Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 03:32:01 AM

Title: Necknomination
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 03:32:01 AM
I don't approve of this meme.

That is all.
Title: Re: Necknomination
Post by: Syferus on February 02, 2014, 03:57:37 AM
I nominate Eamonnca1. You have 24 hours to upload proof.

Just don't be an eedjit and neck a pint of whiskey or vodka.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on February 02, 2014, 04:17:11 AM
Thought it had to be a litre?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 02, 2014, 07:30:28 AM
Somebody in Dublin died yesterday after it.
Post by: washed_up on February 02, 2014, 08:08:24 AM
thats the tradegy with this stupid stupid idea-STOP IT NOW
Post by: thejuice on February 02, 2014, 08:57:48 AM
Necro-nomination
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 09:01:30 AM
Quote from: Syferus on February 02, 2014, 03:57:37 AM
I nominate Eamonnca1. You have 24 hours to upload proof.

Just don't be an eedjit and neck a pint of whiskey or vodka.

I might do a pint of water and a stern warning for people to grow up, stop being p*ssheads, and stop being led like sheep into every social media stunt.
Post by: bridgegael on February 02, 2014, 09:02:54 AM
excuse my ignorance lads but what is this about?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2014, 09:06:12 AM
Lunacy just keeps getting, well, lunacier.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2014, 09:15:22 AM
Quote from: bridgegael on February 02, 2014, 09:02:54 AM
excuse my ignorance lads but what is this about?

Basically it's a Facebook 'game' that seems to have started in Australia. The idea is that you chug a pint or whatever, and video yourself doing it. You post it on FB and nominate some of your friends to follow suit.

It's been popping up on my Facebook page with lads posting videos on the back of tractors, in supermarkets the whole lot. Basically it's a juvenile, aren't I cool, I'm some craic, come on you wusses it's your turn sort of thing..

Pathetic really. Wow. You can drink a whole pint. And now what?
Post by: laoislad on February 02, 2014, 09:37:02 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 02, 2014, 07:30:28 AM

I've never heard of neck nomination before. How does one die from slugging back a pint though?
Are they drinking pints of spirits or what?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 02, 2014, 09:38:42 AM
Quote from: laoislad on February 02, 2014, 09:37:02 AM

I've never heard of neck nomination before. How does one die from slugging back a pint though?

It was a pint of vodka I think
Post by: laoislad on February 02, 2014, 09:46:49 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on February 02, 2014, 09:38:42 AM
Quote from: laoislad on February 02, 2014, 09:37:02 AM

It was a pint of vodka I think
That's just madness. The world has gone mad. Are they teenagers doing this? Surely anyone older would have more cop on?

Feck all we use to do was dare each to shift one of the slightly more heavy girls in the Protestant graveyard after the local disco. Innocent times.....
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2014, 09:50:22 AM
Lads I totally agree that it is completely stupid and ridiculous and putting it up on Facebook etc is irresponsible but is there also not a small bit of hypocrisy about some of the reactions?  I recall regularly having 'necking' competitions ofhalf bottles of vodka and southern comfort and trust me we were a lot younger than the gobshites on the videos.   Yeah it is stupid but it is not a new thing.   The Spectrum on a Saturday night, cocktails 1.95 a piece, 3 vlqck Russians in a pint glass and away ye go!  I think sometimes we really think we grew up in a utopia.
Post by: laoislad on February 02, 2014, 09:55:26 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2014, 09:50:22 AM
Lads I totally agree that it is completely stupid and ridiculous and putting it up on Facebook etc is irresponsible but is there also not a small bit of hypocrisy about some of the reactions?  I recall regularly having 'necking' competitions ofhalf bottles of vodka and southern comfort and trust me we were a lot younger than the gobshites on the videos.   Yeah it is stupid but it is not a new thing.   The Spectrum on a Saturday night, cocktails 1.95 a piece, 3 vlqck Russians in a pint glass and away ye go!  I think sometimes we really think we grew up in a utopia.
I've never seen anyone try a neck a bottle or even half a bottle of vodka.
A pint of stout or lager maybe but never a fecking pint of vodka!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 02, 2014, 09:59:05 AM
Quote from: laoislad on February 02, 2014, 09:55:26 AM

I watched one yesterday and the the fella necked two bottles of buckfast. It couldn't be good for the system
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2014, 10:05:47 AM
Bc1, no argument. Young lads are eejits and always have been. Including ourselves. I remember daring each other to walk across a water pipe under the bridge in Ferbane, even though a fair few couldn't swim.

But we didn't have social media to publicise and encourage our idiocy.

All that being said, it is pathetic and these are not 15 year olds. I see 40 and older year old men doing it.

Ps I've never seen anyone chugging a bottle of Smirnoff.
Post by: ballinaman on February 02, 2014, 10:09:50 AM
Just saw a lad snorting salt, drinking a full bottle of tequila and then squeezing lemon juice into his eyes...absolute gobshite >:(
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2014, 10:11:08 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 02, 2014, 10:09:50 AM
Just saw a lad snorting salt, drinking a full bottle of tequila and then squeezing lemon juice into his eyes...absolute gobshite >:(

And how many of his friends "liked it"?

There should be a "cop the f**k on" button.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 02, 2014, 10:13:27 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 02, 2014, 10:11:08 AM

Who's to know its actually tequila ?? could be coloured water ffs.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2014, 10:14:54 AM
I have never seen a bottle  but regularly half bottles were downed.  I agree about the social media but that is the worldwwe live in...if social media was available when we were young like it is now do you not think it would be the same?   I agree that 40 year old men should know better but 15 minutes of fame is a big attraction to the stupid!   What I can say from my own experience,  15/16 year olds that my son runs around with are not doing what we were at.   I have them staying in my house and I take them to abd collect them from discos and they're stone cold sober.   Far too much rose tinted glasses looking happens.
Post by: StephenC on February 02, 2014, 10:18:07 AM
https://twitter.com/BrianHurley15/status/429913770153246720
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2014, 10:18:43 AM
You're missing the point I think, or at least arguing the wrong thing. I have no doubt young lads were, are and will be eejits.

That doesn't mean that this is fine, or that what we did was fine. At least in our case it couldn't inspire other apes to do the same because we couldn't show off to the world. However if caught, you got a slap on the head.

This is dangerous because of how these things gain momentum on social media and unfortunately this is not just young lads either.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2014, 10:19:51 AM
Quote from: StephenC on February 02, 2014, 10:18:07 AM
https://twitter.com/BrianHurley15/status/429913770153246720

Unreal. This needs to stop.
Post by: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 10:23:39 AM
Aye it's time this shite was stopped before more people get hurt or worse.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 02, 2014, 10:26:44 AM
Only the diesel men round Cross would have the money as a young lad for 3 Black Russians in a glass.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2014, 10:29:05 AM
Social media is the problem as it allows the stupid to have no minds of their own!   Peer pressure was always there,  just a bit more intense and in your face now.   If anything the age profile of the idiots seems to have changed dramatically and it is now mid 20s as opposed to teenagers.   But the basic argument I waa making is that the whole concept is not new and some of the faux outrage is ott.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2014, 10:29:36 AM
That young lad in Carlow is a former Carlow minor hurler.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2014, 10:29:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 02, 2014, 10:26:44 AM
Only the diesel men round Cross would have the money as a young lad for 3 Black Russians in a glass.

Only at 1.95 a pop!
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 02, 2014, 10:33:13 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2014, 10:29:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 02, 2014, 10:26:44 AM

Only at 1.95 a pop!
Rich bastard.

Agree with you though. Pint glass with several vodka and lime (£1) would have been a popular tipple.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 02, 2014, 10:35:20 AM
I drove up through Carlow this morning and passed where they are searching the Barrow for that young lad's body. Such a tragic waste of a young life. I can't imagine what the family are going through right now.
Post by: take_yer_points on February 02, 2014, 10:41:55 AM
Just seen one and the fella drinks a "shot" of nail polish remover - that can't be healthy.
Post by: take_yer_points on February 02, 2014, 10:49:55 AM
And another one... 3/4 of a pint made up of Bacardi, powers and gin - the rest was magners, the tea leaves from a tea bag and some fairy liquid "to clean it up". When he was finished he decided to bite into a raw egg and eat it, shell and all.
Post by: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 11:09:16 AM
This from the country that brought the famous telephone radio station prank.

Time to stop this crap.

Get it out all over fb and twitter that this could kill you. It already has.

So sad about that lad from Carlow. God help him and all belonging to him.
Post by: ballinaman on February 02, 2014, 11:26:41 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 02, 2014, 10:13:27 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 02, 2014, 10:11:08 AM

Made a point of showing cracking the seal
Who's to know its actually tequila ?? could be coloured water ffs.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 05:59:11 PM
'Stop this madness' say devastated friends of teen whose body was pulled from Carlow river (http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/teen-who-drowned-was-latest-victim-of-drinking-game-craze-claims)
Post by: Hardy on February 02, 2014, 07:29:57 PM
I've posted that tweet on my Facebook page, that I haven't even looked at for six months. I'd encourage everyone to do it, re-tweet, whatever. If social media can be used to promote it, they can be used to fight it.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 07:36:18 PM
From Devon: One admitted to hospital after Neknominate drinking game (http://www.middevongazette.co.uk/Health-warnings-reckless-drinking-game/story-20538902-detail/story.html) 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 07:39:22 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BfdcS8cIMAAZRIT.jpg)
Post by: qubdub on February 02, 2014, 07:56:07 PM
This is just another harlem shake type phenomenom, should hopefully pass pretty soon.

A lot of the videos I have seen have been of boys raiding their ma's cupboards and drinking chilli sauce, gravy, mayonnaise, etc etc with a bit of smirnoff/beer/guinness thrown into in it fairly harmless if a bit disgusting. I saw the one with a lad pinning two bottles of buckfast and to be honest by the look of him it looked like something he'd do regularly anyway.

the two tragedies could easily have been avoided but for the most part this neknomination isn't as deadly as has been made out
Post by: Jonah on February 02, 2014, 08:09:38 PM
Quote from: qubdub on February 02, 2014, 07:56:07 PM
This is just another harlem shake type phenomenom, should hopefully pass pretty soon.
How many people died doing the Harlem Shake?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 08:13:00 PM
It's not just the danger part that troubles me. It's also the "drunken paddy" stereotype that we seem to be only too happy to promote. What the hell's the matter with us?
Post by: qubdub on February 02, 2014, 08:13:54 PM
Quote from: Jonah on February 02, 2014, 08:09:38 PM
Quote from: qubdub on February 02, 2014, 07:56:07 PM
How many people died doing the Harlem Shake?
how long did the harlem shake last?
Post by: Tubberman on February 02, 2014, 08:40:24 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 08:13:00 PM
It's not just the danger part that troubles me. It's also the "drunken paddy" stereotype that we seem to be only too happy to promote. What the hell's the matter with us?

To be fair, in this instance, neknomination isn't solely an Irish fad. It started in Australia I believe and people in the UK are also doing it.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2014, 10:26:40 PM
Doesn't matter. The Irish have embraced it a bit too quickly for my liking.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2014, 12:20:39 AM
Unfortunately, we are the only ones dying from it (as far as I know per the reports).
Post by: give her dixie on February 03, 2014, 01:12:01 AM
The Withnail and I drinking game has been going on for a while.

http://www.withnail-links.com/drinking.htm
Post by: southdown on February 03, 2014, 08:28:35 AM
Saw the worst one this morning, a Geordie lad in a pub was dared to do it with a massive big shite in his pint.  I was near sick watching it!  The shite was near in his mouth at one stage.  Id say he feels pretty smart this morning after that going viral online...........
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 03, 2014, 08:49:14 AM
Quote from: southdown on February 03, 2014, 08:28:35 AM
Saw the worst one this morning, a Geordie lad in a pub was dared to do it with a massive big shite in his pint.  I was near sick watching it!  The shite was near in his mouth at one stage.  Id say he feels pretty smart this morning after that going viral online...........

Seen that. Disgusting!! I assumed it was a dumb-ass squaddie over in Afghan. Was the lad videoing it not in fatigues??
Post by: laoislad on February 03, 2014, 09:04:51 AM
Saw the worst one this morning, a Geordie lad in a pub was dared to do it with a massive big shite in his pint.  I was near sick watching it! The shite was near in his mouth at one stage.  Id say he feels pretty smart this morning after that going viral online...........

I nearly got sick even reading that. Why would anyone want to watch that even?
Post by: southdown on February 03, 2014, 09:19:27 AM
Its looking like people are catching on, seems to be a decline in it over the weekend.
Post by: EC Unique on February 03, 2014, 09:41:33 AM
Quote from: southdown on February 03, 2014, 09:19:27 AM
Its looking like people are catching on, seems to be a decline in it over the weekend.

It is in decline because most of the people stupid enough to do it already have.
Post by: ziggysego on February 03, 2014, 12:53:57 PM
Saw this statement on a NekNomination this morning. Moronic attempt at trying to defend it.

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Screenshot2014-02-03at120342_zps3b8596ba.png)
Post by: Jonah on February 03, 2014, 01:17:43 PM
Quote from: southdown on February 03, 2014, 09:19:27 AM
It starting to breed a whole new wave of idiots now who are posting videos of themselves refusing to this.
Why does everyone have to post a video of themselves doing something or as the case is now doing nothing!
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on February 03, 2014, 01:31:43 PM
Nice way to turn this on it's head - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-wztJ4m6xE
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2014, 01:32:13 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 03, 2014, 09:04:51 AM
Saw the worst one this morning, a Geordie lad in a pub was dared to do it with a massive big shite in his pint.  I was near sick watching it! The shite was near in his mouth at one stage.  Id say he feels pretty smart this morning after that going viral online...........

I nearly got sick even reading that. Why would anyone want to watch that even?
Stories like that really leave a bad taste in the mouth.
Post by: haranguerer on February 03, 2014, 01:51:23 PM
Stupid fad, matched by stupid stories about it, which just serve to dilute the effect of the relevant ones.

Explain how an awful tragedy in which a lad drowned can be attributed specifically to 'necknomination', as opposed to just too much drink being a contributing factor in reckless behaviour as it often is?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 03, 2014, 01:52:59 PM
Because he was filming himself doing it as a neknomination.
Post by: haranguerer on February 03, 2014, 02:29:34 PM
As in his going into the river was part of the video? I wasnt aware of that, I thought he'd got locked and jumped in or similar.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 03, 2014, 02:35:20 PM
According to his brother, who was there, he necked his pint and jumped in as part of the whole stunt. If you've seen some of these, it's never just about the drink, a lot of them are doing it in costume, in a strange place, on the back of a tractor, whatever. His one was to gulp down the pint and jump into the Barrow.

Of course I wasn't there, but I'm going by what the brother has posted.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 03, 2014, 10:25:22 PM
I must be getting old but I'm seeing a load of fools on facebook at this shite each trying to be "madder" than the last. In fact I've come to the conclusion that half the people I am "friends" with on facebook are idiots. Time for a friends clean out or maybe time to close the account. Anyone wonder how to protect your kids from this type of shite when they get older, its a worry.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2014, 10:36:38 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 03, 2014, 10:25:22 PM
I must be getting old but I'm seeing a load of fools on facebook at this shite each trying to be "madder" than the last. In fact I've come to the conclusion that half the people I am "friends" with on facebook are idiots. Time for a friends clean out or maybe time to close the account. Anyone wonder how to protect your kids from this type of shite when they get older, its a worry.
Aye you'd have to wonder. It's very easy to blame social media but the final choice remains with the individual. We were all reared on "If Johnny put his hand in the fire would you copy him..."
Post by: J OGorman on February 04, 2014, 09:31:35 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2014, 10:36:38 PM
Aye you'd have to wonder. It's very easy to blame social media but the final choice remains with the individual. We were all reared on "If Johnny put his hand in the fire would you copy him..."

this is true Tony, but in our day, we only had, or perceived to have peer pressure from those 'close' to us (friends and geographically). Today kids have the eyes of literally hundreds / thousands of sets of peers eyes on them, from different circles, different schools, different areas through facebook, snapchat, twitter etc.... the not so cool kids wanting to fit in or look cool etc are feeling pressured into stuff that is both dangerous mentally and physically. Social conditioning through social media, mags, shows etc is, in my opinion, almost suffocating weans and putting huge pressure on them to conform. As you say, and Im speaking as a father of a teenage daughter, its a worry
Post by: armaghniac on February 04, 2014, 09:55:59 AM
This phenomenon is an unhappy combination of peer pressure over social networks and an irresponsible attitude to alcohol in these islands and so in Australia, a cultural offshoot. It is notable the number of comments along the lines of young fellows inevitably get pissed and this is nothing new. Social networks cause their share of pressures in many countries, but people in many places would consider drinking contests ridiculous and Ireland would be better place if we joined them.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 04, 2014, 10:03:33 AM
In fairness, the US would have a similar experience of these drinking contests as well, so it's not unique, or even a small number of countries.
Post by: Cold tea on February 04, 2014, 10:16:46 AM

I don't have a facebook account, never had, how many on face book ever meet their "friends", it's a f**king marketing tool for Facebook to earn huge profits, if you want to know what your "friend" is up to ask them next time you meet them or phone them.  Friends my arse, it's a popularity contest!
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 04, 2014, 10:27:31 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on February 04, 2014, 10:16:46 AM

I don't have a facebook account, never had, how many on face book ever meet their "friends", it's a f**king marketing tool for Facebook to earn huge profits, if you want to know what your "friend" is up to ask them next time you meet them or phone them.  Friends my arse, it's a popularity contest!

My god, your right. How have I missed this all these years? Facebook has been abusing me. I'm a pawn in their global game. I'm going straight on to my profile to tell them what I think. Vive la Revolution
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 04, 2014, 10:32:13 AM

Agreed (oh I feel dirty) Facebook unfortunately is a bit of a must for me with wee bro away and other close friends in far flung countries, it's nice to chat, I've reduced it lately and when my bro came back for the Xmas holidays I deactivated it. never missed it for a month.

Will reduce it further I think and just have family and the few friends that I see regularly on it. Was never into drinking games or peer pressure
Post by: easytiger95 on February 04, 2014, 11:09:54 AM
Got rid of my Facebook account two years ago and do not miss it - when I had it, i used to feel guilty that I never used it. Ridiculous stuff. Although I find Whatsapp and Skpe to be brilliant for keeping in touch with family and friends abroad.

To be fair to these young lads though, I used to drink a fair volume and do fairly stupid things in school/college (like a lot of us). The only difference was I didn't have a camera on my phone or a forum to put the pictures on. I don't know how I didn't do myself more damage than I did. Being young, stupid and drunk wasn't invented by zuckerberg, especially in Ireland.
Post by: southdown on February 04, 2014, 11:14:36 AM
I agree with what was said above about the difference between now and days gone by is that nowadays if you do something wrong, someone is there with a camera to record it. The Slane-Girl incident is a prime example.
Post by: Cold tea on February 04, 2014, 01:08:26 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 04, 2014, 10:27:31 AM

My god, your right. How have I missed this all these years? Facebook has been abusing me. I'm a pawn in their global game. I'm going straight on to my profile to tell them what I think. Vive la Revolution

Bet you have 400+ friends  ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2014, 01:26:48 PM
Facebook is what it is, for some people it is a means to stay in contact with people who do not live close to them and also to make new friendships, I can testitfy to that,  it is also a place to find out information when used correctly.  For others it is a huge part of there life and some people become obsessed about it.   Every part of their own private life is lived through Facebook,  from what the dog did in the morning to how wonderful their coffee was in Starbucks!!!   I love Starbucks and love going in and having coffee and almond croissants but I don't post a picture of it up.( I do sometimes take a picture and message it to friends working in stuffy offices just to piss them off ;D)  It can be used, it can be abused.  The unfortunate side effect of the advent of the internet as a whole is that any idiot can get access to it and unfortunately many people are very easily led.   The necknomination thing is a cyber extention  of  the drinking games we had on our Friday and Saturday night carryouts and  is reflective of the way the world has changed.  Like everything in life there is some good with everything and some bad but at the end of the day we all have the ability to make ourown decisions and  those decisions dictate our life.

PS  I find it quite funny that people are on here spouting off about Facebook  and taking the high moral ground that 'well I have no Facebook  account,  I just meet my friends to chat.'  Do you meet your friends after you post anonymously on an internet discussion forum about how another open internet discussion forum is shite...oh the irony of it all ::) 
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 04, 2014, 01:32:29 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on February 04, 2014, 01:08:26 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 04, 2014, 10:27:31 AM

Bet you have 400+ friends  ;)

Ahh but how many real friends! I'm away to give them a quiz here. If they don't know my shoe size and what my first pet was called, then they're gone!! Timewasters!!
Post by: ballinaman on February 04, 2014, 01:32:44 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/t1/1604772_10202696782602187_395082141_n.jpg)
Post by: Cold tea on February 04, 2014, 01:51:21 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2014, 01:26:48 PM

PS  I find it quite funny that people are on here spouting off about Facebook  and taking the high moral ground that 'well I have no Facebook  account,  I just meet my friends to chat.'  Do you meet your friends after you post anonymously on an internet discussion forum about how another open internet discussion forum is shite...oh the irony of it all ::)

Or maybe this is just used as something to do whilst working, and when out meeting with friends no one gives a flying f**k about what the GAABOARD is up to.  ;D
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2014, 01:59:32 PM
Is this the work you do at the career you've worked very hard for? And won't have some p***k belittling?
Post by: Cold tea on February 04, 2014, 04:18:14 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 04, 2014, 01:59:32 PM
Is this the work you do at the career you've worked very hard for? And won't have some p***k belittling?

Yes why do you ask?
Post by: ziggy90 on February 04, 2014, 09:41:36 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2014, 01:26:48 PM
Facebook is what it is, for some people it is a means to stay in contact with people who do not live close to them and also to make new friendships, I can testitfy to that,  it is also a place to find out information when used correctly.  For others it is a huge part of there life and some people become obsessed about it.   Every part of their own private life is lived through Facebook,  from what the dog did in the morning to how wonderful their coffee was in Starbucks!!!   I love Starbucks and love going in and having coffee and almond croissants but I don't post a picture of it up.( I do sometimes take a picture and message it to friends working in stuffy offices just to piss them off ;D)  It can be used, it can be abused.  The unfortunate side effect of the advent of the internet as a whole is that any idiot can get access to it and unfortunately many people are very easily led.   The necknomination thing is a cyber extention  of  the drinking games we had on our Friday and Saturday night carryouts and  is reflective of the way the world has changed.  Like everything in life there is some good with everything and some bad but at the end of the day we all have the ability to make ourown decisions and  those decisions dictate our life.

Well put.
Post by: armaghniac on February 05, 2014, 12:39:37 AM
People who spend all their time posting on the Internet should get a life.
Post by: tommysmith on February 05, 2014, 05:54:46 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 05, 2014, 12:39:37 AM
People who spend all their time posting on the Internet should get a life.

Post by: Captain Obvious on February 05, 2014, 11:47:18 PM
Some young lad did the Necknomination on the Stephen Nolan show tonight.
Post by: T Fearon on February 05, 2014, 11:56:59 PM
Saw that. Wonder was that a stage managed stunt,camera went to him immediately and stayed on him
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 06, 2014, 12:11:03 AM
What a w**ker?? think it took the camera a sec before Nolan dawned what he was doing, some lads have f**k all to do
Post by: give her dixie on February 06, 2014, 01:50:52 AM
A woman rode a horse inside Tesco and downed a drink as part of the dare.

Footage emerged of the young woman - riding a large horse into a store in Bishop Auckland, County Durham, although the video was later removed from YouTube.

She is seen taking the animal onto the shop floor before she downs a can of Pepsi and nominates others to carry on the dare. Police are investigating the incident.

http://metro.co.uk/2014/02/05/woman-rides-horse-inside-tesco-and-downs-drink-in-neknomination-challenge-4291291/
Post by: BennyCake on February 06, 2014, 01:53:55 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 05, 2014, 11:47:18 PM
Some young lad did the Necknomination on the Stephen Nolan show tonight.

Missed that. What happened?
Post by: T Fearon on February 06, 2014, 07:16:39 AM
Basically John Mc Cririck was on,wearing only underpants and shoes,talking shite,a lad in audience raised his hand,Nolan thought he wanted to make a point,but when the camera came on him,he thanked John for the nomination and downed a shot.
Post by: bennydorano on February 06, 2014, 08:31:48 AM
That fella should be on the Cheeky Scamp thread as well
Post by: Cold tea on February 06, 2014, 08:36:30 AM
Being reported that two wabs gutted and ate a rabbit. 
Post by: Asal Mor on February 06, 2014, 11:10:19 AM
A few GAA Necknominations

Down a pint of whiskey, then charge out balls first and cupless to block an Anthony Nash 21 yard free.

When Kevin McManamon is bearing down on goal, in trademark fashion, in the last minute of the game, down a pint of Tequila, then shoulder him into the Hogan Stand.

Put on your favorite white Johnny Logan replica suit, down ten pints of Guinness in a minute, then watch a full match with Ger Canning commentating and Martin Carney co-commentating, and try not to vomit all over yourself.

Down a pint of anything in Pearse Stadium before p!ssing against the wind.
Post by: BennyCake on February 06, 2014, 11:51:10 AM
I blame Chumbawumba for all this.
Post by: armaghniac on February 06, 2014, 12:49:57 PM
I nominate 5Sams to come to the Athletic groups tomorrow wearing only Armagh kit.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 07, 2014, 12:30:16 AM
liked the one about putting McManamon in the hogan lol, i remember someone in the crowd at the NFL final Derry  v Donegal back in 95  shout at Mcgilligan to put him in the hogan as a Doengal player ran touch the touchline, the crowd were in stiches
Post by: haranguerer on February 08, 2014, 11:46:33 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-26084909

Who writes this shit? Pre-drinking (also known as 'having a carry out') a 'new trend'???
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 08, 2014, 11:51:57 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 08, 2014, 11:46:33 AM

Who writes this shit? Pre-drinking (also known as 'having a carry out') a 'new trend'???

Prinking????  Holy f**k, tis couped I tell ye!  It is getting beyond a joke...lads were pumped out when I was a drunken teenager....lads were pumped out when my auld fella was a drunken teenager...tis part of the wheel of growing up,  we fear about drugs and yes they are readily available but not much more in my opinion than when I grew up,  it is all getting very puritanical, Ned Flanders-esque will someone think of the childers!!!!  Or maybe I grew up a different teenager than a lot of people?
Post by: haranguerer on February 08, 2014, 12:05:50 PM
They've just invented that word.

You're spot on. I have to say I really resented those pricks who appeared in videos all over fb titled 'How real men do necknomination' and the like, and it would be them drinking a glass of milk while warning of the perils of drink.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 09, 2014, 07:32:48 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 08, 2014, 11:51:57 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 08, 2014, 11:46:33 AM

Prinking????  Holy f**k, tis couped I tell ye!  It is getting beyond a joke...lads were pumped out when I was a drunken teenager....lads were pumped out when my auld fella was a drunken teenager...tis part of the wheel of growing up,  we fear about drugs and yes they are readily available but not much more in my opinion than when I grew up,  it is all getting very puritanical, Ned Flanders-esque will someone think of the childers!!!!  Or maybe I grew up a different teenager than a lot of people?

+ 1...the advent of dugouts at GAA grounds were a god send to young ones with their blue bags.
Post by: Syferus on February 09, 2014, 08:46:27 PM
Heard an ould lad explaining the particulars of neck-nominations to another ould fella in Kiltoom yesterday. It's broken the age barrier.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 10, 2014, 06:55:15 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 08, 2014, 12:05:50 PM
They've just invented that word.

You're spot on. I have to say I really resented those pricks who appeared in videos all over fb titled 'How real men do necknomination' and the like, and it would be them drinking a glass of milk while warning of the perils of drink.

This is the kind of attitude we're up against. Dare to go against the grain of the drinking culture and that makes you a "p***k".  ::)
Post by: haranguerer on February 10, 2014, 10:39:20 AM
No, what makes you a p***k is being a self righteous dickhead, especially when that is achieved by jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible.

Post by: AZOffaly on February 10, 2014, 10:41:01 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 10, 2014, 10:39:20 AM
No, what makes you a p***k is being a self righteous d**khead, especially when that is achieved by jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible.

Is that not what neknominations are? A populist movement, which people did purely to get their video shared and liked?
Post by: haranguerer on February 10, 2014, 10:43:26 AM
Yes, and I haven't much time for them. Its the sheer self righteousness of the other though that pushes it to resentment.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 10, 2014, 05:06:44 PM
No, what makes you a p***k is being a self righteous d**khead, especially when that is achieved by jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible.

See what I mean?
Post by: laoislad on February 10, 2014, 05:50:28 PM
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 10, 2014, 05:53:53 PM
So let's get this straight.

Jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by downing a pint of beer - makes you the life and soul of the party and a great fella altogether.

Jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by telling people not to jump on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by downing a pint of beer - makes you a self righteous dickhead.

Is that the gist of it?
Post by: haranguerer on February 11, 2014, 08:46:09 AM
No, to get the gist of it you'd have to learn to read the posts, something that you're clearly incapable of doing at present.
Post by: LeoMc on February 11, 2014, 02:26:06 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 10, 2014, 05:53:53 PM
So let's get this straight.

Jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by downing a pint of beer - makes you the life and soul of the party and a great fella altogether.

Jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by telling people not to jump on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by downing a pint of beer - makes you a self righteous d**khead.

Is that the gist of it?

No, no, no.
Telling people what not to do  makes you a self-righteous d**khead.
Whereas doing something stupid because you wont be told what to do  (except if you are dared to) makes you a great fellow altogether.
Post by: haranguerer on February 11, 2014, 03:17:25 PM
Show me where I said the lads at necknominations were great fellows altogether exactly?
Post by: qubdub on February 11, 2014, 03:29:36 PM
A lot of sad bastards have done the whole neck nomination thing and fair play that's there prerogative. 
They've met their match though in equally sad bastards that are getting their friends to video them while they do something cringeworthy like buy someone's groceries for them because that person has a child with them and looks 'poor'.
The first instance is just some puke following a craze that to the best of my knowledge has died down already, the second one is just a pathetic attention-starved individual looking some likes on their fb to try and massage their ego.
Post by: Cold tea on February 11, 2014, 04:03:08 PM
Yip the girl who took her clothes off in the supermarket and drank about half a tin falls into the attention-starved individual category.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 11, 2014, 06:19:07 PM
Quote from: qubdub on February 11, 2014, 03:29:36 PM
A lot of sad b**tards have done the whole neck nomination thing and fair play that's there prerogative. 
They've met their match though in equally sad b**tards that are getting their friends to video them while they do something cringeworthy like buy someone's groceries for them because that person has a child with them and looks 'poor'.
The first instance is just some puke following a craze that to the best of my knowledge has died down already, the second one is just a pathetic attention-starved individual looking some likes on their fb to try and massage their ego.

So someone who makes a dick out of themselves by necking a pint is not "a pathetic attention-starved individual looking some likes on their fb to try and massage their ego"?

Got it.
Post by: qubdub on February 11, 2014, 10:17:22 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 11, 2014, 06:19:07 PM
Quote from: qubdub on February 11, 2014, 03:29:36 PM
A lot of sad b**tards have done the whole neck nomination thing and fair play that's there prerogative. 
They've met their match though in equally sad b**tards that are getting their friends to video them while they do something cringeworthy like buy someone's groceries for them because that person has a child with them and looks 'poor'.

So someone who makes a dick out of themselves by necking a pint is not "a pathetic attention-starved individual looking some likes on their fb to try and massage their ego"?

Got it.
Well no, not really.

In most cases they're just sheep following the herd, and in that sense aren't really going out of their way to do anything original or different, for the most part  they're just doing it for the craic because their friends have nominated them and they want to keep it going. Yes you get the odd one who goes to extreme lengths to try and be wacky and yes maybe they fall under that category.

But these do-gooder gimps that feel the need to document their selfless good deeds on fb on the back of neck nomination are ten times worse in the attention-seeking/ego massaging stakes. That is undeniable and if you can't see that well then you're an idiot.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 11, 2014, 11:34:37 PM
Matthew 6:3.

Amen.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 12, 2014, 06:45:49 AM
Its a funny old world where someone paying for another persons shopping is viewed as being "10 times worse" than someone drinking a mucky pint in a mankini!
Post by: haranguerer on February 12, 2014, 07:59:48 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 12, 2014, 06:45:49 AM
Its a funny old world where someone paying for another persons shopping is viewed as being "10 times worse" than someone drinking a mucky pint in a mankini!

Dont kid yourself into thinking its altruism
Post by: BennyHarp on February 12, 2014, 08:04:49 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 12, 2014, 07:59:48 AM

They are both self seeking acts - my point is, its a strange world that at least the kind act is serving some good, yet is viewed upon as 10 times worse.
Post by: Cold tea on February 12, 2014, 08:07:10 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 12, 2014, 08:03:54 AM

You must concede that it is much more altruistic than drinking a pint with a shite in it??

Currently second in post of the year behind tyrone girl.   :)
Post by: haranguerer on February 12, 2014, 08:24:32 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 12, 2014, 08:03:54 AM

You must concede that it is much more altruistic than drinking a pint with a shite in it??

No, both about the same levels of altruism, none.
Post by: haranguerer on February 12, 2014, 08:40:15 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 12, 2014, 08:04:49 AM

They are both self seeking acts - my point is, its a strange world that at least the kind act is serving some good, yet is viewed upon as 10 times worse.

If someone wanted to carry out a 'random act of kindness' then thats great. But if its actuallty out of concern for others, why on earth would you video it?

Like those pricks who are all over the net for buying a homeless person a meal, giving them a makeover, etc. If you were down on your luck, would you really want some self-righteous pricks coming up to you patronising you, giving you stuff, all the while shoving a camera in your face to be broadcast all over the internet?! It doesnt matter how down on your luck you are, everyones got some pride, and that seems to me to be as sure a way of humiliating someone as you'd get.

At least in necknomination the only person being humiliated is the person in the videos themselves.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2014, 09:29:40 AM
Lads I agree that the videos posted showing people buying shopping etc are probably more self serving than anything else. Look at me, I'm a great lad.  I haven't actually watched any of those videos for that very reason. I wonder do we know how the beneficiary reacted. If I came into Tesco in a dirty tracksuit after digging the garden or something, and someone paid for my shopping because I looked poor, I may take grievous offence :) However I did watch the lads drinking milk etc because I thought they were quite clever and made a good point.

People don't like being preached to. I was a smoker, and I hated being lectured about it, even though I knew the lecturer was 100% correct. So I get the 'away and f**k off' reaction to some of these videos.

However, to say they are just as bad, or 10 times worse than some of the dangerous (and more importantly encouraging others to 'beat that') stunts that Neknomination has spawned is something I can't comprehend. Nobody has died by buying someone else's shopping, or by drinking a glass of milk.
Post by: haranguerer on February 12, 2014, 09:57:11 AM
Just as bad (or indeed 10 times worse) in terms of how much I resent them.