GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on July 05, 2012, 12:23:26 PM

Title: ABK - Anyone But Kildare?
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2012, 12:23:26 PM
I don't buy into the anti-Kildare feeling seeping through from various media outlets and even on here. However - there's no denying it's there.

From Tuesday's Belfast Telegraph:

Declan Bogue: Kildare's less-than-Lilywhite spin shows one way to lose friends and influence

Our perceptions of teams can cause a peculiar blindness.

Take Kildare for example. Before Sunday's Leinster semi-final, we were bludgeoned into believing that they were a fraction behind Dublin, Cork and Kerry as realistic All-Ireland contenders. While this message was continually being driven home by their spectacular training budgets, their earnestness in preparing the right way, the truth was harsh.

The truth is that they lost to Wicklow in the first year of the McGeeney reign. They also lost to Louth in 2010. Their only notable victories in Championship football have come against Meath.

A mythology around being on the wrong side of referee decisions also coloured perception.

They will point to Benny Coulter's illegal goal in 2010, without citing Graham Geraghty's disallowed goal last year. A sheen of victimhood has been added.

They are also flat-track bullies. Because they couldn't last the pace in Leinster, they were freakishly drawn against the losing county from the Ulster final for three years; Fermanagh, Monaghan and Derry.

Each time, the Ulster side had only six days to get over the pain of defeat. while the Lillywhites perfected their plan by coming through the qualifiers.

Last year, a story appeared, traced to the county, about Donegal's tendancy to foul in the opponents' half of the field.

Donegal, who had come from nowhere to win a provincial title, used it as all the motivation they needed to beat Kildare.

Now, Kildare play Cavan in Breffni Park. Although Cavan boss Terry Hyland has appealed to fans not to turn it into a cauldron of hate, it's a fact that Seanie Johnston is going to get a very hot reception from fans who only wanted to see him playing for Cavan, and playing well. They will come through that test, but they have brought on so much negative attention that a Cavan win would be cheered by the vast majority of GAA fans.

And that's what happens when you disrespect the game, the association and other counties.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/columnists/declan-bogue/declan-bogue-kildarersquos-lessthanlilywhite-spin-shows-one-way-to-lose-friends-and-influence-16180952.html#ixzz1zkKaovQi
Title: Re: ABK - Anyone But Kildare?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 05, 2012, 12:27:21 PM
(http://tikigod784.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/fatther-ted-down-with-this-sort-of-thing.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 12:32:32 PM
What the media giveth the media taketh..

Amazing how people buy into it though...
Post by: Dont Matter on July 05, 2012, 12:33:18 PM
There was plenty of reasons to hate the flourbags long before Seanie J or the geezer were about and there will be plenty of reasons after they've gone as well.
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2012, 12:34:09 PM
Alot of this sort of stuff is inflated on places like here and in print. Most people would prefer Kildare to win the All-Ireland over every other genuine contender, maybe Mayo excepted.

In the main few really care one iota about SJ, victim-hood or any of that, it's just people with a macro focus (and usually an agenda) on a major topic that try to use those to vilify an entire county.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 12:40:06 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 05, 2012, 12:33:18 PM
There was plenty of reasons to hate the flourbags long before Seanie J or the geezer were about and there will be plenty of reasons after they've gone as well.

And wait till Donie Kingston puts on the sacred white jersey  ;)
Post by: ck on July 05, 2012, 12:43:48 PM
Excellent article. The fact that McGeeney has developed Kildare football is a myth. More qualifier games against poor opposition does not dispel this myth!
All he has done is made Kildare a laughing stock throughout the country. Many have lost allot of respect for Kildare through their actions and this has been compounded by Kildares arrogance over Seanie Johnston (led by McGeeney despite his pathetic claims of innocence) Are there any decent GAA people in Kildare(?) who are prepared to speak out or are they all too busy sniggering at a club hurling match thinking they are being fierce smart!

I travel through many counties with work and believe me, Kildare are detested for their actions. I expect them to continue as they have done under McGeeney and win absolutely nothing! (and create allot of enemies)
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2012, 12:44:09 PM
I'd say Geezer'll be loving the siege mentality opportunity. He strikes me as that type of boy. For the craic they should refuse to stand for the anthem and instead do a type of salute in the direction of Kildare.

Something like this:

(http://www.strangecosmos.com/images/content/16724.JPG)
Post by: Dont Matter on July 05, 2012, 12:48:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 12:40:06 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 05, 2012, 12:33:18 PM

And wait till Donie Kingston puts on the sacred white jersey  ;)

He might get to wear it next year but i don't know if our white jersey is that sacred, we only wear it now and again.

(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQBsMb8Z3cazJjWsmT-QRwqSr1GAQgxk45THWCdCeqQ-x3JpcF1)
Post by: seafoid on July 05, 2012, 12:49:03 PM
Anyone but Kerry  but I  would have Kildare win it before Donegal.

Mayo have to win it first though.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 12:51:50 PM
Quote from: ck on July 05, 2012, 12:43:48 PM
Excellent article. The fact that McGeeney has developed Kildare football is a myth. More qualifier games against poor opposition does not dispel this myth!
All he has done is made Kildare a laughing stock throughout the country. Many have lost allot of respect for Kildare through their actions and this has been compounded by Kildares arrogance over Seanie Johnston (led by McGeeney despite his pathetic claims of innocence) Are there any decent GAA people in Kildare(?) who are prepared to speak out or are they all too busy sniggering at a club hurling match thinking they are being fierce smart!

I travel through many counties with work and believe me, Kildare are detested for their actions. I expect them to continue as they have done under McGeeney and win absolutely nothing! (and create allot of enemies)

Wow! Going by all those exclamation marks you must feel really strong and passionate about McGeeney and Kildare football. Hope you didn't forget to breathe..
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 05, 2012, 12:54:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 05, 2012, 12:49:03 PM
Anyone but Kerry  but I  would have Kildare win it before Donegal.

Mayo have to win it first though.
Why? Sure it will only cause others to hate us. We don't like been disliked at all!
Post by: eviemonkey on July 05, 2012, 12:55:27 PM
For the last 4 or 5 years Kildare have always represented easy 'copy' for a section of the Dublin-based GAA journalists. First they were happy to build them up for the potential feel-good factor of a new county breaking through and winning an elusive All-Ireland title, then the close games and hard luck stories followed and now the same media are happy to tear strips out of the same panel and management.

Some of the tabloid-esque media will now move on to Donegal as the next focus of attention. God forbid some of them would ever publish an incisive piece on the actual football being played. Between the news print guys and RTE you could nearly count on one hand the amount of credible GAA journalists in the country who actually cover the games themselves and not the hoopla which surrounds them.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 05, 2012, 01:16:08 PM
Jeez, I could never hate Kildare people!
All of them I know are sound characters. I was a bit pissed off with the carry-on over getting Seanie into a county jersey but I don't blame the fans or the players for that.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2012, 01:33:54 PM
I don't hate Kildare either. I'm a bit ambivalent to them to be honest, and in general would love to see Dermot Earley and john Doyle get an All Ireland. There are parts of North/East Offaly where Kildare would be the big rivals alright, but down my way we've more interaction with Tipp, Westmeath and Laois. Even Roscommon and Galway at times.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 05, 2012, 02:03:43 PM
The really annoying thing about what happened on Saturday from a Kildare point of view is that the media were beginning to lose interest in the Johnston saga. Whatever people thought it was a good idea to facilitate that farce in Clane on the eve of a big championship match for Kildare need to take a good look at themselves.

Johnston had got his transfer and could have played away with St Kevin's for the summer and into the autumn. He could then start a fresh next winter when most people would have moved on. His debut in a small O'Byrne Cup match would attract some attention but it would quickly be forgotten about and by the time the league is in full swing. The media would have moved on to the next controversy.

Kildare people claiming that Johnston was left with no option but to line out for Coill Dubh are not doing themselves any favours. It's the other Kildare players I feel sympathy for. I can't believe that the whole saga has not had some affect on the panel. The players are no doubt being asked about this at work, on the street and when they're out socialising. It's not like they're professional sportspeople who are well used to the media scrutiny and can largely detatch themselves from the public.

*Coill Dubh play Ardclough in the winners group in the hurling championship the weekend after next. Hopefully the bumper crowd that turned out in Clane will be out in force again.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 02:27:50 PM
What we are being bludgeoned with is inaccuracies and misleading statements.

This thing about training budgets is also written by journalists who provide no figures. Well, I've looked at the figures, and Kildare's spend is a long way behind, for example, Cork and Dublin's.

It's also really getting to me that it's now acceptable to equate Benny Coulter's square ball with Graham Geraghty's. Geraghty was on the fringe of the square and it was a really close call. Coulter was almost on the goal-line. Plus, Kildare were a centimetre from beating Down; whereas we were four up at the time of Geraghty's 'goal' and won by six.

It's now also fashionable to intimate that McGeeney hasn't done a great job in Kildare when it is a plain fact that he has, and any comparison of results before and after his arrival proves it.

I've great respect for Declan Bogue as a journalist but he's let himself down here with hindsight wisdom. He has twisted several facts to suit his point.

As for whether people hate us or not, I genuinely couldn't give a shite.
Post by: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:00:33 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 02:27:50 PM
This thing about training budgets is also written by journalists who provide no figures. Well, I've looked at the figures, and Kildare's spend is a long way behind, for example, Cork and Dublin's.

There is a good reason why Kildare are behind Dublin & Cork.

Both of those counties are dual counties with successful underage teams in both codes.
Post by: orangeman on July 05, 2012, 03:05:54 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:00:33 PM

Both of those counties are dual counties with successful underage teams in both codes.

Ouch !
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 03:07:58 PM

I'm not counting hurling expenditure Heffo. I'm talking about money spent on the senior footballers.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2012, 03:14:00 PM
It's all Sean Brady's fault.
Post by: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:16:37 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 03:07:58 PM

I'm not counting hurling expenditure Heffo. I'm talking about money spent on the senior footballers.

Thats because Dublin get further and hence cost more.

Ps - didn't mean that comment to sound as bitchy as it came across - the figure for Dublins training costs last year covered both codes and Minor & U21
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 03:18:16 PM

Why not, I'm interested in what under-age success is now deemed as, because in hurling, Corks last Munster minor was 2008 and All-Ireland was 2001 and Corks last Munster u21 was 2007 and All-Ireland 1998, rapid under-age success there?

Post by: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:21:57 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 03:18:16 PM

Why not, I'm interested in what under-age success is now deemed as, because in hurling, Corks last Munster minor was 2008 and All-Ireland was 2001 and Corks last Munster u21 was 2007 and All-Ireland 1998, rapid under-age success there?

There are still costs associated with preparing teams at Minor and U21 in both codes - something Kildare don't really have to consider.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 03:30:08 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:21:57 PM

There are still costs associated with preparing teams at Minor and U21 in both codes - something Kildare don't really have to consider.

Kildare still field at minor and u21 hurling, we haven't completely turned our back on it.

Out of curiosity is there a table of expenditure for each county?
Post by: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:40:21 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 03:30:08 PM

Am running out the door to the Stone Roses, but some figures from last year:

Dublin spent nearly €2m from Minor up in both codes.

Kildare spent €775k on the Senior Footballers.

Antrim spent just over €400k on both codes.

Offaly spent €390 on both codes.

Kilkenny spent €486k on the Senior Hurlers.
Post by: orangeman on July 05, 2012, 03:45:07 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:40:21 PM

Value for money there.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2012, 03:47:36 PM

Sad thing is you could even believe that might be true.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 03:54:07 PM

Bloody hell, where are you walking from, they're not on stage till 9:15pm.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2012, 03:55:15 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 03:54:07 PM

Counting your chickens there Dinny.
Post by: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:58:10 PM

Have to get ready for the ball and have a few sociables
Post by: orangeman on July 05, 2012, 03:59:59 PM
Heffo,

Under the table monies aren't included in those "official" figures I assume ?

Not that I'm suggesting that such monies exist.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 04:00:22 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:58:10 PM

You the Rose won't wait till all the Dubs are in!!!

Any decent pubs on the way in from Heuston?
Post by: heffo on July 05, 2012, 04:01:57 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 04:00:22 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 05, 2012, 03:58:10 PM

You the Rose won't wait till all the Dubs are in!!!

Any decent pubs on the way in from Heuston?

Regrettably no!

Ryans on Parkgate st is a good spot but would imagine it'll be mobbed - am going to head further afield up towards Smithfield
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 04:08:29 PM

Yes but Heffo there's this perception out there that Kildare are breaking the bank in unprecedented fashion and it's simply not true.

This year we are cutting our expenditure from €750,000 to €600,000.
Dublin spent €1.75m last year. Even when you factor in the senior hurlers and a successful season for the minor and U21 footballers, it's fair to surmise that Kildare are spending less on their senior footballers than Dublin.

Indeed while we're on the subject, this idea that we've gone mad throwing money at McGeeney really annoys me. I mean, trying to compare Kildare with Dublin is not comparing like with like.

We're sponsored by a slate company whose profits fell 99% last year - Dublin are sponsored by a multinational giant whose Irish profits are more than €100m, and that sponsorship nets €1m a year. Several Dublin players drive free renaults, had the flights for their team holidays paid for by Aer Lingus, and also benefit from spring series gate receipts that Croker spends €200,000 marketing.

Kildare players organise concerts, white-collar boxing nights, anything they can think of to try and fund their own training and give themselves the best chance of success.

I don't for one minute begrudge Dublin any of their financial success. Also, they were deserved All-Ireland winners and are a better team than us at the moment. I'm simply pointing out that it's very difficult for a county with Kildare's resources to try and look after their players as well as a Dublin or a Cork can.

My misgivings on the Johnston transfer aside, I love the Kildare players. I love the fact that they're willing to put in all that extra time raising money to make themselves as well prepared as they can be, that given the choice between using the money (some of which came from their grants) on a holiday or a training camp, they chose the training camp. They do that even though they know that if they fall short, every gobshite from Malin to Mizen will be laughing at them.

I can just about put up with that abuse, but hearing this line that we're wasting millions and spending more than any team in history repeated ad naseum is too much to take. Not one journalist, be it Bogue or anyone else, has produced figures to back that asssertion. If any of them submitted a piece with an assertion like that to any decent business publication, no editor would fail to be straight on the phone to them asking them for proof.

But this is Irish GAA journalism, so yerra, we'll just throw out what I was saying in the pub last night, rather than uncovering any facts.

Post by: heffo on July 05, 2012, 04:17:26 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 04:08:29 PM

Yes but Heffo there's this perception out there that Kildare are breaking the bank in unprecedented fashion and it's simply not true.

This year we are cutting our expenditure from €750,000 to €600,000.
Dublin spent €1.75m last year. Even when you factor in the senior hurlers and a successful season for the minor and U21 footballers, it's fair to surmise that Kildare are spending less on their senior footballers than Dublin.

Indeed while we're on the subject, this idea that we've gone mad throwing money at McGeeney really annoys me. I mean, trying to compare Kildare with Dublin is not comparing like with like.

We're sponsored by a slate company whose profits fell 99% last year - Dublin are sponsored by a multinational giant whose Irish profits are more than €100m, and that sponsorship nets €1m a year. Several Dublin players drive free renaults, had the flights for their team holidays paid for by Aer Lingus, and also benefit from spring series gate receipts that Croker spends €200,000 marketing.

Kildare players organise concerts, white-collar boxing nights, anything they can think of to try and fund their own training and give themselves the best chance of success.

I don't for one minute begrudge Dublin any of their financial success. Also, they were deserved All-Ireland winners and are a better team than us at the moment. I'm simply pointing out that it's very difficult for a county with Kildare's resources to try and look after their players as well as a Dublin or a Cork can.

My misgivings on the Johnston transfer aside, I love the Kildare players. I love the fact that they're willing to put in all that extra time raising money to make themselves as well prepared as they can be, that given the choice between using the money (some of which came from their grants) on a holiday or a training camp, they chose the training camp. They do that even though they know that if they fall short, every gobshite from Malin to Mizen will be laughing at them.

I can just about put up with that abuse, but hearing this line that we're wasting millions and spending more than any team in history repeated ad naseum is too much to take. Not one journalist, be it Bogue or anyone else, has produced figures to back that asssertion. If any of them submitted a piece with an assertion like that to any decent business publication, no editor would fail to be straight on the phone to them asking them for proof.

But this is Irish GAA journalism, so yerra, we'll just throw out what I was saying in the pub last night, rather than uncovering any facts.

Can't argue with any of that - good points all.

Fair play to the Kildare players for going above and beyond the call of duty with their efforts in raising all that money - there are not too many around with that what can I do rather than what can I get atttude.

The only one thing I would say in mitigation is that their fundraising efforts have to (IMO) affect the fundraising of the KCB.

Post by: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2012, 05:02:56 PM
I'm praying SJ plays against Cavan. He's going to get abuse and he 100% deserves it. Throughout this whole episode its been all about me me me, to hell with Cavan, Cavan supporters, Cavan Gaels or their volunteers and supporters. Its all about Seanie, so lets see him on the pitch now in a white jersey playing against Cavan. The pressure will be like a rock tied around his neck and  I have seen how Mr Johnston reacts when the pressure is really on. A sly kick at an opposing player, abuse the ref or abuse his own player or maybe run of to the US. Cavan won't win but they will do their best and that's all I care about and what a change it is to have 15-20 players on the field for us giving it everything they have. Maybe Seanie should watch and learn.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 05:11:36 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2012, 05:02:56 PM
I'm praying SJ plays against Cavan. He's going to get abuse and he 100% deserves it. Throughout this whole episode its been all about me me me, to hell with Cavan, Cavan supporters, Cavan Gaels or their volunteers and supporters. Its all about Seanie, so lets see him on the pitch now in a white jersey playing against Cavan. The pressure will be like a rock tied around his neck and  I have seen how Mr Johnston reacts when the pressure is really on. A sly kick at an opposing player, abuse the ref or abuse his own player or maybe run of to the US. Cavan won't win but they will do their best and that's all I care about and what a change it is to have 15-20 players on the field for us giving it everything they have. Maybe Seanie should watch and learn.

Finally I found someone to put on ignore, I didn't think I had a tolerance limit but I guess it has just been reached...
Post by: tommysmith on July 05, 2012, 05:54:55 PM
Whats wrong with what he said alot of it is true?

Edit : It is all true.
Post by: J70 on July 05, 2012, 06:13:52 PM
The Johnston issue aside, the 'backlash' against kildare is as ludicrous as the hype. They lost one game FFS, and its not the first time Meath roused themselves when written off (Tyrone and dublin should remember).
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 08:43:57 PM

Jaysus Myles if there's many as small, bitter and jealous as you in Cavan then it's a wonder he didn't leave sooner.

I'd say you were jumping around the place in 2010 when he beat Wicklow on his own.

You obviously had a change of heart from a few days ago when you said you didn't care what he, Kildare or McGeeney did?
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2012, 09:48:58 PM
Take your heads out of the sand ye pair of ostriches. Go on the cavan thread and you can see what I thought of him after that wicklow game instead of pretending to know.

Anyway, seanie will soon be developing one of his big match injuries as outlined in this report. 

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/gaelicfootball/articles/2012/02/15/4009016-seanie-we-hardly-knew-ye--and-now-youre-gone/
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 10:25:35 PM
Yeah I read that Anglo Celt piece before  thought it was very brave of the writer to imply he fakes injuries with nothing to back it up except hearsay.
Post by: Main Street on July 05, 2012, 10:47:05 PM
That's called truth in Cavan.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2012, 10:54:28 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 05, 2012, 10:25:35 PM
Yeah I read that Anglo Celt piece before  thought it was very brave of the writer to imply he fakes injuries with nothing to back it up except hearsay.

The writer would know a damn site more than you do about what goes on in cavan football since a third of the paper each week is dedicated to it. Ye will soon learn the truth.
Post by: stew on July 05, 2012, 11:22:52 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2012, 10:54:28 PM

The writer would know a damn site more than you do about what goes on in cavan football since a third of the paper each week is dedicated to it. Ye will soon learn the truth.

I hope he plays and destroys Cavan, after reading what you have written Myles i hope Cavan never win another game with of course, the exception of  Down.

Relax, have a beer and quit fixating on a player who isnt on your panel, in short, get over it ffs!
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 06, 2012, 12:15:19 AM
lads the word mythology comes up a lot and the team is a lot likle their manager.
like geezer is given this aura by the media similar to that of keano.
then he takes over a football mad county on the edge of journoville and we get bigged up for years.
the amount of times me and my mate left croker and indeed lge matches saying "we're not as good as we're made out to be is a joke".
now there is a backlash and we just have to lump it. the dubs got it for years at times from everyone bar the hearld but they have sam so dont give a shite.
we are like spurs, there or thereabouts and can play class but never do it against the real powers.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 06, 2012, 08:51:06 AM
Quote from: stew on July 05, 2012, 11:22:52 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2012, 10:54:28 PM

I hope he plays and destroys Cavan, after reading what you have written Myles i hope Cavan never win another game with of course, the exception of  Down.

Relax, have a beer and quit fixating on a player who isnt on your panel, in short, get over it ffs!

I will if you point out one untruth in my posts.
Post by: ck on July 06, 2012, 09:08:56 AM
I speak for many when I say (and I hope you appreciate that I am just being honest here) that I hope Cavan hammer Kildare, I hope Johnston plays and gets hammered, and I hope McGeeney gets hammered by the press for the whole big mess that his arrogance created.

Kildare people should note that this is NOT some sort of press and public backlash - don't flatter yourselves. It's a public frustration at the way you have given two fingers up to the GAA through the Seanie Johnston farce. Before it all I'd say most of the country would have been delighted to see Kildare winning (I know I would have) but McGeeney et al have stepped over the line for me and as a result we are all looking forward to giving him two fingers when you loose in the qualifiers.  What goes around comes around.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 06, 2012, 09:47:15 AM
Myles you really seem to have hated Seanie Johnston well before he left. If so, surely you're delighted he's gone. So why all the bitterness?

You hated him, he's gone. Why be vindictive?

I don't agree with the transfer, but it's a lot of hatred over a player that Cavan didn't want.
Post by: tommysmith on July 06, 2012, 09:51:52 AM

Throughout this whole episode its been all about me me me, to hell with Cavan, Cavan supporters, Cavan Gaels or their volunteers and supporters.

Cant argue with that

The pressure will be like a rock tied around his neck and  I have seen how Mr Johnston reacts when the pressure is really on.

If he plays he will be under pressure like never before but nobody here can tell how much pressure someone will feel but he does not react well under pressure or things not going his way

A sly kick at an opposing player, abuse the ref or abuse his own player.

Again all these things happen when things arent going seanies way. so cant argue with that either

Lads we all know that Myles has no time for Seanie but his post was honest and would say any other Cavan poster would agree also.

Post by: mylestheslasher on July 06, 2012, 10:28:44 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 06, 2012, 09:47:15 AM
Myles you really seem to have hated Seanie Johnston well before he left. If so, surely you're delighted he's gone. So why all the bitterness?

You hated him, he's gone. Why be vindictive?

I don't agree with the transfer, but it's a lot of hatred over a player that Cavan didn't want.

You reckon?
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=53.7890
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 06, 2012, 10:39:41 AM
I was away there for a while sunning my satchel and took in the meath kildare game in the local tenirife bar.............................very surprised not to see johnson get a run, however when i saw the lad take the field in the kildare club hurling, I was shocked by his physique.........................................soft jowly, almost liam oneil like.......very poor form for inter county standard
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 06, 2012, 10:41:27 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 06, 2012, 09:51:52 AM

Throughout this whole episode its been all about me me me, to hell with Cavan, Cavan supporters, Cavan Gaels or their volunteers and supporters.

Cant argue with that

The pressure will be like a rock tied around his neck and  I have seen how Mr Johnston reacts when the pressure is really on.

If he plays he will be under pressure like never before but nobody here can tell how much pressure someone will feel but he does not react well under pressure or things not going his way

A sly kick at an opposing player, abuse the ref or abuse his own player.

Again all these things happen when things arent going seanies way. so cant argue with that either

Lads we all know that Myles has no time for Seanie but his post was honest and would say any other Cavan poster would agree also.

I'd say there are very few in Cavan who are happy at Seanie's move but they all don't go on and on about it. Myles has said several times already that he is no longer bothered about Seanie since he left Cavan, or words to that effect, but he is showing no sign of letting up and  he has made his point a long time ago.
BTW, I've no problem with Myles blasting away if he wants to; that's his prerogative but Seanie is an amateur who needn't play with any side in the land if he doesn't want to. He can't be forced to play for Cavan and the GAA has accepted that he can play with Kildare if he wants to.
I don't think much of the individuals who were behind the farce in Clane that made him eligible to play for Kildare but I think even less of the way the CCCC went about attempting to block his move.
Neither side has come out of this with any credit but his move is a done deal and it's time for sensible people to move on.
Post by: ONeill on July 06, 2012, 12:11:37 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 06, 2012, 11:23:57 AM

I see there is a fake parody twitter account

Feeling dizzy with that one.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2012, 12:16:24 PM
Quelle surprise...

KfmSport‏@KfmSport

Seanie Johnston's much anticipated debut is in doubt due to shoulder injury sustained in training this week #kildare #cavan #gaa
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 06, 2012, 12:24:20 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 06, 2012, 11:23:57 AM
Aboy Myles still ranting away... you were right myles there was need deleting my account. :P

Myles you were ranting about Seanie Johnston long before this transfer, you used a few quotes from the Wicklow match in 2010. Lots other occasions after and possiby before that game where you slated Seanie Johnston.

You said you never met him countless times before, but why the hatred? Johnston played with Cavan since he was 15, at u16 level, up until last year when he was 27. He played every year, one summer he went off to the states - who cares, loads of players when  they are students do the same. Almost the entire Cavan u21 panel went to the states last year, cavan could have done with some of them in the championship last year.

I see there is a fake parody twitter account Seanie Johnston, were you the brains behind that aswell Myles?

Don't understand your first line and I'm not on twitter. Hope that helps.
Post by: ck on July 06, 2012, 12:24:32 PM
I'd fake an injury too if I was him.
Post by: tommysmith on July 06, 2012, 12:50:07 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 06, 2012, 12:44:34 PM
My first line should have read there was "no" need deleting my account. Looks like he won't be playing, so your prayers didn't work. I honestly can't believe how you could dislike an individual so much, you don't even know Johnston, just going on hearsay, like a lot of the stuff you posted about him. Anyways Myles your a cavan supporter like myself, move on.

If you dont know by now why he doesnt like him you really shouldnt be tackling him about it.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 06, 2012, 12:56:19 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2012, 09:48:58 PM
Take your heads out of the sand ye pair of ostriches. Go on the cavan thread and you can see what I thought of him after that wicklow game instead of pretending to know.

Anyway, seanie will soon be developing one of his big match injuries as outlined in this report.

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/gaelicfootball/articles/2012/02/15/4009016-seanie-we-hardly-knew-ye--and-now-youre-gone/
Post by: tommysmith on July 06, 2012, 01:09:20 PM
After the all the shite he went through  :D

@thecowardofthecounty
Post by: rodney trotter on July 06, 2012, 02:13:44 PM
Sure Seanie is one less player for us to worry about next week ::) Hopefully we can give them a good game, I think we have more natural Forwards in Keating, Jack Brady and Niall McDermott, I'd have Keating any day over O Connor. They still have a strong bench, bringing on O Callaghan, Fogarty, Dermot Early, although his shooting was terrible when he went in ff.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 06, 2012, 04:21:32 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 06, 2012, 01:09:20 PM
After the all the shite he went through  :D

@thecowardofthecounty

Yellow as well as everything else it seems!