Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: An Watcher on June 04, 2015, 05:32:56 PM

Title: New Car
Post by: An Watcher on June 04, 2015, 05:32:56 PM
Hoping to buy a new car in the coming weeks.  Particularly looking at crossovers such as the qashqai or suzuki x cross.  Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm not too well clued into cars.  Looking for something around 2012 that looks good but is economical.  Few mates recommend pcp deals
Title: Re: New Car
Post by: StGallsGAA on June 04, 2015, 11:09:57 PM
I've a Cortina I'd let go for around £2012 if your interested?
Post by: omaghjoe on June 04, 2015, 11:16:52 PM
GJL should be able to sort ye out
Post by: laoislad on June 04, 2015, 11:23:29 PM
I don't know a whole ton about cars but I would have thought the Qashqai would be streets ahead of a Suzuki?
Post by: GJL on June 05, 2015, 12:06:07 AM
Qashqui uses a Renault 1.5dci engine. Scrap.
Post by: laoislad on June 05, 2015, 12:10:25 AM
Quote from: GJL on June 05, 2015, 12:06:07 AM
I know a few people with Qashqai's and they all love them.
The new one looks great imo.
Wouldn't buy one myself but I thought they had a very good reputation as being reliable?

The new X-Trail is a fine looking motor.
Post by: The Subbie on June 05, 2015, 09:08:18 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 05, 2015, 12:10:25 AM
Wouldn't buy one myself but I thought they had a very good reputation as being reliable?

I had a qashqai out as a hire car a while ago and also an x trail more recently.

Both brutal, no storage in either to talk about, both boots were tiny and both felt tinny if that makes,sense.

after reading that they have Renault diesel engines tells you all you need to know, avoid.

Toyota rav 4 , maybe??
Post by: GJL on June 05, 2015, 09:56:32 AM

They are fine for the first 50-60k miles but after that can become expensive to keep. As the poster above suggests the Rav4 is the best in this market. I had one a few years ago and it averaged 45mpg!
Post by: general_lee on June 05, 2015, 11:41:27 AM
GJL would you or anyone else have any advice for buying secondhand  in England? Thinking of buying with the view of bringing it over here to the north. Would be on the look out for a diesel saloon - reliable, spacious, good mpg etc. Thinking an Isignia, Passat, A4 etc possibly a 320d. I read somewhere that Nottingham and Hull are two of the best places to buy. Where do dealers here source their motors and what are the pitfalls? Apart from the usual ones to look out for with second hand motors.

PS sorry for the hijack
Post by: laoislad on June 05, 2015, 11:43:08 AM
Quote from: GJL on June 05, 2015, 09:56:32 AM

They are fine for the first 50-60k miles but after that can become expensive to keep. As the poster above suggests the Rav4 is the best in this market. I had one a few years ago and it averaged 45mpg!
The new one is dog ugly though...IMO.
Post by: GJL on June 05, 2015, 03:46:07 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 05, 2015, 11:43:08 AM

In standard form I would agree but pimped up a bit they are not too bad. Toyota did the same with the Landcruiser. The old model is much nicer.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 05, 2015, 03:55:36 PM
Good bit to be said for the Kia Sportage. 7 year warranty.
The parents have a Kia Soul and it's a topper 1.5D and plenty of room but dunno how it would suit a family. It's grand for them, retired and just tipping around.

Post by: laoislad on June 05, 2015, 04:09:28 PM
Quote from: GJL on June 05, 2015, 03:46:07 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 05, 2015, 11:43:08 AM

In standard form I would agree but pimped up a bit they are not too bad. Toyota did the same with the Landcruiser. The old model is much nicer.
Yeah the last model Landcrusier was far nicer. Always wanted one of them to be honest.
Post by: snoopdog on June 05, 2015, 04:54:09 PM
i have a Hyundai Santa fe the last model and its great. more of a jeep than a cross over probably, I dont have it that long but its great plenty of poke for the size of it. tons of space also, abundant in the south, not so many in the wee 6 though. although i think they only come with a 2.2 litre engine and above. a 2012 one would be pricey enough.

Post by: Lecale2 on June 05, 2015, 07:37:31 PM
Always thought the X5 was the best of this type. A friend had one. Great motor.
Post by: passedit on June 05, 2015, 07:51:00 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 05, 2015, 04:54:09 PM
i have a Hyundai Santa fe the last model and its great. more of a jeep than a cross over probably, I dont have it that long but its great plenty of poke for the size of it. tons of space also, abundant in the south, not so many in the wee 6 though. although i think they only come with a 2.2 litre engine and above. a 2012 one would be pricey enough.

+1, got the missus one from new for knocking down walls, backing into trees and the like but love driving it myself. Great room in it and drives like a smaller yoke.
Post by: GJL on June 05, 2015, 10:52:31 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on June 05, 2015, 07:37:31 PM
Always thought the X5 was the best of this type. A friend had one. Great motor.

X5 is a great yoke but a different market than what is being discussed. I have a 7 seater X5 at present and love it.
Post by: on the sideline on August 14, 2016, 09:09:22 PM
Lads this is probably going to sound like a stupid question but I'm gonna ask it anyway. 

Went to look at a car in a dealership last Sunday night with the oul boy.  Car was immaculate apart from one chip on the on the underside of the front bumper on the drivers side and a wee smudge on the back bumper.  Went back on the Monday for a test drive and loved it - gave it another good look over and again only flaws to be seen were the two mentioned. Told the salesman I was very interested but wanted my own mechanic to have a look over it before I put any money down. He came up with me on the Tuesday. He found no flaws apart from the two that I'd seen too. Put down a deposit after that.  Went back on Friday to do paperwork. Noticed a few wee chips on bottom of front bumper that hadn't been seen before. Said to the salesman and he said they'd be touched in.  Went home after thinking that I definitely hadn't noticed them before then.  Anyway called back up tonight to show the brother while he was home. The bonnet of the car is now noticeably chipped in several places and has been "patched" and I use that term lightly - with what looks more like tipex than white paint. There's no way I would have missed that or indeed my dad or mechanic.  Now the same dealership had two identical white cars in it on the Friday too. They're not there now.

Is there a chance they would have or could have swapped bonnets??? If there is how would I know or prove it?  Or how else would any of you explain it?

Or are all 3 of us just blind?

I'm supposed to go and pay for it tomorrow but have already signed paperwork on Friday and have my insurance paid on it because I was originally going to pick it up on Saturday. I'm in two minds now whether to go ahead or not cos of the money involved. It's a white A class Merc.
Post by: Hereiam on August 15, 2016, 12:09:10 AM
I would say some of the staff have been using it to travel to work. See it happen all the time.
Post by: qubdub on August 15, 2016, 09:29:53 AM
It could have been on other test drives; but more importantly, an A class merc what are you thinking!?
Post by: theskull1 on August 15, 2016, 10:12:49 AM
nice looking wee car IMO ... do they have gremlins lurking?
Post by: on the sideline on August 15, 2016, 10:23:37 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on August 15, 2016, 12:09:10 AM
I would say some of the staff have been using it to travel to work. See it happen all the time.

Quote from: qubdub on August 15, 2016, 09:29:53 AM
It could have been on other test drives; but more importantly, an A class merc what are you thinking!?

If I had a deposit paid then surely it shouldn't have been taken for either another test drive or by one of the salesmen?

They've left a voicemail asking what time I'm coming to pick it up so obviously they think they're going to leave it like that.

Qubdub why what's up with them? Anyone I know who has one has recommended them when I asked about them.
Post by: Hereiam on August 15, 2016, 10:30:54 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 15, 2016, 10:23:37 AM

If I had a deposit paid then surely it shouldn't have been taken for either another test drive or by one of the salesmen?

They've left a voicemail asking what time I'm coming to pick it up so obviously they think they're going to leave it like that.

Qubdub why what's up with them? Anyone I know who has one has recommended them when I asked about them.

In an ideal world that would be the case.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 16, 2016, 10:29:56 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on August 15, 2016, 10:30:54 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 15, 2016, 10:23:37 AM

In an ideal world that would be the case.
You are entitled to change your mind, I'd bet that rather than lose a sale altogether they will work with you.
Post by: theskull1 on August 16, 2016, 11:41:26 AM
I think with car purchases one you sign on the dotted line and pay your deposit, I believe you are duty bound to pay in full for the car ... there is no cooling off period AFAIA.
Post by: screenexile on August 16, 2016, 11:50:50 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 16, 2016, 11:41:26 AM
I think with car purchases one you sign on the dotted line and pay your deposit, I believe you are duty bound to pay in full for the car ... there is no cooling off period AFAIA.

If you're up North there is. . .

I wouldn't be paying for it if I was you ots I'd be giving out yards to them that the car has been used since you agreed to buy it and it's not acceptable. Hopefully you haven't paid too much of a deposit and you'll be able to leave it if possible.
Post by: rosnarun on August 16, 2016, 03:42:09 PM
more to the point id bring back the mechanic as if they have changed the bonnet god knows what else they may have swapped out
Post by: johnneycool on August 16, 2016, 03:59:45 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 16, 2016, 03:42:09 PM
more to the point id bring back the mechanic as if they have changed the bonnet god knows what else they may have swapped out

I knew a guy who had a test drive in a Mondeo from a ford dealer in Craigavon, he liked the car and paid a deposit. When he went to pick it up he thought they'd changed the two back tail light clusters to those from a lesser model, so he refused to pick it up and went and done a bit of homework on the car VIN which allegedly tells you what spec everything is and yes indeed the hoors had swapped them.

He gurned and was going to Ford UK about it and they finally put the original tali light clusters back in.

But it seems its not uncommon......
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 16, 2016, 06:22:57 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 16, 2016, 03:59:45 PM

I knew a guy who had a test drive in a Mondeo from a ford dealer in Craigavon, he liked the car and paid a deposit. When he went to pick it up he thought they'd changed the two back tail light clusters to those from a lesser model, so he refused to pick it up and went and done a bit of homework on the car VIN which allegedly tells you what spec everything is and yes indeed the hoors had swapped them.

He gurned and was going to Ford UK about it and they finally put the original tali light clusters back in.

That particular crew are cnuts.
Post by: laoislad on August 16, 2016, 07:11:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 16, 2016, 06:22:57 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 16, 2016, 03:59:45 PM

That particular crew are cnuts.
Did you buy anything yet?
Post by: on the sideline on August 16, 2016, 11:03:01 PM
Well yesterday was eventful! I took my cousin who imports cars and vans from the mainland, and who'd checked the car for me last Tuesday, back up with me as he had also seen it was in pretty Immaculate condition too. We're on the road up & get a call asking us to delay for another hour - they're busy so they say.  Now bare in mind that this car was supposed to be sitting ready for me to have collected on the Saturday. So more alarm bells as to why they're stalling.

We get there and the car is sitting parked up outside the front door of the dealership. From a distance have to say it looked class. I said nothing to the cousin, just asked him to take another quick look round it. Straight away 'What the f**k happened the bonnet?!' Looked worse with the sun shining on it.  I went in to the salesman I'd been dealing with and first thing I said was what's happened to that car from last Tuesday.  He was like what do u mean? So I told him to go and look at the bonnet. He came out looked at it and said I never asked the boys to touch the bonnet - just to touch up the two areas I had already pointed out to him the previous week. He said he couldn't explain the bonnet. My cousin says I'll explain it - it looks like a child's been let lose with a paint brush at it and made an absolute balls of it. Cue a complete change from the salesman - 'don't be coming in here starting that shit'

I said he's not starting any shit - look at it for yourself are you happy with it? Why is it patched? It was perfect, what's happened? No answers.  Manager comes out looking to know what's wrong. I point out the condition of the bonnet. He goes Awh that's the way that car came to us.  Absolute bullshit. I turned round and said I'd viewed the car on the previous Sunday, test driven it on the Monday, had the mechanic with me on Tuesday to give it a closer look and that I'd been back in on the Friday and that it was immaculate. Pointed out that my dad, cousin and the salesman I'd been with all had seen it was immaculate.  He was having none of it - you's must have missed it. Now lads the bonnet was patched in at least 10 places. I asked him did he think between the four of us that none of us would have spotted at least some of these particularly what must have been a pretty big chip considering the amount of touch up that was caked up on it. Asked him did he think we were blind? He answered you's must be!

I was like right that's fine we're away here and we turned to head. He then says well how would you's explain it? Now we had checked the bonnet paint seals round the bolts and they hadn't been broken so pretty sure the bonnet hadn't been replaced.  Cousin goes I'll tell you exactly what's happened - some of you's have had the car home and it's got chipped with loose chippings when it's been out and you's have panicked and made a balls job of trying to cover it up. Manager - no way no way noones allowed to take the cars home. Now this is where he slipped up. Cos my salesman had told me the week before how he had one of the other Mercs home for the weekend and how quick she was. But manager was being a p***k and adamant that he no one took the cars home. He then questioned my cousin why would you know much about paint or what do you paint? Cousin just straight out goes cars, vans, lorries, whatever you like, I'll even paint you a picture if you want lol he has his own engineering business so would do a lot of spraying and touch up work.  Manager didn't know what to say to him.

Anyway this has been going on an hour and he's still adamant that that this car came like that, then let's slip some of the boys in the workshop must have touched it up and has made a mess of it. He still won't admit to why it needed done.  So I told him I'm not paying the amount of money he was looking for a car that had been damaged since did agreed the deAl. He changed his tune then and goes ach we can tidy this all up and patch it in better. Told him I didn't care how well they were gonna patch it in - it didn't need touched at all when I paid the deposit and agreed the deal. Cousin goes to him what are you going to do to sort this out or we are walking.

Now this is at the front door of the dealership and everyone going in and out of it, and everyone looking round the rest of their cars and everyone using the wee shop attached next door to the garage can see and hear everything being said and you could see them all looking and listening to see what this arguement was about. So I just kept coming back to my point and made it louder and louder - the bonnet was perfect when I agreed a deal and paid my deposit and after that it had been damaged - how and why?!

At this stage he's looking rid of us cos it's not sounding good for the garage that kinda publicity. So he goes what if we get it resprayed? Spoke to my cousin and countered with - well not by the same artist who'd tried the touch up, that if it was being done it would be by someone of our choice. Manager agreed and deducted the price of a respray off the bonnet from the price. Even threw in a fill of diesel before we left.

So after that essay the bottom line is that I bought it, with the cost a respray deducted and am going to try and get it sorted now soon. Cousin has cleaned off most of the attempted touch up work and replaced it with the proper colour and made twice the job of it for now. But they never admitted it had been damaged since I'd paid the desposit, though my salesman apologised to me after for it and said he couldn't speak up against his boss or he wouldn't have been there the next day.

Now only I'd fell in love with the car I would have told her your man where to stick it, but I won't be buying from there again and if anyone else asks if he advising them to avoid.  Finished up with my cousin saying to the manager - you're a lucky man - insulting your customer and still getting a sale - cos I'd have told you there and then to go f**k yourself!
Post by: laoislad on August 17, 2016, 07:42:02 AM
From the Mainland? Do you live on Achill Island?
Post by: JimStynes on August 17, 2016, 08:14:58 AM
Haha I knew someone would pull him on it as soon as I started reading!

Anyone ever go England for cars? Have been keeping an eye out for something and one of my mates said about going to England. Much cheaper apparently!
Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 08:52:06 AM
Quote from: laoislad on August 17, 2016, 07:42:02 AM
From the Mainland? Do you live on Achill Island?
Quote from: hardstation on August 17, 2016, 07:44:12 AM
Mainland.  ::)

Lol alright fair point! From across the water.
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 17, 2016, 10:51:31 AM
I enjoyed the story  ;D.  Anybody else have any more tales from the forecourt?

Post by: The Gs Man on August 17, 2016, 11:55:11 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 16, 2016, 11:03:01 PM
Well yesterday was eventful! I took my cousin who imports cars and vans from the mainland, and who'd checked the car for me last Tuesday, back up with me as he had also seen it was in pretty Immaculate condition too. We're on the road up & get a call asking us to delay for another hour - they're busy so they say.  Now bare in mind that this car was supposed to be sitting ready for me to have collected on the Saturday. So more alarm bells as to why they're stalling.

We get there and the car is sitting parked up outside the front door of the dealership. From a distance have to say it looked class. I said nothing to the cousin, just asked him to take another quick look round it. Straight away 'What the f**k happened the bonnet?!' Looked worse with the sun shining on it.  I went in to the salesman I'd been dealing with and first thing I said was what's happened to that car from last Tuesday.  He was like what do u mean? So I told him to go and look at the bonnet. He came out looked at it and said I never asked the boys to touch the bonnet - just to touch up the two areas I had already pointed out to him the previous week. He said he couldn't explain the bonnet. My cousin says I'll explain it - it looks like a child's been let lose with a paint brush at it and made an absolute balls of it. Cue a complete change from the salesman - 'don't be coming in here starting that shit'

I said he's not starting any shit - look at it for yourself are you happy with it? Why is it patched? It was perfect, what's happened? No answers.  Manager comes out looking to know what's wrong. I point out the condition of the bonnet. He goes Awh that's the way that car came to us.  Absolute bullshit. I turned round and said I'd viewed the car on the previous Sunday, test driven it on the Monday, had the mechanic with me on Tuesday to give it a closer look and that I'd been back in on the Friday and that it was immaculate. Pointed out that my dad, cousin and the salesman I'd been with all had seen it was immaculate.  He was having none of it - you's must have missed it. Now lads the bonnet was patched in at least 10 places. I asked him did he think between the four of us that none of us would have spotted at least some of these particularly what must have been a pretty big chip considering the amount of touch up that was caked up on it. Asked him did he think we were blind? He answered you's must be!

I was like right that's fine we're away here and we turned to head. He then says well how would you's explain it? Now we had checked the bonnet paint seals round the bolts and they hadn't been broken so pretty sure the bonnet hadn't been replaced.  Cousin goes I'll tell you exactly what's happened - some of you's have had the car home and it's got chipped with loose chippings when it's been out and you's have panicked and made a balls job of trying to cover it up. Manager - no way no way noones allowed to take the cars home. Now this is where he slipped up. Cos my salesman had told me the week before how he had one of the other Mercs home for the weekend and how quick she was. But manager was being a p***k and adamant that he no one took the cars home. He then questioned my cousin why would you know much about paint or what do you paint? Cousin just straight out goes cars, vans, lorries, whatever you like, I'll even paint you a picture if you want lol he has his own engineering business so would do a lot of spraying and touch up work.  Manager didn't know what to say to him.

Anyway this has been going on an hour and he's still adamant that that this car came like that, then let's slip some of the boys in the workshop must have touched it up and has made a mess of it. He still won't admit to why it needed done.  So I told him I'm not paying the amount of money he was looking for a car that had been damaged since did agreed the deAl. He changed his tune then and goes ach we can tidy this all up and patch it in better. Told him I didn't care how well they were gonna patch it in - it didn't need touched at all when I paid the deposit and agreed the deal. Cousin goes to him what are you going to do to sort this out or we are walking.

Now this is at the front door of the dealership and everyone going in and out of it, and everyone looking round the rest of their cars and everyone using the wee shop attached next door to the garage can see and hear everything being said and you could see them all looking and listening to see what this arguement was about. So I just kept coming back to my point and made it louder and louder - the bonnet was perfect when I agreed a deal and paid my deposit and after that it had been damaged - how and why?!

At this stage he's looking rid of us cos it's not sounding good for the garage that kinda publicity. So he goes what if we get it resprayed? Spoke to my cousin and countered with - well not by the same artist who'd tried the touch up, that if it was being done it would be by someone of our choice. Manager agreed and deducted the price of a respray off the bonnet from the price. Even threw in a fill of diesel before we left.

So after that essay the bottom line is that I bought it, with the cost a respray deducted and am going to try and get it sorted now soon. Cousin has cleaned off most of the attempted touch up work and replaced it with the proper colour and made twice the job of it for now. But they never admitted it had been damaged since I'd paid the desposit, though my salesman apologised to me after for it and said he couldn't speak up against his boss or he wouldn't have been there the next day.

Now only I'd fell in love with the car I would have told her your man where to stick it, but I won't be buying from there again and if anyone else asks if he advising them to avoid.  Finished up with my cousin saying to the manager - you're a lucky man - insulting your customer and still getting a sale - cos I'd have told you there and then to go f**k yourself!

This should be a Netflix series.
Post by: LeoMc on August 17, 2016, 11:56:38 AM
The wife is looking at one of those at the minute. Is there an issue with them or are they just to girly for On the Sideline?
Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 12:28:19 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 17, 2016, 11:55:11 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 16, 2016, 11:03:01 PM

This should be a Netflix series.

Haha I'll sell it to them - might help pay for the car :-\ lol
Post by: Hereiam on August 17, 2016, 12:30:19 PM
Sideline a would have walked. When you seen what they were up did you not think what else has been covered up. Now that you have bought it the first thing i would do is get a full service done on the car for piece of mind.
Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:05:11 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on August 17, 2016, 12:30:19 PM
Sideline a would have walked. When you seen what they were up did you not think what else has been covered up. Now that you have bought it the first thing i would do is get a full service done on the car for piece of mind.

It's just been through a full service back in June in a Mercedes dealership. The reports sitting in the service history book.  I know what you're saying but it's got the full service history sitting in it and all done at the same dealership. If it had been just me looking to be honest I wouldnt have even thought to look at half of the stuff in and on the car that my cousin looked at - he knows his stuff.  So from the service side of things I was happy enough.  Just need to get this bonnet resprayed, but it'll do for now.

On another note. Why do cars now come without mud flaps??? :-\

Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:08:32 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 17, 2016, 01:00:42 PM
Just think you had a bee in your bonnet tbh.

So if you'd paid a deposit on a car or anything else and it gets damaged after you've paid it, would just say nothing then?
Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:11:15 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on August 17, 2016, 11:56:38 AM
The wife is looking at one of those at the minute. Is there an issue with them or are they just to girly for On the Sideline?

LeoMc it's not me who thinks they're girly!lol I think they're a class looking wee car.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 17, 2016, 01:12:20 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:08:32 PM

So if you'd paid a deposit on a car or anything else and it gets damaged after you've paid it, would just say nothing then?

Have a think. Read it again.
Post by: laoislad on August 17, 2016, 01:23:35 PM
If your cousin knows so much about cars and imports them himself(from the mainland  ::) ) why didn't you just get him to get a car for you.
Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:27:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 17, 2016, 01:12:20 PM

Again I get what you're saying. Had they not agree to take the price of the respray out of the price that was agreed, then I wouldn't have bought the car. It's booked in for next week, so by next Wednesday it'll be good as new.

Yeah your going to say that it should be good as new now. I agree it should. It was. It will be again next week - at their expense.  Given the rest of the car was in spot on condition and given the fact I've been looking for 3 months, have viewed more than 10 of them including over in Scotland, the condition of this car both inside and out was way above any others I've seen - between scrapes that couldn't be filled in or patched, split bumpers, chunks out of dashboards, damaged alloys etc.

It was in the best condition I've seen for one of them as a used car - and will back in that condition by next week - at their expense.

Fair enough you and others may have still walked away at that - but I'm happy enough that that's what's going to happen.  In an ideal world it shouldn't have to I know.  Above all I like the car.
Post by: The Gs Man on August 17, 2016, 01:28:42 PM
Whoosh!

Puntastic!
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 17, 2016, 01:30:45 PM
They were just a crowd of hoods?
Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:32:34 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 17, 2016, 01:23:35 PM
If your cousin knows so much about cars and imports them himself(from the mainland  ::) ) why didn't you just get him to get a car for you.

Simply because if something did go wrong with the car I've been given an 18 month warranty by the place I've bought from. If something went wrong with a car from over there, how do I get it back over there to get them to sort it under theirs? I wouldn't be buying from him so he wouldn't be offering me the warranty.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 17, 2016, 01:38:04 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:27:24 PM

Again I get what you're saying. Had they not agree to take the price of the respray out of the price that was agreed, then I wouldn't have bought the car. It's booked in for next week, so by next Wednesday it'll be good as new.

Yeah your going to say that it should be good as new now. I agree it should. It was. It will be again next week - at their expense.  Given the rest of the car was in spot on condition and given the fact I've been looking for 3 months, have viewed more than 10 of them including over in Scotland, the condition of this car both inside and out was way above any others I've seen - between scrapes that couldn't be filled in or patched, split bumpers, chunks out of dashboards, damaged alloys etc.

It was in the best condition I've seen for one of them as a used car - and will back in that condition by next week - at their expense.

Fair enough you and others may have still walked away at that - but I'm happy enough that that's what's going to happen.  In an ideal world it shouldn't have to I know.  Above all I like the car.

No sideline. Read what hardstation said again, and have a think.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 17, 2016, 01:41:26 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:32:34 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 17, 2016, 01:23:35 PM

Simply because if something did go wrong with the car I've been given an 18 month warranty by the place I've bought from. If something went wrong with a car from over there, how do I get it back over there to get them to sort it under theirs? I wouldn't be buying from him so he wouldn't be offering me the warranty.
I'd be gearing up to send a letter to them as it sounds like they have been clutching at straws. I personally would have reversed out of any agreement with them.
Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:41:40 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 17, 2016, 01:13:05 PM

Obviously not, you dipstick.

Awh i can't believe I missed that! lol Very good Hardstation well played lol 👏🏻  ;D
Post by: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:43:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 17, 2016, 01:38:04 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:27:24 PM

No sideline. Read what hardstation said again, and have a think.

Yeah I just clicked in to gear there! Thought he was putting the boot in...
Post by: general_lee on August 17, 2016, 01:49:59 PM
The shite on here would drive you nuts. As for the a class the mother was considering one about two years ago (eventually ended up with some Japanese scrap with 7 yr warranty), had some weasel from Mercedes Portadown calling her every other day trying to twist her arm. Iirc they didn't score too well with the critics and I think one of the lower entry engines is prone to hassle. That and they're a bit of a woman's car but each to their own.
Post by: TabClear on August 17, 2016, 02:12:20 PM
Annoying thing about this is how many people has this crowd done the same thing on? Sideline obviously had done his homework and noticed but I know if my sister/mum/dad rocked up having paid a deposit they would never have thought to check that.

As for the changing the taillights story that's a f**king disgrace.

Post by: armaghniac on August 17, 2016, 02:33:09 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on August 17, 2016, 01:30:45 PM

a veritable shower of bonnets, indeed.
Post by: never kickt a ball on August 17, 2016, 11:57:05 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 17, 2016, 02:33:09 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on August 17, 2016, 01:30:45 PM

a veritable shower of bonnets, indeed.

But no match for the hissing cousins.
Post by: LeoMc on August 18, 2016, 08:56:52 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on August 17, 2016, 01:11:15 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on August 17, 2016, 11:56:38 AM

LeoMc it's not me who thinks they're girly!lol I think they're a class looking wee car.
I like the look of them too. I was asking qubdub about his reservations.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 20, 2016, 10:56:10 PM
Some amount of UK imports coming into the south at the moment

This time last year very few were bothered bringing them in

I expect SIMI to look for something to be done in the budget about it
Post by: armaghniac on August 20, 2016, 11:05:37 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 20, 2016, 10:56:10 PM
Some amount of UK imports coming into the south at the moment

This time last year very few were bothered bringing them in

I expect SIMI to look for something to be done in the budget about it

Sterling has dropped 20%, which changes the whole deal. There isn't much the government can do and they get a cut of the imports anyway. New car sales are also buoyant so SIMI are not in much trouble, there is a backlog of demand now being filled.

That said, I traded in an 05 Focus in good nick in early April and it is still on sale, so there may be problems moving the older trade ins off the forecourt.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 20, 2016, 11:53:30 PM
Yeah.

I'm actually thinking of trading down from my current car to an older model.
Serious amount of quality used cars out there.