GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 11:18:28 AM

Title: Kildare v Sligo
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 11:18:28 AM
Sligo have a great record against Kildare, if they can do the mass defence they'll win at a canter...
Title: Re: Kildare v Sligo
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 11:24:14 AM
QuoteJohnston seemed to have done well last night. Obviously I'd wish if he was still playing with Cavan but don't begrudge him playing with Kildare now. He got an extended bit of game time with the extra time so that would have helped. Do ye reckon he will start against Sligo?

He looked sharp when he came on, scored what everyone thought was a brilliant point but was controversially waved wide. Eoghan O'Flaherty is suffering indifferent form so could come in for him, Kildare will have to rotate this week so I think he will start and his cameo last night would have brought him on as he would have got a good 40 minutes under his belt.

My concern though is that he has become a target and Limerick zoned in on him as soon as he came on and for a second time in 2 weeks got no protection from a referee and was yellow carded for protecting himself.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 22, 2012, 11:42:35 AM
Cheers, Kildare haven't bad options from the bench when they can bring on Johnston and Fogarty.
Sligo are a bit unpredictable, Lost to Leitrim at home in the Championhsip last year, and beat Galway in Pearse Pk this year. They have some very good players like Limerick, but would still expect Kildare to win that game, should be close though.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 22, 2012, 01:45:01 PM
Suppose we can't possibly be as bad again but Sligo should be the fresher team. A lot of the Kildare team were going down with cramp in extra time and that might count against them next weekend.

Team selection will be interesting. Leper helped turn the game and both Chalky and Paudie O'Neill did well around the middle when they came on.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 22, 2012, 02:18:34 PM
I think this game depends on Sligo, Kildare are well exposed at this stage - we know where they stand. In terms of ability I'd say there is little between them, but whereas Kildare consistently show as a top ten team or thereabouts Sligo are capable of massively underperforming e.g Down 2010 and Leitrim last year. If Sligo haven't got the attitude for the qualifiers right Kildare will win at a canter but if they perform like they have done so far in the championship it'll be a 50/50 game.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2012, 02:33:07 PM
Donegal used a mass defence v Kildare last year and didn't win at a canter.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 22, 2012, 11:39:34 PM
I think we have a good chance of upsetting kildare in this one.  All depends on attitude and i ant see Kevin walsh let this team feel sorry for themselves for a second time
Post by: LilySavage on July 23, 2012, 10:23:59 AM
Anyone know where this game is on?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 10:30:14 AM
Double header in Croke Park with Meath v Laois possibly. Cavan or Roscommon other options.

Any news on Ollie Lyons? We'll need him fit to mark David Kelly. I remember him doing a decent job on him in the past, albeit in only an O'Byrne Cup match against DCU. He looked in a bad way coming off on Saturday night.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 10:56:17 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 10:30:14 AM
Double header in Croke Park with Meath v Laois possibly. Cavan or Roscommon other options.

Any news on Ollie Lyons? We'll need him fit to mark David Kelly. I remember him doing a decent job on him in the past, albeit in only an O'Byrne Cup match against DCU. He looked in a bad way coming off on Saturday night.

Think he just cramped up, McGeeney didn't seem too worried post-game.

Would prefer a provincial venue for this.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 12:31:25 PM
Breffni has club championships running all weekend. I know I'm biased but the R4 double bill at Croke Park was a failure last year and these games always have a better atmosphere in smaller county grounds.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 23, 2012, 12:33:12 PM
Hoping for Croke Park for a number of reasons. Think we have a good chance in this one.
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2012, 12:55:01 PM
This is Kevin Walsh's chance to show what a good manager he is. He has the footballing brain to get the tactics right for this one and Kildare are fragile in spots .
Post by: commonman on July 23, 2012, 01:31:09 PM
I'm hearing Hyde Park will be confirmed as the venue
Post by: magpie seanie on July 23, 2012, 01:48:31 PM
Its the Hyde and 6.30pm Saturday. Doubt I'll make it now.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 02:04:48 PM
Smart scheduling by the GAA. I'll be going, though my loyalties will be very split.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 02:05:27 PM
Is it still a shithole to get in and out off, don't fancy a 30 min hike?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 23, 2012, 02:06:09 PM
Not on TV either. Shag it anyway.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 02:12:03 PM
It's better than having it in soulless Croke Park as a curtain raiser to Meath v Laois I suppose.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 23, 2012, 02:21:07 PM
Actually think it might be on TV3 (if they cancel Stuart Little 2). RTE have a game (presumably Laois/Meath) pencilled in for 3.00 until about 5.30. Surely TV3 are showing one?
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 02:27:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 23, 2012, 02:21:07 PM
Actually think it might be on TV3 (if they cancel Stuart Little 2). RTE have a game (presumably Laois/Meath) pencilled in for 3.00 until about 5.30. Surely TV3 are showing one?

Maybe before the GAA decided somehow that more tv coverage was a bad thing. Just come and sample the Hyde's excellent atmopshere  ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 02:41:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 02:27:42 PM

Maybe before the GAA decided somehow that more tv coverage was a bad thing. Just come and sample the Hyde's excellent atmopshere  ;)

Syferus, since you seem to know it all, can you recommend a good parking and exit strategy for the Hyde, will be coming in via Athlone as will probably the other 10K Kildare supporters?
Post by: Crete Boom on July 23, 2012, 02:46:40 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 02:41:12 PM

Syferus, since you seem to know it all, can you recommend a good parking and exit strategy for the Hyde, will be coming in via Athlone as will probably the other 10K Kildare supporters?

Unfortunately Dinny you're going to learn the hard way that there is only one way to leave the hyde in your car i.e slowly and in a traffic jam! :'(
Post by: Hardy on July 23, 2012, 02:48:42 PM
Sure you can drive them 4WD yokes over any ditch and park in any field you like, Dinny. Just get someone to show you how to work the second gear stick.
Post by: intoDwest on July 23, 2012, 02:50:24 PM
Dinny........go as far as the hospital and park at the back of it. We did that for the Connacht final and had no bother, there were cars parking nearly a mile out the road and nothing in the carpark.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 02:56:49 PM
Quote from: intoDwest on July 23, 2012, 02:50:24 PM
Dinny........go as far as the hospital and park at the back of it. We did that for the Connacht final and had no bother, there were cars parking nearly a mile out the road and nothing in the carpark.

This. Just don't do if you're not going out the Athlone way because trying to go through town from there after a match is murderous. Going out the Athlone way from there is very easy, though.

The hospital is almost directly beside the Hyde so the walk is no more than a small stroll. That area is the best kept secret of the Hyde  ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 03:05:06 PM
Cheers lads. The hospital it is, if it's anything like last Saturday could be the perfect parking spot.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 03:28:57 PM
So many question marks over Kildare going into this match:

1. What to do with Mick Foley?

Peerless at midfield against Limerick but also needed at the back. Peter Kelly has been caught out a few times in recent games.

2. Is it time to abandon the O'Connor experiment?

I love the physicality of the lad and his never say die attitude but it only seems to work against weaker defences. To be fair to him the supply is often poor and we are often slow in getting support running off him. He does seem reluctant to shoot which opposition teams cop onto quickly. Fogarty kicked a few wides when he came on but he kept his marker honest or was that simply a case of the Limerick team tiring? Would O'Connor be better used as a Plan B late on in matches or could he do a job further out the field?

3. Is Callaghan fit for 70 minutes?

Leper helped turn the game when he came on against Limerick and his link play and ability to anticipate the breaking ball has been sorely missed in recent matches.

4. Who to play at midfield?

Foley, Kelly, O'Neill, Flynn, Earley, Lynch, Chalky, O'Connor?

McGeeney will have to earn his corn this week. Most of the other 11 teams left appear to have settled enough teams but it's nigh on impossible to predict how Kildare will line out.

What I would go with for what it's worth:
1 Connolly
2 McGrillen
3 PKelly - to mark Marren
4 Lyons - to mark Kelly
5 Bolton
6 MOF
7 EDoyle
8 Foley
9 Flynn - don't know what the story is with him at the moment, maybe Chalky is worth a try here if he's not fit
10 Leper - EOF hasn't been playing to what he's capable of recently but he has been asked to play deeper to be fair
11 Conway
12 JDoyle - probably back on freetaking duty from the left hand side
13 Kavanagh
14 TOC - don't be afraid to switch him occasionally out the field and mix it up a little, all too predictable at the moment
15 Smith

EOF, Paudie, Rob Kelly, Dermot, Fogarty, Lynch, Mac and the Cavanman leave us with plenty of options on the bench to change things around.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 23, 2012, 03:36:23 PM
I see this game being won or lost at midfield and sadly our midfield was terrible v Mayo.
We need to play a 3rd midfielder and pull the plug quickly on non performers.

I would like to see johny dAvey starting and pkssibly mcmanus and hughes(if fit) at midfield to see if we can at least hold our own there
Post by: Jinxy on July 23, 2012, 03:39:16 PM
The Kildare supporters club are running a coach leaving Newbridge at 3pm.

(http://coachandhorses-rotherwick.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/Coach-and-Horses.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on July 23, 2012, 03:43:38 PM
I'd say if they lose, they'll be running the coach.
Post by: Hound on July 23, 2012, 03:44:54 PM
I thought Kildare-Sligo would have been a shoe-in for the primary telly slot.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 03:46:34 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 23, 2012, 03:39:16 PM
The Kildare supporters club are running a coach leaving Newbridge at 3pm.

(http://coachandhorses-rotherwick.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/Coach-and-Horses.jpg)

Tally ho
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 03:46:57 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on July 23, 2012, 03:36:23 PM
I see this game being won or lost at midfield and sadly our midfield was terrible v Mayo.

I would like to see johny dAvey starting and pkssibly mcmanus and hughes(if fit) at midfield to see if we can at least hold our own there

You think you have midfield problems, Earley, Lynch and Flynn all not fit enough to start, we played a full back and a full forward in there against Limerick and replaced the full forward with a centre-half forward. The lads are good footballers but don't seem to understand the subtleties of inter-county midfield play.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 03:52:46 PM
I'd prefer to have Mick at the back but he was superb there on Saturday. Interesting to hear McGeeney's take on it when interviewed by KFM. He said that he felt more of a running game was needed and that's why Paudie was introduced. Also said that another game could require more of a ball winner like Dermot or Lynch.

Chalky has apparently being going really well around the middle for Sarsfields recently and is always a player I thought would be suited to demands of midfield. Any chance he seems to get for Kildare in recent years has been in the backs and usually out on one of the wings rather than in a central position.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 03:55:50 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 03:28:57 PM
So many question marks over Kildare going into this match:

1. What to do with Mick Foley?

Peerless at midfield against Limerick but also needed at the back. Peter Kelly has been caught out a few times in recent games.

2. Is it time to abandon the O'Connor experiment?

I love the physicality of the lad and his never say die attitude but it only seems to work against weaker defences. To be fair to him the supply is often poor and we are often slow in getting support running off him. He does seem reluctant to shoot which opposition teams cop onto quickly. Fogarty kicked a few wides when he came on but he kept his marker honest or was that simply a case of the Limerick team tiring? Would O'Connor be better used as a Plan B late on in matches or could he do a job further out the field?

3. Is Callaghan fit for 70 minutes?

Leper helped turn the game when he came on against Limerick and his link play and ability to anticipate the breaking ball has been sorely missed in recent matches.

4. Who to play at midfield?

Foley, Kelly, O'Neill, Flynn, Earley, Lynch, Chalky, O'Connor?

McGeeney will have to earn his corn this week. Most of the other 11 teams left appear to have settled enough teams but it's nigh on impossible to predict how Kildare will line out.

What I would go with for what it's worth:
1 Connolly
2 McGrillen
3 PKelly - to mark Marren
4 Lyons - to mark Kelly
5 Bolton
6 MOF
7 EDoyle
8 Foley
9 Flynn - don't know what the story is with him at the moment, maybe Chalky is worth a try here if he's not fit
10 Leper - EOF hasn't been playing to what he's capable of recently but he has been asked to play deeper to be fair
11 Conway
12 JDoyle - probably back on freetaking duty from the left hand side
13 Kavanagh
14 TOC - don't be afraid to switch him occasionally out the field and mix it up a little, all too predictable at the moment
15 Smith

EOF, Paudie, Rob Kelly, Dermot, Fogarty, Lynch, Mac and the Cavanman leave us with plenty of options on the bench to change things around.

Agreed, need to revert our more natural running game but I have been impressed by our kick passing, O'Connor is just so good at winning ball but we are clueless when he does, I thought Fogarty did well won his ball but mixed it up, should have had a point but hard to get to the pitch of the game.

1 Connolly - Agree
2  PKelly - to mark Marren Agree
3 Foley - needs to back where he belongs despite his heroics
4 Lyons - to mark Kelly Agree
5 Bolton Agree
6 MOF Agree
7 E Doyle  Agree
8  O'Neill - his ability to make runs and win ball will be crucial
9 Flynn/Lynch/Earley Just need one recognised midfielder in there
10 Leper -  Agree
11 Conway  Agree
12 JDoyle -  Agree
13 Kavanagh - maybe swap him with Conway and start the Johnson..
14 Fogarty - Just to give us something different
15 Smith  Agree
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 03:57:07 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 03:52:46 PM
I'd prefer to have Mick at the back but he was superb there on Saturday. Interesting to hear McGeeney's take on it when interviewed by KFM. He said that he felt more of a running game was needed and that's why Paudie was introduced. Also said that another game could require more of a ball winner like Dermot or Lynch.

Chalky has apparently being going really well around the middle for Sarsfields recently and is always a player I thought would be suited to demands of midfield. Any chance he seems to get for Kildare in recent years has been in the backs and usually out on one of the wings rather than in a central position.

Thought Chalkie did well when he came on, not sure if has the engine for midfield but do like his physicality.
Post by: ross4life on July 23, 2012, 04:01:50 PM
The last meeting between the two was a one point win for Kildare in Newbridge that resulted in relegation for Sligo, revenge on the mind of yeats men?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 23, 2012, 04:11:53 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on July 23, 2012, 03:36:23 PM

What happened to James Clarke? He was getting into the team during the league and was excellent for the U-21's at midfield but hasn't been seen against Galway or Mayo. Hughes is badly needed but with our lack of midfield options surely Clarke must come into the mix? He could play a target men on the edge (or in!!!!) the square either.
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2012, 05:07:07 PM
There must be a wall of money on the lilies

http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/kildare-v-sligo/winner
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 05:53:31 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 03:55:50 PM
Agreed, need to revert our more natural running game but I have been impressed by our kick passing, O'Connor is just so good at winning ball but we are clueless when he does, I thought Fogarty did well won his ball but mixed it up, should have had a point but hard to get to the pitch of the game.

It's always been that way with Kildare as long as I remember. Martin Lynch was probably our last effective target man and there have been a whole host of big lads tried in there since he retired with various degrees of success - Roli, McKenzie-Smith, Dermot, Ken Donnelly, Mick Wright, Paudie Mullarkey, Ross Glavin, Jason Phillips, Willie Heff. Some of them were probably not good enough and others who were converted from different positions probably did not have that natural instinct that an inside forward needs.

The direct ball can be very effective but Kildare just can't seem to master it for whatever reason. It's not O'Connor's fault either because he's only as good as the ball going into him and the support he's getting. We've nearly always played our best football getting runners forward and cutting through defences with short intricate handpassing. It suits the players we have like Callaghan, Doyle, Conway, Kavanagh, Bolton etc. The trouble is that against the best you need to be able to vary your gameplan to keep the opposition guessing. With Kildare it more often than not appears to be either one way or the other. Kerry are able to mix it up with direct ball to Donaghy and also using runners like the two O'Sullivans who can carry ball at pace and break tackles. They are the benchmark and Kildare just cannot seem to achieve anything like that sort of variety in their forward play. We managed to achieve it against Tyrone in the Div 2 final but subsequent events have shown that they are not quite the quality outfit that they were being built up to be before that match.

I'd be fairly certain O'Connor will start next Saturday and I'm sure we could effectively combine the two gameplans with him in the team but to do it we'll have to change how we use him. He has to be switched around more. Too often he's just left welded to the 21 yard line directly in front of the goal. We can't be afraid to bring him out to the half forwards or midfield on occasions for a few minutes and keep the opposition defenders guessing. If he's double marked like he was on Saturday then we have to bring him out more towards the corners and even use him as a decoy. I saw him make a run to the corner and receive a ball on Saturday with two Limerick markers following him. Rather than attacking the space that was created in front of the goal two other Kildare forwards just followed him out towards the corner like sheep and ended up clogging up the space. That's fairly basic stuff that you would be telling underage lads not to do.

O'Connor himself also has to be encouraged to have a crack at the posts himself. I don't know whether that's a confidence thing or whether he's been told to look for lay offs but it's far easier to defend against a player when you know he's not going to shoot. He can potentially be a very potent weapon for Kildare but our use of him is far too predictable when we come up against an organised defensive system.
Post by: commonman on July 23, 2012, 09:39:44 PM

If your coming from North Kildare  via the N4, you could always stay on the N4 to Mullingar and then go Via Ballymahon and Lanesboro into Roscommon Town at the Lidl.Aldi roundabout, you can park on the circular road around Mart etc - theres plenty of options, and that would totally avoid Athlone and the bulk of kildare crowd. Its actually shorter by distance but less motorway and therefore about 20 minutes longer.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 09:53:21 PM
Quote from: commonman on July 23, 2012, 09:39:44 PM

If your coming from North Kildare  via the N4, you could always stay on the N4 to Mullingar and then go Via Ballymahon and Lanesboro into Roscommon Town at the Lidl.Aldi roundabout, you can park on the circular road around Mart etc - theres plenty of options, and that would totally avoid Athlone and the bulk of kildare crowd. Its actually shorter by distance but less motorway and therefore about 20 minutes longer.

Never like that area myself. The hospital side is far better if you're coming from the east and you don't have a 10-15 minute walk. The back entrance to the Hyde on the Sacred Heart Hospital road (for non-Rossies, a nursing home completely separate to the county hospital) always has loads of parking in the industrial units beside the entrance and the waste ground beside the units. usually decent to get out of, not spectacular but not much of pain.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 23, 2012, 11:07:22 PM
Does Hyde Park have floodlights? This is a game that could go into extra time!
Post by: emmetryan on July 23, 2012, 11:08:49 PM
This looks the best game of the four to me. Sligo's defence could give Kildare nightmares, could prove very interesting.
Post by: commonman on July 23, 2012, 11:16:28 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 23, 2012, 11:07:22 PM

The Hyde Park matchday experience does not contain floodlights, i thought 6.30 was a bit risky alright, if the evening is bad we could be in trouble
Post by: ross4life on July 23, 2012, 11:21:37 PM
Quote from: commonman on July 23, 2012, 11:16:28 PM

The Hyde Park matchday experience does not contain floodlights, i thought 6.30 was a bit risky alright, if the evening is bad we could be in trouble

Even if it did go to extra time it doesn't get dark until around10pm.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 23, 2012, 11:22:57 PM

Yeah, knowing our mad weather, you could end up with a dodgy situation. Then again, it's starting 30 minutes earlier for an evening game. 
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 11:34:05 PM

That's it, the feckin' neighbours are sure to wear their all-black uniforms. Sneaky oul' bastards. Every poor Kildare player will be lit up like Casper the Ghost.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 11:35:25 PM
There'll be no need for floodlights. If all the owners of the KE registered 4x4s parked around Roscommon town are instructed to switch on their powerful headlamps we will light the place up like Las Vegas.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 23, 2012, 11:35:44 PM

Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 11:34:05 PM

That's it, the feckin' neighbours are sure to wear their all-black uniforms. Sneaky oul' b**tards. Every poor Kildare player will be lit up like Casper the Ghost.

;)  ;D
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2012, 10:16:11 AM
My Kildare team for Saturday, in fairness we're in a complete mess at the moment and the team is very unsettled.

1 Shane Connolly
2 Ollie Lyons - Not comfortable with him in the full-back line (mostly due to memories of Stephen O'Neill catching a ball behind him in league final). But he was one of the few to perform against Limerick.
3 Peter Kelly - Would prefer to play Foley here but we need his ball-winning ability at midfield.
4 Aindriu Mac Lochlainn - Can't understand how people would still start McGrillen. His defending, particularly this year, has been awful. He was severely roasted (again) v Limerick and I just think Mac, though he has his faults, is a better defender.
5 Eoin Doyle
6 Morgan O'Flaherty
7 Emmet Bolton
8 Mick Foley
9 Padraig O'Neill (Flynn if fit, but it doesn't seem likely to me that Daryl will have 70 minutes in him)
10 Eamonn Callaghan (hopefully fit enough, made a big difference against Limerick)
11 Mikey Conway (Took a lot of wrong options the last day but I'd start him, with Eoghan O'Flaherty in reserve)
12 James Kavanagh (Thought, after Foley, he was our best player against Limerick)
13 Seanie Johnston
14 Alan Smith. This to me is the most crucial bit - not necessarily that Smith plays, but that O'Connor doesn't. The tactic is so predictable and simply doesn't work against good teams. If we do it against Sligo, what happened against Donegal last year and Limerick last week will happen again - we will not only kick away an ocean of ball, but practically set up counter-attacks for them.
It's not Tom O'Connor's fault - perhaps we should look at potentially starting him midfield? (Again, if Flynn is not fit) I know Smithy didn't get into it against Limerick but I just remember how class he was at full-forward in 2008 for the 21s and think we could get the most out of him here.
15 J Dizzle
Post by: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 10:22:22 AM
There must be a wall of money on the lilies

http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/kildare-v-sligo/winner

No. PP opened market with Kildare at 2/7 and rest have to follow suit. I suspect these odds will change the other way as people see value in Sligo.
Post by: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 10:26:36 AM
Certainly wouldnt start OConnor. Good option off the bench. Foley better at fullback but we are limited there through injury. Conway/Kavanagh/EOF/Smith need to up there game and stop running away from goal with the ball.

Post by: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 10:30:32 AM
Think its a nonsende this game is on in Roscommon town. A Sligo colleague agrees and says he and his mates unlikely to attend now. They should have put this as a doubleheader in Croker on Saturday. They did it last year for Kildare/Derry and Down/Cork. Cork and Derry have very small support , ud get more from Meath/Kildare/Sligo. Also, last train out of Ros is at 7pm. Did the GAA mutton heads even consider that when applying a 6.30 start?Becuase so many showed up in Breffni, do they think theyll get 10,000 Kildare fans in Ros at 6.30? No fooking chance.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 10:56:21 AM
Quote from: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 10:30:32 AM
Think its a nonsende this game is on in Roscommon town. A Sligo colleague agrees and says he and his mates unlikely to attend now. They should have put this as a doubleheader in Croker on Saturday. They did it last year for Kildare/Derry and Down/Cork. Cork and Derry have very small support , ud get more from Meath/Kildare/Sligo. Also, last train out of Ros is at 7pm. Did the GAA mutton heads even consider that when applying a 6.30 start?Becuase so many showed up in Breffni, do they think theyll get 10,000 Kildare fans in Ros at 6.30? No fooking chance.

And the atmosphere at those games was brutal, in travel terms it favours Sligo just but considering we have motorway all the way to Athlone it's not exactly the outback we're heading to. Plus if it was in CP as a double header wtf do you think the other counties would be supporting, we have a 100% qualifier record there, we'll bring approx 8K I'd imagine, we brought 10K to Portlaoise x 2 and Brefni Park. We're in the last 12 despite only playing well in patches that's all that matters so less of the persecution complex, we'll just keep our heads down and keep driving on.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2012, 11:04:04 AM
Does anyone actually know what is exact the nature of Daryl Flynn's injury?

I wouldn't agree re Hughie McGrillen. While not as prominent as in recent years he's still a reliable player and is still the source of many of our attacks. He made some great runs up the terrace sideline in the first half on Saturday but no one bothered to pick him out with a cross field ball when he was free due to the obsession in hitting everything into O'Connor. Mac is great warrior but he's still prone to the occasional rush of blood to the head. I think he's better from the bench because usually the game has settled down by the time he comes on and he's less likely to be as hyped up and throwing himself into rash tackles.

I wish the county board had kept their traps shut about the venue. They've really made a show of themselves in the past six months. Bring back Pádraig Ashe, all is forgiven!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 11:07:20 AM
QuoteMac is great warrior but he's still prone to the occasional rush of blood to the head. I think he's better from the bench because usually the game has settled down by the time he comes on and he's less likely to be as hyped up and throwing himself into rash tackles.

I wouldn't be a biggest fan and that is a good observation, whereas I wouldn't trust him to start, I would trust him to come on and do a job.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2012, 11:14:48 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 11:07:20 AM
QuoteMac is great warrior but he's still prone to the occasional rush of blood to the head. I think he's better from the bench because usually the game has settled down by the time he comes on and he's less likely to be as hyped up and throwing himself into rash tackles.

I wouldn't be a biggest fan and that is a good observation, whereas I wouldn't trust him to start, I would trust him to come on and do a job.

I think some of his best performances for Kildare have been from the bench like both the Dublin games during McGeeney's tenure. He's often been described as a yellow card waiting to happen but that yellow card more often than not seemed to come at the start of a match when he was all hyped up. I remember both himself and a certain Mr Johnston being booked before the ball was even thrown in one night!
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2012, 11:49:12 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 10:56:21 AM

And the atmosphere at those games was brutal, in travel terms it favours Sligo just but considering we have motorway all the way to Athlone it's not exactly the outback we're heading to. Plus if it was in CP as a double header wtf do you think the other counties would be supporting, we have a 100% qualifier record there, we'll bring approx 8K I'd imagine, we brought 10K to Portlaoise x 2 and Brefni Park. We're in the last 12 despite only playing well in patches that's all that matters so less of the persecution complex, we'll just keep our heads down and keep driving on.

Is that since the time we beat ye there in the qualifiers?
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2012, 11:54:15 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2012, 11:04:04 AM
I wouldn't agree re Hughie McGrillen. While not as prominent as in recent years he's still a reliable player and is still the source of many of our attacks.

Have to agree to disagree. I don't question his engine or his clever runs forward, but we need a corner back that can defend, and Hughie simply isn't doing it at the moment. Do me a favour and watch closely, really closely, the next time a forward runs at him.
I still have great respect for the work he's put in to get him in the condition he is. Maybe he can battle for a place as a wing-back/midfielder. But he was severely burned several times on Saturday and it's not the first time. I really think he's just not suited to playing in the full-back line.
Post by: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 12:04:40 PM
We're in the last 12 despite only playing well in patches that's all that matters so less of the persecution complex, we'll just keep our heads down and keep driving on.

Its hardly a persecution complex u clown. As stated above , it doesnt suit many Sligo people either. Its the last place I expected this game to be played.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 12:14:03 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 24, 2012, 11:49:12 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 10:56:21 AM

Is that since the time we beat ye there in the qualifiers?

I was referring to our one and only previous qualifier in Roscommon, I remember that game in Croke Park, we're very good at given teams epic victories, I believe that day was also the birth of the geansaí dubh as well.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2012, 12:16:10 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2012, 11:54:15 AM
I wouldn't agree re Hughie McGrillen. While not as prominent as in recent years he's still a reliable player and is still the source of many of our attacks.

Have to agree to disagree. I don't question his engine or his clever runs forward, but we need a corner back that can defend, and Hughie simply isn't doing it at the moment. Do me a favour and watch closely, really closely, the next time a forward runs at him.
I still have great respect for the work he's put in to get him in the condition he is. Maybe he can battle for a place as a wing-back/midfielder. But he was severely burned several times on Saturday and it's not the first time. I really think he's just not suited to playing in the full-back line.

I don't think he's suited by marking smaller nippier forwards like he was against Ger Collins on Saturday. His best marking displays have been against bigger lads like Colm McFadden, Seán Cavanagh, Niall McNamee and Shane O'Rourke. I think we should be alternating him and Ollie between the two lines depending on who is lining out inside for the opposition. With David Kelly likely to be the main danger man inside for Sligo, I think it's a job for Ollie if he's fit.

I'm not sure if he's cut out for midfield. Despite his height he is not great a great fielder. I can't see him being dropped anyway. I think he has started every single championship match since his debut in 2009.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 12:14:03 PM
I was referring to our one and only previous qualifier in Roscommon, I remember that game in Croke Park, we're very good at given teams epic victories, I believe that day was also the birth of the geansaí dubh as well.

Wasn't that the day there was an almighty row on the Kildare team bus to Croke Park?  ;D
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 12:23:08 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 12:04:40 PM
We're in the last 12 despite only playing well in patches that's all that matters so less of the persecution complex, we'll just keep our heads down and keep driving on.

Its hardly a persecution complex u clown. As stated above , it doesnt suit many Sligo people either. Its the last place I expected this game to be played.

Less of the clown talk, that's not funny.

Lots of Kildare fans in the past month or so are starting to whinge about everything from the treatment of SJ, to the muppet show (aka TSG), to losing home venue, to refereeing appointments, to fixed draws and now the choice of venue, reading back I see the point you actually make is valid but lost in all the moaning and whinging going on I just wish we would just shut up and keep our heads down and focus on football only and none of the side shows.
Post by: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 02:00:48 PM
 I just wish we would just shut up and keep our heads down and focus on football only and none of the side shows.

Fair enough, but I dont believe this (the venue!) to be a sideshow at all. I think Co. Board are 100% right to loge an appeal even though it wont matter a wit this time. Maybe next year though, the GAA use more sense as a result of our concerns re venue.
Post by: baoithe on July 24, 2012, 02:40:54 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 02:00:48 PM
I just wish we would just shut up and keep our heads down and focus on football only and none of the side shows.

Fair enough, but I dont believe this (the venue!) to be a sideshow at all. I think Co. Board
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 12:23:08 PM

Lots of Kildare fans in the past month or so are starting to whinge about everything from the treatment of SJ, to the muppet show (aka TSG), to losing home venue, to refereeing appointments, to fixed draws and now the choice of venue, reading back I see the point you actually make is valid but lost in all the moaning and whinging going on I just wish we would just shut up and keep our heads down and focus on football only and none of the side shows.
are 100% right to loge an appeal even though it wont matter a wit this time. Maybe next year though, the GAA use more sense as a result of our concerns re venue.

Lads for the Sligo crowd it could be more of a pain getting home than for you lot. I live in North Kildare and was back in KIldare after the Connacht Final at 5.15pm. Friends of mine got home to Sligo later than that. The only heavy flow of traffic likely to be hit by the Kildare fans is from Athlone to Roscommon and vice-versa but thats a short spin. Kildare Co Board are more concerned that this is a venue with which Sligo are more familiar I suspect.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2012, 02:46:26 PM
Quote from: baoithe on July 24, 2012, 02:40:54 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 02:00:48 PM

Fair enough, but I dont believe this (the venue!) to be a sideshow at all. I think Co. Board
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 12:23:08 PM

are 100% right to loge an appeal even though it wont matter a wit this time. Maybe next year though, the GAA use more sense as a result of our concerns re venue.

Lads for the Sligo crowd it could be more of a pain getting home than for you lot. I live in North Kildare and was back in KIldare after the Connacht Final at 5.15pm. Friends of mine got home to Sligo later than that. The only heavy flow of traffic likely to be hit by the Kildare fans is from Athlone to Roscommon and vice-versa but thats a short spin. Kildare Co Board are more concerned that this is a venue with which Sligo are more familiar I suspect.

I think the Kildare County Board just like reading about themselves in the papers. There are very few venues in the country now that aren't convenient for Kildare followers given the quality of the motorway network in and out of the county.

Apparently Sligo have only played in Hyde Park twice since Kildare last played there in 2007 so familiarity with the venue is not really an issue.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2012, 02:50:07 PM
I can't believe the hullabaloo about the venue. Bit of a joke really. Where would be better/fairer? Longford maybe but much of a muchness. Cavan would have been too much of an advantage to ye!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2012, 02:56:12 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 24, 2012, 02:50:07 PM
I can't believe the hullabaloo about the venue. Bit of a joke really. Where would be better/fairer? Longford maybe but much of a muchness. Cavan would have been too much of an advantage to ye!

It really is ridiculous. Cavan is unavailable because of club games there and Longford probably wouldn't hold the crowd.

The county board are hardly in the good books with Croke Park at the moment so you think they'd be trying to deflect attention away from themselves. The venue was never going to be changed anyway - learn to pick your battles lads!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 03:08:09 PM
Roscommon is pretty fair and the Kildare camp are just in siege mentality mode. It's ironic because 3 of our previous round 4 qualifier games were all played in Croke Park against the beaten Ulster finalists, travel and distant funny enough wasn't mentioned then. An earlier throw-in might have been better, would have liked to brought my daughter but she'd be like a zombie by the time I get home.

Anyhow last Kildare team to play in the Championship in Hyde Park in 2007

KILDARE - E Murphy; E Callaghan, K O'Neill, A McLoughlin; A Rainbow, M Hogarty, E Bolton; R Sweeney, D Lyons; J Kavanagh, J Doyle, K Donnelly; M Conway, J Phillips, P O'Neill.

Those highlighted still involved and would expect 6 of them to start, wasn't expecting to see so many. Looking at how McGeeney has turned those footballers into the competitors they are is a great testament to him, from where we were in 2007 to where we are now is light years away. 

And Jason Philips - Kildare's Donaghy experiment, not JC's wisest move.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 24, 2012, 03:46:02 PM
Dont forget to fill out ye're team sheet in irish :o :o
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2012, 03:51:52 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on July 24, 2012, 03:46:02 PM
Dont forget to fill out ye're team sheet in irish :o :o

And use the correct number of subs!
Post by: Barney on July 24, 2012, 05:21:37 PM
Did Kildare not have the joy of meeting Monaghan and Derry half-way in Croke Park over the last few years?

It's a field at the end of the day. A dump, but it's the same for both teams.
Post by: Syferus on July 24, 2012, 05:31:00 PM
I'd forgot Dermot Jr. was injured that day. Has he ever graced the Hyde? The 2003 Ros-Kildare game was in Portlaoise. It'll be a fairly emotional day for him either way.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2012, 01:29:36 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2012, 12:16:10 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2012, 11:54:15 AM

I don't think he's suited by marking smaller nippier forwards like he was against Ger Collins on Saturday. His best marking displays have been against bigger lads like Colm McFadden, Seán Cavanagh, Niall McNamee and Shane O'Rourke. I think we should be alternating him and Ollie between the two lines depending on who is lining out inside for the opposition. With David Kelly likely to be the main danger man inside for Sligo, I think it's a job for Ollie if he's fit.

I'm not sure if he's cut out for midfield. Despite his height he is not great a great fielder. I can't see him being dropped anyway. I think he has started every single championship match since his debut in 2009.

No, I'm sure he won't be dropped, and I wouldn't play him midfield either, just saying that if he is to compete for a place on the team, I would only consider him as a midfield or half-back back up, because I'm losing faith in him as a corner back. Don't get me wrong, he's had some fine games for Kildare, and offers a great engine going forward, but I just don't think he's playing well this year and that stems from him not being a tight marker.
Fair point on the big men, but I think Kelly, Marren or Coen will all have the beatings of him on Saturday. Here's hoping he proves me wrong.
Post by: emmetryan on July 26, 2012, 03:07:23 PM
I've put together a tactical preview here for anyone interested http://action81.com/blog/?p=6035
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2012, 05:20:43 PM
I think it will naive to expect Kildare to play the same way, they reverted to a running game with 20 minutes left and in the 40 minutes after that outscored their opponents 10 points to 1. If O'Connor starts I would expect to have a more free role whereas up to now he's spent most of his time on the 13 meters line making diagonal runs, I expect he will drift outfield hoping to drag the full-back with him.

If Kildare can get a lead and force Sligo to chase the game I think we'll win but it will require patience and maybe an early goal, if we fall behind it could be a tough evening.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 26, 2012, 06:35:47 PM
O Connor should just pop the ball over the bar when he wins his ball......................................... how often does the lad need to dish it off to someone else, take you point lad
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2012, 07:30:07 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 26, 2012, 06:35:47 PM
O Connor should just pop the ball over the bar when he wins his ball......................................... how often does the lad need to dish it off to someone else, take you point lad

Tomás usually wins the ball with his back to goal and at least two backs around him. Very difficult for a lad his size to drop the shoulder and lose the defenders to get the space to shoot. The only way we can improve is either to allow him to drift out the field occasionally and have him running onto some ball using his pace or getting more support runners bursting through to take the lay off from him. Far too predictable at the moment and most good defences will have it figured out fairly quickly.

I hope they've learned from the Limerick match but the same mistakes that were made against Meath were made again last Saturday. We seem to have forgotten what has served us quite well over the past three or four years. Team selection against Sligo is going to be critical for Kildare and we're unfortunate to have a few injuries in the positions where we're a bit short. The midfield and full-forward selections are going to be very interesting.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2012, 09:01:35 PM
Many coming from Kildare or will ye be all staying away in protest about it not being at a "fair" neutral venue like Croker ?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2012, 09:29:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 26, 2012, 09:01:35 PM
Many coming from Kildare or will ye be all staying away in protest about it not being at a "fair" neutral venue like Croker ?

I hope Roscommon town is braced for the arrival of the sizeable tally ho brigade with our 4x4s, stetsons and picnic tables.
Post by: Syferus on July 26, 2012, 09:35:42 PM
Rosfan is the lad with the 'tasche we elected to the Dail. He'll be outside the front enterance of the Hyde all day dressed as a sad of turf.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2012, 10:25:48 PM
A sad o' turf has more cop on than you anyways buckeen. ;D
Post by: Syferus on July 26, 2012, 10:29:45 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 26, 2012, 10:25:48 PM
A sad o' turf has more cop on than you anyways buckeen. ;D

It must be a strange world you see from your eye sockets if turf is sentient.  :-* I guess you didn't take the 'no weed' pledge too seriously, Emperor.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 27, 2012, 09:45:56 AM
Quote from: emmetryan on July 26, 2012, 03:07:23 PM
I've put together a tactical preview here for anyone interested http://action81.com/blog/?p=6035

Very worried that you might be right Emmet. Kildare really need to up it several gears or we will be beaten.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2012, 10:38:56 AM
1. Shane Connolly  -  Naomh Lorcan
2. Ollie Lyons  -  Cill Droichid
3. Peter Kelly  -  Teach Dhá Mhíle
4. Hugh McGrillen  -  Cill Droichid
5. Emmet Bolton  -  Baile Éide
6. Morgan O'Flaherty  -  Cairbre
7. Eoin Doyle  -  Nás na Ríogh
8. Mick Foley  -  Áth Í
9. Robert Kelly  -  Teach Srafáin
10. Eoghan O'Flaherty  -  Cairbre
11. Mikey Conway  -  An Urnaí
12. Alan Smith  -  Na Sairséalaigh
13. John Doyle (Captain)  -  Fíodh Almhaine
14. Tomás O'Connor  -  Claonadh
15. James Kavanagh  -  Baile Mór

Same team that started the last day named again. I'd expect Leper might possibly start ahead of Eoghan O'Flaherty. It wouldn't be a major surprise if there was a switch at midfield either. If Tomás does start I hope he's used a lot more sensibly. We badly need to get some more variety in our forward play or else Sligo will extend their unbeaten championship record against us.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2012, 07:55:23 PM
Johnny Doyle makes his 62nd consecutive championship start for Kildare tomorrow which will be a record for an outfield player.
Post by: Keane on July 27, 2012, 09:53:06 PM
Did a quick preview on the game if anyone's interested here:

http://www.livegaelic.com/news/sligo-vs-kildare-gaa-football-qualifier-preview-2012/
Post by: emmetryan on July 27, 2012, 11:08:18 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 27, 2012, 09:45:56 AM

Very worried that you might be right Emmet. Kildare really need to up it several gears or we will be beaten.

Aye but if they do find those extra gears it could kick start their summer.
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2012, 12:21:08 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 27, 2012, 09:45:56 AM

I wonder for how much longer the 'full swarm defence' will be a feature of the game. What will fuball look like in 2022?
Post by: Denn Forever on July 28, 2012, 01:56:18 PM
Remember the days when coming back from injury you'd be given an easy run out at corner forward?
Post by: rodney trotter on July 28, 2012, 02:09:45 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 28, 2012, 01:56:18 PM
Remember the days when coming back from injury you'd be given an easy run out at corner forward?

No team now can afford to carry a passenger on the team, your either fully fit or on the bench. Most corner backs are very fast so you would be shown up if you aren't 100% fit running for a 50/50 ball, ff is different as its more direct high ball, not relying totally on fitness.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 03:25:55 PM
Best of luck to Sligo today, hoping my adopted county can do the business that my own county couldn't. A lot will depend on whether they were able to get their act together to focus on this game after the disappointment of losing the connacht final. If they don't it could be another result like against Down a few yrs back in Breffni.
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2012, 03:40:01 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 03:25:55 PM
Best of luck to Sligo today, hoping my adopted county can do the business that my own county couldn't. A lot will depend on whether they were able to get their act together to focus on this game after the disappointment of losing the connacht final. If they don't it could be another result like against Down a few yrs back in Breffni.

That was a six-day turnaround from a Connacht final where they were favoured to win for the first time in their history. Losing a tight one to a nationally rated Mayo team and having two weeks to recover, nevermind that previous experience, should mean whatever happens today should have next to nothing to with the Connacht final.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 04:02:02 PM
It shouldn't have a bearing but doesn't mean it won't.
Post by: joemamas on July 28, 2012, 05:26:17 PM
is this game on tv or rte website
Title: Páirc
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 05:43:04 PM
(http://instagr.am/p/NoaoqLK4Kc/media/?size=l)
Post by: Richiej on July 28, 2012, 06:03:47 PM
If Kildare win tonight they will draw Dublin in the quarter final. It's the only potential draw that would comand a full house at Croke park. The Gaa don't want Kerry and Dublin meeting at the quarters stage . It's too early. So it's the dubs I'm afraid!
Post by: maigheo on July 28, 2012, 06:20:20 PM
Quote from: Richiej on July 28, 2012, 06:03:47 PM
If Kildare win tonight they will draw Dublin in the quarter final. It's the only potential draw that would comand a full house at Croke park. The Gaa don't want Kerry and Dublin meeting at the quarters stage . It's too early. So it's the dubs I'm afraid!
could we please give these fixed draw theories a rest.They are getting tiresome at this stage and until some body comes up with proof, I do not think anybody wants to hear about it.
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 06:38:58 PM
Kildare all over Sligo! 10 Mins. gone. One way traffic!
Post by: maigheo on July 28, 2012, 06:44:20 PM
kildare 0.06 sligo 0.01  15 min gone
Post by: maigheo on July 28, 2012, 07:04:08 PM
sligo in big trouble here even tho they will have the strong breeze in the second half.down by 8  to 2.The ref getting a slatting on Ocean fm.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 07:05:24 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 28, 2012, 07:04:08 PM
sligo in big trouble here even tho they will have the strong breeze in the second half.down by 8  to 2.The ref getting a slatting on Ocean fm.

Whos the ref?
Post by: maigheo on July 28, 2012, 07:06:59 PM
David Golderick.  HT kildare 0.08  Sligo 0.03.
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 07:12:56 PM
Last Sligo point? A wide? Crowd didn't sound happy!
Post by: maigheo on July 28, 2012, 07:25:31 PM
seems the last point was a wide.Kildare very cynical in the 1st half according to Ocean fm.
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 07:33:16 PM
dominant but wasteful according to KFM Radio.
Post by: maigheo on July 28, 2012, 07:42:00 PM
seems all over now, Kildare ahead 10 to 3.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2012, 07:44:10 PM
O'Hara full forward for Sligo, Coen taken off.
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 07:48:49 PM
Sligo no points from play. All from within 15m..........and one was a wide!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 07:49:36 PM
Looks to be over, According to Ocean fm Sligo fans heading for the gates to beat the traffic home.  :(
Post by: Mano on July 28, 2012, 07:51:52 PM
Sligo with a gale and have 13 men behind the ball. Good managerial tactics the >:(re
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 07:53:04 PM
4 meaty teams in through the back door - Kerry, Kildare, Down and Laois. All the Provincial Champions will want to draw Laois and all the Back door teams will want Mayo! And then there is Kerry!
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 07:58:37 PM
Kildare well and truly over the Meath defeat and the struggle to beat Limerick.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2012, 07:59:58 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 07:53:04 PM
4 meaty teams in through the back door - Kerry, Kildare, Down and Laois. All the Provincial Champions will want to draw Laois and all the Back door teams will want Mayo! And then there is Kerry!
I remember they all wanted Mayo last year too.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 08:08:03 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2012, 07:59:58 PM

Oh, i know! As i have always said we may have problems winning Finals. But we more than often are a different proposition in quarter finals and Semi finals!
Post by: nobackdoor on July 28, 2012, 08:38:30 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 08:08:03 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2012, 07:59:58 PM

Oh, i know! As i have always said we may have problems winning Finals. But we more than often are a different proposition in quarter finals and Semi finals!

Dream on kid, every team wants the losers from Mayo
Post by: ross4life on July 28, 2012, 09:14:12 PM
Just back from that dreadful game, horrible performance from Sligo 1 point with the wind and only 4 other efforts says it all & 9 point defeat flattered them in the end.

Good crowd (almost 13,000) played in October like conditions.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 28, 2012, 10:38:47 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 28, 2012, 09:14:12 PM
Just back from that dreadful game, horrible performance from Sligo 1 point with the wind and only 4 other efforts says it all & 9 point defeat flattered them in the end.

Good crowd (almost 13,000) played in October like conditions.

Yep wouldn't say that was good for the neutral but it was great from a Kildare perspective, a good win and not too physically taxing. Will review tomorrow but our intensity was back in our tackling and we moved the ball much quicker than we have been but Sligo were shocking unfortunately and persisted in playing their defensive when they really needed to chase the game and open it up, only one point from play I believe.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 28, 2012, 10:54:40 PM
No excuses only offer my apologies for that abysmal performance.  No midfield no chance.
Im f...ng disgusted with that performance
Post by: shapes on July 28, 2012, 11:03:17 PM
I'm very disappointed with that Sligo performance, we have no midfield and no physical presence in a modern day physical game. Kildare had more tactics from the throw in and were able to block the runners and also put pressure on and off ball on some of our playmakers. Strange that Maye was deployed as a sweeper so early. Again we were too slow on the line. O'Hara and Egan in too late they should have been on earlier around the middle. Time to rebuild with the minors and U21s.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 28, 2012, 11:47:19 PM
Much improved. Sligo were poor but Kildare never let them settle into it. Foley was superb again around the middle. Johnny looks like he's coming good at the right time and Ollie had another fine game on Kelly. Plenty to be positive about but big step up next week.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2012, 12:17:29 AM
Quote from: Richiej on July 28, 2012, 06:03:47 PM
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 12:24:59 AM
Quote from: shapes on July 28, 2012, 11:03:17 PM
I'm very disappointed with that Sligo performance, we have no midfield and no physical presence in a modern day physical game. Kildare had more tactics from the throw in and were able to block the runners and also put pressure on and off ball on some of our playmakers. Strange that Maye was deployed as a sweeper so early. Again we were too slow on the line. O'Hara and Egan in too late they should have been on earlier around the middle. Time to rebuild with the minors and U21s.

People are always way too trigger happy with the 'let's tear it up and get the kids in there'.

Take it from a county who was forced to do just that, it's a long an arduous road, one we aren't even close to approaching the end of, five seasons into the project. Sligo have some hugely talented players at key positions, Ross Donovan, Charlie Harrison, Alan Costello, David Kelly and Adrian Marren. That should be what you build a team around.

On today's viewing the very worst thing Sligo could do is throw a load of young fellas out there. I'd say Sligo need to hit the gym for the next six months as Kildare bullied them in the tackle so much - Sligo men simply couldn't live with the physicality Kildare brought to bear on them. They just looked shell-shocked, rattled and rushed on the ball, always worrying as much about Kildare coming at them as trying to push forward. Putting in players with far less conditioning work done isn't a recipe for anything other than failure.
Post by: seanog on July 29, 2012, 12:35:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 12:24:59 AM
Quote from: shapes on July 28, 2012, 11:03:17 PM

People are always way too trigger happy with the 'let's tear it up and get the kids in there'.

Take it from a county who was forced to do just that, it's a long an arduous road, one we aren't even close to approaching the end of, five seasons into the project. Sligo have some hugely talented players at key positions, Ross Donovan, Charlie Harrison, Alan Costello, David Kelly and Adrian Marren. That should be what you build a team around.

On today's viewing the very worst thing Sligo could do is throw a load of young fellas out there. I'd say Sligo need to hit the gym for the next six months as Kildare bullied them in the tackle so much - Sligo men simply couldn't live with the physicality Kildare brought to bear on them. They just looked shell-shocked, rattled and rushed on the ball, always worrying as much about Kildare coming at them as trying to push forward. Putting in players with far less conditioning work done isn't a recipe for anything other than failure.

That worries me from a Mayo perspective because Sligo matched us in the physical stakes. I'll have to wait for the highlights , it just seemed to me (listening to oceanfm comm) Sligo were not at the races , lost midfield hands down and lots of wayward kicking.Maybe the Mayo loss knocked the stuffing out of them, really should of been able to dust themselves down though and get stuck in.

Anyway hardluck Sligo, don't let it get you too down, still not a bad side and i really doubt todays performance is a true reflection of your potential .
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2012, 12:55:45 PM
Syferus, cheers for the parking advice, worked a treat, some Kildare supporters parked almost 2 miles from the ground  :o
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2012, 07:21:53 PM
Syferus gets something right  :o ;D ;D
I don't think Sligo will want to see the Hyde for many a year.
I suppose Walsh will pack it in now?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 30, 2012, 11:57:14 PM
The 4 points conceded on Saturday was the lowest score conceded by a Kildare team in championship football since they held Laois to 3 points way back in 1935.
Post by: Rossfan on July 31, 2012, 10:33:49 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 30, 2012, 11:57:14 PM
The 4 points conceded on Saturday was the lowest score conceded by a Kildare team in championship football since they held Laois to 3 points way back in 1935.
Sure one of them 4 was wide  ;D
I hope standards of umpiring was better in the 1930s  >:(
Post by: magpie seanie on July 31, 2012, 10:59:37 AM
Thankfully family reasons meant I missed this debacle. One of my mates rang me last night and thanked me for not ringing him after the game for a report. 'nuff said.

Well done Kildare and good luck in the next round.
Post by: Give and Go on July 31, 2012, 11:36:51 AM
I think Walsh made some valid points about cynicism in the game afterwards. Harrisson was red carded for swinging back at Johnny Doyle. Every game I attend, club or county, I witness corner backs pushing, shoving, goading, holding or pawing the corner forwards. I have never seen an umpire act on it until the corner forward reacts and retaliates in some form. Both players might get yellow. But the forward has been penalised unfairly and is drawn into a physical battle that negates skill and fair play.
I have seen Johnny Doyle play for Kildare a few times this year. He is getting away with murder! Every game he plays he is constantly blocking opponents runs and even dragging them down. He has a great name and I suppose it's the opposite of the old saying - 'give a dog a bad name!'......
But it's that cynicism that is ruining the game and the failure of referees, umpires and administrators to see it baffles me.