GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Denn Forever on July 27, 2013, 10:33:57 PM

Title: Cavan vs Kerry The Aristocrat's reprise
Post by: Denn Forever on July 27, 2013, 10:33:57 PM
Bonus territory but we'll give it a lash.
Title: Re: Cavan vs Kerry The Aristocrat's reprise
Post by: tyronefan on July 27, 2013, 10:48:07 PM
A bit closer to home this time
Post by: tommysmith on July 27, 2013, 10:55:12 PM
Sunday at 2
Post by: babarino on July 27, 2013, 11:02:54 PM
Come on Cavan!
Post by: johnpower on July 28, 2013, 12:17:50 AM
Tough draw
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 28, 2013, 01:03:57 AM
A repeat result from 1997, rather than 1947 hopefully.  ;)

Kerry are going to be huge favourites obviously, but Cavan have nothing to lose and will have benefited from the run out in Croker.
Post by: comethekingdom on July 28, 2013, 10:26:05 AM
Cavan will bring that ultra negative ulster brand of football and they will be hard to break down. Hopefully our superior forwards shoul help us prevail.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 28, 2013, 11:36:11 AM
Kerry will be coming fresh into the game after a couple of weeks break. Cavan were very lethargic against London after the tough encounter against Derry. Started off well against London and were moving well, missed 2 good goal chances and then let London back into the game. Also gave away a very sloppy goal.

Good game for the young players to look forward too and hopefully they will raise their game - as yesterdays showing won't be enough..
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 28, 2013, 12:10:49 PM
Before the Yerrah merchants get in on the act with their usual cute hoorism its worth considering the facts of the championship so far. Six of the remaining teams in the championship played division 1 football earlier this year reinforcing the notion that there is a big gap between Division 1 and the rest. The only Division 1 team that has been beaten by a team from lower divisions in all games played to date has been Donegal in the Ulster Final. So for all Cavan's considerable improvement this year in the championship it will be one of the biggest shocks in years if there is any result next Sunday other than a Kerry win. Hopefully this at least sets our lads up to play with freedom and give it a lash. If we play well, stick to our system and keep them to 5 or 6 points it will represent a bit more progress along the way.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 28, 2013, 12:25:58 PM
Cavan would want to keep it as tight as possible for the first quarter. If Kerry get a run on you it could be over by then. I would have gave Cavan a pretty good chance, all things being equal. However, Cavan's legs are bound to be feeling the pace at this stage. Would love to see them in the semis. Some great players coming through from watching our battles at u-21.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 12:27:50 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 28, 2013, 12:25:58 PM
Cavan would want to keep it as tight as possible for the first quarter. If Kerry get a run on you it could be over by then. I would have gave Cavan a pretty good chance, all things being equal. However, Cavan's legs are bound to be feeling the pace at this stage. Would love to see them in the semis. Some great players coming through from watching our battles at u-21.
All things aren't equal though - that's the point!
Post by: Itchy on July 28, 2013, 12:28:14 PM
Anglocelt - keep them to 5 or 6 points! I doubt that somehow.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 28, 2013, 12:35:40 PM
Interesting thread title.

Kerry have won 20 All-Ireland's since Cavan last won.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2013, 01:12:16 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on July 27, 2013, 10:40:37 PM
1947 all over again.

And a possibility of 1948 again if we met ye in the final.
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2013, 01:15:36 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 28, 2013, 12:35:40 PM

Form is temporary. Aristocracy is ...
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2013, 01:25:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 28, 2013, 01:15:36 PM

Form is temporary. Aristocracy is ...

.......ancient!  ;)
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 28, 2013, 01:56:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2013, 01:12:16 PM
1947 all over again.

I was told by a Mayo man who played in the  game that ye blew '48, part of a long and bitter pattern which is bound to end this year it seems.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2013, 02:55:25 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on July 28, 2013, 01:56:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2013, 01:12:16 PM
1947 all over again.

I was told by a Mayo man who played in the  game that ye blew '48, part of a long and bitter pattern which is bound to end this year it seems.

In that final Mayo playing with the wind in the second half lost. In a heavy wind, Cavan led 3-2 to 0-0 at half-time. Mayo Lost by a point. The game was blown up a couple of minutes early with Mayo carrying momentum. All water under the bridge. That group went on to win four Connachts in a row and two AI's in a row.
Post by: tierworker blue on July 29, 2013, 04:57:03 AM

39 Ulster titles allows us the title of aristocrats. Win 26 more yourselves, and we'll share that title with ye!
Post by: Denn Forever on July 29, 2013, 10:00:28 AM
I fear for Kerry.  2 day's training should be enough.  Apparently 1997 still rankles.

Larry has spoken.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 09:49:20 PM
I assume Kerry is the Aristocrat, given that the apostrophe is before the s, it can't be referring to both teams. And no one from a county with a single provincial title in the last 40 years and no All Irelands in over 60 years would be as bold as to suggest they're part of the aristocracy!
Post by: rodney trotter on July 29, 2013, 09:53:00 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 09:49:20 PM
I assume Kerry is the Aristocrat, given that the apostrophe is before the s, it can't be referring to both teams. And no one from a county with a single provincial title in the last 40 years and no All Irelands in over 60 years would be as bold as to suggest they're part of the aristocracy!

Hard to knock the obsession with everything Cavan related, Maguire.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 10:08:13 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 29, 2013, 09:53:00 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 09:49:20 PM

Hard to knock the obsession with everything Cavan related, Maguire.
Totally obsessed - can think of nothing else.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 29, 2013, 10:09:51 PM
What about beating Tyrone? Or will you be booking a hotel for Sunday - the more important game?
Post by: Itchy on July 29, 2013, 10:10:19 PM
No all Ireland's in 60 years versus no all Ireland's full stop. That's why the Monaghan men are obsessed with us. Sure all their daddies and grand daddies used to support us back in the day.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 10:14:25 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 29, 2013, 10:09:51 PM
What about beating Tyrone? Or will you be booking a hotel for Sunday - the more important game?
What would I be booking a hotel for?
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 29, 2013, 10:14:50 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 29, 2013, 04:57:03 AM

39 Ulster titles allows us the title of aristocrats. Win 26 more yourselves, and we'll share that title with ye!
Well, I don't know how we will win 26 Ulster titles when we don't play in that god-forsaken province.
But if it's provincial crowns that  you are talking about, I think ye have a good bit to go before ye catch up to us.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 29, 2013, 10:19:12 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 10:14:25 PM

Save you the hassle of travelling twice, to watch your second team Saturday and the Main team Sunday.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 10:19:44 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 29, 2013, 10:10:19 PM
No all Ireland's in 60 years versus no all Ireland's full stop. That's why the Monaghan men are obsessed with us. Sure all their daddies and grand daddies used to support us back in the day.
Yes, totally obsessed! But well aware of our modest achievements and with no illusions of aristocracy.
And as for neighbourly support, it's probably closer to grand daddies and great-grand daddies at this stage.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 10:21:25 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 29, 2013, 10:19:12 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 29, 2013, 10:14:25 PM

Save you the hassle of travelling twice, to watch your second team Saturday and the Main team Sunday.
Incredibly witty. No, i'll just be down for the Saturday.
Post by: Itchy on July 29, 2013, 10:43:08 PM
Your grand daddies had good taste maguire01.
Post by: tierworker blue on July 29, 2013, 11:38:55 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 29, 2013, 10:14:50 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 29, 2013, 04:57:03 AM

Well, I don't know how we will win 26 Ulster titles when we don't play in that god-forsaken province.
But if it's provincial crowns that  you are talking about, I think ye have a good bit to go before ye catch up to us.

Eh, I was replying to, and quoting a poster who is from Tyrone...nowt to do with Mayo Lar, but sure don't let a measly little thing like facts get in the way of attempting to slag someone from that 'God forsaken province!'
Post by: emmetryan on July 30, 2013, 05:32:56 PM
Hi guys,

Tactical preview of Kerry vs Cavan up here
http://action81.com/blog/?p=7489

Emmet
Post by: Zulu on July 30, 2013, 09:29:59 PM
Donaghy and fionn Fitzgerald in for donoghue and griffin. Otherwise Kerry are the same as v cork.
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 30, 2013, 09:31:45 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 30, 2013, 09:29:59 PM
Donaghy and fionn Fitzgerald in for donoghue and griffin. Otherwise Kerry are the same as v cork.

Expect Kerry to launch a few skyscrapers into our full back line so.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 30, 2013, 09:35:45 PM
O'Donoghue injured so would be out anyway. Griffin had made his first championship start v Cork.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 30, 2013, 09:38:37 PM
O'Donoghue has lethal pace, so no harm that he is out. Although Donaghy is a different proposition with his ball winning skills from high balls in.
Post by: mlcollins on July 31, 2013, 07:53:17 PM
Fitzmaurice picking fitzgerald gives an injection of more pace in the backline,this is a horses for courses game and the backline will man mark,cavan are a year or two away from having the ability to winning a match like this. It should however be an interesting dual.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 31, 2013, 08:17:53 PM
I'm looking forward to the game. The word I am hearing is that our lads believe they can win this and are going to put in a big effort. What is more of an unknown is how good are Kerry. Yes I know Kerry are Kerry and could blow us apart but I watched that Munster final and unlike many I  thought it was way too open with both teams able to steam down the center of the other. Either they were playing at incredible pace or the two teams defences were poor. Now Cork really smashed kerry up in the 2nd half of that game and then went close to loosing against Galway who in turn were shocking in earlier rounds. So just how good (or not) are Kerry. I'm not so sure they are invincible for Cavan. Maybe that is the heart talking but I think if we get our tactics right we have a chance and I am also hoping that kerry put loads of long balls in as personally I think that is the easiest thing to defend against.
Post by: Main Street on August 01, 2013, 12:20:22 PM
I have some expectation that Cavan will give a very good account of themselves. I'll be be supporting our Cavan brethren 100% in this game.
Post by: rodney trotter on August 01, 2013, 12:26:36 PM
Cheers MS. Will be a good experience for the young players to play a class side like Kerry whatever happens.

Post by: lynchbhoy on August 01, 2013, 12:31:51 PM
will see on the day, but Cavan have a chance. if they stick to the gameplan and keep the discipline.
Will be a great learnng curve for this young side.
looking forward to the game too! if they get beaten, they get beaten. they will have ago at it - thought in 97 they really didnt have a real go and didnt believe in themselves- apart from Bernard Morris.
Post by: AQMP on August 01, 2013, 12:35:58 PM
I've seen two Cavan games this year and they're a better side than most people give them credit for.  Dunne and Keating are two cracking forwards.  I like the way Dunne makes up for a lack of physical size by clever movement and his positional sense is excellent.  As lynchbhoy says it will all come down to on the day.  Kerry must be strong favourites but Cavan have more than a sporting chance.  I'll be cheering them on.
Post by: Zulu on August 01, 2013, 12:38:03 PM
I agree, although Cavan were division 3 this year there were a few teams in that division that are better than that and Cavan are an improving team who should be able to compete with the big boys in the coming years. In saying that, Kerry are the one team that will put a young inexperienced side to the sword if the mood takes them. I think it could be close for about 40 minutes with Kerry looking like they are playing within themselves before pulling away to win by 4-6 points in the end. This is a year (maybe 2 or 3) too soon for Cavan but they are going in the right direction and have enough about them to give this a rattle. I'd love to see them do it.
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2013, 12:39:44 PM
Yeah I think Cavan will put on a good show, it sounds like they have the belief needed to take on Kerry which is one of the most important things. Alot are looking at it like a handy draw for Kerry, it reminds me a bit of when Monaghan played them in '07, though Cavan have a younger team than we had. Unfortunately I think it may be a similar result with Kerry just sneaking it, but I would really love to be proved wrong.

Whatever happens it's been a great run for this young Cavan team, and 2 games in Croker along with taking on the likes of Kerry will bring them on leaps and bounds for the future. Lets hope the journey doesn't end on Sunday.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 01, 2013, 08:09:45 PM
The hype is gone so crazy i Cavan that I think we will need to make a good start in this match. Fecking youtube videos and songs being penned at the moment - its gone out of control!
Post by: tommysmith on August 01, 2013, 08:12:39 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on August 01, 2013, 08:09:45 PM
The hype is gone so crazy i Cavan that I think we will need to make a good start in this match. Fecking youtube videos and songs being penned at the moment - its gone out of control!

You are right, do some people think it actually a all-ireland with that carry on.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 01, 2013, 08:17:42 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on August 01, 2013, 08:12:39 PM

You are right, do some people think it actually a all-ireland with that carry on.

The players would want to stay away from the public, facebook and twitter for a few days as this could seriously mess with their heads. I hate for them to not be at their best because the occasion was blown up by crazies
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2013, 10:15:21 PM
Yeah, but we have Big Tom threatening promising to pen a number for us if we win - do you have that kind of motivation in Cavan?  :P
Post by: armaghniac on August 02, 2013, 12:07:41 AM
Big Tom! Have the bogmen anything on the go?
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 02, 2013, 03:10:26 AM
Syferus has yet to weigh in saying Kerry are finished and Cavan will beat them...I am officially worried.
Post by: anglocelt39 on August 02, 2013, 08:30:54 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 02, 2013, 03:10:26 AM
Syferus has yet to weigh in saying Kerry are finished and Cavan will beat them...I am officially worried.

This is unlikely to happen anytime soon as (1) Cavan are not a Connacht County (2) Cavan have not played the Rossies in the recent past in the championship so there is no scope for turning the Cavan/Kerry thread into a temporary thread on the state of Roscommon football.

Mind you Cavan did play the losing Connacht finalists last weekend so perhaps a pronouncement will be with us soon.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 02, 2013, 10:08:11 AM
If Cavan can stay within touching distance (2-3 points) entering the last quarter then they have a real chance. Cavan were very impressive the way they closed out the Derry game and with a much healthier age profile they could cause Kerry problems running from deep late on. I assumed Kerry's league collapse against us was down to fitness but the Cork game reinfornces the notion that their legs are starting to tire.

Kerry still remain clear favourites and could, potentially, destroy Cavan but I am hoping for a Ulster win. Mainly to hear these all Ireland songs!
Post by: Itchy on August 02, 2013, 12:14:16 PM
50k tickets sold already. That is fair going considering only a handful will bother travel from Kerry. I say it will be close to 60k on the day.
Post by: Syferus on August 02, 2013, 12:26:31 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on August 02, 2013, 08:30:54 AM

This is unlikely to happen anytime soon as (1) Cavan are not a Connacht County (2) Cavan have not played the Rossies in the recent past in the championship so there is no scope for turning the Cavan/Kerry thread into a temporary thread on the state of Roscommon football.

Mind you Cavan did play the losing Connacht finalists last weekend so perhaps a pronouncement will be with us soon.

To take a leaf from the great Mayo Mick's book, I'll get back to ye if you're still in the Championship after August Bank holiday weekend.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 02, 2013, 01:06:59 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on August 02, 2013, 08:30:54 AM

His obsession with  kerrys "decline" is one thing but whatever you do don't say that ballaghaderreen is in Mayo. Thats an even bigger obsession of his. He will spew 10 pages of interminably boring "banter" about Mayo-Westros if you bring that up.

Post by: Itchy on August 02, 2013, 08:44:07 PM
Cavan manager Terry Hyland has just tonight announced his starting fifteen for Sunday's quarter final with Kerry in Croke Park. Jason McLoughlin returns from an injury which saw him lose his place in qualifier rounds 3 & 4 against Derry & London respectively. The Shannon Gaels club-man has impressed all year having marshaled players of the caliber of Patrick McBrearty in the Ulster U-21 FC and Jamie Clarke in Cavan's Ulster SFC opener last May. Whilst the underdog tag is sure to suit the Breffni men, no one doubts that anything other than their best performance of the summer will be enough to reign in the Kingdom.

Cavan will line out 1 to 15 as follows:

1.  Alan O'Mara (Bailieborough Shamrocks)
2.  Thomas Corr (Denn)
3.  Rory Dunne (Redhills)
4.  Killian Clarke (Shercock)
5.  Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)
6.  Alan Clarke (Kingscourt) Captain
7.  Ronan Flanagan (Castlerahan)
8.  Damien O'Reilly (Belturbet)
9.  David Givney (Mountnugent)
10. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
11. Jack Brady (Ramor United)
12. Feargal Flanagan (Butlersbridge)
13. Martin Reilly (Killygary)
14. Martin Dunne (Cavan Gaels)
15. Eugene Keating (Saint Sylvesters)
Post by: Aaron Boone on August 02, 2013, 09:03:25 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 02, 2013, 12:14:16 PM
50k tickets sold already. That is fair going considering only a handful will bother travel from Kerry. I say it will be close to 60k on the day.

Kerry do travel!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 02, 2013, 09:36:52 PM
kerry take this one handy enough and i expect to see them in the All-Ireland final this year
Post by: Rossfan on August 02, 2013, 10:19:17 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 02, 2013, 01:06:59 PM
don't say that ballaghaderreen is in Mayo.

Because it's NOT. ;)
Love to see Cavan winning this one but I'm afraid they will have to wait another year.
However it will be a good learner for a young and possibly up and coming team.

P S- Syfínín is all obsessed with the Ted Webb U 16 thing at the moment. He can't understand why the All Irl Minor Qtr Finals were fixed for Bank Holiday monday as the Webb Finals are usually on that day.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2013, 11:58:47 PM
come on Caaaavan !!
Post by: anglocelt39 on August 04, 2013, 08:32:55 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 03, 2013, 11:58:47 PM
come on Caaaavan !!

Just about to move the bandwagon out of the driveway its full. GOWAN lads
Post by: Itchy on August 04, 2013, 08:36:11 AM
Good luck to the lads today. They can win this.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 04, 2013, 09:26:40 AM
Hope they go out and play the the way they did against Derry and not London, If so they are in with a good shout, best of luck lads!
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2013, 01:23:21 PM
Throw-in delayed till 2.15pm extra-time in the minor.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 01:38:39 PM
If Cavan play with no respect for Kerry and play a high intensity game they have an outside chance of causing a shock. However I feel the difference in quality in the forward line will tell and grant Kerry a crack at the Dubs in a potential classic semi final show down.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 04, 2013, 02:21:47 PM
Penalty?
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:26:53 PM
Buckley is a very good footballer, 2 great 50's in a row.
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 04, 2013, 02:28:37 PM
Any streams guys?
Post by: omagh_gael on August 04, 2013, 02:30:57 PM
This is like a training match. No intensity, no atmosphere, no chance for Cavan?
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2013, 02:35:22 PM
Terrible passes by Cavan. Only some good blocks/tackles stopping a rout.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:35:55 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 04, 2013, 02:30:57 PM
This is like a training match. No intensity, no atmosphere, no chance for Cavan?

No
Post by: Declan on August 04, 2013, 02:36:43 PM
This is very poor stuff. Have Kerry relocated to north of the border with so many men back? Could be a rout
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 04, 2013, 02:39:28 PM
Cavan need to change things upfront. They are dire
Post by: Radda bout yeee on August 04, 2013, 02:39:45 PM
Bit of a snooze fest this!
Post by: clarshack on August 04, 2013, 02:40:09 PM
cavan have been shocking so far
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:40:57 PM
Can't believe how defensive Kerry have set up, it's a rout but they have bought into the whole Donegal defensive sTrategy.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2013, 02:41:27 PM
Kerry more Tyrone than Dublin.

Cavan poor execution of the basics.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 04, 2013, 02:43:11 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 04, 2013, 02:42:29 PM
Game over already,  0-9 to 0-1 27 mins in.
Looks like it. Dublin v Kerry will be tasty.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2013, 02:43:44 PM
Lack of comment on Kerry's systematic team fouling from the TV is interesting. Denying Cavan any tempo and fluidity and allows bodies back to defend.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:44:41 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 04, 2013, 02:43:11 PM

Fancy Dublin to blitz them with pace and power. O'Se and Galvin only shadows of the players they once were.
Post by: Declan on August 04, 2013, 02:46:12 PM
QuoteLack of comment on Kerry's systematic team fouling from the TV is interesting. Denying Cavan any tempo and fluidity and allows bodies back to defend.

It sure is - I've sent a message to TV3 myself asking the same question
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:47:12 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2013, 02:43:44 PM
Lack of comment on Kerry's systematic team fouling from the TV is interesting. Denying Cavan any tempo and fluidity and allows bodies back to defend.

Very true but in fairness to TV3 they have been consistently a lot less sensationalist in their commentary. However the medias 'white knights' of Gaelic football always seem to escape such commentary.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 04, 2013, 02:49:02 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:44:41 PM

Fancy Dublin to blitz them with pace and power. O'Se and Galvin only shadows of the players they once were.

In fairness Kerry can defend better than Cork and are better in midfield.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:51:46 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 04, 2013, 02:49:02 PM

If you mean that they 'set up ' more defensively than Cork well then your right. It's by no means a formality but its ironic that Dublin will be the all out attacking team whilst Kerry will be the team playing to a rigid defensive system, role reversal from a few years ago. Fitzmaurice is a very defensive coach.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2013, 02:51:58 PM
Quote from: Declan on August 04, 2013, 02:46:12 PM
QuoteLack of comment on Kerry's systematic team fouling from the TV is interesting. Denying Cavan any tempo and fluidity and allows bodies back to defend.

It sure is - I've sent a message to TV3 myself asking the same question

Yea to me it's a plan purely with Dublin in mind. Expect Jim Gavin won't be shy in highlighting it. Senan is a bit patronising to Cavan.

Time for Cavan to bring on Larry Reilly.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:52:51 PM
Match is an absolute snooze fest.
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2013, 02:53:06 PM
I don't think I've ever seen a team as slow getting the ball up the field as Cavan.
Post by: J OGorman on August 04, 2013, 02:54:07 PM

Will be an interesting match up. A fitter / younger team against the better footballers. Wont be a blitzing session but will be a quare one to watch
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2013, 02:56:58 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 04, 2013, 02:54:07 PM

Will be an interesting match up. A fitter / younger team against the better footballers. Wont be a blitzing session but will be a quare one to watch

Dublin have better footballers than Kerry, on current form and not reputation only Cooper would be a given to get into the Dublin front 6.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:57:14 PM

I don't even know if you can say that any more. Kerry still have a lot of good players but can they still play the game at the pace required to win All Ireland's. Personally think Dublin now have the better footballers. I think them and Cork are about the same level and Dublin comfortably disposed of them. Either way it should be a great occasion
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2013, 03:00:58 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 04, 2013, 02:55:45 PM
To be fair some of the Kerry point taking has been well taken. Dublin unlikely to give them as much time though.

Dublins counter attacking speed means Kerry won't have the same time to get men back into their own half.
Seriously, watching the Cavan backs crabbing over and back across the field is giving me a pain in my head.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 04, 2013, 03:02:05 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:51:46 PM

If you mean that they 'set up ' more defensively than Cork well then your right. It's by no means a formality but its ironic that Dublin will be the all out attacking team whilst Kerry will be the team playing to a rigid defensive system, role reversal from a few years ago. Fitzmaurice is a very defensive coach.

Yes and it's the more defensive sides that are more likely to defeat Dublin.
Post by: J OGorman on August 04, 2013, 03:03:20 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2013, 02:56:58 PM

Dublin have better footballers than Kerry, on current form and not reputation only Cooper would be a given to get into the Dublin front 6.

you say they do, I say they dont. It remains to be seen if Kerry have drive for another AI. That Kerry team is littered with modern greats. Dublin romp a limp Leinster, have 1 won AI in how many years in the comfort blanket of Croke Pk, but they are better footballers? Dublin have a long way to go yet. Will be a great match up
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 04, 2013, 03:06:56 PM

Cork were wide open at the back last night and this was the Dublin front 6 scoring.

P Flynn (0-2), C Kilkenny (0-2), D Connolly; P Mannion, B Cullen, B Brogan (0-1, free)

Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:07:22 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 04, 2013, 03:02:05 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 02:51:46 PM

Yes and it's the more defensive sides that are more likely to defeat Dublin.

True, Kerry probably know that if they go toe to toe in a shoot out with Dublin then they will come out second best. Kerry's biggest downfall has always been coping with high intensity football. This game today is pedestrian.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2013, 03:07:51 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 04, 2013, 03:03:20 PM

you say they do, I say they dont. It remains to be seen if Kerry have drive for another AI. That Kerry team is littered with modern greats. Dublin romp a limp Leinster, have 1 won AI in how many years in the comfort blanket of Croke Pk, but they are better footballers? Dublin have a long way to go yet. Will be a great match up

I did say current form and not reputation. Dublin have had more recent glory than Kerry too.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:09:55 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 04, 2013, 03:03:20 PM

Yes they have some modern greats but some of them are past their sell by date. Galvin and Tomas O'Se have noticeably slowed down and I would have severe doubts of their abilities to sustain the necessary intensity required against the pace of a Dublin side.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 04, 2013, 03:18:47 PM
Kerry need to have James Donoghue fit....Declan Sullivan and Donaghy off form at he minute. Add in the miles on Galvin and the Kerry forward line is only firing two or three cylinders.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:21:32 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 04, 2013, 03:18:47 PM
Kerry need to have James Donoghue fit....Declan Sullivan and Donaghy off form at he minute. Add in the miles on Galvin and the Kerry forward line is only firing two or three cylinders.

Would agree, O Donoghue is vital to them they badly need an injection of pace. Him and Darren O Sullivan will be crucial to give them a chance. Can't understand why they have stationed Cooper at CHF.
Post by: Line Ball on August 04, 2013, 03:22:41 PM
That commentary from Niblock and Mc Hugh has to be some of the worst ever heard.  Its an awful thing to say but bring back Sidearse and ROisin!
Post by: 5 Sams on August 04, 2013, 03:28:25 PM
They'll be on duty in a wee while for the Donegal game. :-\
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:28:56 PM
Haven't seen much of this ref before but he is very whistle happy.
Post by: BennyHarp on August 04, 2013, 03:29:47 PM
How many frees have Kerry given away between 35 -40 yards out in the second half? You'd almost think it was a cynical attempt to ensure they don't concede a goal.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:32:40 PM
I think I am now actually looking forward to seeing the grinding defensive football in the 2nd match after enduring this contest. At least it will be high intensity and competitive. This is among the worst matches I've seen this year for quality. I would give Kerry very little chance against the Dubs.
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2013, 03:34:58 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:32:40 PM
I think I am now actually looking forward to seeing the grinding defensive football in the 2nd match after enduring this contest. At least it will be high intensity and competitive. This is among the worst matches I've seen this year for quality. I would give Kerry very little chance against the Dubs.

i've enjoyed the second half. the second game will be rancid
Post by: Aaron Boone on August 04, 2013, 03:36:38 PM
Kerry will close the game out from here.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:36:43 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2013, 03:34:58 PM

Different strokes for different folks, can't say the same. Both teams playing similar styles to Mayo and Donegal only at a much lower pace.
Post by: Declan on August 04, 2013, 03:37:05 PM
Young Mackie from Cavan has certainly impressed but Cavan's shot selection is brutal.
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 04, 2013, 03:37:37 PM
The Cavan number 4 with the red boots is a superb tackler!!! Is he Clarke?
Post by: Asal Mor on August 04, 2013, 03:38:37 PM
The Dubs are gonna ate Kerry!
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:41:45 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 04, 2013, 03:37:37 PM
The Cavan number 4 with the red boots is a superb tackler!!! Is he Clarke?

Yeah, Killian Clarke could be an Allstar nominee at least. Both himself and Mackie have been Cavans best players.
Post by: INDIANA on August 04, 2013, 03:42:40 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:36:43 PM

Different strokes for different folks, can't say the same. Both teams playing similar styles to Mayo and Donegal only at a much lower pace.

if you like third man tackles, low scoring, plenty of frees, high tackles etc. you'll love the second game
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:44:56 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 04, 2013, 03:42:40 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 03:36:43 PM

if you like third man tackles, low scoring, plenty of frees, high tackles etc. you'll love the second game

Course I don't, the comment was made with a sense of irony after watching what I thought was a very poor curtain raiser. The second game will be a hell of a lot more interesting than this match though.
Post by: Declan on August 04, 2013, 03:47:00 PM
Jaysus that was turgid stuff. Kingdom must be favourites now as they haven't had to get out of second gear yet and have strolled to the semis ;) 
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 04, 2013, 03:47:54 PM
At least Cavan won the second half 7-4.
Post by: HiMucker on August 04, 2013, 03:49:10 PM
Jesus mc Hugh talks some dung.  " Cavan will be glad to just get a jersey now". "They didn't get hammered and fair play to Kerry for not doing that"
Just a string of negativity and half finished sentences.

Cavan will be back at Croke park next year
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2013, 04:00:51 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on August 04, 2013, 03:49:10 PM
Jesus mc Hugh talks some dung.  " Cavan will be glad to just get a jersey now". "They didn't get hammered and fair play to Kerry for not doing that"

Cavan will be back at Croke park next year

Condescending snidey git.
Post by: Syferus on August 04, 2013, 04:02:30 PM
Watching Gooch play is like watching Michaelangelo paint the Sistine Chapel. A few cameos, one late run for a quick point when the rest of the Kerry team were flailing about to put the carving fork into Cavan, when they were starting to fancy their chances. Just enough to gently push Kerry over the line. Calmness personified.

As regards Kerry's chances the next day, nothing's changed.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 04, 2013, 04:09:07 PM
He's possibly the worst pundit there is, and that was incredibly patronising.
Post by: HiMucker on August 04, 2013, 04:13:05 PM
To be fair I don't think he means any harm, just out of touch and as you say one of the worst pundits out there.  He was mentioning last week how the umpires get it tough because players "kick the ball so high these days". Cringe worthy stuff
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 04, 2013, 05:09:53 PM
Cooper has been the best player about since he came on the scene, even if he didnt play on a good team i think he stand out like a sore thumb
Post by: Denn Forever on August 04, 2013, 07:05:48 PM
Cream always rises to the top. 

Post by: emmetryan on August 04, 2013, 09:07:19 PM
Hi guys,

Tactical analysis of Kerry's win over Cavan up now
http://action81.com/blog/?p=7505

Emmet
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2013, 09:21:42 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 04, 2013, 05:09:53 PM
Cooper has been the best player about since he came on the scene, even if he didnt play on a good team i think he stand out like a sore thumb

As the ugliest perhaps ?

Class player, hopefully we can keep him quite come Sep 1st  :-[
Post by: anglocelt39 on August 04, 2013, 11:07:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 04, 2013, 02:53:06 PM
I don't think I've ever seen a team as slow getting the ball up the field as Cavan.

You clearly didn't see our under 21's in this year AISF against Cork
Post by: Syferus on August 04, 2013, 11:32:15 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on August 04, 2013, 11:07:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 04, 2013, 02:53:06 PM

You clearly didn't see our under 21's in this year AISF against Cork

Don't get me started. A lot of D3 teams suffer that sort of slow ball and it seems born put of decent defensive systems meeting poor support play in attack. It's the house style in D3 and anyone wanting to rid themselves of those bad habbits needs to be moving up the divisions.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 04, 2013, 11:43:18 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2013, 09:21:42 PM

As the ugliest perhaps ?

Why the need to personally insult the guy. A number of people have done it on this board. Cheap shots the lot of them.
Post by: Hardy on August 05, 2013, 01:30:39 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 04, 2013, 11:43:18 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 04, 2013, 09:21:42 PM

As the ugliest perhaps ?

Why the need to personally insult the guy. A number of people have done it on this board. Cheap shots the lot of them.

Yes - that tabloidese shite has no place in a sports discussion.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 05, 2013, 12:20:13 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 04, 2013, 04:09:07 PM
He's possibly the worst pundit there is, and that was incredibly patronising.

I hope the little w**ker enjoyed the 2nd game. I expect his two sons were glad to get a jersey yesterday themselves at the end as it was as close as they got to a Mayo Jersey the whole game.