Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: laoislad on May 13, 2014, 10:18:11 AM

Title: World Cup 2014 Predict the Score.
Post by: laoislad on May 13, 2014, 10:18:11 AM
I've set up a mini league here http://www.predicttheworldcup.com/
Just register and enter the code : 63340 on the mini league option.

Last world cup we had something similar but it was all done on here and we had to post our predictions and someone added up the scores.
I thought this would be handier this time.
Title: Re: World Cup 2014 Predict the Score.
Post by: laoislad on May 19, 2014, 06:42:48 PM
Anyone else interested? ???
Only meself and AZOffaly so far. :-[
Post by: laoislad on May 21, 2014, 10:54:12 PM
Up to 8 now...
Where are all the great United fans who love to make bold predictions........!
Post by: Puckoon on May 21, 2014, 10:56:11 PM
I don't see Tyrone in the group stages. We are, after all, the most important name in football today.

Whats up with that?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 11:08:57 PM
Have threw my hat into the ring.
Post by: laoislad on May 21, 2014, 11:12:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 11:08:57 PM
Antrim ready for a walloping on Sunday?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 11:15:53 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 21, 2014, 11:12:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 11:08:57 PM
Antrim ready for a walloping on Sunday?
Wrong thread.
Post by: ziggysego on May 22, 2014, 12:36:18 AM
Might as well join and give myself a reason to follow the World Cup the year.
Post by: laoislad on May 29, 2014, 06:55:54 PM
We have 16 now...
Any more! ?
Post by: SHEEDY on May 29, 2014, 07:28:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 29, 2014, 06:55:54 PM
We have 16 now...
Any more! ?
17 now. just signed up!
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 29, 2014, 07:34:18 PM
Post by: Ball Hopper on May 29, 2014, 07:55:23 PM
In.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 30, 2014, 12:26:58 PM
In too. 22 now.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 30, 2014, 01:17:07 PM
Think i've already entered this.
Post by: ballinaman on May 30, 2014, 01:23:57 PM
In. Is there going to be some punishment for last place? Kicking Bishop Brennan up the arse type forfeit?
Title: Mini League
Post by: WT4E on May 30, 2014, 02:24:46 PM
Haven't a clue how this works but I'm in!!
Post by: Hotshot Hamish on June 03, 2014, 12:22:45 PM
In.
Post by: Aerlik on June 03, 2014, 12:33:13 PM
Joined.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 03, 2014, 07:58:19 PM
I'm in. 35 so far
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2014, 08:31:09 PM
World cup Brazilian Gash looks like a more fruity mini league
Post by: Never beat the deeler on June 04, 2014, 04:07:17 AM
Haven't watched a soccer match in about two years, but have signed up for the craic.

37 entries now, Aerlik leading the charge!  8)
Post by: Maurice Moss on June 06, 2014, 08:56:59 AM
Just signed up
Post by: laoislad on June 10, 2014, 08:46:49 PM
Two days to go till the start of the World Cup.
We have 43 signed up...anymore before it's to late ?!
Post by: Maurice Moss on June 11, 2014, 11:32:05 PM
I've signed up for it and all lads, but I haven't a clue how to work it.

Any help or tips would be appreciated.

Cheers.
Post by: laoislad on June 12, 2014, 09:19:34 AM
It's fairly straightforward Maurice.
You just guess what score you think each match will be.
Don't worry about how they add up the points as this will be done automatically.
Just put what score you think each match will be.
Post by: laoislad on June 12, 2014, 10:51:24 PM
Fcuk ya Oscar..I had predicted 2-1 to Brazil.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 12, 2014, 10:53:58 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 12, 2014, 10:51:24 PM

Same as
Post by: EC Unique on June 12, 2014, 11:56:34 PM
Site must have crashed.
Post by: EC Unique on June 13, 2014, 09:56:24 AM
Joint top Yeeaa! Might as well gloat as it wont last long ;D ;D
Post by: BennyCake on June 13, 2014, 10:38:36 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 12, 2014, 10:51:24 PM

Oscar likes being talked about.
Post by: ziggysego on June 13, 2014, 11:22:40 AM
Couldn't find the link last night to make my prediction. BARGH!
Post by: laoislad on June 13, 2014, 11:50:22 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 13, 2014, 11:22:40 AM
I'm sure you were going to predict 3-1 Brazil as well......
Post by: AQMP on June 13, 2014, 02:07:06 PM
Forgot about this last night (I was going to go 2-1 to Brazil, good man Oscar) but I've entered a lock of results for the next few days.
Post by: Shrewdness on June 13, 2014, 02:30:29 PM
Is anyone else having trouble getting that site to work today? Need to get some predictions in for tonight's games.
Post by: ziggysego on June 13, 2014, 04:44:13 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 13, 2014, 11:50:22 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 13, 2014, 11:22:40 AM
I'm sure you were going to predict 3-1 Brazil as well......

2 - 1 Brazil.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 13, 2014, 04:53:41 PM
I'm going for Eto to score first 1-1
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 13, 2014, 09:51:27 PM
Did anyone pick a 5-1 win for the Dutch?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 13, 2014, 09:54:05 PM
Had a dutch win. They always hammer teams in group stages
Post by: AZOffaly on June 13, 2014, 09:58:40 PM
I had Brazil 3-1. Since then nothing.
Post by: EC Unique on June 14, 2014, 10:15:02 AM
Fair play to those who picked Holland to beat Spain. It threw a lot of bets I'd say.
Post by: Shrewdness on June 14, 2014, 03:23:07 PM
Have to drop out of our mini league, because for some reason, i'm having technical problems with that website. Only got one prediction in so far (Brazil 2-0), so no point staying in when i can't take part.
Post by: laoislad on June 14, 2014, 07:09:39 PM
That's twice now last minute goals have ruined my prediction !
Post by: seafoid on June 14, 2014, 09:59:27 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 14, 2014, 03:23:07 PM
Have to drop out of our mini league, because for some reason, i'm having technical problems with that website. Only got one prediction in so far (Brazil 2-0), so no point staying in when i can't take part.
They apologised for the crash yesterday which was due to traffic congestion. They have brought in some more hamsters and it's working fine now. 
Post by: seafoid on June 14, 2014, 10:00:59 PM
What do CRB and ESB on the site classification stand for ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 14, 2014, 10:10:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 14, 2014, 10:00:59 PM
Correct Result Bonus (extra points if you guess the score and less than 20% of people have predicted it. ExactScore Bonus is same for scores less than 5% predicted.
Post by: seafoid on June 14, 2014, 10:23:40 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 14, 2014, 10:10:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 14, 2014, 10:00:59 PM
Correct Result Bonus (extra points if you guess the score and less than 20% of people have predicted it. ExactScore Bonus is same for scores less than 5% predicted.
Thanks
Post by: ONeill on June 14, 2014, 10:30:34 PM
Fair play Seafoid. Only man/woman to predict a Costa Rica win. 9-3 a bit optimistic.
Post by: AQMP on June 14, 2014, 10:53:37 PM
A couple of glasses of wine and I've gone for 4-1 to Eng. Young lions and all that.
Post by: seafoid on June 14, 2014, 10:59:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 14, 2014, 10:30:34 PM
Fair play Seafoid. Only man/woman to predict a Costa Rica win. 9-3 a bit optimistic.
Proportionately spot on though  ;)
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 15, 2014, 04:37:42 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 14, 2014, 07:09:39 PM

Petition FIFA for 89 minute games and you're sorted.
Post by: EC Unique on June 15, 2014, 08:44:40 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on June 15, 2014, 04:37:42 AM

Petition FIFA for 89 minute games and you're sorted.
Post by: Hotshot Hamish on June 15, 2014, 11:38:54 AM

Couple of late goals ruining me as well.!!
Drinking Harp running away with it at the moment.
Post by: seafoid on June 15, 2014, 04:30:17 PM
Quote from: Hotshot Hamish on June 15, 2014, 11:38:54 AM

Early doors.
3 points for the exact score mean it is ultra random.
Post by: laoislad on June 15, 2014, 08:11:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 15, 2014, 04:30:17 PM

Early doors.
3 points for the exact score mean it is ultra random.
Last minute goal for Switzerland won 3 points for me today!
Post by: AQMP on June 15, 2014, 09:32:26 PM
Have France at 3-0. Time to shut up shop lads.
Post by: laoislad on June 15, 2014, 09:49:42 PM
Quote from: AQMP on June 15, 2014, 09:32:26 PM
Have France at 3-0. Time to shut up shop lads.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 15, 2014, 11:25:08 PM

I will be the first to say my knowledge of soccer/futbol is the equivalence of a giraffe working with nuclear fusion. But I just went with my first instinct since I haven't seen a men's soccer match since the last World Cup.

Post by: AQMP on June 17, 2014, 03:34:46 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on June 15, 2014, 11:25:08 PM

I will be the first to say my knowledge of soccer/futbol is the equivalence of a giraffe working with nuclear fusion. But I just went with my first instinct since I haven't seen a men's soccer match since the last World Cup.

Like Italy I start slowly!
Post by: Never beat the deeler on June 18, 2014, 02:12:44 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on June 04, 2014, 04:07:17 AM
Haven't watched a soccer match in about two years, but have signed up for the craic.

37 entries now, Aerlik leading the charge!  8)

Yet to see any of the world cup, and can't even remember who I tipped in the opening round, but sitting pretty in third!

Ignorance really is bliss
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 18, 2014, 10:11:16 AM
Aristo 60 doesn't really do soccerball but he is sitting far from fugly in sixth.

Out of 17 matches I picked the correct winner 10 times and correct score twice...

Dear Paddy Power,

Assuming I had stuck £10 on each match and £2 on the correct score would I have my bus fare home today?

I have a feeling I wouldn't.

Kind regards

Aristo 60

Post by: Aristo 60 on June 23, 2014, 02:34:33 PM
Aristo being sent home before third matches.
Post by: laoislad on July 13, 2014, 11:24:03 PM
Congrats Drinking Harp.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 13, 2014, 11:25:26 PM
Thank You

Easy enough
Post by: AQMP on July 14, 2014, 10:12:49 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on July 13, 2014, 11:25:26 PM
Thank You

Easy enough

Those couple of games I missed through injury prove vital ;)