GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Syferus on May 14, 2014, 11:22:42 PM

Title: Gavin Duffy Joins Mayo Panel
Post by: Syferus on May 14, 2014, 11:22:42 PM
QuoteFormer Connacht and Ireland full-back Gavin Duffy in training with Mayo

Former Connacht and Ireland star Gavin Duffy has started training with the Mayo senior footballers and, according to former Mayo star David Brady, he has been impressing.

Brady told Off The Ball on Newstalk this evening that Duffy, who failed to win a contract with Connacht for next season, took part in his first session with James Horan's men last night.

"I think [James Horan] has made a master move by bringing in Gavin Duffy, the ex-Irish international rugby player and long-time Connacht player into the Mayo panel. At the age of 32 or 33, I think it's a great move," Brady said.

"Someone said to me that he didn't just fit in, he stood out.

"Look at the experience he has and I think it will only add to the Mayo setup."

Duffy played a huge role in Mayo's path to a All-Ireland minor final in Croke Park in 1999, where they were beaten by a Benny Coulter inspired Down team.

Lining out at midfield during that campaign, Duffy gained a reputation as brilliant fielder of the ball which must of helped him when he embarked on a successful career at full-back in rugby union.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/former-connacht-and-ireland-fullback-gavin-duffy-in-training-with-mayo-30275640.html

Glad to see Mayo have another big, strong lad who is good at jumping up and catching balls.

He does look a bit old, though:

(http://cf.broadsheet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/903345871.jpg)
Title: Re: Gavin Duffy Joins Mayo Panel
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 14, 2014, 11:38:12 PM
ha you never lose it, i remember what this lad at minors, he be up to the fitness through the rugby, long time out though, mayo are overlaid with midfielders but it be interesting if he can be converted for cover at Fullback
Post by: orangeman on May 14, 2014, 11:42:38 PM
I'm out.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 15, 2014, 12:01:32 AM
Have a season ticket with Connacht and from a rugby perspective anyway, Gavin has sadly looked over the hill for the past 18 months. Great player for Connacht but his form really nosedived once he started losing a bit of pace. Think he started doubting himself then in a position where you have to be decisive (full-back).

Haven't a clue what his football is like these days. Best of luck to him anyway.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 15, 2014, 01:04:11 AM
Not sure if this will be a major coup de gras or a detracting sideshow - possibly somewhere in between.

BTW - who wrote that article? 'must of' FFS
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 01:07:52 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 14, 2014, 11:38:12 PM
ha you never lose it, i remember what this lad at minors, he be up to the fitness through the rugby, long time out though, mayo are overlaid with midfielders but it be interesting if he can be converted for cover at Fullback

He'll be big and strong.
He needs to be agile and quick though.
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 01:23:35 AM
Ger Brady was playing plenty of football back then.
Duffy has been exclusively playing a completely different sport for the last 10+ years and is returning to gaelic football at an age when most gaelic footballers are retiring.
Post by: Lone Shark on May 15, 2014, 05:51:10 AM
I'd suspect myself this is a lot more about the positive influence he can have on a squad in terms of the professional athlete's lifestyle and so on, rather than a reflection of James Horan feeling that he'll be a great man to throw into the fray against Dublin or Kerry with fifteen minutes to go. In that regard inviting him into the squad could be a very good move.
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 08:48:00 AM
He's already well used to not winning stuff anyway.
Post by: heffo on May 15, 2014, 08:50:10 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 01:07:52 AM

He'll be big and strong.

I remember Eric Miller lumbering around full forward (like the Mayo midfield last September) for a couple of games nearly ten years ago post-rugby
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 15, 2014, 08:52:38 AM
Quote from: heffo on May 15, 2014, 08:50:10 AM

He'll be big and strong.

I remember Eric Miller lumbering around full forward (like the Mayo midfield last September) for a couple of games nearly ten years ago post-rugby

Big difference in the movement of a modern day fullback and a flanker. Besides Miller was never the fittest player!
Post by: ballinaman on May 15, 2014, 08:55:36 AM

He'll be big and strong.

Miller was converting.
Duffy has always been regarded as being a better footballer than rugby player before turning professional.
6'1....15 stone on the Connacht website. Brilliant character to have around the team even if he doesn't kick a ball.
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 09:23:09 AM
I honestly don't get that.
Post by: regal on May 15, 2014, 09:25:53 AM
It's hardly a midfielder mayo need. They badly need a centre half back / centre half forward though
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 09:41:40 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 15, 2014, 09:25:13 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 09:23:09 AM
That's ok.

What exactly are the Mayo players going to learn from a guy that played for the weakest provincial rugby team in the country?
You should train properly and look after yourself?
Don't mind this lad, get Ciaran McDonald back.
Post by: Tubberman on May 15, 2014, 09:50:02 AM
Quote from: regal on May 15, 2014, 09:25:53 AM
It's hardly a midfielder mayo need. They badly need a centre half back / centre half forward though

If Duffy is to play for Mayo, I would imagine it will be either centre-back or full-forward. I don't think he'll have the running game for centre-forward, same probably goes for midfield and we're fine for midfielders anyway.
Post by: ballinaman on May 15, 2014, 09:58:21 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 09:41:40 AM
That's ok.

What exactly are the Mayo players going to learn from a guy that played for the weakest provincial rugby team in the country?
Ok, say they don't learn anything and he's off the panel after 3 or 4 sessions and doesn't work out. Fair enough, no harm in having a look.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 15, 2014, 10:04:15 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 15, 2014, 08:55:36 AM

He'll be big and strong.

Miller was converting.
Duffy has always been regarded as being a better footballer than rugby player before turning professional.
6'1....15 stone on the Connacht website. Brilliant character to have around the team even if he doesn't kick a ball.

15 stone and 6.1 for a footballer is fat....................straight off he needs to trim down..........................and if he does bring personality to the team thats a good thing, Id say Horan bores the shite out of them at this stage
Post by: ballinaman on May 15, 2014, 10:23:19 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 15, 2014, 10:04:15 AM

He'll be big and strong.

Miller was converting.

15 stone and 6.1 for a footballer is fat....................straight off he needs to trim down..........................and if he does bring personality to the team thats a good thing, Id say Horan bores the shite out of them at this stage
Aye...a real fatboy....
(http://cdn4.independent.ie/incoming/article30229827.ece/6563f/ALTERNATES/h342/802204.jpg)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 15, 2014, 10:26:21 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 09:41:40 AM
That's ok.

Hes also an Irish international, only 32 and able to play football. Its a win-win for Mayo, doesnt make it, nothing lost, lads maybe learn a thing or two about preparation from a different sport. Does make it and we've got a capable footballer from nowhere
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 15, 2014, 10:26:45 AM
Now all we need is Pierce Hanley
Post by: thewobbler on May 15, 2014, 10:29:43 AM

15 stone and 6.1 for a footballer is fat....................straight off he needs to trim down..........................

One of the strangest comments I've ever read on GAA board.
Post by: stephenite on May 15, 2014, 10:30:53 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on May 15, 2014, 10:26:45 AM

That's about the size of it.

Duffy was a football talent over and above anything I'd seen. Rugby was always the priority though. No harm in having a look now, even at 32, but if a silver bullet exists for Mayo football, it's in Brisbane
Post by: ballinaman on May 15, 2014, 10:32:49 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 15, 2014, 10:30:53 AM

Duffy was a football talent over and above anything I'd seen. Rugby was always the priority though. No harm in having a look now, even at 32, but if a silver bullet exists for Mayo football, it's in Brisbane
Ya, heard it's doing very well this year in an absolutely shocking Brisbane team.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 15, 2014, 10:34:52 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 15, 2014, 10:29:43 AM

15 stone and 6.1 for a footballer is fat....................straight off he needs to trim down..........................

ok fat is the wrong term I suppose as its quite a touchy word with fat folk however he will need to trim down and loose at least a stone or 3/4 to survive in the modern game..............................
Post by: AMayoFan on May 15, 2014, 10:57:43 AM
Will it be deem cynically if Gavin makes a Kavanaghist type tackle or just him readjusting to the game rules  lol

Interesting to see how he adopts back to GAA, and what he brings in terms of 'holding the line', and good luck to him.  No guarantee he will fit into the team, but in any case, is this the most radical move (experiment) by JH over his Mayo management term ?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 15, 2014, 11:05:15 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 15, 2014, 10:34:52 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 15, 2014, 10:29:43 AM

ok fat is the wrong term I suppose as its quite a touchy word with fat folk however he will need to trim down and loose at least a stone or 3/4 to survive in the modern game..............................

You really dont have a notion what you're talking about do you?

His weight has f**k all to do with anything, what is important is his %bodyfat, which I'd imagine will be maybe a percent or two lower than what it is expected to be as a rugby player. I would say by looking at him that he is already in that range
Post by: Hardy on May 15, 2014, 11:06:16 AM
I'd say by looking at him he's inclined to take too many steps.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 15, 2014, 11:07:43 AM
Why dont ye meath lads wait in a corner for Gerathy's next coming
Post by: Rossfan on May 15, 2014, 11:19:48 AM
Obviously a sign of total desperation in Rhubarbland.
I believ an ex Soccer player by the name of Kilbane is also qualified to play for them.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 11:22:42 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 15, 2014, 11:06:16 AM
I'd say by looking at him he's inclined to take too many steps.

As long as he doesn't go diving over the line into the goals thinking he scored a try I think he'll be alright.
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2014, 11:28:52 AM

He'll be big and strong.

Miller was converting.

At least he's learning how to be a Mayo player anyways.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 11:35:12 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 15, 2014, 11:19:48 AM
Obviously a sign of total desperation in Rhubarbland.
I believ an ex Soccer player by the name of Kilbane is also qualified to play for them.

Mickey Walsh would be better but he is a bit old now ; ;D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnKBwYHAbE4
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:41:30 AM

Anything you'd seen where?!
Plenty of us saw him playing for the Mayo minors, James Gill was the better midfielder of the two.
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:49:34 AM
Interesting factoid.
Mayo beat Cork in the '99 minor semi-final.
Gavin Duffy was midfield for Mayo and Damien Delaney was midfield for Cork.
Both went on to represent Ireland, one in rugby, the other in soccer (currently with Crystal Palace).
Post by: AZOffaly on May 15, 2014, 11:57:52 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:49:34 AM
Interesting factoid.
Mayo beat Cork in the '99 minor semi-final.
Gavin Duffy was midfield for Mayo and Damien Delaney was midfield for Cork.
Both went on to represent Ireland, one in rugby, the other in soccer (currently with Crystal Palace).

You bastard jinxy!!!!!!
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 12:02:08 PM
What?!
Post by: stephenite on May 15, 2014, 12:08:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:41:30 AM

Plenty of us saw him playing for the Mayo minors, James Gill was the better midfielder of the two.

Fair point.

Based mainly on watching at various underage grades, I'd say he was more naturally talented than anything our club has produced, with the exception maybe of McHale.

However he's out of the game a long time, and the game has changed.

Would your opinion be based on seeing one or two performances at minor All Ireland semi & final?
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2014, 12:15:48 PM
Better than D. Brady? Heresy.

And stop pining for Roscommon lads to come and save the day, Stephenite.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 15, 2014, 12:18:27 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 12:02:08 PM
What?!

Damien Deleany. The lad who scored the first goal for Palace in their comeback against Liverpool 2 weeks ago.
Post by: thejuice on May 15, 2014, 12:33:30 PM
Maybe he can teach Aidan O'Shea how to be manly when it comes to the physical stuff.
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 12:49:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 15, 2014, 12:18:27 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 12:02:08 PM
What?!

Damien Deleany. The lad who scored the first goal for Palace in their comeback against Liverpool 2 weeks ago.

Yeah, it's great to see him doing so well.  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 12:54:12 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 15, 2014, 12:08:35 PM

Fair point.

Based mainly on watching at various underage grades, I'd say he was more naturally talented than anything our club has produced, with the exception maybe of McHale.

Would your opinion be based on seeing one or two performances at minor All Ireland semi & final?

Well that's fair enough if you were specifically referring to your club.
As for the translation from underage to senior, there is a long list of outrageously talented minors who never made it as senior footballers.
We tend to assume sometimes that the guy that's lost to soccer, rugby, the AFL etc. would have become that great player badly needed at senior level.
Sometimes I think the less a fella plays, the better he is.
Post by: Tubberman on May 15, 2014, 12:57:09 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 12:54:12 PM

Fair point.

Well that's fair enough if you were specifically referring to your club.
As for the translation from underage to senior, there is a long list of outrageously talented minors who never made it as senior footballers.
We tend to assume sometimes that the guy that's lost to soccer, rugby, the AFL etc. would have become that great player badly needed at senior level.
Sometimes I think the less a fella plays, the better he is.

True - happened with Austin O'Malley!
Post by: weareros on May 15, 2014, 12:59:23 PM
Looks like a black card inspired move. Big 15 stone all muscle lad like that storming through, backs will have to be careful not to haul him down. You add the two O'Sheas ploughing through and that could be Mayo's tactic this year.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 15, 2014, 01:05:40 PM
You bastard jinxy!!
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 01:08:52 PM
Quote from: weareros on May 15, 2014, 12:59:23 PM
Looks like a black card inspired move. Big 15 stone all muscle lad like that storming through, backs will have to be careful not to haul him down. You add the two O'Sheas ploughing through and that could be Mayo's tactic this year.

Add the Mort in there to pick up the scraps.
Actually maybe he could climb up on one of the other lad's backs and they could drop him off once they get to the 21 yard line.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 15, 2014, 01:45:51 PM

Dop out to Knockmore next time your home stephenite, even if it's only U10s training you'll probably be blown away  :D
Post by: Tubberman on May 15, 2014, 01:51:06 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 15, 2014, 01:45:51 PM

Dop out to Knockmore next time your home stephenite, even if it's only U10s training you'll probably be blown away  :D

Why, have ye the next Bomber coming up through the ranks?
Post by: ballinaman on May 15, 2014, 02:22:02 PM

Stephenite would be better off among his own brethren after such a long trip...sure I go home the Sligo way to avoid Knockmore...:P
Post by: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 02:36:50 PM

Why? Have they stopped chewing on concrete blocks and learned to count past ten? ;D
Post by: joemamas on May 15, 2014, 03:32:40 PM
Can we please stop now and all go back to the Roscommon Bus thread
Post by: Blowitupref on May 15, 2014, 03:44:18 PM
Would it not be better for Mayo to call Evan Regan into the panel instead of some retired rugby player that hasn't played football for 13 years?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 15, 2014, 03:45:18 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 15, 2014, 03:44:18 PM
Would it not be better for Mayo to call Evan Regan into the panel instead of some retired rugby player that hasn't played football for 13 years?

Dont start with that shit
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2014, 03:48:46 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 15, 2014, 03:44:18 PM

Sssssh
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 06:02:59 PM
Who's this Evan Regan lad?
Never heard of him.
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2014, 06:09:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 06:02:59 PM
Never heard of him.

Another Roscommon-blooded forward. Soon they'll want Senan Kilbride because the dah was forced to play for Mayo at one horrible stage in his life.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2014, 06:58:32 PM
Former rugby player joins an inter county football panel, thats like something Fermanagh or Antrim would do to grab some championship attention not something you would expect from All Ireland contender like Mayo. The Mayo players training since December can't be too pleased if this chap rides into town to take their spot on the match day twenty six. Strange call from James Horan or maybe its a sign of a manager who is about to leave and this is his final roll of the dice.
Post by: rodney trotter on May 15, 2014, 07:04:00 PM
Surprising the way his form went with Connacht over the last year. It is a bit of a kick in the balls for the other Mayo lads training for the last 6 months or whatever. Has he played much club football recently? plays with Salthill I believe
Post by: From the Bunker on May 15, 2014, 07:06:29 PM
Win or lose, Horan will be gone at the end of the year! He has stayed on a year longer than planned. He just could not let this project go without one last effort after all the sacrifices he has made.
Post by: Itchy on May 15, 2014, 07:09:45 PM
Sounds like Mayo are desperate. When's the last time this fella played competitive football.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 07:14:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 15, 2014, 06:09:26 PM
Never heard of him.

Another Roscommon-blooded forward. Soon they'll want Senan Kilbride because the dah was forced to play for Mayo at one horrible stage in his life.

He was born in America and grew up in Ballina I don't see why he want to play with Ross. Maybe Sligo since he lived down the Quay near the Castleconnor border ;).
As for Sean Kilbride it was amazing the way he only found his love for the Ross ( after a long stretch playing for his home county) when they became successful with a chance of silverware 8) , but yeah if Ross have a claim on Evan then why didn't we get Senan , Ian and Karol Mannion if it's the father's blood that counts ;D.
Post by: Syferus on May 15, 2014, 07:27:26 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 07:14:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 15, 2014, 06:09:26 PM
Never heard of him.

He was born in America and grew up in Ballina I don't see why he want to play with Ross. Maybe Sligo since he lived down the Quay near the Castleconnor border ;).
As for Sean Kilbride it was amazing the way he only found his love for the Ross ( after a long stretch playing for his home county) when they became successful with a chance of silverware 8) , but yeah if Ross have a claim on Evan then why didn't we get Senan , Ian and Karol Mannion if it's the father's blood that counts ;D.

He's the son of a proud former Roscommon Gaels player.

Sean could only play for Roscommon once he left Ballagh GAA (he was an army officer stationed in Longford iirc and moved to the real Ballintubber area to live) and joined up with St. Croan's. Ask the maneen himself where his heart lay, like all true Ballagh people he knew what county he was from.
Post by: Itchy on May 15, 2014, 09:06:00 PM
Jesus do you Ros boys ever stop talking dung about Roscommon. Lad from Connacht is training with Mayo and all I see here is Ross, Ross and more Ross.
Post by: thewobbler on May 15, 2014, 09:08:06 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2014, 06:58:32 PM
Former rugby player joins an inter county football panel, thats like something Fermanagh or Antrim would do to grab some championship attention not something you would expect from All Ireland contender like Mayo. The Mayo players training since December can't be too pleased if this chap rides into town to take their spot on the match day twenty six. Strange call from James Horan or maybe its a sign of a manager who is about to leave and this is his final roll of the dice.
I would differ on this one. Most of this Mayo team have knocked their bollocks in a part of the Horan project for 2.5 years now, and would surely welcome any advance that gives them an edge towards winning Sam. It remains to be seen if Duffy actually is an advance, but what harm can it do to trial a six foot tool athlete with international rugby pace, and good  hands? If he's not and advance he'll be found out in training long before a Championship match, and it;s just a case of as you were for the panel.
Post by: bucko on May 15, 2014, 10:12:10 PM
Had a think about this one from the point of view of his qualities as a rugby full back and what would transfer over. Reading the game, positional sense, quick covering, good hands/under high ball, physical strength, in my mind ideal qualities for a sweeper if Horan was to go down that route. Just a thought.
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 10:46:08 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 15, 2014, 09:08:06 PM
I would differ on this one. Most of this Mayo team have knocked their bollocks in a part of the Horan project for 2.5 years now, and would surely welcome any advance that gives them an edge towards winning Sam. It remains to be seen if Duffy actually is an advance, but what harm can it do to trial a six foot tool athlete with international rugby pace, and good  hands? If he's not and advance he'll be found out in training long before a Championship match, and it;s just a case of as you were for the panel.

He's not particularly fast and when was the last time you saw a rugby player catch a ball over his head?
Post by: bucko on May 15, 2014, 11:09:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 10:46:08 PM

He's not particularly fast and when was the last time you saw a rugby player catch a ball over his head?
How about this???
http://youtu.be/Hu_2NmTDH-E
Post by: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 11:11:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 10:46:08 PM

You're joking right?
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:20:28 PM
I meant from garryowens primarily.
They do it the odd time for a cross-kick, a la Shane Horgan.
An event so rare that his success was entirely attributed to his gaelic football background and the fact that he was from Meath, the home of the high-catch.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 11:23:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:20:28 PM
An event so rare that his success was entirely attributed to his gaelic football background and the fact that he was from Meath, the home of the high-catch.

Jeeze the jokes keep getting funnier.
Post by: moysider on May 15, 2014, 11:29:27 PM
I meant from garryowens primarily.They do it the odd time for a cross-kick, a la Shane Horgan.

You re a gas man altogether ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

If the poor fecker didn t get killed in the act he d never be picked again anyway ::) Christ.

Not even Mick Lyons would get away with that shit.
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:31:07 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 11:23:16 PM

The high catch is just one of the manly arts.
We also invented doggedness.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 11:37:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:31:07 PM

So you are the manly men from manly Meath and are the dogged men from Manly Meath as well as being the manly men from dogged Meath?
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:43:07 PM
All of those.
The big question here is, would Duffy make the Roscommon panel?
Post by: Crete Boom on May 15, 2014, 11:59:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:43:07 PM
All of those.
The big question here is, would Duffy make the Roscommon panel?

He probably wouldn't even get a seat on the bus ;)
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2014, 06:35:42 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:31:07 PM

and dogging
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2014, 10:03:08 AM
I look at Mayo people and think, 'That was us, fifty odd years ago.'
Post by: blanketattack on May 16, 2014, 10:14:09 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 14, 2014, 11:22:42 PM
QuoteFormer Connacht and Ireland full-back Gavin Duffy in training with Mayo

Former Connacht and Ireland star Gavin Duffy has started training with the Mayo senior footballers and, according to former Mayo star David Brady, he has been impressing.

Brady told Off The Ball on Newstalk this evening that Duffy, who failed to win a contract with Connacht for next season, took part in his first session with James Horan's men last night.

"I think [James Horan] has made a master move by bringing in Gavin Duffy, the ex-Irish international rugby player and long-time Connacht player into the Mayo panel. At the age of 32 or 33, I think it's a great move," Brady said.

"Someone said to me that he didn't just fit in, he stood out.

"Look at the experience he has and I think it will only add to the Mayo setup."

Duffy played a huge role in Mayo's path to a All-Ireland minor final in Croke Park in 1999, where they were beaten by a Benny Coulter inspired Down team.

Lining out at midfield during that campaign, Duffy gained a reputation as brilliant fielder of the ball which must of helped him when he embarked on a successful career at full-back in rugby union.

So he already has an All-Ireland runners-up medal....................he'll fit right in. :P
Post by: ballinaman on May 16, 2014, 10:14:32 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 16, 2014, 10:03:08 AM
It's a common trait it seems, forever living the the past.
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2014, 10:20:31 AM
It gives you all something to look forward to though.
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2014, 10:30:47 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-will-be-a-massive-addition-for-mayo-mchale-30278804.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-will-be-a-massive-addition-for-mayo-mchale-30278804.html)

It is the very things that he brought to his rugby game that he can transfer to Gaelic football, McHale reckons.

"He never kicked with the inside of his boot, he was never a fella that was going to score five points, he's not going to break your ankles with dummies. He was a big strong, athletic, straight-line runner. I remember him playing in Knockmore, he was 17 or 18 at the time and he was lifting guys out of it with belts.

"Once he gets to the pace of the game, once his handling is okay, he will win breaking ball, he will put in big tackles, he will win ball in the air for you and he'll drive the team forward, but he's not gong to score four points."

Duffy didn't want to say much about the experience when contacted except to note how "I thought my heart was going to explode during training with the running involved and how the rules have changed since I last played!"
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 16, 2014, 11:13:32 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 16, 2014, 10:30:47 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-will-be-a-massive-addition-for-mayo-mchale-30278804.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-will-be-a-massive-addition-for-mayo-mchale-30278804.html)

It is the very things that he brought to his rugby game that he can transfer to Gaelic football, McHale reckons.

"He never kicked with the inside of his boot, he was never a fella that was going to score five points, he's not going to break your ankles with dummies. He was a big strong, athletic, straight-line runner. I remember him playing in Knockmore, he was 17 or 18 at the time and he was lifting guys out of it with belts.

"Once he gets to the pace of the game, once his handling is okay, he will win breaking ball, he will put in big tackles, he will win ball in the air for you and he'll drive the team forward, but he's not gong to score four points."

Duffy didn't want to say much about the experience when contacted except to note how "I thought my heart was going to explode during training with the running involved and how the rules have changed since I last played!"

I remember playing in that match in Knockmore, it was a tough game, there was a fair few late hits from both sides. We had two good teams but they won out by a point or two.
All out in Foxford that nite and Duffy got a clip after being mistaken for Macdanger2
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2014, 12:53:22 PM
Meath sophistication is very overrated

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gNgwMYL9ks
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 16, 2014, 02:05:58 PM

Jesus, we look at Meath people and but for the grace of god there go I
Post by: From the Bunker on May 16, 2014, 03:41:05 PM

I look at Meath people and think, they were us fifty odd years - Mayo people taking their land.
Post by: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 07:31:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 16, 2014, 03:41:05 PM

I look at Meath people and think, they were us fifty odd years - Mayo people taking their land.

They're actually all from Leitrim though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 16, 2014, 08:17:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 07:31:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 16, 2014, 03:41:05 PM

They're actually all from Leitrim though.
Some Galway too, yet they don't seem to mind Galway though.
Post by: Rossfan on May 16, 2014, 08:55:43 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 16, 2014, 08:17:40 PM
, yet they don't seem to mind Galway though.
A biteen like us then  ;D
Post by: Red on May 16, 2014, 10:32:43 PM
what position would he play in and who would loose out?
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 16, 2014, 11:12:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 16, 2014, 08:55:43 PM
Aaah. True, ye were going to do it the 'Galway way' in the U21 final according to Syferus. ;)
Post by: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 11:19:01 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 16, 2014, 11:12:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 16, 2014, 08:55:43 PM
Aaah. True, ye were going to do it the 'Galway way' in the U21 final according to Syferus. ;)

We ended up doing it the Mayo way.
Post by: moysider on May 16, 2014, 11:48:46 PM
Quote from: Red on May 16, 2014, 10:32:43 PM

I suspect it could be as a target man.

McStay reckons so anyway and I agree with him. It has been fairly obvious that management don t really fancy Alan Freeman when it matters.

Post by: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 11:57:15 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 16, 2014, 11:48:46 PM

McStay reckons so anyway and I agree with him. It has been fairly obvious that management don t really fancy Alan Freeman when it matters.

Jesus if they do that Alan might as well feck off until Horan leaves in September (if ye're lucky!). His treatment remains one of the black spots of Horan's tenure.
Post by: moysider on May 17, 2014, 12:32:42 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 11:57:15 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 16, 2014, 11:48:46 PM

Jesus if they do that Alan might as well feck off until Horan leaves in September (if ye're lucky!). His treatment remains one of the black spots of Horan's tenure.

I m a Freeman fan I have to say but I can understand some peoples doubts about him as well. He s not exactly a % player. When he s hot he s great but if it s not happening for him it looks like he can t make it happen. The recent match-up v Rory O Carroll being a case of this. The ball was less than sympatetic but the Dublin fullback moped everything up. The main reason that Mayo have lost the last 2 AI finals was because the ff lines did not pull their weight. They effectively handed back ( mostly didn t get their hands on the ball at all)  hard won ball to the opposition to convert into vital scores at the other end. The big problem with the Mayo ffs is not only that they don t score enough, it s that they don t win enough possession in the first place. The ff line is like Camp IV on Mt. Everest. Unless that is in place and operating well there is no chance of a push to the summit.
Post by: Itchy on May 17, 2014, 10:21:08 AM
I thought you lost the last all Ireland because you played two big mules at midfield versus two race horses.
Post by: INDIANA on May 17, 2014, 12:35:01 PM
Continually staggered how a guy who hasn't played the game for 14 years is going to lead Mayo to the Road of Damascus. Christ the media comment has been unreal.

Tadhg Kennelly played a game every similar to Gaelic Football an played it over the winter when he came home. This guy to my knowledge hasn't played it at all.

Best of luck to him because he'll need it with all the media attention.

Mayo need two scoring forwards to win the AI. I'm not sure this is the solution to the Rubex Cube that is Mayo Football.
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 17, 2014, 12:54:11 PM
I agree Indiana. The media talk has been a joke. How he is a professional at the top of his game. Sorry, he was never at the top of his game that I remember, he was 2nd tier. All this revisionism of his exploits 14 years ogo is pathetic. Article in the examiner today going on about his performances at u16 and suggesting that adding him to the panel now, a few weeks before the  championship, will show the Mayo players how to prepare for matches like a professional. Its just silly stuff. Mayo must be in trouble, might give Ros a chance to win Connacht (god help us all)
Post by: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 12:55:46 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 17, 2014, 12:35:01 PM
Continually staggered how a guy who hasn't played the game for 14 years is going to lead Mayo to the Road of Damascus. Christ the media comment has been unreal.

Tadhg Kennelly played a game every similar to Gaelic Football an played it over the winter when he came home. This guy to my knowledge hasn't played it at all.

Mayo need two scoring forwards to win the AI. I'm not sure this is the solution to the Rubex Cube that is Mayo Football.

Ye should loan out Dean Rock and Cormac Costello for experience.
Post by: INDIANA on May 17, 2014, 01:17:01 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 12:55:46 PM

Cormac is fit wil start this year (he's out with a hamstring for 4-6 weeks for will miss the first game most likely). Dean has played in an All Ireland Senior Final sure what experience would he need?

Mayo had a fine minor team last year with some really good forwards. One of them should have been fast tracked in my view.
Post by: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 01:22:55 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 17, 2014, 01:17:01 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 12:55:46 PM

Cormac is fit wil start this year (he's out with a hamstring for 4-6 weeks for will miss the first game most likely). Dean has played in an All Ireland Senior Final sure what experience would he need?

Mayo had a fine minor team last year with some really good forwards. One of them should have been fast tracked in my view.

That's a common thread in Mayo but none of them even made the U21 starting team this year. Irwin is a big bullock of a 14 but the Mayo lads are always commenting on his lack of pace, don't really see it as anything as bad as that myself. Heard the same about Donie Shine coming out of minor, the simple fact is you don't have to be a burner to play that position to a high level. Probably the only one of the minor forwards physically up to getting senior time in the near future.

Tommy Goals is only sitting his Leaving Cert next month. Darragh Doherty has all the skill in the world but has blinkered vision at the moment, he needs time to mature as a forward.

I don't know if any will be the answer to Mayo's prayers even next year. This topic always comes back to one name and it's Evan Regan.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 17, 2014, 01:38:11 PM
Ah the media with their hyperbole , over reaction and their feckin revisionism. None of that craic around here (sure Duff was just an average AIL player who got lucky that wandered on to a minor team for a couple of months back in the day)It's lucky posters on here have both eyes wide open never becoming polarised in a argument unlike the hacks in the meedja. ;D

Nothing can or ever will save Mayo football :'( !!! Well maybe manly,dogged,high fielding manly Meath or the Roscommon bus. ;)
Post by: bucko on May 17, 2014, 02:33:58 PM
Might need another midfielder, rumour on WJ's blog that Jason Gibbons picked up a serious ankle injury last night :-\
Post by: Hardy on May 17, 2014, 03:11:03 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 17, 2014, 01:38:11 PM
Ah the media with their hyperbole , over reaction and their feckin revisionism. None of that craic around here (sure Duff was just an average AIL player who got lucky that wandered on to a minor team for a couple of months back in the day)It's lucky posters on here have both eyes wide open never becoming polarised in a argument unlike the hacks in the meedja. ;D

Nothing can or ever will save Mayo football :'( !!! Well maybe manly,dogged,high fielding manly Meath or the Roscommon bus. ;)

Sorry. Not even we are up to a task of that manlitude.
Post by: mick999 on May 17, 2014, 03:44:14 PM
I see the Dubs might have a new midfielder as well, after David Gillick makes a winning return to Ballinteer ..

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/david-gillick-makes-winning-gaa-return-in-dublin-championship-30282214.html
Post by: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 03:56:18 PM
Quote from: mick999 on May 17, 2014, 03:44:14 PM
I see the Dubs might have a new midfielder as well, after David Gillick makes a winning return to Ballinteer ..

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/david-gillick-makes-winning-gaa-return-in-dublin-championship-30282214.html

If only Pearce Hanley came back and played for his home county.
Post by: muppet on May 17, 2014, 05:04:53 PM
I must say this is a very clever move.

All talk of a 4 in a row, Evan Regan and how hot our favouritism is/isn't, has vanished with one bold statement. It kind of reminds me of Ciaran McD appearing out of nowhere to do the interview circuit before the semi-final in 2011. That worked a treat.

Duffy will benefit, I think the squad will benefit and all the talk will not be about last year's final, the year before, Andy's/Alan's form/injury, team selection, who plays where, selections, tactics etc.
Post by: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 05:11:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 17, 2014, 05:04:53 PM

All talk of a 4 in a row, Evan Regan and how hot our favouritism is/isn't, has vanished with one bold statement. It kind of reminds me of Ciaran McD appearing out of nowhere to do the interview circuit before the semi-final in 2011. That worked a treat.

Duffy will benefit, I think the squad will benefit and all the talk will not be about last year's final, the year before, Andy's/Alan's form/injury, team selection, who plays where, selections, tactics etc.

You need a trip on a really, really nice bus to clear your head if you think that's accurate.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 17, 2014, 05:38:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 03:56:18 PM
Quote from: mick999 on May 17, 2014, 03:44:14 PM

If only Pearce Hanley came back and played for his home county.

Well at least his brother is captain of the minors of his and Pearce's home county which is some comfort to you Rossies ;D.
Quote from: Hardy on May 17, 2014, 03:11:03 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 17, 2014, 01:38:11 PM

Sorry. Not even we are up to a task of that manlitude.

well it's the Rossie super bus or we are fooked for good :'(
Post by: larryin89 on May 17, 2014, 08:00:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 05:11:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 17, 2014, 05:04:53 PM

You need a trip on a really, really nice bus to clear your head if you think that's accurate.

Is that the bus that is going to carry Nestor to Roscommon?  True words, this is what Evans told the panel when the big shiny bus landed.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 17, 2014, 10:45:09 PM
Wouldn't it be a fine slap in the face for the likes of you larry if they did win it.
Post by: ross4life on May 18, 2014, 01:23:42 AM
Some amount of attention in the national media and excitement in Co Mayo over this Duffy news. Only the now retired BOD joining up with the Dubs would top it.

Good to see our former county minor players got a mention during the week.
http://www.thescore.ie/gavin-duffy-jack-carty-connacht-1466610-May2014/

Who knows maybe those lads will do likewise in the years ahead.
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 01:49:15 AM
Quote from: ross4life on May 18, 2014, 01:23:42 AM
Some amount of attention in the national media and excitement in Co Mayo over this Duffy news. Only the now retired BOD joining up with the Dubs would top it.

Good to see our former county minor players got a mention during the week.
http://www.thescore.ie/gavin-duffy-jack-carty-connacht-1466610-May2014/

Who knows maybe those lads will do likewise in the years ahead.

I'm sure our lads can ring up Jack and co. to get the inside line on how to stop this Duffy beast if we get over Leitrim.

A GAA-weight Qualter is exactly the sort of option in the middle that would have been very useful right about now.
Post by: Chimley on May 18, 2014, 11:03:28 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 17, 2014, 10:21:08 AM
I thought you lost the last all Ireland because you played two big mules at midfield versus two race horses.

I'd say there's certainly a drop of irish draught in Michael Dara.
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2014, 12:37:38 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/former-connacht-star-gavin-duffy-is-a-serious-addition-to-mayo-s-armoury-1.1812901 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/former-connacht-star-gavin-duffy-is-a-serious-addition-to-mayo-s-armoury-1.1812901)

After reading that article, I can't help thinking that Duffy will be some asset to Mayo as soon as they've finished teaching him how to play gaelic football.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 29, 2014, 02:12:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 29, 2014, 12:37:38 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/former-connacht-star-gavin-duffy-is-a-serious-addition-to-mayo-s-armoury-1.1812901 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/former-connacht-star-gavin-duffy-is-a-serious-addition-to-mayo-s-armoury-1.1812901)

After reading that article, I can't help thinking that Duffy will be some asset to Mayo as soon as they've finished teaching him how to play gaelic football.

Well at this stage in Mayo I think we will have to try everything to try and get over the line including the Duffy experiment. What harm can it do? It's not as if we have any feared reputation to uphold ;D!
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2014, 02:19:00 PM
I just don't really understand why Horan is investing so much time and effort in a project player.
What harm can it do?
Parachuting someone into a senior intercounty squad who hasn't earned the right to be there can do a lot of harm.
Post by: Tubberman on May 29, 2014, 02:22:34 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 29, 2014, 02:19:00 PM
I just don't really understand why Horan is investing so much time and effort in a project player.
What harm can it do?
Parachuting someone into a senior intercounty squad who hasn't earned the right to be there can do a lot of harm.

People outside of Mayo seem to be far more concerned about the fairness of this, than people in Mayo.
Or is fairness a cover for fear? ;)
Post by: Syferus on May 29, 2014, 02:27:21 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 29, 2014, 02:22:34 PM
What harm can it do?

People outside of Mayo seem to be far more concerned about the fairness of this, than people in Mayo.
Or is fairness a cover for fear? ;)

EvanReganEvanReganEvanRegan.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 29, 2014, 02:44:37 PM
Think this is the key sentence from the whole article

"It was a very low-risk move on our part and there was only benefit in it"

Rossie must be kaking themselves at the thought of being part of this experiment because if he is brought on then you'd have to think he has proven to a certain level that he is capable and that they want to check if he can actually do it in championship

Personally I dont think he can, its too much to expect the positional sense of the top level can just be picked up after 15 years away and any mistake can cause you to lose a game
Post by: Crete Boom on May 29, 2014, 02:47:19 PM
What harm can it do?

Yeah for this season it could do a lot of harm although it depends on how much the squad trusts Horan's judgement. The majority of the lads on the squad now seem to trust him so apart form pissing off a few fringe players this could limit the immediate harm. Also Horan no matter what happens will not be manager next season so these players more than likely will be back.

My main point though is it can't be any more harmful than losing two All Ireland finals in a row , playing 8 finals in the last 25 years losing 7 drawing 1 and the drubbings in 2004 & 2006! We are already a laughing stock as far as the rest of the country is concerned with no team from Antrim to Wicklow fearing us if they came up against us in Croker in a serious match! At the moment we will always be seen as a soft touch to get out of the hat.

So when the inevitable happens again this year it is not as if the Duffy experiment will jump the que ahead of " no marquee forward , no bottle , the curse , poor basic skill execution , bad man management , mental bock in Croker , poor tactics etc... for the reasons why we can't win an All Ireland and it will just become another interesting foot note in a chapter in the "House of pain part 2 the revenge of SAM" ;D.

Post by: Syferus on May 29, 2014, 03:11:14 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on May 29, 2014, 02:44:37 PM
Think this is the key sentence from the whole article

"It was a very low-risk move on our part and there was only benefit in it"

Rossie must be kaking themselves at the thought of being part of this experiment because if he is brought on then you'd have to think he has proven to a certain level that he is capable and that they want to check if he can actually do it in championship

Personally I dont think he can, its too much to expect the positional sense of the top level can just be picked up after 15 years away and any mistake can cause you to lose a game

We'll worry about the Mayo football team before we start worrying about the Mayo rugby team.
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2014, 03:20:19 PM
Personally, I think the skills of gaelic football transfer much better to rugby than the skills of rugby transfer to gaelic football.
There has to be lads knocking around the club scene in Mayo that have similar physical attributes to Duffy but with the added benefit of actually having football in the last 10 years.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 29, 2014, 03:26:20 PM
Joe Sheridan worked out well for Meath, even scored a try to win the Delaney Cup.
Post by: Bojangles on May 29, 2014, 04:49:34 PM
From a Rossie point of view, please play him! We're happy to facilitate his re-introduction to the game and we promise to give him a new warm-up routine he won't have met in rugby up to now!
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2014, 09:18:44 AM
(http://25.media.tumblr.com/a3f27267a800a8f62c8af2e430ecc0aa/tumblr_mwsqmsYIvd1qcvkkno1_1280.jpg)
Post by: Crete Boom on May 30, 2014, 10:26:04 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 30, 2014, 09:18:44 AM
(http://25.media.tumblr.com/a3f27267a800a8f62c8af2e430ecc0aa/tumblr_mwsqmsYIvd1qcvkkno1_1280.jpg)

Meath men disclosing the Rossie's age old and highly secret training techniques!!  ;D
Not very manly behaviour from such a manly county! ;D ;D
Post by: Gael85 on May 30, 2014, 05:02:51 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 30, 2014, 10:26:04 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 30, 2014, 09:18:44 AM

Meath men disclosing the Rossie's age old and highly secret training techniques!!  ;D
Not very manly behaviour from such a manly county! ;D ;D

should this be in the "hug tackle" thread  :P
Post by: rodney trotter on June 05, 2014, 12:27:39 PM
Former Connacht Rugby captain and current Mayo footballer, Gavin Duffy, is returning to the province to take up a new role in the commercial department.

Duffy, who retired from rugby at the end of the season, has been appointed as a senior development executive within Connacht Rugby's commercial and marketing department on a full-time basis starting in July.

Currently playing with football with Mayo, Duffy says the appointment is his "dream job", enabling him to continue to have a role in his home province, having ended his playing career.

With a commerce degree from NUI Galway and a BA in strength and conditioning from Setanta College, Duffy says he wants to be a part of the club's future and "to help it go from strength to strength".

"Connacht is where I'm from and I've often spoken about the pride I felt playing for my home province. It's the same now that I've finished playing," he said.

"Being a professional player for so many years and in a club that has seen massive change in recent times, I have seen how crucial the off-field work is to the whole organisation. Having studied commerce, I've always taken an interest in the commercial side of things and enjoyed getting to know our sponsors and stakeholders who do so much in terms of helping the club to grow.

"There were other offers out there, but I had to weigh up my options, taking into account my family and where we wanted to be. But it wasn't a difficult decision when it came to taking this opportunity. It's definitely going to be a new challenge for me moving into the 'real' working world but I'm excited by it."

The 32-year-old will be charged with driving new business with local, regional and national enterprise, as well as continually developing and enhancing relationships with key stakeholders domestically and abroad.

Coming after the appointment of CEO Willie Ruane, another Ballina native, head of commercial and marketing Alex Saul says Duffy's appointment is a huge boost for the province.

"It is fantastic news for Connacht Rugby and the commercial team is greatly strengthened by this exciting addition. Gavin is one of Connacht's greatest ambassadors and has always demonstrated he has the skills and self-awareness to lead. He will bring great insight and energy to the role as well as his outstanding leadership qualities from his playing career.

"Gavin has the drive and ambition to be a part of what we are doing here and I can't think of anyone better to help us shape our off-field efforts going forward. His deep knowledge of the sport and the industry, combined with his commerce studies, as well as his tremendous passion for the club, leave us in no doubt that he will make this role a success."

http://t.co/hnybLyL5lb
Post by: Syferus on June 05, 2014, 12:35:16 PM
Connacht Rugby to get a new bus after Sunday.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 12:50:29 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 05, 2014, 12:27:39 PM
Former Connacht Rugby captain and current Mayo footballer, Gavin Duffy, is returning to the province to take up a new role in the commercial department.

Duffy, who retired from rugby at the end of the season, has been appointed as a senior development executive within Connacht Rugby's commercial and marketing department on a full-time basis starting in July.

Currently playing with football with Mayo, Duffy says the appointment is his "dream job", enabling him to continue to have a role in his home province, having ended his playing career.

With a commerce degree from NUI Galway and a BA in strength and conditioning from Setanta College, Duffy says he wants to be a part of the club's future and "to help it go from strength to strength".

"Connacht is where I'm from and I've often spoken about the pride I felt playing for my home province. It's the same now that I've finished playing," he said.

"Being a professional player for so many years and in a club that has seen massive change in recent times, I have seen how crucial the off-field work is to the whole organisation. Having studied commerce, I've always taken an interest in the commercial side of things and enjoyed getting to know our sponsors and stakeholders who do so much in terms of helping the club to grow.

"There were other offers out there, but I had to weigh up my options, taking into account my family and where we wanted to be. But it wasn't a difficult decision when it came to taking this opportunity. It's definitely going to be a new challenge for me moving into the 'real' working world but I'm excited by it."

The 32-year-old will be charged with driving new business with local, regional and national enterprise, as well as continually developing and enhancing relationships with key stakeholders domestically and abroad.

Coming after the appointment of CEO Willie Ruane, another Ballina native, head of commercial and marketing Alex Saul says Duffy's appointment is a huge boost for the province.

"It is fantastic news for Connacht Rugby and the commercial team is greatly strengthened by this exciting addition. Gavin is one of Connacht's greatest ambassadors and has always demonstrated he has the skills and self-awareness to lead. He will bring great insight and energy to the role as well as his outstanding leadership qualities from his playing career.

"Gavin has the drive and ambition to be a part of what we are doing here and I can't think of anyone better to help us shape our off-field efforts going forward. His deep knowledge of the sport and the industry, combined with his commerce studies, as well as his tremendous passion for the club, leave us in no doubt that he will make this role a success."

Another Mayo man who made the jump from pro rugby back to football albeit only at club level togging out for knockmore after he finished with Connacht in 1999. Also he is a first cousin of Duffy.
Post by: fearsiuil on June 05, 2014, 01:35:09 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 12:50:29 PM

Another Mayo man who made the jump from pro rugby back to football albeit only at club level togging out for knockmore after he finished with Connacht in 1999. Also he is a first cousin of Duffy.

For Knockmore ? Marked him in a county minor semi-final where he lined out at 14 for the Stephenites.
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2014, 02:38:13 PM
Sounds a bit risky.
Is Duffy any good with computers?
Would he have the finger/eye co-ordination required for operating a calculator at this level?
Post by: stephenite on June 05, 2014, 02:45:26 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on June 05, 2014, 01:35:09 PM

For Knockmore ? Marked him in a county minor semi-final where he lined out at 14 for the Stephenites.

Married a Knockmore woman (from a football family), so he lined out with her club one year. But like his cousin, from the Quay. He played a North Mayo junior final for the Stephenites way back when but I'm not sure he ever played Senior championship for the Stephenites.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 02:47:56 PM

Yeah he was a Stephenites man (from the Quay) till he went pro on Rugby but when he came back to football he was living in Knockmore and had recently married a Knockmore woman ;) so there was no coming back to the Stephenites unfortunatley.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 02:50:25 PM
Quote from: stephenite on June 05, 2014, 02:45:26 PM

Married a Knockmore woman (from a football family), so he lined out with her club one year. But like his cousin, from the Quay. He played a North Mayo junior final for the Stephenites way back when but I'm not sure he ever played Senior championship for the Stephenites.

I don't think he ever played senior Stephenite cause he joined Shannon RFC in 92 when he broke into the Irish U21 team.
Post by: DJGaliv on June 05, 2014, 03:23:17 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2014, 02:38:13 PM
Sounds a bit risky.
Is Duffy any good with computers?
Would he have the finger/eye co-ordination required for operating a calculator at this level?

It's hard to know if he can adapt to using a PC, the poor man has been using an Apple Mac all his life. I heard Pat Lam has given him his own windows PC to practice googling things every night and he's making mighty improvements.

He'll be a huge addition, us Connacht nearly men needed to try something different. I'd say it's too soon for him to be doing any work on Excel or Word this year, probably get him to stick to Microsoft Paint but his enthusiasm around the place will be infectious and drive us on no doubt.
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2014, 04:50:53 PM
I heard they've brought in a powerpoint coach to do some one-on-one sessions with him.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 04:55:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2014, 04:50:53 PM
I heard they've brought in a powerpoint coach to do some one-on-one sessions with him.

No Leinster Ulster & Munster do but the IRFU won't grant the budget for one for Connacht. We will never get an equal footing out west while the blazers up in Dublin are in charge.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 05, 2014, 05:51:15 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 04:55:05 PM

No Leinster Ulster & Munster do but the IRFU won't grant the budget for one for Connacht. We will never get an equal footing out west while the blazers up in Dublin are in charge.

Why not say the muldoons in the blazers up in Dublin that are in charge................................because its your own that are constantly shafting ye
Post by: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 06:35:49 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 05, 2014, 05:51:15 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 04:55:05 PM

Why not say the muldoons in the blazers up in Dublin that are in charge................................because its your own that are constantly shafting ye

Email............................................................. all complaints ...................................................... about the complaints.....................of the........................................blazers ..................................up in ................................................ Dublin .............................................. to .............................................. Willie Ruane or ........................................ Gavin Duffy at Connacht HQ ;D. See Jinxy ............................................... and Hardy ........................................ re: lessons in ........................................powerpoint ;). They do great add on classes in grammar , manlyness and doggedness  too if you are interested! ;D
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2014, 09:08:11 PM
Who can I complain to about all this rubby sh1te corrupting the GAA Sectionof the Board? >:(
Post by: rodney trotter on July 01, 2014, 03:33:02 PM
Mayo manager James Horan is delighted with the progress being made by former rugby international Gavin Duffy.

The former Connacht and Ireland rugby star impressed for his adopted club Salthill-Knocknacarra in the Galway SFC at the weekend and could be in line to make his senior intercounty debut for the holders against the Tribesmen in the 2014 Connacht SFC final at MacHale Park on Sunday week:

"It's just football he needs," Horan is quoted in The Irish Examiner. "He needs as much football as he can get. He's making great progress.

"We had someone looking at him. He played midfield and played very well. He was very strong and competitive in the middle and they had a two-point win.

"He had big part to play in that so he's making progress for sure."

The provincial final is twelve days away and Horan will look at Duffy in a series of in-house A v B games before deciding whether or not to call upon the 32-year-old for the provincial showcase.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=219543
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2014, 03:47:13 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 01, 2014, 03:33:02 PM
Mayo manager James Horan is delighted with the progress being made by former rugby international Gavin Duffy.

The former Connacht and Ireland rugby star impressed for his adopted club Salthill-Knocknacarra in the Galway SFC at the weekend and could be in line to make his senior intercounty debut for the holders against the Tribesmen in the 2014 Connacht SFC final at MacHale Park on Sunday week:

"It's just football he needs," Horan is quoted in The Irish Examiner. "He needs as much football as he can get. He's making great progress.

"We had someone looking at him. He played midfield and played very well. He was very strong and competitive in the middle and they had a two-point win.

The provincial final is twelve days away and Horan will look at Duffy in a series of in-house A v B games before deciding whether or not to call upon the 32-year-old for the provincial showcase.

Sure why not just draft a grizzly bear into the squad?
JH: "Yeah, he's very strong and competitive, it's just football he needs".
Reporter: "Can you confirm that Aidan O'Shea was badly mauled in your last training session?"
JH: "Lookit, guys are fighting tooth and nail for places in the first 15, so injuries are bound to happen. Aidan is well able to catch one-handed anyway."
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2014, 03:48:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 01, 2014, 03:47:13 PM

Sure why not just draft a grizzly bear into the squad?
JH: "Yeah, he's very strong and competitive, it's just football he needs".
Reporter: "Can you confirm that Aidan O'Shea was badly mauled in your last training session?"
JH: "Lookit, guys are fighting tooth and nail for places in the first 15, so injuries are bound to happen. Aidan is well able to catch one-handed anyway."

They already have two.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 01, 2014, 03:59:05 PM

Were any of the Galway lads on here at that game?? Was he any good?? And what were the opposition like??
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2014, 04:00:50 PM
Were there any other strong, competitive lads on show?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2014, 04:23:35 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 01, 2014, 03:59:05 PM

Were any of the Galway lads on here at that game?? Was he any good?? And what were the opposition like??

They were playing Kilconly who are probably one of the 2 or 3 weakest senior clubs. Salthill only beat them by 2 points as well which probably says more about how Salthill have gone back.

Found a match report here.

http://connachttribune.ie/salthill-men-hang-victory-bursting-traps/ (http://connachttribune.ie/salthill-men-hang-victory-bursting-traps/)
Post by: macdanger2 on July 01, 2014, 04:29:54 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 01, 2014, 04:23:35 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 01, 2014, 03:59:05 PM

They were playing Kilconly who are probably one of the 2 or 3 weakest senior clubs. Salthill only beat them by 2 points as well which probably says more about how Salthill have gone back.

Found a match report here.

http://connachttribune.ie/salthill-men-hang-victory-bursting-traps/ (http://connachttribune.ie/salthill-men-hang-victory-bursting-traps/)

Cheers GBB. Is the manager of Kilconly, Jarleth Jennings, the Hollymount man??
Post by: ballinaman on July 01, 2014, 04:35:12 PM
In other news...Pearce Hanley is running the show in Australia. Beast mode...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W442WaGwm9E
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2014, 04:46:29 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 01, 2014, 04:35:12 PM

Pierce is a strong, competitive lad.
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2014, 04:51:44 PM

Some man to kick a ball down the field.
Where half of them landed is anybody's guess.
The Aussies would love Kevin Reilly.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2014, 05:03:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2014, 04:46:29 PM

Pierce is a strong, competitive Roscommon lad.

I bet that's what you meant to say Syfín  ;)
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2014, 05:18:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 01, 2014, 05:03:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2014, 04:46:29 PM

Pierce is a strong, competitive Roscommon lad.

I bet that's what you meant to say Syfín  ;)

Sure that's a given. He'd want to stop all the hand-passing or he'll be mistaken for a Mayo man.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 20, 2015, 02:52:24 PM
Cut from the panel.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-dropped-from-mayo-panel-having-not-played-a-competitive-game-1.2111128
Post by: Syferus on February 20, 2015, 03:34:55 PM
Michael Dufficy started for us in a challenge match against Cork there last week. Probably the better bet of the Connacht cross-code Duffs..

This was a very strange story. I said it struck me as if Horan was firing things at a wall hoping they would stick, and given it's now emerged he knew for ages Duffy wasn't even eligible to play and yet he was kept around and the guise maintained that he may feature it doesn't reflect all that well on Mayo.
Post by: Rossfan on February 20, 2015, 04:15:51 PM
Who in Ros apart from the Syf eejiteen gives a flying toss?
Post by: rosnarun on February 20, 2015, 04:22:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 20, 2015, 04:15:51 PM
Who in Ros apart from the Syf eejiteen gives a flying toss?

ya seem a bit obsessed with Syferus there, no need to make everthing pesonal
Post by: neilthemac on February 20, 2015, 05:14:08 PM
Well that story didn't get going at all
Post by: INDIANA on February 20, 2015, 05:53:07 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 20, 2015, 02:52:24 PM
Cut from the panel.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-dropped-from-mayo-panel-having-not-played-a-competitive-game-1.2111128

Makes no sense overall and pretty unfair to him. Complete waste of time
Post by: Jinxy on February 20, 2015, 08:55:20 PM
How anyone thought he was going to add anything, I'll never know.
Post by: Nihilist on February 20, 2015, 10:36:26 PM
In fairness to Holmes he is not stringing either Duffy or the rest of the Mayo public along this year with the idea he might be playing. Better he is cut now and call it a day. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 20, 2015, 10:38:06 PM
Who? Where? What? Why? When?
Post by: moysider on February 20, 2015, 11:23:16 PM

Strange that he was cut after actually playing a match and acquitting himself quite well.
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 12:10:41 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 20, 2015, 11:23:16 PM

Strange that he was cut after actually playing a match and acquitting himself quite well.

Did he not play in the middle? That was never a position where Mayo had any pressing need for any player, let alone a 33 year-old out of the game since minor. He'd have to have been Dermot Earley or Jack O'Shea reincarnated to make an adequate impact there.
Post by: moysider on February 21, 2015, 12:17:11 AM
Quote from: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 12:10:41 AM

Did he not play in the middle? That was never a position where Mayo had any pressing need for any player, let alone a 33 year-old out of the game since minor. He'd have to have been Dermot Earley or Jack O'Shea reincarnated to make an adequate impact there.

Our riches there are greatly exaggerated. I dunno what they expected him to do.
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 12:58:52 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 21, 2015, 12:17:11 AM
Quote from: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 12:10:41 AM

Our riches there are greatly exaggerated. I dunno what they expected him to do.

Was he going to be better than any of the established five midfielders Mayo have? I highly doubt it. FF was the only spot where he could have conceivably done a job in that team.
Post by: rrhf on February 21, 2015, 06:51:46 AM
Mayo lost an all Ireland last year because they had no full forward nor full back.  This makes the decision unfathomable.
Post by: maigheo on February 21, 2015, 03:06:43 PM
Steady on there RRHF.Have you seen Duffy  play a game to make that comment?
Post by: Jinxy on February 21, 2015, 03:14:35 PM
I don't think he means what you think he means.
Or maybe he does.
It's not very clear.
Post by: muppet on February 21, 2015, 04:25:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 21, 2015, 03:14:35 PM
Or maybe he does.
It's not very clear.

Crap Limerick.
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2015, 04:30:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 21, 2015, 04:25:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 21, 2015, 03:14:35 PM
Or maybe he does.
It's not very clear.

Crap Limerick.

It's always about the AISF with you lads.