GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: eriugaMS on March 18, 2012, 11:43:34 PM

Title: Armagh team for the Championship
Post by: eriugaMS on March 18, 2012, 11:43:34 PM
1.Geoghan..... better of the 2 goalies i have seen this yer............. Can no-one persuade McKinney that he should be No 1

FBL......   |Andy is a stalwart and as good as they get IMVHO. Defends well and breaks forward at speed. Brendy is a shoe in for Fb....... Very solid from the first day i saw him play here at Ballyboffey and other corner to Morgan (the cross lad). Think that could be a very tight Fb Line and have McKeown on hand to come in if needed

HBL.......... Aaron, Ciaran McK and ANO.......
Aaron is a there on merit.... A good defender and gets forward but needs to keep the concentration. CmcK is there because he is as good a back as there is in Ireland. Needs to cut out his stupid game of fouling off the ball..... if he was from another county we would hate him as much as McMenanmin is hated by other counties but he belongs to and is a legend.
A spare spot going in the half back line............ Not to Dyas by the way who has never done anything for me in an Armagh Jersey and pulls out of half tackles. How he is still on the squad amazes me.

MF.............. For me has to be Mal who has been the mainstay of the team the past 2 years and Charles........... (BUt maybe HFL is better for him)

HFL.
Forker... Stephen Kernan and Aaron Cunningham.............. For me i have seen great strides by Forker in the league. He has shown well as have a lot of other young lads but Forker has shown best for me
Until last year i was sk's biggest critic but every game in club football i have seen him play this year he has been instrumental and he can do job for the county,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, To Me Cunningham is nailed on... A running machine and a great brain too

FFL............. The scoring machine of the team
Stevie........ Still on top his game and a no brainer if up to speed
Jamie..............    ditto
FF----------- we need a full forward in Ronan's absence. Not mal's best position and not an easy jesrey to fill...............Would prefer a big 6 ft lad that bosses the area (and this is not Kingham)....

If this was the team it leaves room for some great footballers to come in...... McKeown, Duff, MOR, Finian, B Mallon and fellas like McParland, Grugan, et al.

Don't write the year of just yet
Title: Re: Armagh team for the Championship
Post by: BennyCake on March 19, 2012, 02:02:20 AM
Performing well for Cross is alot different than performing for Armagh. SK hasn't played for Armagh in a while, so he won't be on the starting line-up, if indeed the squad. Has AC even played a game for Armagh?! That's madness saying he'll be starting too. Same with Morgan. Forker, maybe will start.

As for Stevie, he hasn't said he'll be coming back, nor does it seem like he will. He seems more interested in watching his 'beloved' Liverpool on TV. I think he needs to make a decision quickly so the management and players know the score.

The rest kinda picks itself. Although I wouldn't have Kingham near the starting XV.
Post by: Agent Orange on March 19, 2012, 01:14:15 PM
There seems to be a certain amount of animosity towards Stevie at the minute. Stevie has given his all for Armagh and his decison should be respected, if he comes back, great, if he doesn't he owes the county nothing. He has been at the top of the game for more than a decade, he is entitled to watch whoever he pleases.
Personally I don't think he will be back. Good luck to him.
Post by: ExiledGael on March 19, 2012, 05:22:41 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 19, 2012, 02:02:20 AM
As for Stevie, he hasn't said he'll be coming back, nor does it seem like he will. He seems more interested in watching his 'beloved' Liverpool on TV. I think he needs to make a decision quickly so the management and players know the score.

Just because you don't know the score with McDonnell doesn't mean management don't. He just put this on his Twitter.

Thanks to everyone for the kind messages after the birth of my son today. On top of the world.
Post by: naka on March 19, 2012, 06:34:00 PM
Hearty
Andy Mallon, donaghy, James Morgan
Ak, cmk,Dyas
Mal, Charlie
Forker,SK,anto Duffy
Clarke,stevie, rafferty

If not rafferty would try hanratty or mc kenna on the square.
Anto Duffy has well this year so would give him the nod over Cunningham .
Post by: bennydorano on March 19, 2012, 07:00:51 PM
Morgan didn't cover himself in glory at the weekend, how can he walk onto a team he's yet to play for.
Post by: DuffleKing on March 19, 2012, 07:28:10 PM

We're back in the sphere of judging the potential ability of a player at county level based on club form. I'd be hopeful Morgan will have a long career with Armagh but right now he'd have trouble marking a county forward with pace and strength. U21s will be a good platform to get a better gauge of how much he has yet to develop.
Post by: Armamike on March 19, 2012, 09:06:43 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on March 19, 2012, 07:28:10 PM

We're back in the sphere of judging the potential ability of a player at county level based on club form. I'd be hopeful Morgan will have a long career with Armagh but right now he'd have trouble marking a county forward with pace and strength. U21s will be a good platform to get a better gauge of how much he has yet to develop.

But he's been marking county quality players all year and doing very well. Had a ropey first half but tightened up well in the second, against a top forward in Dolan.
Post by: bennydorano on March 19, 2012, 09:15:09 PM
Dolan was MOTM everywhere. Morgan deserves his chance & i'm sure he'll get it. County football at Senior level is a step up no matter what he's done all year. Stephen O'Neill could be sitting waiting for him,  he wouldn't be walking on to my team for such a task untried at that level.
Post by: Stevie Nicks on March 19, 2012, 09:26:01 PM
Quote from: naka on March 19, 2012, 06:34:00 PM
Hearty
Andy Mallon, donaghy, James Morgan
Ak, cmk,Dyas
Mal, Charlie
Forker,SK,anto Duffy
Clarke,stevie, rafferty

If not rafferty would try hanratty or mc kenna on the square.
Anto Duffy has well this year so would give him the nod over Cunningham .
Won't be too far away from the starting 15 come the 10th June, it also shows why we are odds on to be relegated as only 6 of this team started on sunday in o'moore park :(
Post by: Armamike on March 19, 2012, 09:58:54 PM
Well i would throw Morgan in, or at least give him some game time to see how he'd get on. We're not blessed with tight marking backs round the half back line at the moment.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 20, 2012, 09:14:27 AM
Won't McKeever miss the start of the championship due to his impending suspension?

Stevie is a genuinely great player and I completely admire how well he has performed for years, but surely he can't come back with no county training behind him and be fit to go straight into a starting line-up?

Is Swift badly injured, I see no one has mentioned him above

Rory Grugan?

Post by: EC Unique on March 20, 2012, 09:36:09 AM
Who ever lines out at number 11 will have the task of trying to stop Pete Harte. Not an easy task at present.
Post by: naka on March 20, 2012, 09:54:22 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 19, 2012, 07:00:51 PM
Morgan didn't cover himself in glory at the weekend, how can he walk onto a team he's yet to play for.
give me an alternative
Post by: lawnseed on March 20, 2012, 09:00:10 PM
wont matter who starts your only looking at 2 matches unless we draw kilkenny in the backdoor then 3 matches. this has to be the worst preparation any armagh squad has ever had with homers negativity and grimleys reluctance to step into the limelight by actually becoming the manager and not the assistant. the arrival of the cross players after a hard club campaign will be  welcome but i doubt if it will boost the squad by as much as armagh supporters hope for. if cross win its kind of the end of their season not the start. as for stevie.. jeez how long can he go on for? hes not peter pan. we are at rock bottom. we need numpty orourke gone and a fresh approach to our game. a complete new management team able to re-jig the players and develop a style/system thats suits the players we have. imho these players ARE good enough they have not had a proper manager since joe.
Post by: Throw ball on March 20, 2012, 09:11:03 PM
Lawnseed you must have taken all your grumpy pills at once today. For what it is worth I do not believe it is possible to judge a manager given the restrictions he has had this year. We are in the position we expected to be but in my opinion are still in a better position than we were last year. Will add though that O'Rourke showed a good bit of man management on Sunday after the match with Laois personally escorting McKeever until the referee had left the pitch.
Post by: bennydorano on March 20, 2012, 09:19:52 PM
Quote from: naka on March 20, 2012, 09:54:22 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 19, 2012, 07:00:51 PM
give me an alternative

A fella that gets cleaned in his last game, has never played Senior Inter-County football and he's an automatic championship starter? and people actually have the neck to demand alteratives? Jesus Christ - is it just me or is that not f**king crazy???.  Your alternatives are currently in the squad (for better or worse), Morgan has to prove he's better than them at County level.  He may very well prove to be the real deal, but he cant be anointed with out even being tested.
Post by: naka on March 20, 2012, 09:29:06 PM
Benny I have been at all our games this year
And accept your comment about Morgan having to prove himself
I think he will and should make the team
Championship is two months away.
Post by: lawnseed on March 20, 2012, 09:36:58 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 20, 2012, 09:11:03 PM
Lawnseed you must have taken all your grumpy pills at once today. For what it is worth I do not believe it is possible to judge a manager given the restrictions he has had this year. We are in the position we expected to be but in my opinion are still in a better position than we were last year. Will add though that O'Rourke showed a good bit of man management on Sunday after the match with Laois personally escorting McKeever until the referee had left the pitch.
what restrictions? you must mean the lack of something? what has he not had? hes in charge of a team who all have all ireland medals. arron kernan.. young player of the year, keiran mckeever international rules captain, stevie.. legend. cross players with all irelands.. brand new field.. resources galore. compare that to our opponents this week-Down. then compare the managers.. we've got a dud. remember the two brians and the shite they had to listen to i never heard them saying "we weren't going to win any how"
Post by: eriugaMS on March 20, 2012, 11:25:38 PM
Is Swift badly injured, I see no one has mentioned him above

He's walked ... gone

Post by: eriugaMS on March 20, 2012, 11:31:12 PM
"and grimleys reluctance to step into the limelight by actually becoming the manager and not the assistant"

if you actually bothered to go to a game this year you can clearly see that Grimley is the man making all the changes. Telling what subs to get warmed up......... Against Cork he was ready to take the head of Coonihan. Grimley is the man leading the line....... is passionate and excited about the game (Unlike some others).......... He is the man calling the shots from what i can see from a supporter who has been there for most of the national league and is making the big decisions....

Wind your neck in boss. Have you even been to game this year. If so you would not have written the above as it proves you:

A)  have no clue

B)  Don't watch the line during a game

In Grimley we trust
Post by: armaghniac on March 21, 2012, 09:28:50 AM
QuoteIn Grimley we trust

Perhaps, but he is now going to end up suspended for his carry on at the end of the Laois game and if he is calling the shots the team performance isn't great, esp against Mayo.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 21, 2012, 12:07:43 PM
Maybe I missed it but i saw no reference to Tony Kernan there, he has one attribute currently missing in that Armagh team...the ability to hit frees from beyond 35 metres. I also think Stephen Kernan is vastly under rated by fans and management alike, although I don't see a role for both him and Tony at the same time.
Post by: lawnseed on March 21, 2012, 06:51:50 PM
Quote from: eriugaMS on March 20, 2012, 11:31:12 PM
"and grimleys reluctance to step into the limelight by actually becoming the manager and not the assistant"

if you actually bothered to go to a game this year you can clearly see that Grimley is the man making all the changes. Telling what subs to get warmed up......... Against Cork he was ready to take the head of Coonihan. Grimley is the man leading the line....... is passionate and excited about the game (Unlike some others).......... He is the man calling the shots from what i can see from a supporter who has been there for most of the national league and is making the big decisions....

Wind your neck in boss. Have you even been to game this year. If so you would not have written the above as it proves you:

A)  have no clue

B)  Don't watch the line during a game

In Grimley we trust
who has he managed? do you buy any programs at all these games your going to i think grimley is the assistant. truth is armagh were playing better before he arrived. chase them both
Post by: bennydorano on March 21, 2012, 07:31:27 PM
That is some statement to come out with. Players missing all over the shop, we are largely a young developing side and you want to chase both managers?  Sounds well thought out, replace them with who or what though considering new management would have the same missing players and be faced with the same rebuilding project?  Bit of realism required.
Post by: mountainboii on March 21, 2012, 09:55:00 PM
Pay no heed, benny. Yer man is barstool gobshitery incarnate.
Post by: lawnseed on March 23, 2012, 09:40:17 PM
again... ::) what has james macartan had that paddy orourke has been missing or denied in their respective jobs as managers of down and armagh. on paper armagh are the stronger team. look how the two teams performed against dublin? did james macartan say 'ah sure w werent going to win anyway'? no he told them to get stuck in
Post by: yellowcard on March 23, 2012, 11:24:50 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 21, 2012, 07:31:27 PM
That is some statement to come out with. Players missing all over the shop, we are largely a young developing side and you want to chase both managers?  Sounds well thought out, replace them with who or what though considering new management would have the same missing players and be faced with the same rebuilding project? Bit of realism required.

I certainly think that POR has to go at the end of the season barring an Ulster title/AI semi-final appearance. Though he is a man who will not leave until he is pushed so anything is possible. Unless the Co Board make the decision a 4th term is not out of the question.
Post by: BennyCake on March 23, 2012, 11:42:11 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 23, 2012, 11:24:50 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 21, 2012, 07:31:27 PM
That is some statement to come out with. Players missing all over the shop, we are largely a young developing side and you want to chase both managers?  Sounds well thought out, replace them with who or what though considering new management would have the same missing players and be faced with the same rebuilding project? Bit of realism required.
I certainly think that POR has to go at the end of the season barring an Ulster title/AI semi-final appearance. Though he is a man who will not leave until he is pushed so anything is possible. Unless the Co Board make the decision a 4th term is not out of the question.

We'll have a new manager next year then...
Post by: under the bar on March 23, 2012, 11:47:41 PM
QuoteI certainly think that POR has to go at the end of the season barring an Ulster title/AI semi-final appearance.

Why should he go?  He has made the team punch well above its weight at times and he can't be expected to make a silk purse from a pig's ear. 
Post by: BennyCake on March 24, 2012, 12:17:13 AM
Quote from: under the bar on March 23, 2012, 11:47:41 PM
QuoteI certainly think that POR has to go at the end of the season barring an Ulster title/AI semi-final appearance.

Why should he go?  He has made the team punch well above its weight at times and he can't be expected to make a silk purse from a pig's ear.

He has also brought some humiliating defeats to Armagh since he took over (Monaghan, Derry and Dublin).
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 24, 2012, 01:16:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8cRM4UQ5eU

watch the Tyrone boys for 55 seconds

Another mastermind performance from POR..

Tyrone 0-23
Down 1-5
Post by: Orangemac on March 24, 2012, 08:38:01 AM

Pat Gilroy did. Jim McGuiness did. Is the Donegal panel player for player so much better than the Armagh panel?

With managers like McGuinness,McGeeney and Tony McEntee you always get a sense of a gameplan and style of play, that each player knows their role and has been drilled to keep at it for 70 mins, you don't get that sense with the Armagh team after 3 years of POR.
Post by: BennyCake on March 24, 2012, 01:38:33 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on March 24, 2012, 08:38:01 AM
Pat Gilroy did. Jim McGuiness did. Is the Donegal panel player for player so much better than the Armagh panel?

With managers like McGuinness,McGeeney and Tony McEntee you always get a sense of a gameplan and style of play, that each player knows their role and has been drilled to keep at it for 70 mins, you don't get that sense with the Armagh team after 3 years of POR.

You're spot on, Orangemac.
Post by: yellowcard on March 24, 2012, 02:53:14 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 24, 2012, 01:38:33 PM

What Orangemac just said.

The squad is made up of players with AI U-21 medals, AI club medals, 4 players who have represented their country and a host of other Ulster titles at underage level. Kildare, Dublin and Donegal are teams that punch above theire weight. Armagh played Dublin in the qualifiers 2 years ago and their was a kick of the ball between the teams. Look at how each team has progressed since and then try and tell me that POR is getting the best out of the players. In my opinion the players are as good as any group in Ireland but just below Kerry, Dublin, Cork and Tyrone.
Post by: lawnseed on March 24, 2012, 07:48:30 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 24, 2012, 02:53:14 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 24, 2012, 01:38:33 PM

What Orangemac just said.

The squad is made up of players with AI U-21 medals, AI club medals, 4 players who have represented their country and a host of other Ulster titles at underage level. Kildare, Dublin and Donegal are teams that punch above theire weight. Armagh played Dublin in the qualifiers 2 years ago and their was a kick of the ball between the teams. Look at how each team has progressed since and then try and tell me that POR is getting the best out of the players. In my opinion the players are as good as any group in Ireland but just below Kerry, Dublin, Cork and Tyrone.
nail on the head. theres a brilliant opportunity with for a decent manager
Post by: Orangemac on April 01, 2012, 11:12:34 PM
A lot of chat around Morgan or Cunningham making the transition from the Cross to Armagh team. Surely Danny O'Callaghan deserves a shout as well.

He would add a bit of steel to a sometimes porous half back line and his distribution is always good.
Post by: Armamike on April 01, 2012, 11:26:56 PM
Good player. More of a central player, not sure how he would do on the wing.
Post by: theticklemister on April 02, 2012, 12:13:50 AM
Quote from: Armamike on April 01, 2012, 11:26:56 PM
Good player. More of a central player, not sure how he would do on the wing.

he does things effectively. reminds me a bit like francey, as francey played with Cross for a number of years before going on to represent the county.
Post by: naka on April 02, 2012, 11:10:23 AM
on a side note great to see ronan clarke back playing for ogs
hopefully he will get a years football under his belt and who knows where he might be next year
Post by: The Real Gael on April 02, 2012, 01:13:50 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 24, 2012, 12:17:13 AM

He has also brought some humiliating defeats to Armagh since he took over (Monaghan, Derry and Dublin).

And what managers havent brought humiliating defeats to their teams? It happens the best of them, do Dublin get shot of Pat Gilroy now? Dont talk crap POR has worked under some extreme circumstances and with the "Down Man" tag hanging over him and he has done nothing but his best for Armagh. Who do you suggest as manager next year?
Post by: yellowcard on April 02, 2012, 01:19:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Gael on April 02, 2012, 01:13:50 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 24, 2012, 12:17:13 AM

And what managers havent brought humiliating defeats to their teams? It happens the best of them, do Dublin get shot of Pat Gilroy now? Dont talk crap POR has worked under some extreme circumstances and with the "Down Man" tag hanging over him and he has done nothing but his best for Armagh. Who do you suggest as manager next year?

The problem is that is best is not good enough. Are you implying that he deserves another year?
Post by: BerfArmagh on April 02, 2012, 05:53:47 PM
My Preferred Team for Championship

P Hearty (I Know I Know)
A Mallon (Best man marker we have),
B donaghy (best League Performer),
D Mc Kenna (bar Dublin has been consistent & Steady)
A kernan (Shoe in),
C Mckeever (Shoe in),
Dyas (Would give in 30 mins)
C Vernon (Good engine, contribution very much under estimated),
Hanratty (Will need his style of play against tyrone)
S Forker (Best forward in League this year),
M Mackin (Shoe in),
A Duffy (Position might be under threat of Mc Donnell comes back)
J Clarke (Shoe in),
Mc Parland (Needs to be given a chance) ,
Rafferty (Needs to be given a chance)

Subs S & A Kernan, R Clarke etc...
Post by: armaghniac on April 02, 2012, 07:58:10 PM
QuoteP Hearty (I Know I Know)
A Mallon (Best man marker we have),
B donaghy (best League Performer),
D Mc Kenna (bar Dublin has been consistent & Steady)
A kernan (Shoe in),
C Mckeever (Shoe in),
Dyas (Would give in 30 mins)
C Vernon (Good engine, contribution very much under estimated),
Hanratty (Will need his style of play against tyrone)
S Forker (Best forward in League this year),
M Mackin (Shoe in),
A Duffy (Position might be under threat of Mc Donnell comes back)
J Clarke (Shoe in),
Mc Parland (Needs to be given a chance) ,
Rafferty (Needs to be given a chance)

A Forker perhaps? Also Brian Mallon has shown good form this year, better than he ever has, like Mackin I think he has made his case. It will be interesting to see if S. Kernan gets the call.

Post by: fitzroyalty on April 02, 2012, 08:04:03 PM
Saw Nippy Swift and Stefan Forker play yesterday, those two lads should be in the panel. Both accounted for the majority of their respective clubs' scores and some fine scores at that.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 02, 2012, 08:12:39 PM

Both are extremely talented players who are both short of the work rate needed to succeed at county level in my view. We, and most counties, have a lot of similar players.
Post by: BerfArmagh on April 02, 2012, 09:36:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 02, 2012, 07:58:10 PM
A Forker perhaps? Also Brian Mallon has shown good form this year, better than he ever has, like Mackin I think he has made his case. It will be interesting to see if S. Kernan gets the call.

Aye A.Forker
Post by: Armaghgael on April 02, 2012, 09:41:55 PM
Any word on Toner returning?
Post by: Onion Bag on April 02, 2012, 10:03:47 PM
I would like to see something like
1 P Hearty
2 A Mallon
3 B Donaghy
4 J Morgan
5 A Kernan
6 C Mc Keever
7 P Duffy/F Moriarity
8 C Vernon
9 J Hanratty
10 A Forker
11 S Kernan
12 A Duffy
13 J Clarke
14 M Mackin
15 E Mc Verry/G Mc Parland
Post by: Armaghgael on April 02, 2012, 10:04:51 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on April 02, 2012, 10:03:47 PM
I would like to see something like
1 P Hearty
2 A Mallon
3 B Donaghy
4 J Morgan
5 A Kernan
6 C Mc Keever
7 P Duffy/F Moriarity
8 C Vernon
9 J Hanratty
10 A Forker
11 S Kernan
12 A Duffy
13 J Clarke
14 M Mackin
15 E Mc Verry/G Mc Parland

No Rafferty?
Post by: Onion Bag on April 02, 2012, 10:06:56 PM
I think he would be a great option to spring from the bench or the other option is, having mackin in midfield, drop hanratty, and that leaves space for him inside
Post by: regal on April 03, 2012, 09:52:10 AM
Does anybody know if:

- McDonnell is coming back to the panel?
- Toner is coming back for this years championship?
- Has Ronan Clarke played any football for the Ogs this year?

Due to Crossmaglen, injuries and absentees it is very difficult to predict what Armagh's team for the championship will be. Presuming Toner & McDonnell aren't back, I think the shoe ins will be:

1 -
2 - AMallon
3 - Donaghy
4 -
5 - AKernan
6 - McKeever
7 -
8 -
9 -
10 - AForker
11 -
12 - ADuffy
13 - JClarke
14 -
15 - CRafferty

Other positions to fill:

1 - No obvious first choice
4 & 7 - Choose between Morgan / McKenna / Dyas / Duffy. I think Morgan should be a shoe in
8 & 9 - A big problem area. How many midfielders have we used in the league (Mackin / Lavery / Vernon / Padden / Kingham / Carragher that I can remember) plus Cross pair. I would imagine we will see a pairing from Mackin / Lavery / Vernon or Hanratty)
11 & 14 - Mackin is an option. Others to consider would be BMallon / McParland / Cunningham / Grugan
Post by: armaghranger12 on April 03, 2012, 01:05:01 PM
Quote from: regal on April 03, 2012, 09:52:10 AM
Does anybody know if:

Due to Crossmaglen, injuries and absentees it is very difficult to predict what Armagh's team for the championship will be. Presuming Toner & McDonnell aren't back, I think the shoe ins will be:

1 -
2 - AMallon
3 - Donaghy
4 -
5 - AKernan
6 - McKeever
7 -
8 -
9 -
10 - AForker
11 -
12 - ADuffy
13 - JClarke
14 -
15 - CRafferty

Other positions to fill:

4 & 7 - Choose between Morgan / McKenna / Dyas / Duffy. I think Morgan should be a shoe in
8 & 9 - A big problem area. How many midfielders have we used in the league (Mackin / Lavery / Vernon / Padden / Kingham / Carragher that I can remember) plus Cross pair. I would imagine we will see a pairing from Mackin / Lavery / Vernon or Hanratty)
11 & 14 - Mackin is an option. Others to consider would be BMallon / McParland / Cunningham / Grugan

Is Hearty not a shoe in for goals? Was Makin not Armagh's best player last season and the start of this season surly he's a"shoe in"
Post by: yellowcard on April 03, 2012, 01:58:16 PM
Does anybody know if:

- McDonnell is coming back to the panel? From what I gather, no he won't
- Toner is coming back for this years championship? Can't be sure on this one but I've heard second hand that he won't
- Has Ronan Clarke played any football for the Ogs this year? Came on a sub for Ogs on Sunday

1 -
2 - AMallon
3 - Donaghy
4 -
5 - AKernan
6 - McKeever
7 -
8 -
9 -
10 - AForker
11 -
12 - ADuffy
13 - JClarke
14 -
15 - CRafferty

Other positions to fill:

Not sure about Duffy being a shoe in, would agree with the rest. Also ad  Vernon at midfield and Mackin to that list.

Post by: armagho9 on April 03, 2012, 04:35:17 PM
My team for what its worth would be something like:

1.  Hearty
2.  Mallon
3.  Donaghey
4.  Morgan
5.  Kernan
6.  McKeever
7.  McKenna
8.  Vernon
9.  Hanratty
10. Forker
11.  Mackin
12.  A. Duffy
13.  Rafferty
14.  McDonnell
15.  Clarke.

Those pushing for places, Finnian Mo  Paul Duffy in defence, James Lavery and hopefully David McKenna for midfield. Tony Kernan, hopefully Stephen Kernan and Cunningham,Brian Mallon, McVerry, McParland, Grugan and O'Rourke.

For the first time in a long time we have genuine competition for the forward positions with probably 10 or 11 very capable forwards in the panel.  Since around 08 we have had about 3 or 4 good forwards who were more or less certain starters and even played half backs in forward positions to make up the numbers.  Feeling optimistic for the summer, dont think we will win anything but i think we will see good progress
Post by: nothingbettertobeat on April 03, 2012, 04:49:58 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on April 03, 2012, 04:35:17 PM

1.  Hearty
2.  Mallon
3.  Donaghey
4.  Morgan
5.  Kernan
6.  McKeever
7.  McKenna
8.  Vernon
9.  Hanratty
10. Forker
11.  Mackin
12.  A. Duffy
13.  Rafferty
14.  McDonnell
15.  Clarke.

Those pushing for places, Finnian Mo  Paul Duffy in defence, James Lavery and hopefully David McKenna for midfield. Tony Kernan, hopefully Stephen Kernan and Cunningham,Brian Mallon, McVerry, McParland, Grugan and O'Rourke.

For the first time in a long time we have genuine competition for the forward positions with probably 10 or 11 very capable forwards in the panel.  Since around 08 we have had about 3 or 4 good forwards who were more or less certain starters and even played half backs in forward positions to make up the numbers.  Feeling optimistic for the summer, dont think we will win anything but i think we will see good progress

Id fancy Tyrone to beat that Armagh side named there all day long. only leveller would be that the game is in Armagh. Jamie Clarke about the only player i would fear and after last years performance against us he just didnt wanna know when he wasnt in the cross jersey and dont know where there scores are going to come from
Post by: armagho9 on April 03, 2012, 05:01:07 PM
I would fancy Tyrone to beat us as well to be honest, just think thats about as good as we can put out with the absence of ronan Clarke and Toner.  I think we will be better than we were last year against Tyrone.  Cant say i can agree with you about Jamie Clarke, Man of match against Down and Wicklow, was not in a Cross shirt for either game.  he had a poor day against Tyrone but it was nothing to do with lack of desire in playing for Armagh and more to do with the shite ball being played into him all day.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 03, 2012, 05:20:05 PM
I notice that all the teams posters have listed are the teams they would like to see. But I would be interested to know what team think POR will actually pick. In particular No one above has chosen BJ Padden, but POR seems to really fancy him. So choosing an Armagh side that will be the most likely starting 15 surely has to account for there being a better than fair chance of him starting. Similarly it is less likely than more likely that McDonnell will not start. So what to people think the team will actually be?

Post by: yellowcard on April 03, 2012, 05:22:48 PM
Quote from: nothingbettertobeat on April 03, 2012, 04:49:58 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on April 03, 2012, 04:35:17 PM

1.  Hearty
2.  Mallon
3.  Donaghey
4.  Morgan
5.  Kernan
6.  McKeever
7.  McKenna
8.  Vernon
9.  Hanratty
10. Forker
11.  Mackin
12.  A. Duffy
13.  Rafferty
14.  McDonnell
15.  Clarke.

Id fancy Tyrone to beat that Armagh side named there all day long. only leveller would be that the game is in Armagh. Jamie Clarke about the only player i would fear and after last years performance against us he just didnt wanna know when he wasnt in the cross jersey and dont know where there scores are going to come from

Think Tyrone are being hyped up way too much and would fancy Armagh to beat them in the Athletic Grounds. Will suit Armagh down to the ground going into this game as underdogs. We are division 1 and they are division 2 so I can't understand the hype with Tyrone considering they are in transition.

McDonnell will not be back for Armagh but I would start S Kernan at no.11, best passer of the ball in the county and would keep Harte pre-occupied. Would also like to see Swift back involved.
Post by: armagho9 on April 03, 2012, 05:35:51 PM
Well they are division 1 next year and we could well be division 2 if things dont go our way on sunday.  We were in division 1 last year and they were 2 last year and we seen what happened.  We could beat them but Tyrone will start favourites and rightly so.

cant see Padden starting
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 03, 2012, 05:42:04 PM
Wouldn't matter if Armagh lost every game this year, those reptiles still won't get anything easy when they come to the MAGs.

I think it's important to play as mobile a team as possible which could rule out some players (F Mo, BJP, J Lav). Was impressed with Brian Mallon's workrate last day out v Down and if he keeps that up I'd start him in the forwards.

What is the story with injuries does anyone know? Grugan and McVerry, how long they out for? Anyone else potentially unavailable that might be considered for this game?
Post by: PatDaly on April 03, 2012, 10:11:47 PM
1.  P McEvoy
2.  A Mallon
3.  B Donaghy
4.  J Morgan
5.  A Kernan
6.  C McKeever
7.  F Moriarty
8.  D McKenna or J Lavery
9.  C Vernon or J Hanratty
10.  A Forker
11.  M Mackin
12.  S Kernan
13.  C Rafferty or M Stevenson
14.  B Mallon
15.  J Clarke
Post by: naka on April 03, 2012, 10:25:14 PM
hearty
mallon, donaghy, morgan
ak, cmck another
vernon, hanratty
brian  mallon    stephen kernan, anto duffy
rafferty, mal mackin jamie calrke

mal and mallon to inter change
forker to come on as well as stevenson, cunningham and gavin mc parland
i worry that we don`t have a strong final contender for wing half back
can see mc kenna and duffy fighting out for last position but overall the future is bright
tyrone to beat us but armagh to make the quarters and clarke to be back on panel hopefully come july( great to see him back)
Post by: mountainboii on April 03, 2012, 11:15:01 PM
Some things:

Paul Hearty will start in goals. McEvoy has had a solid league, but I don't think he has really done anything that would push Hearty out of the road.

If James Morgan doesn't get game time this Sunday, then I don't see him starting the Tyrone game. As good and all as he's looked for Cross at times, it would be very risky to throw a twenty year old into such a high tempo, high pressure match with practically no intercounty experience outside of minor football. The Tyrone forward line is another world from anything Morgan will have encountered at club level. Declan McKenna is a more than adequate alternative, who has put in significant time at CB in the last 12 months.

Charlie Vernon is a cert to start at midfield. Any teams proposed without him included aren't really worth looking at.

Brian Mallon is surely nailed on at CHF. He has had a fine league, while alternative for this position haven't really prospered for a number of reasons.

I don't think Stephen Kernan will be involved. Maybe I'm reading too much into things, but I've noticed that none of the Irish News journos name check him when listing the Cross players to come back into the panel. Maybe I'm giving them too much credit, but I suspect that they've had some sort of indication that he will not be considered.

Tony Kernan will be ahead of Aaron Cunningham if your talking about Cross men in the HF line. Kernan has looked a much better player than Cunningham in Cross' run in this year. I actually reckon he might be Aidan Forker's main challenger for the #10 shirt.

I don't see Stevenson starting, or making much of an impact this year. There's no doubting that he's a very capable free taker, but he hasn't shown enough from general play in his couple of opportunities to convince me that he's up to the level. I'd have four or five other lads in the corner positions ahead of him.

I'd like our nosey neighbour Paul to explain why he thinks O'Rourke 'seems to really fancy' BJ Padden. In this league campaign Padden has two substitute appearances and two starts from which he has been removed either at HT or very shortly afterwards. That doesn't sound like the resume of a managerial favourite to me. He will not start against Tyrone.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2012, 11:22:59 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 03, 2012, 11:15:01 PM
If James Morgan doesn't get game time this Sunday, then I don't see him starting the Tyrone game. As good and all as he's looked for Cross at times, it would be very risky to throw a twenty year old into such a high tempo, high pressure match with practically no intercounty experience outside of minor football. The Tyrone forward line is another world from anything Morgan will have encountered at club level. Declan McKenna is a more than adequate alternative, who has put in significant time at CB in the last 12 months.

Has McKenna marked anyone close to the quality of these 2?

(http://s1.jrnl.ie/media/2011/09/inpho_005446191-310x415.jpg)     (http://www.gaa.ie/content/images/news/westmeath/DolanDessie_ThumbsUp.jpg)

Just asking like?  Apart from that you're probably right but I personally have some doubts about Vernon,
Post by: regal on April 03, 2012, 11:25:01 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on April 03, 2012, 01:05:01 PM
Does anybody know if:

1 -
2 - AMallon
3 - Donaghy
4 -
5 - AKernan
6 - McKeever
7 -
8 -
9 -
10 - AForker
11 -
12 - ADuffy
13 - JClarke
14 -
15 - CRafferty

Other positions to fill:

Is Hearty not a shoe in for goals? Was Makin not Armagh's best player last season and the start of this season surly he's a"shoe in"

Yes, Mackin is a 'shoe in', but i'm just not sure what position
Post by: mountainboii on April 04, 2012, 12:06:17 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2012, 11:22:59 PM

Just asking like?  Apart from that you're probably right but I personally have some doubts about Vernon,

Has James Morgan ever faced a forward line with the strength of Dublin's, Kerry's or Tyrone's? Look, like you and everyone else in the county, I hope and expect that Morgan will file into the Armagh FB line in the not too distant future. My only concern is that the step up from club level to face a Tyrone forward line that is very close to the top of the intercounty game is perhaps asking a bit too much, too soon. Yes, Morgan has done well against a few star forwards when playing with Cross, but that's when part of a Cross side, and a Cross back line, that are usually a class above and dominating their opposition. With Armagh he'd be placed into a team and back line that will not enjoy anywhere close to the same superiority or dominance. So in my opinion, it is not as certain as many seem to believe that he would be able to put in the same level of performance given the differing circumstances.
Post by: Throw ball on April 04, 2012, 12:38:49 AM
A number of points.

I think there is more chance of McDonnell playing against Tyrone than Stephen Kernan - although I would like to see both involved.

The chances of Morgan coming straight in against Tyrone are less than 50/50 in my opinion. I think he could force his way on to the team as the year goes on however.

Armagh's most pressing problem is midfield. The players that play there may be the best available and not players playing in there best position, if that makes sense.

On the panels of players available I do not believe there is a great deal to separate Armagh and Tyrone ability wise. Playing at home is an advantage to Armagh but Tyrone have more experienced winners and the most astute manager around. Add to that they have been building a team for 6 months while Armagh will be trying to mould a team in about 6 weeks. It is Tyrone's to lose.

If the match was in two weeks I think the team would be - although probably not the one I would pick:

Hearty
Mallon Donaghy McKenna
Kernan McKeever Duffy
Vernon Mackin
T Kernan Mallon Duffy
Rafferty McDonnell Clarke

If McDonnell is not there I think O'Rourke will get the nod or Mackin will go to full forward and Hanratty to midfield.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2012, 09:36:49 AM
Quote from: AFS on April 04, 2012, 12:06:17 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2012, 11:22:59 PM

Has James Morgan ever faced a forward line with the strength of Dublin's, Kerry's or Tyrone's? Look, like you and everyone else in the county, I hope and expect that Morgan will file into the Armagh FB line in the not too distant future. My only concern is that the step up from club level to face a Tyrone forward line that is very close to the top of the intercounty game is perhaps asking a bit too much, too soon. Yes, Morgan has done well against a few star forwards when playing with Cross, but that's when part of a Cross side, and a Cross back line, that are usually a class above and dominating their opposition. With Armagh he'd be placed into a team and back line that will not enjoy anywhere close to the same superiority or dominance. So in my opinion, it is not as certain as many seem to believe that he would be able to put in the same level of performance given the differing circumstances.

Maybe so but I would say that he would fit in nicely should he want to go.  I would reckon that McKenna is better suited out at no 7 than in the corner and given the fact that no one that I have seen has put a genuine stamp on that position I reckon you could slot him nicely in there with Morgan in the corner.  A back six of Mallon, Donaghy, Morgan, AK, McKeever and McKenna has got a great mix of strenght, speed and experience and I reckon would be more than capable to hold their own.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 04, 2012, 09:45:02 AM

Reckoning and thinking is all well and good for us bc but county management can't be expected to pick an armagh team on that basis. I very much like the look of morgan but everyone else got their opportunity witrh the county on the basis of how they've done for their club but whether they can make the step up is never guaranteed.

I'd throw morgan straight in sunday to see where he's at, otherwise there'll be no way to gauge the fringe cross fellas unless we can get to a league semi final. It'd be great to have a semi and possible final to reintegrate the cross lads.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2012, 10:21:42 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 04, 2012, 09:45:02 AM

Reckoning and thinking is all well and good for us bc but county management can't be expected to pick an armagh team on that basis. I very much like the look of morgan but everyone else got their opportunity witrh the county on the basis of how they've done for their club but whether they can make the step up is never guaranteed.

I'd throw morgan straight in sunday to see where he's at, otherwise there'll be no way to gauge the fringe cross fellas unless we can get to a league semi final. It'd be great to have a semi and possible final to reintegrate the cross lads.

Paul Duffy, Moriarty and Dyas all have had the chance to cement their places at 7 and none have been convincing, McKenna has done well when he has played in the HB line. I don't see the big risk of throwing a "rookie" of the quality of James Morgan in to a pretty experienced back line.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 04, 2012, 10:44:39 AM

I'm in agreement with you but morgan has to demonstrate that he is better than the lads you mention. This county has been handing senior jerseys to players too easily for too long based on underage and club performances
Post by: mackers on April 04, 2012, 11:17:38 AM
I would have Morgan at corner back and Decky McKenna at WB. McKenna has proved himself worthy of a place in the starting 15 with an excellent league campaign. I would have a nagging doubt about his lack of pace at CB. As BC1 has said the other options have had poor campaigns esp P Duffy and Finn Mo. I'm still holding out hope that Dyas will come good but keeping him in and dropping Decky would be unfair.

I'd agree with the Vernon and Hanratty MF partnership. Up to this year I would have put Hanratty down as a spoiler who was good at stopping other players from playing and not much else but his kick passing in Cross's campaign was first class.

It would be a HF line of Forker, MackIn and Mallon for me. Mallon is another man who I have had my doubts about before this year but he has been excellent in the league. Anto Duffy is a good option to spring from the bench.

FF line of Rafferty McParland and Clarke as I don't think Stevie will be back....hope I'm wrong.
Post by: Orchardman on April 04, 2012, 11:35:19 AM
Not to insult the lad, i've only seen him a few times but surely we have 6 better players in to put in defence than decky mckenna

andy mallon, brendy donaghy, c mckeever, a kernan would be the 4 certs i suppose, not sure about the rest but finn mo and duffy would leave it a fairly experienced defence
Post by: regal on April 04, 2012, 12:27:46 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on April 04, 2012, 11:35:19 AM
Not to insult the lad, i've only seen him a few times but surely we have 6 better players in to put in defence than decky mckenna

andy mallon, brendy donaghy, c mckeever, a kernan would be the 4 certs i suppose, not sure about the rest but finn mo and duffy would leave it a fairly experienced defence

Experienced yes, but it would be the exact same defense (I think) that looked a shambles against Derry last year in Ulster. A bit of youth & fight would help.
Post by: naka on April 04, 2012, 12:59:18 PM
morgan was at county training last nught which to me is an indication that the management would like to see him in a competitive game, this sunday
Post by: Armamike on April 04, 2012, 01:23:45 PM
Morgan deserves his chance based on his excellent club performances this year, doing very well against some of the game's top forwards.  Other players have been given plenty of game time this year and haven't overly impressed so they can have no complaints if he's thrown right in there on Sunday.  Himself at CB and McKenna moved to HB would be worth a try.
Post by: regal on April 04, 2012, 01:48:56 PM
Quote from: naka on April 04, 2012, 12:59:18 PM
morgan was at county training last nught which to me is an indication that the management would like to see him in a competitive game, this sunday

That's fantastic to hear.... do you know if any of the other Cross lads were there?
Post by: naka on April 04, 2012, 02:08:42 PM
clarke, morgan and tony kernan
ak will be there on thursday i heard

i understand that sk, mc kenna and cunningham arent joining panel but might be wrong
hanratty and hearty are but he might not be about til after sunday
Post by: armaghranger12 on April 04, 2012, 02:09:32 PM
Hoganstand.com

Three of Crossmaglen's stars have returned to county training with Armagh.

Orchard County manager Paddy O'Rourke intimated yesterday that he wasn't expecting any of the All-Ireland club winning party to rush back to intercounty training but he has received a welcome boost with Jamie Clarke, Tony Kernan and James Morgan all having participated in last night's training session.

All three come straight into the reckoning to feature against Donegal at Ballybofey on Sunday.

Paul Hearty, Aaron Kernan and Johnny Hanratty have also been invited back and will rejoin the squad at a future date, while David McKenna, Stephen Kernan, Aaron Cunningham and Paul McKeown have been overlooked.
Post by: Armamike on April 04, 2012, 02:54:45 PM
Quote from: naka on April 04, 2012, 02:08:42 PM
clarke, morgan and tony kernan
ak will be there on thursday i heard

i understand that sk, mc kenna and cunningham arent joining panel but might be wrong
hanratty and hearty are but he might not be about til after sunday

Shame about the 3 ones above plus McKeown not joining the panel or being asked to. Each of them would strengthen the panel considerably imo.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 04, 2012, 03:14:27 PM
Stephen Kernan, McKeown and Cunningham have not been invited onto the Armagh panel according to the IN, if that's the case particularly with Cunningham and Kernan then its an absolute disgrace.
Post by: naka on April 04, 2012, 03:28:51 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on April 04, 2012, 03:14:27 PM
Stephen Kernan, McKeown and Cunningham have not been invited onto the Armagh panel according to the IN, if that's the case particularly with Cunningham and Kernan then its an absolute disgrace.
not sure whether some declined or were not invited, don`t always believe the irish news
Post by: regal on April 04, 2012, 03:44:20 PM
I'm surprised / disappointed that Cunningham hasn't been asked (or persuaded) to join the panel. Paul McKeown is certainly worth his place in the squad but would probably not be a starter. I dont think either SKernan or McKenna would add much to be honest.

This is probably the price the Cross players pay for their magnificent club achievements and the fact that they aren't available until the league is almost over
Post by: mackers on April 04, 2012, 03:51:21 PM
Did somebody not suggest that Aaron Cunningham had gave an interview that he was looking a break?
As other posters have said, I'd hold fire on whether their non-appearance is  a "disgrace" or not. SK mightn't be busting himself to get on the panel with PG now part of the management. I'd heard D McKenna was carrying an injury, although I get a feeling he's not overly enthused about playing county football.
Wouldn't lambast the management until all the facts are known
Post by: JP on April 04, 2012, 04:14:10 PM
In fairness there's a limited number of places on the squad. It would be unfair for the lads that got us this far in the league to then  be  dropped for the final game. I think 3 Cross lads is a fair number for the Donegal match. With more coming in for the Tyrone game.
Post by: stew on April 04, 2012, 05:22:39 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 04, 2012, 03:51:21 PM
Did somebody not suggest that Aaron Cunningham had gave an interview that he was looking a break?
As other posters have said, I'd hold fire on whether their non-appearance is  a "disgrace" or not. SK mightn't be busting himself to get on the panel with PG now part of the management. I'd heard D McKenna was carrying an injury, although I get a feeling he's not overly enthused about playing county football.
Wouldn't lambast the management until all the facts are known

Joe put his kids interests in front of the County whilst he was county manager, some of them played when there were better options and I am glad he went, Grimley was stabbed in the back by Kernan and if Stephen kernan has a problem with Grimley he should try and work it out with him or stick to playing for Cross, we need Grimley more.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 04, 2012, 05:38:26 PM
I'm not convinced we need Grimley more. If there is an issue then as manager Grimley should make the moves. I did say if it was the case that SK and Cunningham are being overlooked for the championship then it is a disgrace. I don't accept the point about Joe putting the kids first. And I don't know what transpired between Joe and Grimley so I can't comment.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 04, 2012, 06:16:15 PM

We're back to opinions again but I don't think cunningham is at this level. Crossmaglen wouldn't consider him a key player. Sk should certainly be approached but the pull to play for your county should be stronger than anything and should rule out running after anyone
Post by: armaghniac on April 04, 2012, 07:39:14 PM
QuoteJoe put his kids interests in front of the County whilst he was county manager, some of them played when there were better options and I am glad he went,

How do you say that? AK clearly is a top class player. Not everyone was convinced about SK, but his position hasn't been claimed by anyone else, so where are these clearly better options? POR is now sending for TK, we might have won in Laois if we had someone to knock over frees. And I don't think Joe played PK.

SK might not wish to play for Armagh, which is hardly surprising given some of the comments about him previously.
Post by: naka on April 04, 2012, 10:03:34 PM
guys
we dont know if sk was sounded out, he is 29 maybe he doesnt want to play county level any more, its his decision, i would love him back as he would by my centre half in the championship
cunningham will play county levelin the future, for what its worth i see at least a fair few in front of him at the moment, forker, brian mallon, mal, anto duffy,clarke,rafferty,mc donnell, mc parland, but he is young and will get his chance in the not to distnat future. remember this time last year he was unheard of.
i really dont like words like disgrace etc, its an amateur game and these guys do what suits them not what suits us

i see hanratty morgan ak and hearty as sure starters come june, if sk comes so will he be, i never saw cunningham playing much this year and he probably realises this as well
tyrone will beat us but we will hit the quarters
Post by: Applesisapples on April 05, 2012, 09:51:51 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 04, 2012, 07:39:14 PM
QuoteJoe put his kids interests in front of the County whilst he was county manager, some of them played when there were better options and I am glad he went,

How do you say that? AK clearly is a top class player. Not everyone was convinced about SK, but his position hasn't been claimed by anyone else, so where are these clearly better options? POR is now sending for TK, we might have won in Laois if we had someone to knock over frees. And I don't think Joe played PK.

SK might not wish to play for Armagh, which is hardly surprising given some of the comments about him previously.
You comment on the Laois game begs the question as to where Michael Stevenson was. Paddy obviously doesn't know his own players.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 05, 2012, 03:10:37 PM
It's as simple as this, if Stevenson was good enough to start against Down andtake the frees, why when we have been crying out for a consistent free taker was he not included against Laois?
Post by: Applesisapples on April 05, 2012, 03:19:52 PM
Sorry but someone above disagrees, although from the games I've been at last year and this we struggle with frees when Stevie's not available and even then outside 35 metres we are dodgy.
Post by: armaghniac on April 05, 2012, 04:03:21 PM
QuoteMy mistake then. I seem to have forgotten that armaghniac is an infallible authority on Armagh football.

I seriously doubt my infallibility, but perhaps I am fallible in this judgement also.  ::)

My original point was that we did miss some easy scores against Laois, including frees. This was  disheartening compared to Tralee where some nice scores built up momentum. A couple of wides less and a closer game and we might have found the energy to shade it. You can disagree. The damage was done by the ref in any case. I didn't comment on PORs selection in Portlaoise, where the changes were actually quite effective and MOR hit a nice free even if he subsequently missed one.

But overall Armagh's freetaking is not in the first rank of late.
Post by: bennydorano on April 05, 2012, 09:21:48 PM
Maybe I'm getting more crabby as I get older but between the Armagh wans on this site and the Armagh board (Sliothar really is a piece of work) we seem to easily outnumber other counties on the halfwit deluded front.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 06, 2012, 10:42:11 AM

Ah here Benny, take a read through some of the Mayo threads.
Post by: JUst retired on April 06, 2012, 01:53:24 PM
Ach Benny,does Sliothar not get enough stick on the other board ;D
Post by: armaghranger12 on April 11, 2012, 12:38:49 PM
If by all reports that Hearty is not returning to the County set up, it's about time that POR and PG had a talk with Ciaran McKinney. He is the best choice left for goals.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 11, 2012, 12:53:36 PM
What happened to Hearty's wee brother?
Post by: Armaghgael on April 11, 2012, 12:54:50 PM
Heard rumors of Toner returning anyone confirm true or not?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 11, 2012, 01:55:45 PM
Was told his girlfriend has come home... so you never know!
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 11, 2012, 02:17:53 PM
What shape would he be in though? Midfield wouldn't be my main worry against Tyrone to be honest. Still think we will beat them though.
Post by: bennydorano on April 11, 2012, 02:40:11 PM
Last i heard Toner had his work tools forwarded on to Oz, not the actions of man comin home anytime soon.
Post by: yellowcard on April 11, 2012, 03:20:07 PM
1. McEvoy
2. Mallon
3. Donaghy
4. Morgan
5. Kernan
6. McKeever
7. Duffy
8. Vernon
9. Mackin
10. Forker
11. Hanratty
12. Duffy
13. Clarke
14. Rafferty
15. Mallon
Post by: Harold Disgracey on April 11, 2012, 03:36:41 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 11, 2012, 03:20:07 PM
1. McEvoy
2. Mallon
3. Donaghy
4. Morgan
5. Kernan
6. McKeever
7. Duffy
8. Vernon
9. Mackin
10. Forker
11. Hanratty
12. Duffy
13. Clarke
14. Rafferty
15. Mallon

This would be similar to what I would go for. Maybe switch Hanratty and Mackin and possibly Geoghegan in nets.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 11, 2012, 03:38:39 PM
Geoghan is a better bet in nets. Stevenson I think is still worth his place for frees.
Post by: mackers on April 11, 2012, 03:49:36 PM
I would make a few adjustments to the team yellowcard has listed.  I'd hope that Geoghan (sp?) gets plenty of opportunities in the forthcoming challenge matches as he was starting to shape up before he got injured. McEvoy doesn't look comfortable under a high ball.  I'd have Decky McKenna in for Paul Duffy who's had a stinker in the league and he and AK are similarly prone to prefer the attacking aspect of the WB play leaving us exposed at the back.
I would swap Hanratty and Mackin as CHF is Mal's best position IMO.
Lessons have to be learnt from Omagh last year. Peter Harte has to be man marked, James Lavery has to be left on the bench due to his lack of mobility and we have to have a foil for J Clarke as the Tyrone found it very easy to snuff him out last year. Caolan Rafferty has the potential to do so.
Stevenson is not worth carrying for his frees as we get nothing from him in general play. We have A Forker and AK who are excellent left footed freetakers.
Post by: yellowcard on April 11, 2012, 05:09:19 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 11, 2012, 03:49:36 PM
I would make a few adjustments to the team yellowcard has listed.  I'd hope that Geoghan (sp?) gets plenty of opportunities in the forthcoming challenge matches as he was starting to shape up before he got injured. McEvoy doesn't look comfortable under a high ball.  I'd have Decky McKenna in for Paul Duffy who's had a stinker in the league and he and AK are similarly prone to prefer the attacking aspect of the WB play leaving us exposed at the back.
Lessons have to be learnt from Omagh last year. Peter Harte has to be man marked, James Lavery has to be left on the bench due to his lack of mobility and we have to have a foil for J Clarke as the Tyrone found it very easy to snuff him out last year. Caolan Rafferty has the potential to do so.
Stevenson is not worth carrying for his frees as we get nothing from him in general play. We have A Forker and AK who are excellent left footed freetakers.

Agree with a lot of what your saying. I would reluctantly put Duffy in at WHB because whilst McKenna has shown gradual improvement in the League I just don't know if he is dynamic enough to play there. Goalkeeper is a toss up, Geoghegan hasn't been seen enough to know if he's good enough at this level but McEvoy, whilst being a good shot stopper, looks dodgy under a high ball.

I would put Johnny Hanratty in at CHF precisely for the reason you suggested, namely that Peter Harte be man marked. I think he can upset Hartes rhythm and needs no introduction to the darker arts whilst at the same time having the necessary tactical discipline to perform this role.

Post by: Armamike on April 11, 2012, 06:42:32 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 11, 2012, 03:49:36 PM

Another lesson to learn is to stop Tyrone running through the middle of our defence the way they did last year! The Armagh management team should take a look at the dvd of the Dublin Tyrone game last year and check out how Dublin managed to block up the middle of their defence. Haven't seen Tyrone this year but they always liked to pull the backline out of position and leave room for men to attack through the centre.
Post by: eriugaMS on June 02, 2012, 11:54:17 PM
shit///////

Just  realised my team has no CMK................ Defo gonna win the All ireland this year with an absent C Mckeever in all already great team.

BW
Post by: regal on June 03, 2012, 12:18:27 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2012, 12:05:57 AM
Christ almighty.

If I was made Armagh manager tomorrow, James Morgan would def be starting at corner back against Tyrone.

However......

I don't claim to know a whole pile about soccer but I cannot accept anybody drawing comparisons between James Morgan starting for Armagh in the Ulster championship and Ryan Bertrand starting for Chelsea in the Champions League final.

Talk about apples and oranges.......

I think that this is what Crossmaglen are getting so excited about.... James Morgan is the new Ryan Bertrand!!
Post by: omagh_gael on June 03, 2012, 08:56:50 AM
Ronan Clarke = Demba Ba. Eh??
Post by: DuffleKing on June 03, 2012, 10:22:08 AM
Feckin school holidays
Post by: Smokin Joe on June 03, 2012, 10:39:58 AM
Quote from: eriugaMS on June 02, 2012, 11:54:17 PM
shit///////

Just  realised my team has no CMK................ Defo gonna win the All ireland this year with an absent C Mckeever in all already great team.

BW

Have you been on the Malibu and milk again?