Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on August 06, 2014, 09:18:54 PM

Title: USPGA
Post by: ONeill on August 06, 2014, 09:18:54 PM
Any tips?

Outsiders:

Cabrera
Bjorn
Karlsson
Reed
Cabrera-Bello

Monty says yer wasting time going EW - just lump her all on Rory.
Title: Re: USPGA
Post by: Hound on August 06, 2014, 09:25:57 PM
I went for Bjorn as my outsider (125s) on the basis he did well the last time it was played on this course.
Albeit that was feckin 20 years ago or something, they've completely changed all the greens since and probably changed other parts of the course too!
Post by: beer baron on August 06, 2014, 09:43:00 PM
I've Fowler as my main bet as he has been placed in all the Majors this year and won me quite a bit so won't dessert him now,I had Mc Ilroy last time but at 5/1 i can afford to leave him,how often do players win 2 majors in a row?Was Harrington the last to do so?  I've a few small bets too on Dubuisson and Ryan Moore. Might do Mickelson too as he had a great last round last week and sounded confident about his chances this week when interviewed afterwards.
Post by: laoislad on August 06, 2014, 10:05:00 PM
A.B.R
Post by: beer baron on August 06, 2014, 10:20:01 PM
Tiger's 40/1. Did anyone think they'd ever see the day  :o Still couldn't back him though with his form and injuries,i'm surprised he's playin g at all if he really was as badly hurt as he looked last week.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 06, 2014, 10:27:19 PM
Tiger is shot.
Post by: maco on August 06, 2014, 10:35:14 PM
My picks for the weekend will be Marc Leishman and McDowell.
Post by: Minder on August 06, 2014, 10:40:25 PM
Quote from: beer baron on August 06, 2014, 10:20:01 PM
Tiger's 40/1. Did anyone think they'd ever see the day  :o Still couldn't back him though with his form and injuries,i'm surprised he's playin g at all if he really was as badly hurt as he looked last week.

I remember backing him at 6/4 to win the Masters years ago, I think it was the shortest ever price for a Major

He didn't win  >:(
Post by: glens abu on August 06, 2014, 10:43:43 PM
Had to back McIlroy even at a bad price 5/1, couple of Bob on Dubuisson @80/1 and Schwartzel @ 33/1
Post by: 5 Sams on August 06, 2014, 11:11:13 PM
Suppose this is on Sky as well  >:(
Post by: beer baron on August 06, 2014, 11:33:36 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 06, 2014, 11:11:13 PM
Suppose this is on Sky as well  >:(

Sure is. Should be handy enough to get a stream if you're online any of the days though.
Post by: heganboy on August 06, 2014, 11:39:35 PM
Patrick Reed and Ogilvy as the outsiders, with Lowry as well (all each way). Rory on the nose.
Post by: heganboy on August 07, 2014, 02:36:25 AM
I have to say I would love to see Tiger win this weekend. I just don't think he can. ..
Post by: Orior on August 07, 2014, 08:49:02 AM
It could welll be some rookie at 200-1
Post by: screenexile on August 07, 2014, 09:42:01 AM
McIlroy, Fowler & Gmac done... had thought about Sergio but apparently the course doesn't suit him and he doesn't even fancy himself this weekend. Looking forward to it though it's hard to beat a major weekend and kicking back with a few beers on the Sunday evening as the lads come down the back 9.
Post by: highorlow on August 07, 2014, 10:26:57 AM
Some great value bets to be had,

Garry Woodland, 80/1,
JB Holmes, 80/1
Geoff Ogilvy, 125/1
Jordan Speith, 35/1
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 07, 2014, 10:31:05 AM
i did
garcia 16/1
Folwer 20/1
speith 40/1
Post by: Canalman on August 07, 2014, 10:41:30 AM
Will do Garcia, Fowler and Cabrera (not so sure he is playing though).

Maybe another small e/w on some American at the 60/70/1 mark who usually makes a go of this tournament.
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 07, 2014, 11:27:06 AM
Casey main bet
Mannasero
Fisher
DeJonge
Boo
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 07, 2014, 11:32:05 AM
Each way shots on:

Jim Furyk
Zach Johnson
Jason Day
Miguel Angel Jimenez
Matt Kuchar
Robert Karlsson
Post by: Rossie11 on August 07, 2014, 12:18:32 PM
Reading the reviews the winner could get to -18 the course is that easy.
Based on that I have gone for some massive long odds shots who win when scores are low
In same token Mcilroy could have it won by tomorrow evening

Reed 100/1
Watney 180/1
Stricker 150/1
Ryan Palmer 500/1 win 20/1 top 10

Casey top English 11/1

Some massive value in 1st rd leaders
Kirk 125/1
Henley 200/1
Stallings 250/1
Cabrero Bello 200/1
Piercy 200/1
Harrington 150/1 playing with tiger and Phil might inspire him!!!

Has Laoislad still got the standing order to paddypowers account for Westwood in a major?
Post by: Hardy on August 07, 2014, 12:53:45 PM
What do people think of Lowry at 190 Betfair??
Post by: beer baron on August 07, 2014, 01:10:15 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2014, 12:53:45 PM

One good round and he'll be an easy trade. Not the worst bet in the world
Post by: Orior on August 07, 2014, 01:16:43 PM
Hideki might be a good each way bet
Post by: Mikhailov on August 07, 2014, 01:28:24 PM
Just done Sergio, Speith, DeLaet, Gmac and Steele

However, McIlroy has served me well this last few months but he is ridiculous short odds - not worth doing but may wait until Friday / Saturday and hope he is 5 or so behind and we get some decent odds for him. If he not mentally tired he will win pulling up - it will be a birdie fest and he can shoot low if in the mood.
Post by: Hardy on August 07, 2014, 01:54:44 PM
Quote from: beer baron on August 07, 2014, 01:10:15 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2014, 12:53:45 PM

One good round and he'll be an easy trade. Not the worst bet in the world

I don't usually bet on golf but I've just had a small e.w. bet - not enough to bother trading, though if he was sharing the lead on Sunday evening I'd trade some of it.
Post by: smort on August 07, 2014, 02:13:25 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 07, 2014, 01:16:43 PM
Hideki might be a good each way bet

Did you do him? Fancy him to win a major or two over the next few years.
Post by: laoislad on August 07, 2014, 02:15:51 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on August 07, 2014, 12:18:32 PM
Reading the reviews the winner could get to -18 the course is that easy.
Based on that I have gone for some massive long odds shots who win when scores are low
In same token Mcilroy could have it won by tomorrow evening

Reed 100/1
Watney 180/1
Stricker 150/1
Ryan Palmer 500/1 win 20/1 top 10

Casey top English 11/1

Some massive value in 1st rd leaders
Kirk 125/1
Henley 200/1
Stallings 250/1
Cabrero Bello 200/1
Piercy 200/1
Harrington 150/1 playing with tiger and Phil might inspire him!!!

Has Laoislad still got the standing order to paddypowers account for Westwood in a major?
Westwood and Garcia!
Post by: Megaman on August 07, 2014, 02:22:01 PM
Done a few smallish bets

Stallings
Perry
Noh
Duibuisson
Rose
Speith
Fowler

1st Round Leaders
Lowry
Perry
Noh
Post by: Puckoon on August 07, 2014, 04:19:55 PM
There is punting in this thread on players I've never even heard of.

I like Spieth, Fowler, and Rory. Nothing groundbreaking there.
Post by: sammymaguire on August 07, 2014, 05:56:51 PM
Is Westwood setting himself up for more heartache with that decent start today?

Interesting leaderboard so far and looks like Tiger's back could see him walk off the 12th - 13th tomorrow when its all going Pete Tong on him.

Big Monty could break his Major duck after getting his Seniors Major in the bag!!  :o
Post by: ONeill on August 07, 2014, 11:19:04 PM
Took Rory a while but the engine has warmed up now.
Post by: thewobbler on August 07, 2014, 11:35:18 PM
I'm making Luke Donald the interesting one today. His first day major performance  has almost always ruled him out of a chance of winning. But he's one of those golfers who seems to get better every day of a tournament, as he learns a little more about the course, and if he starts strongly, he's going to go close.
Post by: thewobbler on August 07, 2014, 11:40:10 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 07, 2014, 11:35:18 PM
I'm making Luke Donald the interesting one today. His first day major performance  has almost always ruled him out of a chance of winning. But he's one of those golfers who seems to get better every day of a tournament, as he learns a little more about the course, and if he starts strongly, he's going to go close.
And just as I say that, he's hit a double bogey. I am the curse.

You should look at my golf betting slips since big Darren won the Open. They're comical.
Post by: ONeill on August 07, 2014, 11:46:53 PM
Big Darren triple bogeyed there. 8 over.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 08, 2014, 12:41:46 AM
A few months ago that double bogey, bogey run would have bucked McIlroy but not now. 5 under for last 7 holes. Looking good.
Post by: never kickt a ball on August 08, 2014, 12:44:00 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 07, 2014, 11:46:53 PM
Big Darren triple bogeyed there. 8 over.

Fixed that.
Post by: dec on August 08, 2014, 05:29:58 PM
Rory at -3 for the day, -8 overall leading by 2.

Paddy has him at even money now for the tournament
Post by: leaveherinsir on August 09, 2014, 04:14:29 PM
Just couldnt convince myself to throw money on McIlroy even tho he was the logical choice. Went e/w on Scott and also outsuders in Duffner, Harris English and Manasserro who all played like me!! Was on a roll with the golf too, won money on Open and had Schwartzel e/w last week.

On a seperate golfing note Good luck to my club Kilrea GC who contest the Ulster Pierce Purcell Final tomorrow. Hoping to win our first ever GUI pendant!!
Post by: Minder on August 09, 2014, 05:54:21 PM
Strong finish by Furyk and Day to stick with McIlroy, doubt Furyk can keep it up, Day will be very dangerous.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 11:06:52 PM
No one pulling away.
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 11:08:21 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 11:06:52 PM
No one pulling away.

Ruairí is pulling all the time.
Post by: Saffrongael on August 09, 2014, 11:12:16 PM
Some logjam now
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 09, 2014, 11:21:13 PM
Think Ruairi will still nail it.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 11:50:56 PM
Wiesberger ?!?
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 11:57:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 11:50:56 PM
Wiesberger ????

A distant relative of Heisenberg.
Post by: muppet on August 10, 2014, 12:09:55 AM
Wiesberger ?!?

He won $19,085 on the PGA tour in 2013.

A Dub wouldn't get out of bed for that.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on August 10, 2014, 12:08:37 PM
That third round was the best round of golf I have ever watched. The amount of fairways and greens hit. It is all set now for an amazing finish. And Rory is an automaton at the moment. Brilliant.
Post by: laoislad on August 10, 2014, 01:22:23 PM
Rickey Fowler deserves a Major win this year. Hope he wins.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 10, 2014, 01:23:27 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 11:57:18 PM
Wiesberger ????

A distant relative of Heisenberg.

are you Certain?
Post by: Orior on August 10, 2014, 02:43:30 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 10, 2014, 01:22:23 PM

Fowler could do with smiling a bit more. He wouldnt have been laughing like Day was after his exploits in the river and long grass.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2014, 02:46:07 PM

Hope Rory gets another one, he deserves to at least achieve Harrys achievement
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2014, 03:05:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2014, 02:46:07 PM

What?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2014, 03:12:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 10, 2014, 03:05:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2014, 02:46:07 PM

What?

Winning 2 in a row, some pup our Harry
Post by: general on August 10, 2014, 08:46:37 PM
Some amount of rain fell earlier. Has dried up and course looks class. Must be some seriously good drainage system there. Some of the early tee - offs have picked a few shots up. Els up to -8. Should be a good night watching, hopefully they get finished up tonight
Post by: general on August 10, 2014, 08:49:45 PM
Els -9

Be interesting to see if Rory and Co pick up the same in the first 6 holes
Post by: Saffrongael on August 10, 2014, 08:51:57 PM
It's gonna be about 1:30am you would think before the last pair finish
Post by: general on August 10, 2014, 09:05:57 PM
Strong coffee in the morning  :D

I'm like a child at Christmas time during the majors, even got out for a few games myself last week
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 09:58:59 PM
Bogie on three, Rory drops back to a tie with Mickelson who's playing well
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 10:01:56 PM
Now five tied for the lead at -5: Rory, Mickelson, Wiesberger, Fowler and Stenson
Post by: laoislad on August 10, 2014, 10:02:26 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 09:58:59 PM
Bogie on three, Rory drops back to a tie with Mickelson who's playing well
5 golfers share the lead now.
Come on Ricky!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2014, 10:15:11 PM
Plenty holes for all of them to feck up. Be a interesting nights viewing but possibly too late for my interest
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2014, 10:16:53 PM
Rickys to lose now  ;)
Post by: laoislad on August 10, 2014, 10:20:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2014, 10:15:11 PM
Plenty holes for all of them to feck up. Be a interesting nights viewing but possibly too late for my interest
Could be the best finish to a major in years. Well worth staying up for.
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 10:21:12 PM
Is Fowler wearing an Armagh jersey?
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 10:47:58 PM
Stenson ties Fowler for the lead at -13, Rory will struggle to get par
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 10:54:55 PM
Yep, Rory drops another--two off the lead
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 11:08:59 PM
Another Fowler birdie--Rory three behind him
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 11:17:58 PM
Rory stops the bleeding with a birdie--two back now
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 11:29:43 PM
Stenson looking good--tied for the lead with Fowler
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 11:31:27 PM
Mickelson joins the leaders
Post by: DuffleKing on August 10, 2014, 11:35:21 PM

What time is this likely to finish?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 10, 2014, 11:43:13 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on August 10, 2014, 11:35:21 PM

Monday most likely.
Post by: Orior on August 10, 2014, 11:46:54 PM
It will finish about 1:30am our time in the dark which will go against Rory. Glum face now 15 under
Post by: laoislad on August 10, 2014, 11:47:07 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on August 10, 2014, 11:43:13 PM

Monday most likely.
It's Monday in about 15 mins where I am.... ;)
Great putt there from Fowler.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2014, 11:48:36 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 10, 2014, 11:47:07 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on August 10, 2014, 11:43:13 PM

Monday most likely.
It's Monday in about 15 mins where I am.... ;)
Great putt there from Fowler.

I'm off, I hope Fowler wins it to keep you happy misery guts  ;)
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 11:49:11 PM
Fowler all alone in front at -15
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 10, 2014, 11:53:23 PM
It is 6:50pm EDT In Louisville, KY   Sunset is at 8:38 but with the cloud cover it will be darker earlier.  Last group is only on the 10th hole, not enough time to finish tonight with Phil looking at every shot.
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 11:55:02 PM
Rory with an eagle--one back
Post by: mouview on August 10, 2014, 11:56:17 PM
Second time this year he played an unbelieveable approach with a 3 wood - missed the putt for the win last time, earlier in the year.
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 11:58:33 PM
Mickelson birdies, Tied with Fowler at -15
Post by: Oraisteach on August 11, 2014, 12:10:20 AM
Stenson moves to -15 too--exciting stuff
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2014, 12:12:56 AM
In the hole Phil.
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2014, 12:13:14 AM
Some finish in prospect. Tense and very exciting stuff.
Post by: Oraisteach on August 11, 2014, 12:20:24 AM
Rory misses a makeable birdie
Post by: Oraisteach on August 11, 2014, 12:28:28 AM
Stenson misses a gimme-one behind Fowler and Mickleson.  Rory with another makeable birdie coming up--has to sink these to have a shout
Post by: Oraisteach on August 11, 2014, 12:34:17 AM
Rory sinks it--tied for the lead for the time being
Post by: screenexile on August 11, 2014, 12:35:01 AM
We're being treated to exhibition stuff here lads god it's fantastic golf!

Butch seems to be a happy boy as well with 2 lads challenging he can hear the $$$$
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2014, 12:36:28 AM
Exhibition stuff is right. Rory has played these last few holes well all week. They should suit him.
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 12:37:07 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 11, 2014, 12:35:01 AM
We're being treated to exhibition stuff here lads god it's fantastic golf!

Butch seems to be a happy boy as well with 2 lads challenging he can hear the $$$$

I like Fowler, I like Big Phil and I still hope Ruairí wins.

But it is about hanging on now.
Post by: trileacman on August 11, 2014, 12:55:25 AM
John 3:16.

Fowler cant stick the heat.
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 12:56:21 AM
Quote from: trileacman on August 11, 2014, 12:55:25 AM

Yea, but he is seriously talented and Seve used to play like that. Big Phil too.
Post by: stephenite on August 11, 2014, 01:05:36 AM
Any live stream available?
Post by: glens abu on August 11, 2014, 01:08:32 AM
McIlroy now one in front
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 01:09:16 AM
Level par from here should make playoff, under par for Ruairí (birdie on 18?) wins.
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2014, 01:09:38 AM
Quote from: stephenite on August 11, 2014, 01:05:36 AM

loads. Try wiziwig
Post by: trileacman on August 11, 2014, 01:19:21 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 11, 2014, 12:56:21 AM
Quote from: trileacman on August 11, 2014, 12:55:25 AM

Yea, but he is seriously talented and Seve used to play like that. Big Phil too.

Minds me of Sergio/ Westwood, he hasn't got the balls.
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 01:23:23 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 11, 2014, 01:09:38 AM
Quote from: stephenite on August 11, 2014, 01:05:36 AM

loads. Try wiziwig

Great call that. I watched the Dubs and the golf at the same time last night.

Now watching USPGA and Mayo Junior Championship.
Post by: glens abu on August 11, 2014, 01:24:51 AM
2 clear after 17, class act
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 01:28:37 AM
Quote from: glens abu on August 11, 2014, 01:24:51 AM
2 clear after 17, class act

Wants to hit straight away though. Calm!!!!
Post by: Syferus on August 11, 2014, 01:30:24 AM
Never been so interested by the big-wig sport.
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 01:31:39 AM
Massive thunderstorm away to the right.
Post by: laoislad on August 11, 2014, 01:38:08 AM
They'll all have to turn on the torches on their phones at this rate.
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 01:39:27 AM
Quote from: laoislad on August 11, 2014, 01:38:08 AM
They'll all have to turn on the torches on their phones at this rate.

You'd think an Irishman would prefer to wait for the rain!
Post by: Syferus on August 11, 2014, 01:44:00 AM
Lovely.
Post by: mouview on August 11, 2014, 01:44:18 AM
Rapidly becoming the greatest sportsman this island has produced.
Post by: Muck Savage on August 11, 2014, 01:45:28 AM
Brilliant
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 11, 2014, 01:47:16 AM
Quote from: mouview on August 11, 2014, 01:44:18 AM
Rapidly becoming the greatest sportsman this island has produced.

Certainly on the World Stage!
Post by: laoislad on August 11, 2014, 01:49:38 AM
Probably just about deserved it.
Fowler's day will come,I think it's unfair to say he hasn't the balls for it.
Great nights entertainment all the same.
Post by: highorlow on August 11, 2014, 01:50:02 AM
I suppose we will have to wait on the back story as to why the pair of yanks didn't t-off on the 18th? What was the hold up I wonder? Stenson had played way ahead of the 2 lads? Was there a wee bit of gamesmanship going on?

I've a sense there was and if so then fair fucks to Ruairi, he bate America tonight.
Post by: Syferus on August 11, 2014, 01:55:01 AM
Feckin' yanks so mane they'd rather break the trophy than give it to McIlroy >:(
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 01:59:01 AM
Twitter is telling me that the Nikkei is up.

Time to go to bed.

Ruairí abú!
Post by: Rossie11 on August 11, 2014, 02:04:31 AM
Quote from: highorlow on August 11, 2014, 01:50:02 AM
I suppose we will have to wait on the back story as to why the pair of yanks didn't t-off on the 18th? What was the hold up I wonder? Stenson had played way ahead of the 2 lads? Was there a wee bit of gamesmanship going on?

I've a sense there was and if so then fair f**ks to Ruairi, he bate America tonight.
Hardly.. Nobody wanted a Monday finish. Wasn't there another group in between.. oosthuizen and day?
Post by: Oraisteach on August 11, 2014, 02:08:46 AM
Am I wrong, but I believe that ten of the last 32 majors have been won by Irish golfers?
Post by: muppet on August 11, 2014, 02:31:32 AM
Quote from: Oraisteach on August 11, 2014, 02:08:46 AM
Am I wrong, but I believe that ten of the last 32 majors have been won by Irish golfers?

Ruairí 4
Harry 3
GMac 1
Darren 1

= 9.

Who else?

Bradley Keegan of Mayo?
Post by: Oraisteach on August 11, 2014, 02:53:53 AM
No, you're right, Muppet, it's only nine.  I do have relatives whose surname is Woods, but I don't imagine Tiger's from Monaghan.  Still, nine's a good haul for a tiny island.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 11, 2014, 04:09:38 AM
had a few bob on Fowler e/w so happy enough

Rory on some form

Ryder Cup looks to be a mismatch this year now.
Post by: haranguerer on August 11, 2014, 08:42:59 AM

I've a sense there was and if so then fair f**ks to Ruairi, he bate America tonight.

'However McIlroy would not have finished the day were it not for a fine display of sportsmanship from Mickelson and Fowler. The pair were in the group ahead and allowed him to play up behind them as he tried to beat the fading light following the rain delay, then waited on the side of the 18th green to applaud the new champion.'

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/golf/28735607

Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2014, 08:47:14 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 11, 2014, 02:31:32 AM
Quote from: Oraisteach on August 11, 2014, 02:08:46 AM

Ruairí 4
Harry 3
GMac 1
Darren 1

= 9.

Who else?

Bradley Keegan of Mayo?

9 is incredible. Fair play Rory.
Post by: Saffrongael on August 11, 2014, 08:51:40 AM
Arise Sir Rory
Post by: thebigfella on August 11, 2014, 09:32:15 AM

There was a group in between Stenson and them. Plus it was a make-able par 5 so Day and Oosthuizen would have been waiting for the green to clear after their tee shots. Nothing more than that.
Post by: theskull1 on August 11, 2014, 09:34:54 AM
The BBC do have a way with words dont they?  :)

Quotethe first UK player to win back-to-back majors.

Quotethe first man to win back-to-back majors since Ireland's Padraig Harrington in 2008.

Couldn't have been the first man from Irish shores since.....
Post by: screenexile on August 11, 2014, 09:45:05 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 07, 2014, 09:42:01 AM
McIlroy, Fowler & Gmac done... had thought about Sergio but apparently the course doesn't suit him and he doesn't even fancy himself this weekend. Looking forward to it though it's hard to beat a major weekend and kicking back with a few beers on the Sunday evening as the lads come down the back 9.

££££££££££££££££££££££££££££££ ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2014, 10:21:55 AM
I hope the father and his mates in the golf club had a few quid on Rory as a young lad to win the USPGA similar to the British Open.
Post by: thebigfella on August 11, 2014, 10:50:07 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 11, 2014, 10:21:55 AM
I hope the father and his mates in the golf club had a few quid on Rory as a young lad to win the USPGA similar to the British Open.

He's already won it, so they would have collected it already  ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2014, 10:55:23 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 11, 2014, 09:34:54 AM
The BBC do have a way with words dont they?  :)

Quotethe first UK player to win back-to-back majors.

Quotethe first man to win back-to-back majors since Ireland's Padraig Harrington in 2008.

Couldn't have been the first man from Irish shores since.....

Nothing changes, had he been beaten they would have said Irishman, I think its a running joke now and they do it to wind up the Welsh/scots and Norn Iron ones
Post by: highorlow on August 11, 2014, 11:09:49 AM
QuoteHowever McIlroy would not have finished the day were it not for a fine display of sportsmanship from Mickelson and Fowler. The pair were in the group ahead and allowed him to play up behind them as he tried to beat the fading light following the rain delay, then waited on the side of the 18th green to applaud the new champion.'

Yes, i take that back. The coverage only showed the top 4 lads for the last hour or so. I'd forgotten there was a group inbetween Stenson and the yanks. Still it goes to show how good a win it was for Ruairi as he had to wait a good few times during the game.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 11, 2014, 11:10:18 AM
If the Olympic team is now called Team Great Britain and northern Ireland and the official UK title is The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, surely no-one in the north can call themselves British. Possibly United Kingdomish or Ukian or something along them lines, but not British.  8)

If your from N.I and you represent Ireland in the 100 metres at the Olympics then you would have the tricolor beside your name for all the televised meets throughout the year. How then do Golfers who represent Ireland throughout their careers suddenly become N.I golfers? Can you represent N.I in a golfing environment? After Rio 2016 will McIlroy have a tricolor beside his name on score-sheets from now on?
Post by: supersub on August 11, 2014, 11:14:07 AM
Does it really matter?
Post by: screenexile on August 11, 2014, 11:28:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 11, 2014, 11:16:47 AM
Quote from: supersub on August 11, 2014, 11:14:07 AM
Does it really matter?
Eh....yes!!

It really doesn't... if it doesn't matter to McIlroy/Paddy Barnes/Michael Conlon why should it matter to the rest of us?
Post by: laoislad on August 11, 2014, 11:32:44 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 11, 2014, 11:28:50 AM
Does it really matter?
Eh....yes!!

It really doesn't... if it doesn't matter to McIlroy/Paddy Barnes/Michael Conlon why should it matter to the rest of us?
Sure no one knows if it matters to Barnes or not as it's impossible to understand what he is saying!
Post by: supersub on August 11, 2014, 12:25:28 PM
Does it really matter?
Eh....yes!!

Why?
Post by: Orior on August 11, 2014, 12:48:18 PM
I stayed up to 1:45 despite a 9am meeting a customer.

Fantastic result, fantastic entertainment. After that, nobody can ever say that Rory is a bottler. I hope he gets both Irish and British sports personality of the year.

Good show by Michleson, Fowler, Day and Stenson. They put up a good fight and gave it their best.

Other points:
Where was the green side camera to see Rory's second shot on the tenth? All we had on Sky was the camera from the blimp.
Why didnt someone tell Rory that Fowler hadnt hit his second short before Rory drove off on the 14th (I think)?
What did big Phil say to the cameraman on the 18th as he walked off?
Post by: theskull1 on August 11, 2014, 12:49:50 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 11, 2014, 11:28:50 AM
Does it really matter?
Eh....yes!!

I was simply commenting sarcasticly at the bbc's well used semantics....its obvious it matters to them

I'm very much like Rory McIlroy in that I don't give one flying fc*k about the whole thing.
Post by: Saffrongael on August 11, 2014, 01:01:49 PM
I see McIlroy has a new website, his old one had the Norn Iron flag as it's background
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2014, 01:38:58 PM
Always about identity/flegs/nationality
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 11, 2014, 01:45:15 PM
Can we clear things up a bit now - is he Irish, British or Northern Irish?  :D
Post by: AQMP on August 11, 2014, 02:29:27 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 11, 2014, 01:45:15 PM
Can we clear things up a bit now - is he Irish, British or Northern Irish?  :D

Maybe he should take a leaf out of Tiger's book and call himself a "Norbritgael"
Post by: AQMP on August 11, 2014, 02:35:18 PM
Arlene shows it's in her DNA to ignore that the South exists!:

Enterprise Minister Arlene Foster said McIlroy had taken another step towards greatness and had "once again shown the world what is great about Northern Ireland golf.  It should make us very proud that six of the last 19 major championships have been won by golfers from Northern Ireland," she said.  "This will give golfers of all abilities even more reason to travel to Northern Ireland to find out for themselves what makes our golf courses the home of major champions."
Post by: Orior on August 11, 2014, 02:50:04 PM
Quote from: AQMP on August 11, 2014, 02:35:18 PM

Enterprise Minister Arlene Foster said McIlroy had taken another step towards greatness and had "once again shown the world what is great about Northern Ireland golf.  It should make us very proud that six of the last 19 major championships have been won by golfers from Northern Ireland," she said.  "This will give golfers of all abilities even more reason to travel to Northern Ireland to find out for themselves what makes our golf courses the home of major champions."

Ahem, our Major winners were brought up playing in the North of Ireland championship, the West of Ireland, the Ulster Boys, the Leinster boys etc etc. Arelene wouldnt get that.
Post by: Muck Savage on August 11, 2014, 03:01:03 PM
Quote from: highorlow on August 11, 2014, 11:09:49 AM
QuoteHowever McIlroy would not have finished the day were it not for a fine display of sportsmanship from Mickelson and Fowler. The pair were in the group ahead and allowed him to play up behind them as he tried to beat the fading light following the rain delay, then waited on the side of the 18th green to applaud the new champion.'

Yes, i take that back. The coverage only showed the top 4 lads for the last hour or so. I'd forgotten there was a group inbetween Stenson and the yanks. Still it goes to show how good a win it was for Ruairi as he had to wait a good few times during the game.

Fowler said they were surprised he was allowed to take his 2nd shot to the green and we're not happy about it in the interview straight after. The commentators said that Phil was mad at the time Rory was taking the shot also. The shot off the tee they were ok with 2nd shot no. Glad he beat them
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2014, 03:04:52 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 11, 2014, 02:50:04 PM

Ahem, our Major winners were brought up playing in the North of Ireland championship, the West of Ireland, the Ulster Boys, the Leinster boys etc etc. Arelene wouldnt get that.

Would anybody think that these Neanderthals would think any different, every whore trying to claim him is full of shite, let the Hollywood lad play golf and feck the begrudgers. One of my students today told me he played against him at juvenile level when he played St Paul's? is this true?
Post by: Saffrongael on August 11, 2014, 03:09:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2014, 03:04:52 PM

Would anybody think that these Neanderthals would think any different, every whore trying to claim him is full of shite, let the Hollywood lad play golf and feck the begrudgers. One of my students today told me he played against him at juvenile level when he played St Paul's? is this true?

Why widows it matter? Are you trying to claim him now as a Gaa loving fella ?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2014, 03:15:51 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on August 11, 2014, 03:09:46 PM

Why widows it matter? Are you trying to claim him now as a Gaa loving fella ?

??

Where am I saying that? I was asking the question is that right? You really are sad, wee used to have these super Prods I worked with in the shipyard, all the various badges, scarfs, tattoos, Wet Wet Wet playing in car radio. We now have super Taigs, totally mimicking them, get a life. It's far too short to get hung up on flegs lad
Post by: Orior on August 11, 2014, 03:55:02 PM

I would like to believe that, but doubt that its true. He would have been a right hand footballer
Post by: Rossie11 on August 11, 2014, 03:57:57 PM
Quote from: Muck Savage on August 11, 2014, 03:01:03 PM

Fowler said they were surprised he was allowed to take his 2nd shot to the green and we're not happy about it in the interview straight after. The commentators said that Phil was mad at the time Rory was taking the shot also. The shot off the tee they were ok with 2nd shot no. Glad he beat them

You think McIlroy would have been any different if the situation was reversed? He would still be sulking..

Post by: Saffrongael on August 11, 2014, 04:07:11 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on August 11, 2014, 03:57:57 PM

You think McIlroy would have been any different if the situation was reversed? He would still be sulking..

& his cult on here would be looking Fowler and Phil Mick water boarded
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2014, 04:26:25 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on August 11, 2014, 04:07:11 PM

Oh the haters must be hurting lol
Post by: Orior on August 11, 2014, 04:43:14 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on August 11, 2014, 04:07:11 PM

Slang for what?
Post by: Puckoon on August 11, 2014, 06:08:22 PM
A lot contributed to this 18th hole fiasco. Not having the earlier groups go out any earlier than 8.30 was dumb.

Very sportsman like of Phil and Rickie to let him hit the drives, and very bullish of the officials to have Rory and the Austrian hit in while Phil and Rickie stood off the green. It certainly had the potential to make a difference. Granted Phil and Rickie had tougher shots for eagle than they would have liked, but if one of them was inside 12 feet and missed the putt? It could have gotten ugly.

I am a big Rory fan - but I am not confident he would have been as gracious if the roles were reversed, and as he was trying to hole out for eagle to get into a play off, they had him back off the green so the champion elect could play in. So you can grow up with the cult nonsense. He's far from the finished article when compared to personalities such as Padraig and G-MAC - but he is the one with 4 majors so his golf speaks for itself.

Rory played some phenomenal golf, the eagle at 10 was huge, after the two dropped shots on the way out. This feels like the first major he had to fight to win and he had to do it against some of the biggest names in the sport. This could be the major that sets him on his way to records, and the ability to win a big one from the middle of the pack after the turn, instead of running away with it a la the US open and previous PGA at Kiawah Island.

Post by: Hardy on August 11, 2014, 07:16:15 PM
I've just seen an interview with Mickelson on Golf Central, straight after the final round. They asked about hitting up on the last hole and he said they do that all the time on the tour if darkness is a problem. He said it was unusual to let them hit the second shot, but it wasn't a problem. Nobody wanted to come back tomorrow for a couple of shots.

Non issue.
Post by: Puckoon on August 11, 2014, 07:19:14 PM
As I listened to a report this morning Hardy, they suggested that Phil backed off how he really felt about it in order to not embarrass the PGA, or embarrass Rory. Another decent move by Phil, but by accounts from his caddy, the long term CBS reporters he was privately very annoyed by the situation.
Post by: Hardy on August 11, 2014, 08:01:22 PM
OK. Class from him then.
Post by: Orior on August 11, 2014, 09:17:39 PM
This talk about what would happen if the roles were reversed - I have never Rory behave any other way than a true gent (except for the time he dumped his two girlfriends).

By the way, Rory's heart was in his mouth after his drive on the 18th. He missed the hazard by a few feet. Now that would have made for a very exciting finish.
Post by: laoislad on August 11, 2014, 09:33:52 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 11, 2014, 09:17:39 PM
This talk about what would happen if the roles were reversed - I have never Rory behave any other way than a true gent (except for the time he dumped his two girlfriends).

By the way, Rory's heart was in his mouth after his drive on the 18th. He missed the hazard by a few feet. Now that would have made for a very exciting finish.
Jammy hoor.
Btw not sure if it has been mentioned but Phil Micks chip at the hole at the 18th was magnificent. It was an awful shame it didn't go in.
Post by: Rossie11 on August 11, 2014, 10:00:17 PM
Mickelson is a class act on the course. Despite the pressure of the situation not once did he try and bully his direct opponent.
He was a like a mentor to Fowler bringing him along to ensure everyone was in with a fighting chance come the finish. The way he waited to praise him after one huge putt to save par highlighted it.

Would Woods have done that? Would Rory have done that if he was in a 2ball with say Shane Lowry?
Not a chance..
Tiger and now Rory both have this single-mindedness or ruthless streak which all winners have but Mcilroy would do well to take more from Mickelsons book in terms of class and he will have the success as well as having the love of all golf fans across all globe.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 11, 2014, 10:37:24 PM
I just have to say I think Mickleson is fantastic. Didn't get to see it last night but followed text commentary and the fist bumps with Fowler - well it's just unbelievable in the situation and fantastic. Basically if the kid beat him then fair play to him but they were going to rip the place up in the process.

Have been a fan of Rory's since I first heard of him as a kid and him winning the West here twice in a row I think. Think he gets a rough deal at times but some of his golf when on song is awesome. He is in a rich vein of form at present and has the mental side of his game sorted apparently. After the Masters Sunday disaster you'd have had to question if he could recover but that will only be a footnote in history now.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 11, 2014, 10:38:52 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 11, 2014, 09:17:39 PM

True gents dump women too. It's much better than staying with them if you shouldn't. Or if it's f**king up your career.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2014, 10:56:54 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on August 11, 2014, 10:00:17 PM
Mickelson is a class act on the course. Despite the pressure of the situation not once did he try and bully his direct opponent.
He was a like a mentor to Fowler bringing him along to ensure everyone was in with a fighting chance come the finish. The way he waited to praise him after one huge putt to save par highlighted it.

Would Woods have done that? Would Rory have done that if he was in a 2ball with say Shane Lowry?
Not a chance..

Tiger and now Rory both have this single-mindedness or ruthless streak which all winners have but Mcilroy would do well to take more from Mickelsons book in terms of class and he will have the success as well as having the love of all golf fans across all globe.

How the feck would you know? Pure shit talk
Post by: Muck Savage on August 12, 2014, 12:31:43 AM

Not a chance..

He'll never have that when he has people complaining which country is called out during introduction or flag he has next to his name.

Every winner has to be focused and a selfish mentality. Phil's a nice guy, was 34 when he won his first major, Rory has 4 at 24.  When Tiger was like this at 24 everyone praised his laser focus, with Rory people in Ireland want to call it bad sportsmanship. Hard for him to win.

Post by: heganboy on August 12, 2014, 04:01:06 AM
Quote from: Muck Savage on August 12, 2014, 12:31:43 AM
Mcilroy would do well to take more from Mickelsons book in terms of class and he will have the success as well as having the love of all golf fans across all globe.

Lads,
going to have to go with a significant disagreement on this one and its not just about "class" or "love of all fans". Mickelson is a professional sportsman, of the very highest calibre. He is uniquely talented and can do more with a golf ball and a club than pretty much all of the humans on the planet that have ever tried. Additionally he is a sponsor's dream, he shows up early and prepared for every engagement, he and his caddy are well briefed and prepared and he and Bones can charm a room. He is whip smart, engaging, dedicated and ruthless when the chips are down, pretty much the model professional athlete.

You will however be expecting a but here, and there is one, though I don't know if it relevant. Golf is a singular profession, the essence of the solo athlete, the pressure, the drive, and the focus required to make it as a professional golfer especially one who has one multiple majors in this competitive era leaves very little room for the nice guy. Known on the tour as FIGJAM (f**k I'm good, just ask me) Mickelson is legendary for the singular nature of his focus, which is very much on him. He is also far from loved by all golf fans, and far from loved by his fellow tour players. I do not agree with the putting of athletes on pedestals for anything other than their ability and success, so I very much admire the brilliance with which Mickelson plays the game, but to dismiss McIlroy for some perceived lack of class is, I think, not being aware of the context.

McIlroy is a highly intelligent young man, and he was very aware of the the situation on 18, Mickelson is also no slouch. The rules officials indicated that the last 4 players would be treated as a four ball on the last hole (very possibly after a McIlroy prompt), and were able to tell the US tv officials.

It appears, (as we can't hear what the official says) that Mickelson was informed only that the last twosome would hit up, as Bones says something like "tell them wait 30 seconds and then fire away". It was only when they got to the green after Mickelson and Fowler stood around for a while that the second hit up was made clear to Fowler and Mickelson, who was visibly annoyed by the ruling and was even at odds with the four ball ruling the officials had indicated. Two reasons, one it meant Mickelson had to wait some additional time to play his shot in the quickly disappearing light, but secondly that McIlroy would have more light to read his putt(s) for the PGA, or that he would have to make the call and come back and finish ion the morning knowing what he had to do for a major.

McIlroy's presentation speech was genius, he thanked Mickelson and Fowler for allowing them to play up, (despite the fact that they had been told to play as a 4 ball by the officials which they did not) and calling it a very sporting gesture. This then left Mickelson in no position to bitch in the post presentation interview in which he was very gracious, and indeed came out looking like Mr Magnanimous, so everyone came out a winner right?

Well everyone except Phil and Fowler. Had PM played a normal two with Fowler, he would have and a better read of his chip, which he came damn close to holing out which would have put significant additional pressure on Rory, and also Rory's depth perception in the bunker would have been worse, and his ability to read the putts on the green on 18 would also have been worse. Fowler was also left waiting longer on his putt, and the lip out showed how difficult the reads were becoming. That lip out cost him $500,000 from 2nd to share of third. The ruling tilted the result in Rory's favor, and for that Phil should rightfully be pissed, however his public persona can not allow that to come out on tv (too much) and Rory pre-empting him on the acceptance speech.

Rory is doing very well, he is maturing and growing in the public eye in a very very intense position. It's a tribute to the granite with which he must be hewn, that he is dealing with the year that he's had so well, and is pulling an unbelievable victory out of the bag with not only incredible talent, but also a very sharp mind.

That young man will be around the top of leader boards for a very long time to come and that, well to me that's class.
Post by: JimStynes on August 12, 2014, 04:29:01 AM
Very well put. A fella from down the road that is a sports superstar now and probably one of the most recognisable people on the planet at the minute. He has done well, fair play to him!
Post by: Muck Savage on August 12, 2014, 07:30:03 AM
Very well put Heganboy. I was going to write simlar today to didnt have the time. Putting that into the speach knowing they were pissed helped to defuse the situation. Funny thing is Fowler had just given his interview to the TV and said they were both annoyed about the 2nd shot.
Rory kept his head when he could have got caught up in the situation and lost it. He showed a lot of maturity sunday and has improved in this department most this year.
Post by: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 09:03:08 AM
Quote from: heganboy on August 12, 2014, 04:01:06 AM
Mcilroy would do well to take more from Mickelsons book in terms of class and he will have the success as well as having the love of all golf fans across all globe.

Lads,
going to have to go with a significant disagreement on this one and its not just about "class" or "love of all fans". Mickelson is a professional sportsman, of the very highest calibre. He is uniquely talented and can do more with a golf ball and a club than pretty much all of the humans on the planet that have ever tried. Additionally he is a sponsor's dream, he shows up early and prepared for every engagement, he and his caddy are well briefed and prepared and he and Bones can charm a room. He is whip smart, engaging, dedicated and ruthless when the chips are down, pretty much the model professional athlete.

You will however be expecting a but here, and there is one, though I don't know if it relevant. Golf is a singular profession, the essence of the solo athlete, the pressure, the drive, and the focus required to make it as a professional golfer especially one who has one multiple majors in this competitive era leaves very little room for the nice guy. Known on the tour as FIGJAM (f**k I'm good, just ask me) Mickelson is legendary for the singular nature of his focus, which is very much on him. He is also far from loved by all golf fans, and far from loved by his fellow tour players. I do not agree with the putting of athletes on pedestals for anything other than their ability and success, so I very much admire the brilliance with which Mickelson plays the game, but to dismiss McIlroy for some perceived lack of class is, I think, not being aware of the context.

McIlroy is a highly intelligent young man, and he was very aware of the the situation on 18, Mickelson is also no slouch. The rules officials indicated that the last 4 players would be treated as a four ball on the last hole (very possibly after a McIlroy prompt), and were able to tell the US tv officials.

It appears, (as we can't hear what the official says) that Mickelson was informed only that the last twosome would hit up, as Bones says something like "tell them wait 30 seconds and then fire away". It was only when they got to the green after Mickelson and Fowler stood around for a while that the second hit up was made clear to Fowler and Mickelson, who was visibly annoyed by the ruling and was even at odds with the four ball ruling the officials had indicated. Two reasons, one it meant Mickelson had to wait some additional time to play his shot in the quickly disappearing light, but secondly that McIlroy would have more light to read his putt(s) for the PGA, or that he would have to make the call and come back and finish ion the morning knowing what he had to do for a major.

McIlroy's presentation speech was genius, he thanked Mickelson and Fowler for allowing them to play up, (despite the fact that they had been told to play as a 4 ball by the officials which they did not) and calling it a very sporting gesture. This then left Mickelson in no position to bitch in the post presentation interview in which he was very gracious, and indeed came out looking like Mr Magnanimous, so everyone came out a winner right?

Well everyone except Phil and Fowler. Had PM played a normal two with Fowler, he would have and a better read of his chip, which he came damn close to holing out which would have put significant additional pressure on Rory, and also Rory's depth perception in the bunker would have been worse, and his ability to read the putts on the green on 18 would also have been worse. Fowler was also left waiting longer on his putt, and the lip out showed how difficult the reads were becoming. That lip out cost him $500,000 from 2nd to share of third. The ruling tilted the result in Rory's favor, and for that Phil should rightfully be pissed, however his public persona can not allow that to come out on tv (too much) and Rory pre-empting him on the acceptance speech.

Rory is doing very well, he is maturing and growing in the public eye in a very very intense position. It's a tribute to the granite with which he must be hewn, that he is dealing with the year that he's had so well, and is pulling an unbelievable victory out of the bag with not only incredible talent, but also a very sharp mind.

That young man will be around the top of leader boards for a very long time to come and that, well to me that's class.

Never said that Hegan. As a sports fan I would prefer to see him act like Phil on the course rather than the sulking child he can be when things don't go his way.
Saturday afternoon for instance slamming the clubs into the bag on a duffed chip. All of 2013 as another. He is great when he wins and comes across well ala the interview afterwards but
when he is having a bad time he struggles to hide his frustrations. He is maturing all the time but still has a bit to go.

I genuinely hope he does. I have no issue where he is from or what flag he wants to play under. I watch golf and support golfers for their individual talent rather than national pride
Yes I like to see Harrington McDowell and Rory win when in a position to do so but wouldnt have been too bothered if Phil or Fowler snatched it Sunday as they are both brilliant players to watch.

Post by: DennistheMenace on August 12, 2014, 09:32:29 AM
Golfer in being annoyed shocker when hitting a bad shot, Garcia is one of the worst for it, slamming clubs into bunkers, Bubba dropping 'F bombs' etc.. To me that shows true emotion and not acting like some of the robots on tour. Rory is a credit to himself.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 09:34:40 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 09:03:08 AM

Lads,

Never said that Hegan. As a sports fan I would prefer to see him act like Phil on the course rather than the sulking child he can be when things don't go his way.
Saturday afternoon for instance slamming the clubs into the bag on a duffed chip. All of 2013 as another. He is great when he wins and comes across well ala the interview afterwards but
when he is having a bad time he struggles to hide his frustrations. He is maturing all the time but still has a bit to go.

I genuinely hope he does. I have no issue where he is from or what flag he wants to play under. I watch golf and support golfers for their individual talent rather than national pride
Yes I like to see Harrington McDowell and Rory win when in a position to do so but wouldnt have been too bothered if Phil or Fowler snatched it Sunday as they are both brilliant players to watch.

So when you are playing Championship football and you give a miss placed pass or a referee doesn't give you that free you though you earned or you are beat at the end you don't show emotion? FFS wise up, anybody who fecks something up in sport or loses a game will be fecking annoyed. You can lose gracefully but that's only for the cameras you are still hurting as much as the next guy
Post by: thebigfella on August 12, 2014, 09:40:15 AM

Lads,

Saturday afternoon for instance slamming the clubs into the bag on a duffed chip.
All of 2013 as another. He is great when he wins and comes across well ala the interview afterwards but

Wise up would you  ::) somebody think of the children too ::)

This is a professional sportsman, number 1 in the world and playing with massive confidence. He fluffed a simple chip and was frustrated; something he would be expecting to hit 100% of the time. Hardly up there Celtic not offering Legia Warsaw a replay  :P

What I don't get..... in GAA there are fights regularly, assaults on team doctors :P ........ but a golfer put a club into his bag a bit heavy handed after making a mistake and he has no class. By that definition, GAA has no class full stop. You are a fool and it's quite clear you have never competed at any sort of level if that is your genuine opinion.
Post by: Saffrongael on August 12, 2014, 09:41:10 AM

Lads,

Not allowed i am afraid
Post by: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 10:29:14 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 09:34:40 AM

Lads,

So when you are playing Championship football and you give a miss placed pass or a referee doesn't give you that free you though you earned or you are beat at the end you don't show emotion? FFS wise up, anybody who fecks something up in sport or loses a game will be fecking annoyed. You can lose gracefully but that's only for the cameras you are still hurting as much as the next guy
Thank you that's exactly my point..  :)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 10:53:49 AM
The bit I've highlighted is very true also. You managed to leave it out

You can lose gracefully but that's only for the cameras you are still hurting as much as the next guy
Post by: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 11:07:26 AM
Yes and in my view he is too much of a public sulk when things dont go his way.. Remember the Honda Classic??
Post by: thebigfella on August 12, 2014, 11:08:45 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 10:29:14 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 09:34:40 AM

Lads,

Thank you that's exactly my point..  :)

But he didn't lose???????? He placed a club in the bag with a bit more force than normal, certainly no worse than getting frustrated at a ref's decision that goes against you.
Post by: supersub on August 12, 2014, 11:08:58 AM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on August 12, 2014, 09:32:29 AM
Golfer in being annoyed shocker when hitting a bad shot, Garcia is one of the worst for it, slamming clubs into bunkers, Bubba dropping 'F bombs' etc.. To me that shows true emotion and not acting like some of the robots on tour. Rory is a credit to himself.

Indeed, has come a long way from the likes of this http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/golf/21635102
Post by: thebigfella on August 12, 2014, 11:13:00 AM
If Rory McIroy is a bad sportsman then what is Bubba Watson? First refusing to take part in the charity long drive comp, then turning up and hitting 4 iron. Swearing on the course just because it was wet. Abusing his caddy. Refusing to let the media see what clubs he was carrying. Not participating in press conferences etc........

Used to like Bubba but seems the mask is slipping.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 11:14:50 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 11:07:26 AM
Yes and in my view he is too much of a public sulk when things dont go his way.. Remember the Honda Classic??

Click on Google images and you'll be able to see many photos of any golfer looking annoyed/sulking. It's fecking sport, anybody devoid of showing emotion is a robot. If this is your only reason for disliking him then get a life
Post by: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 11:17:50 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on August 12, 2014, 11:13:00 AM
If Rory McIroy is a bad sportsman then what is Bubba Watson? First refusing to take part in the charity long drive comp, then turning up and hitting 4 iron. Swearing on the course just because it was wet. Abusing his caddy. Refusing to let the media see what clubs he was carrying. Not participating in press conferences etc........

Another man in need of a dentist!!
He was like dog all weekend. Is he a buddy of Dustin Johnson??
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 11:25:49 AM
It's a good thing he got off on the insider dealing scandal.
Post by: thebigfella on August 12, 2014, 11:29:39 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 11:25:49 AM
It's a good thing he got off on the insider dealing scandal.

Or insulting Irish women too
Post by: DennistheMenace on August 12, 2014, 11:31:12 AM
Bubba is an enigma, but he certainly has had his fair share of negative publicity recently with his on course behaviour and his treatment of his caddy Ted Scott. Not to mention his attitude towards playing in Europe and comments on his ignorance of French tourist sites which on it's own isn't a big thing but it was his flippancy that wound people up the wrong way.

Rickie Fowler comes across very well, a superb golfer to boot and once McIlroy has an off Major, I've no doubt he'll win one or two. Just a class below McIlroy but everyone is at the minute.
Post by: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 11:32:56 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 11:14:50 AM

Click on Google images and you'll be able to see many photos of any golfer looking annoyed/sulking. It's fecking sport, anybody devoid of showing emotion is a robot. If this is your only reason for disliking him then get a life
Where did I say I didnt like him ?? Said i'd prefer him to be less sulkier on the course. Jeez the fan club are ratty today.
See ye at the Masters 2015 thread.. 

Post by: Franko on August 12, 2014, 12:04:20 PM

Hold on big fella, you're not allowed to give an opinion on Bubba because (presumably) you don't know him personally and haven't met him.  (According to MR2 anyway)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 12:07:26 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on August 12, 2014, 11:32:56 AM

Where did I say I didnt like him ?? Said i'd prefer him to be less sulkier on the course. Jeez the fan club are ratty today.

I'm not even a golf fan, and if this was just about golf then I wouldn't be on this page. For Rory to get the stick he's getting based on how he views who he is, is ridiculous (Most won't say that's the reason, but they are kidding no one ;) ). Now you claim if he was less sulkier you'd be happier with him that's grand but it's not at all a bad thing to show emotion, both elation and despair. Look at the faces etched on the losers this weekend at Croke park, it won't be one of joy.

Quote from: Franko on August 12, 2014, 12:04:20 PM

Hold on big fella, you're not allowed to give an opinion on Bubba because (presumably) you don't know him personally and haven't met him.  (According to MR2 anyway)

Another bullshitter  :o
Post by: muppet on August 12, 2014, 12:11:14 PM
I get that some people don't like other poeple. We all have a bit of that in us.

But some of the reasons given here for disliking McIlroy are really pathetic.

It is probably better if you just say you don't like him.
Post by: Franko on August 12, 2014, 12:15:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 12:07:26 PM

I'm not even a golf fan, and if this was just about golf then I wouldn't be on this page. For Rory to get the stick he's getting based on how he views who he is, is ridiculous (Most won't say that's the reason, but they are kidding no one ;) ). Now you claim if he was less sulkier you'd be happier with him that's grand but it's not at all a bad thing to show emotion, both elation and despair. Look at the faces etched on the losers this weekend at Croke park, it won't be one of joy.

Nope, your words...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 12:20:24 PM
Quote from: Franko on August 12, 2014, 12:15:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 12:07:26 PM

Nope, your words...

I'll let you troll your way through the pages and find that statement then If I did I'll explain it
Post by: Franko on August 12, 2014, 12:24:16 PM
Ach sure if you've the explanation ready just throw it on out there, save any hassle...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 12:26:57 PM
Quote from: Franko on August 12, 2014, 12:24:16 PM
Ach sure if you've the explanation ready just throw it on out there, save any hassle...

You brought it up, back it up  :P
Post by: Franko on August 12, 2014, 12:40:50 PM
Post 704 on the McIlroy thread should refresh your memory.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 01:25:07 PM
Quote from: Franko on August 12, 2014, 12:40:50 PM
Post 704 on the McIlroy thread should refresh your memory.

Quote from: Franko on May 23, 2014, 02:41:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2014, 02:07:34 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 23, 2014, 01:00:23 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2014, 05:56:22 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 22, 2014, 04:21:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2014, 04:18:03 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 22, 2014, 03:52:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2014, 03:43:43 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 22, 2014, 03:35:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2014, 02:33:37 PM
Quote from: southdown on May 22, 2014, 01:40:31 PM
Just my opinion Milltown, which I have held for some time based on his interviews on TV, public strops and generally how he comes across, long before this incident.  Looks like I've touched a nerve!

You must watch him a lot then, strange for someone who doesn't like him to watch a lot of his interviews. I personally don't know him other than his golf exploits which are very good considering the talent out there. No hissy fit at all either. But a lot of people base their ideas of someone on loaded interviews and sound bites which may or may not be correct. Sure it's easy to believe in what you read in the papers.

Oh and, I've been saying this a long time means what? We have a tendency to knock our own aping the English in that regard

Which Irish sporting greats do you hold in high regard? I'm sure most will have something in their closet which wouldn't sit with some.

Surely the part in bold applies to those who have a good opinion of him too?  Or do you have to know him personally to be allowed to dislike him?

I assume that 'I've been saying this for a long time' is a reference to his decision on what team to represent/not represent at the olympics.  Some people seem to think that everyone who expresses a dislike for the guy does it solely on this issue.

Also, having a 'once in a lifetime talent' doesn't mean that you must like the lad... I give you Ronnie O'Sullivan/Phil Taylor/Floyd Mayweather/George Best/Tiger Woods... continue ad infinitum...

Is that how you base your opinion on people? What you read in the papers?

My response wasn't for you.  I wouldn't say you're a dcik based on your musing here, there are areas that we might not see eye to eye on but I doubt very much that if we met that I'd have a problem or dislike you. But if I held on to the points you solely made that I didn't agree with then I'd be a fool to think you are a complete tool ;)

So what do you base your opinion of him on?

He is an extremely talented young fella who gives a lot of money away to charities and has done really well for himself, as for his interviews, I haven't seen/heard anything that would actually make me dislike the guy. Is he cocky and throw the odd strop? yeah most professional sports players do.

Living your life with a camera not too far away and dating someone as famous as him would (I'd imagine) drive you bonkers, living as he has done so far it has to be commended with how he's done that, relatively speaking. As someone has already said, he isn't a raging alcoholic, wife beater, racist, or show signs of being a bigot. Anyways I wish him well

So stuff you see on TV and read in the papers then.  Grand so.

I don't watch the news nor do I buy a paper, I get most of my info from here funny enough, the Oracle ;D

I didn't say I dislike/hate sports stars for having a huff or a twitter 'fight' ffs what age are you? Do you ever get annoyed and have a huff and feel sorry for yourself? MOST people do, only when a top sports star does it it's big news.

Usually when I've lost a game for the club (beer belly league even) I get really annoyed. I struggled for years to warm to David Beckham and the stereotype in which the media built around him,  I worked out that media gets off on daft stories and people buy into it. now I think (due to a lot of work he does for charities and the like) he's a decent fella and comes across during interviews as being a great fella and up for a laugh.

Ah right - so you base your opinion of him on the gaaboard.  ::)

I don't like the guy - a lot of people agree with me.  You like him - a lot of people share your opinion also.  Whereas I couldn't give a flying fcuk what you think of him it seems that knickers get seriously knotted when someone presents a bad opinion of him.  Why do you care so much?

PS. Is there a minimum age for being allowed to dislike someone because they are behaving like a t**t?

Smiley face means I'm taking the piss (shakes head)

You are basing your hatred on things he has said in interviews (being honest) and a strop in a tournament, is that it? Oh breaking up with a girl..... WTF !! give me some real reasons please. As for caring I couldn't careless, if he was in the same pub I wouldn't be over annoying him either, he's a fantastic golfer and he's from here. I'm just confused on your daft reasons on not liking someone.

Usually Irish sport fans are supporting sportmen from all over the world, it's nice to have a former No. 1 living on these shores.

I'd say overall there are more people liking him than not liking him. Again I await the sports stars from Ireland you like that are squeaky clean

Smiley face means you couldn't answer the question so tried to bluff it off!

Also, I EXPLICITLY stated that I didn't hate him, I just don't like him and I've told you why.

Just let it go man, life's too short!

Your quote at the bottom best sums it up
Post by: Franko on August 12, 2014, 01:39:04 PM
Thought you might struggle to be honest...

As for letting it go, I think you need to heed that advice yourself regarding criticism of your BFF.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2014, 01:44:05 PM
Quote from: Franko on August 12, 2014, 01:39:04 PM
Thought you might struggle to be honest...

As for letting it go, I think you need to heed that advice yourself regarding criticism of your BFF.
Will you let it go if I do?  :-*
Post by: Rossie11 on March 06, 2015, 08:34:24 PM
After launching his club into the pond at Doral..
What's this seasons line.. Passion or toothache??  ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 06, 2015, 08:41:02 PM
That's just daft!!! How much do those clubs cost :o
Post by: AZOffaly on March 06, 2015, 08:44:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 06, 2015, 08:41:02 PM

For him, nothing.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 06, 2015, 09:06:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 06, 2015, 08:44:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 06, 2015, 08:41:02 PM

For him, nothing.

Remember playing one of the Down teams in the league, our best player was frustrated all through the match during a tackle he grab a hurl and flung it over the fence. The stick belonged to the Down man and landed on his car!! It happens in every sport, doesn't mean he was right, a bit of frustration in all the best players, even the shitty ones get annoyed
Post by: Orior on March 06, 2015, 10:09:16 PM
What did McIlroy do to incur the fine?
Post by: laoislad on March 06, 2015, 10:46:15 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 06, 2015, 10:09:16 PM
Because he is a tool.
Post by: Orior on March 06, 2015, 11:16:31 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 06, 2015, 10:46:15 PM
Because he is a tool.

And what is your handicap these days sonny?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJyj36rMyoc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJyj36rMyoc)
Post by: Rossie11 on March 07, 2015, 12:00:58 AM
Quote from: laoislad on March 06, 2015, 10:46:15 PM
Because he is a tool.
Ah LL he has had it tough the past fortnight.. 3 poor rounds and missed a cut.
Totally acceptable to show some despair
What's Harrington up to these days? Played rubbish for 5 years.
Great players get frustrated.. Surely he has tore up a clubhouse somewhere??