GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 10, 2014, 10:25:50 AM

Title: Tír Eoghain v Iarmhí, D1R514, Omagh, Sunday 16th March @ 2pm.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 10, 2014, 10:25:50 AM
Anyway, begone the nightmare of Fitzgerald Stadium, onwards and sidewards upwards.

Need to bounce back sharpish, though Westmeath will be in no mood to meekly surrender, as Mayo found (almost to their cost) yesterday.

It's an opportunity to exorcise Killarney demons, and exorcised they must be.
Title: Re: Tír Eoghain v Iarmhí, D1R514, Omagh, Sunday 16th March @ 2pm.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2014, 10:28:01 AM
Tyrone by a few.

Post by: Club Rossa on March 10, 2014, 10:37:05 AM
Right Mickey,get 13 men behind the ball.Back to the puke football and we'll be grand ;D
Post by: sensethetone on March 10, 2014, 10:42:19 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on March 10, 2014, 10:37:05 AM
Right Mickey,get 13 men behind the ball.Back to the puke football and we'll be grand ;D
the way some of the tyrone defenders play is like they rely on the blanket defence to save thier blushes.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2014, 10:42:39 AM
It will be 15 v 15 again on Sunday.

Yesterday was a one off never to be repeated.
Post by: ONeill on March 10, 2014, 04:23:58 PM
Should be hurting. Another win will leave them very close to the semis. McAliskey for McNeice.
Post by: bogball88 on March 11, 2014, 09:21:02 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 10, 2014, 04:23:58 PM
Should be hurting. Another win will leave them very close to the semis. McAliskey for McNeice.

John Lynch for Tierney  ;D
Post by: sensethetone on March 11, 2014, 09:28:38 AM
westmeath probably fancy thier chances againist tyrone. if tyrone get sharper to the breaks and sort out miss hit passes and poor ball retention it would improve the team without many personnel changes.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 11, 2014, 11:45:23 AM
Quote from: sensethetone on March 11, 2014, 09:28:38 AM
westmeath probably fancy thier chances againist tyrone. if tyrone get sharper to the breaks and sort out miss hit passes and poor ball retention it would improve the team without many personnel changes.

Not in Omagh. And certainly not after the smarting ye took in Killarney last weekend. If we show more of the battle/bottle like the second quarter last weekend and we are competitive compared to our last visit up there in 2012 I would be happy. Need to let the team settle down now.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 11, 2014, 09:47:06 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 10, 2014, 04:23:58 PM

Would like to see Mc Aliskey starting too (if he's not carrying an injury), but MH being the man he is, he might want to give that starting 15 a chance to atone and redeem themselves on Sunday (if Seán Cav isn't carrying an injury).
Post by: ONeill on March 11, 2014, 10:44:34 PM
You'd think Westmeath would get their own name.

Imagine being called Northarmagh or Southderry.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 11, 2014, 10:48:10 PM
Hopefully Sunday can prove to be used to push the players on for the rest of the year. Better to get a defeat like that in early march rather than later in the year. For some reason the players legs seemed to go a bit during the 2nd half on Sunday. The lack of energy had a big part to play in the size of the defeat. Hopefully lessons will be learnt and performance here will rebuild confidence.

Until the mcmahons or gormley are available mattie Donnelly to me is the best option at centre half back. But if Harte sees him as developing at full forward he might see this as being counter productive given that wont be his role come championship. I'd go with a team like this:
Morgan
Pj
Mcbride
Mcnamee
Mcnabb
Mattie d
Harte
Clarke
Colm c
Sean c
Mcguigan
Grugan
Mccurry
Coney
R oneill

I thought mcguigan had a decent first half as did Harte on Sunday. Clarke is getting turned too easily in defence. He's big enough for the middle and mobile enough but needs to throw his weight about a bit. Not sure he's best option there but worth a go. Ronan oneill would be lucky enough to keep his place but still has lot to offer going forward.
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 12:04:14 AM
It was one bad game lads. Context.

A couple of weeks ago, Ronan O'Neill was the solution to all the problems.

Please lads, easy does it.
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2014, 12:45:55 AM
??

Who's saying anything different?
Post by: rrhf on March 12, 2014, 02:49:30 AM
Quote from: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 12:04:14 AM

I agree... will somebody please think of the children...
Post by: BennyHarp on March 12, 2014, 06:39:07 AM

Bizarre!  :o
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 12, 2014, 08:36:45 AM

I certainly wasn't being overly critical of Ronan O'Neill by suggesting he'll be lucky to keep his place. He struggled a bit on Sunday to win ball. I think he's still coming to terms with the pace and physciallity of county football. But I'd be very hopeful that he can become a top player. I'm not convinced at this stage he has the strength and pace for centre half forward and may be better suited to the corner and dropping out. However, in 2003 I had the same concerns over Brian McGuigan when Harte decided to play him out the pitch - I may have got that one wrong.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 13, 2014, 04:21:48 PM
Matty Donnelly out for the rest of the League with a grade 1 medial knee ligament tear  :( , and Darren Mc Curry may not line out for this one either with the Under 21s against Cavan on Wednesday evening next (http://teamtalkmag.com/).
Post by: ONeill on March 13, 2014, 10:19:37 PM
No side named?
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2014, 10:29:31 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 13, 2014, 10:19:37 PM
No side named?

They're thinking of throwing the points.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 13, 2014, 10:32:31 PM
Mickey still giving them a bollocking after Sunday.

Saw on twitter earlier that team naming was delayed until 10pm, must be on the phone to Ricey and Dooher.
Post by: ONeill on March 13, 2014, 10:35:59 PM
1 A. Skelton 2 J. Mallon 3 K. McGarvey 4 J. Lynch 5 K. McCabe 6 N. McGinn 7 P. Ball 8 P. Donaghy 9 H. McClure 10 M. McClure 11 E. McKenna (Cap.) 12 S. McNally 13 M. Mallon 14 D. O'Hagan 15 P. Quinn
Subs S. Conway S. Rice A. O'Hagan
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2014, 10:49:59 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 13, 2014, 10:35:59 PM
1 A. Skelton 2 J. Mallon 3 K. McGarvey 4 J. Lynch 5 K. McCabe 6 N. McGinn 7 P. Ball 8 P. Donaghy 9 H. McClure 10 M. McClure 11 E. McKenna (Cap.) 12 S. McNally 13 M. Mallon 14 D. O'Hagan 15 P. Quinn

Good enough team.

I think they'll beat Westmeath.
Post by: BennyCake on March 13, 2014, 10:54:45 PM
McGinn will be sure to miss the rest of the year if he uses the head again.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 13, 2014, 11:12:56 PM
"The naming of the Tyrone team will now be at 8pm on Friday night due to technical difficulties earlier."
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2014, 11:14:53 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 13, 2014, 11:12:56 PM
"The naming of the Tyrone team will now be at 8pm on Friday night due to technical difficulties earlier."

They're gathering men up.

Plunkett and big Harry injured.
Post by: ONeill on March 13, 2014, 11:23:56 PM
The boy who works the Internet got pissed off waiting and went to bed.
Post by: BennyCake on March 13, 2014, 11:30:16 PM
Westmeath are obviously confident of playing against that Tyrone back line, that Foster & Allen have been named in the full forward line.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 13, 2014, 11:32:06 PM
The van broke down on the way to check on the immediate availability of the '86 stalwarts, as orangeman has let slip.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 13, 2014, 11:35:41 PM
Tyrone will win by 10 easy, this is a poor Westmeath team, Derry hammered them so I expect the same from a better team than Derry. Handicap is 8 points, 9 plus points win in my book, they need something after last weeks game. They did well enough with Dublin at home but have shit in the other games.

Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2014, 11:37:33 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 13, 2014, 11:32:06 PM
The van broke down on the way to check on the immediate availability of the '86 stalwarts, as orangeman has let slip.

Big Art along the line on Sunday.

Dessie Dolan and them boys are in for some beefing.
Post by: orangeman on March 14, 2014, 12:10:42 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 13, 2014, 10:35:59 PM

Stevie Rice is the only survivor from 86 still on the team in 2014. He's been involved a long time. 28 years. Great player.
Post by: Rawhide on March 14, 2014, 09:27:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 13, 2014, 11:35:41 PM
Tyrone will win by 10 easy, this is a poor Westmeath team, Derry hammered them so I expect the same from a better team than Derry. Handicap is 8 points, 9 plus points win in my book, they need something after last weeks game. They did well enough with Dublin at home but have shit in the other games.

now there is a red rag to a Derry man.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 14, 2014, 08:21:56 PM
Tyrone team v Westmeath Allianz Football League 16th March

1 – Niall Morgan - Éadan na dTorc2 – Aidan McCrory - Aireagal Chiaráin3 – Ronan McNamee   - Achadh Uí Aráin4 – Ryan McKenna - Eaglais5 – Conor Clarke - An Omaigh6 – Matty Donnelly - Trí Leac7 – Peter Harte - Aireagal Chiaráin8 – Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh9 – Sean Cavanagh - An Mhaigh10 – Ciaran McGinley  - Aireagal Chiaráin11 – Shay McGuigan  - Ard Bó12 – Conan Grugan - An Omaigh13 – Kyle Coney - Ard Bó14 – Mark Donnelly  - An Charraig Mhór15 – Connor McAliskey - Cluain Eo​

Couple of curve balls there. Matty Donnelly at 6?? What about his injury?

Other significant changes would be Petey to #7, McNamee to FB and Coney with his first NFL start.
Post by: orangeman on March 14, 2014, 08:28:47 PM
Major surgery.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 14, 2014, 08:32:02 PM
Mcnamee played full back last week a and Harte at wing half back. Not a bad team.
Post by: ONeill on March 14, 2014, 09:01:51 PM
some recovery from Mattie

Ronan?
Post by: orangeman on March 14, 2014, 09:15:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 14, 2014, 09:01:51 PM
some recovery from Mattie

Good physios and the man himself is a bull.
Post by: bigtogs on March 14, 2014, 09:49:41 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 14, 2014, 09:15:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 14, 2014, 09:01:51 PMsome recovery from Mattie
Good physios and the nan himself us a bull.

would not rule out a Connor Gormley start....
Post by: tyroneboi on March 14, 2014, 11:21:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 14, 2014, 09:15:12 PM

Good physios and the man himself is a bull.

In fairness it was never confirmed from the management that he was injured. No matter how good your physios are or how good a shape he is in you don't recover from that injury with a few physio sessions and a couple of days rest. Even at the bottom end of the scale it's still a 3 or 4 week injury.
Post by: ONeill on March 14, 2014, 11:31:07 PM
I think the Irish News reported him out for a few weeks today. As well as a major doubt over Colm.
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2014, 12:00:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 14, 2014, 11:31:07 PM
I think the Irish News reported him out for a few weeks today. As well as a major doubt over Colm.

Remainder of the league was what I read.

I assume at least one of the half forwards will be going back deep on Sunday.
Post by: rrhf on March 15, 2014, 11:16:45 PM
In fairness we now know more about our team after last week.. We need more players in that panel brought up to speed and getting game time.  I'd be happy with staying up and having 4 or 5 more players ready for championship football and that's the way we should consider this. We will be winning no league this year as the dubs and cork will beat us. I'm also not as happy about that team as others in here if we are naming injured players against West meath.  All will be revealed tomorrow I guess.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 16, 2014, 07:39:15 AM
Quote from: rrhf on March 15, 2014, 11:16:45 PM
In fairness we now know more about our team after last week.. We need more players in that panel brought up to speed and getting game time.  I'd be happy with staying up and having 4 or 5 more players ready for championship football and that's the way we should consider this. We will be winning no league this year as the dubs and cork will beat us. I'm also not as happy about that team as others in here if we are naming injured players against West meath.  All will be revealed tomorrow I guess.

I'd be surprised if Matty plays today - McBride or Gormley in at CHB.
Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2014, 09:16:18 AM
Tyrone by a bagful.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 16, 2014, 03:47:40 PM
Good win and helps our score difference big time after the debacle last week. Next up Cork away. They appear to be suffering a bit of a tanking down in Castlebar.
Post by: rrhf on March 16, 2014, 10:01:30 PM
Plus points were Coney and  mcaliskey and our forwards  minus points were our defense and midfield struggles. I'm fearful
Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2014, 10:12:12 PM
These next 2 games will show whether Killarney was a freak game or not. 
Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2014, 10:14:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 16, 2014, 10:12:12 PM

Killarney was a freak.

Kerry aren't a 15 point better team than Tyrone and vice versa.

Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2014, 10:15:59 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 16, 2014, 10:14:00 PM

Killarney was a freak.

I understand that but I mean whether we have a side prone to capitulation. Mayo'13 Dublin'12.
Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2014, 10:19:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 16, 2014, 10:15:59 PM

Killarney was a freak.

I understand that but I mean whether we have a side prone to capitulation. Mayo'13 Dublin'12.

Capitulation in the league ala Killarney is no problem.

Capitulation in the championship is a different matter altogether and Tyrone haven't had very many of those - maybe Dubin '11, Kerry in Killarney '12.

I wouldn't have described Mayo '13 in those terms.
Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2014, 10:26:35 PM
Mayo last year

7-3 up on 32 mins

18-10 down on 60 mins.

15-3 in half an hour.
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 12:29:53 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 16, 2014, 10:26:35 PM
Mayo last year

7-3 up on 32 mins

18-10 down on 60 mins.

15-3 in half an hour.

Serious slice of bad luck visited Tyrone in that period but I do take your point.

However I wouldn't concede that they capitulated.  Lot of variables went into that end result.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 09:30:39 AM
Much improved second half yesterday. If we can get everyone fit and the team lined out right there is still the possibility of a very strong team. It's going to be interesting to see the half forward line come championship. Mcguigan can take too much out of the ball but thought had a decent game yesterday. If he keeps learning could well be 11 in the first round of the championship.

The midfield area was much better in the second half. I was disappointed by grugans input to it in the first half and Donnelly picked up more ball in the second half. For a change we're not being out caught too much in midfield these days and colm cavanagh caught a number of balls. In the first half we struggled to win break ball on our own kickouts. We seemed to kick to an isolated man up against 3 Westmeath players which is crazy. I think we're trying to hit a man in space but it isn't working. We attacked Westmeath kickouts much better than our own.

Harte had a good game again yesterday at wing half back and picked lot of ball at kickouts in the first half. Didn't notice too much of McKenna and thought he did ok. Mcnamee had won the first few balls before getting injured so hope he's fit tot get another go at full back in 2 weeks time. Mattie d did well a centre half and is a good option there, though if joe and gormley fit he may wish to free him up as a ball winning full forward.

Some lovely scores by tyrone yesterday. Morgan hit one monster free kick. Couple of lovely goals and great points by coney and Mcaliskey. If coney would use his size a bit more he could be a very good forward. At the minute I think it's Mcaliskey v ronan oneill for left corner forward and coney v mccurry for right corner forward. As of now mccurry and Mcaliskey probably slightly ahead. Mcaliskey just needs to add a bit more composure to his play at times.

Very important now to deliver a performance down in cork now and get Killarney totally out of the system. Would set up a great last day in Omagh versus the dubs.
Post by: Mikhailov on March 17, 2014, 10:02:30 AM
Quote from: orangeman on March 16, 2014, 10:19:18 PM

Killarney was a freak.

Capitulation in the championship is a different matter altogether and Tyrone haven't had very many of those - maybe Dubin '11, Kerry in Killarney '12.

A team of Tyrones stature shouldn't be having any, never mind many as you say. Add in Cork 09 and Dublin 10 to the scenario as well. Any capitulation in C'ship will result in defeat so even 1 per year is more than enough and shouldn't happen to a team of Tyrone quality. However, this is a new team and they can develop their own strong mindset in the weeks ahead as these are 2 tough games coming up and we will learn a lot more individually and collectively by the end of the NFL. The McKenna cup was a false dawn, running up big scores against teams who wont be in contention come summer time gave us a false sense of where we were at especially considering the new rules. Other teams have adapted to the rules but still remain tight at the back whereas we have gone all gung-ho in attack and left the door open at the back, however yesterday showed a marked improvement in the defensive side of things and hopefully this will continue. We have good young players who will need time to find their feet when playing the big teams and we must allow them time - until summer ;)
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 10:07:35 AM
Quote from: Mikhailov on March 17, 2014, 10:02:30 AM
Quote from: orangeman on March 16, 2014, 10:19:18 PM

Killarney was a freak.

A team of Tyrones stature shouldn't be having any, never mind many as you say. Add in Cork 09 and Dublin 10 to the scenario as well. Any capitulation in C'ship will result in defeat so even 1 per year is more than enough and shouldn't happen to a team of Tyrone quality. However, this is a new team and they can develop their own strong mindset in the weeks ahead as these are 2 tough games coming up and we will learn a lot more individually and collectively by the end of the NFL. The McKenna cup was a false dawn, running up big scores against teams who wont be in contention come summer time gave us a false sense of where we were at especially considering the new rules. Other teams have adapted to the rules but still remain tight at the back whereas we have gone all gung-ho in attack and left the door open at the back, however yesterday showed a marked improvement in the defensive side of things and hopefully this will continue. We have good young players who will need time to find their feet when playing the big teams and we must allow them time - until summer ;)

The footballing landscape in Tyrone was very different to when Mickey took over on 2003 and with the virtual deprature of the 2003-2011 teams, then of course the landscape is going to be changed again. There were a lot of boys on the 2003-11 teams that won't be easily if ever replaced.
Post by: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 12:48:06 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 09:30:39 AM

Some lovely scores by tyrone yesterday. Morgan hit one monster free kick. Couple of lovely goals and great points by coney and Mcaliskey. If coney would use his size a bit more he could be a very good forward. At the minute I think it's Mcaliskey v ronan oneill for left corner forward and coney v mccurry for right corner forward. As of now mccurry and Mcaliskey probably slightly ahead. Mcaliskey just needs to add a bit more composure to his play at times.

McCurry is easily our marquee forward of the last 2 years, he'll not be replaced by Coney. If Coney makes the side it'll be ahead of mc Aliskey or at FF if Matty is to play centre back.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 03:43:56 PM
I'm a fan of mccurry and he's a great score taker. But he's still young and quite light, so don't think he's a total automatic yet. He still has to produce it in big championship games. I do think that will come over the next few years and to be honest would be surprised if he didn't start this year.
Post by: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 04:58:55 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 03:43:56 PM
I'm a fan of mccurry and he's a great score taker. But he's still young and quite light, so don't think he's a total automatic yet. He still has to produce it in big championship games. I do think that will come over the next few years and to be honest would be surprised if he didn't start this year.

He's older than Canavan and Gooch were when they were tossing teams and he's of no lighter build. I'd argue he's produced it in as many big championship games as anyone in that group of McAliskey, Coney, Donnelly and RON. McAliskey may certainly come good and has undoubted quality but at the moment I'd rate McCurry a clear level or two above the rest of our forwards.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 05:02:56 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 04:58:55 PM

He's older than Canavan and Gooch were when they were tossing teams and he's of no lighter build. I'd argue he's produced it in as many big championship games as anyone in that group of McAliskey, Coney, Donnelly and RON.

Your talking about 2 of the finest footballers ever there. As I've said I'm a fan of mccurry and think he probably will start but at this stage I certainly wouldn't be comparing him with with canavan and cooper. All 4 players above still have to really produce it in big championship games and until they do there will be some doubts.
Post by: Man Marker on March 17, 2014, 05:11:50 PM
Our problems are not in the ff line,if we had that compo in the half back or more likely the FB line we would be in some position
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 05:21:25 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 12:48:06 PM

McCurry is easily our marquee forward of the last 2 years, he'll not be replaced by Coney. If Coney makes the side it'll be ahead of mc Aliskey or at FF if Matty is to play centre back.

He's very, very good alright but it depends what you mean by marquee.
Post by: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 05:28:18 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 05:02:56 PM

He's older than Canavan and Gooch were when they were tossing teams and he's of no lighter build. I'd argue he's produced it in as many big championship games as anyone in that group of McAliskey, Coney, Donnelly and RON.

Your talking about 2 of the finest footballers ever there. As I've said I'm a fan of mccurry and think he probably will start but at this stage I certainly wouldn't be comparing him with with canavan and cooper. All 4 players above still have to really produce it in big championship games and until they do there will be some doubts.

My point is why would you criticise McCurry for being too light or too young? The two finest forwards of the last 20 years were of his build. Everyone is so keen to see gym monkeys out running about on the pitch now, I don't see need for McCurry to be carrying around a stone of muscle he won't be using. Calling him to light is like saying Colm is too tall. He's a forward not a scrum-half.

I think McCurry has produced more in championship matches than the other 4. Maybe not to the level of the previous generation but still to a decent level. I'd count Meath, Monaghan and Roscommon 2012 as performances worthy of a top IC footballer. Matty I would count Kildare last year. I can't recall a championship match where Coney has stood out for us. Likewise McAliskey. I know they've played well in league but your yardstick was "in big championship games".
Post by: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 05:35:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 05:21:25 PM

He's not a nationwide marquee forward but in terms of Tyrone, he's the first name I'd have on the inside forward line, ahead of Matty, SON or anyone else.

I was very, very sceptical of him until the middle of last years championship, I thought McAliskey offered more up front and I thought his debut performance against Roscommon 2012 was highly over-rated. IMO he's been very good since though and as you said more composed than McAliskey when the too have been playing together.

He's not the be-all end-all or by any means the finished product but I think his performances mean he should be considered a bit ahead of the other options at inside forward.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 17, 2014, 05:39:08 PM
McCurry was 19 in 2012 so how was he older then Canavan and Cooper when they were tossing teams...
Post by: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 05:52:00 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 17, 2014, 05:39:08 PM
McCurry was 19 in 2012 so how was he older then Canavan and Cooper when they were tossing teams...

He's 21 now with 2 solid years of inter-county experience, he's in a different position from a development point of view than say R O'Neill or McGuigan. Gooch and Canavan were established IC players at 21. Jack mccaffrey is 19, Kilkenny is 21, Mannion is 21, Cillian O'Connor is 22, I'm just making the point that McCurry is not "too young" to be an IC footballer.
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 09:31:02 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 05:35:30 PM

He's not a nationwide marquee forward but in terms of Tyrone, he's the first name I'd have on the inside forward line, ahead of Matty, SON or anyone else.

I was very, very sceptical of him until the middle of last years championship, I thought McAliskey offered more up front and I thought his debut performance against Roscommon 2012 was highly over-rated. IMO he's been very good since though and as you said more composed than McAliskey when the too have been playing together.

He's not the be-all end-all or by any means the finished product but I think his performances mean he should be considered a bit ahead of the other options at inside forward.

Hopefully he'll repay your overwhelming confidence in him.

He has a lot of ball to play to match SON's stellar achievements on a field.

Post by: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 09:52:39 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 09:31:02 PM

Jesus Christ, I didn't say he'd a better career than SON I just said at the minute you'd pick him ahead of S'ON. Do you think we should be playing SON ahead of him then so?
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 09:54:36 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 09:52:39 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 09:31:02 PM

Jesus Christ, I didn't say he'd a better career than SON I just said at the minute you'd pick him ahead of S'ON. Do you think we should be playing SON ahead of him then so?

Definitely not. SON is injured.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 11:00:11 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 05:28:18 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 05:02:56 PM

My point is why would you criticise McCurry for being too light or too young? The two finest forwards of the last 20 years were of his build. Everyone is so keen to see gym monkeys out running about on the pitch now, I don't see need for McCurry to be carrying around a stone of muscle he won't be using. Calling him to light is like saying Colm is too tall. He's a forward not a scrum-half.

I think McCurry has produced more in championship matches than the other 4. Maybe not to the level of the previous generation but still to a decent level. I'd count Meath, Monaghan and Roscommon 2012 as performances worthy of a top IC footballer. Matty I would count Kildare last year. I can't recall a championship match where Coney has stood out for us. Likewise McAliskey. I know they've played well in league but your yardstick was "in big championship games".

I wasn't criticising mccurry at all. I said he probably will start and is a good score taker. I just don't think he's dome enough yet to suggest he's an automatic starter with his place guaranteed. He will develop physically over the next few years which should help his ball winning and retention ability. At the minute as was shown down in Kerry he can still get knocked of the ball at times. The likes of mcguigan improved considerably at county level from 21 to 23.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 17, 2014, 11:17:46 PM
It even took canavan until 1994 to really shine in championship football. I think he'd have been around 23 then. The last 2 seasons should stand to mccurry this year.