Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: new devil on April 13, 2011, 09:25:16 PM

Title: Champions league Semi-Finals
Post by: new devil on April 13, 2011, 09:25:16 PM
Schalke V Man United
Real Madrid V Barcelona
(Ties to be played 26/27 April & 3/4th May)

Two great ties with Real playing Barca 3 times in just over 3 weeks

United V Real Madrid final for me  :)
Title: Re: Champions league Semi-Finals
Post by: ardal on April 13, 2011, 09:32:49 PM
Horrible feeling about Real, but I'll go with

Barca vs Schalke
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 13, 2011, 09:33:33 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 13, 2011, 09:25:16 PM
Schalke V Man United
Real Madrid V Barcelona
(Ties to be played 26/27 April & 3/4th May)

Two great ties with Real playing Barca 3 times in just over 3 weeks

United V Real Madrid final for me  :)

4 times actually, league this sat night + spanish cup final next wednesday
Post by: ross4life on April 13, 2011, 10:25:05 PM
Yep & looking forward to all the four games.. never count out the Germans or Jose Mourinho & wouldn't it be some story if it were Raul v Madrid?

Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 13, 2011, 10:33:05 PM
Look lets not talk about Utd not being in the final. it would be a disaster if Utd failed to beat an totally inexperienced Champions league team at this stage. Schalke are doing crap in the German league and while having form in the CL, Utd should beat them.

Utd can lose these games (Monaco) but they should prevail and set up a good grudge match against Barca. Fergie will have to get his tactics right for that game. Otherwise same result
Post by: EC Unique on April 13, 2011, 10:34:23 PM
Just great to be in them at this stage. ;D

I fancy Utd and Barca to make the Final.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2011, 10:36:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 13, 2011, 10:33:05 PM
Look lets not talk about Utd not being in the final. it would be a disaster if Utd failed to beat an totally inexperienced Champions league team at this stage. Schalke are doing crap in the German league and while having form in the CL, Utd should beat them.

Utd can lose these games (Monaco) but they should prevail and set up a good grudge match against Barca. Fergie will have to get his tactics right for that game. Otherwise same result

So you think it was poor tactics that beat Utd two years ago?
Post by: gallsman on April 13, 2011, 10:37:45 PM
United have it in the bag. No doubt about it.

Ross, just so you know, the above is an example of what we grown-ups call "sarcasm".

Quote from: EC Unique on April 13, 2011, 10:34:23 PM

That's a really bold prediction. Well done.
Post by: ross4life on April 13, 2011, 10:42:55 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 13, 2011, 10:37:45 PM

Ross, just so you know, the above is an example of what we grown-ups call "sarcasm".

You grown up  :D your a real comedian!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 13, 2011, 10:43:09 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2011, 10:36:13 PM

No they are the best team playing in the world, Utd need to employ a tactic that will win the game, ultra defensive/spoiling and just win the game. No one cares after a few years how the game was won
Post by: Orangemac on April 13, 2011, 11:45:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 13, 2011, 10:43:09 PM

No they are the best team playing in the world, Utd need to employ a tactic that will win the game, ultra defensive/spoiling and just win the game. No one cares after a few years how the game was won
If both teams progress Fergie knows Barca will have 60 to 65% possession. Barca will pass Utd to death but Utd have a chance.

United will sit deep with probably Park, Carrick and Fletcher/Giggs across the middle and rely on Rooney to be on song. Barca can be got at as Arsenal showed.It is hard to see Nani starting.
Post by: wanderer on April 14, 2011, 09:35:00 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on April 13, 2011, 11:45:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 13, 2011, 10:43:09 PM

If both teams progress Fergie knows Barca will have 60 to 65% possession. Barca will pass Utd to death but Utd have a chance.

United will sit deep with probably Park, Carrick and Fletcher/Giggs across the middle and rely on Rooney to be on song. Barca can be got at as Arsenal showed.It is hard to see Nani starting.

If (and its a big if) Utd & Barca make the final I would think Ferguson would go with (fitness permitting)
VDS
O'Shea Ferdinand Vidic Evra
Valencia Fletcher Scholes Giggs Park
Rooney
The other option would be Hernadez for Scholes with rooney dropping back into the support striker position, to stop barca building from the back. I think you need a balance of energy, pace and ability to keep the ball, otherwise Barca will just win it back within 30 secs
Post by: EC Unique on April 14, 2011, 09:42:40 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 13, 2011, 10:37:45 PM

Oh dear, not taking all this Manchester United progress well at all. Loving it. Keep it coming. :-*
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 14, 2011, 09:57:50 AM
You would have to fancy United to get through but I have a sneaking suspicion that Real will beat Barca. That would set up an amazing scenario in Wembley. I reckon with the EPL more or less in the bag Fergie will see this as his last hurrah.  Playing against an old nemesis with his old darling Cronaldo too.  With Mourhinho a strong candidate to replace Whiskey Nose it adds that extra spice.  United to win it for him, Slur Alex to announce retirement straight after it and The Special One to take over.
Post by: EC Unique on April 14, 2011, 11:58:32 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 14, 2011, 09:57:50 AM
You would have to fancy United to get through but I have a sneaking suspicion that Real will beat Barca. That would set up an amazing scenario in Wembley. I reckon with the EPL more or less in the bag Fergie will see this as his last hurrah.  Playing against an old nemesis with his old darling Cronaldo too.  With Mourhinho a strong candidate to replace Whiskey Nose it adds that extra spice.  United to win it for him, Slur Alex to announce retirement straight after it and The Special One to take over.

I think regardless of what happens Fergie will be there next season.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on April 14, 2011, 05:08:31 PM
If United beat Schalke I cannot see Barcelona winning the CL, even though they deserve it.

It would mean Barca having to beat a Mourinho team and a Ferguson team to win the thing, and these two will be hell bent on revenge for the previous couple of years.
Post by: new devil on April 14, 2011, 05:35:42 PM
IF United got to the final i just couldn't see them beating Barca...Think they would be totally overrun at midfield, yes they could setup to stop that but that would take a lot away from they own game
Would be confident of beating Real thou, there defense didn't look to hot last night against spurs
Post by: Forever Green on April 14, 2011, 11:36:56 PM
My predictions:
Barca 3-1 Real Madrid
Real Madrid 2-2 Barca

Schalke 2-1 United
United 1-0 Schalke
Post by: Shrewdness on April 16, 2011, 07:46:55 PM
Nobody should underestimate Schalke at all. They have not arrived at the semi final by accident.

Can you imagine the plaudits we would bestow upon United if they had gone to the San Siro and beaten Inter Milan 5-2.
Schalke have some good players and won't be easily beaten i can assure you.

In the not too distant past, United have lost Champions League semi finals to other less glamourous German clubs such as Borussia Dortmund and Bayer Leverkusen (with Berbatov).

What odds on a Real Madrid/Schalke final?
Post by: Blowitupref on April 18, 2011, 03:44:30 PM
Have watched alot of Champions league football this year and the team that has impressed me the most has been Schalke,They remind me of Borussia Dortmund in 1997 & i think they will beat a tired United team in the Semi's & shock Barcelona in the final.
Post by: mc_grens on April 18, 2011, 04:32:55 PM
Barca dismantled the Man U midfield a couple years back. The United midfield now is even more poorly equipped to match up with Barca.
Post by: gallsman on April 18, 2011, 04:48:22 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 16, 2011, 07:46:55 PM
Nobody should underestimate Schalke at all. They have not arrived at the semi final by accident.

Can you imagine the plaudits we would bestow upon United if they had gone to the San Siro and beaten Inter Milan 5-2.
Schalke have some good players and won't be easily beaten i can assure you.

In the not too distant past, United have lost Champions League semi finals to other less glamourous German clubs such as Borussia Dortmund and Bayer Leverkusen (with Berbatov).

What odds on a Real Madrid/Schalke final?

Berbatov didn't feature much in that side, Oliver Neuville was the striker. It was a damn good leverkusen side too. Only lost final because of zidane's brilliance
Post by: Blowitupref on April 25, 2011, 11:15:20 PM
The 1st legs on tomorrow and Wednesday

Score predictions

Schalke 2 Man United 1
Real Madrid 1 Barcelona 1
Post by: magpie seanie on April 26, 2011, 02:33:11 PM
I keep thinking Schalke will win 2-1 tonight and then I see two predictions on this thread saying the same. Must log on to PP when I go home.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on April 26, 2011, 10:09:38 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 18, 2011, 03:44:30 PM
Have watched alot of Champions league football this year and the team that has impressed me the most has been Schalke,They remind me of Borussia Dortmund in 1997 & i think they will beat a tired United team in the Semi's & shock Barcelona in the final.

That Schalke is the singular worst team that i have ever seen in a champions league semi-final.
As an aside Wenger should get his cheque book out and buy their keepe, no matter what he costs.
Post by: new devil on April 26, 2011, 10:14:11 PM
Things hotting up before tomorrows game

Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola hit back at Real Madrid counterpart Jose Mourinho as a stunning war of words erupted between the rival coaches ahead of tomorrow's Champions League semi-final first leg.

Speaking earlier today, Mourinho launched a stinging attack on Guardiola regarding comments the Barca coach was supposed to have made about certain refereeing decisions.

Mourinho, referring to an example following last week's Copa del Rey final between Madrid and Barca regarding a disallowed Pedro Rodriguez goal for offside, said Guardiola had created a new group of coaches - one that criticises officials when they make correct decisions.

"Up until now we've had two groups of coaches," said the Portuguese. "[There's] a very small group who didn't talk about referees. Then there's a larger group, of which I'm included, of coaches that criticises referees when they make big mistakes.

"And with Pep's statements we've come to a third group, which is a one person group, who criticises good decisions made by the referee. I've never seen this before."

Guardiola refused to take the comments lying down, though, and launched an angry response during his press conference this evening.

The Barca coach said: "Tomorrow at 8.45 we will meet each other on the pitch. Off the pitch he has already won.

"In this room (press room), he's the f****** chief, the f****** man, the person who knows everything about the world and I don't want to compete with him at all.

"It's a type of game I'm not going to play because I don't know how.

"I won't justify my words. I congratulated Madrid for the cup that they won deservedly on the pitch and against a team that I represent and of which I feel very proud."

He added: "Off the pitch, he has already won, as he has done all year.

"On the pitch, we'll see what happens."
Post by: paco on April 26, 2011, 10:18:57 PM
Was just reading that! Not like Pep to come out and say something like that, he's normally the epitome of cool but seems to have lost it a bit there. Couple of big players missing for both teams tomorrow, Khedira and Carvalho for Madrid and Iniesta will be missing for Barcelona - a huge loss given how badly their injury situation already is.
Post by: Minder on April 26, 2011, 10:20:39 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on April 26, 2011, 10:09:38 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 18, 2011, 03:44:30 PM

That Schalke is the singular worst team that i have ever seen in a champions league semi-final.
As an aside Wenger should get his cheque book out and buy their keepe, no matter what he costs.

He is going to Bayern.
Post by: gallsman on April 26, 2011, 10:36:59 PM
Quote from: paco on April 26, 2011, 10:18:57 PM
Was just reading that! Not like Pep to come out and say something like that, he's normally the epitome of cool but seems to have lost it a bit there. Couple of big players missing for both teams tomorrow, Khedira and Carvalho for Madrid and Iniesta will be missing for Barcelona - a huge loss given how badly their injury situation already is.

Not like Pep at all! From the moment he started he's always been very quiet and respectful, maybe fighting back is the boot up their hole they could do with. Puyol back too won't hurt them.

Iniesta wasn't banned in the end. Is he injured?
Post by: paco on April 26, 2011, 10:40:47 PM
Fair play to him I suppose, I wouldn't call it mind games but there's only so much you can take. Iniesta's injured, yeah. Good to have Puyol back, was reading he's probably gonna be left back, no Abidal or Adriano and Maxwell has just been confirmed as injured too!
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on April 26, 2011, 11:11:00 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 26, 2011, 10:36:59 PM
Iniesta wasn't banned in the end. Is he injured?
Yep. Calf muscle.

Watched the Copa Del Rey last Wednesday and Real were full value for their win. Man-for-man Barca are a better side, but Mourinho has finally got under their skin, and has got a draw and a win against them in the last two meetings. With Pep clearly rattled, don't be surprised to see Jose v Fergie at Wembley next month.
Post by: Rossie11 on April 27, 2011, 10:53:16 AM
Iniesta is a huge loss. He also missed the 2 games V Inter last year.
Its a huge boost for Madrid who are coming into form just as Barca have slowed down and are lacking the high tempo
of earlier in the season.
Pep knows they need to get this back and need to play Madrid aggressively. Madrid have kicked lumps out of them the past 2 weeks and if Barca allow that to happen again tonight the tie could be beyond them come next week.

To me Madrid are favourites to progress on current form (a massive 13/8).
As with all games between Jose and Barca, you can be sure there will a bad ref decision and massive controversy somewhere over the 2 legs which could decide it. A red card is 2/1 tonight. Looks good value based on history between them
Post by: magpie seanie on April 27, 2011, 11:49:01 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on April 27, 2011, 10:53:16 AM
Iniesta is a huge loss. He also missed the 2 games V Inter last year.
Its a huge boost for Madrid who are coming into form just as Barca have slowed down and are lacking the high tempo
of earlier in the season.
Pep knows they need to get this back and need to play Madrid aggressively. Madrid have kicked lumps out of them the past 2 weeks and if Barca allow that to happen again tonight the tie could be beyond them come next week.

To me Madrid are favourites to progress on current form (a massive 13/8).
As with all games between Jose and Barca, you can be sure there will a bad ref decision and massive controversy somewhere over the 2 legs which could decide it. A red card is 2/1 tonight. Looks good value based on history between them

Not wanting to contradict you but there is a marked difference between the quality of referees in the CL and the Premier League. I thought the referee last night in United v. Schalke was superb, can't remember one wrong decision. Most Premier League games there are 5 or 6 throws/corners given the wrong way for starters.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 27, 2011, 11:54:05 AM
I'm worried Real might win this especially if Iniesta is out.

Mourinho illustrated yet again in his press conference what a c**t he really is.

He's one to talk about making comments on referees - he has caused a referee(maybe more than one) to quit the game and in my view was borderline inciting hatred between Chelsea and Barca the year the same thing happened.

Hoping Barca teach them a lesson but as other people have commented - he looks to have got under their skin. Guardiola's ranted sounded a big Kevin Keegan esque :-\

Post by: Rossie11 on April 27, 2011, 01:42:08 PM
QuoteNot wanting to contradict you but there is a marked difference between the quality of referees in the CL and the Premier League
Agree with you Seanie but there has been some shocking ones involving the big teams the past few years which at the highest level magnify the error
Off top of my head.
Chelsea should have a peno or 3 V Barca few years ago when Iniesta got the late winner
Carvallho foul on goalie at the Bridge when Terry headed winner V Barca
Inter had man sent off for nothing in Nou camp last year
Same game Barca had goal ruled out for offside for a dodgy hand ball
Shevcheko for AC Milan has a perfect goal ruled out in Nou camp in a Semi which would have levelled the tie.

Over the years the bad decisions probably even each other out. Barca shouldn't have knocked out Chelsea in 2009 but should have knocked out Inter last year.
I think there is more than a fair chance that there will be another tonight or next Tuesday given the pressure the officials will be under from these 2 teams who will appeal everything if they get a hint of weakness from the ref.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 06:51:07 PM
Barcelona: Valdés; Alves, Mascherano, Pique, Puyol; Xavi, Busquets, Keita; Pedro, Messi, Villa.

Madrid: Casillas, Arbeloa, Ramos, Albiol, Marcelo, Lass, Alonso, Pepe, Di Maria, Ozil, Ronaldo
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 27, 2011, 07:14:20 PM
I've went for a 3-1in Barca's favour, league title wrapped up, that cup match means nothing. Main course tonight
Post by: ross4life on April 27, 2011, 07:23:21 PM
I'd say a cup final defeat to Real madrid meant something, I feel for R Madrid to knock Barca out they will need a similar 1st leg result to what Mourinho got with Inter v Barca last year.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 27, 2011, 07:43:43 PM
ITV are a joke, 7.30 start and 2 ad breaks already at 7.43. WTF !
Post by: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 07:55:43 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on April 27, 2011, 07:43:43 PM
ITV are a joke, 7.30 start and 2 ad breaks already at 7.43. WTF !

They are also known for missing goals with ad breaks.
Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 08:07:46 PM
Puke football...United would play them both off the park!!

:P
Post by: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 08:20:02 PM
(http://madamepickwickartblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/chess22.jpg)
Post by: EC Unique on April 27, 2011, 08:25:47 PM
Impossible for the ref. Hope they take lumps out of each other with plenty of cards.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 27, 2011, 08:26:24 PM
that Puyol is one hateful hoor. If Carvalho was on the pitch you would the have 2 dirtiest sneakiest f**kers on a football pitch anywhere in Europe
Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 08:28:59 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on April 27, 2011, 08:25:47 PM
Impossible for the ref. Hope they take lumps out of each other with plenty of cards.
[/quote

Would a red card in this match mean missing the final?

Come on Real!!!!!!!
Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 08:30:55 PM
Thats it get stuck into other  :)
Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 08:40:01 PM
Killing other at half-time too in the tunnel.... Just be an interesting 2nd half
Post by: Mario on April 27, 2011, 08:43:07 PM
Utd won't be fearing these two teams
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on April 27, 2011, 08:45:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 27, 2011, 08:37:21 PM
Some shower of yapping hoors. How anyone could like either bunch of t**ts is beyond me.

Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 08:47:37 PM
Neither these teams would play this way against any other team,  They hate each other so much that fear of losing stops them playing there normal  games
I still think United will be massive underdogs if they get to the final, I would rather play Real, but on there day could also rip that United midfield apart
Post by: Dave on April 27, 2011, 08:50:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 27, 2011, 08:37:21 PM
Some shower of yapping hoors. How anyone could like either bunch of t**ts is beyond me.

new devil and EC Unique?
Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 08:51:03 PM
Pinto sent off
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 27, 2011, 09:04:43 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on April 27, 2011, 01:42:08 PM
QuoteNot wanting to contradict you but there is a marked difference between the quality of referees in the CL and the Premier League
Agree with you Seanie but there has been some shocking ones involving the big teams the past few years which at the highest level magnify the error
Off top of my head.
Chelsea should have a peno or 3 V Barca few years ago when Iniesta got the late winner
Carvallho foul on goalie at the Bridge when Terry headed winner V Barca
Inter had man sent off for nothing in Nou camp last year
Same game Barca had goal ruled out for offside for a dodgy hand ball
Shevcheko for AC Milan has a perfect goal ruled out in Nou camp in a Semi which would have levelled the tie.

Over the years the bad decisions probably even each other out. Barca shouldn't have knocked out Chelsea in 2009 but should have knocked out Inter last year.
I think there is more than a fair chance that there will be another tonight or next Tuesday given the pressure the officials will be under from these 2 teams who will appeal everything if they get a hint of weakness from the ref.

How is that evening (how do you spell that?) out? Barce benefit and Inter benefit. When do Chelsea benefit? Answer is they don't!

Seanie- Some refs in the Champion's league are better. Some aren't. If you had of had the Overebo affect or the decision re the penalty that wasn't given on Ramiries you would not suggest that!
Post by: thejuice on April 27, 2011, 09:07:41 PM
If soccer players are really injured do they roll off the field or does someone have to carry them off?
Post by: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 09:08:25 PM
No surprise to see a player sent off. is Pepe out of the final if they get there?
Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 09:09:05 PM
Yea i think so..Now Jose sent off
Post by: BennyHarp on April 27, 2011, 09:09:22 PM
Barcelona are a bunch of yapping hoors!
Post by: ross4life on April 27, 2011, 09:13:06 PM
This is without doubt the worst match i've seen this season.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 27, 2011, 09:17:15 PM
Every single decision is contested and argued by the players - it's not nice to watch alright!
Post by: EC Unique on April 27, 2011, 09:18:34 PM
Both of these teams are worse than any in the premiership for yapping and diving. Even Liverpool! :o
Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 09:24:51 PM
f**k tht....Looks like Barca in the final
Post by: tyroneman on April 27, 2011, 09:27:31 PM
Good to see another layer of the 'beautiful' Barcelona myth stripped away tonight. While great to watch on their day they are one Of the most cynical cheating and diving teams around.

Pedro,'Alves and Busquets in particular are a disgrace.

That's not to say RM don't do the same but they are villified everywhere and barca seen as angels.

UEFA determined to get barca to final. Sending off of pepe was disgrace.
Post by: EC Unique on April 27, 2011, 09:28:47 PM
When they start the one touch stuff they are amazing!
Post by: new devil on April 27, 2011, 09:33:07 PM
 :o :o The man is unreal
Post by: screenexile on April 27, 2011, 09:33:24 PM
WOW!!
Post by: BennyHarp on April 27, 2011, 09:33:59 PM
Can't really argue with that! What a player!!
Post by: ross4life on April 27, 2011, 09:34:10 PM
Might be one of the worst game ever but this game will be remembered for Messi!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 27, 2011, 09:35:21 PM
Ah I don't know what ye are raving about Messi for, John O'Shea will put him in his place in the final.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 09:39:25 PM
Sending off was the turning point but Messi God won it on his own.
Post by: supersarsfields on April 27, 2011, 09:43:41 PM
Jeez there'll be some yapping and crying done in the final by the looks of things. And that Barca team won't help things either.
Post by: EC Unique on April 27, 2011, 09:47:19 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 09:39:25 PM

It was the turning point and not even a yellow IMO.
Post by: oakleafgael on April 27, 2011, 09:51:59 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on April 27, 2011, 09:47:19 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 09:39:25 PM

It was the turning point and not even a yellow IMO.

As soon as you show the studs in European football you run the risk of a red card. It was a def yellow and a borderline red. It was stupidity as much as anything else.
Post by: Main Street on April 27, 2011, 09:52:39 PM
Madrid likely losers now, is a blessing. Pep outfoxed Jose in the cynicism stakes and came out well on top.

The two best teams by far, Barca and Man U,  should get through to the final.

Post by: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 09:55:31 PM
Has to be the end of Mourinho at R.Madrid after one year! he'll probably be the Man City manager next season.
Post by: ONeill on April 27, 2011, 09:57:47 PM
Strangely enjoyed that game. Real panto stuff
Post by: paco on April 27, 2011, 09:59:14 PM
Mourinho will obviously use the sending off to deflect attention from his negative tactics. The better team won and the scoreline wasn't flattering at all, hundreds of millions were spent on this team and all they could manage tonight were a few set piece opportunities. What's the point of buying Ronaldo, Di Maria, Ozil etc if the manager is just going to have them standing with their hands on their hips on the halfway line? So much for Mourinho's mind games.
Post by: laoislad on April 27, 2011, 10:04:02 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 09:55:31 PM
Has to be the end of Mourinho at R.Madrid after one year! he'll probably be the Man City manager next season.

or back to Chelski
Post by: Bogball XV on April 27, 2011, 10:14:07 PM
Quote from: paco on April 27, 2011, 09:59:14 PM
Mourinho will obviously use the sending off to deflect attention from his negative tactics. The better team won and the scoreline wasn't flattering at all, hundreds of millions were spent on this team and all they could manage tonight were a few set piece opportunities. What's the point of buying Ronaldo, Di Maria, Ozil etc if the manager is just going to have them standing with their hands on their hips on the halfway line? So much for Mourinho's mind games.
After the 5-0 he knows the limitations of his side compared to Barcelona.  The last two times they played Barce he did exactly the same as tonight, they drew one and won one (aet), in his opinion then the best way was to try the same again.  It didn't work out, but they could easily have managed another 0-0 tonight. 
Man for man there probably isn't that huge a gulf, but Messi is so far above anyone else on the planet right now, that it's to Mourinho's credit that he didn't have him taken out of the game (I wonder would Fergie consider that option).
Post by: paco on April 27, 2011, 10:20:16 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 27, 2011, 10:14:07 PM
Quote from: paco on April 27, 2011, 09:59:14 PM
After the 5-0 he knows the limitations of his side compared to Barcelona.  The last two times they played Barce he did exactly the same as tonight, they drew one and won one (aet), in his opinion then the best way was to try the same again.  It didn't work out, but they could easily have managed another 0-0 tonight. 
Man for man there probably isn't that huge a gulf, but Messi is so far above anyone else on the planet right now, that it's to Mourinho's credit that he didn't have him taken out of the game (I wonder would Fergie consider that option).

I agree with this part, but surely if there was ever a time to get at Barcelona it was tonight. They've looked very tired in recent weeks and Puyol has played twice since January, surely he should have been getting the ball to Ronaldo's feet every time. In the press conference he's claimed that he was intending to play a number 10 behind 3 forwards, but the ref "didn't allow it." We'll never know, but I can't imagine Mourinho doing something like that.
Post by: gallsman on April 27, 2011, 10:21:21 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 27, 2011, 09:27:31 PM
UEFA determined to get barca to final. Sending off of pepe was disgrace.

Jesus Christ wise up. Uefa determined to get them there, Spanish Federation concealing doping etc.

Mourinho got it very, very badly wrong, both in the press conference and on the pitch. The last day and a half focused on Pep "cracking up" and "losing it" rather than the changing of the guard stories that had been on the go since the Copa del Rey final last week. He knew exactly what he was at tonight - yes players like Alves, Busquets and Pedro go down easily and Barca hound players for cards, but tonight was so exaggerated it had to be an intentional tactic. In no way admirable, but it worked and had the Madrid players cracking up. Should also be noted that these are all favourite tactics of a certain Jose Mourinho.

None of that though should cover up the fact that Jose sent his team out the exact same way as he did last week. No striker, Pepe in centre mid and Xabi Alonso playing very deep worked last week - just. Madrid deserved the Copa win for an outstanding defensive display, but it shouldn't be overlooked that Barca completely outplayed them for large portions of the match and for 25 minutes in the 2nd half Barca simply toyed with them and ripped them apart. To think he could get away with it again was unbelievably naive.

As for Messi, what else can you say?
Post by: laoislad on April 27, 2011, 10:26:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1VkHpnqDN4&feature=player_embedded
Post by: Main Street on April 27, 2011, 10:31:28 PM
Pep played it cautious by Barca's standards of caution. The back 4 didn't roam. I think Puyol only crossed the half way line once and Alves stayed well back. They weren't going to get done over by Jose for a second time in a row a CL semi final 1st leg.
Post by: ONeill on April 27, 2011, 10:38:52 PM
Imagine if Rooney has scored that second goal. The wedding on Friday would be cancelled.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 27, 2011, 10:45:05 PM
You would have to catch messi first to take him out. I'm guessing its been tried already. Also interesting that he never bothers with diving or feigning injury like a lot of those other tools.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 10:46:14 PM
According to Eamon Dunphy only Maradona or George Best would have scored that 2nd goal tonight.
Post by: clarshack on April 27, 2011, 10:54:38 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 10:46:14 PM
According to Eamon Dunphy only Maradona or George Best would have scored that 2nd goal tonight.

he's probably right.
Post by: Minder on April 27, 2011, 10:55:49 PM
Only one team tried to play, as regards the red card, if your studs are showing you risk getting sent off. I just hope all the post match analysis centres on te brilliant second goal by Messi, but I have a feelin it will be all about Mourinho, which let's face it, would disappoint him if it didn't.

Must be a few on here that are rippin that they can't now say Guardiola "lost the plot" and his "rant" cost Barca as Mourinho chuckles at his Jedi mind tricks in the background.
Post by: ONeill on April 27, 2011, 11:07:21 PM
Quote from: clarshack on April 27, 2011, 10:54:38 PM

he's probably right.

Bendtner scores goals like that in his head every day.
Post by: screenexile on April 27, 2011, 11:08:47 PM

Not Roy Keane??
Post by: under the bar on April 27, 2011, 11:19:58 PM
QuoteAccording to Eamon Dunphy only Maradona or George Best would have scored that 2nd goal tonight.

He's obviously never seen Paddy McCourt then
Post by: tyroneman on April 28, 2011, 12:30:36 AM
QuoteMourinho got it very, very badly wrong, both in the press conference and on the pitch.

Don't agree with that. Press conference was usual stuff no worse than before.

Tactics were spot on; with what he has available. RM were never going to outgun Barca so nullifying them was the best option.

Up until Pepe got sent off  (a yellow, never in a million years a red) Barca were pretty ineffective. 11 v 11 Messi was going nowhere. Jose was settling for a draw or a lucky goal and would have done the same in the CN. Not pretty but effective.

No team however would hold out with 10 against Barca.

Now I agree totally that Pep out Jose'd Mourinho himself tonight in the cynisicm stakes and overall the better footballing team won however this myth of Brca being pure football is b*llshit. They are just the same side of the coin as RM with better PR..and Messi.

If you think UEFA didn't want a Barca v ManU final (and a bloody nose for the Special one) you are very, very naieve.
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 12:36:43 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 28, 2011, 12:30:36 AM
QuoteMourinho got it very, very badly wrong, both in the press conference and on the pitch.

Tactics were spot on; with what he has available. RM were never going to outgun Barca so nullifying them was the best option.

Up until Pepe got sent off  (a yellow, never in a million years a red) Barca were pretty ineffective. 11 v 11 Messi was going nowhere. Jose was settling for a draw or a lucky goal and would have done the same in the CN. Not pretty but effective.

Now I agree totally that Pep out Jose'd Mourinho himself tonight in the cynisicm stakes and overall the better footballing team won however this myth of Brca being pure football is b*llshit. They are just the same side of the coin as RM with better PR..and Messi.

If you think UEFA didn't want a Barca v ManU final (and a bloody nose for the Special one) you are very, very naieve.

Saying UEFA want a Barca-United final is very different to saying that UEFA were determined to get a Barca-United final. The latter implies that UEFA had some sort of say in the result of this match. Are you suggesting they tampered with a ref? Which is it?

Busquets and Pedro, Alves to and to a lesser extent Villa are all terrible divers. Name me a team who doesn't. The only player at this level you'll ever see picking himself up and trying to stay on his feet every time unless he gets absolutely flattened is Messi, one of the smallest of the lot.
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 12:39:29 AM

That's spot on about Mourinho getting his tactics right... only for the sending off he would probably of got his 0-0 he played for

Why would UEFA want a Barca V United final  ???
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 12:44:40 AM
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 12:39:29 AM

That's spot on about Mourinho getting his tactics right... only for the sending off he would probably of got his 0-0 he played for

No, Mourinho very clearly got his tactics wrong.
Post by: Throw ball on April 28, 2011, 12:46:20 AM
The Champions League Final is on at the same time as the Armagh v Down Ulster Championship game. After watching that tripe can anyone say they would prefer to watch soccer. On another thread it was discussed that teams do not take the national league final seriously. Dublin v Cork was so much better than that match tonight. There were even better digs at half time.  ;D
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 12:51:41 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 12:44:40 AM

The score was 0-0 until the person who had the job of marking Messi out of the game was sent off.

20 minutes later and Messi has scored two. Go figure.
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 01:03:44 AM
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 12:51:41 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 12:44:40 AM

The score was 0-0 until the person who had the job of marking Messi out of the game was sent off.

20 minutes later and Messi has scored two. Go figure.

Mourinho put out the exact same formation and team he did in the Copa del Rey final. In it, they ripped Barca apart in the first half hour with a superb display of counter attacking down the wings. Then they barely survived for another ninety minutes and were and were only kept in it by some magical saves from Casillas.

Tonight, Valdes had virtually nothing to do. He saved a tame early Ronaldo shot and then saved an spilled another just before half time.

It was naive in the extreme to think Guardiola and Barca wouldn't adapt to the type of game he'd been trying to play. Puyol doesn't attack the way Adriano does. Dani Alves curbed is instincts to bomb forward. Real had room in the middle third of the pitch to spread it about for once and didn't do it. Ronaldo didn't appear to know what to do and was marked out of it by Puyol, Oezil barely figured and at least Di Maria's free kick winning dives contributed something. By the time Pepe was set off Villa had flashed on wide, Xavi had a good effort saved, Casillas stopped another Villa drive and Pedro almost turned in the rebound.

He then, seeing they were not working, altered his tactics at half time and brought on Adebayor. Who didn't even come close to contributing in any way, let alone a meaningful one.

The tactics that (just about) won him the Copa del Rey let him down tonight.

QED.
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 01:09:14 AM
Its sort of strange why he would even play that way at home...There best chance would of been to win at home and try and hold on away

whats QED?
Post by: boojangles on April 28, 2011, 01:22:14 AM
There is something really hateful about Dani Alves. His on-field behaviour is typical of what is wrong with soccer. I'm no fan of Pepe but that was definitely no sending off.Studs showing or not.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 02:19:05 AM
Mourinho's post match comments

"Mourinho said a conspiracy between Barcelona and UEFA must exist after the Catalan club came out with a favourable referee decision for the third straight semifinal.

"Every semifinal the same thing always happens. Why? I'll live my whole life with this question but I hope one day to get the answer," Mourinho said. "Why could Chelsea not get to the final two years ago? Last year to get to the final with Inter was a miracle. Why again in this game?"

Guardiola led Barcelona to the 2009 trophy after getting past Chelsea, which had an injury-time penalty claim for a handball waved away. Inter eliminated Barcelona last year despite playing for over an hour with 10 men.

"I don't understand. I don't know if it's publicity for (sponsor) UNICEF or (FIFA and UEFA head of referees committee Angel) Villar's influence in UEFA. They have the power and no one else has a chance."

You can't hide it. Inside (the Catalans) are laughing and enjoying this thinking we're going to (the final at) Wembley. But to win this way must leave a bad taste.

I've won two Champions Leagues and I won them both on the field and they were with two clubs. We won with work, effort, sweat, fight and with a lot of work. Josep Guardiola is a fantastic coach — I repeat he is a fantastic coach — but he won the Champions with the scandal at Stamford Bridge. And if he wins again then it will be affected by today.
"
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 03:23:34 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 02:19:05 AM

"Mourinho said a conspiracy between Barcelona and UEFA must exist after the Catalan club came out with a favourable referee decision for the third straight semifinal.

"Every semifinal the same thing always happens. Why? I'll live my whole life with this question but I hope one day to get the answer," Mourinho said. "Why could Chelsea not get to the final two years ago? Last year to get to the final with Inter was a miracle. Why again in this game?"

Guardiola led Barcelona to the 2009 trophy after getting past Chelsea, which had an injury-time penalty claim for a handball waved away. Inter eliminated Barcelona last year despite playing for over an hour with 10 men.

"I don't understand. I don't know if it's publicity for (sponsor) UNICEF or (FIFA and UEFA head of referees committee Angel) Villar's influence in UEFA. They have the power and no one else has a chance."

You can't hide it. Inside (the Catalans) are laughing and enjoying this thinking we're going to (the final at) Wembley. But to win this way must leave a bad taste.

I've won two Champions Leagues and I won them both on the field and they were with two clubs. We won with work, effort, sweat, fight and with a lot of work. Josep Guardiola is a fantastic coach — I repeat he is a fantastic coach — but he won the Champions with the scandal at Stamford Bridge. And if he wins again then it will be affected by today.
"

:o :o That's pretty bad, surely he'll get a big ban for that...If it was the premiership he'd probably get banned for life
Post by: tyroneman on April 28, 2011, 06:59:30 AM
QED? Hardly

Until Pepe went off Barca had how many shots? Let alone shots on target. Jose had Messi out of the game. Admittedly RM were doing little going forward but who's to say a set piece wouldn't have brought some reward in the latter stages.

RM were in fact enjoying a period of (albeit brief) dominance at the point Pepe was sent off.

How could Mourinho have got his tactics wrong therefore when barca only played any sort of dangerous football when it was 10 v 11??

UEFA despise Mourinho and add in the fact that this Barca side are the golden boys of world football it's a no brainer that they were the ones Platini wanted in the final. (man u clearly are a more Attractive marketing prospect than Shalke). Whether there was an active conspiracy who knows? Barca certainly seem to have most big decisions go FOR them. Pep rants about the possibility of a Portugese ref and gets yer man last night who promptly sends off Pepe when Barca were going nowhere. Who can prove any of it though.

I have no sympathy for Mourinho however as his Porto team were a disgrace against Celtic and brought the art of diving and time wasting to a new low but I do object to the mindless glorification of Barca as some sort of footballing paragon, which is all you get from the media, representing all that is good in the game. They are just as cynical and manipulative as any other big team. Maybe more so.

There seems to be a very anti Real Madrid sentiment in Ireland and the Irish press  along the lines that they are the big bad corporate monsters, Francos 11, tools of the establishment etc while barca are portrayed as the freewheeling, freedom fighting mavericks constantly giving it to 'the man'. In reality someone like Real Sociadad or Villareal fit the independent mould much better.

Ah well. At least a final to be completely ambivalent about. Armagh v Down will be on our tv.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 28, 2011, 09:37:59 AM
Amazing how Mourhino can manipulate everyone from players, to owners, to the media to the fans to gaaboard members.
Post by: ONeill on April 28, 2011, 09:41:43 AM
What has happened here is that Mourinho attempted to pressurise officials before the game through his press conference. It's an age-old tactic himself and Fergie use quite successfully. At half time, when the Barca reserve keeper was sent off and the fact that they'd riled Barcelona into playing a niggly game, he thought he was winning the battle of minds. It was pure Mourinho threatre with his tunnel pep-talk with his keeper. The Pepe sending off wasn't part of the plans and he reacted like a spoilt brat who wasn't getting what he wanted.

His post-match rant is another attempt to influence the second leg and the championship run-in. If Guardiola holds his nerve and stays silent it'll make Jose out to be a bit of a plonker.
Post by: Declan on April 28, 2011, 09:42:25 AM
Disappointing match but Thank God for Messi
Post by: Billys Boots on April 28, 2011, 09:55:32 AM
The Pepe sending off was borderline - he definitely went in high with studs showing, but it's unclear (to me anyway) whether the tackle was as bad as Alves seemed to want us to think it was.  However, in the last two clashes, Pepe was 'lucky' to stay on the field (to me he definitely should have gone early enough in the Copa Final), so it was probably karma.  The better side won; Mourinho's pragmatism may be holding that Madrid team back.

And Messi is a joy to behold. 

And Ronaldo isn't.
Post by: paco on April 28, 2011, 10:07:42 AM
For anyone saying all the big decisions favour Barcelona, have a look at last year's semi final. Mourinho had to run out of luck some time. He thrives on controversy and this is the perfect scenario for him, I just can't understand him. He complains about not having enough strikers, persuades the board to sign another in January then leaves them all on the bench  ???
Post by: nrico2006 on April 28, 2011, 10:09:19 AM

he's probably right.
The real Ronaldo in his prime or Ronaldinho in his prime could have scored that goal
Post by: johnneycool on April 28, 2011, 10:17:49 AM
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 03:23:34 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 02:19:05 AM

"

:o :o That's pretty bad, surely he'll get a big ban for that...If it was the premiership he'd probably get banned for life

if someone like Neil Warnock or Ian Holloway had said it then yes, but not Wenger, Ferguson or the likes.
Post by: Rossie11 on April 28, 2011, 10:31:40 AM
Agree Paco. The guts of half a billion worth of talent in the squad and he sets his team up to play without the ball!!!

Whilst Barca are no saints I think its unfair to judge their antics in games V Mourinho as he brings the worst out in them.
Barca have played Arsenal, Liverpool and Utd the past few years there is a totally different atmosphere.
When they have been beaten by the likes of Pool and Utd there was no complaining.

However throw Jose into the mix and you see a totally different Barca. Last night was typical of it, turning the sprinklers on him last year was another. Those are embarrassing antics but not the norm.
Antics like Mourinho last night are norm for him and he thrives on it. Win and he is the Special one.
Lose and someone else is always to blame.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 28, 2011, 11:37:53 AM
And for those in non Sky land, we get to watch the rematch on TV3.

Can't see the very funny reprise of the Giles/Brady/Dunphy show from last night.  I can't imagine the Tony/Martin show will be as funny.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 28, 2011, 12:32:20 PM
Saw very little of it and it seems that was a good thing. From the highlights etc neither team comes out of it well. Barca whinging, rolling around, thrying to get lads booked and sent off. Real totally negative in approach. Messi's brilliance at the end rose above the stench but the sending off assisted him in doing this. I don't think it was a sending off in a million year. Crazy. Mourinho takes it too far of course but a big (in my view incorrect) decision killed his team so I can understand him being livid.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 28, 2011, 01:09:27 PM
I can understand Mourinho's paranoia. When UEFA came out and called him 'the enemy of football' they clearly laid open their hatred of the man.
Post by: Rossie11 on April 28, 2011, 01:20:34 PM
QuoteI can understand Mourinho's paranoia. When UEFA came out and called him 'the enemy of football' they clearly laid open their hatred of the man.
Wonder what Anders Frisks current day job is... 
Post by: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 02:56:06 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 28, 2011, 10:09:19 AM

he's probably right.
The real Ronaldo in his prime or Ronaldinho in his prime could have scored that goal

Would agree with that.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 28, 2011, 09:42:36 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on April 28, 2011, 01:20:34 PM
QuoteI can understand Mourinho's paranoia. When UEFA came out and called him 'the enemy of football' they clearly laid open their hatred of the man.
Wonder what Anders Frisks current day job is...

Zzzzzzzzzzz. Why does no-one blame Rijkard for this? He was the one who broke the rules.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 28, 2011, 09:51:47 PM
http://www.realmadrid.com/cs/Satellite/en/1330054873516/noticia/Noticia/Television_images_show_that_Pepe_did_not_touch_Alves__leg.htm (http://www.realmadrid.com/cs/Satellite/en/1330054873516/noticia/Noticia/Television_images_show_that_Pepe_did_not_touch_Alves__leg.htm)

Alves should be embarassed as should Busquets after seeing this. However Barce continue to be painted as the media darlings.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 28, 2011, 09:54:31 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 28, 2011, 10:09:19 AM

he's probably right.
I don't think they could have, not really their style.  Someone earlier mentioned Paddy McCourt and you know, that's maybe not as outrageous a suggestion as people might make it out to be!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48RqQqj9L5I&feature=related
Post by: paco on April 28, 2011, 09:56:31 PM
I see you got that picture on the Madrid website, NT. I got the following one from Twitter, posted by a Barcelona based journalist, make your own mind up...

http://twitpic.com/4q9n3y
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 10:03:44 PM
Mourinho really does need to f**k up and take this one on the chin for once.

After the Copa del Rey, Guardiola conceded defeat graciously. Mourinho proceeds to be a terrible winner and spends the week talking about referees and he's so hard done by. Yeah, he's really hard done by with his half a billion euro squad and the extra striker he fought Valdano for but refused to play.

Let's see how Jose's claims about sendings off for his teams against Guardiola's Barcelona before last night stand up.

Busquets-Motta:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fwfZwdP66og

Dreadful decision and awful playacting by Busquets. Motta shouldn't have even given him the chance by raising his hand.

Ramos-Messi:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6BHmHIrxjE

Ramos tries to break Messi's ankle in the final seconds of injury time in a match they were losing 5-0.

Villa-Albiol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4wXsTVs-ik

Albiol, as last man, wraps his arm all round Villa's neck and brings him down in the box. If it's a penalty it's a red card. And it is a penalty.

Di María-Messi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S966zTQj3D0

Di Maria picks up a second yellow in the final seconds of the game for a cynical, professional foul.

Wise up José.
Post by: mc_grens on April 28, 2011, 10:10:05 PM
Can't we all just watch this instead...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkIWEsZ-c8c (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkIWEsZ-c8c)
Post by: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 10:14:52 PM
Whether or not there was contact the scenes of Barcelona players surrounding the referee to try and get Pepe sent off & Alves going off on a stretcher like his leg was broken only to run back on moments later was very distasteful viewing.
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 10:20:57 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 10:14:52 PM
Whether or not there was contact the scenes of Barcelona players surrounding the referee to try and get Pepe sent off & Alves going off on a stretcher like his leg was broken only to run back on moments later was very distasteful viewing.

You'll be hard pressed to find anyone who would dispute that.

I find Pepe to be distasteful viewing in general.
Post by: Minder on April 28, 2011, 10:22:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 10:20:57 PM

The thing is Pepe can actually play yet runs about like a Sunday league hatchet man.
Post by: paco on April 28, 2011, 10:25:20 PM
Those scenes are part and parcel of the game, unfortunately. Bear in mind the pressure these players are under: a massive derby, a Champion's League semi final and all the various inputs from the press (and the managers) and you can begin to see why they become so animated throughout the game. On another note, having read his post-match comments and watched this video, it seems Ronaldo isn't a happy bunny:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFe1jUMDwp8&feature=youtu.be
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 10:32:03 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 28, 2011, 10:22:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 10:20:57 PM

The thing is Pepe can actually play yet runs about like a Sunday league hatchet man.

Agreed. He's a quality player, was outstanding last week an seems to be relishing this new midfield role. Unfortunately he's like a berserker and I half expect to see him froth at the mouth during games.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 28, 2011, 10:38:03 PM
Quote from: paco on April 28, 2011, 10:25:20 PM
Those scenes are part and parcel of the game, unfortunately. Bear in mind the pressure these players are under: a massive derby, a Champion's League semi final and all the various inputs from the press (and the managers) and you can begin to see why they become so animated throughout the game. On another note, having read his post-match comments and watched this video, it seems Ronaldo isn't a happy bunny:

f**k him the stuid eejit. When he had team mates who worked their arses off to cover for him he didn't appreciate them and went of to follow his "dream". Good luck to him.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 10:41:35 PM
Same old Ronaldo then

(http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/6136/beztytuuprv.png)
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 10:55:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 28, 2011, 10:38:03 PM

f**k him the stuid eejit. When he had team mates who worked their arses off to cover for him he didn't appreciate them and went of to follow his "dream". Good luck to him.

He like so many before him probably realizes now that when you leave Man United the only way is down!!

Unless maybe your pique
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 11:02:30 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2011, 10:41:35 PM
Same old Ronaldo then

(http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/6136/beztytuuprv.png)

Is that real?!

No puns please!  :)
Post by: gawa316 on April 28, 2011, 11:07:48 PM
Pepe is a complete nutjob. I base my judgement on this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YazrFjN_gYU&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YazrFjN_gYU&feature=related)
Post by: oakleafgael on April 28, 2011, 11:08:15 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 10:55:16 PM

He like so many before him probably realizes now that when you leave Man United the only way is down!!

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?
Post by: ross4life on April 28, 2011, 11:10:35 PM
The where's wally Ronaldo! very good  :D
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:12:08 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on April 28, 2011, 11:08:15 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What
Post by: Main Street on April 28, 2011, 11:17:26 PM
FORLAN
Post by: oakleafgael on April 28, 2011, 11:19:35 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:12:08 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What

Left United and it didnt work out to badly for him.
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:30:14 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on April 28, 2011, 11:19:35 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What

:D :D What did he win?
Post by: Puckoon on April 28, 2011, 11:37:16 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 28, 2011, 11:07:48 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YazrFjN_gYU&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YazrFjN_gYU&feature=related)

That blew my mind when I first saw it. Was wondering how long before it made an appearance in this discussion.
Post by: oakleafgael on April 28, 2011, 11:38:28 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:30:14 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What

Im not sure but I do know he was the top scorer in Europe last year.
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:41:38 PM
He as a player improved but he didn't go to a better team/club
Post by: ross4life on April 28, 2011, 11:45:27 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What

Won the Europa league last season have you forgotten how he made the scousers cry for the 2nd time?

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2010/4/29/1272578356816/Diego-Forlan-celebrates-s-001.jpg)
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 11:46:30 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What

Two European Golden Boots, the 2010 World Cup Golden Boots and the respect of all those who ridiculed him during his time at United.

Oh right, you mean in terms of titles, yes? One UEFA Cup. How delightfully naive of you to judge a player so. David May won two leagues, two FA cups and a Champions League with United. Wonderful player  ::) ::) ::)
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:49:50 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 11:46:30 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What

Two European Golden Boots, the 2010 World Cup Golden Boots and the respect of all those who ridiculed him during his time at United.

Oh right, you mean in terms of titles, yes? One UEFA Cup. How delightfully naive of you to judge a player so. David May won two leagues, two FA cups and a Champions League with United. Wonderful player  ::) ::) ::)

:D :D Following me like a little bitch again i see

Like i said above..Did he move to a bigger club? better team?
Post by: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:54:04 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 28, 2011, 11:37:16 PM

That blew my mind when I first saw it. Was wondering how long before it made an appearance in this discussion.

That's crazy..How long did he get banned for that?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 28, 2011, 11:54:39 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What

Hey i met David May, he was coming out of the Royal (children's) visiting and was heading round to the Red Devil!! had a few pints with him and a stand up guy, Played a lot of big games for United and was as good as the other bit part players
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 11:56:03 PM
Yes, I'm following you like a little bitch, that's it. I haven't been active on this thread at all.

Does it matter what club he moved to?  He became a vastly superior footballer.
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 11:57:38 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:54:04 PM

Is this the first time you've seen it? This was major football news at the time. You really should try to look beyond Old Trafford a bit more often.

Miaow.
Post by: new devil on April 29, 2011, 12:02:57 AM
Relax Gallsman I'm only messing with ya

Yes he without doubt became a much better player...But my original  point was that not many players leave United and go to a better club/team
Post by: new devil on April 29, 2011, 12:05:19 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 28, 2011, 11:57:38 PM
Quote from: new devil on April 28, 2011, 11:54:04 PM

Is this the first time you've seen it? This was major football news at the time. You really should try to look beyond Old Trafford a bit more often.

Miaow.

No I've saw it before just can't remember how long a ban he got...  :D Believe me i spend most of my time watching football that's not played at old Trafford
Post by: ross4life on April 29, 2011, 12:12:34 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 28, 2011, 11:54:39 PM

Unless maybe your pique

Forlan?

??? What

Hey i met David May, he was coming out of the Royal (children's) visiting and was heading round to the Red Devil!! had a few pints with him and a stand up guy, Played a lot of big games for United and was as good as the other bit part players

Same here, we had David May over for our Man united Supporters club function a few years ago, sound guy & was a solid professional.

As for Forlan, Fergie knew his talent when he signed him.. it just didn't work out for him at United & i don't think he was ridiculed as he was a big fan favourite at OT.
Post by: paco on May 02, 2011, 07:40:52 PM
Just after reading that Eric Abidal has been included in the squad for tomorrow night's game. Remarkable given what he has come through in recent months and just how quickly he has returned.
Post by: ross4life on May 02, 2011, 08:11:24 PM
Good to hear Abidal made a speedy recovery, I'm just after reading the Ref for tomoro's game (Frank De Bleeckere) is the same guy that was in charge of the Barca v Inter game last year...Jose won't like that  :D

(http://www.usdailysports.com/upload/images/small_1882258702.gif)
Post by: gallsman on May 02, 2011, 11:23:07 PM
Great news about Abidal.

Anyone else watched the videos of Busquets allegedly calling Marcelo "mono, mono". While Busquets is a despicable f**k and I certainly wouldn't put it past him, in the video circulated, the words coming out of his mouth clearly aren't "mono, mono".
Post by: paco on May 03, 2011, 09:16:05 AM
I haven't seen the video myself, anyone got a link? It seems strange that Guardiola hasn't came out and denied that he said it though, which gives the impression that Busquets may have actually said it.
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 09:19:02 AM
Quote from: paco on May 03, 2011, 09:16:05 AM
I haven't seen the video myself, anyone got a link? It seems strange that Guardiola hasn't came out and denied that he said it though, which gives the impression that Busquets may have actually said it.

You'll find it on youtube no bother.

Guardiola's words were very ambiguous - he said something along the lines that players do stuff they regret and are not proud of. I think there's a signifcant likelihood it happened, but trying to lip read the video (in which he obviously tries to shield his mouth) it doesn't look like he's saying "mono mono". Marcelo also has no particular reaction.
Post by: paco on May 03, 2011, 09:28:50 AM
I watched a few there. I must say, it's very difficult to know exactly what Busquets says so I'll leave it at that. I agree with you about Marcelo's reaction, Gallsman, surely if he did say it he would have reacted angrily at the time or at least afterwards. I could be wrong, but I don't think he's said anything about it in any interviews since? Was it Karanka who brought up these accusations in the first place?
Post by: Puckoon on May 03, 2011, 03:20:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 02, 2011, 11:23:07 PM
Great news about Abidal.

Anyone else watched the videos of Busquets allegedly calling Marcelo "mono, mono". While Busquets is a despicable f**k and I certainly wouldn't put it past him, in the video circulated, the words coming out of his mouth clearly aren't "mono, mono".

Whats the reference of Mono? Maybe he was trying to call him Bono and had a hair lip moment.
Post by: Up The Middle on May 03, 2011, 05:22:46 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 03, 2011, 03:20:58 PM
Great news about Abidal.

Whats the reference of Mono? Maybe he was trying to call him Bono and had a hair lip moment.
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 06:05:11 PM
Great news about Abidal.

Mono is also the adjective for Cute/good looking maybe Busquets swings that way  ;)
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 06:10:15 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 06:05:11 PM
Great news about Abidal.

Mono is also the adjective for Cute/good looking maybe Busquets swings that way  ;)

The whole thing is strange:

Guardiola not outright denying it.

Marcelo not reacting in any outraged manner.

Real not reporting it initially.

Real actually reporting it at all given the torrents of racial abuse raining down on Dani Alves. Again.

Real releasing a video of proof when, in reality, Busquets could be saying any number of things. "Puta" could just as easily have come out of his mouth.
Post by: paco on May 03, 2011, 06:46:11 PM
Barcelona:  Valdes, Alves, Mascherano, Pique, Puyol, Busquets, Xavi, Iniesta, Pedro, Messi, Villa

Real Madrid: Casillas, Arbeloa, Carvalho, Albiol, Marcelo, L. Diarra, Alonso, Kaka, Di Maria, Ronaldo, Higuain
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 07:46:13 PM
Hopefully it's a good clean game of football this time.
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 07:55:26 PM
"Disabled due to copyright claim" is killing me and it's not on terrestrial German TV - anyone got any good links?
Post by: Minder on May 03, 2011, 08:10:20 PM
What players are a yellow away from missing final?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 08:19:36 PM
None from Barcelona & that's all we need to know.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 03, 2011, 08:22:37 PM
Messi v Casillas at the moment.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 08:27:34 PM
I can imagine once Barca score the floodgates will open.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 03, 2011, 08:51:04 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 07:55:26 PM
"Disabled due to copyright claim" is killing me and it's not on terrestrial German TV - anyone got any good links?

http://www.domacifilmovi.us/
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 08:52:45 PM
It's a rainy night in sunny Spain.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 03, 2011, 08:54:10 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 08:27:34 PM
I can imagine once Barca score the floodgates will open.

It rains any more then the flood will certainly happen

Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 03, 2011, 08:55:51 PM
Bad decision there, should have been allowed.

Trevor Welch, would somebody shoot him,........or me, ........or both of us. He clearly doesn't have a f**king clue who half the Madrid team are, he's callin anyone on the right wing arbeloa and anyone in the middle Ronaldo, he really is a twat, I didn't think he could annoy me more than in a united match but he is managing it tonite
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 09:01:11 PM
Madrid were playing their best football until that break away goal.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 09:10:09 PM
1-1 deserved that for 2nd half performance alone.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 03, 2011, 09:30:49 PM
I hope Man Utd hammer Barcelona, some of their diving especially Mascharano is embarrassing to watch!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 03, 2011, 09:31:25 PM
Mascherano would have hurt himself more with the throwing himself about after not being touched by Diarra (who has been brilliant)
Post by: The Worker on May 03, 2011, 09:32:27 PM
How have Real still 11 men on the field?!!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 03, 2011, 09:33:34 PM
Quote from: The Worker on May 03, 2011, 09:32:27 PM
How have Real still 10 men on the field?!!

have they not 11
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 09:33:49 PM
Mourinho tactics in the 1st leg are the deciding factor i feel.
Post by: The Worker on May 03, 2011, 09:37:01 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 03, 2011, 09:33:34 PM

have they not 11

11 i mean!

great to see abidal back
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 03, 2011, 09:38:22 PM
Quote from: The Worker on May 03, 2011, 09:37:01 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 03, 2011, 09:33:34 PM

have they not 11

11 i mean!

great to see abidal back

a more fussy ref could have sent 3 real men off no bother, including Carvalho twice. A dirty fecker if ever there was one
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 09:40:26 PM
What is Adebayor's role in this Madrid team other than to run about and kick as many people as he can?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 09:41:07 PM
Yeah a fussy ref however would have been very harsh if any player got sent off tonight! too much rolling around crying like babies for my liking.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 03, 2011, 09:51:37 PM
half of Mourinho's gameplan worked, a 1-1 draw in the Nou Camp. Although a 0-0 at home didnt pan out as well as he liked
Post by: paco on May 03, 2011, 10:22:25 PM
I'm probably the only one who thinks the RM goal was rightly disallowed. Ronaldo caught Mascherano as he fell over, I know it was an accident, but if the roles were reversed and the defender had somehow caught the attacker like this, it would have been a foul and (depending on whether it was the last man or not) a red card.
Post by: oakleafgael on May 03, 2011, 10:25:01 PM
Quote from: paco on May 03, 2011, 10:22:25 PM
I'm probably the only one who thinks the RM goal was rightly disallowed. Ronaldo caught Mascherano as he fell over, I know it was an accident, but if the roles were reversed and the defender had somehow caught the attacker like this, it would have been a foul and (depending on whether it was the last man or not) a red card.

The only reason Ronaldo caught the diving Argie was due to the foul on him by the centre half which caused him to fall. Goal should have stood. Barcelona are great to watch when they have the ball but the diving would soon sicken you.
Post by: paco on May 03, 2011, 10:30:05 PM
I agree with you on the diving. But, in my opinion, there was no diving on that occasion from Mascherano. Sometimes you would think this Barcelona team were the first team that has ever dived, cheated or broken the rules of football in any way.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2011, 10:33:54 PM
Mascherano made the foul & he was one of the worst at the diving, for the sake of the final hopefully he's not picked.
Post by: oakleafgael on May 03, 2011, 10:39:14 PM
Quote from: paco on May 03, 2011, 10:30:05 PM
I agree with you on the diving. But, in my opinion, there was no diving on that occasion from Mascherano. Sometimes you would think this Barcelona team were the first team that has ever dived, cheated or broken the rules of football in any way.

He dived surely. The contact was enough to put him to ground but the swan lake effort just to make sure was obvious. What annoys me in particular with the Barcelona cheating is that its not as if they are a Porto and need to do it as part of their game to win. They should be remembered as one of the best footballing teams of all time but the theatrics will also stick in the memory. All the top teams have a diver or two but the running to the ref at every turn round is something that they have made their own recently.
Post by: paco on May 03, 2011, 10:42:45 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on May 03, 2011, 10:39:14 PM

He dived surely. The contact was enough to put him to ground but the swan lake effort just to make sure was obvious. What annoys me in particular with the Barcelona cheating is that its not as if they are a Porto and need to do it as part of their game to win. They should be remembered as one of the best footballing teams of all time but the theatrics will also stick in the memory. All the top teams have a diver or two but the running to the ref at every turn round is something that they have made their own recently.

How can it be a dive if, as you rightly claim, the contact was enough to put him to the ground? Granted, his response was exaggerated (and it wasn't the only occasion, he was definitely the worst for theatrics on the night), but it was still a foul.
Post by: new devil on May 03, 2011, 10:52:37 PM
Barc are a joke, A crowd of cheaters and divers.... Hopefully whoever comes out of the other semi win it for the sake of football!!
Post by: oakleafgael on May 03, 2011, 10:54:34 PM
Quote from: paco on May 03, 2011, 10:42:45 PM

How can it be a dive if, as you rightly claim, the contact was enough to put him to the ground? Granted, his response was exaggerated (and it wasn't the only occasion, he was definitely the worst for theatrics on the night), but it was still a foul.

Call it an exaggeration if that makes you happier. Still cheating though.
Post by: oakleafgael on May 03, 2011, 10:57:35 PM
Quote from: new devil on May 03, 2011, 10:52:37 PM
Barc are a joke, A crowd of cheaters and divers.... Hopefully whoever comes out of the other semi win it for the sake of football!!

A now dont be coming all holier than though. A team with Rooney, Nani, Berbatov shouldnt be trying to take the high morale ground.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 03, 2011, 10:58:23 PM
Quote from: paco on May 03, 2011, 10:42:45 PM

It was not a foul, he was barely touched and was only touched because the defender knocked over Ronaldo in the first place.

Mascherano was a joke and never did this when in the EPL. They must do this when they play for Barca
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 11:01:56 PM
Barcelona are categorically the only team in the world who have divers.

They are also the only team in the world who hound referees.

They don't put up with that sort of thing in the Premiership. It's for real men.
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 11:12:41 PM
http://www.marca.com/2011/05/03/futbol/liga_campeones/1304455666.html

For any Spanish speakers (readers) - Marca being objective???

Essentailly says Barca were too good, they were no conspiracies, nothing to do with refs, UEFA or children's charities.

Digs thrown very obviously at Mourinho - saying his players "died on their feet" while he sat in his hotel.

The Copa del Rey might not save him.
Post by: Orangemac on May 03, 2011, 11:36:29 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 11:12:41 PM

Essentailly says Barca were too good, they were no conspiracies, nothing to do with refs, UEFA or children's charities.

Digs thrown very obviously at Mourinho - saying his players "died on their feet" while he sat in his hotel.

Mournho's star has definitely fallen over the past week or so. Despite all his success the man is lacking in class. You would imagine United would not tolerate his style of football and have ruled him out of the running to succeed Fergie.
Post by: Mike Tyson on May 03, 2011, 11:37:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 11:01:56 PM

They put up with that sort of thing in the Premiership. It's for real men.

No one is saying that. The point is they shouldn't have to dive as they are one of, if not the greatest team ever. For example Busquets will be remembered by most for his diving and play acting, when he should be remembered for his ability on the pitch.
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 11:41:00 PM
Quote from: Mike Tyson on May 03, 2011, 11:37:48 PM

No one is saying that. The point is they shouldn't have to dive as they are one of, if not the greatest team ever. For example Busquets will be remembered by most for his diving and play acting, when he should be remembered for his ability on the pitch.

The point is that particular posters on here who have allegiances to a particular Premier League club would have you believe their team is full of good, honest, hard working English lads who would never dream of such antics.
Post by: ross4life on May 03, 2011, 11:42:48 PM
Tonights game was improvement in terms of diving, pretending to be injured & moaning to officials, thought ref showed alot of common sense. Without doubt over the two the legs the best team made the final.

That was like five El Classico games we have seen this season..but how many of them were actually classic games?

Post by: ross4life on May 03, 2011, 11:48:52 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on May 03, 2011, 11:36:29 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 11:12:41 PM

Mournho's star has definitely fallen over the past week or so. Despite all his success the man is lacking in class. You would imagine United would not tolerate his style of football and have ruled him out of the running to succeed Fergie.

The ridiculous wage demands is another reason why he won't be manager at Man United, only Man City or Chelsea could afford him in the PL.
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 11:52:42 PM
As for the disallowed goal - I thought it should have stood on first viewing. Then I considered the fact that I don't actually know the rules.

As I see it:

a) Ronaldo was fouled (and made the most of it) and the referee played the advantage.

b) That foul that created the advantage caused Ronaldo to knock into Mascherano (who clearly made the most of it) removing Barca's only chance of attempting a shot on goal.

Now, does anyone actually know the rule? An accidental foul is still a foul. The advantage rule isn't like rugby where the first team sinned against gets the ball.
Post by: David McKeown on May 04, 2011, 09:13:38 AM
I havent refereed in about 5 years but through discussions with referees in the league I'm involved in and the IFA my understanding of the advantage as it supposed to be interpreted is, once advantage is given that is it.  If for example advantage is signalled and you immediately fall over then the play shouldnt be brought back for the foul.  The advantage is supposed to be judged as the team that is fouled having an immediate advantage over what the free would give them, therefore advantage should very rarely be played in the box. Also the approach of allowing a few seconds to see if an advantage acrues is also technically bad refereeing.

Of course thats not always implemented for the 'good of the game' and to allow the game flow.  As a result you could probably argue all ways on the Real goal for it standing (immediate advantage of ball going through) and for it being a Barca free kick (subsequent tangle of legs with Mascherano) and of course I think you could argue for a Real free kick but that shouldnt been given if an immediate advantage was played.

That line of reasoning is obviously a problem though because say the situation had been the other way round and your team have the ball in their own box about launch an attack (against my team thats very out of position) and I push you as you lay the ball back to your keeper and you as a result knock over my team mate as hes going to try and tackle your keeper, is that a penalty?  My interpretation of the rule had I been refereeing would have been the goal should have stood, Mascherano was only fouled because of the foul on Ronaldo by Pique, Barca shouldnt have benefited from this but because of the current rule they did.

All that said we recently sent a rules query to the IFA regarding an interesting incident involving penalty in an under 10's shootout and we were refereed onto the English FA because the IFA didnt know the answer so that could be completely wrong.
Post by: Mentalman on May 04, 2011, 09:53:39 AM
Quote from: ross4life on May 03, 2011, 11:42:48 PM
That was like five El Classico games we have seen this season..but how many of them were actually classic games?

None? The first one was the only where both teams tried to play open football, and Real took a tonking. The last 4 matches have been wars of attrition. Last night Real hit the Barca players just as hard as they had last week but the reaction of the players seemed to be be more muted, getting up almost immediately (with a few notable execptions e.g. Mascherano), but balloons like Adebayor and Marcelo could still have been off the park, I thought the ref did his best to ensure the game ended with 22 players still on the pitch. Madrid did play a bit more football at times than the previous 3 games. Have to admit I am a bit in awe of Barca, or maybe Messi in particular, although I think they are looking more jaded since Xmas and would give ManU a good chance of turning them over in Wembley. As for Real, from Mourinho's point of view over 4 games Barca were one goal better than them and that, and their preception that they were wronged, will produce a siege mentality - you can already see that in his players, particularly the likes of Alonso who I never recall being so vocal or visibly irritated as he was last night against the referee.
Post by: Bingo on May 04, 2011, 10:08:45 AM
My theory on Barca is that they see other teams been set uo to stop them through physicality, tough tackled and cynical play. Their response to this is that, we'll response in kind and ensure you pick up bookings, red cards, frees etc etc and equally get under your skin as you want to get under ours.

So in games like we've had over last few weeks, it all boils over and gets ridiculas at times. I don't think Barca have been as bad in the league as they were v RM in terms of the carry on. You could nearly say its an another string in their bow, albeit an unpleasant one. But when it comes to Madrid its win at all costs. I don't think we'll see a repeat or close to it in the final.
Post by: NP 76 on May 04, 2011, 10:10:58 AM
You dont have to watch the champions league to see diving this is a common occurence through out all leagues and all age levels . The slightest touch is made to look like thet have been shot it obvivously is being coached into the games by either watching it on a regular basis or people thinking this is acceptable behaviour
Post by: Billys Boots on May 04, 2011, 12:53:49 PM
QuoteMy theory on Barca is that they see other teams been set uo to stop them through physicality, tough tackled and cynical play. Their response to this is that, we'll response in kind and ensure you pick up bookings, red cards, frees etc etc and equally get under your skin as you want to get under ours.

I'd be inclined to agree; it's nothing more sinister than managers'/coaches' responses to their players not being adequately 'protected' from cynicism by referees.  It's unfortunate, but no more despicable than targeted fouling or sledging.  And it's as prevalent in Gaelic Football as it is in Soccer.  And don't get me started about gentlemanly Rugby - a game where the victors are the best cheats!
Post by: mrsandman on May 04, 2011, 01:58:26 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 11:41:00 PM
Quote from: Mike Tyson on May 03, 2011, 11:37:48 PM

The point is that particular posters on here who have allegiances to a particular Premier League club would have you believe their team is full of good, honest, hard working English lads who would never dream of such antics.

Absolute sh*te, in terms of cynicism and simulation the spanish league is number one, thats not to say that the english league isnt full of the same but not even anywhere near the same amount. The proof was on the news this morning, where last nights match set a new high in fouls in one game.  It was a joke to watch, if as you say, supporters of EPL teams would have u believe that there team does not partake in such antics, then Real, Barca etc would have you believe that we are actually watchin basketball where contact results in a free every single time.

In most cases a free comes from the intention rather than the actual contact, and if mascherano and the likes were as hurt as they let on they wouldnt be up walking around again within 30 seconds.
Basically what im trying to say here is that foreign teams focus much more on winning frees and gettin the opposition booked/sent off for next to nothing e.g pepe's disgusting tackle on dani alves, i think alves escaped with a scratch down the side of his boot if there even was contact!
Messi is no angel either as most commentators would have you believe!
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2011, 03:03:17 PM
Two after match quotes from Cristiano Ronaldo

"Javier Mascherano wasn't like this at Liverpool," added the former Manchester United playmaker.
"He must have learned all these cheating tricks at Barcelona."

"Barcelona are a difficult team to beat because they get outside help. Next year they should give the cup directly to them."
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 04, 2011, 03:09:54 PM
QuoteAnd don't get me started about gentlemanly Rugby - a game where the victors are the best cheats!

Ah Billy rugby is about pushing the referee's interpretation of the law but the class shown by Toulouse in defeat where they praised the ref and Leinster is above and beyond anything you will find in professional soccer.
Post by: paco on May 04, 2011, 03:19:42 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 04, 2011, 03:03:17 PM
Two after match quotes from Cristiano Ronaldo

"Javier Mascherano wasn't like this at Liverpool," added the former Manchester United playmaker.
"He must have learned all these cheating tricks at Barcelona."

"Barcelona are a difficult team to beat because they get outside help. Next year they should give the cup directly to them."

Hard to believe he's playing for a team managed by Mourinho when he comes out with stuff like that.  ::)
Post by: Billys Boots on May 04, 2011, 04:07:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 04, 2011, 03:09:54 PM
QuoteAnd don't get me started about gentlemanly Rugby - a game where the victors are the best cheats!

Ah Billy rugby is about pushing the referee's interpretation of the law but the class shown by Toulouse in defeat where they praised the ref and Leinster is above and beyond anything you will find in professional soccer.

I apologise unreservedly Dinny, let me have another go please.

And don't get me started about gentlemanly Rugby - a game where the victors are the best cheats, the referees don't understand the rules and there appears to be a secondary competition to be the most gracious losers. 
Post by: thebigfella on May 04, 2011, 04:12:11 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 04, 2011, 04:07:47 PM

I apologise unreservedly Dinny, let me have another go please.

And don't get me started about gentlemanly Rugby - a game where the victors are the best cheats, the referees don't understand the rules and there appears to be a secondary competition to be the most gracious losers.

Yep that about sums it up  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 04, 2011, 05:03:17 PM

I remember when Gaelic Football used to be like that but then they introduced intesive training and elite referees and the consistency throughout a game went.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 04, 2011, 05:41:07 PM
QuoteAnd don't get me started about gentlemanly Rugby - a game where the victors are the best cheats, the referees don't understand the rules and there appears to be a secondary competition to be the most gracious losers. 

There are no rules in rugby just laws. Don't mistaken gamesmanship for cheating, I have no time for any sporting comparison in this context but if one compared  the antics in the UCL semi-finals to the HEC semis there is really only one winner. Amazing, been a gracious loser is now something to be mocked  ::)
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2011, 05:54:22 PM
Rumour has it United will start with a rookie keeper, Evans,Gibson, half fit fletcher & a crocked Michael Owen. I know they were poor last week but surely Schalke a team that scored 5 goals in Milan have a chance to turn the tables tonight?

Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 04, 2011, 05:57:08 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 04, 2011, 05:41:07 PM
QuoteAnd don't get me started about gentlemanly Rugby - a game where the victors are the best cheats, the referees don't understand the rules and there appears to be a secondary competition to be the most gracious losers. 

There are no rules in rugby just laws. Don't mistaken gamesmanship for cheating, I have no time for any sporting comparison in this context but if one compared  the antics in the UCL semi-finals to the HEC semis there is really only one winner. Amazing, been a gracious loser is now something to be mocked  ::)

It was probably the most depressing pair of games I remember, and my 'beloved' José played his part in doing so. He has done his image damage through this I'd suggest. He'd have a bit of a point re UEFA, Barca and questionable decisions, but it's all lost among the antics!
Post by: new devil on May 04, 2011, 06:32:59 PM
After seeing the united team Schalke at 20/1 to qualify for the final isn't a bad bet
Post by: gallsman on May 04, 2011, 06:42:12 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 04, 2011, 05:57:08 PM

It was probably the most depressing pair of games I remember, and my 'beloved' José played his part in doing so. He has done his image damage through this I'd suggest. He'd have a bit of a point re UEFA, Barca and questionable decisions, but it's all lost among the antics!

Mourinho hasn't done his image "damage", he's destroyed it altogether. Bringing Unicef into it??
Post by: johnneycool on May 05, 2011, 10:40:33 AM
Quote from: new devil on May 04, 2011, 06:32:59 PM
After seeing the united team Schalke at 20/1 to qualify for the final isn't a bad bet

how did such a shit team like Schalke get to the semi finals?

God awful stuff
Post by: Billys Boots on May 05, 2011, 01:11:37 PM

Alright, I'll play along.

Why are laws different to rules, in this context?

Why is gamesmanship better than cheating, ever?

Why is this pretend graciousness different to GAA managers insisting that they're the underdogs?
Post by: AZOffaly on May 05, 2011, 01:57:57 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 05, 2011, 01:11:37 PM

Alright, I'll play along.

Why are laws different to rules, in this context?

Why is gamesmanship better than cheating, ever?

Why is this pretend graciousness different to GAA managers insisting that they're the underdogs?

Dinny can field the others, but the main difference is the GAA managers insist they are underdogs *before* the game, while Toulouse were gracious losers *after* the game.

One is a (silly) ploy to try and take pressure off his team, the other is a genuine compliment to the winners when there's nothing to be gained from it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 05, 2011, 02:29:21 PM
Laws in rugby provide a framework for the game, rules imho tend to be more black and white and not open to interpretation. To say a referee does not know the laws (rules) is wrong, you will find he has his own interpration of many laws and like in any sport on the field of play he is right even when wrong. Take for example, a ruck, in a ruck you can only enter the ruck through 'A Gate', now this gate doesn't exist physically, as a rule of thumb it's considered the width of the tackled persons body position but only the referee can for definite say what this is - some referees allow a wide gate some a narrow. It's up to the players to figure out if the referee is allowing a wider gate (hence screams he's in from the side as the referee waves play on) or a narrow gate (hence screams he came from behind ref, he was on-side as the referee indicates a penalty). 

Gamesmanship is pushing the law/rule to the limit to gain advantage (example holding on the tackled player as long as possible before releasing him) - cheating is deliberatly breaking the laws to gain advantage (best example Harlequins cutting a player to manufacture a blood injury).

Rugby is no bastion of virtue (and I know certain newspapers like to hold it up as an example) but in modern professional sports it still has an ethos of fair play and when the game finishes that is generally the end of it. Somehow this sense of fair play seems to offend you and if you believe it is no different to the higher levels of soccer well then that is your opinion but not one I could agree with.

Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2011, 02:37:15 PM
How did a Champions league Semi-Finals thread turn into a Rugby debate?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 05, 2011, 03:38:54 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 05, 2011, 02:37:15 PM
How did a Champions league Semi-Finals thread turn into a Rugby debate?

Because the semi finals were THAT good!