Tír Eoghain vs Doire, Saturday 28th Feb, 7pm @ Healy Park

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, February 08, 2015, 10:38:49 PM

Club Rossa

See what I mean about being ungrateful?
We pay good money for your boys to come and manage,and still you're not happy ;)

Not much chat on here I see about the actual game or teams
Slaughneil's win certainly won't help Derry's chances of a win and I would imagine Mickey will know this is a good chance to get much needed points on the table with tough games away to Dublin, Donegal and home to Cork and Kerry still to come.

I wonder will Mickey go as defensive as he did v Mayo. Have we any injuries or suspensions? Team named tonight I presume

I might take a spin up with the kids on Sat night. How much do you pay in for young kids under 5? I'll stuff them full of crisps and fanta for an hour

Club Rossa

Under 5s will get in for nothing.
Hard to predict this one.Derry will be well fired up for it as they always are against us.Hard to know how good or bad Tyrone are at the minute.I don't think the Derry forwards will be allowed the same room as Monaghan got so I would expect to see Tyrone get more men back like they did against Mayo.

sensethetone

Did Damian Barton break Damian OHagans jaw in a Tyrone Derry match. If so when was it?

Club Rossa

Comórtas: Sraith Náisiúnta Peil
Cluiche: Doire v Tír Eoghain
Ionad: Páirc Uí hÉilí, An Omaigh
Dáta: 28 Feabhra 2015

No. – Name – Club
1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc
2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
5 – Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mór
6 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
7 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
9 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn
10 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair
11 – Mattie Donnelly – Trí Leac
12 – Peter Hughes – Eiscreach
13 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc
14 – Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
15 – Cathal McShane – E R Uí Néill
16 – Michael O'Neill – Cluain Eo
17 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair
18 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac
19 – PJ Lavery – Cluain Eo
20 – Connor McAliskey – Cluain Eo
21 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chochair
22 – Shea McGuigan – Ard Bó
23 – Emmett McKenna – Eaglais
24 – Ryan McKenna – Eaglais
25 – Ronan O Neill – An Omaigh
26 – Barry Tierney – An Omaigh​

Didn't know young Bradley was in the senior squad, great wee player.

oakleaflad

Looking at the line ups I expect Tyrone to win handy enough. Tyrone by 5 points or so.

Derry team

1. Eoin McNicholl / E Mac Niocaill (Gleann an Iolair)
2. Oisín Duffy / O Ó Dubhthaigh (Forghleann)
3. Niall Holly / N Holly / (Eoghan Rua)
4. Dermot McBride (C) / D Mac Giolla Bhrighde (Baile na Scrine)
5. Brian Óg McAlary / B Óg Ó Cleirigh (Cill Ria)
6. Kevin Johnston / C Johnston (Dún Geimhin)
7. Sean Leo McGoldrick / S L Mac Ualghairg (Eoghan Rua)
8. Mark Craig / M de Creag (Dún Geimhin)
9. Brian Óg McGilligan / B Óg Mac Giollagáin (Beannchar)
10. Carlus McWilliams / C Mac Uilleim (Baile na Scrine)
11. Benny Heron / B O'hEarain (Baile na Scrine)
12. Enda Lynn / E Loinn (Grainloch)
13. Daniel McKinless / D Mag Aonglais (Baile an Doire)
14. Eoin Bradley / E O'Brolachán (Gleann an Iolair)
15. Barry McGoldrick / B Mac Ualghairg (Eoghan Rua)

16. Thomas Mallon / T Ó Maoileoin (An Lúb)
17. Aidan McAlynn / A MacAlynn (An Lúb)
18. Liam McGoldrick / L Mac Ualghairg (Eoghan Rua)
19. Michael McIver / M Mac Íomhair (Baile an Doire)
20. Terence O'Brien / T Ó Briain (An Lúb)
21. Fergal Doherty / F Ó Dochartaigh (Baile Eachaidh)
22. James Kearney / S Ó Brollacháin (Suaitreach)
23. James Kielt / S Ó Caoilte (Cill Ria)
24. Seán Brady / S Ó Brádaigh (Baile Mhic Guaigín)
25. Emmett McGuckin / E Mag Eocháin (Machaire Fíolta)
26. Conor Murphy / C Ó Murchadh (Dún Geimhin)

Seems to be a fairly inexperienced Derry for this level team to my eyes - a lot of the more familiar faces seem to be missing from the starting 15 ?

If Tyrone keep Bradley quiet, hard to see where the scores are going to come from.

Mikhailov

Quote from: sensethetone on February 26, 2015, 03:46:04 PM
Did Damian Barton break Damian OHagans jaw in a Tyrone Derry match. If so when was it?

Think it was 1990 or 1991 in NFL in Celtic Park - bad handling...

Fair play to Hagan though - he played on through the pain to the end of the game and it happened in the first half if memory serves me right.

Tyrone v Derry were some battles on the field from 1990 to 1997 - seriously competitive with an edge to every challenge and tackle. Even watching from the stand or terraces it was tough stuff

Interesting to see Justy at 6 and I wonder will he stay there all year?
That back line doesn't look too bad but I wonder would Mattie Donnelly be better in there or will he and most of the half forward line end up there anyway.
I'd say Eoin Bradley will be triple marked so can see him getting very frustrated

Yeah I kinda miss the bitter Derry rivalry from the 90's when I was at UUJ and most of my "mates" were Derry lads Sor. Horse it inte ye
Was interesting when Mugsy was on the Sunday game last year and Des asked him what's his best memory of GAA and we all thought he'd say that goal but he said for him it was as a fan seeing Tyrone beat Derry with 23 men.
That was an amazing day for me too as I was at the match with 2 Derry mates and a Tyrone mate and having had to listen to us the whole way home they then had to live with us in the same house in Belfast for the rest of the year.
They of course were delighted with how Dublin closed out the year for us.

shawshank

Don't forget to mention Tyone had 14 players, funny how you always omit that fact

Estimator

Quote from: Fuzzman on February 27, 2015, 03:26:06 PM
Interesting to see Justy at 6 and I wonder will he stay there all year?
That back line doesn't look too bad but I wonder would Mattie Donnelly be better in there or will he and most of the half forward line end up there anyway.
I'd say Eoin Bradley will be triple marked so can see him getting very frustrated

Yeah I kinda miss the bitter Derry rivalry from the 90's when I was at UUJ and most of my "mates" were Derry lads Sor. Horse it inte ye
Was interesting when Mugsy was on the Sunday game last year and Des asked him what's his best memory of GAA and we all thought he'd say that goal but he said for him it was as a fan seeing Tyrone beat Derry with 23 men.
That was an amazing day for me too as I was at the match with 2 Derry mates and a Tyrone mate and having had to listen to us the whole way home they then had to live with us in the same house in Belfast for the rest of the year.
They of course were delighted with how Dublin closed out the year for us.
23 men?? Unbelievable cheating going on back then.
Ulster League Champions 2009

Yeah Derry thought we had 23 the way our defence played that day
I think Paul Donnelly even got a point or was it Jody Gormley