GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on January 28, 2014, 04:27:01 PM

Title: Kildare v Mayo NFL 2nd Feb 2014
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 28, 2014, 04:27:01 PM
Welcome to hell aka St Conleth's Park!!!

(http://cache.gawker.com/assets/images/deadspin/2009/10/trainspotting-toilet.jpg)
Title: Re: Kildare v Mayo NFL 2nd Feb 2014
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 28, 2014, 04:51:44 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 28, 2014, 04:27:01 PM

(http://cache.gawker.com/assets/images/deadspin/2009/10/trainspotting-toilet.jpg)

The Lilly Shites.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 28, 2014, 05:46:09 PM

That's the good toilet.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 28, 2014, 05:56:10 PM

That'll be grand for Sunday. The County Board have commissioned a new robot:

(http://volunteerplaintalk.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/cleaning-robot.jpg)
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 28, 2014, 10:23:18 PM
I think it will be very difficult for us to stay up this year so the pressure is on from day one and we need the same sort of flying start we got last year.
Not too confident of that happening because I think the OBC win papered over the cracks left by the absentee list (Peter Kelly, Eoin Doyle, John Byrne, John Doyle, Alan Smith, Eamonn Callaghan, Niall Kelly, etc) and we'll be fielding quite a weak team for this level. Five of the starters from this fixture last year are unavailable.
Is Padraig O'Neill back for this?
Post by: moysider on January 29, 2014, 12:37:28 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on January 28, 2014, 10:23:18 PM
I think it will be very difficult for us to stay up this year so the pressure is on from day one and we need the same sort of flying start we got last year.
Not too confident of that happening because I think the OBC win papered over the cracks left by the absentee list (Peter Kelly, Eoin Doyle, John Byrne, John Doyle, Alan Smith, Eamonn Callaghan, Niall Kelly, etc) and we'll be fielding quite a weak team for this level. Five of the starters from this fixture last year are unavailable.

Quit yer whinin!

Did ye not read about Horans woes?

He has taken the opportunity to purge the panel of lads that had no part in the last AI debacle ( he holds on to players that didnt perform and culls players that were tackle bags all year). He then lists a few minors from last year (in a long list)  that have been doing a bit of senior training, but are not available, as some kind of casualty list! I m loving/hating this.
Lord save us we re producing another politician.
Post by: Syferus on January 29, 2014, 01:35:57 AM
Quote from: moysider on January 29, 2014, 12:37:28 AM

Quit yer whinin!

He has taken the opportunity to purge the panel of lads that had no part in the last AI debacle ( he holds on to players that didnt perform and culls players that were tackle bags all year). He then lists a few minors from last year (in a long list)  that have been doing a bit of senior training, but are not available, as some kind of casualty list! I m loving/hating this.

Game One is still a few months away, Moy. Plenty of time.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 29, 2014, 05:03:08 AM
By my reckoning this is only Game Minus Seven.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2014, 07:19:54 AM
Lets hope Mayo's second half collapses are consigned to the FBD 2014 history bin. Can't see it happeninv liike that though. Kildare with the O'Byrne Cup win in the bag to win this one.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 29, 2014, 03:43:19 PM
The 2014 O'Byrne Cup secured. It's all downhill from here.
Post by: rosnarun on January 30, 2014, 12:08:45 AM

Quit yer whinin!

or in short Horan hasn't picked enough Ballina players.

A few big additions to the panel this year in Tom Parsons and Adam Gallagher. I would Expect both to be starting come summer . Good to see the manager swallow his pride on parsons.
Now if we could only get Ronaldson back
Post by: From the Bunker on January 30, 2014, 02:27:23 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 30, 2014, 12:08:45 AM

Quit yer whinin!

A few big additions to the panel this year in Tom Parsons and Adam Gallagher. I would Expect both to be starting come summer . Good to see the manager swallow his pride on parsons.

He's one short (Ballina player) at the moment. But he's the boss! And it's his (valuable family) time that that he has given to this task, so it's his call! He is closer than any of us to this project and he is coming to the definitive day of reckoning so i guess he will leave no stone unturned? If you think the hurt you or me have felt from 12/13 was bad then you can not imagine this mans hurt! Anyway, he is one of us and i wish him well this year! Best of luck Kiwi!
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 30, 2014, 02:49:02 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 30, 2014, 02:27:23 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 30, 2014, 12:08:45 AM

Quit yer whinin!

He's one short (Ballina player) at the moment. But he's the boss! And it's his (valuable family) time that that he has given to this task, so it's his call! He is closer than any of us to this project and he is coming to the definitive day of reckoning so i guess he will leave no stone unturned? If you think the hurt you or me have felt from 12/13 was bad then you can not imagine this mans hurt! Anyway, he is one of us and i wish him well this year! Best of luck Kiwi!

Hear Hear!
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2014, 07:32:42 AM
Please...no more of this 'stone unturned' stuff. How the club playwer of the year was left on the bench on final day still gnaws away at me. No stone unturned was the mantra last year too.
Post by: macdanger2 on January 30, 2014, 08:04:43 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2014, 07:32:42 AM
Please...no more of this 'stone unturned' stuff. How the club playwer of the year was left on the bench on final day still gnaws away at me. No stone unturned was the mantra last year too.

True, but you'd hope Horan will have learned from that.....

Regan has been invited back but declined (is he off to the states for the summer?) so we need to move on from that. It was at best unfair and at worst a bad mistake by Horan to drop him off the panel last year but if we can get the players who are on the panel playing to their potential then we have a side good enough to win the AI.

Will the team be announced this evening??
Post by: Crete Boom on January 30, 2014, 10:34:25 AM
 I think the mental hangover from the All Ireland coupled with the lack of collective training done will mean we will be very vulnerable for these first two games. I think Kildare looked sharp enough in the O' Byrne Cup to take us as long as the have a fairly decent day in front of goals.

Good to see Tom Parsons back and I would like Horan to have a real look at him and Gibbons in this league because we all know what Moran and O Shea X2 can and can't do at this stage. I would like Andy and Freeman to get the majority of games to gether in the inside line as both were hampered by injury last year and I think they could build a good partnership together for us come the summer. You could use the other spot in the corner to give the likes of Jason Doc , Mikey Sweeney , Darren Coen ,Tommy Conroy etc.. a go at staking a claim. I would also like some real options in the halforward line like Gallagher , Loftus , Cathal Freeman , Gibbons at CHF and maybe even Keegan , to give us a couple of options again as I think Mcloughlin , Higgins and Dillion/Feeney will be the men in the summer time but we had no real cover there last year!

Everyone thinks our backs are in great shape and they are as long as form and fitness doesn't desert any of the starting six from last year which is a big if. I would like Shane MacHale , Keith Rodgers , Kevin Keane , James Burke , Brendan Harrison and Stephen Coen to get some real gametime between them so we have some credible options to moving Keith Higgins back or if say Caff or Vaughan gets injured! A good shout would be Alan Feeney and Eoghan O'Reilly to come back into the fold after the club championship to stiffen competition in the backs and they have experience of being in the squad before. Other players from that Mitchell's set up I would like to see get a chance are Danny Kirby and Patrick Durcan but this year maybe too soon for them.

All in all if Horan could scrape a win out of these first two games and have a look at about half the players I have mentioned above along with winning say four out of the seven games ( getting us to a league semi or final) I think that would be a brilliant start to our season but there are a lot of ifs in my post ;). Kildare by 3 or 4 in the end!!

Post by: Chimley on January 30, 2014, 10:35:04 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on January 30, 2014, 08:04:43 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2014, 07:32:42 AM

True, but you'd hope Horan will have learned from that.....

Regan has been invited back but declined (is he off to the states for the summer?) so we need to move on from that. It was at best unfair and at worst a bad mistake by Horan to drop him off the panel last year but if we can get the players who are on the panel playing to their potential then we have a side good enough to win the AI.

Will the team be announced this evening??

not picking on the lad but has anyone any idea why an unfit Conor O'Se was kept on the panel in preference. And what is the nature of his long term injury?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 30, 2014, 11:13:38 AM
Many mayo lads heading to this?
Any directions from the LWs? Coming from Dublin
Post by: Tubberman on January 30, 2014, 02:56:34 PM
Team named for Sunday. A fair sprinkling of new/inexperienced players, but still a strong lineup.
What's the story with Parsons - how is he going to manage playing for Mayo if he's living and working in Cardiff!? Does he intend moving home in the near future?

1)   Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
2)   Kevin Keane - Westport
3)   Ger Cafferkey - Ballina Stephenites
4)   Colm Boyle - Davitts
5)   Lee Keegan - Westport
6)   Shane McHale - Knockmore
7)   Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
8)   Tom Parsons - Charlestown Sarsfields
9)   Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
10) Cathal Carolan - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
11) Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
12) Adam Gallagher - Mayo Gaels
13) Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
14) Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen (Capt.)
15) Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore

James Horan - Manager
Tom Prendergsat - Selector
Donie Buckley - Selector
Ed Coughlan - Trainer
Sean Moffatt - Doctor
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 30, 2014, 03:26:22 PM
I haven't seen the Kildare team yet but I expect it will be very young with 9 players 22 or younger being involved.

We're playing a little bit more direct as much to do with conditions than anything else but I expect we could be looking for big mobile baller winners and Brophy and Fogarty fit that bill both though can shoot with either foot and can pick off scores.

Home advantage to shade it and we need to win this one.
Post by: macdanger2 on January 30, 2014, 03:35:14 PM
Who's our freetaker there? McLoughlin? Or can Coen or Gallagher take them??
Post by: Crete Boom on January 30, 2014, 04:35:40 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on January 30, 2014, 03:35:14 PM
Who's our freetaker there? McLoughlin? Or can Coen or Gallagher take them??

Gallagher was a fine free taker with the minors. I don't know about Coen as I have never seen him take frees .
Post by: Chimley on January 30, 2014, 04:38:58 PM
It would be a big responsibility on a lad in his first outing though.
Post by: Tubberman on January 30, 2014, 04:45:13 PM
Quote from: Chimley on January 30, 2014, 04:38:58 PM

True, Cillian wasn't given responsibilities for frees until after the debacle against Galway in Championship when about 5 players tried and failed.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 30, 2014, 05:00:51 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 30, 2014, 04:45:13 PM

True, Cillian wasn't given responsibilities for frees until after the debacle against Galway in Championship when about 5 players tried and failed.

Jez, we were a mess that day when you think back to that? That was only post needing extra time to get past London. We seriously came in under the radar that year to catch out AI Champions Cork in the Quarters!
Post by: ross4life on January 30, 2014, 05:20:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 30, 2014, 05:00:51 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 30, 2014, 04:45:13 PM

Jez, we were a mess that day when you think back to that? That was only post needing extra time to get past London. We seriously came in under the radar that year to catch out AI Champions Cork in the Quarters!

Yes ye couldn't score frees against Galway that day & wasn't it our luck that ye couldn't miss any in the Connacht final.
Post by: Syferus on January 30, 2014, 07:54:49 PM
Very similar to what we saw in Ballinlough. When are the Tubber men due back?
Post by: From the Bunker on January 30, 2014, 09:29:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 30, 2014, 07:54:49 PM

There will be no sign of Cillian or Alan for a while I'd say. Both played through the pain last year and they need time they could not take last year to sort themselves out!
Post by: moysider on January 30, 2014, 09:53:02 PM
Unless we re struggling for points to avoid relegation I would not expect to see either before championship.

A win here would settle things down nicely. As the first competitive match since the final loss it would be important to win. What we don t want is to lose the first couple of rounds.
But it wont be easy. Kildare gave us a bit of a going over last year in Castlebar in what was probably our worst league game. We could be a bit off the pace and could struggle if they have work done.

It ll be interesting to see how this 15 fare out. Looks like McHale is getting serious consideration as a 6 going forward. Boyle in the corner - no harm to have a look but cant see it last. I dont think marking will ever be his forté. Probably doing the opposition a favour by taking his influence out of the game. He is too good a half back. Just when we got Higgins out we put Boyle back. But no harm and it gives Harrison, who is also a proper player, a run.
Selecting Higgins at 11 is a statement of intent about his future it seems. Great to see Parsons back and I hope he is given games to get the best out of him. With Gallagher it will be be a case of how good can he be, rather than a case of will he be good enough?I d have no fear of him if he taking frees. Lots to look forward to.
Post by: sans pessimism on January 30, 2014, 09:53:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 30, 2014, 07:54:49 PM
shud have 7 or 8 come c/ship-shur isn't Jamsie in charge ;)
Post by: sans pessimism on January 30, 2014, 10:07:56 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 30, 2014, 09:53:02 PM
Unless we re struggling for points to avoid relegation I would not expect to see either before championship.

A win here would settle things down nicely. As the first competitive match since the final loss it would be important to win. What we don t want is to lose the first couple of rounds.
But it wont be easy. Kildare gave us a bit of a going over last year in Castlebar in what was probably our worst league game. We could be a bit off the pace and could struggle if they have work done.

It ll be interesting to see how this 15 fare out. Looks like McHale is getting serious consideration as a 6 going forward. Boyle in the corner - no harm to have a look but cant see it last. I dont think marking will ever be his forté. Probably doing the opposition a favour by taking his influence out of the game. He is too good a half back. Just when we got Higgins out we put Boyle back. But no harm and it gives Harrison, who is also a proper player, a run.
Selecting Higgins at 11 is a statement of intent about his future it seems. Great to see Parsons back and I hope he is given games to get the best out of him. With Gallagher it will be be a case of how good can he be, rather than a case of will he be good enough?I d have no fear of him if he taking frees. Lots to look forward to.
Have to say I'm very impressed with what I've seen of McHale so far.He is a back in the real Knockmore mould.He plays with great assurance,well able to look after himself and fears no-one.Reminds me very much  of Trevor Howley.In my opinion he's a solid option for a central position,freeing Donal to push forward-something he's more comfortable at than defending
Post by: moysider on January 30, 2014, 10:21:20 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on January 30, 2014, 10:07:56 PM

Have to say I'm very impressed with what I've seen of McHale so far.He is a back in the real Knockmore mould.He plays with great assurance,well able to look after himself and fears no-one.Reminds me very much  of Trevor Howley.In my opinion he's a solid option for a central position,freeing Donal to push forward-something he's more comfortable at than defending

Or is he being seen as a better option at 6? What would that leave the hb line looking like? I cant see fit Keegan or Boyle not being in hb line come championship.
Post by: sans pessimism on January 30, 2014, 10:24:38 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 30, 2014, 10:21:20 PM

Or is he being seen as a better option at 6? What would that leave the hb line looking like? I cant see fit Keegan or Boyle not being in hb line come championship.
6 is where I was thinkin of to
Post by: moysider on January 30, 2014, 10:30:19 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on January 30, 2014, 10:24:38 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 30, 2014, 10:21:20 PM

6 is where I was thinkin of to

Is there kinda of natural corner backs around that could be looked at instead of playing Boyle there. I mean why would ye want to convert Boyle to a corner back. Be as well off trying to convert one of the forwards! McLoughlin for example could play at 4 with his eyes closed.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 30, 2014, 10:59:13 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on January 30, 2014, 11:13:38 AM
Many mayo lads heading to this?
Any directions from the LWs? Coming from Dublin

N/M7 to Junction 10 (Naas South/Newbridge). Left at the top of the slip road then right at the roundabout. It's less than 10 mins down the dual carriageway from there.

The ground is just off the main street on the Naas side of the town. Parking can be tricky, especially now that the car park at the entrance to the ground closes when there's a match on. You can get a refund in the Whitewater car park if you have a match programme but you wouldn't want to be in a rush anywhere after the match because it can take a while for the traffic to clear on the main street.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 31, 2014, 12:16:10 AM
Aspect of that Mayo team that would worry me the most is Keith Higgins coming at us our backs are ill-equipped to handle pacy, direct runners.
Post by: macdanger2 on January 31, 2014, 07:31:20 AM
Any of the Mayo lads on here want someone to use their seaon ticket for this game?  :D
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 31, 2014, 10:52:04 AM
Team for Sunday from the Kildare GAA website. Apart from Shane Connolly coming back, looks like no changes from the Meath game.

1. Shane Connolly
2. Mick O'Grady
3. Mick Foley
4. Hugh McGrillen
5. Kevin Murnaghan
6. Emmet Bolton
7. Paul Cribbin
8. Tommy Moolick
9. Gary White
10. Cathal McNally
11. Eoghan O'Flaherty
12. Sean Hurley
13. Paddy Brophy
14. Darroch Mulhall
15. Padraig Fogarty
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 31, 2014, 11:13:09 AM
Long term, I would prefer to see Paul Cribbin in the forwards but he was excellent at wing back last weekend so it's no surprise he's there again. Apart from that it looks a strong enough team considering all the lads we're missing at the moment. The midfield have gone well so far but this will be the toughest pairing they have come up against. There's scoring potential in that full forward line if given a good supply. The backs will have to be tighter than they were in the first half last weekend. I can't see us holding Mayo to a beatable score if we're as loose at the back as we were at times against Meath.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2014, 11:07:04 AM
How is the pitch holding up?
Post by: mayo.mick on February 01, 2014, 03:41:15 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on January 31, 2014, 07:31:20 AM
Any of the Mayo lads on here want someone to use their seaon ticket for this game?  :D

Mac, there'll probably be a good few season tickets floating round before the match.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 02, 2014, 10:34:09 AM
Is the game likely to go ahead? I'm concerned that it might be cancelled due to weather condition or that the pitch may be waterlogged. I intend driving down from Dublin and I don't want to arrive and find the journey was wasted. 
Post by: StephenC on February 02, 2014, 10:38:18 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 02, 2014, 10:34:09 AM
Is the game likely to go ahead? I'm concerned that it might be cancelled due to weather condition or that the pitch may be waterlogged. I intend driving down from Dublin and I don't want to arrive and find the journey was wasted.

Saw a few people on twitter saying that it was looking good to go.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 02, 2014, 10:41:38 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 02, 2014, 10:34:09 AM

I don't think there is any inspection planned. They moved the Kehoe Cup hurling match that was due to be played there yesterday as a precaution.

Kildare are likely to make two changes to their starting line up due to late injury withdrawals. This very much tilts the odds in Mayo's favour now.
Post by: maigheo on February 02, 2014, 02:49:16 PM
Mayo in a bit of bother here.kildare 1.11 Mayo 0.10 HT
Post by: joemamas on February 02, 2014, 02:51:27 PM
Quote from: maigheo on February 02, 2014, 02:49:16 PM
Mayo in a bit of bother here.ildare 1.11 Mayo 0.10 HT

agreed without our starting midfield. we had three clear goal chances, result three points.
Post by: heffo on February 02, 2014, 03:32:48 PM
That Kildare keeper (assuming they're not going back in for Shane Supple) should be told to stay in his own box and never solo the ball - did the same v Dublin last year

Good tight win for Kildare all the same
Post by: StephenC on February 02, 2014, 03:35:44 PM
Good game - fair play to both teams.
Post by: Tubberman on February 02, 2014, 03:36:57 PM
Very entertaining, open game - too open if the stakes were high. Looked like we were going to get the draw, but I wouldn't be too bothered about losing. Some of the new lads showed up very well, plenty to be positive about.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on February 02, 2014, 03:46:21 PM
The quadruple dream is still alive
Post by: From the Bunker on February 02, 2014, 03:50:35 PM
Disappointing to lose. But not the end of the world. A good performance by our lads with different things going against them. New lads showed up well. Blooding and finding players marginally more important than the result at this time of the year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 02, 2014, 04:01:18 PM
Nice to win a tight-one especially as it looked like we threw it away with the collective brain fart at the end but finished with a very very young team. Paddy Brophy not bad for a robot, not even 20 yet. He was burnt out come the summer last year but I firmly believe if he doesn't go to the AFL he'll be something special in the next few years.

Normally a new coach sorts out the defence and then the attack, hope Mr Ryan has a plan.
Post by: Syferus on February 02, 2014, 08:05:50 PM
Met the Mayo ladeens in Ballagh on the way home from Newbridge. Jamesy got off the bus to say goodbye to the lads getting off in Roscommon. A gent. Didn't have the heart to congratulate Andy on our win today.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 02, 2014, 08:14:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 02, 2014, 08:05:50 PM
Met the Mayo ladeens in Ballagh on the way home from Newbridge. Jamesy got off the bus to say goodbye to the lads getting off in Roscommon. A gent. Didn't have the heart to congratulate Andy on our win today.

Is the Connacht semi final not the time for Mayo or Roscommon to Congratulate each other?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 02, 2014, 08:24:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 02, 2014, 08:14:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 02, 2014, 08:05:50 PM

Is the Connacht semi final not the time for Mayo or Roscommon to Congratulate each other?

What division is Sheepcommon in again?

The Ross is famous for the 3 b's, bad roads, b.o. and bandying around Derry hotels in womens knickers.
Post by: Chimley on February 02, 2014, 08:55:38 PM
An entertaining game but not much sign of any lessons learned from the past few years. A high ball in is still the way to crack open the Mayo full back line. Remedial actions were absent for any of the match-ups that were going against us.
Adam Gallagher had a good first game and with Kevin Mc it looks like the confidence is coming back too. Carolan put in a power of work.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 02, 2014, 09:50:21 PM
Yes indeed Chimley, the old high ball on top of our full back line will be our Achilles heel once again. Poor Kevin Keane must be having nightmares about them at this stage! It was a highly entertaining game for a neutral I suppose, but I'm not a neutral and even I was hoping none of the two teams would lose.

Hopefully Parsons will recover in sufficient time so we can have another look at him next week, but I thought Jason Gibbons had a mighty game today. O'Shea seemed to deserve his black card from where I was standing. I was up at the back so it probably wasn't the best place to see the challenge. Carolan got on a lot of ball, but I thought he could have passed it off sooner on more than one occasion. As regards McHale, I was happy enough with him. He didn't give many stupid balls away, but his man scored 1-1 I think. Pity. I thought all our defence stood off their men.

Moran played intelligently, but I'm sure James will have him inside come Summer and all works out on the injuries front. Higgins seemed to be a biteen unfit. McLoughlin played well today, hopefully finding his 2012 form again.

But today will go down extra well in Kildare because they won a highly thrilling game. Paddy Brophy, what a talent, to have. As for Mayo, onwards, and hopefully upwards in Omagh next Sunday.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 02, 2014, 11:04:17 PM
Paddy Brophy, his mum is a Mayo woman from Newport.
Post by: moysider on February 02, 2014, 11:24:39 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 02, 2014, 11:04:17 PM
Paddy Brophy, his mum is a Mayo woman from Newport.

Good woman.
Post by: moysider on February 02, 2014, 11:40:29 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 02, 2014, 09:50:21 PM
Yes indeed Chimley, the old high ball on top of our full back line will be our Achilles heel once again. Poor Kevin Keane must be having nightmares about them at this stage! It was a highly entertaining game for a neutral I suppose, but I'm not a neutral and even I was hoping none of the two teams would lose.

Hopefully Parsons will recover in sufficient time so we can have another look at him next week, but I thought Jason Gibbons had a mighty game today. O'Shea seemed to deserve his black card from where I was standing. I was up at the back so it probably wasn't the best place to see the challenge. Carolan got on a lot of ball, but I thought he could have passed it off sooner on more than one occasion. As regards McHale, I was happy enough with him. He didn't give many stupid balls away, but his man scored 1-1 I think. Pity. I thought all our defence stood off their men.

Moran played intelligently, but I'm sure James will have him inside come Summer and all works out on the injuries front. Higgins seemed to be a biteen unfit. McLoughlin played well today, hopefully finding his 2012 form again.

But today will go down extra well in Kildare because they won a highly thrilling game. Paddy Brophy, what a talent, to have. As for Mayo, onwards, and hopefully upwards in Omagh next Sunday.

He did but at the same time held on a couple of times and got turned over. Including for the winning point where we were in a position to win the game ourselves. Not sure he is best used inside no more than I m not convinced Boyle is best used at 4.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 03, 2014, 09:45:55 AM
A good start for a Kildare team that is very much a work in progress. It's important that we win our home games if we're to give ourselves a chance of staying up so that's one down with three more to come in Newbridge.

Pa Brophy will get all the plaudits and rightly so but there were a few of the other newcomers who I thought were excellent, in particular Cathal McNally and Kevin Murnaghan. TOC is fast approaching cult hero status. Anytime you have the man written off he seems to release his inner-Biffo for the day just to prove everyone wrong!

It was gas reading all the previews in the weekend papers still banging the same old drum that Kildare lack quality forwards. If anything, it's a few top quality defenders that we could badly do with. A player in the Glenn Ryan mould would be a godsend because we're opened up far too easily when teams run at us. Like Meath last week, Mayo created countless goal chances but thankfully from a Kildare point of view they were very wasteful in the first half. Other teams in this division will be more clinical when those chances present themselves and they will put us away.

It was one of the most entertaining league fixtures I was ever at and it's a credit to both teams for the spirit in which it was played. The black card should suit teams like Kildare and Mayo. Hopefully we will see a lot more of this positive football as the year goes on.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 03, 2014, 09:48:07 AM
Some good, some bad from yesterday.
Thought boyle got roasted inside, once Caff went on their 13 he was shut out.
Midfield was destroyed on breaks but won any clean ball that was there, thought gibbons did well.
Shane McHale suffered a little with their 11 pulled out of place, Higgins was non-existent, Carolan got on a lot of ball but has a tendency to carry into the tackle.
Bit harsh on mcloughlin there Moysider, that last ball he was bottled up, probably dropped it too early but could have been afraid of over carrying.
Some strange ref decisions, dont know what the free against their keeper was for? Keegan had a free given against him where their forward spun and went to kick the ball and kicked Keegan instead  ???
And they had a few poor tackles in the second half that I thought were ideal for the black card, a pull back by the neck on one player and Carolan was taken out of it in the lead up to the second goal, in front of the ref

Anyway, a game we should have closed out with the wind at our backs but not the end of the world
Post by: johnneycool on February 03, 2014, 09:53:50 AM
Caught a bit of this on TG4 and saw the Kildare left half back trip the Mayo lad with an outstretched arm after a great block on him, was wondering if the ref was going to issue a black and after a bit of thinking, discussing with the umpires, he duly did and probably correctly IMO.

What is the thoughts of the footballing fraternity on this one?

Will it take the players a while to get used to this rule as much as the referees?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 03, 2014, 09:58:04 AM
There was lads beside us looking for black cards for every foul, it was hilarious
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 03, 2014, 10:09:56 AM
I think the only player who was lucky to escape a black card yesterday was Sean Hurley. I got the impression that his protest that the forward had trapped his arm and dragged him down on top of him probably put enough doubt in the referee's mind to leave him off.

O'Shea was a bit unlucky. It looked a very clumsy, awkward sort of tackle but I'm not sure if it warranted a black card. Paul Cribbin can have no complaints. He was acting on instinct and will have learned his lesson.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 03, 2014, 10:42:15 AM
QuoteO'Shea was a bit unlucky. It looked a very clumsy, awkward sort of tackle but I'm not sure if it warranted a black card. Paul Cribbin can have no complaints. He was acting on instinct and will have learned his lesson.

That was was my reading of those two as well, it was pure instinct for Cribben to put the arm up and impede the Mayo lad, caught him sweet between the legs and can have no complaints.

I think big guys like O'Shea and Hurley are going to be in an awkward position as their sheer size can force guys down. I just hope a culture of diving doesn't prevail.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 03, 2014, 10:43:28 AM
I think that is the first of many black cards for Aidan, hopefully after his first 7 or 8 he'll have gotten it out of his system by August
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 03, 2014, 10:48:39 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 03, 2014, 10:42:15 AM
QuoteO'Shea was a bit unlucky. It looked a very clumsy, awkward sort of tackle but I'm not sure if it warranted a black card. Paul Cribbin can have no complaints. He was acting on instinct and will have learned his lesson.

That was was my reading of those two as well, it was pure instinct for Cribben to put the arm up and impede the Mayo lad, caught him sweet between the legs and can have no complaints.

I think big guys like O'Shea and Hurley are going to be in an awkward position as their sheer size can force guys down. I just hope a culture of diving doesn't prevail.

Hurley would have been unfortunate had he received a black card looking at this photo of the incident:

http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/cathal-carolansean-hurley-a363#photo (http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/cathal-carolansean-hurley-a363#photo)
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 03, 2014, 11:00:37 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 03, 2014, 10:48:39 AM

Hurley would have been unfortunate had he received a black card looking at this photo of the incident:

http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/cathal-carolansean-hurley-a363#photo (http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/cathal-carolansean-hurley-a363#photo)

Dramatic scream and all...
Post by: samwin08 on February 03, 2014, 03:45:44 PM
Black cards in this game given as rule demands. O Shea can have no excuse. In fact Mayo lucky to escape with just one.  Deserved more - Mayo forward pulled Kildare  defender to the ground and got a free in, should have been a free out and a Black card. Kildare have improved their tackling over last few years anyways contrasted to Mayo reckless tackling over last few years.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2014, 04:16:27 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 03, 2014, 09:58:04 AM
There was lads beside us looking for black cards for every foul, it was hilarious

Haha, us too.

By the way, I would like to apologise to Kildare fans for the greatest 'gobdaw' ever at a match. All he did was constant pathetic wind up attempts on Kildare fans about the reffing decisions, which annoyed me from the 10th minute on. Fair play to the fans for their non-reaction to him, whoever he was. He turned to me when 30 minutes had elapsed and asked 'Should it not be half time now?, All League games are 30 mins a half I thought'. ::) Kept on his pathetic wind up attempts throughout the whole match.

I felt like turning on him and telling him to shut up at one stage, but I didn't heed him.
Post by: ross4life on February 03, 2014, 04:48:30 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2014, 04:16:27 PM

Haha, us too.

By the way, I would like to apologise to Kildare fans for the greatest 'gobdaw' ever at a match. All he did was constant pathetic wind up attempts on Kildare fans about the reffing decisions, which annoyed me from the 10th minute on. Fair play to the fans for their non-reaction to him, whoever he was. He turned to me when 30 minutes had elapsed and asked 'Should it not be half time now?, All League games are 30 mins a half I thought'. ::) Kept on his pathetic wind up attempts throughout the whole match.

I felt like turning on him and telling him to shut up at one stage, but I didn't heed him.

Sounds like Larryin89?
Post by: fearsiuil on February 03, 2014, 05:57:23 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 03, 2014, 11:00:37 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 03, 2014, 10:48:39 AM

Dramatic scream and all...
Dramatic yawn and all...
Post by: macdanger2 on February 04, 2014, 05:45:49 PM
Good game on Sunday – fair play to Kildare for coming back and winning. I was confident at half time that we'd win it and when we got the two goals I thought it was in the bag but they stuck at it well.

Some great medium / long range point taking from Kildare whereas most of our scores came from closer in, not sure if that's a confidence thing or what.

A few thoughts on Mayo:

- Hennelly's three 45s into the wind were savage. Thought he could have take a few short kickouts though when we were losing all the breaks – there weren't many runs being made though.
- Caff was mighty, our best player I thought
- Boyle struggled at corner back. No harm sticking with it for a few more league games but you couldn't play him there in the championship unless he improves.
- Keane was ok but shouldn't have allowed TOC to catch that ball
- Harrison and McHale did ok but not outstanding. Keegan was ok but you'd expect more from one of our stars
- O'Se was unlucky to get a black card, hope he doesn't start pulling out of challenges if he picks up a few. Parsons was doing well until he went off.
- Gibbons did well when he came on, great goal. Looks a bit awkward on the ball though
- Higgins was awful poor considering what you'd expect from him
- Carolan worked hard in the second half in particular but needs to add a more to the end result
- Gallagher did well although he faded out of it for 20 minutes in the middle of the game. Coen not as good but it's their first time out at this level
- Andy is mighty at winning the ball and holding on to it but he didn't get a score on Sunday
- McLoughlin was decent enough, showed well for the ball and got 5 out of 6 frees I think
- O'Connor did well when he came on. Varley didn't do much for the few minutes he was on.

Who was the number 17 who came on in the backs?? He did well to get a block in late on to save what looked like a nailed on goal for Kildare

Both Keegan and O'Se had clear goal chances and blasted it straight at the keeper – if we had scored these we would have been 8-9 points up before halftime and I doubt Kildare would have gotten back into it. Overall, the only starting Mayo forwards to score points from play were McLoughlin and Gallagher – all six of Kildare's forwards scored points from play. We needed to do better on the breaking ball - Kildare dominated here for long periods.

Anyway, onwards to Omagh and those Tyronies

Post by: larryin89 on February 04, 2014, 07:44:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 03, 2014, 04:48:30 PM

Haha, us too.

Sounds like Larryin89?

Is that a question ? I really get under your skin, don't i. For the record , I don't wind anyone up at games but I will never make a secret of my hatred for all things roscommon.
Post by: ross4life on February 04, 2014, 08:03:25 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 04, 2014, 07:44:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 03, 2014, 04:48:30 PM

Haha, us too.

Sounds like Larryin89?

Is that a question ? I really get under your skin, don't i. For the record , I don't wind anyone up at games but I will never make a secret of my hatred for all things roscommon.

You don't get under my skin if you did i would use the ignore feature on here & elsewhere however i find it strange that middle aged man feels the need to jump from forum to forum trolling like teenager.

Good to hear you don't wind anyone up at games (I'll take your word on that) couldn't care less if you hate all things Roscommon that's your business.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 07, 2014, 12:03:20 AM
Just watched the match back again and Brophy actually got 4 of his 6 points off caff - perhaps he didn't play as well as I thought he did at the time
Post by: moysider on February 07, 2014, 11:51:10 AM
Bit of a curate's egg of a game from Caff. Read the game brilliant at times but didn't give brophy enough respect and didn't get close enough and gave him far too much time. Its unlikely to happen again. Wouldn't know a lot about the young lad. Caffs the type of player that would usually have his homework done for a forward.
Post by: maigheo on February 07, 2014, 12:49:47 PM
Good article in the Mayo News on the game where Edwin Mcgreal breaks down the game regards possessions and positive and negative plays for each player.Gives a different perspective on how players performed
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 07, 2014, 09:12:51 PM
I thought Boyle was marking Pa Brophy for most of the first half. He never looked comfortable in the full back line and I am surprised that he has been named there again for Mayo this Sunday. Brophy won a lot of ball out in front of Cafferkey in the 2013 league fixture in Castlebar IIRC.