GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 04:20:36 PM

Title: Kerry v Cork, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, 7th of July 2013, MSFC Final
Post by: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 04:20:36 PM
This thread could have been started when the draw was made back in November, it was such a foregone conclusion that these two would end up in the final. Not sure which way it's going to go. League form was very hit and miss for both teams and you can't really base a prediction on the previous two games as any of the teams they played weren't up to much. Hopefully Cork will win, but the fact that it's in Killarney swings it in Kerry's favour, for me.
Title: Re: Kerry v Cork, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, 7th of July 2013, MSFC Final
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 01, 2013, 06:34:50 PM
They don't pay much attention to us "lesser counties" on here CM, hence scarcely a mention of what will be by far the highest quality provincial final....

Mahony is a big loss for us..Griffin is a grand player but it would be his biggest game by far to date and even players of the calibre of Tomás have found the going tough in your first Kerry v Cork battle in Killarney.

Really looking forward to it..sun shining, Scotts, MacSweeney's, Laurels..all jammed to the gills..and then of course the short walk up Lewis road to our own cathedral of football where a I would imagine a capacity crowd will gather..wouldn't rather be anywhere else in the world..

(http://img.rasset.ie/00062c51-960.jpg)
Title: Re: Kerry v Cork, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, 7th of July 2013, MSFC Final
Post by: armaghniac on July 01, 2013, 07:22:50 PM
Will Mike Sheehy be coming from America for this one?
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 07:28:02 PM
..meanwhile, in Munster..
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 01, 2013, 09:33:33 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 01, 2013, 07:22:50 PM
Will Mike Sheehy be coming from America for this one?

I will let Paul Grimley know my plans. I'm sure he will let you know through the usual channels
http://balls.ie/gaa/paul-grimley-statement (http://balls.ie/gaa/paul-grimley-statement)
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2013, 09:47:25 PM
Corks last win against Kerry in Killarney ?
Post by: yellowcard on July 01, 2013, 10:31:31 PM
Kerry and Cork combined are probably as low key as they have been for about 15 years. Cork in particular have been very quiet this year but we will know a lot more about either sides AI chances after Sunday. I suspect the loser of this match will have too big a task to win an AI this year given the strength of the other provincial winners so its a huge match. The fact that its in Killarney would sway me towards Kerry.
Post by: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 10:32:48 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2013, 09:47:25 PM

Never happened, I think.
Post by: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 10:34:32 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 01, 2013, 06:34:50 PM
They don't pay much attention to us "lesser counties" on here CM, hence scarcely a mention of what will be by far the highest quality provincial final....

Ah now, hardly better than London and Mayo....  ;D
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 11:08:04 PM
Quote from: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 10:34:32 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 01, 2013, 06:34:50 PM

Ah now, hardly better than London and Mayo....  ;D

Don't let the battle to win the fourth best province in the country to to your heads, lads.
Post by: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 11:12:15 PM
Not the most competitive province but it has two of the best teams in the country competing in it.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 11:22:14 PM
Quote from: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 11:12:15 PM
Not the most competitive province but it has two of the best teams in the country competing in it.

If the 'ould calender said 2011 I might have agreed.

Only Cork of these two have a realistic shot at winning the AI and even then it'll take the performance of all performances to see off Dublin in a semi-final.
Post by: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 11:34:54 PM
Still, that leaves them in the top 4. Writing off Kerry is the rock many a team has perished on.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 11:39:12 PM
Quote from: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 11:34:54 PM
Still, that leaves them in the top 4. Writing off Kerry is the rock many a team has perished on.

I'd have Kerry #6 right now and there's a few borderline teams that could catch them on their days. I think Tyrone would use Kerry as rag dolls this year (partly because last year would have hurt so much) and a confident Kildare would out-last them too.

And Down? Jesus. We don't need to touch that one.

Just don't see the point in Fitzmaurice giving his mates one last swing of the dice when we all know it's going to come to naught.
Post by: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 11:45:54 PM
Kerry are a team that deserves respect. Their backline is not the greatest, but their forward line is still one of the best in the country. #6 seems about right (Donegal, Dublin, Cork, Mayo and Tyrone above them, if your thinking the same way I am) but, just as you say many of the 'borderline' teams could catch Kerry on their days, Kerry could also catch many of the teams above them on THEIR day.

Also, please don't think I'm a Kerry supporter or that I wouldn't love anything more than to see them out of the championship in round 4 of the qualifiers, I'm just being realistic.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2013, 11:47:20 PM
Quote from: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 10:32:48 PM

Never happened, I think.

Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 11:39:12 PM
I think Tyrone would use Kerry as rag dolls this year (partly because last year would have hurt so much) and a confident Kildare would out-last them too.

You're having a laugh.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 11:58:31 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2013, 11:47:20 PM

Never happened, I think.

I think Tyrone would use Kerry as rag dolls this year (partly because last year would have hurt so much) and a confident Kildare would out-last them too.

You're having a laugh.

I don't think you realise how easily Kerry get gassed in close games these days. Kildare keep it tight for 55 minutes and I think there would be only possible one winner. You're still only fighting over being the 6th best team in the country, after all.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 12:10:04 AM
Quote from: CorkMan on July 01, 2013, 11:45:54 PM
Kerry are a team that deserves respect. Their backline is not the greatest, but their forward line is still one of the best in the country. #6 seems about right (Donegal, Dublin, Cork, Mayo and Tyrone above them, if your thinking the same way I am) but, just as you say many of the 'borderline' teams could catch Kerry on their days, Kerry could also catch many of the teams above them on THEIR day.

Also, please don't think I'm a Kerry supporter or that I wouldn't love anything more than to see them out of the championship in round 4 of the qualifiers, I'm just being realistic.

I have huge respect for the players they have, they formed probably the second best group of players I've seen in my lifetime. Plenty of those names are already etched into folklore.

It's a very tough situation for Fitzmaurice to be in - the ruthless thing to do is to take a mulligan this year and blood the next generation of players in place of people like the O'Ses, Galvin, Brosnan, Donaughy and O'Mahony (I know he's injured) in the hopes of those new players eventually being ready to challenge for All-Irelands in a few years' time. You'd be basically telling those Kerry greats their careers as starters are over and pointing a neon sign towards the exit door.

And that brings with it a lot of scope for bruised egos and a toxic atmosphere in the county so it's no sure bet.

Obviously it's partly the younger players' fault too for not being of good enough quality to remove players lurching towards their mid-thirties from the starting line-up but Kerry look stuck in what for them is a nothing position, better than most but not good enough to win an All-Ireland.

Fitzmaurice has basically gave the old stagers this year as a sort of retirement gift - closed doors, black smoke, feeding off perceived slights, one last big push. I assume he's going to start the true rebuilding process next year when more of the golden generation call it quits or fade into the background but I think the most interesting thing about Kerry this year is watching how Fitzmaurice is coping with the first real transitional period in Kerry in a decade or more.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2013, 12:17:07 AM
Dublin,Donegal are the sides that knocked Kerry out the last two years and they are the only sides i could see beating Kerry this year.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 12:18:51 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2013, 12:17:07 AM
Dublin,Donegal are the sides that beat Kerry the last two years and they are the only sides i could see beating Kerry this year.

Mayo would wring the life out of them. Probably even in a hypothetical All-Ireland final.

I can't believe I'm saying that and it's actually true. Pigs flying high this year. Very high.
Post by: CorkMan on July 02, 2013, 12:58:24 AM
Dublin,Donegal are the sides that knocked Kerry out the last two years and they are the only sides i could see beating Kerry this year.

Mayo and Tyrone would beat them. Cork would if it wasn't for the fact that the Munster Final is in Killarney. This year could even be the year Cork would beat Kerry in Croke Park, they probably won't play in Croke Park but Cork are better than them, it's just the Killarney factor that makes me think Kerry will win Sunday.
Post by: Zulu on July 02, 2013, 09:26:35 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 11:58:31 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2013, 11:47:20 PM

Never happened, I think.

You're having a laugh.

I don't think you realise how easily Kerry get gassed in close games these days. Kildare keep it tight for 55 minutes and I think there would be only possible one winner. You're still only fighting over being the 6th best team in the country, after all.

What evidence do you have to support this statement? There is nothing to suggest either Kildare or Tyrone would beat Kerry, both might, but you'd have to have Kerry above them as of now.

While Kerry have aged and they could, like Kilkenny hurlers, look very ordinary very quickly, they don't have Kilkenny's injury problems and have a forward line bettered only by Dublin. We all know they are fading but I doubt anyone will take them for a soft touch.

Anyway Syferus, if you have the courage of your convictions could be a very wealthy man come summers end. If Kildare or Tyrone meet Kerry you'd get a decent price on both so lump on all you have, perhaps even at -4 or -5 if Tyrone and enjoy taking the bookies big.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 02, 2013, 12:28:55 PM
Kerry have to be considered above or at least equal to Tyrone in the AI stakes following last years game.
Post by: CorkMan on July 02, 2013, 12:46:52 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 02, 2013, 12:28:55 PM
Kerry have to be considered above or at least equal to Tyrone in the AI stakes following last years game.

Tyrone seem to have got better this year than they were last year, imo anyway.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 02, 2013, 01:46:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 12:18:51 AM
Dublin,Donegal are the sides that beat Kerry the last two years and they are the only sides i could see beating Kerry this year.

Mayo would wring the life out of them. Probably even in a hypothetical All-Ireland final.

I can't believe I'm saying that and it's actually true. Pigs flying high this year. Very high.

I think you are reading too much into Mayo ripping Roscommon a new one. Your lot have been everybodies whipping boys for a long time. No disrespect to London but the standard in Connacht is a joke if London can reach the provincial final.
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2013, 01:53:37 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 02, 2013, 09:26:35 AM
Anyway Syferus, if you have the courage of your convictions could be a very wealthy man come summers end. If Kildare or Tyrone meet Kerry you'd get a decent price on both so lump on all you have, perhaps even at -4 or -5 if Tyrone and enjoy taking the bookies big.

You have to be 18 to bet haven't you?
That rules out little Syfínín. ;D ;D
And don't be too hard on him over his dismissal of Kerry sure he's not ould enough to remember them winning Sam in 09, not to mind all their earlier ones.
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2013, 02:02:41 PM
Arra come on. I can live with the proliferation of Connachtese diminutives with yer Syfíns and maneens and ladeens leppin about in every Connacht sentence typed here. But the "ínín" double miniature is tearing the arse out of it.
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2013, 02:05:36 PM
It's a biteen much alright.
Post by: spuds on July 02, 2013, 02:38:11 PM

A biteen much is better than no biteen at all.
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2013, 03:31:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 02, 2013, 02:02:41 PM
Arra come on. I can live with the proliferation of Connachtese diminutives with yer Syfíns and maneens and ladeens leppin about in every Connacht sentence typed here. But the "ínín" double miniature is tearing the arse out of it.

That was jusht to emphasise what a small little young buickínín he is. :-*
Post by: muppet on July 02, 2013, 06:37:28 PM

A pain in the arshín the pair of them.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 07:01:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 02, 2013, 06:37:28 PM

A pain in the arshín the pair of them.

Stop arseen lickeen your Royal betters, Mupp.
Post by: passedit on July 03, 2013, 03:06:43 PM
QuoteDonaghy dropped
03 July 2013
(http://hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/dommmm.jpg)
Kerry's Kieran Donaghy
Eamonn Fitzmaurice has taken a big gamble by omitting Kieran Donaghy from the Kerry team to face Cork in Sunday's Munster SFC final.

In a surprise move, Darran O'Sullivan has been drafted in to the full-forward line at the expense of Donaghy.

Elsewhere, Mark Griffin comes in a full-back for his championship debut in place of the injured Aidan O'Mahony.

Fionn Fitzgerald loses out to the returning Shane Enright for the left corner-back slot.

Kerry (SF v Cork) - Brendan Kealy; Marc O Se, Mark Griffin, Shane Enright; Tomas O Se, Killian Young, Peter Crowley; Anthony Maher, Johnny Buckley; Paul Galvin, Colm Cooper, Donnchadh Walsh; Darran O'Sullivan, Declan O'Sullivan, James O'Donoghue. - See more at: http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=195828#sthash.byZn9WFa.tajSsdbA.dpuf
Post by: ballinaman on July 03, 2013, 03:09:55 PM
Kerry bucks...how does Donnacha Walsh consistently get his place on the Kerry team. I'm obviously missing something!
Post by: orangeman on July 03, 2013, 03:51:08 PM
Strong team.

Kerry have dropped two-time All Star Kieran Donaghy from their team to take on Cork in Sunday's Munster final.

In what will be seen as a big gamble by manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice, Darran O'Sullivan comes in to replace Donaghy in the full-forward line for Sunday's showdown.

Donaghy scored a point against Tipperary and a goal against Waterford in his two previous starts.

The Kerry boss has made changes elsewhere as he hands Mark Griffin his Championship debut, replacing the injured Aidan O'Mahony at fullback. Shane Enright returns to the corner back position, forcing Fionn Fitzgerald to the bench.

Kerry team to play Cork: Brendan Kealy, Marc Ó Sé, Mark Griffin, Shane Enright, Tomás Ó Sé, Killian Young, Peter Crowley, Anthony Maher, Johnny Buckley, Paul Galvin, Colm Cooper, Donnchadh Walsh, Darran O'Sullivan, Declan O'Sullivan, James O'Donoghue

Substitutes: Brian Kelly Killarney, Kieran Donaghy, Fionn Fitzgerald, Bryan Sheehan.Eoin Brosnan
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2013, 04:14:38 PM
Oooooo. Gettin' frisky, Eamonn.

Darren O'Sullivan is one of those lads who isn't consistent but can be earth-shakingly great on his day. Forward line looks built for pace now. Don't how Donaghy being out will effect the middle.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 03, 2013, 06:15:18 PM
Smart move by Fitzy, attack is now built to carry ball at pace and finish smartly. Baptism of fire for Griffin, but he is up to it and was outstanding against Cork for CIT earlier this year aswell.

P.S: Another Syf classic...Kildare would beat Kerry...the man is hilarious to be fair to him!
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 03, 2013, 06:16:29 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 03, 2013, 03:09:55 PM
Kerry bucks...how does Donnacha Walsh consistently get his place on the Kerry team. I'm obviously missing something!

No, I agree..he is a weak link and just keeps hanging on and getting picked...he adds little in my view anyway and is too slow for a modern half forward.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2013, 06:46:00 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 03, 2013, 06:15:18 PM
Smart move by Fitzy, attack is now built to carry ball at pace and finish smartly. Baptism of fire for Griffin, but he is up to it and was outstanding against Cork for CIT earlier this year aswell.

P.S: Another Syf classic...Kildare would beat Kerry...the man is hilarious to be fair to him!

It's tough making the transition back to the little table but to help ye out we've saved ye a space.

Right beside Meath.
Post by: highorlow on July 03, 2013, 10:44:27 PM
QuoteKerry bucks...how does Donnacha Walsh consistently get his place on the Kerry team. I'm obviously missing something!

Pedigree
Post by: orangeman on July 03, 2013, 11:31:02 PM

Workhorse.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 04, 2013, 10:15:06 AM
This week's article from Darragh O'Se in the Irish Times.
(http://content9.flixster.com/question/58/87/10/5887103_std.jpg)

Growing up in west Kerry, there was no better prospect than going up to Killarney to see Kerry play Cork. You knew it was the real start of the summer. The weather was normally pretty good and everybody was in good form. You were off school and the nights were long so you knew that whatever the result happened to be, you could go home and play Cork again in the your own garden well into the evening.
The beauty of Fitzgerald Stadium as a kid was that you could wander down from the stands and get right close to the tunnel where the players came out. You'd get the smell of the Wintergreen and see these big huge Cork fellas run past you and wonder how in the name of God were we ever going to beat them. But then the green and gold would go past and all would be right with the world.
It's a grand town for grown-ups as well. I'd say even Cork people nearly prefer playing in Killarney. The pitch is in the middle of the town and you don't tend to lose people along the way like you do on that walk down to Páirc Uí Chaoimh. I've set off for the Páirc before with half a dozen men around me and found that we were down to the bare two or three by the time we got there. If that happens in Killarney, at least you know they'll have found a good home.
Killarney will be hopping this weekend. The Ring Of Kerry Charity Cycle is on and you can't get a hotel room in the town for love nor money. I rang a fella I know in one hotel during the week and he said he has a waiting list of 67 people looking for rooms. It's the place everyone wants to be.
Does the game matter though? Well on one level it always will. Obviously it's not as important as it was when I was a kid or even when I started playing for Kerry. Both sides will still have the same ambition of winning the All-Ireland on Sunday night as they do today.
But whatever shape the championship takes in years to come, whatever rejigging they do down the line, this game will endure. No matter what era, you will still find that most of the Kerry players know the Cork players and vice-versa. They play against each other at underage, at college, at county.
And regardless of the level, one thing never changes. You have to beat Cork if you're a Kerry footballer. And you have to beat Kerry if you're a Cork footballer. It's just part of the deal really. There's too much history for it not to matter.

Sunday matters to Kerry. Cork haven't won in Killarney since 1995 and Kerry will be intent on keeping that record going. There'll be a big push not to give it away in front of their own people and to drive home the idea of Cork not being able to win in Fitzgerald Stadium. None of these Cork players have ever beaten Kerry there. This is no time to be giving them a taste of it.
A draw is no real use to them either. Draw with Cork in Killarney and there's a fair chance they'll get you in the replay. Anytime we drew with them and had to go Cork a week later, there was always a little voice in the back of your head telling you that the likelihood was that they'd catch you next time.

Train station
That's what happened in 2009, my last year playing for Kerry. I remember coming out of Fitzgerald Stadium that day and heading off down into the town with Paul Galvin. We were going to the Malton Hotel by the train station there for a bite to eat with the team but as we left some kids started abusing us, calling us the two dirtiest footballers in Kerry.
Well the humour was bad enough already without having to put up with this. I knew in my head that Cork probably had our measure and they probably should have beaten us without the need of a replay. I was already doubting myself and wondering if I had been right or wrong to come back for one last year. So this was the last thing I needed.
Now, on mature reflection as they say, maybe the lads had a point. One way or the other, now wasn't the time to be debating it with them. We trudged on and there wasn't another word about it. We headed off and had our dinner, the two lads went about their day.
Cork beat us in the replay and beat us well. But funny enough, I didn't think we were in any real trouble as a result of it. Maybe it was a bit or arrogance on my part but I definitely felt that we had it in us to come back and do something later in the year. And at least we hadn't lost in Killarney.
One thing I knew was that we weren't as badly off as the 1-17 to 0-12 scoreline suggested. Cork were the better team over the two games but they weren't eight points better. When people wonder if teams take it easy in games because they know the qualifiers are there as a safety net, the honest answer is no, they don't. But you can guarantee we wouldn't have been beaten by eight points if it was a do-or-die game.

Our benefit
And I remember thinking at the time that getting to the stage where every game needed you to be all-in was going to be good for us. It was to our benefit that we had no get-out-of-jail-free card anymore. It would concentrate the minds and make us play on the edge. We would react better when there was no room for error.

Win or lose this Sunday, there's no room for error on either side. Kerry look to me like they are further down the line with what they're trying to do than Cork. I saw Cork play Kerry in a league game in Tralee back in the spring and Cork looked like they had all just met for the first time. It's a complicated system they're trying to put in and it will take them a while to get it right.
They're trying to put a lot of bodies behind the ball and play a sweeper like Donegal do. The difference is they haven't got a Mark McHugh yet who can gobble up loose ball in the full-back line and then turn defence into attack. McHugh has it down to a tee, he knows his role and he carries it out.
Whereas to me, the Cork lads didn't quite know yet what they were supposed to be doing. They hadn't designated somebody in that McHugh role. They had bodies back there but they seemed to be getting in general areas rather than doing specific jobs. Very often, they ended coming out of defence ahead of guys who had the ball instead of running off their shoulder into space, that kind of thing.
It takes time and patience to put a system like that together properly and I think they're a bit away from it yet. That was the second-last game of the league and they were at sixes and sevens with it. They've only had three games since to get it right – against Mayo, Limerick and Clare. It's hard to see them having it perfected in that time.
The handicap on Sunday is Kerry -1 and to me, that's a great bet. I'd have Kerry three- or four-point favourites in all honesty. They're in the right kind of shape and in the right place mentally to go through the front door here. Aidan O'Mahony will be a loss but I still think Kerry have the upper hand. They're more organised and more focused on what they're trying to achieve. And if all else fails, they also have the Killarney factor in their favour.
Post by: ballinaman on July 04, 2013, 10:31:22 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 03, 2013, 11:31:02 PM

Workhorse.
Guarantee you he's the first Kerry lad subbed....Must play out of his skin in training but I've yet to see him influence a big game for Kerry. (odds on to have a stormer on Sunday now)
Post by: orangeman on July 04, 2013, 10:34:03 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 04, 2013, 10:31:22 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 03, 2013, 11:31:02 PM

Workhorse.
Guarantee you he's the first Kerry lad subbed....Must play out of his skin in training but I've yet to see him influence a big game for Kerry. (odds on to have a stormer on Sunday now)

That's exactly what happens - that's the game plan - he works his balls off for 50 minutes then gets subbed.

Dublin are experts at this style now in particular their midfield.
Post by: emmetryan on July 04, 2013, 11:59:37 AM
Hi guys,

Tactical preview of the Munster final up now
http://action81.com/blog/?p=7404

Thanks,
Emmet
Post by: Seamus on July 04, 2013, 12:37:08 PM

The main problem with Donnacha is far too often he is the wrong person in the right place thus great scoring opportunities go abegging as a result.

Kerry's depth is far from non-existent as the analyses above infers. It's probably on par with Cork and only Dublin of the other counties have a greater depth. Kieran Donaghy and Brian Sheehan can and will have massive influences off the bench. David Moran whom by all accounts is going very well in training, could well have a major say in the destination of the champions as the year progresses. He was shaping up to be one of the top midfielders in the country before his injury.
Post by: Seamus on July 04, 2013, 12:50:29 PM
It is also a misconception that the team is too old. Eight or nine of the starting players next Sunday are 26 or younger. The two O'Sheas, Gooch and Declan O' Sullivan would walk onto any team in the country. Kerry's shortcomings are not as great as some people hope.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 04, 2013, 01:07:02 PM
Quote from: Seamus on July 04, 2013, 12:50:29 PM
It is also a misconception that the team is too old. Eight or nine of the starting players next Sunday are 26 or younger. The two O'Sheas, Gooch and Declan O' Sullivan would walk onto any team in the country. Kerry's shortcomings are not as great as some people hope.

No, I am afraid we are in transition. I'd be happy enough with a good showing and hope for a decent draw in the qualifiers.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 04, 2013, 01:26:44 PM
 Kerry will win this, 4-5 points I reckon. The backs might not be great but the cork forwards are average esp missing O'Neill

They'd also beat kildare or Tyrone by the same or more. A game v Mayo would be too tight to call. Donegal or most likely Dublin will be too good for them when that game comes
Post by: Frank Casey on July 04, 2013, 09:21:25 PM
                                                                1. Ken O'Halloran
            Bishopstown

2. Eoin Cadogan                3. Michael Shields                     4. Damien Cahalane
Douglas          St. Finbarr's       Castlehaven

5. James Loughrey                  6. Paudie Kissane    7. Tomás Clancy
Mallow          Clyda Rovers       Fermoy

8. Graham Canty    9. Pearse O'Neill
      Bantry Blues       Aghada

10. Fintan Goold                11. Patrick Kelly    12. John O'Rourke
Macroom          Ballincollig       Carbery Rangers

13. Daniel Goulding                  14. Brian Hurley    15. Paul Kerrigan
Eire Óg          Castlehaven       Nemo Rangers

Subs
16. Alan Quirke Valley Rovers
17. John McLoughlin Kanturk
18. Thomas Clancy Clonakilty
19. Noel O'Leary Cill na Martra
20. Alan O'Connor St. Colum's
21. Aidan Walsh Kanturk
22. Andrew O'Sullivan Castletownbere
23. Ciaran Sheehan Eire Óg
24. Mark Collins Castlehaven
25. Donncha O'Connor Ballydesmond
26. Barry O'Driscoll Nemo Rangers

There are no changes from the team that beat Clare in the semi-final.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on July 04, 2013, 10:06:56 PM
There is no way that this team will start against Kerry. C Sheehan & A Walsh will definitely start with one or two more changes likely as well.  Langers are the worst offenders of the ould dummy teams. Two years ago Cork came to Killarney all set for a handy win and got a terrible shock; two years on and a whole pile of underage success later they rightly start as favourites.  Too many if's against us.

Most low key build-up to a Munster Final ever!!!!  Got my season ticket yesterday; worst ticket I ever got for Killarney.  This is a good scheme but the assigned tickets should not be worse than what is available on Tickermaster.   There should really be an option of a terrace ticket as well. The terrace in Killarney is a great place to watch a match from!!
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2013, 10:48:16 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on July 04, 2013, 10:06:56 PM
There is no way that this team will start against Kerry. C Sheehan & A Walsh will definitely start with one or two more changes likely as well.  Langers are the worst offenders of the ould dummy teams. Two years ago Cork came to Killarney all set for a handy win and got a terrible shock; two years on and a whole pile of underage success later they rightly start as favourites.  Too many if's against us.

Most low key build-up to a Munster Final ever!!!!  Got my season ticket yesterday; worst ticket I ever got for Killarney.  This is a good scheme but the assigned tickets should not be worse than what is available on Tickermaster.   There should really be an option of a terrace ticket as well. The terrace in Killarney is a great place to watch a match from!!

In the land of milk and honey and Master we ring fence the half-way line section of the stand for season ticket holders.
Post by: emmetryan on July 05, 2013, 12:03:54 AM
I for one welcome the day when an enterprising manager rips the piss out of the dummy team nonsense.
Post by: CorkMan on July 06, 2013, 11:13:29 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 04, 2013, 01:26:44 PM
Kerry will win this, 4-5 points I reckon. The backs might not be great but the cork forwards are average esp missing O'Neill

They'd also beat kildare or Tyrone by the same or more. A game v Mayo would be too tight to call. Donegal or most likely Dublin will be too good for them when that game comes

Goulding is the player who benefitted from O'Neills injury and he will probably end up being one of our top scorers tomorrow, so while he'd be a great asset to have, the quality of his replacement isn't too bad either.
Post by: ck on July 06, 2013, 11:22:32 PM
Can't wait for this game. I'm expecting a Kerry win but have nothing to base it on.
Post by: Gaffer on July 07, 2013, 01:52:12 PM
Would somebody set those headphones properly on Colm's nut !
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 02:04:54 PM
Fûck, it's Duff.
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 02:07:31 PM
Colm Cooker?
Post by: sans pessimism on July 07, 2013, 02:14:54 PM
Marty Duffy = pleb
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 07, 2013, 02:20:54 PM
A bit of fire missing so far.

Some awkward tackles and the one yellow card was the softest of cards I've seen in a while.

Kerry look to have the measure of Cork but it's early days yet.
Post by: Tubberman on July 07, 2013, 02:22:41 PM
Terrible wides so far, hasn't really settled at all
Post by: bucko on July 07, 2013, 02:27:59 PM
Cork giving Kerry far too much space just inside their 40'.
Post by: sans pessimism on July 07, 2013, 02:36:55 PM
Cud be a rout
Post by: Tubberman on July 07, 2013, 02:39:44 PM
Cork are pure muck. Kerry having it far too easy
Post by: Blowitupref on July 07, 2013, 02:39:53 PM
Kerry should be out of sight.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 02:40:03 PM
G cork poor, kerry not done yet, i wouldnt be afraid to play cork in the qualfiers especiaqlly if we got a home draw. thought Aidan Walsh was supposed to be the best midfielder in the country/
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 02:41:29 PM
At least we have a corner forward who can take a 45, its a bad sign for forwards they need keepers to take 45
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2013, 02:41:34 PM
They should be taking Canty off.
He was finished 2 years ago.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 07, 2013, 02:42:01 PM
Who needs Brian Sheehan?
Post by: Minder on July 07, 2013, 02:43:12 PM
Very much so Ger
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 02:50:38 PM
The Cork tanks' turning radius is the size of a living room.

You'd imagine Kerry will tire in the second half - Tomas really shouldn't be making so many runs up the field at his age and looked gassed the times he did - but Cork's lads are so big the heat will sap them too.
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 02:52:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2013, 02:41:34 PM
They should be taking Canty off.
He was finished 2 years ago.

Told you we did the business on Canty.
Post by: ardchieftain on July 07, 2013, 02:53:10 PM
Cork couldn't be arsed today going by what we've seen so far.
Post by: tyroneman on July 07, 2013, 02:57:30 PM
What was the point of making a substitution in the final minute of injury time? Was CC making a point?
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:04:27 PM
Venemous must be Martin Carney's new buzz word.

He has used it a few times now.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 03:05:51 PM
bad call there, but should have booked cooper for the way he protested, Donaghy rubbing off on him
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 07, 2013, 03:06:22 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on July 07, 2013, 02:14:54 PM
Marty Duffy = pleb

your not joking - what a bad decision !
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:06:55 PM
Best tackle of the game and wee Marty gives a free in.

Good man Marty !
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:07:35 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 03:05:51 PM
bad call there, but should have booked cooper for the way he protested, Donaghy rubbing off on him

He probably realised he had made a balls of a call.
Post by: neilthemac on July 07, 2013, 03:08:26 PM
hate the sound of Carney. himself and Canning together are just muck.

they make Willie Hegarty on Shannonside sound quite good - decent range of metaphors
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:09:04 PM
One bad call followed by another.

Neither were frees.
Post by: tyroneman on July 07, 2013, 03:10:38 PM
Canty clearly blocked off the ball yet gets done for horsing him out the road.
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:14:18 PM

Donncha excellent today. Works his socks off for the team.

Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2013, 03:15:32 PM
What the hell has happened to Aidan Walsh?
Post by: Tubberman on July 07, 2013, 03:17:05 PM
Hard to see Cork rescuing anything from this game or this year. Counihan should see the writing on the wall...
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:19:14 PM
Cork very disappointing today.

Kerry still have the ball players to win games.

As easy a Munster title as they've ever won.

Stall the ball. Cork comeback on.
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 03:26:11 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 07, 2013, 03:17:05 PM
Hard to see Cork rescuing anything from this game or this year. Counihan should see the writing on the wall...

Famous last words?
Post by: Tubberman on July 07, 2013, 03:26:25 PM
Can this Kerry collapse be put down to fitness? They've completely faded out
Post by: Tubberman on July 07, 2013, 03:26:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 03:26:11 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 07, 2013, 03:17:05 PM

Famous last words?

Jesus, I hope they're not my last...
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 07, 2013, 03:27:22 PM
draw anyone ?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 03:27:46 PM
Cork have all the momentum.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 07, 2013, 03:28:06 PM
Galvin gave a bad dunt there.
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:29:33 PM
Some while since Kerry scored. Cork have scored 6 on the bounce.

Some score by Sheehan.
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:31:41 PM
There's that word venomous again.

O'Leary has his own back now.

Kerry legs going.
Post by: thejuice on July 07, 2013, 03:32:13 PM
up ye rebels!
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2013, 03:33:04 PM
Cork's best player was an Antrim man.

Great Cork comeback.

Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 03:35:52 PM
Good game and the best team won the match.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 07, 2013, 03:37:21 PM
Cork should still make the quarter final. Two good teams playing there today.
Post by: thejuice on July 07, 2013, 03:38:24 PM
Ah well, goalkeeper did his job when called to. If Cork might have not sleepwalked through the 1st half who knows.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 03:40:28 PM
really one game to win a munster title, i have to review Kerry the golden yrs when Connacht and ulster were crap, meaning it only took to beat Cork and may Dublin/ offaly to win a all lreland. maybe getting to 7 all-irelands in 8 yrs in recent yrs was a better achievement than back then
Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2013, 03:43:58 PM
Will you be stripping Kerry of some of their All Irelands from them years?  ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 07, 2013, 03:48:15 PM
If Counihan started the Cork team that finished instead of leaving them all on the bench, you never know what might have happened!
Post by: macdanger2 on July 07, 2013, 03:50:49 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 03:40:28 PM
really one game to win a munster title, i have to review Kerry the golden yrs when Connacht and ulster were crap, meaning it only took to beat Cork and may Dublin/ offaly to win a all lreland. maybe getting to 7 all-irelands in 8 yrs in recent yrs was a better achievement than back then

Please let us know how this review goes, I'll be waiting right here on the edge of my seat
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 03:52:04 PM
Counihan is Cork's biggest opponent, he is an awful manager with a squad as good as any in Ireland, bar Dublin (probably). How was Ciaran Sheehan, one of the best footballers in Ireland left on the bench for so long???
Post by: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 03:56:30 PM
Good game. Poor Marty Duffy is well off the pace. It's hard for a Referee to control Kerry/Cork Matches. There is naturally bad blood between the counties with them meeting at least once each year.
Post by: ardchieftain on July 07, 2013, 03:56:55 PM
I think Cork used this match to try and try out a few things and if it went wrong, like it did, sure haven't they only one qualifier to win to make the quarters.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2013, 03:58:07 PM
Lets be honest here, the game should have been over by half-time.
The scoreline seriously flattered Cork.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 03:58:55 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on July 07, 2013, 03:56:55 PM
I think Cork used this match to try and try out a few things and if it went wrong, like it did, sure haven't they only one qualifier to win to make the quarters.

True and they should beat any of the round 4 teams.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 04:43:00 PM
Don't think so. Cork haven't won enough Munster titles, especially in Killarney, to use it as anything other than a must win game. Counihan is as clueless and I'd really question what is going on behind the scenes.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 04:47:48 PM
Cork now play one of the round three winners. Whos going to beat them Derry,Tyrone or Armagh? i don't think any of them will. Quarter final against Dublin,Donegal would end Corks championship however if paired with Mayo it would be 50/50 game.
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 04:50:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2013, 03:58:07 PM

Not really. Kerry collapsed as expected in the second half and Conor C is a poor tactician and only got his best team on the field in the second half.

Could see Cork beating Kerry in a second meeting this year but there's no way both of these teams make the AISFs.
Post by: andoireabu on July 07, 2013, 04:54:02 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on July 07, 2013, 03:56:55 PM

Would a team not want to be settled in what they are doing at this stage rather than trying this or that and maybe getting nothing out of it?
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 04:54:21 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 04:47:48 PM
Cork now play one of the round three winners. Whos going to beat them Derry,Tyrone or Armagh? i don't think any of them will. Quarter final against Dublin,Donegal would end Corks championship however if paired with Mayo it would be 50/50 game.

Mayo are too streetwise to be caught by a cumbersome Cork side. The lack of O'Neill's invention is seriously hurting them this year and their men are far too big to play a blanket defence properly.

Really looking like Cork are destined for a AIQF loss now because they can't get another shot at Kerry.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2013, 04:56:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 04:50:30 PM

Not really. Kerry collapsed as expected in the second half and Conor C is a poor tactician and o my got his best team on the field in the second half.

Could see Cork beating Kerry in a second meeting this year but there's no way both of these teams make the AISFs.

They started the comeback when the game was gone from them.
Kerry kicked plenty of wides and took their foot off the pedal in 2nd half.
In a tighter game I'd still back Kerry every time as they all have football brains.
All Cork have is brute force and ignorance.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 04:57:54 PM
No way?

If Cork are paired with Mayo the semi finals could be Cork v Donegal, Dublin v Kerry and those four sides is arguably the top four teams.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 04:58:42 PM
Jesus Syfrus, it's one thing getting your call on Kerry arse over backwards but now you're doing it with Cork too??
Post by: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 04:59:24 PM

Not really. Kerry collapsed as expected in the second half and Conor C is a poor tactician and o my got his best team on the field in the second half.

Most of the Kerry players have 50 minutes in them at the moment. They know they have to blow teams away early on and build up a big lead in order to win games. They still are a top side. Just can't see them doing it on a energy sapping big pitch.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:01:14 PM
Kerry have the full 70 minutes in them, of that there is no doubt.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 05:02:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 04:57:54 PM
No way?

If Cork are paired with Mayo the semi finals could be Cork v Donegal, Dublin v Kerry and those four sides is arguably the top four teams.

You are probably right! Still Mayo have beaten both Cork and Dublin in recent years so where does that leave them?

Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:01:14 PM
Kerry have the full 70 minutes in them, of that there is no doubt.

Not today and not in their last League game v Tyrone!
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:05:36 PM
Today was a particularly energy sapping day but even then teams, all teams, sometimes can't maintain their performance levels. Did the Dubs nearly beat Mayo in last years semi final due to Mayo's lack of fitness?
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 05:07:12 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 04:58:42 PM
Jesus Syfrus, it's one thing getting your call on Kerry arse over backwards but now you're doing it with Cork too??

You must have been at mass when I said I fancied Kerry to win, ladeen.

Two relatively even teams playing a nice game of football doesn't make an AI champion. I never saw Kerry as contenders and today's collapse only reinforces what I've been saying for over a year now - Kerry fade far too heavily to be realistic contenders come August and September.

What I was surprised by today was just how poor Cork's management was. We all know Conor C isn't the hottest ticket in town but he made a mountain of changers today and that alone is enough to say Cork's chance of winning another AI is fast slipping away from them. The team needs retrofitting if they're to be more than Kildare South.

AIQF and a puff of smoke.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 05:12:44 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 05:02:38 PM
You are probably right! Still Mayo have beaten both Cork and Dublin in recent years so where does that leave them?

More expectations on the shoulders of the Mayo players against sides that will be seeking revenge against them.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:14:45 PM
It might surprise you but I, like everyone else here, don't hand on your every post. Calling Kerry to win in Killarney is hardly Nostradamus stuff but todays performance from Kerry has clearly shown your opinion on Kerry to be well wide of the mark. Cork will definitely make the semi finals if they get their best team on the pitch.
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 05:16:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 05:12:44 PM

More expectations on the shoulders of the Mayo players against sides that will be seeking revenge against them.

We've plenty of designs on getting revenge on Mayo too: if you're an inferior team you're an inferior team. Cork are below Mayo right now. Not inconceivable that Cork could put in an amazing performance but certainly not a 50/50 game.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:18:48 PM
Will you stop for the love of God!! Mayo are a fine team but have a very limited forward line so any game against Cork is at least 50/50.
Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2013, 05:22:47 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:18:48 PM
Will you stop for the love of God!!

Block the fool like I did  ;)
At least you'll be able to concentrate on the adult postings then without being driven demented by our resident village eejit.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 05:28:19 PM
Will you stop for the love of God!! Mayo are a fine team but have a very limited forward line so any game against Cork is at least 50/50.
+1 he needs to step away from the computer i feel.
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 05:33:29 PM

I don't know what planet you'd need to have been on to not think Cork are just as, if not more, limited as Mayo. Mayo's coaching is far superior and more than huge talent gaps that's what decides games at the top level.

The genie's out of the bottle, you'd be better off not trying to re-cork that one.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:38:50 PM
Well at least you're consistent, nonsense, nonsense and more nonsense. I'd love to see Mayo, or Roscommon for that matter, win the All Ireland but to say Mayo have a forward line the equal of Cork is barn pot stuff. Both teams are genuine All Ireland contenders and to suggest a game between the two wouldn't be two wouldn't be 50/50 is simply nuts.
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 05:41:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:38:50 PM
Well at least you're consistent, nonsense, nonsense and more nonsense. I'd love to see Mayo, or Roscommon for that matter, win the All Ireland but to say Mayo have a forward line the equal of Cork is barn pot stuff. Both teams are genuine All Ireland contenders and to suggest a game between the two wouldn't be two wouldn't be 50/50 is simply nuts.

Who said anything about the Mayo forward line? The two teams aren't limited in the same ways.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:44:43 PM
So if you accept Cork have the better forward line where are Mayo so superior that a game between them wouldn't be 50/50?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 07, 2013, 05:48:28 PM

Must try harder
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 05:50:06 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:44:43 PM
So if you accept Cork have the better forward line where are Mayo so superior that a game between them wouldn't be 50/50?

Coaching, midfield, defence and attacking backs. Nevermind just the HBs - Caffreky and Higgins are very good going forward too.

Cork are a team on a down-swing, Mayo one on an up-swing. The momentum would be very much with Mayo in that match-up.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 05:50:26 PM
Mayo got a way better team than cork at the minute, as for Cork making the semi i am not so sure, Donegal and dublin will be on one side with likely kerry and mayo in the other (Havent really checked the draw format but its the way i think it go)
Post by: Tubberman on July 07, 2013, 05:51:59 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 05:50:26 PM
Mayo got a way better team than cork at the minute, as for Cork making the semi i am not so sure, Donegal and dublin will be on one side with likely kerry and mayo in the other (Havent really checked the draw format but its the way i think it go)

No, it's Connacht v Ulster, Munster v Leinster
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 05:56:00 PM
well that leave likely Donegal v mayo and Dublin v kerry, thought it had say on a dub forum they be lined up to meet Donegal in a semi
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 06:01:42 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 07, 2013, 05:48:28 PM

Must try harder

On what? Mayo hadn't much expectations when they faced Dublin,Cork in 2011,2012 that won't be the case if they were to face them this year and Dublin,Cork will be seeking revenge for those defeats.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 06:06:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 05:50:06 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 05:44:43 PM

Coaching, midfield, defence and attacking backs. Nevermind just the HBs - Caffreky and Higgins are very good going forward too.

Cork are a team on a down-swing, Mayo one on an up-swing. The momentum would be very much with Mayo in that match-up.

You haven't a clue about the relative coaching set ups, nor do I or anyone else here so please stop talking rubbish. Defensively Cork are very strong, even if it didn't look like that today. Shields, Cadogan, Kissane and O'Leary would push hard for a place on many teams, as would Calahane. Walsh, O'Neill etc. would compete with any midfield in Ireland. I'd readily accept Mayo could beat Cork were they to meet this year but to say it wouldn't be 50/50 is patently nonsense.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 06:10:16 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 05:50:26 PM

No they don't. Mayo and Cork are in the 2-6 group that includes Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone. Dublin are top of the pile at one in my opinion but there is little between the others s far as I can see.
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2013, 06:23:53 PM
Phoney war. Pointless game. Neither side cares who wins, never mind the rest of us. Simply an opportunity to experiment for both sides and to try and kid each other for when/if they meet in a knockout game. (And, having said all that, I still think the qualifier system is the best worst option we have.)

The one good point about it was realising again the value of watching with the sound muted on Canning and that ... pause, take deep breath ... Carney, so that I could hear the sound from the other room where her indoors was watching the tennis.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 06:33:43 PM
A bizarre opinion, you reckon a provincial final between 2 of the top 6 or 7 teams in the country was a pointless game but it's still the best competition structure? We really are up against it in the GAA so. Logic kicked out the window.
Post by: emmetryan on July 07, 2013, 06:47:09 PM
Hi guys,

My tactical analysis on what was a really great job by Eamonn Fitzmaurice up here
http://action81.com/blog/?p=7412

Emmet
Post by: HiMucker on July 07, 2013, 06:47:50 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 04:47:48 PM
mayo would tank them.
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2013, 06:53:56 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 06:33:43 PM
A bizarre opinion, you reckon a provincial final between 2 of the top 6 or 7 teams in the country was a pointless game but it's still the best competition structure? We really are up against it in the GAA so. Logic kicked out the window.

You should try not to be so extreme. There's nothing inconsistent, never mind bizarre in what I think. The fact that there are endless pages of discussion here on the championship structure ought to provide an indication that no structure is perfect. They all have their drawbacks. Even the one you favour, believe it or not.

The current one (the best available at the moment in my opinion, for now) has the drawback that it produces games like this where neither side values a provincial title (relatively speaking) and, should they lose out in the All-Ireland series, will hardly remember they won the Munster title. Do you seriously think today's game had the intensity of all-or-nothing championship conflict? Both sides would value far above the provincial title any insight the game provided on their own or the opposition's tactics, team setup, etc. that might be useful when the real competition starts.

The same wouldn't apply to a Tipperary or a Roscommon in a provincial final, or indeed to Meath next week, when a win would be significant as an indication of the state of the team's development. If they did win, though, you can be sure there would be no victory cavalcade in Navan on Monday night.

Don't worry, you and the GAA. Logic survives.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 07:14:18 PM
QuoteThey all have their drawbacks. Even the one you favour, believe it or not.

A point I've made in many of my posts on the championship structure, believe it or not.

QuoteThe current one (the best available at the moment in my opinion, for now)

Why now but not, as your post suggests, in the future?

QuoteDo you seriously think today's game had the intensity of all-or-nothing championship conflict?

No, but generally speaking nothing will match the intensity of an all or nothing match besides an all or nothing match.

QuoteBoth sides would value far above the provincial title any insight the game provided on their own or the opposition's tactics, team setup, etc. that might be useful when the real competition starts.

Not true at all, this was a big game for both teams.

QuoteDon't worry, you and the GAA. Logic survives.

Not in this sentence it doesn't. And you still haven't explained why this daft competition structure is the best, now or at any other time.
Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2013, 07:43:55 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 07, 2013, 06:23:53 PM
The one good point about it was realising again the value of watching with the sound muted on Canning and that ... pause, take deep breath ... Carney,.
Carney was "executing" all round him as usual but today's really new in word was "venomous"
And to think they had Maloney just doing the half time stuff.
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2013, 07:50:45 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 07, 2013, 07:43:55 PM
The one good point about it was realising again the value of watching with the sound muted on Canning and that ... pause, take deep breath ... Carney,.
Carney was "executing" all round him as usual but today's really new in word was "venomous"
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 07:14:18 PM
QuoteThey all have their drawbacks. Even the one you favour, believe it or not.

A point I've made in many of my posts on the championship structure, believe it or not.

QuoteThe current one (the best available at the moment in my opinion, for now)

Why now but not, as your post suggests, in the future?

QuoteDo you seriously think today's game had the intensity of all-or-nothing championship conflict?

No, but generally speaking nothing will match the intensity of an all or nothing match besides an all or nothing match.

QuoteBoth sides would value far above the provincial title any insight the game provided on their own or the opposition's tactics, team setup, etc. that might be useful when the real competition starts.

Not true at all, this was a big game for both teams.

QuoteDon't worry, you and the GAA. Logic survives.

Not in this sentence it doesn't. And you still haven't explained why this daft competition structure is the best, now or at any other time.

If you care enough about why I think that, I promise to try to get around to it at some stage.

For now, I said "for now" above because my opinion could change - for instance if somebody comes up with (what I think is) a better one.
Post by: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 08:10:48 PM
So no opinion of you're own on the structure of the GAA season other than this one's grand? Good to know you care.
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2013, 09:06:27 PM
Why do you assume I don't have an opinion "other than" one you assume I have?
What's wrong with my opinion, in your opinion?
What opinion do you think I should have?
Why does it matter to you?
Why are you giving out to me?
Post by: INDIANA on July 07, 2013, 09:14:57 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 08:10:48 PM
So no opinion of you're own on the structure of the GAA season other than this one's grand? Good to know you care.

what structure would improve it though. I'm fundamentally opposed to having 32 counties in the championship but I'm in the minority.

I actually think the hurling has the structure right and why football thinks a similar structure is beyond them is the height of arrogance.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 09:28:46 PM
Hard to know yet, where different counties lie this year. Donegal, Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Tyrone and Mayo are roughly in that order for to win Sam. Donegal have still to be favourite as they have beaten 4 out of 5 of the (so called) Contenders in the last 14 months. Dublin AI Champions from 2011 have to be second. Their biggest fear is not getting carried away with the hype (the usual Dublin Problem). Kerry are next for just being Kerry and having secured a quarter final place. Their biggest problem is they are a 50 minute team. Then we have Cork, who have the players. But do they have the hunger or Manager. i don't think so. They'll could beat one of the big hitters but not two. Tyrone, not at the well yet. Some good players but not enough to get past the semi-finals. Mayo will probably meet Donegal (if they get that far) in the semi final and they will be smothered to death. No marquee forwards and injuries will mean another barren year.

So it looks like Dublin/Donegal final! Surprise packet - Kerry. Ouside the 'Top 6' I fancy Derry, especially if they draw Mayo in the Quarters.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2013, 10:00:34 PM

Very much so.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2013, 12:15:48 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 07, 2013, 09:14:57 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 07, 2013, 08:10:48 PM

what structure would improve it though. I'm fundamentally opposed to having 32 counties in the championship but I'm in the minority.

I actually think the hurling has the structure right and why football thinks a similar structure is beyond them is the height of arrogance.

Only fifthteen teams are in the race for the Liam McCarthy Cup how would that structure improve the football championship? Nicky Rackard,Lory Meagher cup teams are unlikely to ever make the step up to the top tier.

Most won't have much interest in second rate football competition, it will only make the gap wider between the top sides and the rest.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 08, 2013, 10:34:49 AM
I think that Dublin and Kilkenny hurlers playing so often in successive weeks have shown that at least the hurling intercounty season could be condensed into a smaller time.
With less dual players now (sadly), it could also open up the possibility of playing football and hurling alternatively on a Friday, Sat and Sunday over a weekend.
However, this condensing of the season (enabling more time for club fixtures) would prob go against the PR of the organisation. A prolonged summer of Gaelic games keeps them in the spotlight for kids to see and thus attracts them.

So while I'd like to see shorter intercounty seasons with a countrywide fixtures list (created by or before 1st January each year) - it is also a fantastic feeling for the championships to be on from end of May to end of sept.

For the sake of PR, I'd almost leave it as the shambles it (fixtures) is.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 08, 2013, 10:38:49 AM
the oul lad said to me at the start of the season that counihan had to go as cork manager.
While I kind of agreed then, I am certain now.
that mess yesterday was worse than anything I have seen this season (including roscommon when they played mayo).
IF Cork managed to get a decent tactical man on the sideline, they would be some proposition.

it looks like Cork still pick 15 men and send them out to play in the old style of toe to toe type football.

Cant think of who could talke the helm, the oul lad suggested billy morgan yet again, but maybe former dual star and tactically astute current hurling manager Jimmy Barry Murphy could do a serious job here.

the rebels as we know have serious talent.
yesterday they looked like rabble for 50 mins of the game and not rebels. They only played in the last 20 mins and could have won it !
Post by: Fuzzman on July 08, 2013, 11:25:12 AM
Didn't get to see any of this game yesterday.
How did Gooch play at 11?

Another terrible picture of him today in the Irish Times.
(http://www.irishtimes.com/polopoly_fs/1.1456626.1373277088!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_600/image.jpg)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 08, 2013, 01:12:13 PM
Phoney war. Pointless game. Neither side cares who wins, never mind the rest of us. Simply an opportunity to experiment for both sides and to try and kid each other for when/if they meet in a knockout game. (And, having said all that, I still think the qualifier system is the best worst option we have.)

The one good point about it was realising again the value of watching with the sound muted on Canning and that ... pause, take deep breath ... Carney, so that I could hear the sound from the other room where her indoors was watching the tennis.

It may not be knockout but we very much care who wins.
Post by: ballinaman on July 08, 2013, 01:48:54 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 09:28:46 PM
Hard to know yet, where different counties lie this year. Donegal, Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Tyrone and Mayo are roughly in that order for to win Sam. Donegal have still to be favourite as they have beaten 4 out of 5 of the (so called) Contenders in the last 14 months. Dublin AI Champions from 2011 have to be second. Their biggest fear is not getting carried away with the hype (the usual Dublin Problem). Kerry are next for just being Kerry and having secured a quarter final place. Their biggest problem is they are a 50 minute team. Then we have Cork, who have the players. But do they have the hunger or Manager. i don't think so. They'll could beat one of the big hitters but not two. Tyrone, not at the well yet. Some good players but not enough to get past the semi-finals. Mayo will probably meet Donegal (if they get that far) in the semi final and they will be smothered to death. No marquee forwards and injuries will mean another barren year.

So it looks like Dublin/Donegal final! Surprise packet - Kerry. Ouside the 'Top 6' I fancy Derry, especially if they draw Mayo in the Quarters.
Yerra....nicely done, we're new to the yerra game!
Post by: Frank Casey on July 08, 2013, 02:39:29 PM
John Bannon writes in today's paper. Both sets of supporters were annoyed at the man in black yesterday and the second biggest cheer of the day (the biggest greeted the announcement that the Cork team contained some changes from that in the programme) came when Eoin Brosnan in his acceptance speech thanked the best referee in Ireland for his performance.

I was seated a few rows behind the Cork dug out and it was hard to know at times yesterday whether Conor Counihan was transfixed in thought or just plain didn't know. His uncertainty as to what his best 15 is, his over-loyalty to certain players and his slowness to react sometimes baffles.

There is no truth in the rumour that Micko is being lined up to take over :o

Duffy will rue some dubious calls
Monday, July 08, 2013

By John Bannon

I would imagine Marty Duffy will be a little disappointed when he reviews on TV some aspects of his performance in Killarney yesterday.

He was spot on with a couple of decisions such as Graham Canty's yellow card for pulling Darran O'Sullivan after Canty had released the ball in the 45th minute and then identifying that Paudie Kissane had throw the ball when he slipped going through on goal.

However, a brilliant tackle by Colm Cooper in the 42nd minute was unfairly punished by Duffy and Kerry's understandable remonstrations saw the free brought in from 20 metres to 13m from which Daniel Goulding pointed the free. Marty will know himself he got that wrong when he looks at it again.

Paul Kerrigan can also count himself unfortunate to have picked up a soft yellow card for fouling Shane Enright in the 13th minute.

At the same time, Damien Cahalane should've been cautioned for a high tackle as should have Darran O'Sullivan in the 15th minute for a similarly deserving foul.

On another note, quite why Goulding kicked over a 45 in the second and final minute of the two provided by Duffy is a mystery. How Cork thought they were going to score again with time having elapsed is beyond me.

For the first time this summer, I wasn't at a match this weekend and, having watched three high quality games, the GAA's marketing line "nothing beats being there" couldn't be more accurate.

Brian Gavin and his sharp team of umpires had an excellent game in Nowlan Park on Saturday night. With the huge build-up to this game, the spotlight was placed very much on the referee but he came out with his reputation enhanced by the whole experience.

He was helped, of course, by two teams who played the game in an excellent spirit as much as it was full of intensity and importance.

Gavin showed early on he was going to give frees for fouls committed and while some might say he was fussy on occasions he was nonetheless consistent throughout the entire game.

He was right to give a foul in a scoreable area against Kieran Joyce on Lar Corbett, something other hurling referees have shied away from doing in recent times.

In the 43rd minute, he penalised Richie Hogan for dropping the hurl, again another correct decision but one that is not seen all that often in the game.

Johnny Ryan's game in Croke Park yesterday was a more open game and he had to call on Hawk-Eye twice during the game.

Ryan gave great advantage to Paul Ryan for Dublin's second goal after he was held by Kevin Hynes.

However, he did add to the confusion of what merits a red card when he only issued David Burke with a yellow card when he retaliated to a Danny Sutcliffe challenge.

[urlhttp://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/duffy-will-rue-some-dubious-calls-236248.html][/url]
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 08, 2013, 02:52:40 PM
on that cooper tackle.
he certainly won the ball well, but referees have been told to give a free should this be done with the 'far' arm swinging in.
If cooper had dispossessed the guy by using his 'near arm' then he wouldnt have been penalised.
its a bit of a silly rule, and I am not sure when and where it came in, but I have seen this being blown in even the lowest of divisions in the Dublin leagues.

I wonder if Paul Galvin will get a retrospective ban for punching Noel oleary in the face off the ball yesterday?
No doubt that oleary prob 'deserved' it -but the cameras caught Galvin doin it while Canty was tussling for the ball with a kerry player (Walsh?) nearer the camera.

a bit later on, I think Oleary got a yellow for what I thought was landing with hs foot on Galvins head or back (hard to tell) in an act of later retaliation imo.

those two need a camera following them for the entire game. it would make interesting viewing!

anyhow, luckily enough Anthony Tohill was not on the sunday game panel last nigt to highlight this and cause a furore in Kerry!
Still think that given previous precedent, there could be a ban for Galvin in this !
Post by: orangeman on July 08, 2013, 03:18:23 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 08, 2013, 02:52:40 PM
on that cooper tackle.
he certainly won the ball well, but referees have been told to give a free should this be done with the 'far' arm swinging in.
If cooper had dispossessed the guy by using his 'near arm' then he wouldnt have been penalised.
its a bit of a silly rule, and I am not sure when and where it came in, but I have seen this being blown in even the lowest of divisions in the Dublin leagues.

I wonder if Paul Galvin will get a retrospective ban for punching Noel oleary in the face off the ball yesterday?
No doubt that oleary prob 'deserved' it -but the cameras caught Galvin doin it while Canty was tussling for the ball with a kerry player (Walsh?) nearer the camera.

a bit later on, I think Oleary got a yellow for what I thought was landing with hs foot on Galvins head or back (hard to tell) in an act of later retaliation imo.

those two need a camera following them for the entire game. it would make interesting viewing!

anyhow, luckily enough Anthony Tohill was not on the sunday game panel last nigt to highlight this and cause a furore in Kerry!
Still think that given previous precedent, there could be a ban for Galvin in this !

There won't be a word about it.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 08, 2013, 03:26:11 PM
Remember the old Sky 'Player Cam'? Imagine having one of those on Galvin and another on O'Leary in a Kerry Cork game? They are like two old Alsations raising their hackles every time they meet.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2013, 03:30:49 PM
To be fair Galvin seems to have one punch knockout power in his fists. Should look to take up the boxing.
Post by: Mac2 on July 08, 2013, 03:35:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 08, 2013, 03:26:11 PM
Remember the old Sky 'Player Cam'? Imagine having one of those on Galvin and another on O'Leary in a Kerry Cork game? They are like two old Alsations raising their hackles every time they meet.
What about Cannings ugly sisters remark, hilarious stuff altogether, can't get enough of himself and Carney's wit.
Post by: Zulu on July 08, 2013, 04:06:35 PM
Quotehe certainly won the ball well, but referees have been told to give a free should this be done with the 'far' arm swinging in.

That's not in the rule book so it can't have been a free. Duffy was totally wrong but it's to be expected at this stage.
Post by: CorkMan on July 08, 2013, 04:18:51 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 08, 2013, 04:06:35 PM
Quotehe certainly won the ball well, but referees have been told to give a free should this be done with the 'far' arm swinging in.

That's not in the rule book so it can't have been a free. Duffy was totally wrong but it's to be expected at this stage.

I think players are encouraged to use the near hand tackle because if you use the 'far' hand, the near hand usually goes on the back of the player being tackled. The Gooch didn't go near Loughreys  back in that tackle yesterday so it was obviously the wrong call.
Post by: CorkMan on July 08, 2013, 04:21:24 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 08, 2013, 02:39:29 PM
John Bannon writes in today's paper. Both sets of supporters were annoyed at the man in black yesterday and the second biggest cheer of the day (the biggest greeted the announcement that the Cork team contained some changes from that in the programme) came when Eoin Brosnan in his acceptance speech thanked the best referee in Ireland for his performance.

I think the cheer was because (or it was from me and everyone around me, anyway) the realisation dawned on people that Noel O'Leary would be marking Galvin.
Post by: AQMP on July 08, 2013, 04:23:31 PM
Quote from: CorkMan on July 08, 2013, 04:18:51 PM

I think players are encouraged to use the near hand tackle because if you use the 'far' hand, the near hand usually goes on the back of the player being tackled. The Gooch didn't go near Loughreys  back in that tackle yesterday so it was obviously the wrong call.

Judging by the hand signals Duffy was making my guess is he thought that Gooch had punched the ball out of Loughery's hand??
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2013, 04:38:35 PM
on that cooper tackle.

O'Leary deserved that and more.
Every time they mark each other the aggression ratio is 70:30 with O'Leary acting the maggot non-stop.
Along with Canty, he's another player that Cork need to move on from.
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2013, 04:47:07 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 08, 2013, 04:23:31 PM
Judging by the hand signals Duffy was making my guess is he thought that Gooch had punched the ball out of Loughery's hand??

He thought !!!!
That's some way to Ref a game. ::) ::)
Post by: bcarrier on July 08, 2013, 05:13:24 PM
Gooch should have been booked for his protest to Duffy. That kind of rant at a referee is just not on - even when the ref is wrong.

Galvin is way more sinned against than sinner in these times..O'Leary was at him from the off. Give a dog a bad name etc etc.

Cadogan got a real roasting yesterday..may have been carrying an injury but struggled for pace ( as did the rest of Cork full back line).

Post by: rodney trotter on July 08, 2013, 05:16:28 PM
It was a surprise to see Ciaran Sheehan on the bench,he was very impressive when he came out. Thought he would have been an obvious starter especially since Colm O Neill is injured.
Loughrey has been a good addition for Cork.
Post by: camanchero on July 08, 2013, 05:52:03 PM

Swinging the arm in is deemed to be akin to swinging a punch - so it was a free irrespective.

Clubs and refs have been told about his in Dublin at least
Post by: macdanger2 on July 08, 2013, 06:14:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2013, 04:47:07 PM

He thought !!!!

You realise that the ref deals with incidents in real time, right?? He acts based on what he thinks happened, how else would you propose he refs the game??
Post by: sam03/05 on July 08, 2013, 06:31:48 PM
Cork have a woeful manager, with no tactical know how at all.
If they had someone like McGuiness or Harte they would have won five All Ireland's with the players they have at their disposal.
A lucky All Ireland win against one of the worst teams to reach a final in the last twenty years, is all they have to show despite having an abundance of talent.

Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2013, 06:37:56 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 08, 2013, 06:14:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2013, 04:47:07 PM

He thought !!!!

He acts based on what he thinks happened, how else would you propose he refs the game??
Ref it as he SEES it perhaps ?? If he didn't SEE Cooper use an illegal method of dispossessing the Cork lad how can he give a free??
The "what he thinks happens" is straight from the Sludden school of reffing.
Post by: Main Street on July 08, 2013, 07:06:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 08, 2013, 04:38:35 PM
on that cooper tackle.

O'Leary deserved that and more.
Every time they mark each other the aggression ratio is 70:30 with O'Leary acting the maggot non-stop.
Along with Canty, he's another player that Cork need to move on from.
O'Leary blighted the game with his antics.
Galvin's behaviour was almost angelic, until O'Leary arrived on his radar.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 08, 2013, 07:26:06 PM
Galvin is no saint but it should have been obvious that O'Leary,as the defender, has always had a more vested interest in this tangling and off-the-ball craic.
Post by: muppet on July 08, 2013, 07:44:02 PM
O'Leary is a vital player.

In 2011 we were being hammered until a late hit by Aiden O'Shea on O'Leary brought the crowd to their feet and we turned it around from there.

I hope he starts from now on.
Post by: camanchero on July 08, 2013, 08:05:45 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on July 08, 2013, 06:31:48 PM
Cork have a woeful manager, with no tactical know how at all.
If they had someone like McGuiness or Harte they would have won five All Ireland's with the players they have at their disposal.
A lucky All Ireland win against one of the worst teams to reach a final in the last twenty years, is all they have to show despite having an abundance of talent.
That sums up my opinion on cork too.
What a waste of talent.

Oleary is IMO the instigator in most cases ( don't think Canty is like that at all).

Ref wasn't great but equal to both teams overall IMO

That rule or whatever it is that refs see fit to penalize a wonderful bit of disposessing skill is wrong !

Cooper was 'duff-ied' !!
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2013, 08:26:40 PM
I always thought that this Cork team has another AI in them but they look so cumbersome in defence these days I'm starting to doubt they can anymore. Loughrey helps but he's no miracle worker.

The whole defensive system needs to change if they're going to persist with playing big, chunky lumps like Noel O'Leary and Graham Canty at the back. Kissane is 33 so he's not going to be there much longer either. Cork are at almost as much of a cross-roads as Kerry.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 08, 2013, 09:38:06 PM
Cork must be licking their lips at the thought of meeting Mayo at this stage. They'll go in as massive underdogs if this thread is anything to go by.
Post by: emmetryan on July 08, 2013, 09:44:36 PM
Hi guys,

I've put together a video analysing some of the issues Cork had defensively yesterday. You can check it out here:
http://action81.com/blog/?p=7423

Thanks,
Emmet
Post by: highorlow on July 08, 2013, 09:58:54 PM
QuoteI wonder if Paul Galvin will get a retrospective ban for punching Noel oleary in the face off the ball yesterday?

Did anyone else notice his attempted bite?
Post by: CorkMan on July 08, 2013, 10:31:53 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 08, 2013, 09:38:06 PM
Cork must be licking their lips at the thought of meeting Mayo at this stage. They'll go in as massive underdogs if this thread is anything to go by.

With the right team selection, I think we'd take Mayo.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 08, 2013, 10:47:16 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 08, 2013, 09:38:06 PM

Not in my opinion.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 08, 2013, 10:56:45 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 08, 2013, 09:58:54 PM
QuoteI wonder if Paul Galvin will get a retrospective ban for punching Noel oleary in the face off the ball yesterday?

Did anyone else notice his attempted bite?

Yeah happened very fast, but he did try and bite. Suppose he has to keep up with the latest fashion trends..