforces the bunker mentality displayed by Tyrone. If the president is saying it, it must be true.

"For a president of the GAA to use a term like the "southern media" indicates a serious lack of sense, common or otherwise. It is a signal insult to all the professional journalists who work in the media, who love the GAA and who comment on it without caring what province a county is from. Does the president really think that if any other county carried on like Tyrone that they would be treated any differently in the press or on The Sunday Game?

"If the answer is yes, that's even more worrying. I have no doubt that if Dublin, Mayo or Kerry involved themselves in the type of conduct which both Monaghan and Tyrone were at, the reaction would be the same."
Title: Re: Colm O'Rourke "abused and insulted" by Tyrone fans
Post by: The Trap on August 30, 2015, 11:42:34 PM
Emmmmmm he didn't really follow up on what he said........very cynical game today, any
Number of incidents......and he didn't open his mouth........adds to conspiracy theories me thinks.......apologise to the President.......don't think he will be on Sunday game next year so try your hand at taking Meath and see how good you are then........
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 30, 2015, 11:43:42 PM
I say he was a fairly better footballer than you ever be Trap to be honest, if your old enough to remember him playing
Post by: rrhf on August 30, 2015, 11:47:14 PM
Trap has to call him on his bias punditry.   O Rourke is an agenda driven bullshitter with a patronising demeanour.  Deserves all the slagging he gets from the fans.   
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 30, 2015, 11:47:39 PM
I thought Colm ORourke was a manly man  ;)
Post by: The Trap on August 30, 2015, 11:53:03 PM
Good footballer yes, one of the best, really loved watching him play.........but fair is fair and he has not been that. I am not one of tyrones biggest fans but the bias he has shown between tyrone games and dublin games is incredible........and the column he wrote today against the PResident will be his undoing........
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 30, 2015, 11:58:53 PM
This from an individual who boasts about sneaky digs to his tight-marking opponent's head?! Suck it up thug.
Post by: Jinxy on August 31, 2015, 12:01:05 AM
Don't let the bastards get you down, Colm.
Post by: ONeill on August 31, 2015, 12:02:20 AM
O'Rourke's star has fallen this year. Don't think many take anything he says as insightful.
Post by: orangeman on August 31, 2015, 12:03:48 AM
I like O'Rourke but I'm not sure having this out in public with the President is sensible.

A disrepute charge should be proposed immediately.  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on August 31, 2015, 12:16:13 AM
Colm will take down the President and any lippy nordies that come within elbow range.
Post by: The Trap on August 31, 2015, 12:21:56 AM
Colm on way out and not be missed.......let him
Take meath and brolly take Derry.......I would say they would really be found out then.......
Post by: Windmill abu on August 31, 2015, 12:24:09 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 31, 2015, 12:01:05 AM
Don't let the b**tards get you down, Colm.

Ba*kruptci*s

Fixed that without super injunctions or their ROI equivalent.
Post by: stew on August 31, 2015, 01:26:39 AM
Quote from: rrhf on August 30, 2015, 11:47:14 PM
Trap has to call him on his bias punditry.   O Rourke is an agenda driven bullshitter with a patronising demeanour.  Deserves all the slagging he gets from the fans.

You cannot defend the indefensible, O'Rourke is right and this comment from Tyrone's resident twat says it all really!

Post by: Syferus on August 31, 2015, 01:32:54 AM
+1 for Colm
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 31, 2015, 01:34:00 AM
O'Rourke has exposed himself as a hypocrite with his scant lip service to a match stacked with unsavoury incidents.
Post by: moysider on August 31, 2015, 01:56:31 AM
Quote from: The Trap on August 31, 2015, 12:21:56 AM
Take meath and brolly take Derry.......I would say they would really be found out then.......

Colm made a trade of ridiculing/hating on Mayo. Much the same as McGee did as well.

Now I don t know about McGee (don t care) but Colm was tipping us to beat Dublin! I know he hates the Dubs as well but wtf is that about.

Likes of O Rourke, McGee never got us. It used to annoy me a long time ago but don't don t heed that shite now. After all the crap we ve got down the years we re still standing again. Back into the lion's den next Saturday.

Young lads in their late teens in counties like Cork, Meath, Tyrone, Down, Galway were born with a silver spoon in their mouths' in successful counties. Where are they?  The current Mayo team were born into misery ridicule and injustice. The fall guys from Mayo  the only team to consistently try to upset the applecart of the Kerry/Dublin love-in.   
Post by: Syferus on August 31, 2015, 02:04:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 31, 2015, 01:56:31 AM

Colm made a trade of ridiculing/hating on Mayo. Much the same as McGee did as well.

Now I don t know about McGee (don t care) but Colm was tipping us to beat Dublin! I know he hates the Dubs as well but wtf is that about.

Likes of O Rourke, McGee never got us. It used to annoy me a long time ago but don't don t heed that shite now. After all the crap we ve got down the years we re still standing again. Back into the lion's den next Saturday.

Young lads in their late teens in counties like Cork, Meath, Tyrone, Down, Galway were born with a silver spoon in their mouths' in successful counties. Where are they?  The current Mayo team were born into misery ridicule and injustice. The fall guys from Mayo  the only team to consistently try to upset the applecart of the Kerry/Dublin love-in.

Ah cmon Moy. Mayo lads think Connacht is their birthright. As cocky as any Galway lads and more insufferable because football just means more to Mayo people.

Mayo are no hard luck story, they're building on the back of many other Mayo teams that were good to very good. The only difference between Mayo and the counties you've mentioned is they got over the line on a certain Sunday in September. Take a walk in the shoes of a Sligo or Leitrim supporter before you cry a river for yourself.
Post by: vallankumous on August 31, 2015, 02:06:33 AM
O'Rourke comes across as desperate and lacking class. The President was answering direct questions and maybe should have been more careful but O'Rourke and Brolly (on twittter) launch an attacking defence. It gives the impression they're worried.

I wonder did it have an impact on The Sunday Game panel tonight criticising players without being offensive or issuing demands?
Post by: moysider on August 31, 2015, 03:03:25 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 31, 2015, 02:04:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 31, 2015, 01:56:31 AM

Ah cmon Moy. Mayo lads think Connacht is their birthright. As cocky as any Galway lads and more insufferable because football just means more to Mayo people.

Mayo are no hard luck story, they're building on the back of many other Mayo teams that were good to very good. The only difference between Mayo and the counties you've mentioned is they got over the line on a certain Sunday in September. Take a walk in the shoes of a Sligo or Leitrim supporter before you cry a river for yourself.

Wha?

Post by: J70 on August 31, 2015, 03:58:46 AM

Found out? Why?

Does one have to have the proven ability to be a top class intercounty manager to comment on football?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 31, 2015, 05:11:55 AM
Ah poor Colm
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 31, 2015, 05:16:36 AM
Quote from: stew on August 31, 2015, 01:26:39 AM
Quote from: rrhf on August 30, 2015, 11:47:14 PM

You cannot defend the indefensible, O'Rourke is right and this comment from Tyrone's resident twat says it all really!

Lay off the vino
Post by: delgany on August 31, 2015, 09:25:01 AM
Dear  colm   you spout your opinions  put  your hand out to accept the payments...accept the crticisms of others who arent being paid ... build a bridge man....
Post by: deiseach on August 31, 2015, 09:42:35 AM
Quote from: delgany on August 31, 2015, 09:25:01 AM
Dear  colm   you spout your opinions  put  your hand out to accept the payments...accept the crticisms of others who arent being paid ... build a bridge man....

This. I think Colm needs to realise that Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael has a different job description to Uachtarán na hÉireann. There's no rule saying the former can't speak their mind. If anything we need him to speak out more rather than leaving it in the hands of unelected bureaucrats. Say what you like, Colm. But the freedom to criticise cuts both ways.
Post by: GJL on August 31, 2015, 09:44:54 AM
So it seems Colm is happy to give it but can't take it.

I'd be amazed if RTE do not do a major clean out of TSG after the season is over.
Post by: ONeill on August 31, 2015, 09:51:34 AM
There are a few lads 'abused and insulted' by the Sunday Game panel.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2015, 09:55:09 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 31, 2015, 09:51:34 AM
There are a few lads 'abused and insulted' by the Sunday Game panel.

Exactly. I wouldn't condone abusing a man, but how do he and Brolly and Spillane expect people to feel? They are not a bit shy about getting personal with people so they can hardly be too surprised when others react negatively to that. This is a small country, and every player or manager or referee that the lads go overboard on has brothers, friends, clubmates etc and it's hardly surprising they'd have a go.

Keep the analysis non-personal, and maybe the public won't let their criticism of you be personal either.
Post by: deiseach on August 31, 2015, 09:58:11 AM
The more I read it, the more tiresome it becomes. Does he seriously think three-quarters of a million people are tuning in to watch him?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2015, 10:00:50 AM
And that it's purpose is " The show creates debate, arouses some controversy and deals with issues without fear or favour. "

Apart from the obvious bullshit of the last part of the sentence, I'd have thought the show should inform, analyse and give insight. It's telling that he feels the show creates debate and controversy. It's not f**king Jeremy Kyle.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 31, 2015, 10:18:34 AM
The analysis by Canavan, McGuinness and Connell @ HT & FT on Sky leaves the RTE panel in the halfpenny place - they analyse whats actually happening on the pitch and gives the TV viewer an excellent insight to the tactical battles and how the game evolved. 
Post by: BennyHarp on August 31, 2015, 10:26:42 AM
Being such a manly man, I'm surprised Colm is getting so upset by this.
Post by: deiseach on August 31, 2015, 10:28:58 AM
And there must be a few people who tune into Sky just to, uh, look at one of the participants in the studio. I hear Pat Spillane is planning to dye his hair back to its original flaxen splendour.
Post by: Talks a good game on August 31, 2015, 10:39:15 AM
Quote from: deiseach on August 31, 2015, 10:28:58 AM
And there must be a few people who tune into Sky just to, uh, look at one of the participants in the studio. I hear Pat Spillane is planning to dye his hair back to its original flaxen splendour.

Guilty, Peter is hot stuff  :-*
Post by: yellowcard on August 31, 2015, 11:22:21 AM
For all the praise that Sky seem to get on here, how is it that only 1,500 Irish viewers watched the Kerry v Tyrone semi final on Sky as opposed to 750,000 on RTE.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2015, 11:24:00 AM
How many have Sky Sports Subscriptions? I know I watched it on Sky. I know most people would still watch it on RTE but I just can't stomach them any more.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 31, 2015, 11:33:39 AM
I watch on Sky. Quite honestly can't stand Martin Carney, Tom Carr, Joe Brolly, Colm O'Rourke and Pat Spillane.

Don't mind the analysts on the evening show, enjoyed the 3 lads last night and Whelan was reasonably objective, McStay less so, O'Se I feel can offer more but happy enough with the odd nugget he offers.

Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2015, 11:36:19 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 31, 2015, 11:33:39 AM
I watch on Sky. Quite honestly can't stand Martin Carney, Tom Carr, Joe Brolly, Colm O'Rourke and Pat Spillane.

Don't mind the analysts on the evening show, enjoyed the 3 lads last night and Whelan was reasonably objective, McStay less so, O'Se I feel can offer more but happy enough with the odd nugget he offers.

I don't mind Carney. I can take O'Rourke as well. Carney reminds me of a kindly uncle. He wouldn't see malice in it if 4 lads broke into his house and robbed everything around him.
Post by: westbound on August 31, 2015, 11:37:40 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 31, 2015, 11:22:21 AM
For all the praise that Sky seem to get on here, how is it that only 1,500 Irish viewers watched the Kerry v Tyrone semi final on Sky as opposed to 750,000 on RTE.

Is that accurate? Only 1,500 people watched it on sky?

I know the numbers with sky subscriptions is a prohibiting factor for increasing the viewership on sky, but surely there was more than that watching it?

Sky surely won't keep it going if that's all they are getting to watch it!
Post by: Rois on August 31, 2015, 11:48:48 AM
I didn't go near RTE yesterday for any coverage, neither the match nor TSG. 
It winds me up a bit too much.

I'd choose Sky every time if offered.

Post by: ONeill on August 31, 2015, 11:50:35 AM
Quote from: Rois on August 31, 2015, 11:48:48 AM

You're only watchin it for the eye-candy.
Post by: rrhf on August 31, 2015, 11:58:54 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 31, 2015, 10:00:50 AM
And that it's purpose is " The show creates debate, arouses some controversy and deals with issues without fear or favour. "

Apart from the obvious bullshit of the last part of the sentence, I'd have thought the show should inform, analyse and give insight. It's telling that he feels the show creates debate and controversy. It's not f**king Jeremy Kyle.
Well put!
Post by: Rois on August 31, 2015, 12:11:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 31, 2015, 11:50:35 AM
Quote from: Rois on August 31, 2015, 11:48:48 AM

You're only watchin it for the eye-candy.
I watch it to see how far Senan Connell can lean in to someone without falling off the seat.
Post by: Main Street on August 31, 2015, 01:07:22 PM

That's disingenuous AZ, you are attributing  something that O'Rourke did not say.
It's bullshit to claim he said the show was about creating debate and controversy.
Pundits giving their informed opinion on a show naturally creates debate and on occasion controversy.

Apart from that, the manly noble  Colm is not being sensitive to criticism, he's making a stance for freedom, no higher cause.
Freedom of journalists and pundits to express their considered opinion on the game without interference from GAA authorities  and Tyrone thugs. And no surrender to the happy clappy (overdosed on Miranda) Sky Sports theme of whatever you say, say nothing negative.
Any opinions here from Tyrone fans, who are just so predictably lemoned up to the hilt, can be dismissed out of hand ;D

Post by: north down on August 31, 2015, 01:32:30 PM
Sure isn't the man making a living out of criticism and abuse - he can hardly complain.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2015, 01:34:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 31, 2015, 01:07:22 PM

That's disingenuous AZ, you are attributing  something that O'Rourke did not say.
It's bullshit to claim he said the show was about creating debate and controversy.
Pundits giving their informed opinion on a show naturally creates debate and on occasion controversy.

Apart from that, the manly noble  Colm is not being sensitive to criticism, he's making a stance for freedom, no higher cause.
Freedom of journalists and pundits to express their considered opinion on the game without interference from GAA authorities  and Tyrone thugs. And no surrender to the happy clappy (overdosed on Miranda) Sky Sports theme of whatever you say, say nothing negative.
Any opinions here from Tyrone fans, who are just so predictably lemoned up to the hilt, can be dismissed out of hand ;D

So he's saying they accidentally create controversy? Now *That's* disingenuous.
Post by: T Fearon on August 31, 2015, 07:07:06 PM
Ffs I was subjected to vile abuse from Tyrone fans on Facebook. :(

Post by: Club Rossa on August 31, 2015, 07:15:02 PM
You deserved all the abuse you got for that interview you gave to Sidebottom on All Ireland Final day in 03 :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 31, 2015, 08:17:55 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 31, 2015, 07:07:06 PM
Ffs I was subjected to vile abuse from Tyrone fans on Facebook. :(

Despite 2 out of 3 of your FB posts consisting of nothing more than an anti-Tyrone diatribe, and you think we'll meekly be accepting of such?  Cop on lad ;)
Post by: rrhf on August 31, 2015, 09:02:58 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 31, 2015, 01:07:22 PM

Since sky came on board Rte have tried to make the gaa about Rte. Rachel wyse attack. Player and management abuse, referee abuse etc.  What exactly are the gaa getting from Rte?
Post by: Rodman on August 31, 2015, 09:11:16 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 31, 2015, 11:22:21 AM

those 750,00 probably don't have Sky. 
Post by: Itchy on August 31, 2015, 09:47:25 PM
O Rourke is a fuckwit, same fella once said that referees shouldn't be small men. He's a brainless ape hiding in a teachers body. That aside he has nothing to say. Watch him mcguinness on sky for some real insight, O Rourke and Spillane are from a dead era.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 31, 2015, 09:57:07 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 31, 2015, 09:47:25 PM
O Rourke is a fuckwit, same fella once said that referees shouldn't be small men. He's a brainless ape hiding in a teachers body. That aside he has nothing to say. Watch him mcguinness on sky for some real insight, O Rourke and Spillane are from a dead era.

LOL When Did he say that? I think he probably wants manly referees as well.
Post by: Jinxy on August 31, 2015, 10:29:57 PM

Name one good small ref.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 31, 2015, 10:39:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 31, 2015, 10:29:57 PM

Name one good small ref.

Name a good big un!