GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: macdanger2 on July 27, 2014, 12:03:17 AM

Title: Maigh Eo v Corcaigh, 1600, 3ú Lúnasa, Páirc an Crocaigh
Post by: macdanger2 on July 27, 2014, 12:03:17 AM
A rematch of the 2011 quarter final when Mayo shocked the all Ireland champions, winning by 4 points having been rank outsiders 

This time around we're slight favourites (1/2 with the bookies) but having watched cork in the munster final and against sligo today, I'd be confident we can win this one.
Title: Re: Maigh Eo v Corcaigh, 1600, 3ú Lúnasa, Páirc an Crocaigh
Post by: Bod Mor on July 27, 2014, 12:13:10 AM
Hurley won't be held to not scoring much three games in a row. With O'Neill back in form and Hurley and Goulding, our full back line will need to be at their peak. Hope Cunniffe is back, we know Barrett can do a job for us but reckon Cunniffe is a better all rounder. We need his tigerishness.
We're very predictable too. Wouldn't mind seeing Barry Moran names to start in midfield and switching to Full forward with AOS moving back into the centre with his brother.
Need to mix things up in the forward line to keep everybody guessing.
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2014, 12:21:33 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on July 27, 2014, 12:13:10 AM
Hurley won't be held to not scoring much three games in a row. With O'Neill back in form and Hurley and Goulding, our full back line will need to be at their peak. Hope Cunniffe is back, we know Barrett can do a job for us but reckon Cunniffe is a better all rounder. We need his tigerishness.
We're very predictable too. Wouldn't mind seeing Barry Moran names to start in midfield and switching to Full forward with AOS moving back into the centre with his brother.
Need to mix things up in the forward line to keep everybody guessing.

Four.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2014, 01:05:15 AM
I have a bad feeling about this one.
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2014, 01:12:29 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2014, 01:05:15 AM

Why?
Post by: Tubberman on July 27, 2014, 06:58:01 AM

You'll excuse me if my reaction isn't one of shock ;)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 27, 2014, 09:25:13 AM
Was down in Tullamore yesterday, if cork set up the same we'll destroy them. They left five lads in the full back line which meant extra half backs for Sligo. If Sligo could have run the ball they'd have won. It's mayos biggest strength, half backs running off shoulders.

As for Hurley, first time I've seen him in the flesh, not impressed and he's a fat f**ker, seriously after the Tipp keeper he was the most over weight player there, how do cork have a player carrying that kinda weight?
Post by: Red on July 27, 2014, 10:51:48 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 27, 2014, 09:25:13 AM
Was down in Tullamore yesterday, if cork set up the same we'll destroy them. They left five lads in the full back line which meant extra half backs for Sligo. If Sligo could have run the ball they'd have won. It's mayos biggest strength, half backs running off shoulders.

As for Hurley, first time I've seen him in the flesh, not impressed and he's a fat f**ker, seriously after the Tipp keeper he was the most over weight player there, how do cork have a player carrying that kinda weight?

Colm Corkery???
Post by: INDIANA on July 27, 2014, 10:58:41 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 27, 2014, 09:25:13 AM

He certainly isn't fat in my opinion. I'd be wary of making outlandish statements about him he is seriously gifted.
Overall I fancy Mayo to edge it. They have the defence to keep manners on Cork. It's a WIP for Cork this year. You can't lose all your experience in one go and expect miracles. It takes time .

However having watched then dismiss Sligo at ease you'd gave to be worried for Galway against kerry
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 27, 2014, 12:37:56 PM
he must be going through a bad spell, saw him earlier in the year in the league and he looked the best full forward in the country back then, scoring of either foot at will, he also was very good in the 1st half against Dublin in the league semi, Cork b4 the Dublin game looked to be the strongest bet to push Dublin,sort looked disorganised since but if Mayo take them for granted they turn you`s over.
Post by: beer baron on July 27, 2014, 12:59:55 PM
Hurley fat? Ah here would ya quit,he's a brute of a lad but no fat on him and as someone said above it's hard to see him going another game without making a decent contribution on the scoreboard. I wouldn't be at all surprised if Cork beat Mayo next week,still some excellent players in there especially in the forwards. I'd be tempted to back them at 2/1. Anyone know what the spread is?
Post by: larryin89 on July 27, 2014, 01:36:09 PM
What amazes me about analysis and bucks in general giving their predictions is they never hold their hands up if they get it completely wrong and furthermore try to spin the result as if they knew it could happen re the Donegal q/f last year.

Now what happens if Mayo fookin romp home destroying Cork by 10 points plus, does everyone in the country just give up on predicting results .

Mayo to win by 13 points is my prediction , Cork are absolutely useless.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 27, 2014, 01:41:25 PM
Hurley is at least a stone over weight
Post by: beer baron on July 27, 2014, 01:52:02 PM
I can't see it.
Post by: Zulu on July 27, 2014, 01:57:47 PM
Nor me. He has a body type that's top heavy but I don't think there is any question he is over weight.
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2014, 02:34:08 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 27, 2014, 01:57:47 PM
Nor me. He has a body type that's top heavy but I don't think there is any question he is over weight.

He's just a burly lad that isn't particularly tall.

You would have to question what the aims of Cork's S&C programs have been over the last half decade, they've consistently produced big, strong and immobile players, particularly at the back.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2014, 04:36:56 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 27, 2014, 01:12:29 AM

Why?

Sure who have Mayo beat this year really. A team who doesn't play in the leagues at all, a team that got promoted from Division 3 and a team who nearly got relegated from Division 2. Cork know what it's like to play Division 1 teams having already played against Kerry.
Post by: joemamas on July 27, 2014, 04:42:10 PM
not sure about Hurley's physique, but he was poor yesterday, as i mentioned in one blog yesterday, he was unchallenged bearing down on centre of goal near the end and kicked it poorly wide of his left.

Make no mistake this will be a battle, i believe mayo are better, but Cork backs were most likely not just setting up for games yesterday, but also for rest of championship, given the hammering they got from Kerry. It is up to Mayo to figure a way around it, you might be a little concerned if you use Roscommon as a benchmark for how we set up against a packed defense. Tom Cuniffe who appears to be doubtful, will be a loss.

Still a mayo win, already excited as I will be there in the flesh to see Mayo progress.
Post by: Whitnail on July 27, 2014, 04:44:57 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 27, 2014, 01:36:09 PM
What amazes me about analysis and bucks in general giving their predictions is they never hold their hands up if they get it completely wrong and furthermore try to spin the result as if they knew it could happen re the Donegal q/f last year.

Now what happens if Mayo fookin romp home destroying Cork by 10 points plus, does everyone in the country just give up on predicting results .

Mayo to win by 13 points is my prediction , Cork are absolutely useless.

In fairness Larry ,Mayo were a few dodgy frees away from loosing to Ross.
I remember reading that thread cause of your  prediction!

"my prediction, Mayo to absolutely hammer the ross, i dont
even think ross will score, truly believe Mayo will fuckin
destroy them beyond anything ever witnessed before in this
fixture.
Mayo   7-23 ross 0-00"

Can't remember you putting your hand up afterwards either!
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2014, 04:49:18 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2014, 04:36:56 PM

Why?

Sure who have Mayo beat this year really. A team who doesn't play in the leagues at all, a team that got promoted from Division 3 and a team who nearly got relegated from Division 2. Cork know what it's like to play Division 1 teams having already played against Kerry.

Cork managed to make hard work of a game they'd won at half-time yesterday. A team Galway beat equally handily.

Mayo are better and unless Cork show consistency they haven't this year, last year or indeed any year apart from 2010 then Mayo will win. The only worry I'd have is CO'N and Hurley both having career days, Mayo's defence looked a bit shakey this season. That said, Cork's defence is way worse and their solution to that problem yesterday was four or five men very deep. Your HBs would love that.
Post by: muppet on July 27, 2014, 06:50:43 PM

Excellent.

Mayo by 5 then.
Post by: hairyUlsterman on July 27, 2014, 07:27:09 PM
Remmeber this overweight dual player for Derry?

http://c1.thejournal.ie/media/2013/07/geoffrey-mcgonigle-2862003-630x471.jpg

He set up the winning goal in 1998 Ulster Final, he had a great burst of speed when bearing down on goal, like a bull dozer

http://youtu.be/IEM8dwy0030?t=6m6s
Post by: beer baron on July 27, 2014, 07:31:58 PM
Quote from: hairyUlsterman on July 27, 2014, 07:27:09 PM
Remmeber this overweight dual player for Derry?

http://c1.thejournal.ie/media/2013/07/geoffrey-mcgonigle-2862003-630x471.jpg

He set up the winning goal in 1998 Ulster Final, he had a great burst of speed when bearing down on goal, like a bull dozer

http://youtu.be/IEM8dwy0030?t=6m6s

He actually came into my head yesterday when i seen the Tipp Goalie.
Post by: highorlow on July 27, 2014, 07:38:04 PM
Cubert was very defensive in todays newstalk interview. He was coming out with stuff like "what happens in the panel stays in the panel" without even getting asked about trouble in the camp.

Whats the story there? If he keeps the same team will it be 4 debutants to croker for them?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 27, 2014, 11:46:53 PM
Quote from: beer baron on July 27, 2014, 12:59:55 PM
Hurley fat? Ah here would ya quit,he's a brute of a lad but no fat on him and as someone said above it's hard to see him going another game without making a decent contribution on the scoreboard. I wouldn't be at all surprised if Cork beat Mayo next week,still some excellent players in there especially in the forwards. I'd be tempted to back them at 2/1. Anyone know what the spread is?

If it stays @ 2/1, cork will probably be +2 @ 11/10
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2014, 09:34:04 AM

Why?

Ah Farr, who ya meet and who ya beat are of little consequence. If we are good enough, you are good enough. If we are not, well better now to lose than traipsing into a semi final or final and coming up short again. I personally think we will have too much for Cork. But Cork thought the same thing 3 years ago and look what happened to them!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 28, 2014, 09:47:59 AM

Why?

Who do you want them to have beaten? Sure they can only play to the fixture list

Ian O'Riordan seems to have been watching a different game to the one I saw in Tullamore

Eye-catching Cork victory sets up Mayo quarter-final

Impressive performance bodes well for crunch game in Croke Park

Ian O'Riordan

Cork 0-21 Sligo 1-11

Verse one of Cork's redemption song is now neatly and predictably written and the second stanza will shift to a completely different tempo.

Here, it was not just the ease with which they beat Sligo – setting up an All-Ireland quarter-final showdown with Mayo – but the manner of the victory. Gone was the flaky, lethargic look of their Munster final defeat to Kerry, replaced by a stubborn intent and especially so in defence.

Most of the time they played with two or three sweepers. And on other occasions flooded men behind the ball whenever Sligo briefly held possession. It wasn't spectacular to watch, although it was effective. Sligo hardly got a look in. And whenever Cork shifted the ball forward, Colm O'Neill (who finished with 0-10) and Donal Óg Hodnett licked it up, as did Brian Hurley and Paul Kerrigan (who added 0-5).

Vital victory The only worry for Cork, it seems, is whether they've blown their cover, revealing exactly what Mayo will confront in Croke Park on Sunday.

"We were under so much pressure coming into this match we just had to win it, by hook or by crook," said manager Brian Cuthbert.

"So showing a hand? I don't know. All we wanted to do was to get back into Croke Park. Whatever way we got there didn't really matter. I suppose our confidence, our character, everything else about us, was questioned after the Kerry game. So we changed the system, it worked quite well for us, and provided a lot more cover for us at the back."

Indeed Cork played from back to front – huge amounts of ball fed through the midfield pairing of Aidan Walsh and young Ian Maguire, who had an excellent debut. Sligo found themselves eight points down at the break. And although they salvaged some pride when Stephen Coen fisted in a goal on 51 minutes, brilliantly set up by Adrian Marren, that proved a minor flaw in Cork's fortress of a defence.

"Yeah, we're disappointed we gave away the goal," added Cuthbert. "But when it comes to games, the set-up going in sometimes works, and sometimes it doesn't. You've to take each team on its merits. And Mayo will cause us lots of different problems, with their size and their football.

"We went up to Castlebar, in the league and they decimated us to be honest. They're a very experienced team, very physical. And that's an area we're going to suffer on because we're not a huge side. Now the turnaround is so quick as well so we'll have to see what their strengths and weaknesses are and come up with something. But we're very happy to be there."

Kerrigan was certainly back to his old form (his fisted point back in vogue too) and Daniel Goulding, Fintan Goold and Damien Cahalane all came off the bench (Cahalahe added a point also) as a reminder of Cork's depth. Thomas Clancy and Eoin Cadogan were almost menacing in the way they cleared some ball and in the end it was little wonder that Sligo scored no more than 1-5 from play.

Disappointed Sligo "We were just trying to break that momentum, keep them on the back foot," said Sligo manager Pat Flanagan, with an understandable air of resignation. "In fairness the boys never gave up, but we'll have to take stock again, assess the situation and see where we're at."

Flanagan also reiterated his fear that the championship format – provincial and qualifier – does little to favour counties like Sligo.

"There has to a better way, but no one seems to want to know about it. It's very difficult for the players, and people like myself, to try to keep driving on every year," said Flanagan.
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2014, 09:53:00 AM
I think Mayo are going to give it a massive lash this year so Mayo by 4.  Turnovers, intinsity off the shoulder,  runners, blankets, all those words and then some .
Post by: Canalman on July 28, 2014, 10:20:24 AM
This will be very close imo. Cork's 1st half performance in League semi final cannot be overlooked . Their 2nd half has been well documented.
Might pop into this game in CP. Two cracking games on the cards I think.
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2014, 11:24:21 AM
Mayo should win this handy.
Post by: cicfada on July 28, 2014, 12:26:38 PM
Mayo should win this by 4 or 5 imo. Kerry will beat our lads by 7 or 8 and it then sets up  the ultimate test of mental strength for mayo. It's the one team that mayo have historically had problems with and if mayo come  through this they will win the AI final. I believe Donegal will beat the dubs in the other semifinal . Kerry will be without cooper so it's a good opportunity for mayo this year to beat them. Cork have forwards but no midfield and this is where mayo will beat them .
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2014, 12:33:33 PM
Quote from: cicfada on July 28, 2014, 12:26:38 PM
Mayo should win this by 4 or 5 imo. Kerry will beat our lads by 7 or 8 and it then sets up  the ultimate test of mental strength for mayo. It's the one team that mayo have historically had problems with and if mayo come  through this they will win the AI final. I believe Donegal will beat the dubs in the other semifinal . Kerry will be without cooper so it's a good opportunity for mayo this year to beat them. Cork have forwards but no midfield and this is where mayo will beat them .

Beating Kerry would have no impact at all on Mayo being able to beat Dublin. That's about more than just mental strength.
Post by: westbound on July 28, 2014, 12:36:36 PM
I don't think Mayo have a mental problem with Kerry at all. It's ONLY Kerry in AI FINALS that's the problem. In 1996 Mayo had no trouble beating Kerry in the AI semi for example. They'be beaten them in the league as well over the years so I wouldn't be at all surprised to see Mayo beat Kerry in a semi final. I'd still expect them to lose the final.
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2014, 12:53:06 PM
That's pretty much it.
Mayo's 'issues' are with the All-Ireland final itself.
Against ANYONE.
Post by: ancailinrua on July 28, 2014, 01:38:14 PM
Cannot see our lads slipping up on Sunday. They've put too much work in to haul themselves back up this level yet again, and despite what some are suggesting, I can't see complacency being an issue either - they are too wise for that at this point.
I've no doubt Cork will put it up to us - remember how they came out all guns blazing against Dublin in the league final in the first half? - but ultimately I think we are better, and will have the greater desire to win on the day. What happens after that is anyone's guess.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 28, 2014, 01:46:10 PM
Quote from: ancailinrua on July 28, 2014, 01:38:14 PM
What happens after that is anyone's guess.
to reach and lose another All Ireland final?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 28, 2014, 01:56:47 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 28, 2014, 10:20:24 AM
This will be very close imo. Cork's 1st half performance in League semi final cannot be overlooked . Their 2nd half has been well documented.
Might pop into this game in CP. Two cracking games on the cards I think.

That's one nagging doubt I'd have about Sunday, Cork for those 35 minutes and Mayo for about 45 minutes in 2012 are the two sides who have destroyed the current Dublin side for a time.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 28, 2014, 02:28:56 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 28, 2014, 12:53:06 PM
That's pretty much it.
Against ANYONE.

Pretty much summed it up perfectly Jinxy at this stage New York or London would have to fancy their chances if the managed to get to an All Ireland final against us!!!!
Post by: macdanger2 on July 28, 2014, 02:43:02 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 28, 2014, 02:28:56 PM
That's pretty much it.
Against ANYONE.

Pretty much summed it up perfectly Jinxy at this stage New York or London would have to fancy their chances if the managed to get to an All Ireland final against us!!!!

Bollix, I'd fancy us against NY or Carlow
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2014, 02:54:02 PM
That's pretty much it.
Against ANYONE.

Meath are the team with one win in three All-Ireland finals against Mayo..
Post by: ancailinrua on July 28, 2014, 03:14:24 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 28, 2014, 01:46:10 PM
Touché! We'll see  ;)
Post by: muppet on July 28, 2014, 04:12:37 PM
Quote from: ancailinrua on July 28, 2014, 03:14:24 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 28, 2014, 01:46:10 PM
Touché! We'll see  ;)

One Sé, Touché or Trichet, that is the question.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2014, 06:26:24 PM
Any Irish pubs in Lake Garda area that might show the game?
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2014, 06:28:37 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2014, 06:26:24 PM
Lake Garda has loads of people walking around asking "have you drink taken"
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2014, 06:33:49 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 28, 2014, 06:28:37 PM
Lake Garda has loads of people walking around asking "have you drink taken"
:D well if they detain a fella in a Mayo jersey, then it might be me!
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2014, 07:20:57 PM

Try famous local nightspot, 'The Lake Garda Club'.
It's usually full of Mayo folk.
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2014, 09:23:20 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 28, 2014, 07:20:57 PM

Try famous local nightspot, 'The Lake Garda Club'.
It's usually full of Mayo folk.
Apparently there are loads of buy to let properties in the area owned by Lake Garda. 
Post by: highorlow on July 29, 2014, 02:23:39 PM
The Fiddler of Dooney
Post by: Jinxy on July 29, 2014, 04:57:06 PM
I see Cormac Reilly is reffing this.
Post by: bucko on July 29, 2014, 05:26:18 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 29, 2014, 04:57:06 PM
Will he look out for Cuthbert's ladeens like he was asking for earlier today???
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/cuthbert-strong-ref-important-when-facing-streetwise-mayo-277093.html
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2014, 05:35:58 PM
Quote from: bucko on July 29, 2014, 05:26:18 PM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/cuthbert-strong-ref-important-when-facing-streetwise-mayo-277093.html

Jesus he's a whine bag on top of everything else.
Post by: bucko on July 29, 2014, 05:47:18 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2014, 05:35:58 PM
Quote from: bucko on July 29, 2014, 05:26:18 PM

Jesus he's a whine bag on top of everything else.
A bit, shades of Jimmy McGuinness from before last years quarter finals.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2014, 06:52:09 PM
Cork manager Brian Cuthbert says the match officials "will be very important" in this Sunday's All-Ireland quarter-final against Mayo.

The Connacht champions are a far more experienced outfit than the Leesiders, whose manager described Mayo yesterday as "extremely streetwise."

Asked whether he would want to have a strong referee in Croke Park next Sunday, Cuthbert said: "Absolutely, I think the referee's going to be very important in this game. I wouldn't want to paint our fellas as naive young fellas, but certainly they're up against a team that's extremely streetwise — every manager wants their team to be like that.

Jez here we go again! Waffle! We had the same stuff this time last year with Jimmy and Rory! All that Remarks like this show is fear of the opposition!
Post by: seafoid on July 29, 2014, 08:11:33 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2014, 06:52:09 PM
Cork manager Brian Cuthbert says the match officials "will be very important" in this Sunday's All-Ireland quarter-final against Mayo.

The Connacht champions are a far more experienced outfit than the Leesiders, whose manager described Mayo yesterday as "extremely streetwise."

Asked whether he would want to have a strong referee in Croke Park next Sunday, Cuthbert said: "Absolutely, I think the referee's going to be very important in this game. I wouldn't want to paint our fellas as naive young fellas, but certainly they're up against a team that's extremely streetwise — every manager wants their team to be like that.

Jez here we go again! Waffle! We had the same stuff this time last year with Jimmy and Rory! All that Remarks like this show is fear of the opposition!
Last year in the Galway/Mayo match before the throw-in Johnny Duane extended his hand towards Alan Dillon for a handshake and Dillon shouldered him, knocking him to the ground

Tsk tsk

Come on now Mayo and win the all Ireland and all will be forgiven.  Ni uasal agus iseal ach thuas seal agus thios seal. But you have to win when you are thuas.     
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2014, 09:54:51 PM
Hard to see this year's Cork outfit stopping Mayowestros.
Post by: moysider on July 29, 2014, 10:57:54 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 29, 2014, 08:11:33 PM

Last year in the Galway/Mayo match before the throw-in Johnny Duane extended his hand towards Alan Dillon for a handshake and Dillon shouldered him, knocking him to the ground

Tsk tsk

Come on now Mayo and win the all Ireland and all will be forgiven.  Ni uasal agus iseal ach thuas seal agus thios seal. But you have to win when you are thuas.   

True but you still have to be the best team about when you re up to win. We were on the up 96-99 and for at least 2 of those years we blew it - especially '97 when we did not perform in the final. 2004 and 2006 we were nowhere near good enough to trouble Kerry.

During the last 30 years Mayo has been arguably the most consistently thuas of the Connacht counties. Our thios periods has been largely due to poor management rather than a lack of quality players. If we could have avoided those calamitous interstadials then I m convinced the famine could have ended already. Mayo have never actually built a successful team in my time. The county has lurched from lows to highs without any runway. Think 96, 2004 and 2011. James Horan did not have to build his team in a way Mulholland has been trying to build his or Evans is doing in Ros or Flanagan in Sligo. There was enough quality among the detritus of Johnno s tenure to topple AI champions within months of Horan taking over. 3 years later he is pretty much happy with the same lads.

As for Sunday I dunno. Cork seem to have been having problems but I find some of the posts here a bit disrespectful of them and that s a worry. Cork teams always have to be taken very seriously - ye know the old saying that Cork teams come like mushrooms, overnight. Now that was about their hurling team but I remember there was no way we should have been losing to Cork in 99 and they caught us flat footed. 2 rookie midfielders from junior clubs on Cork team and Liam McHale left sitting on his hole until the game was lost. Sssshhh.

To lose on Sunday would be hard to take.
Post by: maigheo on July 30, 2014, 02:33:16 AM
I see Cork selector Ronan McCarthy going on about Mayo s tactical fouling in todays examiner.Not sure what Cork are trying to gain from this but for me it will only have the effect of riling up Mayo as it will not affect Cormac Reilly in any way.Reading the Cork posters over on Boarss.ie ,none of them are giving there team a chance and are pretty scathing of Cuthbert as a manager.No matter what is happening behind the scenes in the Cork camp they have enough good footballers to trouble Mayo and for me it will take the full 70 minutes to put them away.
Post by: highorlow on July 30, 2014, 08:52:32 AM
Quote"A team like Cork, which tries to build quickly out from the back, if you can stop them eight or nine times, for instance, which would have happened up in Mayo in the league game with Cillian O'Connor several times without getting a yellow card . . . that can have an effect on a team, and they're very good at it.

Ha Ha, great to see the langers shitting themselves. Hope it is like the league game but that we don't let them 'gloss' the scoreboard this time towards the end.

f**k the 70 mins if we can't beat them out the gate we may aswell forget about coming back for a semi final.

I was there in 1993 for our semi final embarrassment and have been waiting for revenge since. This is the time to get it.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 30, 2014, 10:12:03 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 29, 2014, 10:57:54 PM

Tsk tsk

True but you still have to be the best team about when you re up to win. We were on the up 96-99 and for at least 2 of those years we blew it - especially '97 when we did not perform in the final. 2004 and 2006 we were nowhere near good enough to trouble Kerry.

During the last 30 years Mayo has been arguably the most consistently thuas of the Connacht counties. Our thios periods has been largely due to poor management rather than a lack of quality players. If we could have avoided those calamitous interstadials then I m convinced the famine could have ended already. Mayo have never actually built a successful team in my time. The county has lurched from lows to highs without any runway. Think 96, 2004 and 2011. James Horan did not have to build his team in a way Mulholland has been trying to build his or Evans is doing in Ros or Flanagan in Sligo. There was enough quality among the detritus of Johnno s tenure to topple AI champions within months of Horan taking over. 3 years later he is pretty much happy with the same lads.

As for Sunday I dunno. Cork seem to have been having problems but I find some of the posts here a bit disrespectful of them and that s a worry. Cork teams always have to be taken very seriously - ye know the old saying that Cork teams come like mushrooms, overnight. Now that was about their hurling team but I remember there was no way we should have been losing to Cork in 99 and they caught us flat footed. 2 rookie midfielders from junior clubs on Cork team and Liam McHale left sitting on his hole until the game was lost. Sssshhh.

Sorry Moysider but you are talking absolute dung there.
The 1996 team was a brand new out of the bag football team

Madden, Cahill, Mortimer, Nallen, Connelly, Brady, Sheridan, Horan, Casey, Nestor were all new or nearly new to 1996

And you need to let things go, McHale was 34 in 1999. I'm sick of this chat that we got hijacked in 98 and 99, we didnt, we lost to a team that were better than us and have two all irelands to show for it and a team that was better prepared on the day

Post by: moysider on July 30, 2014, 10:53:04 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 30, 2014, 10:12:03 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 29, 2014, 10:57:54 PM

Tsk tsk

Sorry Moysider but you are talking absolute dung there.
The 1996 team was a brand new out of the bag football teamMadden, Cahill, Mortimer, Nallen, Connelly, Brady, Sheridan, Horan, Casey, Nestor were all new or nearly new to 1996

And you need to let things go, McHale was 34 in 1999. I'm sick of this chat that we got hijacked in 98 and 99, we didnt, we lost to a team that were better than us and have two all irelands to show for it and a team that was better prepared on the day

Sure that was what I m saying. Came from nowhere. No years of team building involved at all. That s exactly the point I was making.
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2014, 11:34:36 AM
Cahill was first picked by Jacko in 1993. Nallen in 1995 IIRC.

As for Cork. I have never seen a Cork team that feared Mayo. But reading the above I have now seen a Cork Management team that is already looking for excuses.

Cork have enough good players to win this on their own, but if it comes down to the sideline, we are miles ahead.
Post by: highorlow on July 30, 2014, 11:43:58 AM
QuoteCork have enough good players to win this on their own

We are far ahead of them in terms of fitness, pace and physicality, that will be the difference in this game, not forgetting our midfield dominance.

I don't understand some posters saying we are not giving Cork respect. f**k that, respect doesn't win games, it's time our supporters started going into games with a similar confidence that Cork themselves had in their prime. We have no reason not to.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2014, 12:01:41 PM
I'll be in Westport on Sat with a group of Dubs so will hopefully be in some pub somewhere watching it.
Will be supporting Mayo of course

Looking for a bed for the night as I was a late addition to their trip. As you'd imagine everywhere is booked up ages ago.
Post by: Go home ref on July 30, 2014, 12:03:56 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 30, 2014, 12:01:41 PM

Will be supporting Mayo of course

Looking for a bed for the night
Have you no shame ?  :D
Post by: Fuzzman on July 30, 2014, 12:40:40 PM
Nope
Never had.
That's why I'll be wearing my Tyrone shirt playing football with a bunch of Dubs in Mayo this weekend
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 30, 2014, 12:50:04 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 30, 2014, 10:53:04 AM
Sure that was what I m saying. Came from nowhere. No years of team building involved at all. That s exactly the point I was making.

Then I'm confused, I dont know that I'd call it building a team just because it takes more than one year, I dont think Mulholland is ramping up, hes flatlining

The other side is that Horan could be described as building up, improving each year, similiar to McGuinness and Gavin
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2014, 01:00:03 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 30, 2014, 12:50:04 PM
The other side is that Horan could be described as building up, improving each year, similiar to McGuinness and Gavin

I think McGuiness built more quickly, in 2 years from zero (v Armagh)  to hero (AI champs).
Post by: highorlow on July 30, 2014, 03:37:51 PM
Mayo -2 at EVENS has to be the GAA bet of the year so far?
Post by: muppet on July 30, 2014, 07:25:09 PM
Given that the Cork management has probably added 3 or 4 points to our score line I would agree. If we respond like we did to McGuinness last year it could be more.
Post by: mayoman dan on July 30, 2014, 08:24:00 PM
Any team news for Mayo? Is Cunniffe out? I dont think we can start both Andy and Dillon i would go with Andy from the start and have Dillon when the game slows down a bit.Freeman in for Dillon would be my only change from the Galway game.
Post by: moysider on July 30, 2014, 10:17:55 PM

Unless Cuniffe is good to resume I d go with the same starting 15 again. I think we ll  have to try and get a lead with the starters and hope we can hold on. 
Post by: Tubberman on July 30, 2014, 11:33:31 PM
God Moy, I don't know about that. Mayo don't really 'hold on' too well. I'd prefer to be pulling away in the last 15 rather than watching a lead be reeled in. "Wouldn't we all" says you, but this Mayo squad are good enough to be looking to pull away rather than hang on.
Post by: moysider on July 31, 2014, 12:02:24 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 30, 2014, 11:33:31 PM
God Moy, I don't know about that. Mayo don't really 'hold on' too well. I'd prefer to be pulling away in the last 15 rather than watching a lead be reeled in. "Wouldn't we all" says you, but this Mayo squad are good enough to be looking to pull away rather than hang on.

Are we? I m talking about against the likes of Donegal, Dublin and Kerry in particular. Hopefully we get by Cork but not as bullish about that as some. I don t believe we have the forwards numbers  but maybe we can do it another way.

Donegal are back to 2012 level. If they re ahead down the stretch they don t give it up. No amount of Andys and Dillons being introduced would change that. We had 55mins to chase a game against them in 2012 and couldn t make any inroads. You beat Donegal from in front.

Dublin can only be beaten by a frontrunner as well imo. They will counteract any impact from Andy and Dillon with impact forwards of their own - at a time when they could be in command because their starting forwards would be much better than ours. We just held on in 2012 semi but that was an avoidable collapse. If Donegal can close out a 3 point game surely at this stage we can close out an 11/12 point game. Not that I expect we will have that luxury again against the likes of Dubs but ye know what I mean.
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2014, 12:15:40 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 31, 2014, 12:02:24 AM

Are we? I m talking about against the likes of Donegal, Dublin and Kerry in particular. Hopefully we get by Cork but not as bullish about that as some. I don t believe we have the forwards numbers  but maybe we can do it another way.

Donegal are back to 2012 level. If they re ahead down the stretch they don t give it up. No amount of Andys and Dillons being introduced would change that. We had 55mins to chase a game against them in 2012 and couldn t make any inroads. You beat Donegal from in front.

Dublin can only be beaten by a frontrunner as well imo. They will counteract any impact from Andy and Dillon with impact forwards of their own - at a time when they could be in command because their starting forwards would be much better than ours. We just held on in 2012 semi but that was an avoidable collapse. If Donegal can close out a 3 point game surely at this stage we can close out an 11/12 point game. Not that I expect we will have that luxury again against the likes of Dubs but ye know what I mean.

A good imitation of it, yeah, but if would take a herculean effort if they are to ever play ye this year and honestly ye'll be delighted if you make the final and find it's not Dublin there waiting for you. Mayo's attack and midfield have basically been what they've been for the last two seasons. What is worrying is the defence.

For a team that looked so veracious and was pressing and forcing turnovers high up the field last year they've looked decidedly shakey this season and there hasn't even been many injuries to blame (one of Barrett and Cunniffe were injured or unavailable pretty much all season but each are similarly talented players and only one of them was going to start with Higgins back in the corner anyways). Cork would be a good time to roll back the clock because even beating Kerry may be impossible if the concession rate remains as high as it has been.

I heard Adam Gallagher is injured, not that he was going to feature.
Post by: moysider on July 31, 2014, 12:39:55 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 31, 2014, 12:15:40 AM

A good imitation of it, yeah, but if would take a herculean effort if they are to ever play ye this year and honestly ye'll be delighted if you make the final and find it's not Dublin there waiting for you. Mayo's attack and midfield have basically been what they've been for the last two seasons. What is worrying is the defence.

For a team that looked so veracious and was pressing and forcing turnovers high up the field last year they've looked decidedly shakey this season and there hasn't even been many injuries to blame (one of Barrett and Cunniffe were injured or unavailable pretty much all season but each are similarly talented players and only one of them was going to start with Higgins back in the corner anyways). Cork would be a good time to roll back the clock because even beating Kerry may be impossible if the concession rate remains as high as it has been.

Good housekeeping can address defensive issues. Mayo have some of the best defenders about, even among the forwards. Kevin Mac is probably the best corner back in the Mayo panel. Cillian O Connor's first defensive work rate is brilliant - cue the langers whinging about him in particular. The reason we ve been shaky Sy is our lack of respect for possession in a lot of our games. The amount of 'unnecessary' turnovers v Galway approached 30 and largely explained Galway s respectably score on the day.When we should have been killing them we coughed up soft ball and our backs were exposed several times by silliness in possession. I m hoping that will be reduced by 70% the next day and we will be in business. But if that turnover rate continues we haven t much future. I expect that will have been sorted though. That s the easy bit. I don t get your concern about the defence. It was our forward limitations that did for us last 2 years. As well as tactically being raw on the big day as well.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 31, 2014, 01:00:35 AM

(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRqothouNjcAIcodipI8W3Ci0mxRagnk_avt_bBkZnVABC0IXGNAA)

I think we need to start well and lead from the front. Any time Cork build up a head of steam we need to be able to respond with a few scores to quieten them.

One of the areas I expect us to challenge is when Cork are bringing the ball out from the back. Pressure here can result in turnovers or else poor ball going in to their forwards.
I think Cork have realised this and that is why they are trying to ensure the ref pulls up any sort of challenge on their defenders - Ronan McCarthy has even named KMc and COC!
Post by: moysider on July 31, 2014, 01:17:13 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on July 31, 2014, 01:00:35 AM

(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRqothouNjcAIcodipI8W3Ci0mxRagnk_avt_bBkZnVABC0IXGNAA)

I think we need to start well and lead from the front. Any time Cork build up a head of steam we need to be able to respond with a few scores to quieten them.

One of the areas I expect us to challenge is when Cork are bringing the ball out from the back. Pressure here can result in turnovers or else poor ball going in to their forwards.
I think Cork have realised this and that is why they are trying to ensure the ref pulls up any sort of challenge on their defenders - Ronan McCarthy has even named KMc and COC!

Not surprising really. This is the land of Frank Murphy, who stamped his feet and bullied for Cork for ever and always got his way. Well, almost always. Cork have nothing to lose by marking O Reilly s card and I wouldn t be surprised if it get s a result. The thing is though they ll have more to deal with than McLoughlin and Cillian. Doc's tackling and workrate v Galway was on a par with the other 2. Andy and Dillon will win back ball as well which is another reason they have to start.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 31, 2014, 02:01:09 AM
Mayo were surprising off colour in defence in the Connacht final. Galway could have scored 3-20 and Cork will have a chance of winning this game if Mayo defend like that again.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2014, 09:25:26 AM
Media have clung to talking about Cork all week. Mayo almost completely ignored. Horan must be pleased with this. Cork boys have fed in through the media (like Donegal at this stage last year) that Mayo are Dirty. This I feel will back fire on them. Because of tradition, this is a tricky fixture. Bar the win three years a go we have a terrible record against the Rebels. And tradition is a hard thing to beat.
Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2014, 09:33:57 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2014, 09:25:26 AM
Media have clung to talking about Cork all week. Mayo almost completely ignored. Horan must be pleased with this. Cork boys have fed in through the media (like Donegal at this stage last year) that Mayo are Dirty. This I feel will back fire on them. Because of tradition, this is a tricky fixture. Bar the win three years a go we have a terrible record against the Rebels. And tradition is a hard thing to beat.
Arra go away out of that. Aren't ye well able to beat Galway ? Cork should be  well feasible.
Post by: highorlow on July 31, 2014, 09:39:08 AM
QuoteMayo were surprising off colour in defence in the Connacht final. Galway could have scored 3-20

That's all speculative. A penalty save is not good defending then? That Galway shot against the crossbar was the only space the attacker had to get the shot away as the Mayo defence were all over him, unlike Lee Keegan's chance which was a clearer miss. The same could be said for ourselves by your analysis, we could have got another 2-5 I'd say.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on July 31, 2014, 10:19:22 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 31, 2014, 12:39:55 AM

Good housekeeping can address defensive issues. Mayo have some of the best defenders about, even among the forwards. Kevin Mac is probably the best corner back in the Mayo panel. Cillian O Connor's first defensive work rate is brilliant - cue the langers whinging about him in particular. The reason we ve been shaky Sy is our lack of respect for possession in a lot of our games. The amount of 'unnecessary' turnovers v Galway approached 30 and largely explained Galway s respectably score on the day.When we should have been killing them we coughed up soft ball and our backs were exposed several times by silliness in possession. I m hoping that will be reduced by 70% the next day and we will be in business. But if that turnover rate continues we haven t much future. I expect that will have been sorted though. That s the easy bit. I don t get your concern about the defence. It was our forward limitations that did for us last 2 years. As well as tactically being raw on the big day as well.
Can it though? I worry that when you see a pattern develop in a team its almost there for the season. Its not like premiership soccer where for example with so many games and the players working every day on something you can see a bad habit be rectified. We were alot looser in the league this year conceding 133 points when it other years it was 90 and 89 respectively. Having said that the "For" column was up significantly for us as well, as it was for everyone else reflecting the "black card effect" I presume. We scored 148 (14 goals! What forwards?) so maybe this "looseness" was brought about by a change in tackling by the black card. I dunno.
We turned over alot of ball v the Rossies also, although in a different manner, it was more about aimless kicking which was clearly a tactic, and it didnt work. We spent alot of time v Galway either hitting daft passes or getting caught in possession. Christ, listen to me, I'm starting to sound like we lost those two matches. Must go have a lie down.
One thing is gas though, this craic that Mayo don't have forwards that the media keep going on about is an irrelevant statement. If any of them took the time to go look up some stats, outside of the Dubs Mayo are one of the highest scoring teams and in particular in the last three quarter finals where we have just laid wreck (Cork, Down and Donegal). In fact we've arguably peaked at quarter final stage those 3 years which is statistically another reason to back Mayo, for this game anyway.
Post by: joemamas on July 31, 2014, 01:34:10 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 31, 2014, 09:39:08 AM
QuoteMayo were surprising off colour in defence in the Connacht final. Galway could have scored 3-20

That's all speculative. A penalty save is not good defending then? That Galway shot against the crossbar was the only space the attacker had to get the shot away as the Mayo defence were all over him, unlike Lee Keegan's chance which was a clearer miss. The same could be said for ourselves by your analysis, we could have got another 2-5 I'd say.

Mayo could have conceded a lot more V Galway, I was very disappointed with some of the tackling or non tackling, The effort Paul Conroy had for a goal at the beginning of second half, is the one that sticks in my mind, Donal Vaughan was next to him, and never laid a hand on him, I know rules have changed but, that lack of physicality will not cut in from here on in.
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2014, 01:47:03 PM
You'd have to fancy Mayo for this one, they are a settled, powerful team and genuine all Ireland contenders. However, I think some folks are writing Cork off a bit too easily. On the morning of the Munster final Cork were many people's first choice to challenge Dublin and they were at least as highly rated as Kerry by most observers. A few hours later the narrative is Kerry are All Ireland contenders and Cork are very poor, neither is accurate IMO.

Cork are defensively weak but the midfield and forwards have the ability to compete with the very best. As a result Cork will certainly bring O'Driscoll back as a sweeper though I'm not sure they can afford two against Mayo as their half back line are a bigger attacking threat than their half forward line. If I was to put money on this it would certainly go on Mayo but Cork have better footballers than they've shown in the championship so far. I wouldn't write them off.
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2014, 02:01:49 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 31, 2014, 01:47:03 PM
You'd have to fancy Mayo for this one, they are a settled, powerful team and genuine all Ireland contenders. However, I think some folks are writing Cork off a bit too easily. On the morning of the Munster final Cork were many people's first choice to challenge Dublin and they were at least as highly rated as Kerry by most observers. A few hours later the narrative is Kerry are All Ireland contenders and Cork are very poor, neither is accurate IMO.

Cork are defensively weak but the midfield and forwards have the ability to compete with the very best. As a result Cork will certainly bring O'Driscoll back as a sweeper though I'm not sure they can afford two against Mayo as their half back line are a bigger attacking threat than their half forward line. If I was to put money on this it would certainly go on Mayo but Cork have better footballers than they've shown in the championship so far. I wouldn't write them off.

An off-colour dual-player in Aidan Walsh and an U21 that only made his first championship start on Saturday? You'd fear for them against any combination of the O'Sheas/Gibbons/Moran.
Post by: joemamas on July 31, 2014, 02:05:45 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 31, 2014, 01:47:03 PM

Good analysis, Cork will play with a sweeper, and Mayo's selection will be key, not sure Cork can solve all their problems that were apparent in Munster final debacle. I also believe that a few of the Cark guys are a little over rated to say the least.
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2014, 02:27:24 PM
Joe, they probably do have a few lads that are overrated, insofar as they haven't really delivered consistently but they still have it their locker. For example, if Aidan Walsh played outstandingly on Sunday and Cork beat Mayo, he could be useless in the semi final whereas you wouldn't have any doubt a Dara McAuley would produce, at a minimum, a decent performance both days.

Sy, Cork have Aidan Walsh, Fintan Goold, Ian Maguire and Sean Dineen so they have have options and but Walsh and Goold have the ability to compete with anyone. The two O'Driscolls and Mark Collins, Cahalane (potentially) give them lads who can battle for breaking ball.

Like I said, I expect a Mayo win and they will produce a performance on Sunday, Cork could be useless but if Cork bring a performance too they have footballers who can compete with the best.
Post by: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 05:03:02 PM
Surely Freeman will start for Mayo he had a great game against Cork in the league.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 31, 2014, 05:06:59 PM
Its hard to make a case for Cork, I've seen Corks good record against Mayo mentioned but this has no bearing on this Mayo team.

Its hard for Cork who've quite clearly changed their tactical approach only in the last few weeks to beat a team who are bidding for their 4th semi final in a row with the same group of players.

Hurley can't play as bad as he has the last 2 games and with Colm O'Neill & Kerrigan the three of them are capable of scoring 10 points from play between them. I still can't understand why Mark Collins didn't start against Kerry, they clearly missed him.

I expect Mayo to win by 4-5 points.

Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2014, 05:14:43 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 05:03:02 PM
Surely Freeman will start for Mayo he had a great game against Cork in the league.

Lookit, all about on the day. If Freeman doesn't look at Horan funny on the bus to Croker he has a shot.
Post by: larryin89 on July 31, 2014, 05:35:18 PM

Are you sure himself and Richie are still members of the panel ?
Post by: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 09:24:35 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 31, 2014, 05:35:18 PM

Are you sure himself and Richie are still members of the panel ?

Nothing would surprise me when it comes to Mayo.
Post by: ballinaman on July 31, 2014, 09:33:27 PM
Syferus/larryin89.......................................mayomandan?

Just putting it out there.
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2014, 09:37:31 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 31, 2014, 09:33:27 PM

Yes. I'm MayoGodHelpUs too but I forgot the log in.
Post by: larryin89 on July 31, 2014, 09:46:04 PM
?
Post by: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 09:53:13 PM

Im a bit lost here Ballinaman? Care to elaborate
Post by: ballinaman on July 31, 2014, 10:00:28 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 09:53:13 PM

Just popping the head in here, have been away for a bit. Thought you might have been one of the lil rossie ladeens alter egos...apologies!
Post by: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 10:05:29 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 31, 2014, 10:00:28 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 09:53:13 PM

Just popping the head in here, have been away for a bit. Thought you might have been one of the lil rossie ladeens alter egos...apologies!

Apology accepted Ballinaman im not a Rossie or anyones alter ego my friend Farrandeelin can vouch for me on that.
Post by: moysider on July 31, 2014, 10:08:20 PM

Any team yet. Getting impatient to see if that selection rumour is correct.
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2014, 10:12:46 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 31, 2014, 10:08:20 PM

Heard on the wireless that it'll be announced tomorrow lunchtime.
Post by: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 10:16:47 PM

Dont leave us in suspense Moy what rumour?
Post by: moysider on July 31, 2014, 10:19:35 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 10:16:47 PM

Not like me to be spreading rumours ;)
Post by: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 10:35:30 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 31, 2014, 10:19:35 PM

Sure theres no fun in that Moy.I heard Duffy is in goal and Hennelly is moved to midfield.Ah no being serious i heard thers a change alright in the forwards that not many of us will have seen coming
Post by: Tubberman on July 31, 2014, 11:29:08 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on July 31, 2014, 10:35:30 PM

Sure theres no fun in that Moy.I heard Duffy is in goal and Hennelly is moved to midfield.Ah no being serious i heard thers a change alright in the forwards that not many of us will have seen coming

I know, I got some shock when I saw horan collecting Pearse Hanley from knock on tues evening...
Post by: moysider on July 31, 2014, 11:41:13 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 31, 2014, 11:29:08 PM

I know, I got some shock when I saw horan collecting Pearse Hanley from knock on tues evening...

Well you could have shared that with us earlier 'tubber. We all need good news now and then.

The selection I heard about would change the dynamic considerably.
Post by: larryin89 on July 31, 2014, 11:41:56 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 31, 2014, 11:29:08 PM

Absolute bullshi t  , you ae a liar.

He picked him up in Dublin.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 01, 2014, 12:23:21 AM
Cork have named the same 15 from Sligo game I see? And changed around the bench, 2 fellas who came on against the Yeats men are now dropped completely..fairly bizarre.

I'd have to think Mayo by 5 or so, anything but would be a surprise.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2014, 12:42:45 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 01, 2014, 12:23:21 AM
Cork have named the same 15 from Sligo game I see? And changed around the bench, 2 fellas who came on against the Yeats men are now dropped completely..fairly bizarre.

I'd have to think Mayo by 5 or so, anything but would be a surprise.

It could be one thing or another.

Mayo s best performances in last 3 years have been in the 1/4s. We don t want to peak yet but ye don t want to be flat v Cork either.
Post by: Don Corleone on August 01, 2014, 01:17:32 AM
Anyone know what referees are doing these games at the weekend. Are Zig and Zag operating at any meaningful/dangerous level.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 01, 2014, 05:36:57 AM
Quote from: Don Corleone on August 01, 2014, 01:17:32 AM
Anyone know what referees are doing these games at the weekend. Are Zig and Zag operating at any meaningful/dangerous level.

Cormac Reilly is reffing the Mayo Cork game
Meath Armagh reffed by Rory Hickey
David Coldrick is taking Monaghan Kildare and
Kerry Galway reffed by Eddie Kinsella

http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship/ (http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship/)
Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 01, 2014, 09:22:21 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 31, 2014, 11:41:13 PM

Well you could have shared that with us earlier 'tubber. We all need good news now and then.

The selection I heard about would change the dynamic considerably.
I'll guess at it, Mikey Sweeney starts in the corner?.
Post by: rosnarun on August 01, 2014, 09:37:52 AM
barry Moran full forward
A o'se in the corner

Back to the twin towers
Post by: highorlow on August 01, 2014, 09:55:56 AM
Quotebarry Moran full forward
A o'se in the corner

Barry Moran at full forward isn't a surprise. Doubt Aidan O'Shea will start where he is named.

Surprised Gould isn't starting for the langers.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 01, 2014, 10:24:19 AM
Quote from: highorlow on August 01, 2014, 09:55:56 AM
A o'se in the corner

Barry Moran at full forward isn't a surprise. Doubt Aidan O'Shea will start where he is named.

Ah he probably will, its just Cubby trying to pretend hes an evil genius again. He'll probably have 16 marching in the parade ala Johnno back in the 00's
Post by: rosnarun on August 01, 2014, 11:00:07 AM
Quote from: highorlow on August 01, 2014, 09:55:56 AM
A o'se in the corner

thats just calling Horan a liar
team not even named.
Though i presume Croke park have a team since wednesday for the program
Post by: criostlinn on August 01, 2014, 11:52:41 AM
Team named same as last day. We'll have to wait till Sunday to see what Horan has up his sleeve
Post by: Tubberman on August 01, 2014, 11:55:59 AM
Yeah, same team: Hennelly, Barrett, Caff, Higgins, Keegan, Boyle, Vaughan, Moran, S.OShea, McLoughlin, A.O'Shea, Doherty, O'Connor, Moran, Dillon
Post by: rosnarun on August 01, 2014, 12:47:19 PM
Mayo – 2006 All-Ireland Under 21 Football Champions (4th title)

1 K. O'Malley · 2 T. Howley · 3 G. Cafferkey · 4 K. Higgins (c) · 5 C. Barrett · 6 T. Cunniffe · 7 C. Boyle · 8 S. O'Shea · 9 B. Moran · 10 A. Campell · 11 J. Dillon · 12 A. Kilcoyne · 13 M. Ronaldson · 14 M. Hannick · 15 M. Conroy

seven Remain fron 2006 Final Team Conroy the only forward even on the Panel , something wrong somewhere Fairchance howley would have started too if he cam home
Post by: Jinxy on August 01, 2014, 01:09:59 PM
James must be saving Gavin Duffy for the final.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 01:29:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 01, 2014, 01:09:59 PM

Gavin looks to be a Backroom addition at this stage. Has played for Salthill/knocknacarra second team in the Galway Intermediate Championship this year as far as I know. So there looks to be more of a chance he'd line out for the Mayo Junior team than the Seniors? No harm done!
Post by: larryin89 on August 01, 2014, 01:51:13 PM
To play Dillon and Moran from the start is crazy stuff. It actually angers me and dont go by this internet shite either because it has a lot of Mayo supporters pizsed off.

Everytime Cillian collected the ball in the first half that there was yards for a c/f to run into off his shoulder ,both dillon and moran were stood like old men that couldnt move. (v galway) Could of scored a couple of goals more at least with any buck that had a bit of pace.
Post by: AMayoFan on August 01, 2014, 02:28:20 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 01, 2014, 01:51:13 PM
To play Dillon and Moran from the start is crazy stuff. It actually angers me and dont go by this internet shite either because it has a lot of Mayo supporters pizsed off.

Everytime Cillian collected the ball in the first half that there was yards for a c/f to run into off his shoulder ,both dillon and moran were stood like old men that couldnt move. (v galway) Could of scored a couple of goals more at least with any buck that had a bit of pace.

I wouldn't fully agree with you there. Yep both are not back to there very best, and you're 100% right they didn't make the support runs needed, but I do see improvement in them with each match.  Moran needs to stop slowing the game down .. trying to thread the perfect pass and take on and beat his man.  I feel he is afraid to turn at pace in case he does his cruciate in again. This improvement is needed whether his starts or comes on as a impact sub.  Dillion much the same. I don't think he is suited playing in the full forward line .. he also needs to improve his shooting a little which I reckon he will in Croker.

The problem as I see it, is that we're very one  up front (aside from our super star O'Connor).  Moran / Dillion give a slightly different attacking approach than Freeman.  I feel that when things don't work out fully with Freeman, our back up plan in the past has not worked out for us.  I have lost all faith with Conroy and Mikey Sweeny is unproven at this stage.  I think starting Moran / Dillion is possible more of a development chance for the guys to get back close to there best.

Post by: Crete Boom on August 01, 2014, 02:50:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 01:29:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 01, 2014, 01:09:59 PM

Gavin looks to be a Backroom addition at this stage. Has played for Salthill/knocknacarra second team in the Galway Intermediate Championship this year as far as I know. So there looks to be more of a chance he'd line out for the Mayo Junior team than the Seniors? No harm done!

He started and played the full game for Salthill v Kinconly in the Galway Senior Football Championship. He was supposed to play for the intermediate team the Sat morning before the Mayo Ros game but he didn't line out and I don't think he has played for the intermediate team since?

The Mayo junior team!! I thought that is only for south Mayo folk and Ardnaree men? ;D ;D
Post by: slatterl on August 01, 2014, 03:08:47 PM
Cork could quite possibly beat Mayo but on the other hand they will be found out against Dublin or Kerry. Cuthbert has lost the dressing room so the best result for him is to loose in a competitive match to Mayo by a few points and this may save him for another day.
Post by: highorlow on August 01, 2014, 03:19:38 PM
QuoteCork could quite possibly beat Mayo but on the other hand they will be found out against Dublin or Kerry.

....and your reason(s) is?
Post by: Rossfan on August 01, 2014, 03:40:04 PM
Quote from: slatterl on August 01, 2014, 03:08:47 PM
Cork could quite possibly beat Mayo but on the other hand they will be found out against Dublin or Kerry. Cuthbert has lost the dressing room so the best result for him is to loose in a competitive match to Mayo by a few points and this may save him for another day.
If he's "lost the dressing room" would it not be better for all concerned if he moved on ?
Post by: rosnarun on August 01, 2014, 03:51:27 PM
if both mayo and cork picked their best team and played to full potential . i tink my money would be on Cork , but Cork rarely do either
so Mayo by 5 points
Post by: Zulu on August 01, 2014, 03:54:29 PM
That's not the way it works in Cork. Dropping a guy off the panel who was brought on against Sligo doesn't look good and you'd have to feel there isn't a happy camp down leeside.

The closer the game gets the harder it is to make a case for Cork, too many lads would have to produce a performance far better than they've done for 3 months or more. Considering they'll have to produce that performance against one of the genuine powerhouse teams in the country makes it all the more unlikely. A Cork team won't lack confidence and they're a county capable of producing out of the blue (a trait more associated with their hurlers granted) but it's hard to see it and even if they do it probably won't be enough.

I hope it's a great game and Mayo don't hammer them but do progress.
Post by: Jinxy on August 01, 2014, 04:07:24 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 01, 2014, 03:54:29 PM
That's not the way it works in Cork. Dropping a guy off the panel who was brought on against Sligo doesn't look good and you'd have to feel there isn't a happy camp down leeside.

The closer the game gets the harder it is to make a case for Cork, too many lads would have to produce a performance far better than they've done for 3 months or more. Considering they'll have to produce that performance against one of the genuine powerhouse teams in the country makes it all the more unlikely. A Cork team won't lack confidence and they're a county capable of producing out of the blue (a trait more associated with their hurlers granted) but it's hard to see it and even if they do it probably won't be enough.

I hope it's a great game and Mayo don't hammer them but do progress.

The words 'happy camp' and 'down leeside' are mutually exclusive.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2014, 05:37:56 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 01, 2014, 01:51:13 PM

The alternatives are not great truth be told and if Dillon and Andy were to figure at all they needed as much game time as possible. They haven t been great but they wouldn t have improved sitting on the bench.

The team has been named and it may be the team that starts. On the other hand there may be a change on the day to the starting 15. There has been some speculation that would shake things up considerably but no point tipping off the Langers in advance :)
Post by: Blowitupref on August 01, 2014, 06:16:52 PM
Quote from: highorlow on August 01, 2014, 03:19:38 PM
QuoteCork could quite possibly beat Mayo but on the other hand they will be found out against Dublin or Kerry.

....and your reason(s) is?
Cork have the forwards to exploit any defence and I don't think Mayo are as solid in defence now as the last few years. I think Mayo will win by around 3 points and a type of game that will leave more questions than answers as you progress to the semi final.
Post by: rodney trotter on August 01, 2014, 07:20:02 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 27, 2014, 01:41:25 PM
Hurley is at least a stone over weight

He is just powerfully built not overweight. Did a lot of gym work when he was 17 ,18

article from 2 years ago
http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CB4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.southernstar.ie%2FCommunity%2FSkibbereen%2FAward-for-Castlehavens-Brian-Hurley-03102012.htm&ei=p9jbU9iTC4GV7Aau_oHwCQ&usg=AFQjCNG3D5Lnbc2inAcNHE6gIyIhFdPRPA
Post by: Don Corleone on August 01, 2014, 09:47:10 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on August 01, 2014, 05:36:57 AM

Cormac Reilly is reffing the Mayo Cork game
Meath Armagh reffed by Rory Hickey
David Coldrick is taking Monaghan Kildare and
Kerry Galway reffed by Eddie Kinsella

http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship/ (http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship/)

Many thanks for that NBTD.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 02, 2014, 07:34:09 PM
Best of luck to Mayo tomorrow! 8)
Post by: ballinaman on August 02, 2014, 07:52:49 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 02, 2014, 07:34:09 PM
Best of luck to Mayo tomorrow! 8)
+ 1
Hope to have Katie O Connors Dubrovnik rocking tomorrow!  8)
Post by: macdanger2 on August 02, 2014, 10:41:59 PM
A long shot but does anyone know a pub in granada, Spain showing the games? Have tried emailing the Irish pubs but no reply
Post by: Shrewdness on August 02, 2014, 11:07:34 PM
I expect to see Mayo win this pulling up. A ten point win wouldn't  surprise me. Easily the best team of the two.
Post by: Syferus on August 02, 2014, 11:09:17 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2014, 10:41:59 PM
A long shot but does anyone know a pub in granada, Spain showing the games? Have tried emailing the Irish pubs but no reply

You could always get the single game deal on GAA GO if all else fails.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 03:51:58 PM

The rumour was correct.

But expected Barry to move to ff as well.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 03:52:21 PM
Cork to win.

and after enduring Tommy Carr, we now have to listen to Martin 'I use big words' Carney
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 04:15:03 PM
see that over weight guy playing alright lol
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2014, 04:17:16 PM
Hurley doing well for a fat lad really.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 04:20:58 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2014, 04:17:16 PM
Hurley doing well for a fat lad really.

Knew that would come back to haunt us >:(
Post by: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 04:23:58 PM
Good comeback from mayo here, cork putting it up to them though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 03, 2014, 04:24:41 PM
3 passengers >:(
Post by: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 04:27:08 PM
Unreal bias from carney, mc loughlin deliberately taking Gould out there . He's lucky to be on the field still.
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 04:29:00 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 04:15:03 PM
see that over weight guy playing alright lol

Imagine if he was fit.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 04:30:09 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 03, 2014, 04:24:41 PM

Is one of them after scoring?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 04:31:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 04:30:09 PM

Think he has got another one! ;)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 04:36:30 PM
Penetrative.

Genius from Carney
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 03, 2014, 04:40:04 PM
Colm O'Neill is a better footballer than Cillian O'Connor.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 04:47:20 PM

Cork system working well. Mayo turning ball over again like Galway game and our markers are exposed by Hurley and O Neill. As usual we are slow to cope or adapt.

Need to get McLoughlin and Aidan more involved. Not sure what Vaughan s role is.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 05:03:51 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 04:31:40 PM

Think thats another one! :)
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2014, 05:04:58 PM
Is Andy Moran top heavy or something? I can't remember one possession when he managed to keep his feet.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:06:19 PM
Andy must nt wear any studs at all.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 05:08:30 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 05:03:51 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 04:31:40 PM

Think thats another one! :)

And another!
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 05:09:04 PM
Whaaaaa. Andy was having his best game since his injury. It shouldn't matter today but Horan's decision making on the line is still a liability.
Post by: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 05:09:59 PM
Mayo have stepped up today, fair play to them. Hope they go on to give Kerry a pasting, god knows they owe them that!
Post by: dublin7 on August 03, 2014, 05:11:59 PM
Msyo the better team, but that ref is killing cork. Givig them nothing. Mayo forwards continuously fouling cork backs, pulling, draging out of shirts to slow the game  & ref doin nothing about it.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 03, 2014, 05:14:48 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 03, 2014, 05:11:59 PM
Msyo the better team, but that ref is killing cork. Givig them nothing. Mayo forwards continuously fouling cork backs, pulling, draging out of shirts to slow the game  & ref doin nothing about it.

You could call it streetwise. ;D
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 03, 2014, 05:15:20 PM
49th Minute Cork point waved wide, Clear as day in slow-mo
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 03, 2014, 05:16:18 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 03, 2014, 05:11:59 PM

You missed Cadogen's elbow I take it?
Post by: dublin7 on August 03, 2014, 05:19:24 PM
Seen that and McLoughlin's cowardly cheap shot as well. If linesman seen it, should be red
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 05:21:00 PM
two big mistakes from the ref there
Post by: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 05:21:27 PM
Mayo blessed with ref today but hanging on!
Post by: Jinxy on August 03, 2014, 05:21:42 PM
Want Mayo to win as Kerry v Cork would be a total non-event.
Post by: Mano on August 03, 2014, 05:22:44 PM
Have Mayo no one better than Varley? Where is Freeman? Horan will cost Mayo this game
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 05:23:38 PM
O'Shea goes down easier than a Ho Chi Min City hooker
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:23:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 05:09:04 PM
Whaaaaa. Andy was having his best game since his injury. It shouldn't matter today but Horan's decision making on the line is still a liability.

Awful substitution in fairness. Have done doing since in attack.

Post by: beer baron on August 03, 2014, 05:27:04 PM
That fat f**ker at it again  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2014, 05:27:28 PM
All kinds of everything, now.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 05:28:06 PM
Carney creamed himself when O'Shea scored
Post by: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 05:30:55 PM
Well done mayo, survived two body blows there. This game will stand to mayo hugely!
Post by: beer baron on August 03, 2014, 05:33:30 PM
Bold ref
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2014, 05:35:25 PM
More wacky stuff with referee timekeeping. It looks as if he told Cork there was more time and then blew it up.
Post by: thebandit on August 03, 2014, 05:36:07 PM
Terrible refereeing performance!!

On another note, was Hiran trying to get knocked out today?! The substitutions were bizarre....
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:36:41 PM
What a win! Perfect way to win really but problems remain obviously.

Whatever about starting with passengers we certainly finished with one! We went to seed after the Andy substitution. Horan will be relieved to get away with that.
Post by: Collie Brolly on August 03, 2014, 05:37:47 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 03, 2014, 05:35:25 PM
More wacky stuff with referee timekeeping. It looks as if he told Cork there was more time and then blew it up.

He obviously didn't tell them that.
Post by: thejuice on August 03, 2014, 05:38:19 PM
Madness, what the hell do referees say to them?? Doesnt the clock keep running while the keep takes forever to take a kick out.

Surely it should be black and white how much time was left?
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:38:29 PM
Quote from: thebandit on August 03, 2014, 05:36:07 PM
Terrible refereeing performance!!

On another note, was Hiran trying to get knocked out today?! The substitutions were bizarre....

We re well used to it :'(
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 05:38:50 PM
Cork blew that with messing in their back line
Post by: thewobbler on August 03, 2014, 05:39:19 PM
Varley and Freeman just don't fit into that Mayo team. It's like the team's confidence and drive nosedives when they get onto the field.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:39:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 03, 2014, 05:35:25 PM

Same as us last years AI final when Cillian took the point.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:40:53 PM

Jaysus, Brolly is giving Whelo some bullying. It s not right.
Post by: beer baron on August 03, 2014, 05:42:34 PM
Be good fun to see Whelan lamp him  ;D Would he be such a patronising little shit then
Post by: stibhan on August 03, 2014, 05:44:21 PM
If Tyrone had have committed that many fouls against Cork forwards there would be a massive GAA enquiry headed up by Brolly et al.

The referee was as bad as I've seen, and Mayo were as cynical as I've seen. The Cork Selector's comment about forward line fouls, although also (it has to be said) backed up by the occasional good tackle, is absolutely on the money.
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 03, 2014, 05:45:16 PM
Joe Brolly is an arrogant, ignorant asshole of the very highest order.  I have heard of players being criticized if children are watching but if they were watching this ignorant f**k in action it is worse.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:45:24 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 05:38:50 PM
Cork blew that with messing in their back line

Cork did well to get as close as they did.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 05:45:32 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:36:41 PM

Whatever about starting with passengers we certainly finished with one! We went to seed after the Andy substitution. Horan will be relieved to get away with that.

Yeah, strange substitution! Could not believe it! Player brought on not up to it!
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2014, 05:47:52 PM
Cork self destructed a few times during the game today and mayo at least had the ability to take advantage whereas years ago they wouldn't have.

Freeman has lost all confidence, how Dillon started and stayed on is beyond me.
Varley just too small.

Hard to judge cork as they have huge talent but don't play as a team.

Thought a few players on both sides deserved yellows and more black cards for pulling , body checking and persistent fouling.

Cork still too stupid a side to deserve to win and mayo had that little bit more ruthlessness in attack which earned them a deserved victory IMO

Cork mad at the end but I expected the ref to do that - they all do that!
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 05:51:16 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2014, 05:47:52 PM
Cork self destructed a few times during the game today and mayo at least had the ability to take advantage whereas years ago they wouldn't have.

Varley just too small.

Thought a few players on both sides deserved yellows and more black cards for pulling , body checking and persistent fouling.

Cork still too stupid a side to deserve to win and mayo had that little bit more ruthlessness in attack which earned them a deserved victory IMO

Dilon scored 4 points from play! Are you still watching re-runs of the AI Final?
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:52:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 05:45:32 PM

Yeah, strange substitution! Could not believe it! Player brought on not up to it!

Will lessons be learned?

Now what to do with O Donoghue. Brolly is right about this. Caff or Chris won t cope one on one. Keith and Tom wouldn t fare much better imo. Saying that O Neill and Hurley a handful for anybody.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:58:07 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 05:51:16 PM

Varley just too small.

Dilon scored 4 points from play! Are you still watching re-runs of the AI Final?
Disagree. Hurley and O Neill hugely talented but how many others. Kerrigan disappeared again today but putting Keegan on him effectively lessened Keegan's effectiveness as well. Thought Cork played very well as a team today. Moved the ball from back to forwards very well under a lot of pressure and found their scoring forwards very well.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2014, 05:59:03 PM
Mayo only winning by one point against a side that were hammered by both Dublin,Kerry has to be a cause for concern. For the second game in a row Mayos usually solid defence is looking very shaky.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 06:02:04 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:52:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 05:45:32 PM

Will lessons be learned?

Now what to do with O Donoghue. Brolly is right about this. Caff or Chris won t cope one on one. Keith and Tom wouldn t fare much better imo. Saying that O Neill and Hurley a handful for anybody.

Probably not! Great result today. Never took Cork for granted before game for good reason. Great character, that is two games coming to the end where questions were asked and we answered them!
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 06:04:41 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2014, 05:59:03 PM
Mayo only winning by one point against a side that were hammered by both Dublin,Kerry has to be a cause for concern. For the second game in a row Mayos usually solid defence is looking very shaky.

On the swing Kerry struggled against Galway! Means sweet feck all really. We lost to Derry n a League semi final back in April. That means sweet FA to Derry now and Sweet FA to us!
Post by: maigheo on August 03, 2014, 08:12:28 PM
Strong words from Horan about the Cork managments comments about the Mayo team.Saying it was an absolute disgrace that they named players and that it made the win sweeter
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 08:35:46 PM
Quote from: maigheo on August 03, 2014, 08:12:28 PM
Strong words from Horan about the Cork managments comments about the Mayo team.Saying it was an absolute disgrace that they named players and that it made the win sweeter

Yeah, it's sweet when you win in such circumstances. Cork tried the tactics of the League final 2012. That day they bullied us out of it. Vaughan got special attention. We are a different animal now!
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 08:39:12 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 08:35:46 PM

Yeah, it's sweet when you win in such circumstances. Cork tried the tactics of the League final 2012. That day they bullied us out of it. Vaughan got special attention. We are a different animal now!

Lookit was just Game Four lads, no reason to get giddy.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2014, 08:47:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 06:04:41 PM

On the swing Kerry struggled against Galway! Means sweet feck all really. We lost to Derry n a League semi final back in April. That means sweet FA to Derry now and Sweet FA to us!

Kerry struggled as much against Galway than Mayo did in the Connacht final. The shaky Mayo defence was seen first during the league however it was ignored as improvement was expected for the championship but on the evidence of the last two games it hasn't improved.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2014, 08:49:55 PM

Varley just too small.

Yes he scored points that the cork keystone cops mostly gifted him- though scoring points is almost as good as is required - but he fcuked up three times as much and against a better team would be a deadweight on this mayo side. They can't afford such passengers.
All IMO though!
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 08:51:15 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2014, 08:47:37 PM

Kerry struggled as much against Galway than Mayo did in the Connacht final. The shaky Mayo defence was seen first during the league however it was ignored as improvement was expected for the championship but on the evidence of the last two games it hasn't improved.

Kerry struggled far more with Galway than Mayo did. That was pretty obvious.
Post by: maigheo on August 03, 2014, 08:53:38 PM
Jeez to say Dillion is dead weight is a bit much after scoring 4 points from play but you are right everybody is entitled to there opinion ,but you are in the minority of one ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2014, 08:54:56 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 03, 2014, 05:58:07 PM

Varley just too small.

Disagree. Hurley and O Neill hugely talented but how many others. Kerrigan disappeared again today but putting Keegan on him effectively lessened Keegan's effectiveness as well. Thought Cork played very well as a team today. Moved the ball from back to forwards very well under a lot of pressure and found their scoring forwards very well.
Cork prob played better than in recent times but IMO still a million miles away from a team perf. FFS they were getting in each other's way and defenders gave the ball away directly to mayo forwards resulting in three points in either half. They ran into each other twice also!
Not a side on the same wavelength

I've given up waiting for this talented bunch to gel together though.today is prob as good as they get so a mayo victory is a good achievement!
IMO
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 08:58:23 PM
A mayo team with Hurley and O`Neill up front would have the makings of a great team, unfortunately it obvious to anybody outside of Mayo they havent the forwards to trouble Dublin
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2014, 09:00:34 PM
Quote from: maigheo on August 03, 2014, 08:53:38 PM
Jeez to say Dillion is dead weight is a bit much after scoring 4 points from play but you are right everybody is entitled to there opinion ,but you are in the minority of one ;)
I often am!
No prob -but against Dublin if mayo beat Kerry as I expect , he will be one of the rocks mayo will perish on. Four points sounds great. But a couple were gifts when cork had a wobble and Dillon was playing like the old rudderless mayo. You need a more ruthless player to replace him to win the AI.
Dillon great servant to mayo but loses too much and slows up too much ball.
IMO

Sentiment - as mayo folk know only too well - doesn't win all Ireland's.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2014, 09:05:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 08:51:15 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2014, 08:47:37 PM

Kerry struggled far more with Galway than Mayo did. That was pretty obvious.

They had similar half time leads and the margin of victory was similar also. I wouldn't call either game a struggle.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 09:05:53 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2014, 09:00:34 PM
Quote from: maigheo on August 03, 2014, 08:53:38 PM
I often am!
No prob -but against Dublin if mayo beat Kerry as I expect , he will be one of the rocks mayo will perish on. Four points sounds great. But a couple were gifts when cork had a wobble and Dillon was playing like the old rudderless mayo. You need a more ruthless player to replace him to win the AI.
Dillon great servant to mayo but loses too much and slows up too much ball.
IMO

Sentiment - as mayo folk know only too well - doesn't win all Ireland's.

So you are on about last years AI. I agree with you on that. Today he did his job and was not a passenger.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2014, 09:09:35 PM
Nope - today's perf.
Post by: stibhan on August 03, 2014, 09:14:59 PM

Comments were, on the evidence of today's game, totally justified.
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 09:19:28 PM
Quote from: stibhan on August 03, 2014, 09:14:59 PM

And the durty bollixs went to pot when they took off the Roscommon man too :-\
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 03, 2014, 09:59:22 PM

Id agree with Horan however he needs to thread carefully, not too long ago bemoaning Dublin and soft frees to the media, hes a cute tubby man
Post by: macdanger2 on August 03, 2014, 10:41:14 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 02, 2014, 10:41:59 PM

No is the answer, two irish pubs closed for holidays and a third not open til 1900  >:(

Good to win a tight game. One can only hope we're timing our run for late August / September rather than surviving on fumes.
Post by: Rossfan on August 03, 2014, 11:09:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 09:19:28 PM

Was talking to a man last night who says he told Moran to his face that if he ever celebrates a win over Ros again like last 8th June he'll bursht the bolx.
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 11:11:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 03, 2014, 11:09:51 PM

Was talking to a man last night who says he told Moran to his face that if he ever celebrates a win over Ros again like last 8th June he'll bursht the bolx.

Probably was his dah ;D

Andy does seem to only get the dander up for the big games these days, against Ros and crunch games in Croker. The Galways and the Tyrones of the world just don't cut it anymore.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 04, 2014, 09:38:00 AM
Didn't see the match yesterday and won't see the recording until the middle of next week. How did the changes work out yesterday? How did aos get on at chf??
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 04, 2014, 10:38:18 AM
I thought the ref rode us yesterday. Everytime we won a kick out we were fouled, systematic.
And the amount if frees given away in our half forward line for nothing!
Thought DOC was outstanding for the first hour, kinda died then

I feel sorry for Caff, he gets isolated a lot

Varley, WTF??
Post by: dublin7 on August 04, 2014, 11:53:03 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 04, 2014, 10:38:18 AM
I thought the ref rode us yesterday. Everytime we won a kick out we were fouled, systematic.

Varley, WTF??

I'm soory i'm confused by your username.  You claim the ref screwd you, yet you have a cork username.  Systematic fouling was done by the mayo forwards throughout the game.  Mayo made some bizarre substitutions during the game.  Taking off Cillian O'Connor was a crazy decison.  He is the only mayo forward who offers a consistent scoring threat.  No forward presence when he went off yesterday.  Mayo have a good first fifteen, but very little on the bench.  Mikey Conroy is not even a distant relation of the standard required an inter county forward
Post by: Syferus on August 04, 2014, 12:10:14 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 04, 2014, 11:53:03 AM

Varley, WTF??

I'm soory i'm confused by your username.  You claim the ref screwd you, yet you have a cork username.  Systematic fouling was done by the mayo forwards throughout the game.  Mayo made some bizarre substitutions during the game.  Taking off Cillian O'Connor was a crazy decison.  He is the only mayo forward who offers a consistent scoring threat. No forward presence when he went off yesterday.  Mayo have a good first fifteen, but very little on the bench.  Mikey Conroy is not even a distant relation of the standard required an inter county forward

COC for Freeman wasn't the game turning substitution. COC was cramping up also.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2014, 12:20:52 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 03, 2014, 11:09:51 PM

Get that man to do the same to Horan  ;)
Post by: muppet on August 04, 2014, 12:21:35 PM
The only positves are, we won, and beat the biggest shower of w*nkers we are likely to meet this year.

If it looked on tv that the officials favoured Cork, that could only have been becuase the camera didn't pick up their off ball activity. Even we we fall to Kerry, I am just delighted that we picked ourselves up  and outplayed Cadogen and co, and consigned him to many months of no football, although he probably won't notice.

It is also worth mentioning, we will not win an All-Ireland with our current eccentric sideline.

But credit where it is due, the lads dug very deep. and pulled another tight game out of the bag.
Post by: Comeontheturks on August 04, 2014, 02:54:13 PM
Watching the match yesterday, reading today's papers and following threads on these boards. Paints a very clear picture of 2 contrasting counties.
What are Mayo good at?  Whinging, unsporting behaviour (refusing handshake), beating second rate teams, getting high on beating second rate teams.
What are Kerry good at? Winning All Ireland's
Post by: sans pessimism on August 04, 2014, 03:33:20 PM
Quote from: Comeontheturks on August 04, 2014, 02:54:13 PM
Watching the match yesterday, reading today's papers and following threads on these boards. Paints a very clear picture of 2 contrasting counties.
What are Mayo good at?  Whinging, unsporting behaviour (refusing handshake), beating second rate teams, getting high on beating second rate teams.
What r u good at.....Majored in talkin shite I'd say
Post by: macdanger2 on August 04, 2014, 03:37:38 PM

So you signed up to gaaboard to run down your own county? As good a thing as any to do on Monday afternoon I suppose  :D
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 04, 2014, 03:49:42 PM
Also very disappointed in the every cork lad going down holding their face/head after the slightest challenge, although they were well able to go in late themselves.
KMcL yellow was one explain, a fair shoulder and Gould (I think) rolling round on the ground
Post by: Canalman on August 04, 2014, 04:17:13 PM
Ending of the game had me thinking that referee's decisions/ incidents etc tend to even themselves out over time.

Similiar endings in

AISF 2010 Dublin v Cork ......... Dublin "aggrieved"

AIF 2013 Dublin v Mayo ........... Mayo "aggrieved"

AIQF 2014 Mayo v Cork ............ Cork "aggrieved"
Post by: Hardy on August 04, 2014, 04:20:52 PM
I "understand".
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2014, 04:28:51 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 04, 2014, 03:49:42 PM
Also very disappointed in the every cork lad going down holding their face/head after the slightest challenge, although they were well able to go in late themselves.
KMcL yellow was one explain, a fair shoulder and Gould (I think) rolling round on the ground

Steady, as good as AOSE is hes one of the biggest divers in the game currently
Post by: Syferus on August 04, 2014, 04:29:56 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2014, 04:28:51 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 04, 2014, 03:49:42 PM

Steady, as good as AOSE is hes one of the biggest divers in the game currently

He's one of the biggest everythings.
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2014, 04:43:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 04, 2014, 12:21:35 PM
The only positves are, we won, and beat the biggest shower of w*nkers we are likely to meet this year.

If it looked on tv that the officials favoured Cork, that could only have been becuase the camera didn't pick up their off ball activity. Even we we fall to Kerry, I am just delighted that we picked ourselves up  and outplayed Cadogen and co, and consigned him to many months of no football, although he probably won't notice.

It is also worth mentioning, we will not win an All-Ireland with our current eccentric sideline.

But credit where it is due, the lads dug very deep. and pulled another tight game out of the bag.

Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2014, 06:25:52 PM

I'm glad you noticed Cork were second rate and we are not talking about their football! ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 04, 2014, 09:22:38 PM
Glad we won. Great to bate Cork. Haven't a hope in hell in 3 wks time.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2014, 10:31:16 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 04, 2014, 09:22:38 PM

Ever the optimist Farr! Look we have a better chance than we have ever had of beating Kerry. This is not Kerry Circa 2004-09! There a few from that era left, but they are not the players they were then. I'm not taking anything for granted but we are as close to this Kerry bunch in ability as we were to the teams of 1996/97. Haven't a hope in hell is a bit of an exaggeration.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 04, 2014, 10:59:04 PM
Musha, fair play Farr. You've made my day (or night or whatever.)
I was feeling a biteen windy until you gave us the usual thumbs down verdict.
Now I know we'll bate the hoors halfway up Jones Road! ;D
Post by: sans pessimism on August 04, 2014, 11:06:16 PM
Gud man farr,great to see a man stick to his guns 8)
Post by: moysider on August 04, 2014, 11:45:19 PM

That's the spirit. If I even detected a sign of optimism I wouldn t bother gettin outa bed for the Kerry game.

Great to bate them as you say. Highlight for me was Aidan bursting by Cadogan and leaving him for dead. Great to see a bully get left. I ve admired many a Cork player down the years and knew a couple of them but I find this team hard to take, apart from the brilliance of Hurley and O Neill. Losing yesterday would have been worse than any AI defeat with the shite talk before the game and incidents like the elbow on McLoughlin and the swinging fist into Boyle's neck.

Also delighted another team adopting a blanket defence did not succeed. Looks like only ourselves and Dubs of teams that are left that don t. While I have my doubts about our defensive strategy I d hate to see every team play the same counter-attacking game. Another reason important to win yesterday.

Moving on I wouldn t be confident either. We could beat Kerry but on the other hand we may not. Cork should have been finished in 3 quarter yesterday but we let them back in (manager has to take the hit here) like we let Dublin back in in 2012 semi. I ve given up thinking that Horan will adapt his tactics a bit. We re on this rollercoaster until it comes off the rails. There s no other way now. So if things go to form we could dominate kerry in many aspects of the game but leave it open for likes of O Donoghue to fillet us. If he fails Murphy or Brogan will be invited to have a few free punches 3 weeks later.

No harm. Proud of the team yesterday and last 4 years. Yesterday was a day a lot of counties would kill for.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 05, 2014, 12:04:03 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 04, 2014, 11:45:19 PM
Also delighted another team adopting a blanket defence did not succeed. Looks like only ourselves and Dubs of teams that are left that don t. While I have my doubts about our defensive strategy I d hate to see every team play the same counter-attacking game. Another reason important to win yesterday.
From yesterdays viewing Cork are unable to play a blanket defence right. What happened to high pressure and all round defensive team strategy you had before this year? sailing close to the wind is the current Mayo defensive strategy.
Post by: moysider on August 05, 2014, 12:56:52 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 05, 2014, 12:04:03 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 04, 2014, 11:45:19 PM
From yesterdays viewing Cork are unable to play a blanket defence right. What happened to high pressure and all round defensive team strategy you had before this year? sailing close to the wind is the current Mayo defensive strategy.

Cork got the defence a lot better v us than they did with Kerry. Plus they kept the ball from their own kickouts and worked many chances from length of the pitch. Mayo forwards continue to give away ball to these counter- attacking teams. This is our biggest failing - not our defenders as individuals. It should be easy enough to address but hasn t been.

I don t see any change in our defensive strategy at all and I don t know where this idea is coming from.

We don t/haven t  play blanket and because we often have most possession we often have 10/11 players in opposition half. Under the circumstances our markers have been remarkably resilient ( see yesterday how Finian Hanley lost the plot when handed a top forward without any cover).

Mayo s defence starts in the forwards. Cuthbert recognised this and tried to mark refs card. Mayo forwards try to turn over ball and often do. People that don t like us call it systematic fouling. It isn t. Likes of Doherty or O Connor are often pissed off because they are trying to win back ball without fouling. In any contact sport some tackles will be a foul. But that doesn t mean that players should be carded if they get a few tackles wrong. Cards are for deliberate fouls and dangerous stuff like Cadogan splitting with elbow or punch into windpipe. Doherty had great tackles yesterday and yes a few were fouls. Referees should be left to decide which is which without managers trying to ref a game in advance.

We might be conceding more but who isn t without parking a bus like Cork did yesterday and Kerry have been doing? Look I know how vulnerable we are at the back but can t see management change tack now. I d prefer a proper xtra defender to cut out ball into likes of Hurley O Donoghue etc. I d also prefer 2 man ff line but don t think we have the personnel to set up that way.

I heard that Vaughan would start in midfield v Cork. Grand, I thought, Barry will go ff to give us a target above the blanket and Andy will come into it later. Barry did not feature at all and that does not make sense unless the big man was injured. Just saying that while Mayo s approach appears bogged down and limited to an extent, there may be a bit of tinkering can be done while there is still time. 
Post by: From the Bunker on August 05, 2014, 01:31:02 AM
Quote from: Canalman on August 04, 2014, 04:17:13 PM
Ending of the game had me thinking that referee's decisions/ incidents etc tend to even themselves out over time.

Similiar endings in

AISF 2010 Dublin v Cork ......... Dublin "aggrieved"

AIF 2013 Dublin v Mayo ........... Mayo "aggrieved"

AIQF 2014 Mayo v Cork ............ Cork "aggrieved"

There ia alot of evening out for us Mayo Buckos. We are well in Credit!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 05, 2014, 05:33:02 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 04, 2014, 11:53:03 AM

Varley, WTF??

I'm soory i'm confused by your username.  You claim the ref screwd you, yet you have a cork username.  Systematic fouling was done by the mayo forwards throughout the game.  Mayo made some bizarre substitutions during the game.  Taking off Cillian O'Connor was a crazy decison.  He is the only mayo forward who offers a consistent scoring threat.  No forward presence when he went off yesterday.  Mayo have a good first fifteen, but very little on the bench.  Mikey Conroy is not even a distant relation of the standard required an inter county forward

Do I? Must fix that
Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2014, 06:55:38 PM

Listen, either join the rest of us in getting behind the lads or keep your negativity to yourself.
You sound like one of these fellas that only really jumps on the bandwagon when we get to the final.
Post by: moysider on August 05, 2014, 08:52:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 05, 2014, 06:55:38 PM

Listen, either join the rest of us in getting behind the lads or keep your negativity to yourself.
You sound like one of these fellas that only really jumps on the bandwagon when we get to the final.

G'wan outa that.
I don't want to hear anything positive from Farrandeelin. Not ever, understand. Anything rosy from Farr and we might as well send up the Junior team - from south Mayo and Ardnaree- with Billy Fitz in charge.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 05, 2014, 09:45:18 PM
fair shoulder, how did McLoughlin hit Gould a fair shoulder as he was going up field preparing to join an attack, and was blindsided by McLoughlin off the ball, it was a blatant taking a man out of the game and should have seen a black card not yellow. So i don't know what game of football you were watching Mayo4sam if you though there was nothing wrong with it, laughable
Post by: highorlow on August 05, 2014, 09:52:22 PM
Gould went down soft enough. Thankfully the linesman copped that. It would have been a very unfair black or red. The officials were correct.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 05, 2014, 09:57:07 PM
why? it a blatant body check off the ball on man joining the attack and getting blindsided, how you reckon its  a soft enough free, when the ball 30m away? Is there intent on the mayo man playing the ball or just intentionally taking a man out?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 05, 2014, 11:17:16 PM
Gould wasnt blind sided, they shouldered each other and McLoughlin stood up to him and Gould rolled around on the ground like a f**king coward
Post by: moysider on August 05, 2014, 11:31:28 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 05, 2014, 11:17:16 PM
Gould wasnt blind sided, they shouldered each other and McLoughlin stood up to him and Gould rolled around on the ground like a f**king coward

McLoughlin was identified as a target before the game by Cork' s management shite. Then Cadogan deliberately split him with a straight-red elbow without censure. Then Gould barged into him in an attempt to get him black carded. This kind of thing was bound to happen when the black card was introduced. Give McLoughlin a break ffs. Gould should have got a yellow for going down like a string of piss after running into Mayo s smallest player ;) and Cadogan should have been red carded for his attack on McLoughlin.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 05, 2014, 11:41:27 PM
Cadogan should have seen red for the elbow but very few refs give that and there were a few more in that game ( and in most games) - using the elbow the same way as cadogan did when being grabbed by his opponent fouling him - McLaughlin on this occasion.
I have to say that this is a tactic mayo use systematically.
So do Dublin, Donegal, Kerry and Monaghan. Spot the commonality there!!!

McLaughlin also deserved the black card for impeding gooulds run. It doesn't matter how hard he hit him- sure Ritchie feeney barely touched that guy in the club championship but got the black card.

Folk have reckoned that refs have been instructed to be more lenient in the past month for the remainder of the championship and I'd have to agree.

Mayo will comfortably beat Kerry and I still expect the dubs to beat them in the final!
Post by: bucko on August 05, 2014, 11:52:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 05, 2014, 11:31:28 PM

McLoughlin was identified as a target before the game by Cork' s management shite. Then Cadogan deliberately split him with a straight-red elbow without censure. Then Gould barged into him in an attempt to get him black carded. This kind of thing was bound to happen when the black card was introduced. Give McLoughlin a break ffs. Gould should have got a yellow for going down like a string of piss after running into Mayo s smallest player ;) and Cadogan should have been red carded for his attack.€
Let's not forget Shields rough-housing of McLoughlin as he was on the ground after the incident. Nice picture it made in The Sun, Shields trying to haul a clearly bloodied McLoughlin up by the jersey. No sanction there either, yet we're the team getting all the grief for our cynical fouling.
Post by: highorlow on August 05, 2014, 11:57:27 PM
Add in the punch into the kidneys on Boyler. Dont know the culprit, think it was O'Driscoll.
Post by: Ballaghman on August 06, 2014, 12:35:13 AM
Think it's time to move on from this 'rough housing' talk lads. The langers threw their best at us (on and off the field) and they were dealt with. Thankfully we now have a team big enough and bold enough to stand up to that sshtuff. On to the next yerra shaped hurdle.......
Post by: moysider on August 06, 2014, 12:47:01 AM
Quote from: bucko on August 05, 2014, 11:52:06 PM

McLoughlin was identified as a target before the game by Cork' s management shite. Then Cadogan deliberately split him with a straight-red elbow without censure. Then Gould barged into him in an attempt to get him black carded. This kind of thing was bound to happen when the black card was introduced. Give McLoughlin a break ffs. Gould should have got a yellow for going down like a string of piss after running into Mayo s smallest player ;) and Cadogan should have been red carded for his attack.€
Let's not forget Shields rough-housing of McLoughlin as he was on the ground after the incident. Nice picture it made in The Sun, Shields trying to haul a clearly bloodied McLoughlin up by the jersey. No sanction there either, yet we're the team getting all the grief for our cynical fouling.

We re not getting grief from anybody that has a clue about what was going on.
Photo as well in Mayo News of Cadogan pointing his finger at McLoughlin sitting on the ground bleeding. If there was ever a sickening image of bullying that was it. The worst part of it was that it was deliberately instigated by Cork management in the lead up to the game. Disappointed by Lynchboy s take on things. McLoughlin is a top tackler. Is Cadogan untouchable. If the tackle becomes a free the ref gives a free. Look back at the tape and you ll see that Mayo won because of forwards tackling and turning over ball into scores. Some tackles will be fouls but there is a clear agenda now to stop this approach by Mayo. Only a matter of time now before every team puts 12/13 behind the ball and players are swamped into the ground. Nobody seems to see anything wrong with surrounding forwards and wrapping them up in cling film. But got help any forward who tries to steal a ball/ tackle.
Post by: moysider on August 06, 2014, 12:58:51 AM
Quote from: Ballaghman on August 06, 2014, 12:35:13 AM
Think it's time to move on from this 'rough housing' talk lads. The langers threw their best at us (on and off the field) and they were dealt with. Thankfully we now have a team big enough and bold enough to stand up to that sshtuff. On to the next yerra shaped hurdle.......

There ll be plenty of time to move on. McLoughlin was targeted and was split by an opponent after being wound up by management.

Fair play to Horan for not shaking hands with Cuthbert after. But the thing is Horan shook hands with Cork players. There s no agenda with Cork football. This management supposedly lost the dressing room early. Cork football people need to have a think. Likes of Shields and Cadogan need to look at thèmselves. Both looked like football dinosaurs v Kerry and Mayo, just in different ways.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 06, 2014, 05:38:31 PM
Funny how Cork were the big bold boys the last day but when it mattered in the Munster final were curled up in a ball whimpering
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 06, 2014, 07:09:16 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 06, 2014, 12:47:01 AM
Quote from: bucko on August 05, 2014, 11:52:06 PM

We re not getting grief from anybody that has a clue about what was going on.
Photo as well in Mayo News of Cadogan pointing his finger at McLoughlin sitting on the ground bleeding. If there was ever a sickening image of bullying that was it. The worst part of it was that it was deliberately instigated by Cork management in the lead up to the game. Disappointed by Lynchboy s take on things. McLoughlin is a top tackler. Is Cadogan untouchable. If the tackle becomes a free the ref gives a free. Look back at the tape and you ll see that Mayo won because of forwards tackling and turning over ball into scores. Some tackles will be fouls but there is a clear agenda now to stop this approach by Mayo. Only a matter of time now before every team puts 12/13 behind the ball and players are swamped into the ground. Nobody seems to see anything wrong with surrounding forwards and wrapping them up in cling film. But got help any forward who tries to steal a ball/ tackle.
Sorry you are disappointed!
But that's a neutral view!
It's also the view of an ex forward and one that was overly fouled one at that!
As a qualified ref - we were told that even the slightest pull was a foul and to blow it each and every time. I didn't agree with that and I think most refs have the sense not to do that either!

However mayo like Dublin, donegal, Monaghan and Kerry all play on the edge and all give small pulls drags , both arms around an opponent for a split second ( like McLaughlin did do cadogan) and refs generally don't penalise them at all or near as much as they should ( or are supposed to).
Certainly we don't want whistle fests, but the Gaa will have to either allow or outlaw these practices. I don't see how they can be allowed under the current rules.
But- apart from Armagh , it's a fairly level playing field that remains in the championship regarding tactics!
Post by: mayoman dan on August 06, 2014, 08:45:31 PM
Just watched this back on rte player are the Mayo management asleep on the line? Kept letting Cork have the short kickouts and we didnt have a bulls notion what to do with the extra man or men.Crazy stuff altogether
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 06, 2014, 09:03:23 PM
Def the mayo mgt needs to pull their socks up , but mayo are improving as the championship progresses. Are they finally going to time their run just right?
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 06, 2014, 10:53:07 PM
I've just watched a video of the game and I still can't figure out the reasons for the dramatic turnaround in the last quarter.  Was it a case of Mayo imploding once more or did Cork's tactical changes and substitutions bring them right back into the game?
Probably a mixture of both.
Donncha O'Connor made one hell of a change when he was introduced, I'm afraid to think of what might have happened if he had been on from the start.
Talk about an "impact" sub!
I'm afraid the cupboard is bare where Mayo's impact subs are concerned. Can't see James leaving Andy or Alan out for the next game and that's for sure. He just hasn't got the players in reserve to change the course of any game . Maybe that's not his fault as he can only go with what he has.
To me at any rate, some of his substitutions are bizarre and it takes him for too long to make switches that are obvious to everyone else bar him and his buddies on the sideline.
Anyway we won and that's the main thing but it was far too close for comfort.
Mayo have the alarming tendency to play excellent football at times and leave clear daylight between themselves and the opposition and then for some inexplicable reason they sit back and allow the opposition to get back into the game.
I don't always agree with Brolly but when he said Mayo aren't ruthless enough to win an All-Ireland, I had to agree with him.
It's hard to understand why this is do as Mayo can do the basic things well and, according to some, they are "streetwise" and definitely are the most experienced side around there's no logical reason why they should take the boot off the pedal so often, in a manner of speaking.
One thing for certain, if they ease off against Kerry as they did against Corkl, Farr will have the last laugh!
Post by: mayoman dan on August 06, 2014, 11:15:26 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 06, 2014, 10:53:07 PM
I've just watched a video of the game and I still can't figure out the reasons for the dramatic turnaround in the last quarter.  Was it a case of Mayo imploding once more or did Cork's tactical changes and substitutions bring them right back into the game?
Probably a mixture of both.
Donncha O'Connor made one hell of a change when he was introduced, I'm afraid to think of what might have happened if he had been on from the start.
Talk about an "impact" sub!
I'm afraid the cupboard is bare where Mayo's impact subs are concerned. Can't see James leaving Andy or Alan out for the next game and that's for sure. He just hasn't got the players in reserve to change the course of any game . Maybe that's not his fault as he can only go with what he has.
To me at any rate, some of his substitutions are bizarre and it takes him for too long to make switches that are obvious to everyone else bar him and his buddies on the sideline.
Anyway we won and that's the main thing but it was far too close for comfort.
Mayo have the alarming tendency to play excellent football at times and leave clear daylight between themselves and the opposition and then for some inexplicable reason they sit back and allow the opposition to get back into the game.
I don't always agree with Brolly but when he said Mayo aren't ruthless enough to win an All-Ireland, I had to agree with him.
It's hard to understand why this is do as Mayo can do the basic things well and, according to some, they are "streetwise" and definitely are the most experienced side around there's no logical reason why they should take the boot off the pedal so often, in a manner of speaking.
One thing for certain, if they ease off against Kerry as they did against Corkl, Farr will have the last laugh!

I think fatigue had a lot to do with the collapse aswell we dont look as fit as we did at this stage last year and im hoping this is because we are timing it to be firing on all cylinders for the next 2 games.However management cant see whats happening on the pitch and the substitutions are doing nothing to address the problems on the pitch.Was there not some statement after last years AIF that Horan would have some spotters in the stands to help him with these decisions.I would disagree that Mayo do not have impact subs if we used our squad right we should have Andy Feeney Gibbons as very usefull impact subs.Parsons has had a bad time with injuries so we cant blame management for him not really being an option.Adam Gallagher looked like he could be an option but no one seems to know what happened here.Young O Connor and O shea were thrown in at the deep end in the Hyde which was a big mistake IMO and they seem to have fallen out of favour ever since however they have time on there side to make the step up.
Post by: highorlow on August 07, 2014, 09:27:15 AM
QuoteI think fatigue had a lot to do with the collapse aswell we dont look as fit as we did at this stage last year and im hoping this is because we are timing it to be firing on all cylinders for the next 2 games.However management cant see whats happening on the pitch and the substitutions are doing nothing to address the problems on the pitch.Was there not some statement after last years AIF that Horan would have some spotters in the stands to help him with these decisions.

I'm probably way wrong here but does it look like the subs plan appears premeditated rather than based on how the lads are getting on? Andy Moran seemed shocked to be getting subbed, he looked like he was getting into the game better and had just popped a great point. Apart from a fair bit of slipping (worried about cruciate and not wearing long studs?) I thought he was doing ok. It appeared that on the 60min mark they had already planned to bring in Varley (likely for either AM or AD). I think on the WJ blog WJ aluded to this also where Varley is the man expected to come on and bang over a few points (like he did down in Castlebar against Kerry).

The same was for Conroy and the blood sub? Why not use Feeney for this? I would have thought he would be more suited to come into the HF line. Again appeared to be premeditated for a blood sub, i.e. any forward gets a blood then its Conroy.

The rest of the subs were actual decisions by the players rather than the management, COC (i think) asked or signaled to be taken off as did AOS. Although I always expected that Freeman would get a run anyhow. The only call that may have been made 'on the day / on the spur' was the Chris Barrett change.

If the substitute situation isn't improved we will struggle. Is it time to throw caution to the wind against Kerry and introduce Coen, Sweeney or DOC to the game at some stage? Maybe we are all wrong and JH and the management are keeping these lads in 'hunger' mode for the last 2 hurdles and will be moving with them the next day?

Post by: Champ15 on August 07, 2014, 11:37:14 AM
In terms of the subs coming in it's quite clear they are pre planned on who is to come on anyway. We've more or less used the same subs all championship! This decision JH has made in a couple of games this year of bringing lads in in the final few seconds to eat up time is a joke too. They need to come on earlier especially in croke park where its a bigger pitch and lads tire out earlier. The decision to bring Andy off was the correct one IMO the only thing he did right was score the point but that was well into the 2nd half after he had slipped and lost a fair few balls resulting in 2 points for cork, replacing him however with Varley I mean does Horan see something different in him that we don't see? He has the capability of scoring wonder points on occasion but he's never been consistent or even good enough to hold down a regular starting position in his Mayo career!
Post by: highorlow on August 07, 2014, 11:55:11 AM
Quotethe only thing he did right was score the point but that was well into the 2nd half after he had slipped and lost a fair few balls resulting in 2 points for cork,

Ah now, Andy, got another point and offloaded for at least 2 more. He also changed the point of the attack with some good footpassing. He also bought a good free from the ref early in the second half which resulted in a point.

Champ15, view the game again on the RTE player. You mustn't have caught any of the above during the live game. I think people are over critical of Andy and Dillion's mistakes because they are on the ball so often, we seem to expect a flawless return form these lads which rarely happens for any player given the pace of the games these days. Thankfully we have some starting inside forwards that can win their own ball. I don't think the same can be said for some of the replacements we are using.
Post by: Champ15 on August 07, 2014, 12:04:52 PM
Quote from: highorlow on August 07, 2014, 11:55:11 AM
Quotethe only thing he did right was score the point but that was well into the 2nd half after he had slipped and lost a fair few balls resulting in 2 points for cork,

Ah now, Andy, got another point and offloaded for at least 2 more. He also changed the point of the attack with some good footpassing. He also bought a good free from the ref early in the second half which resulted in a point.

Champ15, view the game again on the RTE player. You mustn't have caught any of the above during the live game. I think people are over critical of Andy and Dillion's mistakes because they are on the ball so often, we seem to expect a flawless return form these lads which rarely happens for any player given the pace of the games these days. Thankfully we have some starting inside forwards that can win their own ball. I don't think the same can be said for some of the replacements we are using.

I did watch it back I recorded it on sunday he made  too many mistakes for me especially in the first half and I would have hooked him off at half time. I don't like being too critical off him because he's the fulcrum of our full forward line as a ball winner and any player could have a bad game but the truth is he was a liability in the first half losing possession 2 of which resulted in cork scores. I'd love to know what studs he was wearing compared to others and he will probably have to change them for the semi if that was the root cause of his slipping
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2014, 03:05:26 PM
The cohesion in the forward line completely fell apart after Andy was subbed out. It opened up the game for Cork by cutting Mayo's momentum when it had looked almost unstoppable. They went from a seven point lead to a tie game. They missed numerous shots in that period, mostly selfishly taken attempts that would have any manager tearing his hair out such was the quality of the kicking and decision-making. It wasn't until AOS's goal that they looked to have steadied the ship and that lasted all of thirty seconds. Subbing out Andy ranks higher up the clanger scale than pulling Freeman after 15 minutes in the AI final. It was a truly terrible substitution.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 07, 2014, 03:14:02 PM
As a neutral I thought Moran was poor, a lot of ball appeared to go in his direction and he really struggled to keep control of it. He's always out in front of his man but that injury has really affected his pace and struggles to win primary possession. If he gets space though he's very accurate as you could see from his second point.

I do find it unfair that some of the criticism Horan & Mayo receive from some on here and some of the pundits with regards to finishing teams off. I put that down to not possessing a real top quality full forward or corner forward with pace.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 07, 2014, 05:36:42 PM
I'd like to see sweeney getting some time, I think his pace would cause problems late in the game.
Post by: muppet on August 07, 2014, 05:46:34 PM
We won a game we should have won well, could have drawn, or even lost, against a team we could never beat until 2011. But we are through to our 4th semi-final in a row nonetheless.

We should probably move on to talking about the next match.