Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 15, 2011, 01:30:26 PM

Title: davegaasportsdesk - Whats the story?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 15, 2011, 01:30:26 PM
I have seen this poster on here recently, I'm just curious to know, what's his story?

Been registered just over a month (approx 37days)
Posts - 38
Topics started - 17!!!!!!! That is almost 50% of his posts have been new topics! Blows Tony out of the water.
Title: Re: davegaasportsdesk - Whats the story?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 15, 2011, 01:39:50 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 15, 2011, 01:30:26 PM
I have seen this poster on here recently, I'm just curious to know, what's his story?

Been registered just over a month (approx 37days)
Posts - 38
Topics started - 17!!!!!!! That is almost 50% of his posts have been new topics! Blows Tony out of the water.

He is a junior journalist for some press organisation, not necessarily a newspaper, Newstalk I reckon, or the parent company. All his topics have hyperlinks to stories. 
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 15, 2011, 01:42:06 PM
He has a weekly gaa radio show on Dublin city fm
Post by: No1 on June 15, 2011, 01:43:00 PM
Dublin City FM.  He can be found on the YBIG forum also.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 15, 2011, 02:34:50 PM
was curious about this also!

so is it self-publication he's after, or does he get a few pence if we clink on the links?

either way, should he not be got rid of? :)
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 03:36:25 PM
Apologies if im annoying ya's, just trying to generate some conversation. Yes I do present a GAA radio show every Wednesday evening. Would love some feedback if any of you guys listen to it!

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 15, 2011, 03:42:27 PM
Its crap. Which one is it :P
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 03:49:28 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 15, 2011, 03:42:27 PM

It's every wedensday from 7pm to 8pm on 103.2 dublin city fm. I am previewing the Dublin Galway game this evening. I can give anybody the podcast address also if anyone is interested.
Post by: NAG1 on June 15, 2011, 04:03:44 PM
Just lay of the ridiculous posting and forum starting for starters.
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 04:09:17 PM
I will do no problem. Apologies.
Post by: The Iceman on June 15, 2011, 04:45:40 PM
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 03:49:28 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 15, 2011, 03:42:27 PM

It's every wedensday from 7pm to 8pm on 103.2 dublin city fm. I am previewing the Dublin Galway game this evening. I can give anybody the podcast address also if anyone is interested.

Stick up the podcast link Dave I'll tune in.

Post by: amallon on June 15, 2011, 05:21:52 PM
I'd be interested in the podcast as well
Post by: Denn Forever on June 15, 2011, 06:30:54 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 15, 2011, 02:34:50 PM
was curious about this also!

so is it self-publication he's after, or does he get a few pence if we clink on the links?

either way, should he not be got rid of? :)

Live and let live.  He could be using Hoganstand for his in-depth analysis. 

Wod U B Hapy wit dat?
Post by: ludermor on June 15, 2011, 06:52:27 PM
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 03:36:25 PM
Apologies if im annoying ya's, just trying to generate some conversation. Yes I do present a GAA radio show every Wednesday evening. Would love some feedback if any of you guys listen to it!
You could have been more upfront from the start, its not like it wasnt obvious!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 15, 2011, 07:33:25 PM
Jaysus lads, why don't Ye get a posse together and string him up?
Post by: ludermor on June 15, 2011, 07:36:42 PM
Coming from the voice of reason!
Post by: ziggysego on June 15, 2011, 07:58:46 PM
With the bad press the gaaboard is getting from the media in recent weeks, youse all turn on someone who came in on good intentions, albeit secretly.
Post by: boojangles on June 15, 2011, 08:01:01 PM
Lay off dave he's sound.
Post by: passedit on June 15, 2011, 08:10:54 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 15, 2011, 07:58:46 PM
With the bad press the gaaboard is getting from the media in recent weeks, youse all turn on someone who came in on good intentions, albeit secretly.

The clue was in the name lads.

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_AcBUSVxs82w/S22QkSH00JI/AAAAAAAAZWw/Cb1h4WyDjuo/s400/Undercover_Elephant.jpg)
Post by: heffo on June 15, 2011, 08:26:49 PM
Dave's sports show is very good - I know some of the threads he starts are a bit random, but it was well intentioned.
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 10:36:15 PM
Hey, thanks a million for some of the support, I apologise for my mad threads, you wont see them again. Glad you liked the show, I interviewed John McIntyre tonight as they prepare for the dubs clash. I will stick up the podcast shortly. cheers again and sorry again.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 15, 2011, 10:39:52 PM
No worries Dave, and good luck with it. Feck the begrudgers ;)
Post by: heffo on June 15, 2011, 10:59:34 PM
Maybe you could start a thread with links to your weekly show and maybe a preview of what's coming up etc?
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 11:01:42 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 15, 2011, 10:59:34 PM
Maybe you could start a thread with links to your weekly show and maybe a preview of what's coming up etc?

Would that be ok with people?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 15, 2011, 11:16:36 PM
Surely would with me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2011, 11:19:31 PM
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 11:01:42 PM

Subject to board approval I'd say it would be a thread worth having. Keeps everything neat and tidy.
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 11:22:39 PM
cool, well if I get the go ahead, I can post a thread with the link and what's coming up on the show every week. I can also give GAAboard.com a shout out each week.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 15, 2011, 11:23:07 PM
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on June 15, 2011, 11:01:42 PM

I'd say go ahead with that, and if there are any number of objections at all, you could then take a poll (easy to add it to the thread).
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2011, 11:39:19 PM
Can I suggest you call the thread "davegaasportsdesk - What's the story?" ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 15, 2011, 11:55:27 PM
I think it is fine anyway.
Post by: NAG1 on June 16, 2011, 09:15:32 AM
Yeah keep the podcasts coming IMO

Any show which is promoting our games is a good thing, any chance you could give Marty some pointers for the committee room?

When they come up with a good fresh idea like this and spend money on it why in under god dont they try to find someone new and innovative to host the show. Drives me insane, great concept tired old staff.
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 16, 2011, 09:29:33 AM
Okay, I will stick up a thread in the GAA section and not the non-GAA section. Can we delete this thread?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 16, 2011, 09:33:26 AM
Dave, you sound like a nice lad; i allow you to stay ;D

(think it was just the multiple threads that was a tad annoyin)
but a bit of self-publicity is no bad thing, away on with yoself and get them new threads sorted;
can you do requests? i want mark sidebottom interviewed/interrogated :)
Post by: ludermor on June 16, 2011, 09:37:05 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 16, 2011, 09:33:26 AM

but a bit of self-publicity is no bad thing, away on with yoself and get them new threads sorted;
can you do requests? i want mark sidebottom interviewed/interrogated/waterboarded :)
Post by: HiMucker on June 16, 2011, 09:41:05 AM
Quote from: ludermor on June 16, 2011, 09:37:05 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 16, 2011, 09:33:26 AM

can you do requests? i want mark sidebottom interviewed/interrogated/waterboarded by a deaf mute :)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 16, 2011, 11:06:41 AM

What bad press?
Btw wasn't having a go at Dave by starting this thread, just curious.
Poll can be added or thread deleted, whichever suits
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 16, 2011, 11:42:11 AM
I have the show post up on the GAA discussion page, thanks a mill to everyone. In regards to doing various interviews, all suggestions are great, also I am considering an all irish sports discussion show in the near future so I'm sure I could interview some of you guys here.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 16, 2011, 12:15:24 PM
jibbajabbajibbajabba's - there's your name for it right there ;D
Post by: laoislad on June 16, 2011, 01:11:45 PM
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on June 16, 2011, 11:42:11 AM
I have the show post up on the GAA discussion page, thanks a mill to everyone. In regards to doing various interviews, all suggestions are great, also I am considering an all irish sports discussion show in the near future so I'm sure I could interview some of you guys here.

Get in touch with Hardy he loves all things to do with Irish soccer.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on June 16, 2011, 01:45:11 PM

What bad press was this?

Good luck with it Dave.
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on June 16, 2011, 02:00:15 PM
thanks rouge.