GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GrandMasterFlash on June 03, 2013, 11:11:09 AM

Title: Muineachán v Aointrim - USFC QF - 09/06/13
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 03, 2013, 11:11:09 AM
There may be little to speak of regarding this tie but its the week of so let's get at it...
Title: Re: Muineachán v Aointrim - USFC QF - 09/06/13
Post by: NAG1 on June 03, 2013, 11:14:52 AM
Dont know what you are talking about GMF  ;)

As Paddy C says they are coming to Fortress Casement bring them on!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2013, 12:12:44 PM
If this game breaks into 3 pages I'll laugh me head off  ;)

Saffrons by 1
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2013, 12:44:44 PM
charlie linkbox
Re: USFC Monaghan v Antrim Sun 27 May 2012 Clones 3:30pm
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2012, 09:44:40 AM »
•   Honestly, does it matter which of us wins.
Post by: theticklemister on June 03, 2013, 12:49:45 PM
I heard Mark Sidebottom doesn't even want to cover this game!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Orior on June 03, 2013, 01:17:41 PM
Are Antrim hiding in the long grass? I've love to see an upset - an Antrim v Cavan semi final would be fine.

In fact, let's forget about this game on Sunday and focus on the Antrim v Cavan semi.

By the way, who/what is the warm up match in Casement?
Post by: J70 on June 03, 2013, 01:48:10 PM
What's happened to Antrim? Its only three or four years since they were in an Ulster final and beat us in Ballybofey (ran Kerry close too!).
Post by: AQMP on June 03, 2013, 01:59:35 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 03, 2013, 01:17:41 PM
Are Antrim on a hiding to nothing in the long grass? I've love to see an upset - an Antrim v Cavan semi final would be fine.

In fact, let's forget about this game on Sunday and focus on the Antrim v Cavan semi.

By the way, who/what is the warm up match in Casement?

Fixed that for you Orior ;)
Post by: yellowcard on June 03, 2013, 02:05:50 PM
Can see nothing but a comprehensive Monaghan win here. O'Rourke is a good manager and I would expect Monaghan to get to an Ulster final.
Post by: AQMP on June 03, 2013, 04:28:29 PM
New blood in the Antrim panel.  I must polish my boots.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/22753644
Post by: Orior on June 03, 2013, 05:43:44 PM
Quote from: AQMP on June 03, 2013, 04:28:29 PM
New blood in the Antrim panel.  I must polish my boots.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/22753644

Antrim throwing in a 40 year-old player.

Armagh playing an 18 year old.

What next? Will Monaghan field with one of their ladies team?
Post by: AQMP on June 03, 2013, 06:01:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2013, 05:51:46 PM
McGreevy is older than 40.

Yeah, I think he was 39 the time of the Ulster Final in 2009??
Post by: ck on June 03, 2013, 06:21:12 PM
Sean McGreevey is at least 44 or 45 according to my in laws (St.Pauls fans). Any team bringing in a 45 year old keeper the week of C/ship must be up shit creek! Not to mention all the in fight g earlier in the year. Monaghan by 10 points
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 03, 2013, 07:33:57 PM
What's the latest on the Monghan squad? Will Tommy be in contention and what about Dermot Malone?
Post by: cluaineois on June 03, 2013, 09:52:05 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 03, 2013, 07:33:57 PM
What's the latest on the Monghan squad? Will Tommy be in contention and what about Dermot Malone?

Tommy back in full training. Malone i think is out injured. Whats the story with the residents beside casement did i read somewhere that they are planning some sort of protest re . the development ?
Title: Airgead
Post by: drici on June 04, 2013, 02:14:16 AM
Quote from: cluaineois on June 03, 2013, 09:52:05 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 03, 2013, 07:33:57 PM

Tommy back in full training. Malone i think is out injured. Whats the story with the residents beside casement did i read somewhere that they are planning some sort of protest re . the development ?

Heard that they are not interested in futile protests but something called a Judicial Review and European Court of Human Rights after that - apparently the first Concert  would have been Bruce Springstein to sing Darkness On The Edge Of Town but Europe would not let the likes of that happen.
If the money can be held on to - it won't be on Casement.
It would cost a lot of it to get out of Europe.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 05, 2013, 05:22:10 PM
These resident are just hanging out for the compensation like the residents of jones rd and around croke park, making a big song and dance about effecting their way of life blah blah blah, they will get a few bob to keep quiet and tickets to all events and that will be the end of it

thats my chest cleared on that matter   :D
Post by: Kidder81 on June 05, 2013, 05:30:07 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 05, 2013, 05:22:10 PM
These resident are just hanging out for the compensation like the residents of jones rd and around croke park, making a big song and dance about effecting their way of life blah blah blah, they will get a few bob to keep quiet and tickets to all events and that will be the end of it

thats my chest cleared on that matter   :D

Dead right Onion Bag, they were looking 30 grand each, were told to do one and said they would settle for twelve grand, they aren't getting anything as far as I know. But yeah it's all about the money.
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on June 05, 2013, 06:00:45 PM
I see the game isn't live on tv. is anybody streaming on the net ?
Title: Eolas
Post by: drici on June 05, 2013, 06:14:59 PM
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/458_zps7fbc88ef.jpg)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/457_zps2563690a.jpg)
Title: Anocht
Post by: drici on June 05, 2013, 06:26:21 PM
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/459_zpsf4aa3504.jpg)
Post by: babarino on June 05, 2013, 07:30:01 PM
It's not being covered live on TV and hardly being given a mention in the papers and of course this is understandable.  Antrim gave it a good lash in the Ulster Final a couple of years ago and Monaghan were tipped for great things also. Those were the days and we knew they'd end. Today neither side is running with the big dogs, but maybe, just maybe we're waiting in the long grass.
Post by: charlie linkbox on June 05, 2013, 10:16:59 PM
Monaghan team:

1. Rory Beggan,
2. Kieran Duffy,
3. Fintan Kelly,
4. Colin Walshe,
5. Dessie Mone,
6. Neil McAdam,
7. Darren Hughes,
8. Owen Lennon,
9. Dick Clerkin.
10. Paul Finlay,
11. Dermot Malone,
12. Eoin Duffy,
13. Christopher McGuinness,
14. Kieran Hughes,
15. Conor McManus

Should be good enough to do the job I reckon, with the added insurance of Tommy Freeman to come off the bench and save our asses like last year should the thing be going tits up.
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on June 05, 2013, 10:27:37 PM
nice team. i like hughes in ff. jap out the field. is dick back in form?
Post by: charlie linkbox on June 05, 2013, 10:49:04 PM
I'd say Malone will drop back round the half back line/midfield, Kieran Hughes will come out the field a bit and McGuinness and McManus will be the two men inside.

Dick wasn't tara in the league final but I think he's still worth a starting spot. We're short on muscle round the middle. Give him 45 or 50 minutes and then if we're in trouble take him off, move Darren Hughes to midfield and put Wylie or Corey on.

It's a grand team though. There's a bit of depth to the bench now too: Drew Wylie (who I'd have started), Vinny Corey, Gavin Doogan (is he fit?), Tommy Freeman.
Post by: Gold on June 05, 2013, 11:19:29 PM
Antrim team (pretty decent and one that would have stayed in Div 3). Difficulty is that they havent played together much recently:

1 Chris Kerr Naomh Gall

2 Kevin O'Boyle Clann na hEireann
3 Ricky Johnston Ciceam Creagan
4 Andy McClean Naomh Gall

5 Sean Kelly Naomh Gall
6 Justin Crozier Clann na hEireann
7 Patrick McBride Naomh Eoin

8 Sean McVeigh Naomh Uile
9 Marty Johnston Ciceam Creagan

10 Anthony Healy Naomh Gall
11 Paddy Cunningham Lamh Dhearg
12 Mark Sweeney Naomh Brid

13 Michael Pollock Naomh Gall
14 Kevin Niblock Naomh Gall
15 Brendan Herron Lamh Dhearg
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 06, 2013, 04:46:39 AM
I'm afraid I can only see this going against the Dál Riata boyos.
Monaghan by 6+
Post by: Olly on June 06, 2013, 09:30:47 AM
My mother said she baby-sat Sean McGreevy and said that he must be 55-57 now.
Post by: Sleater on June 06, 2013, 09:38:09 AM
I'll be surprised if the Monaghan team starts as lined out. Sure Malone injured his knee in the league final and has been more or less struggling with injuries since the McKenna cup final too. I didn't think he is/was fully fit. Make no mistake, he's worth his place when fully fit, but question is , if he is that.

I still think Kelly and Duffy in defence are somewhat shakey. Kelly has been a decent find this year but is prone to the odd moment of rash decision making. Duffy is a bit of an undisciplined tackler, arm acrosss the shoulder type thing. I think Walshe will play half back where he's been superb all year.

Dick's form has been very hit and miss. His work rate is not what it was of 2/3 years ago. Also the team suffers when Dick gets too focused on his personal 'battle' with his opposite number e.g. v Sean Cavanagh in McKenna cup or v Marty McGrath in Enniskillen.
Post by: AQMP on June 06, 2013, 10:08:21 AM
Quote from: Gold on June 05, 2013, 11:19:29 PM
Antrim team (pretty decent and one that would have stayed in Div 3). Difficulty is that they havent played together much recently:

1 Chris Kerr Naomh Gall

2 Kevin O'Boyle Clann na hEireann
3 Ricky Johnston Ciceam Creagan
4 Andy McClean Naomh Gall

5 Sean Kelly Naomh Gall
6 Justin Crozier Clann na hEireann
7 Patrick McBride Naomh Eoin

8 Sean McVeigh Naomh Uile
9 Marty Johnston Ciceam Creagan

10 Anthony Healy Naomh Gall
11 Paddy Cunningham Lamh Dhearg
12 Mark Sweeney Naomh Brid

13 Michael Pollock Naomh Gall
14 Kevin Niblock Naomh Gall
15 Brendan Herron Lamh Dhearg

I would presume that Niblock and Cunningham will swap positions and either Sweeney or Healy will go in as a sweeper with Herron coming out to the 40 or as an extra midfielder??  Work the ball in close, draw a free and hope PC knocks them over!?! 8)
Post by: FarneyMan on June 06, 2013, 11:14:33 AM
Is there any advice on getting to casement on sunday and avoiding the tailbacks on the motorway as everyone takes the same exit (Kings Hall) ??

Is there a better way of avoiding the traffic?
Post by: timmyot501 on June 06, 2013, 11:38:29 AM
O'Rourke tends to make changes from his selections going by the league.  I wonder will this be Tommy in for Malone?  Though if Malone is fully fit I'd start him.  Also agree with earlier poster that Wylie should be a starter.  A fit Doogan would be good to introduce if Clerkin/Lennon is not working.
Post by: Orior on June 06, 2013, 12:50:50 PM
I think O'Rourke needs to carefully think about the Ulster semi-final, and should therefore send out a B team against Antrim thereby guarding against unnecessary injury.

With about 10 mins to go and 4 points down he should even resist  throwing on senior players because the ref is bound to play enough added time to haul back any deficit.

(Is that okay Frank? Just make out my cheque to Orior Esquire)
Post by: babarino on June 06, 2013, 01:05:07 PM
Quote from: FarneyMan on June 06, 2013, 11:14:33 AM
Is there any advice on getting to casement on sunday and avoiding the tailbacks on the motorway as everyone takes the same exit (Kings Hall) ??

Is there a better way of avoiding the traffic?

Travelling on A1 I'll be cutting off at Lisburn and going into Andytown from there. It's worked well before and there's an ex POW club beside Duffys with ample parking.
Post by: cluaineois on June 06, 2013, 01:47:22 PM
Dose anyone know where Block B Row B is in the stand in casement. cant find a seating plan anywhere. Thanks
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 06, 2013, 01:52:30 PM
Quote from: cluaineois on June 06, 2013, 01:47:22 PM
Dose anyone know where Block B Row B is in the stand in casement. cant find a seating plan anywhere. Thanks

Seriously? two rows from front and in two from the Andytown road end I would think. At a guess I'd say 21 yard line
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 06, 2013, 02:16:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 06, 2013, 08:07:05 AM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 06, 2013, 04:46:39 AM
Monaghan by 6+
Probably. They wouldn't be great footballers up there. Let's hope the Dál nAraide lads can produce the goods though.

Are Down playing as well?
Post by: cluaineois on June 06, 2013, 02:22:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 06, 2013, 02:01:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 06, 2013, 01:52:30 PM
Quote from: cluaineois on June 06, 2013, 01:47:22 PM

Seriously? two rows from front and in two from the Andytown road end I would think. At a guess I'd say 21 yard line
Are those seats not closed?  Printed my tickets from season tickets. Got annoyed at the seat allocation for season ticket holders last year and was wondering if anyone could let me know if there is a decent view from this area. Grma

I've never heard of there being designated seats in Casement. In fact, a ticket for the stand does not guarantee you getting into the actual stand. The 'stand' tickets just gets you into the stand side. The actual stand is a 1st come 1st served for those with 'stand' tickets. The rest have to sit on the bleachers.
bein
Post by: AQMP on June 06, 2013, 02:33:33 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 06, 2013, 02:16:31 PM
Monaghan by 6+
Probably. They wouldn't be great footballers up there. Let's hope the Dál nAraide lads can produce the goods though.

There's Dalriada and Dalariada.  One favours the small ball, the other is big ball country.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 06, 2013, 02:41:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 06, 2013, 02:21:52 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 06, 2013, 02:16:31 PM
Monaghan by 6+

Down played last week. They won.

Fair play to them. Maybe if you Ulaid boys bunch together next year ye will have a functional full-back line between ye.

QuoteThere's Dalriada and Dalariada.  One favours the small ball, the other is big ball country.

And there was I thinking they were just different ways of spelling the same thing!
Post by: cluaineois on June 06, 2013, 04:21:20 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2013, 12:12:44 PM

Saffrons by 1
Somebody get ready to catch that mans head.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 06, 2013, 04:42:00 PM
Antrim in a bad place at the moment a bit like Fermanagh were in 2011. Monaghan have a great chance of reaching the Ulster final.
Post by: timmyot501 on June 06, 2013, 05:13:15 PM
Monaghan had a great chance of reaching an Ulster final last year especially at half time v Down in the Semi final and look how that ended.

Hope you are right though.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 06, 2013, 08:17:52 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on June 06, 2013, 05:13:15 PM
Monaghan had a great chance of reaching an Ulster final last year especially at half time v Down in the Semi final and look how that ended.

Hope you are right though.
Not to mention 2008 - the one that got away.

Monaghan won't be looking any further ahead than Sunday. But they will be expected to win on Sunday - a loss would be a disaster. They should also be good enough to win by 5-6 points.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 06, 2013, 08:19:56 PM
Quote from: cluaineois on June 06, 2013, 04:21:20 PM

Saffrons by 1
Not only are we on page 4, we're also on the second thread!
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=23134.0!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 06, 2013, 09:20:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 06, 2013, 08:19:56 PM
Quote from: cluaineois on June 06, 2013, 04:21:20 PM

Saffrons by 1
Not only are we on page 4, we're also on the second thread!
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=23134.0!

Crazy, never thought this match would get that much attention. I'll be there anyways
Post by: Main Street on June 06, 2013, 10:09:32 PM
There won't be enough time on the BBC NI highlights to show all of Monaghan's scores.
Post by: ONeill on June 06, 2013, 10:10:58 PM
Can see Casement keeping Antrim in it til about 29 mins. Then Monaghan's pure dirt will see off the Saffron challenge.

Antrim 1-11
Monaghan 2-16

1-5 to 1-10 at HT
Post by: Maguire01 on June 06, 2013, 10:20:50 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 06, 2013, 10:09:32 PM
There won't be enough time on the BBC NI highlights to show all of Monaghan's scores.
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on June 06, 2013, 10:21:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 06, 2013, 10:10:58 PM
Can see Casement keeping Antrim in it til about 29 mins. Then Monaghan's pure dirt will see off the Saffron challenge.

Antrim 1-11
Monaghan 2-16

1-5 to 1-10 at HT

Tyrone, the county who introduced pure dirt.
Post by: ranch on June 07, 2013, 03:45:32 AM
Antrim 0-10
Monaghan 0-13
Post by: ck on June 07, 2013, 08:41:00 AM
Is Anto Healy not an out and out defender? With he and Sweeney named in the half forward line it looks like Antrim are going to go defensive?!
New players brought in for Cship, including a 40+ year old keeper and now new tactics.. It all asks big big questions of the Antrim management.
Post by: Orior on June 07, 2013, 08:43:22 AM
I hope that I'm wrong but

Antrim 0-11
Monaghan 2-19
Post by: ck on June 07, 2013, 08:53:07 AM
Antrim: 0-9
Monaghan: 0-12

Monaghan to go ahead for first time with 10 to go and score 3 without reply. Antrim play defensive which will keep the score down but give them even less chance of wining. Most of their scores will come from frees and their forwards will be starved of possession.
Sweeney and Healey may fall back into defence but they simply don't have the engines to get up and support.
If any manager in another county changed tactics just before championship they would be lambasted. In Antrim they are too busy arguing in the papers with players throwing their dummies out!
Post by: babarino on June 07, 2013, 08:57:35 AM
Casement has been a happy hunting ground for Monaghan this past few years, having seen off Armagh and Derry (twice). The dry ball and fast ground will suit us too.

What has Antrim's form been like at Casement?
Post by: AQMP on June 07, 2013, 09:03:07 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 06, 2013, 10:09:32 PM

Don't tempt fate.  I was at Castleblayney in 1990 when Monaghan robbed Antrim 3-17 to 0-8.  Antrim were awful and this was in the middle of a run of 18 years without a championship victory.  In those days the BBC showed a highlights programme at 10:30pm on the Sunday night.  Mid way through the second half the presenter said something like "And Monaghan ran up point after point from here on in" and they cut to the last few minutes when Monaghan scored their 3rd goal.

I found these few mins of football from a bygone era from the BBC. (What were Antrim thinking of with those geansaithe??)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/22788645
Post by: AQMP on June 07, 2013, 09:21:04 AM
Quote from: ck on June 07, 2013, 08:41:00 AM
Is Anto Healy not an out and out defender? With he and Sweeney named in the half forward line it looks like Antrim are going to go defensive?!
New players brought in for Cship, including a 40+ year old keeper and now new tactics.. It all asks big big questions of the Antrim management.

What is that saying about cutting the cloth according to your means??
Post by: babarino on June 07, 2013, 09:23:03 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 07, 2013, 09:05:14 AM
Quote from: babarino on June 07, 2013, 08:57:35 AM

Brilliant.

Brilliant? When was the last time they lost there in the Championship? Did they lose there in the league 2013?
Post by: babarino on June 07, 2013, 10:03:43 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 07, 2013, 09:35:34 AM
Quote from: babarino on June 07, 2013, 09:23:03 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 07, 2013, 09:05:14 AM
Quote from: babarino on June 07, 2013, 08:57:35 AM

Brilliant.

Brilliant? When was the last time they lost there in the Championship? Did they lose there in the league 2013?
Years ago.

You wouldn't be the Antrim stats man by any chance?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 07, 2013, 10:39:44 AM
Beat Galway there last year.

Beat by Tyrone a few years ago I thought was the last one?

Lot of away games this last few years.

Don't think we've won in ulster since the year we got to the final??
Post by: babarino on June 07, 2013, 10:53:39 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/farney-must-be-on-guard-to-avoid-antrim-sting-hughes-29326979.html

Nudie view of the match.

He says we've had trouble getting out of Casement. Last time I remember losing there was against Down in an Ulster semi, which must be over 10 years ago.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 07, 2013, 10:57:07 AM
Ah yes - I was at it too.

Title: Foirne
Post by: drici on June 07, 2013, 11:32:20 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BMJdDdbCIAAxCkL.jpg:large)
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BMJbd6tCUAAhsSl.jpg:large)
Title: Re: Foirne
Post by: babarino on June 07, 2013, 12:18:32 PM
Quote from: drici on June 07, 2013, 11:32:20 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BMJdDdbCIAAxCkL.jpg:large)
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BMJbd6tCUAAhsSl.jpg:large)

Chris Kerr in goals for Antrim. That's not the 40 something goalie that was being talked about earlier in the week, is it?
Post by: theticklemister on June 07, 2013, 12:42:04 PM
No thats the world famous McGreevey. I mind he was oul when Antrim nearly beat Derry in the championship over 10 years ago.
Post by: ck on June 08, 2013, 01:35:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 07, 2013, 12:46:55 PM
McGreevy is sub keeper which is why the whole "Antrim drafting in 44 year olds" has been totally overplayed. Still a good keeper mind you.

IMO good keepers can play away if they look after themselves. My issue is Antrim bringing in a host of lads on the eve of the Cship. There isn't another county in Ireland who'd be at that. It beggars belief tbh
Title: Geall
Post by: drici on June 08, 2013, 03:28:27 PM
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/463_zps9a8581a2.jpg)
Toals
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 08, 2013, 05:29:39 PM
Quote from: ck on June 08, 2013, 01:35:14 PM
McGreevy is sub keeper which is why the whole "Antrim drafting in 44 year olds" has been totally overplayed. Still a good keeper mind you.

IMO good keepers can play away if they look after themselves. My issue is Antrim bringing in a host of lads on the eve of the Cship. There isn't another county in Ireland who'd be at that. It beggars belief tbh

Armagh bring the cross players back every year and Tipp brought back Lar and the Cats even brought DJ one year just for championship. It happens
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 08, 2013, 07:14:57 PM
Lennon and Clerkin Midfield again, ages must be starting to catch up on them. The longest serving central field pairing i can remember in along time, think they been there together from round 2005/6
Post by: ck on June 08, 2013, 10:00:06 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 08, 2013, 07:14:57 PM
Lennon and Clerkin Midfield again, ages must be starting to catch up on them. The longest serving central field pairing i can remember in along time, think they been there together from round 2005/6

Clerkin made his debut for Monaghan in 1998. He was a minor at the time
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2013, 10:26:55 PM
I know a boy who put £1000 on Monaghan to get enough drinking money for 2 days.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 08, 2013, 10:43:02 PM
Quote from: ck on June 08, 2013, 01:35:14 PM

I think i count six changes to the Antrim side that lost to Monaghan by twelve points in April.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 08, 2013, 11:28:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2013, 10:26:55 PM

How much would this boy drink in two days?
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2013, 11:38:31 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 08, 2013, 11:28:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2013, 10:26:55 PM

How much would this boy drink in two days?

He has to give the £1000 back
Title: Re: Geall
Post by: babarino on June 09, 2013, 12:10:50 AM
Quote from: drici on June 08, 2013, 03:28:27 PM
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/463_zps9a8581a2.jpg)
Toals

Not a betting man and can't make any sense of thon image re odds.

Read Irish News, Gaelic Life and Irish Times and hope Monaghan players didn't. Otherwise they'd think they wouldn't have to show up tomorrow. Irish News has Antrim in tatters and Gaelic Life strongly fancies Monaghan.

Malachy was at the helm with Fermanagh when they did a job on us a few years back, when we were strongly fancied. He should have this covered and not allow for complacency. Muineachán abú!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 09, 2013, 10:01:27 AM
I always had a wee soft spot for Antrim so want to watch this game today, is it on BBC NI? i cannot check listing as i am in georgia and cannot find on the net...cheers in advance
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 10:08:51 AM
Anyone know if you can take a pushchair into Casement?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 10:10:48 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 09, 2013, 10:01:27 AM
I always had a wee soft spot for Antrim so want to watch this game today, is it on BBC NI? i cannot check listing as i am in georgia and cannot find on the net...cheers in advance
BBC deferred coverage - I think it's 7 or 7.15. Radio Ulster should be covering or you should be able to listen on www.northernsound.ie
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 09, 2013, 10:13:02 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 10:10:48 AM
BBC deferred coverage - I think it's 7 or 7.15. Radio Ulster should be covering or you should be able to listen on www.northernsound.ie
thanks
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 09, 2013, 11:44:17 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 10:08:51 AM
yes there are a couple of spots for pushchairs, as you come through the gate (as they will have to open as it wont get through turnstile) the toilets are on your left and the a opening just past that takes you to the pushchair area on left
Post by: Bingo on June 09, 2013, 11:50:38 AM
Pet hate is naming teams and then changing them, not fair on players in the build up to game.
Post by: glens abu on June 09, 2013, 12:14:35 PM

Not on live,highlights 7.15 BBC2
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 01:04:38 PM
Quote from: Bingo on June 09, 2013, 11:50:38 AM
Pet hate is naming teams and then changing them, not fair on players in the build up to game.
I'm sure the players know the score.
Post by: Itchy on June 09, 2013, 04:05:29 PM
Only 7700 at the game according to Monaghan pro on twitter, poor considering the fine day and its not on TV. Monaghan 5 to 4 up nearly half time
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2013, 04:11:33 PM
Sounds like a poor game at least Antrim are doing better than expected.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2013, 04:58:47 PM
Five minutes left 10-5 or 5-1 in the second half.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 09, 2013, 05:48:43 PM
Might pass on watching this deferred as it sounds poor, thought with conditions back home would of been better and antrim only 1pt behind with a spare man. Never makes sense how a team a man down goes and outscores a team 5/6 to 1...good luck to monaghan...
Post by: seafoid on June 09, 2013, 05:53:13 PM
Antrim very disappointing. I thought between  Naomh Gall and the great win last year
they'd be able to bate Monaghan.

But no.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 09, 2013, 06:39:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 09, 2013, 11:44:17 AM
yes there are a couple of spots for pushchairs, as you come through the gate (as they will have to open as it wont get through turnstile) the toilets are on your left and the a opening just past that takes you to the pushchair area on left
The one saving grace from the Casement upgrade will be decent bogs.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 07:01:46 PM
Cheers - got sorted.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 07:05:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 09, 2013, 06:39:30 PM
The one saving grace from the Casement upgrade will be decent bogs.
They were smelling particularly 'fresh' today in that heat! Although Casement is far from alone when it comes to GAA grounds and toilet facilities.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 09, 2013, 07:51:36 PM
g if the highlights there were that hard to watch, making someone watch the live game would been corporal punishment. I feel sorry for Antrim, a number of players are not playing for them. They got to realize its about Antrim football not themselves. Will be always seen as whipping boys to somebody comes in and sorts antrim football from underage up. monaghan were very poor outside of darren hughes, bring that game to cavan / fermanagh, you may lie in the house.
Post by: babarino on June 09, 2013, 08:14:14 PM
Best for Monaghan - Gallogly, Darren Hughes, Vinny Corey, Dessie Mone and Owen Lennon (2nd half).

Sean McVeigh was very good for Antrim, an outfit that do seem to be in tatters. Niblock should have gone for goal when he was through that time. That would have made a game of it. 

Ref was awful. It's not his job to even up the contest. Late tackles and he rightly let the game continue, but didn't go back and deal with it when the ball went dead. Then he blew it up when Corey was through on goal.

Glad it's behind us and we can focus on the semi. There's certainly plenty to work on and there'll be no complacency ahead of our next game. Woeful amount of wides.
Post by: Main Street on June 09, 2013, 09:27:28 PM
It was a mercy killing.
Post by: cluaineois on June 09, 2013, 09:28:33 PM
poor showing today, hopefully things will be straightened out for the semi-final which i believe has been fixed for Clones. We wont get away with a performance like that against fermanagh or cavan.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 09, 2013, 09:33:59 PM
Was at it today and came away saying for the umpteenth time I'll never pay in to casement again. It would have Been better Craic protesting outside. Beat by a poor Monaghan side. Antrim made a sunny dry day look treacherous!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 09, 2013, 10:32:51 PM
Any body going to the beach and getting caught in traffic were the lucky one lol
Post by: cville on June 09, 2013, 11:16:53 PM
That was absolutely abysmal from an ANTRIM perspective. They had no vision, coordination and, an the end of the day, no BALLS! They were a man up and hadn't a clue how to play the game out. The number of 'turnovers' was appalling. It basically boiled down to a team of inexperienced, inept, passion-less individuals running about embarrassing their county. Really need to go back to the drawing board. But, Spillane hit the nail on the head and the other 31 counties are laughing. Gutless! Mr Dawson .. explain.. if u can?
Post by: ck on June 09, 2013, 11:25:27 PM
I watched the BBC2 game earlier and the Sunday game there and I have to say Antrim looked absolutely clueless. They simply looked as if they were happy to keep the score down and lose by a few scores. Their attempt was pathetic in the extreme.
There are better players in Antrim than this mess showed today. Why are Antrim fans not demanding more and why are they not asking questions of Dawson and co after the shambles this year has become?
Post by: babarino on June 09, 2013, 11:31:50 PM
Quote from: cville on June 09, 2013, 11:16:53 PM
That was absolutely abysmal from an ANTRIM perspective. They had no vision, coordination and, an the end of the day, no BALLS! They were a man up and hadn't a clue how to play the game out. The number of 'turnovers' was appalling. It basically boiled down to a team of inexperienced, inept, passion-less individuals running about embarrassing their county. Really need to go back to the drawing board. But, Spillane hit the nail on the head and the other 31 counties are laughing. Gutless! Mr Dawson .. explain.. if u can?

I think you're being a bit harsh there. I'm sure the players did their best, but weren't good enough against better, if not quality, opposition. Your manager seems a bit deluded though. Also Antrim lost 3 of their better players after what looks like poor man management. Antrim attacks were snuffed out by physically stronger players. If I was an Antrim supporter I wouldn't gang up on the players.
Post by: ck on June 10, 2013, 12:02:09 AM
Quote from: babarino on June 09, 2013, 11:31:50 PM

I think you're being a bit harsh there. I'm sure the players did their best, but weren't good enough against better, if not quality, opposition. Your manager seems a bit deluded though. Also Antrim lost 3 of their better players after what looks like poor man management. Antrim attacks were snuffed out by physically stronger players. If I was an Antrim supporter I wouldn't gang up on the players.

Who suggested ganging up on players?!
The manager has a huge case to answer though. Players not playing for him, others being dropped and more players being brought in weeks before the cship. You couldn't make it up. Then we witness this showpiece today.
Post by: orangeman on June 10, 2013, 12:04:43 AM
Can you ask for your money back ?
Post by: rodney trotter on June 10, 2013, 12:13:04 AM
Michael and Tomas McCann would have been a big help for Antrim along with Scullion. A few Galls players like CJ McGourty , Aodhan Gallagher ( hemight have retired from co football? they  would have been an improvement on that team today, no harm to the team that played.  Awful game.
Post by: babarino on June 10, 2013, 12:20:06 AM
Quote from: ck on June 10, 2013, 12:02:09 AM

The manager has a huge case to answer though. Players not playing for him, others being dropped and more players being brought in weeks before the cship. You couldn't make it up. Then we witness this showpiece today.

Original quote suggested players fault. NO BALLS. I don't agree. Rodney Trotter is right - Antrim can't afford to lose good players which is what you've done.
Post by: orangeman on June 10, 2013, 12:25:57 AM
Refunds should have be given to the protestors - residents.

Should be some consolation.
Post by: AQMP on June 10, 2013, 08:52:32 AM
I wasn't at the game but it looked pretty poor from the highlights and what was being said on the radio.  It was very poor from Antrim and I really can't see us winning a qualifier on that performance.  Three points from play in 70-odd minutes of football is well,...embarrassing.  No score from play in the 2nd half and no score at all for approx. 35 mins.  It seems the plan, if there were one, was damage limitation and try to win 0-6 to 0-5.

I'm not sure what Dawson's thinking is.  Maybe he thinks deep down that with that panel of players if he tries to play football the score will end up 3-18 to 1-12.  Personally I'd take that over 0-6.  It's only 4 years since we were in an Ulster Final.  Yesterday took us back to the dark days of 18 years without a championship win.  I would like to think that we're better than that but maybe we aren't.

I spoke to someone who was at the game and the only positives were Mark Sweeney, Sean McVeigh and he had a good word for young Patrick McBride who as my friend put it "at least looked like he was trying".
Post by: johnneycool on June 10, 2013, 10:50:02 AM

When I see this talked about it takes me back to a statement made by Damian Fitzhenry, the former Wexford goal keeper, when asked if he'd ever refused to play for a manager around the time of the Cork hurlers strike, his response was along the lines of; 'I play for no manager, I play for Wexford'.

Sometimes deluded players need to remind themselves of that.
Post by: Glensman on June 12, 2013, 12:15:31 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 10, 2013, 10:50:02 AM

When I see this talked about it takes me back to a statement made by Damian Fitzhenry, the former Wexford goal keeper, when asked if he'd ever refused to play for a manager around the time of the Cork hurlers strike, his response was along the lines of; 'I play for no manager, I play for Wexford'.

Sometimes deluded players need to remind themselves of that.

I could not agree more with this. Having played under a number of different managers I know the effort/commitment/time that goes into it. Significantly more effort and thought than a player in my opinion.

A bit of respect is the least that is deserved.
Post by: Buswhacker on June 12, 2013, 05:31:59 PM
Yes I think that our prima donna players should remind themselves that they are playing for their county instead of manager.
They would need to hurry up as some of them are getting a bit long in the tooth and their chances of playing county football is coming to an end. Of course most of them wouldn't get a game for any other county. One of our best will struggle to get a game with Cork, I'm watching that one with interest.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 12, 2013, 06:35:12 PM
well we give that lad the benefit of the doubt, couldnt see the county board paying for his air miles to train and hes at the other end of the country