GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 08, 2015, 10:38:49 PM

Title: Tír Eoghain vs Doire, Saturday 28th Feb, 7pm @ Healy Park
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 08, 2015, 10:38:49 PM
Right, time to be looking forward again, with an increasingly points-desperate Derry paying a visit to Omagh, with ourselves in a much better place than we might otherwise have anticipated after today's visit to Castlebar.

Should Derry adopt the same tactics as they did in the first round of the Ulster in 2006, and we persist with the deadly duvet, there exists the real possibility that 29 players will inhabit a single half of the park at any one time, with only the opposition goalkeeper holding his spot. ;)

Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs Doire, Saturday 28th Feb, 7pm @ Healy Park
Post by: moysider on February 08, 2015, 10:43:44 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 08, 2015, 10:38:49 PM
Right, time to be looking forward again, with an increasingly points-desperate Derry paying a visit to Omagh, with ourselves in a much better place than we might otherwise have anticipated after today's visit to Castlebar.

Should Derry adopt the same tactics as they did in the first round of the Ulster in 2006, and we persist with the deadly duvet, there exists the real possibility probability that 29 players will inhabit a single half of the park at any one time, with only the opposition goalkeeper holding his spot. ;)

Ye got plenty of practice of that kind of thing today anyway ;D  well done by the way.

For that reason, advantage Trone.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 08, 2015, 10:44:29 PM
GRMA moysider, and that we did, to be sure! ;)
Post by: BennyHarp on February 08, 2015, 11:03:33 PM
Omaghs not good for us. I propose moving our home games to Castlebar.
Post by: moysider on February 08, 2015, 11:17:41 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 08, 2015, 11:03:33 PM
Omaghs not good for us. I propose moving our home games to Castlebar.

Bí cúramach. In the last couple of years Kildare and Down beat us in Castlebar as well. They are now threading water in Div.2 ;)
Post by: ONeill on February 08, 2015, 11:29:37 PM
with only the opposition goalkeeper holding his spot. ;)

Lazy B'stard.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 08, 2015, 11:52:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 08, 2015, 11:29:37 PM
with only the opposition goalkeeper holding his spot. ;)

Lazy B'stard.

;) Though Niall Morgan did a wee bit too much of a walkabout today, and Mayo should have scored a 3-pointer out of it.
Post by: ONeill on February 08, 2015, 11:57:03 PM
Big fan of Morgan and he plays the game with gay abandon (copyright Fermanagh 2004) but he'll get nailed soon.
Post by: rrhf on February 09, 2015, 06:33:37 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 08, 2015, 11:57:03 PM
Big fan of Morgan and he plays the game with gay abandon (copyright Fermanagh 2004) but he'll get nailed soon.
not so sure anymore
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 09, 2015, 10:55:30 AM
In fairness to Morgan, he seems to have overcome the brickbats and boos from the stands and terraces with his frees -- a couple of great long-rangers yesterday despite the elevated decibel level from the local yokels.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 09, 2015, 12:05:01 PM
Morgan does indeed enjoy going walkabout and v Monaghan last year in Croker nearly got punished.
He is by far our best keeper for a long time though and I hope you're right FoSB that he has learnt to keep his head and stop coaxing reaction from the crowd as opposing fans all seem to get irate to see a keeper coming up to take frees and give them a lot more grief that outfield kickers.

I might try to make it up for this match as we rarely beat Derry in the league but usually it's always in Celtic Park. When was the last time the two met in Omagh for a league game?

Derry under pressure already and listening to radio one yesterday heard they were rather toothless until Skinner came on
(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/migration_catalog/article25612127.ece/ALTERNATES/w300square/Paddy-Bradley-Derry-Karl-Lacey-Donegal)

Having attended school in Derry for 7 years they used to be the team I loved to hate but such rivalries have long gone.
They are now the only Ulster red arses and hopefully after this game they will have been given a good spanking by the red hands.

Was busy all weekend so didn't get to see the Mayo game yesterday so might see can I see it on TG4 player tonight.
On the radio it sounded like we played ultra defensively in the second half and Mayo had no way through the blanket.
I think Mickey had to play it like this to get points on the board as he would be under HUGE pressure with two defeats going into the crazy 3 week break.

Did big Sean play more as a team player on Sunday? How did Roanie play?
How was Justy in for and where did he play?
Post by: screenexile on February 09, 2015, 12:09:42 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 09, 2015, 12:05:01 PM
Morgan does indeed enjoy going walkabout and v Monaghan last year in Croker nearly got punished.
He is by far our best keeper for a long time though and I hope you're right FoSB that he has learnt to keep his head and stop coaxing reaction from the crowd as opposing fans all seem to get irate to see a keeper coming up to take frees and give them a lot more grief that outfield kickers.

I might try to make it up for this match as we rarely beat Derry in the league but usually it's always in Celtic Park. When was the last time the two met in Omagh for a league game?

Derry under pressure already and listening to radio one yesterday heard they were rather toothless until Skinner came on
(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/migration_catalog/article25612127.ece/ALTERNATES/w300square/Paddy-Bradley-Derry-Karl-Lacey-Donegal)

Having attended school in Derry for 7 years they used to be the team I loved to hate but such rivalries have long gone.
They are now the only Ulster red arses and hopefully after this game they will have been given a good spanking by the red hands.

Was busy all weekend so didn't get to see the Mayo game yesterday so might see can I see it on TG4 player tonight.
On the radio it sounded like we played ultra defensively in the second half and Mayo had no way through the blanket.
I think Mickey had to play it like this to get points on the board as he would be under HUGE pressure with two defeats going into the crazy 3 week break.

Did big Sean play more as a team player on Sunday? How did Roanie play?
How was Justy in for and where did he play?

Aye that's not Skinner just to let you know. . .
Post by: theticklemister on February 09, 2015, 02:16:20 PM
MON DE BUCK THE OAKLEAF

(http://www.theepochtimes.com/news_images/highres/2007-3-21-ent_300-(4).jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 09, 2015, 08:35:32 PM
Mark Lynch to be missing for this one?  ::)
Post by: seafoid on February 09, 2015, 08:51:50 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 09, 2015, 08:35:32 PM
Mark Lynch to be missing for this one?  ::)
Fear

Why isn't he called Marky ?
You have Petey, Justy and Matty - how do you decide if it ends in y or stays the same ?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 09, 2015, 09:03:55 PM
You'd want to be addressing that one to the Derry wans seafoid, he's well over our county border! ;)
Post by: seafoid on February 09, 2015, 09:14:27 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 09, 2015, 09:03:55 PM
You'd want to be addressing that one to the Derry wans seafoid, he's well over our county border! ;)
But how do ye do it in throne ? why is Sean Cavanagh not Seany , for example ? How do you draw the line ?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 09, 2015, 09:28:53 PM
Not so much of a line I'd say, and there'd be nothing scientific to it, more just if it 'feels right'.
Post by: omaghjoe on February 09, 2015, 10:21:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 09, 2015, 09:14:27 PM
But how do ye do it in throne ? why is Sean Cavanagh not Seany , for example ? How do you draw the line ?

Its the townies Seafoid esp the Omagh wans they always end y to everyones name. Sort of similar to the DUbs adding an "o" or "er" to end of names
Justin becomes Justy
Ronan become Rony
Although I never heard big Joe McMahon being called Joey too much. Maybe its because he was big Joe or maybe its because they didnt want him being associated with a Kangoroo
Ex county star Seanie Meyler was an Omagh townie for example
Sean Cavanagh coming from the east of the county wouldnt get the same treatment

Thats not to say that it doesn't exist outside of Omagh but i think its prevalence increased exponentially the closer you get to the Gallows Hill neighborhood

Some names are deemed not be suitable tho for whatever reason. For example I never heard of Niall becoming Nially or Conor becoming Conorie

Also if your first name is not deemed suitable then your surname maybe given a "y" but never both together for example
Ronan Mullin would become Rony MUllin, never Ronan MUlly or Rony Mully
whereas
Conor Mullin would become Mully never Conor Mully or Conorie MUllin

Another thing to note there seems to be a rule where you drop all subsequent syllables to the first and add the y
For example:

Declan becomes Deccy
Arthur becomes Artty

Hmmm complicated ... i think you'll need a true townie linguist to answer this one properly
Post by: rodney trotter on February 09, 2015, 10:42:14 PM
Going a bit far when they call Peter, Petey,
Post by: ONeill on February 09, 2015, 11:24:40 PM
It's Peti
Post by: cadhlancian on February 10, 2015, 04:28:12 AM
It's actually nephew...
Post by: orangeman on February 10, 2015, 10:53:14 AM
Derry have a long wait for this game - they need to use the break positively and almost hope that Stacks win ( don't say it out loud ) so that they can get the Slaughneil lads back on board. Tyrone can spend the time wallowing in the Mayo win and that could be destabilising for them. Big pressure on Derry. Home venue will suit Derry.
Post by: muppet on February 10, 2015, 07:38:02 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 09, 2015, 10:42:14 PM
Going a bit far when they call Peter, Petey,

Ay, and Block should have been left at Gorm.
Post by: tbrick18 on February 11, 2015, 12:16:25 AM

Fergus?  ;)

In all fairness, I like Morgan. I think its good to see players with a bit of personality instead of conforming to the stereotypical footballer type. Gives the game a bit of flavour. He's a top keeper and even he does get "nailed" soon, his positive effect by far outweighs any potential negative.

Cant see Derry getting anything from this game....in fact I can see us relegated at a very early stage in this league campaign. We are missing too many key players at the moment. Not sure if any will be back for the Tyrone game, but I'd like to think we'll increase the intensity a bit for the inbreds just to keep it interesting.
Post by: Aristo 60 on February 12, 2015, 09:25:16 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 09, 2015, 10:21:36 PM

Its the townies Seafoid esp the Omagh wans they always end y to everyones name. Sort of similar to the DUbs adding an "o" or "er" to end of names
Justin becomes Justy
Ronan become Rony
Although I never heard big Joe McMahon being called Joey too much. Maybe its because he was big Joe or maybe its because they didnt want him being associated with a Kangoroo

Thats not to say that it doesn't exist outside of Omagh but i think its prevalence increased exponentially the closer you get to the Gallows Hill neighborhood

Some names are deemed not be suitable tho for whatever reason. For example I never heard of Niall becoming Nially or Conor becoming Conorie

Also if your first name is not deemed suitable then your surname maybe given a "y" but never both together for example
whereas

Another thing to note there seems to be a rule where you drop all subsequent syllables to the first and add the y
For example:

Declan becomes Deccy
Arthur becomes Artty

Hmmm complicated ... i think you'll need a true townie linguist to answer this one properly

Enjoyable post.
Post by: seafoid on February 12, 2015, 10:18:16 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on February 09, 2015, 10:21:36 PM

Justin becomes Justy
Ronan become Rony

whereas

For example:

Declan becomes Deccy
Arthur becomes Artty

Thanks Joe

In Galway ín is added to the name so Joe becomes Joeín and Pat is Patín

I even heard a Paul being called Paulín but it sounded very girly
Post by: rrhf on February 12, 2015, 11:16:19 PM
Are we going to send a few free tickets to derry supporters to try and get a good crowd in.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2015, 11:21:25 PM
Quote from: rrhf on February 12, 2015, 11:16:19 PM
Are we going to send a few free tickets to derry supporters to try and get a good crowd in.

Yeah, with a £50 note in each! ;)
Post by: theticklemister on February 12, 2015, 11:24:00 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2015, 11:21:25 PM

A Strabane man wouldn't know what a £50 note looked like
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2015, 11:32:28 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 12, 2015, 11:24:00 PM

We will now with our mitts on the coffers of power in the Derry-Strabane newly merged Council. :)
Post by: theticklemister on February 12, 2015, 11:37:23 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2015, 11:32:28 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 12, 2015, 11:24:00 PM

We will now with our mitts on the coffers of power in the Derry-Strabane newly merged Council. :)

I
I heard the people of Strabane are boycotting the new council as  it is trying to bring  jobs to the area
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2015, 11:46:40 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 12, 2015, 11:37:23 PM
I heard the people of Strabane are boycotting the new council as  it is trying to bring  jobs to the area

Yeah, that brilliant beacon of alacritous and enthusiastic employment up the Foyle is something we should earnestly aspire to!  :P
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 14, 2015, 01:18:05 AM
Looks like Skinner will be out to skin us from the start! ;)

Hoganstand story (http://www.hoganstand.com/Derry/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=231756)
Post by: omaghjoe on February 14, 2015, 03:51:11 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on February 11, 2015, 12:16:25 AM

Fergus?  ;)

In all fairness, I like Morgan. I think its good to see players with a bit of personality instead of conforming to the stereotypical footballer type. Gives the game a bit of flavour. He's a top keeper and even he does get "nailed" soon, his positive effect by far outweighs any potential negative.

Cant see Derry getting anything from this game....in fact I can see us relegated at a very early stage in this league campaign. We are missing too many key players at the moment. Not sure if any will be back for the Tyrone game, but I'd like to think we'll increase the intensity a bit for the inbreds just to keep it interesting.

Yeah I was thinking it would be best not to use the phrase gay abondon around the Tyrone team for a while. especially when it comes to the Inbre....Hang on... you-uns are the Inbreds!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 23, 2015, 10:29:21 PM
Mark Lynch to be a definite absentee for this one: Hoganstand.com story (http://www.hoganstand.com/Derry/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=232299)
Post by: rrhf on February 25, 2015, 06:04:59 AM
My fear is that derry might be taking this game very seriously as a huge stepping stone in their latest bid to win only their second ever all Ireland title...
Post by: theticklemister on February 25, 2015, 10:46:55 PM
Shower of Tyrone hoor bags the lot of Ye.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 26, 2015, 12:00:02 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 25, 2015, 10:46:55 PM
Shower of Tyrone hoor bags the lot of Ye.

You lot are too fecking QUIET!  ::)
Post by: screenexile on February 26, 2015, 12:00:15 AM
Quote from: rrhf on February 25, 2015, 06:04:59 AM
My fear is that derry might be taking this game very seriously as a huge stepping stone in their latest bid to win only their second ever all Ireland title...

Would be funny if it weren't for the fact youse haven't won anything in the last 5 years either. . . get with the programme both teams are currently struggling!! Fair play if you beat us on Saturday while we have half a team out though!
Post by: twohands!!! on February 26, 2015, 09:27:58 AM
Glenavon don't have a match this weekend so Eoin Bradley will surely be starting.

I thought he looked very lively in the Donegal game for his brief cameo after playing a soccer game earlier in the day.

Even at this early stage of the league season, this looks like a bit of a relegation battle tie.

After this the two teams have the following ties

Derry
Mayo h
Monaghan a
Dublin a
Cork h

Tyrone
Dublin a
Cork h
Donegal a
Kerry h

If Tyrone don't get the win, they will be right in the relegation mix, and even if Derry do this will still be struggling against relegation.

Another negative for Derry is that their score difference is already minus 13 which is 10 points behind the next lowest - who are Tyrone at -3. The effect of having a negative score difference is almost like reducing their points total to -1 in a way.

Post by: Club Rossa on February 26, 2015, 09:33:15 AM
We have gave you Derry wans a manager from Tyrone,a trainer from Tyrone and your sponsor is from Tyrone.We even handed you's a national league title on a plate and still you's hate us,you ungrateful shower of Derry hoors!!
Post by: twohands!!! on February 26, 2015, 09:38:19 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 26, 2015, 09:33:15 AM
We have gave you Derry wans a manager from Tyrone,a trainer from Tyrone and your sponsor is from Tyrone.We even handed you's a national league title on a plate and still you's hate us,you ungrateful shower of Derry hoors!!

And all given with such graciousness as well  ;)
Post by: theticklemister on February 26, 2015, 10:09:10 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 26, 2015, 09:33:15 AM

ah go and get yer own feckin club managers then would you............
Post by: theticklemister on February 26, 2015, 10:09:53 AM
Blood is boiling for this game!!!!!!!!!!!1 >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Club Rossa on February 26, 2015, 10:26:37 AM
See what I mean about being ungrateful?
We pay good money for your boys to come and manage,and still you're not happy ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on February 26, 2015, 03:32:47 PM
Not much chat on here I see about the actual game or teams
Slaughneil's win certainly won't help Derry's chances of a win and I would imagine Mickey will know this is a good chance to get much needed points on the table with tough games away to Dublin, Donegal and home to Cork and Kerry still to come.

I wonder will Mickey go as defensive as he did v Mayo. Have we any injuries or suspensions? Team named tonight I presume

I might take a spin up with the kids on Sat night. How much do you pay in for young kids under 5? I'll stuff them full of crisps and fanta for an hour
Post by: Club Rossa on February 26, 2015, 03:37:57 PM
Under 5s will get in for nothing.
Hard to predict this one.Derry will be well fired up for it as they always are against us.Hard to know how good or bad Tyrone are at the minute.I don't think the Derry forwards will be allowed the same room as Monaghan got so I would expect to see Tyrone get more men back like they did against Mayo.
Post by: sensethetone on February 26, 2015, 03:46:04 PM
Did Damian Barton break Damian OHagans jaw in a Tyrone Derry match. If so when was it?
Post by: Club Rossa on February 26, 2015, 03:52:48 PM
He did indeed but I don't know when it happened.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 26, 2015, 04:06:37 PM
Ahhh the memories

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10097.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10097.0)

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39235000/jpg/_39235875_pg_mcanallen_tohill.jpg)
Post by: Fuzzman on February 26, 2015, 09:35:21 PM
Comórtas: Sraith Náisiúnta Peil
Cluiche: Doire v Tír Eoghain
Ionad: Páirc Uí hÉilí, An Omaigh
Dáta: 28 Feabhra 2015

No. – Name – Club
1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc
2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
5 – Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mór
6 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
7 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
9 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn
10 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair
11 – Mattie Donnelly – Trí Leac
12 – Peter Hughes – Eiscreach
13 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc
14 – Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
15 – Cathal McShane – E R Uí Néill
16 – Michael O'Neill – Cluain Eo
17 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair
18 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac
19 – PJ Lavery – Cluain Eo
20 – Connor McAliskey – Cluain Eo
21 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chochair
22 – Shea McGuigan – Ard Bó
23 – Emmett McKenna – Eaglais
24 – Ryan McKenna – Eaglais
25 – Ronan O Neill – An Omaigh
26 – Barry Tierney – An Omaigh​
Post by: omagh_gael on February 26, 2015, 09:37:52 PM
Didn't know young Bradley was in the senior squad, great wee player.
Post by: oakleaflad on February 27, 2015, 11:03:48 AM
Looking at the line ups I expect Tyrone to win handy enough. Tyrone by 5 points or so.
Post by: twohands!!! on February 27, 2015, 02:40:48 PM
Derry team

1. Eoin McNicholl / E Mac Niocaill (Gleann an Iolair)
2. Oisín Duffy / O Ó Dubhthaigh (Forghleann)
3. Niall Holly / N Holly / (Eoghan Rua)
4. Dermot McBride (C) / D Mac Giolla Bhrighde (Baile na Scrine)
5. Brian Óg McAlary / B Óg Ó Cleirigh (Cill Ria)
6. Kevin Johnston / C Johnston (Dún Geimhin)
7. Sean Leo McGoldrick / S L Mac Ualghairg (Eoghan Rua)
8. Mark Craig / M de Creag (Dún Geimhin)
9. Brian Óg McGilligan / B Óg Mac Giollagáin (Beannchar)
10. Carlus McWilliams / C Mac Uilleim (Baile na Scrine)
11. Benny Heron / B O'hEarain (Baile na Scrine)
12. Enda Lynn / E Loinn (Grainloch)
13. Daniel McKinless / D Mag Aonglais (Baile an Doire)
14. Eoin Bradley / E O'Brolachán (Gleann an Iolair)
15. Barry McGoldrick / B Mac Ualghairg (Eoghan Rua)

16. Thomas Mallon / T Ó Maoileoin (An Lúb)
17. Aidan McAlynn / A MacAlynn (An Lúb)
18. Liam McGoldrick / L Mac Ualghairg (Eoghan Rua)
19. Michael McIver / M Mac Íomhair (Baile an Doire)
20. Terence O'Brien / T Ó Briain (An Lúb)
21. Fergal Doherty / F Ó Dochartaigh (Baile Eachaidh)
22. James Kearney / S Ó Brollacháin (Suaitreach)
23. James Kielt / S Ó Caoilte (Cill Ria)
24. Seán Brady / S Ó Brádaigh (Baile Mhic Guaigín)
25. Emmett McGuckin / E Mag Eocháin (Machaire Fíolta)
26. Conor Murphy / C Ó Murchadh (Dún Geimhin)

Seems to be a fairly inexperienced Derry for this level team to my eyes - a lot of the more familiar faces seem to be missing from the starting 15 ?

If Tyrone keep Bradley quiet, hard to see where the scores are going to come from.
Post by: Mikhailov on February 27, 2015, 02:53:15 PM
Quote from: sensethetone on February 26, 2015, 03:46:04 PM
Did Damian Barton break Damian OHagans jaw in a Tyrone Derry match. If so when was it?

Think it was 1990 or 1991 in NFL in Celtic Park - bad handling...

Fair play to Hagan though - he played on through the pain to the end of the game and it happened in the first half if memory serves me right.

Tyrone v Derry were some battles on the field from 1990 to 1997 - seriously competitive with an edge to every challenge and tackle. Even watching from the stand or terraces it was tough stuff
Post by: Fuzzman on February 27, 2015, 03:26:06 PM
Interesting to see Justy at 6 and I wonder will he stay there all year?
That back line doesn't look too bad but I wonder would Mattie Donnelly be better in there or will he and most of the half forward line end up there anyway.
I'd say Eoin Bradley will be triple marked so can see him getting very frustrated

Yeah I kinda miss the bitter Derry rivalry from the 90's when I was at UUJ and most of my "mates" were Derry lads Sor. Horse it inte ye
Was interesting when Mugsy was on the Sunday game last year and Des asked him what's his best memory of GAA and we all thought he'd say that goal but he said for him it was as a fan seeing Tyrone beat Derry with 23 men.
That was an amazing day for me too as I was at the match with 2 Derry mates and a Tyrone mate and having had to listen to us the whole way home they then had to live with us in the same house in Belfast for the rest of the year.
They of course were delighted with how Dublin closed out the year for us.

Post by: shawshank on February 27, 2015, 03:45:42 PM
Don't forget to mention Tyone had 14 players, funny how you always omit that fact
Post by: Estimator on February 27, 2015, 06:23:32 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 27, 2015, 03:26:06 PM
That back line doesn't look too bad but I wonder would Mattie Donnelly be better in there or will he and most of the half forward line end up there anyway.
I'd say Eoin Bradley will be triple marked so can see him getting very frustrated

Yeah I kinda miss the bitter Derry rivalry from the 90's when I was at UUJ and most of my "mates" were Derry lads Sor. Horse it inte ye
Was interesting when Mugsy was on the Sunday game last year and Des asked him what's his best memory of GAA and we all thought he'd say that goal but he said for him it was as a fan seeing Tyrone beat Derry with 23 men.
That was an amazing day for me too as I was at the match with 2 Derry mates and a Tyrone mate and having had to listen to us the whole way home they then had to live with us in the same house in Belfast for the rest of the year.
They of course were delighted with how Dublin closed out the year for us.
23 men?? Unbelievable cheating going on back then.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 27, 2015, 06:58:40 PM
Yeah Derry thought we had 23 the way our defence played that day
I think Paul Donnelly even got a point or was it Jody Gormley
Post by: tiempo on February 27, 2015, 07:08:12 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 26, 2015, 09:37:52 PM
Didn't know young Bradley was in the senior squad, great wee player.

Yeah unless you are talking to a squad member regularly specifically about the squad you wouldn't know the comings and goings, good to see him in there, one for the future, talented for sure
Post by: tiempo on February 27, 2015, 07:10:35 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 27, 2015, 03:26:06 PM

Been a while getting a go at 6, Conor Gormley and Ricey would account for the reasoning, if he's still as mobile out the field as he was at 21 it could be a great move, well worth a look
Post by: An Watcher on February 27, 2015, 09:45:30 PM
Getting back to that game in 95. It was a scorching hot day and with 13 men and 3 points down at ht it seemed all over but what a second half. Think canavan took a piggy back on tohill at one stage. Without an all-Ireland it was always useful to remind our neighbour's of this game. Probably the best game I was ever at
Post by: orangeman on February 28, 2015, 10:07:00 AM
Will the lights resist the temptation to blow a fuse ?

Will the players do the same ?.
Post by: ONeill on February 28, 2015, 10:11:14 AM
So many memorable Tyrone-Derry games even from 2000 onwards.

That first round game in 2003 when Tyrone looked a long way from All-Ireland champions.

2006 and the humiliation in Omagh.

And these from the 90s:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cEc9kyQoGg
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8HbynMBoXo
Post by: omagh_gael on February 28, 2015, 11:25:48 AM
For those Tyrone fans who can't make the games this week and next, Setanta are doing a £5.99 two month subscription with both the Derry and Dublin games covered. Pretty reasonable when you factor in all the other games as well.
Post by: An Watcher on February 28, 2015, 01:19:56 PM
Just subscribed there but don't think I got that deal. £9.99 plus £5 set up. Unless I've missed something
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 28, 2015, 01:31:56 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 28, 2015, 10:07:00 AM
Will the lights resist the temptation to blow a fuse ?

Will the players do the same ?.

It's all down to the Far East of Tyrone betting syndicates.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 28, 2015, 03:48:07 PM
An Watcher, the link below is the one I signed up for (seen it coming through on Facebook). It's £5.99 per month with no set up fee. Can cancel after the two months without signing up for a contract.

https://secure.setantasubs.com/ni/promo/GAA

Post by: omagh_gael on February 28, 2015, 06:20:21 PM
Serious wind building here, could be extremely difficult conditions for football.
Post by: larryin89 on February 28, 2015, 07:23:26 PM
Hard to know which is the worst factor of three, the conditions,mthe standard of football or the setanta camera work.
Post by: armaghniac on February 28, 2015, 07:40:22 PM
Shite night. Obviously a lot of people were content with the Setanta camera work as the stand isn't near full for local "derby".
Post by: redzone on February 28, 2015, 07:43:56 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 28, 2015, 10:11:14 AM
So many memorable Tyrone-Derry games even from 2000 onwards.

That first round game in 2003 when Tyrone looked a long way from All-Ireland champions.

2006 and the humiliation in Omagh.

And these from the 90s:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cEc9kyQoGg
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8HbynMBoXo
just watching canavan in that, memories. unlikely tyrone will ever have a player half as good as that or any other team. supporters to. you could hardly get into a pub in clones at a match back then and when u did it was haze of smoke. Monday was a guaranteed bank holiday after a tyrone championship match and the craic was mental. nearly the whole weeks wages was spent on having a good weekend. id a few friends that had no interest in football but always came and stayed in the pubs and never went to the match as it was that good.  I always tried to make the second half of the minor match at least. remember about 15 of us in a transit heading up one time. paragon was mayhem and when tyrone and Armagh met you couldn't move in it and there was always a fight or 2. I remember a row broke out in the nightclub part of the paragon and all hell broke loose. I always used to think how do them armagh knackers drink that buckfast. I knew a lad who worked in the paragon and he reckoned they use to take over 30000 thru the tills on match day. There was a grt buzz about county football back then, prob because we hadn't won an allireland and the tyrone support was the best about. then we won three all irelands had it just wasn't the same. I suppose the recession didn't help either.
Post by: CD on February 28, 2015, 07:46:19 PM
Gale force - is there a case for postponing a game like this! Setanta viewers pay for rubbish as do those in Healy park.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 28, 2015, 08:07:00 PM
Tyrone having Healy Park blues again.
Post by: Oraisteach on February 28, 2015, 08:08:05 PM
Is there radio coverage?
Post by: redzone on February 28, 2015, 08:14:32 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 28, 2015, 08:08:05 PM
Is there radio coverage?
teamtalkmag radio
bbc sport ni website
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 28, 2015, 08:24:44 PM
6-6 10 mins left. Anyone's.
Post by: armaghniac on February 28, 2015, 08:30:31 PM
Derry 1-7 Tyrone 0-7, 7 mins left.
Post by: theticklemister on February 28, 2015, 08:31:36 PM
go on day buck Ye ha!!
Post by: CD on February 28, 2015, 08:32:23 PM
Quote from: redzone on February 28, 2015, 08:14:32 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 28, 2015, 08:08:05 PM
Is there radio coverage?
teamtalkmag radio
bbc sport ni website
If you're looking for impartiality, avoid teamtalk :D. Good fun though
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 28, 2015, 08:35:35 PM
Tyrone poor again tonite. Horribly unpredictable.
Post by: Onthe40 on February 28, 2015, 08:42:23 PM
lucky to get the draw there...hard to know where this team is going...were Derry mising many?
Post by: redzone on February 28, 2015, 08:43:35 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 28, 2015, 08:31:36 PM
go on day buck Ye ha!!
summed derry up there. mentally not fit for it
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 28, 2015, 08:43:59 PM
Thought it was entertaining enough in the circumstances, very hard to play decent football in those conditions. Tyrone had a series of bad misses in that second half when the game was there for the taking and they really should have pulled away. With Derry then getting the goal and a 4 point lead in the closing stages Tyrone will probably feel relieved to get a draw.
Post by: tyroneman on February 28, 2015, 08:44:17 PM
Hitting a 1 on 1 straight at the keeper, trying to chip the keeper in the next 1 on 1 then 2 defenders breaking the ball to a Derry forward. Authors of their own misfortune. Add in mcNulty and his blaze wide when through....Tyrone should've had this dead and buried.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 28, 2015, 08:44:28 PM
I know it wasn't pretty but Tyrone showed plenty off character there to turn around 4 points in 10mins in those conditions.
Post by: An Watcher on February 28, 2015, 08:46:04 PM
I know Tyrone aren't very convincing but tough to read anything into those conditions at the same time. Is the point any use?
Post by: screenexile on February 28, 2015, 08:52:24 PM
One that got away... Encouraging signs though with Doc and Kielt featuring well. If McGuckin had held that ball up we win!! Disappointing!!!
Post by: orangeman on February 28, 2015, 10:03:58 PM
Not the result that either team wanted. Both needed the 2 points but half a loaf and all that.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 28, 2015, 10:41:20 PM
Yip,a point not much good for either team.I think the next time we lock horns again might well be in Div.2
Post by: ONeill on March 01, 2015, 12:38:21 AM
Has Mickey adopted McGuinness tactics 4 years after Jim set the wheels in motion?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 01, 2015, 01:08:17 AM
That match should be considered a complete write off in terms of analysis. Conditions made it a full blown lottery, right down to Derry's goal with the gales causing a mistimed catch to bounce off McGuckian's face right into the goal scorers arms.

Line drawn and attention focused towards the Dubs next weekend. We always give them a good match in the league, hope that continues next week.
Post by: qz on March 01, 2015, 01:44:36 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 28, 2015, 07:23:26 PM
Hard to know which is the worst factor of three, the conditions,mthe standard of football or the setanta camera work.

Or the GAAGo streaming quality!
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 01, 2015, 02:12:26 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 01, 2015, 01:08:17 AM
That match should be considered a complete write off in terms of analysis. Conditions made it a full blown lottery, right down to Derry's goal with the gales causing a mistimed catch to bounce off McGuckian's face right into the goal scorers arms.

Line drawn and attention focused towards the Dubs next weekend. We always give them a good match in the league, hope that continues next week.

No everyone should go on an all out assault saying how useless Tyrone are........ They will then perform well against Dublin and like after the Mayo game the critics will then be credited for the good performance. Mickey's a shrewd manager  8)
Post by: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 08:18:16 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 28, 2015, 10:41:20 PM
Yip,a point not much good for either team.I think the next time we lock horns again might well be in Div.2

A draw is a terrible result for both teams in terms of relegation - in terms of avoiding relegation it's far closer to being zero points as opposed to being anywhere near 2 points.

Very very hard to see Derry avoiding relegation and Tyrone are very likely to be down there as well in terms of the relegation dog-fight especially when you look at the very average looking quality of their performances to date versus the fact that they have Dublin and Donegal away and Kerry and Cork at home to play yet.

Given the conditions and how much of a lottery they made of things I can see both sides looking back and regretting the fact that the game went ahead at all.

Link to McIver post-match comments

https://vimeo.com/120908142
Post by: An Watcher on March 01, 2015, 10:57:31 AM
At the same time two draws is the same as a win and a defeat so not all bad
Post by: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 11:28:29 AM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on March 01, 2015, 02:12:26 AM

No everyone should go on an all out assault saying how useless Tyrone are........ They will then perform well against Dublin and like after the Mayo game the critics will then be credited for the good performance. Mickey's a shrewd manager  8)

On Tyrone in their game against Mayo, Mayo had 27 shots from play and scored 3 points. The Mayo game was a valuable 2 points, but they came up against a Mayo side who had their worst shooting performance in a very long time.

Now obviously some of those Mayo misses were down to Tyrone defensive pressure, but you would have to said that Tyrone most certainly have rode their luck a fair bit to get the win there given, they only ended up winning by 4 points.

Overall I would still have serious question marks about Tyrone's form considering that and their performance in the Monaghan game and last night, especially considering the 4 teams they have left to play.

The Tyrone attack is not really firing and they have only scored 1-31 (34 points) an average of just over 11 points in their 3 league games. In terms of scores for play they have got a rather feeble looking 1-15 from play [As a comparison the other 6 teams in the league (barring Derry) have all scored more than this from play in their 2 games.]

As regards the Tyrone defence, you could say it is doing ok having conceded 3-28 in the 3 games to date. However you have to take into account that one of those games was against Derry who already look relegated and in the other, they played a side you had a complete meltdown in terms of their shooting performance.

Also in terms of their discipline, they have had 1 player red-carded and 2 others black carded in their 3 games to date.

Looking forward to the Dublin game, I really can't see them getting a result if Dublin perform anyway adequately at home. I think the two games at home against Cork and Kerry are going to be vital if Tyrone are to have any hope of staying up - however the last home game is against Kerry and given the history there, I am sure that Kerry would love to be the ones to consign Harte and Tyrone to Division 2.

Post by: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 11:40:26 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on March 01, 2015, 10:57:31 AM

When there are only 7 games in the regular season of the league, the 1 point earned in a draw is extremely unlikely to be of much benefit to either side in avoiding relegation. The odds of drawing your way to relegation are far far higher than the odds of drawing your way to safety.

If you look at the historical records of the teams that get relegated from the various divisions in the football league, a draw is a very bad result for teams battling relegation.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 01, 2015, 11:51:54 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 11:28:29 AM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on March 01, 2015, 02:12:26 AM

On Tyrone in their game against Mayo, Mayo had 27 shots from play and scored 3 points. The Mayo game was a valuable 2 points, but they came up against a Mayo side who had their worst shooting performance in a very long time.

Now obviously some of those Mayo misses were down to Tyrone defensive pressure, but you would have to said that Tyrone most certainly have rode their luck a fair bit to get the win there given, they only ended up winning by 4 points.

Overall I would still have serious question marks about Tyrone's form considering that and their performance in the Monaghan game and last night, especially considering the 4 teams they have left to play.

The Tyrone attack is not really firing and they have only scored 1-31 (34 points) an average of just over 11 points in their 3 league games. In terms of scores for play they have got a rather feeble looking 1-15 from play [As a comparison the other 6 teams in the league (barring Derry) have all scored more than this from play in their 2 games.]

As regards the Tyrone defence, you could say it is doing ok having conceded 3-28 in the 3 games to date. However you have to take into account that one of those games was against Derry who already look relegated and in the other, they played a side you had a complete meltdown in terms of their shooting performance.

Also in terms of their discipline, they have had 1 player red-carded and 2 others black carded in their 3 games to date.

Looking forward to the Dublin game, I really can't see them getting a result if Dublin perform anyway adequately at home. I think the two games at home against Cork and Kerry are going to be vital if Tyrone are to have any hope of staying up - however the last home game is against Kerry and given the history there, I am sure that Kerry would love to be the ones to consign Harte and Tyrone to Division 2.

Tyrone have a lot of improving to do but I'd pay good money to see the team that could rattle up a big score in those conditions last night. As regards to the point being closer to a defeat than a victory - what a pile of nonsense. A point is better than no points whatever way you look at it and it could be the difference between staying up and going down. If there is three wins in Div 1 today we'll have 3 or 4 teams below us after 3 rounds of games, because of that point last night. But I suppose if your looking at everything from a glass half empty perspective you will make comments like that. From my perspective, we have improved since the debacle v Monaghan. To pull out a draw after going 4 down showed an improvement in belief and character which a lot of people said was gone from the team.
Post by: An Watcher on March 01, 2015, 12:30:57 PM
My only worry is, have we been here before in the last few seasons. Not sure if we're seeing any definite signs of improvement in any area of the field. Maybe it'll come in the next few games under better conditions
Post by: skeog on March 01, 2015, 12:37:52 PM
derry management not very impressed with referee thought he done ok in the conditions point each was probably about right great effort by both teams considering how bad conditions were
Post by: tiempo on March 01, 2015, 10:29:32 PM

Nail hit firmly on head, sometimes a match cant really be dissected due to x, y or z reasons
Post by: Keyser soze on March 02, 2015, 10:48:02 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 11:40:26 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on March 01, 2015, 10:57:31 AM

When there are only 7 games in the regular season of the league, the 1 point earned in a draw is extremely unlikely to be of much benefit to either side in avoiding relegation. The odds of drawing your way to relegation are far far higher than the odds of drawing your way to safety.

If you look at the historical records of the teams that get relegated from the various divisions in the football league, a draw is a very bad result for teams battling relegation.

Well if you drew all your matches you would be guaranteed to stay up and get into the playoffs!!! Other than draws are a complete waste of time.
Post by: give her dixie on March 05, 2015, 01:04:36 PM
The stand-off between the Tyrone senior football set-up and RTE looks set to continue, after a specially-convened meeting of the county's top brass on Tuesday night failed to make any progress on the matter.

The county management committee, led by county chairperson Roisin Jordan, met with county senior boss Mickey Harte at Garvaghey to discuss the Tyrone team's ongoing blackout of the national broadcaster, which is understood to have compromised the recently-unveiled sponsorship with Cookstown-based construction firm McAleer & Rushe.

However, reporting back to assembled club delegates after their discussions, Jordan informed that the county manager had made his position clear that he was not stopping the players speaking to RTE, rather that the players had decided to adopt the same stance as their manager out of loyalty to him.

The situation reached boiling point last Saturday night when Jordan visited the Tyrone dressing room to request a player for an RTE interview, but the chairperson was forced into an uncomfortable apology to the RTE representatives when the request was flatly turned down.

It is understood that Tyrone officials will now make their response to their sponsors to confirm that they are unable to deliver on the agreement that Tyrone's players and/or management would make themselves available to requests from all media outlets, which could in turn lead to a renegotiation of the reported £55,000 a year plus bonuses sponsorship agreement.

http://gaeliclife.com/2015/03/tyrones-rte-stand-off-set-to-continue/
Post by: rrhf on March 06, 2015, 07:38:50 AM
Sponsors forcing the issue....dangerous road to go down... However the county board are at fault here. Agreeing on something that wasn't rightfully  in their power to enforce.  That sponsorship figure seems desperately low comparatively.   Sponsors however are supposed to be huge Tyrone supporters and probably this is part of a wider will and plan to sort mickey as the county board appear to have lost their power there. Saturday will now be about this.