Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Applesisapples on August 29, 2012, 09:18:39 AM

Title: Inclusion and a shared Future My Ar*e
Post by: Applesisapples on August 29, 2012, 09:18:39 AM
Unionist leaders incite bands to break the law, then tie themselves in knots avoiding any criticism. No parity for nationalist flags and symbols. Sainsbury's festooned in union jacks, Derry UK city of culture, The OO getting the freedom of Lisburn. There is no inclusion or shared future or parity of esteem. Unionists are incapable of this concept. And where are nationalist politicians? With the exception of the inarticulate Culture Minister? Unionists and the British have hoodwinked Nationalists in to acceptance of the British "Nation" that is NI...
Title: Re: Inclusion and a shared Future My Ar*e
Post by: Hereiam on August 29, 2012, 09:40:07 AM
Totally agreed with all that. Our side have got their big pay packets and are happy to let things roll along.
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 10:58:19 AM
I don't see what is wrong with Derry being the city of culture. Especially considering the main event of the year will be the All-Ireland Fleadh.

As far as I'm concerned we have the same rights and opportunities as the other side which we did not have before. Things like the Orange Order and triumphalism will always be there with or without a united Ireland. I don't really understand the point your making? Do you think republican armed struggle is the way to go?
Post by: front of the mountain on August 29, 2012, 12:46:14 PM
You would think mainly that bigots prevails in the larger towns and cities! Sad to to see Donegal fans returning home from Croker through Kesh in Fermanagh and getting their cars pelted with eggs. The bitterness seemed to be entrenched throughout the wider unionist community and takes very little bring it to the surface, no matter how their politicans try and paint the inclusivness picture!
Post by: orangeman on August 29, 2012, 12:48:01 PM
Quote from: front of the mountain on August 29, 2012, 12:46:14 PM
You would think mainly that bigots prevails in the larger towns and cities! Sad to to see Donegal fans returning home from Croker through Kesh in Fermanagh and getting their cars pelted with eggs. The bitterness seemed to be entrenched throughout the wider unionist community and takes very little bring it to the surface, no matter how their politicans try and paint the inclusivness picture!

It seems to have been Tyrone fans that were throwing the eggs.

Money buys most things.
Post by: Orior on August 29, 2012, 01:29:38 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 29, 2012, 12:48:01 PM

It seems to have been Tyrone fans that were throwing the eggs.

Money buys most things.

Were the eggs out of date?

There is still a loyalist mindset that believed the GFA would firm up their right to coat trailing activity. And Lisburn is a black hole.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 29, 2012, 01:44:27 PM

They must have been battered!
Post by: oisinog on August 29, 2012, 02:03:39 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on August 29, 2012, 09:18:39 AM
Unionist leaders incite bands to break the law, then tie themselves in knots avoiding any criticism. No parity for nationalist flags and symbols. Sainsbury's festooned in union jacks, Derry UK city of culture, The OO getting the freedom of Lisburn. There is no inclusion or shared future or parity of esteem. Unionists are incapable of this concept. And where are nationalist politicians? With the exception of the inarticulate Culture Minister? Unionists and the British have hoodwinked Nationalists in to acceptance of the British "Nation" that is NI...

Sainsburys is one of the main sponsors of Team GB&NI during the olympics and also a main sponser of the paralmpics so you can understand the union flag as this is a commercial exercise for the company.

Derry is in GB you need to face that as is west belfast, Lurgan and all other town and Cities in Northern Ireland.

I disagree with The OO getting freedom of Lisburn but this is not a sure this as the equality people are looking at this so this is unlikly to go through espically now as lisburn is nearly 50/50
Post by: Feckitt on August 29, 2012, 02:08:50 PM
When are the kids back to school?
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 02:09:57 PM

Ah to be far Apple me oul mucker with Derry City being the UK City of Culture ye can't blame the unionists here............... It was the stoops and the $hinners that warmly accepted it. And Oakleaf County the thing ye say about the fleadh coming to Derry is a great reward/result so we should support this title we are given from London??? Catch yourself on, your appeasement sickens me. Anything accepted on the behest of this title is wrong and I include the McRoary/ McLarnon finals, the Fleadh and the All-Ireland feile which all will be happening in the city in this year.

The GAA has jumped on the bandwagon also. Derry City has 100,000 people yet gaelic games has poor here for 90 years; is the UK city of culture award going to change the face of gaelic games with the hosting of the colleges final and a 3 day blitz? No hard work and a source of inclusion from the county board.This title is a mere sham on which the GAA in this county can say we will improve our cultural games for a few months and then forget all about the city.
Post by: Hardy on August 29, 2012, 02:13:23 PM
Quote from: oisinog on August 29, 2012, 02:03:39 PM

Derry is in GB you need to face that as is west belfast, Lurgan and all other town and Cities in Northern Ireland.

Wow! Tectonic shift is speeding up.
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 29, 2012, 02:14:10 PM
Keep Ulster British, Vótáil $inn £éin.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on August 29, 2012, 02:22:28 PM

Sainsburys is one of the main sponsors of Team GB&NI during the olympics and also a main sponser of the paralmpics so you can understand the union flag as this is a commercial exercise for the company.

I disagree with The OO getting freedom of Lisburn but this is not a sure this as the equality people are looking at this so this is unlikly to go through espically now as lisburn is nearly 50/50

Oisin Og you need to understand the difference between GB (geographical) and the UK (political).
Post by: Forever Green on August 29, 2012, 02:31:18 PM

Absolutely spot on
Post by: Orior on August 29, 2012, 02:33:02 PM
Please dont tell me that they bought the eggs in Sainsburys.
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 02:56:25 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 02:09:57 PM
Ah to be far Apple me oul mucker with Derry City being the UK City of Culture ye can't blame the unionists here............... It was the stoops and the $hinners that warmly accepted it. And Oakleaf County the thing ye say about the fleadh coming to Derry is a great reward/result so we should support this title we are given from London??? Catch yourself on, your appeasement sickens me. Anything accepted on the behest of this title is wrong and I include the McRoary/ McLarnon finals, the Fleadh and the All-Ireland feile which all will be happening in the city in this year.

The GAA has jumped on the bandwagon also. Derry City has 100,000 people yet gaelic games has poor here for 90 years; is the UK city of culture award going to change the face of gaelic games with the hosting of the colleges final and a 3 day blitz? No hard work and a source of inclusion from the county board.This title is a mere sham on which the GAA in this county can say we will improve our cultural games for a few months and then forget all about the city.

OK then keyboard dissident give your valid reasons why Derry having the city of culture is a bad thing for the town?

As for GAA in the city. Massive strides have been made since the late eighties/early 90's when it was practically non existant. If you're from the area you will be well aware of that! Fair enough it is nowhere near it's potential but it is up to the clubs to really push on. In an ideal world there would be about 12 clubs between football and hurling but the fact is that the culture isn't there and the town is dominated by soccer. I don't think the cities club scene in both codes will ever reach the heights it was at pre partition but that's not the county boards fault.
Post by: stew on August 29, 2012, 03:26:02 PM

Ban all the feckin flags until  ye can all agree, enough of this shite already.

Sainsbury's, should know better and I am sure there are people who wont darken their doors again until they sponsor the Ulster championship.  :P
Post by: Applesisapples on August 29, 2012, 03:40:35 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 10:58:19 AM
I don't see what is wrong with Derry being the city of culture. Especially considering the main event of the year will be the All-Ireland Fleadh.

As far as I'm concerned we have the same rights and opportunities as the other side which we did not have before. Things like the Orange Order and triumphalism will always be there with or without a united Ireland. I don't really understand the point your making? Do you think republican armed struggle is the way to go?
No but we've accepted the British State and all it's trappings. But If that's how people want it then I suppose that's democracy.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 29, 2012, 03:42:47 PM

Actually NI is in the UK and not GB. Why do I have to accept the partition of Ireland and denial of parity of esteem for Irish citizens?
Post by: Arthur_Friend on August 29, 2012, 03:47:55 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on August 29, 2012, 03:42:47 PM

Actually NI is in the UK and not GB. Why do I have to accept the partition of Ireland and denial of parity of esteem for Irish citizens?

What would you suggest be done to change the situation?
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 03:50:55 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on August 29, 2012, 03:40:35 PM
No but we've accepted the British State and all it's trappings. But If that's how people want it then I suppose that's democracy.

The fact is that the reason why there is still partition is because the majority in the north want it. Although I strongly believe that partition in the first place was not democratic and I hate it, I also support the fact that we are where we are until the majority decide otherwise.

Also, even if there is a UI at some point there will always be people who consider themselves British and there will still be an orange order whether you or I like it or not.
Post by: Rossfan on August 29, 2012, 04:03:34 PM
Why do I have to accept the partition of Ireland and denial of parity of esteem for Irish citizens?

The same reason as the rest of us - The majority vote for the GFA and it's clause that until a majority in the 6 Cos. say otherwise it remains within Brit Government jurisdiction.

You don't have to accept denial of parity of esteem- Do something about it  -like - lobby Nationalist politicians, public protests , Courts .....
Post by: oisinog on August 29, 2012, 04:13:34 PM
Crap I always get the two of them confused between GB and the UK
Post by: Applesisapples on August 29, 2012, 04:22:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 29, 2012, 04:03:34 PM
Why do I have to accept the partition of Ireland and denial of parity of esteem for Irish citizens?

The same reason as the rest of us - The majority vote for the GFA and it's clause that until a majority in the 6 Cos. say otherwise it remains within Brit Government jurisdiction.

You don't have to accept denial of parity of esteem- Do something about it  -like - lobby Nationalist politicians, public protests , Courts .....
There are two differing threads here, we nationalists have accepted partition until the majority agree otherwise and really other than persuade there isn't a lot we can do. The point i'm making is that we have got absolutely nothing in return as regards our nationality, symbols and institutions other than what is required to keep on the right side of the law. If the GAA had organized a parade to celebrate an anniversary do you think for one minute they would be allowed to display naked sectarianism in the way the OO and bands do? Would Unionists have avoided condemnation? Nationalist politicians and SF in particular have shown no leadership. I didn't and wouldn't support armed struggle but it appears that most nationalists are no longer that but have in effect become Unionists. It has returned to the days when we were afraid to talk about our games culture etc... lest we annoy our Orange masters. And in accepting UK City of Culture status Derry has sold out for the hand out.
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 04:44:26 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 02:56:25 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 02:09:57 PM

OK then keyboard dissident give your valid reasons why Derry having the city of culture is a bad thing for the town?

As for GAA in the city. Massive strides have been made since the late eighties/early 90's when it was practically non existant. If you're from the area you will be well aware of that! Fair enough it is nowhere near it's potential but it is up to the clubs to really push on. In an ideal world there would be about 12 clubs between football and hurling but the fact is that the culture isn't there and the town is dominated by soccer. I don't think the cities club scene in both codes will ever reach the heights it was at pre partition but that's not the county boards fault.

Twice you have posted about the UK city of culture and twice you have conviently forgot to add the title 'UK' in front of the award. If you are going to win an award the most honorable thing you can do which to give it its proper title now.

Bad thing for the town.............ill give one simple reason which is why a lot of people disagree with it: we are irish, we are proud to be irish. This country has gone through years of suffering and hardship to pronounce to the world that we are irish; this same people who once  put people in their graves for much less, now support us being a UK city of culture; very sad indeed.

The county board are the figure head of the county's interests; if they put a whole lot of effort behind improving gaelic games in our city it would be of huge benefit.the clubs in the city have been doing by themselves for a long time. In 20 years there is only one club at senior level from city while there is 1 intermediate (soon to be junior); I would hardly thinking that is striking improvement. Back in the years you mention colmcille were floating between intermediate and senior with 2/3 junior clubs (the same as now) while Na Magha were reguarly competiting unlike now. And in the space of that time........there has been 2 pitches developed.if the county baord really had an interest they would employ the top coaches to come into this area and make the Derry City Council wind their neck in with their 4 day pre booking of a GAA pitch in the city. (Only 1 GAA council pitch in the city) . They would also ensure the use of Celtic Park and Owenbeg for the only university in Derry, Magee and NWIFE. (Presently Magee don't have a set of goal posts to shoot in when training on the Magee soccer pitch; in fact they never have)
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 04:51:48 PM
Everybody calls this democratic this, democratic that;the fact is that the British undemocratically took this island a long time ago and in 1921 split our land in two when undemocratically they enforced partition.

The British don't do democracy.
Post by: bailestil on August 29, 2012, 04:53:49 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 04:44:26 PM
Bad thing for the town.............ill give one simple reason which is why a lot of people disagree with it: we are irish, we are proud to be irish.

There is no way that it will be  bad thing for the City. thankfully your in the very small minority who think that.

As for being Irish. How will that be affected on Jan 1st 2013? 
You seem to be confused. It not City of UK Culture - its UK City of culture. There's a very big difference.
Post by: ziggysego on August 29, 2012, 04:57:45 PM
Quote from: bailestil on August 29, 2012, 04:53:49 PM
You seem to be confused. It not City of UK Culture - its UK City of culture. There's a very big difference.

I personally have no bother with Derry having it and it'll be good for the local economy, but what's the differences above?
Post by: bailestil on August 29, 2012, 05:00:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 29, 2012, 04:57:45 PM

I personally have no bother with Derry having it and it'll be good for the local economy, but what's the differences above?

Its not a festival of british Culture etc. Its all Cultures. Hence Fleadh etc.
Post by: dillinger on August 29, 2012, 05:04:42 PM

That big brush seems to have a lot of tar on it.
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 05:52:23 PM
Bad thing for the town.............ill give one simple reason which is why a lot of people disagree with it: we are irish, we are proud to be irish.

There is no way that it will be  bad thing for the City. thankfully your in the very small minority who think that.

As for being Irish. How will that be affected on Jan 1st 2013? 

Aye........I'm confused alright.
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 08:02:46 PM

Twice you have posted about the UK city of culture and twice you have conviently forgot to add the title 'UK' in front of the award. If you are going to win an award the most honorable thing you can do which to give it its proper title now.

Bad thing for the town.............ill give one simple reason which is why a lot of people disagree with it: we are irish, we are proud to be irish. This country has gone through years of suffering and hardship to pronounce to the world that we are irish; this same people who once  put people in their graves for much less, now support us being a UK city of culture; very sad indeed.

The county board are the figure head of the county's interests; if they put a whole lot of effort behind improving gaelic games in our city it would be of huge benefit.the clubs in the city have been doing by themselves for a long time. In 20 years there is only one club at senior level from city while there is 1 intermediate (soon to be junior); I would hardly thinking that is striking improvement. Back in the years you mention colmcille were floating between intermediate and senior with 2/3 junior clubs (the same as now) while Na Magha were reguarly competiting unlike now. And in the space of that time........there has been 2 pitches developed.if the county baord really had an interest they would employ the top coaches to come into this area and make the Derry City Council wind their neck in with their 4 day pre booking of a GAA pitch in the city. (Only 1 GAA council pitch in the city) . They would also ensure the use of Celtic Park and Owenbeg for the only university in Derry, Magee and NWIFE. (Presently Magee don't have a set of goal posts to shoot in when training on the Magee soccer pitch; in fact they never have)

1) So being proud to be Irish means you should be against the CoC. Wise up! Thanks to the CoC a few more people have jobs that otherwise wouldn't have in a town where jobs are few. It'll also be great for the towns morale. I suppose you were against the clipper too as it said Londonderry as well as Derry.

2) Boo hoo. Do the rural clubs in north Derry get a service from the county board that the city clubs don't? I doubt it. The reason why Ballinderry and Bellaghy are successful isn't thanks to the county board. It's thanks to themselves.

3) My earliest memory of Colmicille is in early 90's and they were a poor intermediate team though they were the best in the city by a long. They improved a lot in the late nineties and then went into the wilderness. There own fault and no one elses!

4) Lisnagelvin and Templemore. That's two council owned pitches. The demand is for soccer pitches not gaelic.

5) Since when were the colleges the responsibility of the county board? I played for Derry tech against Magee and both set ups were half arsed jokes. Again it's up to themselves to get in touch with the county board or council if they want to use there pitches. We trained at Templemore and getting to use it wasn't an issue. I don't see why it would be for Magee. Or maybe you're just talking crap! I suppose it's not Magee's fault they don't have a pitch.
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 08:33:07 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 08:02:46 PM

1) So being proud to be Irish means you should be against the CoC. Wise up! Thanks to the CoC a few more people have jobs that otherwise wouldn't have in a town where jobs are few. It'll also be great for the towns morale. I suppose you were against the clipper too as it said Londonderry as well as Derry.

2) Boo hoo. Do the rural clubs in north Derry get a service from the county board that the city clubs don't? I doubt it. The reason why Ballinderry and Bellaghy are successful isn't thanks to the county board. It's thanks to themselves.

3) My earliest memory of Colmicille is in early 90's and they were a poor intermediate team though they were the best in the city by a long. They improved a lot in the late nineties and then went into the wilderness. There own fault and no one elses!

4) Lisnagelvin and Templemore. That's two council owned pitches. The demand is for soccer pitches not gaelic.

5) Since when were the colleges the responsibility of the county board? I played for Derry tech against Magee and both set ups were half arsed jokes. Again it's up to themselves to get in touch with the county board or council if they want to use there pitches. We trained at Templemore and getting to use it wasn't an issue. I don't see why it would be for Magee. Or maybe you're just talking crap! I suppose it's not Magee's fault they don't have a pitch.

1. Well your no.1 point is contradictory; I don't know where to start. Baile Stil by the looks of it in his above post states that he doesn't mind being part of the UK so I don't mind people like that who are apolitical. You forgot to add UK in your CoC abbreviation.

2. I think you lost my point there; I believe the clubs in the city could achieve a lot more with the help of the county board. There is a lot of potential here and not only will it help the clubs, but also the county as a whole with so many potential players/volunteers for the GAA. As you stated the city is overrun with soccer heads why did get all the gaels to get behind a huge GAA initiative

3. Colmcille were senior division team in 1982/3 and then were a decent intermediate team up until their late demise; hopefully with their new pitch on the way they can get an influx of players and promote the GAA in the hatmore/grangemore/hazelbank areas

4. My mistake; should of read 2. I beg to differ about demand. I know Steelstown have a lot of teams and had to go elsewhere throughout the season to train; they ended up in Carnhill and Thornhill schools. Dolans' pitch is out of commission so they have been down on the soccer pitch in Daisy Filed, Colmcille are down in Templemore and Pearses are in the Waterside. The council do not let you train on these pitches and are only used for matches and they have to be pre-booked 3 working days in advance. But do you ever drive past Templemore and see the soccer boys training on the pitch?? Every day of the week. They don't seemed to be moved.

5.I was also involved here, on Magee side. Steelstown lets us use their pitch to play a few games, likewise Sean Dolans when it was in ok nick. We actually struck a deal with county board that we could use Celtic Park for matches one year and training, turned out that year we could only play matches and training was not allowed but said we could take full use of Owenbeg. Of course that never came to fruition as Owenbeg was all booked up.

Overall I'll disagree with ye heavily on the UK city of Culture point but I do think the town could get a helping hand from the county board as there is so much potential here and it is getting unused. How many more players could we get here??? Thousands no doubt.Would any other county with a population the size of Derry City lie 'dormant' within their respective county. I doubt it
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 09:07:10 PM
I'll not bother debating the CoC as I simply can't comprehend your thinking on it.

Most clubs in north Derry don't reach their full potential not just city clubs but it's not for the county board to fix that. It's down to the clubs themselves. If the clubs don't have enough of or the right kind of volunteers then it will always be mediocore no matter what the county board do.

The club I once played for Slaughtmanus had a lot of very good underage teams with players who didn't go onto seniors due to dissolusion with the people in charge. Like some of their near neighbours they are destined to never reach potential. That isn't the county boards fault.

Most young guys in the city have played gaelic football at one time or another but have chosen to pursue soccer once they got up a bit. That's not the county boards fault.

As for Magee, I don't get why they didn't train on Wednesday afternoons when there is supposed to be no classes in any uni?

I long for the 1910's/20's when the city was a hotbed for both football and hurling but the fact is that it was volunteers that made it that way and it will have to be the same again. It's also a fact that the communities and most of the streets those teams grew up in were both physically and emotionally raised to the ground and dispersed between the 50's and 70's leaving nothing but soccer. The Bogside community and streets that Eire Óg dominated from is long gone.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 29, 2012, 09:14:45 PM
No parity for nationalist flags and symbols. Sainsbury's festooned in union jacks
What an unfortunate example with which to make your point...

(http://www.irishabroad.com/Content/Blogs/724//image/ART/Sainsbury's%20Failte.jpg)

(http://www.irishabroad.com/Content/Blogs/724//image/ART/Sainsbury's%20Exit_.jpg)
Post by: Maguire01 on August 29, 2012, 09:17:59 PM
this same people who once  put people in their graves for much less, now support us being a UK city of culture; very sad indeed.
Yes, but the sad part is that they put people in their graves.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 29, 2012, 09:18:42 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 29, 2012, 04:57:45 PM

Like everything else it is worth 6 gazillion to the local economy.
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 09:31:08 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2012, 09:07:10 PM
I'll not bother debating the CoC as I simply can't comprehend your thinking on it.

Most clubs in north Derry don't reach their full potential not just city clubs but it's not for the county board to fix that. It's down to the clubs themselves. If the clubs don't have enough of or the right kind of volunteers then it will always be mediocore no matter what the county board do.

The club I once played for Slaughtmanus had a lot of very good underage teams with players who didn't go onto seniors due to dissolusion with the people in charge. Like some of their near neighbours they are destined to never reach potential. That isn't the county boards fault.

Most young guys in the city have played gaelic football at one time or another but have chosen to pursue soccer once they got up a bit. That's not the county boards fault.

As for Magee, I don't get why they didn't train on Wednesday afternoons when there is supposed to be no classes in any uni?

I long for the 1910's/20's when the city was a hotbed for both football and hurling but the fact is that it was volunteers that made it that way and it will have to be the same again. It's also a fact that the communities and most of the streets those teams grew up in were both physically and emotionally raised to the ground and dispersed between the 50's and 70's leaving nothing but soccer. The Bogside community and streets that Eire Óg dominated from is long gone.

Yes the tradition is long gone; that's why some people with a bit of know-how could come in and help out.

League matches take place on a Wednesday afternoons for the last 10 years and even though Wednesday afternoons are 'set aside for sports clubs' more and more classes are taking place during these times which makes sports time a nonsense. Plus when the league is over the Wednesdays are used for league games. Anytime we went to Templemore to train we were chased, we used to have to ring up and say we had a match and then when we got there say the other team never turned up just to train. The council soon put a stop to that!
Post by: bailestil on August 29, 2012, 10:51:36 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 09:31:08 PM

Yes the tradition is long gone; that's why some people with a bit of know-how could come in and help out.
No Else's job to worry about GAA in the city but the people of the City.
People have enough to worry about at their own club and county level than to help someone else.

Derry City Council are a farce and the only people we can blame ourselves for electing politicians more interested in crap like freeing Palestine than sorting out issues in their own communities.
Post by: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 11:09:51 PM
Quote from: bailestil on August 29, 2012, 10:51:36 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 29, 2012, 09:31:08 PM

No Else's job to worry about GAA in the city but the people of the City.
People have enough to worry about at their own club and county level than to help someone else.

Derry City Council are a farce and the only people we can blame ourselves for electing politicians more interested in crap like freeing Palestine than sorting out issues in their own communities.

Your forgetting the city is in the county; the GAA of county Derry.

Poor people in need of help in other countries.............. I think that is a problem that effects us all; we should ALL be looking to help people poorer off, as we our quite fortunate to live in better conditions. As stated in the news earlier the people in Gaza will run out of resources in a few years as Israel have cut the underground tunnels and indeed the relief ships which bring supplies via the sea.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 30, 2012, 12:38:39 AM
Quote from: dillinger on August 29, 2012, 05:04:42 PM

That big brush seems to have a lot of tar on it.

I agree many of my Unionist friends are Irish with a very big I and British with a very small b, some seem to not be able to stand the British from Britain and rather holiday in Mayo or Kerry or live in Dublin or Galway. They like us aren't all the same.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 30, 2012, 12:34:19 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 29, 2012, 09:14:45 PM
No parity for nationalist flags and symbols. Sainsbury's festooned in union jacks

(http://www.irishabroad.com/Content/Blogs/724//image/ART/Sainsbury's%20Failte.jpg)

(http://www.irishabroad.com/Content/Blogs/724//image/ART/Sainsbury's%20Exit_.jpg)
I store and one store only, check out Sprucefield, Newry Craigavon etc...
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 01:03:12 PM
I see over a thousand unionists gathered outside Shore Road Asda last night and blocked the road, all to remember Billy Hunter who set himself on fire last week. Hunter was a man who was charged with the murders of two young Catholic men who were lured to an apartment in 1975 and shot them in the back of the head.

Unionism has really excelled itself this week in demonstrating how much the triumphalist mindset still exists. For a community whose 'leaders' preach like nobody else can on the importance of obeying the law & order, their involvement this week in what happened in Belfast, and their refusal to criticise unionist bands/hangers-on for their flagrant breach of the law is telling. Telling also, is how, having caused such offence, they now plan to march past it again in September with over 20,000 supporters. These bands evidently went out of their way to march past a Catholic Church for no other reason than because they knew it would cause offence. The Catholic Priest standing inside the door of the Chapel was subjected to some vile verbal abuse under the watchful gaze of the psni, while bottles and missiles were thrown at peaceful protesters. The triumphalist mindset is typified by the behaviour of those taking part in the march, who, upon reaching the Chapel turned to face the protesters and began cheering and dancing, and waving their flags in faces of protesters. Croppies lie down. I was listening to Radio Ulster Talkback this morning and the blind bigotry being espoused is truly amazing. Not so amazing was the input from one Ruth Dudley Edwards who explained in detail why she is so sympathetic to these loyalist knuckle draggers. The handling of this event at the weekend also raises some serious questions of the psni. Why is it that when a handful of bands are permitted to walk through the Ardoyne Shops etc, the psni are there in full riot gear in their hundreds to force the unionist marchers through, yet when the marchers are not permitted to walk past this Chapel, the same police are there in much smaller numbers, with no riot gear to be seen, and stand idly by watching the law being broken?
Post by: armaghniac on August 30, 2012, 01:09:26 PM
QuoteI store and one store only, check out Sprucefield, Newry Craigavon etc...

Exactly. Like the BBC some fenced off acknowledgement of taigs is OK, but make sure not to present it as a general thing.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 30, 2012, 03:00:45 PM
I have been accused here of tarring all unionists with the one brush...not me mate, listen to Nelson McCausland, Jim Rogers,Jim Allister Jonathon Craig, Gregory Campbell etc..."there is wide spread frustration in the wider unionist community over Ardoyne/Rasharkin/Bellaghy/Crumlin" delete as appropriate. I don't here the wider unionist community speak out against these statements being issued in their name. (Two Clergymen excepted).
Post by: oisinog on August 30, 2012, 03:02:25 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 01:03:12 PM
I see over a thousand unionists gathered outside Shore Road Asda last night and blocked the road, all to remember Billy Hunter who set himself on fire last week. Hunter was a man who was charged with the murders of two young Catholic men who were lured to an apartment in 1975 and shot them in the back of the head.

Unionism has really excelled itself this week in demonstrating how much the triumphalist mindset still exists. For a community whose 'leaders' preach like nobody else can on the importance of obeying the law & order, their involvement this week in what happened in Belfast, and their refusal to criticise unionist bands/hangers-on for their flagrant breach of the law is telling. Telling also, is how, having caused such offence, they now plan to march past it again in September with over 20,000 supporters. These bands evidently went out of their way to march past a Catholic Church for no other reason than because they knew it would cause offence. The Catholic Priest standing inside the door of the Chapel was subjected to some vile verbal abuse under the watchful gaze of the psni, while bottles and missiles were thrown at peaceful protesters. The triumphalist mindset is typified by the behaviour of those taking part in the march, who, upon reaching the Chapel turned to face the protesters and began cheering and dancing, and waving their flags in faces of protesters. Croppies lie down. I was listening to Radio Ulster Talkback this morning and the blind bigotry being espoused is truly amazing. Not so amazing was the input from one Ruth Dudley Edwards who explained in detail why she is so sympathetic to these loyalist knuckle draggers. The handling of this event at the weekend also raises some serious questions of the psni. Why is it that when a handful of bands are permitted to walk through the Ardoyne Shops etc, the psni are there in full riot gear in their hundreds to force the unionist marchers through, yet when the marchers are not permitted to walk past this Chapel, the same police are there in much smaller numbers, with no riot gear to be seen, and stand idly by watching the law being broken?

Nally in Ardoyne there is an expected tension every year that is why the PSNI are in riot gear. They draft officers in from all over Northern Ireland for that one march.

You fail to mention that 7 PSNI officers were injured trying to move the march on from in front of the chapel. I agree that the PSNI were under prepared for what happened at the weekend but other than a few missiles being thrown there is no way to compare it to what happens in Ardoyne.

There is still tensions in pocket areas in Northern Ireland and the police are doing the best they can with the resources that they have.

The majory of people in Northern Ireland have moved on we still have some single minded people on both sides of the community trying to stir up tensions
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 30, 2012, 03:13:28 PM

People deserve the government they get, and they deserve to get it good and hard.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 05:48:18 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on August 30, 2012, 03:13:28 PM

People deserve the government they get, and they deserve to get it good and hard.

Couldn't agree more. Certain folks deserved everything FF dished out. How's ms merkel looking after you? Ok?
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 05:56:18 PM
Quote from: oisinog on August 30, 2012, 03:02:25 PM

Nally in Ardoyne there is an expected tension every year that is why the PSNI are in riot gear. They draft officers in from all over Northern Ireland for that one march.

You fail to mention that 7 PSNI officers were injured trying to move the march on from in front of the chapel. I agree that the PSNI were under prepared for what happened at the weekend but other than a few missiles being thrown there is no way to compare it to what happens in Ardoyne.

There is still tensions in pocket areas in Northern Ireland and the police are doing the best they can with the resources that they have.

The majory of people in Northern Ireland have moved on we still have some single minded people on both sides of the community trying to stir up tensions

The PSNI doing their best with the resources they have? Nonsense of the highest order. If five orangemen wish to march through Ardoyne or Rasharkin, hundreds of psni men will be there in full riot gear to make damn sure it happens. If they are told they cannot march past a Chapel, where are those hundreds of psni men trying to make sure they don't and that the law is upheld? Standing aside watching the law being broken. Oh sorry, there was one with a loudspeaker calmly asking hundreds of loyalists to stop what they were doing. Heavy handed enforcement of the law alright. Claiming that this was just a result of not expecting it to be as contentious as it was is a laughable excuse. Unionist politicians and the bands made a very public campaign to ensure it was contentious in the days leading up to it.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 06:14:37 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on August 30, 2012, 12:34:19 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 29, 2012, 09:14:45 PM
I store and one store only, check out Sprucefield, Newry Craigavon etc...
Why, what will I find there?
Post by: Minder on August 30, 2012, 06:37:50 PM
Pat Doherty is all for inclusion and a shared future
Post by: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 07:13:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 30, 2012, 06:37:50 PM
At least we know he's still alive.
Post by: oisinog on August 30, 2012, 07:14:20 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 05:56:18 PM
Quote from: oisinog on August 30, 2012, 03:02:25 PM

The PSNI doing their best with the resources they have? Nonsense of the highest order. If five orangemen wish to march through Ardoyne or Rasharkin, hundreds of psni men will be there in full riot gear to make damn sure it happens. If they are told they cannot march past a Chapel, where are those hundreds of psni men trying to make sure they don't and that the law is upheld? Standing aside watching the law being broken. Oh sorry, there was one with a loudspeaker calmly asking hundreds of loyalists to stop what they were doing. Heavy handed enforcement of the law alright. Claiming that this was just a result of not expecting it to be as contentious as it was is a laughable excuse. Unionist politicians and the bands made a very public campaign to ensure it was contentious in the days leading up to it.

Nally there was in excess of 10 to 15 police officers there to cover this section of the parade. This is the second biggest day for policing of the year so the PSNI resources are spread thin. They do have to deploy extra police officers to cover very contentious parades in other areas.

Yes it was outragous what the bands done but you so you know the police are still investigating this and will bring charges if they have enough supporting evidence.

The PSNI handled the best that they could if they had went in there heavy handed they could have had a major riot on there hands, This is what half the crowd on both sides was looking for.#

If there had been a riot you would be on here spiuting crap how the police caused a riot in belfast. If you look how they handle what happened in Ardoyne the police only protected there lines they didnt go in heavy handed and very few people got hurt

No matter what some people do in Northern Ireland a mind set is very difficult to change. Northern Ireland has went through a massive change but some people bith in here and out on the streets want to drag us back to the 80s. We need to move on
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 07:20:37 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 07:13:18 PM

Speaking of still alive, has anybody seen stoop 'leader' Alasdair McDonnell? Or is he still snoozing on the job?: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiEUDeLX-hY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiEUDeLX-hY)
Post by: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 07:35:34 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 07:20:37 PM

Speaking of still alive, has anybody seen stoop 'leader' Alasdair McDonnell? Or is he still snoozing on the job?: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiEUDeLX-hY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiEUDeLX-hY)
Whatabout....
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 07:38:56 PM
Quote from: oisinog on August 30, 2012, 07:14:20 PM
Nally there was in excess of 10 to 15 police officers there to cover this section of the parade. This is the second biggest day for policing of the year so the PSNI resources are spread thin. They do have to deploy extra police officers to cover very contentious parades in other areas.
10 to 15. My point exactly. For one of the single most contentious parades of the entire year and by a long way the most contentious of that day. Ten to fifteen of them, making no effort to stop the law being broken bar one of them asking nicely over a loudspeaker. You mightn't like to hear it back but as you did say yourself, the Ardoyne Shops parade takes place on a day when resources are much more stretched and yet they can still manage to devote huge resources to a guide tiny group of orangemen along. No such resources dedicated to stopping them from marching where the law forbids them to though.

Yes it was outragous what the bands done but you so you know the police are still investigating this and will bring charges if they have enough supporting evidence.
By which time no doubt, the same scenario will have played out next year, because, hey, they got away with it once so why not again? That's not to mention the 20,000 expected to march there in September in another triumphalist insult of a march cultural celebration.

The PSNI handled the best that they could if they had went in there heavy handed they could have had a major riot on there hands, This is what half the crowd on both sides was looking for.#

If there had been a riot you would be on here spiuting crap how the police caused a riot in belfast. If you look how they handle what happened in Ardoyne the police only protected there lines they didnt go in heavy handed and very few people got hurt
Nonsense again. Nationalist protesters stood at the side of the road with a banner and threw no missiles as the parade went past. You suppose it is acceptable that unionist politicians and marchers break the law with no resistance from the 'police' because they might riot if they don't get their way?

No matter what some people do in Northern Ireland a mind set is very difficult to change. Northern Ireland has went through a massive change but some people bith in here and out on the streets want to drag us back to the 80s. We need to move on
I agree we need to move on, but I'd rather move on without having to accept the idea that unionist leaders can incite their followers to break the law and without having to witness this being facilitated by the psni. As the old saying goes, stand for nothing and you'll fall for anything.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 07:43:04 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 07:35:34 PM

Whatabout....

Just a casual aside more than anything. Wondering what has happened to him is all. Is he still sleeping? I bet the lights in the chamber were too bright for him. He has a thing about lights.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 09:21:50 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 07:43:04 PM

Whatabout....

Just a casual aside more than anything. Wondering what has happened to him is all. Is he still sleeping? I bet the lights in the chamber were too bright for him. He has a thing about lights.
Whataboutery
Post by: Saffrongael on August 30, 2012, 09:26:56 PM
Interesting to hear the spin on this.

Sinn Fein MP Pat Doherty backed loyalist band cash bid

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19428223

Sinn Fein MP Pat Doherty has lobbied for money for a loyalist flute band.

He wrote to the Arts Council backing funding for Castlederg Young Loyalist Flute Band.

The band's website includes sections on IRA atrocities, the controversial B Specials and lyrics to songs, including one glorifying UVF terrorist Brian Robinson who murdered a Catholic.

The band is linked to a lodge within the Orange Order.

"I am not naïve but this application for new instruments was worth endorsing."

In his letter of support for £5,000, Mr Doherty wrote that the band had reached out to "all sections of the community."

The BBC obtained the letter, written on House of Commons notepaper in June 2011, as part of a Freedom of Information request on political lobbying in support of band funding applications.

He wrote: "I have had quite a bit of inter-action with the band and can unequivocally state they have made a huge contribution in helping to resolve community tensions in Castlederg."

Mr Doherty told the BBC he was not aware of the contents of the band's website, but it was "in transition."

He said: "I am not naïve but this application for new instruments was worth endorsing."

Mr Doherty was asked to write the letter by a third party.

A spokesman for the band said they were "a bit taken aback" to learn the Sinn Fein MP had lobbied for money for them.

Denied
He said: "We are not ashamed of who we are. Four of our members were murdered by the IRA."

But, like Mr Doherty, the spokesman pointed out that the band had participated in cross-border, folk and traditional music events, including those organised under the banner of European peace funding.

The application that Mr Doherty supported was turned down.

But it has just been awarded a £4,800 grant following a separate application, which the Arts Council said was successful as the band had signed up to community relations criteria.

The documentation released to the BBC also revealed a Sinn Fein councillor's backing for funding for another band from the "pro-Unionist marching" tradition.

Cookstown councillor Ciaran McElhone wrote to the Arts Council last October after Drumnacross flute band was denied funding.

According to his correspondence, the band's name had been used on a BEBO site whose content was deemed offensive.

But Cllr McElhone said the band neither commissioned nor condoned the site and the use of its name had been unauthorised.

He said he wanted the Arts Council to reconsider, saying also that the band was "uncontroversial among the Nationalist community."
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 09:37:43 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 09:21:50 PM

Whatabout....

Whataboutery

Not really, as I'm wholly disgusted at Pat Doherty's actions so have no reason to deflect attention from it. Furthermore, raising Pat's record as an MP, in terms of this thread, is surely 'whataboutery' by your own standards? So allow me to just ask, as an aside, if anyone has tried to wake big Al yet?
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 30, 2012, 10:03:35 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on August 30, 2012, 09:26:56 PM
Interesting to hear the spin on this.

Sinn Fein MP Pat Doherty backed loyalist band cash bid

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19428223

They'll be administering British rule next, you mark my words. ;)

Post by: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 10:11:55 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 09:37:43 PM

Whatabout....

Whataboutery

Not really, as I'm wholly disgusted at Pat Doherty's actions so have no reason to deflect attention from it. Furthermore, raising Pat's record as an MP, in terms of this thread, is surely 'whataboutery' by your own standards? So allow me to just ask, as an aside, if anyone has tried to wake big Al yet?
Not sure how i'd know what 'big Al' is at... or what relevance it has to this thread.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:16:46 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 10:11:55 PM

Whatabout....

Whataboutery

Not sure how i'd know what 'big Al' is at... or what relevance it has to this thread.
It's not relevant to the thread at all, which makes it equally as relevant as Pats record as an MP is to the thread. And sure as far as what Big Al is at...well fair enough - if you don't know, you don't know. Nobody else knows either after all.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 10:28:26 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:16:46 PM

Whatabout....

Whataboutery

It's not relevant to the thread at all, which makes it equally as relevant as Pats record as an MP is to the thread. And sure as far as what Big Al is at...well fair enough - if you don't know, you don't know. Nobody else knows either after all.
My comment was merely an quip following a post about Pat - not what i'd understand to be 'whataboutery' by the way. Clearly it irked you enough to respond with something seemingly unrelated.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:34:47 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 10:28:26 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:16:46 PM

Whatabout....

Whataboutery

My comment was merely an quip following a post about Pat - not what i'd understand to be 'whataboutery' by the way. Clearly it irked you enough to respond with something seemingly unrelated.
And mine was just a quip about politicians being either alive or not! Clearly it irked you though.
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:36:53 PM
Jesus, thats a while bit of quoting
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:37:40 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:36:53 PM
It sure...
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:38:06 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:37:40 PM
It sure...
...is!
Post by: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 10:38:38 PM
while?
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:39:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 10:38:38 PM
while?
What?
Post by: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 10:40:06 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:39:17 PM
while?
What?
Precisely.
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:41:44 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 30, 2012, 10:40:06 PM
while?
What?
Precisely.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:45:25 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:41:44 PM
while?
What?
Precisely.
Who?
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:47:46 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 30, 2012, 10:45:25 PM
while?
What?
Precisely.
Who?
When?
Post by: cuconnacht on August 31, 2012, 06:48:55 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:47:46 PM
while?
What?
Precisely.
Who?
When?
Quote from: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 10:47:46 PM
while?
What?
Precisely.
Who?
When?
Unquote?"your turn" ;D
Post by: LeoMc on September 26, 2012, 10:30:41 AM

You can strike that one off your list.