GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2015, 10:28:58 AM

Title: The Connaught Thread
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2015, 10:28:58 AM
Discuss.
Title: Re: The Connaught Thread
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 17, 2015, 10:39:09 AM
Ok so because cromwell and the english spelt it that way its basphemis and if you spell it that way today your not a proper Irish man, so Irish people spell it Connacht and then your proper irish man. This is very important topic in the grand scheme of things and the meaning of life.
And if you don't spell it right it will be pointed out to you because it annoys people because its very important. 8)
Post by: rosnarun on February 17, 2015, 10:53:23 AM
If you are typing this in English then Connaught is the correct spelling.
how if you operate through the Irish Language then the Spelling will Vary according to usage.
on the 3rd hand  if you speak a mixture of Both ther either Or is correct.
in oher word it desn't matter as long as people know what you are Talking about.

even Shakespeare's 6 remaing  signatures are all spelt differently
Post by: Rossfan on February 17, 2015, 11:05:48 AM
I don't know what a "CONNAUGHT" is so will not be contributing to this.
And before someone else says it - that never stopped me before  :P
Post by: seafoid on February 17, 2015, 11:08:57 AM
Connacht. Croi chulturtha na h-Eireann. And the finest provincial flag.
The Connaught is in London innit.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 17, 2015, 11:22:09 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2015, 10:28:58 AM
Discuss.

Eff off!
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 17, 2015, 11:25:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 17, 2015, 11:05:48 AM
I don't know what a "CONNAUGHT" is so will not be contributing to this.
And before someone else says it - that never stopped me before  :P

Ah shag it, ye bet me to it! ;D
Post by: muppet on February 19, 2015, 06:22:44 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 17, 2015, 10:53:23 AM
If you are typing this in English then Connaught is the correct spelling.
how if you operate through the Irish Language then the Spelling will Vary according to usage.
on the 3rd hand  if you speak a mixture of Both ther either Or is correct.
in oher word it desn't matter as long as people know what you are Talking about.

even Shakespeare's 6 remaing  signatures are all spelt differently

If I am typing in English then your name is Secret Forest or Honey's Point or something like that.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 20, 2015, 04:29:08 PM
There are 5 counties in Connacht, Roscommon is they only county with borders to all other four counties,
John Prenty will tell you New york and London is in Connacht,
Ballaghaderreen is in Connacht but no one seems to know what county its in.
John Prenty will tell you Ballaghaderren is in Mayo but he thinks New york and London is in Connacht.
Thats all I know about Connacht.
Post by: muppet on February 20, 2015, 04:41:18 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 20, 2015, 04:29:08 PM
There are 5 counties in Connacht, Roscommon is they only county with borders to all other four counties,
John Prenty will tell you New york and London is in Connacht,
Ballaghaderreen is in Connacht but no one seems to know what county its in.
John Prenty will tell you Ballaghaderren is in Mayo but he thinks New york and London is in Connacht.
Thats all I know about Connacht.

You should hang around Mayo people more. We know all about Connacht.

All-Irelands, not so much.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 20, 2015, 04:53:53 PM
Thanks muppet, I bet a tenner with a friend here that you would be first to take the bate, I owe you one mate.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 20, 2015, 06:42:53 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 20, 2015, 04:53:53 PM
Thanks muppet, I bet a tenner with a friend here that you would be first to take the bate, I owe you one mate.

Doubt you're muppet's 'mate'... Anyhow if Ballagh wnt to be in Ros, let their GAA club call anEAGM. Or why don't you become a member and bring it up at the next AGM.
Post by: mjg on February 20, 2015, 07:24:49 PM
Don't think he needs you as a mouthpiece farrindeelin
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2015, 07:47:36 PM
Syf said the population of Ros was 72k in the 40s. What is it now? 50 k?
Did Mayo also have a fall off in population over the period?
Post by: muppet on February 20, 2015, 07:54:42 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 20, 2015, 04:53:53 PM

Yes of course, a friend who bets on anonymous posts on the internet, by me.  ;D

Tell your friend I have a bridge I want to sell him.
Post by: Syferus on February 20, 2015, 08:02:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 20, 2015, 07:47:36 PM
Syf said the population of Ros was 72k in the 40s. What is it now? 50 k?
Did Mayo also have a fall off in population over the period?

64k.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 21, 2015, 02:17:53 PM
Farrendeen biting and muppet coming back for more, this new fishing rod is great, by the way a club to play their football in roscommon was being formed some years ago but mayo took it to connacht council and got it stopped, Sligo voted with Ros, Leitrim voted with Mayo and Galway had the deciding votes and sided with Mayo, so a Roscommon mans right to play for the county of his birth was taken away by those great democrats in the connacht council boardroom at the behest of the Mayo lobby, I feel that at the time if a legal challenge was taken our case would have been upheld, everything that the gaa stands for is being denied here ie club county parish, and i would not deny any ballagh man his right to play for mayo of he so wishes, but if a ballagh man wants to play for the county of their birth then that right should also be upheld and if this was the case many of your county stars over the years would have chosen the primrose and blue, let the roaring begin.
Post by: maigheo on February 21, 2015, 03:03:47 PM
crawl back under your rock and stay there
Post by: muppet on February 21, 2015, 04:24:46 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 21, 2015, 02:17:53 PM
Farrendeen biting and muppet coming back for more, this new fishing rod is great, by the way a club to play their football in roscommon was being formed some years ago but mayo took it to connacht council and got it stopped, Sligo voted with Ros, Leitrim voted with Mayo and Galway had the deciding votes and sided with Mayo, so a Roscommon mans right to play for the county of his birth was taken away by those great democrats in the connacht council boardroom at the behest of the Mayo lobby, I feel that at the time if a legal challenge was taken our case would have been upheld, everything that the gaa stands for is being denied here ie club county parish, and i would not deny any ballagh man his right to play for mayo of he so wishes, but if a ballagh man wants to play for the county of their birth then that right should also be upheld and if this was the case many of your county stars over the years would have chosen the primrose and blue, let the roaring begin.

Yes everything the GAA stands for is about a landlord moving his town from one county to another to avoid paying tax? Your county council territory benefitted from a tax-exile, your GAA territory didn't. But you want to have your Cake and eat him. Your name actually suggests giving back to Mayo county council what was taken from their old territory. I would support you in that.

And I really wish you took that legal challenge. That would have been a good laugh.

You'll find that the courts generally allow organisations to follow their own procedures, unless they stray into territory such as human rights or the constitution etc.
Post by: larryin89 on February 21, 2015, 04:33:34 PM
"County stars over the years"

Noel Durkin ?

Kevin Cahill ?

John Morley ?

Andy moran ? ( albeit a Rossie as a gasun , I genuinely believe he would of opted for Mayo if there was a choice )

Others who represented Mayo over the years that I can think of , kilcullens ( Mayo men and good supporters too) . Pearce Hanley ? The drakes ? Keith Rodgers ?  John o Mahony , Mayo man from Magherboy Kilmovee originally . Christy  mcann , gerry Coleman etc all Mayo men through and through.

Of the last team that won the county apart from the Conway lads , I can't think of any Rossies . I don't know where this roscommon thing comes from but I do agree on choice and it would be very interesting to see as I believe if they were good enough to get a run with Mayo they wouldn't go within an asses roar of the Rossies.

Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 04:45:17 PM
Sean Kilbride was good enough for both.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 21, 2015, 05:04:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 21, 2015, 04:24:46 PM

Yes everything the GAA stands for is about a landlord moving his town from one county to another to avoid paying tax? Your county council territory benefitted from a tax-exile, your GAA territory didn't. But you want to have your Cake and eat him. Your name actually suggests giving back to Mayo county council what was taken from their old territory. I would support you in that.

And I really wish you took that legal challenge
. That would have been a good laugh.

You'll find that the courts generally allow organisations to follow their own procedures, unless they stray into territory such as human rights or the constitution etc.

But the sheepshaggers did try and mount a legal challenge mup, back in 1962.
They brought a case before the Connacht Council, seeking to have Ballagh transferred to their jurisdiction and the other four unanimously rejected it.
They were bad losers, as always, and huffed and puffed about bringing the matter to court but they let the matter drop because they had no case.
Crucially, the Ballagh club sided with Mayo, as it still does. The council decided that unless the club members decided to throw in their lot with Roscommon, (ie lower their standards) they were entitled to continue playing in Mayo. 

What this ladeen is harping about is quite another matter.
The woolly jumpers tried to have a junior club established in Ballagh parish and they were told, again by the Connacht Council, that one club, one parish was still the order of the day.
It was pointed out to them friggers once again that the club was entitled to play football with |Mayo unless and until a democratic vote of the club members decided otherwise.
Jaysus, there can't be a single forum in the Cosmos where the "We want Ballagh" brigade hasn't shown up, baaing and bleating about Ballagh not playing with them.
It's a bit embarrassing really having their muddy hoof prints all over the place.
Now, if they had a titter of sense between them, they'd realise that they'd be better off appealing to the members of that hallowed institution to throw in their lot with them rather that subjecting the rest of humanity to this senseless whining.
But they are afraid to approach the Ballagh club members because the know the answer they will get- the same they've been getting for six generations and will get for sixty more!

Maigheo Abú!
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 05:10:19 PM

And I really wish you took that legal challenge. That would have been a good laugh.

Forcing players to play county for the House of Pain when they're from their nearest neighbours is a human rights issue.

The Ballagh GAA club swallows up Roscommon sports grants. It only suits them to say they're Mayo when the money men aren't calling.
Post by: muppet on February 21, 2015, 05:20:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 05:10:19 PM

Forcing players to play county for the House of Pain when they're from their nearest neighbours is a human rights issue.

The Ballagh GAA club swallows up Roscommon sports grants. It only suits them to say they're Mayo when the money men aren't calling.

1) Try that one in court.

2) So it is all about money. Should have known.
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 05:26:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 21, 2015, 05:20:49 PM

It was never only about money.
Post by: muppet on February 21, 2015, 05:39:01 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 05:26:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 21, 2015, 05:20:49 PM

It was never only about money.

Ok then, it was and is somewhat about money.
Post by: ross4life on February 21, 2015, 06:33:11 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 21, 2015, 05:04:30 PM
They were bad losers, as always, and huffed and puffed

Sounds like you supporters & Mayo seniors 1989 to 2014.

For all your wins over us & Connacht titles won not to mention the pick & resources compared to us you still only have won one more senior All Ireland than us. No wonder you have to count sheep to sleep at night & can't get them off your mind during the day  :D
Post by: muppet on February 21, 2015, 06:38:32 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 21, 2015, 06:33:11 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 21, 2015, 05:04:30 PM
They were bad losers, as always, and huffed and puffed

Sounds like you supporters & Mayo seniors 1989 to 2014.

For all your wins over us & Connacht titles won not to mention the pick & resources compared to us you still only have won one more senior All Ireland than us. No wonder you have to count sheep to sleep at night & can't get them off your mind during the day  :D

Jealous?
Post by: Rossfan on February 21, 2015, 06:49:38 PM
Those bitter rhubarbs will never win Sam while they have Ballagh affiliated to them.
There is a Higher Power that looks after these things.
We all know God is a Rossie. ;) - from Croghan I believe.
Post by: ross4life on February 21, 2015, 06:54:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 21, 2015, 06:38:32 PM
Jealous?
Of what? Not condition anyone would want. Poor Lar has mind full of sheep they must be crawling up the wall like this baby in trainspotting.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GgeDh1WCyeM

Post by: giveballaghback on February 21, 2015, 07:02:12 PM
Like I said let the roaring begin,
most of the rhubarb replies have been total bs  and I cant understand why they get so excited every time the issue is mentioned, there is only one issue here and it is this,
that any one from ballagh that wants to declare for ros should be entitled to do so.
Thats not asking much but those great democrats from mayo wont allow this. Surely if ye allowed this no player in their right minds would declare for an inferior county like ros so what have ye to be afraid of?
Ye may ask how can this work but if there was agreement from mayo I am sure it could be accommodated.
Or are the Rossies in ballagh that important to ye.
Dont go raving and shouting other bs in yere answers just address the issue I have raised or are ye afraid to do so?
Post by: muppet on February 21, 2015, 07:17:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2015, 06:49:38 PM
Those bitter rhubarbs will never win Sam while they have Ballagh affiliated to them.
There is a Higher Power that looks after these things.
We all know God is a Rossie. ;) - from Croghan I believe.

Well the Holy Trinity play up front for ye.  ;D
Post by: Shrewdness on February 21, 2015, 10:18:57 PM
Why is that many of the Mayo posters have to pollute threads with anti- Roscommon bullshit.?. It's very disappointing
Post by: larryin89 on February 21, 2015, 10:26:09 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 21, 2015, 10:18:57 PM
Why is that many of the Mayo posters have to pollute threads with anti- Roscommon bullshit.?. It's very disappointing

Giveballaghback poster was the derailer who posted first with the Ballagh shite and of course your going to get a response.

It is getting boring now tbh. Look it's common knowledge Ye are fairly confident in taking connacht this year , hopefully we get a chance to play ye but we have a massive challange in Galway to contend with first .
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 21, 2015, 10:30:31 PM
To be fair to giveballaghback he has a point, about Rossies in Ballaghaderreen who can't play for Ros. I don't know how the issue will be resolved as they COULD play for Ros, but the club would be under the auspices of Mayo at administration level. They would have to forego one or the other if Ballagh and Ros games clashed. Which brings us back to the vote taken at Conn Council level back before my time I do believe...
Post by: muppet on February 21, 2015, 10:34:48 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 21, 2015, 10:18:57 PM

Why don't you call out the handful of idiots from Ros doing this, and we should do the same.

I'll start with 'Put up that flag'.

Have a look at all of his 38 posts so far: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=12009 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=12009)

Obsession doesn't even begin to describe it.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 21, 2015, 11:00:31 PM

God between us and small farms but ye are at it again! ;D ;D
Of course there is a human rights issue here; ye shower don't grasp the concept of democracy, do ye?
Ballagh GAA club doesn't want to play with you, plain and simple. Never did and never will. Ye have had six generations to try and persuade them to abandon their birthright and lower their standards and it's got you nowhere.
You know and I know that it's up to the club members to decide where Ballagh plays its football and that's their democratic right.
Now you want the County Council to intervene on your behalf and withhold their lawful grants unless they knuckle under and submit to tyranny of the lowest order. What about the GAA being above politics and all that crap?
If I were you, I'd be embarrassed to admit I was from Roscommon, never mind annoying your long-suffering, tolerant neighbours, bleating for something you never had and never will.
Post by: Rossfan on February 21, 2015, 11:13:32 PM
If ye want to win Sam ye will disaffiliate the Ballagh backwardness club.
Simple as that.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2015, 12:15:38 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 21, 2015, 10:30:31 PM
To be fair to giveballaghback he has a point, about Rossies in Ballaghaderreen who can't play for Ros. I don't know how the issue will be resolved as they COULD play for Ros, but the club would be under the auspices of Mayo at administration level. They would have to forego one or the other if Ballagh and Ros games clashed. Which brings us back to the vote taken at Conn Council level back before my time I do believe...

Now, now Farr, keep the faith and resist the blandishments of the heathens. ;D
Those in Ballaghadereen who wish to transfer the club to Roscommon,  know damn well what has to be done. Let them shut up, join up and see if they can raise a majority.
Can players in Knockmore transfer to Ballina or Crossmolina if they don't like something or other in your club?
It's exactly the same situation here as civil administration units (counties) don't come into it. It just generally works out that way but parish boundaries take precedence over county ones if anomalies exist.
These buckeens who keep blabbering away here just don't get it. The club had democratically decided to remain with Mayo over six generations ago and that's their entitlement as a change of boundary doesn't force them to automatically follow suit. The GAA prides itself on remaining aloof from politics and won't interfere, nor should it.
Post by: weareros on February 22, 2015, 02:53:14 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2015, 12:15:38 AM

Those in Ballaghadereen who wish to transfer the club to Roscommon,  know damn well what has to be done. Let them shut up, join up and see if they can raise a majority.
Can players in Knockmore transfer to Ballina or Crossmolina if they don't like something or other in your club?
It's exactly the same situation here as civil administration units (counties) don't come into it. It just generally works out that way but parish boundaries take precedence over county ones if anomalies exist.
These buckeens who keep blabbering away here just don't get it. The club had democratically decided to remain with Mayo over six generations ago and that's their entitlement as a change of boundary doesn't force them to automatically follow suit. The GAA prides itself on remaining aloof from politics and won't interfere, nor should it.

First of all Roscommon people in Ballaghaderreen do not want to transfer the club to Roscommon. That has never been the issue and is just used like you have done to muddy the waters. Let the club stay in Mayo until the end of time. It's a Mayo club, always was and always will be. What you have posted is utter rubbish. We are Roscommon men and women because we are Ballagh. We should not  have to become Frenchpark men or Castlerea men or Loughglynn men to represent our county, when we already live in Roscommon. There's nothing more insulting than outsiders telling us to transfer to another club in Roscommon, never having to live through that situation themselves. Ballagh is our hometown and it's as a Ballaghman that I support Ros.

Post by: macdanger2 on February 22, 2015, 10:56:24 AM

Good man Lar, you have the patience of a saint dealing with these luders
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 22, 2015, 11:16:58 AM
Ballaghaderreen, it's a fine town since the bypass!  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2015, 12:58:50 PM
And will be better when the GAA club sheds its evil backwardness.
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2015, 01:11:42 PM
Their best manager in 40 years was a Strokestown man so they are making some progress.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2015, 01:34:20 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 22, 2015, 10:56:24 AM

Good man Lar, you have the patience of a saint dealing with these luders
Ya know what?
'Twas often said about me in my teaching days that I never came across anything on two legs or four that was so thick that I couldn't them/him/her/it something.
I was proud of my reputation but I'm feeling the pressure right now.
It could be that I've met my match! :(
Post by: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 04:57:22 PM
Are you trying to let on you are educated lar napark or are you enda in disguise?
Post by: muppet on February 22, 2015, 05:55:51 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 04:57:22 PM
Are you trying to let on you are educated lar napark or are you enda in disguise?

Yes he is Enda in disguise. Well done. In fact Enda is every single Mayo poster here.

Except for Farr. He is Michael Ring.  ;D

Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2015, 06:15:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 22, 2015, 05:55:51 PM

Yes he is Enda in disguise. Well done. In fact Enda is every single Mayo poster here.

Lies. Michael Ring would be much more positive than Farr.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 06:53:28 PM
A teacher with a muppet as a spokesman, only in Mayo.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 07:34:36 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 06:53:28 PM

As you well know there are a lot of things only in Mayo. Ballaghdereen being one of those things!  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2015, 07:52:39 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 07:34:36 PM

As you well know there are a lot of things only in Mayo. Ballaghdereen being one of those things!  ;)

Are there 2 Ballagh? Only one I'm aware of is Ballaghadereen Co Roscommon
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 22, 2015, 07:53:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 22, 2015, 06:15:20 PM

Lies. Michael Ring would be much more positive than Farr.

Post by: muppet on February 22, 2015, 08:14:31 PM

giveballaghback to Mayo.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 08:17:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 22, 2015, 07:52:39 PM

There is a Ballagh in Limerick alright. But Ballaghdereen is in Mayo!
Post by: neilthemac on February 22, 2015, 08:27:36 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 08:17:16 PM

Different maps in schools down in Mayo so
Post by: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 08:39:17 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on February 22, 2015, 08:27:36 PM

Don't go heeding them Maps, it's what's in the soul not on paper!
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2015, 08:42:44 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 08:39:17 PM

Leave Andy out of this. He has served ye well for a lad with a Rossie heart.
Post by: larryin89 on February 22, 2015, 08:49:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 22, 2015, 08:42:44 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 08:39:17 PM

Leave Andy out of this. He has served ye well for a lad with a Rossie heart.
He can't stand the sight of ye.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 22, 2015, 09:12:33 PM
Some of my fellow Rossies on here may also have noticed that the 'Mayo Sympathisers( and that's all they are) around Ballagh are even more bitter towards Roscommon Gaa than real Mayo Gaa supporters... It's remarkable to see people from one county turn against their own and support a neighbouring county... I know of an old man from just outside Ballagh who firmly believes that it's Ballagh Gaa's refusal to play in their own county that has jinxed Mayo in their long wait to win Sam. He takes great pride in reciting that fact every year.
Post by: seafoid on February 22, 2015, 09:14:59 PM

Re the Ballagh situation - If the Rossies don't like it then they should have put Ring on it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4m1EFMoRFvY
but it's a bit of a joke at this stage

1898 - the Brits are responsible

Post by: weareros on February 22, 2015, 09:37:54 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 22, 2015, 09:14:59 PM

Re the Ballagh situation - If the Rossies don't like it then they should have put Ring on it

The Brits had damn all to do with it. Nationalist politician, John Dillon made the decision because of lower water rates. His son James Dillon went on to lead Fine Gael and continued to sign any correspondence as Ballaghaderreen, Co, Mayo. Mayo Blueshirts caused it all. But the Brits did create the county boundaries and as I've said, they gave Galway and Mayo a tremendous advantage over the other three counties, as ye both have more than twice the population of us. At least Galway have made some fist of winning All-Irelands. Mayo on the other hand - even picking from the second largest town in Roscommon and they still can't win shite.

Post by: Farrandeelin on February 22, 2015, 09:44:34 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 22, 2015, 09:12:33 PM
Some of my fellow Rossies on here may also have noticed that the 'Mayo Sympathisers( and that's all they are) around Ballagh are even more bitter towards Roscommon Gaa than real Mayo Gaa supporters... It's remarkable to see people from one county turn against their own and support a neighbouring county... I know of an old man from just outside Ballagh who firmly believes that it's Ballagh Gaa's refusal to play in their own county that has jinxed Mayo in their long wait to win Sam. He takes great pride in reciting that fact every year.

Is that old man Rossfan?
Post by: muppet on February 22, 2015, 09:50:01 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 22, 2015, 09:37:54 PM

The Brits had damn all to do with it. Nationalist politician, John Dillon made the decision because of lower water rates. His son James Dillon went on to lead Fine Gael and continued to sign any correspondence as Ballaghaderreen, Co, Mayo. Mayo Blueshirts caused it all. But the Brits did create the county boundaries and as I've said, they gave Galway and Mayo a tremendous advantage over the other three counties, as ye both have more than twice the population of us. At least Galway have made some fist of winning All-Irelands. Mayo on the other hand - even picking from the second largest town in Roscommon and they still can't win shite.

History can be tough, really tough.

The best way for you to channel your exertions would be to focus on building a time machine to go back and fix everything. You might even make a quid or two out of your time machine, if you put your mind to it.

But please let us know how you get on.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2015, 10:37:53 PM

Ah, feck it anyway!
There goes my resolution to accept the inevitable and give up trying to drum anything into anyone in your God-forsaken land. It lasted all of ten minutes btw.
You say the Brits had nothing to do with it, whatever "it" is.
Then you go on to say that "the Brits did create the county boundaries and as I've said, they gave Galway and Mayo a tremendous advantage over the other three counties,..."
Apart from the fact that you said nothing of the sort, how do you reconcile both statements?
Was it Johneen Dillon the bastard, or was it the Brits who grabbed a large stretch of our county and landed the poor inhabitants in with your shower?
So the implication seems to be that getting rid of Ballagh gives us a tremendous advantage over the other three counties.
You can't be seriously expect the good people there to want to have anything to do with you after that.
I mean ye have had 118 years to try and persuade the people of Ballagh to play ball with you and they are not for turning.
With an attitude like yours, can anyone blame  them?
Post by: weareros on February 23, 2015, 01:15:22 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2015, 10:37:53 PM

Ah, feck it anyway!
There goes my resolution to accept the inevitable and give up trying to drum anything into anyone in your God-forsaken land. It lasted all of ten minutes btw.
Then you go on to say that "the Brits did create the county boundaries and as I've said, they gave Galway and Mayo a tremendous advantage over the other three counties,..."
Apart from the fact that you said nothing of the sort, how do you reconcile both statements?
Was it Johneen Dillon the b**tard, or was it the Brits who grabbed a large stretch of our county and landed the poor inhabitants in with your shower?
So the implication seems to be that getting rid of Ballagh gives us a tremendous advantage over the other three counties.
You can't be seriously expect the good people there to want to have anything to do with you after that.
I mean ye have had 118 years to try and persuade the people of Ballagh to play ball with you and they are not for turning.

You are confusing two different points - the creation of the county system, and changes to county boundaries that were made over time. For someone who's had high praise for himself as an educator, you don't seem to understand that Irish county boundaries are arbitrary demarcations on a map. They are replicas of the English county/shire system and so our current county system has its origins in the Normans and the Tudors, with various modifications along the way. My point is that it was a Mayoman and a nationalist Mayoman at that who was primarily responsible for the transfer of Ballaghaderreen to Co. Roscommon. I was of course pointing out that when Norman and British administrators adopted their county system to Ireland, they gave yourselves and Galway the biggest slices of the Connacht pie. Go back in history and Roscommon had a bigger slice. One can stand for example in the lovely village of Cong and have one foot in Galway and one foot in Mayo - it's just a man made division. There's some natural boundaries. The Shannon is one such natural boundary. That said, if you cross the Shannon and go to the Roscommon side of Athlone, you are still not in Roscommon but in Westmeath. Again, that's a man-made decision and a foolish one at that, because even the dogs in the street know when you cross the Shannon you are in a totally different land. At the end of the day, Ballaghaderreen is in Roscommon because such boundaries are man-made and when it was in Mayo it was equally because of a man-made line on a map - and you can be sure that boundary was not created by a Fior-Ghael but some British administrator who couldn't wait to get the fu(k out of Connacht after he set up a few administrative units. Mayo and Roscommon were not created by some absolute God but by invader. But in the event the counties are God's fault, byjaysus didn't he give us poor Rossies an awful shower of neighbours.

Post by: Lar Naparka on February 23, 2015, 11:44:43 AM
Quote from: weareros on February 23, 2015, 01:15:22 AM

Ah, feck it anyway!
Was it Johneen Dillon the b**tard, or was it the Brits who grabbed a large stretch of our county and landed the poor inhabitants in with your shower?

You are confusing two different points - the creation of the county system, and changes to county boundaries that were made over time. For someone who's had high praise for himself as an educator, you don't seem to understand that Irish county boundaries are arbitrary demarcations on a map. They are replicas of the English county/shire system and so our current county system has its origins in the Normans and the Tudors, with various modifications along the way. My point is that it was a Mayoman and a nationalist Mayoman at that who was primarily responsible for the transfer of Ballaghaderreen to Co. Roscommon. I was of course pointing out that when Norman and British administrators adopted their county system to Ireland, they gave yourselves and Galway the biggest slices of the Connacht pie. Go back in history and Roscommon had a bigger slice. One can stand for example in the lovely village of Cong and have one foot in Galway and one foot in Mayo - it's just a man made division. There's some natural boundaries. The Shannon is one such natural boundary. That said, if you cross the Shannon and go to the Roscommon side of Athlone, you are still not in Roscommon but in Westmeath. Again, that's a man-made decision and a foolish one at that, because even the dogs in the street know when you cross the Shannon you are in a totally different land. At the end of the day, Ballaghaderreen is in Roscommon because such boundaries are man-made and when it was in Mayo it was equally because of a man-made line on a map - and you can be sure that boundary was not created by a Fior-Ghael but some British administrator who couldn't wait to get the fu(k out of Connacht after he set up a few administrative units. Mayo and Roscommon were not created by some absolute God but by invader. But in the event the counties are God's fault, byjaysus didn't he give us poor Rossies an awful shower of neighbours.
Now you have me well and truly confused as you have gone to great lengths to emphasise a point I've been attempting to make all along.
I think it's fair to say that I accept that county boundaries are political constructs and have no legal standing in GAA circles.
Without going back to the Composition of Connaught or the Grand Jury and Poor Law Union systems and all that, I think it's fair to say that the redrawing of the Mayo/Roscommon boundary did not alter the status of the Ballagh club in any way.
Ballagh affiliated with the Mayo County Board and the subsequent re-jigging of county boundary lines did not and does not the club's right to continue its association with Mayo.
To date, you appear to be the only Rossie, on this board anyway, who grasps this, even if you don't fully accept that fact.
You seem to favour the setting up of another club in the same parish which would affiliate with Roscommon. Therefore, your motives are political, pure and simple.
Is the GAA above politics or are politics above the GAA?
There are democratic procedures open to you and other Rossies in the parish without having to throw your rattles out of your prams when you don't get your own way.
Why not join the club instead of harping about it?
If it's a case of one member one vote, your "side" should be able to gain control of the club in a remarkably short period of time.
As a matter of interest, are you a registered member of the Ballagh club and if not, why not?
Is it not open to you and all other Rossie supporters in Ballagh to work within the structures of the GAA to seek to bring about change?
Seriously, if I were a GAA man in Roscommon, I'd be too embarrassed to publicise the fact that the members of Ballagh prefer to play their football in another county and this has been the case for the last 118 (or so) years.
Doesn't say much about your bleddy bus and all that goes with it, does it? ;D
Post by: Rossfan on February 23, 2015, 12:31:25 PM
No need for big long posts - Ballagh is in Co Roscommon. Its GAA club opts to remain in the 19th century backwardness.
No Rossie wishes to be associated with that.
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 12:33:53 PM

the blueshirts weren't around in 1898.
the Brits were in charge

Anyway what difference would it make having Ballagh in Ros ? why don't ye claim the other side of Athlone and
get more bang for your whining buck ?
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 23, 2015, 01:24:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 23, 2015, 12:31:25 PM
No need for big long posts - Ballagh is in Co Roscommon. Its GAA club opts to remain in the 19th century backwardness.
No Rossie wishes to be associated with that.

Good man Ross. Your'e a man of few (sensible) words and you got it right this time.
There really is no point going back to fight the Land War one more time.
I don't give a damn about Johneen Dillon (or about Ballaghadereen either.)
It may be a dump but it's our dump until the natives decide otherwise. That's democracy for you.

BTW, what sucks about Roscommon football?
If Mayo is so backward, how come the Ballagh Gaels are still giving ye the two fingers after 118 years of entreaties, threats and general micking about. People in glasshouses shouldn't throw stones and all that.
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 02:02:20 PM
Is Boyle nicer than Ballagh ?
Post by: mjg on February 23, 2015, 03:20:44 PM
Seafoid climb down of the backs of the mayo men an stand on your feet like a good lad.Dont be embarassing galway people
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2015, 04:48:42 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 23, 2015, 01:15:22 AM

Ah, feck it anyway!

So when you cross a bridge in Limerick are you in Clare?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 23, 2015, 04:53:37 PM
Technically no, but actually yes. There's ongoing war over that, but it's not as passionate as the 1,0000 years war over Ballagh. Most Clare people would tell you, for example, that Thomond Park and the Gaelic Grounds are in Clare.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2015, 05:20:58 PM
Most Clare people are mad.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 23, 2015, 05:29:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2015, 05:20:58 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

While we're at it, what about the Athlone situation?
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:30:25 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on February 23, 2015, 05:29:15 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

Jesus are the Rozis going to start warring on two fronts?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 23, 2015, 05:34:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:30:25 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

??
I think you have me confused with someone else
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:37:05 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on February 23, 2015, 05:34:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:30:25 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

??
I think you have me confused with someone else

I thought you were a man throwing out some tasty looking bait?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2015, 05:43:05 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

We'll take the Hudson and Monksland while they're building up their troops around Ballagh.
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:45:01 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2015, 05:43:05 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

We'll take the Hudson and Monksland while they're building up their troops around Ballagh.

We will just wait until the damp temperate summer over-stretches their resources.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2015, 05:49:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:45:01 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

We will just wait until the damp temperate summer over-stretches their resources.

Drive them into the Shannon or Connemara?
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:57:06 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2015, 05:49:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 23, 2015, 05:45:01 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

Drive them into the Shannon or Connemara?

The Connemara lads wouldn't be too happy.

Wicklow might take them in. They have a lot in common.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 23, 2015, 06:56:51 PM
Lar na parke, your argument and position on the ballagh situation is identical to the position and arguements the unionist majority in the six counties have used for generations to hold on to power, ye are in good company.
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 07:13:15 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 23, 2015, 06:56:51 PM
Lar na parke, your argument and position on the ballagh situation is identical to the position and arguements the unionist majority in the six counties have used for generations to hold on to power, ye are in good company.

Really?

Did Mayo somehow transplant Rossies off their land and move them to another part of the country against their will? Did they deny Rossies the right to own land, to practice a religion or to have an education? Did they deny them the right to record their own births, marriages and deaths?

Actually I take one of those back, you were very obviously denied an education.
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 07:38:17 PM
Pot, kettle, black.

the Ros side of Athlone is a kip
That is the reality of the situation
Post by: giveballaghback on February 23, 2015, 08:53:06 PM
lar naparkas muppet spokesman bites sorry strikes again, yere gonna run out of insults if ye are not careful, gives a whole new meaning to mayoforsam. Keep it flying there lads but watch the blood pressure,
as I said let the roaring begin.
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 09:05:49 PM
Is there nothing else to connacht only moaning about Ballagh
FFS.

This is more like it :

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/f128ee6c-1daf-11e4-8f0c-00144feabdc0.html
Philip Stephens, FT chief political commentator

Dry-stone walled, rough-thatched, and cutting a swath through the bracken and gorse, my new home glances down at the narrow Pollagh river as it meanders towards the Moy and gazes up through the mist towards the peak of Sliabh Cairn. County Mayo in the west of Ireland is a place of desolate beauty, of peat bogs, mountains, fog and, yes, rain. Tourists head for the prettified Atlantic coast and stare at the expensive yachts in Westport harbour. Those in the know enjoy rural Mayo as nature intended.

My imagined house sits on the edge of Kiltimagh (Coillte Mach), the place of my mother's birth and where, as a child, I spent countless glorious summers. In the eyes of Dublin sophisticates, this makes me a "Culchie" (Coillte). Kiltimagh gave Ireland the disparaging term for someone struggling to comb the hay from his hair. I have been called worse.
The house is vast, a permanent retreat for the scattered diaspora of Martins and Costellos. In the stone-floored sitting room stands a peat-burning range, its blackened pots simmering with boiled ham and starchy potatoes. There are occasional touches of luxury: the bathrooms are inside and there is central heating upstairs.
The house, of course, would not cost £1m. Nothing like it. But I would use the change to buy and reinstate the town's Savoy cinema: a place of fond memories
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 09:31:34 PM
A tour in Connaught (sic) by Caesar Otway (http://books.google.ie/books?id=nH8HAAAAQAAJ&pg=PA364&lpg=PA364&dq='Have+nothing+to+do+with+these+heretics%E2%80%94curse+them,+hoot+at+them,+spit+in+their+faces%E2%80%94cut+the+sign+of+the+cross+in+the+air+when+you+meet+them,+as+you+would+against+devils%E2%80%94throw+stones+at+them%E2%80%94pitch+them,+when+you+have+opportunity,+into+the+bog+holes%E2%80%94nay+more+than+that,+do+injury+to+yourselves+in+order+to+injure+them%E2%80%94don't+work+for+them,+though+they+pay+in+ready+money%E2%80%94nay,+don't+take+any+medicine+from+their+heretic+doctor+%5BNeason+Adams%5D,+rather+die+first'&source=bl&ots=6rw9NjtyRD&sig=27Wmy8fTLlsgkYNPfBDPZKZ-qag&hl=en&sa=X&ei=vU2GU4_WJaqw7Qaf3YDgBQ&ved=0CDwQ6AEwAg#v=onepage&q='Have%20nothing%20to%20do%20with%20these%20heretics%E2%80%94curse%20them%2C%20hoot%20at%20them%2C%20spit%20in%20their%20faces%E2%80%94cut%20the%20sign%20of%20the%20cross%20in%20the%20air%20when%20you%20meet%20them%2C%20as%20you%20would%20against%20devils%E2%80%94throw%20stones%20at%20them%E2%80%94pitch%20them%2C%20when%20you%20have%20opportunity%2C%20into%20the%20bog%20holes%E2%80%94nay%20more%20than%20that%2C%20do%20injury%20to%20yourselves%20in%20order%20to%20injure%20them%E2%80%94don't%20work%20for%20them%2C%20though%20they%20pay%20in%20ready%20money%E2%80%94nay%2C%20don't%20take%20any%20medicine%20from%20their%20heretic%20doctor%20%5BNeason%20Adams%5D%2C%20rather%20die%20first'&f=false)
Post by: weareros on February 24, 2015, 02:09:14 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 23, 2015, 11:44:43 AM
Now you have me well and truly confused as you have gone to great lengths to emphasise a point I've been attempting to make all along.
I think it's fair to say that I accept that county boundaries are political constructs and have no legal standing in GAA circles.
Without going back to the Composition of Connaught or the Grand Jury and Poor Law Union systems and all that, I think it's fair to say that the redrawing of the Mayo/Roscommon boundary did not alter the status of the Ballagh club in any way.
Ballagh affiliated with the Mayo County Board and the subsequent re-jigging of county boundary lines did not and does not the club's right to continue its association with Mayo.
To date, you appear to be the only Rossie, on this board anyway, who grasps this, even if you don't fully accept that fact.
You seem to favour the setting up of another club in the same parish which would affiliate with Roscommon. Therefore, your motives are political, pure and simple.
There are democratic procedures open to you and other Rossies in the parish without having to throw your rattles out of your prams when you don't get your own way.
If it's a case of one member one vote, your "side" should be able to gain control of the club in a remarkably short period of time.
As a matter of interest, are you a registered member of the Ballagh club and if not, why not?
Is it not open to you and all other Rossie supporters in Ballagh to work within the structures of the GAA to seek to bring about change?
Seriously, if I were a GAA man in Roscommon, I'd be too embarrassed to publicise the fact that the members of Ballagh prefer to play their football in another county and this has been the case for the last 118 (or so) years.

The only thing I advocate is for Roscommon people living in Ballaghaderreen to have the right to represent their native county, without having to transfer to another part of Roscommon (as Sean Kilbride had to do). I would not call that politics, I would call that a normal state of affairs for most GAA footballers in the land and I think one could only truly understand that if they lived in a county, their own beloved county, supported that county through thick and thin, only to be told by a callous provincial council that if you live in that part of your county, then you can only represent your neighbor and your most bitterest rival on the GAA field. I would say if most people on this board were given that choice and that choice only, then I'd say their provincial council would have damned them to a life of GAA hell.

I also would not ever wish for the current club to be forced to play in Roscommon and I would want Ballagh people who support Mayo (about 50% of the parish) to forever retain their right to maintain this tradition and represent Mayo (de hoors!). My football days are long over but I did play with the Ballaghaderreen GAA club and have many happy memories, but such were my football skills that neither Mayo nor Roscommon wanted me, although I did if truth be told get invited to a Mayo minor trial but was too busy chasing the girls back in those days. Thankfully I was a feckless youth and therefore my primrose and blue purity was never stained.

That's my final say on the matter. The title of the thread is Connacht and whatever about our disagreements about GAA, there's no finer province in Ireland for beauty, storytelling and the character of the people.

Post by: larryin89 on February 24, 2015, 05:51:56 AM
Quote from: weareros on February 24, 2015, 02:09:14 AM

The only thing I advocate is for Roscommon people living in Ballaghaderreen to have the right to represent their native county, without having to transfer to another part of Roscommon (as Sean Kilbride had to do). I would not call that politics, I would call that a normal state of affairs for most GAA footballers in the land and I think one could only truly understand that if they lived in a county, their own beloved county, supported that county through thick and thin, only to be told by a callous provincial council that if you live in that part of your county, then you can only represent your neighbor and your most bitterest rival on the GAA field. I would say if most people on this board were given that choice and that choice only, then I'd say their provincial council would have damned them to a life of GAA hell.

I also would not ever wish for the current club to be forced to play in Roscommon and I would want Ballagh people who support Mayo (about 50% of the parish) to forever retain their right to maintain this tradition and represent Mayo (de hoors!). My football days are long over but I did play with the Ballaghaderreen GAA club and have many happy memories, but such were my football skills that neither Mayo nor Roscommon wanted me, although I did if truth be told get invited to a Mayo minor trial but was too busy chasing the girls back in those days. Thankfully I was a feckless youth and therefore my primrose and blue purity was never stained.

That's my final say on the matter. The title of the thread is Connacht and whatever about our disagreements about GAA, there's no finer province in Ireland for beauty, storytelling and the character of the people.

Not a lot wrong with that post , choice of county in this situation should be allowed.
Post by: twohands!!! on February 24, 2015, 08:51:02 AM
hell is looking more attractive with every posting  ;D
Post by: muppet on February 24, 2015, 09:53:43 AM
Has any current Ballaghderreen player formally requested to play for Ros?
Post by: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 09:56:18 AM
They can't play for Ros so no point asking. Who would they ask anyway?
Post by: muppet on February 24, 2015, 10:10:22 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 09:56:18 AM
They can't play for Ros so no point asking. Who would they ask anyway?

If I want something I am inclined to start by asking for it.

I could go on the internet, find an anonymous forum and bitch about it for 20 years. That might work too.

But I find the former works better.
Post by: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 11:35:17 AM
Unless the rules of the GAA change - they are not eligible to play for Ros.
Post by: muppet on February 24, 2015, 12:50:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 11:35:17 AM
Unless the rules of the GAA change - they are not eligible to play for Ros.

So what are you constantly whinging about it here for?
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 24, 2015, 01:42:32 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 24, 2015, 02:09:14 AM

That is indeed a fine post and I can understand your feelings. In all seriousness, I would  feel the same if our positions were reversed.
However, you are one of the very few Rossies on this board who has been able to come up with a sensible post on the subject.
I can't speak for every Mayo poster here or for anyone from other counties either but I think it's obvious there's very little sympathy for the Rossie's cause.
The reason shouldn't be hard to find.
It's been one hundred and umpteen years ago since the county boundaries were changed.
The people of Ballagh today are Rossies in every sense of the word, bar one.
A majority of the GAA club members opt to maintain the link with Mayo.
What is the reason for this when, in all other respects, they are as proud of their native county as anyone from Tulsk or Frenchpark or any other part of Roscommon?

So there's primrose and blue all around them but fifth or sixth generation Roscommon folk follow in the footsteps of their great great grandfathers and choose to follow the green and red.

I'm being totally serious when I say there must be something singularly unappealing about Roscommon football when the Ballagh club won't play ball with their neighbours.
I would imagine that sensible Ross fans would play down the fact that their are unable to persuade the club in the second largest town in the county to join up with them.

I was far too young at the time to understand the details of the Connacht Council's decision in 1962 but it made provision for the switch over if a club majority (think it was two thirds majority) voted for it.
Mayo are not holding on to Ballagh in any sense of the word and I know the vast majority of Mayo folk agree with me. Ballagh club opts to play in Mayo, as they are entitled to, and we are very happy to have them.
This cuts both ways.
Gortaganny was also part of Mayo but, AFAIK, nobody objected to the Earleys playing with Roscommon. There was no affiliated Mayo club in the vicinity when the boundary changed and Mayo claimed no hold on those men or anybody else in a similar situation.
Maybe if you were to read what some of your fellow Rossies post here, you'd understand why I and many others treat what they have to say with derision.
Some want us to give Ballagh back. Back where? How can you give back something you never took in the first place?
Others want Roscommon County Council to withhold sports funds unless Ballagh changes affiliations.
Others just whine about nothing in particular. Why bitch about Mayo football in general when your gripe is with the members of the Ballagh club? Most of what gets plastered up here wouldn't entice anyone to join up with you.
You say the Ballagh club will always  maintain the link with Mayo and I can't get my head around that. Why are you so certain about this?
I accept that the present set up is hard on you and on others who think the same as you but setting up another club in a small rural parish wouldn't do much good for either side. Given the extent of rural depopulation in the region, it could banjax both clubs.
IMO, this is an internal Rossie issue and it's a matter for both factions to resolve.   
In the meantime, as long as rosquitos keep buzzing around the place, I'll keep swatting at them.
Post by: Syferus on February 24, 2015, 03:10:42 PM
Ballagh isn't the second largest town in Roscommon. It would be the fourth or fifth largest depending on how you judge the Roscommon part of Athlone. Players should allowed to choose who they can play for. Not much more to it than that.

If the club also would only take funding from the county they think they're apart of instead of the one they're actually in - it's funny how morals change when the wheels need greasing - then most Ballagh people wouldn't mind them going off to Wesport and Ballina for some football on the bogs of Mayo at the weekend. They seem well able for the Mayo teams despite being lowly Roscommon men.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 24, 2015, 04:26:13 PM
At this stage, the rights and wrongs of where Ballagh play their football has been well debated to say the least. The whole thing got me thinking about it from a different angle. So, hypothetically speaking, imagine the following scenario.. Ballagh Gaa decide to play in Roscommon.. This suddenly makes the entire Ballaghaderreen Senior Panel available to John Evans for the Roscommon Senior Panel.. Apart from a fit Andy Moran, who else from Ballagh would interest John Evans??
Post by: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 04:27:58 PM
Few if any.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 24, 2015, 04:38:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 24, 2015, 03:10:42 PM
Ballagh isn't the second largest town in Roscommon. It would be the fourth or fifth largest depending on how you judge the Roscommon part of Athlone. Players should allowed to choose who they can play for. Not much more to it than that.

If the club also would only take funding from the county they think they're apart of instead of the one they're actually in - it's funny how morals change when the wheels need greasing - then most Ballagh people wouldn't mind them going off to Wesport and Ballina for some football on the bogs of Mayo at the weekend. They seem well able for the Mayo teams despite being lowly Roscommon men.
Ah now , Syf, there's no need to dump yer rattle outa the pram. ;D
I didn't think Ballagh is the second largest town in Roscommon either but that's what weareros said and who am I to disagree with a native of the place?
I don't understand either why Roscommon natives cannot opt to play for their county but I also don't understand why you, and the other usual suspects keep bringing up your gripes on this board. It's an internal matter and there are democratic procedures than can be used to resolve any problem there may be.
No rosquito has stopped  buzzing about the place long enough to explain why fifth or even sixth generation Rossies refuse to play for their county.
You really can't expect much sympathy from Mayo posters, or from the rest of humanity for that matter, as long as ye keep moaning about yer hard luck.
I wouldn't lay all the blame on the Connacht Council either. I'd look a bit closer home if I were you.
If it was acting in breach of GAA rules and regulations back in '62,   the Roscommon CC would have taken it to court,
This was threatened but it didn't happen.
In '84 (I think) the Ross CC applied to let a junior club be set up in the parish but again the appeal was turned down.
You lads here gripe about Galway and Leitrim doing the dirt and siding with Mayo while your staunch ally, Sligo, did the right thing. Maybe the fact that Roscommon and Sligo were having talks at the time about Sligo moving their championship games to the Hyde might have something to do with it. (I think it was because of structural alterations to Marky Park but I'm not 100% sure.)

While I do feel your pain, it's mainly in me arse, I'm afraid.
Lookit Syf, as JH would put it, there no point moaning about Mayo hijacking Ballagh when you can't muster a majority of members in the club even though you have had 118 years to do it.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 24, 2015, 04:55:02 PM
Lar Naparka, we're not looking for sympathy from Mayo posters, because sympathy from Mayo is a currency of no value in Roscommon. As for you saying you have a pain in your arse, i'm not surprised, because that's where all your posts on this thread seem to have emanated from. Most of what you wrote was condescending bullshit against Roscommon people.
Post by: Syferus on February 24, 2015, 04:57:35 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 04:27:58 PM
Few if any.

Both Hanleys would have had they been a little less suited to the Aussie rules. Shehroz Akram is a very talented young lad and minor again this year. I can see him being a future Mayo senior if all goes well. Keith Rodgers is a good young corner-back too and would at least be someone to add depth at a position where we take a sharp intake of breath when one of the three starters picks up a knock.

Ballagh have the nucleus of a very good young team if they are managed correctly in the coming years. They'd have been able to contribute as much to the county team as the likes of Boyle and Ros Gaels have to our underage teams, after that it's about having the desire to put in the hours to be a senior IC footballer. The irony is Ballagh's team now reflects that of many other Roscommon clubs and even the county team itself.
Post by: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 05:13:43 PM
Rogers has been cut from the Mayowestros panel.
Post by: Syferus on February 24, 2015, 05:52:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 05:13:43 PM
Rogers has been cut from the Mayowestros panel.

Aye, and never got a proper run out. I'd safely say he's a better player than Kevin Keane and he got reems of time in recent years with Mayo. Different teams have different needs.

If we had both Hanleys and Moran alone it would be some contribution by one club to any county team at one time. The reality is there's plenty of passion and talent we're missing out on.
Post by: Rossfan on February 24, 2015, 06:36:26 PM
Sod them . Let the hoors continue to wallow in ignorance. We can get on grand without them.
And will you please ignore them Syf.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 24, 2015, 07:06:08 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 24, 2015, 04:55:02 PM
Lar Naparka, we're not looking for sympathy from Mayo posters, because sympathy from Mayo is a currency of no value in Roscommon. As for you saying you have a pain in your arse, i'm not surprised, because that's where all your posts on this thread seem to have emanated from. Most of what you wrote was condescending bullshit against Roscommon people.

You seem to be one thoroughly decent individual and I've no doubts about your sincerity but I see you are unused to the cut and thrust as well as the reciprocal insults that fly about on an anonymous internet forum.

Maybe you take things too much to heart but maybe also you should read what I have actually written rather than feeling insulted before you've reached the end of my first sentence.
You seem to be totally unaware of the fact that a number of Roscommon posters intervene on every thread with a Mayo interest to moan about Ballagh playing with Mayo.
Doesn't matter what the thread topic is, the whine is the same.
Mayo does not force Ballagh to play in Mayo's competitions. That's a matter of free will. We are certainly happy to have them and would be sorry to see the club depart but that's as far as it goes.

I have gone to very detailed lengths to explain my points of view but you and other Rossies are quick to say it's rubbish. Do you mind pointing out anything I wrote that is factually incorrect?
I also think weareros is a sincere man and I can certainly understand his angst but there's nothing I or any other Mayo poster can do about it.
Now people read what they want to see and there's little point in going back over the same old points ad nauseam.
But maybe, just maybe, you might give me a straight answer to a simple question I have asked several times already. Each time all I get back is childish insults and general waffling.
Why is it that people who are Rosssies through and through refuse to play with their own county and want to play with their neighbours instead?
As an addendum, would you consider that the row is between the Ross CC and the club's members?
It's an internal row and blaming your neighbours for anything is a cop out.
Post by: ross4life on February 24, 2015, 07:32:56 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 24, 2015, 04:38:54 PM

In '84 (I think) the Ross CC applied to let a junior club be set up in the parish but again the appeal was turned down.
You lads here gripe about Galway and Leitrim doing the dirt and siding with Mayo while your staunch ally, Sligo, did the right thing. Maybe the fact that Roscommon and Sligo were having talks at the time about Sligo moving their championship games to the Hyde might have something to do with it. (I think it was because of structural alterations to Marky Park but I'm not 100% sure.)
Was the early 90s & St Johns is what the club was to be called. The deciding vote came down to Leitrim and their county senior manager at the time was John O'Mahony hmm..

St Johns would be over 20 years old now would be interesting to see what level they would be playing in Ros now and how Ballagh club would fare with less of a pick in Mayo.

Hyde park was redeveloped in the early 90s with the promise to be Clones of Connacht e.g host all Connacht finals but both Galway,Mayo GAA had other ideas once the work was completed.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 24, 2015, 07:42:31 PM
Lar Naparka, i'll do my best to give a response to your questions. You asked about why 5 or 6 generations of families continue to play for Mayo. The only explanation i can give for it is a family tradition, following in a father or grandfather's footsteps. Sean and Dermot Flanagan would be an example, and i'm sure there are many more. It has been the done thing for Ballaghaderreen players to represent Mayo, and the reality is that they don't expect it to be any other way..I know of a couple of Ballagh lady footballers. As Ballagh don't have a ladies team, they could have gone out to play for Kilmovee Shamrocks and represent Mayo. But they didn't. They went out to Frenchpark and played for Western Gaels, all because they wanted to play in Roscommon.. I'd love to know the breakdown of Ros and Mayo allegiance re the Ballagh club officers. Any of them i know of, are all staunch Mayo supporters. I'm not sure how many, if any, are Ros supporters.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 24, 2015, 09:17:11 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 24, 2015, 07:42:31 PM
Lar Naparka, i'll do my best to give a response to your questions. You asked about why 5 or 6 generations of families continue to play for Mayo. The only explanation i can give for it is a family tradition, following in a father or grandfather's footsteps. Sean and Dermot Flanagan would be an example, and i'm sure there are many more. It has been the done thing for Ballaghaderreen players to represent Mayo, and the reality is that they don't expect it to be any other way..I know of a couple of Ballagh lady footballers. As Ballagh don't have a ladies team, they could have gone out to play for Kilmovee Shamrocks and represent Mayo. But they didn't. They went out to Frenchpark and played for Western Gaels, all because they wanted to play in Roscommon.. I'd love to know the breakdown of Ros and Mayo allegiance re the Ballagh club officers. Any of them i know of, are all staunch Mayo supporters. I'm not sure how many, if any, are Ros supporters.
Fair dues to you, you're the first one to give me a straight answer to a direct question. Another Rossie, weareros, gave an honest answer and it would be hard not to feel sympathy for him, but he didn't make any attempt to answer that question.
And that, more or less, is all I was asking for.
I don't understand why the club is still dominated by Mayophiles who are Rossies in every other sense of the word but whatever it is, it's an internal matter. That's why I have no sympathy for the same old tirades from the same old moaners who keep butting in on Mayo-related threads.
Don't get me wrong here; I don't take any of this seriously, who could?
Right now, I'm just marking time until the league resumes and if I stay awake tonight it won't be because I'm upset over something you or anyone else has had to say.
Post by: mjg on February 24, 2015, 09:46:06 PM
Its all one way traffic with ballagh gaa.when they  were  without a pitch the community park 100% roscommon affliliated along with western gaels an eire og stepped in to help them.A player born an bred in ballagh can play for sligo but no ballagh player can play for ross.And they wonder why there support is pitiful
Post by: Syferus on February 25, 2015, 04:09:07 AM
The situation is toxic. The amount of proud Ballagh men and women who were cheering for Brigids in the Brigids-Ballagh Connacht final tells its own story.

Ballagh GAA != Ballagh, the opposite is the fallacy being peddled here.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 25, 2015, 10:31:02 AM
Quote from: Syferus on February 25, 2015, 04:09:07 AM
The situation is toxic. The amount of proud Ballagh men and women who were cheering for Brigids in the Brigids-Ballagh Connacht final tells its own story.

Ballagh GAA != Ballagh, the opposite is the fallacy being peddled here.

Okay Syf, a few quick questions for you.
I'm being brief as I have to go forth into the real world for a few hours so you have plenty of time to think of answers.

What exactly is this fallacy?
Can you point a single point I have made that is factually incorrect?
Why is it that those Ballagh people will back Brigid's to the hilt and still refuse to play with them?
Why do otherwise sensible Rossie posters persist in butting in on very Mayo-related thread to moan about their hard luck and to blame Mayo for it all?
Is Ballagh's status a matter for the whole world to consider and sympathise with you or is it an intenal matter between two Rossie factions?

Were you in Durkin's last night?
If you weren't, how come you were still griping away at 4 am this morning? ;D
Post by: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 11:42:35 AM
Lar, more than likely, it was the real Roscommon people around Ballagh who supported Brigid's, seeing as they were county champions, and representing Roscommon.
Post by: muppet on February 25, 2015, 03:04:28 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 24, 2015, 07:32:56 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 24, 2015, 04:38:54 PM

Was the early 90s & St Johns is what the club was to be called. The deciding vote came down to Leitrim and their county senior manager at the time was John O'Mahony hmm..

St Johns would be over 20 years old now would be interesting to see what level they would be playing in Ros now and how Ballagh club would fare with less of a pick in Mayo.

Hyde park was redeveloped in the early 90s with the promise to be Clones of Connacht e.g host all Connacht finals but both Galway,Mayo GAA had other ideas once the work was completed.

;D ;D ;D ;D

That is an interesting twist to that particular story.

3 of the 5 Connacht CBs decided it would be Castlebar: Galway, Mayo and Sligo. The Sligo delegate at the meeting then bizarrely voted for Roscommon, against his mandate from the Sligo CB. Seeing as one or other of Galway and Mayo appear in the vast majority of Connacht Finals they gave that 'vote' the two fingers and maintained their home and away arrangement, thus scuppering The Hyde's miraculous elevation to Provincial Ground status.

I would like to have seen an independent investigation into that 'vote'.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 25, 2015, 09:25:19 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 11:42:35 AM
Lar, more than likely, it was the real Roscommon people around Ballagh who supported Brigid's, seeing as they were county champions, and representing Roscommon.
That's a bit disappointing. Seems there's far more to the ongoing row than sons following in fathers' footsteps. Going by what Syferus had to say I thought there was an across the board turnout.
Funny, while I've heard and read assloads from your side of the argument, I've yet to hear of a single reason why there is such bitterness between the camps.
Anybody from Free Ballagh on this board?
I've had no problem going along to Croke Park to cheer for Brigid's and I'd do the same for any Connacht club if and when a Mayo side gets knocked out.
I hear that in Ballagh there are tensions between family members, never mind between neighbours.
Can't figure it out at all.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 09:57:00 PM
Lar, i'll give you an example of the bitterness that exists. I know this is true because i saw it myself. In the week of the 2006 All Ireland Finals, a certain Mayo supporting business put up the Mayo and Roscommon flags as our minors were playing. Mayo got hammered, our minors gallantly drew with Kerry. On the Tuesday, BOTH flags were taken down, even though our minors still had a replay. The Ros flag never went up for the replay..Bitterness and resentment kicked in. I'd love to name the business, but won't.
Post by: Syferus on February 25, 2015, 10:03:39 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 25, 2015, 09:25:19 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 11:42:35 AM
That's a bit disappointing. Seems there's far more to the ongoing row than sons following in fathers' footsteps. Going by what Syferus had to say I thought there was an across the board turnout.
Funny, while I've heard and read assloads from your side of the argument, I've yet to hear of a single reason why there is such bitterness between the camps.
Anybody from Free Ballagh on this board?
I've had no problem going along to Croke Park to cheer for Brigid's and I'd do the same for any Connacht club if and when a Mayo side gets knocked out.
I hear that in Ballagh there are tensions between family members, never mind between neighbours.
Can't figure it out at all.

It's not hatred, sure I went to school with and know some of the Ballagh players well and they're grand lads, it's only when football is being played that division lines are drawn. For the rest of the time everyone is just from Ballagh, no more and less.

I'm happy to see Ballagh doing well in league and championship but there was never any chance I'd be supporting them over the Roscommon county champions. You can't isolate yourself from your county and then expect them to row in behind you when you're playing other teams from the county.
Post by: muppet on February 25, 2015, 10:07:44 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 09:57:00 PM
Lar, i'll give you an example of the bitterness that exists. I know this is true because i saw it myself. In the week of the 2006 All Ireland Finals, a certain Mayo supporting business put up the Mayo and Roscommon flags as our minors were playing. Mayo got hammered, our minors gallantly drew with Kerry. On the Tuesday, BOTH flags were taken down, even though our minors still had a replay. The Ros flag never went up for the replay..Bitterness and resentment kicked in. I'd love to name the business, but won't.

Your eternal search for things to be offended by is truly inspirational.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 25, 2015, 10:08:32 PM

To be fair, that is poor form from the business' point of view. I'd say 99% of Mayo people wanted ye to win that replay, I know I certainly did anyway, and I was even cheering ye on in the drawn final too. It's a pity that people can be so narrow minded, especially when young gasúrs couldn't be supported.
Post by: Syferus on February 25, 2015, 10:15:31 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 25, 2015, 10:08:32 PM

To be fair, that is poor form from the business' point of view. I'd say 99% of Mayo people wanted ye to win that replay, I know I certainly did anyway, and I was even cheering ye on in the drawn final too. It's a pity that people can be so narrow minded, especially when young gasúrs couldn't be supported.

This wasn't SuperValu/Londis (back then) was it Shrewdness? He owns the units beside Dillion House too and puts Ros and Mayo flags on the roof each year. I know for a fact that the owner is no where near small-minded enough to do something like that on purpose.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 10:17:17 PM
Takes more than a flag to offend me Muppet.
Post by: ballinaman on February 25, 2015, 10:28:44 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 25, 2015, 10:17:17 PM
Takes more than a flag to offend me Muppet.
Should it not be fleg going by the huff ye got in over it? Get a grip
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 25, 2015, 10:51:01 PM

Pretty cat behaviour alright but to every action there's an equal and opposite reaction as was drummed into me back during my time in Nathy's  College Gulag.
There's bitterness there okay on the Mayo side but still dunno what's causing it. I mean the club was founded in 1885 and the land transfer took place in 1899 so there was no time to build up a track record in Mayo before being shunted into Roscommon.
From what I've been told the aggro has been going on since then. Nobody knows why or at least nobody will spill the beans.
Bejaysus, cracking the Third Secret of Fatima would be kids' play compared to finding out what really  happened in Ballagh so long ago.
Post by: ross4life on February 25, 2015, 10:52:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 25, 2015, 03:04:28 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D

3 of the 5 Connacht CBs decided it would be Castlebar: Galway, Mayo and Sligo. The Sligo delegate at the meeting then bizarrely voted for Roscommon, against his mandate from the Sligo CB. Seeing as one or other of Galway and Mayo appear in the vast majority of Connacht Finals they gave that 'vote' the two fingers and maintained their home and away arrangement, thus scuppering The Hyde's miraculous elevation to Provincial Ground status.

Not sure what all the grins are for? as i said ye and Galway had other ideas. Sligo will always go for the logical vote. If i were to investigation a vote it would be Galway as why would they give their near and dearest rivals home advantage for all Connacht finals.

Very poor form indeed. I'll always remember the night after the 2006 All Ireland final Mayo men and women coming up to me in Quinns,Flannerys,Coppers & wishing our minors all the best in the replay so some decent Mayo supporters also.
Post by: muppet on February 25, 2015, 10:59:26 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 25, 2015, 10:52:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 25, 2015, 03:04:28 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D

Not sure what all the grins are for? as i said ye and Galway had other ideas. Sligo will always go for the logical vote. If i were to investigation a vote it would be Galway as why would they give their near and dearest rivals home advantage for all Connacht finals.

Very poor form indeed. I'll always remember the night after the 2006 All Ireland final Mayo men and women coming up to me in Quinns,Flannerys,Coppers & wishing our minors all the best in the replay so some decent Mayo supporters also.

The grins are for your usual paranoia. You blamed Mayo and Galway for some imaginary skullduggery when the reality is the skullduggery was elsewhere and benefited Roscommon.

'Sligo will always go for the logical vote'.

They did. But something happened their delegate and he voted against the wishes of his CB. That is what I would like to have seen investigated, thoroughly.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 25, 2015, 11:02:27 PM
Any Leitrim poster at all?
Post by: larryin89 on February 25, 2015, 11:02:45 PM
Don't know what business that is that took down the Rossie flag in town but as Syf has pointed it out it most certainly was not londis/ super valu .

i have seen Mayo flags burnt in the town though.

Also is it possible for the admin of this site to prove I have only one account , the Rossie buck that keeps accusing me of having different accounts is doin my nut in . Why you keep hinting that you know im from Kilmovee is anther thing I can't fathom,if you know me you'll know I'm not shy and I have no problem in discussing any issue you may have with me face to face.
Post by: ross4life on February 25, 2015, 11:13:55 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 25, 2015, 10:59:26 PM

The grins are for your usual paranoia. You blamed Mayo and Galway for some imaginary skullduggery when the reality is the skullduggery was elsewhere and benefited Roscommon.

They did. But something happened their delegate and he voted against the wishes of his CB. That is what I would like to have seen investigated, thoroughly.
Why having a touch of the paranoia yourself? & to repeat why would Galway vote to give their near and dearest rivals home advantage for all Connacht finals.
Post by: muppet on February 25, 2015, 11:21:13 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 25, 2015, 11:13:55 PM

Why having a touch of the paranoia yourself? & to repeat why would Galway vote to give their near and dearest rivals home advantage for all Connacht finals.

Why don't you ask the Galway CB at the time? They were asked to vote and that is how they voted.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 26, 2015, 12:35:48 AM
Syferus and larryin89, ye are both correct in saying that the business ye referred to wasn't the business in question.. This ends the Ballagh debate for me. Wouldn't take one of their senior panel for Ros anyway.
Post by: weareros on February 26, 2015, 01:13:49 AM
My final word on this too. It was the alickadoos that caused all the bitterness.
Post by: weareros on February 26, 2015, 01:33:57 AM
Quote from: muppet on February 25, 2015, 11:21:13 PM

Why don't you ask the Galway CB at the time? They were asked to vote and that is how they voted.

Well looks like a decision may have to be made again on developing a designated provincial ground. Will there be a democratic vote in Connacht? Will Connacht honour the vote like they did when Connacht (Mayo, Galway and Leitrim) voted NOT to allow Ballagh have a second club to play in Roscommon, or will they NOT HONOUR the democratic vote when Connacht (Ros, Sligo and Leitrim) voted to make Hyde Park the designated provincial ground. My vote is that democracy will not prevail if Mayo and Galway do not like the decision. Despite the huge population advantages they already enjoy over Sligo, Ros and Leitrim, it will be not an inch if the decision goes against them. But I'd say this time there might not even be a "democratic" vote for fear that Sligo and Leitrim will be naughty lads. The mantra will be: GAA HQ if you are taking over the debts, the best way to pay them would be to play all big games in Castlerbar.
Post by: larryin89 on February 26, 2015, 06:08:24 AM
That's sound shrewdness, no more on Ballagh from me.

If there is going to be a "clones" in Connacht of course Mayo will do everything in their power to get Castlebar to be the venue and no matter how transparent the process the other counties will find fault and conspiracy theories will be thrown about. The way the hyde is at present Ye haven't a leg to stand on though .
Post by: muppet on February 26, 2015, 11:13:38 AM
Quote from: weareros on February 26, 2015, 01:33:57 AM

Well looks like a decision may have to be made again on developing a designated provincial ground. Will there be a democratic vote in Connacht? Will Connacht honour the vote like they did when Connacht (Mayo, Galway and Leitrim) voted NOT to allow Ballagh have a second club to play in Roscommon, or will they NOT HONOUR the democratic vote when Connacht (Ros, Sligo and Leitrim) voted to make Hyde Park the designated provincial ground. My vote is that democracy will not prevail if Mayo and Galway do not like the decision. Despite the huge population advantages they already enjoy over Sligo, Ros and Leitrim, it will be not an inch if the decision goes against them. But I'd say this time there might not even be a "democratic" vote for fear that Sligo and Leitrim will be naughty lads. The mantra will be: GAA HQ if you are taking over the debts, the best way to pay them would be to play all big games in Castlerbar.

The Sligo CB voted for McHale Park. I have already explained that and as I said, given the financial significance of the vote, I would like to see an independent investigation into what happened there.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 26, 2015, 11:50:36 AM
I have no inattention of fighting with any Rossie on this board, or anywhere else for that matter. With the exception of the pair of laitchekoes who have popped up lately, I think all of them are fairly sound individuals.
Any slagging I have done has been to counter the "mayowestros" and "rhubarb" taunts and so on.
Not that I give a damn about those either.  Derisive banter in other words.
I can't and never did see  any reason to blame Mayo for Ballagh refusing to budge.

Anything else is fair game I guess. However,  if I was a genuine Rossie supporter, I certainly would not want to broadcast the fact that some of my fellow county men refuse to play for their own county and remain loyal  the  same one their great great grandfathers played for.
I've no doubt about something else. I'd not rest until I found out the reason for the stand-off and that's for sure.
However, as I'm not a Rossie, I wouldn't and don't lose any sleep over it. I'd love to know the real reason but it's not top of my priority list.
Post by: Rossfan on February 26, 2015, 12:01:24 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 26, 2015, 11:50:36 AM
. However,  if I was a genuine Rossie supporter, I certainly would not want to broadcast the fact that some of my fellow county men refuse to play for their own county
We can't be held responsible for the less intelligent among our residents.
Post by: weareros on February 26, 2015, 12:45:46 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 26, 2015, 11:13:38 AM

The Sligo CB voted for McHale Park. I have already explained that and as I said, given the financial significance of the vote, I would like to see an independent investigation into what happened there.
And can you provide proof they voted for McHale as I have no memory of that. The vote was 3-2 in favour of Hyde. I remember the editorials in The Western blasting the vote. Now we thought Leitrim would side with Ros in the Ballaghaderreen vote for a new club, St Johns to be affiliated with Ros. But after some Mayo influence they sided with Mayo. We accepted the vote because that is democracy even though it sucked for outsiders to deny native Rossies the right to play with Roscommon. Most of the people who would have setup St Johns setup the community park in Ballagh where you can pass by and watch among other things a Ballaghaderreen soccer team representing Roscommon and a Ballaghaderreen cricket team representing Roscommon, who incidentally are Connacht senior Cricket champions. They can play in Ros but Mayo, Galway and Leitrim saw fit to deny the right to Gaelic footballers. Are you calling for an investigation?

Post by: Tubberman on February 26, 2015, 01:26:05 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 26, 2015, 12:45:46 PM

And can you provide proof they voted for McHale as I have no memory of that. The vote was 3-2 in favour of Hyde. I remember the editorials in The Western blasting the vote. Now we thought Leitrim would side with Ros in the Ballaghaderreen vote for a new club, St Johns to be affiliated with Ros. But after some Mayo influence they sided with Mayo. We accepted the vote because that is democracy even though it sucked for outsiders to deny native Rossies the right to play with Roscommon. Most of the people who would have setup St Johns setup the community park in Ballagh where you can pass by and watch among other things a Ballaghaderreen soccer team representing Roscommon and a Ballaghaderreen cricket team representing Roscommon, who incidentally are Connacht senior Cricket champions. They can play in Ros but Mayo, Galway and Leitrim saw fit to deny the right to Gaelic footballers. Are you calling for an investigation?

And Glen Celtic from Glenamaddy, Co. Galway play in the Roscommon League. I wouldn't be using soccer boundaries as your argument.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 26, 2015, 01:29:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 26, 2015, 12:01:24 PM
. However,  if I was a genuine Rossie supporter, I certainly would not want to broadcast the fact that some of my fellow county men refuse to play for their own county
What's this with the "we" brother? ;D
Who is the genius that usually starts the rhubarbing and mayowestroing and all that crap and then slinks off to let others take the return fire?
Whoever he is, he's about as stable as a baby's backside.
Post by: weareros on February 26, 2015, 01:34:39 PM
Tubberman, that's *their* choice. With the new club in Ballagh, Mayo, Galway and Leitrim made the choice for us. You do see the difference, right?
Post by: Tubberman on February 26, 2015, 01:49:54 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 26, 2015, 01:34:39 PM
Tubberman, that's *their* choice. With the new club in Ballagh, Mayo, Galway and Leitrim made the choice for us. You do see the difference, right?

That's democracy, baby!
Ah no, I wouldn't have a problem with a Roscommon-affiliated club in Ballagh if there was demand for it. But if there was demand for it, surely it wouldn't have died a death with that one attempt?

Post by: Rossfan on February 26, 2015, 03:52:43 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 26, 2015, 01:29:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 26, 2015, 12:01:24 PM
What's this with the "we" brother? ;D "WE" are the intelligent Rosfolk who support our own CountyWho is the genius that usually starts the rhubarbing and mayowestroing and all that crap and then slinks off to let others take the return fire? Rhubarbs is a nickname used by many for the team who are picked from the GAA fraternity of Co Mayo plus Ballaghadereen
Whoever he is, he's about as stable as a baby's backside. I'll bow to your superior knowledge of that subject
Post by: giveballaghback on February 26, 2015, 07:28:44 PM
Keep at it lads, ye are going great and listen to lar naparka, he is a teacher you know but geography was never his strong suit, Ill look in on ye later, keep it up, go on ya boyya.
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 26, 2015, 07:44:53 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 26, 2015, 01:26:05 PM

And Glen Celtic from Glenamaddy, Co. Galway play in the Roscommon League. I wouldn't be using soccer boundaries as your argument.
Indeed, sure Boyle Celtic play in the Sligo Leitrim league.
Post by: muppet on February 28, 2015, 12:31:57 AM

Read the post. I was talking about the vote for the Connacht Provincial ground. You seem to be talking about the vote for a second club in Ballaghderreen. I don't know anything about that other than it probably happened decades ago.

I know about the Provincial ground vote because a man I know, who by coincidence has the same name as the delegate who didn't vote as instructed by the Sligo CB, received abusive phone calls over it. Typically the imbeciles (I believe they were from Mayo) were not only phoning the wrong man, but they were phoning a Mayo man.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 28, 2015, 03:17:18 AM
Point of order. Can we fix the spelling on the thread title?
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 28, 2015, 03:36:51 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 28, 2015, 03:17:18 AM
Point of order. Can we fix the spelling on the thread title?
Deliberate misspelling i think.
Post by: seafoid on March 02, 2015, 09:59:57 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WQ2CUpKgR0

At 5:37
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 02, 2015, 09:49:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 02, 2015, 09:59:57 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WQ2CUpKgR0

At 5:37

Ah cmon now Seafoid. Surely this calls for some cynical statement about English/Aussie/Kiwi mercenaries and a link to a FT article about the greed of professional sport ?

or does the sneering only get suspended for your own crowd ?

Post by: joemamas on April 15, 2015, 03:28:11 PM
 A little off topic but does anybody know or have a link to what teams potentially go into A and B side of qualifiers should they lose first game. Of course gaa.ie has not mention, better chance of getting info on FA.com

Thanks in advance
Post by: macdanger2 on April 15, 2015, 03:34:24 PM
If we lose to Galway / Leitrim, we're in B which appears to be the harder side of the draw

http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/GAA%20Football%20Championships%202015.pdf (http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/GAA%20Football%20Championships%202015.pdf)

Post by: joemamas on April 15, 2015, 05:45:08 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 15, 2015, 03:34:24 PM
If we lose to Galway / Leitrim, we're in B which appears to be the harder side of the draw

http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/GAA%20Football%20Championships%202015.pdf (http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/GAA%20Football%20Championships%202015.pdf)

Thanks
Post by: larryin89 on April 20, 2015, 10:24:39 PM
Rightyo, where will this years Connacht final be held if it worked out to be a Mayo v Roscomon final ?

Post by: Syferus on April 20, 2015, 10:28:56 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 20, 2015, 10:24:39 PM
Rightyo, where will this years Connacht final be held if it worked out to be a Mayo v Roscomon final ?

McHale. Duh.
Post by: larryin89 on April 21, 2015, 12:39:41 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 20, 2015, 10:28:56 PM

McHale. Duh.

Is that your own assumption or have you factored in that when the Hyde became a no go for finals that Roscommon would be within their right to opt out of the arrangement like Sligo and Leitrim ?
Post by: Syferus on April 21, 2015, 01:08:05 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 21, 2015, 12:39:41 AM

McHale. Duh.

Is that your own assumption or have you factored in that when the Hyde became a no go for finals that Roscommon would be within their right to opt of the arrangement like Sligo and Leitrim ?

We just chose a firm to do the redevelopment of the Hyde. If you or anyone thinks we'll be pissing off JP and company by taking the biggest money spinner in Connacht GAA to Salthill while at the same time looking for funding from them you're living with the birdies.
Post by: larryin89 on April 21, 2015, 01:33:23 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 21, 2015, 01:08:05 AM

McHale. Duh.

Is that your own assumption or have you factored in that when the Hyde became a no go for finals that Roscommon would be within their right to opt of the arrangement like Sligo and Leitrim ?

We just chose a firm to do the redevelopment of the Hyde. If you or anyone thinks we'll be pissing off JP and company by taking the biggest money spinner in Connacht GAA to Salthill while at the same time looking for funding from them you're living with the birdies.

http://www.gaaroscommon.ie/news/projectmanagersappointedtodrhydepark?utm_content=bufferb0eac&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Ya mean this, hahaha, we'll see how this development develops . Anti climax is my bet for the overall result felt by the Roscommon gaa public. Time will tell.

Getting back to the more pressing issue , if we happen to beat Galway I believe sligo Ros will force the Hyde Salthill venue again time will tell.

Post by: weareros on April 21, 2015, 01:39:15 AM

McHale. Duh.

Is that your own assumption or have you factored in that when the Hyde became a no go for finals that Roscommon would be within their right to opt out of the arrangement like Sligo and Leitrim ?

The younger crop of Ros players have no fear of McHale. Actually McHale was traditionally a lucky ground for Ros and I think we went unbeaten there from 1962 to 1992. When Enon Gavin pulled the crossbar down in 92 our luck ran out. When Aidan Brady brought it down in 1962 it inspired the great Gerry O'Malley and we came back from 5 points down to beat Galway The 2006 Connacht minor win was achieved there. In 91 Dugan scored his free from 70 yards out against a gale as we watched in disbelief from the embankment and it still had plenty to spare, even Liam McHAle wasn't able to lep up and catch it. But  we still might need Evans to take a swing from the crossbar before the game, should we be so fortunate to even make the final. London first mo chara.
Post by: larryin89 on April 21, 2015, 01:48:00 AM
Quote from: weareros on April 21, 2015, 01:39:15 AM

McHale. Duh.

The younger crop of Ros players have no fear of McHale. Actually McHale was traditionally a lucky ground for Ros and I think we went unbeaten there from 1962 to 1992. When Enon Gavin pulled the crossbar down in 92 our luck ran out. When Aidan Brady brought it down in 1962 it inspired the great Gerry O'Malley and we came back from 5 points down to beat Galway The 2006 Connacht minor win was achieved there. In 91 Dugan scored his free from 70 yards out against a gale as we watched in disbelief from the embankment and it still had plenty to spare, even Liam McHAle wasn't able to lep up and catch it. But  we still might need Evans to take a swing from the crossbar before the game, should we be so fortunate to even make the final. London first mo chara.

Thats incorrect for sure, 1983.  I'm away for some shut eye , hard days graft ahead me in the morning, good night.
Post by: Rossfan on April 21, 2015, 09:52:06 AM
Dugan's free was surely from his own 20 m line :)
Post by: giveballaghback on April 21, 2015, 10:37:00 PM
He kicked it from Belmullet
Post by: weareros on April 22, 2015, 01:39:34 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 21, 2015, 01:48:00 AM
Quote from: weareros on April 21, 2015, 01:39:15 AM

McHale. Duh.

Thats incorrect for sure, 1983.  I'm away for some shut eye , hard days graft ahead me in the morning, good night.

Right you be on '83 but we still had 3 good decades there before 92 ushered in a woeful track record in Castlebar. So hopefully will become a lucky ground at senior again, not forgetting the Connacht title won there in 2010.
Post by: sligoman2 on April 22, 2015, 11:56:14 AM
Should Galway Sligo and Leitrim just withdraw from the championship so mayo and Roscommon can start a 500 page Connacht final thread today?
Post by: cuconnacht on April 22, 2015, 04:33:25 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 22, 2015, 11:56:14 AM
Should Galway Sligo and Leitrim just withdraw from the championship so mayo and Roscommon can start a 500 page Connacht final thread today?

I don't know but ya might wanta consult London and New York gaa 1st just before you convince Galway and Leitrim of that bit of genius.
With regards Mayo threads our minister with portfolio Macdanger2(hero protector of our div 1 status in the face of adversity)cranks the engine for the Green above the Red. ;D
Post by: sligoman2 on April 23, 2015, 02:24:44 AM
Well I know Roscommon and Mayo could beat London or New York but I'm not sure about Galway, Sligo or Leitrim

:o
Post by: Syferus on April 24, 2015, 12:05:57 AM
Hasn't been posted on this board but Evan Regan has re-fractured his collarbone: http://www.hoganstand.com/Mayo/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=236043

Some run of bad luck.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 24, 2015, 08:19:53 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 24, 2015, 12:05:57 AM
Hasn't been posted on this board but Evan Regan has re-fractured his collarbone: http://www.hoganstand.com/Mayo/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=236043

Some run of bad luck.

Can't help but wondering if the medical staff have some questions to answer here.

Really looks like he returned back into action far too soon, given it's a recurrence of the exact same injury.

Have to think that the smart thing would be to forget about intercounty football for the rest of the year and let this heal properly.
Post by: Tubberman on April 24, 2015, 08:23:37 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 24, 2015, 08:19:53 AM

Some run of bad luck.

Can't help but wondering if the medical staff have some questions to answer here.

Really looks like he returned back into action far too soon, given it's a recurrence of the exact same injury.

Have to think that the smart thing would be to forget about intercounty football for the rest of the year and let this heal properly.

Ironic given the announcement of the medical team's player welfare initiative:

http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=21807:liam-moffatt-on-the-mayo-player-welfare-initiative&catid=14&Itemid=100008 (http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=21807:liam-moffatt-on-the-mayo-player-welfare-initiative&catid=14&Itemid=100008)
Post by: ballinaman on April 24, 2015, 08:30:55 AM

Some run of bad luck.

Can't help think you shouldn't be making assumptions unless you had access to x-rays ect?
Post by: twohands!!! on April 24, 2015, 09:13:35 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 24, 2015, 08:30:55 AM

Some run of bad luck.

Can't help think you shouldn't be making assumptions unless you had access to x-rays ect?

Look it's awful for the lad and I'm not basing it on any medical knowledge but at the very least the questions should be asked.

Some people look at this and say oh bad luck, whereas to me it looks very much like something that might have been avoided.

The fact of the matter is that he broke his collar-bone in February and was back intercounty training in April, in a sport where the shoulder is pretty much the most clearly defined legitimate physical contact.

That surely has to raise some questions/be worth investigating a bit further.
Post by: ballinaman on April 24, 2015, 09:30:26 AM
Not that I have any knowledge, but I can't see how a consultant radiologist in Mayo general would have given the go ahead to return to play if he/she suspected a non union fracture? A repeat x-ray would have been done.

Just had a quick look for the rate of repeated clavicular fractures in sport and said to be 7.2/1000 . Bone healing post fracture isn't as simple as...fully healed on (x)day and off you go....takes months/years for bone to regain full strength. So there is always a risk when you return to sport...obviously degree of risk reduces longer you wait but I'd be confident that consultant radiologist knew what he/she was doing.
Post by: rosnarun on April 24, 2015, 12:13:11 PM
i think its a fair assumtion that the medical people got the call wrong on this one, its a bit like passing your driving licence and crashing on the way home. untill its tested in the real world its jut an educated guess whether you ready or not.
This is not having a go at the medical Staff just some call you get right and some wrong,
doctors differ and all that
Post by: ballinaman on April 24, 2015, 01:17:11 PM
Re injuries occur, sure look at Costa at Chelsea....numerous hamstring injuries over the last year.
Only two proven risk factors of injury exist.....previous injury and age (older > greater risk).

I don't think it's fair to use the analogy of driving test compared to the human body, something that's evolved over thousands of years and still a seemingly endless amount to discover of how it exactly works!
Post by: joemamas on April 24, 2015, 01:27:44 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 24, 2015, 09:13:35 AM

Some run of bad luck.

Look it's awful for the lad and I'm not basing it on any medical knowledge but at the very least the questions should be asked.

Some people look at this and say oh bad luck, whereas to me it looks very much like something that might have been avoided.

The fact of the matter is that he broke his collar-bone in February and was back intercounty training in April, in a sport where the shoulder is pretty much the most clearly defined legitimate physical contact.

That surely has to raise some questions/be worth investigating a bit further.

To be honest, that was first thing that came into my head, why back so soon into contact, Mayo don't play for almost another eight weeks. I am no doctor, but ......
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 24, 2015, 05:29:54 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 24, 2015, 01:17:11 PM
Re injuries occur, sure look at Costa at Chelsea....numerous hamstring injuries over the last year.
Only two proven risk factors of injury exist.....previous injury and age (older > greater risk).

I don't think it's fair to use the analogy of driving test compared to the human body, something that's evolved over thousands of years and still a seemingly endless amount to discover of how it exactly works!
not true

alcohol also affects chances of injury
level of hydration
diet
sleep
Post by: ballinaman on April 24, 2015, 07:17:46 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 24, 2015, 05:29:54 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 24, 2015, 01:17:11 PM

not true

alcohol also affects chances of injury
level of hydration
diet
sleep
Indeed they might be and I'd agree but lack of solid evidence yet...most studies report age and previous injury at the moment. For example.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14754854
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11394599

Prospective epidemiological studies across a range of sports are needed.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 24, 2015, 07:24:57 PM

Some run of bad luck.

*Insert random wisecrack about arm length here*
Post by: ballinaman on April 24, 2015, 07:32:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 24, 2015, 07:24:57 PM

Some run of bad luck.

*Insert random wisecrack about arm length here*
(http://mrwgifs.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Sarcastic-Mr.-Bean-Margic-Quote-Gif-Snort-Snort.gif)
Post by: moysider on April 24, 2015, 10:19:54 PM

Some run of bad luck.

You weren't paying attention Sy. It was posted on this board on Wednesday evening. Tut, tut. Not paying attention?
Post by: larryin89 on April 24, 2015, 10:35:06 PM
I predict he'll be back a lot sooner than is being said. No more to say.
Post by: moysider on April 24, 2015, 11:04:28 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 24, 2015, 10:35:06 PM

I dunno what is being said so don t know what you mean by soon? Next year's FBD?
The fact that he has hardly played ball this year and that he needs an operation next week kinda rules out the business part of this year.
From a practical point of view it s not like we ll miss him. But if Cillian is bunched long term as well we could well be looking at a difficult summer.
Post by: larryin89 on April 24, 2015, 11:16:27 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 24, 2015, 11:04:28 PM

I dunno what is being said so don t know what you mean by soon? Next year's FBD?
The fact that he has hardly played ball this year and that he needs an operation next week kinda rules out the business part of this year.
From a practical point of view it s not like we ll miss him. But if Cillian is bunched long term as well we could well be looking at a difficult summer.

Ahh man I don't know, how is Cillian long term. Young stepenites man I spoke to this evening " it's not as bad as was first thought, top surgeon to see to him" ...

County board statement said 12 weeks . Most people's view is he might not of featured anyway and he was certainly not going to make a big impact . I disagree completely . I honestly believe the bulk of the gaa public don't know a footballer from a bollix these days. Anyway I'm tired of giving my opinion on the lad as most seem to disagree, I think he has the class to be a top player and that's my opinion
Post by: moysider on April 24, 2015, 11:41:00 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 24, 2015, 11:16:27 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 24, 2015, 11:04:28 PM

Ahh man I don't know, how is Cillian long term. Young stepenites man I spoke to this evening " it's not as bad as was first thought, top surgeon to see to him" ...

County board statement said 12 weeks . Most people's view is he might not of featured anyway and he was certainly not going to make a big impact . I disagree completely . I honestly believe the bulk of the gaa public don't know a footballer from a bollix these days. Anyway I'm tired of giving my opinion on the lad as most seem to disagree, I think he has the class to be a top player and that's my opinion

The bit in bold is a bit ominous don t you think Larry? Surgery is surgery and healing and recovery is another even before you start to look at form, confidence and fitness.
I agree about his quality and if he was in a confident county like Dub. Cork, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal etc, he would be a household name already  and may well have a medalín in his back pockek. But we appear to do things differently here. We ve won so much ::)
You only need to look at the downturn in the fortunes of the minor forwards from 2013 to cop the reality of getting a player that can play senior footbal. Hopefully we have Cillian fit anyway.
Post by: Rossfan on April 25, 2015, 12:30:08 AM
Meanwhile in the rest of Connacht.........we're all grand ;D
Post by: twohands!!! on April 25, 2015, 06:54:45 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 25, 2015, 12:30:08 AM

And the sarcastic bollox of the week goes to......
Post by: Tubberman on April 25, 2015, 07:19:34 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 25, 2015, 06:54:45 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 25, 2015, 12:30:08 AM

And the sarcastic bollox of the week goes to......

They're just very very needy.
Post by: highorlow on April 25, 2015, 01:26:36 PM
6 nil up. Jack has his shooting boots on him today. Fingers crossed for the win!