GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2012, 04:00:16 AM

Title: Donegal at war over where to bring home Sam
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2012, 04:00:16 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/donegals-homecoming-furore-206393.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/donegals-homecoming-furore-206393.html)

Donegal's homecoming furore

By Stephen Maguire

Tuesday, September 04, 2012

A huge row has erupted among Donegal GAA fans about where the team's All-Ireland homecoming will take place.

Jim McGuinness' team are favourites to lift the Sam Maguire after terrific displays this season. The team has always followed tradition and celebrated homecomings with a parade at The Diamond in Donegal Town.

But now the people of Letterkenny feel that should change and the homecoming should take place in their town.

Letterkenny Chamber of Commerce has contacted the Donegal GAA County Board to request the county team return to their town after the All-Ireland SFC final against Mayo.

In a strongly-worded letter, the Letterkenny Chamber said they felt it was now time for a Donegal team to celebrate in Letterkenny.

President of Letterkenny Chamber John Watson admitted businesses had been lobbied on the issue.

He said: "We feel the time is right now that Letterkenny could be the place for the team to return to.

"We will welcome the team back with or without the Sam Maguire after the final and it won't cost the County Board a cent.

"For years the team has returned to Donegal Town and we feel it's time that Letterkenny got a turn.

"We are the biggest town in the county and a number of businesses from the area have sponsored the team in recent years. We feel it would be a nice touch if the homecoming could be shared around and we would like to do it after the All-Ireland final."

However the move has divided fans who have accused the Letterkenny Chamber of trying to cash in on the Donegal's team's whirlwind success.

A spokesman for the County Board said it will discuss the matter shortly and give the Letterkenny Chamber an answer to their request.
Title: Re: Donegal at war over where to bring home Sam
Post by: cadence on September 04, 2012, 06:48:01 AM
few years back i shagged a mayo woman and snuck away in the morning like a right donegal bastard.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 04, 2012, 07:41:34 AM
What about Lifford? Isn't it the County town?

This isn't the sort of shite you want to be reading in the papers leading up to an All Ireland Final.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 04, 2012, 08:43:33 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 04, 2012, 07:41:34 AM
What about Lifford? Isn't it the County town?

This isn't the sort of shite you want to be reading in the papers leading up to an All Ireland Final.

That just depends on the colour of your jersey!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 04, 2012, 09:40:44 AM
Jesus - the Mayo lads will be laughing at this one.

Where will Mayo's celebrations be taking place?
Weshtport or Castlebar
Post by: stephenite on September 04, 2012, 11:15:02 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 04, 2012, 09:40:44 AM

Weshtport or Castlebar

We, to a man, woman and child, don't give a f**k.

In the unlikely event of us beating 'the best gaelic football team in the history of the world', the team can go to straight to Letterkenny for all anyone cares.
Post by: Crete Boom on September 04, 2012, 12:07:00 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 04, 2012, 09:40:44 AM
Jesus - the Mayo lads will be laughing at this one.

Weshtport or Castlebar

Win lose or draw Shamrock Shore the general internary of a Mayo fan after an All Ireland will be Gills , the Big Tree , Flannerys Coppers and a combination of a Chipper/Hostpital/Garda station/ some random apartment in Drumcondra or Rathmines! :D
Post by: seafoid on September 04, 2012, 12:43:13 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2012, 04:00:16 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/donegals-homecoming-furore-206393.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/donegals-homecoming-furore-206393.html)

Donegal's homecoming furore

By Stephen Maguire

Tuesday, September 04, 2012

A huge row has erupted among Donegal GAA fans about where the team's All-Ireland homecoming will take place.

Jim McGuinness' team are favourites to lift the Sam Maguire after terrific displays this season. The team has always followed tradition and celebrated homecomings with a parade at The Diamond in Donegal Town.

But now the people of Letterkenny feel that should change and the homecoming should take place in their town.

Letterkenny Chamber of Commerce has contacted the Donegal GAA County Board to request the county team return to their town after the All-Ireland SFC final against Mayo.

In a strongly-worded letter, the Letterkenny Chamber said they felt it was now time for a Donegal team to celebrate in Letterkenny.

President of Letterkenny Chamber John Watson admitted businesses had been lobbied on the issue.

He said: "We feel the time is right now that Letterkenny could be the place for the team to return to.

"We will welcome the team back with or without the Sam Maguire after the final and it won't cost the County Board a cent.

"For years the team has returned to Donegal Town and we feel it's time that Letterkenny got a turn.

"We are the biggest town in the county and a number of businesses from the area have sponsored the team in recent years. We feel it would be a nice touch if the homecoming could be shared around and we would like to do it after the All-Ireland final."

However the move has divided fans who have accused the Letterkenny Chamber of trying to cash in on the Donegal's team's whirlwind success.

A spokesman for the County Board said it will discuss the matter shortly and give the Letterkenny Chamber an answer to their request.
Fan bomaite
Post by: blast05 on September 04, 2012, 01:08:34 PM
Bump .... just making share this stays near the top of the page  ;D
Post by: J70 on September 04, 2012, 02:01:25 PM
Looks like it won't be worth our while even turning up, such is the hole we're apparently digging for ourselves with the arrogance, presumption and hype. I doubt any towns or CoCs or Mayo County Council are even thinking about getting organized for a homecoming. I'm sure they'll pull it together on the morning of Monday 24th in the event that they win,  something Mayo people are completely dismissing.  ::)
Post by: ck on September 04, 2012, 02:15:30 PM
I was at the semi at the weekend and three Donegal men were behind me. They laughed through the whole 2nd half at the prospect of Mayo winning and the fact that it was be an easy final for Donegal. I also know a bookie who has a shop in Donegal and reckons the arrogance and c**k sure attitudes in Donegal are unbearable.
That all said I think Donegal will win by 5 or 6. Hope I'm wrong. Hup Mayo.
Post by: Rossfan on September 04, 2012, 02:16:23 PM
Well Sligo had some mighty plans made for a Sunday night in July 2010 . ;)
Also there were a lot of 5-in-a-row T shirts waiting to be let loose in September 1982  ;D
Post by: J70 on September 04, 2012, 02:47:53 PM
Quote from: ck on September 04, 2012, 02:15:30 PM
I was at the semi at the weekend and three Donegal men were behind me. They laughed through the whole 2nd half at the prospect of Mayo winning and the fact that it was be an easy final for Donegal. I also know a bookie who has a shop in Donegal and reckons the arrogance and c**k sure attitudes in Donegal are unbearable.

There are idiots in every county. Only the clueless would class the final as a foregone conclusion after both sides played so well and beat the respective favourites in the semis. All that matters is the attitude of the team. I'm pretty sure Mickey Harte, Joe Kernan and Pat Gilroy all had to deal with huge hype and excitement and manage its effect on their squads. Nothing I've seen to date suggests McGuinness won't be equally adept and that Donegal will not pay Mayo their well deserved respect and go in with the right attitude. Besides, you're predicting a handy enough Donegal win yourself!
Post by: Crete Boom on September 04, 2012, 02:57:24 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 04, 2012, 02:47:53 PM
Quote from: ck on September 04, 2012, 02:15:30 PM

There are idiots in every county. Only the clueless would class the final as a foregone concclusion after both sides played so well and beat the respective favourites in the semis. All that matters is the attitude of the team. I'm pretty sure Mickey Harte, Joe Kernan and Pat Gilroy all had to deal with huge hype and excitement and manage its effect on their squads. Nothing I've seen to date suggests McGuinness won't be equally adept and that Donegal will not pay Mayo their well deserved respect and go in with the right attitude. Besides, you're predicting a handy enough Donegal win yourself!

Sure don't worry about the predictions J70. I think with our last couple of final performances we probably can't expect too many neutrals giving Mayo the nod in the prediction stakes (and that's not even mentioning the league final flops). Why wouldn't Donegal people be confident , they've been magnificent all championship and if a bit of hype is too much for McGuinness & Co to handle I'd be mighty surpised.
There will be plenty of hype down here in Mayo too don't worry (despite the beal bocht) sure we are back in the big one. It's bad enough here out west with the recession without being banned from going mad in the lead up to an All Ireland or did the Troika demand a cut in Mayo apery as well :o
Post by: deiseach on September 04, 2012, 02:58:43 PM
My best man is from Donegal and he assures me that commemorative All-Ireland-winning milk bottles were produced in Dublin in 1992. Apparently they're collectors items in Donegal. Whether it's true or not (he's never been able to show me one) they won't be complacent in Donegal.
Post by: Conallach on September 04, 2012, 03:21:22 PM
Small town politics - some local representatives getting petty. They sound like a few men who can't see the wood for the trees.

On another note, I don't think the fans are anywhere near as cocksure as is being suggested.

It'll be Donegal's toughest game and biggest text of this season, and while I hope they win, I'm not certain of anything. No one I know is being particularly cocky about it either. Sure, you'll get a few eejits in every county, but there's been such a concerted effort by some folk to play the 'Donegal are getting carried away with it' card by some supporters - and some analysts too, David Brady in particular - since the semi final that I've been genuinely suprised.#

No problem with Mayo, no problem with Mayo's support (as I'm well aware the Devenney could more than match any dumb statement Brady makes) and looking forward to a good battle between two evenly matched teams who both desperately want the win.
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 04, 2012, 03:33:50 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 04, 2012, 02:16:23 PM
Also there were a lot of 5-in-a-row T shirts waiting to be let loose in September 1982  ;D
They sold a few of them in Kilkenny in 2010!
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2012, 03:38:22 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on September 04, 2012, 03:33:50 PM
They sold a few of them in Kilkenny in 2010!

The drive for five I think they called it then.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 04, 2012, 04:15:19 PM
Well Sligo had some mighty plans made for a Sunday night in July 2010 . ;)
No shit sherlock, sure most of roscommon didnt turn up for that game aswell, why? and yeve proved since then it wasnt a one off #sarc ::) fluke

This thread is a total no brainer, mayo county board like donegals will have to have homecoming plans for a win or loss...just like us in 2010.
Title: Dún na nGall
Post by: drici on September 04, 2012, 05:19:14 PM
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/312.jpg)
Title: Re: Dún na nGall
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 04, 2012, 05:57:12 PM
Quote from: drici on September 04, 2012, 05:19:14 PM
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/312.jpg)

This thread is a fail.
Post by: nephinman on September 04, 2012, 08:27:25 PM
Quote from: Conallach on September 04, 2012, 03:21:22 PM
Small town politics - some local representatives getting petty. They sound like a few men who can't see the wood for the trees.

On another note, I don't think the fans are anywhere near as cocksure as is being suggested.

It'll be Donegal's toughest game and biggest text of this season, and while I hope they win, I'm not certain of anything. No one I know is being particularly cocky about it either. Sure, you'll get a few eejits in every county, but there's been such a concerted effort by some folk to play the 'Donegal are getting carried away with it' card by some supporters - and some analysts too, David Brady in particular - since the semi final that I've been genuinely suprised.#

No problem with Mayo, no problem with Mayo's support (as I'm well aware the Devenney could more than match any dumb statement Brady makes) and looking forward to a good battle between two evenly matched teams who both desperately want the win.

Jasus dont try to drag Brady down to the same level as Devenny  :o
Post by: Orchardman on September 04, 2012, 10:12:19 PM
I would agree with that, there has been alot of shite said about donegal getting carried away, a lot of it is pure nonsense.
And by the way, nothing wrong with talking about homecomings, its f**k all to do with arrogance, a team has a homecoming win or lose, and donegal's will surely be massive so let people enjoy the hype!

As i said before earlier in the year even before armagh were put out ( as i knew they wouldnt make semi final at least), these are the 2 sides i wanted in the final. I would be worried though for my slight favourite, donegal. I made them firm favourities after the ulster final, long before beating kerry and cork. I think it's being set up far too much for a donegal fall.

But i've noticed far too much poor mouthing from mayo, since before the down match even, about not getting enough credit. Though i actually do rate mayo very well, how much credit did mayo people really need after beating leitrim and sligo, like come on. I agree armagh used to say the same thing leading up to 2002, i hate that shite. Win the frigging sam and get all the credit in the world then
Post by: stew on September 04, 2012, 10:36:57 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on September 04, 2012, 10:12:19 PM
I would agree with that, there has been alot of shite said about donegal getting carried away, a lot of it is pure nonsense.
And by the way, nothing wrong with talking about homecomings, its f**k all to do with arrogance, a team has a homecoming win or lose, and donegal's will surely be massive so let people enjoy the hype!

As i said before earlier in the year even before armagh were put out ( as i knew they wouldnt make semi final at least), these are the 2 sides i wanted in the final. I would be worried though for my slight favourite, donegal. I made them firm favourities after the ulster final, long before beating kerry and cork. I think it's being set up far too much for a donegal fall.

But i've noticed far too much poor mouthing from mayo, since before the down match even, about not getting enough credit. Though i actually do rate mayo very well, how much credit did mayo people really need after beating leitrim and sligo, like come on. I agree armagh used to say the same thing leading up to 2002, i hate that shite. Win the frigging sam and get all the credit in the world then

I hope Donegal beat Mayo............................. just because of one or two of the Mayo heads on here, they seem to forget they tend to shite the togs most of the time they even see Croker, let alone play on her.

It is however refreshing to get an AI free from Kerry and Tyrone, that is a nice change and if Mayo do win it then fair fecks to them.

In 77 we had a massive crowd out to see our team come home after getting destroyed by the Dubs and JK in particular, it is an important part of the AI experience and despite the shit stirring from one or two of the Mayo wans it has feck all to do with arrogance or over confidence and everything to do with tradition, future planning and public safety.

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2012, 10:41:21 PM
Quote from: stew on September 04, 2012, 10:36:57 PM

Mayo heads on here, they seem to forget they tend to shite the togs most of the time they even see Croker, let alone play on her.

WRONG, Mayo have won more in Croke Park in the last 10 years than they have lost. But of course Donegal will bate us out the gate, thats a given.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 04, 2012, 10:44:09 PM
By Jesus I hope you're right
Post by: Syferus on September 04, 2012, 10:51:14 PM
It's amazing people - and people who really should know better - are still bandying that myth about Mayo and Croke Park. It's finals that have undone Mayo, not the Hogan and Cusack Stands. Five AI finals in 16 years, neatly spread over that span, makes Mayo very clearly the second most consistent team (we're talking championship here before someone gets pedantic and mentions Cork's three-in-a-row of NFL titles) in the country over a very extended period. You don't get to that many finals by being crap at HQ.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on September 04, 2012, 10:51:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 04, 2012, 03:29:33 PM
The more things change the more they stay the same.

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/fi/thumb/5/5d/An_Druma_400.jpg/220px-An_Druma_400.jpg)

Nicely done, Hardstation.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 05, 2012, 12:02:16 AM
I hope Donegal beat Mayo............................. just because of one or two of the Mayo heads on here, they seem to forget they tend to shite the togs most of the time they even see Croker, let alone play on her.

Are you Marty Morrissey? Martin Breheny? or even Eugene McGee?
We have won more games in Croker than we have lost in Croker in the last 16 years. Now if you want to talk about finals well fair enough. But say that!
Post by: cadence on September 05, 2012, 08:32:53 AM
those from mayo looking for reasons to stick it to those arrogant donegal folk and take them down a peg or two.... i think it was two mayo women that time. whilst we got on like a house on fire, it could never have worked out. the semi in '92 had left scars that can never be healed. just saying like.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 05, 2012, 08:36:02 AM
Quote from: cadence on September 05, 2012, 08:32:53 AM
those from mayo looking for reasons to stick it to those arrogant donegal folk and take them down a peg or two.... i think it was two mayo women that time. whilst we got on like a house on fire, it could never have worked out. the semi in '92 had left scars that can never be healed. just saying like.

1992 hardly registers in Mayo, sure it was just another semi-final, well used to them lad  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 05, 2012, 08:37:43 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 05, 2012, 12:02:16 AM

Are you Marty Morrissey? Martin Breheny? or even Eugene McGee?
We have won more games in Croker than we have lost in Croker in the last 16 years. Now if you want to talk about finals well fair enough. But say that!
#

I'm sure come the 23'rd they will announce how we haven't won a game in Croke Park all year.
Post by: cadence on September 05, 2012, 09:43:35 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 05, 2012, 08:36:02 AM
Quote from: cadence on September 05, 2012, 08:32:53 AM

1992 hardly registers in Mayo, sure it was just another semi-final, well used to them lad  ;)

'spose.
Post by: ck on September 05, 2012, 10:10:36 AM
So the general concensus is that Donegal are unbeatable and Mayo can't win finals no matter who they are against...
It can mean only one outcome!
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 05, 2012, 10:02:56 PM
Plus donegal never lost a final before. :-\
Post by: seanog on September 05, 2012, 10:30:16 PM
I think most people in Mayo accept we can't possibly win it but we love the banter, the flags, the hype, the mike denver songs, the ticket scramble, the pints and the craic.

Maybe it would be an idea if we adopted a terrace chant from the English soccer clubs  when they were about to get relegated ' We're only here for the piss up, here for the piss  up , here for the pisssssss up, we're only here for the piss up"
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 05, 2012, 11:11:55 PM
Quote from: seanog on September 05, 2012, 10:30:16 PM
I think most people in Mayo accept we can't possibly win it but we love the banter, the flags, the hype, the mike denver songs, the ticket scramble, the pints and the craic.

Maybe it would be an idea if we adopted a terrace chant from the English soccer clubs  when they were about to get relegated ' We're only here for the piss up, here for the piss  up , here for the pisssssss up, we're only here for the piss up"

We're not Donegal, we're Western Connacht to the tune of the Norn Iron song
Post by: criostlinn on September 05, 2012, 11:29:06 PM
My rant is probably better in here

sure what preparation do you need to make for a homecoming.

Get an auld trailer and put the boys up on it.

I dont buy into all this rubbish about Donegal been over confident. I hope Mayo are the same. Isnt this the idea of all these head coaches. Sure what the hell is Kieran Shannon at if he isnt trying to build lads confidence up. He's hardly going around saying ye are shit in the hope that we end up less confident then Donegal and expecting to win because of this.

Mayo people are also going around on edge afraid to say we might win the game or even show any support for the team. Everybody telling us to avoid  the "hype" because this is what beat us before. Maybe if some of the experts in this field could put up a list of what exactly we can do it would be great. I have a load of sheep ready for painting but I want to get the amount right so as to avoid the "hype" going into overdrive. Do ye really think Cillian O Connor driving by a load of green and red sheep is thinking, fcuk Im so nervous now about this match.

Ill tell you what the real problem is here. Its typical good old Irish begrudgery. Everyone loves to see people fall flat on there face and if they fall after building themselves up a little even better again. Irish people hate to see anyone getting above there station. Sure them fellas think they are great altogether. And they cant wait until you come tumbling down. "Sure didnt I tell you". Them fellas got carried away with themselves.

Donegal or Mayo are not going to be complacent in this Final. How could they be. Both teams will respect each other and Im sure both sets of players will expect to beat the others. Fans will go wild in the build up, but thats part of it so lads stop coming on here putting down every poster with a bit of confidence in there team with  the usual sh1i of the "Mayo lads are getting carried away with themselves again" or "them Donegal lads are really setting themselves up for a fall".

Oh yeah. Mayo posters will ye every snap out of this beal bocht crap ye are going on with. Its the AI final for christ sake. Get behind the team and start to show a bit of faith. Ye are not codding anyone and its getting a bit tiresome now.

Rant over
Post by: rrhf on September 06, 2012, 11:10:44 AM
I think it should be Letterkenny personally, With Daniel O Donnell, Margo, Bernard Mc Hugh, Kevin Cassidy, Roma Downey and Jimmy from Senegal all there doing their party pieces to greet the heroes.   
Post by: Champ15 on September 06, 2012, 07:39:06 PM
It really is laughable what letterkenny chamber of commerce have done I used to work in ballina's chamber of commerce and while we did hold or push for events in the town it was for a) to boost the economy in the town and b) promote local businesses/produce in the town. Anything on a bigger scale such as a music festival we tried to hold in the town is in conjunction with the town council which is surely more letterkennys town council right to submit an offer to hold a homecoming in writing to the county board rather than the chamber going public!! Something nearly similar happened before our all Ireland club final in 05 when portlaoise had booked an open top bus a few weeks in hand and had there route home and events published in a paper. We didn't care and I don't think it even riled us up even but all we knew and cared about wad win lose or draw we'd back at the club the next day
Post by: Lecale2 on September 06, 2012, 08:35:45 PM
It seems the "war" is over and Donegal Town has won.

How will Letterkenny Chamber of Trade react? Will they take it on the chin or appeal to the DRA?
Post by: Lecale2 on September 06, 2012, 08:57:04 PM
Move on. Nothing to see here. Can this thread be locked?

Donegal town to host homecoming
06 September 2012

The Donegal footballers won't be breaking with tradition for their All-Ireland final homecoming.

Donegal town, which has traditionally hosted homecoming celebrations, has been confirmed as the venue for welcome home party for the Ulster champions, despite an attempt by Letterkenny Chamber of Commerce to move the event to Letterkenny. Speaking yesterday, Jim McGuinness described the controversy as "disrespectful" to both Donegal and Mayo.

The chairman of the Four Masters GAA club Sean Dunnion, confirmed today that the team would be returning to Donegal town the night after the All-Ireland final.

"There will be a reception for the team on Monday, September 24 at around 8pm on the Diamond, whatever the result. The team and management deserve a great reception, whether they win or not. They've worked so hard throughout the year," he told The Donegal Democrat.

"We had notification from the county board this morning that our application to host the event was successful. We are absolutely delighted with the news.

"It's a pity that the issue of where the homecoming reception would be held became something of a distraction over the last four-five days, but we know that the team and management have remained focused. We're just glad that we can get on with working away quietly preparing to welcome them back and show them how much we appreciate all they've done."

Post by: Farrandeelin on September 06, 2012, 09:16:54 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 06, 2012, 08:57:04 PM

06 September 2012

The Donegal footballers won't be breaking with tradition for their All-Ireland final homecoming.

Donegal town, which has traditionally hosted homecoming celebrations, has been confirmed as the venue for welcome home party for the Ulster champions, despite an attempt by Letterkenny Chamber of Commerce to move the event to Letterkenny. Speaking yesterday, Jim McGuinness described the controversy as "disrespectful" to both Donegal and Mayo.

The chairman of the Four Masters GAA club Sean Dunnion, confirmed today that the team would be returning to Donegal town the night after the All-Ireland final.

"There will be a reception for the team on Monday, September 24 at around 8pm on the Diamond, whatever the result. The team and management deserve a great reception, whether they win or not. They've worked so hard throughout the year," he told The Donegal Democrat.

"We had notification from the county board this morning that our application to host the event was successful. We are absolutely delighted with the news.

"It's a pity that the issue of where the homecoming reception would be held became something of a distraction over the last four-five days, but we know that the team and management have remained focused. We're just glad that we can get on with working away quietly preparing to welcome them back and show them how much we appreciate all they've done."

Apparently they have won it already? I'm sure that's what I heard people say after the demolition of Cork in the semi???
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 06, 2012, 09:36:03 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 06, 2012, 09:16:54 PM

06 September 2012

Apparently they have won it already? I'm sure that's what I heard people say after the demolition of Cork in the semi???

Aaaahhhh bollix, the fact they are not factoring in the possiblity of a draw means they really believe they are going to hocky Mayo by 5 or 6 points +
Post by: J70 on September 06, 2012, 10:08:47 PM

06 September 2012

Don't worry boys, the backlash is due to begin soon, if it hasn't already. Mayo will have plenty of backers in the press as well.
Post by: moysider on September 06, 2012, 11:39:08 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 06, 2012, 10:08:47 PM

06 September 2012

Don't worry boys, the backlash is due to begin soon, if it hasn't already. Mayo will have plenty of backers in the press as well.

Not that it means much but no we will not have plenty of backers! That s not going to happen.

Mayo s last 15 mins v Dublin have cemented the view that Donegal are the just heirs. Donegal are just going to have to deal with that and too be honest I don t think it s a big deal. If a team can t perform when expected to then they are flawed - as we were in 97.

The homecoming thing is gas. A few Donegals at work are playing it cool. When the homecoming stuff came up I pointed out that we would fly him in to Knock. It was quickly pointed out - by the most grounded Donegal - that it would be the second miracle on that hollowed ground!

Hmmmmmm. Nothing wrong with a bit of cockiness when you know your stuff.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2012, 01:10:16 PM
Seems the owner of the Bog bar, the fella up the Bluestacks has offered his shebeen as neutral ground for Donegal's "celebrations"  ;D
Post by: sans pessimism on September 07, 2012, 01:24:51 PM

It is however refreshing to get an AI free from Kerry and Tyrone, that is a nice change and if Mayo do win it then fair fecks to them.

In 77 we had a massive crowd out to see our team come home after getting destroyed by the Dubs and JK in particular, it is an important part of the AI experience and despite the shit stirring from one or two of the Mayo wans it has feck all to do with arrogance or over confidence and everything to do with tradition, future planning and public safety.
Yawn.....tired,cliched,boring ,drivel.Check the stats like a good maneen
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2012, 01:36:10 PM
Love the complete disrespect of Mayo in the comments after the article.

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2012/09/04/donegal-fan-says-he-will-leave-car-at-croker-if-team-dont-win-sam/ (http://www.donegaldaily.com/2012/09/04/donegal-fan-says-he-will-leave-car-at-croker-if-team-dont-win-sam/)

(http://www.donegaldaily.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/IMG_43661.jpg)

DONEGAL FAN SAYS HE WILL LEAVE CAR AT CROKER IF TEAM DON'T WIN SAM!
September 4, 2012

A Donegal GAA fan has vowed to leave his amazing new car in Dublin if his team lose the All Ireland Final.
Martin O'Donnell from Dungloe has been turning heads since he spent a "small fortune" customising his car after Donegal reached the final.

Martin, who owns Dungloe Carbreakers, spent days overhauling his 1998 Opel Corsa.

The car is wrapped in a complete picture of Donegal GAA manager Jim McGuinness and his team.

Martin said he loves his car but admits he couldn't face driving it around if Donegal leave Croke Park without the Sam Maguire Cup.

"I can't even think about Donegal not winning the All Ireland and bringing Sam back to Donegal.

"I've spent a lot of time on the car and it's really turning a lot of heads and getting great reaction.

"Some people are painting their cars and adding bits and pieces and that's great. But I think we have gone one step further," he said.

Martin plans to park the car outside Croke Park on the day of the big game against Mayo on September 23rd.

However he admits that he'll find it difficult to get back into the customized machine if his team lose.

"If we win we'll have a great time and I'll leave the picture of the team on the car.

"I don't know what I'll do if we lose.

"I might have to leave it in Dublin altogether but I just couldn't get into it again without coming home with Sam," he added.

Post by: cadence on September 07, 2012, 08:44:42 PM
meh, or we could ditch the outrage and apply the chill-pill approach....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stoicism

Post by: ck on September 07, 2012, 10:39:02 PM
Today I spoke to pretty well known former county manager. His quote went like this;
"I'd go as far as to say Donegal are the surest bet in an All-Ireland final that any of us have ever seen. If Mayo perform well, it'll be a decent first half. That's as good as it'll get for Mayo I'm afraid"
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 08, 2012, 12:59:28 AM
Quote from: ck on September 07, 2012, 10:39:02 PM
Today I spoke to pretty well known former county manager. His quote went like this;
"I'd go as far as to say Donegal are the surest bet in an All-Ireland final that any of us have ever seen. If Mayo perform well, it'll be a decent first half. That's as good as it'll get for Mayo I'm afraid"

The last laugh will be on Clew Bay's Shores.

Post by: sans pessimism on September 08, 2012, 09:06:42 AM
Quote from: ck on September 07, 2012, 10:39:02 PM
Post by: Capt Pat on September 08, 2012, 12:35:02 PM
If the mindset of the DOnegal fans gets through to the Donegal players they could be in trouble. Their fans will be in for some shock if and when they lose.
Post by: cadence on September 08, 2012, 02:39:56 PM
i can only speak for myself, and that i wouldn't be happy if we got beat, as a fan how could you be to see your side beat in a final. this sadness would be tempered though by the fact that i've a top notch donegal team to support, who've given me two years of great moments. what more could you ask for as a supporter? the big prize yes, but to be munching away at the top table with the big boys, that's what it's all about too. these are heady days, big days out, and i'm going to enjoy them while they're here because they won't last for ever. i've also got a feeling we'll be strong again next season regardless of the result, perhaps that wee bit more ravenous if we get beat. and if we do get beat, they'll be no knee-jerk reactions and the team around the team will stay the same for a good number of years. i'd hope mcguinness gets to stay for as long as he likes and that as long as he likes is a very long time indeed. i'd also expect mayo to stick with the personnel they have as i think this is a lethal side that can be as good as anything the rest of the country has for a while as well. i wouldn't take umbrage to mayo being confident and happy about their prospects. this mayo side are a different animal. better run, better tactics, more solid all round and a right handful to stop too as you'd expect from mayo sides. they don't choke, they can dog it out and so i wouldn't be overly cautious about being optimistic if i was a mayo fan.       
Post by: rrhf on September 08, 2012, 06:01:45 PM
Listen Cadence
You need to win this final you are playing this month, stop thinking about next years big win.  There are 30 other counties in Ireland having to do that already not by choice.  I dont agree that you can predict being there for a long time, you win because you are good enough at the time, but you lose because you are overtaken by others betternext time round - sometimes the same things dont have the same effect.  Form can disappear faster than a salami sandwich in front of Fearon, ask the dubs?  The only thing you are sure about is that neither Donegal and Mayo for various reasons will ever get a better chance of winning Sam than this month.  Take it!     
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 09, 2012, 05:45:17 AM
Only place is Eyre Square Galway for Liam on Monday night. No discussion needed.
Post by: cadence on September 09, 2012, 08:33:05 AM
Quote from: rrhf on September 08, 2012, 06:01:45 PM
Listen Cadence
You need to win this final you are playing this month, stop thinking about next years big win.  There are 30 other counties in Ireland having to do that already not by choice.  I dont agree that you can predict being there for a long time, you win because you are good enough at the time, but you lose because you are overtaken by others betternext time round - sometimes the same things dont have the same effect.  Form can disappear faster than a salami sandwich in front of Fearon, ask the dubs?  The only thing you are sure about is that neither Donegal and Mayo for various reasons will ever get a better chance of winning Sam than this month.  Take it!   

of course there's a final to win, one game at a time and all that jazz. and hopefully we will take it. but it's also true that by committing to something long term you commit for a reason. and i'd put my money on us giving it a good lash with the same people on board next year. i don't accept your argument that the same things don't work, because they do. we all know that's the purpose of training, practising your skills, evaluating yourself and others objectively and developing strategies. you keep doing these and you get better.

as far as form is concerned, dublin were not as good as they were last year. they're a big game team who benefit from tough competition and they were undercooked compared to last year and to me this is down to the draw they had. tough battles against kildare, tyrone and donegal set them up nicely. + their tactics against mayo were a bit off. not saying they would have won, but i think they would have given themselves a better chance with different tactics. should have kept things tighter first half.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 10, 2012, 02:55:07 AM
Donegal your fucked. Just saying  8)
Post by: cadence on September 10, 2012, 11:18:26 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 10, 2012, 02:55:07 AM
Donegal your fucked. Just saying  8)

Finally out of the long grass...

Your hole.