Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 11:07:04 AM

Title: Good Restaurants
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 11:07:04 AM
There should be a thread for this but I can't find it. Anyway!
Can anyone give me the name of a good restaurant in longford/granard or cavan? Don't know that area at all!
Title: Re: Good Restaurants
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2011, 11:18:51 AM
Why would you pass Cavan?
(http://i412.photobucket.com/albums/pp209/maxt384/Worst-Restaurant-Names-Ever-110.jpg)
Post by: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 11:30:17 AM
Do Caslins still serve, ahem, food?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 11:56:28 AM
Jazes - surely Caslins is long gone.

Forget Granard. Know nawtin about Cavan. Phat Phuc (  :D ) looks the business though.

Longford used to have Luigis (maybe it's still there, I dunno) - a fight on a Sat night came free with the battered cod and chips.

I honestly cannot recommend a restaurant in Longford town. Most Longfordians I know, if they want to push the boat out a little, go to the Wineport in Glasson (near Athlone).

I'd say the best bet in Longford town is The Aubergine. Depends on whether you want a fight or not.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 12:03:29 PM
I had a bitagrub in some place on Ballymahon St. a few years ago and it wasn't bad.  Sure there's a McDonalds beside Pearse Park; they might even get in some mushy peas if they heard there was a few coming from Tyrone. 
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 12:30:40 PM
Doesn't sound good for the area - think i'll wait til i get back to Tyrone and stick to the good food I know! Might be a bit late though!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2011, 12:32:50 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 11:56:28 AM
I honestly cannot recommend a restaurant in Longford town. Most Longfordians I know, if they want to push the boat out a little, go to the Wineport in Glasson (near Athlone).

The Wineport is ok but way overpriced, trading on its tv outings on The Restaurant. Better restaurants in my book in/around Athlone.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 05, 2011, 12:40:43 PM
Caseys Steak House in Ballinagh?  Is it still going?

Little Sicily in middle of Cavan Town.  Generic Italian Food but good.

KFC on Dublin Road which was recommended/metioned by Jinxy in a previous Thread.

Where in Longford is Ballymahon Street.  The Black Olive. http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g315879-d795324-Reviews-Black_olive-Longford_County_Longford.html
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 05, 2011, 01:12:07 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 11:07:04 AM
There should be a thread for this but I can't find it. Anyway!
Can anyone give me the name of a good restaurant in longford/granard or cavan? Don't know that area at all!
http://www.findarestaurant.ie/Restaurants_In_Cavan.htm

McNeans in blacklion is great.
however you have to book a couple of months in advance.
Sunday lunch best value and fantastic.

the pikers pub in Gowna serves great food, the sunday carvery wonderful.

a pub in cavan town called the black horse I think it is, across from the new Dunnes stores on the main shopping st - food was exceptional one saturday a few months back when we were in.

Theres a place near butlersbridge called the 'olde post inn' which had a great reputation years ago...hear its still good but have not been to it yet.

dont think theres feck all in Longford foodwise- a couple of good bars though.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 01:25:06 PM
QuoteWhere in Longford is Ballymahon Street.  The Black Olive.

That sounds familiar alright.  Have you heard of Google maps - will tell you a lot better than me.  :P
Post by: attheraces on September 04, 2011, 11:05:59 AM
Can anyone recommend a restaurant in portadown/lurgan/moira area for a good Sunday carvery?
Post by: sammymaguire on September 04, 2011, 01:22:49 PM
Quote from: attheraces on September 04, 2011, 11:05:59 AM
Can anyone recommend a restaurant in portadown/lurgan/moira area for a good Sunday carvery?

Silverbridge Restaurant
Post by: Armaghgael on September 04, 2011, 01:32:10 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on September 04, 2011, 01:22:49 PM

Silverbridge Restaurant

Stonebridge
Post by: Tyrones own on September 04, 2011, 03:09:43 PM
The Corner House, Craigavon.
Post by: under the bar on September 04, 2011, 09:25:45 PM
The Tannery in Moira is deadly.   It's actually in Glenavy but they advertise it as Moira for some reason!
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 04, 2011, 11:46:06 PM
Quote from: under the bar on September 04, 2011, 09:25:45 PM
The Tannery in Moira is deadly.   It's actually in Glenavy but they advertise it as Moira for some reason!
Wha? Sure it's closer to Balinderry (the other one) and Moira than Glenavy?
Post by: Don Johnson on September 05, 2011, 09:42:48 AM
Yeah it is just right off the Moira roundabout.

Whoever mentioned the Corner House, don't listen to them.

The Planters in Waringstown does a nice carvery as does the Stonebridge as mentioned already.
Post by: seafoid on September 05, 2011, 03:54:39 PM
The Icehouse in Ballina is very impressive. Lovely location on the Moy and the food is excellent.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2011, 04:04:55 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 05, 2011, 03:54:39 PM
The Icehouse in Ballina is very impressive. Lovely location on the Moy and the food is excellent.
A bit inconvenient for a Sunday carvery if you live between Portadown and Moira.  ;)
Post by: laoislad on September 05, 2011, 04:17:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2011, 04:04:55 PM
A bit inconvenient for a Sunday carvery if you live between Portadown and Moira.  ;)

Wouldn't be a first time a thread went away from the original question.

The Leopardstown Inn in Dublin has as good a carvery as you will get anywhere.(Unless your from the North of course because everything is better up there.)
Post by: seafoid on September 05, 2011, 05:18:59 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2011, 04:04:55 PM

the week of the twelfth the area is full of residents of Portydown and Moira.
Post by: clubland on September 05, 2011, 06:51:12 PM
Viscount dungannon,best eating house in the wee six
Post by: thebigfella on September 05, 2011, 07:04:51 PM
Quote from: clubland on September 05, 2011, 06:51:12 PM
::) ::) ::)

Overpriced muck for people who know nothing about food and full of snobs. Probably one of the most underwhelming places I've ever ate in and most deffinately still living off it's reputation 15 years ago when there was no real competition to compare it against.
Post by: clubland on September 05, 2011, 08:50:58 PM
The bigfella you are clearly a vegetarian,or a chef in a rival restaurant in that area,how is business in the gables these days?
Post by: laceer on September 05, 2011, 08:59:05 PM
Viscounts isn't even the best restaurant in Dungannon
Post by: NP 76 on September 05, 2011, 09:00:13 PM
Like the Viscount myself good feed
Post by: clubland on September 05, 2011, 09:28:56 PM
What's the best restaurant in dungannon? Surely not cano's
Post by: laceer on September 05, 2011, 09:31:45 PM
Deli on the green by a mile
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2011, 09:44:50 PM
Discussing the best restaurant in Dungannon is like deciding on the best floater in Casement's bogs.
Post by: clubland on September 05, 2011, 09:57:05 PM
Tony baloney what would be your choice of restaurant,ps your better going to the bogs in biddy duffys before you go in
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2011, 10:26:07 PM
Quote from: clubland on September 05, 2011, 09:57:05 PM
Tony baloney what would be your choice of restaurant,ps your better going to the bogs in biddy duffys before you go in
Fat Sams, Armagh.
Post by: Candyman on September 06, 2011, 12:40:37 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2011, 10:26:07 PM
Quote from: clubland on September 05, 2011, 09:57:05 PM
Fat Sams, Armagh.

Gone to the absolute Dogs.... (and i'm by far a picky whore)
Post by: thebigfella on September 06, 2011, 06:43:41 AM
Quote from: clubland on September 05, 2011, 08:50:58 PM
The bigfella you are clearly a vegetarian,or a chef in a rival restaurant in that area,how is business in the gables these days?

Best eating in the North? Seriously? Name me 5 other top class restaurants in the north you have been to that you can compare against?

Do you go there every week at the same time and order the same thing on the menu? Are you the sort of sad predictable person the staff know the order before you even open you mouth.
Post by: tbrick18 on September 06, 2011, 03:47:26 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on September 05, 2011, 07:04:51 PM

Overpriced muck for people who know nothing about food and full of snobs. Probably one of the most underwhelming places I've ever ate in and most deffinately still living off it's reputation 15 years ago when there was no real competition to compare it against.

Deli on the Green best in Dungannon, Green's winebar not bad either.
Bank house very good and I hear the golf club is deadly but never been.
There's an australian restaurant in Armagh called urulu which is excellent.
The Ryandale in the Moy does a good Sunday carvery too, though I'm told it's hit and miss, it's always been a hit any time I was there.

Best I've been to in a long time though is in Draperstown....I kid you not. It's called Apparro, but you need to book well in advance to get in.
Post by: screenexile on September 06, 2011, 04:01:13 PM
Depends what you are looking for.

Best restaurant I've eaten in for some time is The Potted Hen in Belfast. The first time I've actually raved about a restaurant.

Around Mid Ulster for decent reasonably priced food you're talking the Otter Lodge in Cookstown or Sizzlers in Magherafelt.

For somewhere a bit more upmarket Yoko has a great reputaion up in Coleraine, Apparo (If you're that way inclined I'm not their biggest fan it's pricey and takes a long time) and probably Gardiners in Magherafelt which is also a little pricey.
Post by: tyrone girl on September 07, 2011, 12:23:56 PM
Viscounts is just ok. Nothing wrong with it but wouldnt rave about it either. Overpriced for what you get in my opinion.
Sizzlers is Magherafelt is nice. Also have to mention me old faithful The Tilley Lamp in ardboe. Class feeding.
Post by: sheamy on September 07, 2011, 04:17:12 PM
If you like Chinese, the Water Margin in Coleraine is the best in the land
Post by: clubland on September 07, 2011, 10:36:34 PM
1. The ramore portrush 2. 55 Degrees North portrush 3. The exchange Derry 4.  2 Taps Wine Bar Belfast 5. Sizzlers magherafelt. Put a fiver of red in your 406 estate the big fella,throw out the the sheep dog,treat the woman in one of these fine spots!
Post by: screenexile on September 07, 2011, 11:38:22 PM
Quote from: clubland on September 07, 2011, 10:36:34 PM
1. The ramore portrush 2. 55 Degrees North portrush 3. The exchange Derry 4.  2 Taps Wine Bar Belfast 5. Sizzlers magherafelt. Put a fiver of red in your 406 estate the big fella,throw out the the sheep dog,treat the woman in one of these fine spots!

How could I forget about the Ramore and the Exchange?? It's too longsince I've eaten in either I'd say . . . Good shout!!!!
Post by: paco on December 08, 2011, 11:29:51 AM
What would be the best Italian restaurant around the Belfast area? Any other recommendations in Belfast for something a bit different?
Post by: screenexile on December 08, 2011, 11:43:37 AM
Quote from: paco on December 08, 2011, 11:29:51 AM
What would be the best Italian restaurant around the Belfast area? Any other recommendations in Belfast for something a bit different?

There are 3 that are owned by the same crowd (I think). Scalini's on Botanic, Speranza in Shaftesbury Square and Villa Italia on University Street. They're all much of a muchness and very close together. Personally I like Villa Italia.
Post by: Olly on December 08, 2011, 12:51:31 PM
Villa Italia is an exceptional restaurant. They serve food from all over the world but especially Italy. The waiters dress smartly and the waitresses are careful with plates.
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 20, 2015, 06:58:10 PM
Myself and herself are going to Dublin next weekend.

I haven't spent a lot of time in Dublin so any recommendations for somewhere to eat would be great.
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 20, 2015, 07:05:49 PM
Fade Street is excellent but you might struggle to get seats.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 07:13:33 PM
Depends on what you're after and how much the budget is.

Green 19, Coppinger Row and One Pico would be three of my favourites. You can get a great early bird deal in the latter two I think. On the other side of the river, the Winding Stair is bloody fantastic, gives you a big massive feed and again has a cracking early bird.
Post by: general_lee on August 20, 2015, 07:21:25 PM
Coppinger Row is brilliant but portion sizes can be a bit on the stingy side. The unsophisticated culchie in me wasn't impressed.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 08:04:30 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 20, 2015, 07:21:25 PM
Coppinger Row is brilliant but portion sizes can be a bit on the stingy side. The unsophisticated culchie in me wasn't impressed.

I'd agree with that in fairness. Thankfully most times I've been has been with work where one of the leads had connections to the place.

Chop House in Sandymount is very good too. If staying central, there's an Italian on Parliament Street that all the Italians I work with rave about. Can't mind the name of the place but it was tasty the only time I went.
Post by: Rois on August 20, 2015, 08:26:40 PM
Joe - Chapter One is brilliant but you're unlikely to want to spend the money  :P
Would echo Winding Stair, and the downstairs bar area of the Merrion is surprisingly casual.
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 20, 2015, 08:42:51 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 07:13:33 PM

We don't get away too often, so budget should be OK.  I'd be more concerned with portion sizes.  We like a decent feed, as opposed to a fancy one ;)
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 08:47:03 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on August 20, 2015, 08:42:51 PM

We don't get away too often, so budget should be OK.  I'd be more concerned with portion sizes.  We like a decent feed, as opposed to a fancy one ;)

Winding Stair or One Pico then for me. Winding stair will give you really good food and a full belly. Two of you could prob have three courses and a bottle of wine for 100 euro. One Pico bit more fine dining but food is exceptional. Three courses and wine for two for about 170.
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 20, 2015, 08:51:23 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 08:47:03 PM

Winding Stair or One Pico then for me. Winding stair will give you really good food and a full belly. Two of you could prob have three courses and a bottle of wine for 100 euro. One Pico bit more fine dining but food is exceptional. Three courses and wine for two for about 170.

Cheers Gallsman.  Sounds like the Winding Stair.  I'd presume you'd need to book it for a table at the weekend?
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 11:04:16 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on August 20, 2015, 08:51:23 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 08:47:03 PM

Cheers Gallsman.  Sounds like the Winding Stair.  I'd presume you'd need to book it for a table at the weekend?

Yup but if you give them a ring tomorrow you should still be able to get a table for Sat.
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on August 28, 2015, 03:36:35 PM
Planning on going to the Ramore tomorrow, is it worth the hype? I only ask because the weather gives it especially shitty and might leave it for another day...

Just in passing the other comments cant help but throw in my 2cents worth.. Viscount in Dungannon over rated, Brewers House in Donaghmore I really love although there's many I speak to have their issues with it (Too big a menu and service) I however think it's top class.

In Dublin we recently found Farmer Brown's just in the south side down by the Aviva - fantastic for a brunch just before goin to Croker, although it may be a while before I'm in need of it again  ::)

Yellow Door in Portadown very nice for brunch too
Post by: Denn Forever on August 28, 2015, 04:42:46 PM
The Ceder Tree.  Beside the International Bar.  Lebanese Food so good for Meat eaters and Vegetarians. Try the Mesa which is a mixture of all the dishes.

Beware the Lebenese coffee unless you are staying up all night.

http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g186605-d692976-Reviews-The_Cedar_Tree-Dublin_County_Dublin.html
Post by: ONeill on August 29, 2015, 08:46:56 AM
Quote from: Soup an Samajiz on August 28, 2015, 03:36:35 PM
Planning on going to the Ramore tomorrow, is it worth the hype? I only ask because the weather gives it especially shitty and might leave it for another day...

Just in passing the other comments cant help but throw in my 2cents worth.. Viscount in Dungannon over rated, Brewers House in Donaghmore I really love although there's many I speak to have their issues with it (Too big a menu and service) I however think it's top class.

In Dublin we recently found Farmer Brown's just in the south side down by the Aviva - fantastic for a brunch just before goin to Croker, although it may be a while before I'm in need of it again  ::)

Have you booked the Ramore? Bastard-sized queues if you haven't.
Post by: Armamike on August 29, 2015, 02:09:31 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 29, 2015, 08:46:56 AM

Have you booked the Ramore? b**tard-sized queues if you haven't.

The Harbour next door (same owners) is better for food imo. 
Post by: screenexile on August 29, 2015, 02:57:16 PM
Quote from: Armamike on August 29, 2015, 02:09:31 PM

Yeah the Harbour Bistro and the Mermaid are both better than the Ramore!
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on September 06, 2015, 04:46:18 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 29, 2015, 02:57:16 PM
Quote from: Armamike on August 29, 2015, 02:09:31 PM

Yeah the Harbour Bistro and the Mermaid are both better than the Ramore!

Bis speak!
Post by: general_lee on January 11, 2016, 01:27:25 PM

Finally got round to sampling this Viscounts place. I always suspected Tyrone people lacked finesse, well I got confirmation after dining here. I went in with an open mind but jees that was a let down. Not bad but definitely NOT good. Wouldn't go back. Especially with Malachy Cush swanning around getting his photo took

On an aside I was in Cavan last week and had a feed in the Blackhorse. Good value and great service, for a pub!
Post by: smort on January 11, 2016, 01:33:59 PM

Much prefer Brewers House in Donaghmore a few miles out the road.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 11, 2016, 01:36:12 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 11, 2016, 01:27:25 PM

Finally got round to sampling this Viscounts place. I always suspected Tyrone people lacked finesse, well I got confirmation after dining here. I went in with an open mind but jees that was a let down. Not bad but definitely NOT good. Wouldn't go back. Especially with Malachy Cush swanning around getting his photo took

On an aside I was in Cavan last week and had a feed in the Blackhorse. Good value and great service, for a pub!
You are correct on all counts about Tyrone people and Viscount's in general. Haven't been in it for years and maybe it was a beacon back when there weren't many decent restaurants about but I thought it was very, very average. Like The Old Barn in Markethill and The Famous Grouse Loughgall. All came with recommendations from locals but I would say all are spots for people who like "a wile feed". There is nothing wrong with a wile feed but it has to taste nice too. The one criticism I have of all of these places is the lack of seasoning on food. I brought it up withsomeone who worked in one of these places and they said that rural people generally like plain food and can add their own salt and pepper if required.  ???
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 11, 2016, 01:38:05 PM
Quote from: smort on January 11, 2016, 01:33:59 PM

Much prefer Brewers House in Donaghmore a few miles out the road.

+1 on Brewers house

Always had a good feed in it and would rate it above Viscounts. (although Viscounts certainly isn't bad)
Post by: Don Johnson on January 11, 2016, 01:40:23 PM
Was in Coppi in Belfast on Saturday night, as good a feed as I have had in ages. Can't wait to go back which is always a good sign.
Post by: general_lee on January 11, 2016, 01:52:40 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 11, 2016, 01:36:12 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 11, 2016, 01:27:25 PM

You are correct on all counts about Tyrone people and Viscount's in general. Haven't been in it for years and maybe it was a beacon back when there weren't many decent restaurants about but I thought it was very, very average. Like The Old Barn in Markethill and The Famous Grouse Loughgall. All came with recommendations from locals but I would say all are spots for people who like "a wile feed". There is nothing wrong with a wile feed but it has to taste nice too. The one criticism I have of all of these places is the lack of seasoning on food. I brought it up withsomeone who worked in one of these places and they said that rural people generally like plain food and can add their own salt and pepper if required.  ???
The place bunged too lol

I'm all in favour of a good ating session, but I prefer it in carvery form and ideally with a hangover at a reasonable price. If they were in belfast they'd be crucified with their pricing
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2016, 02:54:42 PM
Had lunch in Sweet Afton last week, was great if a bit expensive.. plenty food on your plate too
Post by: Rois on January 11, 2016, 02:56:41 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2016, 02:54:42 PM
Had lunch in Sweet Afton last week, was great if a bit expensive.. plenty food on your plate too
My new favourite spot, had lunch there on Friday too with some friends.  Thought the express menu was decent value.  We had a Christmas do at it for 18 people and everyone raved about the food afterwards.
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2016, 03:02:16 PM
Oranmore Lodge Co Galway

Fabulous lunch in a great location.
Post by: Man Marker on January 11, 2016, 03:32:27 PM
One of the best restaurants that I have ate in is 'Church Street' Restaurant in Magherafelt, it is slightly pricey, and you do not get a 'wile feed', but the cooking is of a very high quality.
Post by: smort on January 11, 2016, 03:44:16 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on January 11, 2016, 03:32:27 PM
One of the best restaurants that I have ate in is 'Church Street' Restaurant in Magherafelt, it is slightly pricey, and you do not get a 'wile feed', but the cooking is of a very high quality.

Quality food in Church Street
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2016, 03:50:10 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 11, 2016, 02:56:41 PM
My new favourite spot, had lunch there on Friday too with some friends.  Thought the express menu was decent value.  We had a Christmas do at it for 18 people and everyone raved about the food afterwards.

we were greedy though... Id the seafood chowder, followed by steak!! misses had the Pate for starters, fish cakes for main (which were massive) Bottle of wine, A Guinness and two cocktails!!

If was just heading in for a quick bite I couldn't recommend the Chowder highly enough... was a serious big pot and the wheaten was lovely!
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2016, 05:23:20 PM
What are the wine lists like up North?
Post by: armaghniac on January 11, 2016, 06:58:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2016, 05:23:20 PM

Generally Blue Nun,  Beaujolais nouveau and some Albanian fizzy stuff.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 11, 2016, 08:49:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2016, 03:50:10 PM

we were greedy though... Id the seafood chowder, followed by steak!! misses had the Pate for starters, fish cakes for main (which were massive) Bottle of wine, A Guinness and two cocktails!!

If was just heading in for a quick bite I couldn't recommend the Chowder highly enough... was a serious big pot and the wheaten was lovely!
Your missus not drinking?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 11, 2016, 08:51:01 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 11, 2016, 06:58:11 PM

You forgot Black Tower over ice.
Post by: Mikhailov on January 11, 2016, 09:19:19 PM

Jeez MR2 - that's some feed you and the missus had for a lunchtime bite. Wouldn't like to feeding you both in the evening time with food or drink !!
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2016, 11:02:19 PM

Yeah but I was in  prod restaurant in Down and the wine list was fabulous .
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2016, 11:35:11 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on January 11, 2016, 09:19:19 PM

Jeez MR2 - that's some feed you and the missus had for a lunchtime bite. Wouldn't like to feeding you both in the evening time with food or drink !!

Headed round to Rita's had few drinks got train home and had the cheek to get a pizza!! Was like the guy from Monty Python meaning of life "would sir like a mint?" "no, f**k off, I'm full!"
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 12, 2016, 12:17:26 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2016, 11:02:19 PM

Care to narrow it down a bit for us.
Post by: seafoid on January 12, 2016, 01:08:54 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 12, 2016, 12:17:26 AM

It was near Ballykinlar and not far from Newcastle but I can't remember exactly. Something like the village inn
It felt very Protestant anyway. 
Post by: downtown on January 12, 2016, 03:58:18 PM
digbys, killylea, armagh
yellow heifier, camlough, armagh
murphys, meigh, armagh
monisterboice inn
caseys steak house, ballinagh
fiddlers, carrickmacross

get a great steak in all them spots
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 12, 2016, 04:10:24 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 12, 2016, 01:08:54 AM

It was near Ballykinlar and not far from Newcastle but I can't remember exactly. Something like the village inn

that would have been the Dundrum Inn. Not sure what foot it kicks with.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 12, 2016, 04:11:07 PM
Ask for the Blue Nun and you'll find out.
Post by: seafoid on January 12, 2016, 04:25:59 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on January 12, 2016, 04:10:24 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 12, 2016, 01:08:54 AM

that would have been the Dundrum Inn. Not sure what foot it kicks with.
That was it. Very nice place where the chef has a good imagination. Down is a fantastic county to visit. I was talking Mayobridge football all the way back to where we were staying.
Post by: awideisneverasgood on January 12, 2016, 04:27:12 PM
Can anybody recommend a decent restaurant in Cavan town?
Post by: seafoid on January 12, 2016, 04:33:37 PM
Quote from: awideisneverasgood on January 12, 2016, 04:27:12 PM
Seanit Johnstons Inn where the piece de resistance is black lamb sautéed in flour bags and left to fester kimchi style for over 2 years. Served with humble pie and seasonal vegetables.
Post by: general_lee on January 12, 2016, 04:36:29 PM
I was in the Blackhorse last week. It's a pub/restaurant, good menu and service and nice atmosphere.
Post by: Clov on January 12, 2016, 04:37:00 PM
Quote from: downtown on January 12, 2016, 03:58:18 PM
digbys, killylea, armagh
murphys, meigh, armagh
monisterboice inn
fiddlers, carrickmacross

Went there over the Christmas. Wasn't very impressed. Didn't have the steak mind you.
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 03:13:07 PM
The old barracks in Athenry. Proper coffee and great sandwiches.
Post by: Denn Forever on January 13, 2016, 06:01:48 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 12, 2016, 04:36:29 PM
I was in the Blackhorse last week. It's a pub/restaurant, good menu and service and nice atmosphere.

Agree but there  is also a new restaurant attached to the Farnham Arms Hotel (Nua? on Main St. and good bar food in McMahons a little further down the street.  There is also a restaurant attached to  the Cavan Crystal hotel and the Kilmore Hotel both on the Dublin road. The Seven Horseshoes in Belturbet (about 8 miles from Cavan Towwn)..
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on January 14, 2016, 09:53:50 AM
Found an absolute gem last night in Belfast. Out for a meal with friends and they took us to "The Shed" on the Ormeau Road. Waiter explained they were rolling out their new menu for the first time... everything that came down was first class
Post by: Applesisapples on February 01, 2016, 02:37:52 PM
Quote from: Clov on January 12, 2016, 04:37:00 PM
Quote from: downtown on January 12, 2016, 03:58:18 PM
digbys, killylea, armagh
murphys, meigh, armagh
monisterboice inn
fiddlers, carrickmacross

Went there over the Christmas. Wasn't very impressed. Didn't have the steak mind you.
Monisterboice and The Yellow Heifer are a no for me. Both over priced and the steaks poor quality.
The Halfway House, Banbridge, Vanilla in New Castle and Howard St in Belfast would be in my top ten also the Tannery the bar not the restaurant.
Post by: seafoid on February 01, 2016, 03:41:15 PM
Tony Fearon drew attention to the shocking state of football in Armagh and Down. Too many steak dinners may be responsible.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on February 01, 2016, 03:53:15 PM
No. They are just shite.