GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on December 01, 2010, 09:53:54 AM

Title: What Price the Dub's
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 01, 2010, 09:53:54 AM
Just wondering what price a man would get to back the Dub's to win the Leinster Final next summer?  With Keaney back and that ex-Tipp lad and a few more little alterations I would not be afraid to put a few bob on them.
Title: Re: What Price the Dub's
Post by: maxpower on December 01, 2010, 10:21:02 AM
who's the tipp lad hurling for Dublin?

Could be a good leinster championship this year, Portumna going out might help Galway, Dublin strengthening, Offaly improving, If Oulart where to win Leinster it could spur Wexford on.

Though Kilkenny still big favourites
Post by: johnneycool on December 01, 2010, 11:14:28 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 01, 2010, 09:53:54 AM
Just wondering what price a man would get to back the Dub's to win the Leinster Final next summer?  With Keaney back and that ex-Tipp lad and a few more little alterations I would not be afraid to put a few bob on them.

Still short a cutting edge forward to take them to the next stage I'm afraid.
Post by: Canalman on December 01, 2010, 12:58:41 PM
Didn't hear Keaney was back............... was a class inter county hurler, still a very good club hurler............... still have my doubts if he will ever regain that old intercounty form of old.

Have to say that I am sickened that a Tipp lad has been parachuted (seemingly) on to the Dublin panel........... personally think that we should persevere with our own. Live or Die on our own merits. Having said that Corcoran has never let us down.

If our main lads stay injury free we have a chance with Leinster but only if we have our best 15 playing. A fully fit Fallon is also needed back asap.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 01, 2010, 02:48:09 PM
http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/gaelic-games/hurling/leinster-senior-hurling-championship/winner (http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/gaelic-games/hurling/leinster-senior-hurling-championship/winner)
Post by: Premier Emperor on December 04, 2010, 05:09:52 PM
33/1 is about right.
All teams in Leinster have to lie down for Kilkenny - its part of their DNA.
Post by: Bud Wiser on January 08, 2011, 01:56:02 PM
QuoteDidn't hear Keaney was back............... was a class inter county hurler, still a very good club hurler............... still have my doubts if he will ever regain that old intercounty form of old.

Have to say that I am sickened that a Tipp lad has been parachuted (seemingly) on to the Dublin panel........... personally think that we should persevere with our own. Live or Die on our own merits. Having said that Corcoran has never let us down.

Well its official now.  As regards the parachuting in of  outsiders well, to be fair you have a point but in this particular case it is not that bad.  Having read the excellent book, The Club by Christy O'Connor I felt like I was almost running alongside them when he described the lonesome slog of training on their own in Fairview Park because it was too far to go to Clare every second night of the week.  While I no longer consider Dublin to be one of the 'weaker' counties in hurling I would have no objection if for example when Sean Og O Halpin was told he was no longer part of Corks requirements he moved to work in a bank in Carlow and started hurling for them.  Anything that will improve hurling in any county outside of the top eight counties is a good thing.

What's happening in Dublin hurling at the moment is good and the appointment of Anthony Daly was the best piece of business done in managerial selection terms.  I really honestly believe that the Dubs will be as good as the rest in Leinster this year and we won't have long to wait to see them in action in the Walsh Cup.
Post by: Bud Wiser on January 08, 2011, 02:12:43 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on December 04, 2010, 05:09:52 PM
33/1 is about right.

Paddy Power has them at 40/1 now.
Post by: Rossfan on January 09, 2011, 04:18:17 PM
Title should read -
What price the Dubs.

No apostrophe   ;)
Post by: INDIANA on January 09, 2011, 06:01:41 PM
33/1 is about right.

True. bit like why Tipp has more pikeys then any other county. Its part of their DNA as you say
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 09, 2011, 09:31:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 09, 2011, 06:01:41 PM
33/1 is about right.

True. bit like why Tipp has more pikeys then any other county. Its part of their DNA as you say

Really? I'd say Dublin has more
Post by: heffo on January 10, 2011, 10:56:01 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 09, 2011, 09:31:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 09, 2011, 06:01:41 PM
33/1 is about right.

Really? I'd say Dublin has more

You might be onto something there TRLL - the last few years has brought a few mercenary pikies up the N7 from the Queens county - it could've tipped the scales..I know of one high profile individual who four years ago was horse trading what he was getting from a club in Dublin against what his county board were offering him...
Post by: tayto on January 11, 2011, 10:22:37 AM

Good luck with that, lets just see how Keaney fares back at the hurling, but we still have some serious weaknesses that will hold us back unless Daly can address them. Know very little about this O'Dwyer lad from Tipp, no guarantee that he'll bring anything special to the mix.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 11, 2011, 10:07:52 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 11, 2011, 10:22:37 AM

Good luck with that, lets just see how Keaney fares back at the hurling, but we still have some serious weaknesses that will hold us back unless Daly can address them. Know very little about this O'Dwyer lad from Tipp, no guarantee that he'll bring anything special to the mix.

Hold on, surely Antrim could have a say?
Post by: INDIANA on January 30, 2011, 01:29:15 PM
Good win for Dublin against Galway. Down to 14 men for 35mins and still pulled through. Good game with both teams short. But both still trying to win. Bit of edge in it as well which was good to see so early in the season.

Wont get too excited but I'm very impressed with what Shane Ryan, Conal Keaney and Ryan O Dwyer have added in terms of physicality to the team.

I'd be hopeful of a good league.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on January 31, 2011, 09:34:29 AM
The forwards certainly have a better look about them with those 3 lads there. Ryan has come on a tonne since last year. The class he had back in the day is starting to show through again.

Galway were very disappointing. Their forwards didn't look that interested and most of their scoring was done out the field. But it was still a strong enough lineup.

The worry still with Dublin is that they were a good bit better than Galway on saturday (even when down to 14 men) but still only won by a point. They should have won by 5/6 points really, they were that dominant. Keaney was very average on the frees (missed as many as he scored I reckon) and they conceded a very soft goal.

O'Dwyer's goal was a thing of beauty though, and Dublin should/could have had a soft goal of their own before that.

good signs for january. With Kilkenny starting to reintroduce some of their first choice players you'd imagine they'll be favoured to win. Still though, I'm looking forward to that final in a big way.
Post by: INDIANA on January 31, 2011, 08:50:38 PM
Full back is a worry. Hiney is a fine player but he's not a full back.
O Brien was very good at midfield. Again was physical and by God do we need that.
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 14, 2011, 09:10:41 PM
I see Paddy Power has reduced the odds from 40/1 to 33's.
I wonder what price on Sunday after they beat the Cats.?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2011, 09:33:19 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on February 14, 2011, 09:10:41 PM
I see Paddy Power has reduced the odds from 40/1 to 33's.
I wonder what price on Sunday after they beat the Cats.?

Bud is that game on Saturday night at Croke?  Heading down for the Loughgiel game that afternoon and staying over, so would head round for that match
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 14, 2011, 10:41:42 PM
How many of ye? I have a few Premiums !!!  Dubs v Tipp in hurling and Dubs v ? in football.

and Jedward.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2011, 11:17:58 PM
should be three of us.

Free Premiums??
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 15, 2011, 07:58:11 AM
A friend is going away for a week that has them but I wouldn't say three, two at most, I thought you were on your own.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 15, 2011, 08:50:32 AM
Could be three but, i'll not know till later in the week. should be a great night. never seen Jedward before ;D ;D ;D
Post by: heffo on February 15, 2011, 11:22:04 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on February 15, 2011, 07:58:11 AM
A friend is going away for a week that has them but I wouldn't say three, two at most, I thought you were on your own.

I'll see you in the bar in the premium when Jedward are on for a pint!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 15, 2011, 01:32:01 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 15, 2011, 11:22:04 AM

Fcuk Off Heffo, i was asked first!!
Post by: heffo on February 15, 2011, 01:46:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 15, 2011, 01:32:01 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 15, 2011, 11:22:04 AM

Fcuk Off Heffo, i was asked first!!

I'm sure an Antrim man deserves them far more than me MR, but I already have my premiums for Saturday - I was simply making arrangements to meet Bud for a quiet refreshment in between the two games!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 15, 2011, 01:59:51 PM
Good stuff, Must win for the Dubs i'd say. and after Tipps performance against Kilkenny i'd say they would be feeling more confident than before that game.

Post by: heffo on February 15, 2011, 06:09:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 15, 2011, 01:59:51 PM
Good stuff, Must win for the Dubs i'd say. and after Tipps performance against Kilkenny i'd say they would be feeling more confident than before that game.

TBH I think Tipp will have a field day in the wide spaces of Croke Park but I was talking to one of the Dublin forwards yesterday and he said they were all feeling confident - a great evening's entertainment is in store for €13!
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 15, 2011, 06:57:39 PM
Right, as regards tickets, here is the current situation:
Heffo seems to be fixed up.
I was thinking himself and Muppet who have been stalwarts in organizing the golf classic along with AZ Ofally and of course Magpie Seannie would be deserving.  Then on the other hand Im thinking about the Green Glens and how in fairness they would come all the way from Antrim to Croker when others wouldn't walk across the road.

There is an old barman in my local, Mr Carey, a Tipp man so he got first call on a pair. I want to go as well so that leaves three spare. Can ye sort this out yerselves then based on three Premiums left? 
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 15, 2011, 06:59:11 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2011, 11:17:58 PM
should be three of us.

Free Premiums??
Actually now that I look at it, shur that is perfect.  I can give ya 3 premiums - and we get to meet Heffo = again !!
Post by: heffo on February 15, 2011, 07:05:10 PM
Good stuff Lads - see you on Saturday evening
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 15, 2011, 07:15:48 PM
Aint this board the craic all the same heffo?
Post by: INDIANA on February 20, 2011, 01:44:27 PM
A great night. Still buzzing. Didnt really give a shite about the football after this. To beat Tipp in Croker was great.

Very sore head this morning. Best day I've had watching Dublin for years.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2011, 02:17:11 PM
Aye some match alright. Dublin played really well throughout i was worried for them near the end. Tipp could have stole it in the end but Dublin held on.

the Premier suits are the way to go!! Cheers Bud
Post by: orangeman on February 20, 2011, 03:15:05 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 20, 2011, 01:44:27 PM
A great night. Still buzzing. Didnt really give a shite about the football after this. To beat Tipp in Croker was great.

Delighted for the Dubs. Keaney was somethin else - 14 points - amazing.

Ok it was only a league game, but beating the AI champs in Croker had to be very very sweet.

NO wonder there are a lot of sore heads today.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2011, 08:00:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 20, 2011, 03:15:05 PM

Ok it was only a league game, but beating the AI champs in Croker had to be very very sweet.

Aye Keaney was the standout performer of the night.
Post by: orangeman on February 27, 2011, 08:07:17 PM
another big scalp for the Dubs. Well done.
Post by: tayto on March 04, 2011, 01:13:36 PM
We've started the season well, just hope we can keep it up, if we can get a win in offaly then we're safe in division 1 for another year which would be good.
Post by: Zulu on March 05, 2011, 12:23:21 AM
Quote from: orangeman on February 20, 2011, 03:15:05 PM

What? Christ they beat an understrength Tipp in the league, will people please take a f**king pill. Dublin are a million miles away from winning an All Ireland.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 05, 2011, 09:05:11 AM
You are right Zulu, but they are better off today than 6/7 years ago. The summer, dry sod, Thurles and the heat of championship is a different animal altogether.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 05, 2011, 07:18:59 PM
Quote from: tayto on March 04, 2011, 01:13:36 PM
We've started the season well, just hope we can keep it up, if we can get a win in offaly then we're safe in division 1 for another year which would be good.
You can nearly take it that Dublin are safe.
Offaly and Wexford will be fighting the relegation ding-dong.

Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2011, 05:25:28 PM
What price the Dubs now ??

Top of the heap in football and hurling !!
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 13, 2011, 05:48:53 PM
They were a great bet at 40/1 back in December for the Leinster Hurling Championship.  Doubt if you would get 40/1 now.
Was looking at the game there with Galway v Kilkenny and I often saw more in the Macra Na Feirme Hall in Abbeyleix.
Post by: heffo on March 13, 2011, 07:13:13 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on March 13, 2011, 05:48:53 PM

Was looking at the game there with Galway v Kilkenny and I often saw more in the Macra Na Feirme Hall in Abbeyleix.

Whats the missing phrase Bud?? Pulling & dragging??
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 13, 2011, 08:03:58 PM
There is a friend of mine in Ballyboden and years ago Dublin hurling was so bad when they were rooting for the ball in a big shamozzle he used to say they were like a few lads trying to kill rats at a thrashing.
Post by: heffo on March 13, 2011, 08:08:53 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 13, 2011, 05:25:28 PM

Give over you!
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2011, 09:19:18 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 13, 2011, 08:08:53 PM

Give over you!

Now now !!! The tables don't lie !  ;)

Post by: heffo on March 13, 2011, 09:25:12 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 13, 2011, 09:19:18 PM

Give over you!

Nothing handed out in March, three touch games for the Hurlers coming up!
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2011, 09:26:51 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 13, 2011, 09:25:12 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 13, 2011, 09:19:18 PM

Give over you!

Nothing handed out in March, three touch games for the Hurlers coming up!

You'll take it easy in the remaining games and might even "throw" a few points to those less fortunate that youse.
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2011, 09:28:48 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15936.0

GAA HQ are loving this - attendances will be at record levels this year.

Post by: Declan on April 03, 2011, 11:57:28 AM
Dublin left that game behind them last night - More bad wides but it's something else when we are complaining about not beating Kilkenny!!
Post by: orangeman on April 04, 2011, 11:22:03 PM
http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-hurling/leinster-shc-2011?ev_oc_grp_ids=369779
Post by: orangeman on May 01, 2011, 06:31:39 PM
a lot shorter tonight I would imagine after that !
Post by: seafoid on May 05, 2011, 09:26:22 AM
Irish Times

•   Madam, – The Dublin Hurlers demolished Kilkenny last Sunday, the "All Blacks" of our national game. Forty-two thousand spectators witnessed this historic event in Jones Road.Tears were shed by grown men like me wearing blue not just because we won but how we did it. This team of Dublin hurlers set about breaking the mould over the last two years' led by a guy called "Dalo". Anthony Daly had done this before with a Clare team he captained in the mid 1990s and has now somehow instilled this same inner belief in the sons of some of those guys I played with in my youth. Thousands of young Dubs woke up on Monday asking for the first time when "The Hurlers" are playing again.
This team beat the Invincibles on Sunday because it had been converted into a well-organised, determined and "fit for purpose" unit. Bereft of any prima donnas, they played for each other, for the jersey, for pride in their code.
Ireland in general can take a big lesson from "The Hurlers". We need to get fit and pull together, rebuild our country's image,spread a new contagion and get out there and show the world what we're made of. – Yours, etc,
EYRE TARRANT,
Proby Garden,
Blackrock,
Co Dublin.
Post by: Declan on May 05, 2011, 11:44:52 AM
Saw that letter alright Seafoid - Great stuff and I did smile when I saw the address - not known as a hurling stronghold
Post by: Canalman on May 09, 2011, 01:08:35 PM
There was a hurling club in Blackrock some years ago, used to play in Clonkeen I think. Folded some years ago I think.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 09, 2011, 01:14:49 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 09, 2011, 01:08:35 PM
There was a hurling club in Blackrock some years ago, used to play in Clonkeen I think. Folded some years ago I think.

I stayed in Blackrock with friends for the HEC semi final in 2009 (puke). there were loads of young lads out on the green pucking around. I thought I was seeing things.
Post by: muppet on May 11, 2011, 04:05:00 PM
Irish Times

•   Madam,
Meath are shite,
Yours, etc,
Ja Keane,
Reillybatter,
Dublin 22,
Post by: heffo on May 29, 2011, 09:19:22 PM
Messy enough win today but it mightn't be any harm in sorting out expectation levels particularly among analysts who put Dublin in the same bracket as Galway/Waterford.

Galway in two weeks may be too much especially with the three lads in defence missing.
Post by: Minder on May 29, 2011, 09:25:34 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 29, 2011, 09:19:22 PM
Messy enough win today but it mightn't be any harm in sorting out expectation levels particularly among analysts who put Dublin in the same bracket as Galway/Waterford.

Galway in two weeks may be too much especially with the three lads in defence missing.

Daly nearly got caught out, as he did last year against Antrim, by emptying the subs bench too early.
Post by: INDIANA on May 29, 2011, 11:16:08 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 29, 2011, 09:19:22 PM

We didnt play great but won. Championship is different and we havent been beating offaly in the championship for quite some time. We havent the championship pedigree to consider ourselves above anybody yet.

Underdogs against Galway- nice position. Three lads are a huge loss but today will stand to us. Galway wont get any test against westmeath.
Post by: Canalman on May 30, 2011, 10:45:31 AM
Badly need Tomás and Joey back if we are to make any shakes later in the Summer. The spine of the team imo and  irreplaceable.
Post by: Bud Wiser on May 30, 2011, 07:01:41 PM
Three things I noticed yesterday,
The ref was absolutely shocking.
Dubs were missing three of their best players.
Rush was suffering from a severe viral infection and did not train with the team since nearly their last game and that showed.
It also showed the difference between being able to attend all training sessions and being out of it for a few weeks.
Despite all that the Dubs should have had the game sewn up at half time. This was a tough game and Offaly are not as bad as they were made out to be at all.

Next stop Tullamore and I will still be hoping my €25 at 40/1 is safe for a few more weeks.
Post by: Ash Smoker on June 10, 2011, 07:53:24 PM
If Joe Canning is fit to start, I can't see Dublin having enough to stop Galway. Their backs struggled at times against Offaly.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2011, 07:42:36 PM
Galway aren't looking too sharp. Dubs by 7 at halftime but Galway with the breeze in second half.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 18, 2011, 07:54:00 PM
3 scores in 35mins is a poor showing by Galway so far..
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 18, 2011, 07:54:52 PM
Canning having a mare - despite a great goal.

Thon Galway goalie is really torturing the umpires to flag everything wide  :D

Good Dublin team TBF, impressed by them
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2011, 08:12:13 PM
Jesus Galway are poor. 10 points in it now.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 18, 2011, 08:21:13 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2011, 08:12:13 PM
Jesus Galway are poor. 10 points in it now.

deficit halved in the blink of an eye !! Game on
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2011, 08:21:53 PM
Game on!
Post by: galwayman on June 18, 2011, 08:29:16 PM
Jesus Galway were pathetic.The two goals put a gloss on the scoreline.Dublin were 10-15 points a better team today.
Post by: galwayman on June 18, 2011, 08:35:34 PM
Well done Dublin.By far and away the better team.Daly has done some job with ye.
Should be a cracker of a Leinster final with Kilkenny
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2011, 08:39:31 PM
2-7 flatters Galway. They were gash.

Dalo has the Dubs in quare condition. Lot of gym work done by the look of those lads.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 18, 2011, 08:39:48 PM
Looking at the stats Galway were very wasteful with their scoring chances however Dublin full value for the win. Some have said Dublin's league final win was a fluke it's a chance to prove those doubters wrong now.
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2011, 09:01:08 PM
Bullshit. we hurled them off the park. they werent in the game until ROD got the line.

We have landed as a serious hurling force. And to hell with the begrudgers
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 18, 2011, 09:06:47 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 18, 2011, 09:01:08 PM
Bullshit. we hurled them off the park. they werent in the game until ROD got the line.

no doubt, but i cant helping thinking that 4th Sept is a foregone conclusion. in the next few years ? A Liam McC is a serious possibility
Post by: Denn Forever on June 18, 2011, 09:17:39 PM
Well done Dublin.  Galway didn't seem up for it and paid the price.  Dublin were tigerish ie defense and I hope they don't freeze on the day of the final.  But at least they know they can beat Kilkenny.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2011, 09:24:55 PM

If they win Leinster, maybe.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 18, 2011, 09:26:04 PM
i was impressed by dublin. theyr workrate was first class and they seem to have a real will to win. dont think an all ireland is there for this team yet but think theres def more to come. a leinster title maybe?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2011, 09:39:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 18, 2011, 09:28:08 PM

I honestly do not want to take away from Dublin, in any way. I would like to see them win an All Ireland. However, in my opinion, come AI semi final, the 'big teams' will not give them a sniff.

The best of luck to them though.
Where would you put them in the pecking order? Top 5?
Post by: Declan on June 18, 2011, 10:35:28 PM
Shows how far we have come when we can beat Galway without our two main backs and down to 14 for the last 10 mins. Thought Rushe was outstanding tonight and we stuck at it well when came under pressure. Bar Gantley up front Galway were poor and canninig had an off day from frees but we definitely deserved it. Hopefully we can kick on now and give the Cats a repeat dose!!
Sittiing beside Donal Og Grady tonight - a gentleman who felt we well deserved it but got a bit jittery near the end
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2011, 10:58:59 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 18, 2011, 09:44:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2011, 09:39:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 18, 2011, 09:28:08 PM

I honestly do not want to take away from Dublin, in any way. I would like to see them win an All Ireland. However, in my opinion, come AI semi final, the 'big teams' will not give them a sniff.

The best of luck to them though.
Where would you put them in the pecking order? Top 5?
Hmm. They'd be fighting it out for 5th, imo.

Well we couldnt beat westmeath 5 years ago so this is dreamland stuff for us.
Post by: Minder on June 18, 2011, 11:16:13 PM
Painting all day and toul the missus at 6.30pm to go in and record it, sat down to watch it at 9pm and she never f**king recorded it.
Post by: INDIANA on June 19, 2011, 12:38:14 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 18, 2011, 11:25:29 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 18, 2011, 11:16:13 PM
Painting all day and toul the missus at 6.30pm to go in and record it, sat down to watch it at 9pm and she never f**king recorded it.
You missed fcuk all, tbh. One of the worst games I've seen, at this level.
Dublin were barely decent. Fought hard and took some nice scores. Galway were like Davitt's reserves. Shite, but what odds to them?
There is a flaw in the back door.

Maybe they'll get lucky and draw antrim
Post by: INDIANA on June 19, 2011, 12:45:25 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 19, 2011, 12:44:35 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 19, 2011, 12:38:14 AM
Dublin were barely decent. Fought hard and took some nice scores. Galway were like Davitt's reserves. Shite, but what odds to them?

No joke, yes. That'd be a handy enough route.

They wouldn't, however, be asking the Dubs for advice on how to go about that.

True they'd only ask us for advice on how to beat Kilkenny. They certainly wouldnt be asking Antrim for advice on that topic.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 19, 2011, 01:03:52 AM
Didn't see tonights game but was not surprised at the result. Had a small piece of Dublin at 11/8. Dublin are a top team and their graph hasn't flattened out just yet. Yes - they have a bit to go before you can talk about an All-Ireland but a top 5 team in my view.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 19, 2011, 09:40:37 AM
That's a fair reflection of the match hardstation. Dublin work hard for their wins, a bit like the old Clare teams funny enough! If Antrim managed to match that and bring their skill levels to the Championship then we would be a force. Fair play the Dubs, Bud your bet looks better now
Post by: magpie seanie on June 19, 2011, 10:59:22 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 19, 2011, 09:40:37 AM
That's a fair reflection of the match hardstation. Dublin work hard for their wins, a bit like the old Clare teams funny enough! If Antrim managed to match that and bring their skill levels to the Championship then we would be a force. Fair play the Dubs, Bud your bet looks better now

You can hedge significantly now.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 19, 2011, 12:03:51 PM
People are focussing on Dublin's power and workrate, rightly so. What impresses me most about them so far though is their use of the ball and the short stick pass. They find the open man and switch the attack beautifully.

I would put Dublin at third/fourth at the moment, behind Tipp and Kilkenny (for now) and neck and neck with Waterford.

After them, in order.

Cork, Galway, Limerick, Offaly, Wexford , Clare, Antrim, Laois, Westmeath.
Post by: INDIANA on June 19, 2011, 03:46:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 19, 2011, 12:03:51 PM
People are focussing on Dublin's power and workrate, rightly so. What impresses me most about them so far though is their use of the ball and the short stick pass. They find the open man and switch the attack beautifully.

I would put Dublin at third/fourth at the moment, behind Tipp and Kilkenny (for now) and neck and neck with Waterford.

After them, in order.

I think Clare might surprise a few people.
Post by: seafoid on June 19, 2011, 04:33:58 PM
Galway should go into rehab. There is great value in the brand but how to unlock it? 
Post by: AZOffaly on June 19, 2011, 04:42:55 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 19, 2011, 03:46:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 19, 2011, 12:03:51 PM

After them, in order.

I think Clare might surprise a few people.

Clare aren't surprising me. If they couldn't get up for Tipperary in the Munster Championship they are f*cked. There's feck all between Limerick, Offaly, Wexford and Clare, and I reserve the right of Bias to put Offaly ahead of them until they beat us :)
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 01, 2011, 07:20:40 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 19, 2011, 12:44:35 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 19, 2011, 12:38:14 AM

No joke, yes. That'd be a handy enough route.

They wouldn't, however, be asking the Dubs for advice on how to go about that.

Well HS, any advise on how the Leinster Final is going to turn out on Sunday.  Dublin are hoping Tommy Walsh and Shefflin are back and that Kilkenny have a full team.  Im saying Dublin by about five points. What do you think?
Post by: Lecale2 on July 01, 2011, 08:23:20 AM
Good luck to Dublin on Sunday. I'd love to see them beat the Cats and win Leinster but my head says Kilkenny by 5.

MInd you I backed Galway to beat them in the last round so do I know.  :-\
Post by: Declan on July 01, 2011, 09:00:17 AM
Can't make up my mind about the Dubs on Sunday. The Cats will have the big guns back and will want to put us back in our place but I have a feeling that we're not for turning. Head says Kilkenny but heart says an historic victory for the Dubs
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2011, 10:00:16 AM
I can't see the cats getting beaten by Dublin in July. The Dubs struggled to beat Galway who hit 15 wides.
The cats won a 4 in a row.   
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 01, 2011, 11:27:00 AM
I agree in some way but Galway hit 15 wides because Rush and the Dubs back line played so well that they harried and hassled for every ball.  By contrast, Dubs had very few wides so I would look at it from a positive point and think that if Cats are forced to shoot lots of wides and Dubs win their share of breaking ball it will be tight enough. Strange one for me, have never been to a Leinster Final that I did not support the Cats.  Next I'll be playing datrs down on the docks "wii me mates"
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2011, 11:57:51 AM
My thoughts on the weekend hurling here

http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/hurling-weekend-except-in-killarney.html (http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/hurling-weekend-except-in-killarney.html)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2011, 12:46:43 PM
This will be close I reckon but even though Dublin are coming like a steam train I think Kilkenny's experience will see them through towards the end. It would be great to see Dublin win it though.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2011, 12:47:37 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 01, 2011, 11:27:00 AM
I agree in some way but Galway hit 15 wides because Rush and the Dubs back line played so well that they harried and hassled for every ball.  By contrast, Dubs had very few wides so I would look at it from a positive point and think that if Cats are forced to shoot lots of wides and Dubs win their share of breaking ball it will be tight enough. Strange one for me, have never been to a Leinster Final that I did not support the Cats.  Next I'll be playing datrs down on the docks "wii me mates"

Bud, Galway missed at least 5 frees.  JC was off form.
If that match was played again this weekend I think Galway would perform better.
KK are a totally different kettle of metaphors .
Post by: Declan on July 01, 2011, 02:33:54 PM
QuoteThe Dubs struggled to beat Galway who hit 15 wides

I didn't think we struggled to beat them myself. Missed frees aside it was only when Dwyer got the line and Dublin dropped back to defend the lead that galway put them under pressure. 
Post by: Canalman on July 01, 2011, 03:55:20 PM
Alot depends imo on who we play ff/chf to replace Ryan O'Dwyer. Heart will sink if I hear that any one of two players have been selected.......won't name names. Tracey is an absolutely huge loss for us  and while a big loss, Tomás can be replaced to a degree. Need Boland firing on all cylinders also which I think won't happen after his layoff.

Cats to win on Sunday, but would fancy us later in season if we were to meet again.

We are goosed if we start alll this playing an extra man in the backs nonsense. Only one way to beat KK is to outhurl and physically impose yourselves on them.

Feel that we will win both u21 and minor titles though.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 01, 2011, 04:16:36 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 01, 2011, 03:55:20 PM
but would fancy us later in season if we were to meet again.

Seriously??

League and c'ship very different. 10+ points between these 2 teams.Sunday won't matter so much - kilkenny will win without getting out of 3rd gear. Later on more business end if KK want to they'll get you by 10-15 points.
Post by: Canalman on July 01, 2011, 04:27:12 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 01, 2011, 04:16:36 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 01, 2011, 03:55:20 PM
but would fancy us later in season if we were to meet again.

Seriously??

League and c'ship very different. 10+ points between these 2 teams.Sunday won't matter so much - kilkenny will win without getting out of 3rd gear. Later on more business end if KK want to they'll get you by 10-15 points.

Will agree to disagree with you. Am basing my views on KK over the last 18 months. Personally think they are finished as a team but will be a force again in two years or so. The end for great teams comes very quickly.

Beating my own trumpet here, but I was one of the very few here last September who forecasted a Tipp victory.

Honestly think that an unfancied team will win it this year............ whisper it carefully maybe Waterford /Dublin or Cork.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 01, 2011, 08:30:04 PM
KK are not quite as good as they were but they can't sustain that level forever.

However KK and Tipp are a good bit ahead of the rest. Cork have already shown where they are. Waterford look to have some good young guys there but I think their "golden era" had their chance.

Players like Richie Hogan, John Mulhall coming in are excellent players. Richie Power not too old and Cha either. KK will still take some stopping and I doubt that league final beating sits well with them.

Dublin have a good bit to go yet. Good to see them getting there but just that bit off the pace in c'ship in my view. You look at the last few years c'ship results to see that. Antrim(my own team) and Limerick beat them - you want to play with the big boys and you need to be beating antrim / limerick by 10+ points.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 02, 2011, 06:49:03 PM
Im not just disagreeing for the sake but when you say Dublin are off the paceI am wondering in what particular area, their fitness levels are superb, and they are well able to match most teams in the physical stakes as well.  I will not buy into a team that wins by 10 points on one day being a team that is ten points better than the team they have beaten - if you know what I mean. For example, I have seen on countless occasions a drawn game being completely one sided on a replay.

As for Cork knowing where they are, well they bate Laois by 10 goals and nearly got beaten by Offaly, and would have got beaten by Offaly only for cutehoorism and feigning injury and the ref blowing up early.

If Kilkenny did manage to beta Dublin tomorrow, which they won't, they won't bate them by ten points or anything like it.
Post by: heffo on July 02, 2011, 08:38:44 PM
I'm going in in hope more than expectation tomorrow as KK don't take defeat well and certainly will want to avenge the league defeat. They've had a very low key buildup too.

Missing the four first choice lads tomorrow will also be a hindrance.

Looking forward to it and would love to see Dublin do it.
Post by: INDIANA on July 02, 2011, 08:48:15 PM
Anyone who thinks last years championship form is relevent to this year can be discounted. Funniest thing I've read in a long time.

Galway hammered Clare tonight so obviously Dublin have something going for them.

With the injuries I'm travelling in hope tomorrow. I expect kilkenny to win but an all-ireland semi final spot is not out of the question for Dublin this year.

Unfortunately we'll have to win something at championship level to get any credit. There is an inherent snobbery at the top of the hurling tree unfortunately where the traditional counties think they were born with a better pot to piss in compared to everyone else.

But it will happen for Dublin soon enough. We've too many top class younger players coming through for it not to.
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2011, 02:59:52 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 02, 2011, 08:48:15 PM
Unfortunately we'll have to win something at championship level to get any credit. There is an inherent snobbery at the top of the hurling tree unfortunately where the traditional counties think they were born with a better pot to piss in compared to everyone else.

But it will happen for Dublin soon enough. We've too many top class younger players coming through for it not to.
Indiana

Do you think Offaly, Galway, Limerick, Wexford and Waterford haven't had some fabulous younger players over the years going back to 1999? Do you think they didn't come close, some of them, to winning all-Irelands? Do you know how many of them won leagues during that time? Do you know that none of them won an all-Ireland since 1998 ? Do you think Dublin are special?

I would love to see the Dubs winning the McCarthy cup but it is early July ffs.
The league is Carrauntoohil. September is K2.

Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2011, 05:05:30 PM
Half-time: Dublin 0-07 Kilkenny 2-10

The cats obviously have a bit of hurling left in them
Post by: pullhard on July 03, 2011, 05:10:44 PM
my stream is died. keep the scores coming
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2011, 06:32:18 PM
4-17 to 1-15

Back down to earth for the Dubs. Championship is different.

Honestly, it's like some 19 year old thinking he understands women meeting an older one. 
Post by: Rossfan on July 03, 2011, 06:53:39 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 02, 2011, 06:49:03 PM
If Kilkenny did manage to beta Dublin tomorrow, which they won't, they won't bate them by ten points or anything like it.

Time to get out of the forecasting game ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2011, 08:17:38 PM
Cats back and looking good. Henry was brilliant from start to finish. Tommy Walsh is something else. Was at Croke today and seen some of the minor match, Dubs beat Kilkenny so not all bad
Post by: imtommygunn on July 03, 2011, 08:47:00 PM
Im not just disagreeing for the sake but when you say Dublin are off the paceI am wondering in what particular area, their fitness levels are superb, and they are well able to match most teams in the physical stakes as well.

Fitness and sharpness two different things. The difference between top and mid tier teams is their speed of thought and movement. Physicality is fine in a league match - not enough in c'ship.

Tipp and KK are teams that it will take Dublin a good few years, if even, to be able to beat. They are now at a level they can compete with the Galways / Waterfords but they are nowhere near cute/experienced enough at championship level yet. They are getting better mind but like I said before this game what championship games have they won of note yet? They have beaten Offaly and Wexford teams who KK and the big teams have been hammering for years.

I have nothing against Dublin but so many people are getting carried away with them. They've done well in the league for a few years but until they have won a championship match of significance - Cork / Waterford / Galway - then in my book jury very much still out.
Post by: Reillers on July 03, 2011, 08:52:26 PM
Ah well, and the media tried so hard with the hype they built surrounding Dublin..yet again. When will they ever learn. The League, like I said before, means nothing, and KK showed just where Dublin are at the moment. I don't think KK are near as good as they were, but while Dublin have improved a lot,  they were never as good as the media would like us to think, and Kilkenny had (for once) a bit to prove, even if was just to themselves.

And the hurling world's order is restored. Just proves, yet again, that the League means f**k all, no matter how much spin the media give it.
It'll have to wait another year for it to be "Dublin's year"..now for their footballers to figure it out.

Seriously though, Dublin, have improved a lot and they've done well with the money they've been given and such, and I'd have liked to seen Dublin beat them, but they're not near Kilkenny, and it was, to be fair, ridiculous, for anyone to think they were.

Post by: Reillers on July 03, 2011, 09:00:55 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 03, 2011, 08:47:00 PM
Im not just disagreeing for the sake but when you say Dublin are off the paceI am wondering in what particular area, their fitness levels are superb, and they are well able to match most teams in the physical stakes as well.

Fitness and sharpness two different things. The difference between top and mid tier teams is their speed of thought and movement. Physicality is fine in a league match - not enough in c'ship.

Tipp and KK are teams that it will take Dublin a good few years, if even, to be able to beat. They are now at a level they can compete with the Galways / Waterfords but they are nowhere near cute/experienced enough at championship level yet. They are getting better mind but like I said before this game what championship games have they won of note yet? They have beaten Offaly and Wexford teams who KK and the big teams have been hammering for years.

I have nothing against Dublin but so many people are getting carried away with them. They've done well in the league for a few years but until they have won a championship match of significance - Cork / Waterford / Galway - then in my book jury very much still out.

It's not just about thinking and knowing want to do quickly, it's ability and execution. How many coaches will tell you that intent isn't enough. Kilkenny have really proved how much a team can get away with when it comes to physicality. The teams that have recently beaten Kilkenny have stopped whining about their game style and out did them at their own game.

I think Dublin stand ahead of the likes of Offaly and Wexford, but still behind us, Galway, Waterford, (by how much, well time will tell) and far behind Kilkenny and Tipp.

With Kilkenny for the first time in a long time there are question marks over them, and question marks wont have been answered today by an easy win.

They have been getting weaker, and their revolving belt of young successful talent is slowing down, they're nearing that slope down the hill, no one can stay up there forever and they're slowly coming back down.

It's just a pity that we're so far down the hill that it's almost irrelevant.
Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 09:07:39 PM
Quote from: Reillers on July 03, 2011, 08:52:26 PM
Ah well, and the media tried so hard with the hype they built surrounding Dublin..yet again. When will they ever learn. The League, like I said before, means nothing, and KK showed just where Dublin are at the moment. I don't think KK are near as good as they were, but while Dublin have improved a lot,  they were never as good as the media would like us to think, and Kilkenny had (for once) a bit to prove, even if was just to themselves.

And the hurling world's order is restored. Just proves, yet again, that the League means f**k all, no matter how much spin the media give it.
It'll have to wait another year for it to be "Dublin's year"..now for their footballers to figure it out.

Seriously though, Dublin, have improved a lot and they've done well with the money they've been given and such, and I'd have liked to seen Dublin beat them, but they're not near Kilkenny, and it was, to be fair, ridiculous, for anyone to think they were.

Shut your hole Reillers what you know about Hurling could be written on a postage stamp.
Post by: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 09:11:18 PM
Can we draw Cork so we can shut Reillers up once and for all? Would Christy Cooney listen to us to rig the draw accordingly.

Reillers must live in dreamland if he thinks any self-respecting Dublin hurler would be in any way nervous about playing Cork. The idea they operate in the same stratosphere as Tipp and Kilkenny anymore is only for Cork people who suffer from acute paranoia or those fans who live in permanent historical nostalgia.

Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 09:14:00 PM
Well done to KK today - they were superior today in every area of the field.

Kelly at FB was the only positive for Dublin.

There are a few class acts on this thread though I'll tell ya that.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 03, 2011, 09:16:26 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 03, 2011, 09:14:00 PM

Re my post I said nothing after the game I didn't say before it.

Cork and Dublin would be a good tie. It would be put up or shut up for a few of you boys.
Post by: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 09:17:51 PM
Well done to KK today - they were superior today in every area of the field.

Kelly at FB was the only positive for Dublin.

Its to be expected Heffo. In some quarters its pure jealously. In others like Reillers - its pure entertainment.
Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 09:19:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 03, 2011, 09:16:26 PM

It would be put up or shut up for a few of you boys.

I've personally never hyped up the Dublin Hurlers so you can take me out of your collective.

I was concerned about the amount of coverage and hype surrounding them.

Today's defeat doesn't make them a bad team, and I still think they'll make a semi-final but it might dampen expectations a little.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 03, 2011, 09:43:31 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 03, 2011, 09:19:44 PM
I've personally never hyped up the Dublin Hurlers so you can take me out of your collective.

Whoever said you were in any collective  ;D

Yep I'd agree - still a good Dublin team who will improve a lot. I'd like to see youse get a good tie like Cork / Waterford as it could be a real good tie and would be a good barometer of where you really are. I keep forgetting you beat Galway but I'd have a funny feeling it wouldn't quite be the same if Galway had a good kick up the ass they required later in the summer. Limerick also a good tie as they have a shrewd manager there and would be no pushovers. Of course that is assuming Antrim don't beat Limerick ;)

Dublin attracts a lot of hype football or hurling so not much can be done.
Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 09:56:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 03, 2011, 09:50:35 PM
Surely the "class acts" are the ones who said that Kilkenny are finished.

Dubs are a good team an will make the breakthrough in the coming years but fcuk up til you win something of note. Dubs saying that Kilkenny are done, ffs.

I can't speak for others but I've never said KK were finished - I always have and do respect them hugely.

Winning a National league for Dublin is worthy of celebration so I'm not sure what 'fcuk up' means - if anyone said we're going to win the AI then they deserve to have their wings clipped, otherwise the tone of the posts are out of order imo..
Post by: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 09:58:07 PM
No dub here said kilkenny were finished. So lets get the facts straight.
Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 10:13:00 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 03, 2011, 09:50:35 PM
Surely the "class acts" are the ones who said that Kilkenny are finished.

Care to post a link to Dublin posters here claiming KK were finished?

Maybe you should 'fcuk up' until you do..
Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 10:18:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 03, 2011, 10:13:34 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 09:58:07 PM
No dub here said kilkenny were finished. So lets get the facts straight.
That's not true. 1 page back. Canalman. Dub. Get your facts straight. Fcuk up.

You said there were more than one poster claiming this - where are the rest of the posts?
Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 10:22:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 03, 2011, 10:20:23 PM
Ha ha! Fcuk off and up.

So your gloating is based on one post from one poster? While every other Dublin poster had a far more measured take on things?

I'll stand by my original assessment I think..
Post by: Reillers on July 03, 2011, 10:24:50 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 09:11:18 PM
Can we draw Cork so we can shut Reillers up once and for all? Would Christy Cooney listen to us to rig the draw accordingly.

Reillers must live in dreamland if he thinks any self-respecting Dublin hurler would be in any way nervous about playing Cork. The idea they operate in the same stratosphere as Tipp and Kilkenny anymore is only for Cork people who suffer from acute paranoia or those fans who live in permanent historical nostalgia.

As always you "two" clowns jump to insults before they read.

Why you clowns whine I don't know.

Why have I insulted you? (Insults seem to be your answer to anything you don't like and can't answer.)

Do the D4 media not hype the Dubs up? Was I wrong, was that what hit the sensitive spot? I am not suggesting in anyway that it should take away how far Dublin have come, but I am only suggesting that while they have improved out of sight, the media, as always when it comes to Dublin, goes crazy with hype.
No one with a hurling brain could have thought that Kilkenny would have been beaten. The hype of the media had people genuinely believing that Dublin could beat, (or almost beat) Kilkenny.

I've said Kilkenny are on another level, and that they are so far ahead of us that it's irrelevant that they have weakened a bit.
I said they are completely behind Tipp and KK, in front of Offaly and Wexford and behind Cork, Galway, Waterford, but like I said, just how far behind will be seen in time.
But Dublin will prove how far they have come if they beat one of the 3 I just mentioned.
I have said that Dublin have improved a lot, and hell I also said I would have liked to see them win.

Now tell me just how I have made you bitch and whine..again.

As always you and that other clown insult instead of using your head and reading what's in front of you.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 03, 2011, 11:22:00 PM
HS and Ros etc, I made my post on 1st July thinking, more than hopeing Dubs could do it today.  I would be sure also that Cody did not take anything for granted up to 4pm today.  I find it extraordinary that the number of posts you and Ros have made this evening - after the event -  but did not have the balls to chalenge a post I made before the game today?  Maybe yerself, Ross and God foirbid, Reilers should all meet in a pub someday and enlighten us all - after ye have read the scoreboard.  Why didnt ye post last night or today before the game ?? because ye know f**k all about hurling. You HS were on the board last night, not one response to my post, then, you come on mouthing out of you, post after post , after post after the game is over as to suggest you know it all.
Post by: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 11:35:59 PM
dont mind hardstation heffo.

We're league champions and playing in an all-ireland quarter final in a few weeks.

His county have to worry about beating the Armagh.

As i said you know you're going somewhere when people are jealous
Post by: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 11:37:32 PM
Quote from: Reillers on July 03, 2011, 10:24:50 PM

As always you "two" clowns jump to insults before they read.

Why you clowns whine I don't know.

Why have I insulted you? (Insults seem to be your answer to anything you don't like and can't answer.)

Do the D4 media not hype the Dubs up? Was I wrong, was that what hit the sensitive spot? I am not suggesting in anyway that it should take away how far Dublin have come, but I am only suggesting that while they have improved out of sight, the media, as always when it comes to Dublin, goes crazy with hype.
No one with a hurling brain could have thought that Kilkenny would have been beaten. The hype of the media had people genuinely believing that Dublin could beat, (or almost beat) Kilkenny.

I've said Kilkenny are on another level, and that they are so far ahead of us that it's irrelevant that they have weakened a bit.
I said they are completely behind Tipp and KK, in front of Offaly and Wexford and behind Cork, Galway, Waterford, but like I said, just how far behind will be seen in time.
But Dublin will prove how far they have come if they beat one of the 3 I just mentioned.
I have said that Dublin have improved a lot, and hell I also said I would have liked to see them win.

Now tell me just how I have made you bitch and whine..again.

As always you and that other clown insult instead of using your head and reading what's in front of you.

Sorry Reillers I lost you after the first sentence. Any chance you can post in a couple of sentences what you're trying to articulate?
Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 11:46:55 PM

I said they are completely behind Cork, Galway, Waterford, but like I said, just how far behind will be seen in time.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0618/galway_dublin.html

Like I said Reillers a postage stamp and that's probably overstating it..
Post by: heffo on July 03, 2011, 11:49:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 03, 2011, 10:32:30 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 03, 2011, 10:22:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 03, 2011, 10:20:23 PM
Ha ha! Fcuk off and up.

So your gloating is based on one post from one poster? While every other Dublin poster had a far more measured take on things?

I'll stand by my original assessment I think..

You took the risky decision to follow that clown Indiana into battle, and lost.

I'm still awaiting a second example as you claimed there were than one..
Post by: Declan on July 03, 2011, 11:51:48 PM
Disappointed that we really didn't get into the game today but I hope that it is a valuable lesson to us. Beaten by a better more experienced team today but in the bigger picture am not as disappointed now as I was at HT. We stuck at it and given we were missing our spine in the backs not surprised that we lost. I'm probably going to be unpopular but I thought Sheflin was a lucky man to stay on the pitch today.
Anyway on the positive side the minors were excellent and handled the young cats comfortably and we have two more teams to shout for next Sunday
Post by: orangeman on July 04, 2011, 12:16:24 AM
Lads, the progress that Dulin have made as past few years has been truly remarkable. Last year, they went out to Antrim.

This year they've beaten Kilkenny in the Walsh Cup, the League final and drawn with them in the league match.

Ok, it was only the Walsh cup but it still was the league and you can take it from me that Cody was not a happy camper losing a league title to Dublin, no matter how he dressed it up.

Dublin are still in the competition and will still have a big say in it.

As I said, the progress they've made especially under Daly has been nothing short of remarkable even if the media have slightly overplayed it.
Post by: johnneycool on July 04, 2011, 08:39:49 AM
Daly made an error starting Boland in centre back and things got a bit better when Rushe was sent back in there, but Kilkenny were unstoppable yesterday, so there should be no fear in the Dubs meeting any of the 4 qualifiers with possibly an improved Galway being the biggest concern.
Post by: amallon on July 04, 2011, 09:04:46 AM
To the untrained eye one of Dublins main problems was their clearances.  The seemed to puck the ball down the field without even looking.  Kilkenny on the other hand took that split second longer to have a look before delivering the ball up the field.  Dublins half forward line struggled on puck outs as well.
Post by: orangeman on July 04, 2011, 11:47:33 AM
Kilkenny manager Brian Cody has dismissed the pundits who questioned his side before their comprehensive Leinster final victory over Dublin at Croke Park yesterday.

The Cats were close to their imperious best in the Leinster decider, outclassing Dublin in a 4-17 to 1-15 victory in a performance which erased memories of their National League final defeat against the same opposition just two months ago.

Speaking to RTÉ GAA Correspondent Brian Carthy, Cody said pre-match speculation that Kilkenny, seeking to regain the All-Ireland title after seeing their bid for five-in-a-row derailed by Tipperary last year, were on the wane was off the mark.

In a sarcastic swipe at critics of the Cats, he said: 'I'm not sure what they were saying because I wasn't getting involved in it. I stayed well away from newspapers and predictions and everything else because too many people out there know too much about hurling for my liking.'

He added: 'All you can do is prepare as well as you can and have a real spirit and a real genuineness in your team and go out there and perform. At the end of the day, it is only won on the day.'

Kilkenny have a long break until they play their All-Ireland semi-final on 7 August. They could face any of the seven teams remaining in the Championship in their next match, though they cannot meet the winners of this Sunday's Munster final between Tipperary and Waterford.

Ominously for the remaining challengers for the Liam McCarthy trophy, Cody believes there is further improvement to come from his team.

He said: 'The hunger is intact. I'd say we picked it up a lot from the League final and and we picked it up from the time of the Wexford game. We have come on a bit further.

'But we are going to have get some serious improvement before the All-Ireland semi-final.'
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 04, 2011, 12:27:08 PM
Quote from: Declan on July 03, 2011, 11:51:48 PM
Disappointed that we really didn't get into the game today but I hope that it is a valuable lesson to us. Beaten by a better more experienced team today but in the bigger picture am not as disappointed now as I was at HT. We stuck at it and given we were missing our spine in the backs not surprised that we lost. I'm probably going to be unpopular but I thought Sheflin was a lucky man to stay on the pitch today.
Anyway on the positive side the minors were excellent and handled the young cats comfortably and we have two more teams to shout for next Sunday

Good summation Declan.

That game should bring the Dubs on and if they draw the winners of Antrim/Limerick they should make the semi final. They were just too porous at the back with all their injuries, no better team than KK to smell blood and go for the goals. All the KK goals were well worked but Shefflin's finish was a thing of beauty, beautifully disguised shot. Never seen the man so worked up before, his hurley waving at the Dublin management was bizarre and he was unusually involved in the melees. Keaney did put him on his hole though and deservedly so in that instance. I don't think you could put him off though for any of the above. That Dub sub (forget the name) has some speed, needs to watch the steps though.  :D
Post by: imtommygunn on July 04, 2011, 12:37:08 PM
Shefflin was acting the maggot a bit but don't think he merited being sent off. I think when he was cautioned it was actually someone else who should have been but he should have been cautioned when he took down Kelly in a rugby style tackle so I guess in that regard he could have been lined but it would have been a mistake.

O'Callaghan and the flier of a Dub sub seemed to let the blood get to their head towards the end and do nothing with the ball other than just run with it in hand. Colm Fennelly also blown for over carrying when he tapped it to hand and would likely have got a goal.

Like I said before a quarter final against Galway / Cork /Waterford or maybe even Limerick would be the big test and would bring them on. Realistically a semis against Tipp or KK (not sure they can get KK) are not winnable but the others one *could* be.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 04, 2011, 01:39:09 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 04, 2011, 12:37:08 PM
Colm Fennelly also blown for over carrying when he tapped it to hand and would likely have got a goal.

Barry Kelly got that one right for me, Fennelly tapped the ball against the hurl but didn't release it from the hand, over carried in my book.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 04, 2011, 01:41:39 PM
You could be right - it was very subtly done. So much so it maybe wasn't done right.

Ref had a good game I thought in general.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 04, 2011, 01:44:38 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 04, 2011, 12:16:24 AM
Lads, the progress that Dulin have made as past few years has been truly remarkable. Last year, they went out to Antrim.

This year they've beaten Kilkenny in the Walsh Cup, the League final and drawn with them in the league match.

Ok, it was only the Walsh cup but it still was the league and you can take it from me that Cody was not a happy camper losing a league title to Dublin, no matter how he dressed it up.

Dublin are still in the competition and will still have a big say in it.

As I said, the progress they've made especially under Daly has been nothing short of remarkable even if the media have slightly overplayed it.

I definitely think they will have a big say this year.  They simply cannot cope with the loss of three or four of their top players, and that was evident yesterday.  Hopefully they can get a few of these boys back and knock on again, it might be the kick up the hole they need.  The one big concern I would have about Dublin this year is the fact they don't score many goals.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 04, 2011, 02:09:37 PM
Disappointing alright for the Dubs but only one other team in the country would live with KK on yesterdays form.
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2011, 06:51:04 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 03, 2011, 11:22:00 PM
.  I find it extraordinary that the number of posts you and Ros have made this evening -

I had ONE post - a tongue in cheek one liner.
You need to calm down a biteen Bud ...  or some one will think you're from Laois or the like .
Post by: deiseach on July 04, 2011, 07:42:09 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 04, 2011, 02:09:37 PM
Disappointing alright for the Dubs but only one other team in the country would live with KK on yesterdays form.

Oh, I don't think we're the only ones . . . hey!
Post by: imtommygunn on July 04, 2011, 08:47:50 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 11:35:59 PM

We're league champions and playing in an all-ireland quarter final in a few weeks.

You would have a short memory on you there. Who was it who put Dublin out of the championship last year?

I will say this...
- You, yes you Indiana. would do well to show a bit of humility in your rise in hurling. What about we have to worry about beating Armagh? Armagh have put a lot of work in at the hurling and deserve a lot of credit.
- In one statement not only are you being disparaging of one county but two.
- The complacency the dubs showed against antrim last year I found pretty shocking. Boys getting the ball and deciding ah sure I think I'll run round 5 or 6 players here and get a goal. The defeat you got that day was, I hoped, a kick up the arse that you needed because there was a lot of arrogance that day and , I thought, you got the comeuppance you deserved for that attitude.
- One thing that got to me at the start of the year was when Hiney was on the Sunday game. He was asked about the dubs and about antrim. Basically the guy said antrim were no good and it was a blip. That's horsesh*t. If the dubs were as good as they thought they were that day they would have clinically demolished antrim. They weren't and they paid the price - end of story.

Comments like yours and Hiney's border on the, very misplaced, arrogance. KK and the likes have been competing at the top for years and you are a long way off it.

Now on the flip side Dublin's improvement is great for hurling and it will hopefully improve Wexford and Offaly who have gone downhill a bit in the last few years and it will hopefully also give hopes to counties like my own Antrim who if they put the right work in can achieve what Dublin have.

So basically yes you have improved and yes you're good but don't get carried with yourself because you have a long way to go yet. Take a big scalp, in the championship knockout stages and not the league, and come back to the rest of us. I hope you take one or two as like I said good for the game but you have yet to take one.

The attitude I talk about is not reflective of all Dublin followers however there are one or two definitely!
Post by: Forever Green on July 04, 2011, 11:01:08 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 04, 2011, 08:47:50 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 03, 2011, 11:35:59 PM

You would have a short memory on you there. Who was it who put Dublin out of the championship last year?

I will say this...
- You, yes you Indiana. would do well to show a bit of humility in your rise in hurling. What about we have to worry about beating Armagh? Armagh have put a lot of work in at the hurling and deserve a lot of credit.
- In one statement not only are you being disparaging of one county but two.
- The complacency the dubs showed against antrim last year I found pretty shocking. Boys getting the ball and deciding ah sure I think I'll run round 5 or 6 players here and get a goal. The defeat you got that day was, I hoped, a kick up the arse that you needed because there was a lot of arrogance that day and , I thought, you got the comeuppance you deserved for that attitude.
- One thing that got to me at the start of the year was when Hiney was on the Sunday game. He was asked about the dubs and about antrim. Basically the guy said antrim were no good and it was a blip. That's horsesh*t. If the dubs were as good as they thought they were that day they would have clinically demolished antrim. They weren't and they paid the price - end of story.

Comments like yours and Hiney's border on the, very misplaced, arrogance. KK and the likes have been competing at the top for years and you are a long way off it.

Now on the flip side Dublin's improvement is great for hurling and it will hopefully improve Wexford and Offaly who have gone downhill a bit in the last few years and it will hopefully also give hopes to counties like my own Antrim who if they put the right work in can achieve what Dublin have.

So basically yes you have improved and yes you're good but don't get carried with yourself because you have a long way to go yet. Take a big scalp, in the championship knockout stages and not the league, and come back to the rest of us. I hope you take one or two as like I said good for the game but you have yet to take one.

The attitude I talk about is not reflective of all Dublin followers however there are one or two definitely!

Good post. Dublin have absolutely no right to be looking down on Antrim and Armagh. Armagh have been putting incredible effort into developing hurling over the last few years just like Dublin and until Dublin win a championship they have no right to be thinking that they are better than these counties.
Post by: Canalman on July 05, 2011, 10:23:29 AM
In my defence I predicted a KK win (oh and our win in the minor game).

Still think that it was a last sting of a dying wasp and that the Cats will not win the AI this year.

As I thought, our strength in depth is not there yet and we cannot cope with key men getting injured.

Think there is still a kick in this Dublin team and personally would love to draw a Munster team and play them (presumably) in Thurles.

Onwards now to Wexford Park next week for the U21s.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 04:36:17 PM
My review here, for what it's worth.

http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/empires-strike-back.html (http://shane-sportsramblings.blogspot.com/2011/07/empires-strike-back.html)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2011, 09:03:28 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 04, 2011, 12:37:08 PM
Shefflin was acting the maggot a bit but don't think he merited being sent off. I think when he was cautioned it was actually someone else who should have been but he should have been cautioned when he took down Kelly in a rugby style tackle so I guess in that regard he could have been lined but it would have been a mistake.

O'Callaghan and the flier of a Dub sub seemed to let the blood get to their head towards the end and do nothing with the ball other than just run with it in hand. Colm Fennelly also blown for over carrying when he tapped it to hand and would likely have got a goal.

Like I said before a quarter final against Galway / Cork /Waterford or maybe even Limerick would be the big test and would bring them on. Realistically a semis against Tipp or KK (not sure they can get KK) are not winnable but the others one *could* be.

Shefflin was hyped up da fcuk, was watching them warm up and you could see it. Like all the Kilkenny lads.

I thought Shefflin should have got two yellows (in my opinion) also Kilkenny's Hickey or Jakie Tryell could have walked (which one was number 4?) 4 was booked earlier and fouled later on and Kelly ran down to book him but changed his mind.

When Shefflin could have been booked it sparked complaints around the stand, I think Daly was giving off to the 4th official that because it was Henry he was getting special treatment. I'll have to ask the fourth official  ;) ;)

Dublin just didn't (or allowed to) get going, They started with the wind behind them and couldn't get good clean ball to create scores. Shefflin is brilliant at competing for the puck outs from the opposing team, challenges for everyone , and usually wins them. Kilkenny will get to the final on that performance. Tommy Walsh was outstanding in my view, winning those balls is a major lift for the team and the rest of the lads were grand to.
Post by: heffo on July 10, 2011, 12:21:24 AM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0618/galway_dublin.html

Reillers you never replied to my post above - you were saying something about Dublin proving something when they beat one of Galway, Cork or Waterford in the Championship.

After another ungracious excuse-ridden post of yours after we beat you in Cork you said you'd give your opinion of the lay of the land, so I'd love to hear it now...

If you could leave the words, referee, enept Denis Walsh, Sean Óg & Frank Murphy out of that assesment I'm all ears..
Post by: Declan on July 13, 2011, 09:22:31 PM
The revolution continues - U21s beat Wexford tonight in Leinster final 1-18 to 0-11
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2011, 01:43:43 AM
Quote from: Declan on July 13, 2011, 09:22:31 PM
The revolution continues - U21s beat Wexford tonight in Leinster final 1-18 to 0-11

Full value for the win.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 22, 2011, 09:39:02 AM
Another blow for Dubs. Poor Conal in motorbike accident on way to work this morning. Not thought serious but out for Sunday.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 22, 2011, 09:58:01 AM
That's bad news for Dublin. Glad he's alright, but he's probably shook up. Wish him all the best Bud.
Post by: heffo on July 22, 2011, 10:06:06 AM
Awful news - more importantly glad he's ok and not seriously hurt.

Like AZ said please pass on our best wishes.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 22, 2011, 01:37:41 PM
Thanks lads. We are all down in the dumps at Avon Ri today. Serious enough considering that the motor bike and minibus were write offs. Latest is ligaments in knees and plaster casts for feet and ankles, or foot and ankle. You would have to feel really really sorry for him because he was so built up for Sunday. Your wishes will be passed on this evening. Thanks.
Post by: orangeman on July 22, 2011, 01:50:40 PM
Awful news. Hope he makes a full recovery asap.
Post by: muppet on July 22, 2011, 01:53:23 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 22, 2011, 01:37:41 PM
Thanks lads. We are all down in the dumps at Avon Ri today. Serious enough considering that the motor bike and minibus were write offs. Latest is ligaments in knees and plaster casts for feet and ankles, or foot and ankle. You would have to feel really really sorry for him because he was so built up for Sunday. Your wishes will be passed on this evening. Thanks.

Sounds pretty bad Bud. Hopefully he recovers fully.

Post by: Kerry Mike on July 22, 2011, 02:24:05 PM
hope he makes a full recovery, he was having a brilliant season for the hurlers, lets hope we see him back in the blue soon,  pass on on our best wishes Bud !
Post by: magpie seanie on July 22, 2011, 03:20:23 PM
I'd like to echo the above. He was having a tremendous season and its a pity that it's over prematurely. On the other hand it could have been worse. Pass on my regards also, hope he makes a full and speedy recovery.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 22, 2011, 04:13:35 PM
Bollox anyways, just turned on the twitter machine and it came straight up with the news, broken ankle it said. Was really looking forward to seeing him against Limerick on Sunday, hopefully we'll see him back to his best next year, best wishes to the man.
Post by: Declan on July 22, 2011, 06:17:16 PM
Shite news but thankfully nothing serious - pass on my best wishes Bud. I'm sure he's down about it but hopefully the lads can get the win.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2011, 07:19:39 PM
Bad news i wish him well on his recovery. i think that injury will swing it for Limerick.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 23, 2011, 01:27:13 PM
Thanks  to everyone who sent messages for Conal. I will print them off on Monday and pop them on thne bar when we are having a pint.  Contrary to reports, Conal did not break his ankle, the confusion arise when Tallaght Hospital put a cast on his foot !!  There was nothing wrong with his foot so the doctor in Santry removed it !!  However, the damage to his knee is bad and after an operation next week he will be out of action until at leaste March next year. Travelling in a straight line to wok on a main road and some eejit comes up and does a right turn across in front of him --Grrrrr! >:(
Post by: imtommygunn on July 23, 2011, 01:30:17 PM
That's a real pity - cracking hurler and had a massive say, perhaps more than any other individual, in Dublin stepping it up another notch this year.

Interesting game for the dubs today - big test of where they really are come the hard hitting knockout championship stuff. I think they can win regardless but this game is no given and will be tight.
Post by: johnneycool on July 24, 2011, 03:36:35 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 23, 2011, 01:30:17 PM
That's a real pity - cracking hurler and had a massive say, perhaps more than any other individual, in Dublin stepping it up another notch this year.

Interesting game for the dubs today - big test of where they really are come the hard hitting knockout championship stuff. I think they can win regardless but this game is no given and will be tight.

After a flying start never really kicked on and Limerick played awful stupid hurling and probably should have won it. The nerves seemed to be getting the better of both teams.
Rushe had his worst game in a while and Daly knows that from now on is a bonus but meeting Tipp might be a chastening experience!!
Post by: INDIANA on July 24, 2011, 03:44:27 PM
Won the game- didnt play well. Dont care. F*** the begrudgers and all their negativity.

I'm off to celebrate.

Miller time now.
Post by: muppet on July 24, 2011, 03:46:49 PM
National League title and an All-Ireland semi-final is progress and a few targets met I'd say.

Good year for Dublin hurling especially considering the injuries they had over the year.
Post by: orangeman on July 24, 2011, 04:29:38 PM
National league champions and at least an All Ireland semi final. 

Massive year for Dublin especially given their injury list which was added to by the accident last week with Conal Keaney.

Take a bow Dublin.

Reillers would if you were talking to him admit that Cork (and a lot of other teams ) would have taken your arm off for the same results that Dublin have got this year.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2011, 08:22:41 PM
Fair play Dublin, poor enough second half but that don't matter now.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2011, 08:37:15 PM
(http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20110326065811/harrypotterfanon/images/3/3c/Liam_McCarthy_cup_1024x768.jpg)

Dubs have as good a chance as anyone of lifting it now and they won't be afraid of Tipperary either.
Post by: heffo on July 24, 2011, 09:06:37 PM
Just back from Thurles now and delighted with the result.

It's been a great year and while Tipp will be un-backable favourites in the semi-final, we can go and give it a good crack without fear.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2011, 09:15:29 PM
Great  result and I wonder if Ryan O'D had been playing against the Cats, Rush not suffering the tail end of a viral infection and a few more missing would they not have been in the semi=final anyway. I think that trip away fairly bonded the team from what I hear and see on u-tube so they are a strong enough outfit say compared with Cork.

Fair few hundred thousands worth of managerial brain power walking the lines in Thurles today between the two games.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 24, 2011, 10:12:20 PM
Good win for the dubs in a tight fought encounter.  They corrected their previous flaw of being unable to get goals and it won them the game.

Bonus territory now. Tipperary and Kilkenny are streets ahead of anyone but if they can put it up to them at least early in the game then you never know but a massive ask.
Post by: Declan on July 25, 2011, 09:39:13 AM
Great day out in Thurles - it's a right spot for a game and delighted with the win. Fair play to the lads for digging it out although Limerick did hit a couple of bad wides when they had momentum in the second half. National League champions and an AI semi - great year altogether and the Tipp folks were very friendly yesterday - on the basis that they reckon they have a handy semi  ;)- I think we'll give them a good game though and sure we can still dream can't we.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2011, 09:43:28 AM
Fair play to the Dubs, and I think it was vital they won that. I have to say I wasn't impressed with them though, their first touch was poor and Limerick really could have won that game if the wides hadn't been so atrocious. I don't think Dublin are playing to their potential at the moment, and I'm sure the injuries and pressure had something to do with that. The good news is that the pressure is off now. Tipp will be red hot favourites, and Dublin have nothing to lose, for the first time this year I'd imagine.

It's a bonus to start clicking on the goal trail, but they still need to retain the ability to win primary possession and score points too. Conal Keaney is a huge loss there, and Ryan O'Dwyer in the full forward line takes another ball winner away from there.

However, it's a great year for Dublin, and they have proved that the progress is real, not subjective. Well done.
Post by: Declan on July 26, 2011, 01:34:59 PM
Licky man indeed:

Keaney: Luck was on my side in accident
By John Fogarty

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

CONAL KEANEY has revealed how lucky he was to only escape with knee and ankle injuries from his motorbike accident last Friday morning on his way to work.

Speaking exclusively to The Irish Examiner, the Ballyboden St Enda's talisman expressed his frustration at missing out on Sunday's All-Ireland quarter-final win over Limerick as well as the August 14 semi-final against Tipperary, as a result of his injuries.

However, weighing up the pros and cons of what happened he understands things could have been a lot worse.

"I know I was lucky," admitted Keaney.

"Over the weekend there were a couple of other bike accidents and the people involved in them died. I don't need to be told I'm more fortunate than unfortunate.

"That said, it's very disappointing at the moment. The team were going well this year and now they've reached the All-Ireland semi-finals. In the overall scheme of things, I've no head or spine injuries so it's not too bad considering. But the season is gone and that hurts."

Keaney described the accident, which happened at a notoriously dangerous junction close to St Anne's GAA club in Bohernabreena as he was on his way to Blessington where he works as sales and marketing manager at the Avon Rí resort.

"The van driver was turning while I was going straight on and he thought he was going to get around before I was coming but he didn't," recalled Keaney.

"I breaked and then tried to turn away from him as but the van was coming closer and closer and we collided. I got off the bike but trapped my right foot between the bike and his bonnet. I jumped off the bike then but I landed on my left knee and that's how I did the cruciate."

Keaney's cruciate will be operated on by top surgeon Ray Moran in Santry on Friday.

He's been told to keep his knee muscles strong and is expecting to be kept in the clinic for a couple of nights.

"The muscles around it would be in good order and there's not much swelling so I just have to keep it moving as I would have before."

Keaney's employers Avon Rí have given Keaney "as much time as I need" but he's hoping "to get back as soon as I can".

The 28-year-old was taken aback by the amount of well-wishers and messages of support after it emerged on Friday he had gone to Tallaght Hospital with injuries.

"I just want to thank everyone who has been in touch. The amount of messages I got was unbelievable. I even got one from the Limerick County Board, which was nice."

Although Keaney wasn't able to contribute on the field in Thurles, he still had his say when he put together a video message for the players.

"Ah, there was nothing major in it," he said. "I just wished them the best of luck and told them how good we have been all through the year. One bad game (the Leinster final v Kilkenny) didn't make us a bad team and it had changed nothing. We had been going well all year and it would have been a shame to let it stop at the quarter-finals."

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/keaney-luck-was-on-my-side-in-accident-162212.html#ixzz1TDL1AjUd
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 13, 2011, 10:13:52 PM
Well lads, who would have thought it, from the day of the original post that the Dub's would be out with the small ball tomorrow? Seemingly a great training session last night (Friday) and a good session down in Clare and whatever happens tomorrow hurling has got a great lift this year. The Waterford comeback after Munster, a great league, and when it does come down to the wire tommorrow the Dubs will still be trying.
Post by: spuds on August 14, 2011, 04:55:43 PM
Tipp 1-16   0-16 Dubs
Tipp   20/1
Dubs  16/1
6 5  mins

Post by: heffo on August 20, 2011, 06:35:28 PM
Comprehensive win in Newry today for the U21's.

As Reillers says though it's Limerick's to lose and Dublin will just give it a lash.
Post by: Minder on August 20, 2011, 06:44:20 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 20, 2011, 06:35:28 PM

As Reillers says though it's Limerick's to lose and Dublin will just give it a lash.

They have their hands full with Galway at the minute.
Post by: heffo on August 20, 2011, 06:50:37 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 20, 2011, 06:44:20 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 20, 2011, 06:35:28 PM

They have their hands full with Galway at the minute.

No less a Hurling man than Reillers predicted a runaway Limerick win for the AI. That's good enough for me.
Post by: INDIANA on August 20, 2011, 06:59:17 PM
of course he did Heffo. They beat Cork. More crap from the king of bullshit in Reillers
Post by: heffo on August 20, 2011, 07:07:40 PM
We'll probably be graced with his presence shortly when the new Cork manager is announced.
Post by: INDIANA on August 20, 2011, 07:19:51 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 20, 2011, 07:07:40 PM
We'll probably be graced with his presence shortly when the new Cork manager is announced.

hopefully he'll remember JBM cant play for them anymore!!
Post by: Bud Wiser on January 27, 2012, 09:45:20 PM
Well its over a year since this thread started and at that time Dubs were 33/1 to win the Leinster Final. They start the year on Sunday in the Walsh Cup against Laois with almost every line in the team without key players  (Tomás Brady, Stephen Hiney, Conal Keaney, Simon Lambert, Ross O'Carroll, Alan McCrabbe, David Treacy, Finn McGarry, Liam Rushe, Paul Schutte, Kevin O'Loughlin, Oisín Gough, Peter Kelly and Niall Corcoran) either through injuries or college commitments.  Me thinks Daly is not as upset about this as he pretends and that when the championship starts he will have them all primed nicely for another crack at it. I hope Stephen Hiney will be back soon. Doubt if they will be 33/1 though this time. Any thoughts?
Post by: Heshs Umpire on January 29, 2012, 12:54:39 PM
Game switched to Portlaoise for anyone going to it.
Post by: Minder on July 07, 2012, 08:44:01 PM
Bad fare from the Dubs tonight, Daly will be gone now I would say.
Post by: heffo on July 08, 2012, 02:38:51 PM
Dissapointing day yesterday - Clare worthy winners.

Grim journey back from Ennis though great to get out of Croke park
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 08, 2012, 05:54:38 PM
Where will Whipping Boys Daly go next?
Galway won't want him now. Laois might have a vacancy.

Post by: laoislad on July 08, 2012, 05:58:48 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on July 08, 2012, 05:54:38 PM

We'd take him no problem.
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 08, 2012, 06:03:27 PM
Kilkenny might be looking for him now!
Post by: laoislad on July 08, 2012, 06:07:24 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on July 08, 2012, 06:03:27 PM
Kilkenny might be looking for him now!

Sure we will take Cody so!
Post by: heffo on July 08, 2012, 06:35:24 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 08, 2012, 05:58:48 PM

St Bernadettes Neilstown?
Post by: laoislad on July 08, 2012, 06:51:57 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 08, 2012, 06:35:24 PM

Durrow Harps.
Post by: heffo on July 08, 2012, 08:35:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 08, 2012, 06:51:57 PM

Durrow Harps.

Sorry thought you were referring to your local GAA club and not a club in Laois.
Post by: laoislad on July 08, 2012, 09:27:14 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 08, 2012, 08:35:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 08, 2012, 06:51:57 PM

Durrow Harps.

Sorry thought you were referring to your local GAA club and not a club in Laois.

AFAIK the GAA club in Lucan is called Lucan Sarsfields.
I'm not a member nor do I intend on ever becoming one,maybe though when my son is older I'll bring him along if he wants.
I dunno what your obsession is about this club in Neilstown that you keep referring too but it's getting a little tiresome at this stage.
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2012, 02:44:57 PM

Is Indiana around ?
Post by: Declan on July 09, 2012, 04:47:38 PM
QuoteQuote from: INDIANA on June 18, 2011, 09:01:08 PM

Is Indiana around ?

Stop your fishing seafoid ;D
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2012, 08:42:42 PM
Presumably Dalo will go . Maybe he just ran out of ideas. Someone else could  come in and take up from where they left off last year.

It would be a pity for dublin to fall back now.

Post by: Farrandeelin on October 25, 2012, 07:41:13 PM
Said I would post this here, but rumours of Tomás Brady changing codes for the footballers are true. It's a shame really. He was unlucky last year with injuries.
Post by: Bud Wiser on October 26, 2012, 04:00:16 AM
The fitness and conditioning coach has left the hurlers as well and gone to  football. I cant understand why a county board would pay a man 100 grande to do a job and then allow and encourage a situation to develop that makes the job impossible.
Post by: Declan on October 26, 2012, 09:32:27 AM
Yep - strange on re Kennedy alright- sorry to see Tomas off the hurling

Daly accepts exit of code breakers

Tomás Brady has thrown in his lot with the Dublin footballers for the year ahead with hurling manager Anthony Daly accepting the lure of the big ball game is strong.

SEÁN MORAN, GAA Correspondent

NEWS ROUND-UP: DUBLIN HURLING manager Anthony Daly accepts that the lure of county football is an occupational frustration in maintaining the hurlers' challenge but believes that the county remains on track for a breakthrough.

He was speaking in a week which saw his team lose Tomás Brady to the Dublin footballers just weeks after his trainer Martin Kennedy had also thrown in his lot with Jim Gavin's panel.

"I suppose it is," he said when asked was it not frustrating to see traffic between the codes. "A while back Martin Kennedy was on board with us for another year and Tomás Brady would have been one of the key players on the team. Six weeks on and they're both gone. That's the way of the world. It's an amateur game and there's no contract tying anyone down."

Daly, who has been appointed for a fifth year with Dublin, said that he has had largely good relations with his football counterpart.

"I don't really know Jim Gavin but I got on well with Pat Gilroy apart from a bit of a row over Rory O'Carroll playing under-21. After that we were fine! It's like Andy Kettle (county chair) was saying: no-one owns the Dublin GAA and people are free to move around.

"It's the nature of the GAA and the same with Cork, who'd love to have Aidan Walsh hurling with them."

He added that whereas the loss of Brady was substantial, the team had to learn to cope without him for a full year because of serious knee injuries. He had returned to full fitness this summer in time for a most disappointing championship campaign, which ended in defeat by Clare last July.

Brady has been having a good season with Na Fianna's footballers and in the past has played Sigerson Cup with UCD. According to Daly it's a challenge that the player wants to meet.

"Tomás would like to have a go at football and feels if he doesn't do it now, he'll never do it. I was awful disappointed but wished him the best. The only consolation is that because of his injury problems we've had to manage without him for quite a bit but we'd been looking forward to having him fully fit for the whole of next season."

Despite the immense progress that hurling has made in the county – three underage All-Ireland finals in the past two years, the 2011 national league title followed by an All-Ireland semi-final – there is a sense that the game remains fragile in a county with a far stronger tradition in football.

"Look you've the glamour of football and the crowds," says Daly. "Even when we won the league and got to the Leinster final we weren't getting that. Young lads will be swayed by that."

The manager is still upbeat believing that if the county continues to knock at the door it will eventually be admitted. The message is essentially not to panic or get distracted from all of the good work that has been done over the past decade.

"When I meet Friends of Dublin Hurling I'd say let's keep working at this and keep producing quality players and it'll come. It's nearly happened at underage and you're producing fellas like Liam Rushe, Peter Kelly, Paul Schutte – Danny Sutcliffe was nominated for an All Star. Hopefully there'll be more."

A playing career that included the peaks of captaining Clare – who had waited even longer than Dublin are currently – to two All-Irelands in 1995 and '97 has equipped Daly with a keen understanding of what's missing.

"Confidence. I'd say we had our best club team (Clarecastle) in 1994 but weren't as confident. Once the county won the All-Ireland it was different and we won Munster. I've often said that when I got on the Harty (Munster colleges) team in Flannan's I expected to win it but when I pulled on a Clare minor jersey against Cork – despite us beating three Cork colleges – I didn't feel it was going to happen.

"I remember when we were coming through, we were the first Clare team to get to three successive Munster finals but we were seen as jokers. We stuck with it and stuck with it and got our day and once we'd got our day we were different blokes.

"Fellas have been on to me and can't wait to get back. I heard Joe Canning talking about how Galway had come on this year but that there'd be a lot of teams waiting for them next year. He mentioned Limerick and Clare and Waterford but there was no Dublin. Eaten bread is soon forgotten!"
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 31, 2013, 02:02:37 PM
Couple of good yarns from last Sunday's Indo:

Martin Storey: I have a sneaky feeling Dublin might go all the way. They're starting to get a few followers as well. We had some vicious battles with them in the early to mid '90s. I ran away from their manager, Lar Foley, one day because I was afraid of him. Another time, I got three days in hospital after my nose was smashed. So, by the time I played them for one of my last games, I'd had enough. I was marking some chap who was centre-back and he hit me a dig straight away.

'Young lad,' I sighed. 'Can you tell me what's written on the sole of my boots?'

'How the f**k am I supposed to know, Storreyyy, you bleeding clown,' he replied in a deep Dublin brogue.

I said, 'Well, you'll know soon enough because you'll be chasing my heels for the hour.'

About 40 minutes later he came at me again.

'Bleeding FILA,' he said, wheezing.

I asked him what he was on about.

'FILA. That's what's on the heel of your boots, Stoorreeey.'

Daithi Regan: The Dubs are a gas crowd. I remember Offaly were playing them in Croke Park. Paudge Mulhare was over us and gave us a pep talk on the pitch. He started off, 'Lads, there'll be a shower of Jackeen f**kers on the Hill raining abuse down on ye, but pay no heed to them.'

Next thing he spotted a cameraman walking around our huddle – the game must have been live – and as the cameraman lurked just outside the huddle, Paudge completely changed tack.

'Now lads, these Dublin lads, we respect them. They are great to keep the game alive in the city.'

The cameraman moseyed off anyhow, and Paudge looked up again. 'Is he gone? Lads, those shower of pricks, if they beat ye, I'll personally clatter every one of ye. I was in the stand when Antrim beat ye last year and ye f**king clapped them off pitch. Everyone said ye were great lads to do that. Clap them off! Jaysus! Now, do this stretch,' he trailed off, putting his leg out in front of him.

We were in floods of tears laughing. We loved Paudge. But that was the thing back then. We took hurling so seriously, but we could have a right bit of crack too. That's gone out the window now.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/it-all-boils-down-to-who-is-best-positioned-when-this-kilkenny-team-eventually-do-fall-29454047.html
Post by: Asal Mor on July 31, 2013, 04:44:45 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 31, 2013, 02:02:37 PM

Martin Storey: I have a sneaky feeling Dublin might go all the way. They're starting to get a few followers as well. We had some vicious battles with them in the early to mid '90s. I ran away from their manager, Lar Foley, one day because I was afraid of him. Another time, I got three days in hospital after my nose was smashed. So, by the time I played them for one of my last games, I'd had enough. I was marking some chap who was centre-back and he hit me a dig straight away.

'Young lad,' I sighed. 'Can you tell me what's written on the sole of my boots?'

'How the f**k am I supposed to know, Storreyyy, you bleeding clown,' he replied in a deep Dublin brogue.

I said, 'Well, you'll know soon enough because you'll be chasing my heels for the hour.'

Daithi Regan: The Dubs are a gas crowd. I remember Offaly were playing them in Croke Park. Paudge Mulhare was over us and gave us a pep talk on the pitch. He started off, 'Lads, there'll be a shower of Jackeen f**kers on the Hill raining abuse down on ye, but pay no heed to them.'

Next thing he spotted a cameraman walking around our huddle – the game must have been live – and as the cameraman lurked just outside the huddle, Paudge completely changed tack.

'Now lads, these Dublin lads, we respect them. They are great to keep the game alive in the city.'

The cameraman moseyed off anyhow, and Paudge looked up again. 'Is he gone? Lads, those shower of pricks, if they beat ye, I'll personally clatter every one of ye. I was in the stand when Antrim beat ye last year and ye f**king clapped them off pitch. Everyone said ye were great lads to do that. Clap them off! Jaysus! Now, do this stretch,' he trailed off, putting his leg out in front of him.

We were in floods of tears laughing. We loved Paudge. But that was the thing back then. We took hurling so seriously, but we could have a right bit of crack too. That's gone out the window now.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/it-all-boils-down-to-who-is-best-positioned-when-this-kilkenny-team-eventually-do-fall-29454047.html

;D Good stuff.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2013, 02:40:23 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on July 31, 2013, 04:44:45 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 31, 2013, 02:02:37 PM

The cameraman moseyed off anyhow, and Paudge looked up again. 'Is he gone? Lads, those shower of pricks, if they beat ye, I'll personally clatter every one of ye. I was in the stand when Antrim beat ye last year and ye f**king clapped them off pitch. Everyone said ye were great lads to do that. Clap them off! Jaysus! Now, do this stretch,' he trailed off, putting his leg out in front of him.We were in floods of tears laughing. We loved Paudge. But that was the thing back then. We took hurling so seriously, but we could have a right bit of crack too. That's gone out the window now.

;D Good stuff.

Now do this stretch!! Funny ;D
Post by: johnneycool on August 01, 2013, 03:23:39 PM
good article that, I bet there's better stories told between those lads that didn't make it to print..

Post by: Declan on September 10, 2013, 07:52:18 AM
Good to see Daly confirmed for another year. Let's hope its a repeat of 2013 rather than 2012!
Post by: johnneycool on September 10, 2013, 08:52:36 AM
Any new blood showing up for Dublin we can expect to see next year?

I think we've seen the last of Stephen Hiney, great servant of Dublin hurling that he was.
Post by: heffo on September 10, 2013, 09:07:55 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 10, 2013, 08:52:36 AM
Any new blood showing up for Dublin we can expect to see next year?

Kilkenny & Costello would be a great start!
Post by: Canalman on September 10, 2013, 09:21:50 AM
More so Costello imo. Best underage hurler we have produced for many years.
A full forward line with Costello and Treacy on it would be nice.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 10, 2013, 04:13:24 PM
So are they worth a punt for next year? Should have at least got to the final this year I thought. Be some going if they won it soon
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 29, 2013, 02:05:02 AM
With Alan Brogan coming back next year, and Paddy Andrews doing a passable imitation of him, maybe CK should take a year or two for the hurling and see how that goes.