Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lawnseed on June 26, 2011, 12:02:56 AM

Title: our boys
Post by: lawnseed on June 26, 2011, 12:02:56 AM
it appears the "Irish" star have a reporter with the Irish troops in Lebanon. in true tabloid shiteism the rag has gone all "sun" with lots of jingoistic tricolors and lots of "our boys" at war stuff. it appears the locals are delighted to see the soldiers arrival (at least in the star it does) some bar owners have put up banners welcoming 'our boys'. and if we are to believe the star these soldiers are really well equipped against bullets,mines and bombs. which is all very nice except that the Israelis fire rockets.. armoured piercing rockets!
   sending these lads to Lebanon is like driving about on the golf driving range in the little tractor gathering up the balls. instead of the golfers aiming for the flags they usually try to hit the tractor ::) its more fun. lets hope the hesbollah and the Jews don't get too bored trying to kill each other. especially the Jews they've killed more Irish soldiers than any other foreign force since the foundation of the state.
Title: Re: our boys
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 26, 2011, 06:19:08 AM
Feck sake Lawnseed. Well I for one am proud of the Irish Defence Forces. The Irish did an important role in the Lebanon last time they where there. I remember seeing mine removal teams and convoys being used to bring Lebanese children too and from School through areas where the Israeli army had laid landmines.

Keep up the good work, our boys.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 09:40:56 AM
Wait till you see 'your boys' equipped with riot gear beating people off the state in defense of the Gombín establishment. With about 100,000 people over 3 months in mortgage arrears in the 26C the day can't be far off.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2011, 09:57:11 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 09:40:56 AM
Wait till you see 'your boys' equipped with riot gear beating people off the state in defense of the Gombín establishment. With about 100,000 people over 3 months in mortgage arrears in the 26C the day can't be far off.
Hmmm 100,000 touching their toes with their trousers round their ankles you mean.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 10:09:32 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 26, 2011, 09:57:11 AM

Hmmm 100,000 touching their toes with their trousers round their ankles you mean.

The euphemism you allude to describes what the gombín kleptocracy has done to the 26C economy. The 26C army are the military wing of that gombín kleptocracy.
Post by: laoislad on June 26, 2011, 10:28:07 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on June 26, 2011, 12:02:56 AM
driving about on the golf driving range in the little tractor gathering up the balls. instead of the golfers aiming for the flags they usually try to hit the tractor ::) its more fun..

Very true  :D That's great fun!
Post by: Evil Genius on June 26, 2011, 01:20:25 PM
it appears the "Irish" star have a reporter with the Irish troops in Lebanon. in true tabloid shiteism the rag has gone all "sun" with lots of jingoistic tricolors and lots of "our boys" at war stuff. it appears the locals are delighted to see the soldiers arrival (at least in the star it does) some bar owners have put up banners welcoming 'our boys'. and if we are to believe the star these soldiers are really well equipped against bullets,mines and bombs. which is all very nice except that the Israelis fire rockets.. armoured piercing rockets!
   sending these lads to Lebanon is like driving about on the golf driving range in the little tractor gathering up the balls. instead of the golfers aiming for the flags they usually try to hit the tractor ::) its more fun. lets hope the hesbollah and the Jews don't get too bored trying to kill each other. especially the Jews they've killed more Irish soldiers than any other foreign force since the foundation of the state.
"The Jews"?  :o

Have a wee drink last night by any chance?  ::)
Post by: muppet on June 26, 2011, 01:45:18 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 09:40:56 AM

Much experience of that?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 05:36:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 26, 2011, 01:45:18 PM

Much experience of that?

Of what?
Post by: lawnseed on June 27, 2011, 11:22:13 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 26, 2011, 01:20:25 PM
"The Jews"?  :o

Have a wee drink last night by any chance?  ::)
i said jews and i mean jews. is israel not refered to as the jewish state this infers a state containing jews.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 27, 2011, 11:42:14 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on June 27, 2011, 11:22:13 PM
i said jews and i mean jews. is israel not refered to as the jewish state this infers a state containing jews.
I've often wondered why a country like the USA (which has a constitutional separation of church and state and is fond of blowing about its diversity) should be the most staunch ally of a state like Israel which was founded on the basis of providing a homeland for one particular religious sect and having a distinct identity based on one particular religion.
Post by: lawnseed on June 27, 2011, 11:46:21 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on June 27, 2011, 11:42:14 PM
I've often wondered why a country like the USA (which has a constitutional separation of church and state and is fond of blowing about its diversity) should be the most staunch ally of a state like Israel which was founded on the basis of providing a homeland for one particular religious sect and having a distinct identity based on one particular religion.
probably because america is run by banks and huge businesses owned by jewish people.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 12:17:35 AM
Yer just sore coz we won't have anything to do with your Provo wingnuts. The Irish Army is THE Irish Army. Lots a lots of the 6 County posters on here are partitonists to their very fingertails, yet hypocriticaly throw the charge at the people of the Republic. Some of you cannot hide your partitionist attitudes, it radiates off you.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 12:27:37 AM
...says the blueshirt
Post by: lawnseed on June 28, 2011, 12:33:15 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 12:17:35 AM
Yer just sore coz we won't have anything to do with your Provo wingnuts. The Irish Army is THE Irish Army. Lots a lots of the 6 County posters on here are partitonists to their very fingertails, yet hypocriticaly throw the charge at the people of the Republic. Some of you cannot hide your partitionist attitudes, it radiates off you.
what are you raving about? i,m trying to highlight the stupidity of sending our kids out to sit in the desert between the hezbollah and the american backed israelis state while they take pot shots at each other. where do the provos come into it? our boys would be better off painting a fence in the curragh than fighting another mans war
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 12:35:00 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 12:27:37 AM
...says the blueshirt

Does that 30 on your avatar stand for living in the 1930's. Doubht there are very many Blueshirts about, the youngest would be well into their 100's Yrs old by now.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 12:40:32 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on June 28, 2011, 12:33:15 AM
what are you raving about? i,m trying to highlight the stupidity of sending our kids out to sit in the desert between the hezbollah and the american backed israelis state while they take pot shots at each other. where do the provos come into it? our boys would be better off painting a fence in the curragh than fighting another mans war

Read through some of the posts from 6 county contributors, they take enjoyment at attacking the 26 county state and its inhabitants at every opportunity, yet bitch and moan that its the people from the 26 who are the partitionists when it is clearly the other way around.

The Irish Army is something to be proud off. They have filled important roles from Chad to Lebanon, from Cyprus to East Timor. Tell that to the children in South Lebanon who got to school because of Irish protection or those alive because or Irish Army Rangers and Australian SAS intervention in East Timor
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 12:46:52 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 12:35:00 AM
...says the blueshirt

Does that 30 on your avatar stand for living in the 1930's. Doubht there are very many Blueshirts about, the youngest would be well into their 100's Yrs old by now.

Their politics is alive and well.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 02:26:27 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 12:46:52 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 12:35:00 AM
...says the blueshirt

Their politics is alive and well.

in your head, in your head
Post by: thebigfella on June 28, 2011, 09:09:57 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on June 28, 2011, 12:33:15 AM

Your boys are out in Afghanistan, hardly in the place to criticise.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 09:38:45 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 12:40:32 AM

The Irish Army is something to be proud off. They have filled important roles from Chad to Lebanon, from Cyprus to East Timor. Tell that to the children in South Lebanon who got to school because of Irish protection or those alive because or Irish Army Rangers and Australian SAS intervention in East Timor

The 26C army which is the direct descendent of the force of IRA deserters and former British soldiers (Free State Army) which used British-supplied weapons and logistical support to liquidate their countrymen through firing squads and war crimes. This army went on to guard concentration camps where political opponents were interned without trial, summarily executed and tortured. If you're proud of actions which, under the terms of Nuremburg, were war crimes then you're little more than a Fascist and you should apply for a job with IRMS....the company formed by former members of the Ranger Wing which trains mercenaries for use in corporate liquidation operations all over the third world. Mike Dwyer who was shot in Bolivia was one of theirs. They also have a cosey relationship with the Gombín state providing security for Fianna Fáil conferences and bully boys to threaten protestors in Corrib.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 09:43:59 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 09:38:45 AM

The 26C army which is the direct descendent of the force of IRA deserters and former British soldiers (Free State Army) which used British-supplied weapons and logistical support to liquidate their countrymen through firing squads and war crimes. This army went on to guard concentration camps where political opponents were interned without trial, summarily executed and tortured. If you're proud of actions which, under the terms of Nuremburg, were war crimes then you're little more than a Fascist and you should apply for a job with IRMS....the company formed by former members of the Ranger Wing which trains mercenaries for use in corporate liquidation operations all over the third world. Mike Dwyer who was shot in Bolivia was one of theirs. They also have a cosey relationship with the Gombín state providing security for Fianna Fáil conferences and bully boys to threaten protestors in Corrib.

You give yourself away so easy  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 09:46:24 AM
Rangers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pGU7Im2njA&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pGU7Im2njA&feature=related)

Defence Forces

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHaNivXTF9Y&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHaNivXTF9Y&feature=related)

Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 09:52:00 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 09:43:59 AM

Pick on one phrase and avoid the factual basis of the argument. That's a very cowardly riposte which is only to be expected from a dedicated follower of Fascism.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 10:03:09 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 09:52:00 AM

Pick on one phrase and avoid the factual basis of the argument. That's a very cowardly riposte which is only to be expected from a dedicated follower of Fascism.

Getting very close to Godwins Law aren't we, go on you know ya want to, go on, go on, go on, you know you want to.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 10:12:12 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 10:03:09 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 09:52:00 AM

Getting very close to Godwins Law aren't we, go on you know ya want to, go on, go on, go on, you know you want to.

Kettle. Pot. Black.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963199#msg963199 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963199#msg963199)
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 10:19:52 AM

Cáthasaigh, I see you are fairly new to the board, so you may not be aware of the type of clown you are getting into a debate with. To give you a flavour, I suggest you read the following few pages of posts (not just the ones from himself and myself, but from everyone), beginning at the post at the top of your screen when you open this link:

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963042#msg963042 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963042#msg963042)

It demonstrates a spectacular level of hypocricy in MGHU's attempts to justify his insults of the 1981 Hunger Strikers.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 10:50:34 AM

A pre-emptive retreat behind Godwin's Law which is all the more inane and cowardly when you consider that the Free State army were putting people in concentration camps, executing prisoners and committing war crime atrocities long before the era to which Godwin's Law is applicable. All of the above tactics were inspired by their British allies who provided the finance, weapons and much of the experienced manpower.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 10:52:30 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 10:19:52 AM

Cáthasaigh, I see you are fairly new to the board, so you may not be aware of the type of clown you are getting into a debate with. To give you a flavour, I suggest you read the following few pages of posts (not just the ones from himself and myself, but from everyone), beginning at the post at the top of your screen when you open this link:

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963042#msg963042 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963042#msg963042)

It demonstrates a spectacular level of hypocricy in MGHU's attempts to justify his insults of the 1981 Hunger Strikers.

While your at it, read any of Nally Stands hateful threads or posts, I don't think I need to even tie it down to one thread as they are nearly all the same hateful crap.

Funny Nally, you talk about clowns, now that is the pot calling the kettle black.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 10:56:19 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 10:50:34 AM

A pre-emptive retreat behind Godwin's Law which is all the more inane and cowardly when you consider that the Free State army were putting people in concentration camps, executing prisoners and committing war crime atrocities long before the era to which Godwin's Law is applicable. All of the above tactics were inspired by their British allies who provided the finance, weapons and much of the experienced manpower.

Hows the Good Friday Agreement treating ya? Got any grants out of it  ;)
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 10:58:04 AM
This thread could descend into a slagging match very easily. Attack the opinions not the poster. I have no idea what type of person MGHU is and am not about to speculate. His opinions however, are reactionary and Fascistic; the type of cowed thinking that has allowed the nation to be misled to its fractured destitution.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 10:59:22 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 10:56:19 AM

Hows the Good Friday Agreement treating ya? Got any grants out of it  ;)

Can't handle the debate at hand so you throw in some off-topic bollocksology. Troll much?
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 11:01:09 AM
I think POG's post here best summed up that few pages of hypocracy:

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963217#msg963217 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963217#msg963217)

It really was a good post. You didn't reply to it for some reason.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 11:14:28 AM
Ha, ha, Nally your like the child in the playground going around telltaling to the new kid so they will like you. Awwwwe Nally, ya poor thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwUPT0Ad_0A (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwUPT0Ad_0A)  :D

Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 11:23:35 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 11:14:28 AM
Ha, ha, Nally your like the child in the playground going around telltaling to the new kid so they will like you. Awwwwe Nally, ya poor thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwUPT0Ad_0A (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwUPT0Ad_0A)  :D

Anyway, I've pointed out your "Godwins Law" hypocricy, so I'll let you get back to avoiding Cáthasaigh's points.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 11:24:42 AM
Go on Cásthasaigh how are you going to tell this socially liberal, economically conservative, nationalist, republican, pro-Irish-unification, atheist, pro-European Union, how I am a fascist.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 11:25:38 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 11:23:35 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 11:14:28 AM

Anyway, I've pointed out your "Godwins Law" hypocricy, so I'll let you get back to avoiding Cáthasaigh's points.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqUAI0k9aX0&NR=1 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqUAI0k9aX0&NR=1)  ;)
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 11:40:39 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 11:24:42 AM
Go on Cásthasaigh how are you going to tell this socially liberal, economically conservative, nationalist, republican, pro-Irish-unification, atheist, pro-European Union, how I am a fascist.

You're diverting again, the debate isn't about you. I challenged your opinion of the 26C army, of whom you are proud, and outlined historical reasons why no Irish person should be proud of them. You have chosen to ignore the evidence, much of which outlines historical and contemporary Fascistic behaviour and links so it's reasonable to conclude that you approve of that which you cannot deny and as such you too exhibit Fascist tendencies.

Perhaps you wish to dispute the history of the state or the cosy governmental links with IRMS who supply right wing mercenaries for all sorts of atrocious activities in the third world. Most lilkely though you will respond with further playground diversions. 
Post by: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:06:28 PM
QuotePerhaps you wish to dispute the history of the state or the cosy governmental links with IRMS who supply right wing mercenaries for all sorts of atrocious activities in the third world. Most lilkely though you will respond with further playground diversions.

Cáthasaigh, why pretend to debate when you will dismiss any reply before it even appears?

Your views appear to be beyond the most extreme Republicianism that I've ever encountered anywhere and that is saying something.

Is this correct: Because some Irishmen who had been in the British army joined the new Free State Army, all members of the current Irish Army have nothing to be proud of?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 12:26:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:06:28 PM

Cáthasaigh, why pretend to debate when you will dismiss any reply before it even appears?

Yerman never made any serious replies, merely childish diversions and trolling efforts.

Your views appear to be beyond the most extreme Republicianism that I've ever encountered anywhere and that is saying something.

You don't agree with my views yet you attach to them the label of extremist rather than trying to debate them. That's a cop-out and you need to qualify that statement with examples of what you think is extreme and why.

Is this correct: Because some Irishmen who had been in the British army joined the new Free State Army, all members of the current Irish Army have nothing to be proud of?

That's a very simplistic position to adopt and you deliberately ignore the historical legacy of totalitarian behaviour towards the Irish people willingly engaged in by the 26C forces upon governmental whim; the concentration camps, the summary executions, the atrocities and the torture. This should come as little surprise as the same garrison families who provided the officer corps of Britain's Irish regiments have consistently formed the backbone of the 26C officer corps. The echo of the ethos which accompanied such behaviour can be found today in the state's relationship with IRMS, the company which trains right wing extremists for corporate death squads, which was founded by former senior members of the 26C elite Ranger Wing.

The 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state and as the grip of the corrupt politicians becomes more tenuous with spiralling economic ruin we will see them exhibit their true colours again as a force of repression and establishment control.
Post by: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:46:55 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 12:26:56 PM

Yerman never made any serious replies, merely childish diversions and trolling efforts.

You don't agree with my views yet you attach to them the label of extremist rather than trying to debate them. That's a cop-out and you need to qualify that statement with examples of what you think is extreme and why.

That's a very simplistic position to adopt and you deliberately ignore the historical legacy of totalitarian behaviour towards the Irish people willingly engaged in by the 26C forces upon governmental whim; the concentration camps, the summary executions, the atrocities and the torture. This should come as little surprise as the same garrison families who provided the officer corps of Britain's Irish regiments have consistently formed the backbone of the 26C officer corps. The echo of the ethos which accompanied such behaviour can be found today in the state's relationship with IRMS, the company which trains right wing extremists for corporate death squads, which was founded by former senior members of the 26C elite Ranger Wing.

The 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state and as the grip of the corrupt politicians becomes more tenuous with spiralling economic ruin we will see them exhibit their true colours again as a force of repression and establishment control.

This is hilarious stuff. Seriously that gave me a good laugh.

"The 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state"   :D :D :D :D :D

No need to answer your question on my regarding you as the most extreme Republic viewpoint I've come across, just read the rest of your post. Still funny stuff though.

More seriously, chance of any evidence for your outrageous claims? A link or two maybe or do we just take your (obviously balanced) word for it.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 12:57:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:46:55 PM

"The 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state"   :D :D :D :D :D

No need to answer your question on my regarding you as the most extreme Republic viewpoint I've come across, just read the rest of your post. Still funny stuff though.

More seriously, chance of any evidence for your outrageous claims? A link or two maybe or do we just take your (obviously balanced) word for it.

Are you for real? Have you not heard of the Ballyseedy massacre, the execution of 77 prisoners of war (official killings) not to mention the numerous extrajuducial executions such as that of Noel Lemass months after the civil war had ended? Then of course there's the matter of the concentration camps where political opponents of the state were interned without trial, subject to summary extrajuducial execution (Barney Casey, The Curragh, 1940) and tortured at various periods during the 20th century.

It's documented Irish history, nothing to do with outrageous claims. Your attitude is one of either ignorance or denial, most likely the latter.
Post by: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:58:44 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 12:57:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2011, 12:46:55 PM

Are you for real? Have you not heard of the Ballyseedy massacre, the execution of 77 prisoners of war (official killings) not to mention the numerous extrajuducial executions such as that of Noel Lemass months after the civil war had ended? Then of course there's the matter of the concentration camps where political opponents of the state were interned without trial, subject to summary extrajuducial execution (Barney Casey, The Curragh, 1940) and tortured at various periods during the 20th century.

It's documented Irish history, nothing to do with outrageous claims. Your attitude is one of either ignorance or denial, most likely the latter.

I asked you for a link, not a lecture followed by an insult.
Post by: muppet on June 28, 2011, 01:03:50 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Executions_during_the_Irish_Civil_War#The_Ballyseedy_Massacre_and_its_aftermath (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Executions_during_the_Irish_Civil_War#The_Ballyseedy_Massacre_and_its_aftermath)

This is what you are basing your rabid hatred of everyone in the Irish Army on?

You are more of an extremist than I thought.

But it is good that we keep going back to Civil War politics for answers all the time.  ::)
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 01:11:39 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2011, 01:03:50 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Executions_during_the_Irish_Civil_War#The_Ballyseedy_Massacre_and_its_aftermath (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Executions_during_the_Irish_Civil_War#The_Ballyseedy_Massacre_and_its_aftermath)

This is what you are basing your rabid hatred of everyone in the Irish Army on?

You are more of an extremist than I thought.

But it is good that we keep going back to Civil War politics for answers all the time.  ::)

Use of terminology is always interesting; 'rabid', 'extreme' - demonise the views of the opponent so as not to have to deal too closely with the facts.

Internment and summary execution were not confined to the civil war period. The legacy of such activities, so eargely engaged in would live on for generations due to the military careers of those involved and those whom they influenced. We see the echo of this today in the activities of IRMS, founded by former elite officers of the 26C army. It is reasonable to assume that they took so readily to training and supplying right wing mercenaries to corporate death squads as a result of an ethos instilled during their long 26C army careers.

The 26C army is not and has never been an army of the people but merely the armed wing of the corrupt state. The day might not be far away when they are putting mortgage defaulters out of their homes in a manner similar to their redcoat predecessors.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 01:17:52 PM

I see your avatar is James Connolly  ;)  ;)  ;)  ;)  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 01:30:34 PM
Cáthasaigh I'm guessing your a fan of the Socialist Republics, which would be your model of choice? North Korea, Cuba, China? Maybe one of the old ones like the USSR, Romania or East Germany?

Or you from the branch of Irish Socialism which wants a United Irish Socialist Republic or the ones that want a United Britain and Ireland Socialist Republic? I guess your from the branch which wants no taxes and unlimited services.

So when is the European Socialist Revolution coming? We all know how well that worked last time.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 01:38:40 PM
Jaysus Mayo/Muppet, if you are both sure of your opinions, then would one of ye please actually try to answer any of Cáthasaigh's points instead of throwing out abuse/labels/sarcastic responses. Bit of debate would b interesting.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 01:45:08 PM
Cáthasaigh do you advocate Armed Revolution against the Irish State?
Post by: seafoid on June 28, 2011, 02:02:52 PM

Both the US and Israel are settler colonial states built on dispossession and ethnic cleansing where the
people believe their nation has been chosen by God. 

Ask the Apaches or the  Palestinians.

www.indianermusik.de/revis/trudell_bone_days.htm

We don´t care
Who they think they are
They look like Treaty makers to us
Making one more promise
So they´ll have another promise to break
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 02:04:31 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 01:38:40 PM
Jaysus Mayo/Muppet, if you are both sure of your opinions, then would one of ye please actually try to answer any of Cáthasaigh's points instead of throwing out abuse/labels/sarcastic responses. Bit of debate would b interesting.

and Nally Stand's first contribution to debate was
...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2011, 02:05:21 PM
Cathasaigh , what do you think of the people who tried to murder Peadar Heffron and succeeded in murdering the other 2 Catholic PSNI men?
This happened very recently , not in 1921  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 02:15:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 28, 2011, 02:02:52 PM

Both the US and Israel are settler colonial states built on dispossession and ethnic cleansing where the
people believe their nation has been chosen by God. 

Ask the Apaches or the  Palestinians.

www.indianermusik.de/revis/trudell_bone_days.htm

We don´t care
Who they think they are
They look like Treaty makers to us
Making one more promise
So they´ll have another promise to break

Manifest Destiny and Zionism fit like hand in glove.
Post by: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 02:29:15 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 01:38:40 PMJaysus Mayo/Muppet, if you are both sure of your opinions, then would one of ye please actually try to answer any of Cáthasaigh's points instead of throwing out abuse/labels/sarcastic responses. Bit of debate would b interesting.
How does one debate rationally with someone whose views eg on the Irish Defence Forces' activities in South Lebanon in 2011 are informed by the actions of the Free State Army in South Kerry in 1923?

That seems to me to reflect an ultra-zealous mindset which is so determined to maintain a certain line that it will not brook any questioning, qualification or modification.

In fact, one might almost term this mindset "Paisleyite"... :D
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 02:29:56 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 02:04:31 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Which came in response to your post which was nothing but partitionist abuse. Cáthasaigh has raised a number of arguments about the 26 county army which you obviously disagree with. He has invited you or whoever else, to debate these issues, yet you have just replied to him with your usual childish sarcasm to avoid tough debate.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 02:36:03 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 02:29:15 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 01:38:40 PMJaysus Mayo/Muppet, if you are both sure of your opinions, then would one of ye please actually try to answer any of Cáthasaigh's points instead of throwing out abuse/labels/sarcastic responses. Bit of debate would b interesting.
How does one debate rationally with someone whose views eg on the Irish Defence Forces' activities in South Lebanon in 2011 are informed by the actions of the Free State Army in South Kerry in 1923?

That seems to me to reflect an ultra-zealous mindset which is so determined to maintain a certain line that it will not brook any questioning, qualification or modification.

That argument would only have any validity if you were to ignore all his posts except his reference to South Kerry in 1923. Amongst other contemporary examples/arguments, he also stated "The echo of the ethos which accompanied such behaviour can be found today in the state's relationship with IRMS, the company which trains right wing extremists for corporate death squads, which was founded by former senior members of the 26C elite Ranger Wing."

I'm not getting into any sort of debate on the 26 county army myself, but jaysus lads, for the sake of interesting reading if nothing else, if yis disagree with Cáthasaigh then have the balls to outline why, in terms of his arguments (not just by picking out one of his arguments and blissfully ignoring the rest, EG/Muppet.) (Or in the case of MGHU, blissfully ignoring all of his arguments).
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 02:42:37 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 02:29:56 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Which came in response to your post which was nothing but partitionist abuse. Cáthasaigh has raised a number of arguments about the 26 county army which you obviously disagree with. He has invited you or whoever else, to debate these issues, yet you have just replied to him with your usual childish sarcasm to avoid tough debate.

Wise up, do you ever listen to yourself, you throw around Free State, West Brit, Blueshirt ad nauesem. The new lad is very liberal with his interpretation of a fascist, his vitriol towards the Irish State and its defenders of the peace and security is absurd. It seems he forgot Mr.Connolly was a soldier in the British Monarchs army. Rookie mistake I suppose. waiting to see if he changes to a simple Starry Plough. Of course will he go green like in the time of Connolly, or the reformed blue version which strangely in his avatar is with a man who was dead by the time of the colour change. Wonder will he answer me about armed revolution against the Irish state, but sure unlike you Nally, I won't demand an answer (being a democrat myself) unless he wants to.
Post by: deiseach on June 28, 2011, 02:51:16 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 02:36:03 PM
I'm not getting into any sort of debate on the 26 county army myself, but jaysus lads, for the sake of interesting reading if nothing else, if yis disagree with Cáthasaigh then have the balls to outline why, in terms of his arguments (not just by picking out one of his arguments and blissfully ignoring the rest, EG/Muppet.) (Or in the case of MGHU, blissfully ignoring all of his arguments).

It's impossible to debate with Cáthasaigh's logic - that because x happened in the past, y is going to happen in the future. Morrissey said recently (http://www.starpulse.com/news/index.php/2011/06/19/morrissey_attacks_the_queen_again) that "if the British people decided tomorrow that the Queen must go, then the Queen wouldn't hesitate to turn her tanks on the British people. It would happen. Because the police are commissioned to protect the Queen against the people of England. That's their first and foremost task. And I find that absolutely absurd". No doubt he could look to Bloody Sunday (x2) and Amritsar as evidence for this assertion. Yet how do you disprove it? You can't prove a negative.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 03:02:07 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 02:42:37 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Wise up, do you ever listen to yourself, you throw around Free State, West Brit, Blueshirt ad nauesem. The new lad is very liberal with his interpretation of a fascist, his vitriol towards the Irish State and its defenders of the peace and security is absurd. It seems he forgot Mr.Connolly was a soldier in the British Monarchs army. Rookie mistake I suppose. waiting to see if he changes to a simple Starry Plough. Of course will he go green like in the time of Connolly, or the reformed blue version which strangely in his avatar is with a man who was dead by the time of the colour change. Wonder will he answer me about armed revolution against the Irish state, but sure unlike you Nally, I won't demand an answer (being a democrat myself) unless he wants to.

Right so once again, rather than discuss his main arguments you discuss his avatar. Useful counter argument alright.  ::) Not surprised a FGer like you would be talking about removing the picture of James Connolly I must say. Going by your comments in the thread I linked to earlier, I assume you regard Connolly as a criminal who you "have lukewarm feelings about" because you are "a democrat" and he took up arms rather than tried to "force the Brits to let us go by the ballot box" (Unlike Collins of course. Ooops   :-X )
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 03:05:47 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 03:02:07 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Right so once again, rather than discuss his main arguments you discuss his avatar. Useful counter argument alright.  ::) Not surprised a FGer like you would be talking about removing the picture of James Connolly I must say. Going by your comments in the thread I linked to earlier, I assume you regard Connolly as a criminal who you "have lukewarm feelings about" because you are "a democrat" and he took up arms rather than tried to "force the Brits to let us go by the ballot box" (Unlike Collins of course. Ooops   :-X )

Your funny Nally, you really are. You talk about avoidance and misrepresenting arguments. It is clear from what I said that I was pointing out his avatar was James Connolly, ex-British Army serviceman. This same poster then goes on the rant about ex-British Army servicemen, did you miss that, did you? Go on stop deflecting  ;D

He also disappeared since I asked him about his views towards armed revolution against the Irish State. This is a valid question as framed in the context of his views towards the Irish Defence Forces & an Garda Síochána and his extremist leanings.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 03:14:12 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 03:05:47 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Your funny Nally, you really are. You talk about avoidance and misrepresenting arguments. It is clear from what I said that I was pointing out his avatar was James Connolly, ex-British Army serviceman. This same poster then goes on the rant about ex-British Army servicemen, did you miss that, did you? Go on stop deflecting  ;D

Yes Mayo but discussing his avatar does not qualify as debating his various points. It is just deflecting from them. You have yet to come up with a reasoned retort to the specific points raised posts in any way, shape or form.
Post by: Hardy on June 28, 2011, 03:19:37 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 28, 2011, 02:51:16 PM

It's impossible to debate with Cáthasaigh's logic - that because x happened in the past, y is going to happen in the future. Morrissey said recently (http://www.starpulse.com/news/index.php/2011/06/19/morrissey_attacks_the_queen_again) that "if the British people decided tomorrow that the Queen must go, then the Queen wouldn't hesitate to turn her tanks on the British people. It would happen. Because the police are commissioned to protect the Queen against the people of England. That's their first and foremost task. And I find that absolutely absurd". No doubt he could look to Bloody Sunday (x2) and Amritsar as evidence for this assertion. Yet how do you disprove it? You can't prove a negative.

You mightn't feel the need to try to disprove it once you've formed an opinion on its credibility. Such an opinion might be informed by drivel such as the following:

Quotethe same garrison families who provided the officer corps of Britain's Irish regiments have consistently formed the backbone of the 26C officer corps

QuoteThe echo of the ethos which accompanied such behaviour can be found today in the state's relationship with IRMS, the company which trains right wing extremists for corporate death squads, which was founded by former senior members of the 26C elite Ranger Wing 

QuoteThe 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state

That last one is one of the funniest things I've read here in a while. Next we'll be hearing that the legislature is in cahoots with the judiciary and the presidency in a conspiracy to govern the country.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 03:29:10 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 03:14:12 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Yes Mayo but discussing his avatar does not qualify as debating his various points. It is just deflecting from them. You have yet to come up with a reasoned retort to the specific points raised posts in any way, shape or form.

Well you see Nally, our new poster has yet to back up his points with even a scrap of evidence. What makes you think me or anyone else who reads this or has responded needs to disprove him, as he hasn't even tried to prove it himself. You seem to hold a higher standard for those you disagree with than those you agree or sympathise with. Choose your allies carefully, I think your new friend may have very different view on the Republican movement to yourself.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 03:35:15 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 03:29:10 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Well you see Nally, our new poster has yet to back up his points with even a scrap of evidence. What makes you think me or anyone else who reads this or has responded needs to disprove him, as he hasn't even tried to prove it himself. You seem to hold a higher standard for those you disagree with than those you agree or sympathise with. Choose your allies carefully, I think your new friend may have very different view on the Republican movement to yourself.

I don't recall referring to him as an ally. I am trying to encourage you to discuss his points rather than hide behind childish, sarcastic replies. For the sake of interesting reading if nothing else. If his arguments don't stand up to scrutiny, then show some maturity and discuss why in terms of his different arguments.

Or don't  :-\ . This thread is boring the hole of me at this stage, and it could have made interesting debate. It might yet, we'll see.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 03:43:52 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 03:35:15 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

I don't recall referring to him as an ally. I am trying to encourage you to discuss his points rather than hide behind childish, sarcastic replies. For the sake of interesting reading if nothing else. If his arguments don't stand up to scrutiny, then show some maturity and discuss why in terms of his different arguments.

Or don't  :-\ . This thread is boring the hole of me at this stage, and it could have made interesting debate. It might yet, we'll see.

Heres a though Nally Stand, let Cáthasaigh the accuser bear the burden of proof against the Irish State and its security services. Ask him to present his evidence. Then maybe myself or others that seem unimpressed by his evidence so far, which has included Muppet, Rossfan, Evil Genius, deiseach and hardy might discuss his points.

Is this argument getting boring because you can feel it slipping away from you?
Post by: deiseach on June 28, 2011, 03:47:42 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 28, 2011, 03:19:37 PM
That last one is one of the funniest things I've read here in a while. Next we'll be hearing that the legislature is in cahoots with the judiciary and the presidency in a conspiracy to govern the country.

We'll get Loo-tenant Stone and Inspector Keller on the case
Post by: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 03:52:09 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 02:29:15 PM

That argument would only have any validity if you were to ignore all his posts except his reference to South Kerry in 1923. Amongst other contemporary examples/arguments [Cathasaigh] also stated "The echo of the ethos which accompanied such behaviour can be found today in the state's relationship with IRMS, the company which trains right wing extremists for corporate death squads, which was founded by former senior members of the 26C elite Ranger Wing."
Why not quote the opening  of Cathasaigh's argument?

"The 26C army which is the direct descendent of the force of IRA deserters and former British soldiers (Free State Army) which used British-supplied weapons and logistical support to liquidate their countrymen through firing squads and war crimes. This army went on to guard concentration camps where political opponents were interned without trial, summarily executed and tortured."

In other words, without pause or shame, Cathasigh linked the modern Defence Forces (or "26C army", as he prefers it) with the atrocities of Ballyseedy etc, the clear implication being that opprobrium for the latter should transfer to the former.

Then, having attempted to confine the "debate" within that ultra-narrow context, he went on to label MGHU a "Fascist" because he doesn't unquestioningly accept Cathasaigh's own loaded premise i.e:  "If you're proud of actions which, under the terms of Nuremburg, were war crimes then you're little more than a Fascist...".

Next, Cathasaigh suggested MGHU: "... should apply for a job with IRMS....the company formed by former members of the Ranger Wing which trains mercenaries for use in corporate liquidation operations all over the third world. Mike Dwyer who was shot in Bolivia was one of theirs.".  In other words, he seeks to link MGHU's admiration for the peacekeeping role of the Defence Forces eg in South Lebanon or East Timor with the private  actions of a few former servicemen, committed after  they left the service.

Finally, he closes with: "They also have a cosey relationship with the Gombín state providing security for Fianna Fáil conferences and bully boys to threaten protestors in Corrib." - as though the Irish Defence Forces should be held accountable for the actions of a political party, no longer even in Government, when that party uses a dubious private security company for their own ends.

All of which would be laughable enough, were it not that the political party in question, is Fianna Fail, and anyone who knows anything about MGHU would know that he is hardly FF's best friend on this Board!  :D

Anyhow, this debating-style may impress (suit?) you, but imo it doesn't add to the Board; rather it detracts from it.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2011, 04:06:07 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 12:26:56 PM

That's a very simplistic position to adopt and you deliberately ignore the historical legacy of totalitarian behaviour towards the Irish people willingly engaged in by the 26C forces upon governmental whim;  All Armies operate under the control of the govenment of the day
the concentration camps, Are you talking about the Civil War internment camps in 1922/23/24 or the "Emergency" ones in the 40s Obv the Governemnt people would say that these were justified as there was an Armed Insurrection in the 20s and the very small group of IRA in the 40s were intent on bringing in Germans or else provoking the Brits to invade the 26 Cos.
the summary executions, -  the atrocities and the torture. - See above. All under the direction of the governemt 9 except perhaps some of those in Kerry.
This should come as little surprise as the same garrison families who provided the officer corps of Britain's Irish regiments have consistently formed the backbone of the 26C officer corps. - This is  total bullshit
The echo of the ethos which accompanied such behaviour can be found today in the state's relationship with IRMS, the company which trains right wing extremists for corporate death squads, which was founded by former senior members of the 26C elite Ranger Wing.-
All militarists are usually right wing and some put their former professional expertise to use for pay to all sorts  
The 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state-
As said before Armies do what their Governemtn tells them , thankfully in most cases where the Governemt is elected.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 04:10:53 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 03:43:52 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Heres a though Nally Stand, let Cáthasaigh the accuser bear the burden of proof against the Irish State and its security services. Ask him to present his evidence. Then maybe myself or others that seem unimpressed by his evidence so far, which has included Muppet, Rossfan, Evil Genius, deiseach and hardy might discuss his points.

I wasn't trying to get in any argument with you, I was trying to encourage you to discuss the topic reasonably with Cáthasaigh, but you did give me a good laugh there saying the argument was "slipping away from you"

You'd know all about that, as the following posters suggested  :D .....

Post #927: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963132#msg963132 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963132#msg963132)
"mayogodhelpus, you are going nowwhere with this one" (armaniac)

Post #949: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963189#msg963189 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963189#msg963189)
"Pretty weak MGHU. Pretty weak." (AZOffaly)

Post #953: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963196#msg963196 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963196#msg963196)
"Can I politely suggest that you go out for a rake of pints and leave the iPhone/iPad/laptop till monday." (Muppet)

Post #960: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963217#msg963217 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963217#msg963217)
Great post one from Pints that I quoted earlier

Post #961: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963219#msg963219 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963219#msg963219)
(http://findreallove.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/shooting-fish-in-a-barrel.jpg?w=200&h=156) AZOffaly

Post #972: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963371#msg963371 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963371#msg963371)
"I'd leave it nally. He has talked himself into a corner and will now ignore direct questions and hope everyone forgets his stupidity on this issue." (Mylestheslasher)

Post #973: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963383#msg963383 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963383#msg963383)
"MGHU i reckon a name change is in order. I don't think I've ever seen someone so wrapped up in circles on this board!!" (Trueblue1234)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:15:37 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 11:40:39 AM

You're diverting again, the debate isn't about you. I challenged your opinion of the 26C army, of whom you are proud, and outlined historical reasons why no Irish person should be proud of them. You have chosen to ignore the evidence, much of which outlines historical and contemporary Fascistic behaviour and links so it's reasonable to conclude that you approve of that which you cannot deny and as such you too exhibit Fascist tendencies.

Perhaps you wish to dispute the history of the state or the cosy governmental links with IRMS who supply right wing mercenaries for all sorts of atrocious activities in the third world. Most lilkely though you will respond with further playground diversions.

Come on lad, prove me a fascist.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:24:17 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 04:10:53 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

I wasn't trying to get in any argument with you, I was trying to encourage you to discuss the topic reasonably with Cáthasaigh, but you did give me a good laugh there saying the argument was "slipping away from you"

Post #927: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963132#msg963132 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963132#msg963132)

Post #949: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963189#msg963189 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963189#msg963189)

Post #953: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963196#msg963196 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963196#msg963196)
"Can I politely suggest that you go out for a rake of pints and leave the iPhone/iPad/laptop till monday." (Muppet)

Post #960: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963217#msg963217 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963217#msg963217)

Post #961: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963219#msg963219 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963219#msg963219)
(http://findreallove.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/shooting-fish-in-a-barrel.jpg?w=200&h=156) AZOffaly

Post #972: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963371#msg963371 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963371#msg963371)
"I'd leave it nally. He has talked himself into a corner and will now ignore direct questions and hope everyone forgets his stupidity on this issue." (Mylestheslasher)

Post #973: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963383#msg963383 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16587.msg963383#msg963383)
"MGHU i reckon a name change is in order. I don't think I've ever seen someone so wrapped up in circles on this board!!" (Trueblue1234)

Nally, you do realise how sad you are making yourself look right now. You have clearly lost the argument and are reverting to the tactics of a rogue. Sure everyone on here knows my views, you are hardly enlightening them to something new. Its funny because it looks like you think that thread was some kind of achievement for you, like the closest in life you have felt like accomplishing something. A gold star on your copybook, a poor little NS. The difference between you and I, is that I know many people find my views unpalatable and find me a pain in the arse, you in contrast are blissfully unaware of the same. That is what makes people like me annoying and people like you dangerous.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 04:25:50 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:24:17 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

Nally, you do realise how sad you are making yourself look right now. You have clearly lost the argument and are reverting to the tactics of a rogue. Sure everyone on here knows my views, you are hardly enlightening them to something new. Its funny because it looks like you think that thread was some kind of achievement for you, like the closest in life you have felt like accomplishing something. A gold star on your copybook, a poor little NS. The difference between you and I, is that I know many people find my views unpalatable and find me a pain in the arse, you in contrast are blissfully unaware of the same. That is what makes people like me annoying and people like you dangerous.

:D :D :D
Post by: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:26:44 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:15:37 PM

Easy.

MGHU = Fine Gael Voter = Eoin O'Duffy = Fascist.

No, wait, four steps is too many.

How about, "Cathasaigh says you're a Fascist, so you must be"?

P.S. Where do I claim my Prize?  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:28:54 PM
Nally Stand you felt like you had been validated somehow. All those people joining in as Nally rode his steed, a modern day Don Quixote.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2011, 04:29:03 PM
He thinks, therefore you are.

Sorry Msr Descartes.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2011, 04:29:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2011, 02:05:21 PM
Cathasaigh , what do you think of the people who tried to murder Peadar Heffron and succeeded in murdering the other 2 Catholic PSNI men?

No response I notice  ::)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:30:14 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:26:44 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:15:37 PM

Easy.

MGHU = Fine Gael Voter = Eoin O'Duffy = Fascist.

No, wait, four steps is too many.

How about, "Cathasaigh says you're a Fascist, so you must be"?

P.S. Where do I claim my Prize?  ;)

A EG, I was waiting for the famous photo they always bring out at this stage.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:32:16 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 04:25:50 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:24:17 PM

...says the blueshirt

hypocritical much  ;)

:D :D :D

Ploughing your empty furrow I see.
Post by: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:37:43 PM
Morrissey said recently (http://www.starpulse.com/news/index.php/2011/06/19/morrissey_attacks_the_queen_again) that "if the British people decided tomorrow that the Queen must go, then the Queen wouldn't hesitate to turn her tanks on the British people. It would happen. Because the police are commissioned to protect the Queen against the people of England. That's their first and foremost task. And I find that absolutely absurd".
Wow!

I always suspected Morrisey was a p r i ck, but would have hesitated to assert it, since I don't like his music (or more accurately, his whining vocal style), so don't follow him, and therefore know little about him.

I am now happy that my suspicion was correct.

Meanwhile, back to Cathasaigh, about whom I also have my suspicions, and his views on the Irish Defence Forces... :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:55:06 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:37:43 PM
Morrissey said recently (http://www.starpulse.com/news/index.php/2011/06/19/morrissey_attacks_the_queen_again) that "if the British people decided tomorrow that the Queen must go, then the Queen wouldn't hesitate to turn her tanks on the British people. It would happen. Because the police are commissioned to protect the Queen against the people of England. That's their first and foremost task. And I find that absolutely absurd".
Wow!

I always suspected Morrisey was a p r i ck, but would have hesitated to assert it, since I don't like his music (or more accurately, his whining vocal style), so don't follow him, and therefore know little about him.

Meanwhile, back to Cathasaigh, about whom I also have my suspicions, and his views on the Irish Defence Forces... :D

Maybe the screws have confisgated his i-phone  :D
Post by: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 05:02:49 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 04:55:06 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:37:43 PMMeanwhile, back to Cathasaigh, about whom I also have my suspicions, and his views on the Irish Defence Forces... :D

Always possible, I suppose.

In which case, referring back to the OP. am I the only one to detect a whiff of anti-Semitism in Lawnseed, in his casual references to "the Jews"?  :o
Post by: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 05:03:45 PM

Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:37:43 PMMeanwhile, back to Cathasaigh, about whom I also have my suspicions, and his views on the Irish Defence Forces... :D

In which case, referring back to the OP, am I the only one to detect a whiff of anti-Semitism in Lawnseed, what with his casual references to "the Jews"?  :o
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 05:14:05 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 05:02:49 PM

In which case, referring back to the OP. am I the only one to detect a whiff of anti-Semitism in Lawnseed, in his casual references to "the Jews"?  :o

I took it more as indoctrinted hostility towards the state of Israel rather than anti-Semitism. I may be wrong. I am far from a fan of Israel and find my sympathies lie in general closer to the Palestinian side, so those are my cards on the table. When debating certain states such as Israel, Saudi Arabia or the Vatican there is a clear link between religion and the governance of those states. To the opposite scale you could say a secular state such as France (despite its Catholic/Christian heritage). Countries like Ireland, the U.K. or the United States occupy a kind of grey middle ground. I think when you talk about a state such as Israel it can be valid to empasise its religious ethos when approprate to the argument. I see where you are coming from EG, in this case it did not seem appropriate, rather Isreali should have been the term used. As how could a Jew in New York, Dublin, London, France, Turkey, Brazil or Australia be implicated in wrongs, percieved or real. Of course they may be culpable through support, but they are far from a homogenous group.
Post by: deiseach on June 28, 2011, 05:55:36 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:37:43 PM
Wow!

Have Morrissey and Cáthasaigh ever been seen in a room together at the same time?
Post by: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 05:58:08 PM
Bring Irish Troops home from Lebanon and Darfur. The Republic needs to become Non-Interventionist, possibly even Isolationist.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 07:19:51 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 28, 2011, 01:17:52 PM

I see your avatar is James Connolly  ;)  ;)  ;)  ;)  ;)

If you reached any further you would be horizontal. Connolly's involvement in the British army was obviously before the declaration of the Republic, as was Tom Barry's. This is in stark contrast to the former British soldiers who flocked to the Free State army after having opposed the Republic. Those whom Mellows referred to as the 'stake in the land' people.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 07:23:04 PM

You mightn't feel the need to try to disprove it once you've formed an opinion on its credibility. Such an opinion might be informed by drivel such as the following:

Quotethe same garrison families who provided the officer corps of Britain's Irish regiments have consistently formed the backbone of the 26C officer corps

QuoteThe echo of the ethos which accompanied such behaviour can be found today in the state's relationship with IRMS, the company which trains right wing extremists for corporate death squads, which was founded by former senior members of the 26C elite Ranger Wing 

QuoteThe 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state

Good man, go with the ridicule rather than an attempt at reasoned debate of incontestible facts. It's the only option open to you which in effect renders your own post ridiculous and confers a certain status upon yourself. No doubt you are surrounded by clean windows.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 07:26:27 PM

Explain to my how this is relevant to the topic which concerns the 26C forces not the crown forces.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 07:33:44 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2011, 04:29:41 PM

No response I notice  ::)

Hard to respond when you're not online hi professor.
Post by: gallsman on June 28, 2011, 07:45:14 PM
Nally, your rush to attack mghu here without ever expressing agreement with the opinions of this new fella speaks volumes. Very cheap point scoring.

A good friend of mine is a young officer in the Irish Army and I'm damn proud of him. I'm also damn proud of his commanding officer and colleagues who helped him bury his girlfriend after a car crash and were there for him when many others couldn't be. I really don't give a f**k what someone thinks about a particular legacy from the era of the civil war.

As to the original question, I find the tabloid attitude copied from the English papers to be cringeworthy.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 08:11:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 28, 2011, 07:45:14 PM
Nally, your rush to attack mghu here without ever expressing agreement with the opinions of this new fella speaks volumes. Very cheap point scoring.

A good friend of mine is a young officer in the Irish Army and I'm damn proud of him. I'm also damn proud of his commanding officer and colleagues who helped him bury his girlfriend after a car crash and were there for him when many others couldn't be. I really don't give a f**k what someone thinks about a particular legacy from the era of the civil war.

As to the original question, I find the tabloid attitude copied from the English papers to be cringeworthy.

Are you also proud of their participation in the war for control of heroin production in Afghanistan? How many deaths, in Ireland and Afghanistan does that facilitate annually?
Post by: Hardy on June 28, 2011, 08:46:23 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 07:23:04 PM

Good man, go with the ridicule rather than an attempt at reasoned debate of incontestible facts. It's the only option open to you which in effect renders your own post ridiculous and confers a certain status upon yourself. No doubt you are surrounded by clean windows.

I'm afraid ridicule is the appropriate response to the ridiculous. When you present reasoned points, I'll attempt a reasoned response. If your facts are incontestable, you'll have no problem providing a bit of supporting evidence for them, I'm sure. In the meantime, don't be worrying yourself about my status or, speaking of the impenetrably ridiculous, the state of my windows.

Post by: muppet on June 29, 2011, 01:46:58 AM
I love being lectured on how to be Irish. Really I do. It is even better when it is obviously a minority viewpoint, cherry-picking events from history, with no perspective, with no mandate, or any hope of a mandate.

I fear we are in danger of going down the road of the middle eastern countries who seem to bounce between the corrupt (dictators) and the (religious) zealots.

Post by: ExcellentDriver on June 29, 2011, 09:47:57 AM
Quote from: muppet on June 29, 2011, 01:46:58 AM
I love being lectured on how to be Irish. Really I do. It is even better when it is obviously a minority viewpoint, cherry-picking events from history, with no perspective, with no mandate, or any hope of a mandate.

I fear we are in danger of going down the road of the middle eastern countries who seem to bounce between the corrupt (dictators) and the (religious) zealots.

Er, it always has. :p
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 10:50:26 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 28, 2011, 08:46:23 PM

I'm afraid ridicule is the appropriate response to the ridiculous. When you present reasoned points, I'll attempt a reasoned response. If your facts are incontestable, you'll have no problem providing a bit of supporting evidence for them, I'm sure. In the meantime, don't be worrying yourself about my status or, speaking of the impenetrably ridiculous, the state of my windows.

Most of what I have presented can be found in any decent historical text, if you choose to deny Irish history there isn't much I can do for you. In the meantime here's a wee bit of background on IRMS to get you started

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_Risk_Management_Services
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2011, 11:16:02 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 07:26:27 PM

Explain to my how this is relevant to the topic which concerns the 26C forces not the crown forces.

Just answer the ****ing question  ;)..... or would that give you away  ::)
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2011, 12:15:02 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 10:50:26 AM

Most of what I have presented can be found in any decent historical text, if you choose to deny Irish history there isn't much I can do for you. In the meantime here's a wee bit of background on IRMS to get you started

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_Risk_Management_Services (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_Risk_Management_Services)

Ah, Wiki. That settles that, then. Anyway, even accepting the unimpeachable veracity of Wikipedia, what does that entry contain other than allegations? And even if this company was the modern day reincarnation of the SS, what has it got to do with the Irish Army? Go again.

And while you're at it, I'm beside myself with anticipation of your substantiation of your claim that "the same garrison families who provided the officer corps of Britain's Irish regiments have consistently formed the backbone of the 26C officer corps" and your explanation of the ludicrous statement that "The 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state".
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2011, 12:38:55 PM
Well Hardy, in fairness, the Irish Army is volunteer, so that makes them 'willing'.

They are paid, so I suppose they are 'henchmen' under a specific view of the definition of henchmen, i.e. for personal gain.

And they are under the direction of the Minister for Defence, who is obviously part of the democratically elected government of the State.

So, ergo, they are willing henchmen of the state.

Why that seems to be a bad thing, I'm not sure.
Post by: deiseach on June 29, 2011, 01:07:18 PM
And because they've committed atrocities in the past, they will definitely commit atrocities in the future
Post by: muppet on June 29, 2011, 04:28:05 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 29, 2011, 01:07:18 PM
And because they've committed atrocities in the past, they will definitely commit atrocities in the future

Even though the actual culprits have been dead for decades?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 05:28:19 PM
I see you have provided some hard evidence there newbie  ::)

According to your link, this company does the following

"Services ProvidedI-RMS provide the following services:

Corporate: Business risk consultancy, Logistics security, Surveillance & counter surveillance.
Standard Security: Guarding ,Cash in transit, Patrols, Key holding.
Events Services: Corporate & private events,Festivals & sporting occasions, security personnel, Mobile ATMs.
Special Services: Security consultancy, Courier services, International security project management"

I fail to see what the problem is with that unless you don't want to be caught ripping an ATM out of a bank wall, want to sell Es to youngsters at concerts, riot at a sports event, rob a security van or physically assault the tax paying employees of a corporation.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 05:37:57 PM
By the way Cáthasaigh, the name of the army of the Irish State areThe Irish Defence Forces &/or Óglaigh na h-Eireann. They are the only legitimate organisation to bear that name.

http://www.military.ie/ (http://www.military.ie/)
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 08:57:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 29, 2011, 11:16:02 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 28, 2011, 07:26:27 PM

Just answer the ****ing question  ;)..... or would that give you away  ::)

The question is off topic and as such you can hardly demand an answer. Explain to me the sectarian nature of your request as it appears that it is only Catholic victims which concern you. You neglected to mention the two young British soldiers killed at Massarene. I don't remember any media mention of their religion. Have you ascertained that they were non-Catholics and thus unworthy of your concern?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:01:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 29, 2011, 12:15:02 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_Risk_Management_Services (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_Risk_Management_Services)

Ah, Wiki. That settles that, then. Anyway, even accepting the unimpeachable veracity of Wikipedia, what does that entry contain other than allegations? And even if this company was the modern day reincarnation of the SS, what has it got to do with the Irish Army? Go again.

And while you're at it, I'm beside myself with anticipation of your substantiation of your claim that "the same garrison families who provided the officer corps of Britain's Irish regiments have consistently formed the backbone of the 26C officer corps" and your explanation of the ludicrous statement that "The 26C army has never been anything other than the willing henchman of the 26C state".

The henchman bit would describe their traditional willingness to execute their countrymen through firing squad or atrocity. You can be sure that such tradition is factored into the training; particularly of the elite/death squad units such as the ARW.......this is exemplified in IRMS.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:05:55 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 05:28:19 PM

Corporate: Business risk consultancy, Logistics security, Surveillance & counter surveillance.
Events Services: Corporate & private events,Festivals & sporting occasions, security personnel, Mobile ATMs.
Special Services: Security consultancy, Courier services, International security project management"

I fail to see what the problem is with that unless you don't want to be caught ripping an ATM out of a bank wall, want to sell Es to youngsters at concerts, riot at a sports event, rob a security van or physically assault the tax paying employees of a corporation.

Interesing that you completely ignore complicity in the CIA-backed, attempted right-wing overthrow of the democratically elected government of Bolivia, assaults on Irish people at Corrib and IRMS's office in Mombasa where they source out mercenaries to participate in the rape of Africa. If you're at any higher level that Fine Gael Jugend I would really have to laugh.
Post by: muppet on June 29, 2011, 09:11:43 PM
Do you support the Good Friday Agreement?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:22:30 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 05:37:57 PM
By the way Cáthasaigh, the name of the army of the Irish State areThe Irish Defence Forces &/or Óglaigh na h-Eireann. They are the only legitimate organisation to bear that name.

That's bollocks too because the majority of Óglaigh Na H-Eireann voted against the treaty and as such those who founded the free state army were deserters from Óglaigh H-Eireann. That's the reality, plain and simple. Óglaigh Na H-Eireann was the IRA - The Peoples' Army.

Don't dare sully the memory of the men and women who fought, died and suffered in the ranks for the betterment of their people, for no personal gain by attempting to misplace their mantle on a professional arm of the client, crony gombín state.

Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:25:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 29, 2011, 09:11:43 PM

You mean the piece of legislation which settled the constitutional issue in Britain's favour and made my county part of the UK without any claim or aspirartion in the 26C constitution towards making my county being part of an Irish Nation? This also enshrined the Unionist minority veto over the people of Tyrone ever hoping to be All Ireland in anything more than a football championship.
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2011, 09:26:27 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:01:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 29, 2011, 12:15:02 PM

The henchman bit would describe their traditional willingness to execute their countrymen through firing squad or atrocity. You can be sure that such tradition is factored into the training; particularly of the elite/death squad units such as the ARW.......this is exemplified in IRMS.

Can I?

When will Groucho and Harpo be along?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:30:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 29, 2011, 09:26:27 PM

Can I?

When will Groucho and Harpo be along?

Are you hoping for their support in maintaining your illusions?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 09:34:31 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:05:55 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 05:28:19 PM

Interesing that you completely ignore complicity in the CIA-backed, attempted right-wing overthrow of the democratically elected government of Bolivia, ALLEGED assaults on Irish people at Corrib and IRMS's office in Mombasa where they source out mercenaries to participate in the rape of Africa. If you're at any higher level that Fine Gael Jugend I would really have to laugh.

Is your last sentence even English.

Cáthasaigh do you or do you not contribute to on-line blogs advocating left-wing overthrow of democratically elected governments in Europe?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:39:41 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 09:34:31 PM

Cáthasaigh do you or do you not contribute to on-line blogs advocating left-wing overthrow of democratically elected governments in Europe?

Do you approve of the state employing bullyboys to facilitate the corporate theft of the petrochemical wealth of the Irish nation?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 09:40:37 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:22:30 PM

That's bollocks too because the majority of Óglaigh Na H-Eireann voted against the treaty and as such those who founded the free state army were deserters from Óglaigh H-Eireann. That's the reality, plain and simple. Óglaigh Na H-Eireann was the IRA - The Peoples' Army.

Don't dare sully the memory of the men and women who fought, died and suffered in the ranks for the betterment of their people, for no personal gain by attempting to misplace their mantle on a professional arm of the client, crony gombín state.

Think you will find it is you talking the bollocks. The majority of the Irish People vote for the treaty and as such the army of the state created by the will of the people are The Irish Defence Forces &/or Óglaigh na h-Eireann.

Or is the People's Army only the Army the People's of a permanent minority of radical extremist loons like yourself. Will you continue to ignore the majority of Irish people because their opinion only matters if it is extremist left-wing radical republicanism. Bet life will be fun under your Socialist Politburo.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 09:41:40 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:39:41 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 09:34:31 PM

Do you approve of the state employing bullyboys to facilitate the corporate theft of the petrochemical wealth of the Irish nation?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:54:13 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 09:40:37 PM

Think you will find it is you talking the bollocks. The majority of the Irish People vote for the treaty and as such the army of the state created by the will of the people are The Irish Defence Forces &/or Óglaigh na h-Eireann.

Or is the People's Army only the Army the People's of a permanent minority of radical extremist loons like yourself. Will you continue to ignore the majority of Irish people because their opinion only matters if it is extremist left-wing radical republicanism. Bet life will be fun under your Socialist Politburo.

Ah no, the IRA forced the Brits to the table not the people. Their war was started against the will of the people and Sinn Féin at Soloheadbeg in 1919 on the day when Dáil Eireann 1 met. Dan Breen, Seán Treacy, Seamus Robinson and Seán Hogan didn't give a bollocks about the socially-engineered 'will of the people' when they executed 2 Catholic members of the crown  constabulary."

Wee revisionist Free Staters are some craic. Dya wanna hear about the sectarian mass murderers who held 26C cabinet positions?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 10:01:35 PM

Are you opposed to the Irish Army as it will be the front line in the defence of the Irish State in its people against the hateful zealots of your undemocratic fringe loonfest coup.

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 10:06:48 PM
Your contempt for the Irish people is disgusting.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 10:23:50 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 10:06:48 PM

Coming from an advocate of the status quo which has partitioned, impoverished and covered up the rape of Irish children that statement is patholigally projective in the extreme.

I'm all for the Irish people rising up and realising their potential unfettered by crony politicians, foreign powers or their agents in clerical or political garb.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 10:53:36 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 10:23:50 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 10:06:48 PM

Coming from an advocate of the status quo which has partitioned, impoverished and covered up the rape of Irish children that statement is patholigally projective in the extreme.

I'm all for the Irish people rising up and realising their potential unfettered by crony politicians, foreign powers or their agents in clerical or political garb.

Why don't you and your legion of hate stand for democratic election yourself. Is it because nobody will vote for you. So you call for a left-wing extremist overthrow of the democratic decision of the Irish people.

Should we purge the people to make the populous more demograpically acceptable and amenable.

I put it to you that one of the main reasons why the populous of Ireland don't change from what you call the status quo is because they fear people like you with every breath in their body.

Still avoiding the real reason you hate the Irish Army, because they are going to stop you and your war on the Irish people.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2011, 12:39:37 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:54:13 PM

Ah no, the IRA forced the Brits to the table not the people. Their war was started against the will of the people and Sinn Féin at Soloheadbeg in 1919 on the day when Dáil Eireann 1 met. Dan Breen, Seán Treacy, Seamus Robinson and Seán Hogan didn't give a bollocks about the socially-engineered 'will of the people' when they executed 2 Catholic members of the crown  constabulary."

Wee revisionist Free Staters are some craic. Dya wanna hear about the sectarian mass murderers who held 26C cabinet positions?

Why do you brits insist on lecturing us on our history. Why dont you stick to your own history ..like the war of the roses and stuff like that.

Post by: muppet on June 30, 2011, 12:47:46 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:25:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 29, 2011, 09:11:43 PM

You mean the piece of legislation which settled the constitutional issue in Britain's favour and made my county part of the UK without any claim or aspirartion in the 26C constitution towards making my county being part of an Irish Nation? This also enshrined the Unionist minority veto over the people of Tyrone ever hoping to be All Ireland in anything more than a football championship.

Mandates aren't just for homos.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 30, 2011, 10:02:08 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 10:53:36 PM

Why don't you and your legion of hate stand for democratic election yourself. Is it because nobody will vote for you. So you call for a left-wing extremist overthrow of the democratic decision of the Irish people.

Should we purge the people to make the populous more demograpically acceptable and amenable.

I put it to you that one of the main reasons why the populous of Ireland don't change from what you call the status quo is because they fear people like you with every breath in their body.

Still avoiding the real reason you hate the Irish Army, because they are going to stop you and your war on the Irish people.

You fear people like me because you are an establishment drone. Change in Ireland will only ever come when sufficient numbers of the Irish people stand up and demand better than the shower of criminals, traitors and incompetents who have misled the people for generations. I oppose the 26C army as they are the military wing of said criminals, traitors and incompetents and if the people do rise up it will used as a repressionary force against them.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 30, 2011, 10:08:01 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2011, 12:39:37 AM

Why do you brits insist on lecturing us on our history. Why dont you stick to your own history ..like the war of the roses and stuff like that.

Given that you posted this on a GAA board I heartily encourage you to take your theory of national identity to one of the upcoming Tyrone, Armagh or Derry games and explain to the supporters why you think they are Brits. If that isn't sufficient to knock some sense into you go and ask your grannies how many Tans they had to blow to render such damage upon the familial psyche down the generations. Don't give up hope, there is a cure for such self-loathing and inadequacy but it's not the priesthood, the free state army or the gardai.
Post by: Rossfan on June 30, 2011, 10:45:18 AM
Time you changed your tablets Cathasaigh or stop imbibing  illegal substances .
Your inane ramblings will cause so many peoples' sides to burst  that the remaining A & Es will totally collapse.
You are simply an  :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
Post by: Hardy on June 30, 2011, 11:55:53 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 30, 2011, 10:02:08 AMI oppose the 26C army

Good luck with that.
Post by: LeoMc on June 30, 2011, 12:30:02 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 30, 2011, 10:02:08 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 29, 2011, 10:53:36 PM

You fear people like me because you are an establishment drone. Change in Ireland will only ever come when sufficient numbers of the Irish people stand up and demand better than the shower of criminals, traitors and incompetents who have misled the people for generations. I oppose the 26C army as they are the military wing of said criminals, traitors and incompetents and if the people do rise up it will used as a repressionary force against them.

Any suggestions on how to go about this or are you just an anti-establishment drone?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2011, 02:20:09 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 30, 2011, 10:08:01 AM

Given that you posted this on a GAA board I heartily encourage you to take your theory of national identity to one of the upcoming Tyrone, Armagh or Derry games and explain to the supporters why you think they are Brits. If that isn't sufficient to knock some sense into you go and ask your grannies how many Tans they had to blow to render such damage upon the familial psyche down the generations. Don't give up hope, there is a cure for such self-loathing and inadequacy but it's not the priesthood, the free state army or the gardai.

Its a bit of a coincidence that you showed up here a few weeks before the 12th  wrapping yourself in the flag. I think you are an OWC plant trying to stir things up. What is your real name...Gregory ? Ian ? Willie ?
Post by: Nally Stand on June 30, 2011, 03:10:32 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2011, 02:20:09 PM

Its a bit of a coincidence that you showed up here a few weeks before the 12th  wrapping yourself in the flag. I think you are an OWC plant trying to stir things up. What is your real name...Gregory ? Ian ? Willie ?

(http://www.sxc.hu/pic/m/t/th/thiralia/776441_black_kettle_1.jpg)  (http://www.chinawholesaletown.com/wholesale-T-Fal-Stock-Pot---Black_16233966384d489a50ef9f90web_up_file.jpg)  (http://www.prsguitars.com/csc/color/img/lg_black.jpg)
Post by: Evil Genius on June 30, 2011, 04:41:58 PM

Nice try, Mike.

But have you considered the other possibility, namely that Unionism hasn't got a complete monopoly on extremist, s h it-for-brains nutjobs?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 30, 2011, 05:08:09 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 30, 2011, 04:41:58 PM

Nice try, Mike.

But have you considered the other possibility, namely that Unionism hasn't got a complete monopoly on extremist, s h it-for-brains nutjobs?

Pretty sure he an extremist left wing anti-democracy  nutter, there is a lad who blogs elsewhere with the same name and almost identical views.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2011, 06:16:10 PM
(http://3story.org/stories/gallery/1/minime.jpg)

Nally Stand and Cathasaigh "mini-me"  ... ...4.56382563837 times more Irish than the average Gaaboarder !
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 30, 2011, 07:20:03 PM

Try your anti-26-county rants at  Kerry, Cork, Dublin, Mayo etc. match later this year and see where it gets you.
Post by: lawnseed on June 30, 2011, 10:45:05 PM
i see the locals in lebennon dont all read the star they stoned un peace keepers yesterday.. oops :-X
Post by: gallsman on June 30, 2011, 10:46:46 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 29, 2011, 09:22:30 PM

You'd almost think the army was supposed to serve the state rather than itself, wouldn't you?
Post by: lawnseed on June 30, 2011, 10:51:24 PM
what do the irish army get out of doing UN work does any one know? whats the point of it?
Post by: muppet on June 30, 2011, 11:36:07 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on June 30, 2011, 06:16:10 PM
Nally Stand and Cathasaigh "mini-me"  ... ...4.56382563837 times more Irish than the average Gaaboarder !

I disagree with Nally Stand a lot of the time but I can understand where he is coming from.

I think instead of personally attacking Cáthasaigh we should afford him the opportunity to outline his vision for us. Who would be in power? Would we have a say? What rights we would have? Min/Max wage? Etc.
Post by: lawnseed on July 01, 2011, 12:12:19 AM
Quote from: muppet on June 30, 2011, 11:36:07 PM

I disagree with Nally Stand a lot of the time but I can understand where he is coming from.

I think instead of personally attacking Cáthasaigh we should afford him the opportunity to outline his vision for us. Who would be in power? Would we have a say? What rights we would have? Min/Max wage? Etc.
who'd be in power.. jim corr
would we have a say.. only if the alluminati gave the green light
what rights.. what rights do we have now?
wages.. money would be a thing of the past people would work for the betterment of humankind ;)
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 12:22:55 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on July 01, 2011, 12:12:19 AM
Quote from: muppet on June 30, 2011, 11:36:07 PM

who'd be in power.. jim corr
would we have a say.. only if the alluminati gave the green light
what rights.. what rights do we have now?
wages.. money would be a thing of the past people would work for the betterment of humankind ;)

who'd be in power.. jim corr - As long as he brought the sisters
would we have a say.. only if the alluminati gave the green light That'd be a no then
what rights.. what rights do we have now? yerra you'd miss them when they are gone
wages.. money would be a thing of the past people would work for the betterment of humankind ;) money is a think of the past already
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 10:37:19 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on June 30, 2011, 12:30:02 PM

Any suggestions on how to go about this or are you just an anti-establishment drone?

The way to go about it, imo, is through mass protest and action by sufficient numbers of the people. There will come a time when conditions get so bad that the conditioning of the people will not be enough to keep them cowed. Then you will see mass protest and general strikes, not unlike what is going on in Greece. The people need to stand up and demand much better than the criminal corruption and incompetence which has served for government to date. When that time comes it'll be interesting to see where the 26C army stands.
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 11:04:29 AM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 10:37:19 AM

The way to go about it, imo, is through mass protest and action by sufficient numbers of the people. There will come a time when conditions get so bad that the conditioning of the people will not be enough to keep them cowed. Then you will see mass protest and general strikes, not unlike what is going on in Greece. The people need to stand up and demand much better than the criminal corruption and incompetence which has served for government to date. When that time comes it'll be interesting to see where the 26C army stands.

That's not change. That is a protest.

What comes after that and then after that and so on?
Post by: gallsman on July 01, 2011, 11:15:22 AM

You fear people like me because you are an establishment drone. Change in Ireland will only ever come when sufficient numbers of the Irish I people stand up and demand better than the shower of criminals, traitors and incompetents who have misled the people for generations. I oppose the 26C army as they are the military wing of said criminals, traitors and incompetents and if the people do rise up it will used as a repressionary force against them.

You'll never see the likes of what's going on in Greece on Irish streets. Unless you're a pikey f**k in Dublin with nothing better to do than pretend to be a Republican when you can barely spell the word, never mind understand it.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 11:35:10 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 11:04:29 AM

I was asked how I would envisage the push for change and I answered; mass protest. What would come after that would be what the Irish people have never had; sovereignty, self determination and government for the people rather than a corrupt, croneyist establishment. None of this is ontopic however, unless you wish to consider the likely activities of the 26C army in the face of a mass mobilisation of the Irish people.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 11:37:35 AM
Quote from: gallsman on July 01, 2011, 11:15:22 AM
Unless you're a pikey f**k in Dublin

Are you Guy Ritchie? If not could you please explain the terminology and its use in this context.
Post by: hairierarea on July 01, 2011, 11:37:54 AM
QuoteUnless you're a pikey f**k in Dublin with nothing better to do than pretend to be a Republican when you can barely spell the word, never mind understand it.

Racist and snobbish. The spirit of Connolly is alive and well...
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 12:31:21 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 11:35:10 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 11:04:29 AM

I was asked how I would envisage the push for change and I answered; mass protest. What would come after that would be what the Irish people have never had; sovereignty, self determination and government for the people rather than a corrupt, croneyist establishment. None of this is ontopic however, unless you wish to consider the likely activities of the 26C army in the face of a mass mobilisation of the Irish people.

We know the easy answers, everyone has heard them. Most political movements offer all of the above whether they are left or right. One of the problems is that if you refuse to respect the will of the people now, why would you abide by it after gaining power? Historically revolutionaries/radicals don't make good governments. Bolsheviks, Castro, Cromwell, Hussein, Pol Pot, Mussolini, Tito, even your beloved 26C .
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 12:49:49 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 12:31:21 PM

We know the easy answers, everyone has heard them. Most political movements offer all of the above whether they are left or right. One of the problems is that if you refuse to respect the will of the people now, why would you abide by it after gaining power? Historically revolutionaries/radicals don't make good governments. Bolsheviks, Castro, Cromwell, Hussein, Pol Pot, Mussolini, Tito, even your beloved 26C .

Again with the senstationalist demonisation. Your 'will of the people' line suggests that it's not ok to be different, to think for yourself and seek to influence others and is but a jackboot's distance from Fascism/totalitarianism. In the 1980s there was a divorce referendum which was defeated. Should divorce advocates have given up out of 'respect [for] the will of the people' or were they correct in exercising their right to a different opinion, articulating their opinion and changing the minds of those who had opposed them in the past?
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 12:54:09 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 12:49:49 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 12:31:21 PM

Again with the senstationalist demonisation. Your 'will of the people' line suggests that it's not ok to be different, to think for yourself and seek to influence others and is but a jackboot's distance from Fascism/totalitarianism. In the 1980s there was a divorce referendum which was defeated. Should divorce advocates have given up out of 'respect [for] the will of the people' or were they correct in exercising their right to a different opinion, articulating their opinion and changing the minds of those who had opposed them in the past?

Looks who is sensationalising now.

Yes there was a divorce referendum. There is nothing stopping another divorce referendum.

Are you proposing a referendum or a revolution?
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 01:04:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 12:54:09 PM

Yes there was a divorce referendum. There is nothing stopping another divorce referendum.

Do you recognise that people have the right to different opinions, which don't suit the establishment narrative and that they also have the right to attempt to campaign on behalf of their opinions?
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 01:31:04 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 01:04:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 12:54:09 PM

Do you recognise that people have the right to different opinions, which don't suit the establishment narrative and that they also have the right to attempt to campaign on behalf of their opinions?

If you are going to rule the world you have to stop playing the victim.

The current 'regime' allow freedom of expression so you are entitled to your opinions. What worries most though is that there would be no such freedoms after the people you support came to power.
Post by: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 01:42:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 01:31:04 PM

The current 'regime' allow freedom of expression so you are entitled to your opinions. What worries most though is that there would be no such freedoms after the people you support came to power.

You are the one who has been attempting to deny the right to expression of different views through demonisation. You just can't help yourself and you're at it again here blethering about 'the people' I 'support'. Who are these people who fuel your most fearful assumptions?
Post by: gallsman on July 01, 2011, 02:24:33 PM
Quote from: hairierarea on July 01, 2011, 11:37:54 AM
QuoteUnless you're a pikey f**k in Dublin with nothing better to do than pretend to be a Republican when you can barely spell the word, never mind understand it.

Racist and snobbish. The spirit of Connolly is alive and well...

Racist? How? Snobbish? How? Your hole the spirit of Connolly is alive and well. It certainly doesn't live on among the likes of the Love Ulster Parade rioters or lads setting bins on fire when lizzie windsor was here.
Post by: hairierarea on July 01, 2011, 03:11:16 PM
QuoteRacist? How? Snobbish? How?

Seriously? I'd love to know this definition of pikey you're using.

The Connolly comment was a sarcastic dig at your claiming of superior understanding of republicanism given your apparently daily mail Tory view of the world.
Post by: gallsman on July 01, 2011, 04:09:21 PM
Quote from: hairierarea on July 01, 2011, 03:11:16 PM
QuoteRacist? How? Snobbish? How?

Seriously? I'd love to know this definition of pikey you're using.

The Connolly comment was a sarcastic dig at your claiming of superior understanding of republicanism given your apparently daily mail Tory view of the world.

Yes, very serious. "Pikey"is a term in common usage today to describe the type of person who engaged in the aforementioned riots. I still fail to see either snobbery or racism.

Yes, I object to a shower of scumbags destroying the streets of Dublin therefore I'm a tory. What splendid application of the human capacity for logical reasoning. Have a gold star.
Post by: hairierarea on July 01, 2011, 04:32:54 PM
Well, I always understood pikey to be an Irish equivalent of chav, meaning both travellers and the working classes, but there we are, it seems to specifically mean people who burn bins in Dublin when an English queen visits. That's that sorted.

But what's this? The 'type' of person who burns Dublin bins? What else marks out this 'type'? They can't spell or understand political concepts very well, apparently. That would mean bryan ferry's son or that pink Floyd guitarist's son who behaved similarly on political protests wouldn't be pikeys or chav as they are well-educated. Well that's clear.

What's your position on having literacy tests to keep this 'type' away from the ballot box? It kept ol' Dixie well run for many a decade.
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 05:13:33 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on July 01, 2011, 01:42:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 01:31:04 PM

You are the one who has been attempting to deny the right to expression of different views through demonisation. You just can't help yourself and you're at it again here blethering about 'the people' I 'support'. Who are these people who fuel your most fearful assumptions?

We'll try again.

Current status quo: You have your opinion and I have mine. We can both express it.

Your future leaders: ........................?
Post by: lawnseed on July 01, 2011, 06:19:45 PM

the irish people are sheep, whatever rte says they do it, and rte are easy to manipulate all you have to do is tell them that the licence fee will remain and they'll back you
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 06:23:26 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on July 01, 2011, 06:19:45 PM

the irish people are sheep, whatever rte says they do it, and rte are easy to manipulate all you have to do is tell them that the licence fee will remain and they'll back you

So you want to replace RTE with yourself?
Post by: lawnseed on July 01, 2011, 06:37:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 06:23:26 PM

i'm irish i'll do what ever you say baaa..
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2011, 06:41:23 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on July 01, 2011, 06:37:20 PM

You are all Prince and no Willie.
Post by: lawnseed on July 01, 2011, 06:49:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2011, 06:41:23 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on July 01, 2011, 06:37:20 PM

You are all Prince and no Willie.
lets have a referendum baaa..