GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shrewdness on February 22, 2015, 09:33:52 PM

Title: ROSCOMMON v MEATH...
Post by: Shrewdness on February 22, 2015, 09:33:52 PM
It might be a Division 2 fixture, but this will be one of the most fascinating games of next weekend.. Whilst they're not the team they used to be, Meath are always formidable opposition, and will provide a stern test for John Evans' young team. Meath were beaten on their last trip west by Galway, but recovered well to beat Kildare.. The Rossies underperformed in drawing with Cavan, before having a brilliant win in Newry..Very hard to call this game, which is being played in Hyde Park..
Title: Re: ROSCOMMON v MEATH...
Post by: Itchy on February 22, 2015, 09:37:28 PM
If Ros play to their potential they will win this game by 60 points and restrict Meath to shots from inside their own half.
Post by: larryin89 on February 22, 2015, 09:58:37 PM
Roscommon are a coupon banker for this one.
Post by: Jinxy on February 22, 2015, 10:13:46 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 22, 2015, 09:37:28 PM
If Ros play to their potential they will win this game by 60 points and restrict Meath to shots from inside their own half.

They're lucky Kevin Reilly's not playing.
Post by: muppet on February 22, 2015, 10:18:49 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 22, 2015, 09:37:28 PM

:D :D
Post by: gibbs32 on February 22, 2015, 10:45:23 PM
The rossies are oozing class style and arrogance in a very vibrant team with some of the best forwards in murtagh. Promotion id imagine and win connaught and sneak a final 4. That would be a progressive year and rightly so.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 11:47:51 PM
Very hard game to call, Ros midfield has been poor on the breaking ball, against Cavan in the league and Galway in the fbd final they were wiped out, there was some improvement in the Down game(first half) but will need further improvement to win this one. One very worrying aspect is our complete lack of a freetaker from outside 35mtrs, this will cost us dearly in the long run, also there is a tendency to carry the ball into the tackle and we are getting turned over too often and too easily.
I am sure our backroom boys will have addressed some of these before the Meath game and this is still a learning curve for us, we have lessons to learn and lets hope those lessons are not too costly, we have a long way to go yet before we can hope to dine at that top 4 table but these are the games we need,lets hope its a fine day and some football can be played, as club Rossie say, THE BEST IS YET TO COME. 
Post by: ross4life on February 23, 2015, 12:13:58 AM
Quote from: gibbs32 on February 22, 2015, 10:45:23 PM
The rossies are oozing class style and arrogance in a very vibrant team with some of the best forwards in murtagh. Promotion id imagine and win connaught and sneak a final 4. That would be a progressive year and rightly so.
Two posts from you on this thread already are you going to post under the name Put up that flag next?

Quote from: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 11:47:51 PM
we have a long way to go yet before we can hope to dine at that top 4 table
You don't say.
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 07:36:15 AM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 11:47:51 PM
Very hard game to call, Ros midfield has been poor on the breaking ball, against Cavan in the league and Galway in the fbd final they were wiped out, there was some improvement in the Down game(first half) but will need further improvement to win this one. One very worrying aspect is our complete lack of a freetaker from outside 35mtrs, this will cost us dearly in the long run, also there is a tendency to carry the ball into the tackle and we are getting turned over too often and too easily.
I am sure our backroom boys will have addressed some of these before the Meath game and this is still a learning curve for us, we have lessons to learn and lets hope those lessons are not too costly, we have a long way to go yet before we can hope to dine at that top 4 table but these are the games we need,lets hope its a fine day and some football can be played, as club Rossie say, THE BEST IS YET TO COME.

Apparently there is a young Flanagan in Ballaghadereen that can bang them over from 45 metres from any angle but for some reason Roscommon won't pick him   8)
Post by: twohands!!! on February 23, 2015, 11:14:20 AM
Saw some of Meath v Kildare game and it was very poor stuff altogether so on that slender basis alone I'm tipping Roscommon.

Post by: Rossfan on February 23, 2015, 12:33:31 PM
The silly season is over, the real teams now start playing to win.
I hope we're one of them . The next 3 games will tell us.
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 02:00:02 PM
The Cavan and Ros matches will be interesting.
Post by: Syferus on February 23, 2015, 02:44:00 PM
If it's true John Evans chose the Hyde rather than it being a logistical decision it is quite interesting signpost as to how he's changing how he utilises the players. It's a significantly bigger pitch than Kiltoom.

The last few years we've been more compact and trying to develop good defensive fundamentals, apart from our D3 run last year but most of those games were whitewashes so we didn't have much need to stand back. It's altogether a different tact if we're looking to exploit space and play more expansively against a fellow D2 team like Meath. I hope it's that he's seeing a squad that maturing.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on February 23, 2015, 04:10:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 23, 2015, 02:44:00 PM
If it's true John Evans chose the Hyde rather than it being a logistical decision it is quite interesting how he's changing how he utilises the players.

The last few years we've been more compact and trying to develop good defensive fundamentals, apart from our D3 run last year but most of those games were whitewashes so we didn't have much need to stand back. It's altogether a different tact if we're looking to exploit space and play more expansively against a fellow D2 team like Meath. I hope it's that he's seeing a squad that maturing.

But how can you improve on perfection already. I think i saw Jim Gavin wandering up and down by Maye's pub in Dublin over the weekend, he looked worried. He is wondering how can his team compete with the awesome Rossies in the all Ireland semi final, would any dubs make the Roscommon team? Probably not, maybe Bernard Brogan might make it into the 26
Post by: mjg on February 23, 2015, 04:27:42 PM
Has the throw in time been changed to1?
Post by: Syferus on February 23, 2015, 04:28:42 PM
Quote from: mjg on February 23, 2015, 04:27:42 PM
Has the throw in time been changed to1?

Yep.
Post by: Rossfan on February 23, 2015, 04:34:09 PM
Changed to 1 pm in case rubby TV fans might give the gaa bogball miss.
Won't be many from the far north travelling to this - and less if it's moved to Kiltoom as the promised weather will probably leave the Hyde unplayable.
Maybe it's time to disband the GAA and take up cool trendy upperclass rubby so as foreigners will think we're great.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 23, 2015, 05:03:24 PM
Hard to fit these games into your schedule when venues/times keep changing. First of all this game was going to be in Kiltoom at 2pm. Then it was Hyde Park at 2pm. Now it's Hyde Park at 1pm.. With the weather forecast not great, don't be surprised if we're all gathering in Kiltoom at 1pm!!......Are we expecting to see the Ros starting team along similar lines to Newry, or has Cregger played his way back in after his 0-3 as a sub in Newry?
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 05:22:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 23, 2015, 04:34:09 PM
Won't be many from the far north travelling to this - and less if it's moved to Kiltoom as the promised weather will probably leave the Hyde unplayable.
Maybe it's time to disband the GAA and take up cool trendy upperclass rubby so as foreigners will think we're great.
You must be concussed
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:25:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 05:22:00 PM
You must be concussed

I think they are all concussed.
Post by: Rossfan on February 23, 2015, 05:34:16 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 05:22:00 PM
You must be concussed

Why? Because I hate effin rubby?
Post by: Itchy on February 23, 2015, 06:02:22 PM

Given the weather and the fact the match is in Hyde park I'm thinking bogball might be the right name for this game
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 06:11:15 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 23, 2015, 06:02:22 PM

Given the weather and the fact the match is in Hyde park I'm thinking bogball might be the right name for this game
Club rossie will provide all the players with snorkels 
Post by: Jinxy on February 23, 2015, 08:36:28 PM
Yeah, we can see the 'last minute' switch to Kiltoom coming a mile away.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 23, 2015, 09:20:33 PM
Jinxy, how is this game being viewed in Meath? Are Ros given much of a chance?
Post by: Jinxy on February 23, 2015, 10:56:43 PM
We could be playing the Carlow minors and they'd be given a chance.
Most people I know expect ye to win.
Post by: Syferus on February 24, 2015, 02:05:50 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 23, 2015, 10:56:43 PM
We could be playing the Carlow minors and they'd be given a chance.
Most people I know expect ye to win.

Even the bookmakers have us as favourites. Strange days.
Post by: mjg on February 24, 2015, 04:10:04 PM
Consistency and Ross aren't compatible yet
Post by: thejuice on February 24, 2015, 09:50:18 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 23, 2015, 09:20:33 PMhow is this game being viewed in Meath?

If it's not on telly then I'd imagine it will be through a very powerful pair of binoculars.
Post by: mjg on February 24, 2015, 09:53:49 PM
 ;D ;D
Quote from: thejuice on February 24, 2015, 09:50:18 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 23, 2015, 09:20:33 PMhow is this game being viewed in Meath?

If it's not on telly then I'd imagine it will be through a very powerful pair of binoculars.
;D ;D
Post by: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 07:00:09 PM
It seems that the decision to switch this game to 1pm was at the request of both counties. They contacted the CCC and stated that an earlier throw in time suited both counties. Still fixed for Hyde Park, depending on weather i suppose. Anyone know when the Rossies will announce their team?
Post by: mjg on February 25, 2015, 07:02:01 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 07:00:09 PM
It seems that the decision to switch this game to 1pm was at the request of both counties. They contacted the CCC and stated that an earlier throw in time suited both counties. Still fixed for Hyde Park, depending on weather i suppose. Anyone know when the Rossies will announce their team?
sunday at half twelve as is the norm
Post by: Ringfort on February 25, 2015, 07:47:33 PM
Is this site moderated at all? Some amount of d**khead trolling going on in every single thread concerning Roscommon. Same stuff that was semi funny a month ago still being posted. Would put you off reading the site altogether. Get some new material ya clowns!
Post by: Rossfan on February 25, 2015, 08:14:10 PM
The Tyrones  are shell shocked into silence so I suppose someone has to fill in some space
Post by: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 08:36:31 PM
Ringfort, if you don't want to read about Roscommon, why did you click on this thread? The title of it was a bit of a giveaway.
Post by: Ringfort on February 25, 2015, 09:42:10 PM
Shrewdness, you misinterpreted my post. I do want to read about Ros and our game vs the Royals, with hopefully a bit of neutral chat and analysis from whoever cares to contribute. What I don't want to is to log on the odd time that I do and read the same tiresome jokes from the usual candidates who are about as funny as a dunt in the stones. I'm sure you can work out who they are and the majority seem to be of the green and red persuasion. Not sure what their insecurity is all about?!?
Post by: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 10:02:08 PM
Sorry about that Ringfort, my mistake. . A lot of posters acting the clown on here about Ros alright, but best to ignore them..Great to see another Rossie on here.
Post by: muppet on February 25, 2015, 10:16:50 PM
Until this post, 4 out of 36 posts on this thread were by Mayo posters.

On the Mayo Debt thread, for example, 14 out of 30 posts are from Roscommon posters.

And the same Roscommon posters are complaining about Mayo posters?
Post by: Syferus on February 25, 2015, 10:25:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 25, 2015, 10:16:50 PM
Until this post, 4 out of 36 posts on this thread were by Mayo posters.

On the Mayo Debt thread, for example, 14 out of 30 posts are from Roscommon posters.

And the same Roscommon posters are complaining about Mayo posters?

5 out of 38 now.
Post by: Ringfort on February 25, 2015, 10:39:59 PM
Muppet, yes there is definitely an unhealthy amount of 'interest' bordering on obsession from both sides. I wish the Ros lads would give the Ballagh sh*te a rest. Clogs up the board with needless boloxology. Everyone knows the craic at this stage. Going around and around on the internet is a waste of time.

Discussing your rivals trials and tribulations including plenty of friendly digs is par for the course and welcome craic in my book. But the jokes of about a month ago of this oncoming age of Ros dominance are getting fairly f**kin old and boring at this stage in fairness when it's pretty much the same gag repeated over and over again. Yawn
Post by: Rudi on February 25, 2015, 10:42:05 PM
Quote from: Ringfort on February 25, 2015, 07:47:33 PM
Is this site moderated at all? Some amount of d**khead trolling going on in every single thread concerning Roscommon. Same stuff that was semi funny a month ago still being posted. Would put you off reading the site altogether. Get some new material ya clowns!

Awful chit talk by the same dickheads, ruining what was once a decent site.
Post by: Jinxy on February 25, 2015, 11:10:51 PM
I blame the Mayo crowd.
Post by: Syferus on February 25, 2015, 11:16:44 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 25, 2015, 11:10:51 PM
I blame the Mayo crowd.

I agree Jinxy.
Post by: Ringfort on February 25, 2015, 11:29:23 PM
That means he blames us. He's the most sarcastic poster on the site (and one of the funniest). Syf dude, give it a rest.
Post by: Syferus on February 25, 2015, 11:33:31 PM
Quote from: Ringfort on February 25, 2015, 11:29:23 PM
That means he blames us. He's the most sarcastic poster on the site (and one of the funniest). Syf dude, give it a rest.

Hush, baby. That one went way over your head.
Post by: ross4life on February 25, 2015, 11:48:15 PM
Nothing wrong with a little banter but the same so called jokes & bullshit posts plus Mayo lads pretending to be Ros posters all needs to be blocked. Rudi,Ringfort,Shrewdness there is a ignore user feature on this forum that works a treat.

As for the game itself 2 changes max from the win against Down i would expect, last i heard Carty was rated doubtful. Last div 2 league meeting between us was a draw (2008 Kiltoom) We are due a win over Meath hopefully Sunday is the day that it arrives.

Post by: Itchy on February 25, 2015, 11:55:45 PM
Looks like we have a grumpy Rossie now to go with the deluded one and the couple of rare well balanced ones. Should the mods not put a cap on the amount allowed to sign up. We don't want an infestation like what happened with Tyronies.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 26, 2015, 01:55:44 PM
Reports today that quite a few of the Roscommon players have been affected by a flu bug during the past 10 days. Whilst it has now cleared up, John Evans admitted it has affected preparations. Advantage Meath.
Post by: seafoid on February 26, 2015, 03:56:06 PM
What was the result when the teams met in division 3?
Post by: Rossfan on February 26, 2015, 04:44:15 PM
Meath won with the aid of a gale assisted lob and a push in the back goal.
Post by: Jinxy on February 26, 2015, 08:00:45 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 26, 2015, 01:55:44 PM
Reports today that quite a few of the Roscommon players have been affected by a flu bug during the past 10 days. Whilst it has now cleared up, John Evans admitted it has affected preparations. Advantage Meath.

Sure half the country has had a bit of a bugeen for the last week or so.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 26, 2015, 09:41:37 PM
Yes Jinxy, but our problem might be that the Meath players are part of the other half of the country that didn't have a bugeen!!
Post by: seafoid on February 26, 2015, 10:52:44 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 26, 2015, 09:41:37 PM
Yes Jinxy, but our problem might be that the Meath players are part of the other half of the country that didn't have a bugeen!!
Ros psy-ops are so see- through
Post by: thejuice on February 27, 2015, 10:37:37 AM
Meath (FL Division 2 v Roscommon)

Paddy O'Rourke;

Donnacha Tobin, Conor McGill, Mickey Burke;
Davy Dalton, Donal Keogan, Bryan Menton;

Harry Rooney, Adam Flanagan;

Graham Reilly, Padraic Harnan, Andrew Tormey;
Damien Carroll, Stephen Bray, Michael Newman.

I'd say that's fairly close to what the team will be come summer bar one or two coming back from injury.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 27, 2015, 01:51:34 PM
How many of that team are u21?
Post by: thejuice on February 27, 2015, 02:35:47 PM
Last years u-21s

Andy Colgan
Simon Carty,
​Conor McGill,
David Mc Quillan,
Brian Power,
Shane Melia
Shane McEntee,
Conor Sheridan,
Adam Flanagan,
Neil Shortall,
Bobby O'Brien,
Padraic Harnan,
Seamus Mattimoe,
Bryan Mc Mahon,
Joey Wallace,

Harry Rooney is u21. A few of those lads will be on the bench this weekend too.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 27, 2015, 03:08:40 PM
Is Shane O'Rourke injured or just not picked to start on the Meath team?
Post by: thejuice on February 27, 2015, 03:28:48 PM
I don't want to write him off but I think he's probably done at county level. I don't think he's gone a whole year without an injury and he's been under the knife quite a few too many times for a man his age.

Now I'd be delighted if he were to play for us for years to come if he's able for it. That said I'm not sure how likely it is, given the way the game is going it seems to suit lads of Mickey Burkes build more than Shane O'Rourkes.
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 27, 2015, 05:40:52 PM
3 u21s in that Meath team, Harnan, Flanagan & Rooney.

Agree with Jinxie - looks Meath's best team bar those that are injured. I thought there was a place up for grabs in the forwards the last 2 games and I was surprised Carroll wasn't getting it. He has it now though. My other concern would be competition for places is weak enough although the plus side is it's a settled team. Can't have it both ways I suppose.

I could not be confident of a Meath victory but I'd be hopeful. Meath haven't looked good in either game so far but they are trying hard.
Post by: seafoid on February 27, 2015, 06:44:05 PM
Last year's Meath under 21s weren't much use, in line with the trend.
But surely Meath will have too much class for the rossies who have been struck down with group flu and the wrong studs in recent weeks.
Meath need the 2 points more as well.

Post by: thejuice on February 27, 2015, 06:53:19 PM
We never seem to do much at U-21 anyway. Minors have the odd good year but still find silverware hard to come by.

We've had a mixed start as usual but hopefully things are starting to click now. Flanagan and Rooney have impressed a lot of people so far. Hope it continues.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 27, 2015, 07:16:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 27, 2015, 06:44:05 PM
Their U21s reached the Hastings cup and Leinster finals last year beaten by Roscommon and Dublin who went on to reach the All Ireland U21 final.
Post by: seafoid on February 27, 2015, 07:24:46 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 27, 2015, 07:16:38 PM
Their U21s reached the Hastings cup and Leinster finals last year beaten by Roscommon and Dublin who went on to reach the All Ireland U21 final.
That's not very impressive. Honestly. Ros didn't win it either.
Meath haven't won since 93 I think.
I wouldn't count getting to a provincial final as much of an achievement. 
Any year Galway are beaten by the 2 teams in the final is a bit of a write off 
Post by: Blowitupref on February 27, 2015, 07:55:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 27, 2015, 07:24:46 PM
Last year was first time Meath had reached Leinster U21 final since 2001. One of the best Galway underage sides didn't win the All Ireland, 1995 minor team I think it was.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 27, 2015, 08:11:27 PM
Haven't heard any news on our team yet. Will probably be a late announcement.. Tough on Shane O'Rourke to have had so many bad injuries....... As long as there are no lasting effects from the flu, the Rossies should be able to give Meath a match of it.
Post by: seafoid on February 27, 2015, 08:42:38 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 27, 2015, 07:55:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 27, 2015, 07:24:46 PM
Last year was first time Meath had reached Leinster U21 final since 2001. One of the best Galway underage sides didn't win the All Ireland, 1995 minor team I think it was.
Donnellan was on it. 

Meath should be doing way better underage.
Post by: Rossfan on March 01, 2015, 08:54:42 AM
Time to get the oul' voice in shape to roar on the lads later.
25 years of hurt to be eradicated today we hope.
Post by: ross 4 sam on March 01, 2015, 11:16:15 AM
Lads be ready for some snow here in Roscommon :P
Post by: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 11:41:26 AM
Quote from: ross 4 sam on March 01, 2015, 11:16:15 AM

Any chance it might be cancelled?

Seen some tweets of there being serious snow in Galway and the Laois game being in doubt
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 11:54:49 AM
This is going to be a game of pinball if it's played.
Post by: ross 4 sam on March 01, 2015, 11:55:24 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 11:41:26 AM
Quote from: ross 4 sam on March 01, 2015, 11:16:15 AM

Any chance it might be cancelled?

Seen some tweets of there being serious snow in Galway and the Laois game being in doubt

No update yet, referee doing a pitch inspection but nothing else apart from that.
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 12:16:16 PM
It's been called off.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 01, 2015, 01:06:03 PM
So much for Spring weather with Galway's game also off. Not a bit of snow down around Ballagh or Loughglynn..The extra week will help our lads who had the flu in the last 10 days and the lads who played a lot of Sigerson Cup recently.
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 01:08:14 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 01, 2015, 01:06:03 PM
So much for Spring weather with Galway's game also off. Not a bit of snow down around Ballagh or Loughglynn..The extra week will help our lads who had the flu in the last 10 days and the lads who played a lot of Sigerson Cup recently.

Aye, the only caveat is well have some unholy U21 clashes coming up if our U21s are as good as advertised.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 01, 2015, 03:02:49 PM
There was always a possibility that Hyde Park was a dodgy proposition for this game if the weather was bad. But it now seems that the option of Kiltoom wasn't considered as Plan B, because as i write this, the Roscommon ladies are playing Sligo in Kiltoom!!
Post by: Rossfan on March 01, 2015, 07:22:20 PM
At least our rubby loving Co Board and Clubrossie officers didn't have their day ruined by a pesky "Gaelic" match.
Refixture presumably 21 or 22 March if no rubby on.
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 07:42:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 01, 2015, 07:22:20 PM
At least our rubby loving Co Board and Clubrossie officers didn't have their day ruined by a pesky "Gaelic" match.
Refixture presumably 21 or 22 March if no rubby on.

I blame Paul O'Connell myself.
Post by: Jinxy on March 01, 2015, 08:13:06 PM
We should have been given the points.
Post by: thejuice on March 01, 2015, 08:25:15 PM
It's all Banty's fault.
Post by: thejuice on March 02, 2015, 04:07:51 PM
Any word of a new day for this?
Post by: muppet on March 02, 2015, 04:25:32 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 02, 2015, 04:07:51 PM
Any word of a new day for this?

Gay Hyde Day?
Post by: thejuice on March 02, 2015, 04:27:21 PM
To answer my own ceist, 22nd of March
Post by: Rossfan on March 02, 2015, 04:36:58 PM
Ros, Meath, Laois and Galway now have 5 straight weekends of NFL and 2 or 3 U 21 games also in the same period.
We might get 2 games then for the rest of the year  :-\
Post by: Shrewdness on March 16, 2015, 02:06:54 PM
Second time around for this fixture next Sunday, after snow forced it's cancellation 2 weeks ago... It's a crucial fixture for both counties, locked on 5 points with Cavan.. The loser next Sunday will still have to observe matters at the relegation end of the division. For the winner, it should guarantee Division 2 football next year, and will also propel them into the Promotion race.
Post by: Rossie11 on March 16, 2015, 03:37:04 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 16, 2015, 02:06:54 PM
Second time around for this fixture next Sunday, after snow forced it's cancellation 2 weeks ago... It's a crucial fixture for both counties, locked on 5 points with Cavan.. The loser next Sunday will still have to observe matters at the relegation end of the division. For the winner, it should guarantee Division 2 football next year, and will also propel them into the Promotion race.
I would say its more of a free hit for both teams. Losing isn't a disaster as they both have 5pts in the bag. A draw would mean both are safe and still in with a chance of going up.
Winning would project either in with a real shot of promotion.
On that basis you should see both teams going out with a positive devil may care attitude. Makings of a good game

Post by: seafoid on March 16, 2015, 03:51:36 PM
Ros are 5/4 to reach the final

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-football/nfl-division-2

Post by: Rossie11 on March 16, 2015, 04:39:02 PM
Galway 14/1 to be relegated while only 4/1 to lift the trophy!!
After been in Salthill yesterday I know which is the best value bet..
Post by: Syferus on March 16, 2015, 04:42:18 PM
This division must be driving the bookies daft.
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2015, 02:24:16 PM
Meath u21's from last nights loss to Kildare . Expect a few to line out at the weekend.

J Hannigan;

M Flood, G McGowan, L Ferguson;
S Dowling, B Power, S McEntee;

A Flanagan; H Rooney;

P Harnan, R O Coileain, C Rooney;
J Wallace, P Kennelly, E Wallace

Subs: B Duggan, J McEntee, B Dardis, F Ward

Good to see Rooney is healthy again. Tormey is out for the rest of the league who is quite a loss for us.

I don't expect any big line up changes, maybe E Wallace will start ahead of O'Sullivan this week. Hopefully the lads won't go to sleep when they get in front this time.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 19, 2015, 04:35:05 PM
Rossies will beat meath but it will be a hard fought match. Id say we will need goals for this game and the way murtagh and smith played last night  its certainly in us
Post by: giveballaghback on March 20, 2015, 03:46:28 PM
Looking at that Meath team they are setting up for all out attack, after our 2 very fragile looking defensive performances against Laois and Kildare you cant blame them, I think Evens will set us up more defenceively  for this game, may be lower scoring than the last 2, hope Rossies can win this one Saw Meath last sat night on setanta and they looked all over the shop but then so did we in that first half against Kildare, just cant call this one, too much missinformation, heres looking forward to a good game.
Post by: seafoid on March 20, 2015, 04:31:50 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 19, 2015, 02:24:16 PM
Meath u21's from last nights loss to Kildare . Expect a few to line out at the weekend.

J Hannigan;

M Flood, G McGowan, L Ferguson;
S Dowling, B Power, S McEntee;

A Flanagan; H Rooney;

P Harnan, R O Coileain, C Rooney;
J Wallace, P Kennelly, E Wallace

Subs: B Duggan, J McEntee, B Dardis, F Ward

Good to see Rooney is healthy again. Tormey is out for the rest of the league who is quite a loss for us.

I don't expect any big line up changes, maybe E Wallace will start ahead of O'Sullivan this week. Hopefully the lads won't go to sleep when they get in front this time.
Another bad underage result for Meath. Football needs a stronger Meath, I think.   
Post by: rrhf on March 20, 2015, 04:36:23 PM
They need to work a bit harder at it though. The celtic tiger softened their approach.  Too wealthy, too refined,  meath as a county went from grim to gorgeous overnight and the football suffered. I agree that we need meath as much to keep the dubs honest. We might have the odd reservation in Tyrone about their renaissance but it's only because of the auld arthritis setting in from the savagery we experienced.  But we can't be selfish.. Mon the royals
Post by: manfromdelmonte on March 20, 2015, 07:23:05 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 20, 2015, 04:36:23 PM
They need to work a bit harder at it though. The celtic tiger softened their approach.  Too wealthy, too refined,  meath as a county went from grim to gorgeous overnight and the football suffered. I agree that we need meath as much to keep the dubs honest. We might have the odd reservation in Tyrone about their renaissance but it's only because of the auld arthritis setting in from the savagery we experienced.  But we can't be selfish.. Mon the royals
Too much education is a bad thing
Post by: Jinxy on March 20, 2015, 09:36:49 PM
I'd tend to agree.
We got too rich and good-looking.
Post by: Rossfan on March 20, 2015, 09:39:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 20, 2015, 09:36:49 PM
I'd tend to agree.
We got too rich and good-looking.

Rich anyway  ::)
Post by: Syferus on March 20, 2015, 09:40:29 PM
Meath is another way to say D4 to me.
Post by: Rossfan on March 20, 2015, 10:32:35 PM
Jasis Syfín if ya were ever in Ballivor or Ballinlough (Co Meath) you'd not say that ;D... Not to mention Dunderry or Nawberrh.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 21, 2015, 12:58:42 PM
It's a 3pm throw in for this game tomorrow. Probably won't know the Ros team line up until nearly match time.
Post by: Syferus on March 21, 2015, 01:06:50 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 21, 2015, 12:58:42 PM
It's a 3pm throw in for this game tomorrow. Probably won't know the Ros team line up until nearly match time.

Got my tickets printed out yesterday, still says 2pm. This could get messy.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 21, 2015, 02:52:03 PM
Syf, according to Club Rossie and Roscommon Gaa, it's a 3pm throw in. Not sure why. Might be trying to confuse the Meath people.
Post by: Hardy on March 21, 2015, 04:38:22 PM
We're a step ahead of yiz - we're heading for Kiltoom.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 21, 2015, 08:19:17 PM
Rossies by 5
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 21, 2015, 08:57:55 PM
C'mon the Rossies.
Let's see if Senan Kilbride can prove me wrong!
Post by: rrhf on March 22, 2015, 01:57:16 AM
The only way is meath...

Gorgeous
Post by: mjg on March 22, 2015, 07:57:59 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 21, 2015, 08:57:55 PM
C'mon the Rossies.

im sure senan stayed awake all night wondering  about proving a seventy year old keyboard warrier wrong
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 22, 2015, 11:19:19 AM
Good luck to both teams today. The draw would seem the fairest result  ;D
Post by: giveballaghback on March 22, 2015, 11:44:09 AM
draw leaves both in div 2 next year, today is a must win for both teams, Rossies to shade it.
Post by: Itchy on March 22, 2015, 12:03:31 PM
I predict a draw. Meath will need the point, it will be their last this campaign.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 22, 2015, 12:24:22 PM
Quote from: mjg on March 22, 2015, 07:57:59 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 21, 2015, 08:57:55 PM
C'mon the Rossies.

im sure senan stayed awake all night wondering  about proving a seventy year old keyboard warrier wrong

You are a long, long way off the mark there, horse! ;D
Most Rossies would be gracious enough to accept the good wishes of any Mayo man but it seems you are the inevitable one. There's always one, unfortunately..
All other Rosssies on this board can take and give a bit of banter without getting their drawers in a twist. Again, you are an exception.
Post by: seafoid on March 22, 2015, 12:37:09 PM
If Ros are good enough they'll win. Not because supporters can't wait any longer but because they are good enough.
So many hard luck stories over the last few months from the bad days. Last minute goals, single point losses, matches switched to unforgiving pitches, moral defeats etc. It is not easy being a supporter of a team that tends not to win. Maybe this team is different. Mayo will abdicate soon. It is all about what the players learn, even in defeat.
I think the danger for both Ros and Mayo is that Galway swagger back and take their space and start winning what they feel is their right. How to get Ros to that level is the challenge. Brigids and the 06 minors showed it can be done. So did Donegal. Keith Duggan in the irish times yesterday said the chase for the all ireland is insane. It is. But you wouldn't miss it.
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2015, 12:41:47 PM
Don't you have a game of your own to be going to Sea, and not be playing your patented brand of Wind the Rossie Up?
Post by: joemamas on March 22, 2015, 04:28:22 PM
Listening on Radio, Willie Hegerty is unreal, so entertaining. Sounds like an exciting game
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2015, 04:50:59 PM
Young Senan with the winning goal, played great guns all day. You should offer your services to the Roscommon county team, Lar.

Putting back to back wins together like this is something new, the team is maturing. D2 for next year in the bag now. Really looking forward to getting a crack at the full Galway side next weekend.
Post by: larryin89 on March 22, 2015, 05:00:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 22, 2015, 04:50:59 PM
Young Senan with the winning goal, played great guns all day. You should offer your services to the Roscommon county team, Lar.

Putting back to back wins together like this is something new, the team is maturing. D2 for next year in the bag now. Really looking forward to getting a crack at the full Galway side next weekend.

Exciting times for roscommon , can't see why promotion is not yer goal unless you lot are trying the cute hoor type speak .
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2015, 05:08:30 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 22, 2015, 05:00:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 22, 2015, 04:50:59 PM

Exciting times for roscommon , can't see why promotion is not yer goal unless you lot are trying the cute hoor type speak .

Im sure it's the target now we're safe, better to have a goal than heading out aimlessly against teams with a lot to play for themselves. I wouldn't even be contemplating D1 football until after the Galway game, though.
Post by: larryin89 on March 22, 2015, 05:17:28 PM
Roscommon v Galway will be a very interesting game with galway having Corofin lads back surely Galway will put massive effort into that game with the threat of relegation very real.
Post by: The Black Mamba on March 22, 2015, 05:19:19 PM
Promotion in our hands now at least. Thoughts on the referee today?
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2015, 05:22:39 PM
Quote from: The Black Mamba on March 22, 2015, 05:19:19 PM
Promotion in our hands now at least. Thoughts on the referee today?

"We'll take that"

Usually I don't notice a ref unless we lose. Some claims about a 45 (an umpire's call) and a few soft frees. To be fair it wasn't the ref who made Paddy O'Rourke kick the ball into Senan's bread basket inside the Meath defence or Meath's free-takers kicked four or five scoreable frees wide.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 06:16:26 PM
Very good result.proud of d rossie lads.promotion within grasp.we are the coming force in gaa.
Post by: rrhf on March 22, 2015, 06:28:30 PM
I have no doubt we will be hearing a lot about yous alright. 
Post by: larryin89 on March 22, 2015, 06:32:44 PM
Quote from: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 06:16:26 PM
Very good result.proud of d rossie lads.promotion within grasp.we are the coming force in gaa.

Where as there is plenty of room for optimism , there is a few of ye gettin carried away with yourselves.
Post by: The Black Mamba on March 22, 2015, 06:37:32 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 22, 2015, 06:32:44 PM
Quote from: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 06:16:26 PM

Where as there is plenty of room for optimism , there is a few of ye gettin carried away with yourselves.
Yeah best ignore them, no doubt we've improved but we really need to get some more consistency in performances. If and it's still only an if, we can get promotion to Division 1 then we can really judge where we're at plus come championship time it will give us a good indicator. But look we're safe in Division 2 and that's the main thing. Promotion is now the objective but not secure yet.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 06:51:55 PM
Optimism should be grasped not discarded.im disappointed with constant critisism of rossies by rossie people themselves. As a proud rossie i see my team nurturing and growing. We are truely blossiming into the most beautiful primrose and blue team i have witnessed and we will only improve. :)this time next year we will be playing the dubs.
Post by: larryin89 on March 22, 2015, 06:58:45 PM
Quote from: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 06:51:55 PM
Optimism should be grasped not discarded.im disappointed with constant critisism of rossies by rossie people themselves. As a proud rossie i see my team nurturing and growing. We are truely blossiming into the most beautiful primrose and blue team i have witnessed and we will only improve. :)this time next year we will be playing the dubs.

It's not all is cracked up to be , honestly , take it from the longest serving div one team .
Post by: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 07:00:02 PM
That could be true but must taste it first my good man
Post by: The Black Mamba on March 22, 2015, 07:00:21 PM
There's optimism then there's delusion. Look we are improving but I'd save any judgement on them till we beat one of the traditional big two in Connacht and get a good championship run. Championship and Division 1 are the true litmus test of where we're truly at. No doubt we're on the up but steady on.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 07:03:48 PM
The curse of 51 cant be changed until that team has passed away(rip) even then the boat has sailed and mayo are left with dumb and dummer. Apparently mcstay was too radical for mayo!!!
Post by: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 07:10:01 PM
Just to clarify i meant best roscommon set up that are nuturing beautiful fruits.thats all thanks to roscomon people with a kerry/kerry flair.evans no.2 in kerins was  a  fantastic coup.
Post by: larryin89 on March 22, 2015, 07:12:23 PM
Quote from: The Black Mamba on March 22, 2015, 07:00:21 PM
There's optimism then there's delusion. Look we are improving but I'd save any judgement on them till we beat one of the traditional big two in Connacht and get a good championship run. Championship and Division 1 are the true litmus test of where we're truly at. No doubt we're on the up but steady on.

If only they were all as reasonable as your balanced approach.

Roscommon are doing well , tipping along , improving and look like imo they will be in div one next year but that is where all that ends for now as such as in its now time for the test . This summer is a big test for roscommon , if they were to win connacht I think they'll have passed the test if they don't I think they have failed. Some might say that's a very black and white prisim way of looking at it but that's the way I see it and furthermore if they were to get a thrashing off either Galway or Mayo in a connacht final and then get relegated in their first year in div one , it would mean they have failed miserably.
Post by: larryin89 on March 22, 2015, 07:13:43 PM
Quote from: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 07:03:48 PM
The curse of 51 cant be changed until that team has passed away(rip) even then the boat has sailed and mayo are left with dumb and dummer. Apparently mcstay was too radical for mayo!!!

What has Mayo got to do with this thread,if you are trolling you are a very obvious one.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 07:16:09 PM
My bet of rossies getting promoted and winning connaught is looking good now. Agree?
Post by: gibbs32 on March 22, 2015, 07:18:23 PM
Paranoia on the increase. I was making a statement which is strangely hidden under carpet. There should be a thread on it
Post by: The Black Mamba on March 22, 2015, 08:04:22 PM
Mick O Dowd seems to think there's an agenda against Meath, very critical of the officials. http://www.lmfm.ie/Podcasts/Podcasts/Show?showalias=Sunday-Sport#6686
Post by: Jinxy on March 22, 2015, 08:09:15 PM
We were blackguarded by the ref.
Replay.
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2015, 08:26:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 22, 2015, 08:09:15 PM
We were blackguarded by the ref.
Replay.

He's been no better than Banty was.
Post by: Hardy on March 22, 2015, 08:55:48 PM
I don't like that carry on. It's not the Meath way. Never heard Seán Boylan at that stuff.
Post by: Jinxy on March 22, 2015, 09:30:30 PM
Yeah, whether it's accurate or not there's no point running to the media with your grievances.
It doesn't reflect well on Micko.
He's feeling the pressure I think.
From who exactly I don't know, being promoted to Div 1 would be an utter disaster.
Stay in Div 2 and try to develop some new players.
Post by: ross4life on March 22, 2015, 10:41:29 PM
Average enough game where we didn't play near our capabilities but the better side on the day won & a two point win probably about right i reckon.

The 2nd goal a nice gift from O Rourke though Kilbride still had a lot of work to do, it somewhat made up for the gift of a goal that Claffey gave to Meath two years ago. That second goal gave us the cushion to hold on for the win though if anything we sat back on the lead too much however Meath never looked like getting the goal that they needed.

Keenan probably our best player today great leadership and drove us forward, David Murray had another fine game & looks like he's been playing senior football for years. A good hard earned & long overdue win against Meath today well done to all the players & management onwards & upwards we go

P.S The Black Mamba just to let you know gibbs32 is a poster pretending to be rossie. the Ignore feature on this forum is best used for posters like him.
Post by: The Black Mamba on March 22, 2015, 11:14:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 22, 2015, 10:41:29 PM
Average enough game where we didn't play near our capabilities but the better side on the day won & a two point win probably about right i reckon.

The 2nd goal a nice gift from O Rourke though Kilbride still had a lot of work to do, it somewhat made up for the gift of a goal that Claffey gave to Meath two years ago. That second goal gave us the cushion to hold on for the win though if anything we sat back on the lead too much however Meath never looked like getting the goal that they needed.

Keenan probably our best player today great leadership and drove us forward, David Murray had another fine game & looks like he's been playing senior football for years. A good hard earned & long overdue win against Meath today well done to all the players & management onwards & upwards we go

P.S The Black Mamba just to let you know gibbs32 is a poster pretending to be rossie. the Ignore feature on this forum is best used for posters like him.
Duly noted  ;) Yeah had a hunch he was after seeing some more of his posts ....
Post by: moysider on March 22, 2015, 11:36:07 PM

If this shite continues might s well forget about this forum - I think a few already have.

Going by expression/style/timing of response etc  I suspect somebody is bored and posting as 3/4 different personas when it has anything to do with Roscommon or Mayo. Pathetic really but what can you do. Must be like havin a row with yourself because most others are not taking the bait.
Post by: maigheo on March 23, 2015, 12:29:17 AM
Its a shame that an excellent forum like this could be ruined by idiots like gibbs 32,as its by far the best discussion board on sports out there.Nearly was rooting for Meath today because of idiots like gibbs 32 but managed to see the light :) :) :) :) :) :)
Post by: BennyHarp on March 23, 2015, 08:39:56 AM
Roscommon's progress this year will be fascinating. With Mayo possibly on the slide a provincial championship must be a first realistic target then who knows. It genuinely is exciting for the Championship when new teams emerge, let's hope Roscommon can fulfill their promise. I know one thing, I wouldn't be confident if Tyrone drew them in the back doors this year (like we seem to do every other year). I just hope some of their posters don't lose the run of themselves before any meaningful form begins to develop. 
Post by: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 08:59:21 AM
larryin89 to answer your question what if the ros bandwagon blows up well heres the thing, this team is a work in progress and those people who know ros football are aware that there are several more young players about to make the big breaktru in the neat couple of seasons, these are players of the highest quality and yes some of them might not make it for one reason or another but we have a deep pool of young talent and more will come to replace them, I was in croke park in 2002 when that great Tyrone team then in its infancy got completely hockeyed by Sligo in a qualifier , looked all over the place and we all know what happened after that, now im not saying ros will have that level of success but we will reach the top level, we will survive at the top level and if our cb continue to develop our young players then we will stay at the top table and if you are there you have a chance, that said for the forst time in years our minors seem to be weak, havent got to see them yet but will go to kiltoom tomorrow night. Onwards and upwards COME ON THE ROSSIES.
Post by: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 09:04:48 AM
Not been as good as years previous at U16 but CBS still won the Connacht A title and those players are still missing from the minor panel, hopefully we'll be making a better stab at things come the summer. Wouldn't begrudge that Leitrim team a Connacht title if we can't do it though.

It was great to see the Hyde starting to swell a bit for a league match. Winning big games in front of your home crowd is what makes young kids want to play for their county, it helps grease the wheels in a very real way. Another win next week would be fantastic.
Post by: Rossfan on March 23, 2015, 09:07:11 AM
None of the real Ros support losing the run of anything.
We were poor enough in 3 of our 5 games but managed 3 points from them.
Some bad Meath sides plus O'Rourke's howler plus grit got us over the line yesterday.
We have improved, hopefully can improve more but as Larryin Rhubarb tells we've beat no one of real substance yet.
2 years ago we were drawing with Wicklow and stuttering against Antrim.
Now we're batin Down,Meath and Kildare.
Onwards and upwards and hopefully the best is yet to come.
Then we may be able to sing
Then with a mighty roar
Let Erin know once more
Men of Roscommon are marching again.
As for Meath - ye're not famous any more :-\
Post by: Jinxy on March 23, 2015, 09:40:23 AM
We have the good land though.
That's what counts.
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 09:55:47 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 23, 2015, 08:39:56 AM
Roscommon's progress this year will be fascinating. With Mayo possibly on the slide a provincial championship must be a first realistic target then who knows. It genuinely is exciting for the Championship when new teams emerge, let's hope Roscommon can fulfill their promise. I know one thing, I wouldn't be confident if Tyrone drew them in the back doors this year (like we seem to do every other year). I just hope some of their posters don't lose the run of themselves before any meaningful form begins to develop.

"Possibly"being the one word there that is the most important . Mayo are not going to give up the ghost just yet, granted there are signs like the Dublin humiliation that we could be going backwards but in mŷ experience in life spring football can be  (some of the time)very difficult to gauge where a team will be at come the summer time. Derry gave us a roasting in semi final last year and we had a good championship but. Kerry got hammered by cork a few weeks back its not going to hurt them much. Better to get a jolt in the spring than a kick in the balls in the summer.

FIAR for Mayo.
Post by: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 10:02:21 AM
Great sign that we're going in the right direction - Eugene McGee is criticising us in the Indo today. Even the fecking wind at the Hyde got it in the neck.

He'd want to be invited to Salthill to see what real wind is.
Post by: Rossfan on March 23, 2015, 10:57:30 AM
Good piece by McGee. No harm at all to have some constructive criticism.
We are quite green and need to learn some tricks.
No doubt with a manager fromthe home of dirty tricks to win games we'll be improving in that Dept.  ;)
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 23, 2015, 11:09:05 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 23, 2015, 10:57:30 AM
No doubt with a manager fromthe home of dirty tricks to win games we'll be improving in that Dept.  ;)
What's this?
Is John Maughan coming back again? ;D
Post by: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 11:52:44 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 23, 2015, 10:57:30 AM

Oxymoron.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 06:58:36 PM
The big thing about yesterday is we dug deep and got a win in a game we would have lost not that long ago, we did not play well or maybe we played as well as meath let us but whichever real grit was shown coming down the straight, more learned yesterday than in any other game in this league, we also hit the post twice and at other times our heads might have dropped but attitudes are changing and this team is building real character, Meath got some very handy frees at the end and it took them back into the game, their last 5 pts were from frees but O Dowd is not crying about that, Eugene McGee has always been a friend of Roscommon, he has defended us many times when others were taking cheap shots at us and has always given us our due, his article today was just an observation on what he saw yesterday and in truth was fair and accurate, it was not inspiring stuff, whoever does go up will need to improve out of sight to survive and imo the Rossies have improvement in them and would survive there, think of the alternative next year, div2 2016, Armagh, Fermanagh, Derry,Donegal or Tyrone, Cavan and whoever else survives the drop, sobering thoughts lads.
Post by: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 07:08:35 PM
Ah cmon Shrewness - we're wide open? Only someone who didn't see us in the last two games or indeed last year or in years previous. We regularly had Senan deeper than the HB line - we were in no way naive in how we set up. How we execute that set-up can be critiqued but the idea we aren't doing exactly what he's bemoaning is pretty wrong. We are plenty cynical but we're only learning the ropes - we're where a good young team with our age profile should be in terms of their development.

I can see him hammering this point home in every article he talks about us in from now on, just like he plies myths about Galway and Mayo too. I'd rather draw the line right now rather than entertaining that sort of stuff.
Post by: Rossfan on March 23, 2015, 07:31:41 PM
Syfín,
please go away for a week and give us all a bit of peace. :-[ :-[
You were rubbising McGee on stolensheep too till a few of the sensible posters put you in your box. Now you're at it here.
We lost our way in the 10/15 minutes before h/t yesterday, how many did we hit into O'Rourke's hands( he retiurned the complement later ;D) while we failed to score in the last 10 minutes. I'd hope that next year we'd be piling on a few more scores in the home straight.
Post by: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 07:41:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 23, 2015, 07:31:41 PM
Syfín,
You were rubbising McGee on stolensheep too till a few of the sensible posters put you in your box. Now you're at it here.
We lost our way in the 10/15 minutes before h/t yesterday, how many did we hit into O'Rourke's hands( he retiurned the complement later ;D) while we failed to score in the last 10 minutes. I'd hope that next year we'd be piling on a few more scores in the home straight.

I'll open it up so - what do the other lads here think of McGee? I don't recall much love for him.

As a pundit he's pretty fecking poor and I'm certainly not backing away from that.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 23, 2015, 07:47:35 PM
Syferus, in what way does what you wrote relate to what i wrote?
Post by: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 07:49:56 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 23, 2015, 07:47:35 PM
Syferus, in what way does what you wrote relate to what i wrote?

You humoured what were at best criticisms borne out of no context or in-depth analysis of either yesterday or the preceding days. I expect better than that from published columnists.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 23, 2015, 07:54:31 PM
Where did i do that? Before 5 mins ago, i hadn't even posted on this thread today as far as i know??
Post by: gibbs32 on March 23, 2015, 11:03:21 PM
Rossie is my love. Dont need to justify my roscomminism bully boys. My predictions have been correct so far not like pesimistic posters apparantly have birth certs to be sure we r rossies.
Post by: Old yeller on March 24, 2015, 08:22:16 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 08:59:21 AM
larryin89 to answer your question what if the ros bandwagon blows up well heres the thing, this team is a work in progress and those people who know ros football are aware that there are several more young players about to make the big breaktru in the neat couple of seasons, these are players of the highest quality and yes some of them might not make it for one reason or another but we have a deep pool of young talent and more will come to replace them, I was in croke park in 2002 when that great Tyrone team then in its infancy got completely hockeyed by Sligo in a qualifier , looked all over the place and we all know what happened after that, now im not saying ros will have that level of success but we will reach the top level, we will survive at the top level and if our cb continue to develop our young players then we will stay at the top table and if you are there you have a chance, that said for the forst time in years our minors seem to be weak, havent got to see them yet but will go to kiltoom tomorrow night. Onwards and upwards COME ON THE ROSSIES.
Your mad in the head!
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 24, 2015, 08:40:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 07:41:06 PM
Syfín,

I'll open it up so - what do the other lads here think of McGee? I don't recall much love for him.

As a pundit he's pretty fecking poor and I'm certainly not backing away from that.
Put it this way, I'd find it hard to choose between him and Martin Breheny if I had to name my least favourite sports journo.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2015, 08:54:28 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 24, 2015, 08:40:33 PM
Syfín,

Put it this way, I'd find it hard to choose between him and Martin Breheny if I had to name my least favourite sports journo.
I agree with this too, however he called it right (to me) after the Dublin game. Some Mayo people got annoyed. I have to say I dislike Breheny's approach more than McGee's though.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2015, 10:29:45 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2015, 08:54:28 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 24, 2015, 08:40:33 PM
Syfín,

I agree with this too, however he called it right (to me) after the Dublin game. Some Mayo people got annoyed. I have to say I dislike Breheny's approach more than McGee's though.

Read Breheny and then McGee's post match analysis of Mayo/Kerry replay last year! McGee hasn't a clue.
Post by: maigheo on March 24, 2015, 11:21:26 PM
Mcgee is a very poor analyst and is living off of Offalys 1882 victory.Most of his colums are the same with just the names changing.I am pretty sure he goes to the games and sits down in the press box drinking a cup of tea and reading a news paper while the game is going on .Stopped reading him along time ago and I would love to know what info he has got on the sports editor in the Sindo as there is no way they would be still paying him  to write the sh-t  he writes.