GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: goldenyears on May 25, 2011, 08:27:35 PM

Title: The Committee Room
Post by: goldenyears on May 25, 2011, 08:27:35 PM
Watched it for the first time just now - what a poor effort. Typically cheesy RTE! Why don't the producers watch some decent american sports programming and take similar themse.

Absolute shite!
Title: Re: The Committee Room
Post by: haze on May 25, 2011, 08:39:39 PM
It was terrible! The Dotsy o'callaghan and Ryan O'Dwyer piece was cringe worthy. It could easily last an hour like against the Head or MNS. I'm sure Carey would be an interesting charachter if there was time to ask a few more questions. Didn't even give the fixtures for the weekend or even a brief highlights reel from the weekend

Despite this I will still watch it every week
Post by: CorkMan on May 25, 2011, 10:00:29 PM
On the bright side,it can only get better.
Post by: Orangemac on May 25, 2011, 10:36:24 PM
Haven't saw this yet but the half hour is indicative of RTEs commitment to GAA.
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 12:04:47 AM
Didn't see it, believe it was rubbish but I'd expect nothing less from RTE at this stage.
We need a dedicated GAA channel now please.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 26, 2011, 01:55:43 AM
http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1099271

Had to switch it off after 3mins as i was losing the will to live.
Post by: mountainboii on May 26, 2011, 03:50:18 AM
Horrible presentation, horrible format, horrible content.

Is Marty Morrissey really the best RTE has to offer? An example of his questioning tonight:
Marty: So when you retired, how'd that go?
Ciaran Carey: Well, I was lucky because club hurling filled the void.
Marty: So how did you fill the void?
Ciaran Carey: ...

More than half the show taken up by boring filler pieces about retirement. Previews of (only half of) next weekend's games squeezed into two and a half minutes at the end.

Cringeworthy stuff with the two Dublin lads, and even worse shite with the cheesy 'committee' references.

This should've a piece of piss for RTE. All they needed was:
- A simple layout. No need for the 'committee room' bollix.
- A presenter that isn't an annoying wee alien.
- A few articulate GAA personalities.
- To spend the guts of the show previewing next weekend's games.

They failed abysmally on at least three of those counts.
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2011, 10:06:54 AM
Appalling typical "any oul sh1te will do for the bogballers" effort from RTE.
>:( >:( >:( >:(
Surely it's not beyond someone's capacity to have a programem with a 15 minute look back at last weekend , 20 minute look ahead and 15 minutes look at general stuff like retirements, rules, some club items etc.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 26, 2011, 10:34:53 AM
They had the format in house.  Do they not look at Seo Spoiirt?
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 26, 2011, 10:39:58 AM
it was crap , but what do you expect from RTE at this stage.
Post by: snoopdog on May 26, 2011, 02:57:42 PM
Very poor effort i thought. They only spent 2 minutes previewing this weekends games.
although the bit at the end of the 2 Dublin hurlers was funny with the guy saying Dottsy spends most of his time tugging his rope.
even the wife laughed at that one.
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 03:04:41 PM
RTE's GAA coverage reinforces every negative stereotype that puts off people from non-GAA backgrounds becoming more involved, going to games etc.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 26, 2011, 03:30:35 PM
Every year RTE tries to come up with some "revolutionary" GAA midweek program and every year it's brutal. Two words, Breaking Ball. And what's worse is we'll all be here again next year.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 26, 2011, 03:33:07 PM
What's disappointing is they asked for input. Surely someone sent in something more worthwhile? I even proposed something better :)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 26, 2011, 03:52:02 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 26, 2011, 03:30:35 PM
Every year RTE tries to come up with some "revolutionary" GAA midweek program and every year it's brutal. Two words, Breaking Ball. And what's worse is we'll all be here again next year.

Nail on the effing head. What happened to Easytiger???
Post by: Hardy on May 26, 2011, 04:09:42 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 03:04:41 PM
RTE's GAA coverage reinforces every negative stereotype that puts off people from non-GAA backgrounds becoming more involved, going to games etc.

Spot on. And it's a self-fulfilling, positive feedback, vicious circle type situation. RTÉ's D4-mentality sports department thinks this is what GAA people want, since it's the opposite of what street-smart, designer-aware D4 types would watch. So that's what they put on. And so the yokelish stereotype of GAA, fronted by arch-yokels like Morrissey, Carthy and the like, is perpetuated.

One horrible fact is sufficient to understand why this state of affairs exists and why it will persist - Ryle Nugent is RTÉ's Head of Sport!

Sadly, they're aided and abetted by the GAA people who will continue to watch it even though it's shite. You'd think we were still in the single-channel land of the seventies. Vote with yizzer remote controls and texts to RTÉ Sport.

Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 04:36:00 PM
TV3's coverage, while by no means perfect (I'm looking at you David Brady), is streets ahead of RTE's in terms of the quality of presentation and analysis.
It's no coincidence that most of their analysts are recently retired players (with Eugene McGee as the token grumpy oul lad).
Post by: Antrim Coaster on May 26, 2011, 06:00:28 PM
This might be a wee bit off topic but Im unable to access the Committee Room from the link provided above. I get the message displayed on screen stating that Im not in the proper territory to view the content. I know this has been queried before and there are ways around it. Contacted the service provider but I may as well have been talking to a brick for all the use they were. Any help would be appreciated especially as there may be a few games streamed on the RTE website later in the summer.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 26, 2011, 06:29:03 PM
Didn't bother watching it - the tagline on the ad "where the chairman presides" from that tool Marty told me all I need to know. Sounds like I didn't miss much
Post by: ck on May 26, 2011, 08:19:13 PM
I didnt think it was as bad a show as some of you are saying but I agree with most of you. It was ordinary, boring, usual oul tripe RTE throw out as a GAA show.

I thought Colm Keys was excellent though. Insightful, well informed and an excellent speaker. Aaron McNulty was dull as dish water and those hurlers werent much better. What this says to me is, forget the boring ex players and get the journalists in who arent afriad to call it like it is.
Post by: ck on May 26, 2011, 08:22:28 PM
ps: Why the feck do RTE insist of Marty Morrisey? He's like a cross between Pat Shortt and ET and very annoying.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 26, 2011, 08:50:58 PM
Quote from: ck on May 26, 2011, 08:22:28 PM
ps: Why the feck do RTE insist of Marty Morrisey? He's like a cross between Pat Shortt and ET and very annoying.

:D :D :D I'd agree with AFS calling him a wee alien!
Post by: mountainboii on May 26, 2011, 11:26:29 PM
Quote from: ck on May 26, 2011, 08:19:13 PMAaron McNulty was dull as dish water

If you're going to give him a slagging at least get his name right ffs.
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 11:30:07 PM
I was wondering who Aaron McNulty was.  ???
Post by: ck on May 26, 2011, 11:30:57 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 26, 2011, 11:26:29 PM

Enda isnt it? Sorry. His dull analysis left me foretting his name
Post by: mountainboii on May 26, 2011, 11:37:10 PM
Quote from: ck on May 26, 2011, 11:30:57 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 26, 2011, 11:26:29 PM

Enda isnt it? Sorry. His dull analysis left me foretting his name

No probs dk.

Edit: Sorry ck. The dull comments left me forgetting your name.
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 11:37:26 PM
The one thing I will say about RTE is that they often do excellent promos.
Just simple stuff really, well-edited footage and a well chosen piece of music.
But this is far more effective in capturing the essence of our games than some gobdaw telling us how great the assoseeayshun is.
It's also interesting to note how heavily pitch invasions feature in the promos.
I presume gaatvland is RTE's youtube channel.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYJjX_N8WT0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYJjX_N8WT0)
http://www.youtube.com/user/gaatvland#p/a/u/0/_hZnC5Sj3VU (http://www.youtube.com/user/gaatvland#p/a/u/0/_hZnC5Sj3VU)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQbJNiYz50M (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQbJNiYz50M)

Post by: magpie seanie on June 02, 2011, 11:10:05 PM
Just watched this weeks offering to make my own mind up on this. Oh Jesus but it is chronic shit. Got a good laugh at that muppet who used to play for Mayo suggesting those at the CL fnal were checking the score in the Down/Armagh game (ok he didn't probably mean to but someone should tell the gimp what vice-versa means - this chap has a masters doesn't he?).

The programme is a complete waste of time and completely deserves all the abuse heaped on it here. Woeful.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 02, 2011, 11:28:49 PM
I wonder what type of Masters the Mayo lad has? afterall he could spell Michael Jackson
Post by: Orangemac on June 02, 2011, 11:31:29 PM
See there is a GAA show on TV3 Friday night at midnight (after VB).

Is this a new show? If so why have it on at this hour?
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2011, 12:11:12 AM
It's on earlier in the day, it's just repeated after VB.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on June 03, 2011, 10:58:11 AM
Ryall Nugent is director of sport in RTE a dyed in the wool rugby jock, GAA gets the shit end of the budget stick with that guy in charge.

If they wanted a cheap show why didn't they just copy Seo Sport, they could have even got Daragh and Sean ban just to do the same format in English.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 03, 2011, 10:38:49 PM
Jaysus I cannot suffer Ryle Nugget at all.
Post by: Etienne Lantier on June 03, 2011, 10:58:06 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 03:04:41 PM

RYLE NUGENT!!!

He's no Jim Neilly.
Post by: furboot on June 03, 2011, 11:25:19 PM
We all know what happens in Committee Rooms - SFA except waffle and talking around things and pretending to be doing real stuff.  That is waht RTE have called it and it lives up to its name with the perfect chairman in place if that's what they think we want to see! It's like a bad radio chat show on TV. An absolute load of rubbish.
hope TV3's new GAA Show starting at midnight tonight is better with a proper review of matches and action. 
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2011, 01:15:56 PM
The first time I watched this I thought some of the criticism was unwarranted.  I've changed my mind.  Watched this week's show, looking forward to a decent preview on this weekend's games - Derry v Armagh and a few interesting hurling games coming up - I would say a grand total of 1 min and 40 odd seconds was devoted to the upcoming games.  What the fcuk??
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 17, 2011, 11:19:45 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 17, 2011, 01:15:56 PM
The first time I watched this I thought some of the criticism was unwarranted.  I've changed my mind.  Watched this week's show, looking forward to a decent preview on this weekend's games - Derry v Armagh and a few interesting hurling games coming up - I would say a grand total of 1 min and 40 odd seconds was devoted to the upcoming games.  What the fcuk??

I haven't seen it yet. What was on it so Bogball?
Post by: Bogball XV on June 18, 2011, 11:54:47 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 17, 2011, 11:19:45 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 17, 2011, 01:15:56 PM

I haven't seen it yet. What was on it so Bogball?
hard to describe really.

Paddy Keenan was on so there was a wee bit of talking about the Louth v Meath game and about Brendan Murphy.  A bit of chat about offaly hurlers and their demands and not much else that I can remember off hand.
Post by: Minder on June 22, 2011, 08:06:38 PM
Memo to Rte - Tell Marty to button his shirts.
Post by: Rossfan on June 22, 2011, 09:23:04 PM
And his gob  :D
Post by: panc56 on June 22, 2011, 11:17:49 PM
I have to say that despite it best efforts this is a bore fest. RTEs GAA coverage is dire. The association needs to look at it's relationship with the national broadcaster. Why not give it to Setanta bring in  the lads from Newstalk. Even the BBC do better!
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 22, 2011, 11:36:32 PM
Bring back Breaking Ball, end of story!  Committee room is as drab as the set!!
Post by: ardtole on June 23, 2011, 11:04:39 AM
The lads on newstalk are excellent every evening regardless of what sport they are discussing.
Post by: ross matt on June 23, 2011, 11:10:42 AM
Quote from: ardtole on June 23, 2011, 11:04:39 AM
The lads on newstalk are excellent every evening regardless of what sport they are discussing.

+1000.
They make working late bearable. Come across as a bunch of guys who have real passion for sport and can relate to the punters via intelligent analysis and humour. Cover a wide range of sports to plus some great interviews.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 23, 2011, 11:20:43 AM
Quote from: ross matt on June 23, 2011, 11:10:42 AM

+1000.
They make working late bearable. Come across as a bunch of guys who have real passion for sport and can relate to the punters via intelligent analysis and humour. Cover a wide range of sports to plus some great interviews.

i enjoy listening to 2 of the lads but the bloke the commentates on the soccer matches does my head in
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 23, 2011, 11:42:21 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 23, 2011, 11:20:43 AM

+1000.

i enjoy listening to 2 of the lads but the bloke the commentates on the soccer matches does my head in

Ken Earley?

He's actually quite good, crap commentator but good analyst and has some great discussions with Graham Hunter, an acquired taste over time.

Newstalk's sports coverage puts RTE to shame when you match up their budgets.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 23, 2011, 11:54:24 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 23, 2011, 11:42:21 AM

+1000.

Ken Earley?

He's actually quite good, crap commentator but good analyst and has some great discussions with Graham Hunter, an acquired taste over time.

Yeah he does my head in when listen to him commentating Dinny  . great show besides
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 23, 2011, 11:59:08 AM
Yea I suppose their budget is too tight so the boys have to multi-task, always get the impression these guys would do it for free regardless.

Just listened to the CR replay there, insightful analysis on the Kildare game, if Kildare cut out the wides, stop Dublin scoring goals they are half-way there, wow :o
Post by: AZOffaly on June 23, 2011, 12:06:36 PM

+1000.

Ken Earley?

+1. My wife always comments on the Newstalk lads when we are listening in the car or whatever. She thinks they are very easy to listen to and I agree. They are easy to listen to, sound like they are 'normal lads' (whatever that is) and they also are savage interested in sports.

Your man Murph is the archetype club footballer as well.

Post by: ross matt on June 23, 2011, 02:27:38 PM

+1000.

Ken Earley?

Agreed Dinny. I couldnt handle Ken's accent at first but he really is intelligent and passionate about his game. No bs to the man at all. Murph is a serious piss taker but genuinely funny.

When they bring Roddy Collins in to talk soccer and David Brady for gaelic football you wonder half the time are the newstalk lads laughing with them or at them. Entertaining those two loops are but for all the wrong reasons!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 30, 2011, 12:38:27 PM
Dross again last night although Marie did brighten up the screen, any chance she could present this instead of the Martian?
Post by: muppet on June 30, 2011, 02:30:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 22, 2011, 09:23:04 PM
And his gob  :D

+1.

But leave Brady alone. He is a ligind.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2011, 11:04:24 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 30, 2011, 12:38:27 PM
Dross again last night although Marie did brighten up the screen, any chance she could present this instead of the Martian?
Aye Marie was easy on the eye last night. Bernard looked like he was half-cut but it could be the poxy lighting in that crap set!
Post by: 5 Sams on July 01, 2011, 10:59:22 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2011, 11:04:24 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 30, 2011, 12:38:27 PM
Aye Marie was easy on the eye last night. Bernard looked like he was half-cut but it could be the poxy lighting in that crap set!

I thought the same about Bernard.....he sounded as if he had a few as well...pulled no punches....Tomás is better as Gaeilge i mo thuairimse
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 13, 2011, 08:13:41 PM
Is Eamon O'Hara OK ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2011, 08:33:31 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 13, 2011, 08:13:41 PM
Is Eamon O'Hara OK ?
The missus thought he looked alright!
Post by: jodyb on July 13, 2011, 08:36:11 PM
Mc Hugh the only one to tip Derry. Cute hoorsim or what?  Other two fairly emphatic bout a Donegal win :(
Post by: ross4life on July 13, 2011, 08:47:25 PM
Is Eamon O'Hara OK ?
He seems to have lost a lot of weight? anyway he blew us up as the best in Connacht then only to tip Mayo to beat us.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 13, 2011, 08:52:26 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 13, 2011, 08:47:25 PM
Is Eamon O'Hara OK ?
He seems to have lost a lot of weight? anyway he blew us up as the best in Connacht then only to tip Mayo to beat us.

thats what i was thinking, looked a bit gaunt.
Post by: LilySavage on July 14, 2011, 04:31:35 PM
RTEs coverage of GAA is awful. Ger Canning commentating on games where he clearly has no interest. This new magazine show is so boring I cant even watch it. I remember they one alled Breaking Ball at the end of the 90s which was very good before they axed it. RTE cant get enough rugby, id say they are creamiing themselves at the thought of a World Cup this year. The Off The Ball lads are excellent, McDevitt should get a GAA show on RTE. The GAA gets bigger attendances in Irealand than rugby and soccer yet has to endure shoddy product on tv.Even the League of Ireland gets a half decent hour long programme on a Monday.
Post by: snoopdog on July 14, 2011, 05:12:01 PM
you just have to look at the shoddy coverage that is given to the qualifiers. Why not have a new show on a Sat night with highlights of all qualifying games from that day. Maybe its something TV3 BBC TG4 or UTV could look at producing.
They showed about 4 scores from the Down Leitrim game then didnt even mention it in analysis.
I hope Ireland get hammered in the rugger buggery just to shove it up the D4 p***k N*G**T
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 14, 2011, 10:24:59 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 14, 2011, 05:12:01 PM
you just have to look at the shoddy coverage that is given to the qualifiers. Why not have a new show on a Sat night with highlights of all qualifying games from that day. Maybe its something TV3 BBC TG4 or UTV could look at producing.
They showed about 4 scores from the Down Leitrim game then didnt even mention it in analysis.
I hope Ireland get hammered in the rugger buggery just to shove it up the D4 p***k N*G**T

No need to wish ill on the rugby team, shur didn't RTE f*ck that up aswell, Setanta have the exclusive rights I think apart from the Irish games.
RTE is really going downhill in the GAA department..need a commentator clearout and a revamp of the coverage..sad to say, even the likes of Lyster, ok as he is, needs to go..Some real debate needs to take place,not the drivel we are listening to currently...whoever is in charge of programming (selection of analysts and co-commentators) should be shot..i mean we've had All-Ireland finals with co-commentators and analysts from a county involved take part..Colm O'Rourke was wheeled out for the Leinster final last year,when his own county AND SON were playing! Idiotic stuff.
TV3 could've shamed RTE in their coverage, but instead we got Matt Cooper, David Brady etc...horrible.
Post by: ross matt on July 15, 2011, 07:57:37 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 13, 2011, 08:52:26 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 13, 2011, 08:47:25 PM
Is Eamon O'Hara OK ?

thats what i was thinking, looked a bit gaunt.

Saw the repeat last night. O'Hara looks like his fat % is down to zero alright. I thought the show was ok in fairness. The discussion on cruciate injuries was interesting. The way O'Hara described how he got his shows how simply it can happen.
Post by: Chéad rogha on July 15, 2011, 08:27:46 AM
Actually think the idea of the committee room is a good one. A couple of current\ex players and a journalist discussing topical issues and games is a sound one. For me it could be so much more...ie; longer, better presenter and much better previews to the weekends games. Used to like the way Breaking Ball visited communities and previewed games - think that should be incorporated. Their current half @rsed attempt at doing this via the asking questions off two players is laughable. The one time they attempted something like that this season was the other night with John Galvin, which was very insightful. But we're not likely to see anything inspiring whilst rte leave the same old tired heads in command of the GAA coverage.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 15, 2011, 11:18:30 AM
another poor show .Terrible format of having 3 or 4 couped around a table.at least with tv3 they are out and about and they put a bit of effort into it
Post by: neilthemac on July 15, 2011, 11:46:58 AM
it will require a TV production company to go to RTE with a suitable alternative proposal that will not cost much money

the Committee room is being kept simple because RTE are skint!
Post by: Bogball XV on July 15, 2011, 12:17:48 PM
I've been beating this drum for years now, but the gaa should dictate exactly how much coverage is given in terms of highlights and preview shows.  They should probably make their own magazine programmes or as you're suggesting get a production company in to do it for them.
It's simple really, the gaa award the rights and part of that contract should specify exactly when and where such programmes are screened.  Highlight shows for club championship and national league games in particular are appalling.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 15, 2011, 12:36:50 PM
uefa do there own magazine show which is very good
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 15, 2011, 05:32:59 PM
The GAA are doing their own magazine show, Round The Square it's called, can only view it online though, here's the latest episode http://tv.gaa.ie/#/47286/976/round-the-square-2011-episode-3 (http://tv.gaa.ie/#/47286/976/round-the-square-2011-episode-3)
Post by: Denn Forever on July 15, 2011, 06:28:54 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 15, 2011, 05:32:59 PM
The GAA are doing their own magazine show, Round The Square it's called, can only view it online though, here's the latest episode http://tv.gaa.ie/#/47286/976/round-the-square-2011-episode-3 (http://tv.gaa.ie/#/47286/976/round-the-square-2011-episode-3)

Now that wasn't hard. 
Post by: muppet on July 15, 2011, 07:33:05 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 15, 2011, 06:28:54 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 15, 2011, 05:32:59 PM

Now that wasn't hard.

Its good actually.

Just after half way there is a bit on the Wicklow v Armagh match.

Just after both Wicklow goals a rather burly supporter in a shorts rushes down to the fence to the left of the goals. Don't know what he is doing but I am wondering is he a former poster here?
Post by: Jinxy on July 15, 2011, 10:04:57 PM
Yer man Paddy Joe, Roscommons no. 1 fan, was on the GAA Show.  :D
Post by: Orangemac on July 16, 2011, 08:28:38 AM
Quote from: LilySavage on July 14, 2011, 04:31:35 PM
RTEs coverage of GAA is awful. Ger Canning commentating on games where he clearly has no interest. This new magazine show is so boring I cant even watch it. I remember they one alled Breaking Ball at the end of the 90s which was very good before they axed it. RTE cant get enough rugby, id say they are creamiing themselves at the thought of a World Cup this year. The Off The Ball lads are excellent, McDevitt should get a GAA show on RTE. The GAA gets bigger attendances in Irealand than rugby and soccer yet has to endure shoddy product on tv.Even the League of Ireland gets a half decent hour long programme on a Monday.
Agree about McDevitt. Passionate about sport and knowledgable. Good at interviewing also. TV3 should sign up him and Murph from
Newstalk for magazine show and GAA coverage in general.

RTE give the impression that that they are covering GAA because they have to. GAA should take control of thier own product as someone has said. In this digital TV age there is no reason why the GAA could not set up their TV channel with 3/4 hours action midweek and decent preview and review shows at weekends.

Just saw the GAA show on TV3. Not bad,seems to be copying the format of Breaking Ball to an extent which is not a bad thing.
On at a stupid time though.
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2011, 10:38:47 AM
Anyone see it this week?

I thought it was very poor. Three relatively interesting guests, O'Dwyer the hurler, ex-footballer Fitzmaurice from Kerry and Colm Keyes and it was still poor.

The feature was Vincent Hogan in a long well worded whinge about players not being available to the media. But it was still a whinge. They had a current player sitting on the panel talking about this and the irony went straight over Marty's substantial head.

If feels like a book review, about a subject you don't care about, rather than the most popular sport in the country at the peak of the season.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 19, 2011, 10:51:34 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 19, 2011, 10:38:47 AM
Anyone see it this week?

I thought it was very poor. Three relatively interesting guests, O'Dwyer the hurler, ex-footballer Fitzmaurice from Kerry and Colm Keyes and it was still poor.

The feature was Vincent Hogan in a long well worded whinge about players not being available to the media. But it was still a whinge. They had a current player sitting on the panel talking about this and the irony went straight over Marty's substantial head.

If feels like a book review, about a subject you don't care about, rather than the most popular sport in the country at the peak of the season.

Ya, I didn't give a feck about the journailist whinge, its one of those kind of media/tv/movies piece about themselves. I hate it when hollywood movies keep referencing themselves, celeb life pieces on tv and newspapers obsessed with themselves. I think alot of people feel the same, I may be wrong. I would rather have heard more about the upcoming semi or last weeks matches. Perhaps insight into the build up in Roscommon or Tipperary, be that players, fans, families, or ex-minors from those counties.

I agree that the 3 guests were pretty good.

The suggestion by Fitzmaurice about doing pieces on players the week after a big match instead of the week before, isn't really what people want either in the weekend papers. It may be cruel but people are often focussed on the next match, except maybe in the losing county if they are gluttens for punishment and self-disection like in Mayo or perhaps Dublin.
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2011, 11:30:05 AM
Here is the players v the media problem as I see it.

The hacks need copy in August September and it needs to be relevent. If it is the same old teams involved it is not too bad as they will have groundwork done with some of the well-known players. But with break-through teams they will have very little done previously. It is hard for them to write any more about Aiden Ó'Sé and Michael Murphy than a real supporter would already know. Witness articles this week cataloguing their underage careers, which Google would provide, but no revealing interview.

The problem is at this time of year the two mentioned above and their teammates are rather busy and may see media interviews as an unnecessary distraction. Worse still, given the Irish mentality, how often does the fella featured in the Sunday paper play crap on the day? He will hear from his colleagues and supporters all week that he was too interested in publicity and not the football. Another problem is that players see August and September as the end of a long road. The media, naturally enough from their point of view, only show up near the end of that road.

Or at least some of them.

A long time ago when I was at secondary school training one afternoon, Micheál O'Muircheartaigh showed up. There was great excitement and fellas were taking outrageous shots from everywhere trying to impress. I asked one of our two well known coaches (All-Ireland winners both) why he was there and I was told 'he does that'. He travelled around to schools and clubs in the winter when access to anyone was not an issue. That was when people would talk, with no pressure of an All-Ireland semi-final or final that week. That is where he got his stories about relatives who played and what the family business was.

To me that is the way to go. I'd bet many posters here could point to Micheál having been at their (or a neighbouring club) sometime, but could they point to another national journalist?

Instead of whinging about access to players, who often have full-time jobs while preparing for huge matches, why not spend a week in Connacht next January and take in Carrick-on-Shannon, St. Bridgets and Clan na Gael, Tourlestrane and Eastern Harps, Breaffy and Ballintubber, Caltra and Corofin? Lads would be delighted with the attention in January and the journailst, in one week, might have covered Connacht in case of one of them breaking through in the summer. Surely the other provinces could be covered in another 5 or 6 weeks?

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 11:59:40 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 19, 2011, 10:38:47 AM
Anyone see it this week?

I agree with all of that but the bit that got me was when it came back from his voice over piece and the annoying bollix was laughing at his own stupid joke. Thanks Christ I bought a plasma and not a led tv.
Post by: cornafean on August 19, 2011, 12:11:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 19, 2011, 11:30:05 AM

A long time ago when I was at secondary school training one afternoon, Micheál O'Muircheartaigh showed up. There was great excitement and fellas were taking outrageous shots from everywhere trying to impress. I asked one of our two well known coaches (All-Ireland winners both) why he was there and I was told 'he does that'. He travelled around to schools and clubs in the winter when access to anyone was not an issue. That was when people would talk, with no pressure of an All-Ireland semi-final or final that week. That is where he got his stories about relatives who played and what the family business was.

To me that is the way to go. I'd bet many posters here could point to Micheál having been at their (or a neighbouring club) sometime, but could they point to another national journalist?

The other hoors would go nowhere without expenses for every mile.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on August 19, 2011, 12:37:23 PM
Marty for president ,like the rest when he,s stuck for a bit of publicity
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 11, 2012, 03:12:43 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 26, 2011, 03:30:35 PM

Prophetic

QuoteThis season will also see Marty Morrissey present a new GAA discussion show, Championship Matters on Thursday evenings.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2012/0511/320597-vcxvcv/ (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2012/0511/320597-vcxvcv/)

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 11, 2012, 03:30:53 PM
QuoteThis season will also see Marty Morrissey present a new GAA discussion show, Championship Matters on Thursday evenings.

Basically The Commitee Room rebranded with the exact same presenter.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 11, 2012, 06:16:00 PM

For f**k's sake
Post by: neilthemac on May 11, 2012, 06:50:37 PM
Marty must have some serious dirt on the decision makers in RTE that he keeps getting these gigs

there must be at least 20 better presenters in RTE than him
I'd take Craig Doyle over the little gerbil
Post by: ross4life on May 11, 2012, 06:59:23 PM
(http://www.balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/AqykSIKCEAAiq15.jpg)