GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: moysider on February 20, 2014, 08:55:30 PM

Title: Connacht U21 Championship 2014
Post by: moysider on February 20, 2014, 08:55:30 PM

CADBURY'S CONNACHT U 21 FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP 2014Extra Time in all games
Pre Lim:
Wednesday 12th March
A: Mayo v Roscommon Mac Hale Park

Semi Finals
Wednesday 19th March
Sligo v Winners A Mac Hale Park/Kiltoom

Saturday 22nd March
Leitrim v Galway Carrick on Shannon

FINAL
Saturday 5th April

From a Mayo perspective it has been a very poor 4 years. Yet there was plenty of quality in the squads.
There appears to be a bit of class around again so it ll be interesting to see if the new management can improve on results. I believe we play Tyrone in Ballina on Sunday at 1.30 but with the weather the way it is that may change. Hopefully it goes ahead and we get a look.

Title: Re: Connacht U21 Championship 2014
Post by: Syferus on February 20, 2014, 09:20:58 PM
One life, one Ros~~

The midweek game makes being back for the match tough but sure it is the Rhus..
Post by: ross4life on February 20, 2014, 10:40:23 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 20, 2014, 08:55:30 PM

From a Mayo perspective it has been a very poor 4 years. Yet there was plenty of quality in the squads.
There appears to be a bit of class around again so it ll be interesting to see if the new management can improve on results. I believe we play Tyrone in Ballina on Sunday at 1.30 but with the weather the way it is that may change. Hopefully it goes ahead and we get a look.

Moy you could also say in the last 4 years Mayo have simply come up against some very good U21 sides. Didn't Mayo play Tyrone in a challenge a few weeks ago? Tyrone play in the Shamrock Cup Final this weekend.
Post by: sligoman2 on February 20, 2014, 11:25:30 PM
Any update on sligo? With pats late appointment I would think we are not in great shape.
Any challenge games?
Post by: ck on February 20, 2014, 11:43:52 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on February 20, 2014, 11:25:30 PM
Any update on sligo? With pats late appointment I would think we are not in great shape.
Any challenge games?

Limited info but heard things aren't great. We had a decent minor side 3 year ago but not sure how they've progressed. I can't see us being in same league as Mayo or even Rossies
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2014, 01:53:21 AM
Quote from: ck on February 20, 2014, 11:43:52 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on February 20, 2014, 11:25:30 PM
Any challenge games?

Limited info but heard things aren't great. We had a decent minor side 3 year ago but not sure how they've progressed. I can't see us being in same league as Mayo or even Rossies

:o
Post by: Rossfan on February 21, 2014, 11:08:02 AM
If we Connacht bucks  were arrogant Nordies we'd be saying that the "Connacht champions will walk the All Ireland" or
"Counties who lose in Connacht should be let enter the other Provinces to bring up their standards"
Better put in one of these for some folks  :P :-*
Anyway we've got a tough one to start and if ever the cliche about we're looking no further than our next game was ever to apply - it's definitely the case this year.
Post by: moysider on February 23, 2014, 04:29:36 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 20, 2014, 10:40:23 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 20, 2014, 08:55:30 PM

Moy you could also say in the last 4 years Mayo have simply come up against some very good U21 sides. Didn't Mayo play Tyrone in a challenge a few weeks ago? Tyrone play in the Shamrock Cup Final this weekend.

It was Donegal that we played today.

Mayo had an almost full strength team out. Ended up winning 2-9 to 1-10. Victory looked unlikely after we made little use of the gale in the first half. However 2 cracking goals by Evan Regan (typical solo effort out of nothing) and Darren Duffy were enough to allow Mayo to hang in there. We were second best winning primary possession all day and we also played a sweeper with and agin the wind leaving our ff line ( 2 players in first half and 1 in second half) starved of possession. Looked like management were working on a system regardless of the conditions, which is fair enough.

As far as I could make out the starting team was Shaughnessy, Lynch, Kitterick, Butler, Ruane, Coen, Collins, Prendergast, O Donnell, O Connor, Gallagher, O Shea, Regan, Regan, O Shaughnessy.

Some subs were  Steven Conroy, Duffy, Keane in goals, Tom Clarke and another lad I didn t recognise. There was no sign of Cian Burke and Barry Loftus who would be probable starters imo. Anybody else missing??
Post by: ballinaman on February 23, 2014, 04:38:20 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 23, 2014, 04:29:36 PM
. Anybody else missing??
Has Cian Hanley been involved with the U21s?
Post by: sans pessimism on February 23, 2014, 04:43:10 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 23, 2014, 04:38:20 PM
. Anybody else missing??
Has Cian Hanley been involved with the U21s?
surely he's still injured
Post by: ross4life on February 23, 2014, 06:33:50 PM

It was Donegal that we played today.

Mayo had an almost full strength team out. Ended up winning 2-9 to 1-10. Victory looked unlikely after we made little use of the gale in the first half. However 2 cracking goals by Evan Regan (typical solo effort out of nothing) and Darren Duffy were enough to allow Mayo to hang in there. We were second best winning primary possession all day and we also played a sweeper with and agin the wind leaving our ff line ( 2 players in first half and 1 in second half) starved of possession. Looked like management were working on a system regardless of the conditions, which is fair enough.

As far as I could make out the starting team was Shaughnessy, Lynch, Kitterick, Butler, Ruane, Coen, Collins, Prendergast, O Donnell, O Connor, Gallagher, O Shea, Regan, Regan, O Shaughnessy.

Some subs were  Steven Conroy, Duffy, Keane in goals, Tom Clarke and another lad I didn t recognise. There was no sign of Cian Burke and Barry Loftus who would be probable starters imo. Anybody else missing??

Yes Tyrone were busy winning the Shamrock cup today. Much stronger Mayo team than what you were using in the Hastings cup others missing (off the top of my head) would be Anthony Jordan,Ryan Quirke,Kevin Gibbons. We bet Donegal by one point in a recent challenge.
Post by: Itchy on February 23, 2014, 08:49:42 PM
Was McBrearty playing for Donegal U21s today in that game?
Post by: rodney trotter on February 23, 2014, 09:00:54 PM
Darrach O Connor wouldn't have been anyway, scored 3-6 in Ulster colleges game, MaClarnon Cup Semi
Post by: Itchy on February 23, 2014, 09:43:30 PM
Beating Donegal without McBrearty is one thing. When he is there you could add another 6 points to Donegals total
Post by: moysider on February 23, 2014, 10:44:31 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 23, 2014, 09:43:30 PM
Beating Donegal without McBrearty is one thing. When he is there you could add another 6 points to Donegals total

Yeah, McBrearty was playing today. Tank of a man at this level - or any level. Kitterick did well on him. Impressed by Kitterick.
Post by: Rossfan on March 06, 2014, 10:25:54 AM
Our Hastings Cup run is now put in perspective by the Leinster U21 Results to date.
Despite Syfín's ( and some other eejits round the County) getting carried away - we have it all to do next week.
A few injury worries too I believe and God knows what them Fermanagh savbucks will do to our ladeens Sunday.
Mayowr have to be hot favourites now regrettably.
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2014, 10:38:26 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 06, 2014, 10:25:54 AM
Our Hastings Cup run is now put in perspective by the Leinster U21 Results to date.
Despite Syfín's ( and some other eejits round the County) getting carried away - we have it all to do next week.
A few injury worries too I believe and God knows what them Fermanagh savbucks will do to our ladeens Sunday.

Not like you to set the panic in early Rossfan!

Poor old Syfín must be up in a heap so altogether.

Really lookin forward to this. We might even make a game of it.
Post by: Rossfan on March 06, 2014, 01:45:48 PM
I just have a bad oul' feelin about it Moy. :-\ :(
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2014, 02:12:38 PM

I hope you re right.
Post by: larryin89 on March 06, 2014, 04:07:23 PM
Bollix rossfan, cute hoor rubbish doesnt sit well with ye.
Post by: Syferus on March 06, 2014, 04:11:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 06, 2014, 01:45:48 PM

I heard Ultan is so severely injured he played most of a game yesterday and played quite well  :( :( :(
Post by: sligoman2 on March 06, 2014, 05:22:39 PM
Are sligo having any challeges or is there any news dose play in the Hastings cup or any other competition ?
Looking like one and done again
Post by: magpie seanie on March 06, 2014, 07:54:36 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on March 06, 2014, 05:22:39 PM
Are sligo having any challeges or is there any news dose play in the Hastings cup or any other competition ?
Looking like one and done again

I know Sligo definitely played in an U21 game the weekend before last but didn't even hear who it was against never mind the result. Actually some pretty talented players on the panel.
Post by: ross4life on March 06, 2014, 09:05:36 PM
The Leinster U21 results certainly give some perspective. For example, Longford have now reached the Leinster semi final, Mayo bet them by 8 points in Jan & the larries have only made four changes to their starting 15 since then...

Injury worries a concern, a few starters definitely out, others doubtful. Fingers crossed that more isn't added to that injured list on Sunday.

Post by: moysider on March 06, 2014, 09:54:26 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 06, 2014, 09:05:36 PM
The Leinster U21 results certainly give some perspective. For example, Longford have now reached the Leinster semi final, Mayo bet them by 8 points in Jan & the larries have only made four changes to their starting 15 since then...

Injury worries a concern, a few starters definitely out, others doubtful. Fingers crossed that more isn't added to that injured list on Sunday.

Many involved with the seniors?

Mayo only starter is Adam Gallagher and he may well sit this one out since Varley stepped in well the last Day and O Connor close to a return as well.
2 games in 4 days is asking a lot imo.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 06, 2014, 10:04:46 PM

You're a gas man with words Rossfan. Here in the open discussion of the U-21 thread, you say you're worried, but in the Division 3 2014 thread, you're expecting to be playing the Dublins/Kerrys/Tyrones and Corks of this world... Make up your mind like a good man! :P
Post by: ross4life on March 06, 2014, 10:37:15 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 06, 2014, 09:54:26 PM

Mayo only starter is Adam Gallagher and he may well sit this one out since Varley stepped in well the last Day and O Connor close to a return as well.

Six, three started the last day (C Daly,D Murtagh,E Smith) another two came on (M Nally,D Smith) & one unused sub (F Kelly) its asking a lot alright but both managements are going to risk it by the sounds of it.

Donie Smith is unlikely to be match fit by Wed, he was arguably the difference in the 2011 minor,2012 U21 Ros v Mayo games.
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2014, 11:08:52 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 06, 2014, 10:37:15 PM

Six, three started the last day (C Daly,D Murtagh,E Smith) another two came on (M Nally,D Smith) & one unused sub (F Kelly) its asking a lot alright but both managements are going to risk it by the sounds of it.

Donie Smith is unlikely to be match fit by Wed, he was arguably the difference in the 2011 minor,2012 U21 Ros v Mayo games.

I don t know about us risking anything. I d be surprised if Gallagher is played.
Post by: ross4life on March 06, 2014, 11:23:50 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 06, 2014, 11:08:52 PM
I don t know about us risking anything. I d be surprised if Gallagher is played.
Yeah you guys are unlikely to risk Gallagher isn't O'Connor back to fill in anyway? when i said managements i meant our U21s,Seniors.
Post by: moysider on March 07, 2014, 12:02:04 AM
Quote from: ross4life on March 06, 2014, 11:23:50 PM
Yeah you guys are unlikely to risk Gallagher isn't O'Connor back to fill in anyway? when i said managements i meant our U21s,Seniors.

Oh, alright.

There s no real need to rush back O Connor either until he s 100%. This is the time for likes of Mikey Sweeney and Enda Varley to play rather than train.

Have to whisper this but our best U21 forward not in senior panel.  ssshhhh!
Rosnarun would kill me if he read this :(
Post by: Rossfan on March 07, 2014, 02:42:28 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 06, 2014, 10:04:46 PM

You're a gas man with words Rossfan. Here in the open discussion of the U-21 thread, you say you're worried, but in the Division 3 2014 thread, you're expecting to be playing the Dublins/Kerrys/Tyrones and Corks of this world... Make up your mind like a good man! :P
Responses to Larry are not to be taken with the same gravity as my other comments. ;D Replies to Larry should be filed in the rubbish section along with Syfín's ramblings.
Post by: rosnarun on March 07, 2014, 04:16:27 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 07, 2014, 12:02:04 AM
Quote from: ross4life on March 06, 2014, 11:23:50 PM

Oh, alright.

There s no real need to rush back O Connor either until he s 100%. This is the time for likes of Mikey Sweeney and Enda Varley to play rather than train.

Have to whisper this but our best U21 forward not in senior panel.  ssshhhh!
Rosnarun would kill me if he read this :(
rosnarun misses nothing
Post by: moysider on March 07, 2014, 11:38:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 06, 2014, 10:37:15 PM

Gallagher not selected to start on Sunday.

Post by: muppet on March 09, 2014, 09:50:43 PM
U-21 Mayo Team named on twitter by Mayo Gaa:

M.Flanagan, K.Lynch, L.Kitterick, A.Butler, C.Burke, S.Coen, P.O'Hora, P.Prendergast, D.O'Connor, G.O'Donnell, M.Plunkett, A.Gallagher (C), J.Shaughnessy, E.Regan, C.O'Shea
Post by: moysider on March 09, 2014, 09:59:31 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 09, 2014, 09:50:43 PM

M.Flanagan, K.Lynch, L.Kitterick, A.Butler, C.Burke, S.Coen, P.O'Hora, P.Prendergast, D.O'Connor, G.O'Donnell, M.Plunkett, A.Gallagher, J.Shaughnessy, E.Regan, C.O'Shea

Delighted for Padraic O Hora. He must be flying to have forced his way into the starting 15.

Nice to have this on Wednesday night to look forward to.
Post by: muppet on March 09, 2014, 10:14:27 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 09, 2014, 09:59:31 PM

M.Flanagan, K.Lynch, L.Kitterick, A.Butler, C.Burke, S.Coen, P.O'Hora, P.Prendergast, D.O'Connor, G.O'Donnell, M.Plunkett, A.Gallagher, J.Shaughnessy, E.Regan, C.O'Shea

Delighted for Padraic O Hora. He must be flying to have forced his way into the starting 15.

I am guessing Patrick Durcan wasn't available for selection due to the club final?

Post by: Syferus on March 09, 2014, 10:42:16 PM

M.Flanagan, K.Lynch, L.Kitterick, A.Butler, C.Burke, S.Coen, P.O'Hora, P.Prendergast, D.O'Connor, G.O'Donnell, M.Plunkett, A.Gallagher (C), J.Shaughnessy, E.Regan, C.O'Shea

ONLY ONE OF THE MIGHTY MINOR FORWARDS!????

Surely there's an insurrection planned in Rhu Land for such blasphemy?
Post by: moysider on March 09, 2014, 11:07:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 09, 2014, 10:14:27 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 09, 2014, 09:59:31 PM

I am guessing Patrick Durcan wasn't available for selection due to the club final?

Yeah. He d be one of the first names on the sheet otherwise.
Post by: moysider on March 09, 2014, 11:12:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 09, 2014, 10:42:16 PM

Barry Loftus would have been in there imo. Plunkett was always going to be there.

Apart from him, who?
Post by: Syferus on March 09, 2014, 11:16:47 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 09, 2014, 11:12:57 PM

Barry Loftus would have been in there imo. Plunkett was always going to be there.

Apart from him, who?

To be honest, if you had to pick any of them O'Shaughnessy would have been my last choice of the three FFs. Both Irwin and ould Tommy Goals showed better decision-making while all three showed talent in front of goal.

Not convinced by O'Connor in the middle either, but I guess we'll see.
Post by: maigheo on March 09, 2014, 11:36:13 PM
Think you mean conor loftus ,Moysider.Patrick Durcan is a loss but all in all seems a decent team.I think this is a game we badly need to win as we have done nothing in the last 4 years in this grade.
Post by: moysider on March 09, 2014, 11:44:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 09, 2014, 11:16:47 PM

Apart from him, who?

To be honest, if you had to pick any of them O'Shaughnessy would have been my last choice of the three FFs. Both Irwin and ould Tommy Goals showed better decision-making while all three showed talent in front of goal.

But Shocks wasn t a minor last year! Dara Doherty was the 3rd assassin. Those lads will have their shout next year or the year after but are not hard done by or anything. Big step up from minor to U21.

Quality like Coen and Plunkett there and Prendergast too and brings size. I respect you re concerns about O Connor playing midfield. I ve already expressed the opinion on here that how we fare is down to how we fare at midfield because there s a lot of class there. That side appears to be set up for a 2 man ff line with O Shea outside. No big deal. If I can see it I m sure Roscommon will have been expecting it.
Post by: moysider on March 09, 2014, 11:46:03 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 09, 2014, 11:36:13 PM
Think you mean conor loftus ,Moysider.Patrick Durcan is a loss but all in all seems a decent team.I think this is a game we badly need to win as we have done nothing in the last 4 years in this grade.

Yeah. Conor.
Post by: Syferus on March 09, 2014, 11:58:40 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 09, 2014, 11:44:40 PM

Apart from him, who?

But Shocks wasn t a minor last year! Dara Doherty was the 3rd assassin. Those lads will have their shout next year or the year after but are not hard done by or anything. Big step up from minor to U21.

Quality like Coen and Plunkett there and Prendergast too and brings size. I respect you re concerns about O Connor playing midfield. I ve already expressed the opinion on here that how we fare is down to how we fare at midfield because there s a lot of class there. That side appears to be set up for a 2 man ff line with O Shea outside. No big deal. If I can see it I m sure Roscommon will have been expecting it.

Opps, mixing up the names! Am surprised Conroy didn't make the bench but that's probably due to Kiltaine's run more than anything.
Post by: ross4life on March 09, 2014, 11:59:52 PM
No real surprises on that Mayo team & i won't be surprised if O'Connor,G.O'Donnell swap places. Loads of height and physical strength on that starting 15.
Post by: moysider on March 10, 2014, 12:05:22 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 09, 2014, 11:58:40 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 09, 2014, 11:44:40 PM

Apart from him, who?

Opps, mixing up the names! Am surprised Conroy didn't make the bench but that's probably just to Kiltaine's run more than anything.

That and he is still in leaving cert. If he s going to be good enough he ll have his time. That Kiltane run would have been tough. And he didn t get a score in he final but that may not be very fair as I wasn t there.

Minor to senior club or U21 is a big step up.
Post by: maigheo on March 10, 2014, 12:18:47 AM
I think the the surprise in the Mayo team is the selection of P.Prendergast at midfield.He was not a first choice on the minor team last year and only started the final due to Hanlys injury and I do not think he featured in the Hastings cup.I see great potential in him and I do see him as a future senior as he is fairly aggressive,a good fielder and has a good left peg on him.Probably should not say this but he reminds me a little bit of an under age star that played about 30 years ago.
Post by: ross4life on March 10, 2014, 12:25:03 AM
Moysider, did Matthew Flanagan, Liam Kitterick play minor level for Mayo? i think the other 13 are part of your 2011,2012 minor teams.
Post by: moysider on March 10, 2014, 12:31:29 AM
Quote from: maigheo on March 10, 2014, 12:18:47 AM
I think the the surprise in the Mayo team is the selection of P.Prendergast at midfield.He was not a first choice on the minor team last year and only started the final due to Hanlys injury and I do not think he featured in the Hastings cup.I see great potential in him and I do see him as a future senior as he is fairly aggressive,a good fielder and has a good left peg on him.Probably should not say this but he reminds me a little bit of an under age star that played about 30 years ago.

You have me quessing but I think I heve it but not seen enough of the young fella .

Surprised Seanie Regan not there somewhere. But he hasn been there with the hurlers either so it may be a fitness thing. If he is fit he could be a big boost off the bench anywhere from 5 - 15.
Post by: moysider on March 10, 2014, 12:45:11 AM
Quote from: ross4life on March 10, 2014, 12:25:03 AM
Moysider, did Matthew Flanagan, Liam Kitterick play minor level for Mayo? i think the other 13 are part of your 2011,2012 minor teams.

Flanagan was sub minor keeper last year iirc. There may be an issue with injuries with the lads that played challenge v Donegal because both looked steady enough.

Ketterick did not play minor if I m not mistaken. And in my experience that is not a bad thing!
Post by: Syferus on March 10, 2014, 06:37:38 PM
Both teams will field strong FF lines. Whoever's FB line can contain their men best will probably win it.

Thomas Corcoran is a bit of a doubt but being optimistic he should start. Himself and Adam Gallagher had some great battles at minor and their styles and talents are almost mirrors of either other, looking forward to seeing if they end up matching up at some point.
Post by: larryin89 on March 10, 2014, 07:06:11 PM
Roscommon 5/6 favs for this encounter, if it were in Hyde they would be 1/2 . Mayo really up against it.
Post by: Syferus on March 10, 2014, 07:08:39 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 10, 2014, 07:06:11 PM
Roscommon 5/6 favs for this encounter, if it were in Hyde they would be 1/2 . Mayo really up against it.

You feelin' the fear, Larryin?
Post by: larryin89 on March 10, 2014, 07:59:09 PM
I will not lie I'd friggin love to win this one but at the end of the day , if it's a case of ye can keep havin this grade whilst we demolish ye at senior , I'll take it till I hit the clay anyday.

Hon Mayo though , tear into the horrible bastas.
Post by: ross4life on March 10, 2014, 09:50:16 PM
Boylesports can't pick a winner. Mayo evens Roscommon evens, draw 7/1

Going to be hard to have a decent game on heavy pitch like MacHale park currently is but (providing this game this doesn't end in a draw) a top side will be out after one game.

Post by: moysider on March 10, 2014, 10:11:19 PM

Yeah, I think we are but sure that s what championship is all about. We have a chance though even though our options are seriously reduced. The Durcan brothers, especially Patrick, are a serious loss. Conor Loftus was with the seniors and is now long term injured. Sean Regan has had injury issues, including a broken leg, for some time. Apparently there s a doubt now about the other Regan being fit to play. Dead leg picked up in training. That would be a major swing to Ros. Not saying he would be guaranteed to shoot the lights out but he would take some watching if fit.
Post by: Syferus on March 10, 2014, 10:18:59 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 10, 2014, 10:11:19 PM

Yeah, I think we are but sure that s what championship is all about. We have a chance though even though our options are seriously reduced. The Durcan brothers, especially Patrick, are a serious loss. Conor Loftus was with the seniors and is now long term injured. Sean Regan has had injury issues, including a broken leg, for some time. Apparently there s a doubt now about the other Regan being fit to play. Dead leg picked up in training. That would be a major swing to Ros. Not saying he would be guaranteed to shoot the lights out but he would take some watching if fit.

Evan is a quality forward. Not a stretch to say he's your best. Wouldn't wish him ill but I'd be far happier heading to Castlebar if he wasn't playing.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 10, 2014, 10:34:08 PM
Any sign of the Roscommon team being released?
Post by: moysider on March 10, 2014, 11:17:50 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 10, 2014, 10:34:08 PM

Hopefully they won t be let out of gaol until after the game :)
Post by: Syferus on March 10, 2014, 11:39:33 PM

No Roscommon man would ask such a silly question.

We don't believe in releasing starting line-ups.
Post by: Rossfan on March 11, 2014, 11:55:33 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 10, 2014, 11:17:50 PM

We've given up wasting our time announcing teams in advance.
This way everyone will have to buy the programme.
Post by: ross4life on March 11, 2014, 05:21:34 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 11, 2014, 11:55:33 AM

I know the team but won't be releasing it either. Number of players out injured, some strange selections. Mayo should be favourites now...
Post by: Syferus on March 11, 2014, 05:24:37 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 11, 2014, 05:21:34 PM

I know the team but won't be releasing it either. Number of players out injured, some strange selections. Mayo should be favourites now...

Don't ever back against the Nige..

Spring's broke here today, hopefully it continues tomorrow.
Post by: Chimley on March 11, 2014, 07:19:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 10, 2014, 12:31:29 AM
Quote from: maigheo on March 10, 2014, 12:18:47 AM

You have me quessing but I think I heve it but not seen enough of the young fella .

Surprised Seanie Regan not there somewhere. But he hasn been there with the hurlers either so it may be a fitness thing. If he is fit he could be a big boost off the bench anywhere from 5 - 15.

Padraig Brogan?
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 11, 2014, 08:53:46 PM

CuteRoscommonhoorism doesn't have the same ring to it as CuteKerryhoorism.
Post by: Syferus on March 11, 2014, 09:15:32 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 11, 2014, 08:53:46 PM

He's not lying about players being injured.
Post by: Rossfan on March 11, 2014, 09:47:46 PM

We're waitin to see how many fit players we have tomorrow evenin.
Hopefully we'll manage 17 or 18 anyway.
It'll be strange not being involved in the latter stages of the Connacht U21 ...... :-\
Post by: ross4life on March 11, 2014, 09:54:14 PM
Five out that IMO would have started another two starters facing fitness tests, the pain killing injections might work on some of the lads...
Post by: rodney trotter on March 11, 2014, 09:56:50 PM
Would Donie Smith be the biggest loss?
Post by: moysider on March 11, 2014, 09:59:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 11, 2014, 09:47:46 PM

We're waitin to see how many fit players we have tomorrow evenin.
Hopefully we'll manage 17 or 18 anyway.
It'll be strange not being involved in the latter stages of the Connacht U21 ...... :-\

Ye might not have to fret at all yet. The word on Evan Regan is that he is very unlikely to make it. Without him it is difficult to see where enough scores are going to come from.

We seemed to be setting up fairly defensively with Regan and Shaughnessy inside. What happens if he doesn t make it I haven t a notion.
Post by: moysider on March 11, 2014, 10:00:49 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 11, 2014, 09:54:14 PM
Five out that IMO would have started another two starters facing fitness tests, the pain killing injections might work on some of the lads...

Were these injuries picked up playing senior at the weekend?
Post by: Syferus on March 11, 2014, 10:01:23 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 11, 2014, 09:56:50 PM

AFAIK, Donie is physically fit (played in U21 challenge matches recently, even came on for the seniors v. Limerick) but maybe not match fit.

Ultan Harney (our minor of the year last year) is a major doubt. John Mac, our captain and son of Tony Mac, is out as is our starting FB from last year. Corcoran is a doubt too of course.

Moy, didn't hear about any of the senior lads getting injured. Maybe Ross knows more.
Post by: ross4life on March 11, 2014, 10:05:07 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 11, 2014, 09:56:50 PM
Would be like Mayo without Evan Regan.

Quote from: moysider on March 11, 2014, 10:00:49 PM
Were these injuries picked up playing senior at the weekend?
Nope all those guys are good to go.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 11, 2014, 10:07:21 PM
Yeah he is very good player, meant would be have been your most influential loss?, as he only as good that the ball goes in. Is there any lads around the half back line midfield carrying knocks?

Murtagh has been showing well for your Seniors good sign, for a 19 year old, He should rip it up at this level
Post by: Syferus on March 11, 2014, 10:12:40 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 11, 2014, 10:07:21 PM
Yeah he is very good player, meant would be have been your most influential loss?, as he only as good that the ball goes in. Is there any lads around the half back line midfield carrying knocks? Where did Harney play for teh Minors?

Played midfield in 2012 and 11/12 in 2013 as a third midfielder mostly. Destroyed Tyrone in a losing performance in the AISF last year. Great ball winner and powerful going forward. Was a great playmaker for the minors, a player we've lots of hope for.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 11, 2014, 10:15:16 PM
Think i remember him alright. Would probaly fancy the Rossies to edge,
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 11, 2014, 10:15:25 PM
It's going to be all ticket I see. Will there be a van selling tickets outside the ground like for most league matches? I assume there will.
Post by: moysider on March 11, 2014, 10:28:19 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 11, 2014, 10:15:25 PM
It's going to be all ticket I see. Will there be a van selling tickets outside the ground like for most league matches? I assume there will.

Looks like all county games will be all ticket anymore.

It means that no money can go missing  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on March 12, 2014, 02:48:52 PM
Famous last words perhaps..... :(
C'mon  Ros
Post by: Tubberman on March 12, 2014, 07:34:43 PM
Goal for Mayo - who's this Regan lad!!? ;)
Post by: Tubberman on March 12, 2014, 07:49:51 PM
Mayo 1-02 Ros 1-02  in MacHale Park after 18 mins
Post by: Tubberman on March 12, 2014, 07:59:20 PM
Another goal for Ros

Mayo 1-03 Ros 2-05
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 08:00:38 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 12, 2014, 07:34:43 PM
Goal for Mayo - who's this Regan lad!!? ;)

Sssssshhhhhhhh !
Post by: Tubberman on March 12, 2014, 08:01:27 PM
Murtagh causing havoc - penalty to Ros.... scored

Mayo 1-03 Ros 3-05

Seems like it's all over at half-time :(
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 08:02:39 PM
Time to put Syferus on ignore.
Post by: Tubberman on March 12, 2014, 08:18:12 PM
4 goals now for Ros, 10 points in it
Post by: Tubberman on March 12, 2014, 08:46:15 PM
Ros seem far more physical, far fitter, far more mature and have some great footballers.
Sounds like Mayo management went with too many of last year's minors who just aren't as developed as the Roscommon lads yet.
Fair dues Ros, I'll avoid the board until Syferus has calmed down, so see ye about this time next year.... 
Post by: muppet on March 12, 2014, 08:48:02 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 12, 2014, 08:46:15 PM
Ros seem far more physical, far fitter, far more mature and have some great footballers.
Sounds like Mayo management went with too many of last year's minors who just aren't as developed as the Roscommon lads yet.
Fair dues Ros, I'll avoid the board until Syferus has calmed down, so see ye about this time next year....

When we won in 2006 we had (I think) 5 minors from 2005 starting.

Ros obviously a serious team but I think the Dubs would be favourites.
Post by: Itchy on March 12, 2014, 09:48:26 PM
Very impressive win for Ros. I thought Mayo would make a game out if it but sadly not.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 12, 2014, 09:53:24 PM
Looking like a repeat of last year's Connacht final. Unless there is a major shock in the semis of course. Was Hyde last year so presumably Tuam or Salthill this year.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 12, 2014, 09:54:05 PM
Sligo god help us as we go to kiltoom :-\
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 12, 2014, 09:57:33 PM
Syferus, you mentioned both teams fielding good full forward lines. But Mayo's was terrible apart from who Regan kicked a good goal and a few nice scores too - apart from him I thought O'Shaughnessy should have been taken off earlier and O'Shea was injured for so long, he made little or no impact on the game for his build. Fair play to Ros, their full forward line roasted our fullback line and it showed on the scoreboard. Also worked harder out field too, winning breaking ball etc. It will take a very good team to beat Roscommon I think.

It's going to be a barren few years for Mayo if U-21 translates to senior.
Post by: Syferus on March 12, 2014, 10:05:09 PM
Wonderful work by the lads. Not many times we win by such a margin against Mayo, nevermind in McHale. You have to saviour wins like this.

Still, only a prelim. Next Wednesday Sligo will be very happy to let the hype surround us. Marky Park is no cakewalk so let's get through the Offaly game for and healthy and give Sligo our full focus. Some poor clearance balls today that gave Mayo soft points, that won't cut it in a tight game.
Post by: sligoman2 on March 12, 2014, 10:12:08 PM
Where is the Sligo v Ross game? Sligonian mentioned kiltoom while safer us said markievicz.  I don't think it makes much difference either way.

Who have Sligo from the senior panel?  Murphy and McDonald?? Are the only two I can think of unless one of the Johnny Kelly's is eligible.

Hopefully we can put up a respectable performance but Ross are very good
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 12, 2014, 10:12:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2014, 10:05:09 PM
Wonderful work by the lads. Not many times we win by such a margin against Mayo, nevermind in McHale. You have to saviour wins like this.

Still, only a prelim. Next Wednesday Sligo will be very happy to let the hype surround us. Marky Park is no cakewalk so let's get through the Offaly game for and healthy and give Sligo our full focus. Some poor clearance balls today that gave Mayo soft points, that won't cut it in a tight game.

The game is in Kiltoom. I can't see Ros losing in Connacht to be honest.
Post by: Syferus on March 12, 2014, 10:14:41 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 12, 2014, 10:12:42 PM

The ladeen on the mic got it wrong, we played Sligo at home in the 2012 Connacht final.
Post by: ross4life on March 12, 2014, 10:30:10 PM
Well i think its safe to say the best side won that game. In fairness to Mayo they started bright & were well fired up for this game but once we settled ourselves & Mark Nally scored our opening goal we took over completely. The finishing by Diarmuid Murtagh and an half fit Donie Smith was of the highest order the mayo defence simply could handle them & Corcoran,O'Rourke ruled the roost in midfield, our defence became stronger the longer the game went on.

Well done to ours lads superb stuff looking forward to the Sligo game already.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 12, 2014, 10:45:38 PM

Galway on home turf with most of last year's team still around can't be discounted on a whim. Lot depends how we replace the two lads in midfield though. They are the big losses from last year (and recent years). But most of the backs and forwards are still eligible. Sure who knows though? Maybe Sligo or Leitrim will spring a surprise. Unlikely I know.
Post by: moysider on March 12, 2014, 10:49:39 PM

You could be right Farr. We took a hell of a trimming tonight. We got a lesson on breaking ball, tackling, kick passing and scoring. Maybe Ros will do this to everybody. Their full backs were very tight. Corcoran had a fine game and all the forwards looked good with Donie Smith and especially Murtagh outstanding. On this evidence they are a top team.

Hard to take anything from our performance. As predicted our midfield struggled and that was the start of it. Regan went into the match after intensive treatment over the last few days and he was clearly unfit. Still he bagged a great finish early on even though nothing was on and forced on his weaker foot. But we seemed to ignore him completely as a target after and I can only conclude that he was not able to make runs. Without him scoring heavily it was no contest.

I still think likes of Coen will be a serious senior player and others may come through as well but tonight was a bit of a disaster for these lads. Roscommon are a fine team but still an 11 point margin should not be happening. We should be more competitive than that. But we were limited in so many ways tonight. I can t think of anything we were good at.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 12, 2014, 10:56:05 PM
Disappointing result and it robs these lads of a chance to get some serious game time and force themselves into the senior team. Instead they're back to an intermittent club schedule for the year.

Congrats to Roscommon but we shouldn't be losing by 11 points at home to any team
Post by: From the Bunker on March 12, 2014, 10:56:59 PM
Best team won for sure. Rossies look a formidable outfit, At least i hope they are. We had some nice passages of play, but Roscommon were stronger, better drilled and used the ball better. Could not fault our lads they did the best they could. Regan of course was the pick of the Mayo forwards while the game was still a game. Great Rossie turn out at the game and this drove their players on. Best of luck in the rest of the competition.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 12, 2014, 11:29:03 PM
I was just going on the Connacht Gaa website for the venue, we did play Ross in Hyde last in 2012 so not sure if finals are different, shouldn't be but surely Connacht website is right? Either way huge task for our lads. Not going to get drawn in to the sad boring hype shite that goes on here, no yer the favourites no yer the favourites blah blah, our underage results are a joke, the work that went into the Sligo u21s in 2012 was unreal and we never really delivered our best or troubled Ross too much and I'm not hearing great things this yr so what do people expect Sligo people to think. Why do Sligo avoid the Hastings cup? It'd be a start to enter that and get competitive games rather than challenges. Good luck to our lads wherever it is.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 12, 2014, 11:49:51 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 12, 2014, 11:29:03 PM
I was just going on the Connacht Gaa website for the venue, we did play Ross in Hyde last in 2012 so not sure if finals are different, shouldn't be but surely Connacht website is right? Either way huge task for our lads. Not going to get drawn in to the sad boring hype shite that goes on here, no yer the favourites no yer the favourites blah blah, our underage results are a joke, the work that went into the Sligo u21s in 2012 was unreal and we never really delivered our best or troubled Ross too much and I'm not hearing great things this yr so what do people expect Sligo people to think. Why do Sligo avoid the Hastings cup? It'd be a start to enter that and get competitive games rather than challenges. Good luck to our lads wherever it is.

In fairness, I don't think anyone here is saying Sligo are favourites. They are just saying it won't be a cakewalk.

If they said any different you'd be complaining they aren't showing you enough respect.

Fair play to Roscommon. By all accounts far superior.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 13, 2014, 09:59:25 AM
Sligo v. Roscommon is Saturday March 22nd in Markievicz Park at 4.30pm. Thought we were due a home game against Roscommon alright.

Of the senior panel you'd have Vinnie Cadden, Niall Murphy and Kevin McDonnell anyway.
Post by: Bod Mor on March 13, 2014, 11:35:45 AM
Fair play, sounds like Roscommon have a serious outfit and best of luck to them for the rest of the campaign.
A hell of a beating for us but hopefully a few of these lads can concentrate on contributing to the senior panel. It is alarming we haven't won Connacht at under21 for a few years now and this is bound to affect our seniors at some stage. Now is the time to get it right and to look at where it's going wrong. Transition the right players from minor through to senior via the under21s.

Michael Hall was a player who really impressed at minor last year. Did he come on last night?
Post by: Mano on March 13, 2014, 11:41:44 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 13, 2014, 09:59:25 AM
Sligo v. Roscommon is Saturday March 22nd in Markievicz Park at 4.30pm. Thought we were due a home game against Roscommon alright.

Of the senior panel you'd have Vinnie Cadden, Niall Murphy and Kevin McDonnell anyway.
Barry Walsh and John Kelly are on senior panel also. What about all those St Mary's players - have they done their usual disappearing act between minor and u21 (Egan, Cawley, Brehony, Smith)
Post by: magpie seanie on March 13, 2014, 11:44:11 AM
Quote from: Mano on March 13, 2014, 11:41:44 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 13, 2014, 09:59:25 AM

Barry Walsh and John Kelly are on senior panel also. What about all those St Mary's players - have they done their usual disappearing act between minor and u21 (Egan, Cawley, Brehony, Smith)

Sorry Mano - forgot about your lads. Am sure those Mary's lads including our ex player will be involved also. Looks like a tough task going on last night's result.
Post by: Rossfan on March 13, 2014, 05:38:55 PM
A sweet sweet night in the Capital of Rhubarbland. ;D ;D
Great stuff by an excellent team .... but how good are Mayowr? Mind you after we had finished with them when Donie scored goal no 4 I think the poor devileens were so shocked they weren't able to do much.
In one way I wish we had gone on to add 10 or 12 more points to get revenge for 2013, 2009, 2004, 1999 ......... and all the other dark days in McHale. However we'll settle for what we got.
The "authorities" couldn't wait to get the lights switched off afterwards and the scoreboards were shut down before most people had a chance to take a pic of them. And some officious stewarding too by a few no doubt disgruntled individuals.

And to doubly make my night wasn't I sitting quite near the one and only Syfínín ???
Next stop Markievicz and hopefully we'll be able for the inevitable Sligo ambush.
Post by: Syferus on March 13, 2014, 06:00:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 13, 2014, 05:38:55 PM
Great stuff by an excellent team .... but how good are Mayowr? Mind you after we had finished with them when Donie scored goal no 4 I think the poor devileens were so shocked they weren't able to do much.
In one way I wish we had gone on to add 10 or 12 more points to get revenge for 2013, 2009, 2004, 1999 ......... and all the other dark days in McHale. However we'll settle for what we got.
The "authorities" couldn't wait to get the lights switched off afterwards and the scoreboards were shut down before most people had a chance to take a pic of them. And some officious stewarding too by a few no doubt disgruntled individuals.

And to doubly make my night wasn't I sitting quite near the one and only Syfínín ???
Next stop Markievicz and hopefully we'll be able for the inevitable Sligo ambush.

You were the lad in red and green that keep asking me what was left and then returning his head to his lap to avoid the unfolding nightmare?
Post by: Tubberman on March 13, 2014, 06:08:14 PM

Enjoy it, ye have to make the most of these rare occasions.
Normal service will resume in the big boys game in the summer ;)
Post by: Rossfan on March 13, 2014, 06:59:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 13, 2014, 06:00:16 PM

You were the lad in red and green
Wash out your mouth buicín. How could you even dare think that never mind say it. :'( :'( :'(
Post by: muppet on March 13, 2014, 07:07:38 PM
It would be a lot easier to congratulate Roscommon on a fine win and to wish them the best for the Championship, if it weren't for Statler and Waldorf.
Post by: Syferus on March 13, 2014, 07:10:55 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 13, 2014, 07:07:38 PM
It would be a lot easier to congratulate Roscommon on a fine win and to wish them the best for the Championship, if it weren't for Statler and Waldorf.

I think you spelt my name wrong.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 14, 2014, 12:10:56 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on March 13, 2014, 11:35:45 AM
Fair play, sounds like Roscommon have a serious outfit and best of luck to them for the rest of the campaign.
A hell of a beating for us but hopefully a few of these lads can concentrate on contributing to the senior panel. It is alarming we haven't won Connacht at under21 for a few years now and this is bound to affect our seniors at some stage. Now is the time to get it right and to look at where it's going wrong. Transition the right players from minor through to senior via the under21s.

Michael Hall was a player who really impressed at minor last year. Did he come on last night?

Got about 15 minutes near the end, a few touches here and there. But the game was over and you could not read anything out of it!
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 14, 2014, 12:50:20 AM
Quote from: muppet on March 13, 2014, 07:07:38 PM
It would be a lot easier to congratulate Roscommon on a fine win and to wish them the best for the Championship, if it weren't for Statlerín and Waldorfín.

Fixed that for you
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 21, 2014, 12:54:22 PM
Galway (U21FC v Leitrim)

Rory Lavelle
Liam Silke
James Shaughnessy
Eoghan Kerin
Fiontan O'Cuanaigh
John Hanbury
Eoin Walsh
Michael Day
Enda Tierney
Cathal Mulryan
Sean Moran
Damien Comer
Shane Maughan
Eamon Brannigan
Ian Burke

Shane Walsh out injured.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 21, 2014, 01:06:32 PM
How many of that team would have started the All Ireland last year, must be a big number. Walsh would have too
Post by: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 01:08:02 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 21, 2014, 12:54:22 PM
Galway (U21FC v Leitrim)

Rory Lavelle
Liam Silke
James Shaughnessy
Eoghan Kerin
Fiontan O'Cuanaigh
John Hanbury
Eoin Walsh
Michael Day
Enda Tierney
Cathal Mulryan
Sean Moran
Damien Comer
Shane Maughan
Eamon Brannigan
Ian Burke

Shane Walsh out injured.

Is Adrian Varley overage?

Shaneen is some talent but I don't think ye'll need him on Saturday.

Six or seven by my count, Rodney.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 21, 2014, 01:23:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 01:08:02 PM
Galway (U21FC v Leitrim)

Rory Lavelle
Liam Silke
James Shaughnessy
Eoghan Kerin
Fiontan O'Cuanaigh
John Hanbury
Eoin Walsh
Michael Day
Enda Tierney
Cathal Mulryan
Sean Moran
Damien Comer
Shane Maughan
Eamon Brannigan
Ian Burke

Shane Walsh out injured.

Yeah Varley overage along with the two lads in midfield.

Varley is a big loss alright as even though he didn't score as much as some of the other forwards I thought he was the glue that held them all together. He was the best at bringing others into play.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 21, 2014, 01:25:18 PM
Team that started last year

Galway: T Healy; E Walsh, J Shaughnessy, D Cunnane; M Loughnane, D Burke, P Varley; T Flynn, F Ó Curraoin; C Mulryan, S Moran, D Comer; S Walsh, A Varley, I Burke.

Subs: C Rabbitte for S Moran (47), J Healy for T Healy (49), P Ezergailis for D Cunnane (53), G Kelly for I Burke (58), S Maughan for A Varley (58).

Not that a bad a return from that panel
Post by: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 01:54:14 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 21, 2014, 01:23:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 01:08:02 PM
Galway (U21FC v Leitrim)

Rory Lavelle
Liam Silke
James Shaughnessy
Eoghan Kerin
Fiontan O'Cuanaigh
John Hanbury
Eoin Walsh
Michael Day
Enda Tierney
Cathal Mulryan
Sean Moran
Damien Comer
Shane Maughan
Eamon Brannigan
Ian Burke

Shane Walsh out injured.

Yeah Varley overage along with the two lads in midfield.

Varley is a big loss alright as even though he didn't score as much as some of the other forwards I thought he was the glue that held them all together. He was the best at bringing others into play.

Yip. You always see young lads able to score at underage but the really exciting ones are the players who understand it's a team game and have the vision to split defences for others.

I think Ian Burke is a fine forward too and can do a good imitation of Varley if allowed. Maughan was superb in an abject team performance in the 2011 Connacht minor final. Built like a tank.
Post by: Rossfan on March 21, 2014, 02:10:44 PM
No word on a Ros team as the oul omerta remains in place.
Don't know if McManus is fit and if he is who will he dislodge ? Sweeney?
This game v Sligo is the classic banana skin unless our attitude is right. In the belief that it will be we should book our place in the Final most likely against Galway.
In that case I suppose we can expect them to stage the Final in the wind tunnel at 11 a m on a Sunday  ::)
Post by: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 02:12:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 21, 2014, 02:10:44 PM
This game v Sligo is the classic banana skin unless our attitude is right. In the belief that it will be we should book our place in the Final most likely against Galway.
In that case I suppose we can expect them to stage the Final in the wind tunnel at 11 a m on a Sunday Monday  ::)

Fixed.
Post by: ross4life on March 21, 2014, 04:50:22 PM
Galway (U21FC v Leitrim)

Rory Lavelle
Liam Silke
James Shaughnessy
Eoghan Kerin
Fiontan O'Cuanaigh
John Hanbury
Eoin Walsh
Michael Day
Enda Tierney
Cathal Mulryan
Sean Moran
Damien Comer
Shane Maughan
Eamon Brannigan
Ian Burke

Shane Walsh out injured.

8 of that team started Connacht final against us last April would be 9 if Walsh was fit how long is he out for & is Garry Kelly also injured? We would have 9 also but have since lost two starters from last year.

Quote from: Rossfan on March 21, 2014, 02:10:44 PM

A few changes i'm hearing John Mac fit again. As you said our attitude has to spot on, going on the last two Sligo minor teams i would expect a good competitive game on Saturday.
Post by: galwayman on March 21, 2014, 07:10:31 PM
Not sure what the story with Kelly is injury wise.
Also no sign of Conor Rabbitte or Gearoid Canavan who both featured last year and are still underage.
We should get over Leitrim but I doubt we'll be strong enough for Ros this year.
The two lads at midfield last year will be very hard to replace.
O Curraoin was unbelievable in the Connacht final last year
Post by: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 07:49:17 PM
Quote from: galwayman on March 21, 2014, 07:10:31 PM
Not sure what the story with Kelly is injury wise.
Also no sign of Conor Rabbitte or Gearoid Canavan who both featured last year and are still underage.
We should get over Leitrim but I doubt we'll be strong enough for Ros this year.
The two lads at midfield last year will be very hard to replace.

He was in the first half when Thomas Corcoran was trying to win the ball directly from him but when Corc started breaking the ball down to his men it cut FOC out of the game for most of the second half and that was a big cause of the wheels falling off the Galway challenge until the final few minutes.

We have a few injuries at midfield right now, Corc wasn't 100% for the Galway game and he was partnered by Tadgh O'Rourke who is only out of minor. We have two others that could play midfield but are recovering from injuries.

I read John McManus (son of Tony), our captain, is fit again and if he can get game-time at the weekend it should help our cause.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 21, 2014, 07:55:59 PM
Quote from: galwayman on March 21, 2014, 07:10:31 PM

Think he caught something like 16 or 17 kickouts. Some crazy number anyway. Been a slow enough start to his senior career with injuries but he was man of the match against Down recently. Hopefully can stay injury free for a spell now.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 21, 2014, 10:04:03 PM
When is the Roscommon Sligo game, next Wednesday?

I predict Ros will win by 25 points and Syferus will drool into his keyboard so much that he'll blow up his pc.
Post by: fearsiuil on March 21, 2014, 10:15:53 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 21, 2014, 10:04:03 PM

I predict Ros will win by 25 points and Syferus will drool into his keyboard so much that he'll blow his load.
Post by: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 10:23:44 PM

I predict Ros will win by 25 points and Syferus will drool into his keyboard so much that he'll blow up his pc.

The joys of touch-screens.
Post by: ck on March 21, 2014, 10:35:57 PM

It'll be no hammering. Rossies could be in for a big surprise in this one
Post by: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 10:37:34 PM
Quote from: ck on March 21, 2014, 10:35:57 PM

After what happened to Galway in 2012 no one is taking Sligo for granted.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 22, 2014, 08:36:22 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 21, 2014, 10:37:34 PM

Pull the other one. Sligo are 10/1 to win this game and Roscommon are 1/50!!!!
If Sligo stay within 10 I'll be surprised.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 22, 2014, 11:14:09 AM

Pity you put in 'his pc' at the end! Though, giving him his dues he predicted Ros would hammer Mayo.
Post by: Rossfan on March 22, 2014, 11:43:29 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 22, 2014, 08:36:22 AM

. Sligo are 10/1 to win this game and Roscommon are 1/50!!!!
Ludicrous odds  --- unless Syfín got his dad to lump a few grand on Ros and the Bookies are making sure no more money comes in on them.
I'm hopeful we can do it but  that old cliche of one game at a time is the only way to go.
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 01:41:37 PM

We're also something mad like 4/9 for Connacht while the defending AI champions are 7/4 for it in what would be a home Connacht final for them.

Odds at minor and U21 are always mad as hell.
Post by: Mano on March 22, 2014, 01:56:23 PM

Ross are battle hardened having played some top teams in the Hastings Cup and Mayo in the preliminary round wheras this is Sligo's first competitive game. A few challenges is not ideal preparation when the opposition have played a handful of competitive games.
Why are Sligo not playing in the Hastings Cup? They did so a number of years ago
Surely all teams should play in a preliminary tournament. Its an unfair advantage in terms of preparation for those who have played in a competitive tournament.
Sligo have some good players and should have beat Mayo at minor level but Roscommon look to be a different class.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 22, 2014, 02:52:13 PM
Quote from: Mano on March 22, 2014, 01:56:23 PM

Ross are battle hardened having played some top teams in the Hastings Cup and Mayo in the preliminary round wheras this is Sligo's first competitive game. A few challenges is not ideal preparation when the opposition have played a handful of competitive games.
Why are Sligo not playing in the Hastings Cup? They did so a number of years ago
Surely all teams should play in a preliminary tournament. Its an unfair advantage in terms of preparation for those who have played in a competitive tournament.
Sligo have some good players and should have beat Mayo at minor level but Roscommon look to be a different class.

Galway,Dublin have won the last four U-21 All Irelands without the need of pre-season tournament. How have Sligo been doing in challenge games?
Post by: Zulu on March 22, 2014, 04:51:24 PM
Sligo up 5-3, Galway ahead by 2 against Leitrim
Post by: Blowitupref on March 22, 2014, 05:03:33 PM
Half time in both.

Leitrim 0-6 Galway 0-6
Sligo 0-5 Roscommon 0-6
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 05:05:32 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 01:41:37 PM

We're also something mad like 4/9 for Connacht while the defending AI champions are 7/4 for it in what would be a home Connacht final for them.

Howya, Myles?

Poor stuff from us, Sligo with a big warm blanket and our lads making silly mistakes. Hopefully the game will open up in the second half.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 22, 2014, 05:12:11 PM
HT's

Roscommon 0-6 Sligo 0-5

Leitrim 0-3 Galway 0-6

Closer games than many would have expected.
Post by: Mano on March 22, 2014, 05:37:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 05:05:32 PM

Howya, Myles?

Poor stuff from us, Sligo with a big warm blanket and our lads making silly mistakes. Hopefully the game will open up in the second half.

Nothing wrong with a warm blanket on a cool evening
Big Fergal used it effectively in 2010

Whats the score now Syferus?
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 05:40:09 PM
Quote from: Mano on March 22, 2014, 05:37:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 05:05:32 PM

Howya, Myles?

Nothing wrong with a warm blanket on a cool evening
Big Fergal used it effectively in 2010

Whats the score now Syferus?

11-7 to Ros less than ten mins left
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 05:41:21 PM
Ros goal. Nearly home.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 22, 2014, 05:46:21 PM
Leitrim leading Galway by 1,2 minutes injury time
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 22, 2014, 05:48:17 PM
Leitrim have beaten the All Ireland champions  :o
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 22, 2014, 05:50:10 PM
Well that was unexpected.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 22, 2014, 05:50:38 PM
Fair play to Leitrim
Post by: Shrewdness on March 22, 2014, 06:06:46 PM
Full time...Ros 1-12, Sligo 1-10.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 22, 2014, 06:09:09 PM
Results. Leitrim 0-9 Galway 0-8, Sligo 1-10 Roscommon 1-12

Leitrim result must be one of the biggest ever shocks well done to them. Fine effort by Sligo also just came up short.
Post by: Mano on March 22, 2014, 06:11:50 PM
Myles 25 points was a bit out. Good showing from our lads - another loss though.

Some good players on that team (Murphy, Kelly, Davey, Walsh). Hopefully a few make the step up to senior. Pity the Coolera/Marys man didn't commit this year could have made the difference. Is he playing rugby or helping promote the brothers new album?
Post by: rodney trotter on March 22, 2014, 06:16:06 PM
That was Leitrims first win in the Connacht U21 Championship since 98,some wait & to be against the All Ireland champions and a place in the final.
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 06:18:08 PM
I thought we were bollixing a bit but Galway, what the hell? We had a pact.

Well done Leitrim. Now to beat ye.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 22, 2014, 06:36:15 PM
Quote from: Mano on March 22, 2014, 06:11:50 PM
Myles 25 points was a bit out. Good showing from our lads - another loss though.

Some good players on that team (Murphy, Kelly, Davey, Walsh). Hopefully a few make the step up to senior. Pity the Coolera/Marys man didn't commit this year could have made the difference. Is he playing rugby or helping promote the brothers new album?

Ah 25 points was tongue in cheek and directed a Ros's No 1 fan.

Fair play to Sligo, I was folloing on twitter and they made some come back, probably just ran out of time. I did expect Ros to win by 10 points so I got that well wrong.

Incredible result for Leitrim, could they beat Ros too??? Where will that game be?
Post by: Syferus on March 22, 2014, 06:46:06 PM
Pairc Sean.
Post by: ross4life on March 22, 2014, 06:53:26 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 21, 2014, 04:50:22 PM
As you said our attitude has to spot on, going on the last two Sligo minor teams i would expect a good competitive game on Saturday.

Well i was spot on there.

--------------------

Phew! wasn't pretty but we got over the line! Some will talk about how poorly we played or that complacency played its part however that would take away from the Sligo performance. Wasn't a word from them kept their heads down & did their homework on us.  Full forward  Murphy gave our 18 year old full back a torrid time today more so than any Mayo forward did & plenty of other fine footballers on their side, hard luck to Sligo fine effort & well done to our lads for reaching another Connacht U-21.

Congrats to our lovely Leitrim neighbours if they can beat the defending Connacht,All Ireland champions they can certainly beat us. First Leitrim v Roscommon U-21 Connacht final since 1977 Leitrim won that final & the following year 1978 we won the U-21 All Ireland hmm..
Post by: ck on March 22, 2014, 09:00:48 PM

Good man Miley!
Post by: magpie seanie on March 22, 2014, 11:10:43 PM
Niall Murphy man of the match for second year in a row in a losing effort. Amazing how well he plays when he is actually allowed on the field, i.e. is picked. A talent like him should be nurtured and encouraged not blackguarded like is the case in our county.

Great effort. I was unable to attend but honestly had very low expectations. A shame we couldn't have made it a Sligo v. Leitrim Connacht final. Despite the good effort our horrific record at this level goes on.
Post by: fearsiuil on March 22, 2014, 11:25:45 PM
Was it Johnny Kelly from Tourlestrane playing ? Saw him playing for a struggling NUIG team in Sigerson v DCU this year and was best player for them that day.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 22, 2014, 11:27:14 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on March 22, 2014, 11:25:45 PM
Was it Johnny Kelly from Tourlestrane playing ? Saw him playing for a struggling NUIG team in Sigerson v DCU this year and was best player for them that day.

Yeah, it was. He's a good one. Mano will tell you more about him but I do think he has a big future too.
Post by: fearsiuil on March 22, 2014, 11:36:05 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 22, 2014, 11:27:14 PM

Yeah, it was. He's a good one. Mano will tell you more about him but I do think he has a big future too.
Nice player, that day for NUIG linked defence with attack effortlessly and took a few scores as well I think. Stood out against a superior team.
Post by: sligoman2 on March 23, 2014, 12:19:26 AM
Good effort but again a loss.  Could someone explain why we do t play in the Hastings cup?

Looks like we have some good talent coming up.  Agree with magpie, Murphy is a great player and I expect him to start v Longford next week.

Well done to the mgmt for getting them in a good frame of mind, well done to Roscommon and especially to leitrim
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 23, 2014, 04:03:13 AM
If today's programme is to be believed criostoir Davey is now playing with Mary's,  :o

What can one say about today's result, we lost but we performed well. Hearing there goal was a calamity. I wouldn't put it past the senior management to fck murphy around more but the lad has to step up aswell when on the field. Would be great if delivers for the seniors.

I don't know how the management got such a performance out of us with preparation that went on, fair play. Still losing never makes me happy.

Our minors conceded 3goals in the last 7 mins to ensure a hammering to Galway in the minor league.
Post by: Rossfan on March 23, 2014, 09:59:43 AM
Quote from: ross4life on March 22, 2014, 06:53:26 PM

Phew! wasn't pretty but we got over the line!

Exactly and awake up call to team management and the Syfíns of our County.
Hope they will get down to the serious business of preparing quietly for our joust with the neighbours who will be fairly bursting to lower our colours too.
Post by: Mano on March 23, 2014, 11:40:37 AM
Quote from: fearsiuil on March 22, 2014, 11:36:05 PM

Nice player, that day for NUIG linked defence with attack effortlessly and took a few scores as well I think. Stood out against a superior team.

Bit of a late developer - has really blossomed into a terrific footballer in the last year. First year playing for Sligo, hard to believe Minor manager didn't consider him good enough to make the cut - he picked plenty from his own club though.

Quote from: magpie seanie on March 22, 2014, 11:10:43 PM
Niall Murphy man of the match for second year in a row in a losing effort. Amazing how well he plays when he is actually allowed on the field, i.e. is picked. A talent like him should be nurtured and encouraged not blackguarded like is the case in our county.

Great effort. I was unable to attend but honestly had very low expectations. A shame we couldn't have made it a Sligo v. Leitrim Connacht final. Despite the good effort our horrific record at this level goes on.
Bit strong saying he is been blackguarded. Don't think thats the case unless i am out of the loop.  Nearly beat us on his own for Coolera last year. He is unfortunate in that he plays in a position where we are very strong at the moment. If he starts its in place of Kelly or Marren which is unlikely as manager seems to be playing a bigger ball winner in at full forward. Personally i would start him and definately have him on ahead of Coen
Post by: Shrewdness on March 23, 2014, 08:44:14 PM
So, who'd have ever predicted a Roscommon v Leitrim Connacht Final?? I expect Ros to start as favourites, but surely after beating Galway, Leitrim must be in with a big shout on home soil.
Post by: Syferus on March 23, 2014, 09:45:38 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 23, 2014, 08:44:14 PM
So, who'd have ever predicted a Roscommon v Leitrim Connacht Final?? I expect Ros to start as favourites, but surely after beating Galway, Leitrim must be in with a big shout on home soil.

Yip.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 23, 2014, 09:55:45 PM

In fairness Roscommon are forewarned now which will probably help them. Galway seemed to rock up there with a half arsed attitude thinking they would win handy without exerting themselves. Hard to change that mindset mid way through the game then when they found themselves in a battle.
Post by: ross4life on March 23, 2014, 11:31:05 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 23, 2014, 09:55:45 PM

In fairness Roscommon are forewarned now which will probably help them. Galway seemed to rock up there with a half arsed attitude thinking they would win handy without exerting themselves. Hard to change that mindset mid way through the game then when they found themselves in a battle.

We were forewarned in a few hastings cup games yet we almost got caught by Sligo yesterday. Well organised sides that defend in numbers are difficult to break down. Galway were well beaten by Tipp going into this weekends game i wonder did that play on their mindset?
Post by: magpie seanie on March 24, 2014, 08:26:49 AM
Quote from: Mano on March 23, 2014, 11:40:37 AM
Quote from: fearsiuil on March 22, 2014, 11:36:05 PM

Bit of a late developer - has really blossomed into a terrific footballer in the last year. First year playing for Sligo, hard to believe Minor manager didn't consider him good enough to make the cut - he picked plenty from his own club though.

Quote from: magpie seanie on March 22, 2014, 11:10:43 PM

Bit strong saying he is been blackguarded. Don't think thats the case unless i am out of the loop.  Nearly beat us on his own for Coolera last year. He is unfortunate in that he plays in a position where we are very strong at the moment. If he starts its in place of Kelly or Marren which is unlikely as manager seems to be playing a bigger ball winner in at full forward. Personally i would start him and definately have him on ahead of Coen

I know it's strong but I stand over it 100%. I'll be accused of rampant bias but he would and should be one of the first names on the teamsheet for Sligo. Mano - I don't think you were in Ransboro yesterday but did you hear much about it? Ask whoever you're talking to how ye would have got on if Coolera had Marren or Kelly (or any other forward in the county) instead of Murphy.
Post by: Mano on March 24, 2014, 09:03:57 AM
I wasn't there yesterday but i was there for the championship last year so i know what he can do. As i said i would have him in the full forward line with Kelly and Marren. Marren and Kelly have been the 2 top forwards in Sligo for last number of and they are performing well at the moment so they won't be dropped.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 24, 2014, 09:23:02 AM
Of course I'm not saying Marren or Kelly should be dropped but Murphy should be given a proper run in the side in his best position. He has never got that which I think is a disgrace.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 24, 2014, 09:23:39 PM
Quote from: ck on March 22, 2014, 09:00:48 PM

Good man Miley!

Well I was surprised Sligo ran then that close, fair play to them.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 25, 2014, 02:31:36 PM
Worrying rumours of injuries to key players in the Roscommon camp in the run up to the Connacht Final. Diarmuid Murtagh (hamstring), Kevin Finn (knee) and Enda Smith (finger) are all rated as doubtful. Murtagh, in particular, would be a massive loss. Not surprised he's injured. He's been playing and training with the Ros senios and U-21's, his club and college.
Post by: Rossfan on March 25, 2014, 02:35:29 PM
The oul story with the GAA - flog the talented young lads out of it but the ordinary players are lucky to get 10 or 12 games a year at all sorts of odd times of the year.
No matter how good, bad or complacent Galway were the Laythrums can't be too bad so let's hope we go into this with the right attitude.
If we don't we could be left with very red faces but Saturday's narrow escape might just have focussed the minds.
Post by: Syferus on March 25, 2014, 03:26:29 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 25, 2014, 02:31:36 PM
Worrying rumours of injuries to key players in the Roscommon camp in the run up to the Connacht Final. Diarmuid Murtagh (hamstring), Kevin Finn (knee) and Enda Smith (finger) are all rated as doubtful. Murtagh, in particular, would be a massive loss. Not surprised he's injured. He's been playing and training with the Ros senios and U-21's, his club and college.

Murt and Smith are/will be fine. It was madness that they were down to play county league games the day after a championship game anyways and missing them was best regardless of their injury status. The real injury worry is Harney who is an incredible player for us and would be huge to have available.

Is it Finn's knee that's injured again? He did his ACL in 18 months ago and I would hate to see the lad having another long-term injury. Nally was the starter (and features for the seniors) in the Mayo game so really Dineen was giving Finna shot rather than him being a starter at this point.
Post by: Rossfan on March 25, 2014, 04:36:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 25, 2014, 03:26:29 PM

Murt and Smith are/will be fine. .

He's a doctor now  :o ::)
Is there any limits to the gasúinín's talents?
Post by: Syferus on March 25, 2014, 05:16:34 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 25, 2014, 04:36:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 25, 2014, 03:26:29 PM

Murt and Smith are/will be fine. .

He's a doctor now  :o ::)
Is there any limits to the gasúinín's talents?

Not my fault that your sources are failing you, Rossin.

I remember two week ago when people said Harney was out for the season and then he was MotM in a schools match two days later, we seem to have an incredible ability to declare any player that gets a paper cut as 'doubtful'.

Using the NFL (America, it's a place far over the the big lake to the west of Connemara, Rossin) injury designations both would be probable, not doubtful.
Post by: ross4life on March 25, 2014, 06:03:42 PM
If Smith's finger is confirmed broken he won't make the final and Murtagh will need longer than 2 weeks to recover from an hamstring injury, i just hope it isn't a full tear than will rule him out for months. David Carleton who started the hastings cup final scoring 0-3 from play is another injury doubt. When you add in Ultan Harney,Cathal Compton its clear we aren't getting much luck with injuries.
Post by: ross4life on March 25, 2014, 06:09:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 25, 2014, 05:16:34 PM

I remember two week ago when people said Harney was out for the season and then he was MotM in a schools match two days later, we seem to have an incredible ability to declare any player that gets a paper cut as 'doubtful'.

Everyone at this stage knows Harney is injured & is awaiting  an operation in the meantime he injured his ankle in training. He came on as a sub for school against the wishes of Dineen. MOTM  good one Syf ;D
Post by: Rossfan on March 25, 2014, 07:11:45 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 25, 2014, 06:09:42 PM

Everyone at this stage knows Harney is injured & is awaiting  an operation in the meantime he injured his ankle in training. He came on as a sub for school against the wishes of Dineen. MOTM  good one Syf ;D
Except one buicín who lives in a parallel Universe that is  :D
He's great craic though  ::)
Post by: Shrewdness on March 25, 2014, 09:49:02 PM
If Harney is awaiting surgery, why did Clann bring him on as a sub for Donie Shine last Sunday. What's going on playing injured young players? Don't forget that Donie Smith was supposed to be out of the Mayo match, then turned up and scored 2 goals.
Post by: ross4life on March 25, 2014, 10:26:32 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 25, 2014, 09:49:02 PM
If Harney is awaiting surgery, why did Clann bring him on as a sub for Donie Shine last Sunday. What's going on playing injured young players? Don't forget that Donie Smith was supposed to be out of the Mayo match, then turned up and scored 2 goals.

I'd like to know whats going on also as Ros managers have a long history of playing injured players. Cathal Shine,Cathal Compton to name a few. The Mayo game was Donie Smith's first start for 4 months at least since then hes been able to line out for his club.

Post by: Rossfan on March 26, 2014, 10:40:29 AM
If young Harney needs an operation to eradicate a problem ... then why in the name of God can't someone with sense send him off to have it and tell all those selfish managers to have some respect for the ladeen and think of his welfare. >:( >:(
I bet they wouldn't keep driving their car if there was something needed attention >:(
Post by: Syferus on March 26, 2014, 12:56:40 PM

Word is he had the groin injury all last season too. It's pretty clear the surgery has been purposefully put off.
Post by: Rossfan on March 26, 2014, 12:58:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 26, 2014, 12:56:40 PM

Word is he had the groin injury all last season too. It's pretty clear the surgery has been purposefully put off.
Absolutely fcukin disgraceful if so.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 26, 2014, 03:01:36 PM
Yes, but who is making the decision to postpone the surgery? Is it the lad himself or is he coming under pressure from elsewhere. If it's true that he had the injury last year, it means that Clann na ngael knew all about it. So too would Fergal O'Donnell as Roscommon Minor Manager. Nigel Dineen couldn't resist the urge to bring him on against Mayo U-21 in the last minute with Ros already 10 points up. What was that about?. If the lad isn't looked after, he'll cripple himself by playing when he's injured.
Post by: ross4life on March 26, 2014, 05:51:17 PM
Who is feeding you this info? Harney picked up his injury early this year. Cathal Compton is the lad that was playing with an injury last year.

Moving on the Connacht U-21 final confirmed for Saturday 5th April 2:30 pm Pairc Seán, Carrick on Shannon.
Post by: Syferus on March 26, 2014, 05:57:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 26, 2014, 05:51:17 PM
Who is feeding you this info? Harney picked up his injury early this year. Cathal Compton is the lad that was playing with an injury last year.

Moving on the Connacht U-21 final confirmed for Saturday 5th April 2:30 pm Pairc Seán, Carrick on Shannon.

Wasn't what I heard. Plenty of Chinese whispers though.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 26, 2014, 07:31:00 PM
Regardless of whether he picked it up this year or last year, Harney should not be playing any football if he has an injury that requires surgery. It's not as if he's being paid thousands every week, is it?
Post by: Syferus on March 26, 2014, 07:42:48 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 26, 2014, 07:31:00 PM
Regardless of whether he picked it up this year or last year, Harney should not be playing any football if he has an injury that requires surgery. It's not as if he's being paid thousands every week, is it?

I'd agree honestly. I was totally agast that COC did something similar with his shoulder injury last year and that management (the people who should know better) allowed it to happen.

The sad fact is that COC was still huge for Mayo with one shoulder and it highlights how management teams (and I guess players, but it's natural that they want to play and not sit on the sideline) are willing to risk their best players for short term gains.

Harney is one of the best prospects at his age in the country, nevermind in Roscommon. That sort of player needs to be protected.
Post by: moysider on March 26, 2014, 11:28:01 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 26, 2014, 07:42:48 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 26, 2014, 07:31:00 PM

I'd agree honestly. I was totally agast that COC did something similar with his shoulder injury last year and that management (the people who should know better) allowed it to happen.

The sad fact is that COC was still huge for Mayo with one shoulder and it highlights how management teams (and I guess players, but it's natural that they want to play and not sit on the sideline) are willing to risk their best players for short term gains.

Harney is one of the best prospects at his age in the country, nevermind in Roscommon. That sort of player needs to be protected.

I know 2 lads in mid-teens that have had multiple shoulder dislocations. They can t have surgery until they are fully grown. They continue to play. Is that right? Or should they forget about sport?

Some injuries can only be addressed by surgery but sometimes surgery should only be a last resort. I doubt if Harney would still be playing if surgery was the obvious fix. 
Post by: Shrewdness on March 27, 2014, 09:10:13 PM
I take your point Moysider, but in Harney's case, if surgery isn't the obvious fix, he should be given a rest and let it heal if that's possible. But the fact is that he's injured, but won't be let rest. He has recently come as a sub for his college, club and Ros U-21's. A fully fit Ultan Harney would have started for all 3 sides..If he doesn't need surgery, then he needs rest. At the moment, he's getting neither.
Post by: Rossfan on March 28, 2014, 11:15:01 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 27, 2014, 09:10:13 PM
..If he doesn't need surgery, then he needs rest. At the moment, he's getting neither.
+1.
Word is that only surgery can cure the thing.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 31, 2014, 07:33:31 PM
Countdown well underway now in Roscommon and Leitrim for next weekend's Connacht U-21 Final. I expect Ros will be favourites, but that alone won't win it for them. People talked of them as All Ireland contenders after the 11 point win over Mayo. That would have to reassessed after a very patchy 2 point win over Sligo. There were rumours last week of injuries to key players. We'll soon know whether or not the injuries are going to be significant enough to cause absentees..Leitrim must still be on one hell of a high after beating Galway, and if that confidence translates into their performance in the Final, they will be a handful. In the expectation that Roscommon are better than they looked against Sligo, i take Ros to win a close tough game by about 2 points.
Post by: Syferus on March 31, 2014, 07:48:08 PM
It will progress much as the Sligo game did for us, hard to break down but starting to open up as the game wears on. What I want to see is us making less of the basic errors we did against Sligo, take Leitrim as seriously as we would have Galway and not get frustrated by the 14-man defence.

Do that much and I think we're talking a 6-8 point win.
Post by: Rossfan on March 31, 2014, 07:55:42 PM
Jasus Syfín they'll love that kind of talk in Laythrum.
Post by: Syferus on March 31, 2014, 08:05:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 31, 2014, 07:55:42 PM

They can love it all they want, it's my honest-to-God opinion.

Not disrespecting Leitrim in any in what I said. We have to be focused, but with the experience of the Sligo game both as a banana skin and how they set up, I'm counting on us putting in a solid shift on Saturday.

If not for Lavin making a meal of Sligo's high ball late on we were going to run out that game quite comfortably (we were seven up with, what, 5-6 minutes to go and Sligo would likely have kept over-egging their possessions in an attempt to get a goal if they hadn't got it there) despite playing poorly. I'd rate Sligo as better than Leitrim and they've shown themselves to be so all the way up through the grades.

Leitrim are obviously far better organised than they were last year in Kiltoom but that only gets you so far and if you leak a goal or a few points in quick succession the system starts to limit the side as much as it benefits them. If you start to lag behind you can't just sit back with 14 men and think you're going to drag a team back, you'll be forced to leave holes where you didn't want to. From the Galway game they seem quite reliant on Brady for scores and light, tricky forwards are exactly what our backs have been going against in training for months now. I genuinely believe we have the players that can get the points or goals that break the game.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 31, 2014, 08:20:50 PM
Fair play Syferus, you certainly have your homework done. I hope your prediction is correct and that we do win by 6-8 points.
Post by: Rossfan on April 03, 2014, 01:53:51 PM
Team announced -
1. Colm Lavin             Éire Óg

2. David Murray (C)     Padraig Pearses
3. Seán Mullooly             Strokestown
4. Cathal Kenny             Oran

5. John McManus     Roscommon Gaels
6. Fintan Kelly             Castlerea St. Kevins
7. Conor Daly             Padraig Pearses

8. Shane Killoran     Elphin
9. Thomas Corcoran     Strokestown

10. Ciaran Kilcline     Roscommon Gaels
11. Mark Healy             Roscommon Gaels
12. Enda Smith             Boyle

13. Diarmuid Murtagh    St. Faithleachs
14. Mark Nally             Roscommon Gaels
15. Donie Smith             Boyle

Supporters are advised to purchase their tickets in advance of the game from any of the following outlets in County Roscommon:
SuperValu Ballaghaderreen, Boyle, Castlerea, Carrick on Shannon, Roscommon town, Monksland and Centra in Roscommon Town as well as various Centra and Supervalu outlets in County Leitrim or on-line at Tickets.ie

I suppose with Finn injured the team more or less picked itself.
Once our lads' attitude is right I'd be hopeful we can do the business and enjoy a good oul celebration in Glancy's afterwards with Club Rossie. ;D

Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2014, 01:19:03 PM
I did say not to over-react about Murt and Enda. Still a little concerned that they haven't let Murt train since the Sligo game, hamstring tweaks can be b**tards, as Donie Shine can testify to.
Post by: Mayo Mick on April 04, 2014, 02:29:23 PM
Leitrim quietly confident for this one. Contacts close to camp feel that if they can keep it tight early on it will become a dogfight and then the pressure will start to tell on the Rossies. Home advantage and a ref likely sympathetic to the underdog will swing it in last 10 mins.

That's what I'm hearing anyway.

Post by: neilthemac on April 04, 2014, 02:51:14 PM
Roscommon by at least 5, if they put in a performance.
Post by: Mayo Mick on April 04, 2014, 02:59:21 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on April 04, 2014, 02:51:14 PM

Leitrim by 2 if they put in a performance!!!
Post by: Itchy on April 05, 2014, 08:30:51 AM
Good luck to our neighbours in Leitrim. It would be an outstanding victory if they won but I cannot see anything other than a comfortable Roscommon win.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 05, 2014, 08:42:07 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 05, 2014, 08:30:51 AM
Good luck to our neighbours in Leitrim. It would be an outstanding victory if they won but I cannot see anything other than a comfortable Roscommon win.
Most thought the same with Galway. Todays weather could be a leveller.
Post by: Itchy on April 05, 2014, 09:43:38 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 05, 2014, 08:42:07 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 05, 2014, 08:30:51 AM
Most thought the same with Galway. Todays weather could be a leveller.
Yes but I think Roscommon are superior to Galway this year. I hope the weather does level the playing field.
Post by: Syferus on April 05, 2014, 12:57:57 PM
Good luck to the lads. Get number eight.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 05, 2014, 02:48:00 PM
Latest Leitrim 1-1 Roscommon 0-7. Black card for Roscommon's Donal Smith.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 05, 2014, 03:02:19 PM
HT Leitrim 1-2 Roscommon 0-11
Post by: Shrewdness on April 05, 2014, 03:06:38 PM
Half time. Ros 0-11 Leitrim 1-2.
Post by: Itchy on April 05, 2014, 03:28:46 PM
Turning into the hammering we hoped it wouldn't, 0-16 to 1-3.
Post by: Shrewdness on April 05, 2014, 03:31:21 PM
Latest, Roscommon 0-15 Leitrim 1-3. Ultan Harney on for Ros
Post by: Blowitupref on April 05, 2014, 03:39:57 PM
Leitrim 1-3 Roscommon 0-18. 5mins to go.
Post by: neilthemac on April 05, 2014, 03:46:00 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on April 04, 2014, 02:51:14 PM
Ahem.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 05, 2014, 03:54:29 PM
FT 1-3 to 0-19 stroll for Ros in Carrick, i suppose the occasion got to Leitrim however well done to the Rossies job done for them.
Post by: Syferus on April 05, 2014, 04:18:56 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 31, 2014, 08:05:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 31, 2014, 07:55:42 PM

They can love it all they want, it's my honest-to-God opinion.

Not disrespecting Leitrim in any in what I said. We have to be focused, but with the experience of the Sligo game both as a banana skin and how they set up, I'm counting on us putting in a solid shift on Saturday.

If not for Lavin making a meal of Sligo's high ball late on we were going to run out that game quite comfortably (we were seven up with, what, 5-6 minutes to go and Sligo would likely have kept over-egging their possessions in an attempt to get a goal if they hadn't got it there) despite playing poorly. I'd rate Sligo as better than Leitrim and they've shown themselves to be so all the way up through the grades.

Leitrim are obviously far better organised than they were last year in Kiltoom but that only gets you so far and if you leak a goal or a few points in quick succession the system starts to limit the side as much as it benefits them. If you start to lag behind you can't just sit back with 14 men and think you're going to drag a team back, you'll be forced to leave holes where you didn't want to. From the Galway game they seem quite reliant on Brady for scores and light, tricky forwards are exactly what our backs have been going against in training for months now. I genuinely believe we have the players that can get the points or goals that break the game.

Galway scored 0-08 on Leitrim in 64~ minutes. We scored 0-07 on Leitrim in 13 minutes.

We never let their blanket defence settle with some beautiful deep passes and finishing and it forced Leitrim to open up. After that the game was always going to be ours. I won't damn Leitrim with faint praise.

Hopeful Fintan is ok, big player for us.

There can be no hiding from it - our target is to win the AI and we are capable of doing it. No time for celebration yet. Bring on the Munster champions.
Post by: ross4life on April 05, 2014, 05:21:38 PM
No complacency from the Rossies in Carrick today, the Leitrim lads couldn't live with our speed & movement, the composure & shot selection was excellent. Need to keep a certain consistency going into AI series now & don't allow ourselves to get complacent again if so we'll have a decent chance.

Two U-21 Connacht titles won in three years it really should be 3 in row as we really threw last years title away but congrats to the lads today on a job well done.

Post by: Shrewdness on April 05, 2014, 06:40:11 PM
Well done to the young Rossies on their victory. As far as i can remember, we held Leitrim pointless from open play. Apart from their goal, i'm nearly sure their 3 points came from frees or am i wrong? Early word on Fintan Kelly is a hamstring. What a game from Enda Smith. Am i the only one getting a bit worried about our goalkeeper under the high ball?
Post by: Syferus on April 05, 2014, 06:50:20 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 05, 2014, 06:40:11 PM
Well done to the young Rossies on their victory. As far as i can remember, we held Leitrim pointless from open play. Apart from their goal, i'm nearly sure their 3 points came from frees or am i wrong? Early word on Fintan Kelly is a hamstring. What a game from Enda Smith. Am i the only one getting a bit worried about our goalkeeper under the high ball?

Lavin hasn't had a good couple games by any means. He has the talent (and quite clearly the prototypical size) to be a future senior county keeper but he needs to do some work in the next two weeks to settle himself, he should be able to control the square far better than he did today or in the Sligo game.
Post by: Syferus on April 05, 2014, 07:17:08 PM
(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7038/13648601713_6290d00ab4_o_d.jpg)
Post by: Shrewdness on April 05, 2014, 08:31:37 PM
I thought Lavin did great with his kick outs today, especially in the first half, finding a team mate with most kicks. He's a commanding figure physically, which is why his apparent uncertainty under the high ball is a worry. In a tight All Ireland Semi, or dare i say Final, such uncertainty could ultimately be the difference between winning or losing an All Ireland.
Post by: Syferus on April 05, 2014, 10:49:01 PM
A few images to mark the occasion of our eighth Connacht U21 title:

(https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3780/13652121043_e9157edd73_o.jpg)

(https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2924/13652111823_057a0e3bff_o.jpg)

One of many great catches by young Enda, even though he's slightly out-of-focus I couldn't let Cathal Kenny's excellent reaction go to waste:

(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7321/13652088865_149b0c4853_o.jpg)

..or Cathal's face when Enda finally returned to the ground:

(https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3797/13652134125_e5fd46a32b_o.jpg)

(https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5497/13652127005_0f26ac49e8_o.jpg)

I got one of Rossfan and his soccer scarf:

(https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2818/13652470474_7f154c3ec4_o.jpg)

(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7034/13652130363_4852fe3840_o.jpg)
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2014, 10:56:25 AM
Quote from: ross4life on April 05, 2014, 05:21:38 PM
No complacency from the Rossies in Carrick today, the Leitrim lads couldn't live with our speed & movement, the composure & shot selection was excellent.
Exactly !
We took the game by the scruff of the neck from the throw in and had 5 points on the board in 6 minutes. Donie smith was about to have a blinder until he fell foul of the Ref's black card after 8 minutes.
That, Kelly's injury and Laythrum's smashing goal from their best man McLoughlin caused us to lose our way a bit as we short passed to nowhere for 10 minutes or so and they got to within 3 points of us. However we steadied the ship with 3 before h/t and there was only going to be one winner after that.
Congrats lads and hope we can keep it going now as we face sterner tests.
PS The ref was poor on Saturday  :-\
Post by: seafoid on April 07, 2014, 11:02:49 AM
Hopefully Ros can go on and win the all Ireland - Galway usually do it with less fuss.
Post by: ross4life on April 07, 2014, 07:11:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 07, 2014, 11:02:49 AM
Hopefully Ros can go on and win the all Ireland - Galway usually do it with less fuss.
Yeah i'm sure you really hope we go on to win it alright.

Quote from: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 09:55:11 PM
I couldn't give a flying f### about Roscommon fuball,

Post by: Syferus on April 07, 2014, 07:19:31 PM

(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/Ross%20U21Fc%20conn%2014.jpg)

We're still only practising how to disrespect trophies Tuam '02 style, give us a chance.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2014, 10:02:41 PM
win the all Ireland - Galway usually do it with less fuss.
That's because most of the County don't even know the game is on  ;D
Post by: Syferus on October 21, 2014, 11:46:28 PM
Too early for the 2015 thread so I'll put it here.

2015 Connacht U21 Championship draw:

Connacht Quarter-final

Mayo v Leitrim

Connacht Semi-finals

Roscommon v Sligo, 18th March, Kiltoom

Mayo/Letrim v Galway (home game for Mayo if they beat Leitrim, home game for Galway if Leitrim win)
Post by: sligoman2 on October 22, 2014, 01:40:06 AM
Good draw for Ross and sligo. Not sure what kind of a team we will have i will have to call Carew in February
Post by: macdanger2 on October 22, 2014, 10:26:57 AM
What were the 2012 minors like??
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 22, 2014, 04:04:05 PM
Any other dates other than March 18th for Ros and Sligo?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 22, 2014, 09:29:03 PM
Is the minor championship the same draw as  as the seniors bar the exiles?
Post by: larryin89 on October 22, 2014, 10:24:02 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on October 22, 2014, 10:26:57 AM

We lost to ross in cf, then hammered a fancied tipp in q/f in croker before the Down game where Andy done his knee. We got bet by Meath (referee) in semi .

It was a good side, Adam Gallagher, Eugene lavins son Eoghan, o connor, patrick durcan and stephen coen  to name a few. 

We have to up our game at this grade , Leitrim win would be a start.

Are we in the hastings cup again next year?
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2014, 11:32:51 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on October 22, 2014, 10:24:02 PM

We lost to ross in cf, then hammered a fancied tipp in q/f in croker before the Down game where Andy done his knee. We got bet by Meath (referee) in semi .

It was a good side, Adam Gallagher, Eugene lavins son Eoghan, o connor, patrick durcan and stephen coen  to name a few. 

I hope so but we heven t been taking this level seriously. Last year's defeat to Roscommon was an embarrassment. Not because we lost ( to a very good U21 team), but because we were so undercooked we could not compete.

Below is a list of some decent players available for 2015 - off the cuff. There will be others as well that other posters will add in. We should be fairly competitive.

Patrick Durcan,  Cian Burke, Michael Plunkett, Adam Gallagher, Eoghan Lavin, Sean Regan, Michael Hall, Stephen Coen, Diarmuid O'Connor; Conor Loftus, Seamus Cunniffe, Sean Conlon, Brian Reape.

However we ve had strong panels - on paper - the last few years. Yet come championship we ve shown up like a pub team. So I m not optimistic about 2015.

Maybe this time if we play Hastings we might use it to hit the championship running ::)
Post by: muppet on October 22, 2014, 11:49:12 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 22, 2014, 11:32:51 PM

I hope so but we heven t been taking this level seriously. Last year's defeat to Roscommon was an embarrassment. Not because we lost ( to a very good U21 team), but because we were so undercooked we could not compete.

Below is a list of some decent players available for 2015 - off the cuff. There will be others as well that other posters will add in. We should be fairly competitive.

Patrick Durcan,  Cian Burke, Michael Plunkett, Adam Gallagher, Eoghan Lavin, Sean Regan, Michael Hall, Stephen Coen, Diarmuid O'Connor; Conor Loftus, Seamus Cunniffe, Sean Conlon, Brian Reape.

However we ve had strong panels - on paper - the last few years. Yet come championship we ve shown up like a pub team. So I m not optimistic about 2015.

Maybe this time if we play Hastings we might use it to hit the championship running ::)

Surely more if the minor winning team will feature?

Liam Irwin is a player that should be seriously looked at, even at senior. His ff line buddies were talented lads as well. Is Cian Hanley definitely off to Oz? The 2 Breaffy midfielders from this year's minors are also surely worth a look at U-21 and maybe Tom Byrne's son?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 23, 2014, 12:32:11 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 22, 2014, 11:49:12 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 22, 2014, 11:32:51 PM

Surely more if the minor winning team will feature?

Liam Irwin is a player that should be seriously looked at, even at senior. His ff line buddies were talented lads as well. Is Cian Hanley definitely off to Oz? The 2 Breaffy midfielders from this year's minors are also surely worth a look at U-21 and maybe Tom Byrne's son?

Yes, although having done his ACL in August? I doubt he would have been fit for Feb / March time anyway.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/2014-09-05/oh-brother-another-hanley (http://www.lions.com.au/news/2014-09-05/oh-brother-another-hanley)
Post by: Syferus on October 23, 2014, 03:52:17 AM
Cian is absolutely going to Australia.  Couldn't stand to oppose his birth county a moment longer.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 23, 2014, 04:24:57 AM
Bla, Blaaa, Balaaaaa, Balllagh
Post by: larryin89 on October 23, 2014, 01:41:15 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 23, 2014, 03:52:17 AM
Cian is absolutely going to Australia.  Couldn't stand to oppose his birth county a moment longer.

Was he not born in Castlebar ?
Post by: Syferus on October 23, 2014, 02:22:57 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on October 23, 2014, 01:41:15 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 23, 2014, 03:52:17 AM

Was he not born in Castlebar ?

Not at all.