Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on April 07, 2013, 11:36:44 PM

Title: Less than two weeks to go to Nathan Carter concert at Athletic Grounds.
Post by: T Fearon on April 07, 2013, 11:36:44 PM
Anyone actually going to this? It was announced to day during the Armagh V Galway game that Hugo Duncan would be acting as compere!
Title: Re: Less than two weeks to go to Nathan Carter concert at Athletic Grounds.
Post by: ranch on April 08, 2013, 04:16:33 AM
I was originally opposed to this because I couldn't see how the county could sell it.

Little did I know they would just expect the clubs to sell 20 tickets each when they realised they couldn't sell it out (months after the first tickets were released), and force them to pay for the ones they fail to sell. Ridiculous.
Title: Re: Less than two weeks to go to Nathan Carter concert at Athletic Grounds.
Post by: seafoid on April 08, 2013, 08:54:37 AM
Is Nathan Carter his real name? Did his parents know he was destined to be a
country and western singer?  Are there other people out there whose parents had the same feeling and named their spawn accordingly but were actually wrong? 
Post by: deiseach on April 08, 2013, 09:00:57 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2013, 08:54:37 AM
country and western singer?  Are there other people out there whose parents had the same feeling and named their spawn accordingly but were actually wrong?

Nathan Carter is his real name. He does not come from a musical family, although there's a lot of Oirishness knocking around.
Post by: seafoid on April 08, 2013, 09:50:13 AM
Quote from: deiseach on April 08, 2013, 09:00:57 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2013, 08:54:37 AM

Nathan Carter is his real name. He does not come from a musical family, although there's a lot of Oirishness knocking around.
Thanks Deiseach. Is he related to Carter USM ?
Post by: Arthur_Friend on April 08, 2013, 11:54:51 AM
Someone inform Guinness there could be a new world record for amount of straw cowboy hats in one place.

Post by: Orior on April 08, 2013, 12:27:41 PM
What is the big deal with Nathan?

Why has Armagh appeared to have latched on to Nathan?

To be fair though, this is much better way of growing a following than x-factor or pop idol
Post by: deiseach on April 08, 2013, 12:57:05 PM
I wonder how many of Nathan's adoring Country & Irish public know of his murky past - recording songs for the benefit of the English soccer team! (http://www.thefreelibrary.com/CHOIR+GETS+ALL+TOGETHER+NOW%3B+Euro+2004+video+filmed+in+city.-a0116488118)

QuoteCHOIR GETS ALL TOGETHER NOW; Euro 2004 video filmed in city.

Byline: PADDY SHENNAN ECHO Writer

A SCHOOL choir and scores of young footballers helped recreate the classic film musical West Side Story in Liverpool yesterday.

A remixed version of All Together Now by The Farm,featuring the SFX Boys' Choir, Liverpool will be the FA's official song for Euro 2004.

An accompanying video is being filmed today and tomorrow at various Merseyside locations,including the Buckley Hill Lane playing fields and the Sefton estate in Netherton, the Bull Ring in Liverpool and the Granby area of Toxteth.

"We're filming a kind of West Side Story -with a twist,'' said Farm bassist and video producer Carl Hunter, of Liverpool-based Grey-hound Films. We'll see a Mexican stand-off between two gangs and then one lad from each gang pick up what look like weapons -a brick and a piece of wood. But these are instead used to fix some damaged goalposts.

"And then a mass game of football breaks out -and we'll see the lads from the SFX Boys' Choir taking part while wearing their cassocks.''

Carl, who was aided by acclaimed Crosby-based writer Frank Cottrell Boyce, who wrote the screenplay to 24 Hour Party People,added: "The idea was to get away from the lager lout image of football songs.

"There will also be shots of goals painted on walls in various streets in Liverpool and pitches which use jumpers for goalposts, cones, and shopping trolleys.''

Twenty-four members of the 42 strong choir,aged 11 to 13,feature on the track -they were recruited by The Farm's singer, Peter Hooton, after he saw them perform at the annual Hillsborough Memorial Service at Anfield.

Head chorister Nathan Carter, 13, said: "I loved recording the song. It was very exciting.''

Also taking part in the video will be residents of the Sefton estate in Netherton, members of the Klondike Community Centre in Bootle, the Toxteth Tigers football team and teams from Great Crosby Primary School.
Post by: T Fearon on April 08, 2013, 02:39:17 PM
Orior, I think the Armagh County Board (not noted for their knowledge of the Country Music or any other form of music scene) booked Nathan, thinking that he was going to fill the Athletic Grounds (ie 20,000 people at £20 a head) and make cosiderable inroads as regards the outstanding stadium debt.

However rather belatedly, the way they're pushing this frantically, it has dawned on them that he is an artist who would just about fill the ball room at the Armagh City Hotel, but not a large sporting arena.

Lessons will be learned though, and I fully expect this venue, like Slane, will take off, and am looking forward to seeing the Rolling Stones, Springsteen and U2 perform there in the coming years ;D
Post by: qubdub on April 08, 2013, 02:46:50 PM
Have yous boys not seen him! I kid you not, he runs around with 3, yes 3 buttons undone on his shirt!
Post by: Maguire01 on April 08, 2013, 05:38:11 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 08, 2013, 02:39:17 PM
Orior, I think the Armagh County Board (not noted for their knowledge of the Country Music or any other form of music scene) booked Nathan, thinking that he was going to fill the Athletic Grounds (ie 20,000 people at £20 a head) and make cosiderable inroads as regards the outstanding stadium debt.
Sounds a bit clue-less. You'd think that even people who don't know music would know that to sell 20,000 tickets you need a chart-topper... even a look at his other tour dates, which include the Hillgrove in Monaghan, and the only 'sold out' date on his site in - wait for it - Ballymoney Bowling Club, would be a clue.

And that's before you hear the music.
Post by: T Fearon on April 08, 2013, 05:48:27 PM
I heard someone at the County Board Meeting suggested Led Zeppelin,to which one delegate responded "Does anyone know him?"  ;D

Clueless isn't the word for it! And as if booking Nathan Carter isn't bad enough,adding Hugo Duncan in a vain attempt to sell tickets is just inexcusable.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 08, 2013, 07:24:08 PM
Derrynoose GAC near me have this superstar at the club in August. Derrynoose has a population of 3000 according to census figures. That should have been enough info for Armagh Co. Board.
Post by: ranch on April 08, 2013, 07:45:03 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 08, 2013, 07:24:08 PM
Derrynoose GAC near me have this superstar at the club in August. Derrynoose has a population of 3000 according to census figures. That should have been enough info for Armagh Co. Board.

It's f*cking embarrassing.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 08, 2013, 10:43:46 PM
It's a long way from Rage Against The Machine in Semple Stadium.
Post by: T Fearon on April 08, 2013, 11:32:54 PM
Didn't Jedward appear at Pairc Esler not too long ago? Now that is embarrassing!

By a strange quirk of fate yesterday,Armagh threw in a couple of free Nathan Carter tickets as second prize in the half time draw.The winner came forward immediately,but the first prize if £100 wasn't claimed!
Post by: ranch on April 09, 2013, 02:09:41 AM
Down GAA didn't organise the Jedward event though, Newry council did. And even at that, Jedward would pull a much bigger crowd than someone who sings in the Mourne Country Hotel in Newry now and then. Ridiculous.
Post by: screenexile on April 09, 2013, 03:43:01 AM
Seems a bit crazy to me alright. He's selling out venues across the Country but as someone said you're talking 2000 people at most trying to sell out 20,000 odd would be a huge stretch for such a niche market as the Country and Western scene.

Surely they would have budgeted for a crowd of around 10,000 and everything extra would be a bonus?
Post by: JUst retired on April 09, 2013, 09:04:44 AM
Nowhere did I read that they are trying to sell 20000 tickets.The only side of the ground to be open will be the seated stand side. A couple of large screens will be placed on the terracing at both ends. A floor will be placed on the pitch,if any people want to dance.I hope the night is a success,and all the naysayers are proved wrong. 8)
Post by: Applesisapples on April 09, 2013, 09:35:55 AM
Anyone with taste in music would not pay to listen to country music played by an Irish show band, but thats a matter of taste. Nathan Carter is hot at the minute in some circles (surely the health minister needs to step in here). As a result every hole in the hedge is booking him for a fund raiser. How the ACB thought they had a pups chance of selling the 7 or 8 thousand tickets or 20 thousand if you believe some posters is beyond me. The guy has prostituted himself to make as much money as he can whilst he is hot. The result is over exposure. For the County Board to then give all clubs tickets with no return and expect them to sell them in 3 weeks when they had them on sale for weeks is scandalous and arrogant in the extreme. What they need to do is look at the costs of running a county football setup that has delivered nothing for the last number of years, if I run out of money at home I cut costs I don't expect anyone else to underwrite me.
Post by: Mont on April 09, 2013, 01:45:44 PM
Hav I got this rite? Our Ma cb can't shift tickets for the gig so they giv them 2 clubs to sell n if clubs can't sell them they still have to pay the cb for the tickets???? Lol

Tell me this is a joke. Ther are many cb's in ulster that are dodgy but I have never seen one b so blatant
Post by: bogball88 on April 09, 2013, 02:30:20 PM
Took a nosy at the dates on his website and came across a list of his singles, of which one is named "Tequilla makes her clothes fall off"  :o
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2013, 03:19:58 PM
QuoteTook a nosy at the dates on his website and came across a list of his singles, of which one is named "Tequilla makes her clothes fall off"

Tequilla does this, it can also be used to remove makeup.
Post by: ranch on April 09, 2013, 04:03:10 PM
Quote from: Mont on April 09, 2013, 01:45:44 PM
Hav I got this rite? Our Ma cb can't shift tickets for the gig so they giv them 2 clubs to sell n if clubs can't sell them they still have to pay the cb for the tickets???? Lol

Tell me this is a joke. Ther are many cb's in ulster that are dodgy but I have never seen one b so blatant

Nope, it's true alright.
Post by: muppet on April 09, 2013, 04:30:20 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on April 09, 2013, 02:30:20 PM
Took a nosy at the dates on his website and came across a list of his singles, of which one is named "Tequilla makes her clothes fall off"  :o

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15697.msg747505#msg747505 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15697.msg747505#msg747505)

'Tequilla makes her clothes fall off' is another one for the list.'
Post by: lawnseed on April 09, 2013, 10:00:05 PM
yes sticking shite to the clubs is a speciality of armagh county board. instead of putting on a prechampionship challange with the likes of tyrone with return match in omagh and splitting the money. they go and book this flash in the pan clown and expect the clubs to fork out. mickey harte and grimley could have done a bit of trash talking.. mckeever v mugsy blah blah.. all a bit of craic and the two countys could have had a nice little earner and the crowds would have loved it. thats what the gaa are about.. SPORT! i'll never forget in the run up to 2002. armagh were playing challanges regulary in secret when they could have thousands at the games all willing to pay to watch the game.  then they crying poverty and yapping at clubs for money stupidly. especially when the county players were not available to their own clubs. county teams with huge support shouldnt be hammering clubs for money. thats the money i give my club to make sure my kids get sport not to pay for w**ker carter
Post by: rrhf on April 09, 2013, 10:33:07 PM
Are the wheels are about to come off the Armagh Wagon?
Post by: lawnseed on April 09, 2013, 10:59:22 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 09, 2013, 10:33:07 PM
Are the wheels are about to come off the Armagh Wagon?
he'll not be rocking me mama
Post by: rrhf on April 09, 2013, 11:02:25 PM
I reckon he would fill Healy Park in Omagh.   
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2013, 11:12:56 PM
QuoteAre the wheels are about to come off the Armagh Wagon?

Superstar Nathan will be including "Three wheels on my wagon" in his repertoire.
Post by: lawnseed on April 09, 2013, 11:19:24 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 09, 2013, 11:12:56 PM

Superstar Nathan will be including "Three wheels on my wagon" in his repertoire.

i'd pay good money to see c mc keever drop kick hugo over the bar or fist him into the net
Post by: qubdub on April 09, 2013, 11:50:38 PM
He seems popular though. Armagh is full of cowboys surely he'll be a hit.
Post by: ranch on April 09, 2013, 11:59:13 PM
Quote from: qubdub on April 09, 2013, 11:50:38 PM

Yeah that's why tickets are being forced on clubs.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2013, 12:04:12 AM
Quote from: ranch on April 09, 2013, 11:59:13 PM

How many tickets are sold for it ?
Post by: ranch on April 10, 2013, 12:19:56 AM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2013, 12:04:12 AM
Quote from: ranch on April 09, 2013, 11:59:13 PM

How many tickets are sold for it ?

The numbers haven't been released so far for some reason.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 10, 2013, 01:36:01 AM
Quote from: ranch on April 09, 2013, 04:03:10 PM
Quote from: Mont on April 09, 2013, 01:45:44 PM

Nope, it's true alright.
My understanding is that the ECB used this very example when justifying the terms of its bailout to the Cypriot Government
Post by: LeoMc on April 10, 2013, 09:44:36 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on April 09, 2013, 11:19:24 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 09, 2013, 11:12:56 PM

i'd pay good money to see c mc keever drop kick hugo over the bar or fist him into the net

You must have a very disturbing video collection :P
Post by: bennydorano on April 10, 2013, 10:11:17 AM
Co Board has always been fond of the forced sale, it's nothing new, can remember it happening with no sale / no return match tickets, the County Year Book, seats & tables @ functions. The great unwashed hasn't a clue what goes on.
Post by: lawnseed on April 10, 2013, 09:00:35 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 10, 2013, 10:11:17 AM
Co Board has always been fond of the forced sale, it's nothing new, can remember it happening with no sale / no return match tickets, the County Year Book, seats & tables @ functions. The great unwashed hasn't a clue what goes on.
+1 fukers sent our club tickets to a function that nobody wanted to go to then demanded the money. then there was the county training fund all clubs had to pay the same amount regardless of how many members were in the club. armagh county team were pulling 25000 every time they togged out and we had about 150 club members/parents and they wanted £5000 :o :o :o
Post by: stew on April 10, 2013, 09:25:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 09, 2013, 03:19:58 PM
QuoteTook a nosy at the dates on his website and came across a list of his singles, of which one is named "Tequilla makes her clothes fall off"

Tequilla does this, it can also be used to remove makeup.

That was stolen from an American artist but I think they sang about whiskey having the same effect.

Hire McGowan and ye could fill the place three times over!
Post by: Applesisapples on April 12, 2013, 11:17:10 AM
I heard from a mate the Donegal county Board got fined for a similar thing by Croke Park. There is no way in god's creation that they can force clubs to pay for these tickets. What surprises me is that this has not be headlined in the Irish News or that more clubs are not complaining.
Post by: lawnseed on April 21, 2013, 08:52:18 AM
seems to have gone well? some good reports..?? anyone at it
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 21, 2013, 09:59:50 AM
Official attendance was 3,453. Not sure what they were expecting. Would you get 5000 in the stand?
Post by: orangeman on April 21, 2013, 10:05:36 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 21, 2013, 09:59:50 AM
Official attendance was 3,453. Not sure what they were expecting. Would you get 5000 in the stand?

Good turnout. Tidy wee profit I am sure.

Inspired move by the county board. Everybody will be happy now.
Post by: The Gs Man on April 21, 2013, 03:01:19 PM
Just to get something straight.  This asshole Carter has went and taken one of the best songs of the last 10 years, (Wagon Wheel by Old Crow Medicine Show, with a part of the chorus actually written by Bob Dylan) and f**king annihilated it.  He deserves a fart in the mouth.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 21, 2013, 08:12:34 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 21, 2013, 10:05:36 AM

Under what criteria would that be considered a good turnout for a stadium gig?!
Also, it would be interesting to see how many of those 3,453 in attendance bought tickets... and what size the comps/guest list was.
Post by: T Fearon on April 21, 2013, 08:18:37 PM
Certainly if even 3000 bought tickets thats £60k income, and deducting artist fee and other costs should lesve a tudy enough profit for the County Board
Post by: ranch on April 21, 2013, 08:34:33 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 21, 2013, 08:12:34 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 21, 2013, 10:05:36 AM

Under what criteria would that be considered a good turnout for a stadium gig?!
Also, it would be interesting to see how many of those 3,453 in attendance bought tickets... and what size the comps/guest list was.

If you go on to the Armagh website it shows some pics from it. The way they designed the layout it makes it look like a good crowd were there. I was opposed to the idea originally, and I think the county board themselves realised early on how they would struggle to sell as many as they had planned.
Post by: T Fearon on April 21, 2013, 09:31:41 PM
Good enough idea but the wrong artist.Then again which artist would attract 10, 000 plus to a GAA stadium like the Athletic Grounds without exorbitant ticket prices?
Post by: JUst retired on April 22, 2013, 11:28:04 AM
Ranch,there were only 300 people there but we kept moving them around to give the impression of a crowd.  good idea or what. :)
Post by: snoopdog on April 22, 2013, 05:26:07 PM
now i know where my devil worshipping i mean country and western loving cousins were on saturday night.  ;D
Post by: ranch on April 22, 2013, 05:36:25 PM
Quote from: JUst retired on April 22, 2013, 11:28:04 AM
Ranch,there were only 300 people there but we kept moving them around to give the impression of a crowd.  good idea or what. :)

You can't deny that originally the county board thought they'd be selling 10,000 + tickets.
Post by: JUst retired on April 23, 2013, 08:52:55 AM
Ranch. I can deny it because it was always planned to set up the stage etc. the way it was. To set up any other way would not have been possible. They hoped for about 4000 ticket sales. For a first venture in this type  of thing I thought it went very well. The sales of merchandise, drink and food also went very well. You will find other counties following our lead.
Next year onwards and upwards. 8)
Post by: thejuice on April 23, 2013, 10:02:47 AM
I just hope Meath CB don't get any ideas. I often accuse them of not doing anything but now I realise thats when they do the least amount of damage.  :(

I can already hear the names Mary Duff and Johnny Logan being tossed around the their heads.
Post by: LeoMc on April 23, 2013, 10:25:13 AM
Quote from: thejuice on April 23, 2013, 10:02:47 AM
I just hope Meath CB don't get any ideas. I often accuse them of not doing anything but now I realise thats when they do the least amount of damage.  :(

I can already hear the names Mary Duff and Johnny Logan being tossed around the their heads.

We will send Philomena and Hugo down.
Justice Revenge for 96.
Post by: johnneycool on April 23, 2013, 11:53:56 AM
Quote from: JUst retired on April 23, 2013, 08:52:55 AM
Ranch. I can deny it because it was always planned to set up the stage etc. the way it was. To set up any other way would not have been possible. They hoped for about 4000 ticket sales. For a first venture in this type  of thing I thought it went very well. The sales of merchandise, drink and food also went very well. You will find other counties following our lead.

I'm almost certain Waterford County board did something similar a couple of years ago and got stung financially, so it's not without its pitfalls.

Post by: deiseach on April 23, 2013, 11:57:02 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on April 23, 2013, 11:53:56 AM
I'm almost certain Waterford County board did something similar a couple of years ago and got stung financially, so it's not without its pitfalls.

Yeah, they tried to establish a festival of sorts in Dungarvan with Jedward (!) as the lead act. A crowd of 3,500 would have been a tremendous success.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 23, 2013, 03:23:56 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 21, 2013, 03:01:19 PM
Just to get something straight.  This asshole Carter has went and taken one of the best songs of the last 10 years, (Wagon Wheel by Old Crow Medicine Show, with a part of the chorus actually written by Bob Dylan) and f**king annihilated it.  He deserves a fart in the mouth.
Couldn't agree more, well said.
Post by: ranch on April 23, 2013, 04:30:46 PM
Quote from: JUst retired on April 23, 2013, 08:52:55 AM

Nathan Carter? Yeah inspired choice.

I'll bow to your superior knowledge regarding the set up, I've clearly been misinformed.
Also, is it true that the clubs had to fork out for any tickets they failed to sell?
Post by: Maguire01 on April 23, 2013, 06:07:15 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 21, 2013, 08:18:37 PM
Certainly if even 3000 bought tickets thats £60k income, and deducting artist fee and other costs should lesve a tudy enough profit for the County Board
And looking at the set-up, they didn't spend a fortune.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 23, 2013, 07:49:47 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 23, 2013, 06:07:15 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 21, 2013, 08:18:37 PM
And looking at the set-up, they didn't spend a fortune.
I detect that falls short of a compliment!

I thought it was daft but as it appears they only opened the stand (capacity ~5000) with "the entertainment" on the field then 3,500 would seem reasonable. Like any GAA event there were probably hundreds that got free tickets.
Post by: balladmaker on April 23, 2013, 08:18:05 PM
This is what I'd call a great crowd at a gig in a GAA stadium ... 40,000 at Siamsa in Pairc Ui Chaoimh ... ah the 80's ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tX-OrFPoOSw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tX-OrFPoOSw)
Post by: Hardy on April 24, 2013, 05:53:47 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on April 23, 2013, 08:18:05 PM
This is what I'd call a great crowd at a gig in a GAA stadium ... 40,000 at Siamsa in Pairc Ui Chaoimh ... ah the 80's ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tX-OrFPoOSw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tX-OrFPoOSw)

Aaaargh! Worse than being Rick-Rolled.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 24, 2013, 06:07:31 PM
This is a bit more like it:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1RdZEGteUrk