GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Joxer on November 03, 2011, 09:37:16 AM

Title: UUJ
Post by: Joxer on November 03, 2011, 09:37:16 AM
Few quick questions for anyone in the know?:

What is CJ McGourty doing in UUJ?
How many more players have to go into that team that faced Queens last night?
Is the C Donnelly Ciaran Donnelly from Tyrone?
Title: Re: UUJ
Post by: screenexile on November 03, 2011, 11:51:08 AM
Quote from: Joxer on November 03, 2011, 09:37:16 AM
Few quick questions for anyone in the know?:

What is CJ McGourty doing in UUJ?
How many more players have to go into that team that faced Queens last night?
Is the C Donnelly Ciaran Donnelly from Tyrone?

1. Could be anything!
2. Probably the entire Ireland International Rules Squad.
3. I think so but not sure.
Post by: goal and a point on November 03, 2011, 01:13:47 PM
who won the game last night?
Post by: stronghold on November 03, 2011, 01:37:56 PM
CJ Mc Gourty is doing a Masters Degree in Sports Management having just completed his primary degree at St Marys
Ciaran Donnelly is from Brocagh , Tyrone
As far as I know jordanstown would be missing Jamie Clarke, David Mc kenna, James Morgan , Aaron Cunningham (cross) Demot Mc Guckin, Tony Martin (Ballinderry), Anton Mc Ardle, Gerard Mc Cartan, David Mc Entee (Burren), Ronan Mc Nabb (Dromore), Neill Mc Adam and Ciaran Huges (Monaghan) and Andrew Mc Clean (St Galls)
Post by: CentreHalfBack on November 03, 2011, 02:20:51 PM
Quote from: stronghold on November 03, 2011, 01:37:56 PM
CJ Mc Gourty is doing a Masters Degree in Sports Management having just completed his primary degree at St Marys

Can he spell management?

I thought you needed GCSE's to get into university ???
Post by: stronghold on November 03, 2011, 03:05:41 PM
Quote from: CentreHalfBack on November 03, 2011, 02:20:51 PM

Can he spell management?

CHB I think you will find a degree from St Mary's is enough, after all St Mary's degrees are awarded by Queens
Post by: Trout on November 03, 2011, 05:45:31 PM
Is CJ gonna be an eternal student like the brother?
Post by: stronghold on November 03, 2011, 10:26:57 PM
Quote from: Trout on November 03, 2011, 05:45:31 PM
CJ only done 3 years at St marys and one now at UUj.  kevin  playerd 7 with queens and two with UCD.
Rules changing next year to make six years the maximum
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 03, 2011, 10:53:51 PM
Quote from: stronghold on November 03, 2011, 10:26:57 PM
Quote from: Trout on November 03, 2011, 05:45:31 PM
CJ only done 3 years at St marys and one now at UUj.  kevin  playerd 7 with queens and two with UCD.
Rules changing next year to make six years the maximum

Don't mind that loyalist lackey... he's worried about which Taig is the latest to claim the Crown subvention war reparations, no doubt.
Post by: rogueryhill on November 03, 2011, 11:38:15 PM
Quote from: stronghold on November 03, 2011, 03:05:41 PM

Can he spell management?

CHB I think you will find a degree from St Mary's is enough, after all St Mary's degrees are awarded by Queens

Stronghold, you seem to be in the know. What did CJ get after his 3 years hard reading and writing?
Post by: stronghold on November 03, 2011, 11:50:02 PM
Quote from: rogueryhill on November 03, 2011, 11:38:15 PM

Can he spell management?

Stronghold, you seem to be in the know. What did CJ get after his 3 years hard reading and writing?

I can only assume a degree
Post by: everymanaman on November 04, 2011, 12:24:54 PM
I take it Stronghold didn't major in English ;D
Post by: ck on November 04, 2011, 05:27:20 PM
uuj any good this year?
I watched the sigerson final last year and they looked good. Mate of mine playing in the forward line. Many of that team back this year?
The only problem I have with their college is the fact they go out of their way to lure players in offering free fees and money. Great for the players of course, poor for the spirit of the competitions.
Post by: CentreHalfBack on November 05, 2011, 01:07:52 AM
Quote from: rogueryhill on November 03, 2011, 11:38:15 PM

Can he spell management?

A Third and a few grand spending money.  ;)
Post by: CentreHalfBack on November 05, 2011, 01:13:17 AM
CJ Mc Gourty is doing a Masters Degree in Sports Management.

Entry Conditions
Applicants shall normally have gained:

An upper second class honours degree or better from a University of the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland, or from another institution which has been recognised by the Senate for this purpose; OR
An equivalent standard in a professional or other qualification recognised by the Senate for this purpose.

Tommy Joe up to his usual tricks.

At least he might learn something from the first module. FINANCIAL DECISION MAKING  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 05, 2011, 01:24:06 AM
You obviously have a hard on for him chb. I'll pm you his number sure  :D
Post by: ck on November 05, 2011, 10:18:37 AM
Quote from: CentreHalfBack on November 05, 2011, 01:13:17 AM

Entry Conditions

An upper second class honours degree or better from a University of the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland, or from another institution which has been recognised by the Senate for this purpose; OR
An equivalent standard in a professional or other qualification recognised by the Senate for this purpose.

At least he might learn something from the first module. FINANCIAL DECISION MAKING  ;D

LOL Is that charlatan Tommy Joe still involved up there?? He was at it back in my day too, offering young lads money to play for the college. He must be a failed player who couldnt get into Queen's or something.
Post by: stronghold on November 05, 2011, 04:15:06 PM
Quote from: ck on November 05, 2011, 10:18:37 AM

Entry Conditions

LOL Is that charlatan Tommy Joe still involved up there?? He was at it back in my day too, offering young lads money to play for the college. He must be a failed player who couldnt get into Queen's or something.
I think you will actually find Tommy- Joe went to queens as well as UUJ and that most universities including queens where offering scholarships and still are, long before UUJ. If you compere DCU, UCD, UCC , CIT, Waterford and Maynooth the northern colleges are a way behind in scholarships. But fair play to any young player who gets one especially in the current economic climate and the rising cost of fees. Good Luck to them.
Post by: Don Johnson on November 05, 2011, 07:20:20 PM
Alright Tommy relax!
Post by: ck on November 06, 2011, 07:05:56 PM
Quote from: stronghold on November 05, 2011, 04:15:06 PM
Quote from: ck on November 05, 2011, 10:18:37 AM

Entry Conditions

I think you will actually find Tommy- Joe went to queens as well as UUJ and that most universities including queens where offering scholarships and still are, long before UUJ. If you compere DCU, UCD, UCC , CIT, Waterford and Maynooth the northern colleges are a way behind in scholarships. But fair play to any young player who gets one especially in the current economic climate and the rising cost of fees. Good Luck to them.

Thou protesteth too much!
Everyone knows that Jordanstown approach players and stick them into silly masters courses just so they can play for the college. They have made a mockery of colleges competitions for years and all that seems to motivate them is to try and keep up with their more illustrious neighbours. It's pathetic really.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 06, 2011, 07:13:31 PM
There are cases like that at every college ck.
Post by: thewobbler on November 06, 2011, 07:14:00 PM
Can't believe that anyone wood point the finger at Jordanstown for this ahead of any other college. It's rampant, even at QUB.

If anyone involved in Colleges football was serious about it's integrity, competition would be limited to undergraduates aged under 23. But none of the colleges actually want this.
Post by: ck on November 06, 2011, 07:53:29 PM
Sweeping statements above! I wonder have you been involved at grass roots HE GAA or do you just believe what you hear?
I was involved with SligoIT 2001-2004 and yes they were at it too but have cleaned up their act. Jordanstown have and are pulling lads in year after year in a pathetic attempts to win trophies (which they fail at) and all it does is reduce the integrity of HE competitions. I have first hand knowledge of the lengths they go to to try and draft in players. It just underlines the lack of confidence they have in their own players every year. Some colleges have gained respect over the years, not Jordanstown.
There should be same rules adhered to by all colleges. Simple.
Post by: sean og on November 06, 2011, 08:52:50 PM
C J and Kevin should take a degree in not slabbering to refs
Post by: LeoMc on November 06, 2011, 09:46:56 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 06, 2011, 07:14:00 PM
Can't believe that anyone wood point the finger at Jordanstown for this ahead of any other college. It's rampant, even at QUB.

If anyone involved in Colleges football was serious about it's integrity, competition would be limited to undergraduates aged under 23. But none of the colleges actually want this.

Did you play for them too?
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 24, 2011, 03:57:38 PM
Tommy Joe was complaining in the Irish News the other week that Jordanstown students were failing exams because of too many fixtures. Well, it seems they are failing not because of burnout, but more likely because they and nobody to do with them can count :o

Heard last night that Queen's freshers beat UUJ by a point in the fresher's B semi-final but the referee got in a muddle putting a score down to the wrong team and gave it as 1 point win to UUJ. The world and his granny knew the right score and told him but when the referee asked the Jordanstown mentors for confirmation, they said they hadn't been keeping the score  :D :D :D

(btw nobody had any beef with the referee. Mistakes happen. No shouting, no violence or threats. The way it should be).
Post by: onefaircounty on November 24, 2011, 06:15:21 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 06, 2011, 07:14:00 PM
. It's rampant, even at QUB.

Wouldn't agree with that.
Post by: stronghold on November 25, 2011, 01:19:48 AM
Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on November 24, 2011, 03:57:38 PM
Tommy Joe was complaining in the Irish News the other week that Jordanstown students were failing exams because of too many fixtures. Well, it seems they are failing not because of burnout, but more likely because they and nobody to do with them can count :o

Heard last night that Queen's freshers beat UUJ by a point in the fresher's B semi-final but the referee got in a muddle putting a score down to the wrong team and gave it as 1 point win to UUJ. The world and his granny knew the right score and told him but when the referee asked the Jordanstown mentors for confirmation, they said they hadn't been keeping the score  :D :D :D

(btw nobody had any beef with the referee. Mistakes happen. No shouting, no violence or threats. The way it should be).
I have been told that both teams have agreed to a replay not only because of the mixup in the scoreline but because Queens played a number of A players on the B team. Game to be played next Wednesday
Post by: stronghold on November 25, 2011, 02:08:34 AM
It saddens me to think that in this modern era, there are still some so called educated individuals still pontificating this elitist and superior nonsense and even more disturbing is that they appear to believe it. Many of the courses in Jordanstown require three A's same as in Queens same as many other colleges and universities. There is no such thing as a "silly masters".  As someone who went to Coleraine it always amazed me how Queens personnel continually criticised Jordanstown and then a few years later where doing there level best to copy them. Some people seem to suffer greatly from selective amnesia, to the best of my knowledge the last queens team to win a sigerson in 2007 had a  full time solicitor and dentist supposedly doing an "advanced computers" evening masters.
However I must congratulate Queens on their 40 scholarship students just announced, but then there are no scholarships at queens!!!
Mickey Armstrong , Sean Burke,  Keelin Bradley,  Sinead Cassidy, Harry Conlon,  Eoin Costello,  Conor Coulter,  Brian Cox,  Shauneen Donaghy ,Ciara Donnelly,  Caolan Daly,  Sean Finch,  Conan Grugan,  Timmy Hanna,  Kealan Haughey,  Ryan Jones,  Ruth Kearney,  Eilish Keenan,  Kathleen Kielt,  James Kielt,  Caitlin Malone,  Louise McAleese,  Ciaran McCinley,  Sinead McCleary,  Mairiasa McGourty , Niall McGovern,  Chris McGuinness,  Kate McKay,  Peter McKeague,  Niall McKenna,  Grainne McNally,  Natasha Mohan,  Aisling O'Kane,  Jamie O'Reilly,  Peter Quinn,  Ryan Rafferty,  Mark Scally,  Clare Scullion,  Mark Sweeney,  Sean Warnock,  Conor Woods
A classic case of the kettle calling the pot black. It about time some people wised up. There are at least two UUJ graduates playing for Queens this year. A queens graduate training the Jordanstown freshers and a Jordanstown graduate who trained the queens freshers last year. Thankfully there are some enlighted people about
Post by: INDIANA on November 25, 2011, 07:32:31 AM
Quote from: stronghold on November 25, 2011, 02:08:34 AM
It saddens me to think that in this modern era, there are still some so called educated individuals still pontificating this elitist and superior nonsense and even more disturbing is that they appear to believe it. Many of the courses in Jordanstown require three A's same as in Queens same as many other colleges and universities. There is no such thing as a "silly masters".  As someone who went to Coleraine it always amazed me how Queens personnel continually criticised Jordanstown and then a few years later where doing there level best to copy them. Some people seem to suffer greatly from selective amnesia, to the best of my knowledge the last queens team to win a sigerson in 2007 had a  full time solicitor and dentist supposedly doing an "advanced computers" evening masters.
However I must congratulate Queens on their 40 scholarship students just announced, but then there are no scholarships at queens!!!
Mickey Armstrong , Sean Burke,  Keelin Bradley,  Sinead Cassidy, Harry Conlon,  Eoin Costello,  Conor Coulter,  Brian Cox,  Shauneen Donaghy ,Ciara Donnelly,  Caolan Daly,  Sean Finch,  Conan Grugan,  Timmy Hanna,  Kealan Haughey,  Ryan Jones,  Ruth Kearney,  Eilish Keenan,  Kathleen Kielt,  James Kielt,  Caitlin Malone,  Louise McAleese,  Ciaran McCinley,  Sinead McCleary,  Mairiasa McGourty , Niall McGovern,  Chris McGuinness,  Kate McKay,  Peter McKeague,  Niall McKenna,  Grainne McNally,  Natasha Mohan,  Aisling O'Kane,  Jamie O'Reilly,  Peter Quinn,  Ryan Rafferty,  Mark Scally,  Clare Scullion,  Mark Sweeney,  Sean Warnock,  Conor Woods
A classic case of the kettle calling the pot black. It about time some people wised up. There are at least two UUJ graduates playing for Queens this year. A queens graduate training the Jordanstown freshers and a Jordanstown graduate who trained the queens freshers last year. Thankfully there are some enlighted people about

thats bullshit. There is any amount of college players around Ireland I could point to who have done and are doing mickey mouse degrees that

a) Half of them don't attend any classes for
b) Some of them didn't even get the points or entry requirements for them

Sigerson football is rotten to the core and has been for years. The ethos and spirit it was originally setup for long went out of it. Its currently over-rated in my view and has an importance in the calendar that the standard of play cant cash.

Post by: rogueryhill on November 25, 2011, 09:17:27 AM
Quote from: stronghold on November 25, 2011, 01:19:48 AM
I have been told that both teams have agreed to a replay not only because of the mixup in the scoreline but because Queens played a number of A players on the B team. Game to be played next Wednesday

Is that you Tommy Joe?

I have been told that you were told wrong   ;)
The Poly must be pretty desperate to get some silverware on the table if that is the lengths they are going to to win a freshers B title. Important to lads playing no doubt, but freshers B? Is their integrity that cheap?
McAleenan and Farrell should hang their heads in shame. "I didn't keep the score"  :D :D :D
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 25, 2011, 11:47:34 AM

Surely if a team played ineligible players then they would be thrown out rather than "agree a replay"? Is Tommy Joe not high up in the Higher Education committee hierarchy? If Queen's broke the rules then I'm sure he wouldn't be shy in bringing it to the attention of the proper authorities  :D

I don't know the eligibility rules for that competition, but I'm sure I saw that young Bradley from St Gall's (fine prospect that he is) featured in UUJ "A" match reports. Are you saying he wasn't eligible to play on Wednesday night too? I am sure there are others as well. If either team broke the rules - throw them out!
Post by: theticklemister on November 25, 2011, 01:53:09 PM
Is it true no Derry players will turn out for UUJ this year? Heard a rumour?
Post by: stronghold on November 25, 2011, 06:06:52 PM
Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on November 25, 2011, 11:47:34 AM

Surely if a team played ineligible players then they would be thrown out rather than "agree a replay"? Is Tommy Joe not high up in the Higher Education committee hierarchy? If Queen's broke the rules then I'm sure he wouldn't be shy in bringing it to the attention of the proper authorities  :D

I don't know the eligibility rules for that competition, but I'm sure I saw that young Bradley from St Gall's (fine prospect that he is) featured in UUJ "A" match reports. Are you saying he wasn't eligible to play on Wednesday night too? I am sure there are others as well. If either team broke the rules - throw them out!
I think if people are going to make statements they should  at least be factual.  I do not know any of the players and I do not want to get into player names but I have checked and Brendan Bradley St Galls has not played A football for UUJ and Tommy Joe has no involvement with the fresher teams and he has not been on the Higher Education committee for some years.
The fresher teams are managed by Barney Mc Aleenan, Brian Burns and Benny Hurl.
The fresher rule hasn't changed for many years. If you play two A games, you are then deemed an A players and cannot play B football
Post by: stronghold on November 25, 2011, 06:17:02 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 25, 2011, 01:53:09 PM
Is it true no Derry players will turn out for UUJ this year? Heard a rumour?
Don't know if they have any.  Have the Mc Kenna Cup panels been named?. I did hear that Barry Dillon is in training the UUJ Senior squad on a Monday night so it would be strange if Derry players not playing in Sigerson at least. Theres always a difference between Sigerson and Mc Kenna Cup squad's depending on how desperate the County manager is.
Post by: curious on November 25, 2011, 08:56:55 PM
all this stuff on Mcgourty junior is uncalled for - ok to comment on what he does on the field but personal stuff is abusive - it might get a laugh but that doesn't excuse it

can thes people not communicate on a highr level than that ?
Post by: Don Johnson on November 25, 2011, 09:14:36 PM
Quote from: curious on November 25, 2011, 08:56:55 PM
all this stuff on Mcgourty junior is uncalled for - ok to comment on what he does on the field but personal stuff is abusive - it might get a laugh but that doesn't excuse it

can thes people not communicate on a highr level than that ?

Well from your post it is pretty obvious you can't.
Post by: Don Johnson on November 25, 2011, 09:17:36 PM
Quote from: Hospital Road on November 25, 2011, 09:16:04 PM
the only players who should be aloud to play in the sigerson cup are full time students not on placement for five years only unless they are doing a full time phd.of course neither queens  or whiteabbey tech would want that.

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/1/9/1231516782255/Gallery-Girls-Aloud-Girls-001.jpg)
Post by: ck on November 25, 2011, 09:32:21 PM
@ stronghold
For a man who claims to be a Coleraine graduate you certainly know some amount about Jordanstown!! ...also you appear to be totally obsessed with Queen's. I suspect you are involved with Jordanstown and possess an inferiority complex due to your more illustrious neighbours being a prestigous college and jordanstown being a technical college? Would I be right? (says me who went to Sligo IT) Your defensive tones would also suggest that you advocate the fact that Jordanstown are famous for breaking rules and possesing zero integrity.

Everyone knows the Sigerson is a terrific competition but it is tarnished when colleges like Jordanstown stretch and break the rules. They would be much better off if they didnt have hangers on like Tommy Joe dragging them into the gutter.
Post by: ck on November 25, 2011, 09:43:11 PM
ps: The northern colleges can argue away but none of them will win Sigerson this year anyway. Watch a few new colleges from the south emerge like NUI Maynooth and Carlow IT
Post by: Leo on November 25, 2011, 10:55:57 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on November 25, 2011, 09:17:36 PM
Quote from: Hospital Road on November 25, 2011, 09:16:04 PM
the only players who should be aloud to play in the sigerson cup are full time students not on placement for five years only unless they are doing a full time phd.of course neither queens  or whiteabbey tech would want that.

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/1/9/1231516782255/Gallery-Girls-Aloud-Girls-001.jpg)

Classy response to some quite "exceptional" third level grammar and language.
Post by: curious on November 26, 2011, 12:20:36 AM
is that the best you can come up with ?
Post by: rogueryhill on November 26, 2011, 01:04:49 AM
Quote from: stronghold on November 25, 2011, 06:06:52 PM
Tommy Joe has no involvement with the fresher teams

Totally unrelated question. Who was the fat fcuker talking to the ref at half time?  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 26, 2011, 11:15:55 AM

I think if people are going to make statements they should  at least be factual.  I do not know any of the players and I do not want to get into player names but I have checked and Brendan Bradley St Galls has not played A football for UUJ and Tommy Joe has no involvement with the fresher teams and he has not been on the Higher Education committee for some years.
The fresher rule hasn't changed for many years. If you play two A games, you are then deemed an A players and cannot play B football

That's great Stronghold. Facts are good to have. When you say you checked, do you mean you checked with the Fresher's managers? Only you know how forgetful Barney, Brian and Benny are and how they don't take notes or anything during matches. Not even of the score. I was talking to a couple of Queen's lads and they say Bradley came on against them and a lad McGarry(?) started? But as you say, Bradley has not played A football for UUJ (that is what you said, isn't it?) and your secondhand account would hold more sway than my secondhand account seeing how you seem to be obsessed such an authority on UUJ matters.

Anyway, as I said before if any team plays ineligible players in a competition they should be thrown out. It would be a strange day indeed that Tommy Joe went soft on Queen's!
Post by: stronghold on November 26, 2011, 03:50:29 PM
Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on November 26, 2011, 11:15:55 AM

That's great Stronghold. Facts are good to have. When you say you checked, do you mean you checked with the Fresher's managers? Only you know how forgetful Barney, Brian and Benny are and how they don't take notes or anything during matches. Not even of the score. I was talking to a couple of Queen's lads and they say Bradley came on against them and a lad McGarry(?) started? But as you say, Bradley has not played A football for UUJ (that is what you said, isn't it?) and your secondhand account would hold more sway than my secondhand account seeing how you seem to be obsessed such an authority on UUJ matters.

Anyway, as I said before if any team plays ineligible players in a competition they should be thrown out. It would be a strange day indeed that Tommy Joe went soft on Queen's!
Yes I checked again and the lad Mc Garry did start against Queens, but if you fully read what I said that you have to play two A games  before being deemed an A player, young Mc Garrt did not play against DCU or St Mary's. Since you have started to name names which I didnt want to, Aaron Findon (Armagh Minor) started and played in both A games for Queens against UUJ and St Marys. If you want fact, I know Aaron and I was at both those games.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 26, 2011, 07:38:24 PM
Quote from: stronghold on November 26, 2011, 03:50:29 PM
Yes I checked again and the lad Mc Garry did start against Queens, but if you fully read what I said that you have to play two A games  before being deemed an A player, young Mc Garrt did not play against DCU or St Mary's. Since you have started to name names which I didnt want to, Aaron Findon (Armagh Minor) started and played in both A games for Queens against UUJ and St Marys. If you want fact, I know Aaron and I was at both those games.

Good man. And did you check again about young Bradley? I mean you were definite before that he hasn't played A? Are you still sure he didn't come on against Queen's?

You want me to read your posts fully, which I do, which makes me wonder if there was any reason other than oversight why you didn't include UUJ's quarter-final match in your "declaration"? Presumably it would be a qualifying match for A and B purposes too?

I say again, if Queen's and/or UUJ played ineligible players then they should be thrown out. Would you not agree? If what you say is true, then I find it strange that UUJ haven't moved to have Queen's thrown out, but have instead offered a replay.

I don't hold a candle for Queen's anymore than an axe for UUJ but it got my goat when I heard that the grown men in charge of a university freshers team claimed they didn't know the score in a match they clearly knew they had lost. It seems to me that the rest is whataboutery to obscure the embarassing and loathsome conduct of the UUJ mentors otherwise they would have Queen's thrown out rather than "call it quits".

You must be a big fan of freshers football there Stronghold if you were at two games of a team that you seem to hate with a passion ;)
Post by: stronghold on November 27, 2011, 10:31:46 AM
Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on November 26, 2011, 07:38:24 PM

Good man. And did you check again about young Bradley? I mean you were definite before that he hasn't played A? Are you still sure he didn't come on against Queen's?

You want me to read your posts fully, which I do, which makes me wonder if there was any reason other than oversight why you didn't include UUJ's quarter-final match in your "declaration"? Presumably it would be a qualifying match for A and B purposes too?

I say again, if Queen's and/or UUJ played ineligible players then they should be thrown out. Would you not agree? If what you say is true, then I find it strange that UUJ haven't moved to have Queen's thrown out, but have instead offered a replay.

I don't hold a candle for Queen's anymore than an axe for UUJ but it got my goat when I heard that the grown men in charge of a university freshers team claimed they didn't know the score in a match they clearly knew they had lost. It seems to me that the rest is whataboutery to obscure the embarassing and loathsome conduct of the UUJ mentors otherwise they would have Queen's thrown out rather than "call it quits".

You must be a big fan of freshers football there Stronghold if you were at two games of a team that you seem to hate with a passion ;)
Have checked again. Brendan Bradley did not start of come on as a s sub in UUJ's qfinal game against Carlow. This means that he is perfectly legal and eligible to play B football.
By the way I am interested in fresher football, I have a son a UUJ, a daughter at Queens and a son who graduated from Queens, so I have no axe to grind. I just detest snobbery and hopefully intelligent enough to accept both sides of these stories
Jordanstown agreed to the replay because of the score and queens agreed to the replay because of Aaron Findon, obviously both sides in the wrong and may the best team win next week. No more to said on this.
Post by: AhJaysusRef on November 27, 2011, 12:16:17 PM

OverThePostsAWide.....

... you are a loser
Post by: Orchardman on November 27, 2011, 01:21:27 PM
Quote from: ck on November 25, 2011, 09:32:21 PM
@ stronghold
For a man who claims to be a Coleraine graduate you certainly know some amount about Jordanstown!! ...also you appear to be totally obsessed with Queen's. I suspect you are involved with Jordanstown and possess an inferiority complex due to your more illustrious neighbours being a prestigous college and jordanstown being a technical college? Would I be right? (says me who went to Sligo IT) Your defensive tones would also suggest that you advocate the fact that Jordanstown are famous for breaking rules and possesing zero integrity.

Everyone knows the Sigerson is a terrific competition but it is tarnished when colleges like Jordanstown stretch and break the rules. They would be much better off if they didnt have hangers on like Tommy Joe dragging them into the gutter.

Sligo bent plenty of rules back in 2002 or whenever they won it first, couple of dodgy students at the time when mchugh was over them. I went to uni across the water so neither the Belfast colleges mean anything to me but you would always hear about this supposed superiority complex queens have over the other one. Can't really understand it myself, so went and checked up there only to find this great queens place was ranked 197th in the world, that's pretty brutal! Most of the other Irish colleges are lower but they don't bum up their reputation.

To me, university football was the best, anyone here who have played in the british uni championship weekend in birmingham knows what the banter is like.
Post by: screenexile on November 27, 2011, 01:33:09 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on November 27, 2011, 01:21:27 PM
@ stronghold

Sligo bent plenty of rules back in 2002 or whenever they won it first, couple of dodgy students at the time when mchugh was over them. I went to uni across the water so neither the Belfast colleges mean anything to me but you would always hear about this supposed superiority complex queens have over the other one. Can't really understand it myself, so went and checked up there only to find this great queens place was ranked 197th in the world, that's pretty brutal! Most of the other Irish colleges are lower but they don't bum up their reputation.

To me, university football was the best, anyone here who have played in the british uni championship weekend in birmingham knows what the banter is like.

It's 193rd actually!! I would have thought the fact this is a 'World' ranking system and given Northern Ireland's relative size 193rd in the world wouldn't be so bad. UU on the other hand with it's 3 Campuses throughout Northern Ireland can't be found on the "top 700" so your point is erroneous! (copy and paste it into google and you'll find out what erroneous means) ;)
Post by: Orchardman on November 27, 2011, 05:36:56 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 27, 2011, 01:33:09 PM
@ stronghold

It's 193rd actually!! I would have thought the fact this is a 'World' ranking system and given Northern Ireland's relative size 193rd in the world wouldn't be so bad. UU on the other hand with it's 3 Campuses throughout Northern Ireland can't be found on the "top 700" so your point is erroneous! (copy and paste it into google and you'll find out what erroneous means) ;)

I already said most of the other irish colleges are lower in my last post, so i knew that would negate any silly replies about where UU and others are. Anyway, my old mates in edinburgh are at no.36 :P

In terms of the football, probably best that students can play a max of 4-5 sigerson campaigns, that should look after some of the carry on. Fair play to any lad that gets a chance of doing a good masters, and play a bit of ball, get whatever free rent they can get etc. I'd imagine DCU are the worst of any of them for dangling carrots
Post by: ck on November 27, 2011, 08:05:28 PM

Orchardman you should stick to picking apples for you know nothing about HE football. For a start, yes Sligo were at. I was disgusted at the time and ashamed now... they played two players in Sigerson both of whom had left their course, one from Roscommon, the other from Donegal.
As for the rankings of colleges, who the hell cares?! We were having a football debate and talking about UUJ pulling fast ones year in year out in pathetic attempts to win trophies. ..but now that you mention it, I have just googled it too - if Queen's are ranked 193rd in the world that would make them in the top couple of percent in the world?, not bad! UUJ arent even ranked! Only Trinity and UCD are ranked higher in Ireland. Your argument whilst beside the point, is also totally inaccurate.

This argument on the freshers is crazy. As someone said earlier, if a team played illegal players then throw them out. For a team to claim they don't know a score just to try and pull another stunt would be typical of a college with no class, no integrity, no sense of fair play. I've never experienced any Queen's snobbery or (quite the contrary) thinking they are better than others but to listen to the likes of UUJ people like Stronghold they clearly suffer from an inferiority complex.
Post by: Orchardman on November 27, 2011, 08:24:30 PM
The rankings was only a side issue, of course it doesn't matter, i don't care where any man gets his degree.

On the other hand ck, you have just confirmed what i said about sligo IT, good lad. thanks
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 28, 2011, 09:54:05 AM
I don't know the eligibility rules for that competition, but I'm sure I saw that young Bradley from St Gall's (fine prospect that he is) featured in UUJ "A" match reports...

I think if people are going to make statements they should  at least be factual.  I do not know any of the players and I do not want to get into player names but I have checked and Brendan Bradley St Galls has not played A football for UUJ...

Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on November 26, 2011, 07:38:24 PM

Good man. And did you check again about young Bradley? I mean you were definite before that he hasn't played A? Are you still sure he didn't come on against Queen's?...

Quote from: stronghold on November 27, 2011, 10:31:46 AM
Have checked again. Brendan Bradley did not start of come on as a s sub in UUJ's qfinal game against Carlow...

Ah, so Bradley did come on against Queen's then after all? You say you were at the match and you say you "checked" three times and yet...

I think if people are going to make statements they should  at least be factual.  I do not know any of the players and I do not want to get into player names but I have checked and Brendan Bradley St Galls has not played A football for UUJ...

Leaves me wondering about all your other "facts" and why you haven't (at a second opportunity) still not disclaimed McGarry from playing against Carlow?

No more to said on this.
Probably a good idea there Stronghold because we can't believe a word that you say  ;)

Good luck to UUJ and Queen's in the replay. May the best (legitimate) team win.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 28, 2011, 10:06:23 AM
Quote from: AhJaysusRef on November 27, 2011, 12:16:17 PM

OverThePostsAWide.....

... you are a loser

Insightful contribution there AhJaysusRef  ;D

Did you get a big UCAS Tariff Points reduction then?
Post by: HiMucker on November 28, 2011, 10:42:46 AM
Seriously lads this thread is embarrassing  :D So keep craickin away
Post by: rogueryhill on November 28, 2011, 10:44:21 AM
By the way I am interested in fresher football, I have a son a UUJ, a daughter at Queens and a son who graduated from Queens, so I have no axe to grind.

Your posts say different. Nearly half them are spent bitchin about Queen's :D Even one on an unrelated Down thread ffs. If there were bursaries for having a chip you'd have more degrees than CJ and Kevin combined  ;D

You seem to know more about the Poly freshers B team than would make a Parish Priest blush but you were at a Queen's v St Mary's freshers match ...because you have a son at UUJ and a daughter at Queen's?  ::)

You're not clever enough to play that game and you have been rumbled you tool.  ;)
Post by: Winnie Peg on November 28, 2011, 04:19:06 PM
The greatest fear that I would have in all this is that people like Stronghold, CK, rogueryhill, overpostawide, behind the wire are actually graduates or undergraduates  and may have some role in my future concerning my future medical well being, finance or in government.
FFS, boys give it a rest as nobody on here gives a Sh**te about either Queen's or UUJ.
When I was at Queens, I thought this university football was important until I left and realised nobody gave a dam. As for which is the smartest university, GROW UP, you are no longer schoolboys.
Post by: rogueryhill on November 28, 2011, 04:34:38 PM
Quote from: Winnie Peg on November 28, 2011, 04:19:06 PM
FFS, boys give it a rest as nobody on here gives a Sh**te about either Queen's or UUJ.

You clearly do  ;D

Now fcuk away off to another thread if you're not interested.  ::)
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 28, 2011, 04:54:41 PM
Or maybe your counsellor Winnie? You know, when you need therapy for going into dark corners and subjecting yourself to things you don't like. Or am I mixing you up with Max Mosley?

I would put it more politely than Roguerryhill - don't read the thread if it doesn't interest you!

BTW, I don't think university football is the be-all-and-end-all, but I do think integrity is.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 28, 2011, 06:35:36 PM
And for the record Winnie, league tables are a pile of pish IMO. What does 193rd mean anyway? UUJ excels at some things and Queen's at others. Both are great universities. Queen's is part of the Russell Group which claims to be the top20 UK universities at research. Does that make them better than all the rest of the non-Russell Group universities? Not according to plenty of other league tables, not least the QS World University Rankings. Queen's and UUJ serve different (albeit overlapping) markets and both serve them very well. And "markets" is the new reality. And sport is an important facet of that marketing.

I have really only heard these superior/inferior taunts between Queen's and UUJ among Gah heads. It's a tribal thing, like Derry and Tyrone ones fighting over who is the more inbred. And for the record, Tyrone are well ahead of Derry in the Sunday Times Inbred league Table. <duck> Always have been </duck> :D
Post by: AhJaysusRef on November 29, 2011, 02:18:10 PM
QuoteInsightful contribution there AhJaysusRef 

You went searching through my old posts.

Your too paltry to be a loser.

I want to be on you.
Post by: screenexile on November 29, 2011, 02:41:07 PM
Let's be honest lads nobody really gives a flyin fcuk about which is the best University. Depending on what course you do a degree is not worth a whole lot anymore. If I knew now what I did then there would have been a whole lot of things done differently!!

It's just a stick Queen's players use to beat the Jtown ones with given the fact they'll let any dimwit into the University as long as they can kick ball!
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on November 29, 2011, 04:52:34 PM
Quote from: AhJaysusRef on November 29, 2011, 02:18:10 PM
QuoteInsightful contribution there AhJaysusRef 

You went searching through my old posts.

Your too paltry to be a loser.

I want to be on you.

Ah Jaysus. You're serious, aren't you? Well, all I can do is apologise then. I have never knowingly read a post of yours before or after in my life. It was just an off-the-cuff retort, not a heavily researched personal attack. I am sorry if UCAS Tariff Points is a sensitive personal issue. I should be more aware and will be more careful in future. Some of my best friends have low UCAS Points. What can I say, maybe there should be a minimum UCAS Points Tariff for going on the internet?

As for the rest of your post. I am speechless. I really am. But I have a nagging doubt that you're not a Monty Python fan are you?
Post by: AhJaysusRef on November 30, 2011, 10:58:02 AM
I could reply to your idiotic sly digs but I couldn't be bothered because I honestly don't care.  ;D
Post by: ck on November 30, 2011, 11:47:06 AM
Lads, many of you are completely missing the point on this thread. Nobody really cares which college or University is best, nobody actually even mentioned it till Stronghold started throwing his toys out of the pram. The issue being discussed was the fact that some colleges (or at least their GAA clubs) have zero integrity, they rip the piss, break rules year in year out and Yes UUJ are top of the pile where this is concerned. They have been at it for a generation now. The problem is that whilst many college GAA clubs are student led (like Trinity, Queens, UCG, UCC) but a few others like DCU and UUJ have a few aging "eternal students" in charge who are obssesed with their neighbouring colleges and getting one over on them. You will then have people like Stronghold on here telling lies. The best defence he has is saying that others are at it too and pretending to be someone else who has no connection to UUJ yet knows what every player has for breakfast! Pathetic.
I have no doubt UUJ is a great college, no-one argued that despite Strongholds tears, it's their lack of integrity I have a problem with and the fact that they have no-marks running the thing giving them all a bad name.
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 30, 2011, 12:03:34 PM
The only think UUJ are no 1 at is letting the dodos in. You could have 3 D's at A-level but as long as you can kick a ball you're guaranteed to get on your first choice course. Heard a fella this year got well bellow the min entry-requirements but because he played county minor he got onto his first choice course no bother!
Post by: supersub on November 30, 2011, 01:26:52 PM
Fair play to him!
Post by: Man Marker on November 30, 2011, 01:32:20 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on November 30, 2011, 12:03:34 PM
The only think UUJ are no 1 at is letting the dodos in. You could have 3 D's at A-level but as long as you can kick a ball you're guaranteed to get on your first choice course. Heard a fella this year got well bellow the min entry-requirements but because he played county minor he got onto his first choice course no bother!

If true, its brilliant and about time to that the GAA gives our young lads a bit of leverage. Thats is Jordanstown credit.
Post by: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 01:42:39 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on November 30, 2011, 01:32:20 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on November 30, 2011, 12:03:34 PM

If true, its brilliant and about time to that the GAA gives our young lads a bit of leverage. Thats is Jordanstown credit.

No it's not! Why should somebody skate through life just because they are decent at football. What about people who studied hard to meet the minimum entry requirement only to be told a course is over subscribed... I'd be sick if that happened to me!!
Post by: Bingo on November 30, 2011, 02:03:39 PM
Is college football overrated or rather the importance of it overstated by the colleges?  Its not like the US say where college sport is a huge money spinner or their is a progression from it into the professional sport ie College sport is main recruiting ground.

College football is all about one knock-out competition and seems to have really risen in self-importance in recent years, with colleges going all out to recruit players rather than playing with what they have.
Post by: Man Marker on November 30, 2011, 02:06:12 PM
We'll have to disagree on that one, I think that its about time being a good GAA brought benefits. Its been happening to soccer and Ruby players for years, GAA players south of the boarder have been getting these benefits for years. Its about time our northern players got additional recognition to help their careers.
Post by: stronghold on November 30, 2011, 09:38:40 PM
Fair play to Queens tonight best team won in the fresher B replay.
But some people are talking a serious amount of shite on this tread either from an ignorant or blinded point of view.  I stated that I have a son at UUJ and a daughter at Queens at the minute.  I went to Coleraine but after some time in private industry I am now a senior lecturer at UUJ and have a great interest in gaelic games.
So for all those, who obviously don't know how a University works or believes everything idiots tell them.  No-one but no-one gets into any University in the North for an undergraduate course with points below the minimum entry. Doesn't matter who you are or who you play football for, it simply cannot happen.  It is against the law and no registrar in any University can break these rules. 
DCU, UUJ, Waterford and Maynooth all operate elite athlete systems but for all of these you must have the course entry requirements. Also for those uninformed out there, under GAA rules you must also have the course entry requirements to play in Higher Education competitions.
Some people are show showing a serious lack of intelligence in the Higher Education system in Northern Ireland and insulting to the registration staff within the University.
I think it is totally wrong for an individual to smear another University or to makeup wild unfounded and spurious rumours.
There are no colleges or Universities any better or worse than any other.  It looks however for some people jealousy has a lot to do with it, rather than fact.
Post by: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 10:01:59 PM
Quote from: stronghold on November 30, 2011, 09:38:40 PM
But some people are talking a serious amount of shite on this tread either from an ignorant or blinded point of view.  I stated that I have a son at UUJ and a daughter at Queens at the minute.  I went to Coleraine but after some time in private industry I am now a senior lecturer at UUJ and have a great interest in gaelic games.
So for all those, who obviously don't know how a University works or believes everything idiots tell them.  No-one but no-one gets into any University in the North for an undergraduate course with points below the minimum entry. Doesn't matter who you are or who you play football for, it simply cannot happen.  It is against the law and no registrar in any University can break these rules. 
DCU, UUJ, Waterford and Maynooth all operate elite athlete systems but for all of these you must have the course entry requirements. Also for those uninformed out there, under GAA rules you must also have the course entry requirements to play in Higher Education competitions.
Some people are show showing a serious lack of intelligence in the Higher Education system in Northern Ireland and insulting to the registration staff within the University.
I think it is totally wrong for an individual to smear another University or to makeup wild unfounded and spurious rumours.
There are no colleges or Universities any better or worse than any other.  It looks however for some people jealousy has a lot to do with it, rather than fact.

Oh stronghold stronghold:

http://www.ulster.ac.uk/sportscentre/coleraine/2012_ea_application_form_copy.doc

"Under the Elite Athlete Entry Scheme, the University of Ulster allows a reduction in the points required for entry to full-time undergraduate courses.  For the academic year 2012-13 successful applicants to the Scheme will be offered a reduction in entrance requirements of 40 UCAS Tariff Points or the equivalent in other accepted entrance qualifications.!"
Post by: ck on December 01, 2011, 10:40:09 AM
LOL ah Stronghold, so now you are a senior lecturer?!  ::) Sure we can't believe a word you say. You havent even the basic intelligence to make sure your porkies are consistant.  :P
The world and his mother knows that UUJ pull in players every year (I know a player who was approached and noted the offerings!) yet you consistantly come on here denying the fact. Less of the oul senior lecturer, I have a daughter at Queen's nonsense (what has that got to do with anything anyway) and just let lads apply to the college if they want to go there. By approaching players you simply underline your own lack of confidence in the fact that players actually don't want to go there without these incentives and dropping grades and the likes.
Post by: westmayo on December 01, 2011, 02:06:53 PM
You can get a place in DCU with only 140 points if your good enough at sport,   http://www.dcu.ie/registry/forms/pdfs/R13.pdf (http://www.dcu.ie/registry/forms/pdfs/R13.pdf)
According to their application for all you need to get on the "Elite Sportsperson Entry Scheme is"
QuoteMinimum Entry Requirements

• Applicants must satisfy the minimum entry requirements for admission to the university which are as follows:
Leaving Certificate with Grade C3 in two Higher Level subjects and Grade D3 in four Ordinary or Higher Level
subjects (which must include Mathematics and English or Irish), or an approved equivalent.

Two C3's in Higher Level Subjects and four D3's in ordinary level subjects in the Leaving Cert is only 140pts,  Compare that to the entry requirements for those not so blessed in to be a talented sportsperson http://www.careersportal.ie/courses/simple_search.php?s_course_title=&s_CAO_code=&s_college=DCU (http://www.careersportal.ie/courses/simple_search.php?s_course_title=&s_CAO_code=&s_college=DCU)  That's minimum entry requirements for the University not the course Stronghold
Post by: AhJaysusRef on December 01, 2011, 03:02:26 PM
Pettiness is pathetic.

For fk sake wise up
Post by: Ulick on December 01, 2011, 05:06:17 PM
Quote from: stronghold on November 30, 2011, 09:38:40 PM
So for all those, who obviously don't know how a University works or believes everything idiots tell them. No-one but no-one gets into any University in the North for an undergraduate course with points below the minimum entry. Doesn't matter who you are or who you play football for, it simply cannot happen.  It is against the law and no registrar in any University can break these rules. 

Ah... but tell us Stronghold, is that the same for post-graduate courses?
Post by: LeoMc on December 01, 2011, 10:57:46 PM
Entertaining though (this argument not the football)
Post by: Orchardman on December 01, 2011, 11:17:32 PM
Personally don't think it is over hyped at all. Maybe crappy gaelic life paper, but around sigerson weekend you would be hard pressed to find many pages in the main papers dedicated to such an important event when there dam all other gaa on. indeed, I'm only a few years out of college but I wouldn't have a clue who plays for who, and neither would I care who won any sigerson cup.

But as far as i'm concerned, when ur involved in it at that time, nothing else compares. Playing with boys around the same age, going to parties regular, living with teamates and opponents. As a club players, you'll have anything from lads of 16-36 in the dressingroom and its still great craic but not the same. To me, the best thing about the club is playing with any brothers or cousins you may have