GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Estimator on June 14, 2015, 03:39:17 PM

Title: Ulster SFC: Derry v Donegal 27th June 2015
Post by: Estimator on June 14, 2015, 03:39:17 PM
Another one-sided encounter?
Title: Re: Ulster SFC: Derry v Donegal 27th June 2015
Post by: rrhf on June 14, 2015, 03:46:37 PM
Omagh?
Post by: Estimator on June 14, 2015, 03:48:19 PM
Clones
Saturday evening - minors on first.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 14, 2015, 03:49:32 PM
Quote from: Estimator on June 14, 2015, 03:48:19 PM
Clones
Saturday evening - minors on first.

The question is which Derry team will get beaten by the least.
Post by: screenexile on June 14, 2015, 03:56:00 PM
What's the handicap??
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 14, 2015, 04:25:01 PM
We try keep it within 10!! As Joe say we got a good marking full back line, decent midfield when fit, and 2 deadly forwards, but we dont have a clue what we are doing football wise.
Post by: Schkite on June 14, 2015, 09:44:10 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 14, 2015, 03:56:00 PM
What's the handicap??

Donegal -4 at 6/5 with PP.
Post by: JoG2 on June 14, 2015, 10:01:52 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 14, 2015, 04:25:01 PM
We try keep it within 10!! As Joe say we got a good marking full back line, decent midfield when fit, and 2 deadly forwards, but we dont have a clue what we are doing football wise.

It must be true then

No doubt we travel more in hope than ought else but you never know
Post by: ONeill on June 14, 2015, 10:48:03 PM
What's the handicap??

They're from Derry.
Post by: armaghniac on June 14, 2015, 10:52:51 PM
Derry should bring their walls with them.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 14, 2015, 11:08:59 PM
Derry have only reverted to a defensive type game coming up the Dublin game, way to late to try bring this in especially when you knew you be likely going head to head with Donegal later in the year!! Just cant bring in a new system, at a wimp and expect it to suddenly click when players had played all out attack the year before.
Post by: southderryman on June 15, 2015, 08:39:31 AM
Quote from: Schkite on June 14, 2015, 09:44:10 PM
What's the handicap??

Donegal -4 at 6/5 with PP.

That's a decent price imo
Post by: southderryman on June 15, 2015, 08:42:08 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 14, 2015, 11:08:59 PM
Derry have only reverted to a defensive type game coming up the Dublin game, way to late to try bring this in especially when you knew you be likely going head to head with Donegal later in the year!! Just cant bring in a new system, at a wimp and expect it to suddenly click when players had played all out attack the year before.

We hadn't exactly been all out attack prior to the Dublin game either.  We played alot more defensively since the league started, it's just got a lot press after the Dublin game.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 15, 2015, 09:58:37 AM
Based on the game yesterday, I believe we are better than Armagh.
We've definately got better man markers anyway, and where Armagh seem to only have Clarke up front, we've got Lynch and Skinner.

But are we good enough to beat Donegal.....I doubt it, but we'll make a better game of it than Armagh did.
We'll struggle for scores....and we'll probably concede too many frees, so I can see Donegal winning by 4-5 with 5-6 of their scores from frees.

Sad times.
Post by: screenexile on June 15, 2015, 10:05:25 AM
Brolly basically picked apart everything wrong with our team in the GL over the weekend and he's not wrong.

Benny Heron is constantly playing in the HB line when he should be an outlet ball for us at Half Forward as a link between defence and attack which is something we are badly missing. McIver won't change his mind though and we'll be like lambs to the slaughter again.

Last year we matched Donegal for the whole match save a 10 minute spell just after half time. Sadly Donegal have improved from then and I think we have gone back a bit which is a shame since we've better players available now than we did then!!
Post by: Mikasa on June 15, 2015, 10:50:12 AM
It will be Donegal by 5 or 6.

Derry must do what Tyrone did to Murphy to curtail his influence on the game, he dominated that game yesterday with Gallagher around the middle. Skinner will be isolated and I can see O'Boyle starting and bombarding their FB line with early high ball. This won't work though at least not enough times to win the game. We can't start Kielt due to their attacking HB line and his lack of mobility and we don't have enough men to break the tackle like Lynn.

All in all, we will give them a game but fall short, again.
Post by: JoG2 on June 15, 2015, 10:51:29 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 14, 2015, 10:52:51 PM

Best to keep the head down for a few days
Post by: theticklemister on June 15, 2015, 10:52:28 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 15, 2015, 10:51:29 AM

Post by: tbrick18 on June 15, 2015, 11:00:53 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 15, 2015, 10:05:25 AM
Brolly basically picked apart everything wrong with our team in the GL over the weekend and he's not wrong.

Benny Heron is constantly playing in the HB line when he should be an outlet ball for us at Half Forward as a link between defence and attack which is something we are badly missing. McIver won't change his mind though and we'll be like lambs to the slaughter again.

Last year we matched Donegal for the whole match save a 10 minute spell just after half time. Sadly Donegal have improved from then and I think we have gone back a bit which is a shame since we've better players available now than we did then!!

Yeah I'd agree with that.
I've said before on here, the McIver never seems to be able to develop a full gameplan.
Generally speaking, he'll get us defending OR attacking OR holding possession OR nullifying the other team's star player, but then forget about everything else.
This year the focus is on defence, with no obvious plan of counter attacking and we are suffering for it.
I think tactically we are behind the likes of Donegal....and in terms of quality players, we have a few but the rest are not in the same league. 
I'm not looking forward to the semi final one wee bit.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 15, 2015, 11:02:17 AM
Jesus lads some whinging being done on here. Lets see how it pans out shall we.
Post by: theticklemister on June 15, 2015, 11:05:01 AM
to hell with it; we're gonna win!
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 15, 2015, 11:06:00 AM
DY-SAM-15
Post by: armaghniac on June 15, 2015, 11:10:33 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on June 15, 2015, 10:52:28 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 15, 2015, 10:51:29 AM

I'm just trying to help lads and mitigate the damage. Don't be such a shower of ungrateful curmudgeons, I am well disposed to you or any team that beats Down and have your best interests at heart.
Post by: rrhf on June 15, 2015, 12:07:02 PM
Derry need Paddy Bradley back.
Post by: screenexile on June 15, 2015, 12:12:08 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 15, 2015, 12:07:02 PM
Derry need Paddy Bradley back.

We can get beat just as well without him there as with him!!
Post by: tbrick18 on June 17, 2015, 09:36:40 AM
Is this game televised?
Post by: angermanagement on June 17, 2015, 09:41:37 AM
Sky sports 3 Saturday 27th June
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 17, 2015, 09:41:44 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 17, 2015, 09:36:40 AM
Is this game televised?

Sky only AFAIK
Post by: JoG2 on June 17, 2015, 09:49:28 AM
Down with Sky
Post by: tbrick18 on June 17, 2015, 10:16:00 AM
Ok...let me ask it another way....is it possible to watch the game on TV/Internet without a sky subscription?

Unfortunately my father wouldn't be able to make the trip to Clones, trying to suss out if there's a way he can watch it from home.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 17, 2015, 10:26:02 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 17, 2015, 10:16:00 AM
Ok...let me ask it another way....is it possible to watch the game on TV/Internet without a sky subscription?

Unfortunately my father wouldn't be able to make the trip to Clones, trying to suss out if there's a way he can watch it from home.

Don't think so. You would most likely need the internet as a minimum.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 17, 2015, 10:31:32 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 17, 2015, 10:26:02 AM

He has the internet, just doesnt have a sky subscription.
Post by: whiskeysteve on June 17, 2015, 10:34:51 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 17, 2015, 10:31:32 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 17, 2015, 10:26:02 AM

He has the internet, just doesnt have a sky subscription.

GAA GO are covering it tbrick:

https://gaago.rte.ie/fixture/FC-USF2/

You just need a proxy server going now to get a non-GB/Ireland IP  ;)
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 17, 2015, 10:43:07 AM
Or can you buy a one off game on nowtv?? Similar to that of a premiership match.
Post by: JoG2 on June 17, 2015, 10:52:01 AM
there are ways tbrick

I posted on another thread about streaming Sky through Kodi (using Phoenix) either to a phone / tablet or cast it onto the TV using the likes of a chromecast or a lead. Can be a bit tricky and, like streaming anything there's no guarantee it'll work without any hassle. I tested all the Sky sports channels last night using Kodi and a chromecast and they all worked.

If you wanna go down this route, I'll write out a few instructions to help out

Or, less hassle would be to 'borrow' a sky logon from a friend / neighbour and watch it through Sky Go onto a laptop or desktop

Post by: theticklemister on June 17, 2015, 10:52:27 AM

To get an IP proxy, download:

HOLA

this recognises that you are from Ireland. I get the Sunday Game here in Liverpool through it. HD quality.

hahasport.com

might have it, but you won't know until the last minute. Quality maybe be a bit crap too.

Take yer oul boy to the bar and treat him with a pint and watch the game. He might give ye a few pence for a mineral and a game of pool.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 17, 2015, 11:48:39 AM
Cheers folks, hopefully get it sorted from that.
The GAAGO option looks like the easiest as I already have HOLA.
Post by: JoG2 on June 17, 2015, 12:17:47 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 17, 2015, 11:48:39 AM

GAAGO would be the least stressful. Hola wouldn't be needed for GAAGO though tbrick
Post by: armaghniac on June 17, 2015, 12:28:20 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 17, 2015, 12:17:47 PM

GAAGO would be the least stressful. Hola wouldn't be needed for GAAGO though tbrick

You can't use Gaago in Britian or Ireland in order to keep Sky happy, which is ridiculous.
Post by: doodaa on June 17, 2015, 02:47:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 17, 2015, 12:28:20 PM

You can't use Gaago in Britian or Ireland in order to keep Sky happy, which is ridiculous.

I think that's why you use HOLA, to appear to be from outside both those areas.

EDIT; Ive just re-read and see you are replying to JoG2's comment.
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2015, 11:11:45 PM
James kielt left the derry panel apparently
Post by: twohands!!! on June 19, 2015, 12:13:38 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 18, 2015, 11:11:45 PM
James kielt left the derry panel apparently

Derry only used 2 subs in the Down game. 

Can't help thing those two things are not unconnected.

Post by: JoG2 on June 19, 2015, 02:56:08 PM
Quote from: doodaa on June 17, 2015, 02:47:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 17, 2015, 12:28:20 PM

I think that's why you use HOLA, to appear to be from outside both those areas.

EDIT; Ive just re-read and see you are replying to JoG2's comment.

ah right. What an awful balls that Sky deal was / is
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2015, 04:37:49 AM
Not much talk about this match at all, anywhere!  Consensus seems to be that it's a foregone conclusion,  judging by the lauding of Donegal in the aftermath of the Armagh game.  Just hope the players don't buy into it, as the Connacht game at the weekend showed that hot favouritism doesn't necessarily mean shit if you can't back it up. And we saw what happened the last time these teams met in the aftermath of one of them giving Armagh a going over!

Haven't heard any word on McBrearty's injury, so presumably it healed up? How are Derry looking fitness-wise? Nervous about midfield.  Durcan and Neil Gallagher better be on their games.
Post by: Estimator on June 22, 2015, 05:53:54 PM
Donegal would be bigger favourites than Ros were against Sligo. If they achieve a performance anything like they did at the Athletic Grounds, then it will be another walk over for them.

I wouldn't worry about Derry troubling Durcan and Gallagher will probably have another stroll in the park.
Post by: andoireabu on June 23, 2015, 10:19:36 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 17, 2015, 10:52:01 AM
there are ways tbrick

I posted on another thread about streaming Sky through Kodi (using Phoenix) either to a phone / tablet or cast it onto the TV using the likes of a chromecast or a lead. Can be a bit tricky and, like streaming anything there's no guarantee it'll work without any hassle. I tested all the Sky sports channels last night using Kodi and a chromecast and they all worked.

Or, less hassle would be to 'borrow' a sky logon from a friend / neighbour and watch it through Sky Go onto a laptop or desktop
Would you mind PMing me those instructions JoG2?  I've a chromecast but other than that I wouldn't have a clue how to set this up. Cheers
Post by: JoG2 on June 23, 2015, 10:38:53 AM
Quote from: andoireabu on June 23, 2015, 10:19:36 AM
there are ways tbrick

Would you mind PMing me those instructions JoG2?  I've a chromecast but other than that I wouldn't have a clue how to set this up. Cheers

no bother, will throw it together now. Also, HD Cinema has been repackaged as Sky HD and is live
Post by: supersarsfields on June 23, 2015, 03:37:07 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 23, 2015, 10:38:53 AM
there are ways tbrick

no bother, will throw it together now. Also, HD Cinema has been repackaged as Sky HD and is live

Could you pm me as well?
Post by: JoG2 on June 23, 2015, 03:46:27 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on June 23, 2015, 03:37:07 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 23, 2015, 10:38:53 AM
there are ways tbrick

Could you pm me as well?

done
Post by: Main Street on June 23, 2015, 10:23:52 PM
I'll just look for a stream. You know the GAA has gone global, when you can watch a stream online. Paddies Together Will Never Be Defeated.
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2015, 01:10:19 AM
Paddy Bradley, the moan about not being asked on the panel aside, raises some questions about McIver's tactical ability on the line. Its something I always found wanting in him during his time in charge of Donegal. I remember one particular game where his lack of strength in this area involved dealing with Paddy himself!

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/derry-exile-bradley-fires-broadside-at-mciver-31322178.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/derry-exile-bradley-fires-broadside-at-mciver-31322178.html)
Post by: cornerback on June 24, 2015, 08:50:41 AM
I am actually in the pro-paddy bradley camp in that I think he still has something to offer at county level.  However, I think it would be more as a bit-part role & I'm doubtful whether or not Paddy would buy into that role!

However, this quote reminds me of Art McRory & The Rock:
"In the Derry leagues this year I am the top scorer and playing good enough football. Out of the top ten scorers in Division 1, 2 and 3, Cailean O'Boyle was the only one on the Derry panel."
If this is a measure of who should be in the Derry Panel, then Eoin wouldn't be on the panel.  Did it ever dawn on Paddy that county players haven't been playing much club league football!!

According to Paddy's twitter feed he has been misquoted but if that is the case he should be experienced enough at this stage in the media to know better.
Post by: Jinxy on June 24, 2015, 09:27:08 AM
That's a facepalm right there.
Post by: orangeman on June 24, 2015, 09:35:09 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 24, 2015, 01:10:19 AM
Paddy Bradley, the moan about not being asked on the panel aside, raises some questions about McIver's tactical ability on the line. Its something I always found wanting in him during his time in charge of Donegal. I remember one particular game where his lack of strength in this area involved dealing with Paddy himself!

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/derry-exile-bradley-fires-broadside-at-mciver-31322178.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/derry-exile-bradley-fires-broadside-at-mciver-31322178.html)

Best saying nothing. Embarassing stuff ex players having a go at the manager.
Post by: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 09:52:45 AM

you're about the first Donegal man, management or supporter I've heard say anything other than positive re McIver's tenure with yourselves.
Post by: Bingo on June 24, 2015, 11:58:14 AM
I was at that radio broadcast where he give those quotes/interviews. I fail to see where he is misquoted but he was definitely lead down that line and he was answering questions put to him as they where discussing Derry and their lack of scoring options.

Don't think he said anything other than been honest.
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2015, 01:33:20 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 09:52:45 AM

you're about the first Donegal man, management or supporter I've heard say anything other than positive re McIver's tenure with yourselves.

I've said it on this board many times.

And given the disgraceful way in which he was personally treated, I doubt if I was the only one in the county who had doubts about him.

He did have a very good first season though.
Post by: redhandefender on June 24, 2015, 04:18:23 PM
Bradley is a big man talking thrash the week of his counties championship match. Its ok to dip in and out half hearted and slabber in the media when you don't have to back it up.

As someone said him and Cassidy are cut from the same cloth.
Post by: Main Street on June 24, 2015, 04:30:37 PM
Is that an O'Neill alias or a fragmented alias?
Post by: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 04:42:08 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 24, 2015, 04:30:37 PM

could well be but hands down its the most ridiculous moniker on the board . The irony of someone from Tyrone talking about another man slabbering is good craic !

Post by: redhandefender on June 24, 2015, 05:52:12 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 04:42:08 PM

could well be but hands down its the most ridiculous moniker on the board . The irony of someone from Tyrone talking about another man slabbering is good craic !

What's ironic about someone from Tyrone talking about an individual sounding off about his Counties management team the week before their most important game of the year? You would never see that happening in Tyrone!

Bradley completely trying to draw attention on to himself. He always has, his brother is the same and their aul fella!

As for my name, see it as a subtle lesson in the use of irony!
Post by: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 05:59:47 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on June 24, 2015, 05:52:12 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 04:42:08 PM

What's ironic about someone from Tyrone talking about an individual sounding off about his Counties management team the week before their most important game of the year? You would never see that happening in Tyrone!

Bradley completely trying to draw attention on to himself. He always has, his brother is the same and their aul fella!

As for my name, see it as a subtle lesson in the use of irony!

Tyrone slabbering is one of GAAs constants, much like short referees and Dublin's home advantage

As regards your name, it's either for attention or just badly thought out ! Either way, it's insensitive
Post by: roney on June 24, 2015, 06:09:36 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on June 24, 2015, 04:18:23 PM
Bradley is a big man talking thrash the week of his counties championship match. Its ok to dip in and out half hearted and slabber in the media when you don't have to back it up.

I lost count of the number of times he said "I". Definitely a lot more than team anyway.

Ridiculous talking about league scoring charts. Sure his 'team' are nearly bottom in the league. As long as he's looking good he's happy. Can you imagine Michael Murphy looking at scoring charts? Says it all.

JOG, you won't find Tyrone men slagging off mickey harte the week of a game. fact.
Post by: Main Street on June 24, 2015, 06:23:23 PM
The headlines are over dramatic by titanic proportions.
What comes my mind when a Derry player is accused of firing a broadside or lashing out, would be a backhander from Kevin McCloy.
Post by: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 09:15:56 PM
Quote from: roney on June 24, 2015, 06:09:36 PM

I lost count of the number of times he said "I". Definitely a lot more than team anyway.

Ridiculous talking about league scoring charts. Sure his 'team' are nearly bottom in the league. As long as he's looking good he's happy. Can you imagine Michael Murphy looking at scoring charts? Says it all.

JOG, you won't find Tyrone men slagging off mickey harte the week of a game. fact.

I'm on record in the Derry thread saying Paddy is a broken record at this stage.
With the amount of mem leaving the Tyrone this season, you wouldn't really be overly surprised if a player did .

Anyways...Derry by 2
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 24, 2015, 10:14:55 PM
Donegal by at least 5, i don't doubt the ability of alot of the Derry players, but i never seen us beat a defensive team yet, fore-by one as well drilled as Donegal, If Patsy Bradley was fit for the bench, and McGuckin featured plus we had Kielt and R bell playing / on the bench i be more confident. Reverted to a severe defensive system a few games from the end of the league way too late, should been trying this system from the McKenna cup on if the intention was to use it in the championship this year.
Post by: redhandefender on June 24, 2015, 11:37:46 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 09:15:56 PM

I'm on record in the Derry thread saying Paddy is a broken record at this stage.
With the amount of mem leaving the Tyrone this season, you wouldn't really be overly surprised if a player did .

Anyways...Derry by 2

Sorry if I hurt you you poor insensitive soul. I would tune out on saturday night as your about to get hurt alot more especially with your delusional prediction.

You clearly have an understandable gripe with tyrone which underlines your issues with mc ivor. must really sting when you have to turn to a tyrone man to try sort out the mess.

1 player has walked out on tyrone this year and he was nowhere near starting, the others had their chance and were surplus to requirements.

I actually hope yous do it saturday night but not for d**ks like you. 
Post by: JoG2 on June 25, 2015, 09:24:18 AM
Quote from: redhandefender on June 24, 2015, 11:37:46 PM

Anyways...Derry by 2

Sorry if I hurt you you poor insensitive soul. I would tune out on saturday night as your about to get hurt alot more especially with your delusional prediction.

You clearly have an understandable gripe with tyrone which underlines your issues with mc ivor. must really sting when you have to turn to a tyrone man to try sort out the mess.

1 player has walked out on tyrone this year and he was nowhere near starting, the others had their chance and were surplus to requirements.

you start the 'slabber' talk and I'm the dick...charming
Post by: redhandefender on June 25, 2015, 12:10:23 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 25, 2015, 09:24:18 AM
Quote from: redhandefender on June 24, 2015, 11:37:46 PM

Anyways...Derry by 2

I said Paddy Bradley is a slabber, which I doubt many disagree with, but yes you are a d**k !
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2015, 12:25:42 PM
Is it 'slabber' or 'slabberer'?
Post by: Main Street on June 25, 2015, 12:29:39 PM

JoG2  just ignore the troll and move on, that's the proven best practice.
Post by: theticklemister on June 25, 2015, 12:33:01 PM
Wile bit a sledging lads
Post by: redhandefender on June 25, 2015, 03:02:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 25, 2015, 12:29:39 PM

JoG2  just ignore the troll and move on, that's the proven best practice.

Troll, Look at the shape of ye fella, the 2 of you have about 10,000.00 messages on this thing between ye. I made a valid point that Bradley was in the wrong in what he said the week before his county played. Then you 2 try and jump on me!

Do yourself a favour lad and get off the keyboard, put down your donuts and get out and try and play a bit of football. I went on to this as I am currently injured. Shall be leaving again this week given the class of people like yourself on this.
Post by: Conallach on June 25, 2015, 03:21:11 PM
There's so way of using public transport to get to Clones from Dublin and back on Saturday is there?
Post by: cluaineois on June 25, 2015, 03:37:30 PM
Quote from: Conallach on June 25, 2015, 03:21:11 PM
There's so way of using public transport to get to Clones from Dublin and back on Saturday is there?
If you get bus from Dublin to Monaghan {Derry or Letterkenny] there are connections to Clones. Dont know times and am not sure if there is a return to Monaghan that late on a Saturday night but you should check out the Bus Eireann timetable or contact Monaghan bus depot on 047-82377
Post by: BluestackBoy on June 25, 2015, 04:11:40 PM
Quote from: Conallach on June 25, 2015, 03:21:11 PM

Anybody travelling from Dublin who could help Conallach out?
Post by: Conallach on June 25, 2015, 04:27:11 PM
thanks  :)
Post by: Goldengreen on June 25, 2015, 05:04:24 PM
Quote from: Conallach on June 25, 2015, 04:27:11 PM
thanks  :)

Try this site:

http://www.journeyplanner.transportforireland.ie/nta/XSLT_TRIP_REQUEST2?language=en

getting to Clones with a connection in Monaghan is doable, I think, but with it being a late Throw in getting back could be the problem, but If you can make it to Monaghan on the return trip, then there is a few options from there to Dublin
Post by: Conallach on June 25, 2015, 06:58:17 PM
Thanks lads
Post by: J70 on June 25, 2015, 07:09:54 PM
Do they not still run buses out of the Portobello (forgive my ignorance, I left Dublin more than a decade ago )
Post by: JoG2 on June 25, 2015, 07:49:45 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 25, 2015, 07:09:54 PM
Do they not still run buses out of the Portobello (forgive my ignorance, I left Dublin more than a decade ago )

Think it changed hands a while back J70.  Google maps is getting some going over with boys looking to bypass Omagh !
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 25, 2015, 08:28:28 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 05:59:47 PMTyrone slabbering is one of GAAs constants, much like short referees and Dublin's home advantage

Monaghan also seem to have a nice cosy home advantage up in Ulster, I'm surprised you never brought that up. I guess Dublin are on the minds of all lesser counties.
Post by: J70 on June 25, 2015, 08:44:54 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 25, 2015, 08:28:28 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 24, 2015, 05:59:47 PMTyrone slabbering is one of GAAs constants, much like short referees and Dublin's home advantage

Monaghan also seem to have a nice cosy home advantage up in Ulster, I'm surprised you never brought that up. I guess Dublin are on the minds of all lesser counties.

Monaghan do play away games though!
Post by: Estimator on June 25, 2015, 09:14:48 PM
1. Thomas Mallon / T Ó Maoileoin (An Lúb)
2. Oisín Duffy / O Ó Dubhthaigh (Forghleann)
3. Brendan Rogers / B Mac Ruaidhrí (Sleacht Néill)
4. Dermot McBride / D Mac Giolla Bhrighde (Baile na Scrine)
5. Kevin Johnston / C Johnston (Dún Geimhin)
6. Chrissy McKaigue / C Mac Thaidhg (Sleacht Néill)
7. Ciarán McFaul / C Mac Phail (Gleann)
8. Niall Holly / N Holly / (Eoghan Rua)
9. Fergal Doherty / F Ó Dochartaigh (Baile Eachaidh)
10. Sean Leo McGoldrick / J L Mac Ualghairg (Eoghan Rua)
11. Mark Lynch (C) / M Ó Loingsigh (Beannchar)
12. Enda Lynn / E Loinn (Grainloch)
13. Daniel Heavron / D Heavron (Machaire Fíolta)
14. Eoin Bradley / E O Brollachain (Gleann an Iolair)
15. Cailean O'Boyle / C O'Baoighill (Leamhaigh)
16. Eoin McNicholl / E Mac Niocaill (Gleann an Iolair)
17. Liam McGoldrick / L Mac Ualghairg (Eoghan Rua)
18. Aidan McAlynn / A Mac Ailín (An Lúb)
19. Conor McAtamney / C Mac an Tiompanaigh (Suaitreach)
20. Karl McKaigue / K Mac Thaidhg (Sleacht Néill)
21. Terence O'Brien / T Ó Briain (An Lúb)
22. Brian Óg McGilligan / B Óg Mac Giollagáin (Beannchar)
23. Benny Heron / B O'hEarain (Baile na Scrine)
24. Conor Murphy / C Ó Murchadha (Dún Geimhin)
25. Michael McIver / M Mac Iomhair (Baile an Moire)
26. Niall Loughlin / N Lochlainn (Grainloch)
Post by: babarino on June 25, 2015, 10:12:32 PM
No upsets in Ulster so far. This would be a mighty one.

Derry play to their potential and Donegal misfire, ye never know.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 25, 2015, 10:30:24 PM
Quote from: babarino on June 25, 2015, 10:12:32 PM

Hard to see it, Donegal by 6-7 I reckon
Post by: babarino on June 25, 2015, 10:44:14 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 25, 2015, 10:30:24 PM
Quote from: babarino on June 25, 2015, 10:12:32 PM

Hard to see it, Donegal by 6-7 I reckon

Derry's confidence took a hammer blow against Dublin in the League final. They haven't played to the standard they're capable of since. This game is make or break for Derry footballers, some capable of really going for the win.

Expect Derry to play beyond putting it up to them.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 25, 2015, 10:47:19 PM
Derry team way too light on the bench on the forward dept, Kielt and Bell off the panel, McGuckin not even on the subs, E and P Bradley - midfield back up not on the bench either is McKinless. Def expected us to be fielding alot stronger team and panel wise for this game earlier in the year. Just cant see us scoring enough to win it. I expect a re-run of the dublin league game.
Post by: screenexile on June 26, 2015, 10:20:20 AM
(https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/t31.0-8/1557234_959911900706337_8159617507368595288_o.jpg)

Where are you Indiana??
Post by: 50fiftyball on June 26, 2015, 11:26:40 AM
Anyone suggest where a neutral could get 1x Gerry Arthur Stand ticket? Only Pat McGrane left on tickets.ie
Post by: JoG2 on June 26, 2015, 11:28:40 AM
Quote from: 50fiftyball on June 26, 2015, 11:26:40 AM
Anyone suggest where a neutral could get 1x Gerry Arthur Stand ticket? Only Pat McGrane left on tickets.ie

Supervalu? maybe your best bet without going down the CB / club route.
Post by: 50fiftyball on June 26, 2015, 12:16:10 PM
Cheers JoG2, will give a few stores a ring.

What sort of crowd expected? Thinking it would be a bit chancy to just land to the game tomorrow and try to nab a Pat McGrane out of the ticket vans? Or will it just be terrace & behind both goals left? would prefer not to be in Eastern Stand or the O'Duffy behind both goals.
Post by: JoG2 on June 26, 2015, 01:31:08 PM
Quote from: 50fiftyball on June 26, 2015, 12:16:10 PM
Cheers JoG2, will give a few stores a ring.

What sort of crowd expected? Thinking it would be a bit chancy to just land to the game tomorrow and try to nab a Pat McGrane out of the ticket vans? Or will it just be terrace & behind both goals left? would prefer not to be in Eastern Stand or the O'Duffy behind both goals.

the tix are a 5er cheaper up until 7pm tonight at Supervalu (24hrs before throw in 50fifty)..a 5er's a 5er !
Post by: 50fiftyball on June 26, 2015, 06:12:37 PM
Went to SuperValu, they had 2 tickets for Gerry Arthur left so I took them, but now I realise section BO , row E is uncovered and in the corner!!

Does anyone know if I can just enter the Pat McGrane instead? as I'll be down for the minor game anyway, so will be in early to get a central seat in it.
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 01:19:34 AM
Donegal team

P Durcan;
P McGrath, N McGee; E McGee;
M McHugh, K Lacey, F McGlynn;
N Gallagher, M McElhinney;
C Toye, O MacNiallais, R McHugh;
P McBrearty, M Murphy, C McFadden.

Subs: M McGinley, A Thompson, E Doherty, M O'Reilly, H McFadden, David Walsh, C McGinley, G McFadden, E McHugh, S Griffin, Declan Walsh
Post by: orangeman on June 27, 2015, 08:20:50 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 27, 2015, 01:19:34 AM
Donegal team

P Durcan;

Subs: M McGinley, A Thompson, E Doherty, M O'Reilly, H McFadden, David Walsh, C McGinley, G McFadden, E McHugh, S Griffin, Declan Walsh

Great side. One of the big pluses for Doengal is their ability to consistently name the same 13/14/15 players all the time. Injuries don't seem to impede them much.
Post by: Conallach on June 27, 2015, 12:54:26 PM
Except for 2013, you're spot on, and long may it last. Wish it was like that across the board.

Got a lift sorted now so I can't wait.  :D

Thanks to all on here for the help.

Up the minors too!
Post by: omagh_gael on June 27, 2015, 03:31:35 PM
Avoid Omagh if possible, traffic is horrendous. Irish national cycling championship is on and all roads through, in and around the town an chaotic!
Post by: southdown on June 27, 2015, 04:38:54 PM
Any links to watch this online, I don't have Sky?
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 04:39:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 27, 2015, 08:20:50 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 27, 2015, 01:19:34 AM
Donegal team

P Durcan;

Great side. One of the big pluses for Doengal is their ability to consistently name the same 13/14/15 players all the time. Injuries don't seem to impede them much.

Canavan reckons we will will run out of steam though.
Post by: redzone on June 27, 2015, 06:24:11 PM
Any links for this game lads
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2015, 06:51:52 PM
Quote from: southdown on June 27, 2015, 04:38:54 PM
Any links to watch this online, I don't have Sky?
http://www.time4tv.com/2012/10/sky-sports-1.php
Post by: Estimator on June 27, 2015, 07:40:13 PM
All v quiet in here...

Anyone watching this game?
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 07:41:59 PM
Take that all day long we're frustrating the life out of them but need to sort out MF... Our defence has been fantastic and attack reasonable I just think Donegals fitness will tell in the end!
Post by: Rossfan on June 27, 2015, 07:43:03 PM
Not very good. Lucky it's on Sky as it will be all positivity unlike RTÉ.
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 07:43:11 PM
Poor first half from Donegal.  Missed a lot of easy chances in the first 15, and since then seem to have lost our way a little bit going forward. Need to start speeding things up, get Murphy inside and play some better ball in there. Poor McBrearty has hardly had a touch. O'Boyle looks dangerous for Derry too.

No foregone conclusion at this point.
Post by: dublin7 on June 27, 2015, 07:43:26 PM
Quote from: Estimator on June 27, 2015, 07:40:13 PM
All v quiet in here...

Anyone watching this game?

Watched last 10 mins.  Poor game.  Like watching a poor version of the NBA playoffs.  Loads of handpassing, two teams playing blanket defences & both teams struggling to score.  Derry will be happy to be level at half time.  The worry for Derry is the lack of a scoring threat up front.
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2015, 07:44:04 PM
It's wet in Clones.
Gritty game, no quarter asked, a brilliant save by the Derry goalie keeps Derry level at ht.
.Derry doing very well so far.
Post by: beer baron on June 27, 2015, 07:53:44 PM
Im thoroughly enjoying it. Both teams trying to outthink each other and Derry boys doing some really good tackling and the Holly lads getting at Gallagher, wouldn't be surprised to see him sent off or taken off.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 27, 2015, 07:58:22 PM
Here was me thinking it was a decent match. Great commitment from both sides you would have to say youd think Donegal will push on tho, but Derry have the players so its all possible

Weridly found myself supporting the inbreds at various times b4 Icaught myslef
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 08:05:01 PM
Donegal would want to up the intensity here. 
Post by: beer baron on June 27, 2015, 08:06:20 PM
Think there might've been 1 or 2 extra steps by Martin O reillly for that goal  ;D
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 08:07:16 PM
Goal by O'Reilly.  That's more like it!
Post by: INDIANA on June 27, 2015, 08:14:10 PM
anyone seriously suggesting this is a good game? Been awful.

Skills on show are so poor if you took the fitness levels out of it you'd think it was Junior D
Post by: Main Street on June 27, 2015, 08:22:00 PM
Derry have pegged it back to 2 after missing about 4 good chances.
Donegal are trying to wake up out of a stagnant state, but how they can kill the life out of a game.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 27, 2015, 08:26:44 PM
Donegal starting the messing
Post by: dublin7 on June 27, 2015, 08:28:22 PM
Joke of a black card for Derry full back.  Definite foul, but all the donegal players running up to the ref got him put off.  Plenty of verbals again today from both  sides. 
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 08:30:00 PM
2 Black cards given in error there and Donegal making a meal out of them... They've killed the game the last 5 minutes which is what the better teams do.

Strange you should say that Indiana when these are 2 teams you've struggled to beat the last year!!
Post by: tyroneman on June 27, 2015, 08:31:33 PM
To be fair the second should have been a straight red
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 27, 2015, 08:32:24 PM
Some of the delivery from the Derry players in the last 10 minutes has been absolutely atrocious. They've certainly had their chances.
Post by: dublin7 on June 27, 2015, 08:34:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 08:30:00 PM
2 Black cards given in error there and Donegal making a meal out of them... They've killed the game the last 5 minutes which is what the better teams do.

Strange you should say that Indiana when these are 2 teams you've struggled to beat the last year!!

Shocking game of football/basketball.  Derry left that behind them. Donegal cyncially killed game in last 5 min. Thought Ryan McHugh hurt himself the way he through himself to the ground for 2nd derry black card
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 08:36:33 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 27, 2015, 08:34:00 PM

Shocking game of football/basketball.  Derry left that behind them. Donegal cyncially killed game in last 5 min. Thought Ryan McHugh hurt himself the way he through himself to the ground for 2nd derry black card

What a load of bollocks. McFaul clearly took him out, kneeing him in the thigh. Clearly you haven't played much of anything if you don't know how painful that can be.
Post by: Rossfan on June 27, 2015, 08:37:30 PM
Awful sh1te.
Must be Donegal's poorest performance for 2 years.
Post by: INDIANA on June 27, 2015, 08:38:22 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 27, 2015, 08:36:33 PM

What a load of bollocks. McFaul clearly took him out, kneeing him in the thigh. Clearly you haven't played much of anything if you don't know how painful that can be.

His first sentence was on the money I thought
Post by: Throw ball on June 27, 2015, 08:38:44 PM
Honestly feel Derry threw away a great chance today. By their own standards Donegal were poor today. Armagh let them play football but Derry got in their faces and it was effective until Derry themselves lost their cool. It is unlikely that Donegal will be as careless again but Derry and Tyrone both showed if you get in at them Donegal are not as effective.
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 08:39:07 PM
Poor, poor performance from Donegal. Shades of the Down game in 2013, when they did barely enough to get over the line. Two monster points from Murphy at vital times the difference, in addition to the goal. Maybe that will dampen the ridiculous, knee-jerk hype a bit now. And it will take a huge improvement to get past Monaghan in the final. Well played Derry.
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 08:39:50 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 27, 2015, 08:38:22 PM

His first sentence was on the money I thought

Yes, but that is not exactly a profound insight.
Post by: tyroneman on June 27, 2015, 08:41:37 PM
Ref was awful today. Wrong decision on most of the cards. 9 or 10 steps taken for the goal and also by McFadden a number of times. Blatant folks not called. Really poor.
Post by: dublin7 on June 27, 2015, 08:43:14 PM

He definitlely fouled him,  but he didn't put him into outer space in the way McHugh through himself into the air.  Strangely he recovered straight away from such a terrible hit.  Should send the Donegal physio/doctor down to Dublin.  With their miracle cures for seriously injured Donegal players, they could solve the hospital overcrowding in no time at all

While sky's analysis is far ahead of RTE, their constant insistence on seeing everything in a postive light gets fairly grating after a while
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 08:47:41 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 27, 2015, 08:43:14 PM

He definitlely fouled him,  but he didn't put him into outer space in the way McHugh through himself into the air.  Strangely he recovered straight away from such a terrible hit.  Should send the Donegal physio/doctor down to Dublin.  With their miracle cures for seriously injured Donegal players, they could solve the hospital overcrowding in no time at all

While sky's analysis is far ahead of RTE, their constant insistence on seeing everything in a postive light gets fairly grating after a while

You've never heard of adrenaline? You've never played soccer or gaelic and taken or seen a player take a nasty knock, get up after a couple of minutes and play on, only to have it kill you/them the next day?

And BTW, in case you hadn't noticed, Ryan McHugh is a pretty small, light fella.
Post by: Throw ball on June 27, 2015, 08:51:23 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on June 27, 2015, 08:43:14 PM

To be fair Donegal are good at making the most of things but in this case I feel McHugh was genuinely hurt. The Derry man was lucky not to see red.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 27, 2015, 08:57:06 PM
I genuinely feel embarassed that this game was showcased to our British cousins.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 27, 2015, 08:58:37 PM
Only 4 Donegal subs again - that's the 3rd game in a row

Mark McHugh for Colm McFadden 57
Anthony Thompson for Christy Toye 61
David Walsh for Patrick McBrearty in injury time
Hugh McFadden for MartinMcElhinney in injury time

Also Donegal had no-one missing with any injuries

Overall Donegal's squad depth is paper thin and it's very hard not to see it catching them down the road.
Post by: currychip on June 27, 2015, 08:59:54 PM
Donegal - the new Tyrone.  Flying through the air.  What about the tackle on Johnston?  Was it not a foot block?
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 27, 2015, 09:02:31 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 27, 2015, 08:58:37 PM
Overall Donegal's squad depth is paper thin and it's very hard not to see it catching them down the road.

As soon as Murphy takes a knock, their championship is over.
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 09:03:18 PM

Maybe. Injuries affected us two years ago for sure. But as with any team it depends on who, although we maybe have more irreplaceable players than most.
Post by: redzone on June 27, 2015, 09:15:59 PM
Always found it curious has how Donegal never have any injuries hardly
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2015, 09:21:31 PM
Quote from: redzone on June 27, 2015, 09:15:59 PM
Always found it curious has how Donegal never have any injuries hardly

Lacey was crocked in 2013. McGlynn too. Plenty of others have missed games here and there, but thankfully not too many long term ones.
Post by: Whitnail on June 27, 2015, 09:32:47 PM
Poor game but in fairness i was half pished.
Was having a bit of banter with a few derry lads
they'll be hard to break down in the qualifiers but the way I see it the lads & management knew they'd be facing monaghan in the final & it was about getting over the line no gameplan, no fluid football  whatsover just a 70 min brawl.

Any positives .... er no. If anyone from Donegal can take positives from that then fair dues.

We had a difficult draw ,this was a test of endurance, it was an awfull game of football.

Post by: twohands!!! on June 27, 2015, 09:34:29 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 27, 2015, 09:03:18 PM

Maybe. Injuries affected us two years ago for sure. But as with any team it depends on who, although we maybe have more irreplaceable players than most.

It's a fact of life that you are going to get injuries. You can either hold your hand up and throw in the towel or you can take steps to do what you can to minimise it - from what I've seen Donegal seem to have almost adapted a "well if injuries happen, injuries happen" approach given how little has been done in terms of improving squad depth, especially as regards giving younger players starts during the league - Donegal had the lowest number of starters in regular league 19 ; by comparison Dublin had 31 Generally Donegal's selections in the league did very little in the way of trying to develop the squad options.

The substitution policy in the Armagh game was woeful beyond comprehension - game over, cruising and use only 4 subs. WTF ???
Donegal could have thrown on 2 of the squad players and aided their development while simultaneously resting 2 of their core members who have a lot of football played. Even in terms of keeping the lads in the team on their toes - lads look like they are under very little in the way of competition in terms of retaining a starting place. You look at the options the other top teams have and the only way to describe Donegal's squad depth is feeble.

Overall it's impossible not to see this catching Donegal down the track
Post by: kickingmule on June 27, 2015, 10:56:37 PM
Quote from: currychip on June 27, 2015, 08:59:54 PM
Donegal - the new Tyrone.  Flying through the air.  What about the tackle on Johnston?  Was it not a foot block?
Pure muck.... Ulster football  has hit rock bottom..
Post by: BluestackBoy on June 27, 2015, 11:07:37 PM
One week Donegal are top drawer, next week they are hopeless, the truth, as always, is somewhere in the middle.

As Dublin found out in the league, Derry are a formidable defensive unit & they don't allow anyone to look good against them.

However even allowing for that Donegal were poor today. The way Derry tore through them at times was staggering as was some of the shooting.

There is a lot of work to be done before the final but nobody in the Donegal camp will be under any illusions about where they stand.
Post by: screenexile on June 27, 2015, 11:49:50 PM
Quote from: kickingmule on June 27, 2015, 10:56:37 PM
Quote from: currychip on June 27, 2015, 08:59:54 PM
Pure muck.... Ulster football  has hit rock bottom..

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Post by: BluestackBoy on June 27, 2015, 11:58:08 PM

Just seen the tackle on tv. How anyone could say that it was not a red card offence let alone a black card is either stupid beyond belief or still hasn't got over last August.

A bit of both probably.........
Post by: omaghjoe on June 28, 2015, 12:48:32 AM
Jaysus these Dublin ones would sicken ye. Believe me I dont like either team but I found the match greatly entertaining, unlike Dublin's last farcical game.   

I thought it was a decent game of football, but you always got the impression that Donegal where gonna win it but Derry have a few exceptional players that could have swung the game back around at any time.

There was some great battles around the pitch. Pity the ref hadnt gave Holly and Gallagher reds because they are a dirty pair of hoors.

Fergal Doherty is a machine for Derry, he may not be the player he was but still very good today in a very hard hitting area. First time I got a real good look at O'Boyle as well, he seems to be a real handful on the square. McKaige excellent also.

Was impressed with Toye for Donegal I always get the impression that he is slightly renegade when it comes to the system. And of course Murphy again even tho he can be absent for long periods he can just pop up get a score from nowhere and lift the entire team. McFadden also with the point of the day with two men hanging of him, took a brutal hit in the 2nd half as well. Although overall Donegal seemed a bit lackadaisical today but that may also have been down to Derry tactics and they ground out the win.

Monaghan will gave Donegal a good rattle but are unlikely to be able to push them over the line. I wonder after today will they go for the "lump it into Vinny" tactic that they used in Bantytimes. Unlikely, as even tho it appeared to cause Donegal problems, the Monaghan management will have noticed Derry didnt get many scores from it.

Not sure Derry will go much further, historically they havent been big on the qualifiers they always seem to lose a bit of bite for them, but we'll see as I have said before they have the players
Post by: J70 on June 28, 2015, 12:48:48 AM
Do the Derry boys think James Kielt would have made any difference to you today?
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 12:57:02 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 28, 2015, 12:48:48 AM
Do the Derry boys think James Kielt would have made any difference to you today?

Yeah he's a proven free taker from the left hand side and we missed at least 2 today! Skinner isn't a free taker unfortunately.

Read on twitter that Sean Leo, O'Boyle and Skinner were tactical rather than enforced changes. Pretty mind boggling if you ask me!!
Post by: omaghjoe on June 28, 2015, 12:58:34 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 12:57:02 AM

Yeah he's a proven free taker from the left hand side and we missed at least 2 today! Skinner isn't a free taker unfortunately.

Read on twitter that Sean Leo, O'Boyle and Skinner were tactical rather than enforced changes. Pretty mind boggling if you ask me!!

Bound to have made a difference and highly disappointing that he left the panel/wasnt getting a start.

Sorry if its been discussed elsewhere but what was the backstory with that anyway, why wasnt he getting a start?

Also thats mindboggling about the substitutions.
Post by: BluestackBoy on June 28, 2015, 10:01:24 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 28, 2015, 12:48:32 AM
Jaysus these Dublin ones would sicken ye. Believe me I dont like either team but I found the match greatly entertaining, unlike Dublin's last farcical game.   

I thought it was a decent game of football, but you always got the impression that Donegal where gonna win it but Derry have a few exceptional players that could have swung the game back around at any time.

There was some great battles around the pitch. Pity the ref hadnt gave Holly and Gallagher reds because they are a dirty pair of hoors.

Fergal Doherty is a machine for Derry, he may not be the player he was but still very good today in a very hard hitting area. First time I got a real good look at O'Boyle as well, he seems to be a real handful on the square. McKaige excellent also.

Was impressed with Toye for Donegal I always get the impression that he is slightly renegade when it comes to the system. And of course Murphy again even tho he can be absent for long periods he can just pop up get a score from nowhere and lift the entire team. McFadden also with the point of the day with two men hanging of him, took a brutal hit in the 2nd half as well. Although overall Donegal seemed a bit lackadaisical today but that may also have been down to Derry tactics and they ground out the win.

Monaghan will gave Donegal a good rattle but are unlikely to be able to push them over the line. I wonder after today will they go for the "lump it into Vinny" tactic that they used in Bantytimes. Unlikely, as even tho it appeared to cause Donegal problems, the Monaghan management will have noticed Derry didnt get many scores from it.

Not sure Derry will go much further, historically they havent been big on the qualifiers they always seem to lose a bit of bite for them, but we'll see as I have said before they have the players

Good post omagh,

I was chatting to a few Monaghan men at the game & one of them told me on the way out that he would sleep a bit better in his bed that night, I couldn't disagree with him.

The only concern I had from the game was the ease with which Derry got through our defensive cover, what Dublin would have done with that freedom I shudder to think.

You're a bit bit hard on Holly & Gallagher, there was nothing much to it But what our Sky watching brethern will have made of it God only knows ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Schkite on June 28, 2015, 10:09:34 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 28, 2015, 12:48:32 AM

Monaghan will gave Donegal a good rattle but are unlikely to be able to push them over the line. I wonder after today will they go for the "lump it into Vinny" tactic that they used in Bantytimes.

I doubt it, seeing as Vinny hasn't been deployed beyond the half back line in a number of years. No, Vinny will be assigned to Murphy I'd imagine. Kieran Hughes will be the target man if  we play that way, hopefully he'll have a similar impact to two years ago
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 10:17:53 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 28, 2015, 12:58:34 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 12:57:02 AM

Bound to have made a difference and highly disappointing that he left the panel/wasnt getting a start.

Sorry if its been discussed elsewhere but what was the backstory with that anyway, why wasnt he getting a start?

Also thats mindboggling about the substitutions.

No backstory he wasn't getting the game time he wanted and saw inferior players coming on before him in the Down game so decided to walk.

Being no. 20-25 in the modern day game is a horrible position to be in. You get no games for the County team and the majority of the time you cant even play Club football you can see why lads don't stick it for too long!!
Post by: Estimator on June 28, 2015, 10:42:13 AM
Quote from McIvor after the game when asked a question about Donegals ability to close out a game.. "Never seen a bit of diving like it, but sure that's the way it goes.."
Post by: J70 on June 28, 2015, 11:44:45 AM
Quote from: Estimator on June 28, 2015, 10:42:13 AM
Quote from McIvor after the game when asked a question about Donegals ability to close out a game.. "Never seen a bit of diving like it, but sure that's the way it goes.."

He's bitter and fill of shit then if talking about MacNiallais and McHugh.
Post by: donegal lad on June 28, 2015, 12:03:22 PM
We were very lucky to cone out of clones with a win yesterday. Played nowhere near the level we capable of and from being there it seemed we were a little complacent. Our passing wasn't at what we cone to expect and shoot selection was poor as well sonething we don't usually see with this donegal team. We also gave away a number of frees in the scoring zone which is sonething we never do

But at the end of the day happy to get the win and reach another ulster final. Was speaking to a Monaghan man after and he said would see a different type of game next day out and would have to agree with him.
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 12:49:45 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 28, 2015, 11:44:45 AM

MacNialis yes McHugh no.

I would have had more issue with Murphy steaming in like a tube on both occasions getting the handbags started effectively killing the game.

Our lads should have known better and realised there was no fecking time left and got on with things but that's what you're up against at this level and we shouldn't be so naive. Also both tackles were stupid when you're chasing a game like we were but again the 2 lads involved for Derry were the young relatively inexperienced ones.

Progress but means nothing if we don't back it up the next day!!
Post by: J70 on June 28, 2015, 01:02:40 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 12:49:45 PM

MacNialis yes McHugh no.

I would have had more issue with Murphy steaming in like a tube on both occasions getting the handbags started effectively killing the game.

Our lads should have known better and realised there was no fecking time left and got on with things but that's what you're up against at this level and we shouldn't be so naive. Also both tackles were stupid when you're chasing a game like we were but again the 2 lads involved for Derry were the young relatively inexperienced ones.

From what I could see, MacNiallais got hit twice in that incident. I think it was the second collision that hurt him. Not saying the second was deliberate or anything, but to accuse him of faking it is ridiculous.

And yes, it was encouraging for Derry, but, as you say, they need to build on it.
Post by: JoG2 on June 28, 2015, 10:50:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 28, 2015, 01:02:40 PM

MacNialis yes McHugh no.

From what I could see, MacNiallais got hit twice in that incident. I think it was the second collision that hurt him. Not saying the second was deliberate or anything, but to accuse him of faking it is ridiculous.

And yes, it was encouraging for Derry, but, as you say, they need to build on it.

Those 2 incidents were milked for all they were worth, killing the game. Any team would do it. I enjoyed the incident with Eamon McGee going down holding the head only to bounce back up when everyone inc his team mates ignored him !

The Ulster final will be a tight game. Looking forward to it

Post by: omaghjoe on June 29, 2015, 06:43:40 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 28, 2015, 10:50:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 28, 2015, 01:02:40 PM

MacNialis yes McHugh no.

Those 2 incidents were milked for all they were worth, killing the game. Any team would do it. I enjoyed the incident with Eamon McGee going down holding the head only to bounce back up when everyone inc his team mates ignored him !

The Ulster final will be a tight game. Looking forward to it

I had a bit of a snigger at that myself