GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: J70 on June 01, 2014, 08:21:06 PM

Title: Donegal V Antrim
Post by: J70 on June 01, 2014, 08:21:06 PM
Not sure where this will be played. Presumably Clones, as its an Ulster semi.

Antrim scored and conceded a huge amount today, twice blowing big leads, but I would presume Bradley will do what he did in 2011 when he came to Ballybofey and matched McGuinness's tactics to keep the score down, saying he had no choice. So I don't forsee a media-pleasing game here.  :P Don't really give a shite myself about the negative commentary, but it would be nice to see the superb football of first fifteen minutes of the second half against Derry repeated for a longer period and show we are at least some way back to the 2012 version of Donegal. Having the midfield players available again should help, and hopefully McFadden won't be down with flu this time out. Don't have much of a clue about Antrim really. Can they cause an upset?
Title: Re: Donegal V Antrim
Post by: sam03/05 on June 01, 2014, 08:38:08 PM
there will be 10 points in this.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2014, 08:50:08 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on June 01, 2014, 08:38:08 PM
there will be 10 points in this.
Yeah, 5 each.  :P
Post by: ck on June 01, 2014, 09:32:41 PM
After today I propose that Antrim be let straight into Ulster final and Donegal be thrown out for crimes against Gaelic football.
Post by: Syferus on June 01, 2014, 09:40:46 PM
Quote from: ck on June 01, 2014, 09:32:41 PM
After today I propose that Antrim be let straight into Ulster final and Donegal be thrown out for crimes against Gaelic football.

This is definitely Moyna's fault.
Post by: ck on June 01, 2014, 10:58:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 01, 2014, 09:40:46 PM

This is definitely Moyna's fault.

Ha Moyna was with Down back room team I hear. In the qualifiers already. Place for him.
Post by: Gold on June 02, 2014, 12:24:43 AM
Saffron Anglo Celt 2014  :D
Post by: DuffleKing on June 02, 2014, 08:43:22 AM

This is very odd. monaghan have the most defensive set up in Ulster,  closely followed by Antrim
Post by: AQMP on June 02, 2014, 08:46:23 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 02, 2014, 08:43:22 AM

This is very odd. monaghan have the most defensive set up in Ulster, closely followed by Antrim

I take it you weren't at the game yesterday??
Post by: DuffleKing on June 02, 2014, 09:11:20 AM

Happens I was. Scoring and conceding a lot is irrelevant to starting set up. Antrim were pouring men into defence - they just weren't very effective a lot of the time
Post by: ck on June 02, 2014, 09:34:13 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 02, 2014, 09:11:20 AM

Happens I was. Scoring and conceding a lot is irrelevant to starting set up. Antrim were pouring men into defence - they just weren't very effective a lot of the time

Both Fermanagh and Antrim poured bodies back and tried to set up defensively.
Post by: J OGorman on June 02, 2014, 09:39:15 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 02, 2014, 08:43:22 AM

This is very odd. monaghan have the most defensive set up in Ulster,  closely followed by Antrim

what, 16 defenders?! thats against the rules
Post by: glens abu on June 02, 2014, 09:51:20 AM
Do we know date and venue for this fixture yet?
Post by: AQMP on June 02, 2014, 11:58:14 AM
Quote from: glens abu on June 02, 2014, 09:51:20 AM
Do we know date and venue for this fixture yet?

Sunday 22nd June.  Venue to be fixed but as it's a semi final will be neutral venue?  Clones??
Post by: stibhan on June 02, 2014, 01:15:16 PM
'Pouring men into defence' isn't necessarily setting up ultra defensively. It often gives attackers more space, hence you found that Antrim got a whole lot of joy yesterday in Fermanagh's half.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 02, 2014, 01:37:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 02, 2014, 09:43:17 AM
Nothing wrong with defending in numbers when the opposition have the ball and attacking in numbers when you have the ball.

Like how Monaghan do it..  ;)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 02, 2014, 08:32:04 PM
There nobody as defensive as Donegal, on a couple of occasions 15 men inside there own half, thought they were tryng to beat the off side trap in soccer to be honest
Post by: Gold on June 19, 2014, 11:53:19 PM
I agree. Saffrons  :D
Post by: Syferus on June 19, 2014, 11:58:28 PM
Umbrellas unnerve them, Jim.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 20, 2014, 12:01:26 AM
Can't see it being a ten point game. Donegal tend to switch off. 5-6 points.
Post by: AQMP on June 20, 2014, 12:48:25 AM
G'wan the Saffs, we can do it!!
Post by: anfheardubh on June 20, 2014, 02:29:00 AM
Donegal to win by 7-8 points , dont think Antrim will be fit to handle Micheal Murphy on the edge of the square

Antrim are a team in decline , nowhere near  the side that got to the Ulster final in 2010

The BAKER to cook up  damage limitation tactics
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 20, 2014, 08:00:52 AM
Actually dreamt last night that Antrim beat Donegal!!
Post by: ONeill on June 20, 2014, 10:23:11 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 20, 2014, 08:00:52 AM
Actually dreamt last night that Antrim beat Donegal, naked!!

Dirty bstard.
Post by: babarino on June 20, 2014, 02:35:46 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on June 20, 2014, 02:29:00 AM
Donegal to win by 7-8 points , dont think Antrim will be fit to handle Micheal Murphy on the edge of the square

Antrim are a team in decline , nowhere near  the side that got to the Ulster final in 2010

The BAKER to cook up  damage limitation tactics

Wasn't that why his predecessor got the road?

Let's hope Antrim go for the win.
Post by: armaghniac on June 20, 2014, 04:24:33 PM
Armagh and Monaghan GAA people support Antrim in this venture.
Post by: dlgael on June 20, 2014, 04:43:13 PM
If Antrim truly go out to attack they will be eaten alive. I think Baker is trying to use his well renowned mouth to draw our boys out.
Fish in a barrell methinks.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 20, 2014, 04:58:38 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 20, 2014, 04:24:33 PM
Armagh and Monaghan GAA people support Antrim in this venture.
Sure you'd have to support them anyway, being the underdog. If they did make the final they'd have 8 Ulster counties supporting them.
Post by: ck on June 20, 2014, 05:10:30 PM
31 counties + New York and London will be supporting Antrim on Sunday. Go home dour dour Donegal!
Post by: anfheardubh on June 20, 2014, 05:16:42 PM
you didnt mention IRAN IRAQ 
Post by: J70 on June 20, 2014, 05:51:10 PM
Quote from: ck on June 20, 2014, 05:10:30 PM
31 counties + New York and London will be supporting Antrim on Sunday. Go home dour dour Donegal!

Right, because when Antrim pull their players back to pack their defense it will all be Donegal's fault. Just like in Ballybofey 2011.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 20, 2014, 06:04:39 PM
Strong Donegal side named. Kavanagh back from suspension.

Donegal (SFC v Antrim): Paul Durcan; Éamonn McGee, Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath; Frank McGlynn, Karl Lacey, Anthony Thompson; Neil Gallagher, Rory Kavanagh; Christy Toye, Leo McLoone, Ryan McHugh; Paddy McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Colm McFadden.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 20, 2014, 06:38:32 PM
Am sorta glad Donegal turned us over a few wks back, the Derry team named for this wkend, i feel Antrim would have turned us over!!
Post by: ONeill on June 21, 2014, 10:10:01 AM
Up the Saffs.
Post by: Whitnail on June 22, 2014, 12:57:43 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 20, 2014, 06:04:39 PM

Donegal (SFC v Antrim): Paul Durcan; Éamonn McGee, Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath; Frank McGlynn, Karl Lacey, Anthony Thompson; Neil Gallagher, Rory Kavanagh; Christy Toye, Leo McLoone, Ryan McHugh; Paddy McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Colm McFadden.

We've been playing  that team for 3 years straight.Not sure if that's good or bad tbh.

7/1 and +7 is a bit insulting to Antrim considering how bad we were 4 weeks ago but a big improvement is needed if we are to beat the orangemen in the final  ;D

What's the Antrim line-up?
Post by: Whitnail on June 22, 2014, 12:57:59 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 20, 2014, 06:04:39 PM

We've been playing  that team for 3 years straight.Not sure if that's good or bad tbh.

7/1 and +7 is a bit insulting to Antrim considering how bad we were 4 weeks ago but a big improvement is needed if we are to beat the orangemen in the final  ;D

What's the Antrim line-up?
Post by: hairyUlsterman on June 22, 2014, 01:15:25 AM
I will be supporting Antrim in this encounter

'Jimmys loosing matches, Jimmys loosing games, there will be no wee Sammy back in Donegal again'
Post by: rrhf on June 22, 2014, 02:11:09 PM
2 best jersey designs I've seen in a long time.  Good game so far.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2014, 02:16:45 PM
Jesus Barry there 2 frees in a row you blatantly missed
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 02:19:51 PM
Great Antrim point there.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 02:35:11 PM
Antrim getting the frees a lot easier than Donegal.
Post by: babarino on June 22, 2014, 02:43:22 PM
Antrim have shown enough to win this game. Will they have the conviction in the last 10 minutes to go for it? Methinks not, but hope I'm wrong. Donegal looking heavy legged (overtrained?), so are there for the taking.
Post by: tintin25 on June 22, 2014, 02:46:36 PM
Sidebottom and his constant referring to certain players by their nicknames
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 02:52:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 02:35:11 PM

Just a tad!

We still have had more than enough chances to be a few points up though.

Monaghan won't be too worried by what they've seen so far.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 02:54:37 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 22, 2014, 02:52:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 02:35:11 PM

Just a tad!

We'll only worry about Armagh for now!
Post by: anfheardubh on June 22, 2014, 02:58:27 PM
Ref has given Antrim a few soft ones alright but Donegal have played poorly and taken the wrong option a lot of the time

O Connor looks a fantastic prospect

Donegal need to remove finger from arse
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 22, 2014, 03:06:53 PM
Sin é.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2014, 03:09:51 PM
Some gurning from Donegal about that 45
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2014, 03:12:52 PM
Overcarried that one by a mile
Post by: babarino on June 22, 2014, 03:13:48 PM

Just a tad!

We're not discounting Armagh.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2014, 03:14:44 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2014, 03:12:52 PM
Overcarried that one by a mile
was 5/6 steps, counted it, seemed more
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 03:23:41 PM
Quote from: babarino on June 22, 2014, 03:13:48 PM

Just a tad!

I know, but given their situation you'll be even hotter favourites, if that is possible.
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2014, 03:26:12 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 22, 2014, 03:23:41 PM

Just a tad!

I know, but given their situation you'll be even hotter favourites, if that is possible.

Everyone knows Donegal are fully capable of beating Monaghan. The questions about either team won't be answered by winning the likely Ulster final, that will only come when August rolls around and Jones' Road looms large.
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 03:27:00 PM
Nice scoring from us today given the lack of return from the full forwards.
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 03:28:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 22, 2014, 03:26:12 PM

Just a tad!

Everyone knows Donegal are fully capable of beating Monaghan. The questions about either team won't be answered by winning the likely Ulster final, that will only come when August rolls around and Jones' Road looms large.

We haven't beaten Monaghan since 1983.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 22, 2014, 03:32:13 PM
Donegal players look physically huge, in comparison to Antrim players
They must be shovelling the creatine into them.
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 03:35:02 PM
Half forwards have been superb today. It was a problem line for us last year.
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 03:36:24 PM
Talk about a game of two halves!
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 22, 2014, 03:36:45 PM
Bakers Dozen.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 22, 2014, 03:42:01 PM
Donegal remind me of the early 00s Armagh teams. 1 great forward (Murphy/McConville), 1 hugely overrated forward (McFadden/McDonnell) and then a bunch of big men who hit hard and late.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2014, 03:43:23 PM
Didnt know that was Jigger o`Connor lad from Roscommon, his dad was a fair footballer, alot taller to lol
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 03:49:54 PM
It looked like Division 1 vs Division 4 in that second half. Which is exactly what it was. Donegal have unearthed a couple of tidy new players.
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 04:11:44 PM
Toye, MacNiallais, O'Connor and McLoone scored 2-10 from play.

Murphy, McFadden and McBrearty scored 0-2 from play. (We were brutal from place kicks today too)

Some change from last year!
Post by: thebuzz on June 22, 2014, 04:19:22 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 22, 2014, 04:11:44 PM

Murphy, McFadden and McBrearty scored 0-2 from play. (We were brutal from place kicks today too)

When the big stars play badly and you still win that's the sign of a good team.
Post by: orange on June 22, 2014, 04:22:48 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 22, 2014, 03:42:01 PM
Donegal remind me of the early 00s Armagh teams. 1 great forward (Murphy/McConville), 1 hugely overrated forward (McFadden/McDonnell) and then a bunch of big men who hit hard and late.
Never heard mcdonnell refered to as being overrated, lol, 1 of the best forwards to have played the game, unmarkable in 02 and 03, and got player of year in 03 even tho didn't win sam!! As for hitting hard, yip I agree,  as for late, I dont agree!
Mind you antrim remind me if dublin teams of early 00s - no balls!!!!
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 22, 2014, 04:30:03 PM
Quote from: orange on June 22, 2014, 04:22:48 PM
Never heard mcdonnell refered to as being overrated, lol, 1 of the best forwards to have played the game, unmarkable in 02 and 03, and got player of year in 03 even tho didn't win sam!! As for hitting hard, yip I agree,  as for late, I dont agree!
Mind you antrim remind me if dublin teams of early 00s - no balls!!!!

This Dub obviously wasn't in Croker for the qualifier game between Dublin and Armagh in 03!! Stevie McDonnell ran riot!!
Post by: jmk on June 22, 2014, 04:40:07 PM
Dear me Ronan Clarke, Diarmaid Marsden and the McEntees dismissed as big men who hit hard and late is beyond ridiculous never mind the overrated comment about Stevie.
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 04:45:20 PM
Lads, ignore that eejit/WUM (whichever it is) and don't turn this into a Dublin-Armagh thread.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 05:00:27 PM

Did you play many D4 teams last year?
Post by: Whitnail on June 22, 2014, 05:00:38 PM
Obviously MacNiallais and O'Connor who have been young bit players   mostly getting 10 mins here and there were very impressive  today in the second half.
Big relief for Donegal football that  and you can only hope they will  keep progressing .

But that first half is the contrast to where we are at. Without naming names we  still have a fair few  average midfield players who can struggle with passing under pressure and sometimes fairly basic ball control . This is evident in the first half of games (unlike the second half where there is a defined cavalier 'go for broke'game plan where players are happy to take  risks and be positive) .

The fact we concede so many turnovers and are so easily dispossessed in midfield in the first half  of games means that we will always rely heavily on this third quarter blitz to get us out of trouble.

Last year against Mayo and twice against Monaghan there simply was no second half blitz.... a combination of fatigue maybe, but more the fact that it just wasn't allowed.

We have to sort this out cause if we don't we will go in at half-time 6 or 7 points down against decent teams.

Not worried about McFadden he will come good again imo.

Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 05:36:29 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 05:00:27 PM

True, but that is not the whole story. They did well against Div 1 finalists Derry too and had a good league. Bigger tests await, of course.
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 05:46:52 PM
Quote from: Whitnail on June 22, 2014, 05:00:38 PM
Obviously MacNiallais and O'Connor who have been young bit players   mostly getting 10 mins here and there were very impressive  today in the second half.
Big relief for Donegal football that  and you can only hope they will  keep progressing .

But that first half is the contrast to where we are at. Without naming names we  still have a fair few  average midfield players who can struggle with passing under pressure and sometimes fairly basic ball control . This is evident in the first half of games (unlike the second half where there is a defined cavalier 'go for broke'game plan where players are happy to take  risks and be positive) .

The fact we concede so many turnovers and are so easily dispossessed in midfield in the first half  of games means that we will always rely heavily on this third quarter blitz to get us out of trouble.

Last year against Mayo and twice against Monaghan there simply was no second half blitz.... a combination of fatigue maybe, but more the fact that it just wasn't allowed.

We have to sort this out cause if we don't we will go in at half-time 6 or 7 points down against decent teams.

Not worried about McFadden he will come good again imo.

I don't recall too many turnovers in midfield. We struggled at times, for sure, in the last third, where Murphy and McFadden were double and triple marked, and simply crowded out. Even so, we missed a rake of chances in the first half that should have left us a few points up at the half. And don't forget we were without our two first choice midfielders for most of the game.
I hope McFadden comes good. We will need him. He hasn't performed to his capabilities since the Down game last year. McBrearty needs to start swinging a few over the bar too.
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2014, 05:53:45 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 22, 2014, 03:28:20 PM

Just a tad!

Two AIs say more about where Donegal have been in the last thirty years than a few games against Monaghan.

Monaghan still have much more to prove than Donegal. If this team never wins another Ulster they will always be remembered. Monaghan have still to scale anything close to the heights of 2011-12.

Armagh might even render the question moot. I just don't think there will be any strong favourite in a Donegal-Monaghan final.
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 06:03:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 22, 2014, 05:53:45 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 22, 2014, 03:28:20 PM

Just a tad!

Two AIs say more about where Donegal have been in the last thirty years than a few games against Monaghan.

Monaghan still have much more to prove than Donegal. If this team never wins another Ulster they will always be remembered. Monaghan have still to scale anything close to the heights of 2011-12.

Armagh might even render the question moot. I just don't think there will be any strong favourite in a Donegal-Monaghan final.

Of course! I was being slightly tongue-in-cheek. Where it might matter would be were we to find ourselves a couple of points up near the end, nervously trying to hold off a Monaghan comeback, similar to where Monaghan found themselves late in their match with Tyrone, when they almost blew a game in which they were clearly the superior team.

We've only played them sporadically since the 80s - 1995, 2007, 2008 and last year. 1995 and last year they caught us on the hop (injuries and energy played a big part last year too). That won't happen this time, when Monaghan, assuming they make it, will start as favourites, and Donegal will be very motivated. However, as Tyrone have found against us over the last few years, just because you've been on a losing streak and you're well up for the game does not mean you're going to be able to pull it off. Some teams just don't match up well.
Post by: Main Street on June 22, 2014, 06:21:03 PM
Well done to Donegal, they looked formidable are actually ARE the warm favourites to regain the Ulster title.

You'll have to put a lid on your excitement J70, cease your seductive tactics and wait another week (at least) before pondering out loud about the nature of certain match-ups in the final.
ATM, it's Donegal v Armagh or Monaghan.
Post by: Schkite on June 22, 2014, 06:53:34 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 22, 2014, 06:03:36 PM
We've only played them sporadically since the 80s - 1995, 2007, 2008 and last year. 1995 and last year they caught us on the hop (injuries and energy played a big part last year too). That won't happen this time, when Monaghan, assuming they make it, will start as favourites, and Donegal will be very motivated. However, as Tyrone have found against us over the last few years, just because you've been on a losing streak and you're well up for the game does not mean you're going to be able to pull it off. Some teams just don't match up well.

I would say Donegal will be the bookies favourite in the final regardless of who wins on Saturday.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 08:35:56 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 22, 2014, 06:53:34 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 22, 2014, 06:03:36 PM

I would say Donegal will be the bookies favourite in the final regardless of who wins on Saturday.
Probably depends on how convincing the winner is next Saturday. But yep, Donegal still likely to be favourites, but not by the margin they were going into last year's final.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 08:38:33 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 22, 2014, 05:36:29 PM

True, but that is not the whole story. They did well against Div 1 finalists Derry too and had a good league. Bigger tests await, of course.
That same Derry team has since been put out by a team that will be playing D4 next year.
Post by: heffo on June 22, 2014, 09:27:21 PM
Donegal rightly favourites for Sam now after a year off
Post by: quiganmaster on June 22, 2014, 09:57:19 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 08:38:33 PM

That same Derry team has since been put out by a team that will be playing D4 next year.

"Same"...
Post by: J70 on June 22, 2014, 10:45:23 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2014, 08:38:33 PM

I thought their team had a lot of changes?

REgardless, what are you getting at? That we shouldn't be encouraged by the performance of our half forwards, particularly the young lads, in the past two matches, given our relative uselessness in that line last year?
Post by: T Fearon on June 22, 2014, 11:06:02 PM
Baker Bradley said after the game "We're shell shocked,so we are!"