GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: boro on July 01, 2011, 12:00:09 PM

Title: Wexford v The Dubs. Leinster Final
Post by: boro on July 01, 2011, 12:00:09 PM
Don't see any thread up on this yet.

Dublin are red hot favourites (and rightly so) but i know the Wexford team are quietly confident. The memories of the 2008 showing are still raw for us Wexford supporters, but we will be hoping for a performance closer to last year when we really should have beaten the Dubs in the first round. In my opinion this Wexford team is far better than the one that reached the all-ireland semi in 2008. Much stronger at midfiled, tighter full back line and a better spread of scoring forwards. (but minus Matty). How we deal with the two Brogans is going to be key for us, stop them and you stop the dubs (but how you do it is a different story).

What de ye reckon?

Title: Re: Wexford v The Dubs. Leinster Final
Post by: Denn Forever on July 01, 2011, 12:09:49 PM
Its hard to anything but a Dublin win but Connolly would be the one I'd be worried about (that is if hes allowed to finish the 70 minutes).  Wexford are a dynamic, perpetual motion team but then again so are Kildare.

I'm hoping that Wexford don't freeze and Dublin don't hype themselves out of it.

Dublin I reckon.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2011, 12:13:22 PM
Very good Wexford team but the full back line is the achilles heel, the Brogans and Connolly will tear it apart. I'd start Banville the next day and take Redmond out to the 40 where he's more influential. The game will be won in the middle third I feel, whoever comes out on top here and feeds early ball inside will win as both forward lines are stronger than the opposing defenses. McCauley is out I'd say so a lot depends on how Fennell/McConnell slot in, Dubs by 4 I'd say.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2011, 12:28:54 PM
Was an interested spectator at the Carlow game, Adrian Flynn really impressed me for Wexford, looks a natural talent. However Carlow were the better team in the 1st half against Wexford and based on that and Wexfords lack of midfield, really can't see anything but a Dublin victory.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 01, 2011, 04:01:03 PM
I saw the Dubs were 1/6 with paddypower, bit short?? 
Post by: ardchieftain on July 01, 2011, 04:44:28 PM
Can't see Wexford winning but they will give the dubs a run for their money.
Will be backing Wexford on the handicap methinks
Post by: ross4life on July 01, 2011, 08:05:21 PM
Wexford at 5-1  :o  & gave the dubs a fright the last time they played them. Wexford have four good scoring forwards that will trouble Dublin's back line but key to winning or losing will be how they hold Dublin's forward power.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 01, 2011, 09:33:49 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2011, 12:28:54 PM
Was an interested spectator at the Carlow game, Adrian Flynn really impressed me for Wexford, looks a natural talent. However Carlow were the better team in the 1st half against Wexford and based on that and Wexfords lack of midfield, really can't see anything but a Dublin victory.
Thought that carlows fans made the first half seem like the teams were competing. A gallant effort from a team with new found confidence and momentum. Wexford got steadily better until the gam was over after 45 mins. They took it handy after that. Wexford are big and their midfield huge- Inc the two midfield subs that came on!
They destroyed the highly rated twin 6'5" Brendan Murphy and former Wicklow owned star Tommy(?) Walsh - when he was soon moved back I lar Na pairce.
Wexford have a 2-2-2 forward formation with breaking ball winners alongside midfielders . 4 scoring forwards and bringing banville on too!
IMO they could very realistically beat Dublin if the dubs show the same problems in attack and midfield next day out ( Kildare didn't fully fire and their key men got inj which helped Dublin)
I cannot believe how people are writing Wexford off! I can see them winning it!
I've been wrong before!
Post by: Hill16 Blues on July 01, 2011, 10:17:04 PM
Dublin were comfortable and in control v Kildare till o'gara got the line. Dublin defense looks very solid now and attack has ability to score hatful of goals. Both against Laoise & Kildare Dublin could have/should have had 4/5 goals. Midfield though not settled with injuries and changing of plairing for each game. Dublin do still win decent supply of ball however. Wexford do look like decent team and am sure will put it up to Dublin as they did last year. They've put up big scores in each game plus they've played and have confidence & momentum coming into game. Fair play to them.

Think though when all is said and done Dublin are battle hardened team who themselves are building momentum and confidence. Not quite firing fully yet but should have a bit to spare. Will definitely not be 23 point win this time - 4/5 I would expect.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2011, 10:51:35 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 01, 2011, 09:33:49 PM
Thought that carlows fans made the first half seem like the teams were competing. A gallant effort from a team with new found confidence and momentum. Wexford got steadily better until the gam was over after 45 mins. They took it handy after that. Wexford are big and their midfield huge- Inc the two midfield subs that came on!
They destroyed the highly rated twin 6'5" Brendan Murphy and former Wicklow owned star Tommy(?) Walsh - when he was soon moved back I lar Na pairce.
Wexford have a 2-2-2 forward formation with breaking ball winners alongside midfielders . 4 scoring forwards and bringing banville on too!
IMO they could very realistically beat Dublin if the dubs show the same problems in attack and midfield next day out ( Kildare didn't fully fire and their key men got inj which helped Dublin)
I've been wrong before!

you must have been enjoying that corporate hospitality too much, Wexford's midfield was big and ponderous. Jason Ryan seemed to agree, he took them both off, I had the pleasure of sitting behind him for most of the game...
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 01, 2011, 11:38:50 PM
IMO he took them off after they had destroyed their highly regarded illustrious direct opponents - to blood two alternatives with match time for the next day out. The big Doyle chap user to be a regular starter - maybe he is being eased back into it.... Either way wexfords midfielders easily won their battles and their team dominated the midfield area- both Carlow lads sought refuge on the wings to try to win some ball as they couldnt hack it in the centre zone!
Jason Ryan also replaced Barry with bannville , wasn't because red wad playing badly ...but to give another contender game time.
IMO obv  - but I think Wexford have the tools, the only question is their temperament ad they have bottled it on many occasions Inc last year ( or was it the year before) on that wet day in croker when streets ahead and Dublin beat, they capitulated. Imo this is their biggest problem - the mental strength and belief aspect , they have the players and the tactician manager!
Post by: boro on July 01, 2011, 11:44:07 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2011, 10:51:35 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 01, 2011, 09:33:49 PM
I've been wrong before!

you must have been enjoying that corporate hospitality too much, Wexford's midfield was big and ponderous. Jason Ryan seemed to agree, he took them both off, I had the pleasure of sitting behind him for most of the game...

In fairness Dinny, the wexford midfield destroyed their offaly and westmeath counterparts and did the same to a much vaunted Carlow pairing in the second half of the game. They were taken off when the match was won. If they don't win clean ball they nearly always break it for the likes of Morris and Bradley to hoover up. That's the reason why one of the best u-21 midfielders in the country is warming the bench

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 02, 2011, 08:07:25 AM
Hmm, no question they dominated the 2nd half but for long periods in the first half I thought Carlow were on top there, must have been watching a different game, wouldn't be first time  :-[

I think Wexford's biggest issue going into this game is that they will be very undercooked, they've had 3 games that have turned into facile victories, Dublin would have learned a lot more about themselves after the Kildare game, if the game is tight that experience will be fresh in there minds. 

I think Jason Ryan is doing a fantastic job but I don't think his middle 8 won't be able to compete with the power and pace of Dublin, they have a fighters chance but need 3 goals to win it (not beyond the realms of possibility).
Post by: boro on July 02, 2011, 09:29:55 AM
If wexford play like they did in the first half against carlow, Dublin will beat us out the gate. We were lucky that Carlow didn't have any forwards to hurt us. Dublin will be a whole different ball game. I'd be hoping that half was an anomaly and it's out of the lads system now. Being favourites obviously didn't suit us. The good thing about the team this year is that we have been putting teams to the sword in the second half so Jason obviously has them super fit. I'm looking forward to the final in hope rather than confidence, but here's hoping :)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 04, 2011, 09:00:42 PM
As a dublin fan I hope its a draw............more games the better for us
Post by: Offalylad on July 04, 2011, 10:03:42 PM
Would love to se Wexford do it but I can't see it happening. I don't see the  Wexford defence holding up,  Niall McNamee really destroyed them,  I think Brogan and co can do the same .
Post by: heffo on July 04, 2011, 10:31:29 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 04, 2011, 09:00:42 PM

Thats the only positive I can draw from it - I'm seriously unmotivated about it.

Hope Henry, Fennell & McConnell get some game time too..
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 05, 2011, 12:54:42 AM
Quote from: heffo on July 04, 2011, 10:31:29 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 04, 2011, 09:00:42 PM

Thats the only positive I can draw from it - I'm seriously unmotivated about it.

Hope Henry, Fennell & McConnell get some game time too..

I want to see mc connell and fennell start in the middle...............its time for fennell to step up big time, he has not done anything yet for us, both him and ross need 70 mins plus regardless if they are flat out during the game, this is our Achilles heel at the moment - midfield

Id bring cahill into the hb;s and save henry for a switch with cullen around the 50 minute mark...................... the lads really need to step it up after a lazy second half against geezers huddle brigade, and I think bernard needs to hit the oul onion sack.......................I hope wexford put in a serious display, id leave ogara on the bench for this one, hes limited enough and Id save him for the last 10 minutes in games if we need to launch the ball into someone, hes a liability at the mo and needs to learn a lesson

Cannot see a crowd of more than 40 thousand, ill go for a dub win, dubs 3-14, wex 1-13
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 05, 2011, 02:06:36 PM
[quote author=squire_in_navy_slacks link=topic=19694.msg983761#msg983761
I want to see mc connell and fennell start in the middle...............its time for fennell to step up big time, he has not done anything yet for us, both him and ross need 70 mins plus regardless if they are flat out during the game, this is our Achilles heel at the moment - midfield

Id bring cahill into the hb;s and save henry for a switch with cullen around the 50 minute mark...................... the lads really need to step it up after a lazy second half against geezers huddle brigade, and I think bernard needs to hit the oul onion sack.......................I hope wexford put in a serious display, id leave ogara on the bench for this one, hes limited enough and Id save him for the last 10 minutes in games if we need to launch the ball into someone, hes a liability at the mo and needs to learn a lesson

Cannot see a crowd of more than 40 thousand, ill go for a dub win, dubs 3-14, wex 1-13
i'd like to see
cluxton
Conlon O'Carroll Brogan
Cahill Brennan Nolan
McConnell/Bastick Fennell
Flynn A Brogan Cullen
B Brogan Connolly Lally (3rd Midfield - sorry Heffo !!!)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 07, 2011, 05:21:36 PM
Two tickets have fallen into our lap so we are going to give them away plus throw in a few free pints after the game.
If anyone is interested just PM me and we will pick a random winner at noon tomorrow.

We are doing an event on Sunday in Dtwo on Harcourt St if anyone is around. Munster Final will also be shown.
Pints from €3.

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=144234642319809
Post by: Hill16 Blues on July 07, 2011, 05:30:27 PM
Leinster Council only expecting 50k for game but as with Kildare game will probably get few 000s more than that if weather is anyway decent. Long way from 80k in recent years!

This is the most low key build up to a Leinster final involving Dublin I can ever remember! Even Dublin radio stations & papers showing little interest/excitement about game. Presume at this point it's All Ireland or nothing for Dublin. If Dublin win on Sunday they'll get no credit for it. Lose and they'll be considered finished as All Ireland contenders.
Post by: Canalman on July 08, 2011, 10:33:17 AM
Not going in and honestly haven't met anyone I know going in.

Season imo starts in earnest for us on Sunday evening win or lose. Honestly wouldn't be too upset if Wexford win it. If you are to go into the qualifiers, now is the time to do it, win 1 game and back in the 1/4 final.

Midfield is not performing and Cluxton's kickouts will be nullified by opposition pushing up. Big Big day for Fennell. Would always have Cahill on any team and baffled by his omission.

Do not forget that Wx ran us to extra time last year. If they win on Sunday ,we will be inundated with lads bragging that they backed them at 5/1. V silly odds.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 08, 2011, 10:51:17 AM
Lads, no recession here! If anyone wants those tickets get onto me!
Lower Hogan and no catch.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 08, 2011, 10:57:47 AM
The are alot of people staying away for this one ............................... recession is certainly a real factor in this and not just dublin people saving themselves for a possible 1/4 final game or qualifier
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 08, 2011, 11:00:42 AM
Upper Tier staying closed, when was the last time that happened for a Dublin championship game?

Wonder will we see the Leinster Council go back to a seeded draw to increase the chances of Dublin v Meath/Kildare Leisnter final?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 08, 2011, 11:03:47 AM
Given that the recession is such a issue, one presumes that the higher priced All Ireland final will be a disaster attendance wise were Dublin to qualify.
Post by: heffo on July 08, 2011, 11:14:06 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 08, 2011, 11:03:47 AM
Given that the recession is such a issue, one presumes that the higher priced All Ireland final will be a disaster attendance wise were Dublin to qualify.

Attendances are down across the board - as any competing county in the final only gets a fraction of the capacity, I don't think it'll be an issue selling that portion of tickets in the unlikely event of Dublin qualifying?

Must we go through the dreary issue of bandwagon fans and it being a 32 county phenomenon again??
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 08, 2011, 11:48:20 AM
Squire in Navy Slacks won the tickets, but if anyone is around post match call into dtwo.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 08, 2011, 11:52:25 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 08, 2011, 11:48:20 AM
Squire in Navy Slacks won the tickets, but if anyone is around post match call into dtwo.

Thanks Captain Scarlet, delighted  ;D
Post by: heffo on July 08, 2011, 03:32:59 PM
I'm surprised at Barry Cahill's exclusion - Fennell needs game time and to stay out of the papers - it's one thing for Galvin to be at that carry on as he has the medals to back it up.

I hope to see Henry playing a big part if he comes on & McConnell too.

Fitzsimons ongoing poor form is still a worry & I'd prefer to have McMahon in there ahead of him.

If Dublin are up for it, I'd like to think they'll have three points to spare over Wexford, but losing and taking our chances in the qualifiers wouldn't be the worst thing in the world as the long lay off won't be good if we were to win and I feel were destined to get Cork in the quarters.

Connolly was excellent all throughout the league at FF (Salthill excepted) and I don't think he's as effective in the corner, but I've no problem with O'Gara getting another chance, but if he doesn't work out Sunday, I'd expect to see Connolly back at FF and McMenamin or Quinn in for O'Gara the next game.

Wexford have dealt excellently with Forde's retirement and their forward unit are up there with the best - it'll be interesting to see who picks up Barry as Nolan got an early yellow when marking him in 2008 on his debut and was off after twenty minutes.

I think the two best teams were on show in Killarney last week with a chasing pack of Dublin, Kildare plus a couple of others who depending on the draw could make a final.

Ultimately though I feel the chasing pack are short in one area or another  - in Dublin's case midfield and a back or two.

Still though we'll hope for the best as always!.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2011, 05:24:37 PM
If & it's a big if Dublin lose this game any chance of getting Dublin to play outside of Croke park in round 4 of the qualifiers?
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2011, 05:26:57 PM
Not a hope. ;D ;D
They'll be part of a double header with Meath or Kildare if they make it that far.
Post by: heffo on July 08, 2011, 05:39:00 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2011, 05:24:37 PM
If & it's a big if Dublin lose this game any chance of getting Dublin to play outside of Croke park in round 4 of the qualifiers?

You'd have to ask the CCCC - I'd love to have a game outside Croke Park though.
Post by: Declan on July 08, 2011, 05:42:47 PM
Cork in pairc hi caoimh!!! Memories of smoking Joe.
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2011, 07:54:43 PM
Anyone hear what Gilroy said about O'Gara?
He reckons he's just too strong for his own good and every time he touches someone they go flying.
Hulk smash.
Post by: Offalylad on July 08, 2011, 08:57:28 PM
What a load of crap.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2011, 11:00:41 PM
QuoteI'd love to have a game outside Croke Park though

Dubs in Wexford, Dubs in Longford in Leinster
Dubs in Parnell v London, Carrick on Shannon v Leitrim and Port Laoise v Longford
Dubs v Kerry in Semple in Qualifiers

were all great occasions in the past 8 or so years.

I'll never forget the square in Port Laoise in 2004 thronged with Dubs playing 400 a side football with 2 Gardai looking on having a laugh

Dubs trip to Cork in 83 is the stuff of legend if you were to believe some of the stories I've heard.
Post by: heffo on July 08, 2011, 11:02:56 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2011, 11:00:41 PM
QuoteI'd love to have a game outside Croke Park though

Dubs in Wexford, Dubs in Longford in Leinster
Dubs in Parnell v London, Carrick on Shannon v Leitrim and Port Laoise v Longford
Dubs v Kerry in Semple in Qualifiers

were all great occasions in the past 8 or so years.

I'll never forget the square in Port Laoise in 2004 thronged with Dubs playing 400 a side football with 2 Gardai looking on having a laugh

Dubs trip to Cork in 83 is the stuff of legend if you were to believe some of the stories I've heard.

Clones v Derry in 2003 was a great day too - I've a pain in my hole with Croke Park tbh  - never thought I'd say it..
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2011, 11:14:36 PM
Forgot the Derry game in Clones. Have they been all the Dubs matches outside Croker in the Championship since 2000?
Post by: heffo on July 08, 2011, 11:23:57 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2011, 11:14:36 PM
Forgot the Derry game in Clones. Have they been all the Dubs matches outside Croker in the Championship since 2000?

Thats the lot but Dubs played Wexford in Carlow in 2002 - not in Wexford - same day Ireland played Cameroon.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 09, 2011, 12:12:24 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 08, 2011, 07:54:43 PM
Anyone hear what Gilroy said about O'Gara?
He reckons he's just too strong for his own good and every time he touches someone they go flying.
Hulk smash.

He just doesn't know his own strength  ;D, hes a strong lad alright, just needs to reign it in a little, really looking forward to this game now, I reckon its going to be a high scoring affair....................we need a big big 70 min performance from fennell, to show us can he fill a void left by our best midfielder in years  ................. :(
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 09, 2011, 12:38:29 AM
This has the potential to be a very open game, Wexford are a serious team from the half back line up and will match the Dubs for fitness and workrate. Both teams weaknesses lie in their full back lines, the Dubs will employ their strategy of everyone dropping back to protect theirs but it's what Wexford will do that is interesting. The done thing is to play a sweeper in front of Brogan but I think Ryan is too smart to do that. Brogan has learned to cope with 2 men trying to mark him and you're better off accepting that he's gonna score 2 to 5 from play and try to limit them elsewhere. Their workrate around the middle third is tremendous and if they can put enough pressure on the ball coming in they might get lucky. Lyng should be told to stay inside and if they can isolate him on any of the corner backs he will score. Goals are the secret to beating this Dublin team though and Wexford must convert any chances that arise to win. If they had a better full back line I would give them the nod but I fear it will be their undoing, Dubs by 2.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2011, 12:45:31 AM
QuoteThats the lot but Dubs played Wexford in Carlow in 2002 - not in Wexford - same day Ireland played Cameroon

Of course - Dub supporters had been on the gargle since the 1-1 win that morning v Cameroon and it ended up with a number of Dub streakers in Dr. Cullen Park.

That said, I like the cut of Wexford's jib so far this year - handing out good decent beatings to Offaly and Westmeath and I think they'll match the Dubs man for man. It could be a very open game with lots of scores.

I'll give Wexford the nod on this one.
Post by: boro on July 10, 2011, 12:03:49 PM
Gwan the yella bellies!
Post by: Fuzzman on July 10, 2011, 02:15:16 PM
2 hours without a post
Are ye all at the game?

Good start for both Brogans, I mean Dublin though 2 wides for Bernard already.
The passing from Wexford so far is awful. Dublin intercepting loads of ball at half back

Another wide for Dublin. Fennell.
That could start to play on their minds
Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 02:16:21 PM
Jesus are Donegal playing Donegal at Veiled today... Yuck!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 02:16:40 PM
Are Wexford afraid to tackle?

Post by: blast05 on July 10, 2011, 02:19:08 PM
Should have been a pen to Wex. Dublin guy never touched the ball but knocked over the Wex guy. At least kicked the 45
Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 02:20:16 PM
Even on the replay they said that was a great block from McCarthy, but he didn't  touch the ball. All he did was fall into the Wexford player.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 02:21:58 PM
It was a definite penalty.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 10, 2011, 02:25:22 PM
Is it looking ominous already?
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:27:04 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 02:16:40 PM
Are Wexford afraid to tackle?

Yes, with good reason, given some of the frees the ref has gifted to Dublin.
Post by: blast05 on July 10, 2011, 02:31:34 PM
McStay has Dub blinkers on - Fennells fetch that lead to Brogans pt was a knee in the back
Post by: Fuzzman on July 10, 2011, 02:32:10 PM
Wexford can't get past Dublin's half back line
They keep running into traffic every time
Need to shoot from further out or play it much faster into FF line

How many times have Dublin kicked it into the keepers hands now?
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:32:36 PM
McStay reckons Wexford are taking it easy!
Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 02:32:45 PM
Not much love here for Dublin from the neutrals.
Post by: blast05 on July 10, 2011, 02:33:19 PM
Fennell again with the knee
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 10, 2011, 02:34:20 PM
the surfer lookin dude can hit a dead ball
Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 02:34:28 PM
How many times will the ref allow Fennell to try and break someone's back??
Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 02:35:51 PM
 "a 2 point deficit looks a lot better than a 5 point deficit"
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:37:12 PM
Wexford defending very well so far. Doing great to keep Dublin to 7 points with the amount of possession they have.
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:38:35 PM
Mick Wallace has some kick of the dead ball.
Post by: Zulu on July 10, 2011, 02:39:36 PM
Why was Connolly taken off?
Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 02:40:11 PM
The blonde kid was aiming for the post with that 45.
Post by: Offalylad on July 10, 2011, 02:40:30 PM
Fennell is sneaky dirty
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 02:41:47 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:37:12 PM
Wexford defending very well so far. Doing great to keep Dublin to 7 points with the amount of possession they have.

Due more to Dublin been profligate than any great defending.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 02:42:18 PM
Awful awful standard. Pace and intensity of the game is so so poor. Can't believe how bad Dublin have been. Passing in particular has been pretty shambolic.
Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 02:43:12 PM
McQuillan can't count steps.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 10, 2011, 02:43:19 PM
Spillane should be good at the break!  :D
Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 02:44:18 PM
3rd Best team in Ireland?? I think the 2 lads in the studio are having a laugh!!
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:44:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 02:41:47 PM

Ah no - those misses have to be put down to pressure. They're also showing great anticipation, getting out in front and an extra man sweeping from time to time.
Post by: haze on July 10, 2011, 02:44:47 PM
Kevin Mcstay "Masterson making himself available for the kick outs"

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 02:45:10 PM
Dublin are playing like a team that thought they just had to turn up. Gilroy will probably give them an earful at half time and they'll pull away in the second half.
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:45:43 PM
Quote from: Offalylad on July 10, 2011, 02:40:30 PM
Fennell is sneaky dirty

I hate this kind of shite.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 02:46:01 PM
Indeed they are forcing Dublin to kick from distance. Though 08 final game was also close at HT then Dublin got 3 goals in 6mins.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 10, 2011, 02:46:15 PM
Yeah I'd say Dublin are gonna get an earful at half time.
They've taken off one of their best forwards this year and have kicked loads of wides and balls short.
They seem to put a lot more effort into that half than Wexford did yet Wexford are only a point behind.

If Wexford can stop them scoring goals in the second half they could win it.
Its surprisingly poor standard and all about defensive blanket again for the Dubs
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 02:48:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:44:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 02:41:47 PM

Ah no - those misses have to be put down to pressure. They're also showing great anticipation, getting out in front and an extra man sweeping from time to time.

Maybe in the last 15 mins but in the first 20 mins were just too casual, how many wides with no pressure on the forward were kicked, I can think of 4 from BB and Connolly.
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:49:07 PM
It seems defending shouldn't be allowed any more, according to the studio.
Post by: criostlinn on July 10, 2011, 02:53:46 PM
wexford still 5/1 to win it. are they worth a punt
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 02:53:56 PM
If this is the best Leinster have to offer its a sad state of affairs. No wonder they haven't had a single All Ireland finalist in 10 years.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 02:54:54 PM
Wexford 9/1 on Betfair. Still think the Dubs will pull away at some stage, maybe scoring 5 or 6 points in a row in a 10 minute spell to seal it.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 10, 2011, 02:58:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:32:36 PM
McStay reckons Wexford are taking it easy!

I reckon McStay is right, looks like they just wanted to keep it tight for ht. We could see a different Wexford 20 minutes in the second half, although they'll have to cut out the nervous handpassing and prob score a goal to win this. Dublin just don't look bothered, treating it like a practice match from the minute the broke away from the parade and laughing and giggling in their huddle. Half forward and full back lines only really operating for them, Fennell very sneaky with the knees, will be well highlighted for his next match. Whoever goals will win, don't think it'll be the 6+ Spillanne was talking about anyway...
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 03:00:34 PM
Ciaran Lyng the most one footed footballer in Ireland.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:02:57 PM
Mossey Quinn has been brutal since coming on.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:07:55 PM
GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:08:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:49:07 PM
It seems defending shouldn't be allowed any more, according to the studio.

The word puke stretched his vocabulary to its limit a few years ago.

He needs something new, any suggestions?

Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:09:35 PM
That goal should be the kick up the arse the Dubs need
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:12:01 PM
Quinn again :D
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:12:28 PM
The Mort is having a good day.
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:14:43 PM
Quote from: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:12:01 PM
Quinn again :D

Good man Mossy!
Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 03:14:57 PM
Awful luck!!
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:15:05 PM
Why didn't he just catch it? What a ******* moron.
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 03:15:16 PM
Hari kiri!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 10, 2011, 03:15:32 PM
should pull away now
Post by: Offalylad on July 10, 2011, 03:15:49 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 02:45:43 PM
Quote from: Offalylad on July 10, 2011, 02:40:30 PM
Fennell is sneaky dirty

I hate this kind of shite.
Good to see the humour is lost on some.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 03:15:57 PM
Are Dublin going to win this game thanks to that freak goal?
Post by: tyroneman on July 10, 2011, 03:16:47 PM
Dubs blockin run of man every time he lays the ball off and mcQuillan doing nothing about it.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:17:45 PM
Goalkeeper really should be ashamed of himself. Had absolutely no need whatsoever to try and punch it.
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:18:26 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 10, 2011, 03:16:47 PM
Dubs blockin run of man every time he lays the ball off and mcQuillan doing nothing about it.

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

You invented that.
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:21:02 PM
QuoteIt takes a good one to beat Masterson

Unless of course it is a crap one.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 10, 2011, 03:21:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:18:26 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 10, 2011, 03:16:47 PM

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

You invented that.

wexford men aint diving though when it's done to them though muppet
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 03:22:56 PM
Got to laugh at the Jackeens in the Canal End jumping up and cheering when Alan Brogan fist passed the ball into the net!
Post by: Fuzzman on July 10, 2011, 03:23:47 PM
Both teams have tried their hardest to lose this game.

Was that not a peno
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:24:55 PM
At least we know that once again the Dubs are no threat to winning Sam
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:25:35 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 10, 2011, 03:23:47 PM
Both teams have tried their hardest to lose this game.

Was that not a peno

Thought so despite McStay's version.

Who is the main commentator?

I find myself strangely not suicidal listening to him.
Post by: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 03:27:24 PM
Adrian Eames. Weird accent - this is the Leinster Fonno.
Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 03:28:26 PM
Have to say fair play to Gilroy. Brogan has had an absolute shocker and deserves to be taken off. Sends out the right message to the team doing something like that!
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:29:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 10, 2011, 03:27:24 PM
Adrian Eames. Weird accent - this is the Leinster Fonno.

Will reserve judgement but he isn't patronising us like the usual two.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:32:29 PM
Quinn :D

The sub has been subbed!

LOL
Post by: Offalylad on July 10, 2011, 03:33:02 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 03:22:56 PM
Got to laugh at the Jackeens in the Canal End jumping up and cheering when Alan Brogan fist passed the ball into the net!
Illustrates their vast knowledge! In fairness its probably just an instant reaction.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 10, 2011, 03:35:49 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 03:00:34 PM
Ciaran Lyng the most one footed footballer in Ireland.

you're not joking !
Post by: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 03:36:08 PM
Goalkeeper howler turning point of the game. Dublin with less hype this year will be hard to beat now.
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:38:27 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 03:36:08 PM
Goalkeeper howler turning point of the game. Dublin with less hype this year will be hard to beat now.

Keeper is inconsolable now.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 03:38:45 PM

And the two pretty much stone wall penalties not given either. Sure nothing new in Dublin getting the majority of the decisions.
Post by: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 03:39:39 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 10, 2011, 03:38:27 PM

Keeper is inconsolable now.
Shades of Derek thompson from the 1998 Connacht final.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:39:47 PM

Yep, Goalkeeping balls up cost Wexford big time, even with the huge momentum swing they still only lost by a goal.

Can't agree with the last part - Dubs will be swept aside by one of the big two. Don't have the momentum they had last year, nor are they playing anywhere near as well. Wouldn't surprise me if someone from the back door beat them in the quarters.
Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 03:41:24 PM
2 Penos Dinny?? Maybe the first one but I would have said it was harsh. Where was the 2nd one?
Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 03:43:05 PM
The 2nd one wasn't a penalty, the fouling started outside the line.

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 03:44:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 03:43:05 PM

Don't be bringing evidence into this. Still the decision went Dublin's way.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 03:47:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 10, 2011, 03:45:58 PM
Neither was a penalty.

The first one was a penalty, contact was with the defender didn't touch the ball.
Post by: AQMP on July 10, 2011, 03:55:46 PM
On that showing the Dubs (along with the rest of the country) are a bit behind Kerry & Cork.
Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2011, 04:01:12 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 03:44:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 03:43:05 PM

Don't be bringing evidence into this. Still the decision went Dublin's way.

I'd be inclined to agree with you against Dublin I would be happy enough for the Peno to be given but had it been.given against Derry I would be hugely outraged!!!
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2011, 06:31:19 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 10, 2011, 03:55:46 PM
On that showing the Dubs (along with the rest of the country) are a bit behind Kerry & Cork.

We knew that beforehand.

Signs were there in the Kildare game. We're not playing well.

Maybe it will all come good in the quarters and maybe beyond.

My instincts tell me we're not going to bridge the gap to the top 2 this year.

Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2011, 06:35:28 PM
Ye won't have to put up with too much hype anyway after today .
Definitely a puke game of rugby league if ever there was one.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 10, 2011, 06:46:05 PM
Hard luck wexford, very hard luck, you played a great game today.......................... kildare have to be favourites for the all ireland now, what an honest hard working team
Post by: Canalman on July 10, 2011, 07:01:22 PM
Felt very sorry for the Yellowbellies today, delighted they  got a nice draw in the qualifiers.

As for us, not a bad result, a win with all pundits sneering at us again. Wexford are a handy team as are Kildare and I feel (hope really) that Dublin are trying to peak later in the season. For some reason Connolly and O'Gara are not gelling at all............. I have my own theories on that.
Our season was always going to be defined from today on and the result today will be forgotten when our season epitaph is being written. Major positive is that we cannot meet Kerry until the final if (calm down!) I said if we get there.

Kerry all the way sadly I think.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 10, 2011, 07:04:04 PM
The honest hardworking non fouling kildare are the favs imo............................................................. huddle

We were brutal today, however we are in a 1/4 final, game on
Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 08:43:29 PM
Kildare are to the GAA what Austria are to soccer.
Post by: Zulu on July 10, 2011, 09:01:24 PM
Re Connolly and O'Gara, I thought it was very harsh tomtake Connolly off before half time. He was actually playing quite well, he won plenty of ball, got a few turnovers and didn't give the ball away. He did have two poor wides but he wasn't alone in that regard. It seems to me that if he isn't brilliant he is likely to get called ashore. For me O'Gara is an impact player and I wouldnt start him, he is a good outlet player and that can be invaluable but he isn't a scorer so I'd start him on the bench. Would a Connolly/brogan full forward line work with Alan playing a roving role? If Alan is the spare man it wouldn't be straight forward leaving the corner back sitting in front of the two full forwards.
Post by: Barney on July 10, 2011, 09:07:17 PM
The League Final has to have winded Dublin. It is only come the Quarter Finals that we are likely to see where they are at.

Fitness, and strength and hard work wlil not beat them but will they have the composure and enough scoring forwards to get them over the line.

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 09:08:24 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 10, 2011, 09:01:24 PM
Re Connolly and O'Gara, I thought it was very harsh tomtake Connolly off before half time. He was actually playing quite well, he won plenty of ball, got a few turnovers and didn't give the ball away. He did have two poor wides but he wasn't alone in that regard. It seems to me that if he isn't brilliant he is likely to get called ashore. For me O'Gara is an impact player and I wouldnt start him, he is a good outlet player and that can be invaluable but he isn't a scorer so I'd start him on the bench. Would a Connolly/brogan full forward line work with Alan playing a roving role? If Alan is the spare man it wouldn't be straight forward leaving the corner back sitting in front of the two full forwards.

Did they not play that in the Laois game?. Alan Brogan has been excellent for Dublin, if he retains that form going forward will be a real contender for player of the year.
Post by: micka the dub on July 10, 2011, 09:16:29 PM
Quote from: WeePeteIsALegend on July 10, 2011, 03:32:29 PM
Quinn :D

The sub has been subbed!

LOL
you must be one of the dicks that john clarke talked about when he packed it in
Post by: Zulu on July 10, 2011, 09:19:50 PM
Not sure Dinny but in the open spaces of CP it would surely pose some problems for opposing teams and management. One thing seems clear though and that is O'Gara and Connolly are not functioning together, if Dublin are to be serious contenders then Bernard and/or Connolly need to find scoring form regularly.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 09:30:34 PM
From memory they did but the way I'm watching and analyzing games recently god knows. Connolly was good that day but he had a shaky start and missed a couple goal chances before scoring and settling. I think he is a better footballer than O'Gara but he seems a confidence player and his head can drop, been substituted in the last couple of games won't have helped that.

Dublin are in a good place, Leinster title in the bag, beat a pretender, have experimented tactically in 3 games, their form has a question mark but that alleviates the hype. Their brain trust will be happy enough plus training will be intense as there are plenty of places up for grabs and surely Dublin have a better centre-half back than Ger Brennan?

Would be concerned about BB, if I was Gilroy I'd place a media ban on him, seems to be popping up everywhere, the young man just needs to focus on his game.
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2011, 10:10:51 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 09:30:34 PM
From memory they did but the way I'm watching and analyzing games recently god knows. Connolly was good that day but he had a shaky start and missed a couple goal chances before scoring and settling. I think he is a better footballer than O'Gara but he seems a confidence player and his head can drop, been substituted in the last couple of games won't have helped that.

Dublin are in a good place, Leinster title in the bag, beat a pretender, have experimented tactically in 3 games, their form has a question mark but that alleviates the hype. Their brain trust will be happy enough plus training will be intense as there are plenty of places up for grabs and surely Dublin have a better centre-half back than Ger Brennan?

Would be concerned about BB, if I was Gilroy I'd place a media ban on him, seems to be popping up everywhere, the young man just needs to focus on his game.

We're not in that great a place.

Not as good a team as last year. In my view.

Midfield is a weakness and we've no idea as to our forward line setup.

Kildare and Dublin was a very average football match. I watched Cork and Kerry last week and it was several levels above in terms of quality.

Connolly was very harshly treated today in my view. Bernard Brogan should have been the first taken off.

Maybe we're waiting for the knockout stages. But I'm not too hopeful at present. We've won 6 leinsters in the last 7 years without making a final. Time is running out for a lot of these Dublin  players
Post by: boro on July 10, 2011, 11:15:52 PM
Fook.

Dublin were so poor and still we let them win. Sickened.

Rats is a great keeeper, but that was some feic up.

Roll on the qualifiers
Post by: Declan on July 11, 2011, 09:33:08 AM
Very poor game alright and the Yella bellies can feel unlucky. Dublin played as if trying just to get through the game and as Cullen said afterwards the season starts here. BB had a mare even after a majestic start and I woiuld have taken him off first but I did think Connolly took a knock before he was subbed. Half forward line was excellent for us but really hard to get excited about the game.
This old back door certainly changes things. Anyway Kerry and Cork still ahead of anyone else at this stage though it'll be interesting to see how the Lillies fare next Sat as I'd have them as third faves now.

On the plus side the minors beat the Royals handily enough maybe we'l lhave one team playing in September!!!
Post by: heffo on July 11, 2011, 09:49:53 AM
Funny old game - with the exception of a five minute spell at the start of the second half, Wexford tried to slow the game right down and as Dublin seemed to be in third gear whether by design or not having a fourth, it didn't make for a good spectacle.

Feel sorry for Masterson but he'd want to start concentrating on the basic's of goalkeeping - he was constantly out on the 21 either looking for the ball or roaring at the ref.

It didn't feel like a Leinster Final yesterday - very low key.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 11, 2011, 11:02:16 AM
Quote from: boro on July 10, 2011, 11:15:52 PM
Fook.

Dublin were so poor and still we let them win. Sickened.

Rats is a great keeeper, but that was some feic up.

Roll on the qualifiers

Can't understand why he punched it.  It looked perfect for a chest catch.
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 11:32:13 AM
The Dubs are set up nicely for the quarter final.
They're only tipping along at the moment.
I'm impressed with Gilroy I have to say.
Very astute manager.
Post by: Zulu on July 11, 2011, 11:56:33 AM
Not to bang on about it too much but I hope Connolly was taken off due to a knock, though I don't think he was, as I've just gone through the first half there and he did pretty well. His stats are below;

Possessions - 10, gave none away.
Score assists - 1
Turnover involvement - 5
Wides- 2, both poor to be honest.

I didn't tally the amount of good positions he picked up but he did so on a number of occasions. On the negative side he could have worked a bit harder a few times but he covered a lot of ground and his style means he'll never look like an all action player.

He's better than the alternatives and he is doing alright so if I was on the Dublin management team I'd be careful how I deal with him, subbing him after 30min when doing fine is counterproductive IMO.

By the way I wouldn't write Dublin off at all, Kerry weren't near as impressive as some are making out.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 12:01:26 PM
Zulu, let the Kerry thing go :) Cork will beat them eventually :)

I know what you're saying though. Kerry were brilliant in the first half, but they faded badly. If Kerry win enough ball, their forwards are class. However I still think they'll struggle to win enough ball against the likes of Cork in September. Galvin and O'Se back will be a big boost in that department though.

As for Connolly, I'm bemused. It seems to me that Gilroy is neither fish nor fowl in his attacking philosophy. There's no point playing a playmaker like Alan Brogan and then leaving O'Gara inside there. O'Gara is a ball winner, but Brogan is a passer, which means you need good scorers inside there to take advantage. Connolly has a lovely kicking style, but his confidence must be shattered. Why he was taken off, I can't tell, but I do know they'll need him if they are going to win an All Ireland.

If I was Gilroy, and playing Brogan at #11, I'd play McManamon at #14, with Connolly and B Brogan. Only play O'Gara if you want to resort to a plan B that involves high balls into the full forward for him to break. Then you might even move Alan Brogan in around him.
Post by: heffo on July 11, 2011, 12:10:32 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 12:01:26 PM
Zulu, let the Kerry thing go :) Cork will beat them eventually :)

I know what you're saying though. Kerry were brilliant in the first half, but they faded badly. If Kerry win enough ball, their forwards are class. However I still think they'll struggle to win enough ball against the likes of Cork in September. Galvin and O'Se back will be a big boost in that department though.

As for Connolly, I'm bemused. It seems to me that Gilroy is neither fish nor fowl in his attacking philosophy. There's no point playing a playmaker like Alan Brogan and then leaving O'Gara inside there. O'Gara is a ball winner, but Brogan is a passer, which means you need good scorers inside there to take advantage. Connolly has a lovely kicking style, but his confidence must be shattered. Why he was taken off, I can't tell, but I do know they'll need him if they are going to win an All Ireland.

If I was Gilroy, and playing Brogan at #11, I'd play McManamon at #14, with Connolly and B Brogan. Only play O'Gara if you want to resort to a plan B that involves high balls into the full forward for him to break. Then you might even move Alan Brogan in around him.

I agree with you about the attacking shape - it doesn't seem to have any structure - most of the time O'Gara is winning short ball 40 yards out and he doesn't have the skill to open a defence with a pass so he ends up kicking a short pass which in turn is kicked into B Brogan in the FF line who has two men on him.

With O'Gara like you said it should be route one into the box as a plan B.

Connolly is still playing very deep - he's been doing that all throughout the league, but I'd prefer to see him stay in the FF line.
Post by: Zulu on July 11, 2011, 12:22:29 PM
I agree lads, the amount of time Connolly was in his own half was ridiculous, that isn't his game so I presume it's being done to accommodate O'Gara and BB in the full forward line. Connolly is a scorer and should be allowed to finish the chances the grunt work creates. If Dublin put their faith in Connolly and BB then I think they'll go close to winning Sam. Who they play with them in the FF line and what role he takes is debatable. As AZ says, Dublin will hardly win without Connolly so getting the most out of him is Gilroy's real challenge.
Post by: heffo on July 11, 2011, 12:28:56 PM
I honestly don't see us as genuine contenders tbh and I'm not being coy or cute.

We have a very weak midfield so have to use the wings or kick short - if you don't have the option of going long you're going to be found out eventually
Post by: Declan on July 11, 2011, 01:21:53 PM
QuoteWe have a very weak midfield so have to use the wings or kick short

Surely now McConnell will get a start ?
Post by: Billys Boots on July 11, 2011, 01:34:37 PM
Quotesurely Dublin have a better centre-half back than Ger Brennan?

I agree, and have thought that too for a long time.  Racking my brain, I can't see the attraction (even strategically) why he's be preferred there to, say for the sake of argument, Barry Cahill.  Unless it's a cunning plan to give away frees between the 45 and 65.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 11, 2011, 05:42:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 11, 2011, 12:01:26 PM

but Brogan is a passer

Who'd have thought it only 2 or 3 seasons ago?
Post by: Orangemac on July 11, 2011, 10:44:57 PM
Quote from: INDIANA
/quote]

We're not in that great a place.

Not as good a team as last year. In my view.

Midfield is a weakness and we've no idea as to our forward line setup.

Kildare and Dublin was a very average football match. I watched Cork and Kerry last week and it was several levels above in terms of quality.

Connolly was very harshly treated today in my view. Bernard Brogan should have been the first taken off.
Would agree with a lot of this. Dublin seem to have slipped back from last year ( although they started badly last year, poor v Wexford and Meath, average v Armagh).
Midfield does seem to be struggling and forward line needs an injection of something. B Brogan hit unbelievable heights last year but he can't carry the team although it is good to see Alan Brogan back to his best. Connolly has never really stood up on a big day, O Gara is a handful but not enough of a threat and if Mossy Quinn wasn't the answer 5 years ago he is not now.McMenamin needs to start the next day as he has a bit of bull about him. There was a fella (Dias) playing for Kilmacud, could he in a bit of pace to the HF line?
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 12:15:36 AM
They've plenty of pace in the HF line as it is.
Actually, they've pace everywhere.
Post by: Drummerboy on July 12, 2011, 09:34:16 AM
Dublin really miss MacAuley and McMahon. The sooner the better they return. How Barry Cahill is left out of the team is amazing. Brennan is a weak link. McDonnell will probably come in now in midfield.
Post by: Jimmy14 on July 12, 2011, 11:11:35 AM
MDM is a big loss, Dublin need him back on the pitch!
Don't appear to have options on the bench up front!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 11:24:54 AM
Strong word that mr ogara has a broken wrist...................... i was in the lower hogan for the game and he was getting treatment constantly during the game on his right wrist it seemed............. never appeared for the second half

I hope Mr Gilroy has Whelans number handy the injuries are mounting
Post by: heffo on July 12, 2011, 11:50:34 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 11:24:54 AM

Unless they're going to give him a wheelchair too as he's barely kicked a ball in the last two years.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 11:54:21 AM
Quote from: heffo on July 12, 2011, 11:50:34 AM

Unless they're going to give him a wheelchair too as he's barely kicked a ball in the last two years.

hmmmmm I was,nt being serious  ;)

I wonder how Philly McMahon is healing, we deffo need him back asap...........................at least Paddy Andrews may get a good run out now

Post by: lynchbhoy on July 12, 2011, 02:11:58 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 12, 2011, 11:50:34 AM
even if he was playing, theres no hope in hell he'd get a call up - he and gilroy are not exactly on each others christmas card list !

gilroy aint a fan of Barry Cahill and another couple of lads that a lot of people feel should be near the starting XV let alone struggling to get on the panel.
Worryingly Bernard Brogan isnt hitting form yet, not even close - hopefully he will. However if he doesnt, Mossy quinn seems to be plan B. There are others that can score but are not given a sniff and imo should be- eg Paddy andrews- yes I know I am biased, but he and Cahill are not well liked by mr gilroy.
MDMcA and the fantastic McMahon are badly missed.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 02:15:13 PM
Mossy has been tried and tested...................well past it, Gilroy needs to look at the big picture here and get andrews into the starting 15.........

Post by: lynchbhoy on July 12, 2011, 02:17:45 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 02:15:13 PM
Mossy has been tried and tested...................well past it, Gilroy needs to look at the big picture here and get andrews into the starting 15.........
Andrews is lucky to make the fecking 30 let alone the bench with giller there
should put in for a transfer to vincents !!  :-X :D