GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2014, 02:55:07 PM

Title: Cill Dara v Tír Eoghain, D1R314, Newbridge, Sunday 2nd March @ 2pm.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2014, 02:55:07 PM
Looking forward to this one, with Kildare on our heels after suffering that narrow defeat to Cork, plus home-advantage; a stiff enough test, to be sure.

We could expect Seán Cav to be starting this one, and St Conleth's hasn't been the most unrewarding of hunting-grounds for us in recent years.  ;)
Title: Re: Cill Dara v Tír Eoghain, D1R314, Newbridge, Sunday 2nd March @ 2pm.
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 12, 2014, 09:16:51 PM
Tyrone had a couple of good wins down there last year but it is a tough enough place to go. A win and could definitely start thinking of the semi. I'd expect another 3 or 4 changes with cavanagh coming back in. Would be good to get the mcmahons back in the panel sooner rather than later. If justy is going to be involved this year he needs plenty of game time in the league.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 12, 2014, 09:47:42 PM
Kildare will improve under the new manager.

I can see us losing to Tyrone just the twice this year.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 13, 2014, 04:06:01 PM
I would hope to make this match and I haven't been to Newbridge since Canavan & Cush won their first U21 title under Danny Ball. It was all over at half time and little did we realise that it was start a new era of dominance over Kerry.

Sorry D Hollow I'll leave you alone now
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 13, 2014, 04:26:25 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 13, 2014, 04:06:01 PM
I would hope to make this match and I haven't been to Newbridge since Canavan & Cush won their first U21 title under Danny Ball. It was all over at half time and little did we realise that it was start a new era of dominance over Kerry.

Sorry D Hollow I'll leave you alone now

I was at that game as an 18 year old, myself a mate and Nuxer Buckley were caught by Seamus Aldridge hopping over the wall on the barracks side. He let me and my mate go but made Nuxer go around and pay as he should know better.

Awesome football from Tyrone that day. Ye had some support as well.
Post by: Rossfan on February 13, 2014, 05:14:12 PM
No wonder Buckley fecked off and left ye.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 13, 2014, 05:17:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 13, 2014, 05:14:12 PM
No wonder Buckley fecked off and left ye.

Ha! He wasn't the first footballer Seamus ran out of the country!!!
Post by: Fuzzman on February 13, 2014, 11:17:20 PM
Ah the memories.
As a young cub I remember thinking how good will this young Canavan chap be or is it all just hype. Cush and McCafferty looked just as good to me.
(http://www.gaa.ie/content/images/news/tyrone/Canavan_1995.jpg)

I see Brolly in today's Gaelic life is trying his hardest to praise Harte and Tyrone hoping that Mickey will stick with the attack minded football and NOT return to the defensive, negative football. It's quite a funny article actually and he even has a pop at the Dubs and how they abandoned their morals to win the AI last year by dragging men down left right and centre

I just hope that RoN gets a bit more of the limelight that young McCurry has been getting lately. I think these two lads along with Mattie D and McAliskey can be the new kids on the block for the next number of years
Post by: LeoMc on February 15, 2014, 10:22:00 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 13, 2014, 11:17:20 PM
Ah the memories.
As a young cub I remember thinking how good will this young Canavan chap be or is it all just hype. Cush and McCafferty looked just as good to me.
(http://www.gaa.ie/content/images/news/tyrone/Canavan_1995.jpg)

I see Brolly in today's Gaelic life is trying his hardest to praise Harte and Tyrone hoping that Mickey will stick with the attack minded football and NOT return to the defensive, negative football. It's quite a funny article actually and he even has a pop at the Dubs and how they abandoned their morals to win the AI last year by dragging men down left right and centre

I just hope that RoN gets a bit more of the limelight that young McCurry has been getting lately. I think these two lads along with Mattie D and McAliskey can be the new kids on the block for the next number of years
4:12 from that half forward line that day, 2:05, 0:05 and 2:02.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 15, 2014, 11:52:40 AM
http://www.hoganstand.com/Tyrone/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=42499

Found this article there from 1992. Interesting from my perspective as I was only 6 when it was written. A real pity that most of these lads never got to taste AI senior success.

Did McCaffrey play soccer for Omagh Town? Himself and Eamon Kavanagh?
Post by: Fuzzman on February 15, 2014, 11:29:02 PM
It's hard to find anything online about that first U21 win in New bridge.
Post by: ONeill on February 16, 2014, 06:43:25 PM
We've played Kildare some times over the last 5-6 years.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 21, 2014, 01:39:07 PM
I see in the Gaelic Life Mickey Harte reckons Newbridge is now nearly our home pitch as we've played there so much. Twice last year and maybe we'll get a spin out there again later in the summer when we lose to Down in the first prem round

With a few of the older heads back now it will be interesting to see who Mickey picks for this game.
I would imagine Niall McKenna, Grugan, Shay McGuigan, Kane and Hughes might all struggle to hold their place or even stay in the squad but then again maybe he'll continue to rotate things.
When is the new squad announced?

Good to see Coney get back into the scoring charts.
I've asked before but what do you all make of McNeice?
I've not really seen enough of the young lad but he looks big and strong but he often doesn't deliver though I see he scored 3 points on Wed night from corner forward.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 21, 2014, 01:56:49 PM
Grugan, McKenna and McGuigan will make the squad, with two of them pushing for starting places this year.
Post by: seafoid on February 21, 2014, 03:10:44 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 21, 2014, 01:39:07 PM
I see in the Gaelic Life Mickey Harte reckons Newbridge is now nearly our home pitch as we've played there so much. Twice last year and maybe we'll get a spin out there again later in the summer when we lose to Down in the first prem round

With a few of the older heads back now it will be interesting to see who Mickey picks for this game.
I would imagine Niall McKenna, Grugan, Shay McGuigan, Kane and Hughes might all struggle to hold their place or even stay in the squad but then again maybe he'll continue to rotate things.
When is the new squad announced?

Good to see Coney get back into the scoring charts.
I've asked before but what do you all make of McNeice?
I've not really seen enough of the young lad but he looks big and strong but he often doesn't deliver though I see he scored 3 points on Wed night from corner forward.
Why wouldn't ye spend money on it? Mean bastards.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 21, 2014, 05:01:53 PM
I'd happily swap with Kildare and let them play up in Omagh and sure both of wear near enough the same colours now anyway.

I'd love to see Lavery be kept on but doubt he's done enough tbh
McNeice will probably stay in too but wonder about Cassidy now that we've a few other MF options.
I think McBride should possibly make it too

When is the last time Kildare beat us. I remember them drawing with us up in Omagh a few years back under Geezer
Post by: rodney trotter on February 21, 2014, 05:04:18 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 21, 2014, 05:01:53 PM
I'd happily swap with Kildare and let them play up in Omagh and sure both of wear near enough the same colours now anyway.

McNeice will probably stay in too but wonder about Cassidy now that we've a few other MF options.

When is the last time Kildare beat us. I remember them drawing with us up in Omagh a few years back under Geezer

2012 Division 2 final?
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 21, 2014, 11:54:47 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 21, 2014, 05:04:18 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 21, 2014, 05:01:53 PM

2012 Division 2 final?

Aye
Post by: tc_manchester on February 25, 2014, 01:17:49 PM
Folks,
   I'm bringing No. 1 son to his first Tyrone match this Sunday and I was wondering about the size of the stand at Newbridge. Are tickets for the stand sold at the ground or is it first come first served.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 25, 2014, 01:36:57 PM
Quote from: tc_manchester on February 25, 2014, 01:17:49 PM
Folks,
   I'm bringing No. 1 son to his first Tyrone match this Sunday and I was wondering about the size of the stand at Newbridge. Are tickets for the stand sold at the ground or is it first come first served.

Admission to the ground is to all areas. There are only a few hundred seats in the stand. You would need to be getting there long before throw in to be sure of a seat. Probably about one o'clock.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 25, 2014, 04:20:43 PM
I'm hoping to bring son No 1 as well this weekend. He's only 6 and although I've had him in Croker for a few Dub games this is his first Tyrone game.
How much is it for kids?
I'd say he'll be bored after 15 mins.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 25, 2014, 04:33:14 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 25, 2014, 04:20:43 PM
I'm hoping to bring son No 1 as well this weekend. He's only 6 and although I've had him in Croker for a few Dub games this is his first Tyrone game.
How much is it for kids?
I'd say he'll be bored after 15 mins.

Free in is it not for u16s?

Post by: ONeill on February 25, 2014, 10:44:03 PM
How do the Kildarionians/horsey people/landlords think their side are progressing post-McGeeney? Expansive?
Post by: trileacman on February 26, 2014, 12:32:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 25, 2014, 10:44:03 PM
How do the Kildarionians/horsey people/landlords PROTESTANTS think their side are progressing post-McGeeney? Expansive?
Post by: seafoid on February 26, 2014, 08:47:30 AM
McGeeney said something very impressive after the Tyrone match last year

http://www.thestar.ie/star/lilywhites-stalwarts-wont-rush-big-calls-29423/

"It's not easy, but even in our own days it took playing 10 years for Armagh before we won anything," he explained.
"It was just before you were ready to quit when things seemed to change. Things can change in a heartbeat and you can go on to win a few things."It's about keeping knocking on the door and never giving up. That's what sport's about.
"You have to go out there and take it because in sport it's never given to you, it's never put in your lap."

For the Tyronies, a bit of Gaeilge

Ní huasal ná íseal ach thuas seal agus thíos seal.
Post by: bogball88 on February 26, 2014, 03:05:20 PM
any word what is live and deferred on tg4 this weekend?
Post by: Fuzzman on February 26, 2014, 06:40:35 PM
Mayo v Kerry is live with our match deferred.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on February 27, 2014, 12:27:16 AM
I haven't had a bet in years but I'd nearly come off the wagon for this, even with Tyrone at 4/6.
I mean I wouldn't be confident if we had a full side, and as it is, you could name a decent 15 of unavailable Kildare players, assuming we're not going to play any U21s because of the Offaly match on Wednesday:
                      AN Other
Ollie Lyons Peter Kelly David Hyland
John Byrne Fergal Conway Eoin Doyle
           Daniel Flynn Kevin Feely
Eamonn Callaghan Niall Kelly Emmet Bolton
Alan Smith Paddy Brophy John Doyle

To my mind that's a much stronger team than the one we'll field. OK I cheated a bit including Flynn and Feely but you get my drift.
Even if we do use the 21s, I can see only one result.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 27, 2014, 01:39:31 PM
Are many of ye coming down for this match?
Weather forecast doesn't seem to good at the moment but maybe it will improve.
Is there only a small stand?

It will be very interesting to see the team Mickey names tonight with more of the older lads coming back into contention.
I will be especially interested to see what role Mickey has for Penrose this year. The last few years he was playing more defensively than as a score getter or does he see him as only a bit part player now.

Brophy looks an excellent player and with her FB line being so open I say he could get a lot of scores on Sunday.
Post by: God14 on February 27, 2014, 03:05:10 PM
Penrose's days as inside forward are over. There are at least 6 better options there now for Mickey.
His best chance of game time would be in a Dooher type role at No.10 where his workrate & pace could be utilised.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 27, 2014, 03:11:11 PM
Is that cause you don't think he has it any more or because of the role he's been asked to play over the last few years. I think he was labelled one of our best tackling forwards a few years back and ever since then that has come back to haunt him as he was expected to play most of the game in his own half back line.
I think he's lost the swagger that maybe McCurry has now alright but I think a lot of Tyrone fans give him a hard time.

Anyone want to hazard a guess at who will Mickey pick (Not who you would pick) tonight?
Post by: God14 on February 27, 2014, 04:29:44 PM
Yeah Penrose has lost that swagger as you say. Couldn't have put it better myself, and lets face it Mickey has some fantastic options in the full forward line this year. Different lads all capable of scoring heavily.
I know we always say this but tonights team selection will be particularly interesting. Harte made 12 changes from the last league game for the McKenna cup final, and most of us are at odds as to what our first 15 would be come championship.  We're into March now & I think Mickey will go into Kildare with what he see's as his strongest 15 available. Lose this game we are in a relegation struggle, win and we are well on the road to the League semi finals.
Post by: EC Unique on February 27, 2014, 04:54:07 PM
Penrose IMO will struggle to get a start. Plenty of options for the 6 forwards and not sure that he is good enough anymore and the style that is evident this year might not suit him.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 27, 2014, 05:43:30 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on February 27, 2014, 12:27:16 AM
I haven't had a bet in years but I'd nearly come off the wagon for this, even with Tyrone at 4/6.
I mean I wouldn't be confident if we had a full side, and as it is, you could name a decent 15 of unavailable Kildare players, assuming we're not going to play any U21s because of the Offaly match on Wednesday:
                      AN Other
Ollie Lyons Peter Kelly David Hyland
John Byrne Fergal Conway Eoin Doyle
           Daniel Flynn Kevin Feely
Eamonn Callaghan Niall Kelly Emmet Bolton
Alan Smith Paddy Brophy John Doyle

To my mind that's a much stronger team than the one we'll field. OK I cheated a bit including Flynn and Feely but you get my drift.
Even if we do use the 21s, I can see only one result.

Throw in Flanagan and Morgan Flaherty instead of the two boys at midfield.

The Kildare backs are very slow and cumbersome when turned. That's a big concern considering the pace our next two opponents have in their forward lines. Ollie Lyons is a big loss.
Post by: tyroneman on February 27, 2014, 09:21:18 PM
Here you hope......

1 - Niall Morgan - Éadan na dTorc
2 - Aidan McCrory - Aireagal Chiaráin
3 - Conor Clarke - An Omaigh
4 - Barry Tierney - An Omaigh
5 - Ciaran McGinley - Aireagal Chiaráin
6 - Peter Harte - Aireagal Chiaráin
7 - Ryan McKenna - Eaglais
8 - Conan Grugan - An Omaigh
9 - Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
10 - Emmett McKenna - Eaglais
11 - Ronan O'Neill - An Omaigh
12 - Sean Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
13 - Darren McCurry - Éadán na dTorc
14 - Mattie Donnelly - Trí Leac
15 - Connor McAliskey - Cluain Eo

16 - Michael O'Neill - Cluain Eo
17 - Dermot Carlin - Coill an Chlochair
18 - Kyle Coney - Ard Bó
19 - Mark Donnelly - An Charraig Mhór
20 - Kevin Gallagher - An Baile Nua
21 - Peter Hughes - Eiscreach
22 - Plunkett Kane - Oileán a'Ghuail
23 - Danny McBride - An Srath Ban
24 - Tiernan McCann - Coill an Chlochair
25 - Shay McGuigan - Ard Bó
26 - Niall McKenna - Domhnach Mór​
Post by: omagh_gael on February 27, 2014, 09:35:00 PM
Like the look of that team, hopefully RoN at 11 goes well.
Post by: LeoMc on February 27, 2014, 10:11:43 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 27, 2014, 09:35:00 PM
Like the look of that team, hopefully RoN at 11 goes well.

Looking forward to seeing him there after the rave reviews he was getting In the Sigerson thread.
Also looking forward to se how much freedom the new rules will give Big Sean.
Post by: trileacman on February 27, 2014, 11:56:26 PM
That'll be a scorefest. 5 forwards who only know how to attack and two Errigal half-backs who can't really hold the middle. 2-20 a piece.
Post by: God14 on February 28, 2014, 08:46:51 AM
That Tyrone team looks seriously impressive from 11 to 15!
Post by: Wee Roddy on February 28, 2014, 08:48:22 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 27, 2014, 09:21:18 PM
Here you hope......

18 - Kyle Coney - Ard Bó

Very strong team for March. That is getting very near his championship team. Perhaps Mark Donnelly for McKenna, Gormley to play where? Would McBride be an option at midfield if Grugan doesn't have an influence in this one? It would be great to be strong enough in midfield to be able to play Sean Cavanagh in the half forwards.
Post by: God14 on February 28, 2014, 09:03:47 AM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on February 28, 2014, 08:48:22 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 27, 2014, 09:21:18 PM
Here you hope......

18 - Kyle Coney - Ard Bó

Very strong team for March. That is getting very near his championship team. Perhaps Mark Donnelly for McKenna, Gormley to play where? Would McBride be an option at midfield if Grugan doesn't have an influence in this one? It would be great to be strong enough in midfield to be able to play Sean Cavanagh in the half forwards.

Grugans not a midfielder (at inter county) but a strong option in the half forwards. One of the McMahons maybe could come into Midfield once available
I wonder is Justin on the bench but left out of the 26 alphabetically?
Post by: Wee Roddy on February 28, 2014, 09:10:59 AM
Imagine forgetting about the McMahons. I think that the way Tyrone are set up Joe style of paly suits a defensive role only. With the new rules people who have a lot upstairs will do better as man markers than someone who has speed alone,  by trying to read where the ball is going. Its perfect for Joe in that respect although he could get turned by a nippy player. Where as Grugan is a great option at half forward he wouldn't make the team at the minute before the other options we have.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 28, 2014, 09:35:34 AM
I dont know much about Emmet McKenna but the rest of the forward line looks very strong. Hopefully Emmet can take the opportunity to shine.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 28, 2014, 10:55:28 AM
Why do people think Grugan is not a midfielder?  He was an All Ireland winning minor midfielder and plays their for his club.  What height is he and how strong is he in the air? 
Post by: God14 on February 28, 2014, 11:34:26 AM
Grugan reminds me a lot on Gerald Cavlan. He can play midfield of course, but I think at inter county level he would be more suited to a role in the half forward line. Whilst he is probably touching on 6' 4 and can take a nice catch I feel his strengths would be more ball playing skills.
In my opinion at 22 he would be out muscled & out fought my most hardened experienced inter county midfielders.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 28, 2014, 11:37:14 AM
Kildare team for Sunday.

1. Shane Connolly
2. Mick O'Grady
3. Mick Foley
4. Hugh McGrillen
5. Kevin Murnaghan
6. Fergal Conway
7. Paul Cribbin
8. Tommy Moolick
9. Gary White
10. Cathal McNally
11. Eoghan O'Flaherty
12. Sean Hurley
13. Paddy Brophy
14. Tomás O'Connor
15. Darroch Mulhall

Again a pretty young team, albeit settled, our injuries are definitely giving the likes of Hurley, Mulhall, Moolick,Murnaghan and O'Grady plenty of experience and  can only increase our options come championship.

Looking at that Tyrone team don't expect to win but am hoping to see some sort of defensive progression.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 28, 2014, 12:00:55 PM
I hope Paul Cribbin at left half back is only a short term measure until the injuries clear up. He is wasted back there.

I'm interested to see how Mulhall gets on this Sunday. He was Kildare's best forward by a distance down in Cork kicking some great points. How will he react when he has some angry northerner yapping in his ear for seventy minutes? His temperament was suggested as the reason why McGeeney never gave him a run.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 28, 2014, 02:14:17 PM
It's been a long long time since I heard such a reaction to a named Tyrone lineup.
There certainly is a lot of excitement around the squad again and hopefully we don't get a flat performance now on Sunday to bring us back to earth

From us being quite toothless if we were ever without Stevie for a few years now, we seem to have quite a few exciting attacking options all of a sudden.
I'm glad Mickey stuck with Grugan at MF as he has to find his way there and the more tough matches he plays there the more he'll come on.

Would be interesting to see if Kildare were to play a defensive style game how Tyrone would fare.
How likely is that or do Kildare no longer play sweepers?
Post by: Fuzzman on February 28, 2014, 05:30:39 PM
Interesting that 2 of our top 5 scorers are named on the starting team this weekend
Lavery (3.06) and McNeice (1.09)

Does anyone have any news on the 2 McMahons?
Do we think we'll see Justy struggle again this year with his hammys or could he play a full season?

I really can't see Stevie getting regular football this year but maybe the odd sub appearance here and there. Who knows I suppose come the summer
Post by: tyroneman on February 28, 2014, 07:39:25 PM
Is Grugan really near 6'4???

He certainly doesn't look it when playing near other midfielders
Post by: omagh_gael on March 02, 2014, 02:42:46 PM
Kildare 1 up at HT. 0-13 to 1-09. Tyrone were 7 to no score down after 10 mins so happy to be in touch. Emmet Mc Kenna with the goal and Pete Harte off on black card. Hopefully we can push on after half time. Sounds like a cracker of a game.
Post by: CD on March 02, 2014, 03:33:03 PM
That is simply Unbelievable! Thank goodness for the Black Card Rule because Kildare would have closed that game out! Sean Cavanagh proved right!!
Post by: omagh_gael on March 02, 2014, 03:34:35 PM
Yeeeeooooooooooooo!
Post by: BennyHarp on March 02, 2014, 03:35:14 PM
Crazy finish to this game! Get in!!
Post by: Fuzzman on March 02, 2014, 03:36:52 PM
Jesus what was the score?
Post by: BennyHarp on March 02, 2014, 03:40:05 PM
Two goals in injury time to win 3-16 to 1-21. First time Tyrone led in the game.
Post by: CD on March 02, 2014, 03:41:35 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 02, 2014, 03:36:52 PM
Jesus what was the score?

3-16 to 1-21 Tyrone win. Two goals in last 90 seconds when 5 points down! Some character there! Deferred on TG4 starting now. Worth a watch - 41 scores in 75 minutes is some value!
Post by: John o connor on March 02, 2014, 04:09:13 PM
Conor Clarke ?
Bodybuilder maybe , fullback I think not
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 02, 2014, 05:00:21 PM
I cannot believe Kildare threw that away.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 02, 2014, 05:12:48 PM
Looked like the Tyrone centre forward took about 13 steps in the build up to the winning goal. Great belief from Tyrone to snatch a win!
Post by: Gaffer on March 02, 2014, 05:43:35 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 02, 2014, 05:00:21 PM
I cannot believe Kildare threw that away.

Well start believing it cos it happened!!!
Post by: orangeman on March 02, 2014, 05:58:53 PM
Pure daylight robbery.
Post by: Onthe40 on March 02, 2014, 06:14:43 PM
How the heck did tyrone win that game? Kildare dominated and will be sick..
Post by: reddgnhand on March 02, 2014, 06:17:35 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 28, 2014, 07:39:25 PM

That's a few games I've seen him in and I'm not impressed at all. Did he even touch the ball today.
Post by: Throw ball on March 02, 2014, 06:18:13 PM
Tyrone got away with one there. Luck definitely with them. Would agree with an earlier poster that Donnelly took some amount of steps.

On a side note Ronan O'Neill looks terribly like one of the Kernans. Can play a bit too.
Post by: Hound on March 02, 2014, 06:52:48 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on March 02, 2014, 05:12:48 PM
Looked like the Tyrone centre forward took about 13 steps in the build up to the winning goal. Great belief from Tyrone to snatch a win!
Exactly 13 steps by my count!

What a referee.
Post by: on the sideline on March 02, 2014, 06:56:34 PM
What a finish to a match. That last goal felt like it happened in slow motion, felt surreal! But we'll take it  ;D Thought Mattie Donnelly really stood up half way through first half and through his prompting so dragged Tyrone back into it. For me it was him and Morgan who were our top performers today. Morgans distribution from play was excellent. Ronan O'Neill decent enough game too as did E. Mc Kenna.
Our defence looks brittle though and has done all year. Some day soon a team will tear them apart and they won't be able to outgun them at the other end. I know we're going man to man and not playing sweepers but I just think some of the defenders aren't good enough, let's face it Kildares forward line is far from the strongest we'll face this year. And at times you could drive a bus through the middle of it. But hey if they keep out gunning the other teams then it makes it deadly to watch!

On a side note, thought Kildare lost that on the line. Far better team on the day and deserved to win. The substitution of O'Connor was unbelievable and I think it cost them in the end up.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 02, 2014, 07:35:56 PM
Of course the goal should never had stood but once saw Martin Lynch do something similar to Wicklow in Championship football but a shit ref is a shit ref. Destroyed Tyrone at midfield, created heaps of chances including at least 5 goal chances yet contrived to lose, only Kildare can do that to you.

If Tyrone were leading by 5 not a hope in hell they would have lost it.

Anyhow pretty optimistic we'll beat Kerry and Westmeath at home based on 69 minutes of that game.

The Tyrone goalie some man to kick a ball over the sideline!!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 02, 2014, 07:47:46 PM
Dan Flynn's return is one positive we can take from today.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 02, 2014, 08:01:44 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 02, 2014, 07:47:46 PM
Dan Flynn's return is the one positive we can take from today.

I'm more of a half full kind of supporter. We can take more than the return of Dan Flynn out of today. The performance of that team minus Johnny Doyle, Eoin Doyle, Peter Kelly, Niall Kelly, Leper, Bolton, Lyons and now Dan Flynn as well, was for 69 minutes was outstanding, the new guys to Senior O'Grady, Murnaghan, Moolick and Mulhall all delivered top quality performances. This Tyrone side were heavy favourites to beat Kildare, everyone feared the worst when we looked at the bodies missing, they stood up and they delivered. Kildare lost that game through inexperience, I expect them to learn from this game, every team makes mistakes we made ours at the wrong time.

By the way credit to Tyrone, a lesson on commitment and playing to the end, they could have shown no better way to honour Cormac McAnallen memory today than that finish, a lesson to all teams.
Post by: Man Marker on March 02, 2014, 08:04:50 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on March 02, 2014, 06:17:35 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 28, 2014, 07:39:25 PM

That's a few games I've seen him in and I'm not impressed at all. Did he even touch the ball today.
6ft 1
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 02, 2014, 08:30:25 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 02, 2014, 08:01:44 PM
Dan Flynn's return is the one positive we can take from today.

I'm more of a half full kind of supporter. We can take more than the return of Dan Flynn out of today. The performance of that team minus Johnny Doyle, Eoin Doyle, Peter Kelly, Niall Kelly, Leper, Bolton, Lyons and now Dan Flynn as well, was for 69 minutes was outstanding, the new guys to Senior O'Grady, Murnaghan, Moolick and Mulhall all delivered top quality performances. This Tyrone side were heavy favourites to beat Kildare, everyone feared the worst when we looked at the bodies missing, they stood up and they delivered. Kildare lost that game through inexperience, I expect them to learn from this game, every team makes mistakes we made ours at the wrong time.

By the way credit to Tyrone, a lesson on commitment and playing to the end, they could have shown no better way to honour Cormac McAnallen memory today than that finish, a lesson to all teams.

I phrased that badly!!

It's important for the mentality of the team that we put on a performance in Croke Park next weekend. I would still be hopeful that we can avoid the drop. We still have a few winnable games to come.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 02, 2014, 08:31:10 PM
Great to get the win but a lot to work on. We currently have too many nice players in defence and we're not winning enough breaking ball in the half forward line. E McKenna got scores but was very poor at winning possession. Think grugan got about 2 touches in the first half and from memory both balls were passed to him. That kind of performance isn't good enough in midfield. i would like to see him get a go in half forwards. Both cavanaghs don't look fully fit yet which really increased the pressure around the middle. Ad Mcginley was too easy knocked off it when going for kickouts.

Thought Morgan did well coming out though needs to watch his kickouts. Mattie Donnelly had a very good game and ronan oneill did well at times. Mcnamee battled harder than others when came on. Poor enough performance but its good to win playing poorly away from home.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 02, 2014, 08:35:07 PM
I'd like to see gormley and or McMahon stuck in the middle of the defence. Currently to easy to run straight through. I assume justy has suffered another setback.

Was a bit disappointed with Mcaliskey and mccurry in the full forward line today but in fairness there was very limited ball going in.

On another note the next 2 games are very winnable so would be great to push on and reach the semis now.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 02, 2014, 08:46:00 PM
Is it two semis or straight to final?
Post by: orangeman on March 02, 2014, 09:04:58 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on March 02, 2014, 08:46:00 PM
Is it two semis or straight to final?

2 semis.
Post by: tyroneman on March 02, 2014, 09:17:32 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 02, 2014, 08:35:07 PM
I'd like to see gormley and or McMahon stuck in the middle of the defence. Currently to easy to run straight through. I assume justy has suffered another setback.

Was a bit disappointed with Mcaliskey and mccurry in the full forward line today but in fairness there was very limited ball going in.

On another note the next 2 games are very winnable so would be great to push on and reach the semis now.

Kerry away.....not my idea of very winnable tbh
Post by: armaghniac on March 02, 2014, 09:25:03 PM
QuoteOn a side note, thought Kildare list that on the line. Far better team on the day and deserved to win. The substitution of O'Connor was unbelievable and I think it cost them in the end up.

Geezer, had he been still there, would have been more aware of possibility of the best team losing against Tyrone because of an inappropriate substitution.
Post by: tc_manchester on March 02, 2014, 09:33:21 PM
Great game to bring No.1 son to for his first match even tho he decided to have a dump for the last 5 minutes. The first 15 mins we won 1 ball at midfield. The half backs were nowhere near the breaking ball and I was quite glad that Peter Harte got the black card because he'd been ineffectual up to that. CHB is not his position. It took Mattie Donnelly coming back to midfield for the kick outs to get us back on the right track. Conor Clarke was on a hiding to nothing today because the quality of ball going into Tomas O'Connor was excellent. It will be interesting to see how the centre of defense holds once Gormley/McMahons are back.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 02, 2014, 09:50:31 PM
Quote from: tc_manchester on March 02, 2014, 09:33:21 PM
Great game to bring No.1 son to for his first match even tho he decided to have a dump for the last 5 minutes. The first 15 mins we won 1 ball at midfield. The half backs were nowhere near the breaking ball and I was quite glad that Peter Harte got the black card because he'd been ineffectual up to that. CHB is not his position. It took Mattie Donnelly coming back to midfield for the kick outs to get us back on the right track. Conor Clarke was on a hiding to nothing today because the quality of ball going into Tomas O'Connor was excellent. It will be interesting to see how the centre of defense holds once Gormley/McMahons are back.

Here's the goals TC, seeing as you missed them!  ;D http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=a6R4_fEXaFI&feature=youtu.be
Post by: orangeman on March 02, 2014, 09:58:53 PM
Quote from: tc_manchester on March 02, 2014, 09:33:21 PM

Took a dump ?

I'd say he wasn't on his own. There'd have been a few seeking refuge in the toilets when it looked like Tyrone were down and out.
Post by: clarshack on March 02, 2014, 10:11:23 PM
Can't believe Mattie Donnelly got away with those amount of steps, but we'll take it though  ;D
Post by: orangeman on March 02, 2014, 10:21:22 PM
Quote from: clarshack on March 02, 2014, 10:11:23 PM
Can't believe Mattie Donnelly got away with those amount of steps, but we'll take it though  ;D

Ridiculous amount of steps.

What was the ref thinking about ? And there was a foot lock in there as well.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 02, 2014, 10:26:13 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 02, 2014, 09:17:32 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 02, 2014, 08:35:07 PM

Kerry away.....not my idea of very winnable tbh

Plenty of times in the past maybe but currently a very winnable game. They've lost 3 from 3 including a home game to Derry. They're minus the majority of their best players from the last 10 years and aren't quite at the level they were. We're unbeaten in 8 games this season. I'm not saying we'll win it but certainly wouldn't be going down without a lot of hope.
Post by: Jinxy on March 02, 2014, 10:28:16 PM

What?
I thought he was home for family reasons?
Post by: Rodman on March 02, 2014, 10:34:46 PM
Is McCrory really the best we have at corner back. Was absolutely roasted today. Paddy Brophy must have won about 20 balls out in front of him. Nowhere near good enough.
Post by: ONeill on March 02, 2014, 10:50:23 PM
Weird one. To score 3-16 and have so many glaring problems.....

The Peter Harte conundrum remains. A class footballer but a lost soul in so many games. Wing half forward looking like his best position.

People are harsh on Clarke. He was plugging holes for men who weren't his. In terms of the Kildare goal, you have to give the Kildare FF credit.

Hurley roasted McGinley.

Moving Sean to MF and Mattie out helped somewhat but all they're doing is preventing ball heading over the half way line. We have no defence. Tierney tries hard but our only way to prevent scores is to funnel everyone back. Man-to-man and we'll be roasted before long. Kildare scored 1-21 and that's not a top 4-5 side.

Mattie is a crucial player now, slowly filling Sean's boots. He could play anywhere and have a major influence on the game.

McCurry's pass to O'Neill for his goal has been overlooked. I thought it was the move of the game. Coney did well when he came on.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 02, 2014, 11:05:20 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 02, 2014, 10:28:16 PM

What?

He's back permanently according to the local hacks. He trained with the u21s this morning ahead of their match on Wednesday.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 02, 2014, 11:09:51 PM
QuoteKfmSport ‏@KfmSport  46m
So it's a rumour no more... @FlynnersDan is returning home to resume playing Gaelic Football with @KildareGAA & @JTBGAA #noplacelikehome
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 02, 2014, 11:10:26 PM
Kildare scored 1-21 and that's not a top 4-5 side.

Only Clare in the country have scored more than Kildare and they've played 4 games. Our attack has been superb in the three games so along with Tyrone's our current form is probably the best in the country and not one natural footballer among them.

Post by: ONeill on March 02, 2014, 11:47:10 PM
Horsey men though.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on March 03, 2014, 12:18:07 AM
Massively encouraging. Wouldn't have been surprised to lose that game by 10 points and instead we dominated it and under a sharper ref would have had three frees out from one Donnelly solo run at the end. When you add 10-12 returning players to the 15 who started, we should have a solid championship 20. As for the league, on this form we should be able to beat Kerry and Westmeath at home and getting anything in Croker or Owenbeg would be a bonus.
Post by: Jinxy on March 03, 2014, 12:48:13 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 02, 2014, 11:05:20 PM

What?

He's back permanently according to the local hacks. He trained with the u21s this morning ahead of their match on Wednesday.

The Port Adelaide fans were very excited about him after his first proper game last week.
Watched him being interviewed afterwards and I didn't get any sense he was about to jack it in.
Post by: BennyCake on March 03, 2014, 02:27:43 AM
Did Matty Donnelly manage to take that ball home with him? He looked like a sneaky wee bollix nicking your ball and running like feck out of your back garden with it.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on March 03, 2014, 03:34:19 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 03, 2014, 12:48:13 AM

What?

The Port Adelaide fans were very excited about him after his first proper game last week.
Watched him being interviewed afterwards and I didn't get any sense he was about to jack it in.

Everyone in Kildare seems adamant he's back for good but Port have a different spin on it all right:
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2014-03-03/irish-recruit-flynn-takes-leave-of-absence
Post by: omagh_gael on March 03, 2014, 11:45:12 AM
Fantastic result yesterday. We have known for years that these young lads are excellent footballers but I think it is fair to say that at this stage there were questions being asked about their ability to replicate our 'golden generation.' Our team that broke through in 2002/2003 were stubborn hoors who never gave up and put their bodies on the line for the jersey. Watching that game yesterday suggests to me that we may have got a glimpse of that 100% committed to succeed at the very top. We have been playing great football this year but that non stop banging at the door was, in my opinion, missing from this generation, particularly when they stepped up to u-21.

I am starting to get excited for the year ahead, not saying we will win the AI, but the guts to go with the flash appears to coming along nicely.
Post by: screenexile on March 03, 2014, 11:47:47 AM
If I was Kildare I would have been pretty happy with that. They dominated all over the pitch for large spells and the wheels came off after they made a few subs when the game was basically won... they wouldn't do that in a Championship match.

Tyrone shown up for a lack of size, apart from Clarke and the 2 Cavanagh's Tyrone aren't an overly big team. They need the McMahon's and Gormley back but they will be there or thereabouts!
Post by: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 11:56:07 AM
Great result for Tyrone, really impressive that they kept fighting to the end on a day when they were far from their best.  Add in the fact that this was an away game, it makes the result even more important.  2 more points towards retaining division 1 status.
Post by: orangeman on March 03, 2014, 12:00:20 PM
I'd say there's a fair inquest going on in Kildare right now.

Some asses will be kicked by next weekend's game and a lot of hard lessons learned.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 03, 2014, 12:38:29 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on March 03, 2014, 03:34:19 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 03, 2014, 12:48:13 AM

What?

Everyone in Kildare seems adamant he's back for good but Port have a different spin on it all right:
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2014-03-03/irish-recruit-flynn-takes-leave-of-absence

Jason Ryan seemed to be suggesting that this was on the cards for a while. He's also resuming his college course in AIT. It looks like he will definitely be available for the rest of this year anyway.

Ó Conchúir on the Kildare forum posted that his grandfather passed away yesterday so I'd say football of any code is the last thing on his mind at the moment.
Post by: Onthe40 on March 03, 2014, 12:46:10 PM
Jason Ryan will have to hold his hands up..too many changes made in key areas and alot of back slapping on the sideline,   before the game was up..harsh lesson.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 01:05:14 PM
Was glad to see Tyrone hit Kildare with the sucker punches due to the back slapping etc that was being shown on camera.  The keepers reaction was even better.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 03, 2014, 02:43:04 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 01:05:14 PM
Was glad to see Tyrone hit Kildare with the sucker punches due to the back slapping etc that was being shown on camera.  The keepers reaction was even better.

Because they're the things that matter when evaluating a game  ::)
Post by: sensethetone on March 03, 2014, 04:18:52 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 03, 2014, 02:43:04 PM

number 8 for kildare could have had a black card on a few occasions and he was a big influence for kildare
Post by: red hander on March 04, 2014, 01:22:06 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 03, 2014, 02:43:04 PM

To be fair, there was a bit of backslapping going on with 2 minutes left, and that wee physio was getting very excited about the imminent 2 points, God love her
Post by: Rossfan on March 04, 2014, 10:56:33 AM
Was glad to see Tyrone hit Kildare with the sucker punches
And don't forget the fcukin 39 steps ye're man took leading up to the last goal.
Wonderful bit of non reffing there FFS !!
Anyway some Kildare lad should have taken his black card and hauled yer man down.
Post by: sensethetone on March 04, 2014, 11:25:54 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 04, 2014, 10:56:33 AM
And don't forget the fcukin 39 steps ye're man took leading up to the last goal.
Anyway some Kildare lad should have taken his black card and hauled yer man down.
they tried to take him down must be (had to be) why the ref let donnelly run on
Post by: nrico2006 on March 04, 2014, 11:26:22 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 04, 2014, 10:56:33 AM

The Kildare man near had his jersey ripped off, the ref rightly gave him the advantage.  Reminds me of Seav Cavanaghs goal against Dublin in 2008 when people complained about him taking a few extra steps but seemed to ignore the man pulling him back the whole time.
Post by: shawshank on March 04, 2014, 01:33:05 PM
The ref did not have his hand up to indicate advantage, therefore the logical conclusion, he was not giving advantage and made a balls of the 4/5 step rule. He took 12 at my count.
Post by: EC Unique on March 04, 2014, 02:45:38 PM
Quote from: shawshank on March 04, 2014, 01:33:05 PM
The ref did not have his hand up to indicate advantage, therefore the logical conclusion, he was not giving advantage and made a balls of the 4/5 step rule. He took 12 at my count.

Which was the biggest sin by the ref? Not blowing for too many steps or not raising his hands to indicate advantage?
Post by: sensethetone on March 04, 2014, 02:56:44 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on March 04, 2014, 02:45:38 PM

Which was the biggest sin by the ref? Not blowing for too many steps or not raising his hands to indicate advantage?
kildare management lost that game for kildare so no point blaming tyrone players, both sides have lessons to learn
Post by: screenexile on March 04, 2014, 02:57:49 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on March 04, 2014, 02:45:38 PM

Fcuk that he should have blown for a free out... any chance you have to anger the Tyronies should always be taken!!
Post by: Fuzzman on March 04, 2014, 04:08:57 PM
Quote from: sensethetone on March 03, 2014, 04:18:52 PM
number 8 for kildare could have had a black card on a few occasions and he was a big influence for kildare

Yer right there Sensethetone. He was trying to get a rise out of poor wee Colm all day and thankfully Colm kept his head. I think Colm has actually improved his discipline immensely and he doesn't do as much whinging as he used to.

I was telling the Cork man next to me how open Tyrone's defence is and how even Michael Lyster commented on it and said it's sooooooo un-Mickey Harte-like

I reckon Mickey know's a lot of these defenders have got too used to playing with sweepers and men covering them so they've lost their edge on one v one tackling. So I think this is Mickey's way of counteracting that now in the league and letting defenders get roasted and dealing with that. We will see how it pans out come May or June.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 04, 2014, 05:47:21 PM
I thought only Morgan, Mattie and Ronan O'Neill played well on Sunday. The 2 inside forwards had a bad day at the office and although Emmet McKenna took his scores well, his ball handling was rank. Colm put in a decent shift, but midfield was cleaned out as per usual. The amount of times Kildare anticipated the break or where it was going to go was impressive, or else we were just inept. The defense is a mystery. I would say 2,3,4,5 & 7 are all up for grabs, presuming the beard is going to persist with Pete at 6. I hope he moves him into the forwards myself. Approaching our 4th game in the league, to have every defensive jersey up for grabs is worrying. Big Joe and Gormley cert championship starters surely....If Justy could only get himself fit, he would definitely be in contention as well. Lets see what team is named on Thursday night.
Post by: CD on March 04, 2014, 05:52:51 PM
Quote from: Mr. Nakata on March 04, 2014, 05:47:21 PM
I thought only Morgan, Mattie and Ronan O'Neill played well on Sunday. The 2 inside forwards had a bad day at the office and although Emmet McKenna took his scores well, his ball handling was rank. Colm put in a decent shift, but midfield was cleaned out as per usual. The amount of times Kildare anticipated the break or where it was going to go was impressive, or else we were just inept. The defense is a mystery. I would say 2,3,4,5 & 7 are all up for grabs, presuming the beard is going to persist with Pete at 6. I hope he moves him into the forwards myself. Approaching our 4th game in the league, to have every defensive jersey up for grabs is worrying. Big Joe and Gormley cert championship starters surely....If Justy could only get himself fit, he would definitely be in contention as well. Lets see what team is named on Thursday night.

A fit Justy would be an absolutely massive boost to Tyrone. People around the country have almost forgotten about him. I think I've seen him last a full 70 minutes once in the last 4 years (McKenna Cup V Derry in Armagh??)- always seems to go off injured. Such a massive shame.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 04, 2014, 06:23:38 PM
Justy must have a fresh injury. An interview with Tony Donnelly before the Mayo game suggested he could have featured from the bench in that game if memory serves me right.