GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Brick Tamlin on April 06, 2011, 04:52:37 PM

Title: Hogan Cup Final 2011 - St Colmans College, Newry (Down) v St Jarlaths, Tuam, (Ga
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 06, 2011, 04:52:37 PM
Just thought this should deserve a thread of its own.
Whats the general thoughts on the two teams, players to watch, form coming into the final etc.

From a Colmans perspective its great to be back in the Hogan final again, with alot of last years panel available.
Title: Re: Hogan Cup Final 2011 - St Colmans College, Newry (Down) v St Jarlaths, Tuam, (Ga
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 06, 2011, 04:56:43 PM
Can't see past a College victory. Two of the traditional heavyweights but I expect St Colman's to win with a few to spare, such has been their ability to win games despite a slight tendancy to switch off for long periods.

Who are the main men for St Jarlath's?
Title: Re: Hogan Cup Final 2011 - St Colmans College, Newry (Down) v St Jarlaths, Tuam, (Ga
Post by: ross4life on April 06, 2011, 05:16:55 PM
You could get rid of the College bit & have room for Galway  ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 06, 2011, 05:25:04 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on April 06, 2011, 04:56:43 PM
Can't see past a College victory. Two of the traditional heavyweights but I expect St Colman's to win with a few to spare, such has been their ability to win games despite a slight tendancy to switch off for long periods.

Who are the main men for St Jarlath's?

I think it's a pretty young Jarlath's team who might be more ready to win the Hogan by next year especially going against a Colman's team with many of last year's side back. Jarlath's still won Connacht fairly handily though and came through a tough game against Coláiste Chríost Rí. Young Shane Walsh is meant to be an absolutely fantastic talent I've heard. Think he's pretty much been man of the match in nearly all their games this year and had been kicking scores from all angles and distances.

You would have to make Colman's favourites on experience alone but Jarlath's do have a winning tradition ingrained into them so you could not count them out entirely.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 06, 2011, 05:25:10 PM
I believe that the main man for St Jarlath's is their wing forward Shane Walsh. But generally there is little optimism from the forums in Galway that they can win. If the College play to their standard then it will be a victory. But they have to play to that standard. We have all seen teams come out weaker on paper and by sheer determination fight for their victory. Nothing can be taken for granted.
Post by: NP 76 on April 06, 2011, 07:24:57 PM
Walsh is reported as the next big thing in Galway both feeted class act Sean Armstrongs brother plays mid field . Ian Burke playmaker at chf . There is two Varley twins and strong through the middle chb is only 16 . Ray Silke has 2 sons on team so a good spread of talent for a very young team alot of these lads are only 16 or 17 as galway bay pointed out  this team wont be easily beaten in a final especially . An institution of football
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on April 06, 2011, 09:23:22 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on April 06, 2011, 07:24:57 PM
Walsh is reported as the next big thing in Galway both feeted class act Sean Armstrongs brother plays mid field . Ian Burke playmaker at chf . There is two Varley twins and strong through the middle chb is only 16 . Ray Silke has 2 sons on team so a good spread of talent for a very young team alot of these lads are only 16 or 17 as galway bay pointed out  this team wont be easily beaten in a final especially . An institution of football
That will come as a bit of a surprise to Ray!   

Post by: snoopdog on April 06, 2011, 10:30:21 PM
Best of luck to St Colmans on saturday. Hope we can do back to back hogans.
Anyone know what price is it in to croker on sat
Post by: randomtask on April 06, 2011, 11:05:15 PM
colamans -2 can be got at evens, fantastic bet.

Post by: NP 76 on April 06, 2011, 11:10:51 PM
supposed to be 20 euro in snoop from what i have heard
Post by: Hallowed_Hands on April 06, 2011, 11:59:40 PM
Heres hoping for a SJC win. How I miss those days in the College with first round of championship coming up and everyone chomping at the bit in training! What I wouldn't give to go back and have another bite of the Hogan cherry. I hope these young lads know who and what they are representing. The colours may have changed slightly, the Torch may be gone from the crest, but they still represent generations and generations of champions. Go make a name for yourselves, I hope from the bottom of my heart that the Tuam boys do it!

Just in case they need any extra motivation; Have a look-see at what young Mr. Mooney has to say about the rest of the challengers to their title! http://vimeo.com/21165985 (http://vimeo.com/21165985)

Best of luck men.
Post by: lfdown2 on April 07, 2011, 01:10:17 AM
any of ye know if you would be able to watch TG4 live overseas on Saturday?

Cheers,
Post by: redandblack4ever on April 07, 2011, 01:38:59 AM
I'm certainly going to try to get TG4 on my computer to see the Hogan Final. I'm in Chicago and I got the Final last year, so I'm definitely going to give it try Saturday morning. It's on here at 7:45am. GO BLUE ARMY!!

Mrs. redandblack4ever
Post by: PAULD123 on April 07, 2011, 08:47:50 AM
Quote from: Hallowed_Hands on April 06, 2011, 11:59:40 PM
...Just in case they need any extra motivation; Have a look-see at what young Mr. Mooney has to say about the rest of the challengers to their title! http://vimeo.com/21165985 (http://vimeo.com/21165985)

There is nothing wrong with what he says, it is said moments after coming through victorious over a tough opponent. It is clearly said as a mark of respect to Dungannon and not a slight on St Jarlath's, who he didn't even know they would be facing. It is obviously an issue of praise to Dungannon where he is effectively saying that they are so good it is hard to imagine anyone being better, he is just giving Dungannon credit. Caolan was in a moment of victory and had that natural feeling of invincibility that comes with winning against such a good team as Dungannon.

You are taking it totally out of context and you really should know better. If he had made the comments this week then fair enough, but I am sure this week he would be saying that he recognises that it will be a tough test and they will need to be at their best to win.
Post by: The Worker on April 07, 2011, 09:50:47 AM
is st colmans not in armagh?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 07, 2011, 10:11:25 AM
Lets not go there again, its a Down school but has been a nursery for some excellent Armagh & Down footballers through the years. No hijacking the thread or going off topic. Lets not have any Armagh-Down arguments in here.

If Colmans dont play to their potential they will lose i think, they need to play consistently and when they have their purple patch they will need to make it count.
Post by: Hallowed_Hands on April 07, 2011, 11:08:19 AM
Pauld relax... I really should know better and I really do. Nothing like a touch of controversy and argument in the lead up to a big game  ;)
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 07, 2011, 08:47:50 AM
...Just in case they need any extra motivation; Have a look-see at what young Mr. Mooney has to say about the rest of the challengers to their title! http://vimeo.com/21165985 (http://vimeo.com/21165985)

There is nothing wrong with what he says, it is said moments after coming through victorious over a tough opponent. It is clearly said as a mark of respect to Dungannon and not a slight on St Jarlath's, who he didn't even know they would be facing. It is obviously an issue of praise to Dungannon where he is effectively saying that they are so good it is hard to imagine anyone being better, he is just giving Dungannon credit. Caolan was in a moment of victory and had that natural feeling of invincibility that comes with winning against such a good team as Dungannon.

You are taking it totally out of context and you really should know better. If he had made the comments this week then fair enough, but I am sure this week he would be saying that he recognises that it will be a tough test and they will need to be at their best to win.

Pauld relax... I really should know better and I really do. Nothing like a touch of controversy and argument in the lead up to a big game  ;)
Post by: PAULD123 on April 07, 2011, 12:09:22 PM
Quote from: The Worker on April 07, 2011, 09:50:47 AM
is st colmans not in armagh?

From the school website: (http://www.stcolmans.org.uk/contactus/index.asp)

Violet Hill
46 Armagh Road
Newry
Co. Down
BT35 6PP
Northern Ireland
Post by: PAULD123 on April 07, 2011, 12:11:21 PM
Quote from: Hallowed_Hands on April 07, 2011, 11:08:19 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 07, 2011, 08:47:50 AM

Good enough, I like a bit of a wind up myself, just have a look at some of the Armagh forums.
Post by: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 12:20:07 PM
Does anyone remember the 1993 Hogan Cup Final between these two colleges? Played in Longford, i was at it because there was a couple of lads from Letterkenny playing for Jarlaths. It was the first time i saw Michael Donnellan and Padraic Joyce playing. Donnellan got a great goal after half time to put Jarlaths 4 up but a wonder goal from Diarmuid Marsden late on won it for Colmans. A lad called Mark Rowland i think was captain and MOTM for Colman's.
Post by: armaghniac on April 07, 2011, 12:22:33 PM
QuoteViolet Hill
46 Armagh Road
Newry
Co. Down
BT35 6PP
Northern Ireland

so the postal address is the thing then is it?

are yous claiming this one too?

St Joseph's High School - Crossmaglen
77 Dundalk Road,
Crossmaglen,
Newry,
Co. Down
BT35 9HP

If a place is in a county then it shouldn't matter where the post office is!
Post by: snoopdog on April 07, 2011, 12:33:18 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 07, 2011, 12:22:33 PM
QuoteViolet Hill
46 Armagh Road
Newry
Co. Down
BT35 6PP
Northern Ireland

so the postal address is the thing then is it?

are yous claiming this one too?

St Joseph's High School - Crossmaglen
77 Dundalk Road,
Crossmaglen,
Newry,
Co. Down
BT35 9HP

If a place is in a county then it shouldn't matter where the post office is!

No success of your own and your still trying to hang on to Downs coattails.
St Colmans is a Co Down school, do a quick look at the history of the college.
Red and Black through and Through.

On the above nah you can keep crossmaglen.
Post by: spuds on April 07, 2011, 12:36:59 PM
Since the border weaves in and out up them parts would m/any students from 26 be in school in St Colemans and m/any from black north be in Dundalk schools etc ?
Post by: The Worker on April 07, 2011, 12:37:17 PM
can you change the title of this thread to reflect the geographical county of st colmans please?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 07, 2011, 01:44:33 PM
Ah would yiz f**k away aff.

In 1993 Mark Rowland was the captain and MOTM in the final, was from Antrim as far as i know.
Post by: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 02:02:35 PM
Don't think Mark Roland was from Antrim,  big Ronan Hamill was full back and he was from Antrim. Jesus i have some memory and i wasn't even supporting Colmans. What about Des French from Whitecross another man on the Colmans team. James Byrne from Lurgan another on that team.
Post by: Down Follower on April 07, 2011, 02:05:41 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 07, 2011, 01:44:33 PM
Ah would yiz f**k away aff.

In 1993 Mark Rowland was the captain and MOTM in the final, was from Antrim as far as i know.

Mark Rowland was from Rostrevor, Co. Down and formed an all Rostrevor half back line which included Finbar Caulfield and Gary Farrell.  All 3 went on to represent Down at senior level although Finbar Caulflield was the one who played most and longest for the County out of the 3.

Mark played for Rostrevor up to 1999 i believe and won the Down Senior Championship with them in 1998.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 07, 2011, 02:16:54 PM
I stand corrected, Hamill was who i was thinking of.
Post by: NP 76 on April 07, 2011, 04:42:28 PM
Donegal Danny Des French was also a Lurgan lad
Post by: PAULD123 on April 07, 2011, 05:32:04 PM
Mark Rowland probably could have played a lot more for Down but he had bad injuries. He had lost of skill and looked a real prospect.
Post by: Orangemac on April 07, 2011, 10:07:53 PM
Quote from: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 12:20:07 PM
Does anyone remember the 1993 Hogan Cup Final between these two colleges? Played in Longford, i was at it because there was a couple of lads from Letterkenny playing for Jarlaths. It was the first time i saw Michael Donnellan and Padraic Joyce playing. Donnellan got a great goal after half time to put Jarlaths 4 up but a wonder goal from Diarmuid Marsden late on won it for Colmans. A lad called Mark Rowland i think was captain and MOTM for Colman's.
Don't remember that one but there was a great game in semi final in 1998 in Clones which Colmans won after extra time. The brother was on Colmans team that year.
Post by: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 10:13:43 PM
N.P. 76 i am from Donegal so will not argue with you but i think Des French was from Whitecross, if not who was the Whitecross man on that 1993 team?

John "chopper " Fegan midfield on the 98 team, scored 1-1 in the Hogan final. Was Liam Doyle on that team? Who was the captain?
Post by: Mid Down Gael on April 07, 2011, 10:17:29 PM
Quote from: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 10:13:43 PM
N.P. 76 i am from Donegal so will not argue with you but i think Des French was from Whitecross, if not who was the Whitecross man on that 1993 team?

John "chopper " Fegan midfield on the 98 team, scored 1-1 in the Hogan final. Was Liam Doyle on that team? Who was the captain?

Declan Morgan, son of Ray was Captain. Doyler partnered fegan in midfield i think. Mickey Feeney was superb at full back with Aidan Fegan the leader of the attack assisted by Noel McElvenna and Aidan Cole.
Post by: Orangemac on April 07, 2011, 10:24:31 PM
Quote from: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 10:13:43 PM

Declan Toner from Whitecross would have played in 1992 (on armagh minor panel that year) not sure if he was overage in 1993.
Post by: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 10:33:38 PM
Surely someone knows where Des French is from or what club he played for? If from Lurgan what club?
Post by: PAULD123 on April 07, 2011, 10:55:40 PM
Quote from: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 10:33:38 PM
Surely someone knows where Des French is from or what club he played for? If from Lurgan what club?

No doubt whatsoever Des french was from Lurgan.
Post by: NP 76 on April 07, 2011, 11:42:27 PM
Des French was defiently Lurgan Clann na Gael i think they are bookies in Lurgan as far as i know Declan Toner was from Whitecross 
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 08, 2011, 08:27:04 AM
The 98 colmans team was a superb team.
Post by: seafoid on April 08, 2011, 09:40:09 AM
It's great to see a St Jarlath's team in an AIF. SJ are like a trailer for Galway football. The centre of excellence that bears fruit a couple of years down the line. They have that ruthless winning  mentality that the hurlers never really had. And Mayo could really do with it. 
Post by: Orior on April 08, 2011, 09:45:33 AM
Where exactly does the Armagh - Down border run (or walk) through Newry?
Post by: PAULD123 on April 08, 2011, 10:40:57 AM
Quote from: Orior on April 08, 2011, 09:45:33 AM
Where exactly does the Armagh - Down border run (or walk) through Newry?

I'm pretty sure Des was Clan na Gael. He was James French's brother wasn't he? James was defo a Clan na Gael man.

The border is totally unimportant, As has been pointed out the team has 12 out of 14 outfield players from Down. But in the past some quality Armagh players have played, the most notable probably being Diarmuid Marsden.

I don't think it is relevant to be discussing the border here and I think the whole thing has been raised out of nothing but pettiness. However just for the sake of discussion (assuming you're actually interested and not just trying to start a wind up):

Technically the border is complicated. Traditionally the river marks the border of Armagh & Down. So that would mean anyone on the Buttercrane side of the river would be in Armagh. But as the local clubs are Shamrocks and Mitchells a lot of those people would play for a County Down club and consider themselves to be from Down. It is further obscured by the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898 which made the whole of Newry officially and legally within Down. Though this Act was then repealed in 1971 with the passing of the Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 1971, followed by the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 1972. These later Acts formed what we now know as the Newry & Mourne District Council. However what they didn't do was address the meaning of the word Newry, in failing to do so the provisions of the repealed 1898 act still prevail. This means that legally the whole of Newry is in Down while traditionally it is split between the two counties.

Thus traditionally St Colman's is situated n Armagh but legally is situated in Down.

Now I hope that this has reached a point where everyone can see that there is no absolute right or absolute wrong answer and that therefore this discussion is a dead duck!!!! Can we please go back to talking about the match and football. NP76 lead us off, thanks......
Post by: Down Follower on April 08, 2011, 10:51:09 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on April 07, 2011, 10:07:53 PM
Don't remember that one but there was a great game in semi final in 1998 in Clones which Colmans won after extra time. The brother was on Colmans team that year.

The 1998 semi final which St Colmans won was actually against Roscommon CBS, who defeated St Jarlaths in the Connaught Final.  The semi final was a superb game which St Colmans won after extra time and they proceeded to walk the final against a Dublin Irish College.
Title: Re: Hogan Cup Final 2011 - St Colmans College, Newry v St Jarlaths, Tuam, (Ga
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2011, 02:08:09 PM
QuoteBut as the local clubs are Shamrocks and Mitchells a lot of those people would play for a County Down club and consider themselves to be from Down.

Some people further out the Armagh road also consider themselves British. That doesn't make it right.

QuoteCan we please go back to talking about the match and football.

Why doesn't the original poster stop trolling just change the title of the thread to St Colmans College, Newry?
Post by: snoopdog on April 08, 2011, 02:43:10 PM
Quote from: Donegal Danny on April 07, 2011, 10:33:38 PM

Know Des well, Clann na Gael Lurgan
Lives in Edinburgh now
Cousin of Wee James by the way
Post by: imtommygunn on April 08, 2011, 04:44:53 PM
When is this game? Is it on tv?
Post by: ross4life on April 08, 2011, 04:57:42 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 08, 2011, 04:44:53 PM
When is this game? Is it on tv?

Tomoro Live on TG4 at 1.45pm
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2011, 06:30:45 PM
Quote from: Down Follower on April 08, 2011, 10:51:09 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on April 07, 2011, 10:07:53 PM

The 1998 semi final which St Colmans won was actually against Roscommon CBS, who defeated St Jarlaths in the Connaught Final.  The semi final was a superb game which St Colmans won after extra time and they proceeded to walk the final against a Dublin Irish College.

I was a second year at the time. That match was one of the most entertaining games I've ever been at. Fierce amount of boys went drinking in Clones though and were in serious trouble come Monday morning when they headed into school in County Armagh.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 08, 2011, 07:58:10 PM
That 1993 team gives me nightmares thinking about it. We (The Abbey in case people don't know) beat the St Jarlaths team by a hatful in a pre christmas challenge. We also beat Sligo IT Freshers. We were a superb team with 17 county minors on the panel and 3 of them couldn't get their place. St Pats Armagh, or should I say Damian Jordan and Des Mackin beat us in the quartars up in Davitt Park. Broke my heart.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2011, 08:39:21 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 08, 2011, 07:58:10 PM
That 1993 team gives me nightmares thinking about it. We (The Abbey in case people don't know) beat the St Jarlaths team by a hatful in a pre christmas challenge. We also beat Sligo IT Freshers. We were a superb team with 17 county minors on the panel and 3 of them couldn't get their place. St Pats Armagh, or should I say Damian Jordan and Des Mackin beat us in the quartars up in Davitt Park. Broke my heart.

Not sure why the Abbey choking is supposed to be of note. Sounds like every other year?

Did you enjoy playing with the Red Yellow and Black on your chest bcb?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 08, 2011, 09:20:13 PM
Generally it was alright wearing those colours because apart from McRory I won everything else and in 7 years only lost once to the College!

Bloody blue blazered Cullyhanna ****!
Post by: PAULD123 on April 08, 2011, 10:09:56 PM
Anyone coming to kerry after the game (I know you are NP76) we got here this evening. Just a word of warning there is a huge diversion before mallow that takes you into Fermoy, You will need to allow at least half an hour extra to get here.
Post by: Onlooker on April 09, 2011, 01:05:01 AM
i have been on that diversion through Fermoy 3 times in the last few weeks.  It does make for a fair delay, but you make up some of the time by being on the motorway for more of the journey.
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2011, 01:39:36 AM
Nice to see an Armagh school in the final, good luck to them, and to hell with the shit stirrers. 
Post by: robertemmet on April 09, 2011, 09:11:33 AM
I think two of the best Hogan teams ever was St Jarlaths's 1994 and Colman's 2010.

I went to Maghera and that Jarlath's team put in an exhibition against us.  So many of them went on to play County football.  Declan Meehan, John Devilly, Tomas Meehan, Michael Cloherty, Michael Donnellan, Tommy Joyce, Padraig Joyce.  think Kevin Winston and John Haran played for Donegal as well.  However, whatever happened to John Concannon who played FF. Hea was some underage player.

Colman's 2010 were a brilliant side.  Will the same amount go on to play county senior.  They were impossible to play against, as they had so many match winning forwards, that it was impossible to blot them all out in one day.

Looking forward to watching today's game.
Post by: NP 76 on April 09, 2011, 09:34:42 AM
Thanks Paul for that info might run across you later what way the pints going down any good traditional pubs you can reccomend
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 09, 2011, 01:38:26 PM
I saw Caolan Mooney a few times last year - for Down against Mayo minors and in the All-Ireland Colleges semi-final vs St Gerald's and he is a wonderful talent. Looking forward to seeing him here again, hard believe he is still of age for this level. Think he's going to Oz after this game if I'm right? Massive loss to the GAA.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 01:58:33 PM
Terrible start for Jarlath's. Goalkeeper howler for first goal and about 6 or 7 steps taken for the second. And now they rattle the crossbar.
Title: Re: Hogan Cup Final 2011 - St Colmans College, Newry (Down) v St Jarlaths, Tuam,
Post by: omagh_gael on April 09, 2011, 02:04:46 PM
Thon Johnstone lad is a slippery wee hoor!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 09, 2011, 02:06:15 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 01:58:33 PM
Terrible start for Jarlath's. Goalkeeper howler for first goal and about 6 or 7 steps taken for the second. And now they rattle the crossbar.

Jarlath's have a bit of character about them but Colman's a machine. They can and will step it up when they need to. Mooney only needs to be a peripheral player. WIth any other team in the country everything would have to go through him.
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 02:06:54 PM
It's like watching an u-21 team play a minor team.
Would the Colmans lads be a year older on average?
They certainly look it physically.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 02:08:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 02:06:54 PM

Well they have quite a few of last year's team back. Jarlath's are fairly young from what I heard. Most of them are back next year. Seem to be a bit bigger physically alright.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 09, 2011, 02:09:46 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 02:06:54 PM

Think for the McRory Cup there's an extra six months - players can be born after Jan 1 as opposed to July 1 but that it comes back to July for the Hogan. It is like Under 21s v Minors though. I was tempted to back Colman's at 20/1 to win by 16 points or more. They probably will fall short of it but it certainly was good value.
Title: Re: Hogan Cup Final 2011 - St Colmans College, Newry (Down) v St Jarlaths, Tuam,
Post by: omagh_gael on April 09, 2011, 02:13:12 PM
Jarlath's no 11 is always looking to get in for goal. They need to put over a few points to settle themselves down.

Mooney reminds me of a young Sean Cavanagh.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 02:13:32 PM
Jarlath's doing fairly well in midfield and look dangerous when they attack but defensively they are leaving lots of space back there.

And they blast another goal chance over the bar. They've had 3 good goal chances and not taken any.
Post by: maximus on April 09, 2011, 02:17:18 PM
Jarlaths not out of this yet!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 09, 2011, 02:17:37 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 02:13:32 PM
Jarlath's doing fairly well in midfield and look dangerous when they attack but defensively they are leaving lots of space back there.

And they blast another goal chance over the bar. They've had 3 good goal chances and not taken any.

Both defences look vulnerable down the middle. Jarlath's finished strong though, we could have a game yet.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2011, 02:17:50 PM
Only 2 points in it. Game very much still on.
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 09, 2011, 02:21:11 PM
Not geo blocked for us overseas

http://www.tg4.tv/main.aspx?level=live

Jarlaths doing well to hang in there, they need a few Mayo men like the old days to set them straight ;)
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2011, 02:26:10 PM
QuoteJarlaths doing well to hang in there, they need a few Mayo men like the old days to set them straight ;)

Absolutely. Colman's are benefiting from the participation of a few men from the Down side of Clanrye. 
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 09, 2011, 02:35:22 PM
Jarlath's have phenomenal character. After those two hammer goals against huge favourites and for such a young team against a team that is so much bigger than them and looked so much more able, to be back to level now is some going. They may not win this game if Colman's find a few gears but they've been mightily impressive. I'm beginning to believe there's something in tradition.

Come on Jarlath's!
Post by: omagh_gael on April 09, 2011, 02:39:10 PM
Jarlath's one up!

Fair play to Jarlath's for hanging in there. No 19 is making an impact on the game.
Post by: ross4life on April 09, 2011, 02:39:57 PM
end to end stuff now!
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 02:43:12 PM
The minor team are doing alright in fairness.  ;D
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 09, 2011, 02:44:56 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 02:43:12 PM
The minor team are doing alright in fairness.  ;D

Ha ha, I know - you weren't the one talking about Newry to win by 16 or more though  :o
Post by: omagh_gael on April 09, 2011, 02:46:06 PM
Murray is not a happy chappy. Jarlath's could rue all these goal chances missed. Still think Colman's will score a couple of killer goals
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 02:47:18 PM
Mooney is a big fecker anyway. Looks like a senior. Let alone a U-21.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 02:51:36 PM
Never a free there Deegan.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2011, 02:52:45 PM
I thought it was a clear free...Corner forward only winner there.
Post by: ross4life on April 09, 2011, 02:53:26 PM
ET or replay if level?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 02:54:20 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 09, 2011, 02:52:45 PM

Two of them were only looking at the ball and walked into each other.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2011, 02:56:38 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 02:54:20 PM

I thought the jarlaths boy was sneaky enough and just got in newry boys way.

Anyway I'm hoping jarlaths equalise as would rather see it won proper than via  a free which, whil I thought it was, a lot of refs wouldn't have given...
Post by: passedit on April 09, 2011, 02:57:30 PM

Late tackle on Mooney.

St Jarlaths will be fair sick if they lose this. Mooney the difference though
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 03:00:03 PM
Quote from: passedit on April 09, 2011, 02:57:30 PM

St Jarlaths will be fair sick if they lose this.

Certainly had their chances. Hit the crossbar twice. Twice blasted goal chances over the bar. Keeper chucked one into the net. Bit of experience in the final 7 or 8 minutes seems to have got Colman's home though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2011, 03:00:37 PM
Cracking match all the same, the the Tuam lads will be disappointed at the chances they had and didn't push on
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 03:02:11 PM
No. 10 for Jarlaths is the best player on the field.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2011, 03:03:03 PM
Mooney and the number 6 for Colmans are massive!!!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 03:03:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 03:02:11 PM
No. 10 for Jarlaths is the best player on the field.

That's Shane Walsh. Think we'll be seeing lots more of him alright.
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 03:04:29 PM
Is he a Galway minor?
Big, strong, fast and kicks with both feet.
Has all the tools anyway.
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 03:05:14 PM
I feel sorry for the Jarlaths keeper.
Post by: ross4life on April 09, 2011, 03:05:38 PM
Credit to both teams (real cracker) Well done St Colmans
Post by: sammymaguire on April 09, 2011, 03:05:53 PM
Very good game of football, tough on the Westenrners to lose by a point as they had enough chances to lift the silverware
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 09, 2011, 03:06:34 PM
The sub #19 for Jarlaths made a big difference when he came on, Farraher I think his name was, Jarlaths seem to steady up upon his arrival the field.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2011, 03:06:48 PM
Yeah you have to feel sorry for Jarlaths. If they're a young team hopefully they'll come back from it.
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 03:07:07 PM
Did they give the man of the match to Mooney?  ???
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2011, 03:08:19 PM
Goals win games. On another day the Jarlath's keeper would have saved one and it might have been different.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 03:08:34 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 03:04:29 PM
Is he a Galway minor?
Big, strong, fast and kicks with both feet.
Has all the tools anyway.

Presume he'll be with the minors this year.

And yeah I'd say the keeper will be dog sick for his howler but then again 3 or 4 other lads missed goal chances so they can't be too hard on him.
Post by: moysider on April 09, 2011, 03:09:56 PM

Ah shame. Jarlaths played some great football.
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 03:13:22 PM
The ref should have played at least another minute.
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 09, 2011, 03:24:53 PM
There is some size difference between the teams, are both teams not the same age? I remember back in my day the Ulster colleges were always older when they played in the Mc Rory cup but had to drop any player over 18 for the Hogan campaign, is it still the same?
Post by: Mid Down Gael on April 09, 2011, 03:30:56 PM
As a Down man i can admitt St Colemans had lady luck on their side today and Maurice Deegan was very good to them with some critical calls that he gave their way and their was at least another minute off injury time that was wasted during the 3 minutes.
Jarlaths gave away a very slack goal and hit the woodwork twice, just wasnt their day and will wonder how they lost, i thought they where the best team.
Shane Walsh was outstanding but i felt he could have slipped a ball inside midway thru the half to a player in a better position.
Caolan Mooney was again outstanding, a super footballer and is the main reason St Colemans won back to back hogans. Eamon Magee had a steady hour also while Jerome Johnston was in and out of it.
Moving Shea McArdle to his natural position of corner forward proved vital, a classy young player who can be lethal on his day.
Well done St Colemans, they won Hogan and MacRory by the minumum, easily could have lost both but you have to respect their character. Mooney deserves all the credit, no disrespect to the other players, but he was the man this last two years in colleges football that was a class apart and a real match winner.
Post by: whitegoodman on April 09, 2011, 03:40:16 PM
Thought it was a bit strange to see the no 5 jersey on shea mccardle, is he not a clear cut corner forward.  Was a bit disappointed in the 2 johnstons today compared to their usual level anyway.  Mooney is a match winner but drifts in and out of the game 2 much, hopefully will grow out of that in Oz and come back a better player.

Colemans were very poor 2day, maybe the start they got gave them a false sense of security and they thought they had the game won but they were clearly the 2nd best team for the middle 40 of the match.  Fair play to St Jarlaths and if its true that alot of that team is eligble next year, i can see them being back in croke.
Post by: redandblack4ever on April 09, 2011, 04:03:36 PM
St. Colman's got very lucky today but I'm thrilled that they won the Hogan Cup for a second year in a row. Caolan Mooney is some player and he'll only get better down in Oz. Hopefully he'll serve his time there and then come back home and  play for Down. Take a page out of Marty Clarke's book.

I can't say enough about St. Jarlath's though. They deserved to win the game, they played the better football overall during the match. I'd definitely keep my eye on them for next year.

Congrats to all the St. Colman's players and especially the management. They set out this year to win back-to-back Hogan's and no-one gave them much of a chance. But they did it!!!

Post by: mountainboii on April 09, 2011, 04:10:18 PM
Well done to the College. Rode their luck a fair bit, but good teams always seem to be able to do that. The second All Ireland to come back to Armagh so far this year, we must be nailed on for September!
Post by: whitegoodman on April 09, 2011, 04:15:34 PM
How many armagh players are actually on the team, just interested to know in terms of this years minor championship.  I know a good school team doesnt necessary translate to a good county minor team but it doesnt do any harm
Post by: DownFanatic on April 09, 2011, 04:22:23 PM
Winning back to back Hogan's is some achievement. Regardless of whether or not they played well today, they still won and thats what counts.

Cathal Murray has had serious success  at colleges level in the past 7/8 years. Took St Louis, Kilkeel, to McLarnon and All Ireland B success in 2004 and then took to the same school to MacRory Finals in 05 and 06. Then bringing St Colmans back to back MacRory's and Hogan's in '10 and '11.

Not much mention has been given to Barry Kelly on the management team. He took a Dan Gordon inspired St Patrick's, Downpatrick, to the McLarnon Cup in 2001. A good motivator and astute tactician.

Hopefully a filter of these players will sink in to the Down Minors and U-21's over the next few years. In my opinion Mooney is not as good as Marty Clarke was at that age but hopefully we will see him back in the Red and Black sooner rather than later.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 04:46:41 PM
Quote from: redandblack4ever on April 09, 2011, 04:03:36 PM
I can't say enough about St. Jarlath's though. They deserved to win the game, they played the better football overall during the match. I'd definitely keep my eye on them for next year.

Yeah Jarlath's did well to drag themselves back into the game. It would have been easy for them to drop their heads early on after going 6 points down and the goalie conceding a horror goal. They probably did play the better football for long spells of the game but Colman's had that bit of experience near the end and Mooney won a few high balls which made the difference in the last 10 minutes. Ultimately had Jarlath's taken even one of their 3 or 4 good goal chances it would probably have gotten them over the line.

From a Galway perspective some promising young lads on that Jarlath's team that we will probably see with the minors this year. Looks like the ginger full-forward picked up a bad shoulder injury though near the end so that could rule him out for the forseeable. It usually benefits Galway down the line when Jarlath's can get their conveyor belt moving.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 09, 2011, 05:08:48 PM
Congrats to St Colmans, yet again they get there without having to fully empty the tank. To be honest it was fierce unlucky for Tuam, they played all the football, played their wee hearts out and gave it their all but ye could always sense that whenever the College wanted to take their heads out of their collective holes for the odd 5 minute stint they could easily pull away.
Back-2-back Hogan Cup winners reads nice all the same and they have been too long out of the limelight. Thought Mooney was the difference in the two teams, plain and simple. Can be devasting in patches, but can also be invisible too. The two Johnstons are quality players and should go on to bigger and better things whilst Niall Donnelly should make a senior full back if he stays on the straight and narrow.

Great credit to all up at Violet hill but especially to Declan Mussen, id credit him with alot more than what people give him. The man is doing great work up there and has been for many a year and these are the kind of days the guy deserves.

For Jarlaths Tuam, if alot of that team are eligible again next year then ive no doubt we wil see them back there again next year. Well done, you did your school, your families and counties proud.

PS - Abbey CBS are you watching.lol
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 05:17:36 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 09, 2011, 05:08:48 PM
Congrats to St Colmans, yet again they get there without having to fully empty the tank. To be honest it was fierce unlucky for Tuam, they played all the football, played their wee hearts out and gave it their all but ye could always sense that whenever the College wanted to take their heads out of their collective holes for the odd 5 minute stint they could easily pull away.
Back-2-back Hogan Cup winners reads nice all the same and they have been too long out of the limelight. Thought Mooney was the difference in the two teams, plain and simple. Can be devasting in patches, but can also be invisible too. The two Johnstons are quality players and should go on to bigger and better things whilst Niall Donnelly should make a senior full back if he stays on the straight and narrow.

Great credit to all up at Violet hill but especially to Declan Mussen, id credit him with alot more than what people give him. The man is doing great work up there and has been for many a year and these are the kind of days the guy deserves.

For Jarlaths Tuam, if alot of that team are eligible again next year then ive no doubt we wil see them back there again next year. Well done, you did your school, your families and counties proud.

PS - Abbey CBS are you watching.lol

You can patronise them all you like but they were the better team for the majority of the game.
A bad goalkeeping error and a string of missed goal chances cost them dearly.
Colmans were blessed to win regardless of how full or empty their tank was.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 09, 2011, 05:31:18 PM
Apologies if i was coming across patronising, didnt mean to.
I think the better team lost today, and regardless of missed chances still think Tuam played the better football, had better performances across their team and really should have won.
Colmans played in fits and starts (as they have all year) and again never played to their true potential, hence the tank being half emptied. Wasnt belittling Tuams performance in any shape or form or meaning to be patronising.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 09, 2011, 06:54:21 PM
I do agree Jarlath's were the better team, but St Colman's played like a team that refused to be beaten and came back with a determination that in the end Jarmath's just didn't have. Jarlath's played all the football but that shear determination not to lose rested with the lower performing team - St Colmans

I don't know what was wrong with the College today but I don't think it can all be credited to a very good display by Jarlath's. If they had played anything like their potenial I think the game would have been out of sight by half time. There was an abundance of wasted possession and passes misplaced by miles. Also the College put in too many marquee passes to the forward line when simpler posession movements wold have been better. In truth the College made it as easy as possible for Jarlath's with their bad passing and careless turnovers. I think in truth this St Colmans team is much better than the display today.

But what ever is said or what ever people think the fact is we have now won 8 titles compared to Jarlath's 12 (getting closer all the time) And we are now finally back-back champions.
Post by: Etienne Lantier on April 09, 2011, 07:09:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2011, 05:17:36 PM
You can patronise them all you like but they were the better team for the majority of the game.

*Points at score board.*
Post by: redandblackareback on April 09, 2011, 07:21:15 PM
Yes Brick you are being patronising although it wouldnt be like you  ::), also think the credit you are bestowing onto Mussen is a bit ott.. Ok so the man can run a team around tullymore in newcastle and get them fit, ffs any man and his dog could do that, Murray sets the gameplan, establishes the discipline, gets the team playing the football we all enjoyed watching and takes most of the football. I think as a previous poster already said Cathal Murray deserves a lot of praise, he took 2 st louis teams to consecutive finals, what have Kilkeel done since???

Well done to all involved in todays fantastic feat! Hope to see some wearing the red and black soon ;-)

Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2011, 07:26:56 PM
While I don't know the ins and outs of either of these 2 boys coaching cvs it has to be said that with kilkeel he had martin clarke which made his job a hell of a lot easier. That's not to take it away from him but kilkeel are unlikely to have seen a talent like that since.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 09, 2011, 07:45:34 PM
redandblackareback, please show me where else ive been patronising on this board if you will.
Dont think that the praise i bestowed upon Mussen was over the top or unwarranted at all. The man has done alot for various St Colmans teams down through the years and in my opinion it goes unnoticed for some reason.
Post by: dundrumite on April 09, 2011, 08:40:32 PM
Quote from: redandblackareback on April 09, 2011, 07:21:15 PM
Yes Brick you are being patronising although it wouldnt be like you  ::), also think the credit you are bestowing onto Mussen is a bit ott.. Ok so the man can run a team around tullymore in newcastle and get them fit, ffs any man and his dog could do that, Murray sets the gameplan, establishes the discipline, gets the team playing the football we all enjoyed watching and takes most of the football. I think as a previous poster already said Cathal Murray deserves a lot of praise, he took 2 st louis teams to consecutive finals, what have Kilkeel done since??? Well done to all involved in todays fantastic feat! Hope to see some wearing the red and black soon ;-)

Kilkeel had a freak bunch of superb footballers coming together at once. He also only took them to one Mac Rory final. Further to this they got to one the year after he left. I am not knocking the man as he and Declan Mussen have spear headed two Hogan title campaigns and fair play to both along with the other two men at the helm. I am arguing your claim Kilkeel have done nothing since he left and that he is the sole reason for this and your belittlement of Declan's role is far off the mark.
Post by: Whitehair on April 09, 2011, 08:43:33 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 09, 2011, 07:45:34 PM
redandblackareback, please show me where else ive been patronising on this board if you will.
Dont think that the praise i bestowed upon Mussen was over the top or unwarranted at all. The man has done alot for various St Colmans teams down through the years and in my opinion it goes unnoticed for some reason.

Delighted from Deccy Mussen myself, a sound man, excellent teacher and working wonders with Cathal Murray. Long may it continue!

VHC Abú!
Post by: RandyDupree on April 09, 2011, 09:24:56 PM
At the end of the day the st ja's number 10 was miles above anyone else. Is he upper or lower 6th?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2011, 09:30:23 PM
Quote from: RandyDupree on April 09, 2011, 09:24:56 PM
At the end of the day the st ja's number 10 was miles above anyone else. Is he upper or lower 6th?

Shane Walsh. Yeah he should be a brilliant player in time hopefully. Kicks equally well with both feet and has great vision. Mooney is excellent too but has a size and physique advantage as well.
Post by: RandyDupree on April 09, 2011, 09:47:44 PM
Is he upper or lower sixth?
Is he minor this year?
Is he minor next year?
Post by: ck on April 09, 2011, 09:52:57 PM
The northern schools are at a severe advantage in All-Ireland schools competitions. Not only do they stay at school a year longer but they also have "catholic" grammar school system which have large catchment areas taking in many club areas, therefore pulling in all of the best players. Compare that to the scondary school system in the south, where you simply attend the nearest school to you.
Congrats to St. Colmans regardless of the aforementioned.
Post by: ck on April 09, 2011, 09:55:33 PM
Quote from: RandyDupree on April 09, 2011, 09:47:44 PM
Is he upper or lower sixth?
Is he minor this year?
Is he minor next year?

Upper or lower 6th? You mean 5th or 6th year?
As far as I'm aware he is 6th year.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 09, 2011, 11:57:17 PM
Quote from: ck on April 09, 2011, 09:52:57 PM
The northern schools are at a severe advantage in All-Ireland schools competitions. Not only do they stay at school a year longer but they also have "catholic" grammar school system which have large catchment areas taking in many club areas, therefore pulling in all of the best players. Compare that to the scondary school system in the south, where you simply attend the nearest school to you.

St.Jarlaths was a boarding school once upon a time, it leads the Hogan Cup. Its titles relied heavily on Mayomen, when it still took boarders.
Post by: Oldhacker on April 10, 2011, 12:59:20 AM
It is surprising that CK does not recognise a quintessential championship success when he sees one, and Mayogodhelpus makes the valid point that St Jarlath's won most of its Hogans with a huge catchment area across two counties. Newry is certainly a reasonable urban centre, but it is divided between the Abbey, who won a Hogan as recently as 2006, and St Colman's. It is also the case that students from the Rostrevor/Warrenpoint district, who previously largely went to St Colman's or the Abbey, now often go to St Louis while those from Attical, Kilkeel and Ballymartin entirely head in the same direction. What CK entirely misses is that the vast majority of southern schools play Gaelic games while the typical figure in the north drops below 50 cent or much lower.  There was a very tight finish at Croke Park yesterday, and the best side probably lost, but it should still be possible to recogise the achievement of St Colman's in securing back to back titles without getting a misplaced dig in.
Post by: Jinxy on April 10, 2011, 01:55:51 AM
Quote from: Oldhacker on April 10, 2011, 12:59:20 AM
It is surprising that CK does not recognise a quintessential championship success when he sees one, and Mayogodhelpus makes the valid point that St Jarlath's won most of its Hogans with a huge catchment area across two counties. Newry is certainly a reasonable urban centre, but it is divided between the Abbey, who won a Hogan as recently as 2006, and St Colman's. It is also the case that students from the Rostrevor/Warrenpoint district, who previously largely went to St Colman's or the Abbey, now often go to St Louis while those from Attical, Kilkeel and Ballymartin entirely head in the same direction. What CK entirely misses is that the vast majority of southern schools play Gaelic games while the typical figure in the north drops below 50 cent or much lower.  There was a very tight finish at Croke Park yesterday, and the best side probably lost, but it should still be possible to recogise the achievement of St Colman's in securing back to back titles without getting a misplaced dig in.

And?
Post by: spuds on April 10, 2011, 02:32:21 AM
Quote from: Oldhacker on April 10, 2011, 12:59:20 AM

Never mind that lad ! Newry has a population of close on 30,000 with 90% of a RC background, and then add in the hinterland population and the "city" is well able to have 2 successful secondary school GAA teams. Tuam population not even 4,000 and we won't break down the demographics.  ;)

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 10, 2011, 04:29:08 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 09, 2011, 11:57:17 PM

St.Jarlaths was a boarding school once upon a time, it leads the Hogan Cup. Its titles relied heavily on Mayomen, when it still took boarders.

The old Jarlath's teams always had the odd Mayo or Roscommon lad. However the vast majority of Jarlath's players were always from Galway. Mayo and Roscommon lads have played a big part in the schools's history though. Yesterday's team was all Galway apparently but Jarlath's has been a nursery for more than it's native county. You won't get a better football education anywhere.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 10, 2011, 10:39:22 AM
Not the Hogan Cup, but congratulations to Gallen C.S. from Ferbane on winning the All Ireland Vocational Schools final yesteday. They beat Cookstown from Tyrone in the semi, and Clonakilty, the holders, in the final.

Vocational Schools is a lesser standard than Colleges, but it's great to win an All Ireland, and it's great that most of the lads were Ferbane Club. Hopefully it augers well for the future and for the minor this year.

I note that two Lowrys were on the team, borthers. Sons of Mick, nephews of Brendan and Sean. (Cousins of golfer Shane). Keeping the Lowy flame lit. Well done boys.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 10, 2011, 10:53:27 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 10, 2011, 04:29:08 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 09, 2011, 11:57:17 PM

The old Jarlath's teams always had the odd Mayo or Roscommon lad. However the vast majority of Jarlath's players were always from Galway. Mayo and Roscommon lads have played a big part in the schools's history though. Yesterday's team was all Galway apparently but Jarlath's has been a nursery for more than it's native county. You won't get a better football education anywhere.

No intention to overplay the Mayo element. My point was that with Mayo, Roscommon and most of North Galway as potential catchment area of boarders Jarleth's had an advantage it does not have now. Lads who were good or decent at football would have been attracted to attending St.Jarleths over the years. It has to rely on the local Tuam population and at that its still a pretty good nursery of football, in the capital of Galway football. The Northern Schools would have an advantage similar to the boarding schools of the past.

On a seperate point I didn't realise that the lads up North finished older than down in the Republic, excuse my ignorance but I assumed there would be an age limit (be it being born before a certain date at the start of the season). To switch to schools rugby, Blackrocks huge advanatage is because it has the phenonomen of lads repeating leaving cert just to play rugby (these lads may have failed all or got all A, but they return never the less). The advantage of size in rugby over that year is massive, but in football it would be significant too.
Post by: Donegal Danny on April 10, 2011, 12:12:48 PM
The tradition in Jarlaths was always if you were young enough for football you repeated the leaving regardless of results. I REMEMBER THE GREAT 94 jARLATHS TEAM which won the Hogan Cup, they had about 10/11 of that team the next year and most of them were repeating the leaving. They still lost the Connaght final to their next door neighbours St Pats.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 10, 2011, 12:15:29 PM
Well done Ferbane.  Was a good game as well.  Good days football in Croke Park yesterday.

It was a joy to watch (both games) and it begs the question, why do people want to get rid of the minor grade?

Question.  Can pupils doing Transition year play on the school team?  Removes the old excuse that Ulster teams have an extra year/older players.
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 10, 2011, 02:05:47 PM
Jarlaths would have done a little bit of recruiting in their day as well, a few great players arrived in to the college for their last two years. When the boarding finished I thought that might be the end of Jarlaths football but to my surprise they have come back in great shape as a day school. The amalgamation of the two schools has brought in some good players that would have previously gone to St. Pats, I wonder how many of yesterdays team would have gone to Pats in the olden days. 
Post by: andunabu on April 10, 2011, 03:14:10 PM
Congrats to Colmans on their back to back Hogan titles.  Great credit must go to Cathal Murray and his backroom team on this fantastic achievement.  As an Abbey man, I have to take my hat off to our great rivals! Well done lads.
Post by: NP 76 on April 11, 2011, 06:19:46 PM
Would like to congradulate the college on winning back to back Hogans an un believable achievement . I have to agree with Brick on Declan Mussen as i said on this thread before one of the best trainers about it takes more than running them around tullamore or around the pitches in the Colllege . If you saw any College team that declan takes they always strong as saturdays point proves the same can be said for the Mc Crory final that takes planning not any gam could do that . Team management ic a collective push with no man worth more than the other . This includes all four from the College Cathal Murray Declan Mussen Barry Kelly and Eammon Mc Evoy . Also Conor Gough thanked another great College man for his help through out the year Fr Terry Rafferty it takes them all
Post by: Leo on April 11, 2011, 11:45:27 PM
Congratulations to St Colmans, but.......
Cream of the crop?
The most error strewn colleges final I have seen for years.
Should these guys not be showing us the way forward?
Post by: bonzo on April 12, 2011, 01:19:04 AM
There was a lot of errors in 'passing' particularly the foot passing, with balls going astray. But this was more than compensated for by the other aspects of the game where there was such a high skill level. It was an honest game with none of the cynicism we find so often in county football today.

And there were two different styles of play in view. The direct attacking plan of Jarlath's was clearly their way of 'defending' against the fast movement and angled overlaps that Colman's play so well. The half back line pushed forward and pressurized Colman's into mistakes in their own half of the field. But they were composed and patient with their own game plan. Thats where they eventually won the game (with a little bit of luck too -Jarlaths were not clinical enough in taking the goal chance) and were good coaching pays off. Both sides were very fit, running all day, and knew that chances would come their way.
The Jarlaths goalie has become the easy target of a lot of criticism for the first goal that dropped over his hands. In fact, it was the goalkeeper Healy's precision kickouts (aside from some brave one on one stops)that were the springboard for all their attacks, as he cleverly was able to avoid Gough and Johnston in the middle for most of the game. It was only in the last ten minutes that Gough came to terms with where he was aiming his kicks. And that sparked the Newry revival, with supply to the front men and Mooney especially.
Overall there were far more positives on view than negatives and this was a good game of football. These two colleges definitely put in hours and hours of work. There is something to be said for tradition and we have to hand it to both of them for keeping it alive. I want to thank and congratulate two well prepared and excellent teams.
I wish every player who took to the Croke Park Pitch last Saturday, every best wish in their football careers. I look forward to seeing some of these young men gracing our fields again in county or club colours with the same skill and sportsmanship that did your heart good a few days ago.

Title: Amarach
Post by: drici on December 10, 2011, 01:55:13 PM
Match on TG4 the marra at 3-40pm.
Post by: outinfront on December 10, 2011, 08:20:09 PM
How does the Hogan work? I have no clue.

The lads that were in their final year when they won the McRory - do they play in this?  They will have left in Summer 2011?

Just  out of interest.
Post by: outinfront on December 10, 2011, 11:12:23 PM
Makes sense, cheers.  Got confused there. :D