Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyHarp on May 25, 2011, 08:46:34 PM

Title: Burgled!!
Post by: BennyHarp on May 25, 2011, 08:46:34 PM
Got home from work today and front lock wasnt working, so went the back to find the window of the back door kicked in and some f*ckers had burgled the house. The made a right mess of the place but only seemed to be after money and my missus' jewllery as they didnt touch the laptop, TV etc.

My wallet was in the house and theyd try to withdraw £200 from my acccount but obviously got pin wrong. I honestly have never been as angry in my life and can only imagine how people who actually catch them in the act must feel. I have renewed sympathy for Tony Martin who shot the burgler - i cant say i wouldnt have done something similar (though i dont have a gun)
Title: Re: Burgled!!
Post by: andoireabu on May 25, 2011, 08:58:56 PM
Sorry to hear that chap.  Any neighbours around who might have saw anything?

Hope the hoors that did it get the luck they deserve and someone does catch them at it.
Post by: sammymaguire on May 25, 2011, 09:03:24 PM
Dirty bastards should be strung up by the balls and you should be allowed to break every finger in whatever way you see fit. Thieves who rob off innocent average working people are lowest of the low
Post by: armaghniac on May 25, 2011, 09:22:20 PM
Bad as this is, the most evil f*ckers are those who rob houses where someone died and everyone is out at the funeral.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 25, 2011, 09:25:14 PM
Thd neighbours were all at work but hopefully CCTV at the bank might spot them but I could tell from the police that they knew nothing would happen - they seem as frustrated as anybody about these sort of things!
The dozy f*uckers tried to get out the front door but I'd put the dead lock onson the morning so they tried to bang the Yale one off - suppose it may have been worse had they managed to open the door, probably would have cleaned us out!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 25, 2011, 09:34:06 PM
Dirty Cnuts!!

Yeah i hope the Bank machine has got them on camera.

I have a house alarm but how many times have you heard a house alarm go off and no one actually call round and check? Ive checked the neighbours out a few times but seem to be on my own, with my hurling stick!!
Post by: ziggysego on May 25, 2011, 09:43:47 PM
Sorry to hear your news Benny. Hopefully the police will be able to track him and your stuff down.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 25, 2011, 09:58:10 PM
Sorry to hear that, scumbags.

Quote from: BennyHarp on May 25, 2011, 08:46:34 PM
The made a right mess of the place but only seemed to be after money and my missus' jewllery as they didnt touch the laptop, TV etc.

That seems to be the favoured modus operandi these days - they burgle 'armed' with the envelopes for selling gold, whereupon immediately after the burglary they pop the (now) stuffed envelopes in the post. Untraceable.
Post by: maddog on May 25, 2011, 10:33:23 PM
Sorry to hear that, its nothing short of maddening. Happened me in 97 when at home for a wedding, absolute bastards. Cops just shrugged and gave me a crime number. Hopefully the cctv will help.
Post by: supersub on May 25, 2011, 10:43:19 PM
Hateful case feel for you benny! Been a few disturbances round here lately, one house been broken into three times from the back (out onto shore) and another neighbour robbed last week during the morning. However the stupid cnut tried to come back to rob the first house a fourth time and the neighbours gardener chased and pinned him and he is in the authorities hands now. They found stolen goods from 2nd house when they searched his house, police have said he was more an optimist than anything over the course of the two weeks, only 17 the wee f**ker too!
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 25, 2011, 11:02:27 PM
Quote from: maddog on May 25, 2011, 10:33:23 PM
Sorry to hear that, its nothing short of maddening. Happened me in 97 when at home for a wedding, absolute b**tards. Cops just shrugged and gave me a crime number. Hopefully the cctv will help.

Same here, same year. I would gas them!
Post by: Oraisteach on May 25, 2011, 11:04:00 PM
Sorry, Benny.  Where'd that happen?

Next door neighbor's got burgled two weeks ago.  I was home with my dog at the time--heard nothing.  Worthless neighbour, huh?

She got all her stuff back.  Police nabbed them at a pawn shop.
Post by: Orangemac on May 25, 2011, 11:30:00 PM
Sorry to hear this.

We have nothing worth stealing here but I would imagine the annoyance that someone was in your house is the worst part of it.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 25, 2011, 11:42:53 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on May 25, 2011, 11:30:00 PM
Sorry to hear this.

We have nothing worth stealing here but I would imagine the annoyance that someone was in your house is the worst part of it.

That's exactly it! Just feckin annoying, spent all evening phoning credit card companies, waiting for police and people to come fix my lock and back door, just because some little cnut needed a bit of money!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 26, 2011, 12:23:51 AM
Bad luck there. Same happened us a couple of years ago. I hope you are insured
Post by: mannix on May 26, 2011, 03:58:03 AM
Hard luck , but no chance of Garda helping. I know a man that lived in Dublin in a house with 2 gardai and 1 other fella. The burglar came in the side door and took all the lads jackets outside to look for keys to the cars, found some of them and took the new landcruiser the gardai said they were after. Stolen to order and shipped abroad. Incredible, the lads were all asleep and knew nothing of it until the morning.
Dirty rotten dirtbags.
Post by: HiMucker on May 26, 2011, 09:57:39 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 25, 2011, 09:34:06 PM
Dirty Cnuts!!

I have a house alarm but how many times have you heard a house alarm go off and no one actually call round and check? Ive checked the neighbours out a few times but seem to be on my own, with my hurling stick!!
The cops telll you that there is no stats available to back up if an alarm actually reduces the chance of burglary but they still recommend one.  Also seen a program with reformed burglars presenting it! and they said n alarm is definetly a deterrent to the average robber as he will just go to the next house that doesnt have one.  Seem applies to gates in your drive and that.  Did anyone else ver get the wee invisible markers off the cops that you mark all your stuff up with.  Then if it gets stolen its shows up under UV light.
A fella one of the mates knows in Kilkeel caught a guy breaking in, bate the lining out him with a hurl, dragged him up the stairs, and phoned the cops and told them he came into the bedroom.  When the cops came round the scum bag was trying to tell them that the guy dragged him up.  But the cops had none of it and hit him a few digs for lying  :D  He got 4 years !!  Good enough for him
Post by: BennyHarp on May 26, 2011, 10:08:43 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on May 26, 2011, 09:57:39 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 25, 2011, 09:34:06 PM
Dirty Cnuts!!

The cops telll you that there is no stats available to back up if an alarm actually reduces the chance of burglary but they still recommend one.  Also seen a program with reformed burglars presenting it! and they said n alarm is definetly a deterrent to the average robber as he will just go to the next house that doesnt have one.  Seem applies to gates in your drive and that.  Did anyone else ver get the wee invisible markers off the cops that you mark all your stuff up with.  Then if it gets stolen its shows up under UV light.
A fella one of the mates knows in Kilkeel caught a guy breaking in, bate the lining out him with a hurl, dragged him up the stairs, and phoned the cops and told them he came into the bedroom.  When the cops came round the scum bag was trying to tell them that the guy dragged him up.  But the cops had none of it and hit him a few digs for lying  :D  He got 4 years !!  Good enough for him

We dont have an alarm but the two houses either side do - there may be some evidence there to suggest they are a deterent.
Post by: illdecide on May 26, 2011, 01:44:18 PM
No luck there Benny, shower of c**nts alright. You'd love to catch them in action with a hurl in your hand, i got robbed 4 years ago too the bastids ripped out my whole kitchen and took wash machine and other appliances (i hadn't moved in yet and was only 2 days from doing so). hope you get sorted
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 26, 2011, 02:49:31 PM
Sorry to hear about that Benny.  I have been burgled many times, the worst coming last year when I woke up in the night to the sound of the dog barking.  I went down stairs and saw they had smashed open the door to the hallway.  I quickly ran to the kitchen and put the dog on the lead and kept him with me by the stairs.  They then proceded to give the front door about three hard kicks before they left.  Why they did this I don't know, maybe to frighten us.  My mistake was I used to leave my dog in the kitchen during the night.  Now he has run of the kitchen and hallways.  He is a big German Shepherd dog and he wont think twice of attacking someone should they try and break in again.

I hope the fellows that broke into your house are caught Benny but I wouldn't hold my breath.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 26, 2011, 03:25:44 PM
sorry to hear that Benny.
happened me 12 years ago just before christmas. You will feel like kilcking he fcuk out of the hoor but you just cant get your hands on them - more so for being in your housethan for whatever was taken.
We had a few bits of jewellry taken - wife didnt have much then. It was mostly from a prev boyfrend so I didnt give a feck about it. Had to replenish these for her though over the years !

wifes sister had her place robbed a week before the wedding- the house they were to move into had everything taken - all the kitchen appliances were unpacked and sitting in the kitchen - this was in the papers and they ended up getting more and better quality stuff than they had originally bought from the generosity of others (hadnt got the house insurance through at that stage or some reason like that where they had fecked up).

hope you calm down soon.
Sat nights championship match might help !!
Post by: AZOffaly on May 26, 2011, 03:34:53 PM
Sorry to hear that benny.. shower of shites.

I had a car stolen here in Limerick one time, when it was running in a quiet suburb as we were in the hall getting something. Drove off brazen as f**k. At least I didn't have the knacks in my house. Hope you get your stuff back.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 26, 2011, 03:46:55 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 25, 2011, 09:22:20 PM
Bad as this is, the most evil f*ckers are those who rob houses where someone died and everyone is out at the funeral.

Ah come on I've got to earn a living some how. How else am I going to feed my habit for Jedward memorabilia and cadburys cream eggs. :-*
Post by: armaghniac on May 26, 2011, 06:09:27 PM
Quotei got robbed 4 years ago too the bastids ripped out my whole kitchen and took wash machine and other appliances (i hadn't moved in yet and was only 2 days from doing so).

Well they made off with Oisin's boiler before he moved in, so it happens to all great footballers.  ;)
Post by: The Iceman on May 26, 2011, 07:09:29 PM
Had a lad try to get at the boiler in the shed when I lived in Armagh, luckily he was scared off, I got it fixed and a big lock on the shed after. The Ex's house in Belfast was broken into a few times in one year though she was in a dodgy enough area.
Stayed in a place in Armagh last summer when I was home on holidays and had a couple of boys on the roof one night making shape to get in..... wasn't the best experience with a wife and kids in the place....
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:29:57 PM
Got hit a fortnight ago.

Myself and herself were watching TV in the front from at 10pm. The wife thought she heard a noise at the back but we put it down to a couple of cats who float about the place. She headed out into the kitchen anyway to lock up, about 5 mins later, to discover the keys for both cars, both sets of house keys and her purse gone. No money in the purse, just cards, so no damage there. Managed to get the house locks changed by midnight and the cars sorted the next day. The burglar had opened the back door, walked to the kitchen table and lifted the lot, leaving quietly.

Twas a quare lesson. We'd never lock the kitchen (back) door until around that time roughly. All our own fault but they were some hoors (or hoor) - they'd have heard us talking away a matter of feet away. Now have the whole shebang locked up at all times with chains on the motors and gate.

Just thought I'd mention it to share my stupidity and as a warning to others coming up to Christmas.
Post by: Orior on November 27, 2012, 10:35:27 PM
Sorry to hear about that.

A very timely reminder for the rest of us.
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:39:40 PM
Ah, no damaged done really.

I suppose they may try to come back for the cars but they'll have no luck with what they have. Gives you a few sleepless nights though. I was sure they were coming back that night after the police left and stayed up waiting. Would love to catch them in the act, even if to get a look at them.

Again, nothing the police could do really. You felt like a dick saying you never locked the back door until night as you're in and out of the kitchen a lot in the evening. I'd just left the bins out from that door half an hour earlier so they'd probably been watching.
Post by: The Worker on November 27, 2012, 10:47:16 PM
Any reason why they didn't attempt to take a car if they had the keys?

Were the cars in a secure location?
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:56:02 PM
Possibly they saw my wife going to lock up (or were disturbed by someone else) and ran for it. Cars could easily have been taken as gate was open. Possibly it was just the purse they were after and the house keys. Hard to know what it was they were after.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2012, 10:56:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:39:40 PM
Ah, no damaged done really.

I suppose they may try to come back for the cars but they'll have no luck with what they have. Gives you a few sleepless nights though. I was sure they were coming back that night after the police left and stayed up waiting. Would love to catch them in the act, even if to get a look at them.

Again, nothing the police could do really. You felt like a dick saying you never locked the back door until night as you're in and out of the kitchen a lot in the evening. I'd just left the bins out from that door half an hour earlier so they'd probably been watching.
Wouldn't beat yourself up as I can't imagine many people lock their back door when sitting in the house. Some bastids about and this is the time of the year when the thieving steps up a couple of notches.
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:58:22 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2012, 10:55:44 PM
Good question although he was probably still knocking about waiting for them to go to bed.

Did he leave the opportunity to lock the back door without noticing the keys missing? I mean, he didn't take the key out of the back door so if you went to lock up before bed, you'd know right away?

No, both keys were sitting on a microwave within an arm's length of opening the door. None had been in the door.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 27, 2012, 11:08:50 PM
Bad craic all the same, had my front door window put in years ago, never heard a thing and the car keys stolen and car nicked!! Hope the cnuts are wrapped around a tree someday.

Though we should probably give them some community service and a free trip to Disney cause they have a hard life with nothing to do
Post by: Orior on November 27, 2012, 11:26:06 PM
O'Neill, do you have a dog?
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 11:45:08 PM
Nope - and won't be getting one either. Have a budgie that curses.
Post by: T Fearon on November 27, 2012, 11:54:36 PM
Shane,did they not nick your skirt,from your musical days?

Had a mate some years ago who had his car broken into and everything taken except his hair gel,condoms.Police suspected a baldy taig was responsible!
Post by: sans pessimism on November 28, 2012, 09:54:53 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 11:45:08 PM
Nope - and won't be getting one either. Have a budgie that curses.
can he use a gun
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 28, 2012, 10:11:31 AM
That's rough, cheeky fcukers. Was watching telly late one school night a couple of months ago when I heard a couple of repeat bangs going off outside. Opened the blinds and there was a couple of scumbags a couple of houses up throwing bangers under one of the neighbours cars, as brazen as you like. Was tempted to run out with a hurl but with 2 cars parked outside myself and a wife and child upstairs I just stood out on the doorstep and eye-balled them while ringing the guards. Another useless shower, they informed me they had already moved them on from a road around the corner for similar half an hour earlier. They cleared off after a minute whining in a kn**ker Dublin accent that "It's the season for it". This was weeks before Halloween. ::)

Anyway, that reminds me, must get a wheel lock for the wife's car, and Christmas is coming up.
Post by: Orior on November 28, 2012, 10:31:40 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 28, 2012, 10:11:31 AM

Anyway, that reminds me, must get a wheel lock for the wife's car, and Christmas is coming up.

Geez! Is her overspending that bad?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2012, 10:36:47 AM
Quote from: Orior on November 28, 2012, 10:31:40 AM

Seen a lad take off a wheel lock in 10 seconds, useless things not even a deterrent. The whole wheel cover is a better buy
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 28, 2012, 11:01:56 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2012, 10:36:47 AM

Seen a lad take off a wheel lock in 10 seconds, useless things not even a deterrent. The whole wheel cover is a better buy

Student became the Master?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 28, 2012, 11:26:47 AM

Is any overspending good?

Steering wheel lock I take it Milltown?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2012, 11:42:53 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 28, 2012, 11:26:47 AM

(http://www.ci.modesto.ca.us/newsroom/prms/Uploads/bfindlen/Steering%20Wheel%20Lock.JPG) this type was taken off in seconds, a very funny story, we'd finshed playing 5-a-sides and one of the lads (fella was loaded, posh accent) was asking one of the younger lads is there any way they could get this thing off as he'd forgot his keys, the lad jumped in and the lock was off in ten seconds flat!! He'd been telling us before how he'd bought this expensive lock for his new car!!

This lock is far better

(http://www.towsure.com/images/products/2011/detail/x-lock-steering-wheel-disk-lock.jpg)

I very rarely lock the car anymore at home, they do more damage trying to get in I'd rather they try and steal it before breaking into house for keys.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 28, 2012, 11:56:57 AM
Always thought they looked flimsy enough alright, thanks. Might want to lower the resolution on that pic though, taking ages to load and will kill anyone accessing on 3G.
Post by: supersarsfields on November 28, 2012, 12:05:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2012, 11:42:53 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 28, 2012, 11:26:47 AM

(http://www.ci.modesto.ca.us/newsroom/prms/Uploads/bfindlen/Steering%20Wheel%20Lock.JPG) this type was taken off in seconds, a very funny story, we'd finshed playing 5-a-sides and one of the lads (fella was loaded, posh accent) was asking one of the younger lads is there any way they could get this thing off as he'd forgot his keys, the lad jumped in and the lock was off in ten seconds flat!! He'd been telling us before how he'd bought this expensive lock for his new car!!

This lock is far better

(http://www.towsure.com/images/products/2011/detail/x-lock-steering-wheel-disk-lock.jpg)

I very rarely lock the car anymore at home, they do more damage trying to get in I'd rather they try and steal it before breaking into house for keys.

I wouldn't let the insurance company know that.  ;) Contributory negligence I believe it's called.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2012, 12:18:51 PM
Aye I won't be telling them that of course, but thieves are lazy now, they would rather break into your house get the keys. Not worth the hassle
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 28, 2012, 01:54:30 PM
Aye those locks in the top pic are useless. I say a peeler snap one off a wheel in about 2 seconds flat as the car was causing an obstruction and they needed to move it.
Post by: Orior on November 28, 2012, 02:27:01 PM
Which idiot put the steering wheel on the wrong side of the car?
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 29, 2012, 12:05:29 AM
Do all cars nowadays not have immobilisers? In other words they don't even look at the car they just break into houses looking for keys and then see what car they match up to?
Post by: johnneycool on November 29, 2012, 10:37:53 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on November 29, 2012, 12:05:29 AM
Do all cars nowadays not have immobilisers? In other words they don't even look at the car they just break into houses looking for keys and then see what car they match up to?

The Fords have a PATS system with a radio transmitter built into the key fob. The car won't start unless you've got the right key fob as I tried to get a new key cut, and that was the easy bit, I could also program the remote locking from the car, but had to go to a Ford dealer to get the PATS programmed and that's where they shafted me..

Post by: imtommygunn on November 29, 2012, 11:39:20 AM
The only way you'd stop thiefs, if they were intent on it, needing to get into the house is to leave the keys in the ignition. Immobilisers are advanced enough that the average joe who's a thief would need to get into the house to get the keys to get your car started. All that leaving your car open will do is stop them breaking the window for anything sitting in it.

Next step fingerprint recognition in keys then what do they do...
Post by: Larry Duff on November 29, 2012, 12:23:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:56:02 PM
Possibly they saw my wife going to lock up (or were disturbed by someone else) and ran for it. Cars could easily have been taken as gate was open. Possibly it was just the purse they were after and the house keys. Hard to know what it was they were after.

Same thing happened to sister in law. They took both sets of house keys so they could basically lock everyone in their own house, then drove away in the car knowing that anyone realising what was happening would be helpless to stop them. Sounds like you disturbed them just in time.
Post by: snoopdog on November 29, 2012, 03:01:25 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 29, 2012, 11:39:20 AM
The only way you'd stop thiefs, if they were intent on it, needing to get into the house is to leave the keys in the ignition. Immobilisers are advanced enough that the average joe who's a thief would need to get into the house to get the keys to get your car started. All that leaving your car open will do is stop them breaking the window for anything sitting in it.

if the cars valuable enough they might just chop your finger off.
Post by: Orior on November 29, 2012, 03:58:19 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on November 29, 2012, 03:01:25 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 29, 2012, 11:39:20 AM

if the cars valuable enough they might just chop your finger off.

Palm readers are more accurate. They can detect blood flow and some people dont have fingerprints.