GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mike Sheehy on February 15, 2012, 01:37:15 AM

Title: McConville gloats about beating Dr Crokes, expects an easier win this time
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 15, 2012, 01:37:15 AM
From Hoganstand.com

QuoteMcConville: Crokes comments could motivate Cross'
14 February 2012

Crossmaglen's Oisin McConvilleOisin McConville admits Dr Crokes' segregation comments could further motivate Crossmaglen.

As the defending All-Ireland club football champions prepare to put their title on the line against the Kerry kingpins this weekend, former Armagh star McConville says in the Examiner that Crokes' call for fan segregation will probably increase the Crossmaglen resolve, although he also adds that they are already motivated by a desire to improve on their performances against the same opposition in the 2007 All-Ireland final(s):

"I'd be lying if I said it hasn't had some sort of an effect. I'm not sure we really needed that much motivation.

"A part of motivation for Crokes is we feel we didn't do ourselves justice, especially in the first game when I think we were lucky to get a draw and I think everybody would accept that.

"In last year's semi-final, we were dead and buried, came back, dead and buried, came back. Last year's All-Ireland final, we did enough to get across the line. I'd rather we went out and expressed ourselves.

"If we do come across a team that is better than us that's fair enough but to actually put in a real, real good performance.

"I just know there are big, big performances in us, whether it's the next day or if we have a day after that..."

Title: Re: McConville gloats about beating Dr Crokes, expects an easier win this time
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 15, 2012, 01:43:29 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 15, 2012, 01:37:15 AM
From Hoganstand.com

14 February 2012

Crossmaglen's Oisin McConvilleOisin McConville admits Dr Crokes' segregation comments could further motivate Crossmaglen.

As the defending All-Ireland club football champions prepare to put their title on the line against the Kerry kingpins this weekend, former Armagh star McConville says in the Examiner that Crokes' call for fan segregation will probably increase the Crossmaglen resolve, although he also adds that they are already motivated by a desire to improve on their performances against the same opposition in the 2007 All-Ireland final(s):

"I'd be lying if I said it hasn't had some sort of an effect. I'm not sure we really needed that much motivation.

"A part of motivation for Crokes is we feel we didn't do ourselves justice, especially in the first game when I think we were lucky to get a draw and I think everybody would accept that.

"In last year's semi-final, we were dead and buried, came back, dead and buried, came back. Last year's All-Ireland final, we did enough to get across the line. I'd rather we went out and expressed ourselves.

"If we do come across a team that is better than us that's fair enough but to actually put in a real, real good performance.

"I just know there are big, big performances in us, whether it's the next day or if we have a day after that..."

Where is the gloating?
Where does McConville say that Cross expect an easier win this time round?
You're a complete knobend  who can't even dissect the meaning of fairly innocuous interview.

Title: Re: McConville gloats about beating Dr Crokes, expects an easier win this time
Post by: ardchieftain on February 15, 2012, 01:49:39 AM
Complete winder.
Post by: Syferus on February 15, 2012, 01:54:22 AM
Can you not keep this in the one thread?  ???
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 15, 2012, 03:12:28 AM
I detect no gloating. Your thread title should read "Crokes comments could motivate Cross"
Post by: tyssam5 on February 15, 2012, 05:40:48 AM
You may retire Mike, you've lost it, you're done!
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 15, 2012, 08:36:51 AM
Poor Mike. After realising that Kerry wans have made themselves the laughing stock of Ireland over the last few weeks, Is this really the best effort you could make at deflecting attention away from yourselves?
Post by: sheamy on February 15, 2012, 08:48:08 AM
The clearest indication yet that Kerry Mike is no more a Kerry man than Seanie Johnston is a Lilywhite...
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 15, 2012, 08:48:28 AM
(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-fLEc9hs9374/TxJy_q-s9bI/AAAAAAAAbAg/x047e-o2Da0/s1600/clown.jpg)
Post by: AQMP on February 15, 2012, 09:10:43 AM
Poor, poor effort
Post by: Nally Stand on February 15, 2012, 10:23:05 AM
Quote from: AQMP on February 15, 2012, 09:10:43 AM
Poor, poor effort

As per usual.
Post by: ONeill on February 15, 2012, 10:37:32 AM
Ó Sé hits out at Kerry 'whingers'

Páidí Ó Sé has criticised the Kerry players for what he feels is their recent habit of questioning referees' decisions, claiming it makes the players look like 'whingers'.

Ó Sé told The Examiner at the launch of his Tayto Longford Arms Comórtas Péile: "It's a thing I have studied very closely. It's the one characteristic I've noticed that has crept into Kerry football.

"It was never part of Kerry football, not when I was growing up or when I played or when I was manager.

"We're getting into this habit of questioning decisions and getting into arguments and portraying ourselves as whingers.

"It's something I'd like to see blocked out of our game. You train and prepare to do your job as a player - let the referee do his.

"They're over-reacting at the moment, questioning a lot of what the referee is doing.

"But he's not going to change his mind. They're doing themselves more harm than good."

Ó Sé continued: "I can certainly tell you Jack O'Connor is not telling them to crib at referees. Jack wouldn't be part of that, it's not in his make-up.

"It's only the players who must take it upon themselves to behave themselves. There's a duty to play well but there's also a duty to wear the jersey with respect and honour.

"We're proud of our football in Kerry and every day we take to the field with the green and gold jersey is a proud day for us.

"It's important to Kerry that this pride is developed and expressed on the field in the best way, not by giving out to the referee all of the time."

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2012/0215/kerry_osep.html
Post by: BennyHarp on February 15, 2012, 10:39:53 AM
Kerry people in ungracious behaviour shocker. Good man Mikey, keep the flag flying!
Post by: rrhf on February 15, 2012, 10:42:23 AM
Paidi is right, Kerry and (Meath people as well) need to take a long hard look at themselves - the country has grown to hate them.   
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 15, 2012, 11:04:37 AM
Quote from: sheamy on February 15, 2012, 08:48:08 AM
The clearest indication yet that Kerry Mike is no more a Kerry man than Seanie Johnston is a Lilywhite...

No, no, Kerry Mike is true Kerry, whereas Mike Sheehy is pure... <insert as appropriate>.
Post by: screenexile on February 15, 2012, 11:11:25 AM
Quote from: rrhf on February 15, 2012, 10:42:23 AM
Paidi is right, Kerry and (Meath people as well) need to take a long hard look at themselves - the country has grown to hate them.   

lol Classic!!! From a Tyronie no less. Post of the day!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 15, 2012, 11:46:10 AM
I wish someone would hate us :(
Post by: sheamy on February 15, 2012, 11:47:51 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 15, 2012, 11:04:37 AM
Quote from: sheamy on February 15, 2012, 08:48:08 AM

No, no, Kerry Mike is true Kerry, whereas Mike Sheehy is pure... <insert as appropriate>.

...pure John James Doe.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 15, 2012, 11:56:41 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 15, 2012, 11:46:10 AM

It's ok, we could stir something up to get Loughiel to hate Coolderry.
Post by: screenexile on February 15, 2012, 12:30:57 PM

Ah sure we all do AZ. . . that Brian Cowan man did the County no favours at all!!
Post by: Keane on February 15, 2012, 12:42:21 PM
rabble rabble rabble Seamus Darby push rabble rabble rabble
Post by: Jinxy on February 15, 2012, 01:26:16 PM

The Tyrone crowd probably do.
Post by: ardal on February 15, 2012, 03:49:21 PM

Didn't BIFFO get that message across?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 15, 2012, 03:51:29 PM
We treat that as a term of endearment.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 16, 2012, 04:04:22 AM

I think the source of all the anger toward Kerry by Nordies is the fact that they all whorshipped Kerry football. Then when they won the AI they looked to us for some acknowledgement, a pat on the head so to speak. I guess we didnt make the right noises and they have hated us with a passion ever since.
Post by: nothingbettertobeat on February 16, 2012, 09:13:56 AM
Cross by at least three.  Not a club team in the Country will beat Cross IMO. Class Act. Credit to them. Theyl have Gooch under some restraint.
Post by: LeoMc on February 16, 2012, 04:14:09 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 16, 2012, 04:04:22 AM

I think the source of all the anger toward Kerry by Nordies is the fact that they all whorshipped Kerry football. Then when they won the AI they looked to us for some acknowledgement, a pat on the head so to speak. I guess we didnt make the right noises and they have hated us with a passion ever since.

In fairness that is better than your effort at the start of the thread. :P
Post by: everymanaman on February 16, 2012, 09:38:21 PM
Quote from: nothingbettertobeat on February 16, 2012, 09:13:56 AM
Cross by at least three.  Not a club team in the Country will beat Cross IMO. Class Act. Credit to them. Theyl have Gooch under some restraint.

In all fairness, class is not an adjective I would use in relation to Crossmaglen
Post by: armaghniac on February 16, 2012, 10:15:14 PM
QuoteIn all fairness, class is not an adjective I would use in relation to Crossmaglen

Would you prefer another superlative. If you are suggesting that class is not appropriate then perhaps you have a problem with your fairness?
Post by: Etienne Lantier on February 16, 2012, 10:41:18 PM
Quote from: everymanaman on February 16, 2012, 09:38:21 PM

In all fairness, class is not an adjective I would use in relation to Crossmaglen

Get used to it, you'll be using it on Saturday evening.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 17, 2012, 02:03:46 AM
Quote from: Etienne Lantier on February 16, 2012, 10:41:18 PM

So you would be in the McConville camp so...a handy win for Crossmaglen ? God you boys are fierce arrogant.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 17, 2012, 09:56:08 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 17, 2012, 02:03:46 AM

So you would be in the McConville camp so...a handy win for Crossmaglen ? God you boys are fierce arrogant.

Post by: armaghranger12 on February 17, 2012, 10:44:18 AM
Cross Player have the skill to pay the bills
Post by: Etienne Lantier on February 17, 2012, 03:54:52 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 17, 2012, 02:03:46 AM

It was a game before Vincent Casey started shooting his mouth off. Now it's over.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 17, 2012, 11:18:50 PM
Best of luck to Cross tomorrow! I'm sure the whole of Kerry is currently working on the excuses to explain away another defeat to the big bad Nordies.
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 09:49:14 AM
Best of luck to Cross. But I don't think they need or appreciate the whinging on their behalf, especially in advance.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 18, 2012, 11:35:25 AM
Quote from: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 09:49:14 AM
Best of luck to Cross. But I don't think they need or appreciate the whinging on their behalf, especially in advance.

I agree Hardy and I'd be fairly confident what I say on here will have absolutely zero impact on what happens on the pitch today!  ::) Or maybe I've completely ruined their whole build up to the game?? If so, I'll feel very guilty!
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 02:06:05 PM
Ah don't mind me.

They're in trouble already, it seems - Crokes scoring points for sport.
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 02:06:40 PM
Looks like Coldrick doesn't count steps at all.
Post by: Etienne Lantier on February 18, 2012, 03:23:22 PM
Just one word.

Class.
Post by: EC Unique on February 18, 2012, 03:30:07 PM
Kerry hoors in their box again. :)
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:36:14 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on February 18, 2012, 03:30:07 PM
Kerry hoors in their box again. :)

And Ulster bragging again  ;)
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 03:48:15 PM
Some people shouldn't be let next or near sport.
Post by: Orchardman on February 18, 2012, 03:50:07 PM
they wer always likely to win in fairness, better team again on the day with a man harshly sent off
Post by: everymanaman on February 18, 2012, 04:43:12 PM
Quote from: Etienne Lantier on February 18, 2012, 03:23:22 PM
Just one word.

Class.
That's four words ;D
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 18, 2012, 04:51:10 PM
Fierce niggle of a game, poor ref, terrible amount of diving

Well done to the victors .................................. did Oisin muster a smile, oul slack jaw on him  ;)
Post by: Rawhide on February 18, 2012, 04:55:41 PM
We're entitled to rejoice in Cross' win today, after the ampunt of crying that came out of kerry after the junior semi final. The Dr Crokes jumps on the band wagon slabbering about segragation. They would make you sick.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2012, 05:17:11 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 15, 2012, 01:37:15 AM
From Hoganstand.com

14 February 2012

Kiss my (http://www.fairfaxunderground.com/forum/file.php?40,file=21604,filename=Dwayne_20mooning.jpg)
Post by: thebandit on February 18, 2012, 05:44:40 PM
Cross are Cross, end of story.

Oisin took the game by the scruff of the neck for 5 minutes in the first half and that swung things. Aaron Kernan, Jamie Clarke and James Morgan were outstanding. Hard luck to Crokes, not many teams in any sport can do what Cross do on suc a regular basis.
Post by: Jinxy on February 18, 2012, 05:47:30 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 03:48:15 PM
Some people shouldn't be let next or near sport.

I'm over the moon Garycastle won.
C'mon Leinster!
We showed those bastards from the west!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 18, 2012, 06:22:06 PM
Quote from: Rawhide on February 18, 2012, 04:55:41 PM
We're entitled to rejoice in Cross' win today, after the ampunt of crying that came out of kerry after the junior semi final. The Dr Crokes jumps on the band wagon slabbering about segragation. They would make you sick.
This is true.
Even I'm almost glad Cross won. 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 18, 2012, 06:28:41 PM
I never liked Crokes anyway. They are not that popular in East Kerry.So it was a win-win situation really.
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2012, 06:34:30 PM
QuoteI never liked Crokes anyway.

I'm sure the feeling was mutual.
Post by: spuds on February 18, 2012, 06:55:30 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 18, 2012, 06:28:41 PM
I never liked Crokes anyway. They are not that popular in East Kerry.So it was a win-win situation really.
Surely for a sour snipe like yourself it is termed a lose-lose situation.  :)
Post by: red n black on February 18, 2012, 06:58:07 PM
Well done Crossmaglen, i hope they go and bring back another all Ireland!
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 18, 2012, 07:34:20 PM
Fair play to Cross...1-5 to 0-1 down after 20...down to a man and level with what 13 to go, and still they come through. You have to admire them. Their record over the past 15 years or so is phenomenal and I fancy they will pick up the Andy Merrigan cup for the 6th time on Paddys day.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 18, 2012, 08:05:37 PM
Cross are just an example to us all. First class. Looks like they'll do it again the next day.
Post by: Gaffer on February 18, 2012, 08:10:00 PM
Well done , Cross
Post by: everymanaman on February 18, 2012, 08:27:20 PM
As a matter of curiosity. How many of the Crossmaglen team are actual local lads and not blow ins from other clubs?
Post by: Etienne Lantier on February 18, 2012, 08:36:26 PM
Quote from: everymanaman on February 18, 2012, 08:27:20 PM
As a matter of curiosity. How many of the Crossmaglen team are actual local lads and not blow ins from other clubs?

Don't know if any are blow ins, in fact Aaron Cunningham and a few of the other younger players were only born within four doors of each other.
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2012, 09:10:16 PM
QuoteDon't know if any are blow ins, in fact Aaron Cunningham and a few of the other younger players were only born within four doors of each other.

I'd say pretty much everyone played for Cross since under-10.

If Seanie Johnston wanted to play for Rangers he'd have to live in Cross for years before they'd let him in.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 18, 2012, 09:42:45 PM
Far fewer tourists on this current cross team I think. Apart from the brennan lad that started today I don't think that could be cast at anyone?
Post by: magpie seanie on February 18, 2012, 09:47:32 PM
I don't think you'd have the sustained success unless it was largely home grown.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2012, 10:30:31 PM
Brennan is the only "blow in" but his family are from Cross originally, he just lived in Newry for years.  And just so people realise over the years there have been very few "blow ins".  Gareth O'Neill (married to Dora McConville and moved back to the town), John Donaldson and Colm O'Neill.  COlm O'Neill did play under age for us instead of Culloville though as they had no team.  Every one else all Cross men from birth!
Post by: rrhf on February 19, 2012, 12:57:44 AM
Can he gloat now
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 19, 2012, 11:34:05 AM
Go ahead. Its the natural brit response isn't it ?
Post by: BennyCake on February 19, 2012, 01:01:20 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 19, 2012, 11:34:05 AM

Oh the Brit card is pulled out again. How very sad  ::)
Post by: Onlooker on February 19, 2012, 01:07:09 PM
Ah poor Mike.  A lot of you Kerry people find it very hard to accept a defeat by anyone. 
Post by: everymanaman on February 19, 2012, 01:22:55 PM

Bet Mikey is really looking forward to the pancake contest on Tuesday where he is a nailed on cert to win the Kerry title
Post by: 5 Sams on February 19, 2012, 01:44:06 PM
With all due respect to BC1 and his teamates yesterday's 2nd half performance was one of the best ever from any Cross team. Playing against a v strong wind,  minus their v influential centre half back and down to 14 men..... to come back and beat a team of the quality of Crokes....awesome stuff.
Post by: whiskeysteve on February 19, 2012, 03:40:28 PM

poor fella. :( you'll get a bit of attention on the gaaboard now and again to compensate, don't worry  :)
Post by: Seamus on February 19, 2012, 08:02:03 PM
First of all congrats to Cross, it was some come back against a quality team.

Quote from: Onlooker on February 19, 2012, 01:07:09 PM
Ah poor Mike.  A lot of you Kerry people find it very hard to accept a defeat by anyone.

What a load of shiite. Go to http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=4175&page=3 (http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=4175&page=3) to see Kerry fans reaction to the result. That is where the real proof of how gracious Kerry people are even in defeat. Maybe now you will refrain from making such childish comments.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on February 19, 2012, 08:49:38 PM
watched the game yesterday and again today - amazing result. Some team...comeback form 7 points behind with only 14 mean against a team like crokes. Am delighted for them - as a tyrone fan? as a fan of GAA, id say that goes downa s one of the best team performances of the last few years.

That it happened to be against a team from kerry, makes it even sweeter
Post by: armaghniac on February 19, 2012, 09:08:57 PM
Seamus, we know there is a difference between real Kerry football people and an American WUM.
Post by: Seamus on February 20, 2012, 01:04:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 19, 2012, 09:08:57 PM
Seamus, we know there is a difference between real Kerry football people and an American WUM.

Armaighnaic, fair play to you, you are one are one of the class acts on this board, you are probably one of the great contributors to our forum as well. Obviously the members of this site are passionate about their "sport". Don't be envious of winners nor celebrate losers. The vast majority of Kerry people are delighted with the Northern resurgences, the Tyrone, Armagh and Downs of this world, there is no fun in winning All Irelands every year  ;)

It's a shame that Irish people in general hate winners. The respect we have got for Crossmaglen is immense, maybe only us (and Kilkenny) understand.  This board leaves a lot to be desired   

Post by: armaghniac on February 20, 2012, 03:29:16 PM
Mike Sheehy is winding people up with inappropriate statements like "Brits" (as if anyone could think there was anything remotely British about Oisin McConville!). Others, normally calm souls, sometimes then respond with a blast that takes in Kerry or all of Munster, I've done it myself.

If I was from Kerry I wouldn't take responses to a WUM to heart.

Cross' currently dominate Armagh and lately Ulster as Kerry do in Munster. This may irritate some, but the only solution to either is to beat them, they only have 15 (or sometimes 14) men like everyone else. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 20, 2012, 04:15:36 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 20, 2012, 03:29:16 PM
Cross' currently dominate Armagh and laterally Ulster as Kerry do in Munster...

Sideways? Not yet!  ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 20, 2012, 09:15:53 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 20, 2012, 03:29:16 PM
Mike Sheehy is winding people up with inappropriate statements like "Brits" (as if anyone could think there was anything remotely British about Oisin McConville!). Others, normally calm souls, sometimes then respond with a blast that takes in Kerry or all of Munster, I've done it myself.

If I was from Kerry I wouldn't take responses to a WUM to heart.

Cross' currently dominate Armagh and laterally Ulster as Kerry do in Munster. This may irritate some, but the only solution to either is to beat them, they only have 15 (or sometimes 14) men like everyone else.

Ahh, yeah, thats right....everything used to be hunky-dory on here. For example, Nordies have never preemptively used the term "free-stater". It would always be "in response" to something that the big bad Mike Sheehy would say  ::)

Post by: rrhf on February 20, 2012, 10:21:33 PM
You can never be free mike in your state.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 20, 2012, 10:55:23 PM
Quote from: rrhf on February 20, 2012, 10:21:33 PM
You can never be free mike in your state.

How're they all in Derrytresk these days ? Still whining about their (deserved) suspensions ?
Post by: armaghniac on February 20, 2012, 10:58:38 PM
QuoteYou can never be free mike in your state.

I wonder would that be Massachusetts or New York?
Post by: BennyCake on February 20, 2012, 11:57:37 PM
Mike, you are tarnishing the great name of Mike Sheehy. Couldn't you pick another name, and have a whine?
Post by: Armaghtothebone on February 21, 2012, 12:59:26 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 20, 2012, 11:57:37 PM
Mike, you are tarnishing the great name of Mike Sheehy. Couldn't you pick another name, and have a whine?

Could not agree more..one gobshite is no representation of an entire county.
They like to win but fair play in 2002 every last one of them congratulated us on our success in croke park and wished us well.
I suspect that most Kerry folk would have enormous respect for Cross at the very least.Just as i have enormous respect for the Kerry seniors. Does not mean i have to like them, but they are a class act just like Cross, only at a different level.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 21, 2012, 01:43:41 AM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on February 21, 2012, 12:59:26 AM

They like to win but fair play in 2002 every last one of them congratulated us on our success in croke park and wished us well.
I suspect that most Kerry folk would have enormous respect for Cross at the very least.Just as i have enormous respect for the Kerry seniors. Does not mean i have to like them, but they are a class act just like Cross, only at a different level.

Nah, they have had a free pass in Armagh for the last 15 years or so...didnt they win one final recently by 25 points or something ?. What a joke.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 21, 2012, 07:00:04 AM
I've huge respect for Cross anyway, and Armagh in general. Have met some great genuine GAA people over the years from Killeavy, Pearse Og, Mullaghbawn, Cross and many more.
This Cross team play great football aswell, loved when I heard they had sessions where handpassing was banned!
Post by: Leo on February 21, 2012, 07:45:56 AM
As a Down man I look on Crossmaglen with a mixture of envy and Ulster pride and, like others, have always got an amazing welcome at that great club. Was as proud to be at Portlaoise as if the team was in red and black and will masquerade with that old Kilkeeny scarf again on St Patrick's Day.
No genuine GAA supporter does begrudgery.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 21, 2012, 11:25:35 AM
I don't see how anyone could fail to be full of admiration for Crossmaglen Rangers and what they have achieved. Their record is phenomonal, and just to have kept the club in such hale and hearty health during the troubles was an
achievement in itself.

The fact that they play a nice brand of football is just even more reason to admire them.

I will be hoping Garrycastle win on Paddy's day, but if Cross win again, I'll applaud their fine team and club again.
Post by: armaghniac on February 21, 2012, 12:57:45 PM
QuoteAs a Down man I look on Crossmaglen with a mixture of envy and Ulster pride and, like others, have always got an amazing welcome at that great club

Are you sure they knew you were from Down and didn't think you were from Kerry.  :)
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 21, 2012, 01:00:58 PM
Reading Tony McEntee's interview yesterday shows you exactly the kind of drive/focus the man has.  He mentioned one of the early changes he made in the match and said the lad brought on probably should be a starter but as he missed a few sessions (for whatever reason) he could not start him.
Post by: haranguerer on February 21, 2012, 01:18:29 PM
Quote from: Leo on February 21, 2012, 07:45:56 AM
No genuine GAA supporter does begrudgery.

Good luck finding genuine GAA supporters!!!
Post by: LeoMc on February 21, 2012, 01:36:17 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 21, 2012, 01:43:41 AM

Nah, they have had a free pass in Armagh for the last 15 years or so...didnt they win one final recently by 25 points or something ?. What a joke.

They seem to have got a right few free passes in Ulster and All-Ireland over the past few years also ::)
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 21, 2012, 05:04:47 PM
Just out of curiosity. Name the clubs that have beaten Cross in competitive fixtures in the last ten years. I'd say you could near count with both hands.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 21, 2012, 05:33:22 PM
They lost to pearse ogs in the Armagh Champioship

in Ulster Bellaghy(Derry), Castleblayney(Monaghan), Enniskillen (Fermanagh),  Errigal Ciarán (Tyrone)X 2

Portlaoise,(Laois) and St Vicents(Dublin) in the all ireland semi final Kilmacud Crokes(Dublin) in the final

There is a couple more jsut cant think maybe one more???
Post by: Orchardman on February 21, 2012, 06:50:06 PM
good question, of the top of my head i'l try it this order, see if others can fill in any wrong answers:

2012: All ireland final, so far
2011: All ireland champs
2010: beat in armagh by ogs  ( sept 09)

2009: beat in all ireland semi by kilmacud crokes
2008: beat in all ireland semi by st vincents
2007: All ireland champs
2006:  loup?
2005: beat in all ireland semi by portlaoise i think
2004:  bellaghy?
2003: beat in ulster by errigal (end of 02)
2002:  beat in ulster by enniskillen  (end of 01)
2001: beat in ulster by blayney     (end of 2000)

ALL ireland champs 97,99, 2000

i know bellaghy beat them, not sure what year, remember the game. loup is a wild guess
Post by: BennyCake on February 21, 2012, 07:29:08 PM
Doesnt the league count as competitive now?!
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 21, 2012, 09:02:14 PM
The league does count but in Cross players are judged on the number of County, Ulster and All-Irelands not league medals they have.. That's not been disrespecting the league but Cross win the league year after year minus the county players. They get maybe one tough game a year in the league and sometimes teams play their second team again cross( Granemore)
Post by: Armaghtothebone on February 21, 2012, 11:04:17 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 21, 2012, 01:43:41 AM

You really are just a twat are'nt you
Free passes

2010 Kerry 2-18  Tipp 2-6
2008 Kerry 1-14  Clare 0-5
2007 Kerry 2-15  Waterford 0-4
2005 Kerry 2-22 Tipp 0-13
2003 Kerry 0-25 Tipp 1-10

Talk about free passes, i could'nt be bothered going back more than 10 years

Post by: ogshead on February 22, 2012, 12:46:49 AM
Quote from: Orchardman on February 21, 2012, 06:50:06 PM
good question, of the top of my head i'l try it this order, see if others can fill in any wrong answers:

i know bellaghy beat them, not sure what year, remember the game. loup is a wild guess

I searched the most of this on google (obviously didn't have to google the 2009 one)  :)

2011/2012-still going
2010/2011-AI Champs
2009/2010-Beat by Pearse Og in Armagh quarter-final
2008/2009-Beat by Kilmacud in AI final
2007/2008-Beat by St Vincents in AI semi-final
2006/2007-AI Champs
2005/2006-Beat by Bellaghy in Ulster Club quarter-final
2004/2005-Beat by Portlaoise in AI semi-final
2003/2004-Beat by Loup in Ulster semi-final
2002/2003-Beat by Errigle Ciaran in Ulster quarter-final
2001/2002-Beat by Enniskillen in Ulster quarter-final
2000/2001-Beat by Castleblaney
1999/2000-AI Champs
1998/1999-AI Champs
1997/1998-Beat by Dungiven (don't know what round)
1996/1997-AI Champs

They really let themselves down badly there from 2000 AI win to about 2004  :P
Post by: JUst retired on February 22, 2012, 08:05:12 AM
In the league last year they were beaten by Sarsfields, held to a draw at home in Cross,by Maghery and beaten at home by Maghery. On both occasions they had a full side out.But as someone said they dont put much store in the league. Still getting 2pts out of four aint bad. :)
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 22, 2012, 09:24:48 AM
Quote from: ogshead on February 22, 2012, 12:46:49 AM

I searched the most of this on google (obviously didn't have to google the 2009 one)  :)

2011/2012-still going
2010/2011-AI Champs
2006/2007-AI Champs
1999/2000-AI Champs
1998/1999-AI Champs
1996/1997-AI Champs

Dont think that dungiven has played cross down the years but i think that year errigal ciaran in that year.
Post by: LeoMc on February 22, 2012, 10:04:49 AM

2011/2012-still going
2010/2011-AI Champs
2006/2007-AI Champs
1999/2000-AI Champs
1998/1999-AI Champs
1996/1997-AI Champs

They must have been re-building. You will win nothing with kids.
Post by: sheamy on February 22, 2012, 10:13:19 AM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 22, 2012, 09:24:48 AM
Dont think that dungiven has played cross down the years but i think that year errigal ciaran in that year.

Yep. Mickey Harte's Errigal beat Cross in semis and Dungiven beat Errigal in the final.
Post by: Orchardman on February 22, 2012, 12:36:29 PM
That's true but i think 2002 was the only season that harte was in charge of the club, which they did beat cross over a 3 game seres in ulster club.

As for league games, i'm sure nearly every div 1 team has beaten cross at least once over the last 10 years. League's don't matter much and cross have still won the last few handy!
Post by: ogshead on February 22, 2012, 01:30:02 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on February 22, 2012, 10:04:49 AM

2011/2012-still going
2010/2011-AI Champs
2006/2007-AI Champs
1999/2000-AI Champs
1998/1999-AI Champs
1996/1997-AI Champs

... except Armagh titles of course!!  :)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 22, 2012, 02:30:20 PM
Quote from: ogshead on February 22, 2012, 01:30:02 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on February 22, 2012, 10:04:49 AM

2011/2012-still going
2010/2011-AI Champs
2006/2007-AI Champs
1999/2000-AI Champs
1998/1999-AI Champs
1996/1997-AI Champs

... except Armagh titles of course!!  :)

We went on the drink for 3 years after being off it to win a few titles ;)  BTW leagues lol!!!
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 22, 2012, 02:58:53 PM
Funny BC1.  Cross win Armagh leagues by playing 7-8 boys just in from the minor team
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 22, 2012, 03:09:33 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 22, 2012, 02:58:53 PM
Funny BC1.  Cross win Armagh leagues by playing 7-8 boys just in from the minor team

I was once asked how many league medals I have, I honestly don't know and I don't even know where there medals are.  In a corner on a cupboard somewhere. 
Post by: heffo on February 22, 2012, 03:17:02 PM
Unbelievable record from Crossmaglen. How they've remained so successful for so long I don't know.

I'll be shouting for Garrycastle on Paddys day as I know a few of them and they're the underdog but wouldn't begrudge CMG another AI either.
Post by: deiseach on February 22, 2012, 04:24:07 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 22, 2012, 03:09:33 PM
I was once asked how many league medals I have, I honestly don't know and I don't even know where there medals are.  In a corner on a cupboard somewhere.

You may support Liverpool, but you can tell ya never played for them
Post by: AZOffaly on February 22, 2012, 04:32:10 PM
He did. Remember Erik Meijer?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 22, 2012, 04:50:50 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 22, 2012, 04:32:10 PM
He did. Remember Erik Meijer?

Thank God you didn't say Sean Dundee, but big Erik wasn't great either!
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 22, 2012, 06:01:31 PM
Wonder what Armagh county team would be like if we had 6 or 7 clubs as dedicated as Cross.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 22, 2012, 06:27:22 PM
Still the same. Most club teams in Armagh do put the effort in that cross do but they dont just have the same number of quality players. Up untill last year Cross didnt have a gym in the club.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2012, 09:55:03 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on February 22, 2012, 06:01:31 PM
Wonder what Armagh county team would be like if we had 6 or 7 clubs as dedicated as Cross.
Bit harsh. I know the Ogs are very dedicated and are IMO a top team in Ulster when at full strength.
Post by: ogshead on February 23, 2012, 12:13:19 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2012, 09:55:03 PM
Bit harsh. I know the Ogs are very dedicated and are IMO a top team in Ulster when at full strength.

Didn't Jarlath Burns say a few months ago after Cross beat St Galls that we were the second best team in Ireland!! Haha But seriously I know the lads in our club do put in a serious effort and will be going all out to give Cross a rattle this year (they have a tough game against Granemore to come first though) and there are quality players there too that have made the county panel. I think Armaghgeddon is getting dedication mixed up with belief, never say die attitude and hunger for success.

I think there are a couple of other clubs in the county that on their day could beat Cross in a championship match as well. Cullyhanna nearly beat them in 2010 and Granemore and the Nab (not including 2011 final) are improving big time year on year. Dromintee have missed the boat though I think. The point I am trying to make though is that there are a few teams in Armagh who would do quite well in the Ulster championship if they eventually got there.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 23, 2012, 09:27:31 AM
Quote from: ogshead on February 23, 2012, 12:13:19 AM

Didn't Jarlath Burns say a few months ago after Cross beat St Galls that we were the second best team in Ireland!! Haha But seriously I know the lads in our club do put in a serious effort and will be going all out to give Cross a rattle this year (they have a tough game against Granemore to come first though) and there are quality players there too that have made the county panel. I think Armaghgeddon is getting dedication mixed up with belief, never say die attitude and hunger for success.

I think there are a couple of other clubs in the county that on their day could beat Cross in a championship match as well. Cullyhanna nearly beat them in 2010 and Granemore and the Nab (not including 2011 final) are improving big time year on year. Dromintee have missed the boat though I think. The point I am trying to make though is that there are a few teams in Armagh who would do quite well in the Ulster championship if they eventually got there.

Are u serious Granemore? They couldn't even beat the Nab who Cross give a footballing lesson to. Cullyhanna had cross beat but could finish then off and cross won.  So many times down the years Cross were on the verge of been beat Ogs Dromintee Harps all had the chances but hadn't got the bottle to finish the game off.

I don't think that any team in Armagh would give Ulster a real go at the start of the season their goals have to be to try and win the Armagh Championship not an Ulster. Ogs didn't care if they beat St Galls or not they were just happy with the County and rightly so.
Post by: ogshead on February 23, 2012, 09:51:14 AM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 23, 2012, 09:27:31 AM

Are u serious Granemore? They couldn't even beat the Nab who Cross give a footballing lesson to. Cullyhanna had cross beat but could finish then off and cross won.  So many times down the years Cross were on the verge of been beat Ogs Dromintee Harps all had the chances but hadn't got the bottle to finish the game off.

I don't think that any team in Armagh would give Ulster a real go at the start of the season their goals have to be to try and win the Armagh Championship not an Ulster. Ogs didn't care if they beat St Galls or not they were just happy with the County and rightly so.

Your not taking this in the right context. I said that Granemore and the Nab are improving every year and what you said about the Ogs, Harps etc having their chances but 'hadn't got the bottle', well the Ogs beating them proves that if you keep plugging away a win will come. Surely Cullyhanna would take heart from that.

In terms of the Ulster I meant that we have good teams in the county but because Cross dominate we don't see them on the Ulster stage. I wouldn't say the Ogs cared about the St Galls match either... it wasn't their goal at the start of that year but when they got there they wanted to beat them
Post by: sheamy on February 23, 2012, 09:53:34 AM

Possibly not much different is the answer. It's an easy mistake to make to think strong clubs make a strong county team.

Lavey (1990, 1992), Bellaghy (1994, 2000), Dungiven (1997), Ballinderry (2001), Loup (2003)

Number of Ulster senior intercounty titles in the same period = 2. Sure them Tyronies can't win an Ulster club to save their lives but they can beat rings round them at intercounty.

Be careful what you wish for  :)
Post by: ballymac on February 23, 2012, 02:00:42 PM
A quick question to brokencrossbar1 I was wondering what your youth setup is like within the club. Is the club as successful at minor and u 16 level and what grade do they play at?
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 23, 2012, 02:27:20 PM
Quote from: ogshead on February 23, 2012, 09:51:14 AM

Your not taking this in the right context. I said that Granemore and the Nab are improving every year and what you said about the Ogs, Harps etc having their chances but 'hadn't got the bottle', well the Ogs beating them proves that if you keep plugging away a win will come. Surely Cullyhanna would take heart from that.

In terms of the Ulster I meant that we have good teams in the county but because Cross dominate we don't see them on the Ulster stage. I wouldn't say the Ogs cared about the St Galls match either... it wasn't their goal at the start of that year but when they got there they wanted to beat them

But are Cross teams not also improving year after year?  Before last year's win Jd, The Mc Entees, Cathal Short all retired after the Ogs defeat. Fair enough John mc came back (Thank God) but that was a very inexperienced team that was looking to get back their county title. Now look where these boys are second All Ireland in a row and take hearty and Oisin out the oldest player are Stephen Kernan and followed by Aaron. That's a young team in footballing terms.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 23, 2012, 02:36:27 PM
Quote from: ballymac on February 23, 2012, 02:00:42 PM
A quick question to brokencrossbar1 I was wondering what your youth setup is like within the club. Is the club as successful at minor and u 16 level and what grade do they play at?

Cross underage take part in the top tier of all competitions, last year they had a good under 12/13 team, their u14 won the county Feila and where beat by Killeavy in Championship and league final (Could be wrong). The under16 where very weak and minors where beat by a good Cullyhanna minor team. Finally the U21's where beat by Clans in the quarter-finals but it was played 4 days before the Ulster club Semi against Ballinderry and young Morgan wasn't played.

All in all cross underage is not bad but the structure and managers is top class.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 23, 2012, 07:15:16 PM

I think it would be naive to judge Armagh football on last year's final result. The Nab simply froze on the day and got hammered. The semi against Granemore was their real final IMO, parish rivalry and all that.

I still maintain Pearse Og are as good a team in Ulster and would be winning championships in any of the other counties. No other county has a club like Cross in it. When push comes to shove Cross know how to win games, saying teams like Cullyhanna, Harps etc don't have the bottle to win is a bit unfair. Cross never know when they're beat, Kilmacud Crokes and Dr Crokes this year and last proves that point.
Post by: armaghniac on February 23, 2012, 10:22:46 PM
QuoteAll in all cross underage is not bad but the structure and managers is top class.

They have all the children off handpassing for Lent.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2012, 11:11:59 PM
If only we beat them in 1997 things could've been different. :P
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 25, 2012, 08:27:59 AM
in fairness Garrycastle must be lapping this up. A complete hero whorship scenario in terms Cossmaglen. I think this hubris on the part of the Nordie team will backfire.
Post by: norabeag on February 25, 2012, 08:45:50 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 25, 2012, 08:27:59 AM
in fairness Garrycastle must be lapping this up. A complete hero whorship scenario in terms Cossmaglen. I think this hubris on the part of the Nordie team will backfire.
Aye after 15 years it might some day :)
Post by: heffo on February 25, 2012, 06:49:38 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 25, 2012, 08:27:59 AM

When another teams produces the goods like Crossmaglen have done over a prolonged period, I'm sure they'll be equalled feted.