GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on March 22, 2011, 02:34:50 PM

Title: Áth Cliath V An Dún. 7 30pm 02 Aibreain 2011
Post by: 5 Sams on March 22, 2011, 02:34:50 PM
Now that we have secured 1st division status we can relax now and enjoy our trips to BÁC and Cill Áirne.

The Dublin outing will be a great occasion with the Cats and the Jacks on beforehand at half 5 before the main event. ;)

After seeing Mayo scoring 3 goals against the Dubs I'm beginning to wonder if there is a chink in the Dublin armour (no sniggering at the back there) which Marty, Benny, Danny and Co can exploit.

Who will we get to handle BB...

Really looking forward to this one....
Title: Re: Áth Cliath V An Dún. 7 30pm 02 Aibreain 2011
Post by: PAULD123 on March 22, 2011, 05:06:24 PM
There is more than a chink in the armour it was like they'd opened the port tunnel to their goal line. I am really confident that we can win. I'm not thinking we will big or anything like that but I think we are easily a match for them and have confidence in the lads that they have improved enough to bring out the victory.

I think our style of counter attacking meets its ideal opposition in a cavalier attacking opposition. Dublin have been pretty cavalier this year. I expect us to score at least as often as they do and as a result it will come down to who has the most possession. Our midfield has improved and theirs isn't fantastic. I think we will get more possession and therefore more scores. I just hope we don't waste lots of early point opportunities trying to go for speculative goals or trying to walk it into the net (we have been guilty of these errors a few times in this campaign)

Post by: Declan on March 22, 2011, 05:21:52 PM
As losing AI finalists and with two of the best footballers in the country available to their FF line against Dublins weakest line I'd expect Down to win handily enough alright
Post by: 5 Sams on March 22, 2011, 05:41:31 PM
Quote from: Declan on March 22, 2011, 05:21:52 PM
As losing AI finalists and with two of the best footballers in the country available to their FF line against Dublins weakest line I'd expect Down to win handily enough alright

:D :D :D Good man Dec
Post by: heffo on March 22, 2011, 05:57:04 PM

Dublin accumulated their ten points to date at a time other counties were not training seriously and with Down returning to last years form where they hurtled their way to an AI final and the Dubs still missing 8/9 or last years team, there is only one possible outcome.

Down by four points.
Post by: passedit on March 22, 2011, 06:41:46 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 22, 2011, 05:57:04 PM

Dublin accumulated their ten points to date at a time other counties were training seriously and with Down returning to last years form where they hurtled their way to an AI final and the Dubs still missing 8/9 or last years team, there is only one possible outcome.

Down by four points.

Agree wholeheartedly Heffo, though I'd be dissappointed if there's only four in it, seeing as you're effectively fielding your thirds.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 22, 2011, 07:26:38 PM
Sometimes i wonder at the gabshitery of some of my fellow Down supporters.
Post by: passedit on March 22, 2011, 07:38:45 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on March 22, 2011, 07:26:38 PM
Sometimes i wonder at the gabshitery of some of my fellow Down supporters.

Here's a clue Brick, it's a bit like steely.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 23, 2011, 02:43:15 AM
Well if a strong Down team can't easily beat an extremely weakened Dublin team there could be problems ahead for Down  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on March 23, 2011, 10:05:07 AM
Goawnowadah!
Post by: heffo on March 23, 2011, 10:56:20 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 23, 2011, 10:05:07 AM
Goawnowadah!

Nonsense young Jinxy!

Down returning to form at just the right time, Dublin's rookie defence ripe to be torn to pieces by the Clarke/Coulter double act, it won't be pretty.
Post by: PAULD123 on March 23, 2011, 03:42:20 PM
Ah come on now Heffo. I am fairly confident we can win but I'm not expecting it to be a breeze. I would expect us to have slightly more possession and therefore slightly more scores (as both defences are fairly open). But anyone who reads this forum regularly knows I've been wrong before.
Post by: heffo on March 23, 2011, 04:08:22 PM
Only slagging Paul - should be a good game and with the Hurling on before it a good evening's entertainment
Post by: western exile on March 23, 2011, 11:24:27 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 23, 2011, 04:08:22 PM
Only slagging Paul - should be a good game and with the Hurling on before it a good evening's entertainment
Yes indeed.  If only they hadn't also booked Jedward  >:(
Post by: PAULD123 on March 28, 2011, 07:48:29 PM
Who would people like to see in the starting team? Do people fancy we play our championship side or start more support players? Carr, Murtagh, Laverty, John Clarke, Howard, Doyle, McCardle, even Sexton are all deserving of a chance. But personally I'm quite greedy, I'd like to see our best 15 go out and give it our best lash
Post by: SHEEDY on March 28, 2011, 08:46:33 PM
if bennys hamstring is still playing up,i wouldnt want to see him flogged to death on the wide open spaces of croke park. the most important match is in the atheltic grounds in may and we need all our players fully fit and flying for that one. with survival now assured the fringe players should see abit of action as we may need some of them later in the summer.

really looking forward to sat night,think we can give them a good rattle.
Post by: pointlad on March 28, 2011, 09:51:40 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on March 28, 2011, 08:46:33 PM
if bennys hamstring is still playing up,i wouldnt want to see him flogged to death on the wide open spaces of croke park. the most important match is in the atheltic grounds in may and we need all our players fully fit and flying for that one. with survival now assured the fringe players should see abit of action as we may need some of them later in the summer.

I would say thats the wrong approach to just give up saying we have been guaranteed safe in division 1, the team as a whole as the potential to push on and beat Dublin and Kerry and earn a place in a league final for the 3rd year running, each a division higher than before,  which is very impressive.Every game in the future should be taken with equal importance as the last,league game and championship game. I would not go out and play the fringe players and end up loosing marginally.  A win is a win and is a confidence booster which the whole team needs to go and to try to win ulster or even get far in the all ireland series.
Post by: Minus15 on March 28, 2011, 10:01:51 PM
What are likely admission fees for this one given it's a double header?
Post by: heffo on March 28, 2011, 10:21:12 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on March 28, 2011, 10:01:51 PM
What are likely admission fees for this one given it's a double header?

Thirteen euro- same as every other league game
Post by: SHEEDY on March 28, 2011, 10:30:12 PM
Quote from: pointlad on March 28, 2011, 09:51:40 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on March 28, 2011, 08:46:33 PM

I would say thats the wrong approach to just give up saying we have been guaranteed safe in division 1, the team as a whole as the potential to push on and beat Dublin and Kerry and earn a place in a league final for the 3rd year running, each a division higher than before,  which is very impressive.Every game in the future should be taken with equal importance as the last,league game and championship game. I would not go out and play the fringe players and end up loosing marginally.  A win is a win and is a confidence booster which the whole team needs to go and to try to win ulster or even get far in the all ireland series.
nobody mentioned anything about giving up. i believe there a juggling act required between trying to win the last 2 games and giving players game time. the aim this year has to be to win an ulster title and we're going to need a strong and fit panel of players to do that.
Post by: ross4life on March 28, 2011, 11:13:52 PM
Should be a good nights entertainment with Dublin v Kilkenny hurling aswell but it's a shame supporters have to endure Jedward again.
Post by: NP 76 on March 28, 2011, 11:23:10 PM
Jedward could be no worse than the rubbish we had to endure in Newry against Monaghan
Post by: western exile on March 28, 2011, 11:59:47 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on March 28, 2011, 11:23:10 PM
Jedward could be no worse than the rubbish we had to endure in Newry against Monaghan
:-\
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 29, 2011, 04:07:25 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 28, 2011, 11:13:52 PM
Should be a good nights entertainment with Dublin v Kilkenny hurling aswell but it's a shame supporters have to endure Jedward again.

Easily avoided, they can't be heard above the din when having a pint out the back...
Post by: 5 Sams on March 29, 2011, 04:11:40 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on March 29, 2011, 04:07:25 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 28, 2011, 11:13:52 PM

Easily avoided, they can't be heard above the din when having a pint out the back...

+1 Croí...that's where I'll be...

The Dublin marketing ploy of putting these eejits on to attract a new audience to HQ seems to be working...I have had several requests for tickets from people who wouldn't even know what colours Down play in :-\ :-\
Post by: Declan on March 30, 2011, 08:26:03 AM
QuoteThe Dublin marketing ploy of putting these eejits on to attract a new audience to HQ seems to be working...I have had several requests for tickets from people who wouldn't even know what colours Down play in

Indeed  - The biggest crowd so far was at the first game where they "performed" but as Croi said you can't hear them if you go back and have a jar!
Post by: Banana Man on March 30, 2011, 09:15:42 AM
wild that there is more chat on the Armagh PO'R thread than the upcoming down game  :D

anyway what do you dub lads think for saturday night? do you think down will be up to much or would you be quite ocnfident of the win?
Post by: Declan on March 30, 2011, 09:38:45 AM
Quoteanyway what do you dub lads think for saturday night? do you think down will be up to much or would you be quite ocnfident of the win?

Well now that Down are safe in Div 1 they can play a bit more freely and as I said earlier with Clarke and Coulter up against our weakest line I can only see one winner on Sat night ;) ;) Dublin by 2
Post by: passedit on March 30, 2011, 10:07:16 AM
Quote from: Declan on March 30, 2011, 08:26:03 AM
QuoteThe Dublin marketing ploy of putting these eejits on to attract a new audience to HQ seems to be working...I have had several requests for tickets from people who wouldn't even know what colours Down play in

Indeed  - The biggest crowd so far was at the first game where they "performed" but as Croi said you can't hear them if you go back and have a jar!

Being divided strictly on gender lines, my family has never been to a Down game en masse. Jedward looks like being the key to breaking this cycle. Any ideas on the cost of attendance for under sixteens for this game?
Post by: downredblack on March 30, 2011, 10:29:18 AM
€5
Post by: heffo on March 30, 2011, 10:29:55 AM
Quote from: passedit on March 30, 2011, 10:07:16 AM
Quote from: Declan on March 30, 2011, 08:26:03 AM

Any ideas on the cost of attendance for under sixteens for this game?

€5
Post by: Banana Man on March 30, 2011, 10:38:43 AM
Quote from: Declan on March 30, 2011, 09:38:45 AM
Quoteanyway what do you dub lads think for saturday night? do you think down will be up to much or would you be quite ocnfident of the win?

Well now that Down are safe in Div 1 they can play a bit more freely and as I said earlier with Clarke and Coulter up against our weakest line I can only see one winner on Sat night ;) ;) Dublin by 2

ha ha good man declan! should be a good spectacle, really looking forward to seeing them live, how many songs are they playing?  ;)
Post by: Canalman on March 30, 2011, 11:00:44 AM
In all fairness the 2 lads (much to my surprise) were quiet enjoyable. Gallivanting all over the pitch and sang around 5 songs. Worth watching imo as I personally don't like drinking behind the stands in CP.

As for the game, it will be tight as despite our 5 out of 5 wins, at least 3 of them imo could have easilly been lost.................... which would have the papers salivating about "Dublin in crisis". Good to see all of panel playing club league games last week.

Fencesitting I know, but a draw might be worth a punt.

More interested in the hurling beforehand.
Post by: Declan on March 30, 2011, 11:53:39 AM
Quotesang around 5 songs
:D :D :D :D
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 30, 2011, 02:02:03 PM

Being a Monaghan man living in Down this is the side of Down football that confuses me! You win a few games and you think you're world beaters. Where were you in the last number of years when your team were slugging it out in Division 3? Nowhere near it I'd imagine.  ::)
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 30, 2011, 02:07:14 PM
I could be mistaken but i think he was specifically referring to the entertainment in Newry that night before the match and at half-time, the music, PA system etc, and not the match or quality of opposition to be fair.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 30, 2011, 02:13:55 PM
Fair enough Brick. Having been at the game I don't remember it being *particularly* bad but I'll reserve judgement until I hear more!
Post by: PAULD123 on March 30, 2011, 02:47:26 PM
Have to defend NP76 on this one. I'm sure he was talking about the music. It was a couple of dance numbers mumbelling over the PA, like someone had put the mike beside his iphone and headed off for a cup of tea. Absolutely no effort at all.

The match was not a great one but not a bad one either. I wouldn't be slagging off the on-field entertainment that night and I don't think NP76 would either
Post by: NP 76 on March 30, 2011, 03:23:35 PM
Grand Master Number 1 when i was talking about JEDWARD would you not think to yourself that i was talking about the half time entertainment . You could hardly call a hammering of one of your Ulster rivals poor entertainment . Number 2 i was there when we were getting beat by the likes of Limerick Sligo  Leitrim  and Wexford im not one of the ones that come out when the sun shines . Number 3 I never said we were world beaters but at least we are moving in the right direction away from div 2 and 3 which can only be seen as positive .Thanks Paul and Brick at least you got the jest of what i was talking about
Post by: bennydorano on March 30, 2011, 07:23:40 PM
Fancy Down quite strongly, Dubs have had the luck of the divil so far, cant continue forever.
Post by: Hound on March 31, 2011, 01:28:16 PM
Hard to do any sort of pre-game analysis with no line-up. Gilroy has done very little experimentation this year (although he has been forced into a lot of changes with injuries and Kilmacud's run). But at this stage if guys who havent been starting dont get a chance, then they'll not be starting in the championship. Maybe if the Dubs do get a result v Down, then I could see line-up v Galway being made up of 5 or 6 Crokes lads and a number players who've only seen bits and pieces of action to date.

Will be interesting to see who loses out to accommodate Bernard Brogan. Has to be his brother, or Quinn or McManamon. Tough call.

I think Barry Cahill will continue at wing forward, leaving the other spot between Flynn, Cullen and Andrews. The latter two certainly deserve a chance to stake their claim, but they may have to wait and hope they get it v Galway.

I'm expecting it to be a cracking game.
Post by: passedit on March 31, 2011, 03:04:13 PM
Looking forward to this. Would expect a fairly decent crowd too. 90 yoyos into the Aviva two weeks ago, nine of us going saturday night for 55. Hard to beat that. Anybody know where i'd get a hold of a few jedward numbers so I can get practising?
Post by: heffo on March 31, 2011, 09:02:08 PM
Quote from: Hound on March 31, 2011, 01:28:16 PM
I think Barry Cahill will continue at wing forward, leaving the other spot between Flynn, Cullen and Andrews. The latter two certainly deserve a chance to stake their claim, but they may have to wait and hope they get it v Galway.

I don't think Cullen is going to start any game this year - he has serious ongoing back problems and doesn't have 70 mins in him - I would think ideally he'll be 1st or 2nd sub come championship.
Post by: Hound on April 01, 2011, 07:38:20 AM
Dubs team named. And some experimentation, with Nicky Devereux making his senior debut and Paul Brogan getting a go at full back.

No Bernard or McAuley though  ???

Stephen Cluxton (Parnell's)
Philip McMahon (Ballymun)  Paul Brogan (Plunkett's)  Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer)
Kevin Nolan (Kilmacud)  Ger Brennan (Vincent's)  Darragh Nelson (Ballyboden)
Denis Bastick (Templeogue)  Barry Cahill (Brigid's)
Paul Flynn (Fingallians)  Kevin McManamon (Jude's)  Bryan Cullen (Skerries)
Alan Brogan (Plunkett's)  Diarmuid Connolly (Vincent's)  Tomás Quinn (Vincent's)

Post by: Declan on April 01, 2011, 08:27:03 AM
Benny and Clarke must be licking their lips looking at that ;)
Post by: No1 on April 01, 2011, 08:33:14 AM
If the rumour I heard this morning is true, Benny is going to be out for quite a while.
Post by: snoopdog on April 01, 2011, 10:00:58 AM
Quote from: No1 on April 01, 2011, 08:33:14 AM
If the rumour I heard this morning is true, Benny is going to be out for quite a while.

i hope this is an april fools, just like the Dublin team with no Bernard Brogan

april fools we aint falling for that
Post by: heffo on April 01, 2011, 10:16:55 AM
B Brogan is out because he missed the last match and it would send out the wrong signals for him to walk back onto a winning team and esp into a full forward line that played so well.

Surprised at Cullen starting - the prognosis wasn't so good about ten days ago.

More experimentation at the back - glad to see Devereaux get a start after being hit by a car on his way to a college exam in January.
Post by: Hound on April 01, 2011, 10:48:46 AM
Quote from: heffo on April 01, 2011, 10:16:55 AM
B Brogan is out because he missed the last match and it would send out the wrong signals for him to walk back onto a winning team and esp into a full forward line that played so well.

The player of the year for 2010, arguably the best forward in the country, misses a game because he's representing the GAA abroad. And he's not brought straight back into the team because it would send out the wrong signal??!! That's a load of nonsense in my opinion heffo!

Not one of the 6 forwards could complain if Bernard got in ahead of them. All they could argue is that someone else should have got dropped instead.

If that really is the reason Bernard is dropped then the signal it sends out is that Bernard should have refused the offer to represent the GAA.

However, I'm loath to believe that Gilroy is ignorant enough to take that line. I'm hoping that he just wants to give Alan Brogan, Quinn and McManamon more games before deciding who loses out
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 01, 2011, 01:05:55 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on March 30, 2011, 03:23:35 PM
Grand Master Number 1 when i was talking about JEDWARD would you not think to yourself that i was talking about the half time entertainment . You could hardly call a hammering of one of your Ulster rivals poor entertainment . Number 2 i was there when we were getting beat by the likes of Limerick Sligo  Leitrim  and Wexford im not one of the ones that come out when the sun shines . Number 3 I never said we were world beaters but at least we are moving in the right direction away from div 2 and 3 which can only be seen as positive .Thanks Paul and Brick at least you got the jest of what i was talking about

For your reference:

At what point in that sentence is half-time entertainment explicitly mentioned? the 'against Monagan' is more prominent to me.. Anyways, I apologise for being a bit paranoid and for taking you literally. I take and respect your responses. Case dismissed!  :)

Post by: Jinxy on April 01, 2011, 01:25:36 PM

More experimentation at the back - glad to see Devereaux get a start after being hit by a car on his way to a college exam in January.

Can we have a lend of him so?
Post by: snoopdog on April 01, 2011, 02:27:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 01, 2011, 01:25:36 PM

Can we have a lend of him so?

i would be suprised if there isnt a late change on the Dublin team.
BB will start tomorrow night.
Post by: NP 76 on April 01, 2011, 02:54:20 PM
Fair play grandmaster i was only replying to the other posts and may have been a bit vague in my reply no harm done thanks
Post by: amallon on April 01, 2011, 03:52:00 PM
Can I people pay at the gate for this game?
Post by: NP 76 on April 01, 2011, 03:55:12 PM
Quote from: amallon on April 01, 2011, 03:52:00 PM
Dont think so as far as i heard all ticket
Post by: PAULD123 on April 01, 2011, 03:58:46 PM

You certainly will be able to buy a ticket on the night. It won't be a sell out and the GAA is not likely to turn down your good money!

This is the Dublin GAA website info -
Ticket Information for Saturday 2nd April - Dublin hurlers v Kilkenny (5.15); Dublin footballers v Down (7.30) - Music Act Jedward (6.45)

General Sale
Tickets are on sale from http://www.gaa.ie  http://www.ticketmaster.ie  or The GAA Ticket Office – Dorset Street. Opening times 9.30am to 5pm Monday to Friday.
On Saturday tickets will be on sale from mobile ticket unites in the vacinity of Croke Park.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 01, 2011, 04:08:24 PM

There'll be a Ticket kiosk at the Bishops Palace in Drumcondra Aidan....before you come to Quinn's on the left hand side of the road heading into the city.
Post by: amallon on April 01, 2011, 04:09:59 PM
Cheers 5Sams never even though of ordering tickets.
Post by: Class of 99 on April 01, 2011, 04:26:31 PM
Anything on Benny lads is he injured?
Post by: Leo on April 01, 2011, 05:19:31 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 01, 2011, 03:58:46 PM

You certainly will be able to buy a ticket on the night. It won't be a sell out and the GAA is not likely to turn down your good money!

Ticket Information for Saturday 2nd April - Dublin hurlers v Kilkenny (5.15); Dublin footballers v Down (7.30) - Music Act Jedward (6.45)

General Sale
Tickets are on sale from http://www.gaa.ie  http://www.ticketmaster.ie  or The GAA Ticket Office – Dorset Street. Opening times 9.30am to 5pm Monday to Friday.
On Saturday tickets will be on sale from mobile ticket unites in the vacinity of Croke Park.

Collected my club tickets for Saturday from Down allocation - they have given us the worst corner of Croke Park to be in.  I checked Ticketmaster to find that much better seats are available in Lower Hogan. Glad of any seat to see this match but still think this is totally wrong way to treat genuine GAA members as oppposed to general public. Anyone else notice this?
Post by: Canalman on April 01, 2011, 05:35:25 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 01, 2011, 03:58:46 PM

General Sale

Allow plenty of time for queuing if you are hoping to buy them at the office opposite Gills pub. A shambles of an operation there.
Post by: Dubh driocht on April 01, 2011, 05:59:00 PM
Got an e-mail about my season-ticket - it went to junk-mail and needs to be printed to get in .
Cushty seats in section 329  Lower Hogan- ideal for a close-up of Jedward, Henry Shefflin and Kalum King.
Post by: NP 76 on April 01, 2011, 07:31:22 PM
Dubh driocht got them printed earlier section 329 row nn lower hogan should be dry if the rain comes on was talking to another man and he is in the same section all Down season tickets must be together.Cant wait
Post by: PAULD123 on April 01, 2011, 08:11:21 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on April 01, 2011, 07:31:22 PM
Dubh driocht got them printed earlier section 329 row nn lower hogan should be dry if the rain comes on was talking to another man and he is in the same section all Down season tickets must be together.Cant wait

Me too Section 329 row PP.
Post by: SHEEDY on April 01, 2011, 08:16:49 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 01, 2011, 08:11:21 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on April 01, 2011, 07:31:22 PM

Me too Section 329 row PP.
me too!!! happy with the seats and the fact all down season ticket holders seem to be together
Post by: No1 on April 01, 2011, 11:00:29 PM
Quote« Reply #46 on: Today at 10:00:58 AM » 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote from: No1 on Today at 08:33:14 AM

i hope this is an april fools, just like the Dublin team with no Bernard Brogan

april fools we aint falling for that

f**k sake, not even one bite!!

Really looking forward to this game, has the potential to be very open and entertaining.  Lets hope it doesn't disappoint.

Down by a goal (Benny is due one)!
Post by: Oldhacker on April 01, 2011, 11:43:24 PM
It's a little surprising that there is apparently no announcement of the Down side less than 20 hours before the throw-in of such a big game, and there will inevitably be fears that we have a late inury or two to deal with. Most Down supporters expected an unchanged tean, but presumably the morning papers will have the line-up.

Regardless of that, it is a fascinating match which, on the basis of league form so far, and with a bit of luck, could be quite a spectacle. Dublin have been sweeping  all before them, but still conceding a little more than they would like, while Down, apart from the last 15 minutes away to Cork, have looked as though we fully deserve to be in the top half of division one.

It's quite a while since we played Dublin in the league, and I can remember being on the wrong end of a couple of thumpings in the mid-90s. There was one game at Newry when heavy traffic meant we were late arriving and the ball came over the terracing at the town end as we went through the turnstiles. It turned out to be an early penalty from Ross resulting in a point which meant that we missed our only score that day. Dublin finished with an ordinary enough 1-7, which was enough to give them a nine-point win. Hopefully, it will be a little closer tomorrow.
Post by: Out in Front on April 02, 2011, 12:27:53 AM
James McCartan has named the following line up for tomorrow nights match v Dublin in Croke Park (from Down website)

Declan Alder   (Ceathrú Aodha Dhuibh),
Gerard McCartan   (Boireann)
Dan Gordon   (Loch an Oileáin)
Brendan McArdle   (Eanach Chlúain)
Conor Garvey   (Droichead Mhaigh Éo)
Kevin McKernan   (Boireann)
Declan Rooney   (Boireann)
Peter Fitzpatrick (Baile Mhairtín)
Kalum King   (Áth Bhriain)
Daniel Hughes   (Sabhaill)
Mark Poland   (Cloch Fhada)
Conor Maginn   (Áth Bhriain)
Paul McComiskey   (Dún Droma)
Ronan Murtagh   (Baile Cholmáin)
Martin Clarke   (An Ríocht)
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 02, 2011, 12:29:34 AM
Murtagh in, Benny out - otherwise unchanged. The use of substitutes on both sides may be crucial.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 02, 2011, 08:06:09 AM
With Murtagh in and Benny out it is just as well No.1 admitted his comment about Benny was an April fool or I may have started to get a bit worried.

James has continued his policy of playing fundamentally his best side with just a tweak or two to help develop the squad overall. Personally I think thsi is the best idea. I don't believe you learn much from experimenting with wholesale changes, you don't find out how the new players will perform in the team you just find out what a totally different team will play like.

So that just leaves us to consider what the changes will be. No bench has been named so, as James normally has a plan for these in advance,  who do people think will coem in during the game? I expect to see Dan come in for McCardle, and Benny to swap with Murtagh at some point. Other than that it would be nice to see Dee Rafferty touch the ball, Colgan get a bit of a turn at midfield. I woudl love to see Liam doyle on the pitch but have no idea if he is fit enough yet. What do others think?
Post by: Out in Front on April 02, 2011, 01:19:03 PM
This changed team appeared later on the Down website than the on posted previously

James McCartan has named the following line up for tomorrow nights match v Dublin in Croke Park
Brendan McVeigh   (An Riocht),
Gerard McCartan   (Boireann)
Dan Gordon   (Loch an Oileáin)
Brendan McArdle   (Eanach Chlúain)
Conor Garvey   (Droichead Mhaigh Éo)
Kevin McKernan   (Boireann)
Declan Rooney   (Boireann)
Peter Fitzpatrick (Baile Mhairtín)
Kalum King   (Áth Bhriain)
Daniel Hughes   (Sabhaill)
Mark Poland   (Cloch Fhada)
Conor Maginn   (Áth Bhriain)
Paul McComiskey   (Dún Droma)
Brendan Coulter   (Droichead Mhaigh Éo)
Martin Clarke   (An Ríocht)
Post by: Dubh driocht on April 02, 2011, 02:19:15 PM
Either team will do me. Bring on the Dubs and stick a wedge on the Ulstermen at 9 to 4.You will see Brogan before half-time but he won't have heard how good Gerard Mc Cartan is .Benny to cut loose,Mc Kernan to find his shooting boots, KK and Bastick to have a few fall-outs and Rony Murtagh to come on and score 1-5 in the last ten.
Post by: Declan on April 02, 2011, 02:49:55 PM
Alan and Bernard's grandfather died last night  - RIP
Post by: downredblack on April 02, 2011, 03:21:06 PM
Rain on in Dublin , wet ball the night .

Condolences to the Brogan family .
Post by: borderfox on April 02, 2011, 09:09:51 PM
Hard Luck On Down. Deserved a draw I thought
Post by: snoopdog on April 02, 2011, 11:04:30 PM
just home, totally gutted after that.
We were our own worst enemy tonight.
gutted
Post by: Class of 99 on April 02, 2011, 11:07:16 PM
Tough break at the end but would rather that happened now than come the Championship, conditions made for a scrappy game, The ball in the end was nearly to easy for Callum just one of those things, some nice scores tonight from
both sides mixed with dome poor wides.
All in all Down can hold there heads up and look forward to a trip to kilarney and hopefully sign off with a win.
Defence imprioved after a very shaky start, nobody seemed aware of the Dublin players running from deep, their first goal was disappointing and I normally would expect BM to come and clear the house, but I'm not going to start criticising him after last years performances.
What great value for 13 euro
Post by: NP 76 on April 02, 2011, 11:46:25 PM
Although alot of silly mistakes alot were forced by poor refering thought he was desperate Dublin unbelievably negative 3 to 4 men in front of our benny at all times thought we should of pushed our men further up on them . Clarke very impulsive with the sideline at the end could of worked it better than that and Rony cardinal error not putting ball dead .Good to see Eoin Mc Cartan back in the county colours
Post by: MK on April 03, 2011, 12:04:39 AM
kk one significant touch proved to be decisive-unfortunately  :(
Down still  need to learn how to turn posession into scores
fantastic night for the youngsters watchin the Brogans,the mc cartans and the Grimes  ::)
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 03, 2011, 01:31:01 AM
Condolences first of all to two police families, the Brogans of Dublin and the Kerrs of Omagh. Our thoughts are with them.

It's a measure of the progress this Down squad has made that we left Croke Park bitterly disappointed after defeat to a fine Dublin side which has just won six on the bounce. We were the better team on the night, and dominated for most of the second half, so we need to look at where the game was lost. A little more cuteness would have seen us home, and, while there is not much point on condemning referees, we had a sub-standard one who could not keep up with the play and seemed to be intimidated by the atmosphere. However, in terms of a huge game at headquarters, and a blanket defence from a very physical opposition, it really should bring us on forward regardless of the result.

McVeigh varied his kick-outs well, was slow off his line for their first goal but made a couple of fine saves and hopefully was not seriously injured by the second one. Alder was excellent again as a replacement.

Gerard McCartan found himself stretched but did well throughout and even pushed forward effectively. He is close to nailing a championship slot. Big Dan started slowly but got better and better and was in full control long before the end. McArdle had a reasonable early period, but looked a little nervous later and, after a yellow, needed to be replaced.

McKernan had a strange night, with one brilliant point, three poor wides and a dreadful flick to a Dublin forward which should really have resulted in a goal. He is still a big player for us, linking up well with the attack, but he leaves gaps down the middle.

Garvey and Rooney were similar, with decent spells and ropey moments, while it was another unusual night at midfield. Kallum was back to his best almost but not quite to the end, getting in his tackles, and largely dominating in the air. The late mistake was just one of those things, so we will forget about it quickly. Fitzpatrick was mostly impressive, with a great point, and took a couple of heavy knocks before he was replaced.

Danny took two outstanding scores and ridiculous amount of abuse from defenders as well. The ref should take a long hard video ook at the head-high swings he ignored. Poland was in and out, with a poor early free but a mountain of work as well.  Maginn was great, has fantastic energy and can take a score.

Benny had a brilliant start and won a crucial free towards the end but, as he was double marked, we could not pick him out for long spells. McComiskey punched two fine points, although the second might have been a goal, and was a little unlucky to be benched after a single misplaced pass.

Marty is Marty, so we have to accept a number of handling errors with some moments of genius. He is always there for the pass, and his vision is second to one. It was a pity about that sideline kick.

Dan McCartan had a difficult job on Bernard Brogan, and got booked for a challenge which was not even a foul, but was steady enough. Colgan did well and never wasted a ball. Murtagh is frustrating, as he has the skill and flair to make a difference, and seemed in the mood when he came on, but his final thump up the field made little sense and proved costly.

It was great to see Eoin McCartan back after fully five years, and he won an outstanding ball down the right wing but got little in the way of any other supply.

All in all, we are well ahead of where we might have hoped to be still. Kerry might be a difficult trip, but the talent is there in abundance. If Ambrose gets back as himself, anything remains possible.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 03, 2011, 03:40:07 AM
Before the league started what would we have asked for?

1. Survival

2. Win our home games (especially Armagh)

3. Challenge with good performances away from home.

So in that respect we have acheived all our targets and a little bit more but football is a greedy game. You get what you wanted and you suddenly want more. I'm gutted we lost. It was a lucky goal and we just have to accept it, such bad luck doesn't come round too often. As someone said above better now than the championship.

We were by far the more skillful team. We controlled possession against the team top of the league and outclassed Dublin in their own Croke Park. To be fair 3 months ago we wouldn't have been ambitious enough to expect that.

But we couldn't break the line and we just didn't create anough scoring opportunities. However look at how good our so called weak defence was! Look at the posessesion! See how improved kickouts were! The midfield had one of their best games yet! And it cannot be ignored that the referee made some appalling decisions including two non-existant frees which they scored from! All that is missing is a bit better decision making, that will come with experience. So things are well on track.

But man, I'm flattened tonight
Post by: Dubh driocht on April 03, 2011, 09:21:01 AM
The previous posters have got it right.Our heads are high and on to Killarney we go with no fear.
The previews had all talked about our 3 All Star forwards and it was clear that Pat Gilroy had given instructions to take the 3 lads out- despite double marking at different times, all 3 were ( along with the Brogans) excellent. However, our 3 were victims to late and dangerous tackles and got no protection from Syl Doyle or his officials. Contrast that with his protection of the Dublin forwards ( the Dan Mc Cartan tackle on BB a the worst example) and you really need a strong ref who can distinguish between dirt and toughness.
Thought our MF were good and Kalum in particular makes the least mistakes on our team so when shit happens, move on- it was unlikely we would have made the final even with a win so the performance was more important and we were the better team against an outfit who are the fittest in Ireland. Great night out - Hurling was mighty and them Jedward boys are headers.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 03, 2011, 10:05:17 AM
Each week we review the game on this forum. Each week we point out problems. Each following game we see that the team have improved in that area. What an incredible management we have that see these problems with us and implement changes to address them. each game we are improved and we're still improving. The result was tough but we are getting better and better. To try and cheer myself up here's a reminder of some of the things we have complained about so far, notice how they have been addressed:

Mayo - Our kickouts were terrible, our midfield hardly caught a ball, our HB line allowed the forwards to run through them, failed to win break ball in the middle

Galway - Kept going for goals when we needed points, huge lapses in concentration to let Galway back into it

Armagh - took a lot of hasty shots, again going for goals when we needed points, too much over elaboration (going for an extra pass when an easy shot was on)

Cork - Ran out of steam, gave away a ridiculous number of frees

Monaghan - we were pretty happy with this one, and by this game most of the above points had been addressed

If youu look at each problem and then look at last night's game I think it is clear how good the boys have been at addressing their issues. we can only ask that we keep improving. Last night there was still a lot of hand passes but only because the Dublin defence was superb. The lads were clearly trying to get into point scoring positions.

we must be pleased and enthusiastic about the summer because we are still on an upward curve. Last night was a step up in performance and, but for some terrible referee calls and an unfortunate goal we would have could have been discussing a victory.

Post by: Declan on April 03, 2011, 11:53:54 AM
Although conditions made it a difficult night I thought it was a terrible match and obviously after the Mayo defensive lapses that's all we've been working on cos at times it was back to the worst stuff from last year with 13/14 men in our own half and no one within an asses roar of our forwards.
Lucky to get the winning goal but considering Bastick, Flynn and Cahill missed 3 gettable chances you could argue that Dublin could have won by more. Apart from Flynn's hard work I thought our HF line was poor enough but anyway we're in a national final so looking forward to it now.
Post by: heffo on April 03, 2011, 03:18:33 PM
Very happy with the win.

Inexperienced Dublin team playing against nearly Downs full whack so to get three points while expermenting with new tactics & shape was excellent.

Most Down posters seem to be giving out about the ref, but I thought you got some very handy frees, particularly in the second half.

Down shouldn't have taken their foot off the pedal trying to wind down the clock before Dublin got their equaliser.

Looking forward to Easter Sunday now.
Post by: NP 76 on April 03, 2011, 03:33:59 PM
I didnt see the handy frees for Down maybe im wrong all i saw was Down getting handy yellow cards like that Daniel got when Bernard got a real handy free but nothing can be done about it now you have to take your chances Down didnt Dublin did fair play all the best in the final good nights craic for all that great to be back in Croke park hope its not the last time this year
Post by: Canalman on April 03, 2011, 03:35:29 PM
A draw imo would have been a fair result. From a Dub perspective am very happy to  see both Kevin Nolan and Paul Flynn improving alot.................. they are the type of player we have been crying out for for years. From the heights of the upper Cusack both Devereux and Brogan P (after a shaky start) played well .

Down are a handy side who just did not read the referee at all. The ref imo continuously gave the advantage to the tackler with Dublin quicker to offload the ball and Down carrying it in to the tackle. He was consistent in his approach and is an approach that I personally favour although I realize others may differ in their views.

As a mate pointed out this is our 1st national final in Dublin  for a whole generation of Dublin supporters and hopefully we give a good account of ourselves.

Saw a very nice thing before the game. One of those hot dog vendors spilt his money pouch under the Cusack stand with coins flying all over the place. The poor fecker's face dropped but virtually every fan in the area went down on their knees to pick up the coins and handed them back to him. The only right thing to do but still nice to see all the same.

Finally, just have to point out that Down also played a defensive system also, counted 8 of them around Diarmuid Connolly at one stage in the 1st half.
Goodish crowd from Down at game.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 03, 2011, 03:45:03 PM
Heffo,

Its not just about the frees its more about where they are given. Do you remember us getting any "handy" frees in the scoring zone?

Even Dublin fans have admitted Dan mcCartan did not foul Brogan when the ref booked him and gave you a 13m free. There was an earlier one on the other side of the pitch when a perfect Down tackle was given as a free and (I think Fitzpatrick was booked), Quinn missed that one. But the point is that the ref gave you that free on 55 minutes which means he effectively gave you a score. A "handy" free is not much help in midfield but getting it within 13m of goal changes the scoreboard.

Do you dispute any of the three frees we scored from? 15 minutes Danny Hughes brought down 45m out, 55 minutes coulter taken out and Down called back for a free despite already having put it over the bar for a point, 67 minutes Coulter rugby tackled as he headed along the line after turning Brogan?

Overall we feel Dublin got the decisions that caused more damage. The ref was overall very poor and the big screen replays showed how many decisions he got wrong.

No hard feelings though, this has been a respectful and friendly forum topic. Fair play to Dublin they fought to the end and took their luck when it came. A draw would have been a fair result in my opinion and to be fair I think most people agree with that.
Post by: mournerambler on April 03, 2011, 04:22:32 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 03, 2011, 03:18:33 PM
Very happy with the win.

Inexperienced Dublin team playing against nearly Downs full whack so to get three points while expermenting with new tactics & shape was excellent.Most Down posters seem to be giving out about the ref, but I thought you got some very handy frees, particularly in the second half.

Down shouldn't have taken their foot off the pedal trying to wind down the clock before Dublin got their equaliser.

Looking forward to Easter Sunday now.

2 points for a league win in GAA Heffo  ;)
Post by: snoopdog on April 03, 2011, 04:40:26 PM
Cork defeated today.
a win in kerry and a cork defeat would see us in the final.
tough call though.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on April 03, 2011, 07:20:01 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on April 03, 2011, 04:40:26 PM
Cork defeated today.
a win in kerry and a cork defeat would see us in the final.
tough call though.

Dont think there is much chance of Armagh beating Cork, while Kerry are going really well at minute, we will also have bother in Killarney with Tomas OSe, Galvin and Brosnan all back in flying form. 3 massive losses to Kerry last year when we defeated them. But you never no, there is always hope.

Disapointing end to last night, felt sorry for big King, he didnt go out to do that. Danny Hughes was our best player once again, an absolute brilliant footballer.
Post by: dublin7 on April 03, 2011, 08:55:07 PM
The reason Dan McCartan got booked is because from the minute he came on he decided he wanted Bernard Brogan's shirt & refused to let go. Was warned by the referee to cut it out, but kept it up & was booked by the ref.

Thought the amount of handpassing by Down was ridiculous. On a wet night like that made no sense.

From dubs point of view an inexperienced back line performed well & Alan Brogan coming into form for the championship
Post by: Mid Down Gael on April 03, 2011, 09:08:24 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on April 03, 2011, 08:55:07 PM
The reason Dan McCartan got booked is because from the minute he came on he decided he wanted Bernard Brogan's shirt & refused to let go. Was warned by the referee to cut it out, but kept it up & was booked by the ref.

Thought the amount of handpassing by Down was ridiculous. On a wet night like that made no sense.

From dubs point of view an inexperienced back line performed well & Alan Brogan coming into form for the championship

Have to agree with you here, the umpire warned McCartan and then he persisted in holding Bernards jersey. The umpire then let Syl Doyle know who booked him when he committed a foul. Dan is serious for holding jerseys of opponents, James couldnt wait to get him on, didnt see the need when Benny McArdle was doing rightly and Gerard McCartan is a very decent man marker, who does it without holding jerseys.
Would like to see Carr in for Poland at 11 next week, Poland dosent do near enough and he is too inconsistent with frees. Or even play Clarke at 11 and play Murtagh at 15 allowing Benny to roam deeper from time to time. Colgan would deserve a start too imo.
Post by: ardtole on April 03, 2011, 09:15:26 PM
I think Gerard McCartan has been the find of the season for us this year. Id be very disappointed if he didnt start against Armagh come championship time. Although with McArdle, Howard, Dan McCartan and Dee Rafferty all chasing a corner back slot we have strength in depth here for the first time in a long time.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on April 03, 2011, 09:21:24 PM
Quote from: ardtole on April 03, 2011, 09:15:26 PM
I think Gerard McCartan has been the find of the season for us this year. Id be very disappointed if he didnt start against Armagh come championship time. Although with McArdle, Howard, Dan McCartan and Dee Rafferty all chasing a corner back slot we have strength in depth here for the first time in a long time.

Howard wont start, he couldn even make the 26 man squad last night. the six at present are doing rightly, even though Garvey and Rooney have mixed some brilliant stuff with awful mistakes in recent games. Dan McCartan should have to earn his place back as Gerard and Benny have done well and do not deserve dropped just to get Dan on.
Post by: snoopdog on April 03, 2011, 09:33:19 PM
Quote from: ardtole on April 03, 2011, 09:15:26 PM
God Down defended terribly last night, the 2 goals were gifts not to mention the 2 other great goal chances Dublin had.
Downs forward play was back to its worst under ross and paddy.
Dublins every man behind the ball didnt help though.
James has a serious amount of work to do for May 28th
Can blame ref all we want but Down beat themselves last night and after todays result in Castlebar have done themselves out of a great chance for a league final place.
Post by: ardtole on April 03, 2011, 09:34:22 PM
If Dee Rafferty gets fully fit he would have to be in contention for a start. But as you say MDG the 2 lads in posession of the jerseys at the minute fully deserve to hang on to them. But its a great position to be in, if one of the starting corner backs is getting a roasting or has picked up a yellow and is sailing close to the wind we have a couple of ready made replacements. It hasn't been the case in recent years though. I would be a wee bit concerned about James eagerness to get Dan on and I dont think he was our best option to be picking up Bernard Brogan.
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 03, 2011, 09:59:52 PM
People may be forgetting that Benny McArdle had been booked, albeit harshly, and it would have been a big risk leaving him on Bernard Brogan. Dan McCartan was probably our best marker last season and was a reasonable option for the last quarter of a game we had a decent chance of winning. However, I agree with the suggestion that Gerard McCartan has been our find of the league and switching him on to Brogan might also have worked. Dee Rafferty was outstanding in 2010 also, and there is also Darren O'Hagan to come back, so there is strength in depth there.
Post by: whitegoodman on April 03, 2011, 10:09:28 PM
I may be in the minority here but I think rafferty is slightly on the wane, thought he was poor in the 3 outings in croke last year and I no he was on cooper in one of them.  he is past 30 now and will struggle to get back in imo. queue the barrage of abuse.

agree with mdg on Carr and colgen coming in nxt wk but thought it was right to take mcardle off, he was struggling and booked. lavery must be wondering what he has done wrong, hasn't been seen since cork although it was good to see eoin back
Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 08:32:47 AM
We have a chance next week and the lads need to take it. At the very least they need to prove their championship credentials by winning. We played well against Cork until the last fifteen, we were better than Dublin but lost, we out classed Armagh but only won by a point. I have no doubt they will put in a good shift next week but there is that wee bit of killer instinct missing, that little bit extra that edges one team ahead of another. There is no switch of player or smart tactical move that will solve this it will have to come from within the players and the team.

Everything else is fine. For all our debates, Down are now playing some of the best football in the country, it is just a matter of somehow the lads learning to convert that quality football into victorys. That sort of 1990's Meath spirit.
Post by: heffo on April 04, 2011, 08:43:54 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 08:32:47 AM
we were better than Dublin but lost

Indeed.
Post by: Leo on April 04, 2011, 09:18:06 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 08:32:47 AM
.... but there is that wee bit of killer instinct missing......

It's hard to find the killer instinct if the most lethal forward we have ever produced is left isolated and friendless up the field while the rest of the team run circles around themselves in our own half until they get dizzy enough to cough up the ball to our oponents. Cluxton hadn't a single save to make all night, we never once got ear a goal chance. That has nothing to do with Benny but all to do with "some of the best football" ??????
Post by: snoopdog on April 04, 2011, 09:20:35 AM
The Kiler instinct that Down need is Caolan Mooney,
If your good enough your old enough.
i know he is off to Collingwood in the autumn but in my opinion the Down seniors need him.
Post by: highorlow on April 04, 2011, 09:21:15 AM
Nice picture of the Dublin goading in today's Irish Times.

The whistles on the Hill need to stop.
Post by: heffo on April 04, 2011, 09:42:21 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 04, 2011, 09:21:15 AM

Give over will ya. If by goading you mean Alan Brogan celebrating scoring an injury time winner into the Hill.

Post by: Declan on April 04, 2011, 10:08:21 AM
QuoteNice picture of the Dublin goading in today's Irish Times.

You're joking right- That's Alan Brogan celebrating into the hill and right after it he looked skywards in memory of his grandfather.

QuoteThe whistles on the Hill need to stop

Ageed - so bloody annoying

My thoughts are like McCartan's as quoted in the Times;

McCartan left town intrigued, like a man who hadn't quite been able to finish a particularly devilish Sudoku puzzle before his lunchbreak was up. "Never thought I'd come to Croke Park and find that Jedward would be the highlight of the evening," he mused.

"We've no complaints about the defeat. You like coming to Croke Park and getting the experience and certainly Dublin asked a whole load of different questions today that other teams hadn't asked of us throughout the league. I'm sure the football was very poor to watch because that's the way it felt from where I was standing. The set-ups of both teams didn't really lend themselves to good football."
Post by: Jinxy on April 04, 2011, 10:24:28 AM

Post by: highorlow on April 04, 2011, 10:38:07 AM
He looks to me to be goading the Down goalkeeper...?

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/

Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 10:40:00 AM

Even though the goal was very fortunate Brogan has every right to celebrate and he just happened to be in front of the Hill, its not like he raced the length of the pitch to get there. I have no problem with him celebrating what was a dramatic winner on a night tinged with sadness for him personally.

As for the whistles, it was a disgrace and on more than one occasion I saw players stutter their runs as a result of it. I would urge anyone who sees someone doing it to notify the stewards
Post by: heffo on April 04, 2011, 10:43:37 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 04, 2011, 10:38:07 AM
He looks to me to be goading the Down goalkeeper...?

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/

He's not - he's looking directly past the Down keeper into the Hill - please retract your statement above

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/503372/

Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 10:55:01 AM
Let's have an end to this now please, better we talk about football.

highorlow, please watch rte player, you will get the League Sunday programme and you will see on the highlights that Brogan's natural run takes him right into where Adler is standing, they instantly move aside from each other and Brogan stands in the net shouting to the hill. The photo you saw is the instant they are separating.

Now football - I think it may be time to start a Kerry vs Down thread and move over there. Before I go a message to Dublin fans. Just in case Armagh do lose to Cork, we will forgive you Saturday night's defeat of us if you would do us a favour and lose to Galway, thus relegating Armagh. Go on lads you've nothing to play for anyway!!!

Post by: highorlow on April 04, 2011, 10:55:18 AM
QuoteHe's not - he's looking directly past the Down keeper into the Hill - please retract your statement above

Fair enough. I'll be watching out for the goading come the championship though.
Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 10:55:50 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 04, 2011, 10:55:18 AM
QuoteHe's not - he's looking directly past the Down keeper into the Hill - please retract your statement above

Let's have an end to this now please, better we talk about football.

highorlow, please watch rte player, you will get the League Sunday programme and you will see on the highlights that Brogan's natural run takes him right into where Adler is standing, they instantly move aside from each other and Brogan stands in the net shouting to the hill. The photo you saw is the instant they are separating.

Now football - I think it may be time to start a Kerry vs Down thread and move over there. Before I go a message to Dublin fans. Just in case Armagh do lose to Cork, we will forgive you Saturday night's defeat of us if you would do us a favour and lose to Galway, thus relegating Armagh. Go on lads you've nothing to play for anyway!!!
Post by: heffo on April 04, 2011, 11:09:36 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 04, 2011, 10:55:18 AM

You worry about Mayo - you've enough on your plate as it is.
Post by: NP 76 on April 04, 2011, 03:07:25 PM
Just watched game again and after reading posts about Daniel Mc Cartan getting booked maybe i am wrong but the ref never warned him about shirt pulling before his booking also the ref wasnt told by his umpire about it so as to issue the card . In my opinon Bernard Brogan was hollding on to Daniels shorts maybe if he had of consulted with the umpire he would of seen this
Post by: dublin7 on April 04, 2011, 06:05:19 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on April 04, 2011, 03:07:25 PM
Just watched game again and after reading posts about Daniel Mc Cartan getting booked maybe i am wrong but the ref never warned him about shirt pulling before his booking also the ref wasnt told by his umpire about it so as to issue the card . In my opinon Bernard Brogan was hollding on to Daniels shorts maybe if he had of consulted with the umpire he would of seen this

I was on the hill. Umpire spoke to the ref, who in turn warned McCartan. He can have no complaints
Post by: PAULD123 on April 04, 2011, 06:10:22 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on April 04, 2011, 06:05:19 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on April 04, 2011, 03:07:25 PM

I was on the hill. Umpire spoke to the ref, who in turn warned McCartan. He can have no complaints

I think he can complain as it wasn't a foul in the first place.

Brogan half fell and half pushed McCartan but it certainly wasn't a foul.

What I find frustrating is that the ref awarded the foul - okay we all make mistakes. But by the time he had ran to McCartan the replay was already on the screen showing that it was no foul. Then he booked McCartan. The evidence was right in front of him to realise his mistake. I don't expect him to overturn his decision but he should have at least realised his error from the screen images and not given an erroneous yellow card which compounded his mistake.

By umpire I assume you mean linesman as that isn't the umpire's role. And for that matter the linesman isn't allowed to do it either. I'm pretty sure the linesman is only allowed to bring the referees attention to "violent conduct". Incidentally would this be the same linesman who never bothered to point out to the ref when Bastick tried to take the face off Marty Clarke's in the middle of the pitch, which certainly was "violent conduct"?
Post by: The Aristocrat on April 04, 2011, 07:08:57 PM
A lot of sour grapes floating around, analysing every tackle, every free, this that and the other, you would swear they were playing soccer, hard tackling is the name of the game. Still alot of hate for the Dubs out there which is fair enough but keep it for the pub, this isnt Hoganstand.

Anybody have the stats on how many times Down handpassed the ball, i dont think i seen them kick the ball except for shooting?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 04, 2011, 08:13:22 PM
Came away from the match on saturday night not only disappointed but i also felt short changed. Part of me thinks it would have been better to stay at home and watch it on the telly (cue the bullshit about not being a real Down fan, bla bla bla).

I was going to the game expecting two evenly enough matched teams to go toe to toe in what should have been a pretty open and relatively entertaining spectacle. Dublin and Down both provided one of the best days last summer when they both won and upset the odds with direct, high-octane entertaining football but saturday night both teams were playing as if afraid to take a chance or to go for the jugular.
Being biased id of course say that for some reason Dublin employed some god awful negative tactics. Down werent able to cope with so many bodies packing the Dublin defence resulting in a keep-ball orgy of sidewards and backwards passing, not to mention the shit-yer-pants short kickouts to retain posession.
Also felt the ref was pretty incompetent, third-man tackles, body-checks, stopping the runner at all costs, it was like watching our applemunching neighbours next door in their prime.
Disappointed in both teams for not playing a better brand of football and not providing a spectacle.
That being siad, im sure anyone playing or involved will give a flying f**k about enteraining or keeping the masses in the stands satisfied.
Post by: andunabu on April 04, 2011, 08:57:14 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on April 04, 2011, 07:08:57 PM
A lot of sour grapes floating around, analysing every tackle, every free, this that and the other, you would swear they were playing soccer, hard tackling is the name of the game. Still alot of hate for the Dubs out there which is fair enough but keep it for the pub, this isnt Hoganstand.

Anybody have the stats on how many times Down handpassed the ball, i dont think i seen them kick the ball except for shooting?
Mmmm... did Dublin not hand pass it a lot also? Didn't put men behind the ball??  Some of the Dublin tackling was OTT and the Referee was shocking in his interpretation of the rules! A cert penalty for Benny not given, Marty Clarke nearly decapitated, Fitzpatrick was "done"off the ball and at least 3 Dublin 13 metre frees for mmm... anything that comes to mind because the referee obviously didn't know. 
But on to football.  Dublin's zone defence is not the real deal. But they have some great movement in the forward line. We played Ok, scored 13 points and missed a few scorable chances.  But I thought we were guilty of a lot of overplay and bad passing. We also gifted 2 goals.  Feel sorry for Kalum King and McVeigh. Thought there was nothing in the  Alan Brogan incident, the lad scores a goal into the hill in the last minute to win.  Fair play to the Brogan lads for even playing given the circumstances.  An entertaining league game and a great evenings value for 15 euro.       
Post by: Class of 99 on April 04, 2011, 09:31:24 PM
Coulter was certainly taken out no doubt, but I guess that particular goal owes him nothing!!!
Time to move on lads both team will certainly be improved come the championship, hopefully we sign off with a victory in kilarney and best of luck to Dublin in the final.