GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: laoislad on May 04, 2011, 09:54:58 PM

Title: Laois v Longford May 22nd O'Moore Park,Portlaoise.
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2011, 09:54:58 PM
Laois 4/11
Longford 11/4
Draw 8/1

Read on twitter this evening that this game will be live on RTE.

Hopefully Laois will carry their league form into this game,but wouldn't be surprised if we lost.

Title: Re: Laois v Longford May 22nd O'Moore Park,Portlaoise.
Post by: panc56 on May 04, 2011, 10:26:28 PM
Any idea why Laois have home advantage? Very tough game for the Larries and an even tougher assignment if we were to come through it. Confidence will be high in the Longford camp and if they can stay in the game up to half time I'd expect them to go close to pulling off a shock win. Great backline this season - mean!

God I love the championship.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 05, 2011, 11:46:42 AM
Didn't these two teams play in Portlaoise in their last championship meeting as well?  ???
Post by: AZOffaly on May 05, 2011, 12:44:51 PM
Quote from: panc56 on May 04, 2011, 10:26:28 PM
Any idea why Laois have home advantage? Very tough game for the Larries and an even tougher assignment if we were to come through it. Confidence will be high in the Longford camp and if they can stay in the game up to half time I'd expect them to go close to pulling off a shock win. Great backline this season - mean!

God I love the championship.

Double header I presume, and Laois is a good ground. Laois Longford and Kildare Wicklow is the DH I think.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 05, 2011, 12:57:19 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 05, 2011, 11:46:42 AM
Didn't these two teams play in Portlaoise in their last championship meeting as well?  ???

It was in Tullamore; and we were robbed. Kinda.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 05, 2011, 01:03:08 PM
I think ye were robbed blind that day. Was that not the square ball incident?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 05, 2011, 02:15:41 PM
It was.  The goal would have put us a point up, and we'd have had the momentum going into the last ten.  As it turned out we didn't score again, and Laois won by four. 

First time I'd seen MJ Tierney, and I think it would be fair to say he was the dominant player on either side that day. 
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2011, 02:47:48 PM
If i were a Longford fan i would be worried about the amount of wides they are kicking, the winners  of this has honour of facing the Dubs.
Post by: seafoid on May 05, 2011, 03:08:47 PM
I love the Larries thread season that starts in May and sometimes even goes into the back end of July.
There is a calmness and inner peace about the posters that the Mayo threads never feature.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 06, 2011, 12:22:09 AM
Seafoid

As the wind is usually westerly we can thank Ming and his Roscommon pals for our inner calm in Longford as the smoke wafts our way........

Billy is right on the last time we met Laois - the time before that was worse - 93 in Portlaoise. We got an awful beating. It was cruel. Inhuman. Even Laois took pity on us at the end and gifted two goals in the last 10 minutes. I think it was 93. We got some awful thrasings in the 90s from Wicklow, Offaly, Meath and Laois. They all have merged into one in my brain. The worst indignity ever was Colm O'Rourke asking to be taken off at half time the last time Meed played The Larries in the Leinster so that he could hop in the car to Carrick on Shannon to be an analyst in a Leitrim championship match.

Fast forward to May 22. Shure we'll go in confidence. What have we to lose? If we can, as someone pointed out, limit the wides and also take an edge in midfield then we are in with a shout. Laois will be red hot here so the pressure is on them.

Laoislad can stand me a a choc ice if we win! I'll get him a kit-kat if Laois do the business.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 06, 2011, 12:57:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 05, 2011, 03:08:47 PM
I love the Larries thread season that starts in May and sometimes even goes into the back end of July.
There is a calmness and inner peace about the posters that the Mayo threads never feature.

Shure that's why everyone wants to be a Larry!  ;)

And don't be mean to the Godhelpusheens.  :)
Post by: Qwerty28 on May 06, 2011, 03:17:00 PM
Think that Laois game was 1994....we were back in the car headed for home bout 10 minutes into the 2nd half!

Dont like Portlaoise, only seem to lose there, Louth last year, Wicklow year before, U-21 final this year......I'll still be there tho!!
Post by: panc56 on May 06, 2011, 04:08:14 PM
I hate the place :'(
Would our last championship win over Laois be the 68 Leinster Final?
Post by: laoislad on May 06, 2011, 04:11:40 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 06, 2011, 12:22:09 AM

Laoislad can stand me a a choc ice if we win! I'll get him a kit-kat if Laois do the business.

We are posh in Laois,I want a bar of Galaxy or nothing.
You can forget your working class Kit Kat.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 07, 2011, 12:06:18 AM
QuoteWe are posh in Laois,I want a bar of Galaxy or nothing.

LOL - the chances of finding the hawkers selling galaxy bars adin in the grounds are slim to eff all.

It's a melty Kit-Kat or a warm Coke/Fanta/7-Up.

Your choice.

And yes it may have been in 94 and as far as I can recall most of the lads around me effed off at half time as Liverpool were on the telly.
And yes, we haven't beaten Laois since 1968.

Post by: laoislad on May 07, 2011, 05:17:35 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 07, 2011, 12:06:18 AM
QuoteWe are posh in Laois,I want a bar of Galaxy or nothing.

LOL - the chances of finding the hawkers selling galaxy bars adin in the grounds are slim to eff all.

It's a melty Kit-Kat or a warm Coke/Fanta/7-Up.

Your choice.

And yes it may have been in 94 and as far as I can recall most of the lads around me effed off at half time as Liverpool were on the telly.
And yes, we haven't beaten Laois since 1968.

Sure what's another year  ;)
Post by: Blowitupref on May 07, 2011, 08:02:02 PM
Wouldn't trust shamrock shore with his Kit-Kat or a warm Coke/Fanta/7-Up offer, he promised the Rossies free drinks after the game if Longford won the league final however rumour has it he made a quick exit & headed straight home  :P
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 08, 2011, 12:30:48 AM
Blowitup

I stood at the bar in the premium side of the Hogan after the game and waited for Rossies to approach and look for a drink off a jubilant Shore. However nobody tapped me on the shaulder. I do admit I only waited 35 seconds but, hey, in this game if you snooze, you lose.

Inanyways most Rossies were gone at the final whistle. And I wouldn't blame them.

Back to the matter in hand. I'll extend the offer of melty Kit-Kats or warm Coke/Fanta/7-Up to all Laois brethern on the gaaboard if we win in 3 weeks time.
Post by: ross4life on May 08, 2011, 01:00:21 AM
Very good SS, I bet you didn't expect 2,000 plus thirsty Rossies.. i couldn't blame you for making the quick exit.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 08, 2011, 09:16:20 PM
One point win for Longford v Meath tonight (2-13 to 2-12). Played much more quality football than us and deserved to win by far more. Plenty of intelligent passing and good support play and kicked some fine scores. A late goal and a few points by the Royals got them back into a match they never looked like winning.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 08, 2011, 11:51:24 PM
Cheers DB for a wee snippet on the match earlier. I had heard we won by a point. From the scoreline it sounds like it was a handy auld work out for both camps.

Hard to judge challenge matches. What's being left in reserve? Does a run out 2/3 weeks before the off indicate the state of play in both camps? Should Meath worry? Should Longford be confident? Did Grassy Noel shoot JFK and why are no county grounds named after Brendan Behan?

Bastards!

Post by: thejuice on May 09, 2011, 02:04:36 PM
Well, I gather Jamie Queeny was full back and Kevin Reilly was LHB.

So yes, Meath folk are/should be worried as this clearly shows Banty is either a heavy user of hallucinogenics or picks his team by sticking the squad sheet on a dart board. 
Post by: laoislad on May 13, 2011, 09:09:25 AM
Things way to quite in here..
Where are the insults and bitterness ?

Hey Shamrock Shore........GO
............../??/)............(\?`\
............/....//..............\\....\
.........../....//................\\....\
...../??/..../??\............./?`\....\?`\
.././.../..../..../.|_......_|.\....\....\...\.\
(..(....(....(..../.)..)......(..(.\....)....)....)
.\................\/.../....\...\/................/
..\................. /........\................../
....\..............(............)............../

YOURSELF!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 13, 2011, 05:05:47 PM
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_hdDfz3pI2EQ/S7ojG56uEyI/AAAAAAAAAJo/Oi45H8IBJBk/s1600/kniggits5hw.jpg)

I fart in your general direction Laoislad
Post by: antoinse on May 14, 2011, 04:59:57 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 08, 2011, 12:30:48 AM
Blowitup

I stood at the bar in the premium side of the Hogan after the game and waited for Rossies to approach and look for a drink off a jubilant Shore. However nobody tapped me on the shaulder. I do admit I only waited 35 seconds but, hey, in this game if you snooze, you lose.

Inanyways most Rossies were gone at the final whistle. And I wouldn't blame them.

Back to the matter in hand. I'll extend the offer of melty Kit-Kats or warm Coke/Fanta/7-Up to all Laois brethern on the gaaboard if we win in 3 weeks time.

They had not gone home but were asleep in the stand - such was the standard of their football on the night. 
You could have had your pint
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2011, 04:43:56 PM
I wonder what the admission price is on Sunday?

I'm on a tight leash what with family committments ("didn't you go to a game last year"), my work, wife's work, children out chimley sweeping in Blackrock etc.....also  I've no interest in Kildare v Wicklow. I appreciate that you cannot say "I'm feckin off after the first match" but if I have to pay 20+ euro plus petheral plus food then it's a no brainer to stay at home with a can of bulmers and watch on the telly.

I'll decide after mass on Sunday. If I don't go Laoislad can go shite for his kit-kat.
Post by: laoislad on May 16, 2011, 05:45:34 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2011, 04:43:56 PM

I'm on a tight leash what with family committments ("didn't you go to a game last year"), my work, wife's work, children out chimley sweeping in Blackrock etc.....also  I've no interest in Kildare v Wicklow. I appreciate that you cannot say "I'm feckin off after the first match" but if I have to pay 20+ euro plus petheral plus food then it's a no brainer to stay at home with a can of bulmers and watch on the telly.

I'll decide after mass on Sunday. If I don't go Laoislad can go shite for his kit-kat.

There is 14 of us going to play Golf up da North next weekend so I dunno how I'm fixed for making it back down on Sunday as I'm not driving so I'll have to rely on someone else to get me to Portlaoise in one piece.
Sure you can post me out the Kit Kat.

I drove past your office today,was gonna paint bomb it in blue and white.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 17, 2011, 11:37:00 AM
Quotewas gonna paint bomb it in blue and white.

Here baldy, why don't ye do something useful and send a copy of the rules of the game to the referee - the last gobshite wasn't familiar with them.  ;)
Post by: seafoid on May 17, 2011, 12:59:44 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2011, 04:43:56 PM

Couldn't we have Rachel Allen on as a guest poster to suggest a few boot sandwich recipes beyond hang? 
Longford beat Meath. That means either Longford are very good or Meath are shite.   
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 17, 2011, 01:59:49 PM
Herald this evening refers to Paul Barden as a "Larries Ace"

Fair play to the success of the campaign to give us a name that we could all rally behind.

Up The Larries.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2011, 02:00:39 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 17, 2011, 01:59:49 PM

Fair play to the success of the campaign to give us a name that we could all rally behind.

Up The Larries.

The Herald was a sponsor of the Golf Classic. Maybe they've been looking in :)
Post by: seafoid on May 17, 2011, 02:15:31 PM
Keith Duggan had an article in the Irish times on Saturday and he used the term shemozzle in a fashion that gave the impression he lifted it from the GAA dictionary that was here at one stage 

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0514/1224296943704.html

Shemozzle: Beautifully innocent sounding expression which covers anything from four to 30 GAA stars inflicting various levels of GBH on one another in the name of the jersey. Not to be confused with the "melee", which is a downright free-for-all involving selectors, nuns, grannies and basically anyone in the ground whose heart is still beating.

http://www.route25classiccarclub.com/GAA.htm
Post by: Hardy on May 17, 2011, 02:22:24 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 17, 2011, 01:59:49 PM

Up The Larries.

Excellent! We've made it to the mainstream.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 17, 2011, 02:26:35 PM
Are ye sure it wasn't your influence on your 'buddy' that works there SS?  ;)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 17, 2011, 03:03:33 PM
No Billy - I don't think that had/has any effect.
Post by: laoislad on May 17, 2011, 10:44:30 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 17, 2011, 11:37:00 AM
Quotewas gonna paint bomb it in blue and white.

Here baldy, why don't ye do something useful and send a copy of the rules of the game to the referee - the last gobshite wasn't familiar with them.  ;)

Hey now keep her country ya pony tailed red neck  :P

Ye will need more than the Ref on yer side come Sunday afternoon!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 17, 2011, 11:46:07 PM
Ladies ladies - settle!

Glad you didn't paint my office blue and white! We prefer red blue and white in Blackrock! U shuda called! Kettle is always on the range!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 17, 2011, 11:52:37 PM
Sorry! Fogra (con houlihanism)

City version of herald dropped reference to " Larries"

Sub head on Longford article changed! Strongly worded email gone to Madame Editor in The Irish Times (for the craic)
Post by: goal 10 on May 18, 2011, 01:00:59 AM
This is the my Laois team to play Longford this sunday.

Culliton
                                    Timmons             Meaney          Boyle
                                   O'leary                Julian              Strong
                                             Clancy               Quigley
                                  Begley               O'Loughlin       Donoher
                                Munnelly             Kingston         Cahillane

Post by: panc56 on May 18, 2011, 08:36:32 AM
Interesting Laois line up. Could Longford actually be playing a championship game with a more experienced team that our illustrious opponents?
Post by: laoislad on May 18, 2011, 10:47:44 AM
Laois team to face Longford

Eoin Culleton
Cahir Healy
Kevin Meaney
Mark Timmons
Darren Strong
Shane Julian
Peter O Leary
Colm Begley (C)
Brendan Quigley
Daithi Carroll
John O Loughlin
Niall Donoher
Ross Munnelly
Billy Sheehan
Michael J Tierney
Post by: Billys Boots on May 18, 2011, 10:57:06 AM
I couldn't see them leaving out Tierney alright.
Post by: Qwerty28 on May 22, 2011, 11:36:57 AM
Hope the wind doest ruin this one!! Still fairly stormy here in Dublin, hittin the rad shortly, sample the atmosphere in Portlaoise beforehand!!

Longford going into a championship game with more confidence and optimism than in many a year so hopefully can pull off a shock!!  Enjoy the game!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2011, 12:28:59 PM
Hope we have the wind in both halves. At 3/1 Longford are worth a €10 punt!
Post by: Blowitupref on May 22, 2011, 12:48:02 PM
Laois are far more clinical with their kicking & Longford will probably end up with another 10-15 wides so I'd fancy Laois to win this with a bit to spare.
Post by: Hardy on May 22, 2011, 12:49:14 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2011, 12:28:59 PM

Definitely!

Ar aghaidh na Labhrásaí!
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 12:49:23 PM

What price a Larries/Micklow double?
Post by: Hardy on May 22, 2011, 12:51:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 12:49:23 PM

What price a Larries/Micklow double?

A little over 30/1 with Betfair.
Post by: Tatler Jack on May 22, 2011, 02:35:03 PM
Laois very unimpressive - no creativity and far too ponderous. Longford look much livlier and have missed some good chances.If the wind is as strong as it seems to be then Longford are wll placed - only 2pts down and playing the better football.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2011, 02:38:05 PM
The less said the better
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 02:40:47 PM
In fairness lads, we've all played games in conditions like these.
There was nothing I hated more than playing into a gale force wind.
I'd take a torrential downpour instead any day of the week.
That said Laois are ridiculously unambitious.
They could let the ball long but they'd rather play a Donegal style game of 5 yard handpasses.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 22, 2011, 02:50:18 PM
Longford looked the better team first half.  With the wind behind them i would fancy them to come through. 
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 02:55:52 PM
Looking good for the first half of the Larries/Micklow double!
Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 03:08:46 PM
G'wan Longford.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on May 22, 2011, 03:20:10 PM
Shocking shocking shooting from both sides, should have been 6 more points and at least 2 goals at this stage
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 03:21:27 PM
Great ball in from Kingston there.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on May 22, 2011, 03:22:25 PM
LOL Just as I post that, Begley misses a sitter & a stat comes on screen saying that in 45 efforts combined theres only been 16 scores. Pathetic.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 03:27:17 PM
It's a one point game Ger!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2011, 03:30:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 02:40:47 PM
In fairness lads, we've all played games in conditions like these.
There was nothing I hated more than playing into a gale force wind.
I'd take a torrential downpour instead any day of the week.
That said Laois are ridiculously unambitious.
They could let the ball long but they'd rather play a Donegal style game of 5 yard handpasses.

Aye the wind spoils games, we played two games during the week and the wind spoilt both of them, the team that wins the toss and elects to play with the wind usually wins. Your're usually fcuked chasing the ball in the first half to make a difference in the second
Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 03:34:19 PM
Sounds like Longford lost a chance at an upset.

Well It looks like I'll be watching Dublin-Laois on the 5th of June anyway.
Post by: Tubberman on May 22, 2011, 03:40:11 PM
Definitely a lost opportunity for Longford there.
Huge amount of turn overs, don't think the wind can be blamed for all of it, but I'm sure it made things very difficult
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2011, 03:49:59 PM
 :'(

I weep for one of the saddest football games I've witnessed.

Jesus - I know we have our limitations and we displayed them today. 16 effing wides. 16. FFS  >:(

Imagine if we had ....ah feck it. Uncle.....Aunt......balls etc

Laois have gone down a lot in my estimation. They were just as bad as Longford. If not worse. I know they won but Laois are now a Div 1 side. Are they overtrained? Just doing enough to beat pesky Longford and agin the Dubs we'll see The Real Laois?

We'll happily jaunt around the country for the Qualifers. No side will relish a trip to Larryland.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 22, 2011, 03:52:53 PM
I dunno if you could say Laois were lucky as they have the Dubs up next. A repeat of that performance and they'll be blitzed.
Hard luck to Longford - 16 wides cost dearly.
Post by: goal 10 on May 22, 2011, 06:57:02 PM
QUIGLEY DRIVES ME CRAZY

He is letting his team down badly

he needs a good kick up the ass.
Post by: Main Street on May 22, 2011, 07:11:53 PM
I don't know how Longford contrived not to take that game. I can take a defeat as badly as any man but thank féck I didn't have to be invested with Longford today.

Post by: INDIANA on May 22, 2011, 08:36:32 PM
Piss- poor game. I'd expect Laois to improve for Dublin though.

Was an absolute snooze-fest.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2011, 10:54:29 PM
If Laois don't improve Indiana lorry a wedge on Dublin to win by a cricket score. I am sure even the most Laois of Laois people on here won't disagree.
Post by: ross4life on May 22, 2011, 11:18:30 PM
The auld wide tally has come back to haunt Longford again, i would normally say unlucky but it's all too common for them. would have to fear for Laois v the Dubs next.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 22, 2011, 11:47:08 PM
Yes to make any progress Longford need more accurate kickers, Laois were poor today must be a big worry for them before they head to Croke Park.
Post by: haze on May 22, 2011, 11:58:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2011, 10:54:29 PM
If Laois don't improve Indiana lorry a wedge on Dublin to win by a cricket score. I am sure even the most Laois of Laois people on here won't disagree.
Would love to disagree but at the moment I can't find reasons to. Today's match must have been the the most sanitised championship game I have ever been to. The final whistle was surreal, there was a barely audible cheer and while it might have alot to do the poor quality game, I think there was a realisation that Dublin could do a serious number on us.

Having said that, going to presume that Laois will kick on from that display and hope that Dublin suffer from the same first round teething problems that they experienced last year against Wexford
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2011, 12:24:39 AM
Haze

Had we won, say through a last minute goal or whatever, I would have gone to Croke Park with fear in my heart. I know each game is different but Dubs+Croke Park+1,000,000 points to prove to The Hill, The Herald, Tommy Lyons, Bang Bang and The Auld Wan that used to dance outside of the GPO..........Jesus, I think we'd be steamrolled judging on the last 3 performances I've seen (Leitrim, Roscommon and now Laois).

A hiding in Croke Park is no use to anyone. Hey, maybe we'd have given the Dubs a match but, hand on heart, I don't think so.

I cannot see Dublin having a cold start come June 5. Laois will need to (as Gerry Adams would say) 'redouble thur effurts' if they have any hope. And then redouble them again.
Post by: Main Street on May 23, 2011, 02:22:00 AM
On the other hand, Longford could have turned up and scared the bejaysus out of the Dubs, like a half banjaxed Wexford did last year. There's nothing like the sound of thousands of squirming Dubs on Hill 16, to give your existence a bit of extra meaning.
Post by: panc56 on May 23, 2011, 02:12:23 PM
Gutted - Paul Barden had a poor game and normally chips in with a few scores in every game. We needed to score goals when the chances came we belted them over the bar. The top teams drill the net when one on one with the keeper. Gutted - that Paddy Dowd has been poor again , he offers nothing except enthusiasm and that not enough for County Football. Dubs will beat Laois out the gate by half time and the lillies will beat the royals out the gate too. Good semi final in store then , as for us , we will welcome anyone to Pearse Park on June 25th. Couple of games in the qualifiers and then promotion out of Div3 will do.
Post by: laoislad on May 23, 2011, 05:14:13 PM
Brutal.That is all.
Post by: ross4life on May 23, 2011, 05:22:07 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 23, 2011, 05:14:13 PM
Brutal.That is all.
Certainly wasn't a day for the auld choc ice.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2011, 05:25:17 PM
Certainly wasn't.

As I texted to Laoislad during the match there was more skill and excitement on show at Garret Fitzgerald's state funeral on RTE1!
Post by: INDIANA on May 23, 2011, 07:14:11 PM

They will improve though and they still have a lot of good players.

Have to say Longford have really improved. Genuine good side now. Could go very well in the qualifiers.
Post by: laoislad on May 23, 2011, 08:37:18 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2011, 05:25:17 PM
Certainly wasn't.

As I texted to Laoislad during the match there was more skill and excitement on show at Garret Fitzgerald's state funeral on RTE1!

Where's me Kit Kat?
Post by: LaurelEye on May 23, 2011, 11:40:53 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 23, 2011, 07:14:11 PM

They will improve though and they still have a lot of good players.

Have to say Longford have really improved. Genuine good side now. Could go very well in the qualifiers.

Shooting practice needed. Lots and lots and lots of it.