GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GalwayBayBoy on October 09, 2014, 04:02:51 PM

Title: Championship draw 2015
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 09, 2014, 04:02:51 PM
On RTE 2 tonight at 7. Yes already.
Title: Re: Championship draw 2015
Post by: mayo.mick on October 09, 2014, 04:11:35 PM
Arn't ye heading for NY next year?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 09, 2014, 04:14:35 PM
Quote from: mayo.mick on October 09, 2014, 04:11:35 PM
Arn't ye heading for NY next year?

Yeah think so.

London v Roscommon as well I think.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 09, 2014, 04:41:55 PM
The only draw I really would love to see coming out is Kerry v Cork in the Munster semi final, now that the rest of the counties in Munster have found their balls.
Post by: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 04:43:38 PM
Why is this at this time of year? Just to fill in a quiet time in the GAA calendar?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 09, 2014, 04:44:40 PM
Yep, and I suppose to give even more time to get things set up in terms of master fixtures for the counties etc. Spring doesn't be long coming around.
Post by: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 07:06:04 PM
Armagh v Down at home would be nice, followed by a meeting with the winners of Fermanagh and Antrim. More likely we'll have Monaghan away to get the opportunity to play Donegal or Tyrone.
Post by: dec on October 09, 2014, 07:34:35 PM
Connacht

Preliminary Round
New York v Galway

Quarter-final
London v Roscommon
New York / Galway v Leitrim

Semi-finals
London / Roscommon v Sligo
New York / Galway / Leitrim v Mayo
Post by: dec on October 09, 2014, 07:38:28 PM
Munster

Quarter-finals
Waterford v Tipperary
Clare v Limerick

Semi-finals
Clare / Limerick v Cork
Kerry v Waterford v Tipperary
Post by: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 07:40:46 PM
Monaghan for the Ulster final!
Tyrone for round 1 of the qualifiers
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BzhqX-VCEAAr9PB.jpg:large)

Post by: dec on October 09, 2014, 07:41:32 PM
Ulster

Prelim
Donegal v Tyrone

Quarter
Armagh v Donegal/Tyrone, Cavan v Monaghan, Fermanagh v Antrim, Derry v Down

Semi
Derry/Down v Armagh/Donegal/Tyrone
Cavan/Monaghan v Fermanagh/Antrim
Post by: Kidder81 on October 09, 2014, 07:42:10 PM
Another one sided Ulster draw
Post by: BennyCake on October 09, 2014, 07:44:25 PM
Will Amagh be at home v Don/Tyr?
Post by: Kidder81 on October 09, 2014, 07:45:53 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 09, 2014, 07:44:25 PM

Yes
Post by: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 07:49:19 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on October 09, 2014, 07:45:53 PM

Yes

Full house, I imagine. Get your season ticket now!
Post by: laoislad on October 09, 2014, 07:50:22 PM
Easy.
Post by: JP on October 09, 2014, 07:52:20 PM
Season ticket bought. What a draw!!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 09, 2014, 07:53:39 PM
Offaly like 18 bus. Wait 16 years for one and then 2 come together.

Can we arrange a draw and the pick of the two teams play Dubs?
Post by: SHEEDY on October 09, 2014, 07:53:56 PM

Yes
if Donegal win, then Armagh will be home. if tyrone win Armagh will be away.
Post by: Schkite on October 09, 2014, 07:54:08 PM
Not a bad draw! Cavan will be a tough game as always but couldn't have asked for much more to be honest!
Post by: BennyCake on October 09, 2014, 07:55:13 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 07:49:19 PM

Yes

Full house, I imagine. Get your season ticket now!

Full house, no doubt. It pisses me off when you can hardly get a ticket for these games. Full of the buckfast brigade and weemin. Where were they during the McKenna Cup?
Post by: Syferus on October 09, 2014, 07:55:31 PM
Loverly.
Post by: Rossfan on October 09, 2014, 08:01:06 PM
Great chance of us making the Connacht final. Hopefully Galway bate the Rhus but will be worn out by having to play 3 games to get to the Final in Prenty's new system.
What's this Prelim all about? .... will there be a tightening up of the Provincials next year to fit in Club championships?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 09, 2014, 08:08:09 PM
Happy enough with our draws. Roll on the Summer.
Post by: mayo.mick on October 09, 2014, 08:22:16 PM
(http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/aa382/mayomick/GAA/connacht-2015_zpsd6f0e6f6.jpg) (http://s1195.photobucket.com/user/mayomick/media/GAA/connacht-2015_zpsd6f0e6f6.jpg.html)

(http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/aa382/mayomick/GAA/ulster-2015_zps51368022.jpg) (http://s1195.photobucket.com/user/mayomick/media/GAA/ulster-2015_zps51368022.jpg.html)

(http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/aa382/mayomick/GAA/munster-2015_zps2585870a.jpg) (http://s1195.photobucket.com/user/mayomick/media/GAA/munster-2015_zps2585870a.jpg.html)

(http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/aa382/mayomick/GAA/leinster-2015_zps9dceecef.jpg) (http://s1195.photobucket.com/user/mayomick/media/GAA/leinster-2015_zps9dceecef.jpg.html)
Post by: PAULD123 on October 09, 2014, 08:23:34 PM
Down have been drawn away from home for the ninth straight year in succession for our opening championship game. Surely no one thinks that is fair?
Post by: JP on October 09, 2014, 08:27:05 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on October 09, 2014, 08:23:34 PM
Down have been drawn away from home for the ninth straight year in succession for our opening championship game. Surely no one thinks that is fair?

If you want fairness you start following a different sport. There are many things inherently flawed in our system. Should be a good game against Derry though. 
Post by: Put Up That Flag on October 09, 2014, 08:39:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 09, 2014, 07:55:31 PM
Loverly.

The bearded magician will have a field day against Sligo......oh wait roscommon don't normally play sligo in the fbd when their star studded team do be purring in the middle of january  ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 09, 2014, 08:41:38 PM
Is that A and B thing for the backdoor purposes?
Post by: Aristo 60 on October 09, 2014, 08:52:24 PM

It should be played in kilcoo this year to redress the 9 year imbalance!!
Post by: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 08:57:58 PM

Are you feeling Down? Surely it is better to allow Derry beat yous by a point or two than have you hammered by Armagh?
Post by: sligoman2 on October 09, 2014, 09:01:01 PM
If Ross beat London will our game v Ross be in Sligo?
Post by: SouthDublinBro on October 09, 2014, 09:04:49 PM
Why do teams in Leinster/Ulster have to play 3/4 games in their province every year while Mayo/Cork/Kerry can get away with only playing twice to be provincial champs?

Joke of a system tbh.
Post by: Syferus on October 09, 2014, 09:08:08 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on October 09, 2014, 09:01:01 PM

Yis.
Post by: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 09:09:44 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on October 09, 2014, 09:04:49 PM
Why do teams in Leinster/Ulster have to play 3/4 games in their province every year while Mayo/Cork/Kerry can get away with only playing twice to be provincial champs?

Joke of a system tbh.

Leinster might have games, but these could hardly be described as a "match". I suppose that wouldn't be anything to do with half the population being in a joke of a county?
Post by: larryin89 on October 09, 2014, 09:10:18 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on October 09, 2014, 09:04:49 PM

Joke of a system tbh.

its a numerical thing.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 09, 2014, 09:14:16 PM
Brolly looked and sounded depressed as he talked about each draw. Really, you can see how he should be. There is little to get excited about. Munster as bland as ever. Seedings and byes into Semi-finals leave only a 50/50 chance of Cork/Kerry being forced early into the back door and one of the others having a bit more of a chance of winning a Muster title. Leinster/Connacht draws hard to get excited by as well. Then we have Ulster, and the whole Provincial Championship looks a joke. No seeding here. No soft day trips to New York or London. Not all your games played on your home turf. Just looking at Donegal and in order for them to retain their title have to beat Tyrone, Armagh, Down or Derry and possibly Monaghan. And then they are only in the Quarter finals. It beggars belief?
Post by: SouthDublinBro on October 09, 2014, 09:27:25 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 09:09:44 PM
Leinster might have games, but these could hardly be described as a "match". I suppose that wouldn't be anything to do with half the population being in a joke of a county?

Dublin have 24 times as many AI titles as your county, but we certainly don't have 24x the population of Armagh. Historical overacheivers compared to you guys I suppose.
Post by: AQMP on October 09, 2014, 09:30:42 PM
Ulster lop-sided again.  They really should seed us and Fermanagh so we can only meet in the final.
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 09, 2014, 09:31:19 PM
Cavan v Monaghan - let the abuse begin, we could have 100 pages before next summer on that thread.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 09, 2014, 09:43:58 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on October 09, 2014, 09:27:25 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 09, 2014, 09:09:44 PM

Dublin have 24 times as many AI titles as your county, but we certainly don't have 24x the population of Armagh. Historical overacheivers compared to you guys I suppose.

Just when you thought comments on this board could not get any more stupid!
Post by: Schkite on October 09, 2014, 09:51:54 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on October 09, 2014, 09:31:19 PM
Cavan v Monaghan - let the abuse begin, we could have 100 pages before next summer on that thread.

Should be good!
Post by: sligoman2 on October 09, 2014, 09:54:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 09, 2014, 09:08:08 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on October 09, 2014, 09:01:01 PM

Yis.

Should be an easy win for us if we have a manager at that point.  ;D ;D ;D :o :( >:(
Post by: Shrewdness on October 09, 2014, 10:47:02 PM
Former Limerick football manager, Liam Kearns, has been appointed as a selector to the Roscommon senior team by fellow Kerryman, John Evans.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 09, 2014, 10:48:33 PM
Tough draw for Armagh and preparing for it by playing in division three won't help.
Post by: ck on October 09, 2014, 10:49:03 PM
The nations thought process?

Connacht: Mmm so Galway get the trip away this year eh
Leinster: Who have to play Dublin first?
Munster: zzzzzzzzzzzzzz wake me up for the Ulster draw
Ulster: Wow...Jesus... No way!.. That's savage... Christ the night... no!.. lol Such a hoor of a province to get outa!

The provincial system is kinda messed up don't ya think?
Post by: Jinxy on October 09, 2014, 10:50:19 PM
We should throw the game against Wicklow and get into the qualifiers nice and early.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 09, 2014, 11:06:08 PM
Quote from: ck on October 09, 2014, 10:49:03 PM

Ulster: Wow...Jesus... No way!.. That's savage... Christ the night... no!.. lol Such a hoor of a province to get outa!

hmmmmm............

Motion: Change provincial system
Vote:   Ulster says NO!

Why do the turkeys keep voting for Christmas so ?

Post by: magpie seanie on October 09, 2014, 11:20:05 PM
We need to get ourselves fcukin cooking for June. Any time you get straight into the semi final it's a great opportunity. Will add a bit of spice having a rhubarb at the helm....
Post by: Sandy Hill on October 09, 2014, 11:23:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 09, 2014, 09:14:16 PM
Brolly looked and sounded depressed as he talked about each draw. Really, you can see how he should be. There is little to get excited about. Munster as bland as ever. Seedings and byes into Semi-finals leave only a 50/50 chance of Cork/Kerry being forced early into the back door and one of the others having a bit more of a chance of winning a Muster title. Leinster/Connacht draws hard to get excited by as well. Then we have Ulster, and the whole Provincial Championship looks a joke. No seeding here. No soft day trips to New York or London. Not all your games played on your home turf. Just looking at Donegal and in order for them to retain their title have to beat Tyrone, Armagh, Down or Derry and possibly Monaghan. And then they are only in the Quarter finals. It beggars belief?

Harsh reality; Cork and Kerry play one "real" match to qualify for the AI Q Finals while Donegal or Tyrone are faced with 3 to reach the same position!
Post by: Sidney on October 09, 2014, 11:33:07 PM
The B side of the qualifiers will be much tougher than the A section.

It'll contain four of Donegal/Tyrone/Armagh/Derry/Down and one of Mayo/Galway.

At least three of those seven are guaranteed to be out of the championship before the last 12.
Post by: Syferus on October 09, 2014, 11:33:40 PM
In fairness it's very questionable if any Ulster team will be a serious AI challenger next year. Competitiveness and quality are two entirely separate issues.
Post by: J70 on October 09, 2014, 11:43:58 PM
 ;D f**k me, you have to laugh!

Is that the hardest draw ever for Donegal or Tyrone? Five of the top six Ulster teams on one side.

Think Monaghan just might be favourites for Ulster next year...
Post by: J70 on October 09, 2014, 11:45:40 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on October 09, 2014, 11:23:59 PM

Harsh reality; Cork and Kerry play one "real" match to qualify for the AI Q Finals while Donegal or Tyrone are faced with 3 to reach the same position!

Make that 4!
Post by: rrhf on October 09, 2014, 11:45:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 09, 2014, 11:33:40 PM
In fairness it's very questionable if any Ulster team will be a serious AI challenger next year. Competitiveness and quality are two entirely separate issues.
and a ref in the semis
Post by: Aaron Boone on October 09, 2014, 11:49:29 PM
I didn't even know there was a draw tonight.

Like the hurling, you could hibernate from now to August bank holiday weekend next year and you'd catch up pretty quick.
Post by: Mourne Rover on October 09, 2014, 11:52:35 PM
While it is correct that Down have remarkably been drawn away in their first USC match for nine consecutive seasons, the home hoodoo goes back even further. We were allocated home games in three of the previous seven years, but the redevelopment in Newry meant they all had to be staged at Casement. The last time we actually played at Pairc Esler in our first championship game was against Antrim in 1999.

It could be argued that Ulster is so tough and unpredictable that a home draw offers only a limited advantage, but it would still be nice to get the odd one. However, the other provinces are so imbalanced that a wider restructuring is going to have to be considered.

Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 10, 2014, 12:07:32 AM

Exactly.  Donegal are one of the best teams in the country over the past 4 years.  But who in Ulster has done much otherwise? 

Donegal handled Dublin fairly easily this year, but the second-best team in Ulster were absolutely destroyed by Dublin in the previous round. 
Post by: moysider on October 10, 2014, 12:12:58 AM

Er, no.

Every year now there is a very competitive Division One league with best teams from all provinces that produce good quality games but get risible attendances. Any 'champion's league' championship format would get the same response imo. People might come out for the 1/4 on but that would be it. At least now the provincial system keeps the local skirmishes going which is vital imo. Putting Sam Maguire as a prize for some new formula would cut no ice. Yeah, the competition can be lopsided but it always was.
Post by: orangeman on October 10, 2014, 12:17:59 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on October 09, 2014, 09:31:19 PM

I'll be gutted if it's not much more than that.
Post by: orangeman on October 10, 2014, 12:23:18 AM
Quote from: the_daddy on October 10, 2014, 12:14:49 AM
Quote from: J70 on October 09, 2014, 11:43:58 PM
;D f**k me, you have to laugh!

Is that the hardest draw ever for Donegal or Tyrone? Five of the top six Ulster teams on one side.

Think Monaghan just might be favourites for Ulster next year...

PP odds

Monaghan 3/1
Donegal 4/1
Armagh 9/2
Derry 9/2
Tyrone 6/1
Cavan 15/2
Down 15/2
Fermanagh 25/1
Antrim 50/1

Cavan @ 15/2 the value bet.

On the other hand Malachy O'Rourke is one lucky chap. No disrespect to Cavan, Fermanagh and Antrim, Monaghan will be in Ulster final if they can beat a resurgent Cavan team who didn't deliver at senior level in 2014.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 10, 2014, 12:26:05 AM
What is so hard about Ulster ?

I've never understood this fixation with the "competitiveness" of the Ulster championship.

Leinster and Munster sides have always been more successful when it comes to the crunch. Surely the obvious conclusion from that is that  Ulster sides compete "equally" at their own level and are found wanting at the higher level ?

Cork would have more provincial titles than Cavan if they were in Ulster. This is an indisputable fact.
Post by: Throw ball on October 10, 2014, 12:28:51 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on October 10, 2014, 12:07:32 AM

Exactly.  Donegal are one of the best teams in the country over the past 4 years.  But who in Ulster has done much otherwise? 

Donegal handled Dublin fairly easily this year, but the second-best team in Ulster were absolutely destroyed by Dublin in the previous round.

To be fair Monaghan were shot before they played Dublin and may then may not have been the second best team in Ulster. Besides Dublin destroyed everyone except Donegal this year.
Post by: armaghniac on October 10, 2014, 01:07:00 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on October 10, 2014, 12:26:05 AM
Cork would have more provincial titles than Cavan if they were in Ulster. This is an indisputable fact.

With a population 8 times Cavan that isn't any great feat.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 10, 2014, 03:02:38 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on October 10, 2014, 12:28:51 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on October 10, 2014, 12:07:32 AM

To be fair Monaghan were shot before they played Dublin and may then may not have been the second best team in Ulster. Besides Dublin destroyed everyone except Donegal this year.

Fair point; the quick turnaround did Monaghan no favors.  But the main point still stands: Ulster is the most competitive province, but only one team in the past 4 years has been a contender.  So competitiveness on its own doesn't amount to much. 

In the 2000's, this was obviously a different story, but right now....
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 10, 2014, 03:28:54 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 10, 2014, 01:07:00 AM

With a population 8 times Cavan that isn't any great feat.

They have 3 times our population. That doesn't stop us beating them.

You Nordies are All-Ireland champions at excuses.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 10, 2014, 09:45:38 AM
f**king Louth again. I'm sure they're as sick of us as we are of them. Great draw apart from that. Kildare and Dublin on the other side, path there to the Leinster final if we get the right man in.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 10, 2014, 09:48:11 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 09, 2014, 07:53:39 PM
Offaly like 18 bus. Wait 16 years for one and then 2 come together.

Can we arrange a draw and the pick of the two teams play Dubs?
Both counties need to canvass for the winner to get a home draw against the Dubs.
Post by: rrhf on October 10, 2014, 10:02:13 AM
Exactly Monaghan will be favourites because they have the easy draw same as Kerry Dublin and Mayo for. Sam
Post by: Zulu on October 10, 2014, 10:22:49 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 10, 2014, 12:12:58 AM

Er, no.

Every year now there is a very competitive Division One league with best teams from all provinces that produce good quality games but get risible attendances. Any 'champion's league' championship format would get the same response imo. People might come out for the 1/4 on but that would be it. At least now the provincial system keeps the local skirmishes going which is vital imo. Putting Sam Maguire as a prize for some new formula would cut no ice. Yeah, the competition can be lopsided but it always was.

That's not much of an argument in fairness - it always was lopsided so it should remain so! The league attendances are bigger than many championship attendances but the reason the league crowds aren't massive is because we tell everyone it isn't worth going to. Supporters will go to see well prepared, full strength teams, trying to win games. The provincial championships are killing Gaelic games and we don't need them to provide local skirmishes, they'll occur in any format.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 10, 2014, 10:24:28 AM
QuoteBoth counties need to canvass for the winner to get a home draw against the Dubs.

This thought crossed my mind as well. But I don't think it will happen. A packed Pearse Park or O'Connor Park would be a smashing day out and take the Dubs down the bog for the first time since 2006.

But the Leinster Council finance people won't let it happen.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on October 10, 2014, 10:52:27 AM

+1 to all this.

There is something badly wrong with a competitions structure when there is such a varying degree of difficulty to get to the same stage ( say tyrone or donegals route to a semi final versus that of cork or kerry)
Post by: Rossfan on October 10, 2014, 10:59:58 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 10, 2014, 10:52:27 AM

+1 to all this.

There is something badly wrong with a competitions structure when there is such a varying degree of difficulty to get to the same stage ( say tyrone or donegals route to a semi final versus that of cork or kerry)

The Ulster bag o spuds on the showlder whinge machine is in full flow FFS.
If taking part in an Ulster championship is such a burden why the fcuk don't ye just abolish it. Play the McKenna Cup in May and June and just take part in the Qualifiers.
As for the down whinge about away fixtures - why don't ye copy the sensible Connacht folk and have home and away in turn.
And ye call Willie Frazer thick .....  ::)
Post by: blanketattack on October 10, 2014, 12:15:57 PM

That's one real match more than Dublin and Mayo have had to play over the last few years to qualify for a 1/4 final.
Post by: Orior on October 10, 2014, 01:17:05 PM

It's the fault of the fecking english again - they created the counties without due care and attention as to how it would affect the football championship. Fecking english tossers.
Post by: Whitnail on October 10, 2014, 04:17:24 PM
A few of our more mature players are probably balancing on the border of staying another year and retiring I think they've just waiting to see who the new manager is.

I imagine the one's thinking of staying would be looking at this draw and thinking it might be time
Post by: sligoman2 on October 10, 2014, 04:36:50 PM
Stick donegal and Longford  into Connacht, Carlow and Wexford into Munster then you have 8 in each province (excluding Kk and ny)
Post by: Rossfan on October 10, 2014, 04:38:33 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on October 10, 2014, 04:36:50 PM
Stick donegal and Longford  into Connacht, Carlow and Wexford into Munster then you have 8 in each province (excluding Kk and ny)
Then it's not Connacht or Munster.  >:(
Post by: manfromdelmonte on October 10, 2014, 04:57:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 10, 2014, 04:38:33 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on October 10, 2014, 04:36:50 PM
Then it's not Connacht or Munster.  >:(
In fairness, London? New York?
Post by: Rossfan on October 10, 2014, 05:03:44 PM
More Connacht exiles per head than the other Provinces.
Plus of course the need for officials to go there and make sure everything runs smoothly.
Who exactly will "Stick" these Counties into other "Provinces"  :o ::)
Post by: Syferus on October 10, 2014, 05:08:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 10, 2014, 05:03:44 PM
More Connacht exiles per head than the other Provinces.
Plus of course the need for officials to go there and make sure everything runs smoothly.
Who exactly will "Stick" these Counties into other "Provinces"  :o ::)

Only the beasht that is John Prenty would be up to the task.

Not happening lads.
Post by: Armamike on October 10, 2014, 06:23:33 PM
Kerry have more or less a bye to the quarters every year. Not too hard to work out why they've 34 AIs.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 10, 2014, 06:54:12 PM
Quote34 AIs

37 actually.
Post by: Rossfan on October 10, 2014, 07:06:34 PM
And Quarter finals only started in 2001. ;)
Post by: PAULD123 on October 10, 2014, 11:08:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 10, 2014, 07:06:34 PM
And Quarter finals only started in 2001. ;)

That's right, because before that instead of only having one real match to get straight into the quarter finals, they only had one real match to get into the semis instead!!!!
Post by: Armamike on October 10, 2014, 11:54:22 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 10, 2014, 06:54:12 PM
Quote34 AIs

37 actually.

3 or 4 of them didn't count - they were walkovers.
Post by: laoislad on October 11, 2014, 10:41:48 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 10, 2014, 06:54:12 PM
Quote34 AIs

37 actually.

38 actually........ ;)

37 Football
1 Hurling
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 11, 2014, 11:56:05 AM
How embarrassing for Armamike. His complete ignorance of GAA history is exposed to the board and , to cap it all off, Kerry have as many hurling AI as Armagh have football !!
Post by: Shrewdness on October 11, 2014, 12:39:43 PM
Barring any shock results in the earlier games, the Connacht semi finals will be Galway v Mayo in Salthill and Sligo v Roscommon in Markievicz Park..... Am i correct in saying that if Galway beat Mayo, they will have home advantage in the Connacht Final, regardless of whether it's Sligo or Roscommon who they meet?
Post by: balladmaker on October 11, 2014, 12:51:06 PM
Logie says it best ...

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FNLfuKD82kc (http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FNLfuKD82kc)
Post by: Syferus on October 11, 2014, 12:58:12 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on October 11, 2014, 12:39:43 PM
Barring any shock results in the earlier games, the Connacht semi finals will be Galway v Mayo in Salthill and Sligo v Roscommon in Markievicz Park..... Am i correct in saying that if Galway beat Mayo, they will have home advantage in the Connacht Final, regardless of whether it's Sligo or Roscommon who they meet?

Sligo and Galway Connacht finals will be played at McHale per the old neutral venue rules for Connacht finals featuring counties unable to host Connacht finals. Technically we might be able to push for a neutral Connacht final too given the current situation with the Hyde but if we were playing Mayo I'd be surprised if we had the brass balls to drag everyone down to Salthill, especially given our last match was a home one for us.
Post by: Armamike on October 11, 2014, 04:29:37 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on October 11, 2014, 11:56:05 AM
How embarrassing for Armamike. His complete ignorance of GAA history is exposed to the board and , to cap it all off, Kerry have as many hurling AI as Armagh have football !!

Jeez is it really 37?  I would never have thought that. You live and learn.
Post by: moysider on October 11, 2014, 10:31:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 11, 2014, 12:58:12 PM

Sligo and Galway Connacht finals will be played at McHale per the old neutral venue rules for Connacht finals featuring counties unable to host Connacht finals. Technically we might be able to push for a neutral Connacht final too given the current situation with the Hyde but if we were playing Mayo I'd be surprised if we had the brass balls to drag everyone down to Salthill, especially given our last match was a home one for us.

Next Ros-Mayo game will be in Cstlebar.
After that if ye have no pitch of yer own then ye ll have a case for Salthill in future.
Post by: Syferus on October 11, 2014, 10:39:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 11, 2014, 10:31:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 11, 2014, 12:58:12 PM

Next Ros-Mayo game will be in Cstlebar.
After that if ye have no pitch of yer own then ye ll have a case for Salthill in future.

That's based on the home-away arrangements Ros-Mayo-Galway had that applied to Connacht finals but we have a case to push for a neutral Connacht final as we can't host them right now, just as Sligo and Leitrim are always entitled to a neutral venue when they reach the final. Big John created a massive loop-hole that we could be set up to take advantage of.

If it ends up being Ros-Mayo it will probably be McHale but we would be very tempted by the prospect of rooting Galway out of Salthill for the final if it's Ros-Galway.
Post by: moysider on October 11, 2014, 11:29:22 PM
The day Mayo and Ros people have to go to Salthill to play a match would be a sad development.

Limerick would be easier in my experience  ;D
Post by: ONeill on October 11, 2014, 11:49:19 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 11, 2014, 12:51:06 PM
Logie says it best ...

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FNLfuKD82kc (http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FNLfuKD82kc)

Agree with most (not all) of this but it'll never happen for 2 reasons.

1 - The historic/romance reason
2 - The financial reason

Both bullshit.
Post by: Syferus on October 12, 2014, 12:01:42 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2014, 11:49:19 PM
Logie says it best ...

2 - The financial reason

Both bullshit.

Neither are bullshit. It's far more romantic to think a sport can support itself without solid finances.

Yer man is also so deeply on the Ulster love-in he called Donegal the All-Ireland champions..
Post by: Jinxy on October 12, 2014, 12:02:20 AM
You'd miss the hamsters all the same.
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2014, 12:14:56 AM
Quote from: Syferus on October 12, 2014, 12:01:42 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 11, 2014, 11:49:19 PM
Logie says it best ...

2 - The financial reason

Both bullshit.

Neither are bullshit. It's far more romantic to think a sport can support itself without solid finances.

What?
Post by: Maguire01 on October 12, 2014, 08:55:59 PM
Nice draw for Monaghan, but a few potential banana skins there. Would be great to get a win in Breffni but would also be the worst place to lose.
Post by: Esmarelda on October 13, 2014, 08:21:56 AM

I've never understood this fixation with the "competitiveness" of the Ulster championship.

Leinster and Munster sides have always been more successful when it comes to the crunch. Surely the obvious conclusion from that is that  Ulster sides compete "equally" at their own level and are found wanting at the higher level ?

Hi Mike, how are you?

I wonder if you'd mind explaining your post above to me.

What I'm struggling with is how an historic hypothetical could be regarded as an indisputable fact.

The one thing I'd have thought your statement isn't is a fact.

Thanks in advance for your time.
Post by: orangeman on October 13, 2014, 08:26:24 AM
Eugene Mc Gee's take on Gaa politics as it pertains to the provincial championships :

Power-brokers won't allow any changes to Championship

Apart from Ulster there was little excitement to be garnered from the provincial championship draws last week. Kerry will play Cork in the Munster final and beat them, while Dublin will skate through Leinster.

In Connacht there should be a Mayo-Roscommon final, so only in Ulster is there uncertainty. The standard in Ulster is not as high as in the glory days of the Tyrone-Armagh times a decade ago, with the exception of Donegal.

It seems everybody in the GAA wants changes in the format of the All-Ireland Championship - they want it but they do not want to do anything practical about it. A typical GAA scenario.

The GAA is not run by the plain people of Ireland - instead the really big decisions are made by the members of the four provincial councils - about 75 people - and the Central Council, with about 45 members.

So the hundreds of thousands of dedicated GAA people, and bodies like the GPA, who come up with all sorts of wonderful ideas for changing the present lopsided four provinces scenario, are living in cloud cuckoo land if they think the provincial championship system will be changed in the foreseeable future.

When the FRC made a very modest proposal to adjust the provinces slightly into four groups of eight, several of those power-brokers were immediately out to denigrate it. That's the real world of GAA politics.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 13, 2014, 09:40:17 AM
Word on the street is that if Offaly bate Longford in May 2015 then the Dubs will have to travel to Tullamore for Leinster QF.

However Lein Council wont fix the match for Longford if we prevail. Not only is Pearse Park smaller than Tullamore there is also the problem of the main stand looking like it was build by a shower of cowboys and so may have to be ripped down and rebuilt sooner rather than later.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 13, 2014, 02:50:23 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 13, 2014, 09:40:17 AM
Word on the street is that if Offaly bate Longford in May 2015 then the Dubs will have to travel to Tullamore for Leinster QF.

However Lein Council wont fix the match for Longford if we prevail. Not only is Pearse Park smaller than Tullamore there is also the problem of the main stand looking like it was build by a shower of cowboys and so may have to be ripped down and rebuilt sooner rather than later.

Structural issues?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 13, 2014, 03:20:48 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 13, 2014, 09:40:17 AM

There you go. It's your duty to allow us beat ye so we can give the Dubs a little road trip. We're going to switch the exit signs and send them off the motorway at Rochfortbridge, and send them to Mullingar. They'll never get out of there, and we'll get a walkover. Glory days on the way back.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 13, 2014, 04:12:06 PM
AZ.

Super sexy Dubs wouldn't dream of traveling down to the bog by road. No siree Bob. Twill be a jet for them boys. AIG will finance temp runway on The Bog of Allen and helicopters will then land them across the road from O'Connor Park.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 13, 2014, 04:14:22 PM
They could use Birr Airfield I suppose, although apparently it's very hard to get to Tullamore from Birr. Thousands of Offaly hurling supporters have an awful problem doing it. Maybe the dubs would end up in Portumna. That'd nearly be worse than Mullingar.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 13, 2014, 04:15:00 PM
QuoteStructural issues?

Fraid so - looks like shoddy foundations and ergo urgent remedial work which may involve a feckin bulldozer to rip the structure down.

(http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m3s4ao0Yaw1qbtxamo1_500.png)
Post by: AZOffaly on October 13, 2014, 04:17:17 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 13, 2014, 04:15:00 PM
QuoteStructural issues?

Fraid so - looks like shoddy foundations and ergo urgent remedial work which may involve a feckin bulldozer to rip the structure down.

Sure if it's that bad you won't need a bulldozer. A few belts of a hurl would do the trick.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 13, 2014, 05:18:10 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 13, 2014, 04:17:17 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 13, 2014, 04:15:00 PM
QuoteStructural issues?

Sure if it's that bad you won't need a bulldozer. A few belts of a hurl would do the trick.

Who in their right mind would lend Longford a hurl? Some of their towns are rough enough as it is...
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 13, 2014, 05:43:48 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 13, 2014, 04:12:06 PM
AZ.

Super sexy Dubs wouldn't dream of traveling down to the bog by road. No siree Bob. Twill be a jet for them boys. AIG will finance temp runway on The Bog of Allen and helicopters will then land them across the road from O'Connor Park.

Maybe Donegal can give us a loan of their helicopter?
Post by: muppet on October 13, 2014, 07:05:55 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on October 13, 2014, 08:21:56 AM

Hi Mike, how are you?

What I'm struggling with is how an historic hypothetical could be regarded as an indisputable fact.

Welcome Esmarelda.

The line 'indisputable fact' on this board can sometimes, in the right hands, actually mean an indisputable fact. But more often it is hyperbole, poorly played and really means what precedes it is 'insufferable arse'.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 17, 2014, 12:36:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 13, 2014, 07:05:55 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on October 13, 2014, 08:21:56 AM

Hi Mike, how are you?

Welcome Esmarelda.

The line 'indisputable fact' on this board can sometimes, in the right hands, actually mean an indisputable fact. But more often it is hyperbole, poorly played and really means what precedes it is 'insufferable arse'.

Hi Esmerelda,

Sometimes "indisputable facts" are put forward, in a mischievous way, to counter other "indisputable facts" that have been baldly stated over the years. Unfortunately some posters are too thick or po-faced to pick up on this and mistake it for actual hyperbole. Typically though, these posters merely have an axe to grind for past slap downs.

Strange things like this happen on gaaboard all the time. You will even find that other posters will create new accounts just to have a pop or to wum...its mad stuff altogether !

Post by: Esmarelda on October 17, 2014, 12:41:02 PM
Thanks for replying Mike, although I'm not sure reply is the correct word as you didn't address what I asked.

Not to worry though, as, while we're on the topic of common themes on the GAA board, I find that not addressing direct questions and seeking to be "right" rather than "enlightened" are the two I find most common.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 17, 2014, 12:46:37 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on October 17, 2014, 12:41:02 PM
Thanks for replying Mike, although I'm not sure reply is the correct word as you didn't address what I asked.

Not to worry though, as, while we're on the topic of common themes on the GAA board, I find that not addressing direct questions and seeking to be "right" rather than "enlightened" are the two I find most common.

You are welcome Esmarelda.

I must say I am impressed with the way you have just jumped right in to the fray on Gaaboard. Most new posters would be a little less combative. Also, for someone who has just joined the board you are remarkably quick to pick up on Gaaboard "themes"

Coincidentally there have been a few posters like that recently  ;)
Post by: Esmarelda on October 17, 2014, 12:55:21 PM
Long time reader Mike, but well spotted nonetheless.

I feel you're paranoid but maybe with good reason.

I don't think I was being combative. I just queried your post. I thought I was very careful not to be too aggressive. Read my post again and I hope you agree.

I think it's pretty silly for people behind a keyboard to engage aggressively with one another.

Anyway, this thread has strayed off topic which I feel I'm partly to blame for.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 17, 2014, 01:13:34 PM
ok, against my better judgement I will assume you are not wumming  ;)

welcome to the board
Post by: Esmarelda on October 17, 2014, 01:23:05 PM
Phew.

I feel like I passed the entrance exam. :)
Post by: macdanger2 on April 27, 2015, 10:13:59 AM
With the league out of the way, the real stuff starts (or at least the stuff before the really real stuff starts on the August bank holiday) in a few weeks. For the provinicials, the following would be my predictions:
Connacht

Preliminary Round
New York v Galway

Quarter-final
London v Roscommon
New York / Galway v Leitrim

Semi-finals
London / Roscommon v Sligo
New York / Galway / Leitrim v Mayo

Winners: Mayo (possibly more heart than head here)

Munster

Quarter-finals
Waterford v Tipperary
Clare v Limerick

Semi-finals
Clare / Limerick v Cork
Kerry v Waterford v Tipperary

Winners: Kerry

Ulster

Prelim
Donegal v Tyrone

Quarter
Armagh v Donegal/Tyrone,
Cavan v Monaghan,
Fermanagh v Antrim,
Derry v Down

Semi
Derry/Down v Armagh/Donegal/Tyrone
Cavan/Monaghan v Fermanagh/Antrim

Winners: Monaghan

Leinster

1st Round
Offaly v Longford
Laois v Carlow
Louth v Westmeath

Quarters
Offaly/Longford v Dublin
Laois/Carlow v Kildare
Louth/Westmeath v Wexford
Wicklow v Meath

Semi
Offaly/Longford/Dublin v Laois/Carlow/Kildare
Louth/Westmeath/Wexford v Wicklow/Meath

Winners: Dublin
Post by: bambi on May 01, 2015, 11:28:43 AM
Lads / Lassies, hopefully this post makes it up here, there is a great event to get a good discussion going on the 2015 Ulster championship and the All-Ireland as a whole and is being held in the Kilmore in Cavan on Friday week (8 May 2015).

The Ballybay Senior team are hosting an All Ireland preview night and have secured a very interesting panel - Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry), Michael Meehan (Galway), Anthony Moyles (Meath) and Kevin Cassidy (Donegal). Declan Bogue (Author and journalist) will MC the event and should ensure an interesting debate between the panel.

Four course meal, wine and other entertainment on the night also, all for €50!! Promises to be brilliant!

Tickets can be bought online at this http://ballybaypearsebrothers.bigcartel.com/product/all-ireland-launch-night (http://ballybaypearsebrothers.bigcartel.com/product/all-ireland-launch-night)
Post by: Rossfan on May 01, 2015, 02:02:32 PM
Will they all have to agree on an eventual winner? Will that team then be given Sam?
Sure I can listen to all sorts of experts making predictions about games in any pub or GAA club any night and they will be just as valid/daft as these lads.
Post by: Itchy on May 01, 2015, 05:37:02 PM
You might think that rossfan but they will certainly not be as daft as these lads.
Post by: seafoid on May 03, 2015, 09:41:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 01, 2015, 02:02:32 PM
Will they all have to agree on an eventual winner? Will that team then be given Sam?
Sure I can listen to all sorts of experts making predictions about games in any pub or GAA club any night and they will be just as valid/daft as these lads.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14njUwJUg1I
Post by: tippabu on May 05, 2015, 04:19:48 PM
Was just looking over the draw there and worked out how the qualifiers might pan out. Before anyone gets their knickers in a twist i simlpy used league standings as to winners in each game

A side

Louth/Westmeath, Dublin/Longford, Kildare/Laois/Carlow, Clare/Limerick, Cavan/Monaghan, Fermanagh/Antrim, Roscommon/London

1st round Qualifiers: Carlow, Louth, Longford, Kildare, Limerick, Cavan, Antrim, London

A side semi finalists: Dublin/Laois, Cork/Clare, Sligo/Roscommon, Fermanagh/Monaghan

So Laois, Clare, Sligo, Fermanagh to play 4 of Carlow, Louth, Offaly, Kildare, Limerick, Cavan, Antrim, London in round 2

B side

Offaly/Longford, Wexford/Louth/Westmeath, Meath/Wicklow, Tipperary/Waterford, Leitrim/Galway, Derry/Down, Tyrone/Donegal/Armagh

1st round qualifiers: Offaly, Wexford, Wicklow, Waterford, Leitrim, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh

B side semi fianlists: Meath/Westmeath, Kerry/Tipperary, Mayo/Galway, Donegal/Down

So Westmeath, Tipperary, Galway, Down to play 4 of Longford, Wexford, Wicklow, Waterford, Leitrim, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh

Just did this for a sense of the sort of strenght on each side of the draw

Teams in Bold confirmed in qualifiers
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2015, 08:45:21 PM
How are Offaly/Longford in both A and B?
Post by: tippabu on May 05, 2015, 09:39:57 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2015, 08:45:21 PM
How are Offaly/Longford in both A and B?

Loser goes to one side winner goes to the other, same with another game in leinster. They are the only two games where teams can be in either side
Post by: naka on May 06, 2015, 04:37:38 PM
Quote from: tippabu on May 05, 2015, 04:19:48 PM
Was just looking over the draw there and worked out how the qualifiers might pan out. Before anyone gets their knickers in a twist i simlpy used league standings as to winners in each game

A side

Louth/Westmeath, Dublin/Offaly/Longford, Kildare/Laois/Carlow, Clare/Limerick, Cavan/Monaghan, Fermanagh/Antrim

1st round Qualifiers: Carlow, Louth, Offaly, Kildare, Limerick, Cavan, Antrim

A side semi finalists: Dublin/Laois, Cork/Clare, Sligo/Roscommon, Fermanagh/Monaghan

So Laois, Clare, Sligo, Fermanagh to play 4 of Carlow, Louth, Offaly, Kildare, Limerick, Cavan, Antrim in round 2

B side

Offaly/Longford, Wexford/Louth/Westmeath, Meath/Wicklow, Tipperary/Waterford, Leitrim/Galway, Roscommon/London, Derry/Down, Tyrone/Donegal/Armagh

1st round qualifiers: Longford, Wexford, Wicklow, Waterford, Leitrim, London, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh

B side semi fianlists: Meath/Westmeath, Kerry/Tipperary, Mayo/Galway, Donegal/Down

So Westmeath, Tipperary, Galway, Down to play 4 of Longford, Wexford, Wicklow, Waterford, Leitrim, London, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh

tiipabu
how did you work these out
Post by: tippabu on May 06, 2015, 04:44:43 PM
Quote from: naka on May 06, 2015, 04:37:38 PM
Quote from: tippabu on May 05, 2015, 04:19:48 PM

A side

Louth/Westmeath, Dublin/Offaly/Longford, Kildare/Laois/Carlow, Clare/Limerick, Cavan/Monaghan, Fermanagh/Antrim

1st round Qualifiers: Carlow, Louth, Offaly, Kildare, Limerick, Cavan, Antrim

So Laois, Clare, Sligo, Fermanagh to play 4 of Carlow, Louth, Offaly, Kildare, Limerick, Cavan, Antrim in round 2

B side

Offaly/Longford, Wexford/Louth/Westmeath, Meath/Wicklow, Tipperary/Waterford, Leitrim/Galway, Roscommon/London, Derry/Down, Tyrone/Donegal/Armagh

1st round qualifiers: Longford, Wexford, Wicklow, Waterford, Leitrim, London, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh

So Westmeath, Tipperary, Galway, Down to play 4 of Longford, Wexford, Wicklow, Waterford, Leitrim, London, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh

tiipabu
how did you work these out

From The wallchart on the gaa website, as I said above I just used league positions for match results to give an example
Post by: tippabu on May 06, 2015, 06:22:45 PM
Just noticed i had a mistake in the original post, had london/roscommon on the wrong side of the draw, changed now. Think its all correct by my working out but im open to correction