GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: theticklemister on May 18, 2015, 09:12:19 PM

Title: Have you ever been a 'Sledger?'
Post by: theticklemister on May 18, 2015, 09:12:19 PM
Well have you ever mouthed at the opposition?

I honestly said I haven't.
Title: Re: Have you ever been a 'Sledger?'
Post by: armaghniac on May 18, 2015, 09:17:25 PM
In 2015 there is a simple cure for sledging, give each player a microphone. Problem solved.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 18, 2015, 09:31:54 PM
Will probably come as a surprise to no-one that I have been known to get involved in verbals from time to time!!!
Post by: Jinxy on May 18, 2015, 09:35:53 PM
The only time I ever spoke to my opponents was to ask how much they paid for their boots.
Post by: laoislad on May 18, 2015, 09:36:28 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 18, 2015, 09:31:54 PM
Will probably come as a surprise to no-one that I have been known to get involved in verbals from time to time!!!
I don't believe you.

Let's test it out.
Roy Keane is a w**ker... discuss.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 18, 2015, 09:42:01 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 18, 2015, 09:36:28 PM
I don't believe you.

Let's test it out.

We'll see who's the w**ker when I put you on yer hole and plant the ball in the net. So stick that up yer bollocks (to quote the great man)!
Post by: laoislad on May 18, 2015, 09:45:53 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 18, 2015, 09:42:01 PM
I don't believe you.

Let's test it out.

We'll see who's the w**ker when I put you on yer hole and plant the ball in the net. So stick that up yer bollocks (to quote the great man)!
I got sent off 4 times, and all times were for mouthing off at the Ref.. 
I'm sure you also find that hard to believe!
Post by: theticklemister on May 18, 2015, 09:49:29 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 18, 2015, 09:45:53 PM
I don't believe you.

Let's test it out.

Wait, I was sent off myself once when mouthing at the ref also.......... opps!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on May 18, 2015, 10:05:19 PM
I don't believe you.

Let's test it out.

This will definitely surprise - I was never sent off. Sailed close to the wind a few times but never got my marching orders.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 18, 2015, 10:22:22 PM
Did talk to my man alot to be honest, it dawned on me very quick if you keep talking to your man when playing in the full back line, it took his attention of the game, but it was never sledging,general chit chat, never insulted a man in my time playing and outside of 2 lads from the one team back in the 90`s never got any verbals back. Though back then any verbals were fit to be sorted out in the physical manner shall we say.
Post by: themac_23 on May 18, 2015, 10:44:11 PM
Had a short temper myself, was never the instigator, was fond of giving a bit back though, nothing personal really. always carried an extra bit of weight but had a real way of getting the few yards i needed to make a fool of my marker and get a lot of scores, always got the sure you're a fat b*stard etc etc so i usually took great delight in letting my man know that id rather be a fat b*stard than being made a fool of by a fat b*stard. Always done it in earshot of supporters to get the extra laughs and really make him feel a like a d*ck, would never resort to personal insults, family etc i personally think there is a line
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 18, 2015, 10:54:57 PM
I brought my Nokia out onto the field so I could taunt the opposition with their girlfriend's phone nos.
Post by: Jinxy on May 18, 2015, 11:12:07 PM
I once rang a fellas girlfriend when he was through on goal and I knew I couldn't catch him.
"Howaya Mary!"
He put it wide.
Post by: Itchy on May 18, 2015, 11:15:07 PM
I gave an opponent a wedgie once because he was pulling NY jersey. Pull my jersey I'll pull your jocks is what I told him.
Post by: TheOptimist on May 18, 2015, 11:20:32 PM
A fella was once telling me about what he was doing with my sister the night before.

I told him that was his problem!
Post by: yellowcard on May 18, 2015, 11:28:34 PM
A lad I played with who was our designated man marker used to constantly nip his opponent on the back off the ball and more often than not would draw a reaction from the forward which resulted in the forward either getting seriously wound up or sometimes sent off. Worked a treat in league matches where there were no neutral officials other than the ref. He rarely, if ever got caught as he never lost control.
Post by: The Subbie on May 18, 2015, 11:36:04 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 18, 2015, 09:12:19 PM
Well have you ever mouthed at the opposition?

I honestly said I haven't.

Ask your aul doll..... ;)
Post by: screenexile on May 19, 2015, 12:46:59 AM
Got plenty in my time but it wasn't something that bothered me. The worst that got me was Brolly chatting about University and my course and the craic down in Belfast then bang he was gone and the ball over the bar and he resumed the conversation! Wee bollix!!

I don't understand the outrage about the sledging. Who gives a f**k really and as for the article about Cavanagh saying some lads might take it bad? Man the f**k up lads sticks and stones!

The men who were easily wound up with the sledging were generally not the sharpest tool in the box and more fool them for getting sent off because of it!

I can just imagine the conversation at home "yeah Ma I got sent off because some lad said he rode ya last night." "Oh I'm so proud Jimmy thanks so much for standing up for me!!"

Do me a favour!
Post by: J70 on May 19, 2015, 02:51:53 AM
In the NBA,  apparently the likes of Michael Jordan and Larry Bird were notorious for it. Can't accuse them of trying to compensate for something!
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on May 19, 2015, 03:16:42 AM
In my experience the true psychopaths say absolutely nothing.
Post by: The Subbie on May 19, 2015, 05:07:11 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on May 19, 2015, 03:16:42 AM

very true, if you ever meet nudie Hughes ask him did Fergus Caulfield say anything to him when he broke his jaw.
Post by: rrhf on May 19, 2015, 07:15:29 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 18, 2015, 11:15:07 PM
I gave an opponent a wedgie once because he was pulling NY jersey. Pull my jersey I'll pull your jocks is what I told him.
Typical yank
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2015, 07:33:03 AM
You lot disgust me the way you think that this is a legitimate way to gain an advantage. Just play the bloody game, man v man, may the best man win.  Never would I get into a slagging match, question someone's mothers sexual habits or a referees parentage. Just played the game and will a great level of yerra I would battle till the end and may the best man win.
Post by: illdecide on May 19, 2015, 09:01:30 AM
Never done it in my life, just went for the ball and if couldn't win it legally then I tried to make sure my opponent thought twice about going for the next one...No verbal's.
Post by: The Subbie on May 19, 2015, 09:17:39 AM
Quote from: illdecide on May 19, 2015, 09:01:30 AM
Never done it in my life, just went for the ball and if couldn't win it legally then I tried to make sure my opponent thought twice about going for the next one...No verbal's.

Is your name John Lynch??? ;)
Post by: Jinxy on May 19, 2015, 09:18:14 AM
I see Sean Cavanagh is moaning in the papers again today.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 19, 2015, 09:28:15 AM
Never got involved in what i would call sledging. Often got a bit of verbals from an oponent, and I wasnt afraid to give it back, but never got into the 'yer ma' 'yer girlfriend' sort of stuff and to be honest, never really heard it to often either.
Post by: johnneycool on May 19, 2015, 09:28:58 AM

Very true, if someone was going on about what they were going to do to you the next ball, you were always pretty safe, empty vessels and all that.

If you gave someone your best shot and they're still standing, smiling at you, then you are in trouble..
Post by: longballin on May 19, 2015, 09:29:08 AM
It's scummy and cowardly.
Post by: Bingo on May 19, 2015, 09:48:27 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 19, 2015, 05:07:11 AM

very true, if you ever meet nudie Hughes ask him did Fergus Caulfield say anything to him when he broke his jaw.

They actually had lunch together a few days after that and Fergus very sportingly offered to eat Nudies bread roll for him as it wasn't much addition to Nudie as he sipped on his soup.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2015, 09:51:59 AM
Quote from: longballin on May 19, 2015, 09:29:08 AM

This. And when it moves onto grabbing testicles, or twisting arms or pinching like a girl, you are going to get the odd lad that lashes out and gets caught. I think it's just pathetic.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2015, 09:53:34 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 19, 2015, 09:51:59 AM

This. And when it moves onto grabbing testicles, or twisting arms or pinching like a girl, you are going to get the odd lad that lashes out and gets caught. I think it's just pathetic.

What about standing on heels to pull off boots or raking you two long back studs down a lads shins? Is that allowed?  :P
Post by: screenexile on May 19, 2015, 09:54:17 AM

It is of course but is there anyone on the board who it would really annoy? I can see in a social setting when someone says something to denigrate you in front of people that you  can get annoyed but if someone on a football field says something to me I know he's trying to get a reaction and I don't give him one other than laugh in his face or give him a rattle next time the ball is there.

Obviously McCarron got a ridiculous amount of abuse on Sunday but whoever they played that was going to be the case anyway. I'm sure he was prepared for it and if he wasn't then is it any wonder they got beat!!
Post by: TheOptimist on May 19, 2015, 09:57:42 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2015, 09:53:34 AM

What about standing on heels to pull off boots or raking you two long back studs down a lads shins? Is that allowed?  :P

I was marking a fella in a Uni game once. Every time I put my hand near him, he opened my glove. I thought that was a good one.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2015, 10:06:22 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2015, 09:53:34 AM

f**king hell I hated that. Lads talk about bravery and fellas milling one another. I think real bravery is taking all that sort of abuse, and still stepping up to go for the next ball or whatever.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 19, 2015, 10:13:35 AM
Suppose It all comes under the umbrella of 'doing whatever it takes to try gain upper hand or an advantage' but its gotten out of hand in recent times.
Once knew a fella that was a great lad, not to mention a super talented defender. He would have taken ridiculous punishment down through the years in games he played. The harder he got hit or the more abuse he took, the better he seemed to play.
The amount of times he would get off the floor and just smile at his aggressor defied logic. But im certain that nearly anyone who tried the sledging and abuse were probably scared sh!tless of him not only because of how good he was but the fact that no matter what they threw at him, he would get back up and just look at them and smile, in a psycho-like manner.

The quiet ones are really the psychos.
Post by: shezam on May 19, 2015, 10:42:32 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 19, 2015, 12:46:59 AM
Got plenty in my time but it wasn't something that bothered me. The worst that got me was Brolly chatting about University and my course and the craic down in Belfast then bang he was gone and the ball over the bar and he resumed the conversation! Wee bollix!!

I don't understand the outrage about the sledging. Who gives a f**k really and as for the article about Cavanagh saying some lads might take it bad? Man the f**k up lads sticks and stones!

The men who were easily wound up with the sledging were generally not the sharpest tool in the box and more fool them for getting sent off because of it!

I can just imagine the conversation at home "yeah Ma I got sent off because some lad said he rode ya last night." "Oh I'm so proud Jimmy thanks so much for standing up for me!!"

Do me a favour!

All well good in saying that but when it becomes personal and deceased family members are being mentioned, lowest of the low.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 19, 2015, 10:52:10 AM
Never really got involved in verbal sledging....maybe called somebody a w*nker or something.
I was more of the "level him in the next tackle" kind of player. Whilst I was never the most skilled player, I was physical so I saw it as playing to my strength rather than trying to put the other player off.
But if I'm honest, there'd have been the occassional dirty dig...an elbow in the ribs going up for a ball, or a stamp on a toe just as a ball was kicked in....does that count as sledging?
Post by: Jinxy on May 19, 2015, 11:07:55 AM
I was usually too out of breath to sledge the fella I was marking.
Post by: rosnarun on May 19, 2015, 11:32:59 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on May 19, 2015, 10:52:10 AM
Never really got involved in verbal sledging....maybe called somebody a w*nker or something.
I was more of the "level him in the next tackle" kind of player. Whilst I was never the most skilled player, I was physical so I saw it as playing to my strength rather than trying to put the other player off.
But if I'm honest, there'd have been the occassional dirty dig...an elbow in the ribs going up for a ball, or a stamp on a toe just as a ball was kicked in....does that count as sledging?

I would see a big difference in abuse people would give in reaction to an incident like  bad foul or tackle etc
sledging is more of weasily pre planned way of trying to provoke a reaction and get the oppent booked or sent off.
Closer to diving really than flat out abuse
Post by: TF15 on May 19, 2015, 12:15:17 PM
I'd rather be called everything under the sun than get an off the ball belt or stamp or whatever. I see Whelan on about the sledging, he was a sc**bag on the field and I'd rather a mouthy fecker on me than one who sticks his elbow in your jaw as soon as you've an upper hand on him.
Post by: DennistheMenace on May 19, 2015, 01:25:24 PM
Read that Cavanagh article and it's not to think that he was talking about McCarron getting abuse. If so that's a sad state of affairs.
Post by: A man from Down on May 19, 2015, 02:17:09 PM
Back in the day we used to be flat out at Streetfighter II on the Sega. When it was two player mode the sledging was wild altogether.
Post by: JoG2 on May 19, 2015, 02:28:22 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 19, 2015, 09:54:17 AM

It is of course but is there anyone on the board who it would really annoy? I can see in a social setting when someone says something to denigrate you in front of people that you  can get annoyed but if someone on a football field says something to me I know he's trying to get a reaction and I don't give him one other than laugh in his face or give him a rattle next time the ball is there.

You may be able to laugh in a man's face, but you haven't a clue whats going on in other players personal life. Men will react differently depending on what emotional state they're in. Personally I didn't like like it but never reacted.. .  Wife, children could be sick, you could have some mental issues you're trying to deal with. The football field should be a place to escape life's worrys, could be the best hour of player's lives in the week. The football field should be a place to go and play the game hard and fair, not listen to some buck mouthing all matter of personal sh1t in your ear....but hey, winning is everything, correct?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 19, 2015, 02:43:03 PM
I would never go into the wife/girlfriend/mother/sister level - stuff like that is for real guttersnipes. A very good friend of mine got some wicked stuff said to him about one of his sisters by a guy who plays for a rival team here in Sligo. My mate never forgot it and still doesn't forgive the p***k to this day, even after getting your man carried off on several occasions since (never getting so much as a yellow card). He actually got him carried off twice in a week one time when we played them in championship one week and league the week after. And my mate's a corner forward!
Post by: Throw ball on May 19, 2015, 07:46:01 PM
Would never be one for verbals in any part of life. Funnily I actually got verbals in a club golf match when about to take a putt to win on the last. Best motivation speech I ever heard. Sunk it and had the biggest smile you are ever likely to see.

On a serious note the vast majority can laugh these things of but the problem is when it is said to someone who can't. That is a risk to far. It is sport after all.
Post by: Gmac on May 19, 2015, 09:38:09 PM
If the gaa officials had a rule where they allowed the players to drop the gloves like they do in hockey how many of these mouth pieces would be interested in sorting out there problems Man to man ?
Not many I'd say most of them would be the ones looking for protection from the refs.
Post by: The Subbie on May 19, 2015, 09:42:34 PM
Quote from: Bingo on May 19, 2015, 09:48:27 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 19, 2015, 05:07:11 AM

They actually had lunch together a few days after that and Fergus very sportingly offered to eat Nudies bread roll for him as it wasn't much addition to Nudie as he sipped on his soup.

wouldn't surprise me, Fergus is a nice fella.
Post by: westbound on May 20, 2015, 04:21:33 PM
Quote from: Gmac on May 19, 2015, 09:38:09 PM
If the gaa officials had a rule where they allowed the players to drop the gloves like they do in hockey how many of these mouth pieces would be interested in sorting out there problems Man to man ?
Not many I'd say most of them would be the ones looking for protection from the refs.

This could possibly be the best suggestion I have ever heard for a rule change.

1. Everybody loves a good brawl (exhibit A - aussie rules)
2. Sledging is minimised because 'Mouth pieces' are quietened!
3.  Game goes on whilst brawl is continuing thus reducing the numbers that can be utilised by a blanket defence.

No need for new playing rules trials at all, just bring this in straight away! I think it's fool proof!

Post by: rrhf on May 20, 2015, 08:32:15 PM
Where do the GPA stand on sledging.  Are they going to sort it out and withdraw the dough from any players abusing other players?
Too busy making money methinks..
Post by: muppet on May 20, 2015, 08:41:11 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 20, 2015, 08:32:15 PM
Where do the GPA stand on sledging.  Are they going to sort it out and withdraw the dough from any players abusing other players?

They are flat out trying to stop a Brexit, Grexit and a Dubexit.

Seriously though, does every breaking GAA story have to immediately be blamed on the GPA?
Post by: rrhf on May 20, 2015, 08:47:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 20, 2015, 08:41:11 PM

Seriously though, does every breaking GAA story have to immediately be blamed on the GPA?
They represent the players right.  S C yesterday alluded and rightly in my players that this might be a very serious matter for some.  Perhaps set up an Anti Sledging Society.
Post by: muppet on May 20, 2015, 08:53:08 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 20, 2015, 08:47:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 20, 2015, 08:41:11 PM

They represent the players right.  S C yesterday alluded and rightly in my players that this might be a very serious matter for some.  Perhaps set up an Anti Sledging Society.

ASS.

I like it. Can Joe brolly be Chairman? Please??????
Post by: easytiger95 on May 21, 2015, 12:28:40 AM
I found my behaviour switched depending on the sport - played corner back football, never the most skillful, being dogged was my only attribute, too busy concentrating to get involved with sledging an opponent. Hurling I was full back, again way too much going on too quickly, rarely said anything to my man. Also had to organize out the pitch, so I would have been roaring at our half back line and midfielders. But in soccer, for whatever reason, maybe because you're not really going man for man, I had a lot more time to mouth - but again it was mostly my own team who were getting it, and the ref - lost count of how many cards I got for bollocking refs. I always found soccer refs to be far more officious than football or hurling, they really got on my wick.

Can't really understand the motivation for it, but I never played at a level that would have required it. Thank God for all concerned.
Post by: Oraisteach on May 21, 2015, 03:20:46 AM
At 5' 8" and 11 stone, I couldn't lift a sledgehammer let alone be a sledger, more a sludger.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 21, 2015, 08:31:12 AM
When I was playing underage many moons ago one of our coaches was a full forward on the senior team. In one championship game as the full back went to shakle his hand before the game our coach took it and kissed it. The fullbacl never went near him the whole game. Not exactly sledging but it was very funny and it worked
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 21, 2015, 09:07:32 AM
I'd more often just chat to the full-forward about anything under the sun. As long as you keep your own concentration it's more effective than abuse, in my opinion. Actually, I feel like abusing your marker just comes across as fearful, same as pulling and dragging. But if you're laughing and chatting with a lad, and then you win ball off him, he has to ask whether he's really posing a threat. I wouldn't neccesarily condemn sledging in the same terms as others here though; I don't think there's any need to take measures to put a stop to it.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2015, 09:52:48 AM
QuoteBrendan Devenney has waded into the 'sledging' debate by claiming a minor footballer in Donegal was taunted over the death of his father by opposing players.

The former Donegal attacker says 'sledging' has become widespread in Ulster and fears for the mental health of young GAA players who are subjected to such disgusting behaviour.

"Up in Ulster, there is this perceived rest of the country versus Ulster attitude when it comes to football and how it is played. You have people down South criticising the sledging, goading and cynicism that goes on in Ulster and those inside the province don't like it. As somebody from Ulster, I have to say that what is going on and what we witnessed in Ballyboyfey in the senior game was a pile of s....," Devenney is quoted in the Irish Examiner.

"There is this harshness up North, particularly with the six counties. When I played with Donegal, we were seen as a soft touch.

"Armagh would have used those tactics of goading we saw at the weekend. Down would have done so, Tyrone too.

"I heard back from a very good source that one Donegal minor, who lost his father to cancer, was taunted about that during a game. That would turn your stomach.

"There is the mental health element here and are players able to take what is being said to them? What must that minor have been thinking after the game?"

Devenney believes some managers are encouraging their players to taunt the opposition.

"It is completely getting out of hand. The stuff that certain players used to be at, were famous for, the stuff that old men in the crowd loved to see, now a lot of players are at it. Donegal are at it," he continued.

"The game between Armagh and Donegal last year in the All-Ireland quarter-final was an absolute pile of s..... The pulling, dragging and constant mouthing off the ball was disgraceful.

"Players aren't just deciding to taunt their players, I feel they are being instructed by management."

Why do you look at the speck that is in your brother's eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?  It reminds me of this biblical quote.  If this is true this is horrendous, I know of at least 1 other player who was subjected to similar taunts.  The old craics that used to be said to me, particularly from townies and Belfasties about them collecting their shoes from me ma's house are minuscule in comparison.  High horses though should not be ridden and the shit that is happening is clearly reflective of what is being encouraged or certainly not condemned at the top level.  Question a lads ability, question why he is playing,  tell him he'll be the next man to get the hook, but this sort of shit is out of line.
Post by: sligoman on May 21, 2015, 09:54:08 AM
Quite a serious accusation from Devenney today over a Donegal minor being taunted in the minor game over his dead father.

Obviously this is sickening if true. Not sure if Devenney is the most credible source so hopefully the minor involved comes forward and identifies the culprits.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 21, 2015, 10:02:34 AM
That's horrible to read, but it's not new either. Liam Hayes I think it was, tells the story of the abuse he took about his brother dying, so this is far from a recent phenomenon. However it seems to be getting more widespread and the goading and taunting after wides or mistakes is getting worse too. 
Post by: magpie seanie on May 21, 2015, 11:55:31 AM
When I'd get involved in sledging it would never be anything like talking about guys families/girlfriends/sisters/mothers etc. It would be along the lines BCB1 was saying. The other stuff is pure scumbaggery and should be dealt with appropriately* - by inflicting pain on the perpetrator, preferably in a way you or your teammates get away with it.

* referees in gaelic football are a joke, relying on them for anything is a fools errand.
Post by: The Black Mamba on May 21, 2015, 12:54:26 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/darragh-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-sledging-isn-t-great-but-i-wouldn-t-be-getting-too-annoyed-1.2218553
Post by: theskull1 on May 21, 2015, 01:03:25 PM
Id be as concerned about the mental health of the perpetrators of the lowest of the low verbal abuse on the pitch. How horrible must it be to walk through the world and know how much of a low life scum b4$stard you were to someone dealing with the death of a loved one in such a callous way...all over the head of a bit of silverware. Its mind boggling

Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2015, 01:07:15 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2015, 09:52:48 AM
QuoteBrendan Devenney has waded into the 'sledging' debate by claiming a minor footballer in Donegal was taunted over the death of his father by opposing players.

The former Donegal attacker says 'sledging' has become widespread in Ulster and fears for the mental health of young GAA players who are subjected to such disgusting behaviour.

"Up in Ulster, there is this perceived rest of the country versus Ulster attitude when it comes to football and how it is played. You have people down South criticising the sledging, goading and cynicism that goes on in Ulster and those inside the province don't like it. As somebody from Ulster, I have to say that what is going on and what we witnessed in Ballyboyfey in the senior game was a pile of s....," Devenney is quoted in the Irish Examiner.

"There is this harshness up North, particularly with the six counties. When I played with Donegal, we were seen as a soft touch.

"Armagh would have used those tactics of goading we saw at the weekend. Down would have done so, Tyrone too.

"I heard back from a very good source that one Donegal minor, who lost his father to cancer, was taunted about that during a game. That would turn your stomach.

"There is the mental health element here and are players able to take what is being said to them? What must that minor have been thinking after the game?"

Devenney believes some managers are encouraging their players to taunt the opposition.

"It is completely getting out of hand. The stuff that certain players used to be at, were famous for, the stuff that old men in the crowd loved to see, now a lot of players are at it. Donegal are at it," he continued.

"The game between Armagh and Donegal last year in the All-Ireland quarter-final was an absolute pile of s..... The pulling, dragging and constant mouthing off the ball was disgraceful.

"Players aren't just deciding to taunt their players, I feel they are being instructed by management."

Why do you look at the speck that is in your brother's eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?  It reminds me of this biblical quote.  If this is true this is horrendous, I know of at least 1 other player who was subjected to similar taunts.  The old craics that used to be said to me, particularly from townies and Belfasties about them collecting their shoes from me ma's house are minuscule in comparison.  High horses though should not be ridden and the shit that is happening is clearly reflective of what is being encouraged or certainly not condemned at the top level.  Question a lads ability, question why he is playing,  tell him he'll be the next man to get the hook, but this sort of shit is out of line.

Was your mother a cobbler?
Post by: theticklemister on May 21, 2015, 01:36:51 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 21, 2015, 11:55:31 AM
When I'd get involved in sledging it would never be anything like talking about guys families/girlfriends/sisters/mothers etc. It would be along the lines BCB1 was saying. The other stuff is pure scumbaggery and should be dealt with appropriately* - by inflicting pain on the perpetrator, preferably in a way you or your teammates get away with it.

* referees in gaelic football are a joke, relying on them for anything is a fools errand.

But what happens when the ref turns around sees ye clobber a fella. U will get the line; the ref won't care if you have been sledged or not. Even if you state to him the case, he more and likely would have not heard it.

It means your team is down a man and sin e.

The best way of putting up with these 'sledgers' is to ignore them. I found throughout the years that bullies are all the more raging when they are being ignored.
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2015, 01:54:10 PM
I was usually under so much pressure that I hadn't time to listen to anyone, even on my own team, never mind 'sledgers'. I remember a game where I was called a 'Free State Bastard' when I played Colleges up North. I had to ask someone afterwards what the f*ck that meant!
Post by: rrhf on May 21, 2015, 01:59:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 21, 2015, 11:55:31 AM

I would not give a fiddlers about the importance of the match- that person would be getting clobbered.  Thats still the best way of handling it. 
Post by: theticklemister on May 21, 2015, 02:15:19 PM
So that means your team is down a man and less chance of winning. So by not letting it slide, you have let down your clubmates and management?

I reffed a match last night, it was close and physical. Team A were winning everything in middle, so Team B brought out their big man from full-forward and he changed the game; they then took the lead with the big man being the catalyst. He was getting agitated with a few things, be it referee's decisions and other things. He then rugby tackled a man and all hell broke lose; he subsequently got a black card. Team A went onto win by a point. He let his team down big style and took to Facebook to apologise to his team mates, management and opposition. They should have been celebrating in what would have been a famous victory away from home against a much-fancied opponent.

Point is, keep your emotions and bay; it will let you and your club down.
Post by: lfdown2 on May 21, 2015, 02:29:03 PM
Quote from: The Black Mamba on May 21, 2015, 12:54:26 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/darragh-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-sledging-isn-t-great-but-i-wouldn-t-be-getting-too-annoyed-1.2218553

Read that myself and tended to agree with it, that was before realising that I was thinking of myself only. Not that I have ever been 'sledged' but then I read the following article from Niall McNamee where he talks about stepping up to take a penalty and having a gambling comment thrown out at him, and how it affected him.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/niall-mcnamee-s-long-journey-back-from-gambling-addiction-1.2214053 (https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/niall-mcnamee-s-long-journey-back-from-gambling-addiction-1.2214053)

If the GAA are serious about addressing mental health issues this needs tackled. Not good enough to say 'sure just ignore it', that's possible for some players but not others and some of that sledging could really hit a nerve in an individual already in a bad place.
Post by: rrhf on May 21, 2015, 02:35:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 21, 2015, 10:02:34 AM
That's horrible to read, but it's not new either. Liam Hayes I think it was, tells the story of the abuse he took about his brother dying, so this is far from a recent phenomenon. However it seems to be getting more widespread and the goading and taunting after wides or mistakes is getting worse too.
That incident was the worst I heard of one in a Tyrone V Donegal a few years ago. Whatever sledging went on on Sunday it couldnt have been at that level.  Time for the GPA to talk to their players.   
Post by: twohands!!! on May 21, 2015, 02:42:45 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 21, 2015, 02:35:52 PM
That incident was the worst I heard of one in a Tyrone V Donegal a few years ago. Whatever sledging went on on Sunday it couldnt have been at that level.  Time for the GPA to talk to their players.   

Time for managers to step up in my opinion, as opposed to the GPA.

If a player behaves like this on a pitch over a period of time, the manager needs to take steps to address it.

If you're managing a team you have a responsibility relating to how your team behave.

Step up, be a man and don't play the whole Pontinus Pilate/feigning ignorance hypocrite card.

If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
Post by: screenexile on May 21, 2015, 02:59:42 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 21, 2015, 02:42:45 PM

Time for managers to step up in my opinion, as opposed to the GPA.

If a player behaves like this on a pitch over a period of time, the manager needs to take steps to address it.

If you're managing a team you have a responsibility relating to how your team behave.

Step up, be a man and don't play the whole Pontinus Pilate/feigning ignorance hypocrite card.

If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.

Sure Mickey "I should be the next Pope" Harte never once criticised McMenamin or dropped him through all the years. . . what chance any other manager?!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2015, 03:13:27 PM

Sure a Tyrone wouldn't sledge a player about his dead father ::)
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2015, 03:17:39 PM
As a wise man once said, "He hits you, you hit the ground. 14 men against 15."
Post by: johnneycool on May 21, 2015, 04:07:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2015, 03:17:39 PM
As a wise man once said, "He hits you, you hit the ground. 14 men against 15."

Thank god this sledging nonsense doesn't happen in hurling, all very gentlemanly us hurlers  :o

From Hoganstand;

"Sledging not a hurling issue"
21 May 2015

Henry Shefflin and Patrick Horgan have insisted that sledging isn't a problem in hurling.

Speaking at the launch of Centra's healthy living initiative in Dublin's Herbert Park yesterday, both admitted to being taken by the antics of Tyrone and Donegal players during last Sunday's controversial Ulster SFC preliminary round clash in Ballybofey.

"I've never come across it," Kilkenny legend Shefflin said.

"I came across the odd macho thing more than anything else — 'You're soft' or whatever — but that was basically it.

"I'm obviously reading what you're writing so it seems to be the thing that it's getting personal, by all accounts, and I've never seen or heard it on a hurling field in all my years. I would definitely feel it's not a hurling thing. That's my own personal experience playing the game and from anyone you speak to... I've never come across it."

Cork forward Horgan, meanwhile, questioned why Tyrone defender Justin McMahon spent most of the game "hanging off" Michael Murphy.

"Michael Murphy, a man hanging off him, I don't know how someone can train for seven months to go around doing that as a job. It just bugs me. I have no time for it anyway," he said.

Asked if he had ever been subjected to sledging, the Glen Rovers sharpshooter replied: "I've never experienced it — a lad misses a free and he says something like 'you missed a free' but that's basically it. From talking to different players hurling-wise, it seems to be something that's crept into the game of football. You would hope that it just doesn't creep into the game of hurling. I don't imagine it will."

Care to take a butt of a hurl into the ribs old chap?

Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2015, 04:21:56 PM
I remember a fella saying, "You missed a free" to me in an u-14 game.
Haven't taken one since...
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 21, 2015, 05:03:59 PM
QuoteCork forward Horgan, meanwhile, questioned why Tyrone defender Justin McMahon spent most of the game "hanging off" Michael Murphy.

"Michael Murphy, a man hanging off him, I don't know how someone can train for seven months to go around doing that as a job. It just bugs me. I have no time for it anyway," he said.

;D ;D That's gas. A forward has no time for defending. Whatever next.
Post by: Bingo on May 21, 2015, 05:57:21 PM
Declan Bonners comments quite striking and unreal in the modern age.

Will Tyrone stick there heads in the sand, deflect, point fingers, feel sorry for themselves, blame others, talk about All-Irelands/win at all costs or actually make a statement on the issue.

Absolutely sick to be at this.
Post by: rrhf on May 21, 2015, 06:54:31 PM
Theres some difference in that very serious allegation and that of a man slagging another man about his white boots.
People need to understand this difference. One needs action if proven, one is relatively harmless albeit a nuisance.     
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2015, 08:08:52 PM
Quote from: Bingo on May 21, 2015, 05:57:21 PM

Will Tyrone stick there heads in the sand, deflect, point fingers, feel sorry for themselves, blame others, talk about All-Irelands/win at all costs or actually make a statement on the issue.

But somebody else, somewhere else, said something else... probably.
Post by: theticklemister on May 21, 2015, 08:28:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2015, 08:08:52 PM
Quote from: Bingo on May 21, 2015, 05:57:21 PM

But somebody else, somewhere else, said something else... probably.

Jinxy your a Meath w**ker!

Stick that in your pipe.

People who said they know things, know f**k all; they just may know a general thing. You know how I know; cause I know, ok?
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2015, 08:49:36 PM
Why can't you be more like Down?
Post by: theticklemister on May 21, 2015, 09:25:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2015, 08:49:36 PM
Why can't you be more like Down?

We don't sell out the GAA like the Down boys have done
Post by: Moortown Spuds on May 21, 2015, 09:53:09 PM
If (and it's looking likely) the alleged comments made during the minor game are proven then the TCB should never allow the culprits to wear the jersey again.

Shameful. Embarassing. Pathetic.
Post by: ck on May 21, 2015, 09:58:28 PM
In all fairness lads these are only allegations. They may well be true but lets see if they can be proved. I heard Declan Bonner on radio a few years ago after he didn't get the senior job and he let himself down a bag full on that occasion and totally got carried away with himself. I'm not saying he's exaggerating on this occasion but I think these things should be proved before people start to slate Tyrone
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2015, 10:03:25 PM
Quote from: ck on May 21, 2015, 09:58:28 PM
In all fairness lads these are only allegations. They may well be true but lets see if they can be proved. I heard Declan Bonner on radio a few years ago after he didn't get the senior job and he let himself down a bag full on that occasion and totally got carried away with himself. I'm not saying he's exaggerating on this occasion but I think these things should be proved before people start to slate Tyrone

Oh stop. This isn't something a player makes up. I wonder if the Tyrone posters will own this latest incident or hide behind the 'sure everyone does it' excuse again.
Post by: ck on May 21, 2015, 10:07:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2015, 10:03:25 PM

Oh stop. This isn't something a player makes up. I wonder if the Tyrone posters will own this latest incident or hide behind the 'sure everyone does it' excuse again.

If it's true then there's no excuse. It turned my stomach when I heard it, I just think that there are kids involved here, families and that. We should never assume guilty until proven innocent, innocent until proven guilty is a much safer approach.
I would expect the Tyrone board or minor manager to come out with a statement and they should be allowed space to do that.
Post by: LeoMc on May 21, 2015, 10:12:51 PM
There are certain comments which are beyond the pale. If authenticated The culprits should be named and shamed, let their friends and family see the depths they would stoop to.

Citing would be a great option to borrow from rugby to deal with such incidents.

However, and Niall MacNamees story is a prime example example of relatively inoffensive words in the wrong context can be just as damaging.To play devils advocate differing verbals will put different players off, threats (I'll break your jaw if you cross the 45), wind ups (is that lad being warmed up to come on for you) gutter talk (tee Ma)and sometimes just chatting to them (where did you buy them boots)may be enough. Do we ban all communication or what is acceptable and how do we define it?
Post by: Puckoon on May 21, 2015, 10:17:33 PM
If there is any truth behind Declan Bonner's assertions - that is beyond disgusting and deserves no, nor could have any, defense.
Post by: rrhf on May 21, 2015, 10:24:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2015, 10:03:25 PM

This latest incident allegation is potentially very serious and deserves proper consideration and action. In my 45 years of watching gaa have only ever heard of 2 incidents before as wrong or worse.  You diminish its importance by comparing it to slagging.  The previous  incidents as you called them to me sound harmless and annoying slagging. This is a very serious one off if true. 
Post by: Club Rossa on May 21, 2015, 10:25:57 PM
Can any of you's post Declan Bonner's comments?
Post by: Minder on May 21, 2015, 10:27:11 PM
http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/donegal-manager-slams-toxic-behaviour-after-player-taunted-over-death-of-his-father-from-cancer-31242515.html
Post by: Conallach on May 21, 2015, 10:38:43 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 21, 2015, 10:12:51 PM
There are certain comments which are beyond the pale. If authenticated The culprits should be named and shamed, let their friends and family see the depths they would stoop to.

They're minors, they absolutely should not be either named, or shamed. Deal with it privately, it's a chance for them to learn and grow as people. There's many the idiot of a  teenager that grows up to be a great man.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on May 21, 2015, 10:42:41 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 21, 2015, 10:27:11 PM
http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/donegal-manager-slams-toxic-behaviour-after-player-taunted-over-death-of-his-father-from-cancer-31242515.html

Typical Tyrone tactics really,  run of the mill stuff for them.
Post by: Zulu on May 21, 2015, 10:44:38 PM
This highlights the nonsense of people dismissing sledging as being 'nothing'. These things only ever escalate and it's no surprise some people will go too far even if I'm sure most lads would be embarrassed afterwards. Indeed Bonnar's own words show how bad things are and how he has played his part. He claims we all know it's a big part of football now, well if he knows why isn't he ensuring his own squad don't do it at all? It doesn't appear in his interview that he has a zero tolerance for it rather that this sledging was a step too far. Now of course it was particularly disgusting but any mouthing shouldn't be tolerated by any manager. As someone else said, why are we asking referees to police this'd not managers and players to show a bit of class or at least common decency to each other?
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2015, 10:50:02 PM
Quote from: Conallach on May 21, 2015, 10:38:43 PM

They're minors, they absolutely should not be either named, or shamed. Deal with it privately, it's a chance for them to learn and grow as people. There's many the idiot of a  teenager that grows up to be a great man.

100% agree, with regard to the 17 year olds.

But if, and this is a big if at the moment, an investigation found that the two players received the information from a source that might suggest malice, then that would be a different situation. I know nothing of the player and maybe his circumstances were common knowledge in Donegal/Tyrone. But I certainly wouldn't have known much any opposing player's family when I was 17.

We all do stupid things when we are young, but this needs to be investigated to ensure that the impetuousness of youth is all it was.
Post by: LeoMc on May 21, 2015, 10:53:24 PM
Quote from: Conallach on May 21, 2015, 10:38:43 PM

Fair point, though i was not advocating public naming,I was thinking more along the lines of the player being identified and their names and comments being fed back through the appropriate channels. Hence my suggestion of citing to ensure it is acted upon.
Bonnard public comments are not helpful and serve only to tar the entire team with the same brush but if he does not provide a name to MD or the Co Board there is no potential to address it with the player involved. Lthe player can then go back to friends and family and explain why he is no longer playing.
Post by: LeoMc on May 21, 2015, 10:55:40 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on May 21, 2015, 10:42:41 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 21, 2015, 10:27:11 PM

Typical Tyrone tactics really,  run of the mill stuff for them.
Do you prefer cheese and onion or prawn cocktail?
Post by: Zulu on May 21, 2015, 10:57:34 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 21, 2015, 10:49:55 PM
Is sledging not for the most part a quiet whisper in an opponent's ear? How could a ref or a manager police this?

In the main yes but we've also seen lads roar into other people's faces so it isn't all in the shadows. Besides, it's apologists like we've seen on this site and in the media that allow this to prosper. There needs to be a zero tolerance approach to this as it's at best disappointing nonsense and at worse cowardly and sickening. Neither should be acceptable on a football field.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 05:46:16 AM
Listen up first things first. If anything like that was said the lads should hang their heads in shame and get a serious rollicking from their manager.

But this will be like bitegate.. impossible to prove as the lads involved will deny it of course.

This should be left on the field, if anyone was saying that kinda crap they should be KFOd! on the spot! Football's not that important sometimes and this is the only answer to that BS

What would u do if someone said that on the street? Its not a crime? You'd give them what they deserve and slap the head of them and not worry about the criminal consequences.

As I mentioned before on another thread Doengal were at the very same thing back in 2011.
Post by: general_lee on May 22, 2015, 07:05:35 AM
I still think sledging is harmless. I read the above case last night and was disgusted - the Tyrone players involved deserve sanctions; but how often do players actually stoop that low?
Post by: tonto1888 on May 22, 2015, 08:31:49 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 05:46:16 AM
Listen up first things first. If anything like that was said the lads should hang their heads in shame and get a serious rollicking from their manager.

But this will be like bitegate.. impossible to prove as the lads involved will deny it of course.

This should be left on the field, if anyone was saying that kinda crap they should be KFOd! on the spot! Football's not that important sometimes and this is the only answer to that BS

What would u do if someone said that on the street? Its not a crime? You'd give them what they deserve and slap the head of them and not worry about the criminal consequences.

As I mentioned before on another thread Doengal were at the very same thing back in 2011.

what were donegal at in 2011?
Post by: DennistheMenace on May 22, 2015, 09:16:48 AM

Typical reponse, 'but what about what you did back in X'..

This is disgusting and I hope Tyrone Management look into this very disturbing case.
Post by: Bingo on May 22, 2015, 09:24:53 AM

Fairly standard response and ticked 5 out of 6 predicted responses there. Fair play.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 22, 2015, 09:45:19 AM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on May 22, 2015, 09:16:48 AM

Typical reponse, 'but what about what you did back in X'..

This is disgusting and I hope Tyrone Management look into this very disturbing case.
I dont think anyone is trying to defend this in the slightest, just pointing out contarty to alot of posts, that it isnt new and it wasnt invented by Tyrone.

TBH i dont think sleging at that extreme level is widespread, i think very very few players in any county would do it, most of it is the smart-arsed comments and widing the opposing player up with out going that low or getting into someone spersonal life.
The trouble is, its very ahrd to separate the two types of verbals and it seems to have spiraled into using the lowest common denominator by some.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2015, 10:06:23 AM
It is obviously extremely hard to legislate for a lad whispering in your ear, and that has gone on for years. As the insults become more personal and insidious it is far more distasteful, but no easier to police. We (and I mean all of us involved with teams, playing, or who just know players) should make sure the players know we find it disgusting and unacceptable. That's about all you can do. Certainly do *not* encourage it as a means of 'getting inside his head'.  Same with the testicle grabbing, nipple pinching, finger tweaking and all the other knackerish physical intimidation techniques.

However the taunting, gesturing and 'in your face roaring' that lads do is easy to see, and easy to penalise. In fact there is a rule there already to deal with it. Black Card. End of Story. It would soon take care of that particular ball baggery.
Post by: Bingo on May 22, 2015, 10:21:35 AM
The bigger picture here is to find out the reasoning behind it, where its coming from and who is instigating it.

If true, Why/How does a minor in Tyrone find out who he'll be marking from Donegal and then research that player to find out something so personal about him. Does he take to his facebook himself or is there someone giving him this information.

And in the interest of balance, why would any player from any county/club go to these lengths.

It will take strong county boards (even clubs) to look at their own houses and insure that this is stopped ASAP. Its this premeditated stuff and thinking that has to be looked at. You will always get the reactionary stuff from on the field events - you missed the free, that looks like your replacement warming up, general shite talk - hard to police and spot.

But this other stuff has to stop. It will end up with a serious injury or the sport been dragged into the front papers when a high profile incident like this happens again. And more importantly, its totally disrespectful and disgusting. 
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on May 22, 2015, 10:32:09 AM
I've played hurling and football in Leinster since I was 7/8 years old and I cant ever recall any of the pre-planned sledging that people are referring too.
The coverage of this is completely out of hand. So the best forward in the country was manhandled a bit last Sunday, doesn't mean there is an epidemic.
The media (especially RTE) are only delighted to cast the GAA in a negative light and our players are giving them ammunition. Just read an article on rte.ie where one of
our players mentions rugby in a positive light. The website has emboldened this and highlighted. Even when rugby is not the subject they manage a
positive spin off. The same media outlet overlooks the stamping, biting and supplement culture in rugby.

A bit of common sense and balance is needed on this topic.
Post by: Syferus on May 22, 2015, 10:40:31 AM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on May 22, 2015, 10:32:09 AM
I've played hurling and football in Leinster since I was 7/8 years old and I cant ever recall any of the pre-planned sledging that people are referring too.
The coverage of this is completely out of hand. So the best forward in the country was manhandled a bit last Sunday, doesn't mean there is an epidemic.
The media (especially RTE) are only delighted to cast the GAA in a negative light and our players are giving them ammunition. Just read an article on rte.ie where one of
our players mentions rugby in a positive light. The website has emboldened this and highlighted. Even when rugby is not the subject they manage a
positive spin off. The same media outlet overlooks the stamping, biting and supplement culture in rugby.

How have you went from the shows Tyrone and Donegal made of themselves in the senior game and a Tyrone player goading a Donegal player about his deceased father in the minor game to RTE's treatment of fùcking rugby?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 22, 2015, 10:44:07 AM
Not so much Longford Slashers after all, Longford Sledgers it should be http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-id-have-taken-his-head-clean-off-his-shoulders-if-i-was-close-enough-after-verbal-abuse-31243087.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-id-have-taken-his-head-clean-off-his-shoulders-if-i-was-close-enough-after-verbal-abuse-31243087.html)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 22, 2015, 11:01:57 AM
Quote from: Bingo on May 22, 2015, 10:21:35 AM
The bigger picture here is to find out the reasoning behind it, where its coming from and who is instigating it.

If true, Why/How does a minor in Tyrone find out who he'll be marking from Donegal and then research that player to find out something so personal about him. Does he take to his facebook himself or is there someone giving him this information.

And in the interest of balance, why would any player from any county/club go to these lengths.

It will take strong county boards (even clubs) to look at their own houses and insure that this is stopped ASAP. Its this premeditated stuff and thinking that has to be looked at. You will always get the reactionary stuff from on the field events - you missed the free, that looks like your replacement warming up, general shite talk - hard to police and spot.

But this other stuff has to stop. It will end up with a serious injury or the sport been dragged into the front papers when a high profile incident like this happens again. And more importantly, its totally disrespectful and disgusting.

I have no real problem with that sort of stuff to be honest, its when it moves into the personal abuse and the sort of thing that is being highlighted here that is just unacceptable that it becomes a problem.
Post by: Up The Middle on May 22, 2015, 11:16:44 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 22, 2015, 10:40:31 AM

How have you went from the shows Tyrone and Donegal made of themselves in the senior game and a Tyrone player goading a Donegal player about his deceased father in the minor game to RTE's treatment of fùcking rugby?

This should tell everyone what they need to know about you. You arent here for a balanced discussion nor for the good of the game, just a spot of Ulster bashing. You have been on a crusade of sorts from your overhyped U21 team got beat out the gate against Tyrone a few weeks back. You are a sad individual.
Post by: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 11:17:25 AM

This started a long time ago and is ingrained in their culture. Just pull out the quote from Harte in 2000 where he talks about it . They've evolved from the phone numbers saga to more sinister tactics.

Unfortunately the Dublin team in the era of 03-08 followed Tyrone down the sledging route. Thankfully Gilroy and Gavin got rid of it. It's as much up to team managers to lead by example. But it seems to be par for the course in the Ulster Championship now. Last Sunday was terrible by both teams
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 22, 2015, 11:30:04 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 11:17:25 AM

This started a long time ago and is ingrained in their culture. Just pull out the quote from Harte in 2000 where he talks about it . They've evolved from the phone numbers saga to more sinister tactics.

Unfortunately the Dublin team in the era of 03-08 followed Tyrone down the sledging route. Thankfully Gilroy and Gavin got rid of it. It's as much up to team managers to lead by example. But it seems to be par for the course in the Ulster Championship now. Last Sunday was terrible by both teams

So its now Tyrone fault for Dublins sledging?  ;D ::)
catch a grip man
Post by: Stall the Bailer on May 22, 2015, 11:31:21 AM
The perception of us in Tyrone is that we are the cause for a lot of this. Whether this perception is true or not is a moot point. We can argue/disagree/show other examples, but the perception will not change.
We need to address it and ensure our house is in order. We must eradicate it wherever we can, so that any future mud slung at us does not stick.
Though it is a problem for the whole GAA community we must lead way in sorting it out and prove we don't tolerate it in Tyrone GAA.
Post by: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 11:36:10 AM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on May 22, 2015, 11:31:21 AM
The perception of us in Tyrone is that we are the cause for a lot of this. Whether this perception is true or not is a moot point. We can argue/disagree/show other examples, but the perception will not change.
We need to address it and ensure our house is in order. We must eradicate it wherever we can, so that any future mud slung at us does not stick.
Though it is a problem for the whole GAA community we must lead way in sorting it out and prove we don't tolerate it in Tyrone GAA.

Exactly .
Post by: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 11:47:03 AM

I think the 3 bits highlighted sums up your attitude.
Maybe you could pull up Hartes quote. IIRC he only said it was part of the game and you had to be prepared for it. That is a big jump to claiming it is coached systematically in Ulster Counties.
I would concede that Hartes Pontius Pilate act, "its part of the game what can you do", has not helped. Not condemning it leads to tacit acceptance and it may be no coincidence that Tyrone u-21's and minors both have former players from the 03-08 era in their backroom team.
Post by: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 12:12:04 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 11:47:03 AM

Maybe you could pull up Hartes quote. IIRC he only said it was part of the game and you had to be prepared for it. That is a big jump to claiming it is coached systematically in Ulster Counties.
I would concede that Hartes Pontius Pilate act, "its part of the game what can you do", has not helped. Not condemning it leads to tacit acceptance and it may be no coincidence that Tyrone u-21's and minors both have former players from the 03-08 era in their backroom team.

What he said was that sledging was preferable to physical contact off the ball and he was very wrong in that. Neither are acceptable . I said it last week and I'll say it again you have a serious problem in your development structure as regards sledging and only Tyrone can sort it out. Where there is a will there is a way
You're not the only ones at senior level it's pretty rampant at that level in all provinces but it's definitely more prevalent in Ulster but you're certainly one of the few at underage level. Stamp it out there and then it doesn't become a problem later on
Post by: Syferus on May 22, 2015, 12:19:59 PM
Quote from: Up The Middle on May 22, 2015, 11:16:44 AM

This should tell everyone what they need to know about you. You arent here for a balanced discussion nor for the good of the game, just a spot of Ulster bashing. You have been on a crusade of sorts from your overhyped U21 team got beat out the gate against Tyrone a few weeks back. You are a sad individual.

I've never liked Tyrone's tactics. Go back and look at the Minor thread from 2013 if you want to be shown up on that front.

Incredible that when a Tyrone player goads an opposition player over their deceased father that your response is to attack a poster about a now meaningless match from a month ago.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 22, 2015, 12:24:15 PM
Yiz think last week's game was bad.
Wait and see what the apple-munchers have up their sleeves for Donegal when they come visiting in few weeks time.
Id also wager that this weekend's 'El Classico' in Cyaaaavan will be fun too.

Indiana I would had you down as a decent enough spud who makes a lot of valid points on a range of matter, but I really have to disagree with the notion that sledging is 'coached' up here. I think that's daft to be frank. As Darragh O'Se alluded to in his piece, the familiarity of players with each other up here is astounding. Add in the age of social networking and nothing being 'private' anymore and id say it would be easy enough to find out info on one of your opponents for a game.

Referees have a lot to answer for. If they would black card players as they are supposed to for this sort of stuff (when its obvious) then the message would soon hit home.
Post by: DermyTDredi on May 22, 2015, 12:35:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 22, 2015, 12:19:59 PM

I've never liked Tyrone's tactics. Go back and look at the Minor thread from 2013 if you want to be shown up on that front.

Incredible that when a Tyrone player goads an opposition player over their deceased father that your response is to attack a poster about a now meaningless match from a month ago.

Are you not the p***k that accused Tyrone of Time wasting in the AI Final when 2 of our medical team were administering help to people in the crowd? You are not a man with a good track record for filling in the blanks, are you?
Post by: DermyTDredi on May 22, 2015, 12:43:33 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 12:12:04 PM

What he said was that sledging was preferable to physical contact off the ball and he was very wrong in that. Neither are acceptable . I said it last week and I'll say it again you have a serious problem in your development structure as regards sledging and only Tyrone can sort it out. Where there is a will there is a way
You're not the only ones at senior level it's pretty rampant at that level in all provinces but it's definitely more prevalent in Ulster but you're certainly one of the few at underage level. Stamp it out there and then it doesn't become a problem later on

How can you get a way with such a sweeping generalisation - based on absolutely f**k all..."it's definitely more prevalent in Ulster.."

Completely laking in substance and only a subjective view - us'uns and them'uns...wise the f**k up
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 22, 2015, 12:44:59 PM
Dermy, your language leaves a lot to be desired.
Post by: ck on May 22, 2015, 12:48:33 PM
A lot of people on this thread really should grow up.
We are discussing an alleged incident in a minor game that no-one has any proof has actually happened. Therefore no player should be named and no example made of. The boards should take a responsible approach on this and do it all behind closed doors.
Post by: Bingo on May 22, 2015, 01:01:54 PM
Quote from: ck on May 22, 2015, 12:48:33 PM
A lot of people on this thread really should grow up.
We are discussing an alleged incident in a minor game that no-one has any proof has actually happened. Therefore no player should be named and no example made of. The boards should take a responsible approach on this and do it all behind closed doors.

Its a discussion board FFS and no one has named or shamed anyone, only discussing whats been in the national papers and discussing the issue itself on the wider game.
Post by: screenexile on May 22, 2015, 01:52:14 PM
Is it just a coincidence that McMenamin is part of the Tyrone Minor back room team and now sledging at underage level is under the microscope . . .

As I've said before Mickey "I say the Rosary a million times a day" Harte should have stamped this out as soon as McMenamin started it all those years ago!! He brought it to the next level and Harte was complicit in that and tries to paint himself as some kind of Saint!!
Post by: general_lee on May 22, 2015, 02:00:33 PM
Nothing wrong with whispering a few sweet nothings in your opponent's ear. Never did it myself and was rarely on the receiving end but if you're not thick-skinned enough to take it then you should take up camogie.
Post by: Up The Middle on May 22, 2015, 02:02:03 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 22, 2015, 12:19:59 PM

Im calling you out for what you are and thats a WUM. Everytime Tyrone are mentioned in a thread you are all over it.

If this incident took place then it should certainly be dealt with very strongly, but we dont need you using this as an opportunity to come out with drivel about Tyrone clubs coaching these actions to our youth. Seriously move on or this hatred of all things Ulster and Tyrone will eat you up. Maybe if your own county have a bit of success again soon you will forget about Tyrone.

I seem to remember a poster from Sligo calling you out on some of your so called great players from the past and their behaviour on the field of play and you didint have too much to say for yourself then.

Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2015, 02:09:58 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 22, 2015, 02:00:33 PM
Nothing wrong with whispering a few sweet nothings in your opponent's ear. Never did it myself and was rarely on the receiving end but if you're not thick-skinned enough to take it then you should take up camogie.

If there's nothing wrong with it, why did you never do it?

And this is not the old 'You're one useless bollix' or 'How are you even making this team, ye must be shite'. The dancing and roaring in a lads face like a baboon on steroids is what I think can be policed, and should be. The sneaky spiteful comments about family or whatever should be made unacceptable by the team coaches.

Post by: screenexile on May 22, 2015, 02:12:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 22, 2015, 02:09:58 PM

And this is not the old 'You're one useless bollix' or 'How are you even making this team, ye must be shite'. The dancing and roaring in a lads face like a baboon on steroids is what I think can be policed, and should be. The sneaky spiteful comments about family or whatever should be made unacceptable by the team coaches.

As I said before the Wife/Girlfriend sister thing was annoying but I wouldn't have let it bother me when playing football and I would have told anybody on my teams to let it go... to bring in a young lad's Father who recently died of cancer into it well that's just beyond anything I thought possible!! There's no defending that. Although some here seem to want to!
Post by: NAG1 on May 22, 2015, 02:12:38 PM

That's the difference General, even in camogie if someone decided to insult or goad an opposition player they are likely to receive a sharp jab to remind them that this is not acceptable behaviour.
Post by: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 02:15:45 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 22, 2015, 02:12:31 PM

As I said before the Wife/Girlfriend sister thing was annoying but I wouldn't have let it bother me when playing football and I would have told anybody on my teams to let it go... to bring in a young lad's Father who recently died of cancer into it well that's just beyond anything I thought possible!! There's no defending that. Although some here seem to want to!
I haven't see any one defend it. Have you?
Post by: Stall the Bailer on May 22, 2015, 02:19:16 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 22, 2015, 01:52:14 PM
Is it just a coincidence that McMenamin is part of the Tyrone Minor back room team and now sledging at underage level is under the microscope . . .

As I've said before Mickey "I say the Rosary a million times a day" Harte should have stamped this out as soon as McMenamin started it all those years ago!! He brought it to the next level and Harte was complicit in that and tries to paint himself as some kind of Saint!!
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=237785
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 22, 2015, 02:21:08 PM

I agree AZ, it has to come from a  culture change rather than relying on referees to police something like that.
It seems to have come to a head now, so maybe it will be eased up on by those who have taken it too far.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 03:57:10 PM

Anythng ive read from Harte on the subject was that he prefered someone whispering in his ear to a box on the lug.

He didnt say either were acceptable he just said what he prefered, and to go from that to your conclusion about sledging coaching structure is laughable

Although not as laughable as your conclusion that Dublin copied Tyrone, I actually laughed out loud at that one
Post by: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 04:19:56 PM
Quote from: DermyTDredi on May 22, 2015, 12:43:33 PM

How can you get a way with such a sweeping generalisation - based on absolutely f**k all..."it's definitely more prevalent in Ulster.."

Completely laking in substance and only a subjective view - us'uns and them'uns...wise the f**k up

Several players from Ulster have said its a fact of life up there. It's elsewhere too as I've already pointed out. But team managers can eradicate this . Anyone who thinks Declan Bonner is going to go public on something like this with no foundation really is on quicksand. His team did win the game lets not forget. I don't like Declan Bonner but fair play to him for raising the issue.
The GAA as an association had never been comfortable discussing the dark arts at any stage in its history . It's an association wide problem and needs to be dealt with accordingly
Post by: DermyTDredi on May 22, 2015, 04:34:06 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2015, 04:19:56 PM
Quote from: DermyTDredi on May 22, 2015, 12:43:33 PM

Several players from Ulster have said its a fact of life up there. It's elsewhere too as I've already pointed out. But team managers can eradicate this . Anyone who thinks Declan Bonner is going to go public on something like this with no foundation really is on quicksand. His team did win the game lets not forget. I don't like Declan Bonner but fair play to him for raising the issue.
The GAA as an association had never been comfortable discussing the dark arts at any stage in its history . It's an association wide problem and needs to be dealt with accordingly

Several players...you work in market research? IPSOS MORI? MILLARD BROWN? Check out the team talkmag website
Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2015, 04:44:03 PM
Pakistan v India sledging. The Border closing ritual.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-k-5U__ilI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-k-5U__ilI)
Post by: general_lee on May 22, 2015, 04:49:50 PM
Apparently it's not true.

http://teamtalkmag.com/2015/05/exclusive-allegations-not-true/
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 04:50:37 PM
A bit of a biased source - but apparently a Donegal official has come out and said there's no truth in the allegation after an investigation

QuoteTeamtalk has this afternoon learned that the sledging allegations that have been made by Donegal minor football manager Declan Bonner are not believed to be true.  In an article in the Irish Star the Donegal man has slammed a Tyrone player for mocking Michael Carroll about the death of his father Francie.

Teamtalk has this afternoon been told by one prominent Donegal official that this is "definitely not the case".  Our source went on to say that "the situation has gotten way out of control.  It has been fuelled by both radio and newspaper coverage but our investigation suggests that the claim has no foundation".

The Tyrone player at the centre of the allegation has received a large number of threatening messages via social media and his club has informed Teamtalk that they are seeking a meeting with the Tyrone County Board to address the issue with Donegal immediately.
Post by: longballin on May 22, 2015, 04:56:30 PM
If it is not true it is appalling allegation to make... this needs clarified asap. it was run out like absolute fact... 
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2015, 04:57:17 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 04:50:37 PM
A bit of a biased source - but apparently a Donegal official has come out and said there's no truth in the allegation after an investigation

QuoteTeamtalk has this afternoon learned that the sledging allegations that have been made by Donegal minor football manager Declan Bonner are not believed to be true.  In an article in the Irish Star the Donegal man has slammed a Tyrone player for mocking Michael Carroll about the death of his father Francie.

Teamtalk has this afternoon been told by one prominent Donegal official that this is "definitely not the case".  Our source went on to say that "the situation has gotten way out of control.  It has been fuelled by both radio and newspaper coverage but our investigation suggests that the claim has no foundation".

The Tyrone player at the centre of the allegation has received a large number of threatening messages via social media and his club has informed Teamtalk that they are seeking a meeting with the Tyrone County Board to address the issue with Donegal immediately.

This is what happens when everyone puts their heads in the sand.

They should:
a) initiate an investigation
b) everyone from both sides shuts up until investigation concluded (no one talks to the media - other than maybe an incident is being investigated)
c) maybe release preliminary report if absolutely necessary
d) inform individuals of any possible sanctions and deal with appeals as appropriate
e) release full report
e) move on

Trial by random media interview is very damaging all round.
Title: Mess
Post by: rrhf on May 22, 2015, 05:16:57 PM
Oh dear what a total mess.  Have Donegal GAA incorrectly created a media witch hunt against a 17/18 year old?
Post by: Bingo on May 22, 2015, 05:23:04 PM
Still talking about this on Today FM now in relation to this as if that last release hasn't got to them yet.

Peter Canavan and Martin Carney discussing it.
Post by: Bingo on May 22, 2015, 05:41:39 PM
Peter spoke of that statement and says that he expects a Tyrone County board statement to the same effect.

Martin said he spoke to Donegal officials and they supported what Bonner had said.

A complete balls it seems. PR never seemed to sit well in the GAA.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2015, 05:54:07 PM
Was it supposedly heard by others though or was it reported back by the player himself?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 22, 2015, 06:11:53 PM
It was highlighted Dublin were sledging opponents 6 or 7 yrs back and got a good going over on the sunday game one night. Once a new manager came in  (Gilroy) the shit was cut out nearly overnite, though the ref picks up more grief this weather. A strict manager can cut this shite out fairly handy unless he thinks it acceptbale.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 06:15:01 PM
http://www.the42.ie/tyrone-donegal-minor-sledging-2119441-May2015/?utm_source=twitter_self

QuoteTheir statement read: "Due to persistent allegations circulating in the media, some of which have been attributed to the Donegal Minor football manager, regarding verbal abuse during the Tyrone v Donegal Ulster Minor Football Championship match, Coiste Contae Thir Eoghain has conducted an investigation, involving its management and players.

As a result of the investigation undertaken it would refute in the strongest possible terms that a comment was made by any of its players to a Donegal player regarding the death of his father in 2014.

Tyrone GAA in no way condone 'sledging'​ and the managers and coaches of all our county teams, from Acadamh Thir Eoghain​ to Senior, actively discourage this practice.

Tyrone GAA congratulates both Donegal teams on their victories on Sunday in Ballybofey, wishing them well in the remainder of their 2015 campaigns and would express our deepest sympathies to the player on his loss. ​​"
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2015, 06:35:58 PM
My gut feeling is that something was said about the Donegal lad's father, probably the usual "Yer Ma!" type nonsense, without the Tyrone lad knowing that his father had died.
That statement specifically says, 'As a result of the investigation undertaken it would refute in the strongest possible terms that a comment was made by any of its players to a Donegal player regarding the death of his father'.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 07:20:17 PM
Jinxy I don't often agree with you but I think you might be right here

In fact there is a possibility it may have snowballed a bit from there. How many times have you been slagging in the school yard about someone's ma and they turn around and say "my ma's dead". Of course after you get this a few times you catch on its just a retort with as much truth to it as someone shagging your ma and would continue on into another bout of slagging

As I have said previously it should be left on the pitch it won't be able to be refuted or confirmed by anyone other than those involved. If you don't like what someone says on a pitch that you feel is more important than football carry the feckin head of them, same as the street.
Post by: Syferus on May 22, 2015, 07:24:38 PM
Leaving this shît on the field is exactly what got us to this point. A light needs to be shone on it. Your position is disturbing Omaghjoe - you want to continually heighten the burden of proof at which this should be talked about for seemingly no reason but the fact it makes Tyrone look very bad.
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2015, 07:26:44 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 06:15:01 PM
http://www.the42.ie/tyrone-donegal-minor-sledging-2119441-May2015/?utm_source=twitter_self

QuoteTheir statement read: "Due to persistent allegations circulating in the media, some of which have been attributed to the Donegal Minor football manager, regarding verbal abuse during the Tyrone v Donegal Ulster Minor Football Championship match, Coiste Contae Thir Eoghain has conducted an investigation, involving its management and players.

As a result of the investigation undertaken it would refute in the strongest possible terms that a comment was made by any of its players to a Donegal player regarding the death of his father in 2014.

Tyrone GAA in no way condone 'sledging'​ and the managers and coaches of all our county teams, from Acadamh Thir Eoghain​ to Senior, actively discourage this practice.

Tyrone GAA congratulates both Donegal teams on their victories on Sunday in Ballybofey, wishing them well in the remainder of their 2015 campaigns and would express our deepest sympathies to the player on his loss. ​​"

Um......

There is something missing isn't there?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 07:32:27 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 22, 2015, 07:24:38 PM
Leaving this shît on the field is exactly what got us to this point. A light needs to be shone on it. Your position is disturbing Omaghjoe - you want to continually heighten the burden of proof at which this should be talked about for seemingly no reason but the fact it makes Tyrone look very bad.

Heighten the burden of proof??? Don't talk crap! One mans denial against 2nd hand accusations is not proof of anything.

I say it should be left on the field because nothing can be proved and nothing can be stopped, sure you can say anything about what on out there.

I can say Donegal were at the very same thing in 2011 but the player chose to leave it on the pitch, most likely because he didnt want more hurt being caused by it coming out. But  I have no proof
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2015, 07:42:21 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 07:32:27 PM

Heighten the burden of proof??? Don't talk crap! One mans denial against 2nd hand accusations is not proof of anything.

I say it should be left on the field because nothing can be proved and nothing can be stopped, sure you can say anything about what on out there.

I can say Donegal were at the very same thing in 2011 but the player chose to leave it on the pitch, most likely because he didnt want more hurt being caused by it coming out. But  I have no proof

You have no idea whether it can be proven or not yet.
Post by: Westside on May 22, 2015, 07:49:34 PM
Tyrone are some laugh, conducting an "investigation" of their own. As if a Minor player is going to come out and admit it. And now Ricey coming out saying he would never stoop that low. This from a man spitting in a lads face and grabbing his balls on the field!!

Tyrone Minors have form for this, 2 years ago against Mayo a player who had suffered a terrible family tragedy was reminded of it on the field by a Tyrone player.
Post by: Darby on May 22, 2015, 07:53:10 PM
Are people really trying to defend this behaviour? Is it okay because it happens on a football field? Is it okay because everybody else is at it?

By the way, nobody thinks that Tyrone are the only cynical team in the country. They're just more cynical than everyone else.
Post by: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 07:59:23 PM
Quote from: Darby on May 22, 2015, 07:53:10 PM
Are people really trying to defend this behaviour? Is it okay because it happens on a football field? Is it okay because everybody else is at it?

By the way, nobody thinks that Tyrone are the only cynical team in the country. They're just more cynical than everyone else.
I haven't seen anyone defend it. I have seen a Donegal official and a Tyrone official deny it happened and we have seen a 17 yo receive online abuse and threats over something he may not have done.
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2015, 08:02:09 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 07:59:23 PM

I haven't seen anyone defend it. I have seen a Donegal official and a Tyrone official deny it happened and we have seen a 17 yo receive online abuse and threats over something he may not have done.

I've seen a Tyrone fan blog claim an unnamed Donegal said it wasn't true. We have more information on the alleged event than there is in the blog.

Hard to know what to believe at the moment. Reminds me of the biting incident a couple of years ago tbh.
Post by: Darby on May 22, 2015, 08:04:51 PM

At what point are Tyrone supporters going to eventually admit that at least one of the 30,000 or so allegations made against them might be true?
Post by: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 08:05:14 PM
Burden of proof?
We have 1 manger claiming something was said and one
Co board refuting it, in the middle he have a 17yo receiving online anise for something he may not have done, fueled by the sort of hysteria you are indulging in.
Post by: Darby on May 22, 2015, 08:06:17 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 08:05:14 PM
Burden of proof?
Co board refuting it, in the middle he have a 17yo receiving online anise for something he may not have done, fueled by the sort of hysteria you are indulging in.
But there is of course no chance a lad, who has allowed himself to be named, was mocked about the death of his father. Nope, absolutely not.
Post by: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 08:09:16 PM
Quote from: Darby on May 22, 2015, 08:04:51 PM

I haven't seen anyone defend it. I have seen a Donegal official and a Tyrone official deny it happened and we have seen a 17 yo receive online abuse a
nd threats over something he may not have done.
At what point are Tyrone supporters going to eventually admit that at least one of the 30,000 or so allegations made against them might be true?
I have seen a lot of Tyrone supporters, including myself condemn the alleged incident with the caveat if true. We just aren't as quick to fetch the pitchforks (or new log ins) to conduct a witch hunt for a he said no he didn't allegation.
Post by: LeoMc on May 22, 2015, 08:11:01 PM
Quote from: Darby on May 22, 2015, 08:06:17 PM
Burden of proof?
But there is of course no chance a lad, who has allowed himself to be named, was mocked about the death of his father. Nope, absolutely not.
I have seen no one say there was no chance, no one else seems to have the absolute certainty you have.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 08:37:02 PM
Quote from: Darby on May 22, 2015, 08:06:17 PM
Burden of proof?

Has he allowed himself to be name tho or was he just named? Maybe you know something more?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 09:10:10 PM
The fact that Bonner went to the press makes me suspicious in the first place, why didn't he go through GAA channels for this where he could be dealt with fairly and squarely?

The fact that its easier to go to the press were allegations can be fired around with a bit of hearsay, leading to a mob and moral conviction gives rise for concern and suspicion as to his motives.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 09:27:20 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 09:10:10 PM
The fact that Bonner went to the press makes me suspicious in the first place, why didn't he go through GAA channels for this where he could be dealt with fairly and squarely?

The fact that its easier to go to the press were allegations can be fired around with a bit of hearsay, leading to a mob and moral conviction gives rise for concern and suspicion as to his motives.

He didn't - he writes a weekly column for a Donegal newspaper
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 09:32:21 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 09:27:20 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 09:10:10 PM

He didn't - he writes a weekly column for a Donegal newspaper

Huh?  He actually did
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 09:41:58 PM
http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/gaelic-football/gaelic-football-news/donegal-minor-boss-declan-bonner-5737534

QuoteDonegal minor manager Declan Bonner has reacted angrily to abuse that his captain allegedly suffered over the death of his father.

It has been claimed that during last Sunday's clash with Tyrone, two opposing players taunted Donegal's Micheal Carroll about the passing of his father, Francie, a former county senior player himself who died after a short battle with cancer in February of last year.

Writing in his column in the Donegal News, Bonner blasted: "If this is what is going to happen in games, then I don't want to be a part of it. I would rather walk away than be involved in something that has become so toxic.

"Sledging is part and parcel of the game now, but there are certain boundaries that should not be crossed. This whole thing has gone to a new level and in our minor game against Tyrone on Sunday, those boundaries were crossed to sickening levels.

"We all know that this goes on and I think everyone accepts that it just has become a big part of the game now, but when the verbals extend to the bereavement of a family member or a loved one, there has to be a line drawn."

The Donegal minors won the match by six points, which acted as a curtain raiser to the senior tie between the two counties, a game which was also noted for sledging between players, though not quite on this scale.

Bonner, an All-Ireland senior winner with Donegal in 1992, added: "It shows a lack of respect. Something needs to be done here because sledging has really gone to a crazy level. Where will it stop?

"It's something that shouldn't happen at any level, but it really is worrying when you see this type of behaviour going on with 17-year-olds.

"Only the people involved with teams can sort this problem out. Of course you do what you have to do to win - but does that really extend to goading a young lad about the death of someone close to them?"

Brendan Devenney went to the press - http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/minor-player-was-taunted-over-the-death-of-his-father-brendan-devenney-31240758.html
Post by: ck on May 22, 2015, 11:08:59 PM
So Tyrone undertake their OWN investigation and quote a Donegal source who agrees with their findings. You couldn't make this stuff up.

I heard Brendan Devenney on news talk last night say that other players heard the sledging and that the players fathers name was used. Surely this makes a mockery of the Tyrone investigation?

Post by: BennyHarp on May 22, 2015, 11:26:06 PM
Quote from: ck on May 22, 2015, 11:08:59 PM
So Tyrone undertake their OWN investigation and quote a Donegal source who agrees with their findings. You couldn't make this stuff up.

I heard Brendan Devenney on news talk last night say that other players heard the sledging and that the players fathers name was used. Surely this makes a mockery of the Tyrone investigation?

Ah right, so you choose who to believe and call the other side a mockery based on no more actual evidence. I truly hope for his own sake that Bonner has his ducks in a row here, I think this could be a huge issue if he turns out to be misinformed.
Post by: Darby on May 22, 2015, 11:27:27 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 22, 2015, 11:26:06 PM

Ah right, so you choose who to believe and call the other side a mockery based on no more actual evidence. I truly hope for his own sake that Bonner has his ducks in a row here, I think this could be a huge issue if he turns out to be misinformed.
It's a huge issue either way.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 22, 2015, 11:35:20 PM
Quote from: Darby on May 22, 2015, 11:27:27 PM

It already has been made a huge issue for Tyrone and our county have had to deal with it. But if Bonner is not 100% correct then he has created a storm for a young lad that in my view is unacceptable and serious questions need to be asked about his position. 
Post by: Darby on May 22, 2015, 11:39:53 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 22, 2015, 11:35:20 PM

It already has been made a huge issue for Tyrone and our county have had to deal with it. But if Bonner is not 100% correct then he has created a storm for a young lad that in my view is unacceptable and serious questions need to be asked about his position.
If he's not correct. If he's correct, he deserves to be praised to the hilt for addressing a very serious issue and not staying silent.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 22, 2015, 11:43:08 PM
Quote from: Darby on May 22, 2015, 11:39:53 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 22, 2015, 11:35:20 PM

If he's not correct. If he's correct, he deserves to be praised to the hilt for addressing a very serious issue and not staying silent.

And if not?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 11:45:09 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 22, 2015, 09:41:58 PM
http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/gaelic-football/gaelic-football-news/donegal-minor-boss-declan-bonner-5737534

QuoteDonegal minor manager Declan Bonner has reacted angrily to abuse that his captain allegedly suffered over the death of his father.

It has been claimed that during last Sunday's clash with Tyrone, two opposing players taunted Donegal's Micheal Carroll about the passing of his father, Francie, a former county senior player himself who died after a short battle with cancer in February of last year.

Writing in his column in the Donegal News, Bonner blasted: "If this is what is going to happen in games, then I don't want to be a part of it. I would rather walk away than be involved in something that has become so toxic.

"Sledging is part and parcel of the game now, but there are certain boundaries that should not be crossed. This whole thing has gone to a new level and in our minor game against Tyrone on Sunday, those boundaries were crossed to sickening levels.

"We all know that this goes on and I think everyone accepts that it just has become a big part of the game now, but when the verbals extend to the bereavement of a family member or a loved one, there has to be a line drawn."

The Donegal minors won the match by six points, which acted as a curtain raiser to the senior tie between the two counties, a game which was also noted for sledging between players, though not quite on this scale.

Bonner, an All-Ireland senior winner with Donegal in 1992, added: "It shows a lack of respect. Something needs to be done here because sledging has really gone to a crazy level. Where will it stop?

"It's something that shouldn't happen at any level, but it really is worrying when you see this type of behaviour going on with 17-year-olds.

"Only the people involved with teams can sort this problem out. Of course you do what you have to do to win - but does that really extend to goading a young lad about the death of someone close to them?"

Brendan Devenney went to the press - http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/minor-player-was-taunted-over-the-death-of-his-father-brendan-devenney-31240758.html

and so did Bonner, if he wasnt going to the press he would have left it out of his article
Post by: omaghjoe on May 22, 2015, 11:46:46 PM

Is this what all this is based on??

Did anyone speak to the lad? Did anyone actually get his permission to go to the press?
Post by: Put Up That Flag on May 23, 2015, 12:32:27 AM

Scummy Tyrone at their best, they are nearly out doing all their other scummy actions with this one, they have high standards when it comes to that kinda thing.
Post by: screenexile on May 23, 2015, 12:34:15 AM
So not only have Tyrone players called out a lad for his Father dying of cancer but now you lads are trying to say Donegal is making it all up?

What exactly have Donegal to gain by making this up? They won the game at a canter and the easiest thing for them to do is ride off into the sunset where they will win the Ulster Championship. They have nothing to gain by making this up so the logical inference is that it's true and Tyrone are coveting their asses with lies!

Sad state of affairs!!
Post by: Darby on May 23, 2015, 01:51:17 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 23, 2015, 12:34:15 AM
So not only have Tyrone players called out a lad for his Father dying of cancer but now you lads are trying to say Donegal is making it all up?

What exactly have Donegal to gain by making this up? They won the game at a canter and the easiest thing for them to do is ride off into the sunset where they will win the Ulster Championship. They have nothing to gain by making this up so the logical inference is that it's true and Tyrone are coveting their asses with lies!

Sad state of affairs!!
If they're lying, it's a very unusual thing to make up. Especially when you've won the game already.
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2015, 03:04:36 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 23, 2015, 02:05:26 AM
Quote from: Darby on May 23, 2015, 01:51:17 AM

Sad state of affairs!!
If they're lying, it's a very unusual thing to make up. Especially when you've won the game already.
This could go on......

For example:
"Who could possibly refrain from beating the shite out of someone who said that to you? He did, so it can't have happened."

Fact is none of us know what happened so stop trying to read minds and let the investigations take their course.

Do you mean ones designed with the sole purpose of exonerating Tyrone or proper investigations?
Post by: ck on May 23, 2015, 08:26:05 AM
Tyrone releasing a statement based on the undertaking of their own investigation is absolutely laughable. They are winning no friends here at all.
If there's an investigation to be had then it should be done by the Ulster council who ran the game last Sunday.

Tyrones desperate attempts to claim innocence on this is really pathetic here
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2015, 08:52:44 AM
Quote from: ck on May 23, 2015, 08:26:05 AM
Tyrone releasing a statement based on the undertaking of their own investigation is absolutely laughable. They are winning no friends here at all.
If there's an investigation to be had then it should be done by the Ulster council who ran the game last Sunday.

What was the Donegal claims based on?
Post by: general_lee on May 23, 2015, 08:58:18 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2015, 08:52:44 AM

What motive would Donegal have to fabricate this!? Fcuk boy some of you Tyronies are delusional!
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2015, 09:12:46 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 23, 2015, 08:58:18 AM

What motive would Donegal have to fabricate this!? Fcuk boy some of you Tyronies are delusional!

We'll see. Sometimes information can be misconstrued. But sure you jump down the throat of a minor footballer and hang him out to dry without proper investigation into what happened. Trial by media once again, this accusation sticks regardless of the truth.
Post by: rrhf on May 23, 2015, 09:22:24 AM
So other Donegal lads heard this but not the lad that was allegedly being sledged and the manager things this is enough to go to the press with.... You couldnt make this up.
There are always idiots in roles they are not fit to be and this seems to be another example.  Ill not comment any further on this as the damage is already done to the GAA to Tyrone Football and in many peoples eyes Donegal football.  I am now wondering is this an engrained culture of bullshit where guys are looking something for later in the year and it is a major problem.  Tipperary Under 21s management, Murphy this and that, Bitegate V the dubs where there was no evidence presented when push came to shove because the discrediting of the Dubs had already been achieved and now this.  GAA people are criticising their own game, trying to make it look like soccor, Australian rules, everyone is trying to change the rules, It all a load of bollix. 
Post by: general_lee on May 23, 2015, 09:26:24 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2015, 09:12:46 AM

We'll see. Sometimes information can be misconstrued. But sure you jump down the throat of a minor footballer and hang him out to dry without proper investigation into what happened. Trial by media once again, this accusation sticks regardless of the truth.
I'm not jumping down the throat of anyone. If a Tyrone player did say something, big deal! He's 17/18 with probably very little sense! It can be dealt with properly and measures implemented to prevent anything similar in the future.

It's the whole air of denial that surrounds this - would the Donegal minor mgmt really put their player through all this if they didn't have something pretty solid to go on? Yes it could well turn out to be something quite innocuous but Tyrone haven't done much to tackle the accusation other than an extremely shallow rebuttal.

P.S. Don't get me wrong Tyrone are getting hung out to dry here by people looking to use this as a stick to beat them with which is not fair.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2015, 09:35:16 AM
Why did Bonner choose to tell the story via his column rather than through official GAA lines? Why did he feel he could put a young lad on trial like this without consideration for the welfare of the Tyrone player and the lad who was allegedly abused and before a proper investigation was carried out? (Ulster council not Tyrone or Donegal) For me there is only two outcomes here now that Bonner has made this a massive issue. Either, the Tyrone lad is investigated, found guilty and receives a very lengthy suspension or Bonner is found to have jumped the gun and should be removed as the Donegal county minor manager for placing a minor footballer in the media spotlight in such a dangerous way without any due care for his safety or welfare. Either way, this is not good.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 23, 2015, 09:37:11 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 23, 2015, 09:26:24 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2015, 09:12:46 AM

I'm not jumping down the throat of anyone. If a Tyrone player did say something, big deal! He's 17/18 with probably very little sense! It can be dealt with properly and measures implemented to prevent anything similar in the future.

It's the whole air of denial that surrounds this - would the Donegal minor mgmt really put their player through all this if they didn't have something pretty solid to go on? Yes it could well turn out to be something quite innocuous but Tyrone haven't done much to tackle the accusation other than an extremely shallow rebuttal.

P.S. Don't get me wrong Tyrone are getting hung out to dry here by people looking to use this as a stick to beat them with which is not fair.

I don't think anyone in Donegal would make up something like this. However there are channels for this. They should've confidentially reported this to the Ulster Council and asked them to independently investigate the incident.

If they felt it was so important- and they shoud've- why did Declan Bonner leave it til Thursday to mention it in his own piece in the paper? Not going through the proper channels is poor in my opinion as well.

Edit: What Benny said!  :)
Post by: general_lee on May 23, 2015, 09:52:58 AM
How he made the allegation is irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. If anything the fact he made it on such a public platform adds more weight to it - either that or he's a f**king imbecile. In any case, he may have already went through the proper channels with Ulster Council. Has there been anything said to the contrary?

Though I agree that if (big if!) he is telling porkies he deserves to be relieved of his mgmt duties. Until then I take the man at his word.
Post by: theskull1 on May 23, 2015, 09:57:42 AM
You asked the question regarding DBs motives

I get the sense some folk want to bring sledging to a head and generating headlines are the way to go about it.

Generally people will much prefer the discussion is out in the open as there's more chance of changing hearts and minds on the topic. That is the good thing about this discussion isn't it? Not great for Tyrone though.

As GL stated. Declan Bonner better be sure of his facts.

Post by: cockahoop on May 23, 2015, 10:03:28 AM
I dont know why your all surprised by this latest incident involving tyrone,they have been at it for years,there lowere than low and will never change,only a few weeks ago Mickey hartes right hand man threatened to "kick the shite" out of a 10 year old in a u/12 friendly match with a derry club so its happening from the top down.
Post by: theskull1 on May 23, 2015, 11:38:51 AM
The lord forgives all sledgers who get to confessions within the week. Rumors these are being contructed at Garvaghy  ;D

(http://static01.nyt.com/images/2011/08/16/world/MADRID-1/MADRID-1-articleLarge.jpg)
Post by: rrhf on May 23, 2015, 12:23:06 PM
Cockahoop that is some allegation to make, you would really want to have witnessed it yourself as you will get yourself into trouble some day if its loose talk.  ...and very clever the way you have used it to help you denigrate a larger group, set up and indeed county.

Post by: The Stallion on May 23, 2015, 12:25:57 PM
Very disappointed but not at all surprised to hear of this latest incident involving Tyrone players mouthing.

It's even more disappointing that so many Tyrone folk seem more keen to deny or make excuses rather than confront and condemn these incidents.

Quite pathetic how much some Tyrone men will condone in the name of winning a game of football. Shameful.
Post by: Darby on May 23, 2015, 12:39:33 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 23, 2015, 09:52:58 AM
How he made the allegation is irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. If anything the fact he made it on such a public platform adds more weight to it - either that or he's a f**king imbecile. In any case, he may have already went through the proper channels with Ulster Council. Has there been anything said to the contrary?

Though I agree that if (big if!) he is telling porkies he deserves to be relieved of his mgmt duties. Until then I take the man at his word.
I agree entirely.
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2015, 12:56:53 PM
Is it plausible that the player who was the target of sledging was not aware of the comments, but his team mates were?
Does that not defeat the whole purpose of doing it?
Something doesn't add up here.
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2015, 01:00:41 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 23, 2015, 12:56:53 PM
Is it plausible that the player who was the target of sledging was not aware of the comments, but his team mates were?
Does that not defeat the whole purpose of doing it?
Something doesn't add up here.

It wouldn't change the intent.

But Boyle needs to explain himself now.

Has he made a formal complaint and if so, what stage is it at?

If not, why not?
Post by: cockahoop on May 23, 2015, 01:33:17 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 23, 2015, 12:23:06 PM
Cockahoop that is some allegation to make, you would really want to have witnessed it yourself as you will get yourself into trouble some day if its loose talk.  ...and very clever the way you have used it to help you denigrate a larger group, set up and indeed county.

oh it was said and heard and the club made it known to the opposing clubs manager, the only reason it wasn't followed up was because of the high profile of the man involved and a child of ten shouldn't have to go into a official investigation and wouldn't take long before it was in the papers.my work colleague is a prominent member of the club involved and lets just say we are very aware of the legal rights and wrongs of what can be said or not said on here as were in the legal business,knowing the father of the child I'm pretty sure it wont go unpunished.
using it to denigrate a larger group comes from alot of my own experiences,yeah maybe wrong to tar everyone with the one brush but you could tar a great majority
Post by: rrhf on May 23, 2015, 02:33:51 PM
Could you?
Post by: rrhf on May 23, 2015, 02:50:24 PM

Sad state of affairs!!
Donegal played Dublin in the league a few years ago.  There was a similar use of media sources at the time to blacken the name of a Dublin lad and their team about an alleged biting incident.  Through the proper channels they were asked to give evidence and conduct themselves in certain ways and they didnt play ball.  The goal was achieved -  Dublins reputation was tarnished by same biting allegation.   I feel very similar about Tipp at the moment.  There are a number of people in important places at the moment who sensationalise  everything. We are a new organisation to scandal SPILLANE AND Brolly in particular are throwing our sport at the redtops.  These guys are seen as leaders but most of what they see is negative.
Post by: Darby on May 23, 2015, 02:57:11 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 23, 2015, 02:50:24 PM

Sad state of affairs!!
Donegal played Dublin in the league a few years ago.  There was a similar use of media sources at the time to blacken the name of a Dublin lad and their team about an alleged biting incident.  Through the proper channels they were asked to give evidence and conduct themselves in certain ways and they didnt play ball.  The goal was achieved -  Dublins reputation was tarnished by same biting allegation.   I feel very similar about Tipp at the moment.  There are a number of people in important places at the moment who sensationalise  everything. We are a new organisation to scandal SPILLANE AND Brolly in particular are throwing our sport at the redtops.  These guys are seen as leaders but most of what they see is negative.
You don't condone this stuff in Tyrone. Instead, you accuse the other team of lying about every single allegation made against you. You're also very good at correctly pointing out that it happens everywhere, which makes it okay, of course.
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2015, 03:03:06 PM
This sort of stuff needs to be handled through official channels.
I remember accusations of racist abuse being made against a Meath minor a couple of years ago in the aftermath of a game against Westmeath.
Tommy 'Tom' Carr was very vocal about it in the media.
It was investigated and the Meath player was cleared of any wrongdoing.
However, as you would expect, the initial accusation got the headlines, the results of the investigation were buried in the sports section.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2015, 03:24:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 23, 2015, 03:03:06 PM
I remember accusations of racist abuse being made against a Meath minor a couple of years ago in the aftermath of a game against Westmeath.
However, as you would expect, the initial accusation got the headlines, the results of the investigation were buried in the sports section.

Exactly and when the people involved are minors then we need to be even more careful.

This is where I have the problem, you just need to read some of the vicious bile on here (and multiply that by 100 on Twitter and other social media) to see what Bonner has exposed that young lad too. He's placed him in the middle of a shit storm without giving him the opportunity of defending himself or even having the right of an independent investigation. For me, this calls Bonner's judgement into question when dealing with young players and their welfare. I just hope he did his own thorough investigation and his facts are 100%.

There's no option than for Donegal to pursue this now and I wonder why this hasn't been done already. This can't be swept under the carpet and they must make a formal complaint to the Ulster Council. Forgive me if I await the outcome of an independent investigation, before stringing up one of our own young players.
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2015, 03:43:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 23, 2015, 03:03:06 PM

In all fairness it's very hard for someone to be convicted of a whisper or a word out of earshot. This case like that one are topics the players in question have very little reason to be lying about. It's not like they have much to benefit from making it up, particularly in this case where the offending team is out of the competition because they lost. More weight in public discussion is rightly put on the victim's words than the denials of the alleged perpetrator - they have a lot to benefit from saying they didn't do it.

The hurdle of proving someone said something is much higher than it is to find they couldn't prove they did through lack of evidence. That will not stop people applying less rote logic to the situation and making their own conclusions. That's life.
Post by: armaghniac on May 23, 2015, 03:52:38 PM
As I said in post #2, in this day and age give everyone a small microphone ipod yoke and if there is an allegation there is some sort of evidence. That would stop all of this in its tracks.
Post by: The Stallion on May 23, 2015, 05:12:02 PM
No shortage of apologists for the inexcusable behaviour of Tyrone players it seems. No wonder this behaviour is rife in the county, it seems to be openly accepted by many.

Amazing how some people can set aside right and wrong so readily.
Post by: LeoMc on May 23, 2015, 06:42:17 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 23, 2015, 05:12:02 PM
No shortage of apologists for the inexcusable behaviour of Tyrone players it seems. No wonder this behaviour is rife in the county, it seems to be openly accepted by many.

No one excusing it, just asking for due process before we commence the lynching.
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2015, 08:10:52 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 23, 2015, 06:42:17 PM

No one excusing it, just asking for due process before we commence the lynching.

Seems like the Tyrone CB hadn't much time for due process themselves..
Post by: Put Up That Flag on May 23, 2015, 08:49:04 PM

Its the norm for the scummy county that it is,  normal morals or footballing traits don't work in Tyrone,  win by all accounts be that by using every dirty trick in the book that no other county use, when their footballing ability is as poor as it is they try to use these tactics to level the playing field,  gas thing is they tried every dirty trick possible in minor and senior games last weekend it would seem and they still got their asses handed to them :-) :-) :-)
Post by: LeoMc on May 23, 2015, 08:51:22 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on May 23, 2015, 08:49:04 PM

Its the norm for the scummy county that it is,  normal morals or footballing traits don't work in Tyrone,  win by all accounts be that by using every dirty trick in the book that no other county use, when their footballing ability is as poor as it is they try to use these tactics to level the playing field,  gas thing is they tried every dirty trick possible in minor and senior games last weekend it would seem and they still got their asses handed to them :-) :-) :-)
Still hurtin from the u21s?
Do you like crisps?
Post by: Put Up That Flag on May 23, 2015, 09:03:56 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 23, 2015, 08:51:22 PM

Do you like crisps?

The under 21s? Ya mean the competition where ye tried to decapitate lads in the semi final with elbows and then mixed it up for the next game and decided knees to opponents heads was the call of the day, just refreshing your memory there because it must get confusing for ye which trampish tactics ye use in what game :-) :-)
Post by: LeoMc on May 23, 2015, 09:37:46 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on May 23, 2015, 09:03:56 PM

Do you like crisps?

The under 21s? Ya mean the competition where ye tried to decapitate lads in the semi final with elbows and then mixed it up for the next game and decided knees to opponents heads was the call of the day, just refreshing your memory there because it must get confusing for ye which trampish tactics ye use in what game :-) :-)

Is that a yes then?
Post by: Darby on May 23, 2015, 10:01:45 PM

Do you like crisps?

That won't work. Tyrone supporters don't care if their players got the Tipp lads and made ISIS style hostage videos with them, as long as they win.
Post by: Syferus on May 24, 2015, 12:40:19 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 23, 2015, 09:37:46 PM

Do you like crisps?

Is that a yes then?

You know that's a Mayo poster, right?
Post by: Throw ball on May 24, 2015, 03:28:18 AM
These allegations are very serious and you can but feel for the player involved. However, in a he said, she said debate definitive prove will be near impossible. A more appropriate step may be for the Ulster Council to initiate an education debate against sledging among under age teams along with detailed punishments for any future breach.

Of equal concern to me is the Donegal connections releasing such details through the press. Surely this cannot be of benefit to the young fella who lost his father. It is his interests that should have been put to the fore. Any complaints should have been made quietly through the proper channels. For the young fellas sake I hope he has the proper people to help him through this.
Post by: LilySavage on May 24, 2015, 01:29:41 PM
The fact that this is being discussed in media represents a new low for those involved. Absolute scum if the reports are correct that this was said by a couple of players on a no. of occasions.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 24, 2015, 01:59:01 PM
Quote from: Darby on May 23, 2015, 10:01:45 PM

Do you like crisps?

That won't work. Tyrone supporters don't care if their players got the Tipp lads and made ISIS style hostage videos with them, as long as they win.

Damned right it won't -- do you think we could care a toss what you and the other pathetically pusillanimous anonymous keyboard warriors actually make of us? Cowards of the worst kind the lot of you.
Post by: CD on May 24, 2015, 02:44:13 PM
Marty Morrisey has just been sledged by Joe Brolly!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2015, 03:17:46 PM
I don't believe you.

Let's test it out.

Harder to believe you played
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 24, 2015, 03:21:17 PM
You are a sad case.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 24, 2015, 05:12:12 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 24, 2015, 03:21:17 PM
You are a sad case.

What is the title of the thread?? Have a bitta wit
Post by: omaghjoe on May 24, 2015, 05:21:45 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 24, 2015, 03:28:18 AM
These allegations are very serious and you can but feel for the player involved. However, in a he said, she said debate definitive prove will be near impossible. A more appropriate step may be for the Ulster Council to initiate an education debate against sledging among under age teams along with detailed punishments for any future breach.

Of equal concern to me is the Donegal connections releasing such details through the press. Surely this cannot be of benefit to the young fella who lost his father. It is his interests that should have been put to the fore. Any complaints should have been made quietly through the proper channels. For the young fellas sake I hope he has the proper people to help him through this.

I 100% agree with this
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2015, 07:25:50 PM
Hardly a surprising turn of events in a county where "heroes" like Ricey and Gormley are lionised for this type of shit behaviour for years and Cavanagh and Canavan made play acting an art form. It'll be u12s soon.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2015, 07:42:08 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 24, 2015, 01:59:01 PM

Do you like crisps?

Damned right it won't -- do you think we could care a toss what you and the other pathetically pusillanimous anonymous keyboard warriors actually make of us? Cowards of the worst kind the lot of you.
Oh dear  :-[
Post by: clarshack on May 25, 2015, 10:14:12 AM
paddy swayze would have had no problems dealing with sledgers  ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0aPIXy6PHM
Post by: Darby on May 25, 2015, 01:24:47 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 24, 2015, 01:59:01 PM

Do you like crisps?

Irony
Post by: ck on May 25, 2015, 02:18:50 PM
Is the Tyrone minor sledging incident done and dusted?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 25, 2015, 03:12:14 PM
Quote from: Darby on May 25, 2015, 01:24:47 PM
Irony

No irony, my identity is out there, coward.
Post by: Bingo on May 25, 2015, 03:35:28 PM
Quote from: ck on May 25, 2015, 02:18:50 PM
Is the Tyrone minor sledging incident done and dusted?

No, Tyrone are having an investigation into the previous investigation.
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2015, 03:42:38 PM
Time to get KPMG involved.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 25, 2015, 04:47:35 PM
People saying Bonner has left the Tyrone lad who allegedly said the things out to dry, has bonner named the Tyrone player?