Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on February 07, 2012, 01:18:18 PM

Title: Handshaking before matches
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2012, 01:18:18 PM
Is it just me or does anyone else think this handshaking malarky before soccer matches is a load of bollocks? I see it's creeping into the GAA now too.

All the talk of would Rio shake John Terry's hand? Would Wayne Bridge shake John Terry's hand? For feck sake, it's like wee girls pulling each others ponytails in primary school.

Theres plenty of time for handshakes afterwards, as all good sportsmen should do anyway. But this forced debacle beforehand gives me the shites!
Title: Re: Handshaking before matches
Post by: trileacman on February 07, 2012, 01:27:05 PM
Handshakes before kick-off has been in the GAA for ages, not everyone would do it and it wasn't mandatory or foul play if neither of you bothered. That's the way it is and probably will remain, there's no need for mandatory handshakes before a match as soccer have it.
Post by: heganboy on February 07, 2012, 01:31:45 PM
absolutely always made a point of shaking hands with whoever I lined up against before and after any game of football. Its just good manners.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 07, 2012, 01:37:20 PM
Quote from: heganboy on February 07, 2012, 01:31:45 PM
absolutely always made a point of shaking hands with whoever I lined up against before and after any game of football. Its just good manners.

I assumed everyone did it.  I had to think there if I did, as it is so much part of routine when lining up for throw in.
Post by: Rossfan on February 07, 2012, 01:42:19 PM
Quote from: trileacman on February 07, 2012, 01:27:05 PM
Handshakes before kick-off has been in the GAA for ages,

Never saw a "kick off" in any GAA game ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 07, 2012, 02:00:37 PM
I don't have any love for handshakes before a game. For certain, afte,r once you are well beaten.

I asked me Dad once his view. "Handshake" sez he "I'd prefer to hit him a box" And, sadly, many times he did. As you had to in Longford in the 50s, just to survive!
Post by: Minder on February 07, 2012, 02:03:53 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 07, 2012, 01:37:20 PM

I assumed everyone did it.  I had to think there if I did, as it is so much part of routine when lining up for throw in.

To take it a step further, do you shake hands with your man when you get called ashore??!
Post by: Denn Forever on February 07, 2012, 02:12:49 PM
I hate the lining up and presentation of the teams to the President that has crept in to game a Croke Park.  Maybe the players enjoy it?

Re the prematch handshake, I always thought of it as "I may hurt you during the game so sorry.  And I accept that you may do the same.  So lets play".
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2012, 02:17:40 PM
I once played on a team where one of our lads went on the field before a match and gave an opposing player a big hug - presume he was a long lost mate or something. At half time our manager, who was like one of d'unbelievables, started roaring at him that he shouldn't be hugging the opposing player, you should be spitting on his grave! I'd be inclined to think along similar lines, don't be shaking hands or chatting with the opposition until the battle has finished.
Post by: armaghniac on February 07, 2012, 02:54:05 PM
A handshake is OK, but some people go overboard with the pats on the back.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 07, 2012, 02:56:01 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 07, 2012, 02:03:53 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 07, 2012, 01:37:20 PM

To take it a step further, do you shake hands with your man when you get called ashore??!

Has never happened.  I always shake the hand of the new man thats put on me though.
Post by: screenexile on February 07, 2012, 03:00:40 PM
Hand shake is grand and what separates us from the animals. I would make a point of shaking hands before and after matches. Woe betide any **** that offers a limp  fish. I hate it and it's nearly worse than not shaking hands.
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2012, 03:03:34 PM
Always say "that's a very limp handshake, son. Get ready to be walked on" - no matter how firm his handshake. Puts you in the driving seat straight away. Make sure you're wearing your gumshield, though, just in case.
Post by: HiMucker on February 07, 2012, 03:05:23 PM
Its good craic when you get a knob that A)refuses to shake your hand B)Slaps yur hand away or C) Shakes your hand but tries to squeeze it really hard.  Great to get a wee bit of added motivation!
Post by: deiseach on February 07, 2012, 03:10:07 PM
Surely BennyCake's point is that the formal handshake before the match is compete nonsense? The upcoming pleasantries between Luis Suarez and Patrice Evra is going to be some joke
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 07, 2012, 03:10:37 PM
I remember once being told to refuse to shake the hands of people from a particular club as they had a fondness for grabbing the opponent's testicles with their free hand.
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2012, 03:14:10 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 07, 2012, 03:10:07 PM
Surely BennyCake's point is that the formal handshake before the match is compete nonsense? The upcoming pleasantries between Luis Suarez and Patrice Evra is going to be some joke

Exactly. It's the equivalent of those signs saying "Welcome to Smellsville" or messages saying "Congratulations for buying EasyDoss". Shaking hands with everybody is the same as shaking hands with nobody.
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2012, 03:15:14 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 07, 2012, 03:10:37 PM
I remember once being told to refuse to shake the hands of people from a particular club as they had a fondness for grabbing the opponent's testicles with their free hand.

Look out for their handbag-wielding supporters too.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 07, 2012, 03:23:36 PM
would shake the opponents hand if he offered it.
wouldnt look at him or say anything while doing it.
preferred not to shake hands really.
it was the part of the game that I least looked forward to.

A former All Ireland winner and meath legend managing us one year told us not to shake hands and never wish your opponent luck - as you want the fcuker to have the worst luck in the world for the next hour or so !
Post by: Megaman on February 07, 2012, 03:27:12 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 07, 2012, 03:23:36 PM

A former All Ireland winner and meath legend managing us one year told us not to shake hands and never wish your opponent luck - as you want the fcuker to have the worst luck in the world for the next hour or so !

i would agree with that, i always shook hands with my opponent before a match, but rarely spoke and certainly never Wished him Good Luck !!!
Post by: heganboy on February 07, 2012, 03:42:23 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 07, 2012, 02:12:49 PM

I always thought of it as "I may hurt you during the game so sorry.  And I accept that you may do the same.  So lets play".
accompanied by the simple nod of understanding that whatever happens inside the line is in the name of the parish, no quarter asked or given, hands to be shook at the end and thats football.

I will admit to a bit of winding up/ speech play/ trash talk/ gamesmanship.
Post by: HiMucker on February 07, 2012, 03:42:41 PM
Quote from: Megaman on February 07, 2012, 03:27:12 PM

i would agree with that, i always shook hands with my opponent before a match, but rarely spoke and certainly never Wished him Good Luck !!!
:D Brilliant, its fckers like you boys I enjoy marking
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on February 07, 2012, 04:18:41 PM
plenty of spit on the hand before the shake takes place. a few seconds after lace the shoulder into him. stamp on his toes. welcome to lavey.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 07, 2012, 04:27:27 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on February 07, 2012, 03:42:41 PM

if you offered the hand - i'd shake it.
while you'd prob enjoy marking me now, I doubt somehow if this would have been the case 10 or 20 years ago !
Post by: oakleafgael on February 07, 2012, 04:30:03 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 07, 2012, 04:27:27 PM

while you'd prob enjoy marking me now, I doubt somehow if this would have been the case 10 or 20 years ago !

Lynchbhoy,

The only difference between you now and 10 or 20 years ago is less hair and more belly.
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on February 07, 2012, 04:30:29 PM
dungiven boys are saft
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 07, 2012, 04:31:06 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 07, 2012, 04:30:03 PM

Lynchbhoy,
The only difference between you now and 10 or 20 years ago is less hair and more belly.
i wish that was all.
Post by: The Gs Man on February 07, 2012, 04:47:59 PM
I didnt mind the handshakes so much, it was the finger up the hole that bothered me.
Post by: HiMucker on February 07, 2012, 05:01:53 PM

Considering I would have been 7 years old I probably would have shat my pants  :D

I just dont get the whole pysch out thing before games.  Boxing, and other combat sports alright.  But boys can look a bit of a plunker when their man sticks the ball in the back of the net, sometimes through no fault of their own, but they still look like a right one for doing a stare down or whatever.  Maybe somepeople are different, I just see it as a load of balls at this stage (granted, maybe be intimitating when your younger and smaller) its up there with "if we make them come out of the changing rooms first after halftime we will win". 
Post by: Megaman on February 07, 2012, 05:08:38 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on February 07, 2012, 05:01:53 PM

Considering I would have been 7 years old I probably would have shat my pants  :D

I just dont get the whole pysch out thing before games.  Boxing, and other combat sports alright.  But boys can look a bit of a plunker when their man sticks the ball in the back of the net, sometimes through no fault of their own, but they still look like a right one for doing a stare down or whatever.  Maybe somepeople are different, I just see it as a load of balls at this stage (granted, maybe be intimitating when your younger and smaller) its up there with "if we make them come out of the changing rooms first after halftime we will win".

who mentioned it was psyching out the opponent, i just dont see the point in wishing my opponent Luck when i dont, i always shake hands as I'm far too nice
Post by: muppet on February 07, 2012, 05:30:06 PM
This is an interesting issue but I don't see it quite the way of the OP.

Supporters have little time for formalities and the lining up and shaking hands before matches often looked very contrived and trite. However that is not the issue at the moment.

The real issue is that the behaviour and reputations of a minority of high profile, so-called professional, footballers has sunk so low that even the most hardened fan finds it cringeworthy to see them forced to decide whether they can drag their social behavior  high enough to pull off a credible handshake.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2012, 05:38:37 PM
I remember a fella in my team offered his hand after a match and had it spat into by an opposing player after a first year blitz at school. Nice touch for an 11/12 year old I thought!
Post by: ONeill on February 07, 2012, 05:41:47 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 07, 2012, 03:00:40 PM
Hand shake is grand and what separates us from the animals.

Sure isn't that what caused all the bother in Portlaoise. The gentlemanly Derrytresk players went out to shake the hands of the Kingdom lads. They didn't realise that Kerry folk stalled somewhere along the development chart and their arms were swinging wildly around their genital area. Testicle and knuckle mayhem ensued.
Post by: trileacman on February 07, 2012, 06:36:17 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 07, 2012, 01:42:19 PM
Quote from: trileacman on February 07, 2012, 01:27:05 PM
Handshakes before kick-off has been in the GAA for ages,

Never saw a "kick off" in any GAA game ;D

You've never been to a Derrytresk game then.
Post by: johnneycool on February 07, 2012, 09:59:11 PM
Not a big fan of shaking hands before a game, but will always shake hands with an opponent no matter what happened during the game.

Can't stand bolloxes ranting and raving and carrying grudges after the final whistle!

Once its over, its over, (till the next day   ;)  )
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 07, 2012, 11:09:54 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on February 07, 2012, 05:01:53 PM

Yer not getting my drift.
It's not any attempt at psyching out anyone - I just didn't like shaking hands before a game and if the opponent offered the hand , I'd shake it- I just wouldn't look at him or speak. Had no prob shaking hands after the game no matter what happened.
They could play it clean or dirty after that , it was all ok by me.

Wee Lavey boy - I'm not from Dungiven.
Post by: ha ha derry on February 08, 2012, 09:27:46 AM
While shaking hands " My manager told me not to hurt you incase you have to go off and you might bring on a good player"  ;)
Post by: johnneycool on February 08, 2012, 11:59:14 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on February 08, 2012, 09:27:46 AM
While shaking hands " My manager told me not to hurt you incase you have to go off and you might bring on a good player"  ;)

That's too witty for a Dungiven man..   ;D

Are you sure its not 'smell your ma' as you sniff your middle finger?
Post by: HiMucker on February 08, 2012, 12:01:53 PM
Would be some craic if you wheeled your full back on to mark the other teams star forward at the start of a championship game in one of them Hanibal Lecter trollies.  Complete with muzzle and all.
Post by: ha ha derry on February 08, 2012, 02:48:08 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 08, 2012, 11:59:14 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on February 08, 2012, 09:27:46 AM

That's too witty for a Dungiven man..   ;D

Are you sure its not 'smell your ma' as you sniff your middle finger?

That would be more Lavey Johnnycool  ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 08, 2012, 03:04:27 PM
only handshake story I have is that I rem our 'hard' full back shaking his opponents hand just before a schools junior (u15 ish) match and the st vincents (dublin) full forward giving him a kiss on the cheek.
We were all wary of these 'queer' dubs that day and think they won handy enough - a lot of our lads would hardly tackle them !
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 08, 2012, 03:21:41 PM
Nothing to do with football but I think 'shaking hands with the president' is a great inuendo for when a ladyfriend *ahem* gets down to business.
Post by: eddie d on February 08, 2012, 03:28:51 PM
handshake after getting asses handed to us at clonoe, "thanks for coming" handshake   >:(
Post by: SambaSaffron on February 08, 2012, 03:57:35 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 08, 2012, 03:04:27 PM
only handshake story I have is that I rem our 'hard' full back shaking his opponents hand just before a schools junior (u15 ish) match and the st vincents (dublin) full forward giving him a kiss on the cheek.
We were all wary of these 'queer' dubs that day and think they won handy enough - a lot of our lads would hardly tackle them !
Doesn't send out a great vibe.
Post by: illdecide on February 08, 2012, 04:24:49 PM
I always shook the hand of my oppenent before a game and gave him a v small nod while doing so (the nod just indicated that you may well recieve some pain later but it's nothing personal), And always shook his hand after the game