GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on January 27, 2013, 10:23:23 PM

Title: Laois v Armagh, NFL Div 2, Round 1, Sat 2nd February
Post by: BennyCake on January 27, 2013, 10:23:23 PM
Hoping to head down to the match next weekend. Mustn't forget to bring my Union Fleg  ;D

Anyway, what's to do in Portlaoise? And how often is there a train to and from Dublin?
Title: Re: Laois v Armagh, NFL Div 2, Round 1, Sat 2nd February
Post by: laoislad on January 27, 2013, 10:55:03 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 27, 2013, 10:23:23 PM
Hoping to head down to the match next weekend. Mustn't forget to bring my Union Fleg  ;D

Anyway, what's to do in Portlaoise? And how often is there a train to and from Dublin?

Very little.

Billy Sheehan looking forward to this game.
Post by: T Fearon on January 28, 2013, 09:56:43 AM
I reckon we should bring Willie Frazer down to Port Laois with us on Saturday. He's from Armagh after all, and if ever the rights of British Citizens were denigrated, it was in this location last March, and shame on the GAA for their failure to prosecute those responsible!
Post by: T Fearon on January 28, 2013, 09:58:12 AM
I'll even buy him a couple of horsemeat burgers! ;D
Post by: Applesisapples on January 28, 2013, 10:32:52 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 28, 2013, 09:58:12 AM
I'll even buy him a couple of horsemeat burgers! ;D
From your mates in the 'RA?
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 05:34:55 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 28, 2013, 09:56:43 AM
I reckon we should bring Willie Frazer down to Port Laois with us on Saturday. He's from Armagh after all, and if ever the rights of British Citizens were denigrated, it was in this location last March, and shame on the GAA for their failure to prosecute those responsible!
Portlaoise.
Post by: armaghniac on January 28, 2013, 05:57:37 PM
This group of young Cullyhanna residents are getting their flegs out for the trip to Maryborough.
(http://s3.jrnl.ie/media/2012/12/belfast-city-hall-flag-debate-14-390x285.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 06:38:13 PM
Will both anthems be played before the game?
Post by: armaghniac on January 28, 2013, 06:48:56 PM
QuoteWill both anthems be played before the game?

Armagh has adopted "By the shores of Lough Neagh" to the tune of "Oben am jungen Rhein (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpgWVdDgVSg)".
Post by: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 07:15:16 PM
Couple of great wee bars in portlaoise. Down there for the royal rumble between the derrytresk kneecapers and the dromaird bashers. We stayed in abbeyleix so I suppose anywhere is better than that place!!!

Crossmaglen

And in Crossmaglen wee Willie drives through
The Union Jack will never fly
And when ye jear wee Willie crying
Itll be those fighting men from Crossmaglen
Post by: theticklemister on January 28, 2013, 07:17:58 PM
Its my own british home, far across the foam
Where often times i've left, to belfast I did roam,
No matter where we wander, throughout the union near or far
My fleg is at home in the old border, in the unionist county of armagh
Post by: Armamike on January 28, 2013, 09:42:41 PM
Hopefully Laois will behave themselves better this time. 
Post by: laoislad on January 28, 2013, 09:46:29 PM
Quote from: Armamike on January 28, 2013, 09:42:41 PM
Hopefully Laois will behave themselves better this time.
Hopefully your lot won't be as sensitive this time. :)
Post by: LCohen on January 29, 2013, 05:29:42 PM
No doubt there will be a bit of banter in the crowd but hopefully it will be limited to the friendly variety.

The game is likely to need a strong ref. Rory Hickey was poor in the AI club final and needs to be better
Post by: theticklemister on January 29, 2013, 08:44:59 PM
Leave poor Ciaran McKeever alone ya lousy hoors!!
Post by: Orior on January 29, 2013, 09:59:14 PM
Armagh team v Laois:

1. Philip McAvoy. – Dromintee
2. Mark Shields. – Whitecross
3. James Donnelly – Killeavy
4. Gary McCooey – St. Patrick's
5. Kevin Dyas. – Dromintee
6. Ciaran McKeever – St. Patrick's
7. Finnian Moriarty – Wolfe Tones
8. Kieran Toner. – Granemore
9. James Lavery. – Maghery
10. Caolan Rafferty. – Granemore
11. Aidan Forker. – Maghery
12. Ethan Rafferty. – Grange
13. Gavin McParland – Ballymacnab
14. Stefan Forker. – Maghery
15. Brian Mallon. – Tir Na nOg
Post by: naka on January 29, 2013, 10:05:30 PM
Disappointed that Harold nor loughran start.
Post by: rrhf on January 29, 2013, 10:49:29 PM
Can we keep the mouthin to a minimum lads
Post by: DuffleKing on January 29, 2013, 10:50:02 PM
Both were poor in the McKenna cup outings. That's being kind with the Newry performances too

Much more experienced looking team than I anticipated
Post by: laoislad on January 29, 2013, 11:11:11 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 29, 2013, 09:59:14 PM
Armagh(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg) v Laois(http://www.wavebob.com/wp-content/themes/wavebob-theme/images/irish_flag.gif)

1. Philip McAvoy. – Dromintee(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
2. Mark Shields. – Whitecross(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
3. James Donnelly – Killeavy(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
4. Gary McCooey – St. Patrick's(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
5. Kevin Dyas. – Dromintee(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
6. Ciaran McKeever – St. Patrick's(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
7. Finnian Moriarty – Wolfe Tones(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
8. Kieran Toner. – Granemore(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
9. James Lavery. – Maghery(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
10. Caolan Rafferty. – Granemore(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
11. Aidan Forker. – Maghery(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
12. Ethan Rafferty. – Grange(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
13. Gavin McParland – Ballymacnab(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
14. Stefan Forker. – Maghery(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
15. Brian Mallon. – Tir Na nOg(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)

No Laois team news yet.
Post by: Orior on January 29, 2013, 11:18:21 PM
Very good Laoislad.

This might be Armagh's only win of the campaign. On the other hand...

Last year we were playing well away from home. On the other hand...

Recently our defence have been shipping a lot of goals. On the other hand...

Oh I've no idea who will win, but the pessimist in me says a big win for Queens County.
Post by: lawnseed on January 29, 2013, 11:24:55 PM
i was offered a bet today.. dont eat me but this lad is willing to bet that grimley will not win one competitive match with armagh this year.. and hes an armagh man!
Post by: The Boy Wonder on January 29, 2013, 11:31:40 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 29, 2013, 10:49:29 PM
Can we keep the mouthin to a minimum lads

Ah there'll be no hassle this time - I believe Ciaran is bringing his Mammy  :D

Oh dammit - just see it's Meet the Forkers  :(
Post by: naka on January 30, 2013, 08:22:09 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on January 29, 2013, 10:50:02 PM
Both were poor in the McKenna cup outings. That's being kind with the Newry performances too

Much more experienced looking team than I anticipated
Thought loughran did nothing wrong in newry and Harold was decent enough against Cavan so will disagree there duffleking
Hopefully a decent performance .
Post by: regal on January 30, 2013, 09:16:25 AM
From an Armagh point of view the lack of experience in the full back line would be a worry (all 3 making their league debut). Plenty of experience in the half back line, Toner should dominiate the midfield and it's great to see plenty of natural attacking flair in the forwards. Fairly optimistic about Sunday.

Post by: Onion Bag on January 30, 2013, 12:27:01 PM
Quote from: regal on January 30, 2013, 09:16:25 AM
From an Armagh point of view the lack of experience in the full back line would be a worry (all 3 making their league debut). Plenty of experience in the half back line, Toner should dominiate the midfield and it's great to see plenty of natural attacking flair in the forwards. Fairly optimistic about Sunday.

The match is on Saturday evening Regal @ 07:00pm
Post by: laoislad on January 30, 2013, 12:39:35 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 30, 2013, 12:27:01 PM
Quote from: regal on January 30, 2013, 09:16:25 AM

The match is on Saturday evening Regal @ 07:00pm

What is it with you Armagh folk and getting your dates mixed up ;)
Post by: BennyCake on January 30, 2013, 05:14:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 29, 2013, 11:11:11 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 29, 2013, 09:59:14 PM
Armagh(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg) v Laois(http://www.wavebob.com/wp-content/themes/wavebob-theme/images/irish_flag.gif)

1. Philip McAvoy. – Dromintee(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
2. Mark Shields. – Whitecross(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
3. James Donnelly – Killeavy(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
4. Gary McCooey – St. Patrick's(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
5. Kevin Dyas. – Dromintee(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
6. Ciaran McKeever – St. Patrick's(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
7. Finnian Moriarty – Wolfe Tones(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
8. Kieran Toner. – Granemore(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
9. James Lavery. – Maghery(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
10. Caolan Rafferty. – Granemore(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
11. Aidan Forker. – Maghery(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
12. Ethan Rafferty. – Grange(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
13. Gavin McParland – Ballymacnab(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
14. Stefan Forker. – Maghery(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)
15. Brian Mallon. – Tir Na nOg(http://www.steppingstones.co.za/images/union_jack_small.jpg)

No Laois team news yet.

Says he with a British soccer player as his avatar  ::)
Post by: armaghniac on January 30, 2013, 05:24:48 PM
QuoteWhat is it with you Armagh folk and getting your dates mixed up

Getting your dates mixed up is still better than getting your wires crossed.
Post by: stew on January 30, 2013, 07:41:23 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 29, 2013, 11:24:55 PM
I was offered a bet today.. dont eat me but this lad is willing to bet that grimley will not win one competitive match with armagh this year.. and hes an armagh man!

Give me that lads number, I have a bridge I want to sell him!

The man is clueless!
Post by: Orior on January 30, 2013, 09:06:56 PM
Might need to pin this thread to the top until June.
Post by: illdecide on January 30, 2013, 11:49:37 PM
What other players is missing from Armagh bar the Cross lads?. I fear another short summer ahead but hope i'm wrong as that team just doesn't get me all excited. Maybe some of them young lads will step up to the plate and things might not be so bad :-\
Post by: BennyCake on January 30, 2013, 11:56:05 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 30, 2013, 11:49:37 PM
What other players is missing from Armagh bar the Cross lads?. I fear another short summer ahead but hope i'm wrong as that team just doesn't get me all excited. Maybe some of them young lads will step up to the plate and things might not be so bad :-\

I hear you. I'm not expecting big things this year from us. But I hope I'm wrong.

Donaghy, Vernon to come back yet.
Post by: illdecide on January 30, 2013, 11:58:56 PM
has Andy Mallon packed it in?
Post by: BennyCake on January 31, 2013, 12:13:00 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 30, 2013, 11:58:56 PM
has Andy Mallon packed it in?

He's living and working in Dublin. Grimley didn't include him in the panel, but he may return.
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2013, 06:30:30 PM
Anyone know how to get to O'Moore Park from Portlaoise train station? And how far is it?
Post by: armaghniac on February 01, 2013, 06:46:10 PM
Google says it takes 17 minutes to walk (https://maps.google.ie/maps?saddr=Station+Road&daddr=Old+Knockmay+Road&hl=en&sll=53.028955,-7.294579&sspn=0.022248,0.038366&geocode=FRJGKQMdjJeQ_w%3BFfMgKQMd4pKQ_w&mra=mift&mrsp=1&sz=15&t=m&z=15)
Post by: rrhf on February 01, 2013, 10:19:59 PM
Is Billy Sheeman playing for Laois.  That should spice it up...
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2013, 10:46:52 PM
Quote from: rrhf on February 01, 2013, 10:19:59 PM

Well now, I don't think this match is the place for that sort of thing  ;D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 01, 2013, 11:11:48 PM
Quote from: rrhf on February 01, 2013, 10:19:59 PM

Will you Tyronies leave the Kerry lads alone?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2013, 11:52:32 PM
Jesus. I've never come across such pessimism as I've seen from the Ard Mhachians on this thread!
Post by: theticklemister on February 02, 2013, 12:32:28 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2013, 11:52:32 PM
Jesus. I've never come across such pessimism as I've seen from the Ard Mhachians on this thread!

I think even Derry have more optimists!!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 02, 2013, 12:57:39 AM

There's simply very little to be positive about. We've lost 8 of our last nine matches, replaced a floundering manager with a selection of the previous two regimes and enter into Saturday's match without our star forward, missing our best corner back, full back and arguably also our most talented midfielder. We field without a recognised man marker in the starting XV.

That said, 15/8 about an Armagh victory is probably big enough.
Post by: stew on February 02, 2013, 01:17:42 AM

If you set your expectations low enough ye will never be disappointed!

I am optimistic about this game, Grimley is a winner, he will have us winning games this year.

I for one am really excited about the real football starting, C'mon Armagh.
Post by: Oraisteach on February 02, 2013, 05:27:13 AM
Anyone know what radio is covering the game?  Thanks.  C'mon the Forkers.
Post by: Armaghgael on February 02, 2013, 12:16:29 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 02, 2013, 12:57:39 AM

There's simply very little to be positive about. We've lost 8 of our last nine matches, replaced a floundering manager with a selection of the previous two regimes and enter into Saturday's match without our star forward, missing our best corner back, full back and arguably also our most talented midfielder. We field without a recognised man marker in the starting XV.

Who`s that?
Post by: regal on February 02, 2013, 01:01:12 PM
Quote from: Armaghgael on February 02, 2013, 12:16:29 PM

Who`s that?

It must be a Paul McGrane comeback?
Post by: Armaghgael on February 02, 2013, 01:18:53 PM
Quote from: regal on February 02, 2013, 01:01:12 PM

Who`s that?

Thought the same myself
Post by: Onion Bag on February 02, 2013, 01:22:09 PM
This game being streamed?
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 02, 2013, 07:38:04 PM
http://www.midlands103.com/custom/api/radio.player.php
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2013, 07:43:51 PM
Armagh haven't much of a plan here. Laois pack their half and Armagh haven't many ideas to get through.
Post by: Onion Bag on February 02, 2013, 07:48:18 PM
Is there a strong wind? Or Armagh just playing shite
Half time
Laois 0-13
Armagh 0-4
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 02, 2013, 07:50:24 PM
Isn't Grimley the saviour of Armagh football?

Crossmaglens success is costing Armagh dearly, surely they have to make their players available for selection???
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2013, 07:51:59 PM
Quote from: Armaghgael on February 02, 2013, 01:18:53 PM

Who`s that?

Thought the same myself

Malachy Mackin
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 02, 2013, 07:52:34 PM
Armagh must be playing shite. Apparently being cleaned out by Laois MF... Ours 'can't run' according to Laois radio station covering it.

It's games like this where you miss Mal Mackin and Charlie Vernon, for all their faults.
Post by: regal on February 02, 2013, 07:53:47 PM
9 down at half time..... perhaps this is just part of the plan - armagh are 22/1 to win with PP!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2013, 07:58:44 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on February 02, 2013, 07:50:24 PM

Crossmaglens success is costing Armagh dearly, surely they have to make their players available for selection???

When the county management had them last year they started 2 players.  We are always told that Cross have a strong club 15 but a lot of them are not good enough for the county.  The reality is that PG would only have started 2 maybe 3 Cross players  if they were available.  Easy to have a ready made excuse for the others.
Post by: our_fella on February 02, 2013, 08:01:02 PM
3 points in 2 minutes for armagh
Post by: our_fella on February 02, 2013, 08:04:17 PM
6 points in it now
Post by: our_fella on February 02, 2013, 08:05:36 PM
GOAAAAAAAAAAL!

Brian Mallon.... 3 in it now
Post by: regal on February 02, 2013, 08:28:23 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2013, 07:58:44 PM

When the county management had them last year they started 2 players.  We are always told that Cross have a strong club 15 but a lot of them are not good enough for the county.  The reality is that PG would only have started 2 maybe 3 Cross players  if they were available.  Easy to have a ready made excuse for the others.

I believe James Morgan was injured last year. Most armagh supporters would have at least morgan, akernan, hanratty and jclarke in the first 15 but it has to work both ways, not just crossmaglen's way. How will we know whether cunningham, mckeown and others are good enough for senior championship unless they are available for more than the last league game. I think Morgan is exceptional and has already proved he is ready for the first 15.
Post by: our_fella on February 02, 2013, 08:35:55 PM
Anyone hear that wan*er on the radio.. "Ciaran McKeever is the most over-rated player in Ireland"... Ars*hole!
Post by: laoislad on February 02, 2013, 08:37:42 PM
Pretty comfortable win. Pity we let them back into a small bit and took the shine off the scoreboard.
No score is too big to be beating these Nordies by.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2013, 08:47:14 PM
Quote from: regal on February 02, 2013, 08:28:23 PM

I believe James Morgan was injured last year. Most armagh supporters would have at least morgan, akernan, hanratty and jclarke in the first 15 but it has to work both ways, not just crossmaglen's way. How will we know whether cunningham, mckeown and others are good enough for senior championship unless they are available for more than the last league game. I think Morgan is exceptional and has already proved he is ready for the first 15.

regal, you are correct but the reality is that the county management have not given Cross players opportunities even when they were available.  Case in point is Paul McKeown. He was available to play in the league a few years back against Cork down in Cork.  The lad had won the AI and came to training the next available night.  He was told by the management that he would be starting and to be ready for the game, he wasn't even handed a jersey and hasn't played since.  This is a small example of the treatment. There was an incident last year that I will not go into detail about less I be accused of stirring the pot where a player were ridiculed by a member of the management set up.If people question why Cross players are not available this singular event encapsulates it completely.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 02, 2013, 08:47:40 PM
Not ideal start for Armagh still plenty of points to play for and probably beaten by the eventual Div 2 winners.
Post by: Onion Bag on February 02, 2013, 08:56:45 PM
Can we take any positives from the game lads? Anyone play well? How about the new lads?
Post by: laoislad on February 02, 2013, 09:04:06 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on February 02, 2013, 08:56:45 PM
Can we take any positives from the game lads?
No one sang GSTQ to ye this time.
Post by: ardchieftain on February 02, 2013, 09:30:13 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2013, 08:47:14 PM

regal, you are correct but the reality is that the county management have not given Cross players opportunities even when they were available.  Case in point is Paul McKeown. He was available to play in the league a few years back against Cork down in Cork.  The lad had won the AI and came to training the next available night.  He was told by the management that he would be starting and to be ready for the game, he wasn't even handed a jersey and hasn't played since.  This is a small example of the treatment. There was an incident last year that I will not go into detail about less I be accused of stirring the pot where a player were ridiculed by a member of the management set up.If people question why Cross players are not available this singular event encapsulates it completely.

Bcb, that treatment of McKeown and the ridicule of the other lad is disgraceful but this is a new management team. Wariness is understandable but i feel that the future success of our County team must include the Crossmaglen players being available for the league. Players like McKeown, Morgan, Mckenna, Hanratty and Paul kernan need to perform well in the National League so they can nail down the starting jersey come championship time. All those players are more than capable of making the first 15.
I digress, we're getting into this old chestnut again.

Arrived home just as the game ended so obviously can't comment. Disappointing result , just like every defeat really, but can anyone tell me who performed well, or poorly etc
Post by: The Boy Wonder on February 02, 2013, 10:04:54 PM
If Billy Sheehan did anything to upset  Armagh last year he certainly atoned tonight - twice clean through on goal and he sportingly opted to fist the ball over the bar  ;)
But seriously, Armagh did come close to making a grandstand finish - they shot a couple of bad wides when the gap was down to 3. At the other end Laois kicked some very bad wides too before wrapping it up.

Post by: ck on February 02, 2013, 10:08:07 PM
Missing Crossmaglen players is an easy out. Armagh still have access to enough players to make a challenge. The reality is that Mr.Grimley was part of a set up that was deemed a failure 6 short months ago yet he is appointed manager. Will Armagh wake up and smell the coffee? Some counties just get what they wish for
Post by: BennyCake on February 02, 2013, 10:10:22 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 02, 2013, 09:04:06 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on February 02, 2013, 08:56:45 PM
Can we take any positives from the game lads?
No one sang GSTQ to ye this time.

Get back in your hole, Queen's County lad  ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2013, 10:11:16 PM
That's a good result.

Second relegation spot now between Wexford and Westmeath.
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2013, 10:19:08 PM
QuoteBut seriously, Armagh did come close to making a grandstand finish - they shot a couple of bad wides when the gap was down to 3.

Last year Armagh shooting at this venue wasn't great, and they had some bad wides this evening also. Had they got one or two of these it might have created a competitive finish.

But we won't win much if the opposition score 20 points, even if we do take our scores.

As for the Cross' issue, Cross is one club, 97% of Armagh isn't in Cross and it should be possible to build a decent team from that.
Post by: regal on February 02, 2013, 10:49:13 PM

I'm not close enough to the set up to know all the ins and outs. The treatment of mckeown, as you point out, is rediculous and unacceptable. I'm not sure if grimley was involved in last years incident but I hope to god he wasn't. Whilst I realise grimley was part of the last management, I think he deserves his chance and the the county needs to get behind him in unity otherwise we will all suffer
Post by: Ulick on February 02, 2013, 11:44:14 PM
Quote from: ck on February 02, 2013, 10:08:07 PM
Missing Crossmaglen players is an easy out. Armagh still have access to enough players to make a challenge. The reality is that Mr.Grimley was part of a set up that was deemed a failure 6 short months ago yet he is appointed manager.

That's the bit that I still don't get.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 02, 2013, 11:50:41 PM

Don't know anything about the situations you raise obviously bcb but I would make one point on this. If I was on the panel from November training hard and another player of a similar level came straight into the team at the end of March ahead of me, without earning the place ahead of me in the pecking order, I would be seriously pissed. Better than most you should know that this is not how you mould a team. Asking players to accept the above approach without resentment might work if the Club champions' players were making some effort in the other direction to be a part of the set up earlier in the year.
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2013, 12:06:18 AM
Completely nondescript performance,after a bright opening ten minutes,with not one Armagh player worthy of mention.

Feared a real hammering at half time and the fact that I left relieved only to have been beaten by 7 says it all about a thoroughly depressing night.All Mr Grimley seemed interested in doing was chastising the linesman.

Only bright spot was the size of the Armagh travelling support.Is there a bigger more loyal core fan base anywhere else?
Post by: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 01:31:12 AM
Poor enough night. Armagh's lack of a mobile midfield and the lack of leadership from senior players when things were going against them in the first half are the most worrying things from an Armagh perspective. The performance of young Ethan Rafferty is a positive. Although Laois were the better team I thought a 3 or 4 point difference would be a better overall reflection of the match.

The antics the Billy Sheehan in the first five minutes reflect badly IMHO on him, McNulty and Laois.
Post by: ck on February 03, 2013, 01:45:18 AM
What did Billy Sheehan do?
Whatever it is I'm sure it'll be nothing new, he's at it most games. A very unsporting player, many would call him allot worse
Post by: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 02:14:53 AM
Given the history from last years game most players and managers would have tried to keep things low key to avoid any further controversy but not Mr. Sheehan. Obviously on his a managers instructions he moved at the start of the game from wing forward to centre forward to be marked by McKeever. For the next five minutes or so rather than play football he decided the best course of action was to face down McKeever constantly shouldering him in the chest, standing on his toes and whispering sweet nothings to him. McKeever for his part was quite obviously trying not to react and stood with arms outstretched appealing to the referee and linesman to do something. When nothing was done and Sheehan realised he had free reign he continued. The tactic quite obviously worked as McKeever had one of his poorer games for Armagh. I am sure many will think this is fair game as is evidenced by Laois radio commentators suggesting McKeever is over rated. However, it is my opinion that after the comments our president made on sledging and the problems encountered in the same match last year that these tactics were out of order. Many in Armagh are of the opinion that this game was played on a Saturday night at the start of the league in Laois, when they also met in Laois last year, was just to get the game out of the way with as little controversy as possible. If Armagh get a chance to meet Laois later in the summer I have no doubt that Laois and Billy Sheehan will see that McKeever is far from over rated.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on February 03, 2013, 11:40:15 AM
Maybe Billy felt he got a raw deal last year - after all none of the allegations were proven. He certainly was animated after kicking his last point and gesticulating at the Armagh support. I'd agree that his face-on shoving of McKeever was provocative and linesman or referee should act to cut out this type of behaviour.
Post by: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 11:42:16 AM
Do Armagh have no stories to tell the press this year? No racial abuse? I'm not Billy's biggest fan but he was man of the match yesterday. In the first few minutes he gave away possession with a bad solo which was met with huge cheers and cat calls from the Armagh support, after that Billy went on to destroy McKeever and score 3 great points.
I hope Armagh and McKeever have learnt their lesson, don't invent stories and run to the papers. It can damage a players reputation and he wont forget it.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2013, 11:51:05 AM
An unlikely rivalry developing, Armagh v Laois.
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2013, 11:55:09 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 29, 2013, 11:24:55 PM
i was offered a bet today.. dont eat me but this lad is willing to bet that grimley will not win one competitive match with armagh this year.. and hes an armagh man!

emmmm...? if i were a gambler
Post by: Armaghgael on February 03, 2013, 12:03:23 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 02, 2013, 07:51:59 PM

Who`s that?

Thought the same myself

Malachy Mackin

::) ::) ::) That has brightened up my day after last night 
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2013, 12:58:08 PM
Good day for Mc Nultys Bros Ltd yesterday,as Enda is part of the Irish rugby back room team and apparently managed to convince the boys they were the All Blacks yesterday,well for the first half in Cardiff anyway.
Post by: David McKeown on February 03, 2013, 02:07:01 PM
I thought last nights game was a very strange one, better team in the first 10 minutes of both halfs when Armagh actually looked half decent but then soo unbelievably poor thereafter that we didnt deserve to be within 20 points let alone 10.  The tactics in the first half were poor as it was painfully obvious within 5 minutes that the running from the Laois midfield was destroying us yet nothing was done to counteract this until the 25th minute or so and even then it wasnt overaly effective until there was a change to make McKeever mark space in the second half rather than follow the man which worked wonders and stopped runners coming through but Laois were able to counter this and change tactics much more quickly than Armagh were able to respond. 

The substitutions then were down right bizarre, Armagh conceded 20 scores yesterday yet 4 forwards and a midfielder were subbed and 0 defenders were taken off.  Added to that the forwards that were taken off were taken off at the wrong time just as Armagh had gotten back into the game and the players were starting to get on top.  The substitutions also necessitated a change of game plan to suit the players coming on (Kingham etc) which was strange when the previous style was starting to get Armagh back into the match. It struct as if the substitutions were pre planned and not reactive

All in all a hard game to describe, Armagh showed promise in glimpses but we utterly awful for periods as well.  Mc Nulty seemed a lot better at responding to the the ebb and flow of the game as well than Grimley did. 

Hopefully there will be an improvement from both the team and the management in the upcoming few weeks
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2013, 03:33:55 PM
It could be worse! We could be Meath!
Post by: our_fella on February 03, 2013, 04:24:27 PM
the programme listed the team as follows last night:
1. Geoghegan - was on the bench
2. C McKeown - 3rd choice keeper
3. Mark Sheilds - played at corner back
4. Brian Mallon - played at corner forward
5. Niall Rowland - was on the bench
6. Finian Moriarty - played at wing half back
7. Barry Loughran - was on the bench
8. Ciaran McKeever - played at centre half back
9. Gary McCoey - played at corner back
10. Gavin McParland - played at corner forward
11. Kieran Toner - played at midfield
12. Stephen Harold - was on the bench
13. Peter Carragher - was on the bench
14. Ethan Raffery - played at wing half forward
15. James Lavery - played midfield
this above was the biggest waste of 3 euro i have ever spent. could have wrote it myself!
Post by: bennydorano on February 03, 2013, 04:40:41 PM
The team was named Tues or Wed as well, some lazy hoor has just made that team up.
Post by: laoislad on February 03, 2013, 04:50:43 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 02:14:53 AM
Given the history from last years game most players and managers would have tried to keep things low key to avoid any further controversy but not Mr. Sheehan. Obviously on his a managers instructions he moved at the start of the game from wing forward to centre forward to be marked by McKeever. For the next five minutes or so rather than play football he decided the best course of action was to face down McKeever constantly shouldering him in the chest, standing on his toes and whispering sweet nothings to him. McKeever for his part was quite obviously trying not to react and stood with arms outstretched appealing to the referee and linesman to do something. When nothing was done and Sheehan realised he had free reign he continued. The tactic quite obviously worked as McKeever had one of his poorer games for Armagh. I am sure many will think this is fair game as is evidenced by Laois radio commentators suggesting McKeever is over rated. However, it is my opinion that after the comments our president made on sledging and the problems encountered in the same match last year that these tactics were out of order. Many in Armagh are of the opinion that this game was played on a Saturday night at the start of the league in Laois, when they also met in Laois last year, was just to get the game out of the way with as little controversy as possible. If Armagh get a chance to meet Laois later in the summer I have no doubt that Laois and Billy Sheehan will see that McKeever is far from over rated.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Billy doesn't care.........

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF846/618474.jpg)
Post by: armaghniac on February 03, 2013, 05:09:19 PM
Quote;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I tbink that says everything about the problems in the GAA and in some quarters in particular.
Someone posts about sledging and generally offensive and unwelcome behaviour and so called "fans" make posts with smiley faces approving of it all.
Post by: laoislad on February 03, 2013, 05:15:22 PM
Post by: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 06:30:08 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 03, 2013, 05:09:19 PM
Quote;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I tbink that says everything about the problems in the GAA and in some quarters in particular.
Someone posts about sledging and generally offensive and unwelcome behaviour and so called "fans" make posts with smiley faces approving of it all.

Another Laois poster made similar comments earlier and I decided it was best not to rise to the bait! Have never been fond of Laois since Croke Park in 2005 when I saw a grown man in a Laois jersey squirt his water bottle over a ten year old because he celebrated Stevie McDonnell s coring a goal. This was after about twenty minutes of abuse telling us to xxxx off back to Britain.
Post by: under the bar on February 03, 2013, 07:07:33 PM
Apart from Cavan, would Armagh fans feel confident they would get the better of any other Ulster team come the championship without Jamie Clarke??  Serious question
Post by: stew on February 03, 2013, 07:10:02 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 03, 2013, 06:46:44 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 03, 2013, 04:50:43 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 02:14:53 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF846/618474.jpg)

Would you not just take your victory, without having to be a dick about it. A wannabe Laois man from Kerry
(Billy Sheehan) who called Michael Murphy british last year in a League game last year -  since when was Donegal British?

Says it all about Billy Sheehan and the Laois supporters,who constantly be at that crap.

Although an ugly fcuker billy boy is still better looking than half the wemen in that God forsaken County, ugliest bitches in Ireland that Laois lot.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 03, 2013, 07:14:06 PM

Who`s that?

Thought the same myself

To clarify I was referring to Charlie Vernon. Full strength team at home beats side without around half our likely strongest XV was the moral of last night's story. Ethan Rafferty was a positive, could have added another couple of points to his tally. The defence were under huge pressure given our struggles at midfield but given the circumstances i thought James Donnelly did reasonably well. At least there was a bit of spirit in the second half and this was probably our toughest fixture but I suspect we're unlikely to mount much of a promotion challenge.

As for Mr Sheehan, I'm sure growing up as a young fella in Kerry, his dream was to be able to gesture to a Portlaoise crowd after a couple of points in a run of the mill league match in February.
Post by: laoislad on February 03, 2013, 07:24:50 PM
This is great stuff, but like Laois had it last night a bit too easy.
I'm especially delighted to see that tool stew make an arse of himself.
Post by: armaghniac on February 03, 2013, 07:34:36 PM
QuoteApart from Cavan, would Armagh fans feel confident they would get the better of any other Ulster team come the championship without Jamie Clarke??  Serious question

Jamie Clarke can do wonderful things with the ball, but even he cannot do much if he does not get the ball. So it is not clear that he is the solution to the problem of midfield etc.

I'm sure we'd beat Antrim though.
Post by: theticklemister on February 03, 2013, 07:41:30 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 03, 2013, 07:34:36 PM
QuoteApart from Cavan, would Armagh fans feel confident they would get the better of any other Ulster team come the championship without Jamie Clarke??  Serious question

Jamie Clarke can do wonderful things with the ball, but even he cannot do much if he does not get the ball. So it is not clear that he is the solution to the problem of midfield etc.

I'm sure we'd beat Antrim though.

Play Jamie Clarke at mf to buck.
Dont let hardstation hear ye say that; he is full at the moment singing rebel tunes after todays victory over Cavan who are the best team in Ulster.
Post by: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 07:53:07 PM
Armagh fans obviously don't take defeat too well. I always used to think they were decent supporters but that was back when they used to beat us.
No matter what you think of Billy, it's still an amatuer sport. He has a day job to go to and the story last year did him no favours. Can you blame him for celebrating at the end especially with Armagh fans jeering him and shouting abuse?
Post by: theticklemister on February 03, 2013, 08:03:18 PM
What did big bad Billy actually do?
Post by: laoislad on February 03, 2013, 08:07:56 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 03, 2013, 08:03:18 PM
What did big bad Billy actually do?

He put McKeever in his back pocket.
Post by: BennyCake on February 03, 2013, 08:09:54 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 07:53:07 PM
Armagh fans obviously don't take defeat too well. I always used to think they were decent supporters but that was back when they used to beat us.
No matter what you think of Billy, it's still an amatuer sport. He has a day job to go to and the story last year did him no favours. Can you blame him for celebrating at the end especially with Armagh fans jeering him and shouting abuse?

There was no abuse directed towards Billy Sheehan or any other Laois player, from any Armagh fan last night. In fact, the game was a very sporting contest.
Post by: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 08:31:36 PM
Oh the game was a very sporting contest but there was some vicious abuse thrown at Billy, some Armagh fans really let themselves down especially with plenty of kids around to hear what they were shouting.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 03, 2013, 08:39:46 PM
Can armagh posters stop whining and moaning please - its embarrassing.

Laois were thoroughly the better team last night, they played within the same set of rules as us and billy Sheehan was the best player on the pitch.

We had long enough on top of laois. Time for us to shut up and take our medicine. It'd be more in our line to learn from our opponents how to play on the wire, how to attack and defend as a unit and how not to leave three debutant full backs isolated and unprotected
Post by: stew on February 03, 2013, 09:00:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 03, 2013, 07:24:50 PM
This is great stuff, but like Laois had it last night a bit too easy.
I'm especially delighted to see that tool stew make an arse of himself.

Hardly, I simply stated fact tis all.

As for you trying to get a rise out of us............................. ::)
Post by: stew on February 03, 2013, 09:02:19 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 03, 2013, 08:39:46 PM

Laois were thoroughly the better team last night, they played within the same set of rules as us and billy Sheehan was the best player on the pitch.

We had long enough on top of laois. Time for us to shut up and take our medicine. It'd be more in our line to learn from our opponents how to play on the wire, how to attack and defend as a unit and how not to leave three debutant full backs isolated and unprotected

Good post DK.
Post by: stew on February 03, 2013, 09:08:50 PM

He is hardly an amateur at doling out abuse out now is he.

I cant blame him for celebrating though, there is bad blood between him and Armagh, he knows the reason why well enough!
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2013, 09:10:16 PM
I didn't hear any abuse directed at Billy,there was a bit directed at the referee at half time,but even that was half hearted and epitomised the inability of the team to engender any fire or enthusiasm among the Armagh supporters last night.

By the way,the only positive element for Armagh last night was the size of the travelling support,which was huge relatively speaking and demonstrates the sort of loyalty unrivalled in most other counties.
Post by: BennyCake on February 03, 2013, 09:19:06 PM

Laois were the best team on the night. They fully deserved their victory. I'm sure 100% of Armagh accept that. It's this Billy Sheehan side-show that is deflecting attention away from the match.
Post by: BennyCake on February 03, 2013, 09:20:25 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 03, 2013, 09:10:16 PM
I didn't hear any abuse directed at Billy,there was a bit directed at the referee at half time,but even that was half hearted and epitomised the inability of the team to engender any fire or enthusiasm among the Armagh supporters last night.

By the way,the only positive element for Armagh last night was the size of the travelling support,which was huge relatively speaking and demonstrates the sort of loyalty unrivalled in most other counties.

Correct on both counts, T.
Post by: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 09:23:25 PM
Must say I did not hear Sheehan getting any abuse either bar a bit of laughter early on when he messed up. I do not think it is a matter of being sore losers either. Most Armagh fans will willingly say that Laois deserved to win. All will be more concerned with how poor Armagh were rather than worry about anyone from Laois. This does not detract from the fact that Sheehan acted like a fool at the start of the game and the officials let him. For all the comments that nothing really happened last year - if that really was the case why did McKeever never face a suspension for a straight red. Methinks that carpet had a big hole under it.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 03, 2013, 09:36:26 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 03, 2013, 09:19:06 PM

Laois were the best team on the night. They fully deserved their victory. I'm sure 100% of Armagh accept that. It's this Billy Sheehan side-show that is deflecting attention away from the match.

Why would anyone think for one second that Sheehan would / should not use every tool possible at his disposal to win the game for Laois. Antagonising / agitating McKeever was a blindingly obvious route for Laois to take and a very successful one. Hats off to Sheehan for having the capacity to carry out the pantomime villan role and still be able to focus on his game. This is the highest level of competition in our game - not a popularity contest.

We have serious work to do - most of it mental
Post by: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 09:48:03 PM
McKeever was at it the whole game, when Armagh were making their comeback in the second half he was in Clancy's face trying to rile him. No one's commenting on it, why's that? It's because that kind of stuff happens in every game. No one likes it but it's a reality. Certaintly wouldn't be whinging about it after the match but I suppose it's better than running to the papers like last year.
Fair play to Duffleking for talking some sense, Armagh have one or two handy new players and when the injuries and Crossmaglen contingent come back they'll do alright.
Post by: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 09:50:47 PM
Quote from: stew on February 03, 2013, 09:08:50 PM

I cant blame him for celebrating though, there is bad blood between him and Armagh, he knows the reason why well enough!

Yes there's bad blood between some Laois players and McKeever since he jumped off the bench to strike a Laois player from behind then jump back over the hoardings in a league match a few years ago.
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2013, 09:57:00 PM
Saw a van parked at the back of the stand last night,with a sign on it reading "Armagh kit van".Right,so in these recessionary times,we need to go to the expense of acquiring and maintaining a van,just to transport kit? Do Chambers coaches nit have ample luggage bearing facilities? Have any other counties got a kit van?
Post by: DuffleKing on February 03, 2013, 10:01:16 PM
Them all
Post by: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 10:01:46 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 09:50:47 PM

Yes there's bad blood between some Laois players and McKeever since he jumped off the bench to strike a Laois player from behind then jump back over the hoardings in a league match a few years ago.

I might be wrong but I think that was a different player. If it is who I think it was he would try that with his own team mates!
Post by: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 10:06:01 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 03, 2013, 09:36:26 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 03, 2013, 09:19:06 PM

Why would anyone think for one second that Sheehan would / should not use every tool possible at his disposal to win the game for Laois. Antagonising / agitating McKeever was a blindingly obvious route for Laois to take and a very successful one. Hats off to Sheehan for having the capacity to carry out the pantomime villan role and still be able to focus on his game. This is the highest level of competition in our game - not a popularity contest.

We have serious work to do - most of it mental

To my mind Duffle this is were the GAA is going wrong. The president has been preaching that the sledging has to stop but when it is blatantly obvious what is going on the referee or authorities do nothing. The authorities either have to put up or shut up.

Your final point has only one problem with it - it does not stress enough how much work we have to do!
Post by: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 10:06:55 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 10:01:46 PM

I might be wrong but I think that was a different player. If it is who I think it was he would try that with his own team mates!

No it was definetly McKeever, it was the game in Armagh where both teams finished with 13. I didn't know much about McKeever at the time and I had to ask an Armagh man who it was. He punched Donie Brennan from behind, if you don't know Donie, he's about 5'6 and weighs nothing.
Post by: yellowcard on February 03, 2013, 10:10:25 PM
Fully agree with Duffle King, too much is being made of Sheehans antics when we should be focussing on what we have to do to actually win our first game of the season. No point in being too precious about these things,it's not as if McKeever isn't well versed in the darker arts himself.

McNulty has done a fine job with Laois and I suspect they will go on and win the division. As for Armagh I'm still trying to figure out what the gameplan is, there appears to be a certain amount of innocence to our tactics. Sending the 15 men out to play man to man football simply doesn't wash in the modern game and we need to sort out the defence first to give us a platform to build on. Laois could easily have scored 3-25 last night.
Post by: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 10:17:03 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 10:06:55 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on February 03, 2013, 10:01:46 PM

No it was definetly McKeever, it was the game in Armagh where both teams finished with 13. I didn't know much about McKeever at the time and I had to ask an Armagh man who it was. He punched Donie Brennan from behind, if you don't know Donie, he's about 5'6 and weighs nothing.

In his younger day he would definitely have done such a thing. I remember that night well. It was a dark night and before the stand was built. The incident started at the far side of the pitch so was hard to see who did what. I still think it was the other fella on that occasion though.
Post by: Dont Matter on February 03, 2013, 10:28:00 PM
Ah yeah, a lot of messing went on that night. It might have been someone else but I don't think so. Anyway it doesn't matter now. Despite our win I think it will be still tough for us to get promoted so we could be having another rematch next year up in your place.
Post by: mackers on February 04, 2013, 11:10:10 AM
The match followed the same pattern as our two McKenna Cup matches in a lot of ways, we were basically beat by half time and then showed some guts and determination to get back into the match just to tail off at the end.
For the most part the younger lads acquitted themselves well, it was our more established players that let us down. The lack of mobility in our midfield was shocking but it's something that could have been flagged up by most supporters before the match.  Credit must be given to the Laois midfield, especially Quigley who is a hell of a player.  Justin McNulty knew our problem because he employed a simple tactic of the midfielders crossing over the field for kickouts and our midfielders could not cope with this at all.  I find it very difficult to criticise any of our defenders (except for Finn Mo and his usual poor tackling) with the onslaught they faced for long periods of the game.  James Donnelly was impressive at full back, Gary McCooey and Mark Shields did all that could have been asked of them. Ciaran McKeever spent most of the first half trying to stay out of trouble and this distracted him from his game IMO. 
James Lavery can ONLY be used in the last twenty minutes of a game when others have slowed down to CLOSE to his pace.
The movement in the forward line was poor at times and at other times they suffered from poor distribution into them. Aidan Forker had a good game and worked tirelessly for the team in tracking back on repeated occasions but was rightfully called ashore as he was walking a tightrope after a ticking and a yellow card.  Hopefully he learns to cut this indiscipline from his game as he's a super player.  Ethan Rafferty was a revelation for me.  It would have been easy for a lad just out of minor to hide at times on Saturday night with the way the match was going but he showed great temperament and no little ability on a losing team.  The FF line spluttered and only showed glimpses of their ability. Gavin McParland has a good future in the orange jersey but his shot selection is poor at times.  Not sure why Brian Mallon was taken off as he was having an excellent second half after a poor first.
Away to Laois, missing a glut of players was always going to be a tough one. Next Sunday's game is a very important one as a defeat there and we are in that relegation fight that Paddy Heaney warned us of!
Post by: Applesisapples on February 04, 2013, 11:15:19 AM
Not withstanding the amount of training some boys may do with the County squad, and I say this as a fan, if there are better players available in Cross and there are, then every effort needs to be made to integrate them. There is not a club in Armagh that doesn't allow players from College/County duty to walk back in and begin playing, with the exception probably of Cross. Armagh needs the Kernans, Cunningham, Hannratty, Mckenna, Clarke, Morgan to be successful. You don't see Kerry turning away Dr Crokes players. Yes Cross probably need to work a bit with the County setup, but this seems to be a perennial argument and other clubs need to get over Cross' success.
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 11:35:06 AM
Surely its time for Cross to "man up" and allow their players to join the County squad in January and partcipate for a full season. Take the risk with injury and test the strength of their own squad if it happens.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2013, 11:47:46 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 11:35:06 AM
Surely its time for Cross to "man up" and allow their players to join the County squad in January and partcipate for a full season. Take the risk with injury and test the strength of their own squad if it happens.

No it's not time for Cross to 'man up' and I am fed up to the back teeth of this whole charade.  There are no ST Brigid's players playing with Roscommon, no Crokes players playing with Kerry and both these teams are on the back of 3 provincials in a row.  I would imagine that the Ballymun are not risking their players.  To my mind it is time for the rest of the players there to 'man up',  for long enough the argument has been that the county doesn't need that many Cross players, and that there would be 3 maximum starters.  If that is the case then there should be no problem integrating these players.  It is far too easy for people to point the finger elsewhere when the reality is that the players available have their chance to prove themselves over the last few years and very few have taken that opportunity.
Post by: Mont on February 04, 2013, 11:50:01 AM

how naive? cross dont give a shite bout armagh wen they r stil involved in club cship. rightly r wrongly this is how it is.
am sure some universities wud b a lot stronger if they were allowed to play as well for sigerson

goin by reports they may not have made any diference such is rmaghs curent style of play. hope grimley has s job for life.
nathan carter wil be biggest thing to happen in armagh this yr
Post by: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 11:57:32 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2013, 11:47:46 AM

No it's not time for Cross to 'man up' and I am fed up to the back teeth of this whole charade.  There are no ST Brigid's players playing with Roscommon, no Crokes players playing with Kerry and both these teams are on the back of 3 provincials in a row.  I would imagine that the Ballymun are not risking their players.  To my mind it is time for the rest of the players there to 'man up',  for long enough the argument has been that the county doesn't need that many Cross players, and that there would be 3 maximum starters.  If that is the case then there should be no problem integrating these players.  It is far too easy for people to point the finger elsewhere when the reality is that the players available have their chance to prove themselves over the last few years and very few have taken that opportunity.

The crokes players - bar gooch - played through January for Kerry in their preseason competition.

Much of the game analysis here has been accurate enough except a couple of people have mentioned Donnelly doing well. i think we are confusing pity and the will we have for him to do well with performance. It was not his fault in the slightest but Clancy destroyed us. Everything went through him. Donnelly made a good block when Clancy was getting over confident and picked up a couple of wayward passes. everything else that went near clancy was a score.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2013, 12:08:43 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 11:57:32 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2013, 11:47:46 AM

The crokes players - bar gooch - played through January for Kerry in their preseason competition.

Much of the game analysis here has been accurate enough except a couple of people have mentioned Donnelly doing well. i think we are confusing pity and the will we have for him to do well with performance. It was not his fault in the slightest but Clancy destroyed us. Everything went through him. Donnelly made a good block when Clancy was getting over confident and picked up a couple of wayward passes. everything else that went near clancy was a score.

They're not there now and they won't be.  Also lets not forget that we are looking at possibly making history here and doing something that has never been done and is unlikely to happen again but instead of having the backing of our county colleagues we have a bitching and moaning session that the players are not playing! I want to see Armagh do well but not before my club and the reality is that if any other club in Armagh was in the same boat as us they would do the exact same. 
Post by: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 12:16:39 PM

Well the reality is that no other Armagh club have done what cross have in this regard. I remember McGeeney, Tierney & the McNultys playing constantly through the winter and spring national league games and breaking for the sunday before a championship game the year they won the Ulster club championship. talk at the time was they trained Tuesday with Armagh and Thursday with Mullaghbawn. Pearse Og, Clan na Gael and Carrickcruppen, for example, never withdrew players from the county when they had extended runs in ulster. you may argue that they were different times but that everyone does it doesn't stack up.

If we took the Kerry approach and Armagh had morgan, hanratty & the kernans for a few weeks in January - which was before Cross got going again - they and Grimley would be in a lot better position with regard to their possible contribution to the county this year. No need to see ak and jamie of course. i'd argue they should be available for the first 2 national league games too but at least with that there's a start made and no question about their commitment to their club cause.
Post by: mackers on February 04, 2013, 12:18:22 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 11:57:32 AM
I thought Donnelly broke the ball away from Clancy on repeated occasions when left one on one with him.  Oddly enough I felt he was poor in the McKenna Cup matches when others were praising him but IMO he had a good match on Saturday night.  What destroyed us was our midfield getting wiped out and not being able to track back.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2013, 12:20:47 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 12:16:39 PM

Well the reality is that no other Armagh club have done what cross have in this regard.

No other club in the country nevermind Armagh would have done what we have done and continue to do.  At the back of it all though is that the players that are now available to Armagh need to prove their worth.  If they do, well and good, if they don't then there should not be any argument about a number of Cross players coming in at whatever stage they do.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 12:27:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2013, 12:20:47 PM

Well the reality is that no other Armagh club have done what cross have in this regard.

No other club in the country nevermind Armagh would have done what we have done and continue to do.  At the back of it all though is that the players that are now available to Armagh need to prove their worth.  If they do, well and good, if they don't then there should not be any argument about a number of Cross players coming in at whatever stage they do.

Well that's a valid point to make but a completely separate one. I was simply pointing out that what you say about every other club in armagh doing the same is not true. Of course Cross will have the overwhelming backing of the county when match day comes but you must remember, and admittedly this must seem odd to a cross man, the club championship pales into the background for every other armagh supporter when compared to a national league and even McKenna Cup game.
Post by: Stevie Nicks on February 04, 2013, 12:30:06 PM

No other club in the country nevermind Armagh would have done what we have done and continue to do.  At the back of it all though is that the players that are now available to Armagh need to prove their worth.  If they do, well and good, if they don't then there should not be any argument about a number of Cross players coming in at whatever stage they do.[/quote

Broken that would be fine if we just turned up in May at Breffni and picked the best 15 players in the county and tell them to go out and play well!! But surely Grimley et al would be devising a gameplan, moves etc.... so would need to see these players and incorporate them into their gameplan, tactics etc. The old chestnut is that there are cross players outside of the usuals that would warrant a county space but the first place to play them is most certainly not Breffni Park on the 19th May, it is a catch 22 scenario for both Armagh and Cross. There have been a few cross boys in the past who take a break after the club final and so aren't even available for the last few league games, no word of the boys who have trained and played 2/3 McKenna matches and seven League games taking a break.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2013, 12:38:25 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 12:27:03 PM

Well that's a valid point to make but a completely separate one. I was simply pointing out that what you say about every other club in armagh doing the same is not true. Of course Cross will have the overwhelming back ing of the county when match day comes but you must remember, and admittedly this must seem odd to a cross man, the club championship pales into the background for every other armagh supporter when compared to a national league and even McKenna Cup game.

I understand that and trust me despite what people thing Cross people are very proud Armagh people and histroy has shown that.  Every team bar that has won any title for Armagh has had a cross man on it.  In many cases there have been 3-4 starting players, the commitment of Cross to the success of Armagh should not be underestimated.  The reality is though that at the minute there is only 1 focus and if it was any club in a similar position in any other county, the same would be happening. 

Steve Nicks, I know what you're saying, the point I am making is that if the players who are getting their chances now are not taking them then what other option has the county management got.  There will be minimum 2 National League games if we go the whole way to the 17th March.  There will no doubt be plenty of challenge games between then and the first round of the championship.  It is foolish to suggest that they will be thrown in for the championship with no game time.  They may be challenge games but in the build up for a championship season they will be fairly fiesty affairs and will give the management plenty of chances to see them playing.
Post by: Orior on February 04, 2013, 12:54:32 PM
Let us face reality. Armagh do not have a band of players that other teams fear. Jamie is our one and only quality player.

A spell in Division 3 looms.
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 01:01:29 PM
we should at the very least retain a spot in Division 2, but the absence on any players from the  best club team in the county is a severe handicap, and prevents proper build up of systems, morale etc.

Still think there is a compromise to be made
Post by: Applesisapples on February 04, 2013, 01:13:03 PM
Quote from: Mont on February 04, 2013, 11:50:01 AM

how naive? cross dont give a shite bout armagh wen they r stil involved in club cship. rightly r wrongly this is how it is.
am sure some universities wud b a lot stronger if they were allowed to play as well for sigerson

goin by reports they may not have made any diference such is rmaghs curent style of play. hope grimley has s job for life.
nathan carter wil be biggest thing to happen in armagh this yr
It's time you went back to school mont!
Post by: mackers on February 04, 2013, 02:11:59 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 04, 2013, 12:54:32 PM
Let us face reality. Armagh do not have a band of players that other teams fear. Jamie is our one and only quality player.

A spell in Division 3 looms.
No harm to you Orior but that's a crock of sh1t.  We don't have the quality of player to compete for AIs but we do have the quality of player to maintain Division 2 status.
Post by: David McKeown on February 04, 2013, 03:10:39 PM
Was told on Saturday that a number of cross players (not sure who) attended the McKenna cup games and set near the Armagh subs and that they had attended a number allbeit certainly not all the Armagh training sessions.  Any truth in that?

I think Cross are perfectly right doing what they are doing in sticking with the club first.  The problem I have though is I watched the Armagh match on Saturday and was asked by a Laois fan how many Cross players would start for Armagh, when I actually thought about it I ended up wondering how many Armagh players would start for Cross.  Theres certainly not a lot to choose between the two teams in a lot of positions.  Thats not Cross' fault just a sad indictment of the way the county is going at the minute and a credit to how good Cross are. 
Post by: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 03:25:41 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 04, 2013, 03:10:39 PM
Was told on Saturday that a number of cross players (not sure who) attended the McKenna cup games and set near the Armagh subs and that they had attended a number allbeit certainly not all the Armagh training sessions.  Any truth in that?

I think Cross are perfectly right doing what they are doing in sticking with the club first.  The problem I have though is I watched the Armagh match on Saturday and was asked by a Laois fan how many Cross players would start for Armagh, when I actually thought about it I ended up wondering how many Armagh players would start for Cross.  Theres certainly not a lot to choose between the two teams in a lot of positions.  Thats not Cross' fault just a sad indictment of the way the county is going at the minute and a credit to how good Cross are.

Says more about your understanding of the difference between club and county football than anything else
Post by: Stevie Nicks on February 04, 2013, 03:53:17 PM

J Hanratty was water boy in the Athletic Grounds against Cavan in McKenna Cup which was good to see
Post by: armaghniac on February 04, 2013, 05:14:57 PM
QuoteJ Hanratty was water boy in the Athletic Grounds against Cavan in McKenna Cup which was good to see

Now there's a water boy to send in against Paul Galvin!
Post by: Throw ball on February 04, 2013, 06:12:38 PM

Was at Armagh v Down McKenna cup match and saw the county contingent from Cross take their seats with the subs dressed in Armagh track suits. Positive development from last year.

Although it may be best for Armagh if Cross lose next day out I, along with many Armagh fans, hope they can make history and win three in a row. They can then bring their positive approach to the county set up and teach it to a few others!
Post by: Onion Bag on February 04, 2013, 07:27:22 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 03, 2013, 09:57:00 PM
Saw a van parked at the back of the stand last night,with a sign on it reading "Armagh kit van".Right,so in these recessionary times,we need to go to the expense of acquiring and maintaining a van,just to transport kit? Do Chambers coaches nit have ample luggage bearing facilities? Have any other counties got a kit van?

The Down one was stopped on the way to clones a few years back and she was filled with red diesel,
True story
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 04, 2013, 07:54:22 PM
(http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s480x480/154831_585264051502631_1647241823_n.jpg)
Post by: David McKeown on February 05, 2013, 06:58:31 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 04, 2013, 03:25:41 PM

Says more about your understanding of the difference between club and county football than anything else

Really how many of the Armagh starting 15 on Saturday night would start for Cross where they able?
Post by: Armamike on February 05, 2013, 07:51:47 PM
Any county side needs all their players available to them from the very start of the year to build team spirit and cohesion.  The less chopping and changing throughout the league, the better.   If this was Cross's first push for an All-Ireland I could understand why they'd want to wrap their players in cotton, but this is virtually an annual occurrance so they know the All-Ireland terrain well by now.  I don't know what the arrangements are at the minute between the county and Crossmaglen, but i'd hope the Cross players have at least been involved in county team meetings, attended get togethers, and the message sent out that they are an integral part of the panel. On the other side it's not realistic to expect them to train full tilt with the county either when they are making preparations for an AI semi final. There has to be a middle ground.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 05, 2013, 07:55:13 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 04, 2013, 07:54:22 PM
(http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s480x480/154831_585264051502631_1647241823_n.jpg)

Sligo reg?

The Crossmaglen issue is fairly tedious at this stage. The only way for this issue to be dealt with fairly and effectively is by a badly needed restructuring of the GAA season with the All Ireland club played off before Christmas.
Post by: Orchardman on February 05, 2013, 09:39:20 PM
To be honest it's a disgrace we are getting well beaten by the likes of Laois, a bunch of gym clons in the mcnulty shape. There shouldn't be any talk about avoiding relegation, ourselves and laois came down from div 1, and we should be better than the rest of the waps in div 2, especially now tyrone and kildare have gone up. Although i wouldn't go to watch league football, we don't sound too good and will likely finish mid table
Post by: T Fearon on February 05, 2013, 09:44:51 PM
I wouldn't be too optimistic.At the moment we don't have one reliable scoring forward,nor an adequate midfield and a defence that conceded 20 scores against a wasteful Laois.