GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 15, 2007, 06:12:48 PM

Title: Donegal v Mayo NFL Final
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 15, 2007, 06:12:48 PM
Hard fought win by Donegal today, makes for an interesting final against Mayo.

Didn't get to the match as was way down country, but was Cassidys sending off deserved, I listened to the first half on the radio and his yellow was a soft/silly one to give away! But at that stage it looked more likely that Roper would be the man getting an early shower!!
Title: Re: Donegal v Mayo NFL Final
Post by: armaghniac on April 15, 2007, 06:50:38 PM
QuoteHope Donegal win this one.
We need them in good form for the Championship. Cant have Armagh winning a fourth Ulster in a row.

Hopefully Donegal will win their first league and have the prolonged celebrations that such an achievement deserves.
Post by: stew on April 15, 2007, 07:00:52 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on April 15, 2007, 06:14:41 PM
Hope Donegal win this one.
We need them in good form for the Championship. Cant have Armagh winning a fourth Ulster in a row.

Armagh dont give a shite about winning Ulster for a fourth consecutive time, they just want to win Sam again, I know there has been a famine in Down for well over a decade but we in Armagh have bigger aspirations than simply wining the Ulster again.  ;D

Winning Ulster has done feck all for us anyhow and given the mickey mouse back door set up you are probably better off being the beaten Ulster finalist than winning Ulster. :(
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 15, 2007, 07:05:49 PM
Fascinating profile of John O'Mahony in this morning's Sunday Tribune.

All the angles
Kieran Shannon

ALREADY in Galway they can spot John O'Mahony's fingertips all over his team.

There'd normally have been a handful of Mayo footballers in the papers a week like this;

this week there's only been Alan Dillon and he'd have got a few quid for doing that promotion gig. And Omagh last week; Mayo didn't need to win but their manager has always wanted every team of his to win every game. Raising the expectations of players while quelling those of the public; it was the O'Mahony way in Galway and it's the O'Mahony way in Mayo. Gary Fahey, the man who lifted the Sam Maguire O'Mahony masterminded in 2001, has noticed that.

"He'll make a big difference there, " says Fahey. "For one, they won't be going blindly into anything. They'll be dealing with reality. No way were Mayo 15 points worse than Kerry last year but no way were they better either, yet going into that final the Mayo public had their rose-tinted glasses on, thinking they were going to take this one nicely.

O'Mahony would have controlled that and embraced the underdogs tag. In 2001 he had us believing that everyone felt we had no chance against Meath. But he believed in us and he had us believing in ourselves."

The confidence came from preparation. Before O'Mahony, Galway would gather at a hotel in the middle of Tuam on championship days, hop into their cars and join supporters in traffic. When O'Mahony took over, the group travelled together, by bus, by garda escort, at a time known days in advance, courtesy of a printed handout detailing their matchday itinerary. Even under John Maughan, with his military background and precision, Mayo had several preparatory glitches, like arriving at Croke Park only 30 minutes before the 2004 drawn All Ireland semi-final against Fermanagh.

Whether it was the cause or symptom of Mayo's future troubles is debatable but an apprehension came into their play which would remain for the rest of that summer. In six years playing for O'Mahony, Fahey can't recall one logistical gaffe. "The weather, "laughs Fahey, "was the only thing he couldn't control and I'd say he'd have tried his best there."

Of course, at times he's got it wrong. An anecdote cited to illustrate his exceptional "motivational" powers is the video he played minutes before the drawn 2000 All Ireland final. In the clip were the players' families, wearing Galway jerseys, waving Galway flags. It moved and affected the players alright - after 25 minutes they were seven points down. It was only when O'Mahony made more task-oriented calculations - bringing on Kevin Walsh, moving Padraic Joyce to centre forward - that Galway started approaching the kind of peak performance that O'Mahony had programmed. O'Mahony himself would have recognised that. "The emotional bangingthe-tables stuff is going out these days, " he would say three years later. "Fellas are calmer now and what's coming in is a more technical approach."

It's something Mayo are getting now - after every game, win or lose, the dressing room door is shut for 45 minutes as O'Mahony's management team absorb Martin Carney's stats to ensure no lazy attributions are imparted to the players - and it's something O'Mahony always welcomed.

Shortly after Mickey Harte wrote 'Kicking Down Heaven's Door', outlining a consultative, player-centred approach which was considered groundbreaking, O'Mahony hinted that "directing traffic" was an approach he too had been doing all along, just something he didn't wish to detail or disclose.

Fahey saw him use it first hand. Leaders like Ray Silke might have been born, but others like Padraic Joyce, in time, were developed. "He (O'Mahony) was very good at facilitating meetings, encouraging everyone to say their share.

You saw guys and their confidence growing in leaps and bounds. He was very good oneto-one as well. You could be having a cup of tea and he'd touch base with you. That was one of his skills, making time to meet up with you without you knowing. And not dictating to you. What he'd say is, 'Look, it's up to yourself, but I'd recommend you eat this?'" It's what he's best working with - people - and making them feel important to the cause. He recently stated how good it was to see Ronan McGarrity, still recovering from his testicular cancer operation, visit the dressing room.

In 2000 he kept Ja Fallon part of the Galway group when that player was out for the year with a cruciate ligament injury.

James Nallen might never start a championship game again but O'Mahony recognises he can provide the kind of leadership that Billy Byrne and George O'Connor offered Wexford in 1996. Last week O'Mahony gave Nallen the captain's armband to mark a record number of appearances by any Mayo player, and adapted "Let's win this one for Jimmy" as the match theme. In the wrong hands, it could have been forced and condescending, but in O'Mahony's it was sincere and appreciated.

As much as Mickey Moran tried to cultivate the notion of "family" last season, he alienated the county board. Under O'Mahony, they've been welcomed back into the loop.

Mayo didn't have any overnight stays this year, even for the trip in Cork; instead players were being dropped off at their homes at 4am, and out with their clubs 10 hours later. By empathising with the board's financial constraints and fixture list, O'Mahony knows such a gesture will be reciprocated. It already has;

after attending the Connacht under-21 semi-final, O'Mahony had a helicopter whisking the general election candidate off to the Fine Gael ard fheis.

In some dealings, though, he's had to use the iron fist with the silk glove. O'Mahony has identified that Conor Mortimer personifies so much of what's bad as well as good about the Mayo condition and that he must go to the next level if Mayo are to as well. When Joe Kernan stayed in the same hotel as Mayo the weekend of the 2004 All Ireland semi-final, he was struck by how Mortimer and Ciaran McDonald wore different gear to the rest of the panel; last December, a few nights after the panel were given the same training gear, Mortimer walked out with the wrong shorts only for O'Mahony to discreetly tell him to wear Mayo shorts like everyone else.

One night the DCU student was late for a session with the panel's Dublin-based players.

Just before training the following night, he was handed Jim Kilty's mobile phone. It was O'Mahony, checking to see if he was there. After a poor display in Donegal, Mortimer was dropped for Limerick, before being called back into the starting lineup against Fermanagh. Since then he's been Man of the Match in three of his four games, averaging 1-4 a match.

Every move of O'Mahony seems to have worked. David Heaney's switch to midfield;

Marty McNicholas and Kevin O'Neill coming on against Cork; Ger Brady's three points from play in Omagh after being moved into full forward; but some things aren't going to plan. Ciaran McDonald might never wear a Mayo jersey again. Twice he's resumed collective training and played some minutes in a challenge game, only to break down with his back injury. And politically, polls have O'Mahony seventh in a five-seat constituency.

At times it's been a surreal campaign. Last month himself and Beverly Flynn donned pyjamas in a playschool to help the Make-A-Wish foundation, while his election pamphlets have avoided any reference to the fact he coached Galway, something that initially seemed further proof of his reluctance to offend anyone.

Such caution, however, has been validated. Recently Fianna Fáil opponent, John Carthy, besmirched O'Mahony's residency in Ballaghaderreen by remarking that "if they (the Mayo electorate) want to elected another TD in Roscommon", they were free to do so.

O'Mahony, born in the last house on the Mayo side of Ballaghaderreen, did not allow such a slur go unchallenged. "I have absolute trust in the people of Mayo to decide whether I am a Mayo person or not, " he responded in that diplomatic but forceful way of his. "I'll be concentrating on a positive campaign and while everyone is entitled to their opinion, I want to clarify the matter from my point of view."

His Mayoness is beyond question. Months before taking the Galway job, O'Mahony admitted that "I would love to manage a team to win the All Ireland title." He realised that ambition, yet here he is today, facing the team he guided to that All Ireland, wanting more.

"Winning an All Ireland for Mayo, I would say it would mean more to him, " contends Fahey. "When he was with us, he was fully committed to us, but whereas he wanted to win an All Ireland as a manager, we wanted to win it for Galway. He wants to win one for Mayo."

And will he? "Well, " says Kevin Walsh, "if this group don't win it under him, they won't win it at all."

He has three seasons to win it. Or to put it another way, Mayo are lucky to have him for three years.

http://www.tribune.ie

The Sunday Tribune live on the web every Sunday.

Subscribe to Tribune.ie and discover why the Sunday Tribune is Ireland's quality Sunday newspaper.© All contents copyright The Sunday Tribune 2007.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on April 15, 2007, 07:19:32 PM
Good article but Shannon is talking absolute nonsense here.

"O'Mahony, born in the last house on the Mayo side of Ballaghaderreen"

O'Mahony is from Kilmovee which is a village in Mayo and a separate parish to Ballaghaderreen. There is no Mayo side of Ballaghaderreen town - it is all in Roscommon, including O'Mahony's current residence. The Mayo border starts about 5 miles out the road and the "Welcome to Mayo" sign can be seen just before you enter the village of Carracastle.

Well done to Johno and Mayo today btw.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 15, 2007, 07:26:55 PM
It should be another good game. Mayo forwards will have to take their chances or else Donegal will win the game. Mayo played poor enough for a lot of the game today and that will have to be corrected if we have any chance of winning next Sunday. Was Brendan Devenney injured today? I'm expecting a hard game of football and the ones who stand up and are counted will win.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 15, 2007, 08:42:44 PM
Michael Lyster just after saying on the telly that the National League Final is fixed for Sunday in Croker. I would have thought that the Hyde or Clones would be handier, and had a better chance of getting a gate?
Post by: Redgreenery on April 15, 2007, 08:43:54 PM
Yeah very excited about this game, will be a tough one to win and I'd say both teams will be up for it! Impossible to say who'll probably win because both teams would want to bring some silverware home this early in the season and are going to give it their best. Mayo certaineatly didnt put in their best performance today but next week I'd expect they would!
CMON MAYO!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Redgreenery on April 15, 2007, 08:45:00 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 15, 2007, 08:42:44 PM
Michael Lyster just after saying on the telly that the National League Final is fixed for Sunday in Croker. I would have thought that the Hyde or Clones would be handier, and had a better chance of getting a gate?

Yeah I think it is already fixed for Croker and has been for the last while.
Post by: thejuice on April 15, 2007, 09:27:29 PM
Was at the games today, neither Mayo or Galway seemed to have any real cutting edge up front. Most Galway scores came from stupid decisions by the Mayo backs. Donegal I'd say will win the final. They were playing the direct football and doing it well for most of the game. They would have been clear winners except for that ridiculous penalty.

Hope to God, Mayo and Donegal fans decide to show up to next weeks final. Nothing worse than a 3/4 empty Croke Park
Post by: Jack Dempsey on April 16, 2007, 09:28:08 AM
is Kevin Cassidy now banned as his has got sent off twice in the league
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 16, 2007, 10:11:42 AM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on April 15, 2007, 07:19:32 PMO'Mahony is from Kilmovee which is a village in Mayo and a separate parish to Ballaghaderreen. There is no Mayo side of Ballaghaderreen town - it is all in Roscommon, including O'Mahony's current residence. The Mayo border starts about 5 miles out the road and the "Welcome to Mayo" sign can be seen just before you enter the village of Carracastle.

Is Kilmovee far from Carracastle?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 16, 2007, 10:23:46 AM
Devenney out for the final, heard broken ankle mentioned!
Not sure if Cass misses the final or not?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 16, 2007, 10:49:30 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 16, 2007, 10:23:46 AM
Devenney out for the final, heard broken ankle mentioned!
Not sure if Cass misses the final or not?

Massive blow for you GDA, if true  :(
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 16, 2007, 10:56:17 AM
From the BBCNI:

Brendan Devenney is a major fitness doubt for Donegal's Allianz National Football League final against Mayo next Sunday at Croke Park.

Devenney suffered a recurrence of a knee ligament injury in Sunday's semi-final win over Kildare.

He was forced off the field after 20 minutes of Donegal's 1-13 to 1-11 win.

Backs Neil McGee and Paddy McConigley also had to depart early because of injury and their fitness will also be assessed over the coming days.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 16, 2007, 11:12:11 AM
We'll need to improve alot next week if we're going to stop the form team in the country from winning their first league title. However, if Devenney doesn't make it that's worth a few points to Mayo. Glad the game is in croker to be honest, it gives our lads another chance to play there and exorcise a few more ghosts (unless we feckin lose again!!). It's also good for the Likes of Kicullen who had never played there before yesterday.
By the way Kilmovee is on a different side of Ballaghaderren to Carracastle. The Mayo border goes to within 3 miles of Ballagh on that side of town. O'Mahony is indeed from one of the last houses on the Mayo side of Ballagh, i.e. he's from just inside Kilmovee parish. I hope that clears things up for Messrs Carty et al.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 16, 2007, 11:16:26 AM
Kieran Shannon did say in his article that Johnno was born in the last house on the Mayo side of Ballaghaderreen, not from there (which assumes that part of Ballaghaderreen is actually in Mayo), or is that a non-existent/nonsensical subtlety lads?
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 16, 2007, 11:32:33 AM
AH fear, its an age old debate that shows no sign of ending any time soon! Ballaghaderren is in ross, was in Mayo, part of the parish is in Mayo, Jonno was born in Kilmovee which is in Mayo, but he now lives in Ballagh. Clear as mud??
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 16, 2007, 11:43:50 AM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on April 16, 2007, 11:32:33 AM
AH fear, its an age old debate that shows no sign of ending any time soon! Ballaghaderren is in ross, was in Mayo, part of the parish is in Mayo, Jonno was born in Kilmovee which is in Mayo, but he now lives in Ballagh. Clear as mud??

Thanks OirthearMhaigheo, crystal  ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 16, 2007, 12:59:51 PM
He is from inside Mayos County Boundaries, but even if he was not and born in Ballagh he is still as much an Mayoman as someone born in Derry is an Irishman.

Ballagh GAA & 85% from there of their people consider it Mayo. Even look up the AIB website, they have listed the AIB in Ballagh as being in Mayo. I have met many Ballagh people and the actually say they are from County Mayo or Ballaghadeeren County Mayo despite the 5 miles into Rossie, this due to the fact that a Greedy Landlord called Dillon had the area moved about 120 years ago from Mayo to Rossie, he was a British MP and had a motion passed to move the parishs, he did it because land rates for Landlord was cheeper in Roscommon than Mayo. It was against the will of the locals and against the will of Ballaghadeeren GAA a founder club of the Mayo GAA.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 16, 2007, 01:37:21 PM
Spot on Sam , spot on!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 16, 2007, 01:43:40 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on April 16, 2007, 12:59:51 PM
He is from inside Mayos County Boundaries, but even if he was not and born in Ballagh he is still as much an Mayoman as someone born in Derry is an Irishman.

Wasn't disputing that in the slightest. And as for Derry... sure that's a whole different planet don't you know!  ;)
Post by: westmayo on April 16, 2007, 02:21:47 PM
On the football front, Mayo will have a lot of work to do next weekend if they are going to over turn Donegal in the final. Yesterday Mayo were very sloppy on a number of occasions with at least three poorly judged passes out of defence ending up in Galway scores.  The forwards didn't look sharp, took the wrong options on a number of ocasions. I know that the win was paramount yesterday, but we need to be looking for better performances especially with the championship not to far away.
Post by: highking on April 16, 2007, 04:35:47 PM
Anyone have a throw in time yet
Post by: Tubberman on April 16, 2007, 04:41:27 PM
4pm throw-in.
The U-21 game v Laois is on at 3pm on Sat in the Hyde
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 16, 2007, 04:43:02 PM
The NFL final is throwing in at four I believe, and is preceeded by the Colleges Final.

The D2 semi-finals are under lights in Croker on Saturday night, Meath v Monaghan at six and Roscommon v Cavan at 7.45.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 16, 2007, 05:02:53 PM
So it would be possible to travel from Mayo to Roscommon catch the match against Laois then head up to Croker for saturday night then off to Croker again on Sunday, sounds like a damn good weekends entertainment to me.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 16, 2007, 08:13:12 PM
This is the line up for Sunday in Croker:
PAIRC AN CHROCAIGH
ALLIANZ NATIONAL FOOTBALL 
12:45PM CROKE CUP FINAL
2:15PM HOGAN CUP FINAL
4PM NFL DIVISION 1 FINAL
SUN 22-APR-07
Post by: highfielder on April 16, 2007, 08:18:40 PM
come on the mayo lads
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 16, 2007, 08:38:00 PM
Won't be able to make the game v Laois in Roscommon as I've loads of college stuff to get through on Saturday. I will be at the NFL final though on Sunday. I don't think it's fair to the players involved in both to be playing 2 games in the one weekend but I suppose they are all super fit and would have no qualms with playing the games. PS, who are in the Croke cup final?? Hopefully the Mayo fans will travel in larger numbers than travelled yesterday. Donegal will more than likely bring a massive croud as they attempt to bring a bit of National silverware back to the hills for the first time in 15 years, I don't think I'll be too disappointed with the May contingent that travel on Sunday though. Donegal will start as favourites no doubt as they are unbeaten this year.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 16, 2007, 11:09:49 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 16, 2007, 10:11:42 AM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on April 15, 2007, 07:19:32 PMO'Mahony is from Kilmovee which is a village in Mayo and a separate parish to Ballaghaderreen. There is no Mayo side of Ballaghaderreen town - it is all in Roscommon, including O'Mahony's current residence. The Mayo border starts about 5 miles out the road and the "Welcome to Mayo" sign can be seen just before you enter the village of Carracastle.

Is Kilmovee far from Carracastle?

Just outside it, along the mayo/ross border as well
Post by: Bod Mor on April 17, 2007, 07:20:20 AM
Its hard to say anything about this match. On the one hand If we win it there'll be a few swollen heads around (including fans), on the other hand if we lost it it might provide a bit of bite in lead up training to D-Day-May 20th.
Lets face it, i'd rather us be beaten out the gate on Sunday and have a 1 point win in Salthill on May 20th.
Its fair to say at this stage that O'Mahony knows his championship team. Would anyone eat the head off me if I said Kilcullen is guaranteed the no.3 jersey and Padden the no.6 jersey come the championship?

Post by: highorlow on April 17, 2007, 11:10:45 AM
QuoteWould anyone eat the head off me if I said Kilcullen is guaranteed the no.3 jersey and Padden the no.6 jersey come the championship?

I'd say these positions are correct.

Midfield and the CHF line are still in doubt i'd have thought?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 17, 2007, 11:49:26 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 17, 2007, 11:10:45 AM
QuoteWould anyone eat the head off me if I said Kilcullen is guaranteed the no.3 jersey and Padden the no.6 jersey come the championship?

I'd say these positions are correct.

Midfield and the CHF line are still in doubt i'd have thought?

To my mind, nobody's position is safe, which is as it should be. You might see Liam O'Malley at fullback yet, with either Higgins either side. If David Brady comes back, David Heaney might go to centre half back - we don't know. Men could be drafted in from the Under-21 panel. We don't know. And the posts of the Galwaymen in the Mayo v Galway thread make for very thought-provoking reading indeed as Salthill nears. It's a windy road yet I'd say.
Post by: nephinbeg on April 17, 2007, 01:48:07 PM
As regards CHB padden has been top quality there all season and from my calculation kept his man scoreless on all bar two matches, yes he did make some bad mistakes on the ball last sunday and got punished. But thats football ..
Kilcullen is the best of what we have there... there is no one else in Mayo... What is the point in playing O MALLEY there if we are going to come uop against the kingdom some time in the summer.

Mayo fans have to stop being so apocolyptic, Id still be more wary of Gardeiners point blank refusal to defend

Post by: Redgreenery on April 17, 2007, 04:47:08 PM
D Brady has been ruled out of the game v Donegal due to his ongoing calf injury.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 17, 2007, 05:43:52 PM
Has anyone any clue as to if tickets will be on sale in Croke Park this week? I presume thye will be at the rear of the Cusack stand.
Post by: J70 on April 17, 2007, 05:47:40 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on April 17, 2007, 04:47:08 PM
D Brady has been ruled out of the game v Donegal due to his ongoing calf injury.

Looks like both sides will be missing some of their more important men i.e. Devenney and Cassidy for us, McDonald, Brady, McGarrity for you.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 17, 2007, 06:03:32 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 17, 2007, 05:43:52 PM
Has anyone any clue as to if tickets will be on sale in Croke Park this week? I presume thye will be at the rear of the Cusack stand.
I'd say they will be on sale at all the little box offices around, you could get them on ticketmaster aswell.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 17, 2007, 07:06:34 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 17, 2007, 05:47:40 PM

Looks like both sides will be missing some of their more important men i.e. Devenney and Cassidy for us, McDonald, Brady, McGarrity for you.

Are the county board not appealing Cass's red???
Post by: J70 on April 17, 2007, 07:09:52 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 17, 2007, 07:06:34 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 17, 2007, 05:47:40 PM

Are the county board not appealing Cass's red???

Yes.
Post by: dodo on April 17, 2007, 07:27:36 PM
Could also be a good excuse for Cassidy to head to Boston to earn his few shekels !
Post by: Cllr Willie Power on April 17, 2007, 08:58:05 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on April 17, 2007, 07:20:20 AM
Would anyone eat the head off me if I said Kilcullen is guaranteed the no.3 jersey and Padden the no.6 jersey come the championship?

I wouldn't eat the head off you but I would say that if they are there come the Championship then we won't be in Croker in September...  ;)

To my mind, there's still a few positions up for grabs and we still have far too many square pegs in round holes. I reckon the following positions are still up for grabs: full back, wing back, centre back, 2 midfield and 2 in the forwards. Some of the players may switch positions to fill these but I would see a few changes come Championship time.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on April 17, 2007, 09:16:16 PM
Quote from: Cllr Willie Power on April 17, 2007, 08:58:05 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on April 17, 2007, 07:20:20 AM
Would anyone eat the head off me if I said Kilcullen is guaranteed the no.3 jersey and Padden the no.6 jersey come the championship?

I wouldn't eat the head off you but I would say that if they are there come the Championship then we won't be in Croker in September...  ;)

To my mind, there's still a few positions up for grabs and we still have far too many square pegs in round holes. I reckon the following positions are still up for grabs: full back, wing back, centre back, 2 midfield and 2 in the forwards. Some of the players may switch positions to fill these but I would see a few changes come Championship time.
I think we will see a new full back,wing back,one midfielder and one in the half forwards and one in the full forward line.
Post by: Tyrones own on April 18, 2007, 06:44:18 AM

I'll take Mayo by 2 or 3 in this one, Will this be the first game in the league that Donegal hasn't fielded or very close to
A championship starting 15? its a long way to Aug/Sept, Devenney will be a big loss, McFadden will probably go into hiding like he usually does in big games
and as for Cassidy, i have a feeling this is just the start of the suspensions for Donegal this year, i just got a chance to see the Kildare game
some very cynical play altogether from the Donegal men namely Gallagher, Cassidy, Monaghan and that little thorn in the hole Roper.
Post by: highorlow on April 18, 2007, 09:01:41 AM
QuoteI think we will see a new full back,wing back,one midfielder and one in the half forwards and one in the full forward line.

An G what has young Kilcullen done wrong? Why are people putting him on thier NFL team? You must have been at different match's than me. Considering we had NO midfield for the whole league he has done very well considering the pressure he was one. Remember he is still learning this position and improving by the game, he did well last w/end. You appear to be referring to Gardiner or Devenney, again explain?, midfield agreed...

Post by: aodhruadh on April 18, 2007, 09:12:51 AM
The loss of Devenney is not ideal, but with Kavanagh returning, and a set of experienced forwards like Sweeney, Hegarty, Toye, Roper not to mention the younger lads, M Doherty and K McMenamin, Donegal should be well able to cope with his loss.
Post by: Tubberman on April 18, 2007, 09:14:25 AM
I'd be satisfied with Kilcullen so far. He did fairly well on Joyce last week. He got in some great blocks, and made one fantastic catch in the 2nd half. He could have been a bit tighter, but as you said highorlow, he's still learning so I'd be happy enough to see him stay there - it's not like we have any ready made replacements.
Devenney hasn't impressed me as much. I know he made a couple of good bursts forwards last week and got a point that could easily have been a goal. But he is primarily a defender and he hasn't done well in this regard. He has been lost in no man's land too often and his man is left with far too much space. He is only learning as well, and may improve, but he hasn't shown much signs of doing so to date. Unlike the FB position, we have a couple of options here, most notably Trevor Howley and Aidan Higgins.

Does anybody think Johnno may draft Pearse Hanley into the senior set-up? Or will he leave it until next year.
Post by: highorlow on April 18, 2007, 09:17:51 AM
QuoteDoes anybody think Johnno may draft Pearse Hanley into the senior set-up? Or will he leave it until next year

I'd have him on the panel. He is still only 19 (i think).
Post by: stephenite on April 18, 2007, 09:55:45 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 18, 2007, 09:01:41 AM
QuoteI think we will see a new full back,wing back,one midfielder and one in the half forwards and one in the full forward line.

An G what has young Kilcullen done wrong? Why are people putting him on thier NFL team? You must have been at different match's than me.

Interesting this,An G and Regreenery both raised issues with Enda Dev's performance over the past few games, maybe legit reasons,I wasn't there. But other discussion boards and even journos have signalled Dev out for praise,none more than Sean Rice.

Just wondering what others think cause I'm fierce confused
Post by: intoDwest on April 18, 2007, 10:12:45 AM
Dev has been the stand out half back in Mayo for the last few years when he has been fit, I just think that it is taking a bit of time to adjust to senior county football, he is very loose but that can be ironed out. He is still making his was back from some serious injurys.......................I'd give him the benifit of time.

Who do you replace him with?? Not A. Higgans, he is a corner back, and a very good one at that in my eyes. The only one that I could see replacing Dev at this stage would be Heaney. T howley maybe??
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 18, 2007, 10:15:54 AM
FROM THE HOGANSTAND WEBSITEInjuries mount for Mayo
18 April 2007

Mayo manager John O'Mahony has an injury crisis on his hands ahead of Sunday's NFL final against Donegal at Croke Park.

Goalkeeper David Clarke, full back James Kilcullen and team captain Kevin O'Neill were all injured in last Sunday's semi-final win over Galway, making them doubtful for the meeting with Brian McIver's men.
Clarke has a back problem, Kilcullen is troubled by a groin injury, while veteran attacker O'Neill was forced to retire early in the second half with a calf injury.

O'Mahony said: "Coming on top of the nine or 10 lads we've lost already, another crop of injuries was obviously the last thing we wanted before Sunday's match.

"We're hoping to pick the team on Thursday night, but after what happened last Sunday, it could well be Saturday before we sit down and finalise it.

"A consolation for us is that it's still only Tuesday, so hopefully with treatment, some of the lads may be able to make the match."

In the event of Clarke being ruled out, third-choice 'keeper Morvyn Connolly will make his debut as under 21 custodian Kenneth O'Malley is also ruled out with a dislocated thumb. The injury will also force O'Malley to miss Saturday's All-Ireland under 21 semi-final against Laois.

Garrymore clubman Connolly has never figured competitively for Mayo at any level, but O'Mahony is confident that he will be up to the task if called upon.

Lads the injuries are gone insane, we will be resorting to playing the U-21s team at this rate, we now down to our third choice goalie
Post by: guy crouchback on April 18, 2007, 10:51:33 AM
QuoteMorvyn Connolly

Who the Hell is this Guy? and what sort of name is MORVYN ?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 18, 2007, 10:58:29 AM
Quote from: guy crouchback on April 18, 2007, 10:51:33 AM
QuoteMorvyn Connolly

That's exactly what I thought when I saw the programme on Sunday!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 18, 2007, 11:00:24 AM
Quote from: guy crouchback on April 18, 2007, 10:51:33 AM

Lives in Dublin 4 I believe, somewhere close to RTE  ;)
Post by: stephenite on April 18, 2007, 11:01:38 AM
FFS - injury after injury >:(
Post by: J70 on April 18, 2007, 01:32:31 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 18, 2007, 06:44:18 AM

I'll take Mayo by 2 or 3 in this one, Will this be the first game in the league that Donegal hasn't fielded or very close to
A championship starting 15? its a long way to Aug/Sept, Devenney will be a big loss, McFadden will probably go into hiding like he usually does in big games
and as for Cassidy, i have a feeling this is just the start of the suspensions for Donegal this year, i just got a chance to see the Kildare game
some very cynical play altogether from the Donegal men namely Gallagher, Cassidy, Monaghan and that little thorn in the hole Roper.

We'll see what McFadden is made of this year, but you can't fault him so far. And he certainly showed Tyrone what he can do in 2004! His biggest problem is that he is very inconsistent, not that he's afraid of the big games. He used to have a big fault in going for spectacular, improbable scores whenever the slightest chance presented itself, but hopefully he's a bit wiser now.

Donegal have been rotating quite a few of the team this year, especially in the last couple of games. There are probably at least 20 or 21 players with a serious claim on a starting championship place after the league. McIver did his wild experimenting last year in the Division 2 campaign (and even through the championship, given the problems we had in the forwards).

As for cynical play, if that is the case, I'm glad we've seen what has worked over the past five years. Donegal teams were always regarded as "too nice". And I'll see your "little thorn in the hole Roper" and raise you a Ryan McMenamin. :P
Post by: Tyrones own on April 18, 2007, 02:18:48 PM

Point taken but a McMenamin of 2 or 3 yrs ago, anything at all thats going Roper is stuck in the middle of it, be it the FF line or FB line.
i think Donegal have done fierce well this year no doubt but in my mind there isn't another team in Ireland that has fielded as strong a
starting 15 as consistently and you have to wonder if it can be maintained through Aug / Sept.
Post by: J70 on April 18, 2007, 02:37:06 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 18, 2007, 02:18:48 PM

Point taken but a McMenamin of 2 or 3 yrs ago, anything at all thats going Roper is stuck in the middle of it, be it the FF line or FB line.
i think Donegal have done fierce well this year no doubt but in my mind there isn't another team in Ireland that has fielded as strong a
starting 15 as consistently and you have to wonder if it can be maintained through Aug / Sept.

Roper is a hothead, no question, and he has cost us in the past by leaving us a man down, but he probably wouldn't be the same player without his temperament.

As for our long-term chances, I'm optimistic, but I've been stung too many times in the past to get too hopeful. However, looking back to last year, we would have hammered Cork with Devenney and McFadden in the team, given the space and good ball the forwards were getting that day. We were unlucky to go out at the quarter-final stage last year with an inexperienced and half-fit full-forward line, so I would hope that we can go at least that far this year, and hopefully take another step or even two. Depends on the draw, on injuries and on form obviously, but we do have a lot more alternatives than last season.
Post by: dodo on April 18, 2007, 03:39:54 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 18, 2007, 06:44:18 AM

A championship starting 15?
its a long way to Aug/Sept, Devenney will be a big loss, McFadden will probably go into hiding like he usually does in big games

Donegal played a second string team against Fermanagh bar about 3/4 regulars. They still won that game which is impressive stuff as we all know these local games don't lack for anything ( except first choice players  ;) ). They played Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds also with a much weakened team.

Donegal seem to have a strength in depth this year which has been absent in the past. They have men to step into all positions.

Cassidy and Devenney would be huge losses. It's a pity because I'd rather see Mayo play against quality players like them.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 18, 2007, 04:54:29 PM
This injury thing in Mayo is getting worse and worse. Has anyone ever seen Morvyn play?? Is he any good?, been down to our third choice keeper is really bad. If Kilcullen is out who's to replace him? Heaney or mabye Howley but if Heaney goes there who'll take the midfield position? K O Neill is getting these injuries bad, I wonder would A O Malley or M Conroy take that place?
Post by: J70 on April 18, 2007, 04:56:38 PM
Are all of these injuries real, or is O'Mahoney playing a few mind games?
Post by: ildanach on April 18, 2007, 05:29:13 PM
i would think there are injuries but not so serious as to keep them out, the only ones i can see definately out for sunday are  d brady,t mortimer, mcgarrity, mcdonald and omalley- but that is a heavey injury list 3 definate starters if availabel.
Post by: Greenabovethered on April 18, 2007, 05:44:48 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on April 18, 2007, 04:54:29 PM
This injury thing in Mayo is getting worse and worse. Has anyone ever seen Morvyn play?? Is he any good?, been down to our third choice keeper is really bad. If Kilcullen is out who's to replace him? Heaney or mabye Howley but if Heaney goes there who'll take the midfield position? K O Neill is getting these injuries bad, I wonder would A O Malley or M Conroy take that place?
[/quote

Morvyn??????? Surely they could dig Fintan Ruddy or John Madden out retirement. Even John Healy would be worth the nod. First call up for Mayo, League Final in Croke Park, it could all end in tears. Does Paddy Kenny have a Mayo Granny?
Post by: dodo on April 18, 2007, 05:58:40 PM
Quote from: ildanach on April 18, 2007, 05:29:13 PM
i would think there are injuries but not so serious as to keep them out, the only ones i can see definately out for sunday are  d brady,t mortimer, mcgarrity, mcdonald and omalley- but that is a heavey injury list 3 definate starters if availabel.

It is surely a long injury list. But they have all bar O'Malley been absent for the majority of the league, which is encouraging from the point that we have still won all our games except for Donegal and got to the final.

McDonald been out since AI final '06
D Brady and McGarrity out since late february
T Mortimer has not played regularly since 2005

K O'Malley and D Clarke will be big losses as it forces us to play a relative unknown untried goalie. He could be the hero come sunday though  :P.

Post by: highfielder on April 18, 2007, 07:19:24 PM
lads mayo sent up the second string team to tyrone left the big guns on the bench and still won comfortably
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 18, 2007, 08:02:33 PM
Yes highfielder but we now are going into our third string players, this means one of two things we are in trouble, or the depth of available talent in Mayo is breath-taking.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 18, 2007, 09:43:47 PM
Yeah, without a lot of our players we can win, hard to know how we get beaten with our full team out! But the situation now is getting very bad, now having to resort to unknowen players!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 18, 2007, 11:08:05 PM
Garymore it seems, any of his clubmen or past opposition have any views, best of luck to him & McNuty the U-21s second goalkeeper who is also filling in for O'Malley
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 19, 2007, 09:36:17 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 18, 2007, 04:56:38 PM
Are all of these injuries real, or is O'Mahoney playing a few mind games?

I wish it was just mind games but I doubt it very much. Anytime Jonno has said we have injuries it has been true, so unfortunately we could be in dire trouble this weekend. Hopefully they are minor injuries and most of the latest casualties will get through 70 mins. It would be much better for both sides to play strong opposition, no point winning a league and raising expectations only for problems to appear in the c'ship.
Post by: rosnarun on April 19, 2007, 10:50:28 AM
QuoteJohn Madden
FFSI hope thats not JOM writing under a false name.
any thruth in the rumour (ive just made up ) the dermot geraghty is being recalled to mark Kevin Mcmenemen neither of the over 5 foot, Id pay to see that  it'd be like watching a really good under 12 match
Post by: Msgr. Horan on April 19, 2007, 11:03:45 AM
All I want from Sunday is a good solid performance, especially from the key number 3 and 6 positions. I dont expect any miracles in midfield because I think we all know we only making the best of what we have there until some of the missing men return. We're still winning a fair share of breaking ball which is encouraging. Thats no knock on Heaney who is doing a fine job under the circumstances, I think we all just know its a stop gap and if DB or RMCG return then he'll be in the 6 jersey. I dont know where BJ goes then, but hes good enough to deserve a spot in the team. thats not sentiment, hes one of the few players you can be guaranteed will always give 100% and it was a testemant to him that he didnt go missing last September in Croker. I dont know why he was subbed that day.
Anyway, hoping for a solid performance, I dont really care about the result that much, more the performance although granted if the win is there for the taking in the last 5 minutes we would be very glad of it.
One thing I'm starting to like about this team is that we are becoming stickey f**kers who dont really know when they are beating. The victory over Galway was a Meath under Sean Boylan type situation. To be fair Galway should have had the game wrapped up but we hung in there and snuck it. The same thing has happened this year against Cork, Dublin and you could even argue Tyrone. Thats the most encourgaging thing I've seen so far under Johno's reign.
Post by: nephinbeg on April 19, 2007, 01:38:15 PM
padden could maybe do a job at 14 as we still need some form of physical prescence. Padden can play anywhere and maybe thats his downfall but he has yet to get a runa round a chb despite marking some good footballers there, as a belmullet freind of mne told me, only two men have scored of him in the league so far. I did not think he should have started the aif last year but turns out he was our best player that day by a long way, still got subbed - was madness. 

We need Harte in the thick if things on sunday, and maybe another run for aom as wee need a little more bulk against these fella,  they will run riot in the middle when they did not, Just hope we win !!!!!
Post by: Maradona on April 19, 2007, 01:51:40 PM
In fairness lads, feck the performance, the result is everything on Sunday. Our last two managers got us to AI Finals and we were badly beaten and we all blamed the management for it. Now the man the majority of us wanted has us in another final, can he do any different? Please dont say 'its only the league' because that is bull. If Mayo arnt good enough or arnt motivated enough to go out and beat Donegal with all the stuff that has been, then we may as well admit we will not do it under this group of players. We have beaten Tyrones, Dublins, Galways in big matches over the years, now its time we started doing it in finals. All due respect to Donegal, but they are not yet Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh or even Dublin. I am surprised the media have not made more of 'Mayo - another final - can they do it' thing, but behind the facade I imagine the management and the players know Sunday is a mini watershed for them and I expect the performance to match that.
Expecting that, I expect a win.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on April 19, 2007, 03:25:59 PM
Quote from: Maradona on April 19, 2007, 01:51:40 PM
In fairness lads, feck the performance, the result is everything on Sunday. Our last two managers got us to AI Finals and we were badly beaten and we all blamed the management for it. Now the man the majority of us wanted has us in another final, can he do any different? Please dont say 'its only the league' because that is bull. If Mayo arnt good enough or arnt motivated enough to go out and beat Donegal with all the stuff that has been, then we may as well admit we will not do it under this group of players. We have beaten Tyrones, Dublins, Galways in big matches over the years, now its time we started doing it in finals. All due respect to Donegal, but they are not yet Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh or even Dublin. I am surprised the media have not made more of 'Mayo - another final - can they do it' thing, but behind the facade I imagine the management and the players know Sunday is a mini watershed for them and I expect the performance to match that.
Expecting that, I expect a win.

I dont agree with you Maradonna, we won the league in 2001, and Cross and Ballina have won All Ireland finals in Croker so that removes the hoodoo of Mayo teams not being able to win finals. The reason an good performance is required as this is what will tell us where we potentially stand for the championship, as that is what the real goal has to be. I dont know about you, but I wont be too happy if "all" we win is the league and have a dismal championship. Lets be honest here about how important the performance is versus the result, in both Laois games and the Dublin game we allowed the result to paper over the performance. In all 3 games our backs were complete shite and we all know what happened versus Kerry.
I'd be perfectly happy to win the league but would have serious concerns if the performance is not up to par given its only 4 weeks till the championship and the big one versus the Tribesmen. Donegal will be mad to win this one as the press are blowing shite about them not being able to win a final since 91. I'd gladly swtich places with them if we had won Sam that recently.
Post by: Maradona on April 19, 2007, 03:37:34 PM
That is fundamentally what is wrong with Mayo, afraid to go and f#cking win and admit to wanting to!! We should go out and win the bloody league, put it in a box, forget about it and then get on with the championship. I would rather win the league than get to the AI final and get hammered.
Jees, the way some of ye are talking ye will accept loosing another national final (providing the performance is good!). When will the penny drop with Mayo people that ALL that matters is winning.
In fairness we only won the league in 2001 because Tyrone could not take part!!
Post by: Tubberman on April 19, 2007, 04:11:19 PM
I'm with the Monsignor on this one.
He's not saying we shouldn't care if we win or not but Maradona, you're treating the league as if it's something we desperately need to win - it's not!
We won it in 2001 and what did that mean come September when Galway were winning Sam Maguire - f*ck all....
The focus is the Championship, we need to be gearing ourselves towards that.
Post by: AbbeySider on April 19, 2007, 04:34:18 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 19, 2007, 04:11:19 PM
I'm with the Monsignor on this one.
He's not saying we shouldn't care if we win or not but Maradona, you're treating the league as if it's something we desperately need to win - it's not!
We won it in 2001 and what did that mean come September when Galway were winning Sam Maguire - f*ck all....
The focus is the Championship, we need to be gearing ourselves towards that.

here, here,

Its not essential that we win on Sunday. Its all about the All-Ireland championship and every game starting with Galway in 4 weeks time.
If we lose to Donegal not many will care apart from the knockers and people who run down the team and management every chance they get.

(that last bit was kinda rantish so il shut up now  ;) )
Post by: Maradona on April 19, 2007, 05:01:32 PM
I accept the Championship is the much bigger fish, but we need to start getting a winning mentality.
If we loose to Donegal, then we are loosers once again in croke park final. If Donegal have more desire or hunger on Sunday, then we should pack it in
Well 2001 meant a lot to me - only time I saw a senior Mayo team lift silverwear in croke park and I have been following Mayo for 25+ years!
Post by: Redgreenery on April 19, 2007, 05:10:28 PM
I think it'd be nice to win the league and yeah it'd be great to see Mayo lift some silverware in Croke Park, but I think all this should be building up to the championship and I think JOM said prior to the league that he'd be using it to see the potential and would experiment and would be doing all this in the run up to the championship and for the championship. Part of the reason Mayo didnt perform well against Galway last week could well have been because JOM didnt want to give away too many tactics for May 20th so they didnt stick to the routine that they normally have for this league campaign and to be honest I don't think they gave away too much, but all of that could have been for the championship.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 19, 2007, 05:16:16 PM
Mayo should go all out to put down a marker for the year ahead, beating a good & strong team like Donegal in a National Final should set the tone for the year ahead.

Mayo should have the goal of blitzing all titles @ all levels, mens & womens, the ambition to win them all will ensure we win at least some & maybe even the big one.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 19, 2007, 05:20:13 PM
From gaa.ie:

NFL DIV 1 FINAL

Croke Park 4pm: Mayo v Donegal

These sides last met in the regulation rounds of the league, when Donegal saw off Mayo 1-13 to 1-10 at MacCumhaill Park with Ryan Bradley hitting the all-important goal.

Mayo boss John O'Mahony stated after his side's league semi-final defeat of Galway that it is the Tribesmen who hold the psychological advantage going into their Connacht Championship tie next month.

Given the league result, does this mean Mayo will hold a mental advantage over Donegal on Sunday?

Doubtful. The league has seen Donegal unbeaten to date with seven wins and one draw, while Mayo managed seven wins and one defeat - to the Tir Chonaill men.

Donegal (11-10) have never lifted a league title and the bookies have their opposition on Sunday as ever so slight favourites (Evens). Bookmakers in the north west though are likely to disagree with those odds.

The sides have similar styles, both playing quick ball into their forwards. Donegal appear to have an edge in the physical stakes, though, and the common theme at an Allianz National Football League final press conference during the week was of the game being won and lost at centre field.

Neither manager is expected to name their side until the weekend due to a host of respective injury concerns.

Mayo skipper and corner forward Kevin O'Neill has a calf strain, while goalkeeper David Clarke and centre back Billy Joe Padden are suffering from hamstring complaints.

Forward Trevor Mortimer is ruled out with a broken leg but full back James Kilcullen might recover in time from his groin problem. To evidence the concern - just 11 players took part in a training session in Castlebar on Tuesday night.

Brian McIver's panel, meanwhile, has been hit by a mini injury crisis of its own. Leon Thompson has been ruled out for the remainder of the year after suffering severe ligament damage in the sixth round clash with Limerick.

Brendan Devenney and Paddy McConigley are rated highly doubtful, but Rory Kavanagh and Neil McGee may recover in time.

All-in-all, Donegal have made immense progress in little over a year and the step up to Division 1 hasn't fazed them one little bit. Mayo on the other hand are going well but they seem to hit a mental barrier on the big days. Whether O'Mahony has instilled the necessary steel so early in the season will become known around a quarter to six on Sunday evening.

VERDICT: Donegal.

Post by: stephenite on April 20, 2007, 12:37:00 AM
Mayo team named

David Clarke (D. Ó Cléirigh) - Beal an Átha
Liam O'Malley (L. Ó Máille) - Buireas Uamhaill
James Kilcullen (S. MacGiolla Chaillín) - Bealach an Doirin
Keith Higgins (C. Ó hUiginn) - Béal Átha hAmhnais
Enda Devenney (E. Ó Duibheannaigh) - Beal an Átha
Billy Joe Padden (L.S. MacPhaidín) - Béal an Mhuirthead
Peadar Gardiner (P. Ó Gairnéir) - Crois Mhaoilíona
Pat Harte (P. Ó hAirt) - Beal an Átha
David Heaney (D. Ó hÉanaigh) - Béal Átha na Muice
Ger Brady (G. Ó Brádaigh) - Beal an Átha
Kevin O'Neill - Captain (C. Ó Néill) – Na Fianna
Andy Moran (A. Ó Moráin) - Bealach an Doirin
Michael Conroy (M. Ó Conraí) - Na Daibhéidigh
Alan Dillon (A. Diolún) - Baile an Tobair
Conor Mortimer (C. Ó Muireartaigh) - Sruthair-Gleann Coirib
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2007, 01:07:31 AM
Donegal to win
Post by: dodo on April 20, 2007, 02:55:26 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2007, 01:07:31 AM
Donegal to win

The GAAboard analyst at his terse best !
Post by: aodhruadh on April 20, 2007, 09:00:12 AM
Cassidy is free to play on Sunday

Heres hoping for a better game than the 1992 All Ireland Semifinal.

Donegal to come from behind and win by 2.
Post by: AbbeySider on April 20, 2007, 10:40:28 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 20, 2007, 12:37:00 AM
Mayo team named

David Clarke (D. Ó Cléirigh) - Beal an Átha
Liam O'Malley (L. Ó Máille) - Buireas Uamhaill
James Kilcullen (S. MacGiolla Chaillín) - Bealach an Doirin
Keith Higgins (C. Ó hUiginn) - Béal Átha hAmhnais
Enda Devenney (E. Ó Duibheannaigh) - Beal an Átha
Billy Joe Padden (L.S. MacPhaidín) - Béal an Mhuirthead
Peadar Gardiner (P. Ó Gairnéir) - Crois Mhaoilíona
Pat Harte (P. Ó hAirt) - Beal an Átha
David Heaney (D. Ó hÉanaigh) - Béal Átha na Muice
Ger Brady (G. Ó Brádaigh) - Beal an Átha
Kevin O'Neill - Captain (C. Ó Néill) – Na Fianna
Andy Moran (A. Ó Moráin) - Bealach an Doirin
Michael Conroy (M. Ó Conraí) - Na Daibhéidigh
Alan Dillon (A. Diolún) - Baile an Tobair
Conor Mortimer (C. Ó Muireartaigh) - Sruthair-Gleann Coirib

Stephenite I wonder is that the correct team? Im guessing you got the above from the Mayo GAA site?
There is a different team selected on RTE Sport - http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0419/mayo.html

Mayo team:
D Clarke,
K Higgins,
J Kilcullen,
L O'Malley,
E Devenney,
BJ Padden,
P Gardiner,
P Harte,
D Heaney,
A Dillon,
A Moran,
M Conry,
C Mortimer,
G Brady,
K O'Neill

I have a feeling that RTE got it wrong. I doubt that Conroy will be wing forward. Id say he will swap with O Neill

Edit:
The hogan stand have gone with the team RTE have announced...
Post by: MrC on April 20, 2007, 11:15:16 AM
The Donegal team will be names at 1pm.

Great news about Cassidy getting his clearance - we'd have been a much weakened side without him. Hopefully his fellow Gaoth Dobhair man, Neil McGee, is okay to play. Rory Kav, Devenney and McConigley also struggling so hopefully some, if not al, will be okay. Will be a tight one alright, but hopefully big Neil will be collecting the silverware on Sunday.

Tir Chonaill Abu!
Post by: Msgr. Horan on April 20, 2007, 11:34:20 AM
Quote from: Maradona on April 19, 2007, 03:37:34 PM
That is fundamentally what is wrong with Mayo, afraid to go and f#cking win and admit to wanting to!! We should go out and win the bloody league, put it in a box, forget about it and then get on with the championship. I would rather win the league than get to the AI final and get hammered.
Jees, the way some of ye are talking ye will accept loosing another national final (providing the performance is good!). When will the penny drop with Mayo people that ALL that matters is winning.
In fairness we only won the league in 2001 because Tyrone could not take part!!

Your not getting my point, of course I want Mayo to win the league, they've got this far might as well win the bloody thing and the last thing I want to hear is every man and his dog going on about how Mayo "always choke in finals". I live in Cork so trust me its not fecken easy listening to da boys who rattle off an All Ireland in some grade whenever they feel like it. What I'm saying is that win lose or draw I want to come out of there reasonably confident that we know where we are going for the championship.  A win alone with a shite performance with lots of questions hanging over the team will not be filling me with the joys of spring. Sam is all that matters. Louth have won the f**king thing more recently than us for Gods sake (no offence Louthmen)
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on April 20, 2007, 11:40:01 AM
Just looking at the teams records over the last couple of years - both have had bad losses in Croke park.

Mayo may not have won Sam but they have been consistently picking up Connaught title over the years (and a national league title in '01).
While Donegal have won nothing since 1992.That is a long, long time without any silver ware.

The context makes this a big game - the boost from winning a national title for either side can't be over estimated.
2006 - Kerry - All Ireland Champions
2005 - Armagh - Ulster Champions
2004 - Kerry - All-Ireland and Munster Champions
2003 - Tyrone - All-Ireland and Ulster Champions
2002 - Tyrone - Lost to Sligo in qualifiers
2001 - Mayo - Lost to Roscommon in Connaught final and Westmeath in qualifiers.
2000 - Derry - lost Ulster final to Armagh.

The other point I would like to make is that the loser of the national league final in recent years have disintegrated when the championship comes around.
Only Galway have won an All-Ireland quarter final after having lost the league final and that was the first year of the back door.
2006 - Galway (lost to Mayo in Connaught final and to Westmeath in the qualifiers)
2005 - Wexford (lost to Dublin in Leinster semi and Monaghan in qualifiers)
2004 - Galway (Lost to Mayo in Connaught Semi final and to Tyrone in qualifiers)
2003 - (Laois - won Leinster and lost to Armagh in Quarter final)
2002 - Cavan (don't know who beat them in Ulster but lost to Limerick at home in the qualifiers)
2001 - Galway (Lost to Roscommon in Connaught semi but had a small measure of consolation by winning the All-Ireland)
2000 - Meath - lost to Offaly in the Leinster Quarter Final.

I only saw the games against us on telly and the Mayo one came too early to tell us anything.
Would loved to have seen what would have happened if Mr Donaghy was on for the whole game against Donegal.
Donegal outscored us 1-5 to 0-1 in the last quarter and deservably won and I was impressed with their style of play.
A far cry for the poor forward display shown against Cork last August.

As stated I think defeat will linger with the loser into the championship even if people says it's only the league, If Mayo were at full strength I would back them but Donegal get my hesitant vote.
Donegal 1-12 Mayo 1-10. Really looking forward to the game.

ps Best of luck to Tralee CBS who are aiming to become only the third Kerry school to win the Hogan cup following Killarney (2 Titles) and Intermediate School Killorgin with their 1 title.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on April 20, 2007, 01:24:54 PM
As a Mayo man it pains me to say this but I would ahve to make Donegal favourites. They have been far and away the best team in the league and we have only really gotten to the knock outs by nature of the fact that tyrone and Kerry cancelled eachother out in tralee and Dublin inexplicably couldnt score in a whole 35 mins of football. They are bigger in most departments and have arguably better forwards.
A positive for Mayo is that this team seems to be gaining a reputation as sticky f**kers, theres been quiet a few games in this campaign where we were bested but we still managed to win. Might be the same on Sunday.
Post by: J70 on April 20, 2007, 01:31:45 PM
Great news that Cass has been exonerated. It would be tough on him to miss a league final again after last year.

Devenney will be a big loss, but the most important thing is that he is fit for the Armagh game.

I presume McMenamin will take his place?
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 20, 2007, 01:37:16 PM
I'd back us if we had a full team, just about anyway. But considering who we're missing and the fact that Donegal are a good side in even better form means we're up against it. Cassidy got the all clear to play, so the only other big player they are waiting on is Devenney. Consider our losses: DB, McGarrity and McDonald, Trevor would probably make the team aswell so we are alot weaker looking. If somehow we can improve at midfield and win more ball, I think our forwards have enough about them to get the scores to win it, but midfield will have to win alot more ball than last week if we are to have any chance.
Post by: MrC on April 20, 2007, 02:22:21 PM
The Donegal team has been named. Two changes from last week see Paddy McConigley and Brendan Devenney replaced by Thomas Donoghue and Kevin McMenamin

Paul Durcan

Neil McGee
Paddy Campbell
Karl Lacey

Thomas Donoghue
Barry Monaghan
Barry Dunnion

Neil Gallagher
Kevin Cassidy

Ciaran Bonner
Brian Roper
Christy Toye

Kevin McMenamin
Colm McFadden
Michael Hegarty
Post by: johnjoe on April 20, 2007, 02:50:25 PM
Would be good to see Brian Mc Iver win another national title. Top man he surely is.
Post by: loughshore lad on April 20, 2007, 02:55:25 PM
Quote from: johnjoe on April 20, 2007, 02:50:25 PM
Would be good to see Brian Mc Iver win another national title. Top man he surely is.

Totally agree one of the best managers in the business (in my opinion the best) it is no coincidence Donegal are doing so well under his guidance. Would love to see him take the helm in Tyrone when Harte decides to srep down.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 20, 2007, 03:58:27 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on April 20, 2007, 02:55:25 PM
Quote from: johnjoe on April 20, 2007, 02:50:25 PM

Totally agree one of the best managers in the business (in my opinion the best) it is no coincidence Donegal are doing so well under his guidance. Would love to see him take the helm in Tyrone when Harte decides to srep down.

Would agree there Loughshore Lad, he definitely has what it takes. Heading along to Croke on Sunday myself, to shout for the Ulster contingent.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 20, 2007, 05:39:10 PM
Well at least the rumours of Mayo been without J Killcullen, D Clarke and K O Neill were wrong! This is good news for Mayo. Any news on D Brady?
Hard to say how this game goes, guess it just depends on the performance and bit of luck on the day but it'll be defineatly be tight.

Just wondering what would happen if the game ended in a draw,would it go to extra time or a replay?
Post by: Msgr. Horan on April 20, 2007, 05:54:56 PM
Extra time I think, I dont think DB is fit.
Post by: rosnarun on April 20, 2007, 06:33:30 PM
not donegals fault but the whole Disiplinary process has be made a laughing stock of again. It seems any one with enough money thickness can get off with any suspension. the Mayo county board really have something to answer for when it let conor serve 3 months last year just for telling an umpire where to stick his flag.
Post by: J70 on April 20, 2007, 06:44:52 PM
I thought they'd used video evidence to exonerate Cassidy?
Post by: criostlinn on April 20, 2007, 06:59:33 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on April 20, 2007, 05:39:10 PM
Well at least the rumours of Mayo been without J Killcullen, D Clarke and K O Neill were wrong! This is good news for Mayo. Any news on D Brady?
Hard to say how this game goes, guess it just depends on the performance and bit of luck on the day but it'll be defineatly be tight.

Just wondering what would happen if the game ended in a draw,would it go to extra time or a replay?

Im not so sure if the team named will be the same as the team starting. I heard Clarke may not make it . Also I doubt if KON could have recovered that quick. Anyway I hope Im wrong. The semi's were to go to extra time if level so I presume the final will be the same.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 20, 2007, 07:11:32 PM
It seems that I'm not the only one with a pessimistic view from Mayo. I honestly cannot see us winning this game. However, Kildare nearly caught Donegal, I reckion if they had taken their chances they would be in the final instead, so who knows, maybe Mayo will take their chances on Sunday and we (the Mayo bunch) will be smiling on Sunday night. As Redgreenery already said we need a bit of luck on the day and a good performance from the forwards to win. We might win it but I'm not too overly convinced we will.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2007, 07:16:46 PM
Fantastic news about Cass, will bring alot to the game, also after last year it would have been criminal if he'd missed this one.

Think Donegal will win this one by three points.
Post by: Armagh Exile on April 20, 2007, 07:29:41 PM
QuoteDonegal's Kevin Cassidy will be able to play in Sunday's Allianz National League final against Mayo after a successful appeal over a sending-off.
Cassidy had been set for a two-week ban because he had picked up two red cards in a 48-week period.

However, Donegal argued that Cassidy's first red card, in the McKenna Cup against Armagh, had been a mistake.

On Thursday night Ulster Council examined video evidence of that 28 January match and exonerated Cassidy.

I thought you had three days in which to appeal and not almost three months as in this case.
But then once again it's the Ulster Council that is involved.

Good Luck to Donegal on Sunday.

Post by: Tatler Jack on April 21, 2007, 08:23:29 AM
If Donegal take their chances they should win by 3 or 4 points - I think Mayo forwards will find the Donegal defence difficult to break down. However if Donegal waste chances as they did in the AI qtr final last year v Cork then its there for Mayo. While both teams will probably not want to admit it this is an important game as both have to prove they are capable of winning something. In fairness Mayo deserve a lot of credit for the way they have put last Septembers humiliation behind them - lesser teams would have gone into hiding.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 21, 2007, 10:50:56 PM
Both from gaa.ie:

O'Mahony's view:

Mayo boss John O'Mahony feels his side are the underdogs in Sunday's National Football League Division 1 final against Donegal at Croke Park, but added that his side have really pleased him since he took over the job.

He adds that a lot of work has been done in the past few months, with Mayo having won seven out of eight league games - their one defeat coming against Sunday's opposition - and hopes that he can lead the team back to Croke Park in the summer, for another tilt at the All-Ireland title, the final of which they were pummelled by Kerry.

"The one thing that would have pleased me over the last ten weeks - the thing that pleased me the most - is the resilience they have shown. That has been very pleasing," O'Mahony told The Examiner.

"Over the years Donegal played it very short. Now, when they get to the middle of the field, they pump in long diagonal ball.

"Apart from changing their style, he has got everybody (available) playing for Donegal - the best players in the county, big strong men. He has many of the traits of winning championship teams, not to mention winning League teams.

"The evidence is there. Back in January, Donegal was one of the teams I picked for a serious championship run. They played Cork (in last year's All-Ireland quarter-final) and lost, but they had quality players to add - like Colm McFadden, like Brendan Devenney, like Kevin Cassidy and the McGees. It's no surprise to me that they have been doing so well.''

As for his own side, he added: "We try and leave nothing undone to advance the cause of Mayo. The ingredients you need for winning teams is commitment first of all and talent and I think Mayo have a lot of that.

"Mayo have a record of being one of the top two or three teams in the country. Last year was a good example, when they were fantastic in the semi-final. And then the final went the opposite direction.

"We are not in that situation yet, so we don't have to deal with that. We are dealing with the League and we have a mammoth first round (championship) game.

"But I have said this many times over the winter, that I would be delighted to be in the stage Mayo were at on the Monday morning after the Dublin win and take them there to the final. We'll deal with it if it comes. And, we'd have a few ideas on maybe how to work it!"

McIvers view:

Donegal manager Brian McIver expects a large volume of supporters to travel from the Tir Chonaill county to support his side in Sunday's National Football League final against Mayo at Croke Park.

Donegal defeated Kildare, while Mayo beat Connacht rivals Galway in last week's semi-finals at the same venue, but McIver, who has stressed all along as Donegal have gone through an unbeaten league run, says the campaign will only be a success if his charges win on Sunday.

"I think we will have good support tomorrow because there has been a great buzz in the county this week," McIver told The Belfast Telegraph.

"The fact that we have come through the league undefeated has helped to generate momentum but we know that on the bigger scale we will ultimately be judged on how we perform tomorrow."

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 21, 2007, 11:28:07 PM
Heading down on the train tomorrow from belfast or newry -  ripoff bast*rds - £35 from belfast!!!!!!

Don't care though, it will be good to see the Tir Chonaill men lift their first trophy since glorious "92"
Post by: Donagh on April 22, 2007, 01:03:54 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 21, 2007, 11:28:07 PM
Heading down on the train tomorrow from belfast or newry -  ripoff bast*rds - £35 from belfast!!!!!!

Don't care though, it will be good to see the Tir Chonaill men lift their first trophy since glorious "92"

You don't get to Dublin much then Gwee ;D  Bus leaves from the Europa, £12 return. Runs 24 hours...

But you'll need a passport :o
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 22, 2007, 01:31:31 PM
Here's hoping for a good game of football. I think it will be a good one, and it would be nice if it was rounded off with a Mayo win! :)
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 04:43:50 PM
Even enough first half. Donegal got a couple of important quick scores just as Mayo were threatening to get on top.

Devenney did all right, but he was plainly not fit.

We need to improve a bit at midfield, and Christy Toye needs to stop running into traffic.

All to play for for both sides.
Post by: blast05 on April 22, 2007, 04:53:25 PM
Gardiner getting roasted for Mayo.
Moran the only Mayo forward for the 1st 20 minutes
John Maughan excessive negative talk re Mayo on the radio !!
And killing me i can't be there  >:(
Post by: tyroneboi on April 22, 2007, 05:06:15 PM
wats the score?
Post by: Tatler Jack on April 22, 2007, 05:08:41 PM
Donegal leading 9 pts to 7 after 15 mins. Sounds dreadful
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:08:56 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on April 22, 2007, 05:06:15 PM
wats the score?

9-7 to Donegal

20 minutes to go.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on April 22, 2007, 05:09:57 PM
9-8 mortimer free
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:10:28 PM
9-8

Its very scrappy all right.
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2007, 05:12:40 PM
Donegal starting to concede quite a few frees - Andy Moran appears to be Mayo stand out player, Mortimer scores with another free. Score level - C'mon Mayo
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:13:36 PM
All level. Bannon's giving a few handy frees out.
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2007, 05:15:16 PM
Donegal back in front by one
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2007, 05:18:36 PM
Level again, Andy Moran points what was apparently a good goal chance
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:25:14 PM
Ciaran Bonner stretchered off after lengthy treatment. Took a hard hit from a Mayo player.

Adrian Sweeney on.

We lost Neil Gallagher a few minutes ago as well with a head cut.
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2007, 05:30:17 PM
8 minutes additional time!!

Kilcoyne and Howley just on for Mayo - Donegal just take the lead with another point
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:30:24 PM
Rory Kavanagh puts Donegal ahead in injury time.
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:32:34 PM
Super point from Eamon McGee!
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2007, 05:33:31 PM
Aiden Campbell just on - still at least 4 minutes
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:35:55 PM
Go on Eddie!
Post by: Tatler Jack on April 22, 2007, 05:36:08 PM
Donegal 3 pts up - minute or so left
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2007, 05:36:28 PM
Adrian Sweeney just points to put the Donegal boys 3 points in front, Mid West say it was a score that deserves to win the match!! Mayo need a goal now
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 22, 2007, 05:36:59 PM
All over.

Donegal 0-13
Mayo 0-10

Congrats to Donegal.
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2007, 05:38:48 PM
Congrats to Donegal on their first National League title, sounded like a pretty good match and a deserved victory.

Hopefully they'll go easy on the celebrations ;), Armagh is the big prize for ye this year
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 22, 2007, 05:40:02 PM
Quote from: stephenite on April 22, 2007, 05:38:48 PM
Hopefully they'll go easy on the celebrations ;),

Fat chance. ;D
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:52:21 PM
I thought Mayo had us when they got level in the last ten minutes. Maybe the injury to Ciaran Bonner came at a bad time for them. It took three fabulous points from the subs to finish it off in the last few minutes.

Great to win, and a big confidence booster ahead of the Championship. Hopefully they'll be allowed a night out without it making international headlines!

Plenty to work on still. Mayo had the better of the midfield, while we gave away a rake of scoreable frees in our left corner. However, in previous years, Donegal would have folded when Mayo came back. It may be only the league, but its very nice to finally win it!
Post by: ziggysego on April 22, 2007, 06:04:12 PM
Congratulations to Donegal on winning the Division 1 National League title. A hard hitting and entertaining game of football. Getting worried now for the Ulster Championship.  ;)
Post by: Bensars on April 22, 2007, 06:08:58 PM
congratulations to Donegal............................They will be in shake up later in the year.

And yet another long drive home for the mayo faithful, the only thing is they have plentyy of practice!!
Post by: armaghniac on April 22, 2007, 06:59:45 PM
QuoteGetting worried now for the Ulster Championship.  Wink

Don't worry Ziggy, we in Armagh will do our level best to relieve Tyrone of the burden of having to beat a resurgent Donegal in the Ulster championship.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 22, 2007, 07:17:48 PM
Congratulations to Donegal - glad to see them and their supporters get a day in the sun!

The Championship game will be a tough one for Armagh - and with that victory today, Clones would have probably been sold out! A lot of people will miss out.
Post by: Bud Wiser on April 22, 2007, 07:23:17 PM
If Galway had beaten Mayo in the semi-final I'd say they would have had more of a thirst for this game, - Ooops.
Post by: Caitlin on April 22, 2007, 07:32:16 PM
Well done J70 and all the Donegal people- you were the best team in the league and deserved it. What about the injury to Ciaran Bonner ?I think I saw him in the celebrations so hopefully he is OK- at one stage the physio put him in the recovery position so it looked bad.He's a first cousin of a good friend of mine and I've met him a couple of times - mad for football. He got a lot of bad press for the blind-side tackle on the Fermanagh player last year but he plays a very physical game- like Toye and Kavangh , they cover some ground- I thought Kavanagh could have come on sooner although delighted for Adrian Sweeney. Was Devennney injured or just took off ?Anyway, the game in Ballybofey will be a hum-dinger- is it live ?Should be - the pick of the first round games anywhere
Post by: ziggysego on April 22, 2007, 07:36:47 PM
I think he had a bit of concussion, but is basically ok. Nothing's going to keep him down tonight. Party time in Dublin tonight and Donegal tomorrow.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 22, 2007, 07:40:00 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 22, 2007, 05:52:21 PM
I thought Mayo had us when they got level in the last ten minutes. Maybe the injury to Ciaran Bonner came at a bad time for them. It took three fabulous points from the subs to finish it off in the last few minutes.

Totally agree with what you say there. We were beginning to get on top at that stage but the stoppage kinda put a halt to that. Anyway, scrappy enough game I suppose, we got a few soft frees but you'll have that. I also thought that losing this wouldn't be too bad but it is. I wasn't there when we won the league in 01 and it would be nice to see the newspapers saying something positive about Mayo instead of chokers. The texts were flying in within 15 minutes of us losing of people saying those things. At least D Brady will be back for the game against Galway to win some primary possession around the middle of the field (although I have to say when we were getting on top towards the end J Nallen was catching cleanly). Peadar Gardiner must have let the occasion get to him as he was captain to start because he was woeful. Liam O'Malley had his hands full with McFadden. Mayo's stand out player was Andy Moran followed by Keith Higgins who I thouhgt did well against the Donegal forwards.

Well done to Donegal though.
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 07:46:11 PM
I think Devenney's injury ended his game. He didn't look too fit to me in the half-hour he played, although he did fine whenever he got on the ball. Even when he played a couple of passes in to McFadden and Roper to set up early scores, he looked a bit restricted. I'd say once it started bothering him a lot they took him off. Or maybe he pulled something else that time he got in on goal, just before he came off.
Post by: Tatler Jack on April 22, 2007, 08:07:03 PM
QuotePeadar Gardiner must have let the occasion get to him as he was captain

Gardiner does not seem to perform on the big day. Was a big disappointment also last Sept
Post by: mayo51 on April 22, 2007, 08:26:09 PM
good game today with donegal deserving their victory.from a mayo perspective,after a slow start we came into the game well.higgins , omalley and padden done well for mayo in defense while heaney and nallen done ok in midfield.andy moran and dillion were the pick of the forwards.for me conroy,ger brady and devenny are not good enough for inter county football.brady turns the ball over all the time and just does not work hard enough.devveny is not up to the pace of inter county football and again loses the ball easily in the tackle.also it looks as if killcullen will not be the fullback on may 20 and i think omalley will fill that position.we may get past galway on may 20 but to be serious contenders for the all ireland we need mcdonald and morttimer back on the team.
Post by: blasmere on April 22, 2007, 08:33:43 PM
Congratulations to Donegal, fully deserved victory.

Nice to see that it meant so much to them.

The race for Sam is wide open this year and Donegal have as good a chance as any, injuries permitting.
Post by: Shrewdness on April 22, 2007, 08:43:12 PM
If i was a Mayo person, i wouldn't be looking at the All Ireland picture at all. Don't forget that Mc Donald was there in 97, 04 and 06 and didn't really perform on any of those occasions. I think Mayo have problems at full back for starters. Just 4 weeks to the Galway game, and no stand out candidate springs to mind.

When O'Neill didn't start, why didn't O'Mahony include a recognised forward in his place?. I think the last week has exposed weaknesses in this Mayo team, and with the championship so close, Johno has much to ponder.

I wouldn't be surprised at all if Galway take them on May 20.
Post by: redhandluke on April 22, 2007, 09:09:24 PM
Congrats to Donegal, definitely the best team in the league this year.  Great game today although I thought Mayo depended too much on Mortimer looking and scoring frees - goes down too easily in my opinion.

Thought McGee, Dunnion and in particular Roper had great games today, but the highlight was Rory Kavanagh's point - great dummy with the left and scoring with the right - great stuff.
Post by: Pangurban on April 22, 2007, 09:17:52 PM
Good game of Football,congragulations to Donegal, but was it only me or did any-one else note,that every decision of the referee was hotly disputed by players from both sides. This is a worrying trend in the G.A.A. which seems to be getting worse. If it continues i forsee a time we will have no whistlers, who would take that kind of abuse week in and week out
Post by: aodhruadh on April 22, 2007, 11:06:35 PM
A wonderful day in Croke Park, the hoodoo of losing finals finally put to bed. And a great atmosphere at the presentation of the cup and for 30mins afterwards as the team did their lap of honour with Goats Dont Shave pumping out over the PA system.

Some magnificent point taking by Roper, Sweeney, McGee, Wappa , Bonner etc.

Thought we were in trouble when Mayo got level. Couldn't understand how Toye was still on, and Sweeney on the sidelines.

Hopefully the team sober up for the big tests around the corner.  :-\
Post by: J70 on April 22, 2007, 11:23:42 PM
They've got five weeks. McIver will have them back out running on Thursday! And its Armagh - motivation will not be a problem! Plus, any boys who slacken up will be out of the team - replacements are not scarce this year!
Post by: Redgreenery on April 22, 2007, 11:32:45 PM
First- Congrats to Donegal.
Twas a fairly entertaining game, I thought Mayo played well enough. On the Mayo side I'd say the stand out players were A Moran and Heaney. I thought Jimmy Nallen played quite well and his old legs brought him through the game as well as they could. To me the game could have gone either way, while Bonner was down if Dillion scored that free I think it would have been a different result. I thought Ger Brady had a very bad game, he gave away alot of possesion but he did pass a good ball to Maran which presented a goal scoring oppertunity. C Mort didnt have his best game, even though he did score 6 points, but most of them were from frees and on fairness to him he was well marked.

Overall it is unfortunate that it has resulted in the same old story about Mayo and finals in Croker, but at least we wertent hammered and we stuck tight in the game and shouldnt have lost by 3 points, Mayo played well enough, it's not the end of the world lads, in 3 weeks the championship starts and we'll have D Brady, T Mort and probably a few more back and hopefully McD and McGarrity will come back during the championship, we'll be back and we'll have to keep the faith.
Post by: loughshore lad on April 23, 2007, 09:01:20 AM
Congratulations to Donegal and Brian McIver who is a top man. I said on this board a while back that Donegal could be real conteners this year and yesterday reinforced that opinion. It was a highly entertaining game played at an almost championship like pace. I like the look of Donegal they are a big, strong athletic team and seem to have better options in attack this year compared to last. Their style of play has McIvers fingerprints all over it.
Post by: amallon on April 23, 2007, 09:17:20 AM
Congrats to Donegal on their well deserved win.  Donegal must really be contenders this year, they are on the tough side of the draw in Ulster but I think they have the firepower to win Ulster and maybe go all the way.  Mayo can take a lot of positives from their league performance as well, both teams will be there or there abouts in the later stages of the championship.  I wouldn't like Down to meet either of them!
Post by: AbbeySider on April 23, 2007, 09:24:45 AM
Hats off and Congrats to Donegal. It wasnt a bad performance by Mayo. It was an exciting game with a nail biting last 20 minutes. I was impressed by the physicality of Donegal. They are a very strong pack and are in great shape for this time of year. The subs that came on for them did the business in the end.

I felt that we were chasing a win when and then Sweeney came on for Bonner. We seemed to be getting on top before there was a substantial break in the play that took the sting out of it. Im still proud of the Mayo performance considering we were under strength on the day. They never gave up and it could have gone either way. Thrilling finish. Well done Donegal!
Post by: redhandluke on April 23, 2007, 09:40:38 AM
"but at least we wertent hammered...."
:D :D :D
Redgreenery, just what I needed on a Monday morning.
Post by: Hardy on April 23, 2007, 10:03:11 AM
Quoteevery decision of the referee was hotly disputed by players from both sides. This is a worrying trend in the G.A.A. which seems to be getting worse. If it continues i forsee a time we will have no whistlers, who would take that kind of abuse week in and week out
I agree Pangurban. Nicky Brennan would do well to make this the goal of his presidency, instead of smoothing the path towards pay for play. There's no great mystery about what's needed - just copy rugby's rules and sanctions about respect for the ref.

And the second big problem is encapsulated here
QuoteMortimer ... goes down too easily in my opinion.
Not just Mortimer, of course (though his extravagant back-flip from a kneeling position yesterday was a new low). But can we please stamp this stuff out? Again, perhaps we can learn from the rugby ethos - manliness is a value. It's very strange that in our amateur game, where we're playing essentially for honour, we would descend to this lowest form of cheating, while the ethos of honour still largely survives even in professional rugby. Could that be because it's enforced?

If players have had their heads so turned by professional soccer and junk sport in general that they can't understand enough about why they're playing to behave with honour, then it'll have to be enforced. Severe sanctions for divers, using video evidence.
Post by: Jinxy on April 23, 2007, 10:10:35 AM
Mortimer has now become the primary exponent of physics-defying aerobatics (Sean Cavanagh close second) in the pursuit of a soft free. How someone can vault backwards after being pulled forwards has me bamboozled.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 23, 2007, 10:18:44 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on April 22, 2007, 09:17:52 PM
Good game of Football,congragulations to Donegal, but was it only me or did any-one else note,that every decision of the referee was hotly disputed by players from both sides. This is a worrying trend in the G.A.A. which seems to be getting worse. If it continues i forsee a time we will have no whistlers, who would take that kind of abuse week in and week out

simple solution to this:
1 - only captain allowed approach the ref
2 - anyone else approaching or querying you bring in the Aussie Rules penalty of a 50 m advance which should put most frees in a scoring range...
Post by: realredhandfan on April 23, 2007, 10:25:23 AM
Dubs for sam good idea about the captains.  Congratulations to Donegal, a long overdue victory.  I have a feeling now for a all green and gold AI final
Post by: realredhandfan on April 23, 2007, 10:27:27 AM
Hardy  retrospective sanctions for divers would in my opinion be an excellent idea.  In that case can Spillane get suspended for an incident in the early 80's.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 23, 2007, 10:55:20 AM
First of all congrats to Donegal, I thought you were just about worth the win yesterday. The break came at the right time for you and you never looked back after that. My initial reaction after the game was things aren't looking too good for us for the summer. Despite what people say, the result wasn't as important to us as it was to Donegal. We won the league in 2001 so we don't crave that cup too much, what was important was a performance and that's what disappointed me. We had far too many players who either underperformed or else aren't good enough. Ger Brady was shocking yesterday, played well below his best even though I don't think his best is good enough anyway at this level, certainly not at CHF. What was encouraging from a Mayo point of view is the way we gave supposed All-Ireland contenders a damn good game with a 2nd/3rd string midfield, no Ciaran Mc (please please get fit), a full back who had to go off after 20 mins, captain who wasn't fit to start and then there is T Mort who would have been useful on a day like yesterday. Donegal weren't far off full pelt bar Devenney so I'm struggling to see how they are genuine All-Ireland contenders at this stage given how they performed against a depleted Mayo team. As for Mayo players ratings, I thought Andy Moran was outstanding, I counted 4 different Donegal backs who had a go at marking him and none could do it. K Higgins was generally good and tried hard all day, Devenney once again is getting harshly critcised, thought he looked the part yesterday, he was the only half back that performed on the day. Jimmy Nallen rolled back the years and had a fine hour until he tired, Heaney was pretty good too, and both gave us a better platform at midfield than I was originally expecting, that was thanks also to Pat Harte who won a lot of ball and broke everything down to Devenney. That was pretty much it though, Conroy was anonymous..... again, Dillon couldn't keep his feet, what studs was the lad wearing?? G Brady, nightmare! All in all we've been getting away with it the last few weeks, especially against Galway last week and finally it caught up with us when we bumped into the best team in the league. Maybe I'm wrong about Donegal, they might have an All-Ireland in them but they have an awful lot of improving to do.
Hard to see an All-Ireland in that Mayo team but if we get all our players back, and we will need all of them, who knows we'll probably be in the shake up again. Roll on Galway in a few weeks time, that's when it starts!
Post by: Hardy on April 23, 2007, 11:09:15 AM
Quote from: realredhandfan on April 23, 2007, 10:27:27 AM
Hardy  retrospective sanctions for divers would in my opinion be an excellent idea.  In that case can Spillane get suspended for an incident in the early 80's.

Great idea. Why not?
Post by: imtommygunn on April 23, 2007, 11:42:17 AM
Interesting game yesterday.

Oops, edit...

Best team probably won.

From Donegal viewpoint I would be a wee bit concerned about full back line though. Paddy Campbell looked poor enough yesterday and the no.2 wasn't too hot. At the end though Donegal were dropping to injuries so they did well to hold on. Devenney coming back will make a big difference and I would expect Kavanagh to make the 15.

Mayo have some good footballers. Moran was superb.Keith HIggins is a good wee player. However where was Conor Mortimer? Gardiner as well?

As a unit the forward line didn't really perform. They seem to have four or five players playing for places who are all at the same level.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on April 23, 2007, 11:45:16 AM
Congratulations to Donegal, dont celebrate too much lads. Lets hope we wont be hearing stories of Monday afternoon sessions in the Abbey tomorrow.
From a Mayo persepctive, disapointing, we had the chance to grab the game and kick on and win it with a few minutes of normal time remaining but didnt do it. We badly need one or two top class forwards who can perform and finish. C Mort isnt it, he has had several chances to shine on the big stage and had not done so, he reminds me a bit of Robbie Keane, can score in the friendlies and in the lesser games but not in the big games. When I say score I mean from play, credit where its due his free taking from the left was immaculate and he seems to have perfected a bit of a technique now even if it seems a bit strange.
cant fault the efforts of the Mayo team, Heaney was immense and was everywhere. Was Kilcullen injured? He didnt look so to me, I though it was a tactical switch by JOM, Higgins did great on Mcfadden when he came on. It was good to see some action from the line when things werent going well, something we've been lacking in the past.
Post by: WJP11 on April 23, 2007, 12:23:40 PM
Well done to Donegal yesterday, congrats on a well-earned NFL title.  For a Mayo-centric perspective on yesterday's events at Croker see: http://mayogaablog.blogspot.com/ (http://mayogaablog.blogspot.com/).
Post by: redhandluke on April 23, 2007, 12:49:09 PM
Good writeup in the Mayo blog, positive spin before the U21 and Senior games made me laugh as follows :

Before U21 game on Sat : We should win today and maybe tomorrow too  :(
Before Senior game on Sun : U21s lose but we can still win today  :(
After Senior game : déjà-vu all over again  ???

Still a good blog though
Post by: MrC on April 23, 2007, 12:53:30 PM
What a day!!!! To hear 'The Hills' being blasted out in Croker and see the green and gold faithful going mental was something really special. Delighted for Brian McIver and his backroom team as well as the players. Particularly pleased for the likes of Sweeney, Roper and Michael Hegarty. 'Eddie' came in yesterday and showed his worth with a fantastic score and wee Ropes played likes a tiger. What a day too for Mickey Hegs to cap off his 100th appearance for Donegal!!

Three super scores to win it for us after looking like we might just throw it away yet again. Kavanagh, Eamon McGee and Eddie's points were sublime.

Was in the Abbey last night - mad craic in there. Place was jam packed. Was a great turnout to welcome them back home.

Away now for a pint!!!  8)

Tir Chonaill Abu!
Post by: MrC on April 23, 2007, 01:02:22 PM
QuoteYou may talk about Atlantis, how it's lost beneath the sea
Or the grave of the unknown soldier and the cry of the old banshee
Who was the man in the iron mask, was Jack the ripper set free?
But ask them all where's Donegal, and it's still a mystery

And if I could I'd build a wall around old Donegal
The north and south to keep them out, my god I'd build it tall
Casinoes, chicken ranches, I'd legalize them all
We'd have our own Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal
Yeah!! Las Vegas in the hills of Donegal

Lay by clubs and all night pubs, black jack and roulette
Mel Gibson, Brigitte Nilsen, Mike Tyson having a bet (bite)
Iniseoghain would then be known for it's multi-millionaires
Where Donald Trump would have a chunk to live in solitaire

To stand on top of fairy hill would give me such a thrill
I've heard them say in Dublin there's gold in them there hills
So don't despair, 'cos if you dare, the answer lies with me
There's a wall that's steep and it's going cheap somewhere in Germany

Post by: Uladh on April 23, 2007, 01:16:08 PM

I see our oul mate bannon was up to his oul tricks again yesterday, making up new rules. nallon has the ball in midfield and rounds his marker and about to drive it inside. he's pulled by the jersey but tears on a few steps and miscues his kick. whats bannon's verdict? free where the ball lands!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 23, 2007, 01:18:53 PM
Great to see Donegal finally break there losing final streak. Enjoyed the game, the final three points were superb coming at the stage they did. Donegal are a well organised team now, with a strong panel. A real big test is coming in a short time, and boy do they owe it to themselves to put one over Armagh. Well done Mc Ivor
Post by: WJP11 on April 23, 2007, 02:18:49 PM
Thanks for the comments on the blog, Redhandluke.  Part and parcel of being a Mayo supporter is to max out on optimism in advance, with crushing reality dawning after the event! I did think we had a good chance in advance of winning both games and while Laois pulled away easy enough from us in the U21s (after a portly ref from your part of the world had done his worst!) we had more than enough ball to win yesterday's final.  The deja vu reference was both to failure (once again) in a final and losing to Donegal by three points (again).
Post by: aodhruadh on April 23, 2007, 02:24:40 PM
Hey Mr C

Did the team come back to the Abbey with the cup last night? Have they stopped drinking yet ?
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on April 23, 2007, 03:41:23 PM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on April 23, 2007, 10:55:20 AM
First of all congrats to Donegal, I thought you were just about worth the win yesterday. The break came at the right time for you and you never looked back after that. My initial reaction after the game was things aren't looking too good for us for the summer. Despite what people say, the result wasn't as important to us as it was to Donegal. We won the league in 2001 so we don't crave that cup too much, what was important was a performance and that's what disappointed me. We had far too many players who either underperformed or else aren't good enough. Ger Brady was shocking yesterday, played well below his best even though I don't think his best is good enough anyway at this level, certainly not at CHF. What was encouraging from a Mayo point of view is the way we gave supposed All-Ireland contenders a damn good game with a 2nd/3rd string midfield, no Ciaran Mc (please please get fit), a full back who had to go off after 20 mins, captain who wasn't fit to start and then there is T Mort who would have been useful on a day like yesterday. Donegal weren't far off full pelt bar Devenney so I'm struggling to see how they are genuine All-Ireland contenders at this stage given how they performed against a depleted Mayo team. As for Mayo players ratings, I thought Andy Moran was outstanding, I counted 4 different Donegal backs who had a go at marking him and none could do it. K Higgins was generally good and tried hard all day, Devenney once again is getting harshly critcised, thought he looked the part yesterday, he was the only half back that performed on the day. Jimmy Nallen rolled back the years and had a fine hour until he tired, Heaney was pretty good too, and both gave us a better platform at midfield than I was originally expecting, that was thanks also to Pat Harte who won a lot of ball and broke everything down to Devenney. That was pretty much it though, Conroy was anonymous..... again, Dillon couldn't keep his feet, what studs was the lad wearing?? G Brady, nightmare! All in all we've been getting away with it the last few weeks, especially against Galway last week and finally it caught up with us when we bumped into the best team in the league. Maybe I'm wrong about Donegal, they might have an All-Ireland in them but they have an awful lot of improving to do.
Hard to see an All-Ireland in that Mayo team but if we get all our players back, and we will need all of them, who knows we'll probably be in the shake up again. Roll on Galway in a few weeks time, that's when it starts!

Would have to agree with everything you say; Keith Higgins was solid all day, Andy Moran outstanding, Enda Devenney a player who i have critisied in the past was our best half back today and showed what he has to offer,long may it continue. James Nallen, what can be said about this man, he looked fitter than some of the younger lads, Heaney was solid and make one great block in the second half and that shoulder...the poor lad from Donegal! On the other hand Conor Mortimor excellent with the frees in the main but goes to ground too easily and the refs have coped on to this...also bring back Trevor at least then Conor might pass it to someone!! Ger Brady again proved he is not up to this standard,3 balls were turned over by Donegal whille Ger was in possesion and two scores were got by them on the quick counter attack. He didnt tackle one back coming out of defence yet again,missed a goal and his kicking style makes it to easy to block down.Roll on Galway.....
Post by: Msgr. Horan on April 23, 2007, 03:52:13 PM
In fairness, C Mort did pass to Harte yesterday for his point.

The difference in the game, Donegal brought 3 fellas off the bench who scored points when the fat was in the fire. Mayo didnt.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 23, 2007, 05:19:39 PM
Ahh jezuz my heads throbbing..!!!  :-\ 8) ;)
Post by: MrC on April 23, 2007, 06:46:38 PM
Quote from: aodhruadh on April 23, 2007, 02:24:40 PM
Hey Mr C

Did the team come back to the Abbey with the cup last night? Have they stopped drinking yet ?

Yeah there was a couple of thousand to greet them at the square in Donegal Town. Great night was had by all. Men like Damien Diver, Shane Carr and Ray Sweeney were all in attendance and Tir Chonaill greats like Tony Boyle in savouring the atmosphere. Players have couple days off and then it's time to focus on Armagh!!!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 23, 2007, 11:31:11 PM
Congrats Donegal
Post by: GalwaySham on April 24, 2007, 08:59:01 PM
Mayo Fans,

What did ye think of Nallen last sunday? I didnt think he played well at all but was talking to a few people who were very impressed with him
Post by: Redgreenery on April 24, 2007, 09:45:01 PM
Nallen played as well as he could and he isnt expected to perform as well as he does because of the years he has put on, so for his age I'd have said he played as well as he could which is very impressive.
Post by: dodo on April 25, 2007, 02:10:22 AM
Quote from: Redgreenery on April 24, 2007, 09:45:01 PM
Nallen played as well as he could and he isnt expected to perform as well as he does because of the years he has put on, so for his age I'd have said he played as well as he could which is very impressive.

Had to read this a few times to make sense (well you know what I mean) of it. Punctuation please.
Post by: rosnarun on April 25, 2007, 11:05:50 AM
shitthepunctuationpolicearebackagainassholes,

Watching the match again on setanta Nallen was one of mayo's better  performers and i reckon played his way onto the championship team. he still has the speed hunger and the football has he 70 mins? well thats what subs are for
Post by: Tubberman on April 25, 2007, 05:48:40 PM
I thought Nallen played very well, much better than I expected - especially considering midfield would not be his most familiar position for Mayo (although he has a lot of experience there for Cross).
I still don't think he'll make the first 15, unless there are lot of injuries like on Sunday. But I'd have no worries about him standing in, whereas before the league I thought Jimmy was more or less past it.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on April 25, 2007, 09:15:10 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 25, 2007, 05:48:40 PM
I thought Nallen played very well, much better than I expected - especially considering midfield would not be his most familiar position for Mayo (although he has a lot of experience there for Cross).
I still don't think he'll make the first 15, unless there are lot of injuries like on Sunday. But I'd have no worries about him standing in, whereas before the league I thought Jimmy was more or less past it.
Spot on.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 26, 2007, 01:38:47 PM
Jack O'Connor had some interesting thoughts on the League Final in yesterday's Irish Times. From what he's saying, if the playing surface isn't looked at, teams will need two Championship game plans, one for games in Croker and one for games at any other pitch in the country.

I do think it's interesting, however, that Mayo players had more trouble with the surface than Donegal. Is that just bias on my part, or has there been a revolution in Donegal in the cobbler's trade?

http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/sport/2007/0425/1177280209602.html

Win can help slake Donegal thirst

Wed, Apr 25, 2007

Jack O'Connor's column:Former Kerry manager Jack O'Connorlooks at the tactical and psychological implications of last Sunday's league final

There's been a fair number of stories over the past few years about Donegal players bonding over the black stuff. They will have discovered something on Sunday though. Winning a big match in Croke Park is the best way of all to bond. The celebrations after the game showed how much it meant to them.

For Mayo now the season is more than anything a test of mental fortitude. Another big final lost and they have to overcome the grief of defeat and take the positives out of the game.

They showed great heart in hanging in there, although Donegal were the better team. They have to remember too that Donegal were at full strength; and with Ronan McGarrity, Trevor Mortimer, David Brady and Ciarán McDonald, Mayo would be a significantly better side.

If McDonald comes back and is right I would play him inside at full forward. He has the strength to win ball in there and Mayo need that.

Andy Moran had a fantastic game on Sunday, seeing off three different markers, but I am convinced that Conor Mortimer needs a playmaker to get him motoring. It isn't happening for him from play at the moment.

Ger Brady had one of those days on Sunday too where nothing went right for him. I felt he would have been relieved to get the call to come ashore. It was obvious from early on that he had lost his confidence. When that happens you are as well getting a fella out of the firing line.

At least the above seemed obvious from high in the stand; maybe it was not so glaringly obvious from ground level. Where I was sitting it struck me, looking at the good football men doing the stats for both sides nearby, that sometimes their expertise might be better used just for simple football stuff like that.

It comes down to players at the end of the day. They are playing well or playing badly and no amount of stats will camouflage or alter that.

Mayo still have a share of problems. They withdrew their full back early on. Not a good sign. And they would also benefit from swapping David Heaney and Billy Joe Padden. Somehow, Padden doesn't look quite right at number six but Heaney could do the job at centre back. Inside, Keith Higgins has improved. And Enda Devenney looks useful at wing back.

The big challenge now for John O'Mahony is to keep his side believing in the Republican mantra: "Tiocfaidh ar lá."

As for Donegal, they look like a team on the up. They have at least nine forwards for six positions, a great situation for a manager and the only language players really understand.

When Donegal brought on subs on Sunday they weren't just giving them a run, they strengthened the team each time. That the three subs scored in injury time proved that.

Brendan Devenney and Colm McFadden are very good players but they play like individuals. When they develop as a partnership - like Clarke and McDonnell or Donaghy and Gooch - they will do serious damage. The potential is there because McFadden is big and that allows Donegal the option of the early ball with Devenney floating around working off him.

The high ball in the modern game unnerves backs more than anything else. They all have pace nowadays and they all like coming on to the ball played in front of them. Donegal now have that option.

They have weaknesses at the back though. Thanks to their riches in the forward lines, they could move Christy Toye to midfield for his pace and athleticism and push Kevin Cassidy to the half-back line. Cassidy is solid and strong but doesn't look like a bona fide midfielder.

The real problems are, however, in the full-back line, where Andy Moran made hay on Sunday. Paddy Campbell wasn't bothered with him and Neil McGee was also withdrawn off him.

When Kieran Donaghy was on the field against Donegal in Letterkenny Kerry scored freely.

Brian McIver's slogan for the month ahead is clear: "A lot done, more to do." He is in a great position though. He virtually sacrificed last year by showing a couple of players the road in order to impose his style and his discipline on the team.

The prospect of Armagh coming to town and McIver's experiences of that side will combine to keep the lid on the players.

People might say they showed their hand a little early by winning the league. I don't believe that. The confidence they gained on Sunday will outweigh that factor easily.

'And another thing . . .'

That old chestnut about the Croke Park surface came up for roasting again at the weekend. You don't like to be too tough about it. Those in charge of the pitch are, you might say, caught between a rock and a hard place. They have to find a balance between playability and durability.

With players going out there you'd be basically advising them to wear the six studs. With Kerry over the last few years one man who wouldn't wear them for love or money was Mike McCarthy. We'd be looking at Mike wondering if he was going to stay on his feet. He just had this thing that he had to wear the moulded studs. Your heart would be in your mouth every time the ball would go in but Mike being Mike got away with it 99 times out of 100.

One match I remember is the All-Ireland quarter-final against Armagh last year. Seán O'Sullivan hit the deck two or three times early on and I asked what kind of boots he had on. Moulded studs. In the heat of battle I sent Harry O'Neill all around the pitch and into the dressingroom to bring out a pair of six-studded boots.

The Croke Park pitch poses unique problems. Five matches in less than 24 hours at the weekend is a heavy toll so the pitch has to be durable.

The nightmare scenario is a drought followed by a shower before a game. That happened on Sunday before the league final. The players in the two colleges games didn't experience the same problems because the rain stayed away for them. The problems may have been caused by evening dew or the pitch being watered too much. Either way there are difficulties. Sometimes on Sunday the game looked like Bambi on Ice as lads went to ground with nobody near.

You need some nerve now to play in the full-back line in Croke Park on a wet day. One slip and you're dead. You are fine on a straight run but when you have to turn sharply it's trouble. The high ball in Croke Park where full-back lines have to turn is going to be a significant weapon. Defenders are looking at a tough station.

The debate on footwear goes on. But the ground is so hard that no matter what studs you have you won't get grip some days. It's a real issue when players already have enough to worry about on the big day. Long-term the aesthetics of the pitch might have to be sacrificed for playability and pragmatism. It's a wonderful-looking pitch. It holds up with no muck or bog. But maybe we'll have to put up with a little bog for players to get a grip.

Finally, it was a pity to see so many empty seats on Sunday. And it was a chance wasted. The GAA should be encouraging as many kids as possible to attend matches like Sunday's where the place is going to be less than half full anyway. What a possible investment for the future.

There should be free entry for the kids and subsidised transport. Any youngster worth his salt would be hooked straight away by a visit to our theatre of dreams. That's advertising you couldn't buy.

Give kids the incentive to play the games and you've invested in the future.
© 2007 The Irish Times