Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: red hander on April 29, 2011, 09:47:12 PM

Title: Thatcher
Post by: red hander on April 29, 2011, 09:47:12 PM
Heard a rumour she's just died ... anybody hear anything?
Title: Re: Thatcher
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2011, 09:49:27 PM
No, but will we get a day off for the funeral/celebrations?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 29, 2011, 09:51:24 PM
That would explain the celebrations on the Falls!  ;)
Post by: artisan2010 on April 29, 2011, 09:52:32 PM
I would take a day off to make sure the bitch was buried.
Post by: randomtask on April 29, 2011, 09:54:37 PM
That would be one hell of a party alright
Post by: The Worker on April 29, 2011, 10:06:35 PM
Quote from: red hander on April 29, 2011, 09:47:12 PM

whats your source??
Post by: red hander on April 29, 2011, 10:10:42 PM
Quote from: The Worker on April 29, 2011, 10:06:35 PM

whats your source??

Coming via the Hill
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 29, 2011, 10:13:45 PM
Suppose for a second that it is/were true, 'tis exactly the type of information that her majesty's [puke] best are more than adept at suppressing; expect nothing official until tomorrow morning at the very earliest.
Post by: Gaffer on April 29, 2011, 10:24:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2011, 10:17:21 PM
Quote from: red hander on April 29, 2011, 10:10:42 PM
Quote from: The Worker on April 29, 2011, 10:06:35 PM

whats your source??

Coming via the Hill
How the fcuk would somebody in Derrytresk know?

maybe they were responsible for her dying.
Post by: Minder on April 29, 2011, 10:25:18 PM
A special lady.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 29, 2011, 10:26:57 PM
Get your souvenir here before they sell out
http://www.maggiethatcher.com/

Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 10:37:17 PM
She'll obviously die eventually but this rumour (if it is a rumour) appears every few months. And you boys post the same replies every few months.
Post by: Evil Genius on April 29, 2011, 10:42:55 PM
I'm surprised none of you guys posted something along the lines of it being "A good day to bury bad news".

Anyhow, the Blessed Margaret may die some day, but she will always live on in our hearts.  ;)
Post by: thewobbler on April 29, 2011, 10:43:48 PM
This is actually a joke doing the rounds at the moment. There's people partying and dancing in the streets all over England; as there's no football on today, I presume Maggie Thatchet must have died.
Post by: The Worker on April 29, 2011, 10:44:44 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on April 29, 2011, 10:42:55 PM
I'm surprised none of you guys posted something along the lines of it being "A good day to bury bad news".

Anyhow, the Blessed Margaret may die some day, but she will always live on in our hearts.  ;)

whos we?
Post by: lawnseed on April 29, 2011, 10:47:12 PM
ding dong the wicked witch is dead... ;)
Post by: Puckoon on April 29, 2011, 10:50:05 PM
Quote from: The Worker on April 29, 2011, 10:44:44 PM

whos we?

Where's the we?
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 29, 2011, 10:51:05 PM
Will Elton John be at the funeral, that's the main thing.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 10:58:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 29, 1970, 05:04:01 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2011, 10:39:05 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 10:37:17 PM
How the fcuk would someone in Derrytresk know?
She'll obviously die eventually but this rumour (if it is a rumour) appears every few months. And you boys post the same replies every few months.
I don't think I've ever posted those replies before.
Aye yer Ma.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 29, 2011, 11:03:17 PM

Seriously EG you can't like the woman, she was a bitch-whore-**** to everyone, not just the Irish.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 29, 2011, 11:05:53 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on April 29, 2011, 10:43:48 PM
This is actually a joke doing the rounds at the moment. There's people partying and dancing in the streets all over England; as there's no football on today, I presume Maggie Thatchet must have died.

There appears to be blind indifference to the Royal Wedding here in Liverpool. Not going out tonight, so it might change, but I think I love the Scousers even more after hearing their views on the day.

From the Scousers I have come across today they are 8 or 9-1 indifferent to the whole thing. Some hostile and only a few excited. Slightly more said they would watch it anyways.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 29, 2011, 11:15:14 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 29, 2011, 11:03:17 PM

Seriously EG you can't like the woman, she was a bitch-whore-**** to everyone, not just the Irish.

Rubbish. She saved her own country from rack and ruin. One of the giants of the late twentieth century.

I know the boys in the occupied Six don't like her, never will and I can fully see and understand their point. She did Ireland no favours at all. But from the bigger perspective she is/was a colossus. What's your problem with her MGHU? I would have thought she and Fine Gael would have a lot in common.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 29, 2011, 11:19:11 PM
http://www.isthatcherdeadyet.co.uk/ >:(
Post by: lawnseed on April 29, 2011, 11:26:08 PM
herself and enda would pass for brother and sister.. :P
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 29, 2011, 11:26:23 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 29, 2011, 11:15:14 PM

Rubbish. She saved her own country from rack and ruin. One of the giants of the late twentieth century.

I know the boys in the occupied Six don't like her, never will and I can fully see and understand their point. She did Ireland no favours at all. But from the bigger perspective she is/was a colossus. What's your problem with her MGHU? I would have thought she and Fine Gael would have a lot in common.

Dung! Maybe having mass murderers over for tea is ok in your book but not in mmmine
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 11:31:40 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 29, 2011, 11:26:23 PM

Dung! Maybe having mass murderers over for tea is ok in your book but not in mmmine
Convicted in what court?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 29, 2011, 11:32:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 11:31:40 PM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 11:38:14 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 29, 2011, 11:32:56 PM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 29, 2011, 11:40:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 11:38:14 PM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.

And?...

He was no criminal then? (When he was alive)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 29, 2011, 11:43:46 PM

The slag dragged up her son to become a criminal mercenary piece of shit.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 29, 2011, 11:46:29 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on April 29, 2011, 11:26:08 PM

Lawnseed you know thats shite. Herself and Gerry have more in common, the blood of countless on their hands.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 11:47:16 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 29, 2011, 11:40:49 PM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.

And?...

Was he a convicted criminal? No.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 29, 2011, 11:50:21 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 11:47:16 PM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.

And?...

Sweet fcuk Tony give it a rest! Do you think if he hadn't dropped dead, he would have got off on all 300+ charges he was facing?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 29, 2011, 11:50:49 PM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.

And?...

Exactly! Just because he wasn't convicted means squat (unless you count the 1,200–3,200 dead, up to 80,000 interned, or up to 30,000 tortured by his regime as something other than crimes of course).
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2011, 11:53:00 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 29, 2011, 11:50:21 PM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.

And?...

Sweet fcuk Tony give it a rest! Do you think if he hadn't dropped dead, he would have got off on all 300+ charges he was facing?
We'll never know :D
Post by: Trout on April 29, 2011, 11:55:25 PM
Can you go a pastie supper.......
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 30, 2011, 12:02:29 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2011, 11:54:08 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 29, 2011, 11:46:29 PM

Lawnseed you know thats shite. Herself and Gerry have more in common, the blood of countless on their hands.
Lawnseed is right.

No he is not, you are talking manure.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 30, 2011, 12:03:22 AM
Quote from: Trout on April 29, 2011, 11:55:25 PM
Can you go a pastie supper.......

???
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 30, 2011, 07:58:41 AM
Adolf Hitler, never convicted therefore an innocent I presume tony. What sort of stupid argument are you trying to make.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2011, 09:50:01 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 30, 2011, 07:58:41 AM
Adolf Hitler, never convicted therefore an innocent I presume tony. What sort of stupid argument are you trying to make.
It is your opinion that Baroness Thatcher of Kesteven is a mass murderer. Was she or her government indicted, tried and convicted by any War Crimes Tribunals or Courts of Human Rights? Nope. Still you're entitled to your opinion. But then they are like assholes.
Post by: gallsman on April 30, 2011, 09:53:17 AM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.

And?...

This from the same person who last week told e that people were making assumptions about Martin McGuinness being a murderer as he'd never been convicted. How conveniently different.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2011, 10:03:09 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 30, 2011, 09:53:17 AM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.

And?...

This from the same person who last week told e that people were making assumptions about Martin McGuinness being a murderer as he'd never been convicted. How conveniently different.
:D Anyway myles has pulled Godwin's Law into this so the thread is dead. No further comment.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 30, 2011, 01:30:03 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2011, 09:50:01 AM
It is your opinion that Baroness Thatcher of Kesteven is a mass murderer. Was she or her government indicted, tried and convicted by any War Crimes Tribunals or Courts of Human Rights? Nope. Still you're entitled to your opinion. But then they are like assholes.

Since you are such a smart arse maybe you can point out where I said thatcher was a mass murderer? You're such a clown. She had mass murderers like Pinnochet over for tea although presumably you think he isn't a mass murderer because he didn't get a trial. But then Hitler wasn't tried so I presume you don't believe he was a mass murderer either - can you answer that for me?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2011, 02:22:42 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 30, 2011, 01:30:03 PM

Since you are such a smart arse maybe you can point out where I said thatcher was a mass murderer? You're such a clown. She had mass murderers like Pinnochet over for tea although presumably you think he isn't a mass murderer because he didn't get a trial. But then Hitler wasn't tried so I presume you don't believe he was a mass murderer either - can you answer that for me?
To be fair I re-read your post and you didn't say that. Apologies I suppose. Hitler topped himself on this day in 1945.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 30, 2011, 11:56:34 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 30, 2011, 09:53:17 AM
Convicted in what court?

Same one as Pinochet?
He is dead.

And?...

Pinochet was facing over 300 charges for a wide range of abuses when he died. Surely if Martin McGuinness has as much blood on his hands as you "presume", the brits would have found some sort of evidence by now? Trust you to attempt to draw parallels between Pinochet and Martin McGuiiness though. Anything to try to disagree with me. I'm flattered by all the attention though gallsman, but I don't swing that way  :-\
Post by: Trout on May 01, 2011, 12:04:31 AM
His MI5 handlers have no interest in sinking him or his paedo sheltering mate, for now.

Will you go a pastie supper Nally on 5th May just for old times sake?
Post by: lawnseed on May 01, 2011, 12:18:18 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 30, 2011, 12:04:24 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 30, 2011, 12:02:29 AM

Lawnseed is right.

They do look alike.

dont know how to do it but i'm betting that if somebody can post a couple of pictures of edna and maggie together they look very alike.. imho ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 01, 2011, 03:12:26 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on May 01, 2011, 12:18:18 AM

Lawnseed is right.

They do look alike.

dont know how to do it but i'm betting that if somebody can post a couple of pictures of edna and maggie together they look very alike.. imho ;)

Don't be such an absolute thick. Your letting yourself down. Shows you must have lost all the political arguments that you resort to this infantile stupidity. He is a good West Mayoman, who never shed or ordered the shedding of Irish blood. He is not corrupt and has the best interests of Ireland at heart. A proud GAA man at that.

Any man or woman who ever voted for Bertie Ahern, Gerry Adams, Charile Haughey, Brian Lenihan, Ian Paisley, any Flynn, Lowery,  should all hang their heads in everlasting shame.
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 01, 2011, 08:47:54 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2011, 02:22:42 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 30, 2011, 01:30:03 PM

To be fair I re-read your post and you didn't say that. Apologies I suppose. Hitler topped himself on this day in 1945.

Apology accepted I suppose.
Post by: CiKe on May 01, 2011, 09:54:44 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 01, 2011, 03:12:26 AM

Lawnseed is right.

They do look alike.

Don't be such an absolute thick. Your letting yourself down. Shows you must have lost all the political arguments that you resort to this infantile stupidity. He is a good West Mayoman, who never shed or ordered the shedding of Irish blood. He is not corrupt and has the best interests of Ireland at heart. A proud GAA man at that.

Any man or woman who ever voted for Bertie Ahern, Gerry Adams, Charile Haughey, Brian Lenihan, Ian Paisley, any Flynn, Lowery,  should all hang their heads in everlasting shame.

Get off your high horse.

On the economy side sure you saw everything coming I suppose - had FG been in power sure things would have been so much different right? Catch a bloody grip.

As for voting for Adams etc must be awful easy for a Mayo man far removed from events in the North to pontificate.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 01, 2011, 10:40:24 AM
Quote from: CiKe on May 01, 2011, 09:54:44 AM

Lawnseed is right.

They do look alike.

Get off your high horse.

On the economy side sure you saw everything coming I suppose - had FG been in power sure things would have been so much different right? Catch a bloody grip.

As for voting for Adams etc must be awful easy for a Mayo man far removed from events in the North to pontificate.

Took the words out of my mouth. Mayogodhelp arrogantly looks down on Adams voters and feels fit to criticise Thatcher. If he had the slightest inkling of what it was like to live in the six counties and to have felt her impact, maybe he would be slightly more tuned in as to why Adams remains a poll-topper. Self righteous arrogance abounds with you Mayo. Pathetic.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2011, 12:56:56 PM
I'm going to hazard a guess and say that there are not too many posters on here when Thatcher first came to power, she left a legacy of destruction most notably, hunger strikes, shoot to kill policies, special branch, Dimplock courts, and prevention of terrorism act.

If you were a unionist you would have thought she was King Billy incarnated!! But she then shit on the unionist and dealt with Dublin and she was then set on bonfires.

Here's the thing, she was determined to do her own thing, stood over all her ideas and would not be turned (This lady is not for turning). Regarding here she was fighting a war and if the IRA were going to fight dirty then so was she. I don't think when she goes anybody over here (both sides) will shed any tears but in the world of politics she has left a massive legacy.
Post by: Gaffer on May 01, 2011, 01:58:47 PM
She played hardball with the Provos . They couldn't crack her
Post by: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 03:42:16 PM
Thatcher never really "got" Ireland, having instead a kind of "blind spot" for the place, which first caused her to alienate Nationalists (Hunger Strikes etc), then Unionists (Anglo-Irish Agreement).

But if you can set aside your dislike for her (Unionists), or hatred of her (Nationalists), there can be no doubt that she was one of the pivotal political figures of the late 20th Century, primarily for the way she prevented the UK going completely to the dogs economically, but also on a world level, for the way she and Reagan led the West's (successful) prosecution of the Cold War.

As for Pinochet, whilst her friendship with him must inevitably taint her in the eyes of most Chileans, her view will have been entirely simple. That is, the UK was fighting to liberate the people of the Falklands from a hostile, Fascist military Dictator; and whilst Pinochet might himself have been dictatorial, faschist and military etc, he was never "hostile".

On the contrary, he stood on the side of Britain as a friend, rather than his South American neighbour. In those circumstances, it was entirely in  keeping with her character that she would stand by him, when he needed friends - make of that what you will.

For myself, I suspect that when History draws up its verdict on the woman in the years and decades to come, Pinochet and Ireland will both  be seen as "sideshows" to the "Main Event".
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 01, 2011, 04:14:59 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 01, 2011, 10:40:24 AM
Quote from: CiKe on May 01, 2011, 09:54:44 AM

Lawnseed is right.

They do look alike.

Get off your high horse.

Took the words out of my mouth. Mayogodhelp arrogantly looks down on Adams voters and feels fit to criticise Thatcher. If he had the slightest inkling of what it was like to live in the six counties and to have felt her impact, maybe he would be slightly more tuned in as to why Adams remains a poll-topper. Self righteous arrogance abounds with you Mayo. Pathetic.

Doesn't stop the endless pontificating from the 6 counties on how people in the 26 should live their lives. It works both ways or it doesn't work at all.
Post by: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 04:40:53 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 01, 2011, 04:14:59 PM

Doesn't stop the endless pontificating from Nationalists in the 6 counties on how people in the 26 should live their lives. It works both ways or it doesn't work at all.
Fixed that for ya, MGHU.

Now that the "26" no longer claim jurisdiction over us, Unionists in the "6" are/should be quite happy to let you get on with things your own way.

If nothing else, it makes us realise things maybe aren't so bad for us, after all... ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 01, 2011, 04:52:37 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 03:42:16 PM
As for Pinochet, whilst her friendship with him must inevitably taint her in the eyes of most Chileans, her view will have been entirely simple. That is, the UK was fighting to liberate the people of the Falklands from a hostile, Fascist military Dictator; and whilst Pinochet might himself have been dictatorial, faschist and military etc, he was never "hostile".

As opposed to the totally democratic method by which Britain land grabbed those islands in the first place of course!
Post by: gallsman on May 01, 2011, 04:58:56 PM
For myself, I suspect that when History draws up its verdict on the woman in the years and decades to come, Pinochet and Ireland will both  be seen as "sideshows" to the "Main Event".

As always, that's entirely dependent on whose history it is.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2011, 05:11:45 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 01, 2011, 04:52:37 PM

As opposed to the totally democratic method by which Britain land grabbed those islands in the first place of course!

this is the thing, If Ireland was a nation who grabbed islands when it was the done thing sure it would be fine, for that you'd have a problem with France, Holland, Portugal Spain and every other nation that stole land!!

The Falklands was and still is a shit hole, it suited Thatcher at the time, political  more so than economical.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 01, 2011, 05:18:09 PM
Aye, EG just makes himself look a bigger eejit every time he posts!   ;)

Curious spelling of 'faschist' for a soi-disant genius too!  :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 06:09:50 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 01, 2011, 05:18:09 PM

Curious spelling of 'faschist' for a "soi-disant genius too!  :D
You're not really from Strabane, are you?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 06:12:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2011, 05:11:45 PM

this is the thing, If Ireland was a nation who grabbed islands when it was the done thing sure it would be fine, for that you'd have a problem with France, Holland, Portugal Spain and every other nation that stole land!!

The Falklands was and still is a shit hole, it suited Thatcher at the time, political  more so than economical.
Pretty much every place rich in oil and gas deposits is a shithole. They don't go there for the cocktails, it's the stuff in the ground that is important and the Falklands has plenty of it.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 01, 2011, 06:22:45 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 06:09:50 PM

Curious spelling of 'faschist' for a "soi-disant genius too!  :D
You're not really from Strabane, are you?

Qui moi, hi sir?

Your parochialism is showing there Tony.  ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2011, 07:07:39 PM
Look if there was any real oil of any note it would be being drilled. That war was political.
Post by: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 07:11:34 PM

Right.

As an Irish Republican, you demand the right to self-determination of one island people (the Irish), free of domination by its larger neighbours (UK).

But you deny the right of self-determination of another island race (Falklanders), and would instead have them dominated by their  larger neighbours (Argies)?

Still, you wouldn't be the first resident of Strabane to be confused over matters of identity, what with half your fellow townies being proudly Irish for 13 days in the fortnight, but British on Signing-On Day... :o

P.S. The Falkland Islands were completely uninhabited when people from various (mostly European) nations first settled in the mid-18th Century. And those peoples' countries made several claims upon them, except that it was the British who were by far the most committed to the islands, both by longevity of claim and numbers of settlers. You might even be related to one of the most notable:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Dickson_(Falklands)

Post by: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 07:23:37 PM
That may or may not be so. But if it is, you have certainly never proven it with your interventions.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 01, 2011, 05:18:09 PMCurious spelling of 'faschist' for a soi-disant genius too!  :D
So that's the sum total of your evidence for my being an eejit?

Does that mean I wasn't such an eejit 11 words earlier when I used the correct spelling?

Or haven't you heard of a typo?  ::)

P.S. If you're going to insert foreign language terms into your posts, you might want to italicise them, otherwise you wouldn't want people thinking you a pretentious eejit, would you?
Post by: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 07:31:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 06:12:39 PMPretty much every place rich in oil and gas deposits is a shithole.
Included in the top 20 oil-producing nations are: USA, Canada, Brazil, Norway and, ahem, the UK. Apologise at once!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 06:12:39 PMThey don't go there for the cocktails, it's the stuff in the ground that is important and the Falklands has plenty of it.
If the Falklands had "plenty" of it, don't you think the Brits would have been pumping it out long before now?

The price is currently over $100 US per barrel, and military garrisons don't come cheap...
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 09:47:07 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 07:31:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 06:12:39 PMPretty much every place rich in oil and gas deposits is a shithole.
Included in the top 20 oil-producing nations are: USA, Canada, Brazil, Norway and, ahem, the UK. Apologise at once!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 06:12:39 PMThey don't go there for the cocktails, it's the stuff in the ground that is important and the Falklands has plenty of it.
If the Falklands had "plenty" of it, don't you think the Brits would have been pumping it out long before now?

The price is currently over $100 US per barrel, and military garrisons don't come cheap...
Exploration in the Falklands Basin is ongoing! When it was first looked at years ago barrel prices meant it wasn't economically attractive to setup in a big way down there. I know a few fellas who were involved down there a couple of years ago when Desire got the licenses and if estimates of reserves are correct (and it's easily accessible) they'll be pumping Texas tea by 2016. Estimates are between 8 and 60 billion barrels but it all depends on how easily it can be extracted. At current prices I'd say they'll make it their business to get it out!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 01, 2011, 10:39:35 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 07:11:34 PM
Right.

As an Irish Republican, you demand the right to self-determination of one island people (the Irish), free of domination by its larger neighbours (UK).

But you deny the right of self-determination of another island race (Falklanders), and would instead have them dominated by their  larger neighbours (Argies)?

Still, you wouldn't be the first resident of Strabane to be confused over matters of identity, what with half your fellow townies being proudly Irish for 13 days in the fortnight, but British on Signing-On Day... :o

P.S. The Falkland Islands were completely uninhabited when people from various (mostly European) nations first settled in the mid-18th Century. And those peoples' countries made several claims upon them, except that it was the British who were by far the most committed to the islands, both by longevity of claim and numbers of settlers. You might even be related to one of the most notable:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Dickson_(Falklands) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Dickson_(Falklands))

Quelle surprise, an Irish unionist defends the right of a country to travel over half way around the world to lay claim to territory they have actually no right to claim, through force of arms. Your (euphemistic) being 'most committed' is my being 'most sanguinary' in their determination to land grab.

Quote from: Evil Genius on May 01, 2011, 07:23:37 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 01, 2011, 05:18:09 PMCurious spelling of 'faschist' for a soi-dis
ant genius too!  :D
So that's the sum total of your evidence for my being an eejit?

Most certainly not; as intimated it's only the latest instalment of eejiticity.
Post by: MW on May 01, 2011, 10:49:59 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2011, 10:50:52 PM
Today we were unlucky, but remember we only have to be lucky once. You will have to be lucky always.

Since she hasn't been murdered by terrorists, I would say she looks like she will indeed have been "lucky always".
Post by: stephenite on May 01, 2011, 11:31:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 29, 2011, 11:43:46 PM

The slag dragged up her son to become a criminal mercenary piece of shit.

That's your answer?
Post by: MW on May 01, 2011, 11:34:01 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 01, 2011, 10:54:43 PM
To be fair, I wouldn't consider her current predicament as 'lucky' by any stretch.

In the context of the quote you provided (lovely that you quote a PIRA statement justifying an atrocity, BTW) - "lucky once" to them meant murdering her, "lucky always" to them meant her not being murdered by them.

Almost all of us who die naturally will, sadly, leave this life with our bodies or our minds breaking down on us.