GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2011, 08:13:59 PM

Title: Longford v Tyrone - Qualifiers Round 2 - 9 July 2011
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2011, 08:13:59 PM
Let's get the party started.

I am delighted with this one. If we do go out who better than to a class act like Tyrone.

That said I think we'll put it up to them. Pearse Park - full house - we've seen Down, Derry and Mayo come a cropper there. Kerry and Laois came out of there by the skins of their teeth.

Last time Tyrone visited they handed out an afwul beating in the League in one of Cormac McAnallen last matches (it actually may have been his last for Tyrone, I am not sure).

Hopefully we can get a good crowd of ye Tyrone boys down for a good evening of football and a few pints after, win, lose or draw.
Title: Re: Longford v Tyrone - Qualifiers Round 2 - 9 July 2011
Post by: seafoid on June 26, 2011, 08:20:58 PM
Didn't AIB and Bank of Ireland also lose everything in Longford?

While you are down for the match, why not buy an estate with your sterling ?     
Post by: orangeman on June 26, 2011, 08:50:31 PM
Any time yet for this match ?? Will it be on tv ?
Post by: Rois on June 26, 2011, 08:51:45 PM
SS, where to stay for a couple of Tyrone girls coming down for a bit of craic afterwards?
Post by: ONeill on June 26, 2011, 09:18:27 PM
Looking forward to visiting Granard again. Love the sound of it and it has some history.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2011, 09:31:12 PM
Wrong person to ask Rois as I left home in 1987 or thereabouts.

Others may be of more help like Qwerty or Laurel.

As for Granard O'Neill it's our little jewel for sure.

Post by: Blowitupref on June 26, 2011, 09:38:26 PM
Great home draw for Longford should be a sell out.
Post by: ross4life on June 26, 2011, 09:46:36 PM
Yeah cracker of a tie. I might make the trip across to Longford to give our neighbours some support.
Post by: panc56 on June 26, 2011, 10:12:33 PM
What a game! If we can avoid them running up a lead then Longford will win I have no doubt.

We love these qualifiers! Bring it on.
Post by: backofthehand on June 27, 2011, 12:05:07 AM
Quote from: Rois on June 26, 2011, 08:51:45 PM
SS, where to stay for a couple of Tyrone girls coming down for a bit of craic afterwards?
Longford arms hotel or viewmont house is very good b&b.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 27, 2011, 08:50:33 AM
Quote from: Rois on June 26, 2011, 08:51:45 PM

Craic in Longford?  Now that's a question - Keogh's in Mullinalaghta, I'd imagine.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2011, 11:17:21 AM
Valentines or PV Fallons for the post match drinking (assuming they still exist)

Else head back and stop in Lynns/Sportsman's Inn in Edgeworthstown where the game will be re-chewed and digested with some of the finest football brains in Longford.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2011, 11:24:12 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2011, 08:13:59 PM
Last time Tyrone visited they handed out an afwul beating in the League in one of Cormac McAnallen last matches (it actually may have been his last for Tyrone, I am not sure).

Yep SS, 'twas his very last.

It's sure to be a much tougher test for us this time, but maybe just what the doctor ordered  ;)
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 01:18:38 PM
Being beaten by Longford seems like the lowest a team can fall to, if the Mayo crowd are anything to go by.
Cavan too. 

Like the ugliest woman in whatever that nightclub is called in Ballyhaunis. "I had an awful feed of pints and I went home with LONGFORD".

I really  liked Breffni Yank's comment

"We got hammered at home to LONGFORD for christ sake."

Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2011, 03:01:57 PM
Yes Seafoid.

Sadly a good few counties think being beaten by Longford in the championship is akin to finding out your only son wants to be a nun.
Post by: orangeman on June 27, 2011, 03:52:50 PM
7PM on Saturday 9th. Probably on tv.
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 04:00:28 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2011, 03:01:57 PM
Yes Seafoid.

Sadly a good few counties think being beaten by Longford in the championship is akin to finding out your only son wants to be a nun.

It's shocking that so much prejudice exists against Longford. Like they don't have the right to score more points than the other
teams just because they are from Longford. 

I would put that Breffni yank quote up in the dressing room the next day against Tyrone.
Tyrone lost to MAYO, for christ's sake, a few years ago.     
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 27, 2011, 04:03:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 01:18:38 PM
Being beaten by Longford seems like the lowest a team can fall to, if the Mayo crowd are anything to go by.
Cavan too. 

Like the ugliest woman in whatever that nightclub is called in Ballyhaunis. "I had an awful feed of pints and I went home with LONGFORD".

I really  liked Breffni Yank's comment

"We got hammered at home to LONGFORD for christ sake."

Getting disgraced at home by 9 points and then 11 points by anyone should be unnacceptable.
Whether that is Cork/Kerry/Longford or Kilkenny/London.
I wouldnt pay too much heed into what Cavan people are posting on these boards right now,as it ranges from anger/disgust to feelings of humiliation.Longford have a number  of very good footballers whom would grace nearly any team in the country,+they have a good management team and most importantly a gameplan.
They could very well turn Tyrone over Saturday week,and for their long suffering supporters sake,i very much hope they do.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 27, 2011, 04:32:28 PM
QuoteIt's shocking that so much prejudice exists against Longford.

I don't know where it comes from either seafóid; probably from the same place as 'soap-opera popularity'.  But we know we were kicking points for a long time before their shitetalk, and we know we'll be doing it for a long time afterwards.  And we don't really care either. 

And we're just sorry we it's not Mayo again on Saturday week.  :P

And we have inner peace.  ;D
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 27, 2011, 04:59:04 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 27, 2011, 03:52:50 PM
7PM on Saturday 9th. Probably on tv.

Not a chance it'll be on TV - Tyrone are no longer a draw for RTE and no disrespect to Longford but its hardly a clash of the titans! I think I might go down because I want to see Tyrone in a game in the championship and I've a feeling this will be my last chance!  :-[
Post by: Fuzzman on June 27, 2011, 05:02:57 PM
I'm sorry if I seem over confident but I think there is a bit of an over reaction from most Tyronies on here.

Yes we had a poor second half yesterday but I think if he had of taken even half our chances we would have won this game handy enough. We did not and we have to live with that.
But that doesn't suddenly make us a bad team overnight and although we will respect Longford and be wary of a potential banana skin, I think the wheels are far from coming off the cart just yet.
We could well in an Ulster final today as a lot of neutrals would say we were the better team yesterday.

McGuinness himself said that we wiped the floor with them in the first half so hopefully with both McMahon's fit & Penrose (our top scorer) then I think we will do ok in the back door.

Post by: LaurelEye on June 27, 2011, 05:12:07 PM
We are flying Ian McCrea down specially for the match.

We already have a jersey to fit him  ;D

(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/niallsheridan.jpg)
Post by: barelegs on June 27, 2011, 05:26:40 PM
The problem Fuzzman is that this isn't an overnight thing. It's a long term downward trend that's constantly been put down to bad luck. Once you look at the facts it doesn't look so good.

We were relegated from division one of the league last year and failed to win promotion this year. We've been shown up in Croke Park in 2009 and 2010 and we're back in 2011 with pretty much the same team of players expecting big things.

We struggled to beat a poor Monaghan team who had 14 men for the entire second half and after flying out of the blocks yesterday our performance died completely.  Yes Joe McMahon got hurt but we'd an All Star full back replacing him not some duffer. And even if we'd won, that performance yesterday wouldn't exactly have left Cork, Dublin or Kerry trembling in fear of playing us.

People will talk about kicking the wides against Dublin last year or not taking our chances yesterday but its been a trend for this Tyrone team over a couple of seasons. Against most teams we'll have enough to edge by but it's been a while from we ruthlessly beaten a team. At this stage Tyrone's free taking has been so poor its nearly worth carrying a player just to kick the frees. It's got to be worth 3 or 4 points a game which they way we're going we can't afford to be giving away.

Our system and style of play works best with players that have speed and can get up and down the field. At the moment too many players on the team have lost a couple of yards of pace and its hurting us. (Watch any DVD from 2003 or 2005 and note the difference). You might be able to carry one or two who have lost a yard of pace but there are 5 or 6 that are missing it now. They're still good footballers they just can't do it the way they used to.

People expecting the under 21s to come in to inter county football and perform at the highest level straight away are deluded. We mightn't win anything this year but they're going to need to get the experience at some stage- might as well be now.
Post by: ONeill on June 27, 2011, 05:46:02 PM
Agree with everything that man said.

Back to Longford. Wasn't there a boy from Longford who hated St Patrick when they were on the go?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2011, 06:33:04 PM
We don't like St. Patricks in our area. In Mostrim St Patricks = Ardagh.

St. Mel got on well with St. Patrick.

Mel Gibson was named after the cathedral in Longford.
Tyrone have never beaten Longford in the championship
Tyrone doesn't border two other provinces.
Larry Cunningham is from Longford

For these reasons we will win
Post by: maggie on June 27, 2011, 07:28:34 PM
Is Mick Flavin from Longford as well?
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 27, 2011, 07:55:44 PM
Pre match entertainment is going to feature Declan Nerney, Mick Flavin and the one and only Larry Cunningham!!

If we win, which I'm quietly confident we can, they are going to write and release a song and it will be played on loop on Shannonside and we'll start a campaign to get it to number one!!

Decent spot to stay, there arent many options but as mentioned in earlier post would be PVs on Ballymahon st, should be able to get details on google but if not get back to me and I'll dig out details!

Really want us to in this one badly, my missus is from Tyrone, have been at most of their championship matches over last number of years, incl 05 and 08 AIFS roaring them on but to quote Kevin Keegan, I would love it if we beat them, love it!!!! ;D
Post by: panc56 on June 27, 2011, 08:01:07 PM
Larry to perform pretty little girl from Omagh pre game. Classic
Post by: ONeill on June 27, 2011, 08:14:57 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2011, 06:33:04 PM

You're not getting off that handy. I was reading recently that one of Niall's children, Cairbre, was a fierce opponent of Patrick and his missionary work in the country. He lived in Granard. He tried to assassinate our patron saint and Paddy in return cursed him. The wicked humour they have in Longford (they did play Sheridan after all) meant that at the mound that marks Cairbre's palace in Granard is a statue of St Patrick. If Longford had their way we'd all be pagans and riding the neighbours' wives willy nilly.

So, having entered all that into the computer it says Longford 1-11 Tyrone 0-14.
Post by: Cde on June 27, 2011, 08:18:22 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 27, 2011, 08:14:57 PM

You're not getting off that handy. I was reading recently that one of Niall's children, Cairbre, was a fierce opponent of Patrick and his missionary work in the country. He lived in Granard. He tried to assassinate our patron saint and Paddy in return cursed him. The wicked humour they have in Longford (they did play Sheridan after all) meant that at the mound that marks Cairbre's palace in Granard is a statue of St Patrick. If Longford had their way we'd all be pagans and riding the neighbours' wives willy nilly.

So, having entered all that into the computer is says Longford 1-11 Tyrone 0-14.

now I'm really looking forward to a long weekend in Longford
Post by: passedit on June 27, 2011, 08:29:46 PM
Quote from: Cde on June 27, 2011, 08:18:22 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 27, 2011, 08:14:57 PM

So, having entered all that into the computer is says Longford 1-11 Tyrone 0-14.

now I'm really looking forward to a long weekend in Longford

So is yer neighbour
Post by: loughshore lad on June 27, 2011, 08:48:28 PM
Quote from: barelegs on June 27, 2011, 05:26:40 PM
The problem Fuzzman is that this isn't an overnight thing. It's a long term downward trend that's constantly been put down to bad luck. Once you look at the facts it doesn't look so good.

We were relegated from division one of the league last year and failed to win promotion this year. We've been shown up in Croke Park in 2009 and 2010 and we're back in 2011 with pretty much the same team of players expecting big things.

We struggled to beat a poor Monaghan team who had 14 men for the entire second half and after flying out of the blocks yesterday our performance died completely.  Yes Joe McMahon got hurt but we'd an All Star full back replacing him not some duffer. And even if we'd won, that performance yesterday wouldn't exactly have left Cork, Dublin or Kerry trembling in fear of playing us.

People will talk about kicking the wides against Dublin last year or not taking our chances yesterday but its been a trend for this Tyrone team over a couple of seasons. Against most teams we'll have enough to edge by but it's been a while from we ruthlessly beaten a team. At this stage Tyrone's free taking has been so poor its nearly worth carrying a player just to kick the frees. It's got to be worth 3 or 4 points a game which they way we're going we can't afford to be giving away.

Our system and style of play works best with players that have speed and can get up and down the field. At the moment too many players on the team have lost a couple of yards of pace and its hurting us. (Watch any DVD from 2003 or 2005 and note the difference). You might be able to carry one or two who have lost a yard of pace but there are 5 or 6 that are missing it now. They're still good footballers they just can't do it the way they used to.

People expecting the under 21s to come in to inter county football and perform at the highest level straight away are deluded. We mightn't win anything this year but they're going to need to get the experience at some stage- might as well be now.

Great post there.
Post by: FairyWaterDuke on June 27, 2011, 09:12:20 PM
No. Do you honestly believe Mickey Harte and Tony Donnelly are going to keep players in the 15 who are too this or that. Yes the team isnt 2003 or 2005 nor should it be. Sometimes we forget how talented these players are - each one would be a star player in any other team. There is too muck criticism here much like  in 2004, 2006 and 2007. The same lines are being rolled out.

I look at this team and I see a group of players who are more hungrier and eager to prove their worth than their counterparts. I see a team that can win another All Ireland trophy and one which will eventually lose a few players and integrate younger guys when Mickey sees fit. If the likes of Peter Harte cannot step up then thats too bad - the best players that fit the system and opponents on the day should play. This group literally took our game to a new level which has now been matched by Cork in particular in terms of preparation. Get off their backs and support them on the next step in Longford. This team has learned from 2009 and 2010 and we are where we are. Its now up to Tyrone to make the best of their own situation. I'm sure they will.
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2011, 10:09:12 PM
The Longford threads are so pleasant after 4 weeks following Mayo neurosis.
Post by: bennydorano on June 27, 2011, 10:46:30 PM
Tyrone's descent began when Cork gubbed them in the 2009 semi, the day Sean had the skitter.
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2011, 10:54:01 PM
Up Longford.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2011, 11:35:29 PM
Shore will be in his usual big game spot directly behind the town goals on Sat week. This historically has been the 'scoring' goals.

Pearse Park will hold a good 12,000 but I'd expect no more than 6-8 k unless we get a few curious Cavans, Westmeaths and Rossies.

If we win it still couldn't eclipse last year's win over Mayo  ;)
Post by: ONeill on June 27, 2011, 11:38:55 PM
Was looking through Longford's results in Pearse Park and it's a bit of a fortress. Down, Derry, Mayo and even Kerry (NFL) have fallen.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2011, 11:43:29 PM
O'Neill - we shuda beaten Dubs in Leinster a few years back as well. That Kerry result stands out in my memory. Jack O'Connors first game. Then Trone visited and brought us back to reality.
Post by: ONeill on June 27, 2011, 11:48:11 PM
What's the recommended watering hole before the game? Was hoping to arrive around 5.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2011, 11:58:13 PM
Valentines in the middle of the town. 15/20 min walk 'Up the Battery' to Pearse Park.
Post by: ONeill on June 28, 2011, 12:09:42 AM
Thanks for that.

The teams from 2004:

TYRONE:
P McConnell,
R McMenamin, C McAnallen, C Gourley,
C Gormley, G Devlin, P Jordan,
K Hughes (1-0), S Cavanagh (1-0),
B Dooher, B McGuigan (0-2), S O'Neill (0-5),
C McCullough (0-1), O Mulligan (0-3,1f), M Harte (0-4,3f).
SUBS: E McGinley (1-0) for McCullough (26min), B Donnelly for McAnallen and S Sweeney for Devlin (65), B Cullins for Dooher (68).

LONGFORD:
D Sheridan,
S Carroll, A O'Connor, B Burke,
E Ledwith, D Hannify, S Lynch,
L Keenan (0-1), F Coyle,
T Smullen, D Blessington (0-2), P Barden (0-3,2f),
D Barden, N Sheridan, P Davis (0-3,1f).
SUBS: M Hussey for N Sheridan (28), M Mulleady for Lynch (29), M Lennon for P Barden (64), J Kenny for Burke (68).
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2011, 12:26:30 AM
That translates into Tyrone 3-15 Longford 0-09.

Ouch.

Niall Sheridan (GGF as christened by, I think, Magpie Seanie) lasted 28 minutes I see. He must have got no change from the late Cormac. Longford would have a few survivors - namely Sheridan in goals and both Bardens 7 years later. Liam Keenan is now a selector having had to retire early cos of a bad leg problem.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 28, 2011, 09:16:24 AM
QuoteLiam Keenan is now a selector having had to retire early cos of a bad leg problem.

As is P. Davis.

QuoteDown, Derry, Mayo and even Kerry (NFL) have fallen.

Dear old Derry came to grief because of the cows in Ballymahon.   No wait, they also lost in Pearse Park.   :P

Quoteno disrespect to Longford but

My favourite five words from the opposition team talk.  ;D
Post by: North Longford on June 28, 2011, 09:42:26 AM
Its interesting how many more players Tyrone will still have playing from 2004 compared to Longford. Is it 10 vs 3. Would think there are very few teams in the country would still have 10 of their starting 15 from 7 years ago playing?
And btw I'd be a lot more confident in Longfords current 15 than that one from 2004.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2011, 09:43:44 AM
QuoteAs is P. Davis.

Of course - my bad leaving out Podgie.

Niall Sheridan is still ploughing away for Abbeylara - still takes two to mark him. I see Michael Hussey came on that day - the great white hope for Mostrim at the time. Didn't really work out, in fairness.
Post by: LaurelEye on June 28, 2011, 11:09:58 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2011, 09:43:44 AM
Niall Sheridan is still ploughing away for Abbeylara - still takes two to mark him.

Sheridan has retired from club football.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2011, 11:20:25 AM
I see - I thought he was still going.
Post by: LaurelEye on June 28, 2011, 12:34:47 PM
Not at senior level, anyway.

Panc might be able to say more, or might choose not to...
Post by: panc56 on June 28, 2011, 01:02:08 PM
My insight no more than your own is from afar.Niall has not been a part of this years set-up thus far!
Unlike Tyrone we have gone with the young stars of the future in thi years championship.
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 30, 2011, 08:23:47 AM
Longford were top of the table before that league clash  I seem to remember after beating Kerry with last second goal and then beating Westmeath in Mullingar.....all went downhill from that point, 5 defeats in a row saw us relegated, although no shame in that.

Good to see the few extra selectors on board this year compared with last year, esp Davis after his success underage, he'll be the next in line for the senior post.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 12:28:16 AM
I see Mickey hit back at the OAP-berators. He still claims that age is not a factor. I think he disproved his own theory when he stated that for 30 minutes they completely outplayed Donegal. We all agree that. Many of us also agree that by 35 minutes Tyrone were punch-drunk and it was the likes of Mugsy, McGuigan, Dooher, Hub, Harte and O'Neill who seemed to be heavy-legged from there on in. 4 years ago they may have been able to maintain that effort. Philip Jordan, one of Tyrone's best players, had a hand-pass intercepted in the second half. That never happens Philip Jordan in a Tyrone shirt. To me it suggests that sharpness can falter a little in even the best and that can perhaps explain the misses/wides which have blighted Tyrone for 12 months now.

There's no doubt that they're the most talented group we've had. I'd also imagine they're more talented than what's on the bench. But inter-county football in 2011 is a lot more than natural ability and unless he alternates the aforementioned players with the lamb-legged Coney or Colm Cav or McKenna or Tommy or McCaul etc then Tyrone will continue to falter around the 40 minute mark. No one is calling for wholesale changes. But wouldn't it be great to call upon 2-3 of the old hands after 40-45 minutes instead of starting all of them and replacing them with lads late on with little or no experience.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 12:46:27 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 02, 2011, 12:39:13 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 12:28:16 AM
Philip Jordan, one of Tyrone's best players, had a hand-pass intercepted in the second half. That never happens Philip Jordan in a Tyrone shirt. To me it suggests that sharpness can falter a little in even the best and that can perhaps explain the misses/wides which have blighted Tyrone for 12 months now.

In the name of suffering fcuk, O'Neill, that's ridiculous.

I am sure that if one looked hard enough, one would find at least 5 intercepted Philip Jordan handpasses, and him wearing the Tyrone jersey.

Ah dear.

Away ye go. I'll wait for those 5 intercepted handpasses. In fact, I'll wait for one.

The point being that Jordan did that with plenty of time on his hands to off-load. I cannot remember who said it in 2008 (may have been  O'Connor in The Sunday Times) but they stated that Philip Jordan was responsible for zero turnovers from 05-08.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2011, 12:50:46 AM
Lads - shall we ensure Mrs D (Longford tea woman who has been making tay in Pearse Park since, oh I was a minor) gets in Complan for the Tyrone lads.

I hope Longford Pipe Band don't show up. Their version of The National Diity is vomit inducing.

A week to go. Longford 3/1 - Tyrone 1/3.

I like dem odds.  :-X

Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 01:04:12 AM
You're missing the point. Completely.

That incident, which resulted in a crucial point for Donegal (one of only 2 they scored in the second half), for me (personally) summed up what might possibly explain the plethora of wides and poor finishing (in terms of game time as well as point scoring) Tyrone have suffered badly from in recent years. Tired limbs will contribute to poor decision-making or finishing. You only have to look at the videos from 2003 or 2005 to see how Tyrone could maintain that effort for 75 minutes - spring lambs going at it full pelt for the entire game and coupled with the quality they had meant they were some force.

Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 01:34:56 AM
Ah, this is getting silly now. No one said you can decipher that one misplaced pass summed up the whole Tyrone team. That's typical Daily Star crap. There were some fine performances.

For the third time - that error, for me, mirrored the perception that age can possibly lead you to making misjudgements you would never have committed before that. When it's someone like Philly Jordan, the most reliable man on that team, and it leads to one of only two points your opponents score in a second half they win, it's somewhat telling.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 01:56:55 AM
Again, that's an example of the British tabloid approach (first surfaced under the Bush White House press hacks' tactics) we face now when any viewpoint is expressed. I initially said   Philip Jordan, one of Tyrone's best players, had a hand-pass intercepted in the second half. That never happens Philip Jordan in a Tyrone shirt. To me it suggests that sharpness can falter a little in even the best and that can perhaps explain the misses/wides which have blighted Tyrone for 12 months now.

Now, in the above posts I've repeatedly explained why I see that as a good example of the frailty that seems to affect this Tyrone team. I've never claimed it was an incurable problem or some kind of end-game or indicative of every player.

I still think you're being a little silly.
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2011, 09:34:53 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 01:34:56 AMage can possibly lead you to making misjudgements you would never have committed before

You can write that down. I was near run out of town over the misunderstanding about Roger's missus.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 02, 2011, 10:06:37 AM
Not sure if Phily Jordan was a good example to use. He had one of his best years in a Tyrone jersey last year. Thought he did well generally last week and will improve with every game. The likes of Gormley and Ricey look in good shape to and would have no question marks over them.

There are one or two players he needs to look at. Dooher is giving the ball away to much and may be a 20 minute man at most but I still wouldn't write him off totally. Maybe better to play one of the McMahons at 10. Can't remember Davy Harte playing a good championship game since 2008 - his place should be in doubt. He is only reliable now for a wide or 2 a game instead of scoring. Would rather see Sean O'Neill or McCaul or someone there who offering much more pace.

People keep calling for the young lads. I was at all five of their u21 championship games and very few looked very good at that level never mind stepping up to senior level. They struggled for long spells in midfield and the senior panelists showed no leadership especially in the final.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 10:13:43 AM
Felt the same about the U21s but they still were just a whisker from being Ulster champs after 5 games. There were some nice moments from Coney, O'Neill and Donnelly - I still think it's worth trying something slightly different.

If, and it's a big if, Tyrone overcome Longford, they'll not be far away with the games in quick succession creating a more 70-min matchfit squad.

Longford eh? Isn't that where Mick Collins' woman was from?
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 11:26:04 AM
Ryan insists Tyrone are far from finished

28 June 2011

Longford boss Glenn Ryan has insisted that Tyrone are still a force to be reckoned with ahead of their visit to Pearse Park next month.

The midlanders are always difficult to beat on their home turf and while this fixture has to potential for an upset, Ryan knows how dangerous Tyrone are when their backs are to the wall.

"The only thing about Tyrone over the years, they've always been able to turn negatives into positives. They really circle the wagons," Ryan said in the Irish News.

"Any criticism that's pointed in their direction, they'll take it on board and use it as motivation. We'd be wholly aware of their threat and the ability of this Tyrone team. There's no way anybody would consider this team to be beyond its best.

"And they'll be out to prove people that they're not a spent force. Early on they looked by far the better side against Donegal. At the end of the day, the two goals were the difference."

Ryan says the Red Hands will provide a "real good test" for his team who recorded an impressive victory over Cavan last weekend.

"We'll look forward to welcoming them down to Longford. There will be a very big crowd who will give the Longford players a much-needed boost and hopefully we'll give Tyrone a good game."
Post by: Main Street on July 02, 2011, 01:18:54 PM
Finish Tyrone?
That's proving difficult, they have a Rasputin like durability.
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 01:32:34 PM
Ryan says the Red Hands will provide a "real good test" for his team who recorded an impressive victory over Cavan last weekend.

There sounds a confident man. There's no doubt Longford see themselves emulating Laois in 2006 - take the Tyronnies into their backyard, whip up the crowd into a frenzy and ambush them under the cover of darkness.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 02, 2011, 01:55:33 PM
5 pages in and still discussing the Game, Tyrone will win by 10 end off. They may not be the team of old but they will surely duff this team. Crossmaglen would have beat Cavan FFS
Post by: Main Street on July 02, 2011, 02:18:59 PM
No need for an epitaph.
(http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/23282_105308556182446_8029_n.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 02, 2011, 02:19:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 02, 2011, 01:55:33 PM
5 pages in and still discussing the Game, Tyrone will win by 10 end off. They may not be the team of old but they will surely duff this team. Crossmaglen would have beat Cavan FFS

Any 15 hampsters from the bowl c jesus wept thread  would beat cavan
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 02:37:13 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 02, 2011, 02:18:59 PM
No need for an epitaph.
(http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/23282_105308556182446_8029_n.jpg)

(http://www.jackwolak.com/images/products/detail/10568.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 02, 2011, 06:21:46 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2011, 01:32:34 PM

There sounds a confident man. There's no doubt Longford see themselves emulating Laois in 2006 - take the Tyronnies into their backyard, whip up the crowd into a frenzy and ambush them under the cover of darkness.

Us Kildare folk live in a bubble of certitude, no idea why!!
Post by: ONeill on July 04, 2011, 03:45:46 PM
Bring yer season tickets. No hard copies posted out.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 04, 2011, 04:06:54 PM
QuoteLongford eh? Isn't that where Mick Collins' woman was from?

Aye, Granard in fact!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 04:08:03 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 04, 2011, 04:06:54 PM

Aye, Granard in fact!

Who, Julia Roberts?
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2011, 04:11:06 PM
How is it that Longford don't do angst ?  Is it the zen?
I didn't realise Tyrone had the illness .   
Post by: ONeill on July 04, 2011, 04:19:00 PM
Any word of the referee? Bannon?
Post by: tyrone86 on July 04, 2011, 04:25:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 04, 2011, 04:19:00 PM

The 'best referee in the country' ®
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2011, 04:28:37 PM
Pat Mc Enaney
Post by: omagh_gael on July 04, 2011, 04:32:15 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on July 04, 2011, 04:25:57 PM

The 'best referee in the country' ®

Surely Sludden can't ref his own County???
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 04, 2011, 05:09:10 PM
It's Pat McEnaney alright. Why an Ulster ref??? He'll ride us to hell and back  >:(

Do all ye boys and girls know how to get to Pearse Park.

If you are coming through Granard can I suggest you take the Edgewortstown route to Longford (N55 to Etown and then the N4) as opposed to the route via Ballinalee (R194) . The former is a better road even if it's slightly longer.

If you are coming my suggested route take the Longford bypass heading towards Sligo and you cannot miss the pitch as it's just off the bypass. You'll see the cars parked. Turn the car for home.

You may want to head into Longford town for a jar or two. If so, ignore the bypass (obviously). The pitch will be on the old Sligo road heading out of the town. Again you will see the cars being parked.

Pitch is 15 min walk from town centre. Expect a 10 or so min walk from bypass if you get there with half hour before throw in. County Board may open some car parks on the bypass (they did this the time the Dubs came a calling there a few years ago)
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2011, 05:14:28 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 04, 2011, 05:09:10 PM
It's Pat McEnaney alright. Why an Ulster ref??? He'll ride us to hell and back  >:(

If you are coming through Granard can I suggest you take the Edgewortstown route to Longford (N55 to Etown and then the N4) as opposed to the route via Ballinalee (R194) . The former is a better road even if it's slightly longer.

If you are coming my suggested route take the Longford bypass heading towards Sligo and you cannot miss the pitch as it's just off the bypass. You'll see the cars parked. Turn the car for home.

You may want to head into Longford town for a jar or two. If so, ignore the bypass (obviously). The pitch will be on the old Sligo road heading out of the town. Again you will see the cars being parked.

Pitch is 15 min walk from town centre. Expect a 10 or so min walk from bypass if you get there with half hour before throw in. County Board may open some car parks on the bypass (they did this the time the Dubs came a calling there a few years ago)

So quickly after mentioning the pints there was the word "throw" and I though the preposition was going to be "up"  rather than "in"'

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 04, 2011, 05:35:04 PM

He'll give us feck all SS, you'll be grand!  ;)
Post by: ONeill on July 04, 2011, 06:17:28 PM

Thanks for that - was on Google Maps doing the street-view and it put the fear of God in me.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 04, 2011, 06:41:28 PM
Any word on which game will be televised?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2011, 06:47:09 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 04, 2011, 06:41:28 PM
Any word on which game will be televised?
Laois v Kildare
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 04, 2011, 08:56:00 PM
Thoughts on team?
Justy bound to start, will donnelly keep his place? will DH and BD still be on?

Might make a day of it and treat the woman to a day out   :-\  - how far is it to longford from cookstown? any good eating establishments on the rout home?
Post by: Jinxy on July 04, 2011, 08:58:48 PM

This is why Longford never win anything.
Ye are way too nice.
Do you think I'll be giving the Galway lads directions to Navan?
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2011, 09:12:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 04, 2011, 08:58:48 PM

This is why Longford never win anything.
Ye are way too nice.
Do you think I'll be giving the Galway lads directions to Navan?

It was very nice and very out of character for Meath to appoint Banty as manager.
It's nice to give other counties a chance.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 04, 2011, 11:43:55 PM
Jazes! I don't think giving the directions to the grounds is being nice!

I want them all there in good time to see us triumph!  ;)
Post by: Doohicky on July 05, 2011, 09:03:30 AM
Any Tyronies heading down from Belfast for the game?

I am sure to get lost on my own!  ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 09:31:38 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 04, 2011, 04:08:03 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 04, 2011, 04:06:54 PM

Aye, Granard in fact!

Who, Julia Roberts?

Kitty Kiernan.  You'd never get away with a gob like Julia Roberts in Granard!
Post by: Fuzzman on July 05, 2011, 10:10:25 AM
Tyrone boss Harte looks for strength in reserves
By John Campbell on Tuesday, 5 July 2011n Belfast Telegraph

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte is poised to bring back three players to his side, all of whom missed out on starting places for the Ulster semi-final defeat to Donegal.

Justin McMahon, Aidan Cassidy and Martin Penrose are in line to return to the Red Hands squad for Saturday's second round All-Ireland qualifier tie away to Longford.

All three players were introduced as substitutes against Jim McGuinness's side and are now in line to start against a Longford team considerably heartened by their handsome victory over neighbours Cavan.

Joe McMahon, who had to leave the field with concussion against Donegal following a high challenge from Leo McLoone, has fully recovered and has since turned out for his club Omagh St Enda's since then.

Although he is expected to play against Longford, it is likely that his brother Justin will fill the full-back berth with Joe perhaps deployed at half-forward where the Red Hands struggled in the second half against Donegal.

Cassidy has been troubled by an ankle injury lately but should return to the side on Saturday. He could partner Kevin Hughes at midfield with Sean Cavanagh, a consistent source of scores for Tyrone this year no matter where he plays, perhaps moving up into the attack.

Penrose, who sparkled in the Ulster quarter-final win over Monaghan, played for the last 20 minutes against Donegal but looks certain to join Stephen O'Neill in the inside line.

However O'Neill is still trying to shake off a hamstring injury.

The fact that Penrose will bring his free-kicking skills to the table will be a further bonus as Peter Harte was off target with a couple of second-half efforts against Donegal — a dip in form Tyrone could ill afford.

Brian McGuigan, Owen Mulligan and Brian Dooher were all substituted against Donegal and since then there has been criticism that Tyrone's championship stalwarts do not quite possess their former levels of stamina.

Manager Harte has discounted this theory, suggesting that age has nothing to do with it.

But there is no doubt that his team will have to compete for the full 70 minutes against a Longford side that is big and strong and boasts one of the best finishers in the sport in Brian Kavanagh.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have never been to a game in Longford so looking forward to it as it will be my first game this year.
I wonder will it be like the Louth game back on 2008 or more like the Laois game in 2006.

I can't see Harte giving in to the pressure to play some of the younger faces but maybe with Joey coming back he will see fit to replace Dooher with Joey. I don't think Hub is under pressure just yet from Cassidy though could he play Cassidy at 14?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 10:39:55 AM
What about this for a team. Its what I would like to see:

1. Packie
2. Carlin/McCaul
3. Joey
4. Gormley
5. Ricey
6. Justy
7. Jordan
8. Cassidy
9. Sean Cav
10. Penrose
11. Brian NcGuigan
12. Peter Harte
13. Donnelly
14. SON
15. Mugsy/Tommy

Good enough line out i reckon!  ;D
Post by: Fuzzman on July 05, 2011, 11:05:28 AM
Any word on Tommy?
How's he coming along?

Is he still recovering from an injury or is he just not getting a look in.
Has his attitude improved from last year or does Mickey not think he works hard enough.
I for one think the forward line needs freshening up and wouldn't mind at all seeing Tommy or even Coney but neither have got any game time as yet

Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 11:16:31 AM
Cannot see any changes to the starting XV that lined out agin Cavan

Damien Sheridan
Dermot Brady
Barry Gilleran
Declan Reilly
Shane Mulligan
Kevin Diffley
Noel Farrell
Bernard McElvaney
Martin Brady
David Barden
Diarmuid Masterson
Paul Barden
Donal McElligot
Brian Kavanagh
Sean McCormack

The dashing Paddy Dowd has left the panel for personal reasons. Which is a shame really as he never gave less than 100%
Post by: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 12:00:19 PM
What, only two half-parishers.  Surely not??
Post by: snippets on July 05, 2011, 12:03:48 PM
First post here.  Big game in a great Gaelic arena on a Saturday evening.  Was there in 2004 at what turned out to be Cormacs last game.  Cant be there this weekend but I can guarantee anyone who goes this weekend will have a quare evenings craic in Granard or Longford itself.  Real good gaelic people.  Will Mickey show more faith in Davey and Dooher from the start.  Ill be honest and I wont be criticising any Tyrone legends but there does not appear to be much forward thinking for Croke Park based on our recent defeats there, or even future planning for next season at the moment - Lets hope it pays off with a win regardless.   
Post by: LaurelEye on July 05, 2011, 12:36:58 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 12:00:19 PM

We can't crowd out all the other clubs, Billy. They'd only be getting jealous  ;)

A third came on in the last couple of minutes against Cavan and a fourth is out for the remainder of the year with a torn lateral knee ligament. The fifth is on the bench (although there seems to be an Internet campaign to bring him on to play "a Paul Galvin roll"). There might even be a sixth but we'll see on that score.
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 12:47:41 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 10:39:55 AM

1. Packie
2. Carlin/McCaul
3. Joey
4. Gormley
5. Ricey
6. Justy
7. Jordan
8. Cassidy
9. Sean Cav
10. Penrose
11. Brian NcGuigan
12. Peter Harte
13. Donnelly
14. SON
15. Mugsy/Tommy

I think he'll go

Packie

Swift
Justin
Ricey

D Harte
Gormley
Jordan

Hub
Cassidy

P Harte
McGuigan
Joe

Penrose
Cavanagh
Donnelly

With Tommy, Mugsy, McGinley, Dooher, Carlin, McCaul, McKenna, Coney et al fighting it out for an appearance.
Post by: loughshore lad on July 05, 2011, 12:58:27 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 05, 2011, 11:05:28 AM
Any word on Tommy?
How's he coming along?

Is he still recovering from an injury or is he just not getting a look in.
Has his attitude improved from last year or does Mickey not think he works hard enough.
I for one think the forward line needs freshening up and wouldn't mind at all seeing Tommy or even Coney but neither have got any game time as yet

Whats that about  ???
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 12:59:52 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on July 05, 2011, 12:36:58 PM

We can't crowd out all the other clubs, Billy. They'd only be getting jealous  ;)

A third came on in the last couple of minutes against Cavan and a fourth is out for the remainder of the year with a torn lateral knee ligament. The fifth is on the bench (although there seems to be an Internet campaign to bring him on to play "a Paul Galvin roll"). There might even be a sixth but we'll see on that score.

Are any of them a Jesus lookalike, that spent time in California?
Post by: LaurelEye on July 05, 2011, 01:09:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 12:59:52 PM

That would be an ecumenical matter (says he holding up five fingers behind his back).

And it would have been more Zipper Harris (http://www.doonesbury.com/strip/cast/member/21) than Jesus.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 01:16:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 12:47:41 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 10:39:55 AM

1. Packie
2. Carlin/McCaul
3. Joey
4. Gormley
5. Ricey
6. Justy
7. Jordan
8. Cassidy
9. Sean Cav
10. Penrose
11. Brian NcGuigan
12. Peter Harte
13. Donnelly
14. SON
15. Mugsy/Tommy

I think he'll go

Packie

Swift
Justin
Ricey

D Harte
Gormley
Jordan

Hub
Cassidy

P Harte
McGuigan
Joe

Penrose
Cavanagh
Donnelly

With Tommy, Mugsy, McGinley, Dooher, Carlin, McCaul, McKenna, Coney et al fighting it out for an appearance.

You must believe Stevie won't be fit or are you dropping him?  :P
Surely he'll shake up defence a bit more as they weren't great the last day out! Although he's not one for mass changes right enough!
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 01:37:44 PM
The defence only conceded 8 scores in 70 minutes last day, albeit against a defensive side. Swift was good for 69 mins. Joe, Ricey, Jordan, Harte and Gormley were satisfactory too. I didn't think there was a pile wrong. I think it's our ability to score heavily that's the problem.

Personally I'd love to see a relatively newish forward division, bringing on the likes of Brian McGuigan, Mugsy and O'Neill (if fit) around the 45 min mark.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 05, 2011, 02:01:09 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 01:37:44 PM
The defence only conceded 8 scores in 70 minutes last day, albeit against a defensive side. Swift was good for 69 mins. Joe, Ricey, Jordan, Harte and Gormley were satisfactory too. I didn't think there was a pile wrong. I think it's our ability to score heavily that's the problem.

Personally I'd love to see a relatively newish forward division, bringing on the likes of Brian McGuigan, Mugsy and O'Neill (if fit) around the 45 min mark.

Don't think Harte was satisfactory - far from it this last while - needs to go!
I think you have to keep someone like McGuigan in there - his forms been v good this year and he would be the most vital player when unlocking defences and getting the newbies into good positions! (thats if we ever see these new lads  :-\)
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 02:04:02 PM
Yea, you're right about McGuigan. His form has been good - against Donegal he simply seemed to suffer after that monster hit he took in the first half.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 02:10:20 PM
Ye sound a bit worried lads.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 05, 2011, 02:17:54 PM
Haha we're finally giving BB what he wanted to hear
He thought we were quietly confident there for too long

I too think it would be no harm resting Stevie's weary bones for the Kildare game the following week.  :o

The skill that Tommy has he should be one of the main forwards in that team.
I know he had injury troubles but he needs to  start working harder for the team like Brian does and not just be out for his own glory.

Do Longford play an all out attack game or will we see some crowding?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 02:34:21 PM
Longford are all out attack.

No puke football will be seen from our lads.

Post by: Main Street on July 05, 2011, 02:39:29 PM
Mickey Harte is going to put Dooher in the starting line up.
He has few pleasures greater than proving his theories right and especially when the doubters are Tyronies.

Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 02:46:00 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 02:10:20 PM

Tyrone have form when it comes to struggling in Leinster. In 2006, Louth took them to a replay with a late Mulligan free sparing our blushes. Then Laois delivered the mortal blow. Louth...Laois...Longford.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 05, 2011, 02:49:48 PM
Hope we don't get London or Leitrim next year
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 02:54:25 PM
Don't mention Leitrim. Remember in '02 down in Carrick on Shannon - when rain stopped play they were ahead. And sure in '06 before Louth and Laois didnt Londonderry do a job in Omagh.
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2011, 02:54:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 02:46:00 PM

Tyrone have form when it comes to struggling in Leinster. In 2006, Louth took them to a replay with a late Mulligan free sparing our blushes. Then Laois delivered the mortal blow. Louth...Laois...Longford.

Ahem ...
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 02:57:36 PM
Sorry. Dublin last year.
Post by: tyrone86 on July 05, 2011, 03:09:03 PM

I am genuinely worried. We have a come a cropper at grounds we don't regularly visit in the Championship - Newry and Portlaoise to name but 2 and we escaped out of Navan against Louth with a draw by the skin of our teeth - Drogheda in 2008 was the exception to the rule under Mickey.  O'Neill being very doubtful may be a massive loss but you do have the flip side that the other forwards have tended to up their game in his absence. The question is, given the performances against Monaghan, Donegal and what went before it in the league and even as far back as Dublin last year, do these lads have the killer instinct any more?
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2011, 03:15:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 02:57:36 PM
Sorry. Dublin last year.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Denial.gif)
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 03:24:55 PM
Excellently apt colours and hair choices.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 05:36:57 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on July 05, 2011, 01:09:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 12:59:52 PM

That would be an ecumenical matter (says he holding up five fingers behind his back).

And it would have been more Zipper Harris (http://www.doonesbury.com/strip/cast/member/21) than Jesus.

I thought it's might be five alright :D
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 07:10:19 PM
Sheridan wary of Tyrone challenge

Longford goalkeeper Damien Sheridan is playing down any advantage his team might have this Saturday in their All-Ireland Championship preliminary round against Tyrone just because they are playing at home.

Longford have had an impressive championship home record over the past five years, with Derry and Mayo both falling to Longford in previous Championship encounters.

However, Sheridan does not believe that this record will strike too much fear in the heart of the 2008 All-Ireland champions and insists that it will be down the Longford to perform on the day.

"The fans can't come across the white line," said Sheridan.

"It all comes down to us at the end of the day, put the ball over the bar, keep it out of the net, whatever it is. But one thing is certain, we've got to do that ourselves.

"It's great to have the support of the fans and of course they'll try and drive you on any way they can, but it's the 15 fellas that start and the five that come on that have to do it.

"It's hardly two hours of a drive down the road for them and it's far better for them than travelling down to the bottom of the country or somewhere like that," added Sheridan.

"Compared to some of the other stuff they've encountered over the years in All-Ireland finals and Ulster finals I don't think it's going to bother them much."

http://www.setanta.com/ien/Articles/2011/07/05/Sheridan-wary-of-Tyrone-challenge/gnid-99257/
Post by: snippets on July 05, 2011, 10:31:36 PM
I think sean o neill will start on saturday and its more a question of who for, I agree with the comments about the majority of tyrones defence being sound the last day. I also take on the point that tyrone have struggled against leinster football, if you think of the trouble that say average counties like the meaths and laoises have inflicted on us over the years.  Top of the town in edgeworthstown for decent pints lads.         
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 05, 2011, 10:45:46 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 05, 2011, 02:39:29 PM
Mickey Harte is going to put Dooher in the starting line up.
He has few pleasures greater than proving his theories right and especially when the doubters are Tyronies.

Any truth in the rumour that Mickey's master strategy involves a decade of the rosary before the game and getting some unvetted priest (who should be praised according to the book Mickey was involved in) to shake holy water over the half forward line at half time?
Post by: panc56 on July 05, 2011, 11:11:56 PM
No matter what 15 Mickey picks for Saturday it will read well and probably have 30 plus AISFC medals holders. Daunting for Longford but we really have nothing to loose and we are absolutely flying in training. The Big Shock is still on! Roll on Saturday
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 11:21:12 PM
Hopefully we get all manner of supporter out on Sat to support the team! Me auld fella will prob be selling tickets which is great as it's time for him to change the car again!
Post by: snippets on July 05, 2011, 11:25:35 PM
I think we could try a shock and awe approach in the first half and central to that may well be sean  cavanagh.  I feel he will not be in midfield and instead be charged with wreaking havoc and damnation against the slashers in the first 20 mins.  I feel I would give dooher the  start again for this game and I have a feeling mickey will agree with me.  I would not stàrt mulligan and stevie together   
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 11:37:01 PM
Snippets. U are new and may not be aware that Slashers is not the proper term when referring to us! I'll let this pass this time. We are 'The Larries''
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 11:44:25 PM
I'm not sold on Sean O'Neill as a defender first and foremost but then perhaps almost every half back line in the country has a player who is more of an attacking force.

I'm not a critic of Davy Harte. I think a lot of his support work goes unnoticed. He has a good understanding (as he should after 6 years) with his comrades although you do feel a little less confident of retaining possession when he has it as opposed to Gormley or Jordan. Although he hasn't played a standout game in a couple of years, he rarely ever does anyway as he's not a man to hold onto the ball for too long but does fit in well with Mickey's system.

I'm happy to see the same 1-7 as last day with perhaps Justin in for Joe to free up Joe for the half forwards.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 11:46:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 11:37:01 PM
Snippets. U are new and may not be aware that Slashers is not the proper term when referring to us! I'll let this pass this time. We are 'The Larries''

This is the only thing the Longford lads get riled up about :D
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2011, 11:57:50 PM
Tyrone v Leinster since the back door was opened:

v Wexford 02 - won
v Laois 04 - won
v Dublin 05 - draw, won
v Louth 06 - draw, won
v Laois 06 - lost (Also July 9th oooooohhhhhhh)
v Meath 07 - lost
v Louth 08 - won
v Westmeath 08 - won
v Dublin 08 - won
v Wexford 08 - won
v Kildare 09 - won
v Dublin 10 - lost
Post by: snippets on July 06, 2011, 05:47:46 AM
Sorry the larries it will be then.  Anyone know what coverage online tv radio ore otherwise this game may have.  Oneill depends on the stats you use.  Early stats to 1995. Defeats to louth 56 dubs 84 and 95 meath 96 4 nil leinster at that stage
Post by: Billys Boots on July 06, 2011, 09:09:05 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 11:46:37 PM

The 'Slashers' are the friggen townies - there's only one of them on the team.  ::)

C'mon the Larries!!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2011, 09:38:32 AM
There may be only one Slasher on the team Billy, but he's a good un.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 06, 2011, 10:23:51 AM
Whats the beat on the street inside Tyrone camp - Heard a rumour Kyle Coney is burning men left right and centre in training and he can't get a sniff?? I suppose as the Mickey brigade will say 'Mickey knows best he needs to get more experience before we dare try to start a 6ft+ 14.5 stone total athlete at 21 years of age!!!'  ::)
Post by: Billys Boots on July 06, 2011, 10:37:11 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2011, 09:38:32 AM
There may be only one Slasher on the team Billy, but he's a good un.

Never said he wasn't.  :P
Post by: Fuzzman on July 06, 2011, 10:51:48 AM
What's the story with Carlin? Was he injured or just not getting the call up?
He looks like he is never gonna get a descent run in the team.

Also, interesting that Mickey played Colm Cavanagh last year at MF for a good run of games and he actually starting to convince most of us that he was worth his place. Then this year he's gone backwards again.

I wonder could we see an appearance from McGinley again some time soon.
Post by: Rois on July 06, 2011, 11:13:23 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 06, 2011, 10:51:48 AM
What's the story with Carlin? Was he injured or just not getting the call up?
He looks like he is never gonna get a descent run in the team.

Think he was injured.
Post by: LaurelEye on July 06, 2011, 11:22:00 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 06, 2011, 09:09:05 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 11:46:37 PM

The 'Slashers' are the friggen townies - there's only one of them on the team.  ::)

Two. A third came on as a sub.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2011, 12:24:29 PM
Come on the Slashers, do it for Leinster...  ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 06, 2011, 12:51:13 PM
Predictable Croí.......predictable.

Post by: Billys Boots on July 06, 2011, 12:59:53 PM
Even if there's three of them, they'll hardly be able to beat Tyrone.  I know you're idle Croí, but now you're just being silly. 
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 07, 2011, 03:32:43 PM
how many does pearse park hold?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2011, 03:51:57 PM
For all their 'quiet' confidence, there's an awful lot of bravado emanating from the Midlands ;)

Paradoxically for Longford, that trouncing of Cavan may not have been the ideal preparation that it's generally portrayed to be therein; such thumpings rarely are.
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2011, 04:05:34 PM
Make no mistake about this - the Longford Ultras have their weekly wages on this. They smell blood. Half the country also expects a home win. Most of the other half are hoping for it. 'Tyrone you're on your own' rings true once more.
Post by: ross4life on July 07, 2011, 04:40:58 PM
Last time i seen a Tyrone team play in Pearse park was v our lot in the Minor QF in 09, they turned up that day with a swagger & produced a performance to match. I seen Longford at their best in the league final but as bad as we were on the day we could have still nicked a draw if Damien Sheridan didn't save Mannion's penalty & another incredible save from Cregg.

Although Tyrone are coming off the back of dissappointing defeat i expect them to turn up once more with that swagger & produce a performance that will set tongues wagging again.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 07, 2011, 04:57:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 07, 2011, 04:05:34 PM
Make no mistake about this - the Longford Ultras have their weekly wages on this. They smell blood. Half the country also expects a home win. Most of the other half are hoping for it. 'Tyrone you're on your own' rings true once more.

Yeah, yeah, yeah - you lads keep telling yourselves things like this and eventually you'll believe them.
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2011, 05:06:06 PM
Betfair: Longford 4.8, Tyrone 1.34, Draw 9.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 07, 2011, 05:12:36 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 07, 2011, 03:32:43 PM

???
Post by: ross4life on July 07, 2011, 05:14:21 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 07, 2011, 05:12:36 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 07, 2011, 03:32:43 PM

???
About 16-18,000
Post by: panc56 on July 07, 2011, 05:42:58 PM
Officially I think it's 15000. Which has only been filled once in my lifetime when the Dubs with their Blue book brigade scrapped home by 2. The one that got away.
As a team who only lost twice all year we are quite entitled to be quietly confident after all we are only playing a team just one division above us.
You definitely have the
Post by: panc56 on July 07, 2011, 05:47:20 PM
respect of The Larries and deservedly so. I just hope that you don't have the shooting boots on early. A few bad wides, one between us at half time, playing into the town goals in the 2nd...we'll have ye ;)

Hope it's a good one.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 07, 2011, 07:11:50 PM
Jesus - the place would be packed out at 16-18k.

I think health and safety insists on a max of 12k.

I saw it full once before the Dubs match in 2006. Cavan v Dublin Nat League Qtr final in 1977. That was some event for a 9 yr old to be at. On the pitch I was and all. A stones throw from Keaveny, Brogan, Mullins etc. A different 'stadium' then of course.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2011, 07:25:57 PM
A friend of mine from Longford reckons they'll win by at least 4 points.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 07, 2011, 07:37:01 PM
Didn't Longford do a redevelopment on Pearse park making the capacity bigger?
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2011, 07:44:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2011, 07:25:57 PM

'At least'
Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2011, 07:46:50 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 07, 2011, 04:40:58 PM
Last time i seen a Tyrone team play in Pearse park was v our lot in the Minor QF in 09, they turned up that day with a swagger & produced a performance to match. .
That was 08 Ross4. 09 we got a day out in Croker v Kerry where we took the kutehoors to extra time beofre watching their Seniors blow Dublin off the park.
As for this game .. if Tyrone are gone stale,if they miss a few , if Longford are still in it at 3 quarter stage....  still that's too many ifs so it's Tyrone to win. :-\
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2011, 07:57:33 PM
There'll be a smatterin' of us gadderin' in Valentines on Main Street before the game, if there's anyone else interested in a bit of oul pre-match craic  ;)
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 07, 2011, 08:01:22 PM
Starting to look forward to this. Will have the feel of a good do or die championship match played in front of a close to full ground. Have happy memories from previous visists - an U21 All Ireland in the early 90's, a minor All Ireland in 2008 and good victory in the league in 2004. Hopefully my love for the ground won't change after Saturday.

Its now the Tyrone players have to ask themselves how much they want another All Ireland. On Saturday when they're under pressure it will be then you start to see whether they still have the hunger for knockout football. After all they've lost their last 2 knockout games in the championship. I'm hoping for a positive respone. Any win will do here as long as the team show character.

Wonder what team will be named tonight. Can see 3-4 changes from the last day. Would love to see fresh legs at right half back but not going to happen.
Post by: ross4life on July 07, 2011, 08:03:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 07, 2011, 07:46:50 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 07, 2011, 04:40:58 PM
Last time i seen a Tyrone team play in Pearse park was v our lot in the Minor QF in 09, they turned up that day with a swagger & produced a performance to match. .
That was 08 Ross4. 09 we got a day out in Croker v Kerry where we took the kutehoors to extra time beofre watching their Seniors blow Dublin off the park.
As for this game .. if Tyrone are gone stale,if they miss a few , if Longford are still in it at 3 quarter stage....  still that's too many ifs so it's Tyrone to win. :-\

That's correct rosfan my mistake we lost the Connacht final to Mayo in Mchale park another one we should have won. 09 Croker i was there sitting beside woggie the least we deserved was a draw that day.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 07, 2011, 08:56:27 PM
Tyrone can concentrate on the club scene after Saturday. It needs more focus anyway.
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2011, 09:08:12 PM
Team news slow?
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 07, 2011, 09:14:30 PM
Yeah, I can sense the tension. 3 of 4 changes, or maybe just the one.
Post by: wdusln on July 07, 2011, 09:17:25 PM
Stephen O'Neill remains injury doubt for Longford clash

Page last updated at 19:44 GMT, Thursday, 7 July 2011 20:44 UK

Stephen O'Neill has been named in the Tyrone team for Saturday's All-Ireland SFC Qualifier clash with Longford.

But O'Neill will undergo a late fitness test before a final decision is made on whether his damaged hamstring will allow him to start at Pearse Park.

Defender Martin Swift is another doubt, also with a hamstring problem, and he took will go through a fitness test.

Mickey Harte has named an unchanged team from that which started the Ulster semi-final defeat by Donegal.

Harte has resisted the temptation to recall fit-again trio Enda McGinley, Justin McMahon and Aidan Cassidy but all three are likely to be on the bench.

McGinley has not played for Tyrone this summer after recovering from hamstring surgery.

Tyrone: P McConnell, M Swift, Joe McMahon, R McMenamin, D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan, K Hughes, S Cavanagh, B Dooher, B McGuigan, P Harte, M Penrose, M Donnelly, S O'Neill.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/14015058.stm
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2011, 09:20:45 PM
Tyrone v Longford AIQ

Liosta

1 Pascal McConnell – An Baile Nua
2 Martin Swift – Coill an Chlochair
3 Joe McMahon – An Omaigh
4 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
5 Davy Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
6 Conor Gormley – An Charraig Mhór
7 Philip Jordan – An Mhaigh
8 Kevin Hughes – Cill Íseal
9 Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
10 Brian Dooher – Clann na nGael
11 Brian McGuigan – Ard Bó
12 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
13 Martin Penrose – Achadh Uí Aráin
14 Stephen O'Neill – Clann na nGael
15 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
16 John Devine Aireagal Chiaráin
17 Aidan Cassidy – Eochar
18 Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
19 Kyle Coney – Ard Bó
20 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mhór
21 Damian McCaul – Domhnach Mór
22 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
23 Tommy McGuigan – Ard Bó
24 Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
25 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chriochach
26 Sean O'Neill – An Droim Mhór

Bainisteoir: Micheál Ó hAirt
Post by: Gaffer on July 07, 2011, 09:22:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2011, 07:25:57 PM

Well,  Tyrone's gonna win by 3

That's according to an aul doll from Aughamullan.
Post by: TY14ED on July 07, 2011, 09:26:51 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 07, 2011, 08:01:22 PM
Starting to look forward to this. Will have the feel of a good do or die championship match played in front of a close to full ground. Have happy memories from previous visists - an U21 All Ireland in the early 90's, a minor All Ireland in 2008 and good victory in the league in 2004. Hopefully my love for the ground won't change after Saturday.

Its now the Tyrone players have to ask themselves how much they want another All Ireland. On Saturday when they're under pressure it will be then you start to see whether they still have the hunger for knockout football. After all they've lost their last 2 knockout games in the championship. I'm hoping for a positive respone. Any win will do here as long as the team show character.

Wonder what team will be named tonight. Can see 3-4 changes from the last day. Would love to see fresh legs at right half back but not going to happen

Red hand Santa-  you should put your head together with radda & sort out rhb.. Tyrone will be straight to the top
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 07, 2011, 09:29:32 PM
Unreal. Not even a single change. I'm flabberghasted....
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2011, 09:30:18 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2011, 09:20:45 PM
Tyrone v Longford AIQ

Liosta

1 Pascal McConnell – An Baile Nua
2 Martin Swift – Coill an Chlochair
3 Joe McMahon – An Omaigh
4 Ryan McMenamin – An Droim Mhór
5 Davy Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
6 Conor Gormley – An Charraig Mhór
7 Philip Jordan – An Mhaigh
8 Kevin Hughes – Cill Íseal
9 Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
10 Brian Dooher – Clann na nGael
11 Brian McGuigan – Ard Bó
12 Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
13 Martin Penrose – Achadh Uí Aráin
14 Stephen O'Neill – Clann na nGael
15 Mark Donnelly – An Charraig Mhór
16 John Devine Aireagal Chiaráin
17 Aidan Cassidy – Eochar
18 Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
19 Kyle Coney – Ard Bó
20 Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mhór
21 Damian McCaul – Domhnach Mór
22 Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
23 Tommy McGuigan – Ard Bó
24 Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
25 Owen Mulligan – An Chorra Chriochach
26 Sean O'Neill – An Droim Mhór

Bainisteoir: Micheál Ó hAirt

Right so. The shooting boots must be mended.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2011, 09:36:12 PM
Aye, they must - can only imagine that the training has been extremely therapeutic these past few weeks.
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2011, 09:40:17 PM
This is a big big call. Although Swift and O'Neill might be forced changes, if Tyrone limp out in a similar manner to the Dublin and Donegal games then it'll be hard to defend his logic here.

On the other hand, rack up 3-16 and it's 2 fingers to the doubters (although 'it's only Longford' is a comeback!!!)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2011, 09:45:44 PM
Indeed, a massive call, but a measure of the man nonetheless -- he shall not be deflected from those entrenched convictions, potential tsunami of criticism notwithstanding.
Post by: randomtask on July 07, 2011, 09:50:49 PM
Although i didn't support whole sale changes in the team, i an very annoyed that a few changes haven't been made. Person i feel that davey harte is no longer county starting standard, i could name 5-10 men in the county both within the panel and outside who i believe are better than him, his inclusion cannot be justified in my mind. I also think that dooher should not be starting. Very surprised that justy isnt starting as he was very impressive in his last club game.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 07, 2011, 10:26:48 PM
If there's one thing we should have learnt over the past 7 years is Mickey is his own boss and he can dig his heels in and not be swayed easily. He knows all the talk is about ageing players but Mickey can be stubborn. Look how he got his club eventually set up.
I too am disappointed but I can't say I'm surprised. He stuck with the older lads all through the league so he must not feel the others have better to offer.
Although it's annoying I think he's earned the right to pick the team as HE sees fit and not us the fans.
I think we'll come through this game ok with a few to spare but again loads more work to do.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 07, 2011, 10:28:28 PM
I honestly don't think thats the team and has been named for the programme. Hard to imagine O'Neill starting as if he's not right won't be risked. Would imagine there will be at least 2 more changes before throw in which will be put down to injury. Who's missing from the bench or was McCrory there the last day? Is Gourley back fit?
Post by: north down on July 07, 2011, 10:30:10 PM
Didn't expect too many changes to be honest - Mickey is obviously challenging the 15 that failed against Donegal to prove that they are better than that performance. Can't see Stephen O'Neill starting though not if he has to go through a late fitness test - I expect Martin Penrose to start and for him to take over free-taking duty from young Harte. Personally I think Peter Harte's general game against Donegal was quite good - he was just let down a bit with his free taking - but any free-taker can have a bad day.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 07, 2011, 10:32:27 PM
I've full faith in Harte. If some people had their way half the team would be replaced with inferior players simply cause they're younger. Harte has a responsibility to put his best 15 out. Forget this crap of breeding for the future - it will never come thinking like that. Success breeds success. It's time for the team to come out fighting. If they're good enough they will win a game for the next 4 weekends and head to Croke for the semi's in great shape.
Post by: north down on July 07, 2011, 10:42:34 PM
Totally agree with Redhand Santa - no need for kneejerk reactions - you just can't simply make wholesale changes and expect the team to be able to compete. Changes may be needed but they need to be gradual, and I'm sure Mickey will know when the time is right.
Post by: tyroneman on July 07, 2011, 10:48:11 PM
erm.........has no-one else noticed that Mulligan has been dropped for Penrose?
Post by: north down on July 07, 2011, 10:51:27 PM
Absolutely right Tyroneman - I think the confusion was caused by the BBC website which originallly said that Mickey had made no changes from the team that started against Donegal - the report has since been amended.
Post by: north down on July 07, 2011, 10:54:04 PM
I should have added that I fully expect Mulligan to start in place of O'Neill.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2011, 11:32:32 PM
I too can't see SoN starting, I think at this stage if he is def not 100% then himself and Mickey won't risk it. Can see Mugsy starting and have a feeling he'll score 1-5!

As mentioned earlier I think it would be a good idea to bring S Cavanagh closer to goals, teams have Cottoned on to the tactic of hauling him down at all costs before he opens up. At least we'll be more likely to convert frees if he is closer to goal (even this isn't a given at the minute!)

I really hope Mickey's complete faith in this team is rewarded on Saturday as he will have a lot of tough questions to answer if things go wrong. Let's summon the spirit of 2008 when the obituaries were ready to be rubber stamped and the red hands took us all the way to the third Sunday in September.

C'mon Tyrone,
You're on yer own,
We're going to bring the Sam Maguire home!
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2011, 12:17:27 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 07, 2011, 10:48:11 PM
erm.........has no-one else noticed that Mulligan has been dropped for Penrose?

Dropped is a bit harsh. Mickey has named the same team he named for Donegal. Penrose was just unable to start.

Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2011, 08:43:57 AM
We don't seem to be naming our team until Sunday!
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 08, 2011, 10:32:32 AM
VERY STRANGE! Considering not going now - think it was obvious that a couple of changes would have been good at this stage. I wonder if the whole discussion in the county had of been 'he should keep the same team' would he have then made a few changes. Think he's stubborn to prove a point - All I hope is that it works!
Post by: Muzz on July 08, 2011, 01:04:56 PM
May have been answered already but why is Hub down to play even though he got sent off the last time?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2011, 01:07:16 PM
It was two yellows, not a straight red.
Post by: Muzz on July 08, 2011, 01:08:11 PM
Yeah so gets two weeks which wouldn't be up until Sunday?
Post by: reddgnhand on July 08, 2011, 01:13:19 PM
Quote from: Muzz on July 08, 2011, 01:08:11 PM

Could we be that lucky. He's a player i just dont get nor ever have or will.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2011, 01:31:18 PM

I believe the rule is that if a player gets two yellows in separate games in the championship he is automatically suspended for the next game (it's not time based, any more).
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2011, 01:46:20 PM
Longford team named. Same starting XV as I predicted a few pages back! I can almost smell the grass, the cigarette smoke and the pre match excitement!
Post by: Muzz on July 08, 2011, 01:52:11 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 08, 2011, 01:31:18 PM

I believe the rule is that if a player gets two yellows in separate games in the championship he is automatically suspended for the next game (it's not time based, any more).

Okay so this is Tyrone's next game.  So is the qualifiers separate to the Ulster Championship and therefore makes him available? 
Post by: Rois on July 08, 2011, 01:56:47 PM
Since when did the rule change that getting two yellows in a match got a suspension??

If you get two yellows in two consecutive games, diff story, but surely not just after one? Has this changed?
Post by: Billys Boots on July 08, 2011, 04:14:46 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2011, 01:46:20 PM
Longford team named. Same starting XV as I predicted a few pages back! I can almost smell the grass, the cigarette smoke and the pre match excitement!

Enjoy fellow-Larries; prior commitments mean that it's unlikely I'll make.  Sadly, we're being tipped by too many to make a victory likely, but I think it'll be a decent run-out.  I trust I'll see the contingent behind the Town Goals on the telly, or will Laureleye be in his usual spot?

Something to get you in the mood, substitute 'Mrs. Donoghue's tea' for 'Bovril'. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMzbbK9vmaM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMzbbK9vmaM)
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2011, 07:44:55 PM
Do they do normal food in Longford?
Post by: Hardy on July 08, 2011, 08:27:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 08, 2011, 07:44:55 PM

There's a glump parlour out the Edgeworthstown road, I believe.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2011, 08:34:12 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 08, 2011, 08:27:36 PM

There's a glump parlour out the Edgeworthstown, I believe.
Yeah Albert Reynolds has some good food places i hear.
Post by: armaghniac on July 08, 2011, 08:52:47 PM
QuoteDo they do normal food in Longford?

Usual Irish fare, kebabs, lattes, stir fried rice etc.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2011, 09:03:16 PM
QuoteDo they do normal food in Longford?

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00314/petfoods_indo_314410t.jpg)

One of our finer restaurants to be sure.

Bates what they have in Granard

(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT9mzOgG4_9YzJDIMyscnTIF2dmqQComymlUSxpLRIdBVF3z0x6&t=1)
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2011, 10:56:30 PM

Whatever you do don't drink the water.
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 09, 2011, 09:42:30 AM
The only water we hve is holy water!!!

Tyrone lads will need a good scattering of it before hand if their going to come out with a win!!! ;D

Enjoy the game, hope you Tyrone lads enjoy your road trip and C'MON THE LARRIES!!!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2011, 10:19:37 AM
Has the Tyrone team left on the bus yet?

Be careful going through Ballinagh and Granard and do take my advice and go via Edgeworthstown.

Safe journey to ye boys and girls heading to Larryland. Bring yere own water for sure but fer Gawd's sake don't bring in any flora or fauna and upset the delicate balance of nature in Larryland.

I once asked Darragh O'Se in a pub in Dingle what was the mood in the Kerry dressing room after they scraped by in a Qualifier a few years ago. He said as soon as the door was closed Jack O'Connor said "Lads, get dressed quickly and let's get to fcuk out of this kip".

I hope for the same later  ;D
Post by: Fuzzman on July 09, 2011, 10:32:30 AM
Is the sun shining down there? I'm taking the LONG drive in my FORD down from Letterkenny about 3pm. Pity its not on bbc for the Unionists as they'd love the red white and blue flags.
May the oldest team win.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 09, 2011, 10:50:13 AM
Has the cathedral re-opened yet?
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2011, 11:11:59 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 09, 2011, 10:32:30 AM
Is the sun shining down there? I'm taking the LONG drive in my FORD down from Letterkenny about 3pm. Pity its not on bbc for the Unionists as they'd love the red white and blue flags.
May the oldest team win.

I see what you did there.
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on July 09, 2011, 11:15:34 AM
Any recommendations on where to head for a decent feed for those heading down the road early?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 09, 2011, 12:52:47 PM
There will be three changes to Tyrone starting 15!  :-X
Post by: Rois on July 09, 2011, 01:00:22 PM
Hitting the road in an hr and looking fwd to it!

Have been advised to travel fr Belfast to Lisnaskea and down toward Clones that way, and stay on the main road to Granard. Hope we make it for 7!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2011, 01:14:54 PM
PV Fallons for the pre game feed. Ballymahon St! Valentines after. Main Street.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 01:47:17 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 09, 2011, 12:52:47 PM

Cassidy, Justy and Mugsy?

With O'Neill, Swift and Dooher making way? S Cav to FF and Mugsy/Penrose swapping with Dooher?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 09, 2011, 03:07:50 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 01:47:17 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 09, 2011, 12:52:47 PM

Cassidy, Justy and Mugsy?

With O'Neill, Swift and Dooher making way? S Cav to FF and Mugsy/Penrose swapping with Dooher?

Just got word - UNBELIEVABLE - actually five changes from listed team. looks a good one too - pleases me - which i haven't said that often in the past while.
Post by: paco on July 09, 2011, 03:10:15 PM
What are the changes then? I have Tyrone -3 in my accumulator and I need to know.
Post by: backofthehand on July 09, 2011, 03:12:28 PM
Carlin for Swift. Justy for D Harte. Cassidy For Hub. Colm Cav for Dooher. Coney for S O'Neill
Post by: Radda bout yeee on July 09, 2011, 03:16:40 PM
Quote from: backofthehand on July 09, 2011, 03:12:28 PM
Carlin for Swift. Justy for D Harte. Cassidy For Hub. Colm Cav for Dooher. Coney for S O'Neill

Heard the Longford manager keeps an eye on this - If Harte finds out you gave away his tema too early he'll hunt you down! lol

I'm happy with the changes.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on July 09, 2011, 04:45:02 PM
Quote from: backofthehand on July 09, 2011, 03:12:28 PM

holy f**k?
Post by: LeoMc on July 09, 2011, 05:31:42 PM
Like it.
Glad to see Justy further out the field and Colm Cav back in from the start. Carlin and Cassidy not exactly short of experience either.

A small pitch with a partisan crowd is where you need your old experienced head so I would have expected to see Mulligan in for O'Neill but nice to see Mickey take a risk with Coney.
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 05:56:15 PM
7600 views for a Longford match.
and the News of the World gone.

Is it the end days ? 
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2011, 06:08:43 PM
Go on ye Larries ... 2 Leinster teams gone already , another one has to go in O'Moore Pk so try and make sure one at least wins against non Leinster opposition ... ( we want a handy one for Round 4  ;))
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 06:25:37 PM
I like the look of those changes, will be a fascinating game!

Tyrone 1-16 Larries 0-13

Post by: CK_Redhand on July 09, 2011, 06:33:42 PM
Anybody know where to get this match on the radio?
Post by: ross4life on July 09, 2011, 06:40:05 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on July 09, 2011, 06:33:42 PM
Anybody know where to get this match on the radio?
Shannonside will cover it.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2011, 06:41:33 PM
Shannonside.ie

Here behind goals! Good crowd so far!
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 09, 2011, 06:52:32 PM
Fine Tyrone following in Pearse Park. Usual shambles with season tickets, one girl with a dodgy scanner. Delayed throw-in.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2011, 06:53:03 PM
15 min delay  >:(
Post by: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 06:57:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2011, 06:53:03 PM
15 min delay  >:(

Maybe the tyrone lads took your advice & went to PV Fallons for the pre game feed?
Post by: vxopel on July 09, 2011, 07:02:00 PM
1341 on the MW radio with Adrian McGuckin & Oisin McConville
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on July 09, 2011, 07:06:02 PM
What TV channel , if any is showing this?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 09, 2011, 07:14:14 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on July 09, 2011, 07:06:02 PM

None.

Are those Tyrone changes confirmed?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 09, 2011, 07:15:46 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 09, 2011, 07:14:14 PM
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on July 09, 2011, 07:06:02 PM

None.

Are those Tyrone changes confirmed?

All five confirmed. Q101 covering it too
Post by: ck on July 09, 2011, 07:22:02 PM
Anyone got the Tyrone starting team and subs?
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 09, 2011, 07:23:15 PM
Lford forward line v dangerous.
Post by: Tubberman on July 09, 2011, 07:27:06 PM
What's the score at the moment?
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 09, 2011, 07:28:02 PM
5 each,20 mins
Post by: KT on July 09, 2011, 07:38:12 PM
Listening to Q101, McGinn just roared "ahh get out of it McEneaney, you clown!"  Impartial commentary at its very best!!
Post by: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 07:40:05 PM
As expected Longford are giving Tyrone a game though can they pull off a win?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2011, 07:47:43 PM
Half time:

Longford 0-08
Tyrone 0-07
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2011, 07:52:27 PM
Gwan the Larries. The 28/1 double is still alive in my Longford, Wicklow, Carlow trixie. I hear Carlow went very close to giving me a flying start.
Post by: clarshack on July 09, 2011, 07:53:52 PM
know someone at the game and they said joe mcmahon is getting destroyed by kavanagh. big 2nd half needed from tyrone.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 08:11:42 PM
Tyrone turning on the style
Post by: Tubberman on July 09, 2011, 08:18:26 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 08:11:42 PM

They gone ahead so?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 08:20:14 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 09, 2011, 08:18:26 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 09, 2011, 08:11:42 PM

They gone ahead so?
Yeah scored a goal could have got a few more 1-12 to 0-11 at the moment.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 08:25:19 PM
1-13 to 12 points penrose free
Post by: ExcellentDriver on July 09, 2011, 08:26:51 PM
Another Masterstroke by Mickey?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 08:33:15 PM
A real masterclass from Peter Harte it seems, great to see him put in an excellent performance after a tough day out against Donegal.
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 09, 2011, 08:33:48 PM
Who scored the goal?
Post by: maco on July 09, 2011, 08:38:49 PM
Mark Donnelly scored the goal.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 08:40:20 PM
1-13 to 13 now two mins injury time. Tyrone have a handy enough free now.
Post by: ross4life on July 09, 2011, 08:42:56 PM
FT Tyrone 1-17 Longford 0-15
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2011, 09:01:03 PM
Harte was class. Trone pulled up at end. We coulnt match midfield. Well done Trone and hard luck Longford. More anon
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2011, 09:26:08 PM
Beaten by TYRONE
Christ. FFS, etc
Post by: clarshack on July 09, 2011, 10:23:34 PM
sounds like a much improved performance. what teams should we want to avoid in the next round?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 10:27:07 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 09, 2011, 10:23:34 PM
sounds like a much improved performance. what teams should we want to avoid in the next round?

Kildare and Down are the ones i'd be hoping to miss. Armagh too if they come through as I'd like to stay away from an Ulster dog fight. Obviously everyone will be hoping to draw Waterford but would that be of any use if you were to draw Cork after that!
Post by: johnpower on July 09, 2011, 10:36:20 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 10:27:07 PM

Kildare and Down are the ones i'd be hoping to miss. Armagh too if they come through as I'd like to stay away from an Ulster dog fight. Obviously everyone will be hoping to draw Waterford but would that be of any use if you were to draw Cork after that!

I agree that Kildare would seem to be the team to avoid .
Post by: clarshack on July 09, 2011, 10:41:06 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 09, 2011, 10:27:07 PM

yeah no disrespect to the likes of waterford but it would serve no purpose at all.

we always struggle against meath for some reason but if we were to draw them and finally get a win against them, then that would be great preparation for meeting one of the provincial finalists.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 09, 2011, 11:08:19 PM
The first 10 mins of 2nd half won the game for Tyrone. Penrose in particular had great link play during this period. Dooher coming on as sub at half-time helped the two Cavanagh's & Cassidy get the upper-hand at midfield. Peter Harte really came into it in the final 20 mins and enjoyed his football.
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on July 09, 2011, 11:09:37 PM
Haven't seen Tyrone dominate mid field like that in a long time, catching clean balls. Cassidy and Colm Cavanagh were class. Petey Harte outstanding, as was Ricey. But apart from Harte, few capable of scoring  out the field. Coney seemed to be there as a finishing man, but despite opening the scoring, he missed a bagful.Still very good on the ball and generally positive. Sparky and Penrose tore Longford open on the restart, Donnelly could've had a hatrick.

The changes worked by and large, happy enough. Just need to sort the shooting and free taking still.
Post by: randomtask on July 09, 2011, 11:31:54 PM
how did justy play?
Post by: barelegs on July 09, 2011, 11:35:12 PM
Thought that was a much improved performance tonight. Not long in the door and in a much more postive frame of mind than I was after the Monaghan game even when we'd won. A lot of the younger fella's really stood up today.

Aidan Cassidy was absolutely immense. He must have caught 8 or 9 kickouts clean. Colm Cavanagh as well was very good. Jordan really came into the game in the second half, while Peter Harte kicked some great scores. Thought Kyle done well for his first start, shooting aside, he showed well and looked comfortable on the ball when he was in possession.

The team seemed to be a bit more balanced tonight for some reason. Joe had a torrid time from Brian Kavanagh and the full back line struggled a bit, but it's something to work on for next week. Don't fancy Kildare but we need a tough tie to keep things ticking over.
Post by: johnpower on July 09, 2011, 11:51:24 PM
I was surprised that Cassidy did not get a bigger part to play in the past number of years ? What age is he now ? The good thing about the qualifiers in that it sometimes gives less well known members of the panel a look in . It seems that it was a good work out for Tyrone .Pearse Park is not an easy place to get a win as Kerry discovered in 09
Post by: omagh_gael on July 10, 2011, 12:01:40 AM
Quote from: johnpower on July 09, 2011, 11:51:24 PM
I was surprised that Cassidy did not get a bigger part to play in the past number of years ? What age is he now ? The good thing about the qualifiers in that it sometimes gives less well known members of the panel a look in . It seems that it was a good work out for Tyrone .Pearse Park is not an easy place to get a win as Kerry discovered in 09

Cassidy has had excellent league campaigns in the previous two years but unfortunately for the lad he has had two very bad injuries which kept him out for the majority of the summers. I would say he's about 22/23 now.
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2011, 08:57:23 AM
A most encouraging evening. Mickey answered the majority's prayers and performed major surgery on the side after the Donegal game. In came the likes of Coney, Colm Cavanagh, Justin McMahon and Aidan Cassidy with Dooher, Swift, Harte, O'Neill, Mugsy and Hub sitting it out. It was uplifting to see new faces and ideas for once in the championship.

Coney started well and on another day, with a bit more game time, could have ended up with 0-4. He's almost the complete opposite to Donnelly. Coney exudes confidence and is willing to shoot from all angles, sometimes taking the greedier option although you'd forgive him for that at this stage. Donnelly, despite 1-2, is still reluctant to be the no.14. You get the impression his first thought is to pass the ball no matter how close he is to goal. He had another chance after his goal and it seemed that having a shot was his nuclear option. O'Neill or Mugsy would have no such doubts. I'd like to see him being more selfish. Still, 1-2 is a decent return.

What can you say about Peter Harte's performance? It was a pleasure to witness that 0-6 from play and his general game. I thought he played well against Donegal too. I'm sure The Irish News will say this game passed him by also. Peter might be a natural successor to Brian McGuigan who struggled to get into the game. Cassidy's fielding was sublime and the thing now is to follow that up with another good performance. Colm Cavanagh was energetic and always available - barely put a foot wrong.

Jordan was the pick of the HBs - constantly driving at Longford in the second half. Joe had some battle and I think he broke even enough. Started shakily put had periods of dominance over Kavanagh too. It was a good battle. Gormley looks like he can barely walk but still does his job.

Longford's shooting was very impressive. They're a tidy outfit and should do well in division three. They gave Tyrone some test for 55 mins but ran out of steam.
Post by: GTB on July 10, 2011, 09:16:10 AM
Thanks for the excellent summary ONeill - it sounded like a great game of football on the radio!
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on July 10, 2011, 11:04:10 AM
Anyone know the story with Hub? Unless I'm mistaken, there was no sign of him at all yesterday after being named in the starting 15.
Post by: snippets on July 10, 2011, 11:44:45 AM
Very pleased to hear the reports coming back. Sounds like mickey played a stormer and blended his ingredients well.  Credit to longford proud football men wouldn't expect anything less.  An excellent full forward line. Midfield sounded energetic, we have 2 excellent no 11s. Coney sean o neill, mc carron all got game time, excellent.  What about damian  mc caul guys _  he appears to have been discarded since an impressive league campaign  . Ruthless decisions considering the lads fight against career threatening injuries and the amount of defenders he has used ahead of him. He impressed me against o hara and o rourke in the league

Post by: Muzz on July 10, 2011, 11:49:30 AM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on July 10, 2011, 11:04:10 AM
Anyone know the story with Hub? Unless I'm mistaken, there was no sign of him at all yesterday after being named in the starting 15.

Seen him after the game in tracksuit and kit bag.  Didn't travel home on the team bus but with few other lads.  Wouldn't read too much into it.
Post by: tyroneman on July 10, 2011, 12:36:05 PM
QuoteAnyone know the story with Hub? Unless I'm mistaken, there was no sign of him at all yesterday after being named in the starting 15.

Hamstring injury, liike SoN, as far as I was aware. Didn't clear up in time.

Nothing sinister.

The question will be...are we ready for the likes of Kildare next?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 10, 2011, 02:27:15 PM
A great night in Longford, with great people (stayed out in Clondra, which is somewhat off the beaten track, but a lovely spot right on the very end of the Royal Canal).

A very encouraging performance from our lads overall, against a very committed and tenacious Longford team that has a decent quota of pure class footballers. Particularly promising in that the newer lads stepped up, with Peter Harte and Aidan Cassidy producing a couple of storming performances, with the older dependables like Jordan and Ricey doing the valiant necessary. 

Bring on Meath!  ;)

Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2011, 02:49:13 PM
Mickey won't make the same mistake of leaving Dooher on the bench until 1/2 time.
He must be kicking himself for allowing the criticism to get inside his head.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 10, 2011, 03:37:53 PM
Decent performance and goood to get the win. Good displays from Ricey,Jordan,Cassidy,Colm Cavanagh (were have his critics from last year gone??) and Harte. Not convinced with Carlin and definately don't think Coney is ready to start. Penrose must have lost out on 5 or 6 balls trying to stand behind his man waiting on the ball.

Brian McGuigan looks of the pace again, could find himself being used as an impact sub. The draw is crucial now. I've no doubt the team can build from there and continue to improve. Still not convinced they're close to fully fit and the likes of Justy McMahon needs game time. However, the draw is key. Would be worried at this stage if we had to go to Kildare at this stage. Would like an easier game to bring a lot of the guys on.

Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2011, 04:06:01 PM
Penrose fairly pulled the socks up though in the second half. He burned their defence repeatedly for 15 mins.
Post by: panc56 on July 10, 2011, 05:17:52 PM
Great game where two teams went at it hammer and tongs. Well done Tyrone , you earned the win.

LD must push on now and get out of Div3. Playing the big guns mote often will bring on the talented underage teams coming through.
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2011, 06:38:09 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 10, 2011, 02:27:15 PM
stayed out in Clondra, which is somewhat off the beaten track, )

How dare you  >:(
Sure it's almost in Ros. Hopefully you crossed over to lovely Tarmonbarry  ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 10, 2011, 07:02:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 10, 2011, 06:38:09 PM
stayed out in Clondra, which is somewhat off the beaten track, )

How dare you  >:(
Sure it's almost in Ros. Hopefully you crossed over to lovely Tarmonbarry  ;)

Well, it's off the main road!  ;)

Not Tarmonbarry this time, but will  at some point I hope (passed through it many times).
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2011, 07:04:20 PM
A great night in Longford, with great people (stayed out in Clondra, which is somewhat off the beaten track, but a lovely spot right on the very end of the Royal Canal).

Regretted not thinking about a B&B - looked like it was heading towards a good night's craic.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 10, 2011, 07:08:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 10, 2011, 07:04:20 PM
Regretted not thinking about a B&B - looked like it was heading towards a good night's craic.

It ended up being a right night - we had the troubadours in tow to guarantee such.
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2011, 11:26:10 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 10, 2011, 03:37:53 PM
Decent performance and goood to get the win. Good displays from Ricey,Jordan,Cassidy,Colm Cavanagh (were have his critics from last year gone??) and Harte. Not convinced with Carlin and definately don't think Coney is ready to start. Penrose must have lost out on 5 or 6 balls trying to stand behind his man waiting on the ball.

Brian McGuigan looks of the pace again, could find himself being used as an impact sub. The draw is crucial now. I've no doubt the team can build from there and continue to improve. Still not convinced they're close to fully fit and the likes of Justy McMahon needs game time. However, the draw is key. Would be worried at this stage if we had to go to Kildare at this stage. Would like an easier game to bring a lot of the guys on.

Can't agree about Coney. For a first championship match at this level, and it is a level he hasn't played at really, he performed well and was instrumental in a few major scores. He was slightly tense perhaps but wasn't it great to see the likes of Mugsy on the bench prepared to take his place if he's underperforming. This is exactly where Tyrone need to be and fair play to Mickey for finally taking that leap.
Post by: Gaffer on July 10, 2011, 11:42:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 10, 2011, 11:26:10 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 10, 2011, 03:37:53 PM

Can't agree about Coney. For a first championship match at this level, and it is a level he hasn't played at really, he performed well and was instrumental in a few major scores. He was slightly tense perhaps but wasn't it great to see the likes of Mugsy on the bench prepared to take his place if he's underperforming. This is exactly where Tyrone need to be and fair play to Mickey for finally taking that leap.

Coney def has the balls to take on a shot but put too many wide last night which would have looked spectacular had they gone over.

Will he, however,  begin to convert those attempts as he gains experience in the future .

Could be a mega star for us if he does
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2011, 12:06:48 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on July 10, 2011, 11:42:47 PM
Will he, however,  begin to convert those attempts as he gains experience in the future .

That would be the sincere hope: that he becomes more comfortable at that grade, and eases into the groove.
Post by: ONeill on July 11, 2011, 12:16:19 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2011, 12:06:48 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on July 10, 2011, 11:42:47 PM

That would be the sincere hope: that he becomes more comfortable at that grade, and eases into the groove.

He was having a go; something very few Tyrone forwards did v Monaghan & Donegal. I think Coney initially struggled with the pace of championship football in terms of your marker crawling over you with every ball. He was very alert for Donnelly's goal.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2011, 12:26:22 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 11, 2011, 12:16:19 AM
He was having a go; something very few Tyrone forwards did v Monaghan & Donegal. I think Coney initially struggled with the pace of championship football in terms of your marker crawling over you with every ball. He was very alert for Donnelly's goal.

That's a good point: at least he had the self-belief to have a go; and I'd say that's right about the pace of this level of football, and with a bit of luck as he becomes more accustomed and inured to it his composure and consequent accuracy will similarly improve.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 11, 2011, 12:30:22 AM
Why no comment from the Tyrone camp on The Sunday Game after the match? Surely Mickey Harte isn't still carrying a torch for Brian Carthy? Even a few auld platitudes to Longford couldn't have gone amiss. Bad form in my opinion and a wee small stone in my shoe after a good evening's football.
Post by: raff on July 11, 2011, 07:57:50 AM
Mickey Harte talks about the game here

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/14095914.stm

Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on July 11, 2011, 08:34:15 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2011, 12:26:22 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 11, 2011, 12:16:19 AM

That's a good point: at least he had the self-belief to have a go; and I'd say that's right about the pace of this level of football, and with a bit of luck as he becomes more accustomed and inured to it his composure and consequent accuracy will similarly improve.

I'd like to see Tommy McGuigan get a decent run out. Scored a lovely point from out the field at the end. Tyrone need at least 3 forwards able and willing to point from 30-40 yards to cause any bother this year. Confident Coney can click into scoring form.

Getting there...
Post by: Fuzzman on July 11, 2011, 10:23:32 AM
There seems to be a freshness after that game now that we've been lacking for a while.
Indeed fair play to Mickey (and the injuries he pointed to) for bringing in so many new faces.

I missed Coney's first point but I though he showed well and looked sharp on all bar his shooting. Unlike Donnelly he's not scared to shoot and I hope he gets a run to boost his confidence.
Talking of confidence isn't it amazing what it did to Petey Harte. He got a few scores early on from play and then started to believe in himself again. He was running them rampant in the second half and they weren't expecting that.

I too was delighted to see Cassidy have his best game in a Tyrone shirt I think. His high clean catching was a joy to watch and as a Tyrone man, I think the last time I watched that was from Ciaran Corr back in that NFL final in 1992 against McGilligan and Tohill. Colm Cavanagh too did very well and should hold onto his place.

I was disappointed in Donnelly & Penrose in the first half especially. A lot of ball hit into them was fumbled or they weren't out in front. They did better in the second half but with Donnelly scoring 1.02 I think he'll keep his place for Wicklow.  ;)

I too would like to see Tommy get a wee run in the team to see where he's at. He looked sharp when he came on but he wasn't on for long enough.

All in all I'm happy with our recovery game and a lot more pluses that negatives. I'm particularly happy with dominating MF for the 1st time in ages and if that trend was to continue we will find it a lot easier than always having to depend on turn overs.

Am happy we stayed away from Meath & Kildare in the next round.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 11, 2011, 01:55:54 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 11, 2011, 12:30:22 AM
Why no comment from the Tyrone camp on The Sunday Game after the match? Surely Mickey Harte isn't still carrying a torch for Brian Carthy? Even a few auld platitudes to Longford couldn't have gone amiss. Bad form in my opinion and a wee small stone in my shoe after a good evening's football.

Think Harte has further issues with RTE separate from Carthy. See the Carthy thread for details.

In today's Irish news Mickey is quoted as saying "Longford played great football and it's a credit to them; Many's a night what they played would have put them through to the next round. Let's face it, Longford were very prolific, I think at one stage they had six points from six attempts; I'd like that any day!"
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 11, 2011, 02:00:52 PM
I'd say this is what rubbed salt into Mickey's wounds:

RTE's latest feck-up (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/rte-fluffs-lines-over-harte-issue-2671015.html)
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 11, 2011, 03:18:10 PM
Longford gave it their all but just didnt have the power to compee with Tyrone, esp around the middle of the pitch. Tyrone players broke the tackle far too easy on a number of occasions and could have scored one or two more goals.

Great crsdit to Longford though, really put it up to them, not too many sides score 0-15 against such a mean defence and 0-13 of them from play. Overall lots of positives to take from this season and surely Glen Ryan will stay on for another year at this rate.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 11, 2011, 04:35:46 PM
I'm curious what people thought of the ref?