GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: knockitdown on July 10, 2011, 09:41:17 PM

Title: Antrim v Down
Post by: knockitdown on July 10, 2011, 09:41:17 PM
Don't really think this a bad draw for either team. Down will probably start as slight favourites. Anyone know the last time these teams played eachother in a championship game?
Title: Re: Antrim v Down
Post by: imtommygunn on July 10, 2011, 09:45:38 PM
I think it was 2000. Antrim's first win in the c'ship since 1982 or so. Played a few times in 90s with Down winning comfortably each time. (If it wasn't 2000 it was 99)

Down would have to be strong favourites for this. Antrim will beat no-one playing like they did yesterday however I'm hoping for a lot of improvement. Is this next saturday?
Post by: Oldhacker on July 10, 2011, 09:57:45 PM
Antrim beat Down by three points in a thunderstorm at Casement in 2000. Down were going through a woeful spell and big Gregory McCartan, our best player of the era, missed a penalty. Benny played for the minors and made his debut for the seniors as a sub as well. The previous year, Down beat Antirm by four or five points n Newry
Post by: Gold on July 10, 2011, 10:21:05 PM
Yeah Down beat Antrim in Newry on a real sunny day in 1999. Antrim were never in it that day frees from Madden and a sideline from Peter McCann is all i remember.

The next year it was sunny during the minor game but then the deluge came. Sean McGreevy was immense that day as was Kevin Brady and Kevin Doyle of Cargin. Sheeny McQuillen kicked frees for fun and Joe Quinn broke ball after ball with his fit and ciaran whelan gloves before McCartan could catch.

It was the first time i'd ever heard a chant of "Ant-rim, Ant-rim" during a game as we'd always been a team to play of no intensity and were never close in championship games.

Great day.

Down are beatable--our forwards (well Tomas and Loughrey) have searing pace that Down's backs will find trouble with. If we break through and get a few goals we've a chance.
Post by: The Worker on July 10, 2011, 10:23:45 PM
any time/venue set for this one yet?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 10:32:29 PM
Quote from: The Worker on July 10, 2011, 10:23:45 PM
Antrim at home, throw in time will be set tomorrow.
Post by: passedit on July 11, 2011, 03:49:32 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 10:32:29 PM
Quote from: The Worker on July 10, 2011, 10:23:45 PM
Antrim at home, throw in time will be set tomorrow.

If Down don't win this by 6+ they have no errand togging out against Cork. I think they will though.
Post by: ck on July 11, 2011, 08:11:56 AM
I actually think Antrim have a chance here. This will be their 3rd c/ship game in Casement this summer. I think they are now ripe for a big win. Down havent been firing.
Post by: snoopdog on July 11, 2011, 10:55:00 AM
no dis respect to Clare Leitrim or Antrim, but down do not fire against so called smallr teams, i dont know why, maybe its arrogance.
might be no bad thing getting beat by Antrim save us the humiliation of cork the following week.
Imagine downs midfielsd without Gordon and Rodgers against Cork. eaten alive.
Post by: antrimlad on July 11, 2011, 11:22:49 AM
Quote from: ck on July 11, 2011, 08:11:56 AM
I actually think Antrim have a chance here. This will be their 3rd c/ship game in Casement this summer. I think they are now ripe for a big win. Down havent been firing.

Going by the performance on Saturday there I would doubt it to be honest. Antrim are too predictable imo.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 11, 2011, 01:12:46 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 11, 2011, 10:55:00 AM
no dis respect to Clare Leitrim or Antrim, but down do not fire against so called smallr teams, i dont know why, maybe its arrogance.
might be no bad thing getting beat by Antrim save us the humiliation of cork the following week.
good job your not giving any teamtalks during the week. talk about negative. if down do beat antrim they will give cork a game, but first lets concentrate on antrim.
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 11, 2011, 01:16:58 PM
Is there any county in Ireland more cocky than Down?
Post by: SHEEDY on July 11, 2011, 01:18:45 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 11, 2011, 01:16:58 PM
no  ;)
Post by: snoopdog on July 11, 2011, 02:19:00 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on July 11, 2011, 01:12:46 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 11, 2011, 10:55:00 AM
good job your not giving any teamtalks during the week. talk about negative. if down do beat antrim they will give cork a game, but first lets concentrate on antrim.
probably more realistic than negative.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 02:31:17 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on July 11, 2011, 01:18:45 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on July 11, 2011, 01:16:58 PM
no  ;)

Cork. A Cork man with an inferiority complex thinks he's only a little bit better than everyone else.

Kerry people are very cocky about football for some reason, but not the players so much. The players tend to go the cute hoor approach, while the fans are in the 'Yerra we'll wait for the final' camp.
Post by: AQMP on July 11, 2011, 03:04:52 PM
Antrim do have a chance here, albeit a small one.  Was speaking to a couple of guys who were at the Carlow game, said Antrim were the better team but couldn't put Carlow away and it was a relatively poor game.  Down's defence can be a bit suspect but I would be surprised if they didn't win by 3 or 4.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 11, 2011, 04:09:00 PM
Providing Hughes and McGinn are fit for Saturday (and all indications are that they will be) then there will be an issue of who plays. Apart from Clarke and Coulter, who are automatic selections, there will be around eight players trying to get four positions. I would pick the following:

McGinn - Doyle - Hughes

Laverty - Coulter - Clarke

But that leaves McComiskey and Poland out from our All-Ireland final team, not to mention Caolan Monney and Murtagh (if fit). I guess Mooney and Murtagh would expect to be on the bench but Doyle, McGinn, Hughes, Laverty, Poland, McComiskey would all be disappointed not to start
Post by: Orior on July 11, 2011, 04:32:05 PM
This will probably be the last big match in #Belfast this year.

I hope a good big crowd turn up, and remind the #Ulster Council of what they missed by having both Ulster semi's in #Clones.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 11, 2011, 04:36:47 PM
7pm throw in in Casement next Saturday confirmed.
Post by: antrimlad on July 11, 2011, 04:48:58 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 11, 2011, 04:36:47 PM

Where are you getting that from?
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 11, 2011, 05:00:54 PM
There's no doubt about the competition for places in our forward line, and there must be a chance that Doyle will switch back to his natural spot in our half backs. His fitness is still a work in progress but a footballer of his quality and experience is capable of doing a job at either half forward or half back. It is very difficult to see Poland getting dropped on the strength of one slightly below-par display, especially after his heroics against Armagh. Poland is also our main right-footed free-taker, with McComiskey likely to be on the bench. We could start with -

McVeigh,
McArdle, Gordon, Rafferty,
McKernan, Doyle, Garvey,
King, Fitzpatrick,
Hughes, Clarke, McGinn,
Laverty, Coulter, Poland.
Post by: AQMP on July 11, 2011, 05:06:18 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 11, 2011, 04:32:05 PM
I hope a good big crowd turn up, and remind the #Ulster Council of what they missed by having both Ulster semi's in #Clones.

Orior, after we bate Down surely the least Cork could do would be to come to Casement to give us a good shellacking ;)
Post by: 5 Sams on July 11, 2011, 05:10:23 PM
Quote from: antrimlad on July 11, 2011, 04:48:58 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 11, 2011, 04:36:47 PM

Where are you getting that from?

Down County Board. Pay at the gate as well.
Post by: Orior on July 11, 2011, 05:25:32 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 11, 2011, 05:06:18 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 11, 2011, 04:32:05 PM

Orior, after we bate Down surely the least Cork could do would be to come to Casement to give us a good shellacking ;)

Emmm,  errr,  yes   *backs away from the nutter*  nice nutter,  good nutter.
Post by: PatDaly on July 11, 2011, 05:39:09 PM

Match referee is Padraig Hughes from Armagh.

http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/date/2011_07_16/

Saturday July 16th at 7.00 PM

GAA Football All Ireland Senior Championship 2011 Round 3

Antrim
vs.
Down

Casement Park

Referee: Padraig Hughes
Extratime playable
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 11, 2011, 05:46:21 PM
Jeez, what a decision to put that header in charge.Give me Sludden anyday. He hates Down and loves the attention.
The forecast for Saturday is poor. Shades of 2000 ?
Post by: whitegoodman on July 11, 2011, 08:12:12 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 11, 2011, 05:00:54 PM
There's no doubt about the competition for places in our forward line, and there must be a chance that Doyle will switch back to his natural spot in our half backs. His fitness is still a work in progress but a footballer of his quality and experience is capable of doing a job at either half forward or half back. It is very difficult to see Poland getting dropped on the strength of one slightly below-par display, especially after his heroics against Armagh. Poland is also our main right-footed free-taker, with McComiskey likely to be on the bench. We could start with -

McVeigh,
McKernan, Doyle, Garvey,
King, Fitzpatrick,
Hughes, Clarke, McGinn,

I would say the forward line is spot on if danny and mcginn are deemed fit to start.

The defence is more difficult to predict for me.  I think it is unlikely that they will drop Rooney as he has been nearly ever present since the start of the championship last year.

I also find it hard to believe that a defensive minded manager like james will have both mckernan and doyle in the half back line.  It must be remembered that that only reason Doyle got back into the team was because there was a lack of alternatives in the half forward line due to injury.   That being said he may bring him back to CHB on the basis that Mckernan stays at midfield.  It is difficult enough to predict.

James has some big decisions to make, he could be faithful to the lads who won the last 2 games and didnt do much wrong or he could go with a team that he thinks that will not only beat Antrim but will also give Cork a game of it.  On the basis that he goes for the latter I would go with;

McVeigh
G McCartan, Gordon, Rafferty
Rooney, Doyle, Garvey
King, McKernan
Hughes, Clarke, McGinn
Laverty, Coulter, Poland

with Ambrose getting 20 mins coming on for doyle with Mckernan moving back.  It may be a tad harsh on the likes of Brannigan, McArdle and McCumisky but needs must.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 11, 2011, 08:52:59 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 11, 2011, 08:12:12 PM

McVeigh,
McKernan, Doyle, Garvey,
King, Fitzpatrick,
Hughes, Clarke, McGinn,

I would say the forward line is spot on if danny and mcginn are deemed fit to start.

The defence is more difficult to predict for me.  I think it is unlikely that they will drop Rooney as he has been nearly ever present since the start of the championship last year.

I also find it hard to believe that a defensive minded manager like james will have both mckernan and doyle in the half back line.  It must be remembered that that only reason Doyle got back into the team was because there was a lack of alternatives in the half forward line due to injury.   That being said he may bring him back to CHB on the basis that Mckernan stays at midfield.  It is difficult enough to predict.

James has some big decisions to make, he could be faithful to the lads who won the last 2 games and didnt do much wrong or he could go with a team that he thinks that will not only beat Antrim but will also give Cork a game of it.  On the basis that he goes for the latter I would go with;

McVeigh
G McCartan, Gordon, Rafferty
Rooney, Doyle, Garvey
King, McKernan
Hughes, Clarke, McGinn
Laverty, Coulter, Poland

with Ambrose getting 20 mins coming on for doyle with Mckernan moving back.  It may be a tad harsh on the likes of Brannigan, McArdle and McCumisky but needs must.
dont think g mc cartan is going to be fit and its hard to see rafferty getting a start after only 5mins action all year. think fitzpatrick will start after showing signs of returning to form when he came on. cant see mc comiskey keeping his place after an all round poor performance against leitrim.

the team i think will play (for what its worth);

mc veigh
brannigan    gordon    mc ardle
garvey       mc kernan  rooney
          king        fitzpatrick
doyle        clarke       maginn
lavery        coulter     poland

with rafferty, hughes, mccomiskey, carr coming off the bench
Post by: whitegoodman on July 11, 2011, 09:20:11 PM
you could be right about rafferty although i thought i saw Gerrard McCartan warming up along the line the other day.

Would be important for them, Danny and Ambrose to get some game time before Cork on the basis that we manage to get over the tough test that will be Antrim on saturday night.
Post by: Leo on July 11, 2011, 11:06:51 PM

McVeigh,
McKernan, Doyle, Garvey,
King, Fitzpatrick,
Hughes, Clarke, McGinn,

MR, judging from his previous post, whitegoodman is in paroxims of laughter right now at the outrageous selection of Doyle & McKernan in half back line!!!
You are not far off the mark with that line-up but I think Brannigan will be preferred to McArdle and you do have to find a place for Poland.
By the way - it's Maginn.
Post by: AQMP on July 12, 2011, 09:47:11 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 11, 2011, 09:20:11 PM
you could be right about rafferty although i thought i saw Gerrard McCartan warming up along the line the other day.

Would be important for them, Danny and Ambrose to get some game time before Cork on the basis that we manage to get over the tough test that will be Antrim on saturday night.

Antrim dressing room wall stuff.
Post by: snoopdog on July 12, 2011, 10:35:32 AM
I know its hard not to think beyond this game but focus needs to be 100% on Antrim.
Down have stumbled many times in these situations.
We have been humiliated before to lesser teams than Antrim.
Its only 2 years since they were in an Ulster Final as opposed to Our 8,
still firmly believe that it was a mistake by the GAA to make the final round draw.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 12, 2011, 01:22:07 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 12, 2011, 09:47:11 AM

Yea baker is going to come on here, print this out and stick it up on the dressing room wall  ???

If he is using a gaa discussion forum for motivating his players yas are struggling.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 12, 2011, 01:31:12 PM
I doubt he'll be needing much from on here... Minnows of ulster football play all ireland finalists. It's a chance to get to the quarter finals for first time ever too.

I don't know what to make of this game. Antrim will get hammered based on the form against Carlow but I think the Carlow game told us a few home truths about who our best fron 6 is so hopefully that will stand to us.

It'll go one of two ways - Antrim will get beat by about 10 + points or win by 1 or 2...

Down would be strong favourites but all to play for. I worry about Down forwards but their midfield and defense is average enough so I guess if we do our best to starve the forwards then the chance could be there.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 12, 2011, 02:18:42 PM
If the 2 mccourty's, mick magill, andy mcclean and a fully fit mick mccann were availiable id get Antrim a very decent chance.  Antrim dont have the squad to be able to overcome players like that, in fact very few teams could do without arguable 3 of their best forwards, their FB and undoubtably their best midfielder.

Hope Paddy Cunningham starts too!!!
Post by: imtommygunn on July 12, 2011, 03:20:55 PM
I think Richard Johnston is doing as good a job as McLean ever did to be honest. One McGourty unfortunately injured and the other ones needs no more press.

Magill is good but I wouldn't be entirely sure he'd be on the 15 either so I'm not sure how big losses they all are. I'd like to see a lot more of Dougan at 14.

McCann should be available saturday though unfortunately I don't think Kevin O'Boyle will be and he's a big loss.

If cunningham doesn't start then I don't know - the frees we missed last weekend with him off for shocking!!
Post by: whitegoodman on July 12, 2011, 03:36:29 PM
Havnt seen much of Johnston or Dougan so Il take ur word for it.  Always thought Magill offered a physical presence that Antrim often lacked.  Maybe Dougan provides the same physicality.  Would also allow Niblock to play further out the field where IMO he is alot more effective.

If all forwards were fit would Cunningham be in ur first 6?  Cant carry a player for frees these days imo.  If CJ was fit I def wouldnt have Cunningham starting but thats just an opinion looking from the outside.
Post by: bcarrier on July 12, 2011, 03:40:22 PM
I 'd go with

mc veigh
d mccartan    gordon    mc ardle
garvey       rooney            doyle
          king      mckernan
hughes        poland      maginn
lavery        coulter     clarke

Post by: imtommygunn on July 12, 2011, 03:46:01 PM
If you have someone who can hit the easy frees at least then I would agree you can't carry players for frees but when you can't score any, no matter how easy, frees then you have to carry a free taker.

Cunningham is small and was being played as nearly our only outlet. Teams were doubling up on him and the blanket defense is tougher for him with his size but in the main he was being doubled up against. If we'd more presence in FF then I think he'd be grand (e.g. Dougan). Niblock has to be CHF in my view as well.

Cunningham is easily within the best 6 in the county - our style of play and our inability to counteract the sweeper system was really his downfall for being dropped recently. He was maybe getting a bit cocky too which didn't help his cause...

We don't conventionally play 6 forwards either - a wing half forward usually goes back. Moving to man on man in the forwards was however how we overcame Carlow so maybe we'll remain like that but personally I wouldn't like to see Benny Coulter isolated one on one with anyone.

Post by: whitegoodman on July 12, 2011, 03:56:42 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 12, 2011, 03:40:22 PM
I 'd go with

mc veigh
d mccartan    gordon    mc ardle
garvey       rooney            doyle
          king      mckernan
hughes        poland      maginn
lavery        coulter     clarke

Id be happy enough with that.
Post by: Simon Says on July 12, 2011, 05:13:16 PM
I agree with alot of the comments,if we can nulify downs attack then we will have a chance, because there own defence is poor and i feel we can get joy from dan gordon as it is not his natural position.cunningham offers nothing from play though and we cant afford to carry someone who can only kick frees, and totally agree a fully fit cj mc gourty have there anytime, he showed against tyrone last year he can do it from play and is always good for a goal as shown in previous championship campaigns, and is a reliable free taker for his club team. i feel the likes of johnston, mc sorley, crozier will all be found out against better teams such as down. coulter is a different kettle of fish altogether for johnston. and mclean is a much better footballer than johnston and can mix it up in terms of going with the physical approach and has mark coulter before. the reason antrim were so poor at midfield was due to the poor kickouts from the new lad mc sorley. This all would need to improve pronto for saturday! Rant over!
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 12, 2011, 06:02:26 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on July 11, 2011, 05:39:09 PM
Match referee is Padraig Hughes from Armagh.

Oh.
Shit.

Last time that clown referee'd a match I was at, he completely screwed our club in the ulster championship.

Biased and/or completely incompetent.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 12, 2011, 06:38:16 PM
Quote from: Simon Says on July 12, 2011, 05:13:16 PM
I agree with alot of the comments,if we can nulify downs attack then we will have a chance, because there own defence is poor and i feel we can get joy from dan gordon as it is not his natural position.cunningham offers nothing from play though and we cant afford to carry someone who can only kick frees, and totally agree a fully fit cj mc gourty have there anytime, he showed against tyrone last year he can do it from play and is always good for a goal as shown in previous championship campaigns, and is a reliable free taker for his club team. i feel the likes of johnston, mc sorley, crozier will all be found out against better teams such as down. coulter is a different kettle of fish altogether for johnston. and mclean is a much better footballer than johnston and can mix it up in terms of going with the physical approach and has mark coulter before. the reason antrim were so poor at midfield was due to the poor kickouts from the new lad mc sorley. This all would need to improve pronto for saturday! Rant over!

I don't see any difference between McLean and Johnston - dunno what it is with McLean but I just have never seen what everyone else seems to have. Although he has done a good job on Coulter for St Gall so from that regard a loss...

Cunningham has to be on. As I stated don the other thread start of second half Baker puts Cunningham on and we win or leaves him on the bench and we lose. I have no doubt in my mind that no Cunningham on Saturday and we were beat.

Dunno why you say Crozier will be found out. McSorley being found out is kind of harsh though his kickouts would need to improve.

Anyway Antrim will be nowhere near Down if they don't improve and improve drastically but I think they can / will.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 12, 2011, 10:59:44 PM
Down should win with a bit to spare and give cork a good game .Benny coulter was on fire last Saturday and will be hard to handle
Post by: NP 76 on July 12, 2011, 11:09:05 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 12, 2011, 01:31:12 PM
I doubt he'll be needing much from on here... Minnows of ulster football play all ireland finalists. It's a chance to get to the quarter finals for first time ever too.
I think there is another game before the quarter final stage Tommy is there not
]
Post by: Pat Mustard on July 13, 2011, 11:42:07 AM
Quote from: Simon Says on July 12, 2011, 05:13:16 PM
Cunningham is a better player than CJ, who shoots from anywhere. Crozier being found out? He's been about for quite a few years and hasn't been 'found out' as yet - a few below par performances but he's obviously a very good player 90% of the time. Johnston has marked Michael Murphy and held his own twice, so hardly as if he has been marking poor players. The only one to get the better of him so far is Paddy Bradley. Very harsh on McSorley after one game as well.
Post by: Simon Says on July 13, 2011, 12:06:32 PM
cunningham hides behind his man, whilst the other players earn the frees for him to tap over. Im just saying mc sorley would need to kick the ball alot better against down than what he did against carlow. I am a realist. Crozier ghosts through games, doesnt mark his man, and doesnt effect the game going forward. E.g look at the difference loughrey being back makes to the team. with his tackling and his surging runs. im saying this as i hope we can progress and have a crack at cork.
Post by: snoopdog on July 13, 2011, 12:20:38 PM
Quote from: Stevie g 8 on July 12, 2011, 10:59:44 PM
Down should win with a bit to spare and give cork a good game .Benny coulter was on fire last Saturday and will be hard to handle

Are you conor Deegan in disguise?
Post by: waitingforsam on July 13, 2011, 12:51:25 PM
I would continue to rest Danny & see how we fare out by half time.

Why did Dan McCartan not start last day out?
Post by: PAULD123 on July 13, 2011, 01:22:33 PM
Does anyone know if there is any truth that Ambrose played in a challenge match for Down last night?
Post by: NP 76 on July 13, 2011, 05:37:33 PM
Ambrose played last night and scored 2 - 02 . Murtagh also played and did very well
Post by: whitegoodman on July 13, 2011, 08:48:49 PM
NP who was the match against or was it an in house match?
Post by: NP 76 on July 13, 2011, 09:10:12 PM
Only heard that today about Ambrose . Man said that the subs and second string team played Mayobridge . No 1st team players played so wouldnt read to much into it i wouldnt think probaly just something different to training
Post by: DownFanatic on July 13, 2011, 09:35:33 PM
The fact that Antrim as a whole are generally unfazed at the moment in relation to Saturday's game is no real surprise. There is very little to fear of Down at the moment. Scraping by Clare and playing well within themselves against Leitrim is hardly scorching Championship form.

There is still another gear left in this Down team but after that I wouldn't be too confident on what ive seen so far this year. However, I think Antrim will be put to the sword. We are well capable of extending them by 6 - 8 points on Saturday provided we lift it up a notch from last weekend's game.

As regards the team, we still possess an average intercounty defence. Our midfield is too inconsistent to be regarded as a force while we are blessed with numerous gifted forwards but we need to get the right mix on the field.

We got to last year's All Ireland Final on merit. There is no doubt about that. The personel has remained largely the same, performances haven't been great but yet expectations are still high.

Id go for: McVeigh, D.McCartan, D.Gordon, B.McArdle, C.Garvey, K.McKernan, D.Rooney, K.King, P.Fitzpatrick, Maginn, Poland, Clarke, Laverty, Coulter, McComiskey.

Danny Hughes, Caolan Mooney, Ronan Murtagh and Liam Doyle on standby for the forward line while Brannigan, Rafferty and Duffin are extra defensive options.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 13, 2011, 09:56:17 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on July 13, 2011, 09:35:33 PM
The fact that Antrim as a whole are generally unfazed at the moment in relation to Saturday's game is no real surprise. There is very little to fear of Down at the moment. Scraping by Clare and playing well within themselves against Leitrim is hardly scorching Championship form.

There is still another gear left in this Down team but after that I wouldn't be too confident on what ive seen so far this year. However, I think Antrim will be put to the sword. We are well capable of extending them by 6 - 8 points on Saturday provided we lift it up a notch from last weekend's game.

As regards the team, we still possess an average intercounty defence. Our midfield is too inconsistent to be regarded as a force while we are blessed with numerous gifted forwards but we need to get the right mix on the field.

We got to last year's All Ireland Final on merit. There is no doubt about that. The personel has remained largely the same, performances haven't been great but yet expectations are still high.

Id go for: McVeigh, D.McCartan, D.Gordon, D.Rafferty, B.McArdle, K.McKernan, D.Rooney, K.King, P.Fitzpatrick, Maginn, Poland, Clarke, Laverty, Coulter, McComiskey.

Danny Hughes, Caolan Mooney, Ronan Murtagh and Liam Doyle on standby for the forward line while Brannigan and Duffin are extra defensive options.

No garvey??
Post by: NP 76 on July 13, 2011, 10:02:04 PM
Would say your not far away Down fanatic cant see any big changes just hope Maginn is fit to start and Mc Comiskey finds some of last years form or if not Doyle will start with Poland in the corner . Corner back is a toss up between Brannigan, Daniel  or Gerald Mc Cartan if they are all fit  . I would have Garvey at CHB and try either Mc Kernan , Rooney at mid field take Fitzpatrick on like last week
Post by: Square Ball on July 13, 2011, 10:33:06 PM
whats the prices for this?
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 13, 2011, 10:46:12 PM
DownFanatic usually knows his stuff but Garvey is a certainty to start on Saturday and McComiskey, who sadly had a nightmare against Leitrim, is very likely to be on the bench.  It is difficult to see Doyle being dropped, even if he has to switch to the half back line, and if Hughes is fit he will be back in his normal position. Down's dreadful record at Casement has been well documented and the Mayobridge contingent will not need to be reminded that both of their Ulster final defeats were at the same venue. We only just sneaked past Offaly at this stage last year - when our form was much better than of late - and any sort of a win on Saturday would do the job.

Post by: DownFanatic on July 14, 2011, 02:04:35 AM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 13, 2011, 10:46:12 PM
DownFanatic usually knows his stuff but Garvey is a certainty to start on Saturday and McComiskey, who sadly had a nightmare against Leitrim, is very likely to be on the bench.  It is difficult to see Doyle being dropped, even if he has to switch to the half back line, and if Hughes is fit he will be back in his normal position. Down's dreadful record at Casement has been well documented and the Mayobridge contingent will not need to be reminded that both of their Ulster final defeats were at the same venue. We only just sneaked past Offaly at this stage last year - when our form was much better than of late - and any sort of a win on Saturday would do the job.

Bad error in omitting Garvey. Totally forgot about him. Probably because he had been out injured. Id have McArdle move back into the corner in place of Rafferty and Garvey to wing half back.

Square Ball, admission prices as follows:

Stand      €20 / £18     
Senior Citizens  €15 / £14
Under 16s             F.O.C. F.O.C.
Terracing        General Admission  €15/£14 No Concessions
Under 16s F.O.C
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2011, 03:10:18 AM
Antrim struggled to beat Carlow last week i fancy Down to win this by 4-6pts
Post by: PAULD123 on July 14, 2011, 10:04:46 AM
In good conditions the better prepared and more skilful team will generally win. Obviously we in Down would like to think that we are that team. No disrespect to Antrim but it is natural to want to believe you are better than the opposition.

However the weather forecast for Saturday is horrendous with rain solidly from Thursday onwards and heavy rain during the match. Those conditions will be a real leveller. Antrim will have a great chance as skill levels will be reduced and work effort will be increasingly important. Scoring is also not normally high in bad weather so it is likely that no killer lead will be built up.

I would be far from writing of Antrim at this stage.
Post by: AQMP on July 14, 2011, 11:15:02 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 12, 2011, 01:22:07 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 12, 2011, 09:47:11 AM

Yea baker is going to come on here, print this out and stick it up on the dressing room wall  ???

If he is using a gaa discussion forum for motivating his players yas are struggling.

Is this a serious post?
Post by: whitegoodman on July 14, 2011, 12:31:33 PM
Is that a "serious" question??

If you care to elaborate on what ur point is u might get a "serious" answer.
Post by: DownFanatic on July 14, 2011, 07:51:48 PM
From Hoganstand

Antrim v Down, Casement Park, 7.00pm
Antrim have yet another home tie in these qualifiers and how it has suited them so far. Yes, they struggled to defeat Carlow last weekend, but in fairness, Carlow are not as bad as many seem to think. The Saffrons should have killed the game off before Brendan Murphy struck for a late goal, but despite making hard work of the result, they are still through to the next round.
Paddy Cunningham was brought on to steady the ship against Carlow and he could well be due a return to the starting line up as they will need their big guns against Down on Saturday evening. Antrim need to find a bit more consistency if they are to progress further.
Down's form so far has been poor, they have come nowhere near the standard that they produced last year, but the fact is that it is there and it's just a matter of time before it comes to the surface. However, whether they find their form on time remains to be seen. Yes, they pulled away from Leitrim comfortably last weekend, but for long periods the Connacht side had them rattled. Benny Coulter's display against Leitrim was the highlight of the game and they need more players to up their performance levels. This could be the one upset of the weekend, Antrim to win.
Verdict: Antrim

Post by: meatsy86 on July 15, 2011, 10:33:29 AM
Down team to face Antrim on saturday!!

1. Breandán Mac an Bheatha Brendan McVeigh An Ríocht
2. Aodhán Ó Brannagáin Aiden Branagan Cill Chua
3. Dónall Mac Mhuirneacháin Dan Gordon Loch an Oileáin
4. Breandán Mac Árdghail Brendan McArdle Eanach Chluáin
5. Conchúr Ó Gairbhith Conor Garvey Droichead Mhaigh Eo
6. Caoimhín Mac Thiarnáin Kevin McKernan Boireann
7. Gearóid Mac Ártáin Gerard McCartan Boireann
8. Deaglán Ó Ruanaidh Declan Rooney Boireann
9. Colm Ó Cionga Kalum King Áth Bhriain
10. Caolán Ó Maonaigh Caolán Mooney Caisleán Ruairí
11. Marcas Mac Poilín Mark Poland Cloch Fhada
12. Liam Ó Dúil Liam Doyle Liatroim
13. Conchúr Mac Laibheartaigh Conor Laverty Cill Chua
14. Breandán Ó Coltáir Brendan Coulter Droichead Mhaigh Eo
15. Mairtín Ó Cléirigh Martin Clarke An Ríocht

Post by: Mourne Rover on July 15, 2011, 11:22:22 AM
This is very unlikely to be the starting lijne-up at Casement, in terms of either positions or personnel, but the inclusion of Gerard McCartam, when there were fears that his summer could be over, has to be good news. He is our best marker by some distance, and his league form was excellent.
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2011, 11:24:16 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on July 14, 2011, 07:51:48 PM
From Hoganstand

Antrim v Down, Casement Park, 7.00pm
Antrim have yet another home tie in these qualifiers and how it has suited them so far. Yes, they struggled to defeat Carlow last weekend, but in fairness, Carlow are not as bad as many seem to think. The Saffrons should have killed the game off before Brendan Murphy struck for a late goal, but despite making hard work of the result, they are still through to the next round.
Paddy Cunningham was brought on to steady the ship against Carlow and he could well be due a return to the starting line up as they will need their big guns against Down on Saturday evening. Antrim need to find a bit more consistency if they are to progress further.
Down's form so far has been poor, they have come nowhere near the standard that they produced last year, but the fact is that it is there and it's just a matter of time before it comes to the surface. However, whether they find their form on time remains to be seen. Yes, they pulled away from Leitrim comfortably last weekend, but for long periods the Connacht side had them rattled. Benny Coulter's display against Leitrim was the highlight of the game and they need more players to up their performance levels. This could be the one upset of the weekend, Antrim to win.
Verdict: Antrim

Gutsy. Cannot see it.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 15, 2011, 11:46:58 AM
So G McCartan for Duffin and Mooney for McComiskey.

In the forwards, positionally I think this has a better balance in terms of line up. Poland back at CHF, Clarke free to add numbers to the middle area without risking leaving space unmarked and Caolan coming in for McComiskey, who in fairness can have no complaints after his shocker last week. Not that I am running down McComiskey who is a superb player and will be important to us, I would expect his involvement at some stage.

Bit disappointed neither MaGinn or Hughes are fit to start, especially after Hughes declared himself fit three weeks ago. But James is having to manage injuries as best he can. I would be very happy with any victory given the conditions the game will be played in, but would really like to see the appearance at some stage of Hughes, MaGinn and especially at least 15-20 minutes for Ambrose.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 01:09:49 PM
If Hughes and Maginn are not deemed fit enough to start then i would say this will be the team that starts and Id be happy enough with it.  As Mourne Rover says McCartan has been our best man marker so would prefer to see him in the corner but that is being picky.

If we are in a bit of trouble it would be great to be able to spring Hughes, Maginn and Ambrose from the bench for Mooney, Doyle and King.

Likely that Rooney will move back to half back and McKernan to midfield as per last week.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 15, 2011, 01:24:04 PM
McKernan struggled at midfield last week, and it was only when he reverted to half back, and eventually pushed up on their spare defender, that we began to click. It is possible that Hughes will be held back on the bench for at least a while, but, on the evidence of the Leitrim game and assuming that his injury has not flared up again, it would be a big surprise if Maginn did not start.

If we do not improve substantially from our three championship displays to date, Antrim will be entitled to fancy their chances tomorrow. Down supporters would take a win of any description, and the icing on the cake would be the roar from the hard core in the stand if Ambrose manages to appear in the last quarter.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 15, 2011, 05:01:03 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on July 14, 2011, 02:04:35 AM

Bad error in omitting Garvey. Totally forgot about him. Probably because he had been out injured. Id have McArdle move back into the corner in place of Rafferty and Garvey to wing half back.

Stand      €20 / £18     
Under 16s F.O.C
why are the admission prices dearer this week? so much for encouraging more people through the turnstiles
Post by: snoopdog on July 15, 2011, 06:03:16 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on July 15, 2011, 05:01:03 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on July 14, 2011, 02:04:35 AM

Stand      €20 / £18     
Under 16s F.O.C
why are the admission prices dearer this week? so much for encouraging more people through the turnstiles

Grab All Association
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 15, 2011, 08:47:30 PM
HS is right to say that Down and Antrim's championship performances to date have been around the same level. We have also only played one championship match against Antrim at Casement over the last 30 years plus, which we managed to lose, and our general record at the venue is poor.

We showed our potential at Croke Park last summer, and we also comfortably finished in a mid-table first division place in the spring, which should stand to us. However, our confidence is not high and the weather may not suit us either. In the last meeting with Antrim in 2000, the combination of  a downpour,  sensible Antrim tactics and excellent free taking by McQuillan was enough to do the trick. Cunningham might be capable of a repeat performance tomorrow, but we can also look to a strong bench.

We have the players to edge us through, but we may yet be be in trouble if we start with the team which has been named.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 10:08:27 PM
I cant agree with HS statements.

Firstly we beat a division 4 team by 8 points last wk, Antrim beat a division 4 team by 1.  Both teams may have been far from their best but the respective results show an overall difference in performance.

Secondly Down more than held their own in Division 1 this year whereas Antrim struggled badly.  I know it was only the league but both teams would have been trying very hard to stay in Division 1 and 2.  I would hope that Downs league performances would be more realistic of their level than that performance in Armagh.

Thirdly I find it difficult to believe that most people would have seen Down and Antrim at the same level prior to last year.  For example would Antrim have been capable of drawing away to Tyrone and beating them at home.  Prior to last year Down were very inconsistent mixing the great with the outragous but they were still capable of producing big results on their day.  If you asked most people who they would prefer to meet in the championship I would say they would prefer Antrim to Down.

I am be very wrong but if both teams play to their best I expect Down to win by 5 or 6 points.  If Down perform as they have done in the past 3 matches and Antrim play to their best then Antrim stand a good chance.  However I can see them struggling without some of their better players in McClean, McCann, McCourty's, Magill and possibly O'Boyle.  In fairness most teams would struggle without arguable 6 of their best players.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 10:11:58 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 15, 2011, 08:47:30 PM
HS is right to say that Down and Antrim's championship performances to date have been around the same level. We have also only played one championship match against Antrim at Casement over the last 30 years plus, which we managed to lose, and our general record at the venue is poor.

We showed our potential at Croke Park last summer, and we also comfortably finished in a mid-table first division place in the spring, which should stand to us. However, our confidence is not high and the weather may not suit us either. In the last meeting with Antrim in 2000, the combination of  a downpour,  sensible Antrim tactics and excellent free taking by McQuillan was enough to do the trick. Cunningham might be capable of a repeat performance tomorrow, but we can also look to a strong bench.

We have the players to edge us through, but we may yet be be in trouble if we start with the team which has been named.

On the assumption that hughes and maginn are not fit to start who would you have liked to see starting and instead of who MR?

Quote from: hardstation on July 15, 2011, 09:57:29 PM
Who'll line Martin Clarke? Loughrey would do a quare job on him. I think Ricky will give Coulter his fill of it too.

Padraig Hughes likes to give a free too, which could pay dividends for Hands, if we run at them.

I've probably shopped the meeting and Hughes will give nothing.

Going by last weeks performance if Ricky gives Benny his fill of it he is a very decent full back!!
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2011, 10:32:27 PM
Conor Murray seems to be the Antrim man of the moment right now. He's a good player but would he make the Down team?

I know it means little but how many of that Antrim team would McCartan play ahead of his lads if they were from Down?
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 15, 2011, 10:41:06 PM
WGM, it is true that there are a few tight calls to be made. The  toughest could have been in goals, as Alder has a much better kick out than McVeigh. However, McVeigh's experience as a current All Star and his improvement in the second half last week give him the edge. Our best full back line would be Gerard McCartan, Gordon and Rafferty. As Dee may not be fully fit, I settle for McArdle in his place. Brannigan has had his moments this season, and is totally committed, but his recent form, particularly against Leitrim, should clearly rule him out tomorrow,

If Doyle was close to 100 per cent, he is our natural centre half, but he may be better used as a ball winning half forward at Casement. That would allow Rooney to continue at wing back and Fitzpatrick to come in at midfield.

Unless Maginn has suffered a setback in training, he must start. If he is out, Carr should replace him.  Mooney's pace makes him an excellent option from the bench. Hughes would also be an automatic choice if he is ready again, but, after his injury, holding him back until the second half makes sense.

The team I hope to see start tomorrow is;
McVeigh,
McCartan, Gordon, McArdle,
Garvey, McKernan, Rooney,
King, Fitzpatrick,
Doyle, Clarke, Maginn,

Post by: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 10:44:58 PM
Westmeath were a division 3 team this year just like Antrim were a division 2 team so thats a slight bending of the truth.  The fact that Antrim were at home that day was also a major advantage.  Still I take your point results have been much of a muchness in the championship with both teams performances in the Ulster championship extremly poor bordering on the shameful.

Still cant agree that people from other counties wouldnt care if they drew Down or Antrim out of the hat in the championship last year.  Until Antrim pull off a major scalp in the championship ( Donegal under previous management were not one) I dont think teams will fear them.  Down on the other hand could and can always produce the unexpected, whether that be good or bad.

I expect/hope that like last year Down will improve as each game in the qualifiers comes so Im expecting a much improved performance tomorrow due to the momentum factor, local derby and the men we have to come off the bench.

I havnt seen Johnston live so Il take ur word for it.  Would you rate him higher than McClean or even Douglas for that matter?
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2011, 11:13:35 PM
You get the impression that Down's level of performance has gradually improved. Even though Leitrim edged ahead in the second half, Down blitzed them when they needed. Antrim, on the other hand, seemed to find Carlow hard going compared to their second half performance v Westmeath.

Unless things are not right in the Down camp in termsw of morale, I can see the Mourne county winning quite comfortably - about 6-8 points. Would love to be wrong though.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 11:22:20 PM
When we talk about this years championship surely this years league relates to it and not next year.  Westmeath were playing division 3 teams all year so to call them a division 2 team this year is very arguable.

My point about who other teams would prefer to play and Down producing the unexpected has nothing to do with the discussion on this years championship.  If you keep up it is to do with ur original 3rd point on people rating Antrim and Down at a similar level prior to this year!!!
Post by: ck on July 15, 2011, 11:25:38 PM
ok I'm not a Down man or an Antrim man although I have seen Antrim a few times this year (against Derry and Westmeath) and there was good and bad. They still can look threatening but also can crumble due to lack of real belief.
Whilst everyone and his granny expects a Down win, Down have been poor this year. Lost to an average Armagh team in 1st round then struggle past footballing giants Clare and Leitrim. Antrim to pull a surprise? Stranger things have happened.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 11:46:35 PM
MR I agree with a lot of ur points especially on the full back line and Hughes/Maginn.

I do however take issue over Doyle and Fitzpatrick.

Doyle was a classy CHB as a minor and was magnificent in that position against Tyrone in Newry 3 years ago.  However a lot has happened since then.  He has suffered injury setback after injury setback since then and it has to be questionable as to whether he can still perform to the same level in that position as he once did.  Maybe he can but I don't think that the all Ireland qualifiers are the time to find out.  I could be very wrong but James is a very conservative manager and I would be very surprised if you see Doyle in the number 6 jersey this year.  Has he even played in that position for the club since the cruciate injury prior to the Armagh game over 3 years ago?  I think James knows what he things is his first choice half back line up would be and the fact that Doyle couldn't get in their despite various injuries to other players makes me believe that it wont happen this year.  I would be very happy to try him at CHB for the whole of the mckenna cup next year to see if he can reproduce some of those exceptional performances in years gone by but not tomorrow.  Again I could be proved very wrong on this but that's the way id be thinking.

I think Fitzpatrick suffers from nerves and pressure a bit.  He did perform well when he came on last week but prior to that he hasn't been at his best dating back to the Kildare game last year.  Perhaps he would be better to come on when the game opens up a bit.  Also thought u were a bit harsh on Mckernans performance at midfield last wk.  I thought he did rightly in first half and was involved in a lot of what was good.  I would be happy to see him stay there tomorrow with Ambrose getting 20 mins to give him or King a break.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 11:54:51 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 15, 2011, 11:40:11 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 11:22:20 PM
When we talk about this years championship surely this years league relates to it and not next year.  Westmeath were playing division 3 teams all year so to call them a division 2 team this year is very arguable.

My point about who other teams would prefer to play and Down producing the unexpected has nothing to do with the discussion on this years championship.  If you keep up it is to do with ur original 3rd point on people rating Antrim and Down at a similar level prior to this year!!!
You are being very pedantic as regards to the divisions. OK then, I'll give in.
I'll spell out what I mean about the two teams having similar performances in their 3 championship games.

Antrim beat the division 3 table toppers (Westmeath) by 6.
Antrim beat a division 4 team (Carlow) by 1.
Down beat a division 4 team (Clare, who finished below Carlow) by 1.
Down beat a division 4 team (Leitrim, who finished below both pre-mentioned div 4 teams) by 8.

Let's go on:

Antrim lost to Donegal* by 6 points.
Down lost to Armagh** by 5 points.

*Ulster finalists.
**Could only manage a draw, at home, to Wicklow (a Div 4 team).
That is the form. Read it whatever way you want.

I never mentioned people rating Antrim and Down prior to this year. I mentioned them rating Antrim and Down prior to last year.

Oh dear, here we go again:
Antrim beaten in the Ulster final.
Antrim beaten by Kerry.
Down beaten by Fermanagh
Down beaten by Wicklow.

Please keep up.

How long are yas going to live off that ulster final, jes it was one final were yas beat 2 mediocre teams to get there and yas are sitll going on about it.  Get over it would ya, yas will get back there some day.

Any chance u can quote me that thread about ranking ulster teams as i tend to struggle to take what u say seriously as the majority of the time u are either on a windup or talking complete shite or both!!
Post by: snoopdog on July 16, 2011, 12:31:30 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 15, 2011, 11:40:11 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 15, 2011, 11:22:20 PM

You are being very pedantic as regards to the divisions. OK then, I'll give in.
I'll spell out what I mean about the two teams having similar performances in their 3 championship games.

Antrim beat the division 3 table toppers (Westmeath) by 6.
Antrim beat a division 4 team (Carlow) by 1.
Down beat a division 4 team (Clare, who finished below Carlow) by 1.
Down beat a division 4 team (Leitrim, who finished below both pre-mentioned div 4 teams) by 8.

Let's go on:

Antrim lost to Donegal* by 6 points.
Down lost to Armagh** by 5 points.

*Ulster finalists.
**Could only manage a draw, at home, to Wicklow (a Div 4 team).
That is the form. Read it whatever way you want.

I never mentioned people rating Antrim and Down prior to this year. I mentioned them rating Antrim and Down prior to last year.

Oh dear, here we go again:
Antrim beaten in the Ulster final.
Antrim beaten by Kerry.
Down beaten by Fermanagh
Down beaten by Wicklow.

Please keep up.
yes we are well aware of Downs inability to perform against poor or average teams, and that is our downfall as highlighted above.
Pointless argument
Post by: imtommygunn on July 16, 2011, 03:11:05 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 16, 2011, 03:09:02 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on July 16, 2011, 02:44:14 PM
Heavy rain in Belfast
Whereabouts? Not too bad in Andytown.

Some pretty heavy showers in south belfast already today. Clouds looking ominous...
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 03:12:36 PM
Heavy rain in Belfast
You should be out doing a raindance so. It may be your only chance.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 16, 2011, 03:27:20 PM
Heavy rain in Belfast

South Belfast
Post by: The Worker on July 16, 2011, 03:45:40 PM
trains off between lisburn and belfast
Post by: imtommygunn on July 16, 2011, 04:36:16 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 16, 2011, 03:12:36 PM
Heavy rain in Belfast

Comments like this we can only hope get revisited in a few hours time...
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 04:50:39 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 16, 2011, 04:36:16 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 16, 2011, 03:12:36 PM
Heavy rain in Belfast

Comments like this we can only hope get revisited in a few hours time...

No point in saying it afterwards Tommy. It's called whistling past the graveyard. Any radio streams for this?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 16, 2011, 05:54:48 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 16, 2011, 05:46:26 PM
Lashing.

Same here.
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 06:07:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 16, 2011, 05:46:26 PM
Lashing.

(http://www.cartoonstock.com/newscartoons/cartoonists/awh/lowres/awhn123l.jpg)
Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 06:48:13 PM
I always hate us playing in the rain, we ever seem to do well when its pouring down.

Is there any radio links to the game?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 16, 2011, 06:59:12 PM
Quote from: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 06:48:13 PM
I always hate us playing in the rain, we ever seem to do well when its pouring down.

Is there any radio links to the game?

Bad news...its just started raining again.
Post by: Family guy on July 16, 2011, 07:30:06 PM
Any updates??Has benny taken off were he left off last week??
Post by: Tubberman on July 16, 2011, 07:31:43 PM
Down winning by a point: 0-05 to 0-04.
According to Pete McGrath, Down lorded the first 20 mins, but Antrim are right back in it now and have the momentum.
Down have the breeze in the first half, but it's not very strong.
Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 07:32:29 PM
Hi Tubberman, were are you listening to the game?
Post by: Tubberman on July 16, 2011, 07:34:35 PM
RTE Radio 1 - they are going between all the grounds, but Navan is the main one.
Post by: smokeyjoe on July 16, 2011, 07:34:46 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8437990.stm
Post by: bcarrier on July 16, 2011, 07:36:54 PM
6-5 to down at HT . Twitter feed best  update I can find.
Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 07:44:36 PM
sounds like it is going to be a tight one, hopefully we can kick on in the second half, did either team have any wind advantage, in the first half?
Post by: earflute on July 16, 2011, 07:45:37 PM
BBC Radio Ulster MW Antrim game commentary with updates from Aughrim.
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 07:47:35 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 16, 2011, 07:36:54 PM
6-5 to down at HT . Twitter feed best  update I can find.

link?

Quote from: smokeyjoe on July 16, 2011, 07:34:46 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8437990.stm

doesnt work overseas, any local stations covering it?
Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 07:51:26 PM
here passedit

here is the Down twitter link

http://twitter.com/#!/OfficialDownGAA

Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 07:57:15 PM
game is leve 6 each
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 07:58:45 PM
Quote from: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 07:51:26 PM
here passedit

here is the Down twitter link

http://twitter.com/#!/OfficialDownGAA

Cheers. Listening to radio ulster now via skype. Not great
Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 08:02:25 PM
how do you get radio ulster via skype?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 16, 2011, 08:04:26 PM
Antrim 0.07
Down 0.06

:o
Post by: bcarrier on July 16, 2011, 08:04:50 PM
mooney and hughes  on for down. Doesnt sound good. 7- all.
Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 08:05:43 PM
BC, who did they replace?
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:07:00 PM
Quote from: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 08:02:25 PM
how do you get radio ulster via skype?

Skyped the brother who has the radio on in the background. Quality just about audible.
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:07:32 PM
Goal Laverty
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:08:25 PM
1.8 to 7 now
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 16, 2011, 08:08:47 PM

Down taking control of the match now.
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:09:23 PM
2.8 to 7 , Clarke
Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 08:10:50 PM
thats  a bit better, how are we doing in MF?
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:14:49 PM
Quote from: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 08:10:50 PM
thats  a bit better, how are we doing in MF?

Hard to tell, Antrim have missed a few chances since that burst
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:16:33 PM
point for antrim down lead now 2.09 to 0.09
Post by: ballela-angel on July 16, 2011, 08:18:36 PM
Passedit - Keep us updated
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:19:05 PM
GOAL Mooney
Post by: eiled in the bushes on July 16, 2011, 08:20:14 PM
game over
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:20:43 PM
Point Mc Comiskey.

3.9 to 9.

Ambrose warming up
Post by: eiled in the bushes on July 16, 2011, 08:22:05 PM
ambrose might get a run out,big dan must be candidate for mom
Post by: Blowitupref on July 16, 2011, 08:22:20 PM
As expected a comfortable win for Down. Big test v Cork next.
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:23:02 PM
Benny subbed 3.10 to 9 now
Post by: under the bar on July 16, 2011, 08:24:30 PM
Cork players apparently in ibiza this week preparing to meet the winners of this
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:25:12 PM
Down 3-12 Antrim 10 at Casement Park. On the blow
Post by: knockitdown on July 16, 2011, 08:26:04 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 16, 2011, 08:24:30 PM
Cork players apparently in ibiza this week preparing to meet the winners of this

lol
Post by: eiled in the bushes on July 16, 2011, 08:30:23 PM
can only get better. bring on cork
Post by: ballela-angel on July 16, 2011, 08:30:57 PM
Passedit - Thanks for the updates - PM me if you're up our way for the Cork game - I'll have it on the big TV screen
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:31:08 PM
Another Marty point. Down 3-13 Antrim 0-10. All over
Post by: Highlander3 on July 16, 2011, 08:31:22 PM
its over Down win 3-13 to 10
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:38:15 PM
Quote from: ballela-angel on July 16, 2011, 08:30:57 PM
Passedit - Thanks for the updates - PM me if you're up our way for the Cork game - I'll have it on the big TV screen

Timed it all wrong this time, No Vermont and travelling home this saturday so may not even see the game. Willl be home for the quarters tho!  :)
Post by: Minder on July 16, 2011, 08:46:39 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:38:15 PM

Timed it all wrong this time, No Vermont and travelling home this saturday so may not even see the game. Willl be home for the quarters tho!  :)

So will Down.
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:49:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 16, 2011, 08:46:39 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:38:15 PM

So will Down.

Neutral venues Minder. You know that
Post by: Minder on July 16, 2011, 08:50:54 PM
No home as in watching it at home !
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:56:46 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 16, 2011, 08:50:54 PM

Really? I never would have guessed what you meant, so sure am I that we only have to turn up next week for the win. Any chance this will be held back for a double header with Armagh v Mayo?

Post by: In the Onion Bag on July 16, 2011, 09:34:39 PM
More likely a double header with Wexford v Limerick
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 16, 2011, 09:41:09 PM
That's Clare, Leitrim & Antrim put to the sword.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 16, 2011, 09:51:25 PM
Quote from: passedit on July 16, 2011, 08:56:46 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 16, 2011, 08:50:54 PM

Really? I never would have guessed what you meant, so sure am I that we only have to turn up next week for the win. Any chance this will be held back for a double header with Armagh v Mayo Roscommon?

Fixed that for you
Post by: whitegoodman on July 16, 2011, 09:56:34 PM
Down won through moments of inspiration rather than a great performance.  It was a slight improvement on last wk but still wouldnt be near enough to give Cork a game.  We seem to fall asleep for at least 10 mins in every half.  We were cruising in the first 20 and then let Antrim back into it and then didnt come out for the start of the second half.

My ratings

McVeigh 7 An improvement on kickouts from last wk, did all that was asked of him
Brannigan 9 His best performance for Down imo, has a lot of critics on here including myself but proved alot tonight
Gordon 9 Outstanding, his man may get the ball a few times but never gets round him.Cant imagine him without the no 3
McCartan 9 Snuffed out cunningham from play, our best man marker and a real find this year
Rooney 5 Slack, jittery and boil.  Not his best game
McKernan 6.5 Went through alot of work, on the ball alot in the first 20 but then went out of it
Garvey 5 Destroyed by Niblock imo, will have better days
King 6 Provided physical presence but tired very early.  Struggles on mobile players
McArdle 6.5 Nervous at start,improved and worked very hard.  Some stride on him, will improve
Maginn 5 One of his poorest games for the county, put it down to rustiness.....hopefully
Poland 7.5 Big improvement from last week, picked up alot of dirty ball and distribution good
Doyle 6 Not in the game alot, doesnt have the legs to get up and down the line imo.  Struggling for next wk
Laverty 8 Not as good as last wk but goal was superb.  Struggled to get any change out of CB until he came out
Coulter 8 Continued from last wk with 2 superb points and set up 2 of the goals.  Hope sub is only precautionary
Clarke 5 Yes finished the goal well but prob worst game for down imo.  Crozier had him in pocket

Of the subs Danny looked rusty but did ok, Mooney did well, McCusisky and Fitzpatrick were average and Carr wasnt on long enough.

Special mention to the management for pushing McKernan up on O'Neill straight away and then later setting up the first goal by putting Laverty onto O'Neill when Rooney went off.  Antrim sideline very slow to react on both occasions.

For Antrim thought Crozier and Niblock were superb, no 14 at midfield tried hard, corner back was decent and the rest were pretty poor.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 16, 2011, 10:05:11 PM
Aontroim were limited, Down were good but not great.
The first 15 were all Down- it was almost too easy- Benny and Lavery were running amoke- and could have been all over if Mc Ardle's final pass had found Marty. Herron,Mc Cann and Niblock stood up for Aontroim and ubelievably they went ahead 5 minutes after the restart.
Great off-the-ball running by Benny and Marty opened the Hare's Gap for the wee Kilcoo man and boy did he exploit it. Marty got what we think was his first senior goal from play after unselfish work by Benny following a great ball by my MOM, Mark Poland. Mc Comiskey was really back to form and another net rippler from Mooney made it a hat-trick of first goals from play for the three lads.
Dan was majestic, hands up on Brannigan- he was close to MOM and popped up for a score- Daniel looked like he needs at least another week and hope Doyler and Bennys' hamstrings are OK.
Not sure where Aontroim  or Baker Bradley go from here.Hopefully we will score goals against Cork but we will need another 50 % on top of this performance.Satisfying all the same.
BTW- if anyone found a front cover for a Ford radio/CD near Rafo's chipper or in the ground, send me a PM.
Post by: bcarrier on July 16, 2011, 10:06:51 PM
QuoteBTW- if anyone found a front cover for a Ford radio/CD near Rafo's chipper or in the ground, send me a PM.
???

Surely too many Burren men on the Down side today  :P
Post by: glens abu on July 16, 2011, 10:42:50 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 16, 2011, 09:56:34 PM
Down won through moments of inspiration rather than a great performance.  It was a slight improvement on last wk but still wouldnt be near enough to give Cork a game.  We seem to fall asleep for at least 10 mins in every half.  We were cruising in the first 20 and then let Antrim back into it and then didnt come out for the start of the second half.

My ratings

McVeigh 7 An improvement on kickouts from last wk, did all that was asked of him
Brannigan 9 His best performance for Down imo, has a lot of critics on here including myself but proved alot tonight
Gordon 9 Outstanding, his man may get the ball a few times but never gets round him.Cant imagine him without the no 3
McCartan 9 Snuffed out cunningham from play, our best man marker and a real find this year
Rooney 5 Slack, jittery and boil.  Not his best game
McKernan 6.5 Went through alot of work, on the ball alot in the first 20 but then went out of it
Garvey 5 Destroyed by Niblock imo, will have better days
King 6 Provided physical presence but tired very early.  Struggles on mobile players
McArdle 6.5 Nervous at start,improved and worked very hard.  Some stride on him, will improve
Maginn 5 One of his poorest games for the county, put it down to rustiness.....hopefully
Poland 7.5 Big improvement from last week, picked up alot of dirty ball and distribution good
Doyle 6 Not in the game alot, doesnt have the legs to get up and down the line imo.  Struggling for next wk
Laverty 8 Not as good as last wk but goal was superb.  Struggled to get any change out of CB until he came out
Coulter 8 Continued from last wk with 2 superb points and set up 2 of the goals.  Hope sub is only precautionary
Clarke 5 Yes finished the goal well but prob worst game for down imo.  Crozier had him in pocket

Of the subs Danny looked rusty but did ok, Mooney did well, McCusisky and Fitzpatrick were average and Carr wasnt on long enough.

Special mention to the management for pushing McKernan up on O'Neill straight away and then later setting up the first goal by putting Laverty onto O'Neill when Rooney went off.  Antrim sideline very slow to react on both occasions.

For Antrim thought Crozier and Niblock were superb, no 14 at midfield tried hard, corner back was decent and the rest were pretty poor.

I thought that Loughrey was outstanding for Anrtim and Niblock was very poor again,Dan Gordan had some game
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 16, 2011, 10:47:22 PM
It may only have been a third round qualifier, and Antrim may only be in the third division, but tonight told us again that there is nothing better than a championship win. Although Down were patchy in the first half and poor at the start of the second - exactly like the Leitrim game last week - the quality was there for all to see when we got into our stride.

There was a decent atmosphere at Casement, with the Down fans outnumbering the home support by at least four to one, and the only problem was getting into the ground with a season ticket. The electronic scanners never arrived, so the turnstile attendant had to tick off names with a pen from a bundle of sheets - new technology is brilliant.

McVeigh's kick-outs were generally good, although the short ones did not work particularly well. His save from Niblock was crucial, even though it should probably have been a penalty for a push in the back.

Many of us felt Brannigan was very lucky not to be dropped after last week, but James as usual knew best and what was very close to a man of the match display followed. He was first to every ball, pushed up confidently into the space in front of him and even got a decent point as well. Dan was outstanding at full back, dominating in the air, forceful on the ground and getting in some great blocks as well. He was up admittedly up against modest opponents, but the debate over his best position would appear to be done and dusted. McCartan was also excellent, giving Cunningham no room at all and carrying the ball forward with style. It was as good an overall performance by a full back line as Down have produced for many years.

Unfortunately, we cannot say the same about our half backs. Rooney struggled throughout, as he frequently did last week as well, and could have no complaints about being replaced. McKernan is a conundrum, as he has the ability but does not seem to be concentrating at times. We got away with his amazingly casual ground pass across the face of our goal early on, but he then kept winning great possession up front and either passing to someone in a worse position or snatching at a poor shot. His late point should hopefully settle him, but the space through the middle of our defence remains a worry. Garvey held the line together, got some crunching tackles while missing a couple and covered tirelessly. We probably only realised how good he is when he was out injured.

Midfield was another dilemma, as it started well, collapsed either side of half time and finished strongly. McArdle's selection was a big surprise, and, although he had some decent moments early on, he always looked nervous in possession. His intercepted pass when Marty would have been clear on goal, followed by a yellow card for a rugby tackle, could have been costly. King was great in the first quarter and then had one of his regular fade-outs before getting a second wind.

It was a surprise how out of sorts Maginn was, and perhaps we brought him back a little too quickly. Doyle also had difficultly getting into the game before his injury, which hopefully will not be serious. Poland was back to his best, always available for a quick pass and a burst forward. His yellow card in the first half may well have prevented a goal as well.

Marty, as has often been the case this year, was in and out of the game, but produced moments of brilliance and also his first championship goal for Down. His best score was probably the late free from way out on the right wing. Benny showed enormous leadership qualities, kicked two points from from two shots, set up Marty's goal and won almost every ball. He seemed to be carrying a knock in the second half but with any luck he should be OK for next week.

To save the best until last, Laverty was magnificent. He thinks so much faster than almost anyone else, and he knows where Benny and Marty will be almost before they realise it themselves. He probably tried too hard in the first half, but his goal, at a time when we were under genuine pressure, was a thing of beauty. It is hard to believe that we would get another one this summer as brilliant as Poland's against Armagh, but tonight's dodging and weaving special was right up there.

James got his subs all just about right, although Hughes was searching for his touch and clearly needed the run out. Mooney will terrify any defence with his pace, and scored a blinding goal. McComiskey, after a difficult afternoon against Leitrim, showed that form is temporary and class is permanent. Fitzpatrick was steady, and must be close to starting next week, and Carr did well in a short time.

The only disappointment was not to see Ambrose even for five minutes, which indicates that he has still some distance to go, but we were starting to look the part in the closing stages. All the pressure will be on Cork next week, which is just the way we like it.
Post by: ardtole on July 16, 2011, 11:03:36 PM
I just wish there was a weeks break before the cork game, I think it would do the likes of maginn, ambrose, hughes, rafferty and a couple of others the world of good, but we have a bit of momentum, we scored 3 goals, conceded none so hopefully we will put it the rebels. It would be great if it was a double header with tyrone and armagh. Someone mentioned earlier that it is already fixed for omagh, but Mickey Harte has always advocated switching big games to croke park and I wouldnt be surprised if it got the go ahead.
Post by: bcarrier on July 16, 2011, 11:18:13 PM
Thanks for that MR.

I would have really fancied us against any of the provincial losers but Cork next week . With Mooney and maybe Marty on the way to Oz and Benny not getting any younger then you would have to think its do or die this year ( and next week).
Post by: Gold on July 16, 2011, 11:27:33 PM
We had a few goal chances--Niblock was pushed as he went for goal just before half time--if he'd scored that we were 2 up. Immedietely after that Niblock went for a point with outside of the boot when Tomas was inside him and would have been in for a goal.

When teams were level in 2nd half O'Boyle took  a stupid effort with hi left foot when again the searing McCann was inside him and in for a goal. Kerry always make the right decisions in such situations-we dont.

We hung in there in first 20 mins after standing watching to see what Down were going to do. After we realised there wasnt too much to admire we actually had a go.

Sides were level for 10/15 mins in 2nd half but the 2 Down goals in a minute ended the game.

Laverty can fairly move--he can turn on a sixpence and left Brady a number of times in both halfs--his goal was a thing of beauty.

Why was Paddy C left on the whole match--the goal came directly from him hiding in behind his man--you get nothing in behind after primary school and any ball you do get in behind doesnt count in my opinion. Did he touch the ball once?
Post by: Pangurban on July 17, 2011, 12:41:21 AM
A good result,but mediocre performance, good individual displays,  Dan Gordon MOTM in my opinion, closely followed by Benny and Conor Laverty, the rest looked tired and out of sorts, huge improvement needed for next week though i expect facing Cork will galvanise them. It was this stage last year that they really started to click as a team, the potential is there, lets really get behind them
Post by: Naomh Pol CLG on July 17, 2011, 02:09:14 AM
Not gushing after a mediocre performance...but second half was a better. We really need Rogers back soon if we are going to repeat last years run.  King needs some help in the middle of the park.

Hopefully the team will kick on and cause a surprise next weekend, against a Cork team who will be well rested but lacking momentum and hopefully fluidity!!
Post by: Leo on July 17, 2011, 08:14:24 AM
Quote from: Naomh Pol CLG on July 17, 2011, 02:09:14 AM
Not gushing after a mediocre performance...but second half was a better. We really need Rogers back soon if we are going to repeat last years run.  King needs some help in the middle of the park.
Hopefully the team will kick on and cause a surprise next weekend, against a Cork team who will be well rested but lacking momentum and hopefully fluidity!!

Well the midfield debate will not go away. MR analysis is almost (almost) spot on but a MOM award for Dan Gordon would be based on his performance in a team that struggled far too long (mostly through over elaboration)  against really limited opposition and his direct opponent in particular.
As for King tiring and needing help, he again put in a massive load of work and Baker knew (as did Cork last year) that if you take him on a few jaunts around the park he will get out of puff - then our midfield issue really comes to the boil.
But for whitegoodman to give him 6 as against 6.5 for McKernan and McArdle suggests he, like James, is suffering from Burren myopia. The McArdle thing was a complete joke in particular - incredulity among the Down suppporters where I was.

I applauded Brannigan last week  - contrary to the view of many others - but I never thought I would say this - he was my MOM, tackling the ball and winning crucial possession when we spent so much time trying to make a rank bad Antrim team look like a threat.

I do like the word "conundrum". Last night it didn't just apply to the infuriating McKernan - it applied to the team and some weird selection issues. If Murtagh is still in the panel after seeing McArdle given a full game he must have some patience.

A 12 point win should send you home exhuberant - there was none of that from the serious Down supporters I encountered after the game scratching their heads to understand this mismash of a performance, salvaged by a quite fabulous McVeigh save when we were badly rattled, followed by burst or two of direct football and three outstanding goals.
Post by: Leo on July 17, 2011, 08:27:22 AM
A few incidental observations....

The paucity of Antrim supporters in a good-sized attendance suggests to me that gaelic football has serious problems in the massivly populated "nationalist" area of Belfast.

The constantly annoying annoucements about parked cars suggests that there was little co-operation between the GAA and local police or others to steward the area between Kennedy Way and the ground to prevent unwanted parking - surely some parking cones, signs and/or stewards on hand would have prevented this.

And the sooner they knock down the Colditz of a structure they call the stand in Casement the better - and hopefully they will decomission the bad-mannered stewards who loll about the place as well.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 17, 2011, 09:34:22 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on July 17, 2011, 08:54:28 AM
Is it true that the giant killers from the Mournes won a game in the rain?  Is this a first or was it just a fairly light drizzle?  Has the hoodoo been beaten?

The only thing you should ever do before making smart-ass comments is make sure you at least have your facts straight. While there was a bit of a shower before the game, it ended about 10 minutes before throw in and there was absolutely no rain at all during the game.

So this was probably your wee gem of wit that you were itching for an opportunity to unleash on us, but sorry you are not Oscar Wilde yet!
Post by: PAULD123 on July 17, 2011, 10:06:29 AM
Have to say that I agree with most of the comments. The analysis of WhiteGM, Mournerover and Dubh Driocht are all pretty similar and pretty much how I see it. The only main difference I have is in the pessimistic view of the game.  We didn't dominate Antrim for long periods but we did for other periods and the match is played for 70 minutes, not just the middle 20 where Antrim were competitive. Over 70 minutes we won by 12 points. Over a 70 minute performance we outclassed our opposition.

I think we are all forgetting that no championship match is easy. All these guys are fit and working hard. This is their last chance this year, they are all fighting for their season. Many teams try much harder in the qualifiers because there is no second chance. No team will lie down for us. Look, every county team in Ireland has some talent and all teams are working hard to perform. Hardly any wins in the knock out result from total domination. In most first halves the losing team is at least competitive. We are expecting total domination but in truth no team in Ireland has achieved that in a knock out match.

Now mostly I feel that you beat what is front of you. There is more in the lads and they will need to bring it next week but why shouldn't they? In each game for two years Down have risen to the challenge of the opposition. Even every game we've lost (except Cork in the league) we have been competitive to the level of the opposition and had a realistic chance of winning. The lads won a championship game by 12 points. I think they deserve a break and a bit of belief that next week they will meet the demands that are asked of them.

I'm not saying I'm confident of beating Cork but I believe we will be far from lying done for them. I believe the harder the boys need to work the harder they will work and we WILL be competitive.
Post by: norabeag on July 17, 2011, 11:11:37 AM
[ If Murtagh is still in the panel after seeing McArdle given a full game he must have some patience.
Wholeheartedly agree. His inclusion and the fact he lasted beyond 20 mins was baffling. I'm sure over the years he will bring something to the county squad, but for long periods last night he was a liabiity and King was left to plough a lone furrow.
I would also ask what does Carr have to do to get  reasonable game time.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 17, 2011, 12:28:37 PM
For Down I think some of you guys are underestimating the contribution of Conor Laverty. He was outstanding and roasted the corner back today. Your #2 was also excellent in the second half- not sure of the name. The difference between the teams was that wee bit of class that Down had in the forwards. Johnston, I thought, did quite well on Coulter as it was always damage limitation but he is a wee bit one paced sometimes and Benny's acceleration was always going to find that out. I also thought Clarke won everything put towards him and you're being a bit harsh on him although maybe what he created was less than usual.

For Antrim until about 20 minutes in we couldn't win a ball. I don't think antrim believed initially they could win the game and then finally started to believe they could towards the end of the first half. I would have been disappointed with the decision making of the forwards at times - there were, as stated before, a few times when forwards were through on goal and bad decisions were made. Also when Dan Gordon is playing full back you play low ball into his man not big looping high balls. I'm not sure what has been going on with Niblock this year - he is playing like a headless chicken and is so much better than that so hopefully a break will settle him now. I thought Brendy Herron did very well and shouldn't have been subbed, also Loughrey was his usual solid self and midfield battled well throughout. Crozier wasn't too bad either I suppose. Disappointed in Tomas McCann's displays this year and Niblock's. I thought they'd have been developing further but don't seem to have.

A big thing for Antrim I think is that they are not nearly as well conditioned as a lot of these teams they're playing. There is serious gym-work required in my view and this should be done throughout the winter. Down aren't even a big team but in midfield and defense they had a lot more physical strength. Also with more strength we could break more tackles which we're not doing when guys are going on runs.
Post by: NP 76 on July 17, 2011, 12:34:08 PM
I have to agree with the good posts by WGM and MR pretty much summed it up . I myself thought motm was a toss up between Dan Gordon and Aidan Brannigan . I really dont know what Dan has to do to get some credit with people saying he marked no none and how poor Antrim were . Dan won every ball that went his way whether in the air or on the ground a great display of tackling and blocking . Brannigan covered every blade of grass on the field his best display for Down . Glad to see Gerald Mc Cartan back and he also did very well . All in all we did what we needed to do with no big fuss quite similar to last year and we are still there . We will give Cork all they want
Post by: NP 76 on July 17, 2011, 12:37:18 PM
Is it true that the giant killers from the Mournes won a game in the rain?  Is this a first or was it just a fairly light drizzle?  Has the hoodoo been beaten?
We beat Clare and Leitrim this year with heavy showers such a stupid statement
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 17, 2011, 12:59:34 PM
Down started brightly last night and finished very strongly in the last twenty against a poor Antrim team. The scoreline probably flattered Down for all that although it yet again proved goals win games. A major improvement is required if we are going to take the scalp of Cork.
Our full back line was outstanding last night, Choc Brannigan giving his best display in a Down jersey. Gordan and McCartan done brilliant man marking jobs. Garvey struggled with Niblock while Rooney had another poor outing and is lucky to stil be holding his place, Benny McArdle was playing much better and got dropped. McKernan mixed the good with the bad, we will need a big game from him next week.
Our midfiled done righty considering we had two limited footballers at 8 and 9, couldnt believe when i heard the selection of Anton McArdle, Colgan, Fitzpatrick and Murphy must be seriously wondering. The lad gave his all but is simply not good enough for this level, an average club player imo.
In attack Laverty and Benny where again outstanding, they have a great understanding, Lavertys goal the highlight of the game. Poland hit some bad wides but played well while Clarke done well without being anywhere near his best. Doyle struggled with the pace of the game while Maginn was poor.
Mooney and McComiskey where the best of the subs.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 17, 2011, 01:06:34 PM
Leo, did u ever think of taking up intercounty management, u seem to no a lot a bout it or seem to think u do anyway.  Everybody elses opinion is wrong and u are correct!!!  If we had of had Gordon at midfield and Doyle and RHB we prob would have won by 15!!

On my ratings maybe there was a touch of burren bias but i like to think i call it how i see it.  I did give Rooney a 5 after all.

McKernan was very influential in the first 20 and the last 10 and whilst Terry O'Neill usually has a big influence on the Antrims defence but not yesterday because he had his hands full with McKernan.  IMO he was def the best of the half back line as Rooney was poor on the ball and Garvey struggled on Niblock who was involved in alot of Antrim moves and scored at least a point and was in for a goal only for a certain push.

On McArdle yes it was a surprise and maybe even a shock but do u ever think that maybe he is doing something in training that we all dont see.  Do u think Tally, McIvor and Johnston would allow a man to start just because he was from Burren.  For a man making his starting debut I thought he did alright.  Yes he made a couple of mistakes going forward which i would put down to nerves or inexperience or both but he got forward a lot, caught at least one clean catch in the second half and imo got the better of arguable Antrims better midfielder in Gallagher.  King on the other hand tried hard as usual, put in a lot of work but tired very quickly, failed to catch any clean ball and lost herron on a number of occasions who scored at least a point.  Thus my ratings of 6.5 and 6.  This is just my opionion and dont claim to be def correct in every thing say unlike some.
Post by: EagleLord on July 17, 2011, 01:07:35 PM
I sat next to a few women at the match. Shouting,
'Come on numer 23!'
'Come on 5, where were ye there!'
'Get rid of it!'
'Ach would ye kick the thing in!'
Such comments should not be shouted at football matches. I would put forward the idea that they should be banned from games.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 17, 2011, 01:15:52 PM
MDG agree with a lot of what ur saying and would say Rooney will be under increasing pressure from Benny McArdle to keep his place next wk.

On midfield it is my understanding that Murphy has left the panel and Colgen is injured, maybe somebody else can comfirm that for definite.  That leaves Fitzpatrick and McArdle.  IMO Peter hasnt been at his best and even when he came on last night he flattered to decieve again knocking the ball into the keepers hands from 35 yards.  Agree that McArdle hasnt proved at club level to be good enough to start at midfield for the county but i thought he more than held his own last night and with a bit more confidence/ experience he would have kicked over a couple of points last night.  I dont see him being dropped for next wk either no matter what a lot on this board say.  I would say Hughes for Doyle may be the only change with McArdle pushing Rooney very hard for the wing back spot.

More worryingly for me is the fact that fitzpatrick game on instead of Ambrose with the game more or less won.  This looks to mean that he is nowhere near the pace required and would raise serious doubts about any participation next wk.
Post by: earflute on July 17, 2011, 01:32:24 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on July 17, 2011, 01:07:35 PM
I sat next to a few women at the match. Shouting,
'Come on numer 23!'
'Come on 5, where were ye there!'
'Get rid of it!'
'Ach would ye kick the thing in!'
Such comments should not be shouted at football matches. I would put forward the idea that they should be banned from games.
As a woman who frequently attends games I feel compelled to say:
1. I dont think this is half as annoying as being slobbered over by stupid drunk male supporters - but it doesn't mean I make stupid sweeping statements about banning people
2. Equal to the drunk man is the aggressive swearing man who is an embarrassment to his fellow county supporters plus this guy generally doesn't have good knowledge of the team or the game
3. Your team went last night&had a reasonable performance - it says loads about you that all you can do in the wake of this is grumble about weemen on an online forum. If I was you I'd be thinking more about Cork
Finally
4. C'mon number 23 kick it. :-)
Post by: EagleLord on July 17, 2011, 06:22:37 PM
Obviously I wasn't really actually saying ban women from games! :D It was tongue in cheek! And I'm glad you replied in the same manner! Come on 23 Kick it!  ;D
Post by: Leo on July 18, 2011, 12:19:41 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 17, 2011, 01:06:34 PM
Leo, did u ever think of taking up intercounty management, u seem to no a lot a bout it or seem to think u do anyway.  Everybody elses opinion is wrong and u are correct!!!  If we had of had Gordon at midfield and Doyle and RHB we prob would have won by 15!!

On my ratings maybe there was a touch of burren bias but i like to think i call it how i see it.  I did give Rooney a 5 after all.

McKernan was very influential in the first 20 and the last 10 and whilst Terry O'Neill usually has a big influence on the Antrims defence but not yesterday because he had his hands full with McKernan.  IMO he was def the best of the half back line as Rooney was poor on the ball and Garvey struggled on Niblock who was involved in alot of Antrim moves and scored at least a point and was in for a goal only for a certain push.

On McArdle yes it was a surprise and maybe even a shock but do u ever think that maybe he is doing something in training that we all dont see.  Do u think Tally, McIvor and Johnston would allow a man to start just because he was from Burren.  For a man making his starting debut I thought he did alright.  Yes he made a couple of mistakes going forward which i would put down to nerves or inexperience or both but he got forward a lot, caught at least one clean catch in the second half and imo got the better of arguable Antrims better midfielder in Gallagher.  King on the other hand tried hard as usual, put in a lot of work but tired very quickly, failed to catch any clean ball and lost herron on a number of occasions who scored at least a point.  Thus my ratings of 6.5 and 6.  This is just my opionion and dont claim to be def correct in every thing say unlike some.
WGM are you on something? Can't debate a game wih somone who is high on sh**e.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 18, 2011, 08:05:30 AM
A very witty, intelligent and constructive response......
Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2011, 09:19:36 AM
Quote from: Leo on July 17, 2011, 08:27:22 AM

The paucity of Antrim supporters in a good-sized attendance suggests to me that gaelic football has serious problems in the massivly populated "nationalist" area of Belfast.

The constantly annoying annoucements about parked cars suggests that there was little co-operation between the GAA and local police or others to steward the area between Kennedy Way and the ground to prevent unwanted parking - surely some parking cones, signs and/or stewards on hand would have prevented this.

And the sooner they knock down the Colditz of a structure they call the stand in Casement the better - and hopefully they will decomission the bad-mannered stewards who loll about the place as well.

The Down support was boosted by new fans from East Belfast as they regard Down as the most loyal of Ulster counties ;)
Post by: Banana Man on July 18, 2011, 09:35:25 AM
Quote from: AQMP on July 18, 2011, 09:19:36 AM

The Down support was boosted by new fans from East Belfast as they regard Down as the most loyal of Ulster counties ;)

that being the case there must only be about 100 true gaels left in the whole of antrim based on the pish poor attendance by them  ;)
Post by: Leo on July 18, 2011, 09:50:56 AM
Colgan is not injured and before the break has been putting in storming performaces for An Riocht.
Post by: NP 76 on July 18, 2011, 09:54:01 AM
Thought both Colgan and Murphy had left the panel a few weeks ago
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 18, 2011, 10:16:22 AM

TYP,one would think that you really had nothing better to do than engage in juvenille twatter trying to get a rise from Down supporters on a public internet forum. Really a man in your position should know better should he not? You seem infatuated with slagging off your illustrious neighbours a tad too much. If it isnt St Colmans College, Newry its Down.
What is at the centre of all this, come on tell us all, where does all this stem from?..not the way id expect a headmaster of a local school to behave, not very befitting of your position imo.

On the game itself, we did what we had to beat a mediocre Antrim side who for large chunks of the game looked totally disinterested. Paddy Cunningham hid behind his man for most of the game and Dan Gordon destroyed thon wee fella in full forward. Only player up front for Antrim was Niblock who couldnt do it all himself. Antrim need to get alot of players back and weighing in fully. Poor showing from both the team and support said it all for me about them. (although im sure Hardstation was there in full voice supporting the Saffrons). Im just glad it didnt rain, because then we would have definitly been beaten. ;)
From a Down perspective there is a lot of room for improvement in all areas of the field, we know where the weaknesses are and also the strengths. I wouldnt get too wound up or worried about the gneral performance on saturday night, job done, move on, bigger and better teams to tackle. I just hope we can keep the scoreline resepectable against Cork, them being miles better than Down and all, oh and lets hope it doesnt rain, we dont want that now do we.
Post by: whitegoodman on July 18, 2011, 06:48:45 PM
I see Kenny Archer of the Irish News must be a Burren man.....

He gave Anton McArdle a rating of 6.5 and Kalum King only 6 ;)
Post by: PAULD123 on July 18, 2011, 07:01:08 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 18, 2011, 06:48:45 PM

McCardle played rightly. He wasn't spectacular but didn't do too much wrong. 6.5 is bout fair. I do think you were a bit harsh on Marty though, even fro his 1-04 he deserves more than 5. I think you are a bit biased on his potential as opposed to  his actual performnace. I think it was at least a 6. What did Irish News give him?
Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2011, 07:07:28 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on July 18, 2011, 07:01:08 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 18, 2011, 06:48:45 PM

McCardle played rightly. He wasn't spectacular but didn't do too much wrong. 6.5 is bout fair. I do think you were a bit harsh on Marty though, even fro his 1-04 he deserves more than 5. I think you are a bit biased on his potential as opposed to  his actual performnace. I think it was at least a 6. What did Irish News give him?

An OWC top and a photo of the Queen?
Post by: whitegoodman on July 18, 2011, 07:19:43 PM
Maybe i was a bit harsh on Marty, just didnt think he was in the game at all.  Archer gave him an 8 mostly on the basis of his free taking and the well finished goal.  Il give him that, the goal was well finished but handed on a plate to him by Benny. 

Id try to rate Marty on the same basis as everyone else and thought on the night he was every bit as bad as maginn.  Like a lot of our boys he hasnt reached the same level as last year but hopefully as with the 4th round of the qualifiers last year he and a whole lot of others can spark into life.  Otherwise we are in serious trouble as we have won our last 3 games through individual moments of magic which wont be good enough against a team like Cork.
Post by: NP 76 on July 18, 2011, 07:20:16 PM
Irish news gave Clarke an 8 too much in my opinion
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2011, 08:34:27 PM
Is "8" not Clarkes default rating no matter how well he plays?
Post by: Naomh Pol CLG on July 18, 2011, 08:40:48 PM

Funnily enough, I saw a young lad running around in a Glentoran Shirt...First time i've seen one of those at Gods game.

And we do get plenty of support from East Belfast as it is in Down...Short Strand was plastered in Red and Black last year!
Post by: glens abu on July 18, 2011, 09:17:38 PM
Yeah Belfasts Mayor was sitting behind me in the stand with his Down shirt on along with a lot of short strand Down fans.Good luck against Cork they will need it.
Post by: snoopdog on July 18, 2011, 09:20:15 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 18, 2011, 08:34:27 PM
Is "8" not Clarkes default rating no matter how well he plays?
he scored 1-04 ffs what more does he need to do.
If he scored 1-04 this sat night against Cork you would all be raving about him
Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2011, 09:23:54 PM
Quote from: Naomh Pol CLG on July 18, 2011, 08:40:48 PM

Funnily enough, I saw a young lad running around in a Glentoran Shirt...First time i've seen one of those at Gods game.

And we do get plenty of support from East Belfast as it is in Down...Short Strand was plastered in Red and Black last year!

Which club would the Short Strand boys and girls play graduate toward...Bredagh?? (genuine question)
Post by: glens abu on July 18, 2011, 09:29:11 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 18, 2011, 09:23:54 PM

Which club would the Short Strand boys and girls play graduate toward...Bredagh?? (genuine question)

I would have thought it would be St.Malachys
Post by: whitegoodman on July 18, 2011, 09:31:39 PM
Is Baker likely to stay on? Would be a big lose imo.  Think Antrim are the kind of county that thrive on outside managers although Gormley did jacksh1te whilst he was there.

Surprised Baker said Conway was def going no matter what as always thought he was a highly rated coach.  Who are the Antrim men as the selectors?
Post by: glens abu on July 18, 2011, 09:32:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2011, 09:30:20 PM
Quote from: glens abu on July 18, 2011, 09:29:11 PM

More the Market, and in Antrim.

Yeah I know but would def be the closest
Post by: glens abu on July 18, 2011, 09:34:27 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 18, 2011, 09:31:39 PM
Is Baker likely to stay on? Would be a big lose imo.  Think Antrim are the kind of county that thrive on outside managers although Gormley did jacksh1te whilst he was there.

Surprised Baker said Conway was def going no matter what as always thought he was a highly rated coach.  Who are the Antrim men as the selectors?

Did a good job but maybe has taken us as far as he can,think we need a change
Post by: imtommygunn on July 18, 2011, 09:40:22 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2011, 09:26:34 PM
Well, disappointed how it ended up as I thought we had them around half time. Once Laverty scored that goal, it really knocked the heart out of us and we were on the ropes from there. I can't believe how we opened up in front of him, very naive. He should have been hauled down long before he got a sniff at goal. Cynical, I know but still.

We got off to a rotten start, hardly getting a kick in the first 15 - 20 minutes, yet we dragged ourselves back into it well. Niblock should have put the ball in the net and would have set us up well in the second half. I think we are the only county in Ireland who miss those chances. Very frustrating. In contrast, Down got three chances and were clinical.

To be fair to Down, once they sensed blood, they were ruthless. It's hard to see them beating Cork but they have a better chance than we do.

A sad end to our championship. Onwards and upwards.

I would concur with most of this. Really thought we were in it until 5 - 10 minutes into the second half. We made some elementary mistakes and were punished. As you say we should have been more cynical.

In the grand scheme of things I wouldn't be that unhappy with the c'ship. We can definitely improve but we need our best 15 which we maybe didn't have all the time this year.  Considering we had hardly a hope of winning a game against anyone a few years ago and we had the belief for short periods of times we could beat last year's all ireland finalists you would have to say it is definite progression.  Also a couple of players who showed some great promise a few years ago could step up again.

Down people may say antrim were poor but we were in that game for a good while. Down forward line is deadly and Laverty was superb - never seen Colin Brady get a roasting like that, (Against some top players too). A bit of naivaity cost us.  I think Down may surprise people against Cork too however they really need to sort out their half back line and stop losing so much possession in defense to progress I think.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 18, 2011, 09:48:31 PM
Anton McArdle is a young player wth plenty of potential who may well be getting his chance at least a season too early. He did win possession a couple of times at Casement, but he mostly tried to break the ball and it regularly ended up in Antrim hands as a result. There were two big moments in the match for him, the first when he made a decent run down the middle before the break and only had to slip it inside for Marty to have a one on one with the keeper. Unfortunatly, he telegraphed the pass, it was intercepted by a defender and McArdle followed it up by rugby takling him and getting a yellow card. The second was after half time when he took a decent pass around the half way line and found a huge gap in front of him. He seemed to have no clear idea what to do, went on a run but messed up his toe taps and was lucky to get the chance to lay it off sideways. He may learn from the experience, but Fitzpatrick looks a better bet for Saturday.

In terms of influencing the game, there could be no comparison with Marty. He made a couple of mistakes, like everyone else, but he was always available to take control of the ball and set up attacks. He scored a fantastic goal and two of his four  coverted frees were exceptional. We are right to have high expectations of him, based on his talent, but he would be an automatic selection on any team in the country.

Finally, on the Short Strand issue, there in a club there called Sean Martins GAC. They have sometimes fielded at underage level in Co Antrim, even though as the Strand, as our Down-supporting Lord Mayor, proves, is in Co Down. There used to be another GAA club further out the Newtownards Road, called Ballyhackamore, and there were also teams in Bangor and Newtownards at one stage, but they all folded towards the start of the Troubles.

Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2011, 09:57:18 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 18, 2011, 09:48:31 PM
as our Down-supporting Lord Mayor, proves, is in Co Down. There used to be another GAA club further out the Newtownards Road, called Ballyhackamore, and there were also teams in Bangor and Newtownards at one stage, but they all folded towards the start of the Troubles.

What would you expect from those fecking opportunist Shinners! ;)
Post by: glens abu on July 18, 2011, 09:58:13 PM
Anton McArdle is a young player wth plenty of potential who may well be getting his chance at least a season too early. He did win possession a couple of times at Casement, but he mostly tried to break the ball and it regularly ended up in Antrim hands as a result. There were two big moments in the match for him, the first when he made a decent run down the middle before the break and only had to slip it inside for Marty to have a one on one with the keeper. Unfortunatly, he telegraphed the pass, it was intercepted by a defender and McArdle followed it up by rugby takling him and getting a yellow card. The second was after half time when he took a decent pass around the half way line and found a huge gap in front of him. He seemed to have no clear idea what to do, went on a run but messed up his toe taps and was lucky to get the chance to lay it off sideways. He may learn from the experience, but Fitzpatrick looks a better bet for Saturday.

In terms of influencing the game, there could be no comparison with Marty. He made a couple of mistakes, like everyone else, but he was always available to take control of the ball and set up attacks. He scored a fantastic goal and two of his four  coverted frees were exceptional. We are right to have high expectations of him, based on his talent, but he would be an automatic selection on any team in the country.

Finally, on the Short Strand issue, there in a club there called Sean Martins GAC. They have sometimes fielded at underage level in Co Antrim, even though as the Strand, as our Down-supporting Lord Mayor, proves, is in Co Down. There used to be another GAA club further out the Newtownards Road, called Ballyhackamore, and there were also teams in Bangor and Newtownards at one stage, but they all folded towards the start of the Troubles.

Yeah you are right,I forgot about Sean Martins didnt know they were still going.
Post by: glens abu on July 18, 2011, 10:05:02 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 18, 2011, 09:57:18 PM
as our Down-supporting Lord Mayor, proves, is in Co Down. There used to be another GAA club further out the Newtownards Road, called Ballyhackamore, and there were also teams in Bangor and Newtownards at one stage, but they all folded towards the start of the Troubles.

What would you expect from those fecking opportunist Shinners! ;)

Good mix at game on Sat Big G and  minister for culture there supporting Antrim.Mayor and SDLPs Pat Catney there shouting for Down.The Glens of Antrim MP for South Belfast[Co.Down] was sitting on the fence as usual. ;)
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 18, 2011, 10:06:38 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2011, 09:30:20 PM
Quote from: glens abu on July 18, 2011, 09:29:11 PM

More the Market, and in Antrim.

There is at least one player from Short Strand playing for Bredagh,and proper order as it is on the 'right' side of the Lagan. After Sean Martins withdrew from Antrim League, most of their players gave up although some went to St Malachys.However, there was at least one prominent SS resident in his Down Shirt in the VIP section on Saturday night
Post by: Naomh Pol CLG on July 19, 2011, 12:18:05 AM
There is a Gaelic club in the Short Strand, St Matthews GAC, nice bar from the outside...don't think they have any teams playing out of there though!

Also saw John O'Dowd at the game on Saturday, he was slumming it on the terrace with us poor folks!
Post by: Naomh Pol CLG on July 19, 2011, 12:31:40 AM
And on the point made about Bangor and Ards teams..St Comgalls Bangor, Scrabo Harps Ards and Thomas Russells Holywood all amalgamated in 1979 to Become St Pauls, Holywood ... They did not disband because of "the troubles"
Post by: DownFanatic on July 19, 2011, 12:47:13 AM
Used to work with a boy from the Short Strand and he was an avid Down supporter. He used to tell me about the buses that Sean Martins GAC used to run to Croker back in the 1960's to see Down.

Local sports journalist Matt Fitzpatrick had a part to play in forming the Ballyhackamore team back in the 1970's I think. They played in Down competitions for a few years.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 19, 2011, 08:46:33 AM
I slagged him before the game... but he was alright so its only fair I praise him after it.

Well done Paudie Hughes - I think his only mistake of note was the Niblock penalty that wasn't given.

Post by: AQMP on July 19, 2011, 09:15:02 AM
Quote from: Naomh Pol CLG on July 19, 2011, 12:18:05 AM
There is a Gaelic club in the Short Strand, St Matthews GAC, nice bar from the outside...don't think they have any teams playing out of there though!

Also saw John O'Dowd at the game on Saturday, he was slumming it on the terrace with us poor folks!

Almost sure this is not a GAC.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 19, 2011, 12:33:26 PM
Naomh Paul CLG will know best about his own club, but there's no doubt that Ballyhackamore folded because of the Troubles in the early 1970s and something very similar happened to Scrabo Harps of Newtownards around the same time. While the Bangor club may have struggled on for a few years, it became very risky for them to field teams. Good luck to St Paul's, who have a fine set-up at Holywood and are making a huge effort at underage level.
Post by: AQMP on July 19, 2011, 01:47:37 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 19, 2011, 12:33:26 PM
Naomh Paul CLG will know best about his own club, but there's no doubt that Ballyhackamore folded because of the Troubles in the early 1970s and something very similar happened to Scrabo Harps of Newtownards around the same time. While the Bangor club may have struggled on for a few years, it became very risky for them to field teams. Good luck to St Paul's, who have a fine set-up at Holywood and are making a huge effort at underage level.

This from Carryduff GAC website (about Matt Fitzpatrick)

He served as Secretary of Ballyhackamore GAC and when this club became defunct in 1971 he helped found Carryduff GAC a year later and brought with him, from Ballyhackamore, two of our leading players from those early days, Gerry Cullen and Mickey Leonard.
Post by: Naomh Pol CLG on July 19, 2011, 02:06:41 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 19, 2011, 09:15:02 AM
Quote from: Naomh Pol CLG on July 19, 2011, 12:18:05 AM

Almost sure this is not a GAC.

I believe that is true...It's a Sports and Socail club...I stand corrected!